

STATE OF ARIZONA

Joint Legislative Budget Committee

STATE SENATE

JOHN KAVANAGH
VICE-CHAIRMAN
LELA ALSTON
KEN BENNETT
SONNY BORRELLI
BRIAN FERNANDEZ
JAKE HOFFMAN
J.D. MESNARD
VACANT

1716 WEST ADAMS PHOENIX, ARIZONA 85007

(602) 926-5491

azjlbc.gov

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

DAVID LIVINGSTON
CHAIRMAN
LEO BIASIUCCI
NEAL CARTER
JOSEPH CHAPLIK
MATT GRESS
ATHENA SALMAN
JUDY SCHWIEBERT
STEPHANIE STAHL HAMILTON

April 18, 2023

To: Distribution List

Pursuant to A.R.S. § 41-1276, the Joint Legislative Budget Committee sent a letter to the County Boards of Supervisors and the Superintendent of Public Instruction on March 15, 2023, which included the FY 2024 Truth in Taxation (TNT) rates for equalization assistance to school districts, consisting of the qualifying tax rate (QTR) used in the K-12 school funding formula. Those rate calculations were based on levy limit worksheets provided by each of the state's 15 counties and approved by the Property Tax Oversight Commission (PTOC) on February 28, 2023.

This letter is to inform you that due to a correction of the Maricopa County levy limit worksheet approved by PTOC on April 6, 2023, the FY 2024 TNT rates that we transmitted to you on March 15, 2023 have been revised. As a result of this data correction, those TNT rates are no longer valid. Instead, we ask that you use the new, corrected FY 2024 TNT rates shown in the table below.

REVISED FY 2024 TRUTH IN TAXATION RATES

Qualifying Tax Rate \$1.6549

- High School District; Common School District within a high school district which does not
 offer instruction in high school subjects as provided in A.R.S. § 15-447
- Unified School District; Common School District not within a high school district; Common School District within a high school district which offers instruction in high school subjects as provided in A.R.S. § 15-447

\$3.3098

If you have any questions, please contact Hans Olofsson at (602) 926-5491.

Sincerely,

Richard Stavneak

Richard Stavneak Director

RS:kp

Distribution List:

Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Horne
Chairmen of the County Board of Supervisors
County Treasurers
Representative David Livingston, House Appropriations Committee Chairman
Senator John Kavanagh, Senate Appropriations Committee Chairman
Representative Neal Carter, House Ways and Means Committee Chairman
Senator J.D. Mesnard, Senate Finance Committee Chairman

Sean McCarthy, House of Representatives Nicole Lovato, House of Representatives Fletcher Montzingo, Senate Sean Laux, Senate