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FOREWORD

The 2022 Tax Handbook provides a description of each state tax and certain other revenue categories. The
Handbook also includes a 20-year history of the collections and distributions for each revenue category, as well as
summaries of all statutory revisions between the 2016 and 2022 legislative sessions. A listing of statutory changes
prior to the 2016 legislative session is available on the Joint Legislative Budget Committee (JLBC) website located at
https://www.azjlbc.gov/22taxbook/22taxbk.pdf. Appendix D provides the estimated dollar value of individual tax
law changes enacted by the Legislature since FY 1989.

The Tax Handbook includes tables that provide the estimated impact of tax credits and exemptions to the Sales
Tax, Individual Income Tax, Corporate Income Tax, and Insurance Premium Tax sections. These tables were
prepared by the Office of Economic Research and Analysis at the Arizona Department of Revenue.

Each entry in the Tax Handbook includes the following sections (where applicable):

e Description — a comprehensive narrative description of the tax or revenue source.

e Distribution — a 20-year history of collections and a description of how the tax is distributed by fund or shared
with other jurisdictions such as cities and towns.

e  Who Pays — a description of who is legally responsible for the payment of the tax or fee.

e Revenue Base and Rate — a definition of the tax base, a discussion of exemptions, if any, and a description of
the tax rate(s).

e Tax Refunds and/or Credits — a description of circumstances under which tax refunds are made, and/or credits
are allowed.

e Payment Schedule — due dates, delinquency dates, and payment schedules, as well as an explanation of how
the tax or fee is remitted to the state.

e Impact of Statutory Changes —includes statutory changes from 2016 through 2022. As noted above, statutory
changes prior to 2016 are available on the JLBC website.



https://www.azjlbc.gov/revenues/22taxbk.pdf

OVERVIEW OF ARIZONA TAXES

The revenues from Arizona’s different taxes are deposited in a number of funds. The largest fund is the General Fund. In
FY 2022, ongoing General Fund revenue was $17.4 billion. This amount excludes urban revenue sharing and one-time
financing sources.

While revenues from numerous taxes are deposited in the General Fund, 4 taxes constitute the bulk of General Fund
collections: sales tax, individual income tax, corporate income tax, and insurance premium tax. In FY 2022, these 4 taxes
represented 95.2% of ongoing General Fund revenue. As shown in the chart below, the largest category in FY 2022 was
the individual income tax, which represented 43.2% of General Fund revenue collections. The sales tax, corporate income
tax, and insurance premium tax represented 41.3%, 6.7%, and 4.1% respectively, of General Fund revenue.

Sources of FY 2022 General Fund Revenue

Individual Income Tax
43.2%

Corporate Income Tax

6.7%
Sales Tax
41.3%
Insurance Premium Tax
4.1%
Other
4.8%

The state levies many other taxes, fees, and assessments. Some of the other taxes generate sizable amounts of revenue,
but their collections are not deposited in the General Fund. For example, the motor vehicle fuel tax generated $561
million in FY 2022 and the unemployment insurance tax generated $463 million. However, these collections were
deposited in the Highway User Revenue Fund and the Unemployment Compensation Fund, respectively.

This handbook provides a listing and description of the taxes levied by the State of Arizona. Additionally, it shows the
amount of revenue collections and tax distributions by fund.



SALES AND USE TAXES



TRANSACTION PRIVILEGE TAX

DESCRIPTION

The transaction privilege tax (TPT) is a gross receipts tax levied by the State of Arizona on certain persons for the
privilege of conducting business in the state. Although TPT is commonly referred to as Arizona’s sales tax, it differs
from the “true” sales tax imposed by many other states as it is imposed upon the seller rather than the buyer of the
taxable item. Although the seller may pass the burden of the tax onto the buyer, the seller is the party that remains
ultimately liable to the state for the tax.

TPT is currently imposed under 16 separate business classifications: retail, transporting, utilities, telecommunications,
publication, job printing, pipeline, private car line, commercial lease, transient lodging, personal property rental,
mining, amusement, restaurant, prime contracting, and online lodging marketplace. The state tax rates for the various
classifications are as follows: 5.5% for the transient lodging (hotel/motel) and online lodging marketplace classification,
3.125% for the mining classification, 0% for the commercial lease (rental of real property for commercial use)
classification, and 5.6% for all other TPT classifications. (Note that Laws 1993, 2" Special Session, Chapter 9 reduced
the state TPT rate on commercial leases to 0%, beginning in FY 1998.)

TPT is imposed on the total gross receipts of taxable businesses, with the exception for prime contractors, who are
taxed at 65% of their gross receipts. As of January 1, 2015, prime contractors are not subject to tax on the gross
receipts from contracts for the maintenance, repair, replacement or alteration (MRRA) of real property if such contracts
do not include modification activity.

All gross receipts are subject to tax (under one of the 16 TPT classifications) unless specifically exempted or excluded by
statute. Exemptions and deductions under one TPT classification cannot be used under another classification unless
specifically provided by law.

Chart 1 illustrates the relative importance of the major TPT categories. Retail is the largest TPT category and comprised
50% of total state sales tax collections in FY 2022. Other large categories are restaurants and bars, prime contracting,
and utilities.

COMPONENTS OF SALES TAX REVENUE

Other
15%

Restaurants and Bars
10%

Use
7%

Contracting
12%

Utilities
6%

Retail
50%

TPT is the state’s second largest revenue source, representing 41.3% of total General Fund revenues in FY 2022. A
significant portion of state sales tax revenues is shared with the counties and cities. This revenue sharing occurs
through the distribution base, described in further detail in the Distribution section below.



Transaction Privilege Tax

In November 2000, voters approved Proposition 301, which authorized the state to levy an additional 0.6% sales tax
exclusively dedicated to education through June 30, 2021. The 0.6% education tax is not subject to the regular TPT
distribution. As a result of Proposition 301, the general state TPT rate was increased from 5.0% to 5.6%, beginning in
June 2001. Since the 0.6% cent Proposition 301 expired at the end of FY 2021, Laws 2018, Chapter 74 extended the tax
to June 30, 2041 through a state statute rather than by the ballot. Chapter 74 slightly revised the distribution formula
for the funds. The 0.6% education tax generated $1.08 billion in FY 2022.

From June 2010 through May 2013, the state levied an additional 1.0% tax exclusively for public primary and secondary
education, health and human services, and public safety. The 3-year 1.0% tax, which was approved by voters in May
2010 and commonly known as Proposition 100, was not subject to the regular TPT distribution. Proposition 100
increased the state TPT rate from 5.6% to 6.6% from June 2010 through May 2013. In June 2013, the state TPT rate
returned to 5.6%. The temporary 1.0% tax generated $864 million in FY 2011, $916 million in FY 2012, and $962 million
in FY 2013.

Of the state’s 15 counties, all but 1 (Maricopa) are authorized by statute to impose a general excise tax. All sales
subject to state TPT are also subject to the applicable county general excise tax. By statute, the county general excise
tax cannot exceed 10% of the regular state TPT rate. Subject to voter approval, any county may levy a transportation
excise tax. Other county excise tax options are: jail tax, capital projects tax, and tax on county judgment bonds.

There are 3 statutes that authorize county governments to levy a transportation excise tax. All such statutes provide
the allowed amount as a percentage of the state TPT rate (which is 5%) and require county voters to approve any taxes.

A.R.S. § 42-6105 permits a transportation excise tax of up to 0.5% to be levied within Maricopa County. A.R.S. § 42-
6106 permits the Regional Transportation Authority (RTA) of any county other than Maricopa to levy a transportation
excise tax of up to 0.5%.

A.R.S. § 42-6107 permits counties to levy an additional 0.5% in transportation excise taxes. These collections, however,
must be deposited pursuant to A.R.S. § 28-6397, which is restricted to counties with populations of 400,000 or less.
Maricopa and Pima counties, therefore, are not able to levy the additional 0.5% under this provision.

Laws 2019, Chapter 50 amends A.R.S. § 42-6106 to permit the RTA of any county other than Maricopa to levy a tax rate
of up to 20% of the state TPT rate, or 1.0%. As noted above, the 1.0% rate cap includes levies under both A.R.S. § 42-
6106 and A.R.S. § 42-6107. Because all counties other than Maricopa and Pima already can levy a rate of up to 1.0%
(0.5% under A.R.S. § 42-6106 plus 0.5% under A.R.S. § 42-6107) and A.R.S. § 42-6106 excludes Maricopa County,
Chapter 50 only affects Pima County.

Unlike the county general excise tax, the imposition of Arizona city transaction privilege taxes is separate and distinct
from the imposition of state TPT. Instead, cities in Arizona use the Model City Tax Code (MCTC) as the basis for
imposing their privilege taxes. MCTC is a uniform sales and use tax act that has been adopted by most cities in Arizona.
Although MCTC is intended to facilitate tax base uniformity among cities, the code authorizes cities to exempt or tax
certain items that are not part of the standard or “model” language of the code.

DISTRIBUTION

TPT revenues are shared with Arizona’s counties and cities through a complex system of formulas established in
statute. See Table 1 for amounts distributed. Legislative changes to the state sales tax usually have local government
impacts, unless otherwise specified through hold harmless provisions (provisions designed not to harm local
governments).

Distribution. The Department of Revenue (DOR) transmits all sales tax revenues to the State Treasurer, separately
accounting for payments of estimated taxes, the transient lodging tax, transaction privilege and severance taxes on
mining and timber collected from businesses located on Indian reservations, and education sales taxes. The
aforementioned tax collections have dedicated uses. All other sales tax revenues are credited to a clearing account. A
portion of transaction privilege and severance taxes referred to as the distribution base is designated for distribution to
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Transaction Privilege Tax

counties, cities, and other purposes pursuant to A.R.S. § 42-5029(D)(4). (The allocation of distribution base monies to
special purposes is described on the following pages.) After the required distributions to counties, cities, and other
special purposes, remaining distribution base monies are credited to the General Fund (see Table 1 and Table 4). The
portion of sales tax revenues (non-shared) not designated to the distribution base is directly credited to the General
Fund.

As previously mentioned, revenues collected from the 1.0% tax under Proposition 100 were not distributed to counties
and municipalities, nor other government entities. Two-thirds of the additional revenue from the 1.0% tax was
appropriated to public primary and secondary education and the remaining one-third was appropriated to both health
and human services and public safety.

Revenues collected from the 0.6% tax go directly toward education programs. For a more extensive discussion of the
specific uses of education tax revenues, please refer to the Department of Education — Basic State Aid Formula
Summary section of the FY 2023 Appropriations Report.

Monies in the distribution base are allocated on a monthly basis in the following way:

— 25% is paid to the cities in proportion to their population based on the last U.S. decennial census [A.R.S. § 42-
5029(1)], special census [A.R.S. § 42-5033], or the most recent annual population estimates by the U.S. Census
Bureau [A.R.S. § 42-5033.01].

— 40.51% is paid to the counties according to the formula described below.

— Theremaining 34.49% is retained by the state and used to make various allocations and appropriations specified by
statute. (General Fund retains the distribution base monies that remain after the required allocations and
appropriations.)

In total, the counties receive 40.51% of distribution base revenues. The amount that each county receives is
determined by the following calculations:

1. 38.08% of the total TPT distribution base is calculated.
2. 2.43% of the total TPT distribution base is calculated.

3. Each county's share of the 38.08% portion of the TPT distribution base is calculated using an average of percent of
total point-of-sale and percent of total net assessed valuation for secondary property taxes.

4. Each county's share of the 38.08% portion of the TPT distribution base is calculated using an average of percent of
total point-of-sale and percent of total population based on the last U.S. decennial census [A.R.S. § 42-5029(l)],
special census [A.R.S. § 42-5033], or an approved mid-decade population estimate [A.R.S. § 42-5033.01]. (For more
details, see Laws 2016, Chapter 258.)

5. The shares that each county would receive under the 2 previous steps are compared, with the larger of the 2
amounts selected for each county. The "new" amounts are added for all 15 counties to determine the difference
between this total and the sum of the 38.08% proportions. This difference is subtracted from the sum of the 2.43%
proportions calculated in Step 2.

6. Any monies remaining from the 2.43% portion are distributed among all 15 counties based on Step 4's combined
percentage. Add the amount for each county from this step to the total for each county from Step 5 to get the
total amount to be distributed to each county for the month.

The remaining 34.49% of distribution base revenue is allocated to various purposes as provided by A.R.S. § 42-
5029(D)(4), including expansion of the Phoenix Convention Center, school capital finance, multipurpose facilities,
construction of a bridge and improvement of a highway at Phoenix International Raceway, the Tourism and Sports
Authority (TSA) and certain public infrastructure improvements. The TSA’s share of distribution base monies is equal to
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the amount of sales taxes collected at the State Farm Stadium. In addition, some monies are transferred to the Water
Quality Assurance Revolving Fund, as required by A.R.S. § 49-282. After these distributions have been made, the
remainder is credited to the General Fund. From this amount, the following distributions are subject to appropriation:

1) Department of Revenue (DOR) receives monies sufficient to cover administrative expenses.
2) Department of Economic Security (DES) receives monies for the purposes stated in Title 46, Chapter 1 (public

welfare, out-of-wedlock pregnancy prevention, and aging).

3) The Firearm Safety and Ranges Fund receives $50,000 derived from retail sales taxes collected during the current

fiscal year.
Table 1
Fiscal Year General Fund
2022 $7,208,809,415
2021 $6,243,506,106
2020 $5,391,912,921
2019 $5,096,751,256
2018 $4,787,462,504
2017 $4,506,407,358
2016 $4,313,942,592
2015 $4,189,263,497
2014 $3,985,881,580
2013 $3,778,863,746
2012 $3,652,165,656
2011 $3,448,016,988
2010 $3,422,528,509
2009 $3,756,407,238
2008 $4,353,564,848
2007 $4,457,494,716
2006 $4,273,358,451
2005 $3,661,168,623
2004 $3,294,788,319
2003 $3,033,877,715

1/ The figures displayed in this table include revenues collected from the sales tax and its affiliated taxes — the use tax, mining and timber severance taxes, jet

2/ The 0.6% education tax authorized by Proposition 301 expired on June 30, 2021. Laws 2018, Chapter 74 extended the 0.6% tax to June 30, 2041. The amount

3/

COLLECTIONS AND DISTRIBUTION ¥

Cities

$809,915,154
$687,052,658
$589,351,732
$561,049,351
$528,094,832
$496,532,025
$476,773,305
$459,176,964
$437,628,967
$411,117,897
$392,475,912
$373,259,250
$356,997,763
$387,050,618
$447,060,657
$462,037,141
$439,120,139
$376,212,970
$340,535,844
$316,406,294

Counties

0.6% Education

Proposition 100 3/

$1,312,386,516
$1,113,300,127
$954,985,547
$909,124,368
$855,724,866
$804,580,493
$772,563,464
$744,050,353
$709,133,978
$666,175,440
$635,967,967
$604,829,288
$578,479,176
$627,176,822
$724,417,089
$748,684,984
$711,550,274
$609,615,497
$551,804,282
$512,704,759

Tax?
$1,077,801,508
$935,934,330
$808,452,299
$760,874,328
$712,903,811
$670,788,089
$645,012,218
$626,400,822
$601,853,602
$567,824,410
$542,394,529
$514,345,951
$513,589,704
$558,899,709
$645,827,821
$666,184,022
$628,471,192
$538,346,435
$487,214,807
$447,841,034

$52,339
$142,456
$376,358
$128,605
$184,694
$(246,291)
$198,681
$1,760,338
$8,422,920
$962,171,977
$915,835,541
$864,501,708

Total

$10,408,964,932

$8,979,935,677
$7,745,078,857
$7,327,927,908
$6,884,370,707
$6,478,061,674
$6,208,490,260
$6,020,651,974
$5,742,921,047
$6,386,153,470
$6,138,839,605
$5,804,953,185
$4,871,595,152
$5,329,534,387
$6,170,870,415
$6,334,800,863
$6,052,500,056
$5,185,343,525
$4,674,343,252
$4,310,829,802

fuel taxes, and the rental occupancy tax. The table excludes funds distributed to multipurpose facility districts and other special distributions.

in this column includes both the 0.6% tax levied under Proposition 301 and Laws 2018, Chapter 74.

Proposition 100 increased the sales tax rate by 1.0% from June 2010 to May 2013 exclusively for public primary and secondary education, health and human

services, and public safety.

Multipurpose Facility Districts

Laws 1997, Chapter 297 expanded existing legislation that authorized county stadium districts to include multipurpose
facilities, defined as facilities located in the district to accommodate sporting, entertainment, cultural, civic, and
convention events and meetings. The legislation also expanded the ability to form a district to 2 or more municipalities
located within a county and authorized these districts to generate TPT revenue. If a district were to construct a facility,
the state would divert one-half of the state TPT revenues generated at the facility from the General Fund to the district.

Laws 1999, Chapter 162 required the state to pay a county multipurpose facility district one-half of all the TPT revenue
received each month from all persons doing business at a multipurpose facility or generated from the construction of a
multipurpose facility. In no case are the monthly payments to exceed the net new revenues generated in a given
month compared to the TPT revenues generated in the same month during the year prior to the vote authorizing the
creation of the district. Payments were to begin when the district board of directors delivered to the State Treasurer a
resolution requesting payment and would continue for 10 years after either the commencement or completion of the
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Transaction Privilege Tax

primary component of the facility, at the option of the district. Chapter 162 required that the publicly-owned
components of the district cost at least $200 million to construct. The definition of a multipurpose facility was
broadened to include secondary components such as parking lots and garages, on-site infrastructure, artistic
components, public parks, plazas, and some commercial facilities. Chapter 162 was effective retroactively from July 1,
1998.

Rio Nuevo

In 1999, Tucson voters approved Proposition 400 authorizing the creation of a development area called the Rio Nuevo
Multipurpose Facility District. This district, which receives a diversion of state TPT to finance the development of a
multipurpose facility and supporting projects, stretches east from Downtown Tucson along the retail-intensive
Broadway Corridor.

Background
Several pieces of legislation paved the way for the creation of the Rio Nuevo District. Laws 1990, Chapter 390

introduced the concept of a county stadium district, permitting Maricopa County to impose a 0.25% TPT for 3 years
upon the award of a Major League Baseball franchise. These tax revenues could then be used to finance the
construction of a stadium, either directly or by securing district bond obligations.

Laws 1997, Chapter 297, expanded the county stadium district concept to include multipurpose facilities located in the
district such as those used for sporting, entertainment, cultural, civic, meeting or convention events. Laws 1999,
Chapter 162 then increased the revenue payments to these districts by allowing them to retain the state’s share of TPT
from sales of secondary businesses that are deemed “necessary or beneficial” to the development of the primary
component multipurpose facility. This law also limited TPT payments to the lesser of: (1) 50% of collections or (2)
revenues net of those received prior to the year of the election authorizing the district. This method of permitting a
local area to use the state’s tax collections to finance local development projects with the expectation that future tax
collections will increase as a result is known as tax increment financing. Lastly, Laws 1999, Chapter 172 required the
facility’s municipality to spend a matching amount on projects by the district’s expiration date in order to receive state
TPT revenues.

Creation of the Rio Nuevo Multipurpose Facility District

Tucson voters approved Proposition 400 in November 1999, establishing the Rio Nuevo Multipurpose Facilities District
from 1999 to 2009. The ballot information for Proposition 400 described Rio Nuevo as a development project of
cultural and recreational amenities and improvements, historical recreations, and mixed-use developments. The
District’s limits begin west in downtown where the primary component multipurpose facility, the Tucson Convention
Center, is located. From downtown, Rio Nuevo then stretches east along the Broadway Corridor encompassing the
District’s secondary component businesses. Management responsibilities were given to a District Board made up of 4
Directors appointed by the Tucson City Council. Through FY 2021, Rio Nuevo has received a total of $205.9 million in
TPT distributions from the state (See Table 2). Laws 2006, Chapter 376 extended the period Rio Nuevo could receive
these payments from 10 years to 25 years (to July 1, 2025).

Reconstituted Rio Nuevo District

Laws 2009, Chapter 3 reconstituted the District board by replacing the 4-Director body appointed by the city council
with one made up of 9 Directors appointed by the Governor and the Legislature. In addition, Chapter 3 provided that
Rio Nuevo would receive state TPT diversions only through July 1, 2025 or the time of last debt service payment,
whichever would come first. Laws 2018, Chapter 138 extends the due date for the district to operate and receive state
TPT distributions to July 1, 2035, or upon the completion of authorized debt service payments, whichever occurs later.

Prior to Chapter 138, the district was authorized to use state TPT distributions to service debt on bonds issued by the
district before January 1, 2009. The same authority applied to contractual obligations incurred by the district before
January 1, 2009. Chapter 138 extended such authority to bonds issued before January 1, 2025 and contractual
obligations incurred before January 1, 2025. However, Chapter 138 was further amended by Laws 2018, Chapter 189,
which reinstituted the prior provisions that authorize state TPT distributions only to service debt on bonds or
contractual obligations issued before January 1, 2009. State TPT payments to the Rio Nuevo District are shown in the
Table 2 below:
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Table 2
Fiscal Year Distributions
2022 $17,605,991
2021 $9,525,698
2020 $14,478,796
2019 $15,958,879
2018 $13,562,705
2017 $13,988,471
2016 $13,008,813
2015 $6,958,022
2014 $9,486,100
2013 $9,755,752
2012 $11,957,943
2011 $14,099,949
2010 $8,727,318
2009 $10,399,336
2008 $15,456,187
2007 $14,974,923
2006 $10,968,178
2005 $7,469,632
2004 $5,081,197
Total $223,463,890
Source: DOR, Annual Reports

Phoenix Convention Center Expansion

In November 2001, Phoenix voters approved a ballot measure that would provide $300 million to expand the Phoenix
Convention Center from the city fund that was established to pay for construction and expansion of the Civic Plaza’s
first phase in the 1960s. Laws 2003, Chapter 266 authorized the expansion of eligible convention centers with matching
state funds.

Chapter 266 established the Arizona Convention Center Development Fund (ACCDF) for the purpose of enabling
qualifying cities to develop and expand major convention facilities. The Phoenix Convention Center expansion project is
the only project that qualified under Chapter 266.

The state’s obligation for the Phoenix Convention Center project is to pay the debt service and related costs on $300
million of construction bonds. Pursuant to Laws 2003, Chapter 266, the state’s obligation was to begin in the first fiscal
year after the Certificate of Completion for the project was filed with the State Treasurer, which occurred on March 25,
2009. Under A.R.S. § 9-602D, as added by Chapter 266, the State Treasurer was required to transfer $5 million in debt
payments from the ACCDF to the City of Phoenix in the first year (FY 2010), $10 million in the second year (FY 2011),
$15 million in the third year (FY 2012), and $20 million in the fourth year (FY 2013). Beginning in the fifth year (FY
2014), the debt payments would increase by $500,000 annually up to a maximum of $30 million per year until debt
service and related costs would be retired.

Laws 2011, Chapter 28 suspended the State Treasurer’s debt payment from the ACCDF in FY 2012 and changed the
distribution schedule under A.R.S. § 9-602D for subsequent years. However, Chapter 28 did not provide the same
change to the DOR’s distribution schedule under A.R.S. § 42-5030, which requires the department to transfer state TPT
monies from the distribution base to the ACCDF. Laws 2015, Chapter 10 conformed DOR’s transfer schedule of state
TPT monies under A.R.S. § 42-5030 to the State Treasurer’s debt service payment schedule under A.R.S. § 9-602D.

Public Infrastructure Improvements

Beginning on October 1, 2013, Laws 2012, Chapter 328 authorizes the State Treasurer to pay state prime contracting
tax revenues generated from qualifying projects to a municipality or county in order to fund up to 80% of the costs of
public infrastructure improvements (roads, water and wastewater facilities) needed to support the activities of a
manufacturing facility [A.R.S. § 42-5032.02]. The total amount of state tax dollars paid to cities and counties statewide
under Chapter 328 is capped at $50 million over 10 years. Laws 2022, Chapter 321 increases the cap of the program
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from $50 million to $100 million. Laws 2021, Chapter 80 extends the public infrastructure improvements program from
September 30, 2023 to September 30, 2033.

In order for a city or county to receive state prime contracting tax monies, the manufacturing plant must make certain
minimum capital investments depending on its location ($500 million in Maricopa and Pima and $50 million in all other
counties). The State Treasurer was not allowed to make any payments to a city or county before July 1, 2014. The total
amount of statewide distributions to cities and counties was limited to S5 million in FY 2015. The first distributions
under the program started in July 2019. Distributions for public infrastructure improvements totaled $3,396,721 in FY
2021 and $13,510,686 in FY 2022.

Monies for public infrastructure improvements are distributed from the state and local share of prime contracting taxes
generated from qualifying projects. Chapter 328 requires DOR to account separately for prime contracting tax revenues
generated from qualifying public infrastructure improvements. While DOR is authorized to disclose information to
cities and counties regarding the distribution of monies associated with public infrastructure improvements, Chapter
328 prohibits DOR and the relevant local government entities from disclosing such information to the public.

Laws 2017, Chapter 340 makes several changes to the program, beginning January 1, 2018, including the following: (1)
provides that prime contracting tax revenues used for purposes of public infrastructure improvement not be distributed
until 10% of the qualifying capital investment has been made by the manufacturing facility, (2) requires the
manufacturing facility to file a sworn certification with the Arizona Commerce Authority (ACA) within 180 days after
commencement of buildings and associated improvements, and (3) requires the manufacturing facility and the county
or municipality to enter into a written agreement before submitting the certification to ACA.

WHO PAYS

Individuals and Businesses
Persons or companies engaging in business in the state are legally responsible for payment of the tax. However, in
practice TPT is passed on to consumers [A.R.S. § 42-5001].

"Post-Wayfair" Internet Taxation. On June 21, 2018, the Supreme Court of the United States (SCOTUS) overruled in
South Dakota v. Wayfair Inc. a previous decision made by the same court on May 26, 1992 in Quill Corp. v. North
Dakota, which had required a business with a physical presence inside a state to collect sales tax on transactions
conducted over the Internet. While SCOTUS overruled the physical presence ("nexus") requirement under Quill, it
retained the nexus test under its 1977 ruling on Complete Auto Transit v. Brady. Under the Complete Auto ruling,
SCOTUS outlined the conditions to determine whether a state violates the U.S. Commerce Clause. This is effectively a
4-part test that requires the following elements:

1. Substantial nexus (there must be sufficient connection between a taxpayer and the state).

2. Fair apportionment (the state must not tax more than its fair share of the income of the taxpayer).

3. No discrimination (the state must not treat out-of-state taxpayers differently than in-state taxpayers).
4. Services (the tax must be fairly related to the services provided to the taxpayer by the state).

In its June 21, 2018 Wayfair ruling, SCOTUS noted that that South Dakota’s Senate Bill (SB) 106 satisfied the substantial
nexus requirement under Complete Auto. (South Dakota's SB 106 expanded the state's sales tax nexus beyond the
physical presence requirements set forth in Quill and it was the legal challenge of this bill that was brought before
SCOTUS in South Dakota v. Wayfair Inc.) Although the Wayfair ruling did not directly address all the Commerce Clause
tests under Complete Auto (as it relates to SB 106), the Court noted that "South Dakota's tax system includes several
features that appear designed to prevent discrimination against or undue burden upon interstate commerce."
Specifically, the Court referenced: (1) SB 106's “safe harbor” provision under which annual sales in South Dakota must
exceed $100,000 or include 200 or more transactions for substantial nexus to exist, (2) no retroactive tax clause
included in the legislation, and (3) that South Dakota has adopted the Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement
(SSUTA). Under SSUTA, states agree to a set of "ground rules" to standardize the imposition and administration of sales
and use taxes, including a single, state-level administration of taxes, a simplified tax rate structure, and uniform
definitions and rules.
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At the end of the 2019 Regular Session, Arizona enacted its own "Wayfair" provisions under Laws 2019, Chapter 273.
Beginning October 1, 2019, Chapter 273 establishes the economic nexus thresholds under which an out-of-state
business is required to collect and remit tax on retail sales in Arizona, which are as follows:

If the out-of-state business does not conduct sales through a marketplace facilitator, economic nexus applies if
sales in Arizona exceed $200,000 in calendar year (CY) 2019, $150,000 in CY 2020, and $100,000 in CY 2021 and
thereafter.

If the out-of-state business is a marketplace facilitator, economic nexus applies if sales in Arizona from the
marketplace facilitator's own business or on behalf of at least one marketplace seller exceed $100,000 in the
calendar year.

Besides establishing the state's economic nexus threshold requirements, Chapter 273 also added new language in state
statutes with respect to the municipal tax treatment of retail sales, as outlined below.

Requires municipal ordinances and other local laws related to the taxation of retail sales to be superseded by the
state's transaction privilege tax statutes for the retail classification.

Provides cities and towns the option to levy a transaction privilege tax on the sale of:

Food for home consumption

Textbooks required by a state university or community college sold at bookstores

Livestock and poultry feed, salt, vitamins and other additives used in the business of farming and ranching
Nonmetalliferous mined materials sold at retail

Works of fine art

Motor vehicles sold to nonresidents or enrolled members of an Indian Tribe.

oukwnNeE

Allows a city or a town to continue to levy an existing transaction privilege tax, which was levied on or before May
1, 2019, on the sale of:

1. Propagative materials, including fertilizers

2. Implants used as growth promotants and injectable medicine for livestock or poultry

3. Animals such as horses, sheep, and goats used as breeding or production stock.

Depending on the size of its population, a municipality can continue levying a tax on these products either through
December 31, 2019 (if population is more than 50,000) or through June 30, 2021 (if population is 50,000 or less).

Provides cities and towns the option to exempt from tax the sale of paintings, sculptures, or similar works of fine
art by the original artists.

Provides that the Legislature will not move any sales tax classifications other than retail from the Model City Tax
Code to state statute for a period of 5 years from the effective date of the act.

"Pre-Wayfair" Internet Taxation. The following section discusses the extent to which transactions conducted on the
Internet were subject to sales tax under the state practices ("pre-Wayfair") in place prior the enactment of Laws 2019,
Chapter 273. This includes the "pre-Wayfair" Arizona policy with respect to 3 different Internet sales scenarios, as
outlined below.

A consumer purchases an item on the Internet from a company headquartered out of state that also has a store in
Arizona. This can be either a sales tax or a use tax situation, depending on whether the retailer has created a semi-
separate Internet version of itself. If the product is shipped from the retailer’s “Internet company” located in
another state, it is a use tax situation. If the product is shipped from the local retail branch, it is a sales tax
situation. Regardless, the vendor is required to collect the tax because it has a physical presence (nexus) in this
state.

A consumer makes an Internet purchase from an out-of-state company that has no physical presence in Arizona
but whose products are sold in Arizona retail stores. For example, consider a situation in which vitamins are
bought on the Internet from an out-of-state company; this company’s vitamins are also sold in Arizona grocery
stores. In this case, the vendor is not responsible for collecting a tax for the state because it has no nexus in
Arizona. The purchaser is legally responsible for paying the use tax.
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3. A consumer buys something on the Internet from an out-of-state company that has no presence whatsoever in
Arizona. Since the vendor has no nexus in Arizona, the purchaser is required to pay the use tax.

Tribal Members and Businesses

Pursuant to Laws 2021, Chapter 443, Indian tribal members or companies engaged in business activities on the
reservation are not subject to the sales tax. This exclusion applies to affiliated Indian members who have been adopted
into the tribe and who have attained full and unrestricted membership privileges in that tribe.

Non-Indian or non-affiliated Indian retailers engaged in business activities located on the reservation are not subject to
the sales tax if the activity is performed for an Indian tribal member of the reservation. The activity is subject to the
sales tax, however, if it is performed for a non-Indian or non-affiliated Indian.

A.R.S. § 42-5122 lists the following exemptions regarding sales to Indian tribes, tribally owned businesses, or tribal
entities:

1. Business activities performed by an Indian tribe, a tribally owned business, a tribal entity, or an affiliated
Indian if the business activity takes place on an Indian reservation.

2. Business activities performed by a nonaffiliated Indian or non-Indian vendor on an Indian reservation for
an Indian tribe, a tribal entity or an affiliated Indian.

3. Contracting activities performed on an Indian reservation by an Indian tribe, a tribally owned business, a
tribal entity or an affiliated Indian.

4. Contracting activities performed for an Indian tribe, a tribally owned business, a tribal entity, or an
affiliated Indian on an Indian reservation by a nonaffiliated Indian or non-Indian contractor.

5. Retail sales of tangible personal property to an Indian tribe, a tribally owned business, a tribal entity or an
affiliated Indian if the sale of tangible personal property takes place on an Indian reservation. A sale is
deemed to take place on an Indian reservation if the tangible personal property is ordered from and
delivered on an Indian reservation.

6. The sale of a motor vehicle to an enrolled member of an Indian tribe who resides on the Indian
reservation established for that Indian tribe.

These exemptions had already been in practice since DOR issued Arizona Transaction Privilege Tax Ruling 95-11 (TPR
95-11) in April 1995. Laws 2021, Chapter 443 essentially codified these exemptions in statute.

REVENUE BASE AND RATE

In general, the tax base is the gross proceeds of sales or gross income derived by a person from a taxable business.
However, there are variations between the tax bases of the different classifications of the TPT, as specified in A.R.S. §
42-5061 - A.R.S. § 42-5076. Notably, the contracting tax has a unique tax base. The tax base for contractors is 65% of
the value of a contract, based on the assumption that labor costs represent 35% of the value of a contract [A.R.S. § 42-
5075]. Note, however, Laws 2014, Chapter 263 provides that prime contractors are not subject to tax from the gross
sale proceeds or gross income resulting from contracts for the maintenance, repair, replacement or alteration (MRRA)
of real property, if such contracts do not include modification activity.

Exemptions. There are numerous TPT and use tax exemptions provided in statute, such as exemptions for food and
medicine. The effect of these exemptions is to reduce the size of the tax base. Beginning in calendar year 2015, DOR
began using a specific deduction code for each TPT and use tax exemption. According to DOR, the total number of TPT
deductions increased from 1 in 1952 to 345 in 2017, the most recent year for which such information was provided.
See Table 4 for specific tax exemption statutes for each TPT classification.

The primary type of business exempt from TPT in Arizona are those that provide services. If those services are not
included in 1 of the 16 TPT classifications shown in Table 4, they are not subject to TPT, and therefore DOR does not

assign them a deduction code.

Attached at the end of this section is the Transaction Privilege and Use Tax Expenditures section of DOR’s publication,
The Revenue Impact of Arizona’s Tax Expenditures, FY 2021. This document provides a complete list of all statutory tax
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exemptions and their deduction code, as well as a list of services that are excluded from TPT. Table 3 below lists
exemptions and exclusions with an estimated revenue impact of at least $500 million in FY 2021. The complete list of
tax expenditures is shown in Attachment A at the end of Transaction Privilege Tax section.

Table 3
THE FY 2021 DOLLAR VALUE OF MAJOR SALES TAX EXEMPTIONS
Collections at a
Exemptions 5% Rate
Wholesale Trade $6,647,717,969
Health Care Services 2,632,641,252
Professional, Scientific and Technical Services 1,275,186,120
Financial Services 540,725,500
Administrative and Business Support Services 1,227,609,030
Prescription Drugs and Medical Oxygen 1,348,748,616
Food for Home Consumption 747,146,185
Commercial Lease 542,964,588
Other _4,879,436,628
Total $19,842,175,898
Source: DOR, The Revenue Impact of Arizona’s Tax Expenditures FY 2021

Tax Rates. Once the net tax base is computed, it is multiplied by the applicable tax rate to derive the total tax due. The
tax rates vary according to the business classification of the taxable activity. Most categories, however, are taxed at the
rate of 5.6%. Table 4 lists the tax rate for each classification.

TAX REFUNDS AND/OR TAX CREDITS

Telecommunications Service Assistance Program. Local exchange telephone companies may claim a tax credit for rate
reductions given to elderly low-income persons [A.R.S. § 42-5016].

Accounting Credit. Taxpayers are allowed to claim a tax credit against their sales taxes for the expenses incurred for
accounting and reporting those taxes. Pursuant to Laws 2017, Chapter 60, the amount of the accounting credit
depends on whether the taxpayer files a paper return or uses electronic filing. For taxpayers that file paper returns, the
credit is 1.0% of the tax due, not to exceed $10,000 in any calendar year. For taxpayers that file electronically, the
credit is 1.2% of the tax due, not to exceed $12,000 in any calendar year [A.R.S. § 42-5017].

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

Due Dates. TPT is due to DOR every month on or before the 20th day of the month after the month in which the tax
accrues. For example, for taxable sales made in January, a tax payment is due to DOR by February 20 [A.R.S. § 42-
5014].

Delinquency Dates. For taxpayers that are required or elect to file and pay electronically, tax payments are delinquent
if not received by DOR on or before the last business day of the month. (A business day is any day except Saturday,
Sunday, or a legal Arizona state holiday.) For taxpayers that file by mail or in person, tax payments are delinquent if not
received by DOR on or before the business day preceding the last business day of the month [A.R.S. § 42-5014].

Penalties. Any return that is not filed timely is subject to a late filing penalty. The late filing penalty is the greater of
4.5% of the tax reported on the return, or $25. The penalty is added to the tax for each month or fraction of a month
elapsing between the due date of the return and the date on which the return is filed. The total penalty cannot exceed
the greater of 25% of the tax due, or $100 [A.R.S. § 42-1125].

Alternative Payment Schedules. DOR may authorize different payment schedules depending on the taxpayer’s
estimated tax liability or transient nature of the business.
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e Taxpayers with an estimated annual tax liability of $2,000 or less may pay on an annual basis.

e Taxpayers with an estimated annual tax liability of between $2,000 and $8,000 may pay on a quarterly basis.

e Taxpayers whose business is of a “transient character” may be required to pay on a daily, weekly, or transaction-
by-transaction basis.

Electronic Tax Filing and Payment Requirements. Any business that has 2 or more locations or operates under 2 or
more business names is required to file and pay their taxes electronically. All other businesses have the option to enroll
to file and pay electronically. Laws 2017, Chapter 60 requires that businesses with an annual tax liability of at least
$10,000 in Calendar Year (CY) 2019 file and pay their taxes electronically. Chapter 60 lowers the tax liability threshold
for electronic filing and payments from $20,000 to $10,000 in CY 2019, $5,000 in CY 2020, and $500 in CY 2021 and
subsequent years [A.R.S. § 42-5014].

Estimated Tax Payments. Taxpayers who pay income taxes and whose business had a combined tax liability for
transaction privilege, telecommunication services excise, and county excise taxes in the preceding calendar year (or can
reasonably anticipate a liability of such taxes) of $3.1 million or more must make a single estimated advance payment in
June of each year. Normally, the full June tax bill would be due on July 20. This estimated payment is in addition to the
regular June sales tax liability (which represents May sales). Laws 2010, 7*" Special Session, Chapter 12 lowered the
threshold for estimated TPT payments from $1.0 million in annual sales tax liability to $100,000 for FY 2010 through
FY 2012. Prior to FY 2007, the threshold for estimated payments was $100,000. Laws 2006, Chapter 351 increased the
threshold to $1.0 million. Laws 2019, Chapter 290 increases the liability threshold for the June estimated payment
from $1.0 million to $1.6 million in 2020, $2.3 million in 2021, $3.1 million in 2022, and $4.1 million in 2023 and each
year thereafter. In FY 2020, the increase of the liability threshold from $1.0 million to $1.6 million was estimated to
result in a one-time General Fund revenue loss of $(10.3) million. The one-time revenue losses in FY 2021 through FY
2023 are estimated to be approximately $(10.0) million annually [A.R.S. § 42-5014].

Table 4
TRANSACTION PRIVILEGE TAX CLASSIFICATIONS
A.R.S.
Exemption
Classification Statute Tax Rate  Distribution Base?  Non-Shared Base Education ¥/
Retail 42-5061 5.6% 40% of first 5.0% 60% of first 5.0% 0.6% Increment
Transporting 42-5062 5.6% 20% of first 5.0% 80% of first 5.0% 0.6% Increment
Utilities 42-5063 5.6% 20% of first 5.0% 80% of first 5.0% 0.6% Increment
Telecommunications 42-5064 5.6% 20% of first 5.0% 80% of first 5.0% 0.6% Increment
Publication 42-5065 5.6% 20% of first 5.0% 80% of first 5.0% 0.6% Increment
Job Printing 42-5066 5.6% 20% of first 5.0% 80% of first 5.0% 0.6% Increment
Pipeline 42-5067 5.6% 20% of first 5.0% 80% of first 5.0% 0.6% Increment
Private Car Line 42-5068 5.6% 20% of first 5.0% 80% of first 5.0% 0.6% Increment
Commercial Lease 42-5069 0.0% 0% 0% None
Transient Lodging 42-5070 5.5% 50% 50% None
Personal Property Rental 42-5071 5.6% 40% of first 5.0% 60% of first 5.0% 0.6% Increment
Mining 42-5072 3.125% 32% 68% None
Amusement 42-5073 5.6% 40% of first 5.0% 60% of first 5.0% 0.6% Increment
Restaurant and Bar 42-5074 5.6% 40% of first 5.0% 60% of first 5.0% 0.6% Increment
Prime Contracting 42-5075 5.6% 20% of first 5.0% 80% of first 5.0% 0.6% Increment
Online Lodging Marketplace 42-5076 5.5% 50% 50% None
1/ Represents the portion of revenues that is designated for the distribution base.
2/ Represents the portion of revenues that is designated for the non-shared base.
3/ Represents the portion of revenues that is designated for education.

Pursuant to A.R.S. § 42-5014, the estimated tax payment should equal either 1) one-half of the actual tax liability for
May of the current calendar year, or 2) the actual tax liability for the first 15 days of June of the current calendar year.
Estimated payments are due by June 20. In July of each year, those taxpayers that made estimated payments in the
preceding month may subtract the amount of June’s estimated payment from their July tax bill.
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When the Estimated Payments program was first enacted in 1989 (pursuant to Laws 1989, 2" Special Session, Chapter
1), the estimated payments provided a one-time increase of state revenues by advancing a portion of the next fiscal
year’s revenues into the current fiscal year. If the program were ever eliminated, as is periodically proposed, it would
result in a one-time loss of state revenues. This is because every July, taxpayers make a “claim” for the preceding
month’s estimated payment and every June, taxpayers make a counterbalancing estimated payment. Eliminating the
June payment leaves the July claim without a counterbalance — and the state with a one-time revenue loss.

Collections. DOR was originally required (pursuant to Laws 2013, Chapter 255) to become the single point for licensing,
filing tax return, and paying state, county, and municipal TPT, beginning January 1, 2015. However, due to the
complexity of incorporating the cities’ requirements into DOR’s information technology system, the full implementation
of this requirement did not begin until January 1, 2017.

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES
The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 2016.
2022 LAWS

Laws 2022, Chapter 43 expands the TPT exemption for the sale of vehicles to nonresidents. Under current law, sales of
motor vehicles to nonresidents of Arizona for use outside of Arizona are exempt from TPT if the dealer ships or delivers
the motor vehicle out of the state. Chapter 43 expands this exemption by also exempting the sale of a vehicle, trailer,
or semitrailer to a nonresident for use outside of the state from state TPT and municipal tax if the vehicle, trailer, or
semitrailer has a gross weight of over 10,000 pounds, is used for interstate commerce, and meets the statutory
definition of a commercial motor vehicle. The General Fund impact of expanding the TPT exemption would likely be
limited.

Laws 2022, Chapter 229 exempts use tax on service vehicles (such as a temporary "loaner" or courtesy vehicle) that are
removed from dealers' inventory if such vehicles are continuously available for sale. Prior to Chapter 229, the state
levied a general use tax of 5.0% on motor vehicles that were removed from a dealer's inventory and used in their
business operations. The fiscal impact of Chapter 229 is unknown.

Laws 2022, Chapter 321 directs the State Treasurer to distribute revenues from the state General Fund portion of TPT
revenues to various non-General Fund agency funds in FY 2023 as follows:

e ADOT State Highway Fund - $925,447,500

e ADOT State Aviation Fund - $20,600,000

e DEMA Border Security Fund - $209,205,000

e  Parks Board State Parks Revenue Fund - $38,237,100

e  Budget Stabilization Fund - $425,000,000

Additionally, Chapter 321 increases the cap, from $50 million to $100 million, of the amount of prime contracting state
TPT revenues that is authorized to be transferred to cities, towns, and counties to fund the cost of public infrastructure
improvements for manufacturing facilities. Moreover, it expands an existing TPT exemption to include the purchase of
used (as opposed to only new) agricultural machinery and equipment, as well as short-term rentals. Finally, Chapter
321 provides a new TPT exemption for "Off-Highway Vehicles" that have been modified to be used for agricultural
purposes. The TPT exemption is estimated to result in a General Fund revenue loss of $(583,000) annually, beginning in
FY 2023.

2021 LAWS

Laws 2021, Chapter 67 makes changes to how Classroom Site Fund (CSF) monies generated from the 0.6% education
sales tax are allocated by school districts and charter schools. (Effective September 29, 2021)

Laws 2021, Chapter 80 extends the public infrastructure improvements program under A.R.S. § 42-5032.02 by 10 years,
from September 30, 2023 to September 30, 2033.
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Laws 2021, Chapter 220 establishes the guidelines for insurance requirements, safety, and taxation of peer-to-peer
(P2P) car sharing transactions using an online platform that connects vehicle owners with individuals who want to drive
their vehicle under a car sharing agreement.

Under Chapter 220, the use of a shared vehicle by an individual other than the shared vehicle's owner through a peer-
to-peer car sharing program is subject to state and municipal TPT as well as county excise taxes. Chapter 220 exempts
such shared vehicle transactions from both the Maricopa County rental car surcharge (used to fund the Arizona Sports
and Tourism Authority and the Maricopa County Stadium District) and the Pima County rental car surcharge (used to
fund the Pima County Stadium District). Moreover, if the owner of the vehicle certifies to DOR that their vehicle is an
"individual-owned shared vehicle," Chapter 220 exempts the shared vehicle transaction from the statewide rental car
surcharge.

Chapter 220 adds peer-to-peer car sharing to the personal property rental classification under A.R.S. § 42-5071.
Additionally, the act provides that TPT is collected and remitted by the peer-to-peer car sharing company and not the
shared vehicle owner. (Effective September 29, 2021).

Laws 2021, Chapter 266 modifies some of the statutes related to the Arizona Commerce Authority's Computer Data
Center (CDC) program (A.R.S. § 41-1519) and International Operations Center (IOC) program (A.R.S. § 41-1520). Under
current law, equipment purchased and installed at a certified computer data center is exempt from retail TPT and Use
Tax. Chapter 266 modifies statutes by providing that the installation, assembly, repair, or maintenance of computer
data center equipment is exempt from the prime contracting TPT if it has "independent functional utility."
(Independent functional utility means that the equipment "can independently perform its function without attachment
to real property" such as land or buildings.) (Effective retroactively from September 13, 2013)

Laws 2021, Chapter 411 repeals the fee charged to cities, towns, counties, councils of governments and regional
transportation authorities used to recover a portion of administrative expenses for tax collection services incurred by
the Department of Revenue. (Effective retroactively from July 1, 2021)

Laws 2021, Chapter 412 clarifies retroactively from January 1, 2016 that the TPT and Use Tax exemption for machinery
and equipment includes containment structures.

Laws 2021, Chapter 417 exempts utility scale energy storage machinery and equipment from retail TPT and the Use
Tax. (Effective September 29, 2021).

Laws 2021, Chapter 443 exempts specified sales and contracting activities to and by Indian Tribes, tribally owned
businesses, tribal entities, and affiliated Indians from state and municipal Transaction Privilege Tax. Chapter 443
requires non-affiliated Indians and non-Indian vendors to maintain sufficient documentation of their taxable and non-
taxable gross proceeds to enable DOR to determine which transactions are subject to TPT.

DOR issued Arizona Transaction Privilege Tax Ruling 95-11 (TPR 95-11) in April 1995 relating to the imposition of TPT
activities performed on Indian reservations in Arizona. TPR 95-11 states that an affiliated Indian or an affiliated Indian
vendor engaged in business activities on the reservation are not subject to TPT. Additionally, non-Indian or non-
affiliated Indian retailers engaged in business activities located on a reservation are not subject to tax if the activity is
performed for an affiliated Indian. Chapter 443 codifies this ruling.

2020 LAWS
Laws 2020, Chapter 43 requires estimated payments, for taxpayers with an annual tax liability above the statutory
threshold, to be made by the last business day in June if the taxpayer is required to make the payment by electronic

means.

Additionally, Chapter 43 specifies that estimated tax payments made in June of each year, for taxpayers with an annual
tax liability above a statutory threshold, must be made in the same manner as a taxpayer's regular payments.
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Laws 2020, Chapter 49 directs, beginning in FY 2022, $64,100,000 each fiscal year collected from the 0.6 percent
transaction privilege and use tax for education to the Superintendent of Public Instruction for basic state aid, rather
than to the Classroom Site Fund.

2019 LAWS

Laws 2019, Chapter 50 increases the maximum county transportation excise tax rate pursuant to A.R.S. § 42-6106, by
itself, or together with the county transportation excise tax rate pursuant to A.R.S. § 42-6107, from 10% to 20% of the
state Transaction Privilege Tax (TPT) rate that was in effect on January 1, 1990, which. This has the effect of increasing
the maximum county transportation excise tax rate from 0.5% to 1.0%.

By way of background information, there are currently 3 statutes that authorize county governments to levy a
transportation excise tax. All such statutes provide the allowed amount as a percentage of the state Transaction
Privilege Tax (TPT), which is currently 5%, and require county voters to approve any taxes.

A.R.S. § 42-6105 permits a transportation excise tax of up to 0.5% to be levied within Maricopa County. A.R.S. § 42-
6106 permits the Regional Transportation Authority (RTA) of any county other than Maricopa to levy a transportation
excise tax of up to 0.5%.

A.R.S. § 42-6107 permits counties to levy an additional 0.5% in transportation excise taxes. These collections, however,
must be deposited pursuant to A.R.S. § 28-6397, which is restricted to counties with populations of 400,000 or less.
Maricopa and Pima counties, therefore, are not able to levy the additional 0.5% under this provision.

Chapter 50 amends A.R.S. § 42-6106 to permit the RTA of any county other than Maricopa to levy a tax rate of up to
20% of the state TPT rate, or 1.0%. As noted above, the 1.0% rate cap includes levies under both A.R.S. § 42-6106 and
A.R.S. § 42-6107. Because all counties other than Maricopa and Pima already can levy a rate of up to 1.0% (0.5% under
A.R.S. § 42-6106 plus 0.5% under A.R.S. § 42-6107) and A.R.S. § 42-6106 excludes Maricopa County, Chapter 50 only
affects Pima County. Chapter 50 has no direct General Fund revenue impact. (Effective August 27, 2019)

Laws 2019, Chapter 53 requires cities and towns to notify each residential transaction privilege tax licensee who is
licensed with Department of Revenue and each individual residential rental property of a new or increased tax rate at
least 60 days before the effective date. (Effective August 27, 2019)

Laws 2019, Chapter 124 allows the Department of Revenue to administer, collect, enforce and distribute taxes levied
by a city, town or other taxing jurisdiction on an online lodging marketplace. (Effective August 27, 2019)

Laws 2019, Chapter 163 adds a video service provider (VSP) to the definition of a cable operator and grants the powers,
duties and responsibilities of a cable operator to a VSP.

Laws 2019, Chapter 189 excludes over-the-top (OTT) audio or video programming services from the
telecommunications classification and exempts them from municipal taxation. Additionally, Chapter 189 specifies the
sourcing of any taxation in the absence of a delivery address.

Laws 2019, Chapter 203 was a correction bill that made technical and clarification changes to the Arizona Revised
Statutes. (Effective August 27, 2019)

Laws 2019, Chapter 236 removes the specific deadline of the fifth day of each month for the Department of Revenue to
deliver the monthly tax collections report to the State Treasurer and the Director of the Department of Administration.
In addition, Chapter 236 specifies that tax collection records will show amounts collected from businesses engaged
within the state, rather than by county. (Effective August 27, 2019)

Laws 2019, Chapter 240 makes various changes to statute relating to vacation and short-term rental regulations, such

as prohibiting an online lodging operator from offering for rent or renting a lodging accommodation without a current
transaction privilege tax license. (Effective August 27, 2019)
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Laws 2019, Chapter 241 requires the State Treasurer to distribute to the Workforce Development Account (WDA) 3% of
the monies collected from the 0.6% sales tax that begins on July 1, 2021, remaining after the monthly distribution to
the Classroom Site Fund (CSF), rather than after the distributions to both the CSF and the Technology and Research
Initiative Fund (TRIF). Chapter 241 has no impact on the General Fund. (Effective August 27, 2019)

Laws 2019, Chapter 273 contains numerous provisions relating to individual income tax, corporate income tax, and
transaction privilege tax (TPT). The TPT changes under Chapter 273 relate to the state's enactment of "Wayfair," as
described below. Please see the Individual and Corporate Income Tax sections for details relating to the provisions in
Chapter 273 specifically affecting these taxes. The ongoing revenue impact of Chapter 273 is discussed in detail in the
Individual Income Tax section of the Tax Handbook.

Enactment of Wayfair Legislation — In June 2018, the United States Supreme Court overruled in South Dakota v. Wayfair
Inc. a 1992 ruling made by the same court in Quill Corp v. North Dakota, which had held that only out-of-state
("remote") businesses with a physical presence ("nexus") inside a state could be required to collect and remit sales tax
in that state. As a result of the Wayfair ruling, the physical presence requirement was effectively replaced by an
economic nexus requirement.

Beginning October 1, 2019, Chapter 273 establishes the economic nexus thresholds under which an out-of-state
business is required to collect and remit tax on retail sales in Arizona, which are as follows:

e If the out-of-state business does not conduct sales through a marketplace facilitator, economic nexus applies if
sales in Arizona exceed $200,000 in calendar year (CY) 2019, $150,000 in CY 2020, and $100,000 in CY 2021 and
thereafter.

e If the out-of-state business is a marketplace facilitator, economic nexus applies if sales in Arizona from the
marketplace facilitator's own business or on behalf of at least one marketplace seller exceed $100,000 in the
calendar year.

Besides establishing the state's economic nexus threshold requirements, Chapter 273 also added new language in state
statutes with respect to the municipal tax treatment of retail sales, as outlined below.

e Requires municipal ordinances and other local laws related to the taxation of retail sales to be superseded by the
state's transaction privilege tax statutes for the retail classification.

e Provides cities and towns the option to levy a transaction privilege tax on the sale of:

Food for home consumption

Textbooks required by a state university or community college sold at bookstores

Livestock and poultry feed, salt, vitamins and other additives used in the business of farming and ranching
Nonmetalliferous mined materials sold at retail

Works of fine art

Motor vehicles sold to nonresidents or enrolled members of an Indian Tribe.

oukwnNeE

e Allows a city or a town to continue to levy an existing transaction privilege tax, which was levied on or before May
1, 2019, on the sale of:
1. Propagative materials, including fertilizers
2. Implants used as growth promotants and injectable medicine for livestock or poultry
3. Animals such as horses, sheep, and goats used as breeding or production stock.
Depending on the size of its population, a municipality can continue levying a tax on these products either through
December 31, 2019 (if population is more than 50,000) or through June 30, 2021 (if population is 50,000 or less).

e Provides cities and towns the option to exempt from tax the sale of paintings, sculptures, or similar works of fine
art by the original artists.

e Provides that the Legislature will not move any sales tax classifications other than retail from the Model City Tax
Code to state statute for a period of 5 years from the effective date of the act.

As noted above, beginning October 1, 2019, Laws 2019, Chapter 273 ("Wayfair") establishes the economic nexus
thresholds under which an out-of-state business is required to collect and remit tax on retail sales in Arizona. The
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ongoing full-year revenue impact is estimated to be $85.0 million. However, due to the October 1, 2019 effective date,
the revenue gain is reduced on a one-time basis by $(28.0) million in FY 2020.

Laws 2019, Chapter 288 expands the exemption on "propagative materials." Under current law, propagative materials,
which include seeds, roots, bulbs, cuttings and similar materials, are exempt from state TPT and use tax. Beginning on
December 1, 2019, Chapter 288 expands this exemption to include fertilizers, insecticides and similar materials.
Chapter 288 is estimated to reduce General Fund revenues by $(7.3) million in FY 2020, followed by an additional
reduction of $(7.4) million, beginning in FY 2021.

Laws 2019, Chapter 290 increases the liability threshold for the June estimated payment from $1.0 million to $1.6
million in 2020, $2.3 million in 2021, $3.1 million in 2022, and $4.1 million in 2023 and each year thereafter. Chapter
290 is estimated to result in a one-time General Fund revenue loss of $(10.3) million in FY 2020. The one-time revenue
losses in both FY 2021 and FY 2022 are estimated to be $(10.0) million.

2018 LAWS

Laws 2018, Chapter 17 requires municipalities that impose TPT or use tax on the sale of food for home or premises
consumption to apply the tax uniformly and without an additional tax or fee differential for any specific food item. In
addition, Chapter 17 prohibits a municipality from imposing TPT or use tax on: (1) manufacturing, wholesale or
distribution of food for home or premises consumption, and (2) any container or packaging used exclusively for
transporting, protecting or consuming food at home or on premises. (Effective August 3, 2018)

Laws 2018, Chapter 74 extends the additional 0.6% tax exclusively dedicated to education (originally approved by
voters in November 2000 as Proposition 301) from July 1, 2021 through June 30, 2041. Absent Chapter 74, the
additional 0.6% tax rate would have expired June 30, 2021. Moreover, Chapter 74 extends the low-income individual
income tax credit (authorized by Proposition 301) from TY 2021 through TY 2041. (Effective March 26, 2018)

Laws 2018, Chapter 104 was a correction bill that made technical and clarification changes to the Arizona Revised
Statutes. (Effective from August 3, 2018)

Laws 2018, Chapter 138 extends the due date for the Rio Nuevo Multipurpose Facilities District to operate and receive
state TPT distributions to July 1, 2035, or upon the completion of authorized debt service payments, whichever occurs
later. Prior to Chapter 138, the district was permitted to operate and receive state TPT distributions to no longer than
July 1, 2025. (Effective August 3, 2018)

Laws 2018, Chapter 189 requires all online lodging marketplaces to register with Department of Revenue (DOR) for a
TPT license for the purpose of remitting sales tax on online lodging transactions facilitated by them. (An online lodging
marketplace is any digital platform that provides, at a cost, an unaffiliated third-party with a platform to rent lodging
accommodations.) Prior to Chapter 189, which goes into effect January 1, 2019, an online lodging marketplace is
allowed to (as opposed to being required to) remit sales tax on its online lodging transactions.

Laws 2018, Chapter 190 makes the use of any automated sales suppression (or "zapper") software for tax evasion
purposes illegal and subject to a fine of no more than $500,000 for corporations and $100,000 for all others. While
fines will be deposited in a new fund established by the act (Tax Fraud Interdiction Fund), taxes, penalties, and interest
owed as a result of businesses using sales suppression software will be distributed in the same manner as for TPT.
Combined, Chapters 189 and 190 are estimated to increase General Fund revenue by $10.0 million in FY 2019, followed
by an additional $5.0 million annually, beginning in FY 2020.

Laws 2018, Chapter 249 specifies that the TPT and use tax exemptions for non-profit organizations associated with a
major league baseball team or a professional golfing association do not apply to organizations that are owned,
managed, or controlled by a major league baseball team, major league baseball association, or professional golfing
association, unless the organization operated exhibition events before January 1, 2018 that were exempt from TPT
under the amusement classification. (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2018)
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Laws 2018, Chapter 263 exempts the sale of coal from state and municipal TPT and imposes a 0.5% county excise tax
on the sale of coal that has been mined or extracted within the county boundaries. Chapter 263 is conditional upon the
approval of the transfer of ownership of the Navajo Generating Station (NGS) by the Navajo Nation Council on or before
December 31, 2022. (The NGS is currently scheduled to close December 31, 2019.)

Laws 2018, Chapter 286 adds mobile food units to the restaurant classification of TPT and repeals the TPT exemption
for food sold by a retailer who uses a mobile facility, motor vehicle or similar conveyance. (Effective August 3, 2018)

Laws 2018, Chapter 341 specifies that the prime contracting classification does not include any work performed by a
person who is not required to be licensed by the Registrar of Contractors. In addition, Chapter 341 removes the
following exceptions from the definition of "alteration": (1) projects in which the scope applies to more than 40% of
the square footage of the existing property, and (2) projects in which the scope involves expanding the square footage
of the existing property by more than 10%. (Effective January 1, 2019)

2017 LAWS

Laws 2017, Chapter 60 includes several provisions for electronic filing and payment of taxes to the Department of
Revenue (DOR). The act's main transaction privilege tax provisions are listed below.

e Requires electronic filing of TPT returns if the taxpayer's annual liability is at least: $20,000 in Calendar Year (CY)
2018, $10,000 in CY 2019, $5,000 in CY 2020, and $500 in CY 2021 and subsequent years.

e Increases the TPT accounting credit from 1.0% to 1.2% of tax liability, or from a maximum annual credit of $10,000
to $12,000, for taxpayers that file their TPT returns electronically. (Effective August 9, 2017)

e Changes the penalty for late filing of TPT returns from 4.5% of the taxpayer's liability to the greater of 4.5% of the
taxpayer's liability or $25. (Effective August 9, 2017)

e Changes the penalty for failure of filing TPT returns from 25% of the taxpayer's liability to the greater of 25% of the
taxpayer's liability or $100. (Effective August 9, 2017)

Laws 2017, Chapter 340 makes several changes to the existing Public Infrastructure Improvements program, including
the following: (1) provides that prime contracting state TPT revenues used for purposes of public infrastructure
improvement not be distributed until 10% of the qualifying capital investment has been made by a qualifying
manufacturing facility, (2) requires the manufacturing facility to file a sworn certification with the Arizona Commerce
Authority (ACA) within 180 days after commencement of buildings and associated improvements, and (3) requires the
manufacturing facility and the county or municipality to enter into a written agreement before submitting the
certification to ACA. There is no fiscal impact associated with these changes. (Effective January 1, 2018)

Besides the changes to the existing Public Infrastructure Improvements program, Chapter 340 also exempts aircraft
sales from TPT if the aircraft is registered with a fractional ownership program that meets the requirements of the
Federal Aviation Administration. (Fractional ownership of aircraft refers to an arrangement under which multiple
owners share the costs of purchasing, leasing and operating an aircraft.) The fiscal impact of this provision is currently
unknown. (Effective January 1, 2018)

2016 LAWS

Laws 2016, Chapter 35 authorizes the State Treasurer to withhold state-shared revenues from an offending local
jurisdiction. Chapter 35 directs the Attorney General to certify to the State Treasurer that the violation is resolved, at
which time distribution of state-shared revenue resumes. (Effective August 6, 2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 148 increases the initial and renewal terms for Indian tribe compacts to receive state TPT for

community colleges owned, operated or charted by a qualifying Indian tribe from 10 years to 20 years. (Effective
August 6, 2016)
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Laws 2016, Chapter 171 expands the TPT exemption for transportation network companies provided by Laws 2015,
Chapter 235 to include vehicle for hire companies (taxis, livery vehicles, and limousines). The exemption applies to
both state and municipal TPT. The impact on state TPT is expected to be small. (Effective September 1, 2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 181 exempts aircraft built for agricultural use for the aerial application of pesticides or fertilizer or
for aerial seeding from state TPT and use tax. Chapter 181 is estimated to reduce General Fund revenue by $(18,600)
annually, beginning in FY 2017. (Effective August 6, 2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 208 establishes the Online Lodging Marketplace classification under state TPT. The tax base for the
Online Lodging Marketplace classification is the gross proceeds of sales from the business measured by the total
amount charged for an online transient lodging transaction by the online lodging operator. The tax rate under the
Online Lodging Marketplace classification is 5.5%. (Effective January 1, 2017)

Laws 2016, Chapter 223 exempts the leasing or renting of billboards from the personal property rental classification of
state TPT. Chapter 223 is estimated to reduce General Fund revenue by $(10,000) annually, beginning in FY 2017.
(Effective August 6, 2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 258 is an emergency measure that amends current statutes with respect to the method by which
state-shared revenues are apportioned among counties and municipalities, as described below.

Counties

Under current law, state-shared revenue is distributed to a county based on its population count as of the last federal
decennial census [A.R.S. § 42-5029(1)]. During the fifth year following the decennial census, a county may contract with
the U.S. Census Bureau to conduct a special census of the population of that county. Beginning on July 1 in the sixth
year following the decennial census, the result of the special census must be used as the basis for apportioning state-
shared revenue to that county until the next federal decennial census [A.R.S. § 42-5033].

If a special census is not conducted, Laws 2016, Chapter 258 provides a county the following 3 options, all of which
must be exercised before May 1 of the sixth year following a federal decennial census:

1. County submits its own population estimate as of the fifth year following the last decennial census, as approved by
the Office of Employment and Population Statistics.

2. County contracts with the U.S. Census Bureau to conduct a sample survey in order to produce a mid-decade county
population estimate.

3. County requests to continue to use the population count from the most recent U.S. decennial census.

If a county elects to use one of the options above, that population figure must be used (for purposes of apportioning
state-state shared revenue) in the sixth year following the decennial census through June 30 of the year following the
next decennial census.

Municipalities

Under current law, state-shared revenue is distributed to an incorporated city or town based on its population count as
of the last federal decennial census [A.R.S. § 42-5029(l)]. During the fifth year following the decennial census, a
city/town may contract with the U.S. Census Bureau to conduct a special census of the population of that municipality.
Beginning July 1 in the sixth year following the decennial census, the special census must be used as the basis for
apportioning state-shared revenue to that municipality until the next federal decennial census [A.R.S. § 42-5033].

For purposes of apportioning state-shared revenue, Laws 2016, Chapter 258 provides a city/town the option to use
either the population count from the special census or the most recent population estimate from the U.S. Census
Bureau. However, Chapter 258 provides that the population count from the special census be used for only 1 year.
Beginning on July 1 in the second year following the special census, a city/town must use the most recent population
estimate from the U.S. Census Bureau. If a special census is not conducted, Chapter 258 requires a city/town to use the
most recent population estimate from the U.S. Census Bureau beginning on July 1 in the second year following the
decennial census through June 30 of the year following the next decennial census.
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Laws 2016, Chapter 357 exempts natural gas transportation services sold to businesses that are principally engaged in
manufacturing or smelting operations from state TPT and use tax. Chapter 357 is estimated to reduce General Fund
revenue by $(870,000) annually, beginning in FY 2017. (Effective August 6, 2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 359 exempts liquefied petroleum gas (more commonly referred to as propane) sold to businesses
that are principally engaged in manufacturing or smelting operations from state TPT and use tax. Chapter 359 is
estimated to reduce General Fund revenue by $(91,000) annually, beginning in FY 2017. (Effective September 1, 2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 361 exempts the sale of animal feed to a person who boards livestock non-commercially from state
TPT and use tax. Chapter 361 is estimated to reduce General Fund revenue by $(1.0) million annually, beginning in FY
2017. (Effective August 6, 2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 367 exempts the sale of aircraft and aircraft equipment to charter airlines under certain conditions
from state TPT and use tax. The exemption is estimated to reduce General Fund revenue by $(2.3) million annually,
beginning in FY 2018. (Effective July 1, 2017)

Laws 2016, Chapter 368 exempts the sale of fine art at an auction or gallery to a nonresident, for use outside the state,
from state TPT. The exemption is estimated to reduce General Fund revenue by $(1.3) million annually, beginning in FY
2017. (Effective September 1, 2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 369 provides numerous changes to the data center equipment exemption authorized by Laws
2013, 1%t Special Session, Chapter 9. Notably, Chapter 369 adds improvements to the expenses that qualify towards the
required minimum investment. In addition, Chapter 369 allows new data centers to obtain certification as a sustainable
redevelopment project. (Effective retroactively from September 13, 2013)

Laws 2016, Chapter 373 exempts the gross proceeds from entry fees paid to participate in noncompetitive races
sponsored by nonprofit organizations from state and municipal TPT. Chapter 373 is not expected to have any fiscal
impact. (Effective August 6, 2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 374 modifies the requirements to qualify for the existing state TPT and use tax exemption for
electricity and natural gas purchased by manufacturers and smelters. To qualify for the exemption under current law
(Laws 2014, Chapter 7), a business must use at least 51% of the electricity or natural gas purchased in manufacturing or
smelting operations. In addition, at least 51% of the business must be devoted to (“principally engaged in”) a
manufacturing or smelting operation. Laws 2016, Chapter 374 changes the current eligibility requirements to one of
the following: (1) at least 51% of the manufactured or smelted products are exported out of state, (2) at least 51% of
gross income is derived from sale of manufactured or smelted products, (3) at least 51% of a business’ square footage
in Arizona is used for manufacturing or smelting, (4) at least 51% of a business’ workforce in Arizona is employed in
manufacturing or smelting operations, or (5) at least 51% of the value of a business’ assets in Arizona is used for
manufacturing or smelting. Chapter 374 is estimated to reduce General Fund revenue by $(7.0) million in FY 2017,
followed by an additional reduction of $(7.0) million, beginning in FY 2018. (Effective January 1, 2017)

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2016 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
https://www.azjlbc.gov/22taxbook/22taxbk.pdf.
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Attachment A

The following preliminary information on sales tax exemptions and credits for FY 2021 is provided by courtesy of DOR.

SUMMARY OF TRANSACTION PRIVILEGE AND USE TAX EXPENDITURES - FISCAL YEAR 2021

PREFERENTIAL TAX RATES:

Non-metalliferous Mining; Oil and Gas Production $4,034,228
Commercial lease 542,964,588
TOTAL VALUE OF PREFERENTIAL TAX RATES $546,998,816
CREDITS:

Accounting credit $30,712,337

TRANSACTION PRIVILEGE AND USE TAX EXEMPTIONS — SAMPLE OF SERVICES:

PROFESSIONAL, SCIENTIFIC AND TECHNICAL SERVICES:

Legal

$185,977,745

Accounting, Tax Preparation, Bookkeeping and Payroll Services 117,758,393
Architectural, engineering, and related services 254,320,338
Specialized Design Services 19,369,059
Computer System Design and Related Services 338,728,306
Management, scientific, and technical consulting services 172,394,549
Scientific research and development services 48,691,258
Advertising, Public Relations and Technical Services 45,308,425
Other Professional, Scientific and Technical Services 92,638,048
TOTAL VALUE OF PROFESSIONAL, SCIENTIFIC AND TECHNICAL SERVICES $1,275,186,120

HEALTH CARE SERVICES:
Physicians $514,252,172
Dentists 143,137,192
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Chiropractors 15,907,700
Optometrists 17,272,878
Mental Health Practitioners 8,942,311
Physical, Occupational and Speech Therapists 33,863,560
All Other Health Practitioners 25,790,454
Outpatient Care Centers 199,394,117
Medical and Diagnostic Labs 78,577,420
Home Health Services 71,753,553
Other Ambulatory Health Services 90,580,417

General Medical and Surgical Hospitals

1,048,332,096

Nursing Care Facilities 70,044,100
Residential Intellectual and Developmental Disability, Mental Health, and

Substance Abuse Facilities 51,576,860
Continuing Care Retirement Facilities and Assisted Living Facilities 76,384,026
Other Residential Care Facilities 6,114,345
Individual and Family Services 106,938,435
Community Food and Housing, and Emergency and Other Relief Services 44,889,623
Child Day Care Services $28,889,993
TOTAL VALUE OF HEALTH CARE SERVICES $2,632,641,252
ADMINISTRATIVE AND BUSINESS SUPPORT SERVICES:

Office Administrative $55,458,291
Facilities Support 41,865,091
Employment Services 323,210,814
Business Support 91,371,933
Travel Arrangement and Reservation 351,377,432
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Investigation and Security 51,022,477
Services to Building and Dwellings 174,589,864
Other Support Services 45,865,696
Waste Collection 59,277,981
Waste Treatment and Disposal 16,471,679
Remediation and other waste management services 17,097,770
TOTAL VALUE OF ADMINISTRATIVE AND BUSINESS SUPPORT SERVICES $1,227,609,030
PERSONAL CARE SERVICES:

Barber $1,243,572
Beauty Salons 23,632,626
Nail Salons 6,455,168
Diet and Weight Reducing Centers 1,853,549
Other Personal Care 9,861,242
Death Care Services 11,004,114
Personal and Laundry Services 25,463,124
Pet Care (not Veterinary) 5,628,102
Photofinishing 1,209,703
Parking lot/Garages 6,631,931
Other Personal Services 65,762,685
TOTAL VALUE OF PERSONAL SERVICES $158,745,817
EDUCATIONAL SERVICES:

Business School/Computer/Management Training $11,811,043
Technical and Trade Schools 35,312,519
Other Schools and Instruction 19,470,024
Education Support Services 17,416,944
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TOTAL VALUE OF EDUCATIONAL SERVICES $84,010,530
FINANCIAL SERVICES:

Credit Unions $53,144,536
Sales Financing 136,134,025
Mortgage and Nonmortgage Loan Brokers 24,520,977
Financial Transaction Processing and Clearing 73,425,602
Other Activities Related to Credit Intermediation 25,945,219
Securities Brokerage 124,507,498
Portfolio Management 64,901,939
Investment Advice $36,174,508
Other Financial Investment Activities 1,971,195
TOTAL VALUE OF FINANCIAL SERVICES $540,725,500
,OTHER SERVICES:

Automotive Repair and Maintenance $133,060,847
Electronic and Precision Repair and Maintenance 10,321,246
Commercial, Industrial Machinery Repair and Maintenance 34,904,349
Personal and Household Goods Repair and Maintenance 10,365,705
Religious, Grantmaking, Civic, Professional and similar Organizations 146,897,929
TOTAL VALUE OF OTHER SERVICES $335,550,076

TRANSACTION PRIVILEGE AND USE TAX EXEMPTIONS — ALL OTHER:

Wholesale trade (503)

$6,647,717,969

Cash discounts (708)* 32,693,083
Trade-ins (711) 166,658,024
Services provided by a retailer (549) 534,846,134

11t is likely that this deduction is under reported.
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Business activity on a Reservation for a Enrolled Native American or Tribal entity

(570) 20,377,202
Sale of postage stamps at face value (716) 262,230?
Sales to Foreign diplomats (777) DNR3
Sales made through another’s Marketplace (804) 15,740,466
Sale of warranty or service contracts (542) 75,102,682
Sale of tangible personal property by a nonprofit organization (725) 880,285*
Sale of an aircraft sold to a carrier, government or nonresident (507) 6,278,689
Sale of stocks and bonds (no deduction code) NIA®
Prescription drugs and medical oxygen (536) 1,348,748,616
Prosthetic appliances (559) 22,091,903
Insulin, insulin syringe and glucose test strips (533) 141,905°
Prescription eyeglasses and contact lenses (590) 3,214,798
Hearing aids (594) 2,270,545
Durable medical equipment (526) 27,964,980
Sales to nonresidents for use outside Arizona if the property is shipped or

delivered outside the state (541) 72,442,693
Food for home consumption (506 and 513) 747,146,185
Textbooks that are required by any state university or community college (505) 1,390,000
Meals provided to Employee of restaurants (568) 8,570’
Food used in school lunches (569) 2,311,546
Sale of Arizona lottery tickets (521) $18,432,346°%

21t is likely that this deduction is under reported.
3 Data Not Releasable.

4 This is likely overstated.

5 No Information Available.

6 It is likely that this deduction is under reported.
7 It is likely that this deduction is under reported.
8 It is likely that this deduction is under reported.
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Precious metal bullion and monetized bullion (567 and 601) 8,317,760
Sales of vehicle fuel and aviation fuel (515) 454,060,924
Tangible personal property sold to Personal property leasing business to lease

(571) 8,379,262
Tangible personal property sold in interstate or foreign commerce (504) 473,150,487
Tangible personal property sold to a qualifying hospital or a qualifying health

care organization or sold to or purchased by qualifying community health centers

and health care organizations (545, 546, 572, 574) 88,473,133
Tangible personal property sold to a nonprofit organization which regularly

serves meals to the needy and indigent (544) 1,383,912
Tangible personal property sold to a nonprofit organization which provides

housing for low-income persons over 62 years of age (573) NIA®
Tangible personal property sold to Qualifying Health Sciences Educational

Institution (699) 97,893
Magazines or other periodicals or publications to encourage tourist travel (602) DNR?®
Sale of articles to a contractor for incorporation or fabrication under a contract

or for environmental response or remediation (552 and 589) 16,971,044
Tangible personal property sold to a Subcontractor for incorporation into a

Prime Contracting project (584) 1,490,497
Exempt motor vehicle sales for certain nonresidents (580) 556,236
Exempt motor vehicle sales for Native Americans (530) 13,430,119
Tangible personal property purchased by a nonprofit charitable organization that

uses such property for training, etc., for mentally or physically handicapped

persons (575) 147,671
Tangible personal property sold by a nonprofit organization associated with a

major league baseball team or a national touring professional golf association

(762) NIA
Tangible personal property sold by a nonprofit organization associated with a

rodeo featuring primarily farm and ranch animals (763) NIA

9 No Information Available.
10 Data Not Releasable.
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Sales of commodities under futures contracts consigned to a warehouse for

resale (583) DNR
Seeds, seedlings, etc., to commercially produce agricultural, horticultural,

viticultural or floricultural crops in Arizona (537) 9,626,8871
Machinery, equipment and certain supplies used to assist the physically or

developmentally disabled or those persons with head injuries (525) 4,305,684
Sales of natural gas or liquefied petroleum gas used to propel a vehicle (509) 7,459,816
Paper machine clothing used or consumed in paper manufacturing (586) NIA
Machinery, equipment, utility product, materials and other tangible personal

property used to construct a qualified environmental technology facility (607) DNR
Sales of coal, petroleum, coke, natural gas, virgin fuel oil and electricity to an

environmental technology facility (511) 213,434
Sales of liquid, solid or gaseous chemicals used in manufacturing, processing,

fabricating, mining, refining, metallurgical operations or research or

development (510) $4,697,849
Sales of food or drink consumed on the premises of a jail or prison (514) 2,107,153
Motor vehicles and any tangible personal property or repair that becomes a part

of the motor vehicles sold to a licensed motor operator that lease or rent the

property (528) 8,449,330
Livestock, poultry feed, salts, vitamins for livestock or poultry consumption (520) 15,982,433
Sale or purchase of implants used as growth promotants and injectable medicine

(516) 107,106
Sales of motor vehicles at auction to nonresidents of Arizona for use outside

Arizona (529) 3,842,486
Personal hygiene products which are furnished to and to be consumed by hotel

occupants (534 and 566) DNR!
Sales or purchases of alternative fuel to a used oil fuel burner (587) NIA®?
Printed, photographic, electronic or digital media materials for use in publicly 369 248

funded libraries (519)

11 pata Not Releasable.
12 No Information Available.
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Tangible personal property consisting of food, beverages and condiments sold to

or purchase by a commercial airline (512) NIA
Sale of new alternative fuel vehicles and conversion equipment (592) NIA
Sale of spirituous, vinous or malt liquor by a liquor wholesaler (588) DNR
Tangible personal property by a nonprofit that produces, organizes or promotes

cultural or civic related festivals (764) 354,820
Application services designed to assess or test student learning (596) 169,983
Sale of motor vehicle fuel and use fuel to a Healthy Forest business (598) DNR
Sale of repair parts in equipment used by a Healthy Forest business (603) NIA
Sales or transfer of renewable energy credits (604) 1,567,438
Sales of computer data equipment for use in a certified computer data center

(565) 1,159,061
Sales of orthodontic devices dispensed by a dental professional (582) DNR
Property sold to a Contractor for a MRRA project on an Indian Reservation (712) 624,536
Works of fine art sold to nonresidents and used outside of the state (773) 428,627
Machinery or equipment used directly in manufacturing, processing, fabricating,

job printing, refining, or metallurgical operations (522) 222,987,426
Sale of machinery or equipment used in mining and in drilling for or extracting oil

or gas from the earth (523 and 579) 21,741,038
Certain equipment used in the telecommunications industry (539) 154,667
Machinery, equipment or transmission lines used directly in producing or

transmitting electrical power (524) 15,653,573
Neat animals, horses, asses, sheep, swine or goats used or to be used as

breeding or production stock (605) 226,349
Pipes or valves 4” in diameter used to transport oil, natural gas, artificial gas,

water or coal slurry (535) $435,866
Certain aircraft, navigational and communication instruments (508) 12,991,477
Machinery, tools, equipment used in repairing, remodeling or maintaining

aircraft, aircraft engines or aircraft component parts (532) 189,839
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Railroad rolling stock, rails, ties and signal control equipment used to transport

persons or property for hire (576) DNR®3
Buses or other urban mass transit vehicles used to transport persons for hire or

pursuant to a governmentally adopted and controlled urban mass transportation

program (606) 3,240,174
Certain groundwater measuring devices and their installation (581) DNR
New machinery and equipment used for commercial production of agricultural,

horticultural, viticultural and floricultural crops (585) 10,564,184
Machinery or equipment used in research and development (553) 8,097,740
Tangible personal property used by an direct broadcast satellite television or

data transmission service or facility (591) DNR
Clean rooms used for manufacturing, processing, fabrication or research and

development (595) 4,046,540
Machinery or equipment for poultry and egg production (577) DNR
Machinery and equipment used by agriculture to prevent, monitor, control or

reduce pollution (597) DNR
Machinery and equipment to prevent pollution for farming and ranching (599) 10,170
Digital television machinery and equipment purchases for compliance with the

Telecommunications Act of 1996 (578) DNR
Machinery and equipment sold or rented to a healthy forest certified business

(554) NAL
Federal luxury excise tax on heaving trucks and trailers (609) 36,623
Sales made to the U S Government by a manufacturer, modifier, assembler or

repairer (547) 39,167,675
Sales of component parts made to a manufacturer, modifier, assembler or

repairer for sale to the U S Government (543) 10,995,876
Sales of overhead materials used in a contract between the U S Government and

a manufacturer, modifier, assembler or repairer (611) 87,168

13 Data Not Releasable.
14 No Information Available.
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50% of retail sales made to U S Government; 100% of Use Tax (548) 7,371,956
Gross income from motor vehicle manufacturer’s cash rebates if assigned to the

retailer (501) 28,211,537
Gross income derived from the waste tire disposal fee (613) 436,666
Sales of solar energy devices (538) 17,369,747
Sales of wireless telecommunication equipment as an inducement to enter into

or continue a contract for telecommunication services or sales commissions

received (614) 406,747
Sales of motor vehicle to a nonresident from a state with a lower tax rate (531) 10,626,544
Transportation by vehicles subject to fees paid to MVD (715) $3,293,160
Transportation network company’s income or fees or driver’s income (772) DNR?’
Vehicle for hire company’s income or driver’s income (778) DNR
Transportation of persons by air if taxation is prohibited by Federal Law (615) DNR
Ambulances or ambulance services (no deduction code) NIAE
Public transportation services for dial-a-ride programs and special needs

transportation services (no deduction code) NIA
Gross proceeds for transporting freight or property by an exclusively Arizona

railroad for portions of single shipments involving other railroads (616) DNR
Gross proceeds for arranging transportation as a convenience or service to a

customer if the business is not engaged in the transportation business (no

deduction code) NIA
Gross proceeds of sales or gross income derived from transporting for hire

persons, freight or property by a railroad pursuant to a contract with another

railroad (620) NIA
Sales taxed under another business code (640) 1,253,660
Sales of transportation or amusement activities arranged by another business

that is exempt (612) 1,837,824

15 Data Not Releasable
16 No Information Available.
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Sales of transportation or amusement activities arranged and taxed by another

DNR
(702)
Gross proceeds of sales or gross income derived from transporting fertilizer by a
railroad from a point in Arizona to another point in Arizona (625) NIA
Sales of electric services to a retail electric customer who is located outside
Arizona for Delivery and use outside Arizona (617) NIA
Rental of space on utility poles (759) Data Not Releasable DNR
Sales from transfer of electricity by a retail electric customer to an electric
distribution system (618) NIA
Development fees charged by a municipally owned utility (621) DNR
Revenue received by any person owning a utility system in the form of
reimbursement or compensation for property and equipment installed to
provide utility access to, on or across land of any actual utility consumer (626) 57,769
Interstate sales of electricity, natural gas and water NIA
Interstate telecommunications services (643) 275,113
Sales of intrastate telecommunications services by a cable television system or
by a microwave television transmission system (no deduction code) NIA
Sales of internet access services (517) 1,994,4818
Sales of Over-the-Top services (789) DNR
Sales of intrastate telecommunications services to a direct broadcast satellite
television or data transmission service (619) DNR
End-user common line charges and carrier access charges established by federal
communications regulations (641 and 627) DNR
Sales of direct broadcast satellite television services (633) DNR?®
Telecommunications services purchased with a prepaid calling card (649) DNR
Manufacturing or publishing books (no deduction code) NIAZ

17 It is likely that this deduction is under reported.
18 1t is likely that this deduction is under reported.

19 Data Not Releasable.
20 No Information Available.
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Gross income of publications derived from advertising (628) Included in
services

Sales to a person distributing printing, engraving, embossing or copying without

consideration in connection with the publication of a newspaper or magazine

(630) DNR

Sales of job printing, engraving, embossing and copying for use outside Arizona if

the materials are shipped or delivered out of the state (637) $7,286,411

Sales of postage and freight (561) 1,390,325

Leasing a mobile home for more than 29 days (629) 1,905,682

Leasing or renting 4 or fewer rooms of an owner-occupied residence bed and

breakfast with less than 50% average annual occupancy (636) 16,602

Online Lodging Operator Income from registered Online Lodging Marketplace

(775) 2,113,298

Transient lodging sales or activities that are exempt (704) 2,120,877

Transient lodging sales or activities that are exempt under the Amusement or

Transporting classifications (701) DNR

Commissions paid in the Transient Lodging classification (648) 139,045

Transient lodging sales for lodging for more than thirty days (718) 3,587,904

Leasing films, tapes or slides used by theaters or movies or used by television

stations or radio stations (784) NIA

Amusement activities sponsored by the Arizona exposition and state fair board

(785) NIA

Lease of tangible personal property by a parent to a subsidiary or by a subsidiary

to another subsidiary (631) 626,473

Operating coin-operated washing, drying and dry-cleaning machines or car

washing machines (786) 114,622

Leasing or renting aircraft or training equipment by a nonprofit school offering

aviation and aerospace degrees (787) DNR

Leasing or renting photographs, transparencies, etc. used by Arizona on the

internet, in magazines or other publications encouraging tourism (651) NIA
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Leasing for billboards that are visible from any street (774) DNR
Leasing or renting certified ignition interlock devices (no deduction code) NIA
Vehicle registration fee reimbursements (656) 210,703
Leasing or renting a motor vehicle if the motor carrier fee has been paid (660) 9,431,025
Amounts received by a motor vehicle dealer for the 1 month of a lease payment

if the lease is transferred to a third party (556) 288,706
Car rental surcharge charges (680) DNR
Freight charges relating to non-metalliferous mineral products (652) DNR
Process cost on non-metalliferous mineral products shipped out of state (658) 1,554,243
Private or group instructional activities (657) 846,682
Monthly membership fees (527) 7,929,638
Musical, dramatic or dance groups or a botanical garden, museum or zoo that

qualifies as a nonprofit charitable organization (no deduction code) NIA2
Sales of admissions to intercollegiate football contests (no deduction code) NIA
Fees and assessments received by a homeowners' organization (no deduction

code) NIA
Arranging an amusement activity as a service to a person’s customers (no

deduction code) NIA
Pari-mutuel and purse monies (661) DNR??
Transient Lodging recreational establishment membership fees (666) DNR
Sale to transient lodging business for resale (670) $202,278
Entry fees for 501c3 organizations’ run, walk, swim, ride, or similar events (735) DNR
Gratuities distributed to servers or service employees (724) 6,516,383%
Sales by Congressionally-chartered veterans organization of food or drink (744) 56,736

21 No Information Available.
22 Data Not Releasable.
23 It is likely that this deduction is under reported.
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Sales by churches, fraternal benefit societies and other nonprofit organizations

NIA
which don’t regularly engage or continue in the restaurant business for the
Restaurant donations to a nonprofit which regularly serves meals to the needy
and indigent (662) DNR
Prime Contracting income from out of state projects (681) 19,519,970
Sale of used manufactured buildings (562) 221,938
Sale for resale to another manufactured building dealer (668) DNR
35% Deduction from Prime Contracting Base (502) 482,867,741
Purchase by a Prime Contractor of machinery, equipment or other tangible
personal property by a that is exempt under another classification (608, 622,
623, 624, 632, 635, 639, 644, 645, 646, 653, 654, 665, 672, 674, 675, 676, 677,
678, 679, 685, 691, 697, 706, 799) 36,606,143
Land Deduction (518) 48,197,531
Furniture and Appliances not incorporated into a Manufactured building (663) DNR
Contracting in a military reuse zone for a manufacturer, assembler or fabricator
of aviation or aerospace products (667) DNR
Gross proceeds of sales from a contract to install, assemble, repair or maintain
machinery that does not become permanently attached (600) 22,767,187
Income from contracts for construction of facilities for raising egg producing
poultry or the production and packaging of eggs (683) DNR
Income from contracts for construction of a launch site (698) NIA
Income from contracts for construction of a domestic violence shelter (673) NIA
Gross proceeds from contracts to perform post-construction treatment of real
property for termite and general pest control (686) 636,064
Gross proceeds from contracts to certain state university research infrastructure
projects (696) NIA
Gross proceeds from construction contracts for healthy forest business (555) 67,278
Gross proceeds from development or impact fees (560) 9,003,898
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Gross proceeds from construction of a mixed waste processing facility located on

a municipal solid waste landfill (719) NIA%*
Subcontracting income (550) $733,749,556
Lawn maintenance services (689) 2,823,326
Cost of architectural or engineering service (557) 9,261,597
Manufactured building delivered out of state (694) DNR?®
Construction Design phase or professional services (690) 3,030,490
Maintenance, repair, replace or alteration contract with a property owner (500) 246,252,646
Online Lodging Marketplace revenue from commissions (793) NIA
Online Lodging Marketplace revenue from Class 1 property (794) 10,762,207
Credit for tax paid to an equivalent jurisdiction (684) 51,351
Component parts for a manufactured product for resale (687) 1,014,899
Tangible personal property not exceeding $200 purchased by an individual at

retail outside the continental U.S. — USE TAX ONLY (693) NIA
Advertising Supplements (688) NIA
Tangible personal property purchased by a nonprofit charitable organization

from the parent or affiliate organization located out of state — USE TAX ONLY

(695) NIA
Motor vehicles removed from inventory and provided to charitable or

educational institutions or state universities or their affiliated organization — USE

TAX ONLY (703) NIA
Tangible personal property which directly enters into or becomes an ingredient

or part of cards used as prescription plan identification cards — USE TAX ONLY

(705) NIA
Liguefied natural gas used to fuel compressor equipment — USE TAX ONLY (563) NIA
Tangible personal property exempt under the Utility classification (707) DNR
Purchase price of electricity bought by a retail electric customer from a utility NIA

when tax is paid under utility classification (709)

24 No Information Available.
25 Data Not Releasable.
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Purchase price of electricity or natural gas by a manufacturer or smelting
operations (710) 17,020,629%

Purchase price of electricity or natural gas by a business that operates an
international operations center that is certified by the Arizona Commerce

Authority (783) DNR
Sales to Direct Pay permit holder (692) DNR
3% of tax collected for 911 tax on prepaid wireless products (564) 187,566
Rentals of personal property shipped & used exclusively out-of-state (593) 2,288,107

Total “Data Not Releasable” Exemptions (534, 566, 576, 577, 578, 581, 582, 583,
588, 591, 597, 598, 602, 607, 615, 616, 619, 621, 627, 630, 633, 641, 649, 652,
661, 662, 663, 666, 667, 668, 680, 683, 692, 694, 701, 702, 707, 735, 759, 772,
774,777,778, 783,787, 789) $18,921,410

TOTAL VALUE OF ALL OTHER TRANSACTION PRIVILEGE AND USE TAX
EXEMPTIONS $13,009,996,420%'

TOTAL QUANTIFIABLE TRANSACTION PRIVILEGE AND USE TAX EXPENDITURES?® $19,842,175,898

Value of exemptions from the Proposition 301 — Education Tax $2,381,061,108

26 This deduction is known to be underreported
27 Includes the value of exemptions that were not releasable.
28 This amount represents foregone revenue to the state general fund, counties and incorporated cities and towns.
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DESCRIPTION

The use tax is assessed on items purchased in other states and brought into Arizona for storage, use, or
consumption, and for which no tax (or tax at a lesser rate) has been paid in another state. The use tax serves to
protect Arizona retailers from out-of-state competition by attempting to ensure that in-state and out-of-state
purchases are taxed at an equal rate.

In June 2010, the use tax rose from 5.6% to 6.6%, with the additional 1.0% dedicated exclusively to public primary
and secondary education, health and human services, and public safety. The tax increase, which lasted through
May 2013, was not subject to the regular use tax distribution. This rate increase was approved by voters on May
18, 2010 and is commonly known as Proposition 100 [please see the Transaction Privilege Tax (TPT) section of this
book for additional information].

In June 2001, the use tax rate had previously risen from 5.0% to 5.6%, with the extra 0.6% being dedicated to
education. This tax increase, which is in effect through June 30, 2021, was approved by voters in November 2000
under Proposition 301. Laws 2018, Chapter 74 extends the additional 0.6% education sales tax through June 30,
2041. (For more details on Laws 2018, Chapter 74, see the Transaction Privilege Tax section.)

DISTRIBUTION

Almost all use tax revenues are deposited in the General Fund. Twenty percent of the revenue collected from the
use tax on electricity purchased from electricity suppliers is designated as distribution base. The remaining 80% is
deposited in General Fund [A.R.S. § 42-5164]. The use tax collected from utilities makes up less than 1% of total
use tax collections.

Table 1
COLLECTIONS

Fiscal Year State General Fund Fiscal Year State General Fund
2022 $502,880,173 2012 $263,724,399
2021 $449,765,543 2011 $229,250,912
2020 $384,263,505 2010 $271,763,845
2019 $362,026,745 2009 $292,698,574
2018 $327,200,971 2008 $340,535,252
2017 $300,875,454 2007 $303,010,863
2016 $283,352,073 2006 $303,198,808
2015 $281,143,731 2005 $259,615,656
2014 $235,984,933 2004 $232,216,222
2013 $257,899,313 2003 $189,684,520

SOURCE: Department of Revenue (DOR), Annual Reports.

WHO PAYS

Individuals and Businesses

The tax is paid by persons who make retail purchases of tangible personal property outside this state and store,
use, or consume the item in Arizona. If a sales tax has already been paid on the item in another state, the Arizona
use tax does not apply. The use tax is due, for example, when an Arizona resident purchases goods over the
Internet from an out-of-state vendor that does not meet the economic nexus requirements under Laws 2019,
Chapter 273 (for more information, please refer to the description of Laws 2019, Chapter 273 in the Transaction
Privilege Tax section of the Tax Handbook). In practice, the use tax is primarily paid by businesses. Individuals are
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also liable for the use tax but rarely pay it, because individuals are often unaware of the tax or are unwilling to
“voluntarily” report a taxable transaction [A.R.S. § 42-5155].

Tribal Members and Businesses

Purchases made on the reservation by Indian tribal members are not subject to the use tax. This exclusion applies
to affiliated Indian members who have been adopted into the tribe and who have attained full and unrestricted
membership privileges in that tribe.

Purchases made on the reservation by non-Indian or non-affiliated Indians are subject to the use tax if the
property will be stored, used, or consumed in Arizona.

Purchases made by Indian tribal members off the reservation are subject to the use tax. Sales of tangible personal
property to an Indian tribal member, however, are not subject to the use tax if the solicitation, delivery and
payment of the goods take place on the reservation.

REVENUE BASE AND RATE

The revenue base is the sales price of tangible personal property purchased at retail in another state and brought
to Arizona for storage, use, or consumption. Statute mentions a few special cases in which the use tax is also
applicable, including tangible personal property provided under the conditions of a warranty or service contract,
motor vehicles removed from inventory, and motor vehicles used by motor vehicle manufacturers [A.R.S. § 42-
5155 -5158].

As with the retail sales tax, the law provides a number of exemptions from the use tax. The effect of these
exemptions is to reduce the size of the use tax base [A.R.S. § 42-5155].

The current use tax rate is 5.6%, the same as the TPT rate for retail sales. However, if the item has already been
taxed in another state at a rate less than 5.6%, the use tax rate is reduced by the amount of the tax already
imposed by the other state [A.R.S. § 42-5155 and § 42-5159].

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

Use taxes are due to DOR on the 20th day of the month after the month in which the tax accrues. For example, for
taxable sales made in January, the tax payment is due to DOR by February 20 [A.R.S. § 42-5162].

Tax payments are delinquent if not received by DOR on or before the business day preceding the last business day
of the month [A.R.S. § 42-5162]. (A business day is any day except Saturday, Sunday, or a legal Arizona state
holiday.)

DOR may allow taxpayers whose estimated annual use tax liability is between $500 and $1,250 to make quarterly
tax payments. Also, DOR may permit taxpayers with an estimated annual tax liability of less than $500 to make an
annual payment. If good cause is shown, DOR can allow a 2-month extension for filing the tax return [A.R.S. § 42-
5162].

Electronic filing and payment requirements are the same as for the Transaction Privilege Tax (TPT) [A.R.S. § 42-
5014].
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IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2016. There were no changes enacted from 2016 to 2021.

2022 LAWS

Laws 2022, Chapter 229 exempts use tax on service vehicles (such as a temporary "loaner" or courtesy vehicle)
that are removed from dealers' inventory if such vehicles are continuously available for sale. Prior to Chapter 229,
the state levied a general use tax of 5.0% on motor vehicles that were removed from a dealer's inventory and used
in their business operations. The fiscal impact of Chapter 229 is unknown.

There were no changes enacted to this tax in the period from 2016 through 2021.

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2016 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
https://www.azjlbc.gov/22taxbook/22taxbk.pdf.
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SEVERANCE TAX ON METALLIFEROUS MINERALS

DESCRIPTION

The severance tax on metalliferous minerals (copper or other metals) is levied on the production or extraction
from the earth of minerals. The tax rate is 2.5%, and it is applied to 50% of the difference between the gross value
of production and the production costs.

DISTRIBUTION
Eighty percent of metalliferous minerals tax revenue is designated as distribution base and is distributed as

described in the Transaction Privilege Tax (TPT) section of this book. The remaining 20% is designated for the
General Fund. Of the distribution base monies, 34.49% is allocated to the General Fund, 40.51% is designated to

the counties, and 25% goes to the cities [A.R.S. § 42-5205].

Table 1
COLLECTIONS AND DISTRIBUTION
Fiscal Year General Fund Cities Counties Total
2022 $23,657,450 $9,941,776 $16,109,654 $49,708,871
2021 $16,947,569 $7,122,024 $11,540,528 $35,610,121
2020 $6,046,291 $2,540,886 $4,117,251 $12,704,428
2019 $8,210,336 $3,450,301 $5,590,868 $17,251,505
2018 $11,689,484 $4,912,373 $7,960,010 $24,561,867
2017 $8,746,056 $3,675,431 $5,955,669 $18,377,156
2016 $7,232,083 $3,039,201 $4,924,722 $15,196,006
2015 $11,832,303 $4,972,391 $8,057,263 $24,861,957
2014 $12,464,109 $5,237,901 $8,487,495 $26,189,505
2013 $14,196,409 $5,965,880 $9,667,113 $29,829,402
2012 $19,311,779 $8,115,557 $13,150,448 $40,577,783
2011 $19,149,246 $8,047,254 $13,039,770 $40,236,270
2010 $13,848,584 $5,819,711 $9,430,259 $29,098,554
2009 $8,666,537 $3,642,014 $5,901,520 $18,210,071
2008 $20,822,267 $8,750,323 $14,179,023 $43,751,613
2007 $20,725,843 $8,709,801 $14,113,362 $43,549,006
2006 $14,486,992 $6,087,995 $9,864,986 $30,439,973
2005 $7,804,650 $3,279,819 $5,314,617 $16,399,086
2004 $3,112,796 $1,308,118 $2,119,674 $6,540,588
2003 $539,399 $224,889 $361,945 $1,126,233

SOURCE: Department of Revenue, Annual Reports.

WHO PAYS

The tax is paid by “severers,” or persons engaged in the business of mining metalliferous minerals from the earth

[A.R.S. § 42-5202 and § 42-5201].
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REVENUE BASE AND RATE

The severance tax on metalliferous minerals is levied at the rate of 2.5% on a tax base that is 50% of the difference
between the gross value of production and the production costs [A.R.S. § 42-5202 and § 42-5204].

Metalliferous minerals are defined as copper, gold, silver, or other metals or ores that are mined in this state
[A.R.S. § 42-5201].

The tax does not apply to metalliferous products sold at retail [A.R.S. § 42-5203]. These items are taxed under TPT.
PAYMENT SCHEDULE

Payments for this tax are due on the same schedule as for the Transaction Privilege Tax (TPT) [A.R.S. § 42-5205].
Electronic filing and payment requirements are the same as for TPT [A.R.S. § 42-5014].

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2016.

There were no changes enacted to this tax from 2016 through 2022.

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2016 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
https://www.azjlbc.gov/22taxbook/22taxbk.pdf.
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INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX

DESCRIPTION

The individual income tax is levied on the personal income of full-time residents and pro-rated for part-time
residents of Arizona. Taxation of income by local entities is preempted by the state so long as the Urban Revenue
Sharing Fund is maintained. The starting point for Arizona individual income tax is the federal adjusted gross
income. Arizona currently uses a graduated rate structure. The Tax Year (TY) 2022 tax rates after inflation-
adjustment are 2.55% for taxable income up to $28,653 for single filers and up to $57,306 for married couples
filing jointly, and to 2.98% for taxable income above these thresholds. Pursuant to Laws 2021, Chapter 412, the
income tax will be reduced to a single rate of 2.5% in TY 2023.

In November 2020, a voter-initiated ballot measure known as Proposition 208 was passed, which would have
established a 3.5% income tax surcharge on single filers with taxable income in excess of $250,000 and on married
couples filing jointly with taxable income greater than $500,000, beginning on January 1, 2021. The revenue from
this surcharge would have been deposited into the Student Support and Safety Fund (SSSF) to be distributed to
schools and teacher training programs. On March 11, 2022, the Maricopa County Superior Court ruled that the
initiative was unconstitutional and therefore overturned. For this reason, the 3.5% surcharge was never
implemented.

The individual income tax is an important revenue source for the state, representing 43.2% of total General Fund
revenue collections in FY 2022. A portion of individual income tax collections (along with corporate income tax
collections) is shared with incorporated cities and towns within the state.

The individual income tax is comprised of 4 components: (1) withholding, (2) estimated tax payments, (3) final
payments, and (4) refunds. Generally, withholding payments are from tax on wage and salary-based income, and
estimated payments from non-wage earnings. Final payments and refunds represent the underpayment and
overpayment of tax, respectively, settled between taxpayers and the state after tax returns have been filed.

DISTRIBUTION
Table 1
COLLECTIONS
Fiscal Year General Fund Fiscal Year General Fund
2022 $7,530,010,735 2012 $3,086,137,363
2021 V¥ $6,532,753,230 2011 $2,863,657,980
2020V $4,529,858,984 2010 $2,416,296,308
2019 $5,009,021,634 2009 $2,567,963,783
2018 $4,543,998,164 2008 $3,406,453,313
2017 $4,130,898,724 2007 $3,747,386,937
2016 $3,967,919,501 2006 $3,689,373,375
2015 $3,761,343,995 2005 $2,973,716,271
2014 $3,462,381,996 2004 $2,306,175,168
2013 $3,397,545,131 2003 $2,097,754,867
1/ By Executive Order, the Tax Year 2019 filing due date was moved from April 15, 2020 to July 15, 2020.
2/ Pursuant to Laws 2021, Chapter 177, the Tax Year 2020 filing due date was moved from April 15, 2021 to
May 17, 2021.
SOURCE: Department of Revenue annual reports — amounts are net of refunds and charge-offs. A portion of
individual income tax collections is shared with incorporated cities and towns - see Table 2 and Table 3 below.
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Table 1 above provides historical individual income tax collections for the last 20 years. Individual income tax
receipts are deposited into the General Fund, after a sufficient amount has been deposited into the tax refund
account to meet the requirements for tax refunds [A.R.S. § 42-1116].

Urban Revenue Sharing

The Urban Revenue Sharing Fund (URS), which was established based on a ballot initiative approved by voters in
1972, provides that a percentage of income tax revenues (including both individual and corporate income tax) be
shared with incorporated cities and towns within the state. Table 2 below shows estimates of the FY 2022 URS
distributions by city. Currently, 15% of net income tax revenue from 2 years prior is distributed to cities and
towns. Pursuant to Laws 2021, Chapter 412, beginning in FY 2024, the URS distribution percentage is increased
from 15% to 18%. This distribution is based on the most recent population estimates of each city and town made
annually by the U.S. Census Bureau [A.R.S. § 42-5033.01]. Cities and towns have the option of using special census
population counts for purposes of calculating distributions, but only during the 6% year following a decennial
census. In the 2" year following the special census, a city/town must use the most recent estimate from the U.S.
Census Bureau [A.R.S. § 42-5033]. Prior to Laws 2016, Chapter 258, distributions were based on population counts
from the last U.S. decennial census or special census. The figures in Table 2 are provided by the Department of
Revenue. Table 3 below shows the URS distribution percentages in effect since the establishment of this revenue
sharing program.

Voluntary Contribution Funds

Laws 1984, Chapter 76 provided for taxpayers to designate an amount of their income tax refund as a voluntary
contribution to the Arizona Game, Non-Game, Fish and Endangered Species Fund. Laws 1985, Chapter 59
established a permanent check-off provision on the individual income tax return, which was also expanded to
include contributions to the Child Abuse Prevention Fund.

Arizona statutes were amended in subsequent years to also include contributions to the Arizona Assistance for
Education Fund, Domestic Violence Services Fund, Neighbors Helping Neighbors Fund, Special Olympics Fund, and
National Guard Relief Fund. The list of voluntary contribution funds was further expanded to include the Veterans’
Donation Fund (Laws 2006, Chapter 102), the | Didn’t Pay Enough Fund (Laws 2010, Chapter 115), the Sustainable
State Parks and Road Fund (Laws 2014, Chapter 120), and the Spaying and Neutering of Animals Fund (Laws 2017,
Chapter 172). Laws 2015, Chapter 208 repealed the National Guard Relief Fund. In addition to voluntary
contribution funds, taxpayers were also given the option to give all or part of their refund to a political party.
Table 4 below shows the total amount of refunds designated annually to voluntary contribution funds and political
parties since the program started in 1984 [A.R.S. § 43-611 to 622].

WHO PAYS

Individuals

Residents or part-year residents of the state and non-residents who derived income from sources within the state
must pay individual income tax [A.R.S. § 43-102]. Any individual whose permanent home is in the state is
considered a resident. Every person who spends more than 9 months of the taxable year in Arizona is presumed a
resident unless competent evidence can show the individual is in the state for a temporary or transitory purpose.
Any resident who moved into or out of Arizona with the intent to establish or relinquish residency is considered a
part-year resident [A.R.S. § 43-104].

Businesses

Businesses other than regular corporations must also pay the individual income tax [A.R.S. § 43-102A]. A business
that is subject to the individual income tax is often referred to as a “pass-through entity” since its income passes or
flows through the business to the individual owners or members of that business. In other words, the business
itself is not a tax-paying entity. Instead, the individual owners or members of that business include their pro rata
share of the business net income (or loss) on their personal tax return. Note, however, that Laws 2021, Chapter
425 creates an optional entity-level income tax for partnerships and S corporations, beginning in TY 2022. For
more details on this entity-level tax, see the Impact of Statutory Changes section. In Arizona, a pass-through entity
operates as a sole proprietorship, partnership, limited liability company (LLC), or a Subchapter S Corporation. A
brief overview of the different business structures is shown in Table 5 below.
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Table 2

Cities by County

APACHE
Eagar
Springerville
St. Johns

COCHISE
Benson
Bisbee
Douglas
Huachuca City
Sierra Vista
Tombstone
Willcox

COCONINO
Flagstaff
Fredonia
Page
Tusayan
Williams

GILA

Globe
Hayden
Miami
Payson
Star Valley
Winkelman

GRAHAM
Pima
Safford
Thatcher

GREENLEE
Clifton
Duncan

LA PAZ
Parker
Quartzsite

MARICOPA
Avondale
Buckeye
Carefree
Cave Creek
Chandler

El Mirage
Fountain Hills
Gila Bend
Gilbert
Glendale
Goodyear
Guadalupe
Litchfield Park
Mesa
Paradise Valley
Peoria
Phoenix

FY 2023 URBAN REVENUE SHARING DISTRIBUTION BY CITY

Amount

$842,085
$325,528
$642,709

$1,015,852
$931,624
$3,132,542
$308,075
$8,627,437
$284,552
$607,993

$14,604,933
$284,552
$1,399,049
$284,552
$619,755

$1,358,642
$284,552
$292,311
$3,133,111
$480,324
$284,552

$551,083
$1,948,045
$1,007,315

$729,782
$284,552

$633,224
$447,316

$17,180,132
$19,219,613
$699,050
$951,353
$53,013,618
$6,832,291
$4,518,501
$357,967
$51,814,325
$47,355,200
$19,298,909
$1,006,746
$1,316,908
$96,648,202
$2,405,795
$36,976,059
$308,183,271

Percent of Total

0.08%
0.03%
0.06%

0.09%
0.09%
0.28%
0.03%
0.78%
0.03%
0.06%

1.32%
0.03%
0.13%
0.03%
0.06%

0.12%
0.03%
0.03%
0.28%
0.04%
0.03%

0.05%
0.18%
0.09%

0.07%
0.03%

0.06%
0.04%

1.55%
1.74%
0.06%
0.09%
4.79%
0.62%
0.41%
0.03%
4.68%
4.28%
1.74%
0.09%
0.12%
8.73%
0.22%
3.34%
27.84%

Cities by County

Queen Creek
Scottsdale
Surprise
Tempe
Tolleson
Wickenburg
Youngtown

MOHAVE
Bullhead City
Colorado City
Kingman

Lake Havasu City

NAVAJO
Holbrook
Pinetop-Lakeside
Show Low
Snowflake
Taylor

Winslow

PIMA
Marana

Oro Valley
Sahuarita
South Tucson
Tucson

PINAL

Apache Junction
Casa Grande
Coolidge

Eloy

Florence

Kearny
Mammoth
Maricopa
Superior

SANTA CRUZ
Nogales
Patagonia

YAVAPAI

Camp Verde
Chino Valley
Clarkdale
Cottonwood
Dewey-Humboldt
Jerome

Prescott

Prescott Valley
Sedona

YUMA
San Luis
Somerton
Wellton
Yuma

TOTAL

Amount

$12,585,940
$46,050,622
$28,301,762
$34,927,472
$1,383,873
$1,459,753
$1,330,187

$8,011,476
$478,048
$6,416,086
$11,056,566

$918,535
$778,156
$2,270,159
$1,207,261
$781,381
$1,696,501

$10,413,667
$9,082,721
$6,703,484
$869,782
$103,053,854

$7,584,458
$10,945,590
$2,790,320
$2,930,889
$4,971,129
$339,376
$284,552
$11,898,082
$470,270

$3,749,641
$284,552

$2,322,706
$2,559,453
$879,267
$2,359,887
$845,120
$284,552
$8,884,293
$9,141,339
$1,852,056

$7,082,128
$2,714,819
$464,200
$18,418,693

Percent of Total

1.14%
4.16%
2.56%
3.16%
0.13%
0.13%
0.12%

0.72%
0.04%
0.58%
1.00%

0.08%
0.07%
0.21%
0.11%
0.07%
0.15%

0.94%
0.82%
0.59%
0.08%
9.31%

0.69%
0.99%
0.25%
0.26%
0.45%
0.03%
0.03%
1,.07%
0.04%

0.34%
0.03%

0.21%
0.23%
0.08%
0.21%
0.08%
0.03%
0.80%
0.83%
0.17%

0.64%
0.25%
0.04%
1.66%

100.00%
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Table 4 below provides historical urban revenue sharing distributions.

Table 3
URBAN REVENUE SHARING PERCENTAGE
Distribution Year Collection Year
Fiscal Year Fiscal Year Percentage

1974 - 1992 1972 -1990 15.0%
1993 1991 12.8%

1994 1992 12.8%

1995 1993 12.8%

1996 1994 12.8%

1997 1995 13.6%

1998 1996 15.0%

1999 1997 15.0%

2000 1998 15.8%

2001 1999 15.0%

2002 2000 15.0%

2003 2001 14.8%

2004 2002 14.8%
2005-2023 2003-2021 15.0%
2024- 2022- 18.0%

SOURCE: Department of Revenue.

Table 4
DISTRIBUTION OF INDIVIDUAL AND CORPORATE INCOME TAX
Voluntary
Fiscal Year Total Collections ¥ State General Fund Urban Revenue Sharing Contribution Funds

2022 $8,693,479,607 $7,937,091,317 $756,388,291 $1,623,572
2021 $7,379,669,357 $6,551,176,499 $828,492,858 $1,897,955
2020 $5,041,740,835 $4,304,179,653 $737,561,182 $1,135,451
2019 $5,523,285,723 $4,848,481,285 $674,804,438 $1,312,040
2018 $4,917,074,548 $4,235,060,332 $680,770,080 $1,244,411
2017 $4,499,035,169 $3,834,421,857 $663,582,168 $1,031,144
2016 $4,538,467,198 $3,931,904,086 $605,634,326 $928,786
2015 $4,424,347,015 $3,814,991,475 $608,935,700 $419,840
2014 $4,037,562,217 $3,475,671,441 $561,001,195 $889,581
2013 $4,059,571,528 $3,544,630,836 $513,584,045 $1,356,647
2012 $3,729,909,208 $3,298,428,797 $424,423,442 $7,056,969
2011 $3,423,893,632 $2,942,907,218 $474,006,520 $6,979,894
2010 $2,830,062,980 $2,194,412,321 $628,644,630 $7,006,029
2009 $3,160,121,036 $2,424,782,055 $727,677,400 ¥ $7,661,581
2008 $4,190,964,093 $3,498,398,258 $684,538,927 $8,026,908
20074 $4,648,252,998 $4,089,906,556 $551,230,661 $7,115,781
20064 $4,520,688,826 $4,089,641,855 $425,228,927 $5,818,044
20054 $3,549,619,113 $3,170,987,163 $373,072,578 $5,559,372
2004 $2,800,220,037 $2,430,324,049 $365,065,158 $4,830,830
2003 $2,487,161,213 $2,051,984,423 $430,559,053 $4,617,737

1/ Includes corporate income tax.

2/ Represents taxpayer contributions of their refunds to various entities through the tax “check-off” boxes.

3/ Laws 2006, Ch. 351 appropriated a total of $727.6 million for FY 2009 (see 2009 Tax Handbook, page 33 for more details).

4/ Includes Ladewig refunds and attorney payments of $131.5 million in FY 2005, $48.7 million in FY 2006, and $80.7 million in

FY 2007.

Estates and Trusts

Fiduciaries of estates and trusts are also subject to the individual income tax [A.R.S. § 43-102A]. Generally, a trust
is a separate legal and taxable entity consisting of property that is held and administered by a fiduciary trustee for
the benefit of another. An estate, for the purpose of tax law, is the collective real and personal property that a
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person possesses at the time of death and that is transferred to the heir(s) subject to payment of debts and claims.
An estate is a temporary entity administered by a fiduciary executor and dissolved upon the completion of the
probate process. For more details, see Title 43, Chapter 13 of Arizona Revised Statutes.

Beginning in TY 2021, Laws 2021, Chapter 436 adopts the same tax rates and brackets to estates and trusts as
those provided to individual filers under Laws 2021, Chapter 412. For more details, see Table 7.

Government
The United States, the state, counties, cities, towns, school districts, or other political subdivisions of the state or
federal government are excluded from the definition of a taxpayer [A.R.S. § 43-104].

Tribal Members

The income of an Indian tribal member is not subject to Arizona state income tax if he or she is: (1) living and
working on the reservation, and (2) deriving income from reservation sources only. This exclusion applies to
affiliated Indian members who have been adopted into the tribe and who have attained full and unrestricted
membership privileges in that tribe.

Income of a non-affiliated tribal member or a non-Indian derived from reservation or non-reservation sources is
subject to income tax in the same manner as all other Arizona residents.

There are no specific statutory references related to the imposition of Arizona state income tax on tribal members.
Thus, to facilitate the administration of state income tax on Indian reservations, the Department of Revenue (DOR)
has adopted income tax rulings based on the decisions in several court cases. The most recent ruling, which is
reflected in the description above, was issued in May 1996 and is referred to as ITR 96-4.

REVENUE BASE

The tax is levied, paid, and collected each taxable year based on taxable income [A.R.S. § 43-1011]. The tax base
starts with Arizona gross income, which is equivalent to the taxpayer's federal adjusted gross income and is then
modified by a list of additions and subtractions to income as listed under A.R.S. § 43-1021 and A.R.S. § 43-1022,
respectively. This is further reduced by exemptions and standard or itemized deductions to arrive at Arizona
taxable income [A.R.S. § 43-1023, §43-1041, and §43-1042].

Capital Gains

Prior to TY 2013, capital gains from the sale of capital assets, such as stocks, bonds, and real estate, were not taxed
separately under the state’s income tax statutes. Thus, income from net capital gains was subject to the same
marginal tax rates as other income included under the definition of Arizona taxable income.

Laws 2012, Chapter 343 reduced the individual income tax rate paid on long-term capital gains accrued from assets
acquired after 2011. (Long-term capital gains are realized on assets held longer than 1 year.) The reduction in the
regular rate under Chapter 343 is 10% in TY 2013, 20% in TY 2014, and 25% in TY 2015 and thereafter. Capital gains
realized on assets purchased before 2012 are not affected by Chapter 343. Additionally, beginning in TY 2014,
Laws 2011, 2" Special Session, Chapter 1 eliminates individual income tax on capital gains derived from
investment in small businesses with assets up to $10.0 million. The historical amounts of net capital gains subject
to income tax, as reported by Arizona taxpayers to the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), are shown in Table 6 below.

-45 -



Individual Income Tax

Table 5

Control

Owner Restrictions

Filing Requirements

Liability

Officers

Controlling Documents

Income Tax Treatment

COMPARISON OF BUSINESS STRUCTURES

Sole Proprietorship

e Owner

e Only one owner is
permitted.

o Fictitious Name
Certificate

e Trade Name

e Business License

e Owner is
personally liable.

e No

e Business Plan

e Owner subject to
individual income
tax.

e Tax items reported
on Schedule C.

SOURCE: Arizona Corporation Commission.

Partnership
e General Partners

e Partners own the
partnership.

e Consent of
Statutory Agent

e General Partners
are liable.

e Limited partners
are liable to the
extent of their
investments.

e No

e Partnership
Agreement

e Partners subject to
individual income
tax.

e Partners taxed for
their share of
profits.

e However,
partnerships may
choose to be taxed
at entity level.

Limited Liability

Company (LLC
e Members

e Members own LLC.
e Minimum of 1
member required.

e Articles of
Organization

e Consent of
Statutory Agent

e All members are
protected.

e No, unless
designated by
management.

e Operating
Agreement

e Members subject
to individual
income tax.

e Members taxed
for their share of
profits.

e However, LLC may
choose to be taxed
at entity level.

S Corporation
e Shareholders

e Shareholders are
owners.

e Ownership limited
to a maximum of
75 U.S. residents.

e Articles of
Incorporation

e Certificate of
Disclosure

e Consent of
Statutory Agent

e Annual Report

e All shareholders
are protected.

e Yes

o Articles of
Incorporation

e Shareholders
subject to
individual income
tax.

e Shareholders
taxed for their
share of profits.

e However, S
Corporations may
choose to be taxed
at entity level.
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Table 6
NET CAPITAL GAINS REPORTED BY ARIZONA TAXPAYERS TO THE IRS
(Millions of Dollars) ¥
Tax Year Net Capital Gains Tax Year Net Capital Gains
2020 N/AY 2010 $4,276.2
2019 $15,607.7 2009 $3,242.3
2018 $15,455.8 2008 $6,606.2
2017 $13,751.2 2007 $14,853.7
2016 $8,716.9 2006 $15,214.8
2015 $9,287.6 2005 $14,784.3
2014 $8,639.5 2004 $8,732.1
2013 $6,280.1 2003 $4,580.4
2012 $7,167.7 2002 $3,603.7
2011 $4,706.6 2001 $4,420.8

1/ Note that amounts in this table refer to net capital gains subject to income tax as opposed to income tax collections
attributable to net capital gains.

2/ Data not available as of publication.

SOURCE: IRS, Statistics of Income (SOI).

EXEMPTIONS

Organizations that are exempt from federal income tax under Section 501 of the Internal Revenue Code are also
exempt from state income tax. In addition, the following organizations are exempt from state income tax [A.R.S. §
43-1201]:

(1) Any organization that is exempt from federal income tax.
(2) Insurance companies that pay taxes on premiums derived from sources within Arizona.
(3) Non-profit medical marijuana dispensaries.

RATE
Rates and Brackets. Laws 2021, Chapter 412, the Tax Omnibus bill, reduced 4 Individual Income Tax brackets to 2 starting in

TY 2022. The rate is 2.55% for taxable income up to $28,653 in a single household and $57,306 in a married filing jointly
household. The rate is 2.98% above those thresholds (see Table 7 below).

Table 7
TY 2022 TAX RATE SCHEDULE
Single Y/ Married 3/
Arizona Taxable Income Rate 2/ Arizona Taxable Income Rate 2/
SO - 28,653 2.55% S0 - $57,306 2.55%
$28,654 and over 2.98% $57,307 and over 2.98%
TY 2023 TAX RATE SCHEDULE
All incomes 2.50% All incomes 2.50%
1/ Or married filing separately.
2/ The marginal rates apply to income within the taxable income bracket. Taxable income attributable to qualifying long-

term capital gains from assets acquired after December 31, 2011 is reduced by (25)%.
Or unmarried head of household.

@
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Under Chapter 412, the rate will be further reduced to 2.5% in TY 2023 for all households. See Laws 2021,
Chapter 412 under Impact of Statutory Changes for more information.

Proposition 208 — 3.5% Surcharge and the 4.5% Maximum Rate

In November 2020, a voter-initiated ballot measure known as Proposition 208 was passed, which would have
established a 3.5% income tax surcharge on single taxpayers with taxable income in excess of $250,000 and
married taxpayers with taxable income greater than $500,000, beginning January 1, 2021. The revenue from this
surcharge would have been deposited into the Student Support and Safety Fund (SSSF) The Courts ruled that
Proposition 208 was unconstitutional and overturned it, thereby rendering the surcharge invalid. The Court ruling
also had the effect of invalidating the 4.5% maximum income tax rate created by Laws 2021, Chapter 411. See the
Impact of Statutory Changes section.

History of Rates
From TY 1990 through TY 2018, Arizona used 5 graduated individual income tax brackets. Laws 2018, Chapter 273

reduced the number of income tax brackets from 5 to 4, beginning in TY 2019. These 4 income tax brackets were
in effect from TY 2019 through TY 2021. As noted above, Laws 2021, Chapter 412 reduced the number of income
tax brackets from 4 to 2 in TY 2022. Beginning in TY 2023, Chapter 412 imposes a single rate of 2.5% on all taxable
income irrespective of the amount. See Table 11 in the Individual Income Tax section of the 2021 Tax Handbook
for historical individual income tax rates and brackets in effect from TY 1990 through TY 2021.

From TY 2015 to TY 2022, individual income tax brackets are adjusted annually for inflation as measured by the
Metropolitan Phoenix Consumer Price Index. Tax brackets are not reduced for annual decreases in the index.
[A.R.S. § 43-1011].

Optional Tax Table. The Department of Revenue developed an optional tax table prescribing tax liability amounts,
based on filing status, in $50 increments of Arizona taxable income. The table can be used if (1) an individual has
been a resident for the entire taxable year, and (2) the Arizona taxable income for the year is less than $50,000
regardless of filing status [A.R.S. § 43-1012]. The optional tax table will no longer be used once the single tax rate
of 2.5% becomes effective for TY 2023.

Alternative Income Rate

Pursuant to Laws 2021, Chapter 436 (SB 1783), beginning in TY 2021, certain classes of income are subject to
taxation at alternate rates from the individual income tax. To qualify for this alternative tax, a taxpayer's federal
adjusted gross income must include one or more of the following income sources:

- Schedule B- Interest and Ordinary Dividends.

- Schedule C- Profit or Loss from Business. Income or loss from an individual who is operating a business or
practicing a profession as a sole proprietor.

- Schedule E- Supplemental Income or Loss. Income or loss from rental real estate, royalties, partnerships, S
corporations, estates, or trusts.

- Schedule F- Profit or Loss from Farming.

- Form 4797- Sale of Business Property.

- Form 4835- Farm Rental Income and Expenses.

- Schedule D- Capital Gains and Losses. Specifically, capital gains and losses with respect to either the
taxable disposition of an ownership interest in any entity other than a publicly traded company, or the
taxable disposition of capital assets used in connection with trade or business activity.

Under Chapter 436 (SB 1783), this income is referred to as "Arizona small business income" and is taxed at the
following rates:

- 3.5%forTY 2021
- 3.0%forTY 2022
- 2.8%forTY 2023 and TY 2024
- 2.5%in TY 2025 and thereafter
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TAX CREDITS

A tax credit is a dollar-for-dollar reduction of a taxpayer’s individual income tax liability. A credit is different from a
subtraction, exemption, or deduction, which reduces the amount of income that will be taxed. For more details,
see the Tax Computation section.

A tax credit is either refundable or non-refundable. Unlike refundable credits, non-refundable credits can never
exceed a taxpayer’s tax liability. However, many of the non-refundable tax credits allow the unused amounts to be
carried forward to future years. As shown in Table 8 below, only the following credits are refundable under current
statutes:

Table 8
REFUNDABLE INCOME TAX CREDITS

Name of Credit Type of Credit

Property Tax Credit Individual

Low-Income Credit for Increased Excised Taxes Paid Individual

Research and Development (R&D) Credit / Individual and Corporate

Qualified Facility Credit Individual and Corporate

Motion Picture Production Credit 3/ Individual and Corporate

Notes:

1/ Credit is only available to businesses that employ less than 150 full-time employees. Refundable
portion of R&D credit is subject to an aggregate cap of $5.0 million annually.

2/ Credit is subject to an aggregate cap of $125 million annually.

3/ Arizona Commerce Authority is authorized to pre-approve total credits of $75 million in Calendar
Year (CY) 2023, $100 million in CY 2024, and $125 miillion, beginning in CY 2025.

The value of tax credits used and carried forward through tax year 2020 is summarized by the DOR summary report
attached at the end of this section.

Laws 2002, Chapter 238 established the Arizona Joint Legislative Income Tax Credit Review Committee. The
Committee is required to determine the purpose of income tax credits, develop performance standards for
evaluating the credits, and evaluate the benefits to the state. The Committee reviews each tax credit every 5 years
according to a rotating schedule [A.R.S. § 43-221].

Title 43, Chapter 10, Article 5 of the Arizona Revised Statutes lists all the individual income tax credits currently
available to Arizona taxpayers. A brief description of each tax credit currently in statute is provided below.
Appendix C in the Tax Handbook includes a list of all individual and corporate tax credits with statutory ending
dates. Appendix B provides a complete list and detailed description of the various school tax credits currently
available to individual and corporate taxpayers, as well as insurance companies.

Affordable Housing. A taxpayer can claim a nonrefundable credit equal to at least 50% of the amount of the federal
Low-Income Housing Tax Credit for qualified projects placed in service in Arizona after June 30, 2022. The Arizona
Department of Housing is authorized to allocate a total of $4 million in tax credits per year from 2022 to 2025.
Each of these 4 award cycles is available for 10 years [A.R.S. § 43-1075].

Agricultural Pollution Control Equipment. A taxpayer involved in the commercial production of livestock or
agricultural crops may claim a tax credit for expenses incurred to purchase tangible personal property used in the
business to control, prevent, monitor, or reduce air, water, or land pollution. The credit is 25% of the cost of the
property up to a maximum of $25,000. This non-refundable credit can be carried forward no more than 5
consecutive years [A.R.S. § 43-1081.01].

Agricultural Water Conservation System. A tax credit can be claimed for 75% of the qualifying expenses in
purchasing and installing an agricultural water conservation system. This credit is in lieu of itemized deductions for
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such expenses, in which case, the taxpayer must add the credit back to Arizona gross income when computing
taxable income. This non-refundable tax credit can be carried forward for no more than 5 years [A.R.S. § 43-1084].

Arizona National Guard Employees. A tax credit of $1,000 per employee is allowed for businesses that employ
Arizona National Guard members who are called to active duty. This non-refundable tax credit, which is effective
from January 1, 2006, can be carried forward for no more than 5 years [A.R.S. § 43-1079.01].

Arizona Small Business (SB 1783) Excess Credit Amount. Allows a credit against a taxpayer's regular individual
income tax liability equal to the excess amount of credits claimed under the alternative income rate under Laws
2021, Chapter 436 (SB 1783). Any amount of credit not used to offset individual income tax liability may be carried
forward [A.R.S. § 43-1078].

Charitable Organizations and Foster Care Charitable Organizations. A credit can be claimed for cash contributions
to qualified charitable organizations (QCO) that provide assistance to low-income residents and children that are
chronically ill or physically disabled. A separate credit may be claimed for cash contributions to qualified foster
care charitable organizations (QFCO) that provide foster care to children or services to under-21-year-old former
foster youth in independent living programs. Qualifying organizations may not provide, pay for, promote, or
financially support abortions or any entity that provides abortions.

QCO contributions earn a maximum credit of $400 for taxpayers filing as single or head of household and $800 for
those filing as married couples. Contributions to QFCOs earn a separate maximum credit of $500 for taxpayers
filing as single or head of household and $1,000 for those filing as married couples.

Prior to Laws 2016, Chapter 109, the QCO and QFCO credits shared a combined maximum amount of $400 for
taxpayers filing as single or head of household and $800 for those filing as married couples. Laws 2016, Chapter
109 also permits a donation made between the close of the tax year and the individual income tax filing deadline
to be applied to either the current or preceding tax year for the purpose of claiming the individual income tax
credit. This non-refundable tax credit can be carried forward for no more than 5 consecutive years [A.R.S. § 43-
1088].

Laws 2019, Chapter 297 expands this credit to include all persons who have chronic illness or physical disability,
including adults.

Laws 2021, Chapter 412 expands the definition of Qualifying Foster Care Charitable Organizations to allow tax
credit donations to QFCOs that serve persons who have left the foster care system due to reaching 18 years of age,
adoption, or legal guardianship after reaching 16 years of age or reunification at 14 or 15 years of age. Chapter
412 is only in effect for TY 2021.

Laws 2022, Chapter 385 annually adjusts for inflation the income tax credit limit for donations to Qualifying
Charitable Organizations and Qualifying Foster Care Charitable Organizations, beginning in TY 2022. [A.R.S. § 43-
1088].

Dependent Tax Credit. A credit can be claimed for each dependent claimed by a taxpayer. This credit is equal to
$100 for each dependent under the age of 17, and $25 for each dependent age 17 or older. The credit is phased
out for taxpayers with federal adjusted gross incomes above $200,000, or $400,000 in the case of married couples
filing jointly. Claimed exemptions for taking care of individuals 65 and older and for stillborn deaths are in lieu of
this credit (Laws 2020, Chapter 43). The credit is non-refundable and cannot be carried forward [A.R.S. § 43-
1073.01].

Entity-Level Income Tax Credit. Laws 2021, Chapter 425 created an optional entity-level income tax for
partnerships and S corporations, beginning in TY 2022. To ensure that taxpayers that use the optional entity-level
income tax pay the same amount of state income tax as they would have under the regular individual income tax,
an entity-level tax credit is provided [A.R.S. § 43-1077]. Laws 2022, Chapter 235 provide the same credit for estates
and trusts that elect to pay the entity-level income tax [A.R.S. § 43-1382].
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Excise Tax Credit. For taxpayers filing as married couple or as head of household and whose federal adjusted gross
income is $25,000 or less, a credit of $25 is granted per person or $100 per household. For taxpayers filing as
single or as married person filing separately, the income requirement is $12,500 or less. This refundable credit is
considered a mitigation of the 0.6% sales tax increase resulting from Proposition 301 passed in November 2000.
This law was effective from January 1, 2001 through December 31, 2020 [A.R.S. § 43-1072.01]. Laws 2018, Chapter
74 extended the credit to December 31, 2041 [A.R.S. § 43-1072.02]. Laws 2021, Chapter 196 combined this credit
with the Credit for Excise Taxes Paid and named it the Excise Tax Credit [A.R.S. § 43-1072.02].

Facility Credit. A business that expands or locates a qualified facility in the state may claim a credit for qualifying
investment and employment [A.R.S. § 41-1512 and § 43-1083.03]. The credit is 10% of the lesser of: (1) the total
capital investment in the qualified facility by the taxpayer or third-party lessor of the property or (2) $200,000 for
each net new employee at the qualified facility if the total qualifying investment is less than $2 billion, or (3)
$300,000 for each net new employee at the qualified facility if the total qualifying investment is $2 billion or more.

To be eligible for the credit, a business is required to devote at least 80% of its property and payroll at the facility
to manufacturing, research, or a national or regional headquarter. The credit is dependent upon the taxpayer
paying at least 51% of new full-time employees a wage exceeding 125% of the state median wage in urban areas
and 100% in rural areas and paying 65% or more of the premium for all full-time employees’ health insurance
[A.R.S. § 41-1512]. Capital investments made by a company in a qualified facility up to 36 months before applying
for preapproval by the Arizona Commerce Authority (ACA) are included in the computation of the credit (Laws
2020, Chapter 7). Prior to Laws 2016, Chapter 372, investments by a third-party lessor could not qualify for the
credit and taxpayers in urban and rural areas were required to pay at least 80% of employee health insurance
premiums and at least 125% of the state median wage.

The credit is refundable, but no single taxpayer can claim more than $30 million in credits per calendar year. The
credit must be taken in equal installments over 5 taxable years. Laws 2020, Chapter 7 extends the credit to TY
2030. Laws 2021, Chapter 80 increases the aggregate annual credit cap from $70 million to $125 million.

Family Income Credit. Residents are allowed a $40 non-refundable tax credit for each dependent exemption
claimed, subject to certain income limitations. This credit cannot be carried forward to offset future years’ income
tax liability [A.R.S. § 43-1073].

Healthy Forest Enterprises. A qualified business that is certified by the Arizona Commerce Authority (ACA) as a
healthy forest enterprise can claim a tax credit for net increases in qualified employment positions. To qualify for
the credit, a business enterprise must meet several conditions with respect to the number of employees hired, and
the residency status, job duties, wages, and fringe benefits of those employees. The maximum amount of the
credit per qualified employment position is $500 in the first year, $1,000 in the second year, and $1,500 in the
third year of continuous employment. The net increase in the number of qualified employment positions is not
allowed to exceed 200 per taxpayer each year. The tax credit is available from January 1, 2005 to December 31,
2024. (Laws 2012, Chapter 331 extended the credit by 10 years, from 2014 to 2024.) The credit is non-refundable
and can be carried forward for no more than 5 years [A.R.S. § 43-1076]. Laws 2022, Chapter 235 repealed this
individual income tax credit, beginning in TY 2022. Credit from previous tax years may be carried forward.

Healthy Forest Production. Allows a taxpayer, beginning in TY 2021, to receive a tax credit for processing qualifying
forest products if the taxpayer has a Healthy Forest Enterprise Incentive certification, processes qualifying forest
products from a qualifying project between 2021 and 2030, and the facility processing the qualifying forest
products is located in Arizona. The amount of credit is based on the number of tons of qualifying forest products
that a taxpayer processes during a calendar year, $10,000 for the first 20,000 tons and $5,000 for every 10,000
after that. The maximum amount of credit for a calendar year that can be claimed is $500,000 per taxpayer and
$2,000,000 in total. The credit is non-refundable and can be carried forward for no more than 5 years [A.R.S. § 43-
1076.01].

Military Family Relief Fund Tax Credit. A credit may be claimed for cash contributions to the Military Family Relief

Fund established by Laws 2007, Chapter 258. The maximum credit is $200 for taxpayers filing as single or head of

household and $400 for those filing as married couples. The credit is not allowed to exceed the taxpayer’s tax
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liability. The total dollar value of the credit, which is available for tax years 2008 through 2026, is capped at $1
million per taxable year [A.R.S. § 41-608.04 and A.R.S. § 43-1086]. Laws 2012, Chapter 281 extended the
expiration of the credit from 2012 to 2018. Laws 2018, Chapter 199 extended the credit further to December 31,
2026.

Motion Picture Production Tax Credit. Beginning in TY 2023, a refundable credit may be claimed equal to a
percentage of the total amount of approved and qualified motion picture production costs: 15% for the first $10
million, 17.5% on the next $25 million, and 20% when the production company spends more than $35 million.
Additional credit may be claimed equal to 2.5% of production labor costs, production costs for using qualified
facilities, and qualified production costs if the motion picture production is done in association with a long-term
tenant of a qualified production facility. The credit program will be implemented and administered by the Arizona
Commerce Authority (ACA). The credit, which was enacted by Laws 2022, Chapter 387, authorizes ACA to pre-
approve up to $75 million in refundable credits in Calendar Year (CY) 2023, $100 million in CY 2024, and $125
million, beginning in CY 2025. The credit is set to be repealed on December 31, 2043. [A.R.S. § 43-1082]

New Employment Tax Credit. A $3,000 annual tax credit may be claimed for each net new qualifying job added by
an employer in the state [A.R.S. § 43-1074]. To qualify for the credit, new employment positions must be full-time,
meet wage requirements, and offer health insurance paid by the employer (at least 65% of the premium). Credits
associated with 1 net new job can be claimed for 3 years. A company may claim first year credits for separate new
jobs for up to 3 consecutive years. Since second- and third-year credits may be claimed against each of the new
positions, the taxpayer may claim credits for up to a total of 5 consecutive years. ACA is authorized to issue first
year credits for up to 10,000 new employees ($30.0 million) in each year.

Prior to Laws 2017, Chapter 340, a business could not Table 9

claim the new credit unless it added at least 25 net new New Employment Tax Credit

jobs in a year in an urban area (5 in a rural area), paid Investment and Median Wage Requirements

employees at least 100% of the county median wage,

and made a capital investment of at least $5.0 million Urban Location

(1.0 million in a rural area) [A.R.S. § 43-1074]. Minimum Wages as Percent

Beginning in TY 2018, Laws 2017, Chapter 340 permits Capital Investment of County Median

businesses to qualify under alternative levels of capital $5,000,000 100%

investment and wages as displayed in Table 9 and $2,500,000 125%

permits ACA to authorize credits through June 30, 2025. $1,000,000 150%

A business can now invest less than $5.0 million if they $500,000 200%

pay wages that exceed 100% of the county median

level. The required number of net new jobs remains Rural Location

unchanged. Given the maximum 5-year schedule Minimum Wages as Percent

outlined above, businesses may claim credits through TY Capital Investment of County Median

2029. [A.R.S. § 41-1525] $1,000,000 100%
$500,000 125%

In TY 2013 and later years, Laws 2012, Chapter 343 $100,000 150%

eliminates the requirement (provided by Laws 2011, 2"

Special Session, Chapter 1) that no employer can claim

more than 400 new jobs in the first year of credit use, 800 jobs in the second year, and 1,200 jobs in the third year.
The cap applied to credits claimed against insurance premium, individual income, and corporate income taxes.
The credit cannot be claimed against employees that are also claimed under the Military Reuse Zone Tax Credit
(A.R.S. § 41-1525; Laws 2017, Chapter 299 repeals credit after December 31, 2017). Laws 2014, Chapter 168
changes the requirement for the New Employment Tax Credit program by providing that second- and third-year
credits can be claimed irrespective of whether the same employee remains employed so long as the employer
replaces the vacant position with another qualified employee within 90 days.

Pollution Control Equipment. The credit is allowed for purchases of real or personal property used to control or
prevent pollution. The qualifying facilities must be built or purchased to comply with U.S. Environmental
Protection Agency or Arizona Department of Environmental quality regulations. The credit amount is equal to the
lesser of 10% of the purchase price or $500,000 in a taxable year. This non-refundable tax credit can be carried
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forward for no more than 5 years [A.R.S. § 43-1081]. Laws 2022, Chapter 235 repealed this individual income tax
credit, beginning in TY 2022. Credit from previous tax years may be carried forward.

Public School Extracurricular Activity Fees. A credit may be claimed for contributions for extracurricular activities,
character education programs, standardized tests for college credit and readiness, career, and technical
assessments, testing preparation courses and cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) training at public schools. The
maximum credit is $200 for taxpayers filing as single or head of household and $400 for those filing as married
couples. (Prior to Laws 2005, Chapter 334, the maximum credit for married couples was $250). This credit is in lieu
of any federal or state deduction for such contributions. A 5-year carry forward of the credit is allowed [A.R.S. §
43-1089.01].

Property Taxes. A full-year resident can claim a refundable credit for property taxes or rent paid on property if all
the following apply [A.R.S. § 43-1072]:

e 65 years or older or receiving SSI Title 16 monies from the Social Security Administration.

e Paid either property taxes or rent during the taxable year.

e If the person lived alone, his income from all sources was below $3,751, or if he lived with others, the
combined household income was below $5,501.

The amount of the credit allowed under this provision is prescribed in A.R.S. § 43-1072B.

Renewable Energy Production. A credit is allowed on the production of electricity using renewable energy. To be
eligible for the credit, a taxpayer must hold title to a qualified energy generator that first produces electricity
between January 1, 2011 and December 31, 2020. The new credit allows a qualified producer of renewable energy
to receive an individual or corporate income tax credit of up to $2.0 million per year on the electricity they
produce for 10 years. Given that a taxpayer may begin earning credits as late as TY 2020, the latest year a credit
may be earned under a 10-year schedule is TY 2030. The renewable energy credit has an annual cap of $20.0
million for total individual and corporate income tax credits. A 5-year carry forward of the credit is allowed [A.R.S.
§ 43-1083.02]. For additional information on renewable energy incentives, see Appendix A.

Research and Development (R&D). The credit is calculated based on the amount of qualified research expenses
exceeding a certain "base amount" (defined in the Internal Revenue Code). Prior to TY 2010, the credit was
calculated as 20% of up to $2.5 million in qualified expenses and 11% of qualified expenses above $2.5 million.
Laws 2008, Chapter 290 expanded the credit in TY 2010 to TY 2017, to 24% of up to $2.5 million in qualified
expenses and 15% of qualified expenses above $2.5 million. Laws 2017, Chapter 340 extends availability of the
enhanced credit rates from tax year 2017 to tax year 2021. Laws 2020, Chapter 7 extends the current rates to TY
2030 and institutes rates that were going to take affect in TY 2022 to take effect in TY 2031 instead. Laws 2010,
Chapter 312 changes the credit from being nonrefundable to refundable for those companies that employ less
than 150 full-time employees. Specifically, the act provides that such taxpayers receive a refund equal to 75% of
the amount by which the credit exceeds their liability. The refundable aspect of the credit has an annual cap of
$5.0 million cumulatively for the individual and corporate income tax and is effective retroactively from January 1,
2010. If in any year less than $5.0 million of credits are filed collectively by all taxpayers, any unused amount rolls
over to the next year. Laws 2011, 2" Special Session, Chapter 1 expands the tax credit, beginning in FY 2013, by
increasing the credit calculation by 10% for university-related research. The credit is subject to an aggregate cap of
$10.0 million per year between individual and corporate income taxpayers. A 15-year carry forward of the credit is
allowed for credits claimed through TY 2021 [A.R.S. § 43-1074.01]. Credits claimed beginning in TY 2022 have a 10-
year carry forward (Laws 2021, Chapter 196).

School Site Donation Credit. A credit is allowed in the amount of 30% of the value of real property and
improvements donated by a taxpayer to a school district or a charter school. Laws 2021, Chapter 383 allows
shareholders of an S Corporation to also claim their pro rata share of the credit based on ownership interest [A.R.S.
43-1089.02D]. This credit became available January 1, 2001. This non-refundable tax credit can be carried forward
for no more than 5 consecutive years [A.R.S. § 43-1089.02].
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School Tuition S Corporation Credit. Owners of an S corporation may claim a credit for cash contributions made to
a school tuition organization (STO) that provides scholarships to “low income” or “displaced or disabled” students.
Prior to Laws 2015, Chapter 301, only businesses classified as C corporations could receive income tax credits for
such contributions, pursuant to A.R.S. § 43-1183 and A.R.S. § 43-1184. In order to be used for tax purposes, an S
corporation’s credits must be pro-rated, passed through to the business owners and applied to the owners’
individual income tax liability [A.R.S. § 43-1089.04].

The full amount of the low-income tax credit approved by DOR for individual income, corporate income, and
insurance premium tax credits is capped at $10.0 million per year, with the cap increasing by 20% per year
beginning in FY 2008 [A.R.S. § 43-1183]. The credit cap was $74.3 million in FY 2018, $89.2 million in FY 2019, and
$107.0 in FY 2020. Laws 2019, Chapter 281 limits the annual increase of the credit cap to 15% in FY 2021, 10% in
FY 2022, and 5% in FY 2023. Beginning in FY 2024, the increase of the credit cap is limited to the greater of 2% or
the annual change of the Metropolitan Phoenix consumer price index. In dollar terms, Chapter 281 limits the
growth of the credit cap to $123.1 million in FY 2021, $135.4 million in FY 2022, and $142.1 million in FY 2023.
There is no cap on the amounts of contributions made by individual businesses. The full amount of the displaced
or disabled tax credit approved by DOR is capped at $6.0 million per year [A.R.S. § 43-1184]. Laws 2021, Chapter
412 increased the credit cap from $5.0 million to $6.0 million, beginning in FY 2022. A taxpayer may carry forward
the unused portion of either tax credit for 5 years. See Appendix B in the Tax Handbook for a comparison of
private school tax credits.

School Tuition Organizations (STO-1 or "Original” STO Credit). A credit may be claimed for donations to a non-
governmental primary or secondary school tuition organization (STO) that allocates at least 90% of its annual
revenue to educational scholarships or tuition grants. Laws 2010, Chapter 293 provides that the maximum
amount of the credit be adjusted for inflation each year and prohibits taxpayers from swapping donations with
others for the benefit of their dependents. The maximum credit is $623 for taxpayers filing as single or head of
household and $1,245 for married couples during TY 2022. Laws 2010, Chapter 188 allows a donation made
between the close of the tax year and the individual income tax filing deadline to be applied to either the current
or preceding tax year for the purpose of claiming the individual income tax credit. A 5-year carry forward of the
credit is allowed [A.R.S. § 43-1089]. See Appendix B in the Tax Handbook for a comparison of private school tax
credits.

School Tuition Organizations (STO-2 or "Switcher" STO Credit). Laws 2012, Chapter 4 created a new tax credit for
cash contributions to school tuition organizations (STO). The new credit, which is effective retroactively from
January 1, 2012, is only available if the tax-filer has already claimed the maximum amount under the existing STO
tax credit program for individuals (see STO-1 above). The Department of Revenue is required to adjust the
maximum credit amount for inflation each year. The maximum credit is $620 for taxpayers filing as single or head
of household and $1,238 for married couples during TY 2022. Scholarship monies generated by the new credit are
available only to students who either: (1) attended public school full-time for at least 90 days in the prior year and
transferred to private school, (2) are the dependent of a member of the armed forces, (3) are entering
Kindergarten, or (4) received a STO scholarship in the prior year under 1 of the first 3 criteria. Beginning in TY
2021, Laws 2021, Chapter 412 expands the list of eligible students to include those who were homeschooled,
moved from out of state, or held an Empowerment Scholarship Account (ESA). Laws 2022, Chapter 388 expanded
eligibility further to include any Arizona resident who is eligible to enroll in an Arizona public school and does not
otherwise qualify for an ESA [A.R.S. § 43-1089.03]. See Appendix B in the Tax Handbook for a comparison of private
school tax credits.

Small Business (“Angel”) Investment Credit. This credit is provided to investors that make investments in targeted
small businesses certified by the Arizona Commerce Authority (ACA). A qualified (“angel”) investor must be either
an individual, or a limited liability company, sub-chapter S corporation, or partnership. C corporations are not
eligible for the credit. The credit is equal to 30% of the qualified investment unless the investment is made in a
rural or bioscience company, in which case the credit is 35%. The credit must be claimed in installments over 3
years. Credit is nonrefundable and unused amounts can be carried forward up to 3 years.

Prior to Laws 2017, Chapter 319, the angel investment credit was limited to a total of $20.0 million over the life of
the program, from July 1, 2006 through June 30, 2021. ACA reports completing approval of the full $20.0 million
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cap by June 2015. Laws 2017, Chapter 319 permitted ACA to authorize an additional $10.0 million in credits from
July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2021. Of the $10.0 million in additional credits, ACA may approve up to $2.5 million for
each year. Any unused portion of the $2.5 million annual cap may be authorized in the following years of the
program. Laws 2021, Chapter 430 allows the Arizona Commerce Authority (ACA) to authorize $2.5 million in credit
per year through June 30, 2031. Any unused portion of the $2.5 million annual cap may be authorized in the
following years of the program. Taxpayers can claim authorized credits on their tax returns through TY 2034. For
an individual investor, the credit is applied to investment amounts of up to $500,000 per calendar year in one or
more qualified small businesses. Investment amounts in excess of $500,000 do not generate tax credits. To
receive qualified angel investments, a business must employee at least 2 Arizona residents and must not have
assets exceeding $10.0 million or be engaged in activities involving human cloning or embryonic stem cell research.
Once a qualified business has received a total of $2.0 million in qualified investments, it is no longer allowed to
receive credit-eligible angel investments [A.R.S. § 43-1074.02].

Solar Energy Devices for Commercial and Industrial Purposes. A taxpayer can claim a credit equal to 10% of the
installed cost of a solar energy device used in their trade or business. The credit cannot exceed $25,000 for the
same building in the same year or $50,000 in total in any year. This income tax credit may be claimed by a
taxpayer purchasing a solar energy device, or a taxpayer that finances the purchase of a qualifying device. The
credit also may be transferred to a third party that manufactures or installs a qualifying device. The credit is
available between tax years 2006 and 2018. This non-refundable tax credit can be carried forward for no more
than 5 consecutive years [A.R.S. § 43-1085]. For additional information on renewable energy incentives, see
Appendix A.

Solar Energy Devices for Residential Purposes. A taxpayer may claim 25% of the purchase price for a qualified solar
energy device installed in the taxpayer’s residence located in Arizona. The maximum credit is $1,000 per year and
$1,000 in aggregate for the same residence. This non-refundable tax credit can be carried forward for no more
than 5 consecutive years [A.R.S. § 43-1083]. For additional information on renewable energy incentives, see
Appendix A.

Taxes Paid to Other States. Subject to certain conditions, residents are allowed a credit for income taxes paid to

another state or country [A.R.S. § 43-1071]. Laws 2021, Chapter 436 includes a credit for net income taxes paid to
another state or country on Arizona alternate income [A.R.S. § 43-1071 and § 43-1381].
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TAX COMPUTATION

The amount of individual income tax due (or owed) for individuals, partnerships, and fiduciaries are computed as

follows:

Individuals:

|Arizona Gross Income|

Plus

|Additions to Income|
Minus

|Subtractions from Income|
Minus

Exemptions
Equals

|Arizona Adjusted Gross Income|
Minus

|Standard or Itemized Deductions|
Equals

axable Income
Multiply By

ax Rates
Equals

ax Liability]

Minus

ax Credits
Minus

ax Payments
Equals

ax Due|

Equivalent to taxpayer's federal adjusted gross income. Includes a taxpayer’s
capital gain or loss.

See A.R.S. § 43-1021 for amounts not taxed under federal income tax laws,
but subject to Arizona income tax.

See A.R.S. § 43-1022 for amounts taxed under federal income tax laws, but
not subject to Arizona income tax.

See A.R.S. § 43-1023 for exemptions: (1) $1,500 for blind taxpayer and/or
spouse (2) $2,300 for taxpayer and/or spouse who is age 65 or over, (3)
$2,300 for stillborn child, and (4) $10,000 for qualifying parents and
ancestors of parents. Prior to TY 2019, an exemption of $2,300 was allowed
for each qualified dependent. Laws 2019, Chapter 273 repealed this
exemption.

See A.R.S. § 43-1041 and 43-1042: Standard deduction is $12,550 for single
or married filing separately, $18,800 for singles filing as head of household,
and $25,100 for married filing jointly and qualifying surviving spouses.
Beginning in tax year 2005, the standard deduction is adjusted for inflation
each year. Laws 2019, Chapter 273 increased these standard deduction
amounts to be equal to the federal standard deduction. With several
exceptions, itemized deductions are the same as on the federal income tax
return.

See Tax Rate Section.

See Tax Credits Section.

Withholding, estimated, and extension payments made to the Department of
Revenue.

This can also be an overpayment; in which case, taxpayer will be entitled to a
tax refund
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Partnerships:

|Arizona Gross Income)
Add

|Addition to Income|
Minus

|Subtractions from Income|
Equals

|Arizona Taxable Income|
Calculate

Apportionment Ratio|

Fiduciaries:

|Arizona Gross Income)
Add

|Additions to Income|
Minus

|Subtractions from Income|
Equals

|Arizona Taxable Income|
Multiply By

|Individua| Tax Rates|
Equals

Minus

|Individua| Tax Credits|
Minus

Equals

Equivalent to federal ordinary business and rental income for the year,
excluding (1) items requiring a separate computation under A.R.S. § 43-1412,
paragraph 1 through 17 and (2) the federal provisions relating to interest on
investment indebtedness.

See A.R.S. § 43-1021 for amounts not taxed under federal income tax laws,
but subject to Arizona income tax.

See A.R.S. § 43-1022 for amounts taxed under federal income tax laws, but
not subject to Arizona income tax.

This is mainly for filing and reporting purposes. The taxable income of a
partnership is passed through to individuals in the partnership who are then
taxed through the individual income tax on their distributed portion of the
income.

Only for multi-state partnerships to determine Arizona's share of income and

deductions. Uses a 3-part apportionment formula of property, payroll, and
sales. See A.R.S. § 43-1131 through A.R.S. § 43-1150.

Equivalent to federal taxable income of estates or trusts. Income is taxable
based on the residence of the decedent for an estate and the residence
of the fiduciary or the beneficiary for a trust. See A.R.S. § 43-1301.

See A.R.S. § 43-1331 for a list of additions which also include those items
listed for individuals under A.R.S. § 43-1021.

See A.R.S. § 43-1332 for a list of subtractions which also include those items

listed for individuals under A.R.S. § 43-1022.

See Tax Rate Section.

See Tax Credits Section.
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Table 10 below compares select differences in Arizona and Federal computations of individual income tax.

Table 10

Number of Tax Brackets ¥

Marginal Tax Rates
Ordinary Income
Long-Term Capital Gains 2/
Arizona Alternate Income

Exemptions

Standard Deduction ¥/

Single

Married Filing Jointly

Head of Household

Added Deduction if Age 65 years +
Added Deduction if Blind
Additional Charitable Deduction ¢

Select Differences in Taxation
Social Security Income

Medical Expenses

Child and Dependent
Care Expenses

E

State and Federal Individual Income Tax Systems

Tax Year 2022

Arizona Individual Income Tax

2 brackets

2.55% and 2.98%
Ordinary rates reduced (25)%
3.00%

(1
(2
(3
(4

$1,500 if blind

$2,300 if age 65 years or over

$2,300 for stillborn child

$10,000 for qualifying parents and
ancestors of parents

= = —= —

$12,950

$25,900

$19,400

See exemptions above

See exemptions above

Taxpayers who take the standard deduction
may increase that deduction by 27% of their
charitable contributions that would have
been deductible had they itemized. 5/

Social Security Income is not taxable.
Taxpayers may take a state subtraction of any
income that is taxed at the federal level.

Taxpayers that itemize deductions may take a
deduction of all unreimbursed medical
expenses.

Taxpayers may claim a credit of $100 for each
dependent under the age of 17 and $25 for
each dependent age 17 and over.

Arizona and federal individual income tax brackets are adjusted annually for inflation.
Long-term capital gains are realized on assets held longer than 1 year.
Arizona and federal standard deduction amounts are adjusted annually for inflation.
For married couples filing jointly, the added deduction is $1,350 for each taxpayer that qualifies, up to $2,700 per couple. For those filing

single or as head of household, the added deduction is $1,700.

L4

Federal Personal Income Tax

7 brackets

10.0% to 37.0%
0.0% to 20.0%

None.

$12,950

$25,900

$19,400

$1,400 - $2,700 ¢
$1,400 - $2,700 ¢
None.

No amount is taxable if the sum of 50% of
Social Security Income plus 100% of other
income is less than specified income limits.
Up to 85% of Social Security Income is
taxable for taxpayers with income above
the limits.

Taxpayers that itemize deductions may
take a deduction of the amount of
unreimbursed medical expenses that
exceed 10% of federal adjusted gross
income.

Working taxpayers may claim a credit of up
to $2,100 for costs incurred for child or
dependent care. The credit is calculated as
20% to 35% of qualifying costs.

Pursuant to Laws 2021, Chapter 412, beginning in TY 2022, the optional standard deduction percentage of 25.0% will be increased according

to the average annual change in the metropolitan Phoenix CPI published by the U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics. This
increase will be raised to the nearest whole percent and cannot be revised below the amount from the previous tax year. The total deduction

cannot exceed 100.0%.
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PAYMENT SCHEDULE

Withholding. To simplify payment of the individual income tax, a portion of the tax is paid through a system of
withholding. Under Arizona law, a percentage of taxable wages is deducted and withheld by the employer for
state income tax purposes at the time wages are paid [A.R.S. § 43-401].

Withholding of state income tax is determined based on withholding tables established by the Department of
Revenue. Under this withholding table, an employee’s state withholding is calculated as a percentage of their
gross taxable wages. The withholding percentages effective since January 1, 2011 are as follows: 0.8%, 1.3%, 1.8%,
2.7%, 3.6%, 4.2%, or 5.1% of gross taxable wages. Additionally, employees can also choose to have their employer
withhold an extra amount from each paycheck.

Employers have the option to not withhold income tax during the month of December. If an employer elects to
not withhold tax in December, he is required to notify the Department of Revenue and his employees of this
decision.

An individual income taxpayer may authorize his employer to reduce his withholding amount in order to make
contributions to a school tuition organization, charitable organization, or public school.

Exclusions. Certain types of employment are exempt from the withholding requirements (see A.R.S. § 43-403 for a
complete list).

Disposition. Employers who deduct withholding from their employees' wages are required to transfer the
withholding collections to DOR. If an employer's withholding collections exceeded an average of $1,500 per
quarter over the 4 preceding calendar quarters, the employer must forward withholding collections to the state in
accordance with the federal payment schedule.

For employers whose withholding collections did not exceed an average of $1,500 per quarter over the 4
preceding calendar quarters, the withholding collections for the previous calendar quarter must be transferred to
DOR on or before April 30, July 31, October 31, and January 31.

Estimated Tax Payments. A taxpayer whose Arizona gross income was greater than $75,000 (or $150,000 if the
taxpayer filed a joint return) in the preceding taxable year or can reasonably expect to exceed $75,000 (or
$150,000 if the taxpayer files a joint return) in the current year, is required to make payments of estimated tax
during the individual's taxable year. The estimated amount shall be paid in 4 installments on or before the due
dates established for federal filing and reasonably reflect the taxpayer's Arizona income tax liability. The total of
annual estimated tax payments and withholding tax must be at least 90% of the tax liability for the current year or
100% of tax liability for the preceding year. If a taxpayer does not pay the required estimated tax payments, DOR
will assess a penalty not exceeding 10% of the unpaid tax plus interest on the unpaid balance. [A.R.S. § 43-581].

Laws 2021, Chapter 436 requires alternate income taxpayers to make estimated tax payments on Arizona alternate
income in 4 installments during the tax year if the tax liability is at least $1,000. The amount of required annual
estimated tax payments is the lesser of 90% of the tax shown on the regular tax return for the tax year or 100% of
the tax shown on the alternate income tax return for the preceding tax year [A.R.S. § 43-583].

Voluntary Payments. All other taxpayers may voluntarily make estimated tax payments during the tax year.

Payment of Balance. The taxpayer is required to pay the balance of the tax due on April 15 after the close of the
calendar year or, if return is based on a fiscal year, on the 15th day of the fourth month following the close of the
fiscal year. An income tax return is required to be filed with DOR along with the tax payment [A.R.S. § 43-501]. On
March 20, 2020, the Governor issued an executive order that instructed the Department of Revenue to move the
deadline for filing and paying state income taxes from April 15, 2020 to July 15, 2020. The July 15 filing due applied
to 2019 state individual and corporate income tax returns. The executive order did not apply to quarterly
estimated payments made by individual and corporate filers.
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Electronic Fund Transfer and Tax Filing Requirements. Employers that had withholding tax liability of at least
$10,000 in the preceding taxable year are required to remit tax payments to DOR by electronic fund transfer (EFT).
Laws 2017, Chapter 60 lowered the liability threshold for EFT payments from $20,000 to $10,000 for TY 2019,
$5,000 for TY 2020, and $500 for TY 2021 and later years.

Beginning in TY 2018, Chapter 60 additionally requires tax professionals that prepare 11 or more state individual
income tax returns a year to electronically file all prepared returns with DOR [A.R.S. § 42-1129 and A.R.S. § 43-
323].

Extensions. If requested, the department will grant a taxpayer an automatic 6-month filing extension [A.R.S. § 42-
1107]. Note, however, that a filing extension does not extend the taxpayer’s time to pay his income tax. The
taxpayer is still required to pay at least 90% of his tax liability by the original due date of the return. The
department charges interest from the original due date to the date of payment. The department also imposes
penalties as explained below.

Extension Underpayment Penalty. When applying for an extension, at least 90% of the tax liability must be paid by
the original due date or the taxpayer is subject to a penalty of 0.5% of the unpaid balance for each 30 days or
fraction thereof. This penalty cannot exceed 25% of the unpaid tax [A.R.S. § 42-1125].

Late Filing Penalty. This penalty is 4.5% of the tax required to be shown on the return for each month or fraction
thereof the return is late. The penalty cannot exceed 25% of the unpaid tax [A.R.S. § 42-1125].

Late Payment Penalty. This penalty is 0.5% of the amount shown as tax for each month or fraction thereof for
which the failure to pay tax continues. This penalty cannot exceed a total of 10% of the tax [A.R.S. § 42-1125].

TAX EXPENDITURES

DOR is required by law to prepare an annual report to the Governor and the Legislature detailing the estimated
cost in lost revenues from the provision of tax expenditures [A.R.S. §42-1005]. Tax expenditures are provisions
within the law, such as subtractions, exemptions, deductions, and credits that are designed to encourage certain
kinds of activity or to aid taxpayers in certain categories. Tax expenditures result in a loss of tax revenues for both
state and local governments.

Based on the most recent report available, the state collected about $3.72 billion in resident individual income
taxes in tax year 2015. However, according to DOR, the state allows subtractions, exemptions, deductions, and
credits worth as much as $2.13 billion during a tax year. Attachment A, located at the end of the Individual Income
Tax section of the 2022 Tax Handbook, lists individual income tax subtractions, exemptions, and deductions for tax
year 2015, as shown in DOR’s report The Revenue Impact of Arizona’s Tax Expenditures FY 2016/17.

Laws 2015, Chapter 8 and Laws 2016, Chapter 125 requires DOR to report by September 30 each year on the
amounts of individual income tax credits claimed in the preceding fiscal year. Attachment B, located at the end of
the Individual Income Tax section of the 2022 Tax Handbook, lists credits reported by DOR for FY 2022. The total
annual tax expenditure estimate of $2.13 billion, which was derived from DOR’s Individual Income Tax Simulation
Model and FY 2017 tax credit report, represents foregone revenues to the state General Fund and to the Urban
Revenue Sharing Fund.

In addition to tax expenditure provisions, the state permits individual and corporate income tax filers to accelerate
depreciation of certain qualified asset purchases, for purposes of calculating state income tax liability. The
Accelerated Depreciation section within this Individual Income Tax section includes more details on these
allowances.

ACCELERATED DEPRECIATION ALLOWANCES

The Internal Revenue Code (IRC) allows individual and corporate income tax filers to accelerate depreciation of
qualified asset purchases under multiple programs for purposes of calculating federal taxable income. Though
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historically authorized on an annual basis, these accelerations have recently been made permanent or extended
several years. For purposes of calculating state taxable income, the state’s individual and corporate income tax
statutes have varied with regard to conforming to the federal business expensing allowance and the federal bonus
depreciation allowance. Based on the amount of federal allowance available in a given tax year, tax filers can use
these provisions, potentially together, to reduce their federal and state taxable income in the tax year that the
qualified investment is made. Allowances adjust the timing, not the total amount, of depreciation that can be
taken over the life of an asset.

Business Expensing

Section 179 of the IRC is a federal business expensing provision that allows individual and corporate tax filers to
deduct 100% of their qualified property (up to a stipulated amount) in the year of purchase rather than in smaller
installments over several years according to a federal depreciation schedule. The maximum business expensing
deduction cannot exceed a filer’s federal taxable income and is reduced, dollar for dollar, for investment exceeding
a certain threshold. Qualified property generally includes purchase of new or used commercial machinery,
equipment, and certain types of software.

Congress gradually increased the business expensing allowance on a temporary basis, from an amount of $24,000
in TY 2002 to $500,000 in TY 2010 through TY 2014. The $500,000 allowance available from TY 2010 through TY
2014 is reduced dollar for dollar, for investment exceeding $2.0 million.

Prior to TY 2013, Arizona capped the allowance at $25,000 (Laws 2004, Chapter 196) for purposes of calculating
Arizona income tax liability for individuals and corporations. Laws 2013, Chapter 256 first conformed the state’s
tax statutes to the IRC’s $500,000 business expensing federal deduction limit that was in place at the time of
passage. Therefore, Chapter 256 effectively removed the $25,000 cap. Laws 2015, Chapter 227 conformed
Arizona tax statutes to the temporary federal allowance of $500,000 in TY 2014, which reduced annual revenues
by an estimated $(30.8) million in FY 2015 and later years (see 2015 Tax Handbook, page 49 for detail about past
conformity estimates).

The federal Consolidated Appropriations Act of 2016 made permanent the $500,000 business expensing
allowance, beginning retroactively to TY 2015. Laws 2016, Chapter 155 conformed the state’s tax statutes to the
IRC’s permanent expensing limit. There is no added revenue loss from conforming to the permanent limit, as the
previous estimated impact of $(30.8) million a year assumed the continuation of the $500,000 limit in future years.

The 2017 federal Tax Cuts and Jobs Act increased the maximum deduction from $500,000 to $1.0 million and
increased the phase-out threshold from $2.0 million to $2.5 million and indexes those amounts to inflation. Laws
2019, Chapter 273 conforms Arizona to these changes.

Bonus Depreciation

Federal bonus depreciation provides individual and corporate tax filers an added first-year depreciation allowance
for purchases of qualified new property. Therefore, after deducting any bonus depreciation in the first year of an
investment, the remaining value of the asset may be depreciated according to the percentages in federal
depreciation schedules.

Congress established a temporary 30% bonus depreciation allowance in TY 2002 and eventually increased the limit
to 50% in TY 2013 and TY 2014. Prior to TY 2013, Arizona tax statutes did not conform to the federal allowance for
purposes of calculating state income tax liability (Laws 2002, Chapter 344 and Laws 2004, Chapter 196). Beginning
in TY 2014, Laws 2012, Chapter 343 permitted individual income taxpayers to reduce their state taxable income by
an amount equal to 10% of the federal allowance, if any. Arizona taxpayers were first able to take the partial
allowance in TY 2014 on property placed in service in TY 2013 (10% of the 50% federal allowance in TY 2013).
Conforming to 10% of the temporary allowance of 50% in TY 2014 (Laws 2015, Chapter 227) was estimated to
reduce annual revenues by $(1.8) million in FY 2015 and later years.

The federal Consolidated Appropriations Act of 2016 extended federal bonus depreciation, providing allowances of

50% in TY 2015 through TY 2017, 40% in TY 2018, and 30% in TY 2019. Laws 2016, Chapter 118 conformed the

state’s deduction to 55% of the federal allowance in TY 2016 and 100% in TY 2017 and subsequent years. The 2-
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year phase-in of full state conformity of federal bonus depreciation is estimated to reduce individual income tax by
$(8.0) million in FY 2017, followed by an additional reduction of $(8.0) million in FY 2018. Under the 2017 Internal
Revenue Code (IRC) conformity bill (Laws 2017, Chapter 2), Chapter 118 is estimated to reduce individual income
tax revenue by $(8.0) million in FY 2018. This estimate was based on the 50% federal bonus depreciation allowance
in effect for TY 2017 when the 2017 IRCS conformity bill was enacted.

The federal Tax Cuts and Jobs Act (TCJA) enacted in December 2017 increases the federal bonus depreciation
allowance from 50% to 100% for qualified equipment placed in service between September 28, 2017 and
December 31, 2022. The 2018 Internal Revenue Code (IRC) conformity bill (Laws 2018, Chapter 142) conformed
state statutes to the TCJA provisions that were effective retroactively for TY 2017. Therefore, the state income
deduction for TY 2018 was based on the pre-TCJA bonus depreciation allowance of 50%. Chapter 142 was
estimated to result in a one-time individual income tax revenue loss of $(5.0) million in FY 2019. Laws 2019,
Chapter 273 conformed Arizona statute to the IRC for TY 2018, thus adopting 100% bonus depreciation for pass-
through businesses.

The primary differences between bonus depreciation and business expensing are that bonus depreciation: (1) is
only available for new property investments; (2) does not include an investment limitation for determining the
deduction amount; (3) can be used to create a net operating loss that can be carried forward to future years; and
(4) for purposes of calculating Arizona income tax liability, may only be used by individual taxpayers.

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2016.

2022 LAWS

Laws 2022, Chapter 41 conforms the Arizona tax code to the federal Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1,
2022 to reflect changes adopted by the U.S. Congress during 2021.

Laws 2022, Chapter 235 was a tax correction bill that made technical and clarifying to the Arizona Revised
Statutes. This chapter repeals the individual Credit for Employment by a Healthy Forest Enterprise and the
individual Credit for Pollution Control Equipment. Chapter 235 also repeals the corporate Credit for Construction
Costs of Qualified Environmental Technology.

Laws 2022, Chapter 321 changes the income tax rate paid by the partners or shareholders of a business organized
as a pass-through-entity and elected to be taxed at the entity-level from 4.5% to the same rate paid by other
individual income taxpayers. This rate change has no impact on the General Fund.

This chapter also requires DOR to maintain an individual income tax model that estimates the fiscal impact of
proposed individual income tax legislation and requires that the staff of DOR, JLBC, and OSPB have access to the
model when the new Integrated Tax System Modernization Project is completed.

Laws 2022, Chapter 369 established 2 new individual income tax subtractions related to virtual currency and non-
fungible tokens. First, Chapter 369 allows a taxpayer to subtract the value of cryptocurrency received by the
taxpayer in an "airdrop" (a mass distribution of cryptocurrency for free to encourage its widespread usage).
Second, if a taxpayer reports a gain or loss related to the sale of cryptocurrency, Chapter 369 authorizes the
taxpayer to subtract the amount of "gas fees" (transaction fees) associated with that cryptocurrency's purchase,
unless those fees are already included in the cost basis for tax purposes. The fiscal impact of Chapter 369 is
expected to be minimal. Any impact would likely be in the form of General Fund revenue that the state may
forego in future years.

Laws 2022, Chapter 385 annually adjusts for inflation the income tax credit limit for donations to Qualifying

Charitable Organizations (QCO) and Qualifying Foster Care Charitable Organizations (QFCO). The current cap for

the QCO credit is $400 for single filers and $800 for married filers whereas the cap for the QFCO credit is $500 for
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single filers and S1,000 for married filers. The change to the QCO and QFCO credit caps is estimated to reduce
General Fund revenue by $(1.0) million in FY 2023, $(2.0) million in FY 2024, and $(4.0) million in FY 2025.

Laws 2022, Chapter 387 creates a motion picture production income tax credit, beginning in TY 2023. The credit
program will be implemented and administered by the Arizona Commerce Authority (ACA). Chapter 387 authorizes
ACA to pre-approve up to $75 million in refundable credits in Calendar Year (CY) 2023, $100 million in CY 2023, and
$125 million, beginning in CY 2025. Chapter 387 was not scored as part of the 3-year budget plan. We estimated
that during the first 3 years of the credit program, Chapter 387 would reduce General Fund revenues by less than
half of the credit cap. We did not attempt to quantify the indirect impacts of any additional economic activity
associated with the bill.

2021 LAWS

Laws 2021, Chapter 80 makes several changes to the Credit for Qualified Facilities [A.R.S. § 41-1512, A.R.S. § 43-

1083.03, and A.R.S. § 43-1164.04]. Under current law, a business that expands or locates a qualified facility in the

state may receive a credit for qualifying investment and employment. The credit is the lesser of 10% of the total

qualifying investment in the facility or $20,000 for each net new job at the qualified facility. Chapter 80 makes the

following changes to the Qualified Facility Credit:

(1) Increases the credit from $20,000 to $30,000 per net new job if the total qualifying investment is $2 billion or
more. If the qualifying investment is less than $2 billion, the credit remains at $20,000 per net new job.

(2) Increases the aggregate cap of the credit that can be preapproved by the Arizona Commerce Authority (ACA) in
a calendar year from $70 million to $125 million.

(3) Expands the statutory definition of "qualified manufacturing" to include products sold to other qualifying
facilities regardless of whether such facilities have been pre-approved by ACA.

The changes under Chapter 80 are effective from September 29, 2021.

Laws 2021, Chapter 174 decreases the length of time a tax credit may go unused from 4 years to 3 years before
DOR terminates the credit [A.R.S. § 43-224].

Laws 2021, Chapter 177 an emergency measure that changed the TY 2020 individual income tax filing due date
from April 15, 2021 to May 17, 2021.

Laws 2021, Chapter 190 requires a conservation plan to be filed with the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA),
Natural Resources Conservation Service, or a National Resource Conservation District (NRCD) within Arizona to
qualify for the Agricultural Water Conservation System Credit [A.R.S. § 43-1084]. Previously, a conservation plan
had to be submitted to the USDA only.

Laws 2021, Chapter 196 was a tax correction bill that made technical and clarifying to the Arizona Revised
Statutes. Chapter 196 repeals the individual (but not the corporate) tax credit for Employment of Temporary
Assistance of Needy Families (TANF) Recipients.

The individual income tax subtraction for World War Il victims is repealed [A.R.S. § 43-1022].

A fiduciary is required to make a tax return for every individual required to file an individual income tax return
[A.R.S. § 43-304].

The due date for a tax return that includes a period of less than 12 months is set as the 15 day of the 3™ month
following the close of that period [A.R.S. § 43-931].

Laws 2021, Chapter 232 conforms Arizona tax statutes to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) in effect as of March 11,
2021. Chapter 232 adopts all the federal changes enacted under the Families First Coronavirus Response Act
(FFCRA), Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act, Paycheck Protection Program (PPP) Flexibility
Act, Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2021 (CAA), and American Rescue Plan (ARP) Act. Chapter 232 is estimated
to result in a one-time General Fund revenue reduction of $(624.8) million over the next several years.
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Laws 2021, Chapter 383 makes the following changes to the School Site Donation Credit:

(1) restores the corporate School Site Donation Credit that was repealed by Laws 2020, Chapter 43, and

(2) allows shareholders of an S corporation to claim their pro rata share of the individual School Site Donation
Credit [A.R.S. § 43-1089.02D]. (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2020)

Laws 2021, Chapter 395 allows contributions to college savings plans (authorized by section 529 of the Internal
revenue Code, known as 529 plans) and to Achieving a Better Life Experience (ABLE) accounts to be subtracted
from an individuals' Arizona adjusted gross income in the following amounts:

- $2,000 per beneficiary for an individual or head of household

- $4,000 per beneficiary for a married couple filing jointly

Previously, this subtraction applied to each tax filer and not each beneficiary [A.R.S. § 43-1022]. The JLBC Staff
estimates this legislation will have minimal fiscal impact.

Laws 2021, Chapter 411 provides that, beginning in TY 2021, the total individual income tax rate for taxable
income above $250,000 for single filers and $500,000 for married couples filing jointly, including the Proposition
208 surcharge, cannot exceed 4.5%. Proposition 208 was to receive the proceeds from the 3.5% surcharge. The
remaining 1% would have been deposited in the General Fund. This provision was originally estimated to result in a
General Fund revenue loss of $(836.0) million in FY 2022 and $(487.8) million in FY 2023 and FY 2024. Due to the
subsequent Court ruling that Proposition 208 was invalid, this Chapter 411 provision no longer had any impact.

Laws 2021, Chapter 412 (Tax Omnibus) reduces the individual income tax rates to 2.55% for taxable income up to
$27,272 for single filers and up to $54,544 for married couples filing jointly, and 2.98% for taxable income above
$27,272/554,544 in TY 2022. Further rate reductions are contingent upon the state receiving more General Fund
revenue than forecast as determined in September of each year. JLBC Staff and OSPB are required to jointly report
the level of prior year state General Fund revenue in September to ADOR. If General Fund revenue exceeds
$12,782,800,000, statute requires ADOR to reduce the income tax rates to 2.53% and 2.75% in the following Tax
Year. After receiving a report that General Fund revenue exceeds $12,976,300,000, ADOR is to establish a single
2.5% rate in the following Tax Year.

JLBC Staff and OSPB jointly reported on September 29, 2022, that the FY 2022 revenue level was $16.7 billion.
Based on this report, ADOR is implementing the 2.5% single tax rate in TY 2023.

The reduction of the TY 2022 rates to 2.55%/2.98% was originally estimated to reduce General Fund revenues by
$(1,016.6) million in FY 2023. This estimate was later revised to $(1,273.3) million. The reduction from the
2.55/2.98% tax rates to 2.5% will reduce revenues by a total of $(716) million in FY 2024.

Besides the rate reduction described above, Chapter 412 makes several other changes related to income tax,
premium insurance tax, property tax, and unemployment insurance. These other provisions in the Tax Omnibus
are described below.

e Provides a full individual income tax exemption for benefits, annuities, and pensions received by military
retirees, beginning in TY 2021. The current exemption is $3,500. This provision is currently estimated to
reduce General Fund revenues by $(48.3) million in FY 2022 and $(37.9) million in FY 2023 and FY 2024.

e Adjusts for inflation the percentage of charitable contributions that standard deduction filers can claim
over and above the regular standard deduction, beginning in TY 2022. The adjusted percentage cannot
exceed 100%. This provision is estimated to reduce General Fund revenues by $(2.0) million in FY 2023
and $(3.9) million in FY 2024.

e Increases the credit cap for contributions by corporations and insurers to School Tuition Organizations
(STO) for displaced/disabled students from $5 million to $6 million, beginning in FY 2022. This provision is
expected to have an annual revenue impact of $(1.0) million, starting in FY 2022. Since this provision also
affects the corporate income tax as well as the insurance premium tax, it is also included in those sections
of the Tax Handbook.
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e (Creates a new nonrefundable individual and corporate income tax credit for the processing of qualified
forest products, beginning in TY 2021. The credit, which has an annual cap of $0.5 million per taxpayer
and $2 million in the aggregate, is estimated to reduce General Fund revenues by $(395,800) annually,
beginning in FY 2022.

e Expands the eligibility for students receiving "switcher" individual or low-income corporate STO
scholarships to include those who were homeschooled, moved from out of state, or held an
Empowerment Scholarship Account (ESA), beginning in TY 2021. The provision is expected to result in an
annual revenue reduction of $(0.4) million, beginning in FY 2022. This provision affects both the
individual and corporate income tax.

e Allows public service corporations to deduct for income tax purposes any amount of monies or other
property contributed to them to expand, improve, or replace their water system or sewage disposal
facilities, beginning in TY 2021. This provision is estimated to reduce General Fund revenues by $(0.4)
million annually, beginning in FY 2022. This provision affects corporate (but not individual) income tax.

e Provides that for calendar year 2021, applications submitted to the Department of Revenue for the
individual and corporate renewable energy production tax credit are allowed to be made prior to
February 7, 2021. This provision is not expected to have any fiscal impact.

e Provides that the payments of estimated tax by individual income tax filers do not apply to liability
accruing from the Proposition 208 Surcharge.

e Continues to include capital items, community school meal programs, student consumable health care
supplies, and playground equipment as eligible expenses for purposes of the individual income tax credit
for public school fees and extracurricular activities until June 30, 2024 (eligibility for these items expires
June 30, 2022). This provision has no fiscal impact.

e Expands the definition of Qualifying Foster Care Charitable Organizations (QFCO) for TY 2021 to allow tax
credit donations to QFCOs that serve persons who have has left the foster care system due to reaching 18
years of age, adoption, or legal guardianship after reaching 16 years of age or reunification at 14 or 15
years of age. This provision is not expected to have any fiscal impact.

Laws 2021, Chapter 425 creates an optional entity-level income tax for partnerships and S corporations, beginning
in TY 2022. If the partners or shareholders of such pass-through-entities (PTE) elect to be taxed at the entity level,
the PTEs are taxed at 4.5% of their Arizona taxable income. Such an election allows PTEs to claim a full deduction
on their federal partnership return for state taxes paid at the entity level. Currently, the amount of itemized
deductions that can be claimed for state and local taxes paid by each partner or shareholder of a PTE on their
federal individual income tax return is limited to $10,000. Chapter 425 has no impact on General Fund revenues.
At the state level, partners, and shareholders of PTEs will pay the same amount of state individual income tax
under Chapter 425 as under current law. At the federal level, however, there will be a reduction of individual
income tax revenues since Chapter 425 will effectively allow partners and shareholders of PTEs to claim their full
deduction for state taxes.

Laws 2021, Chapter 430 creates a new individual and corporate nonrefundable affordable housing tax credit that
is equal to at least 50% of the amount of the federal low-income housing credit for qualified projects placed in
service after June 30, 2022. The Arizona Department of Housing is authorized to allocate a total of $4 million in tax
credits per year from TY 2022 to TY 2025. Each of these 4 award cycles is available for 10 years. The credit is
estimated to have a revenue impact of $(4.0) million in FY 2024.

Chapter 430 extends the Arizona Commerce Authority's (ACA) credit authorization of the individual income tax
credit for Investment in Qualified Small Businesses ("Angel Investment Credit"), from June 30, 2021 to June 30,
2031. As under prior law, (ACA) can authorize up to $2.5 million each fiscal year.

Laws 2021, Chapter 436 (SB 1783) creates an alternative income tax for certain classes of income. These include
interest and ordinary dividends, profit or loss from an individual who is operating a business as a sole proprietor,
supplemental income or loss, profit or loss from farming, sale of business property, farm rental income and
expenses, and certain capital gains and losses. This income is referred to as "Arizona small business income" in
statute and is subject to separate income tax rates from the regular individual income tax. The rates under Chapter
436 are 3.5% in TY 2021, 3.0% in TY 2022, 2.8% in TY 2023 and 2024, and 2.5% beginning in TY 2025. Individuals
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can choose to be taxed either under the regular individual income tax or the alternative income tax established by
SB 1783.

With the single 2.5% regular income rate starting in TY 2023, we do not anticipate a significant number of
taxpayers to use the alternative income tax going forward. In FY 2022, a total of $143.2 million in net alternative
income tax payments were made.

2020 LAWS

Laws 2020, Chapter 7 extends the Credit for Qualified Facilities to January 1, 2030. Computation of the tax credit
only includes capital investments in a qualified facility that are made within 36 months before applying to the ACA
for preapproval. An applicant can qualify for the Credit for Qualified Facilities if at least 51 percent of the net new
full-time employment positions have job duties associated with the qualified facility, rather than at the qualified
facility.

Chapter 7 maintains the current rates of the Research and Development Credit computation through December
31, 2030 and delays the modification to the rates of the computation for taxable years beginning January 1, 2031.
It reduces, from 15 consecutive taxable years to 10 consecutive taxable years, beginning January 1, 2022, the
number of years the amount of a credit claimed and not used to offset taxes may be carried forward, if the
allowable credit exceeds the taxes due. Chapter 7 allows qualified research expenses that have been converted
into a credit carryforward, for taxable years beginning January 1, 2022, to be carried forward to not more than 10
years from the year in which the expenses were incurred

Laws 2020, Chapters 24 and 40 is the annual conforming of the Arizona tax code to the federal Internal Revenue
Code (IRC). This took effect of January 1, 2020 to reflect changes adopted by the U.S. Congress during 2019.

Laws 2020, Chapter 43 was a tax correction bill that made technical and clarifying to the Arizona Revised Statutes.
Chapter 43 repeals the individual tax credit for Construction Costs of Qualified Environmental Technology Facility.
In addition, this chapter also repeals the corporate tax credits for Employment by a Healthy Forest Enterprise,
Agricultural Pollution Control Equipment, and the Donation of a School Site.

2019 LAWS

Laws 2019, Chapter 164 expands the tax credit for public school fees and contributions to include taxpayer's
contributions towards capital items, community school meal programs, and student consumable health care
supplies. This provision is in effect from FY 2020 through FY 2022.

Laws 2019, Chapter 203 was a correction bill that made technical and clarification changes to the Arizona Revised
Statutes. In addition, Chapter 203 repealed the individual income tax credit for investments in renewable energy
facilities used by International Operations Centers (Effective from August 27, 2019).

Laws 2019, Chapter 272 requires licensed escrow agents to file an information return for sales of real property
located in Arizona with DOR. Licensed escrow agents would be required to submit this return to DOR by March 31
for sales closed during the prior calendar year. The bill is expected to increase compliance for capital gains taxes
owed by non-residents that sell real estate in Arizona. DOR shall report to the JLBC and OSPB annually on the
additional estimated revenue collected from the nonresident real estate transactions as a result of the new
reporting requirement for licensed escrow agents (Effective from August 27, 2019).

Laws 2019, Chapter 273 contains numerous provisions relating to individual income tax, corporate income tax, and
transaction privilege tax (TPT). The income taxes changes are described below. Please see the Transaction
Privilege Tax Section for details relating to TPT provisions. The ongoing net impact of the bill, beginning in FY 2021,
is shown in Table 11. In FY 2019, the bill will result in a General Fund revenue increase of $155.0 million.
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Table 11

Chapter 273 Ongoing Impact

Impact

Revenue Additions
Conformity $217.0
Wayfair 85.0
Eliminate Personal/Dependent Exemptions 353.9
Eliminate Lottery Winning Subtraction 0.1
Total, Additional Revenue $656.0
Revenue Subtractions
Increase Standard Deduction $(404.0)
Dependent Tax Credit (144.0)
Bracket/Rate Reduction (108.0)
25% Charitable Deduction (24.0)
Total, Reduced Revenue ($680.0)
Net Ongoing Impact ($24.0)

In FY 2020, the bill will result in an estimated revenue loss of $(52.0) million. As noted in Table 11, in FY 2021 and
beyond, the JLBC Staff estimates that the bill will result in an ongoing annual revenue loss of $(24.0) million.

TY 2018 and TY 2019 Conformity — Chapter 273 conforms Arizona to the federal definition of adjusted gross

income as of January 1, 2018 for tax year 2018, and January 1, 2019 for tax year 2019.

Changes to Arizona Individual Income Tax Statutes — Beginning in TY 2019, Chapter 273 makes several changes to

the state's individual income tax statutes, as described below.

e  Reduces the number of marginal individual income tax brackets from 5 to 4 and reduces each marginal rate as

shown in Table 12.

Table 12
Marginal Income Tax Rate/Bracket Comparison

Brackets — Rates - Brackets — Rates -
Current TY 2018 Enacted TY 2019
S0 - $10,600 2.59% SO -$26,500 2.59%
$10,601 — 26,500 2.88% Collapsed 2.59%
$26,501 - $53,000 3.36% $26,501 - $53,000 3.34%
$53,001 - $159,000 4.24% $53,001 - $159,000 4.17%
$159,001 and over 4.54% $159,001 and over 4.50%

index used to calculate the federal standard deduction.

Removes the Arizona subtraction from taxable income for lottery winnings.

Increases the standard deduction as shown in Table 13. Indexes the standard deduction to the same inflation

Table 13
Standard Deduction Comparison
Standard Standard
Deduction - Deduction -

Filing Status Current Law Enacted
Single/Married Filing Separate $5,312 $12,000
Single Head of Household $10,613 $18,000
Married Filing Jointly $10,613 $24,000
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e Eliminates the state personal and dependent exemptions, shown in Table 14.

Table 14

Eliminated Exemptions
Personal Exemption, No Dependents $2,200
Personal Exemption, Married with Dependents $6,600
Dependent Exemption $2,300

o Allows taxpayers that take the standard deduction to increase their standard deduction by 25% of their
charitable contributions that otherwise would have been deductible had they itemized their tax returns.

e Establishes a dependent tax credit of $100 for each dependent under 17 years old and $25 for each
dependent age 17 and above. This credit is phased out for singles with over $200,000 of adjusted gross
income and $400,000 for married couples filing jointly.

Laws 2019, Chapter 281 limits the annual increase of the aggregate credit cap for contributions made by
corporations (including S Corporations) and insurers to qualifying school tuition organizations (STO) that provide
education scholarships and tuition grants to students of low-income families from 20% to 15% in FY 2021, 10% in
FY 2022, and 5% in FY 2023. Beginning in FY 2024, the increase of the credit cap is limited to the greater of 2% or
the annual change of the Metropolitan Phoenix consumer price index. In dollar terms, Chapter 281 limits the
growth of the credit cap to $123.1 million in FY 2021, $135.4 million in FY 2022, and $142.1 million in FY 2023.

Laws 2019, Chapter 297 expands the eligibility criteria for the state charitable tax credit to include organizations
that serve both children and adults with chronic iliness or disability rather than solely children. Chapter 297 is
effective retroactively from January 1, 2019. Chapter 297 is expected to have an ongoing impact of $(1.2) million
annually, beginning in FY 2020.

2018 LAWS

Laws 2018, Chapter 74 extends the low-income credit for Proposition 301 taxes to December 31, 2041. This credit
was previously set to expire along with the 0.6% sales tax enacted by Proposition 301 in TY 2021. Chapter 74
extends both the temporary 0.6% sales tax and the tax credit through TY 2041.

Laws 2018, Chapter 104 was a correction bill that made technical and clarification changes to the Arizona Revised
Statutes. (Effective from August 3, 2018)

Laws 2018, Chapter 142 was the annual conformity bill that updated the definition of the Internal Revenue Code
(IRC) to include all IRC provisions that were in effect as of January 1, 2017. This included provisions of the federal
Tax Cuts and Jobs Act (TCJA) that were made retroactively effective for tax year 2017. The TCJA increased the
allowable rate of the bonus depreciation allowance from 50% to 100% of qualified business investment made after
September 27, 2017. Chapter 142 conforms to the full bonus depreciation deduction for individual income
taxpayers for the final 3 months of TY 2017. Most TCJA provisions were effective January 1, 2018. Chapter 142
does not address those provisions.

Laws 2018, Chapter 199 extends the military family relief credit from December 31, 2018 to December 31, 2026.

Laws 2018, Chapter 283 increased the income tax deduction for military pensions from $2,500 to $3,500 in TY
2019 and beyond.

2017 LAWS

Laws 2017, Chapter 2 was the annual conformity bill that updated the definition of the Internal Revenue Code
(IRC) to include all IRC provisions that were in effect as of January 1, 2017.
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Laws 2017, Chapter 60 includes several provisions for electronic filing and payment of taxes to the Department of
Revenue (DOR). The act's individual income tax provisions are listed below.

e Reduces the tax liability threshold above which employers must pay withholding tax using electronic funds
transfer. The threshold is reduced from $20,000 for TY 2018, to $10,000 for TY 2019, $5,000 for TY 2020, and
$500 for TY 2021 and later years. (Effective from January 1, 2019)

e Requires tax professionals that prepare 11 or more state individual income tax returns a year to file all
prepared returns electronically. (Effective from January 1, 2018)

e Requires individuals that receive taxable income as fiduciaries of estates or owners of a business partnership
to electronically file their state returns. The requirement begins in tax year (TY) 2020, or in the tax year DOR
begins accepting electronic returns from fiduciaries and partners, whichever is later. (Effective from January
1, 2020 or later)

e  Prohibits DOR from distributing paper tax return forms, except upon request from the taxpayer. (Effective
from August 9, 2017)

Laws 2017, Chapter 127 designates a business' conversion from one type of legal structure to another as a
nontaxable event for purposes of calculating state income taxes, if the conversion does not include changes to a
business' ownership interests or assets. Prior to the bill, owners of a C or S corporation that converted to a
partnership or limited liability company could realize capital gains income that was subject to the state's individual
income tax. (Effective from August 9, 2017)

Laws 2017, Chapter 172 allows a taxpayer to voluntarily designate an amount to donate from their refund to the
Spaying and Neutering of Animals Fund. Money in the fund is allocated to qualifying organizations that aim to
reduce pet overpopulation in the state through sterilization of dogs and cats. (Effective retroactively to January 1,
2017)

Laws 2017, Chapter 178 was a tax correction bill that made technical and clarifying changes to the Arizona Revised
Statutes. (Most provisions are effective from August 9, 2017 while others are effective from December 31, 2017).

Laws 2017, Chapter 278 permits a business to subtract for income tax purposes the entire amount of business
access expenditures incurred in a tax year to retrofit property in order to comply with the federal Americans with
Disabilities Act of 1990. The bill has the effect of accelerating depreciation of such property to 1 year rather than
depreciating it over several years. The income tax subtraction applies to property that was originally placed in
service 10 years prior to retrofitting. Investments must be made in TY 2018 or later years to qualify for the
subtraction. The full impact of this provision is included in the Corporate Income Tax section. (Effective from
January 1, 2018)

Laws 2017, Chapter 299 includes several tax provisions regarding individual income, corporate income, and
insurance premium tax. The act’s individual income tax provisions are summarized below.

Increases to Personal Exemption

In TY 2017, Chapter 299 increases the personal exemption amount allowed by individual income taxpayers from
$2,100 to $2,150 for single filers, from $4,200 to $4,300 for head of household filers and married couples filing
jointly with no dependents, and from $6,300 to $6,450 for married couples filing jointly with at least 1 dependent.

In TY 2018, the act further increases personal exemption amounts to $2,200 for single filers, $4,400 for head of
household filers and married couples filing jointly with no dependents, and $6,600 for married couples filing jointly
with at least 1 dependent.

Beginning in TY 2019, the personal exemption amounts will be adjusted for inflation in the prior calendar year, as
measured by the Metropolitan Phoenix Consumer Price Index. The act's personal exemption provisions are
estimated to reduce individual income tax collections by $(6.8) million in FY 2018, followed by additional
reductions of $(6.7) million in FY 2019, and $(2.9) million in FY 2020. (Effective retroactively to January 1, 2017)
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TY 2018 Repeal of Credits

The act repeals the credits listed below, beginning in TY 2018. See the individual credits in the Tax Credits section
for information about each.

e Healthy Forest - Ecological Restoration Workforce Training

e Military Reuse Zone

e Renewable Energy Investment

e Solar Hot Water Heater Stub Outs and Electric Vehicle Recharge Outlets

e Solar Liquid Fuel

The credits above have either not been claimed or claimed in a negligible amount in recent years. As a result, their
repeal is not expected to have a significant revenue impact. (Effective from January 1, 2018)

Repeal of Unused Credits

Beginning in TY 2018, the act requires the Department of Revenue (DOR) to end servicing of tax credits that have
not been claimed during the 4 most recent consecutive fiscal years. Credits that are authorized by the Arizona
Commerce Authority (ACA) may not be repealed if the agency approved any credits during the prior 4 fiscal years,
regardless of whether the credits were claimed against tax liability. DOR will include language to repeal unused
credits in draft tax correction legislation proposed to the Legislature annually. If legislation to repeal the credit
from statute is not enacted in the following Legislative session, DOR will restore servicing of the tax credits.
Provisions for the repeal of unused credits are not expected to have a revenue impact. (Effective from January 1,
2018)

Laws 2017, Chapter 316 provides individual and corporate income taxpayers a subtraction of net capital gains
income earned on the exchange of U.S. coins or currency in TY 2018 and later years. (Effective from January 1,
2018)

Laws 2017, Chapter 319 authorizes the ACA to issue an additional $10.0 million in angel investment tax credits
from July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2021. Of the $10.0 million in additional credits, ACA may approve up to $2.5 million
for each year. Any unused portion of the $2.5 million annual cap may be authorized in the following years of the
program. Prior to Laws 2017, Chapter 319, the credit was limited to a total of $20.0 million over the life of the
program, from July 1, 2006 through June 30, 2021. ACA reported completing approval of the initial $20.0 million
cap by June 2015. The act is expected to reduce individual income tax collections by $(833,300) in FY 2018,
followed by further reductions of $(833,300) in FY 2019, and $(833,300) in FY 2020. (Effective from January 1,
2018)

Laws 2017, Chapter 340 includes several tax provisions for individual income, corporate income, sales, insurance
premium, and property taxes. The act’s individual income tax provisions are summarized below.

Extend and Expand the New Employment Tax Credit

Chapter 340 extends the date by which New Employment Tax Credits may be authorized and expands access to the
credit. The bill extends the last date that ACA is permitted to authorize new credits from June 30, 2017 to June 30,
2025. Given a maximum 5-year schedule for claiming the credit (see New Employment Tax Credit section for
information), businesses may claim credits through TY 2029. Prior to Laws 2017, Chapter 340, a business could not
claim the new credit unless it added at least 25 net new jobs in a year in an urban area (5 in a rural area), paid
employees at least 100% of the county median wage, and made a capital investment of at least $5.0 million ($1.0
million in a rural area). Beginning in TY 2018, Laws 2017, Chapter 340 permits businesses to qualify under
alternative levels of capital investment and wages as displayed in Table 9. A business can now invest less than $5.0
million if they pay wages that exceed 100% of the county median level. The required number of net new jobs
remains unchanged. The impact of this provision is included within the Corporate Income Tax section.

Extend Rate Increase for Research and Development Tax Credit

The act extends a rate increase for calculating Research and Development (R&D) credits through TY 2021. The
state's R&D credit is calculated based on the amount of qualified research expenses exceeding a certain base
amount (which is defined in the Internal Revenue Code). Prior to TY 2010, the credit was calculated as 20% of up to
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$2.5 million in qualified expenses and 11% of qualified expenses above $2.5 million. Laws 2008, Chapter 290
temporarily increased the credit in TY 2010 to TY 2017, to 24% of up to $2.5 million in qualified expenses and 15%
of qualified expenses above $2.5 million. Chapter 340 extends the rate increase under Laws 2009, Chapter 290
through TY 2021. As the provision continues an existing credit at the same rate as that reflected in the revenue
base, it is not expected to have a revenue impact.

Clarification for Claiming Qualified Facility Tax Credits

Chapter 340 clarifies that Qualified Facility credits that are pre-approved prior to the expiration of the program on
December 31, 2022 can be claimed in 5 annual installments notwithstanding any intervening repeal or termination
of the credit. This clarification of prior law has no impact on revenue collections.

2016 LAWS

Laws 2016, Chapter 35 requires the state to withhold distributions of Urban Revenue Sharing Fund (URS) monies
from cities or towns that the Attorney General finds are violating the Arizona Constitution or state laws. Cities and
towns receive annual distributions from the URS that total 15% of individual and corporate income tax collections
from 2 years prior. Under Chapter 35, the URS share of any offending locality will be redistributed to the
remaining recipients. The state would continue to withhold URS distributions until the Attorney General certifies
that the city or town is no longer in violation of the Arizona Constitution and state laws. The shared revenue
would not be withheld, though, if doing so would leave the city or town with insufficient funding to service their
long-term debt obligations. (Effective from August 6, 2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 109 increases the maximum amount that an individual income taxpayer can claim for cash
contributions to qualifying charitable organizations (QCO) and qualifying foster care charitable organizations
(QFCO). Chapter 109 increases the maximum QCO credit from $400 to $800 for married couples filing joint returns
and from $200 to $400 for all other filers. The maximum amount for the QFCO credit is increased from $800 to
$1,000 for married couples filing joint returns and from $400 to $500 for all other filers. Additionally, Chapter 109
allows a taxpayer to receive separate credits for cash contributions to a QCO and a QFCO. Prior to Chapter 109,
the maximum amount for both credits combined was $800 for married couples filing joint returns and $400 for all
other filers. This provision is estimated to reduce General Fund revenue by $(11.0) million annually, beginning in
FY 2017. (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 118 conforms the state’s individual income tax bonus depreciation deduction to 55% of the
federal allowance in TY 2016 and 100% in TY 2017 and subsequent years. Laws 2012, Chapter 343 provided an
individual income tax deduction equal to 10% of the bonus depreciation allowance claimed on federal returns for
qualified property purchased and placed in service in 2013 and later. Current federal law provides a bonus
depreciation allowance of 50% through TY 2017, 40% in TY 2018, and 30% in TY 2019. Therefore, under Chapter
118, the state individual income tax deduction is 27.5% (55% of 50% federal allowance) of the qualified investment
amount in TY 2016, 50% (100% of 50% federal allowance) in TY 2017, 40% (100% of 40% federal allowance) in TY
2018, and 30% (100% of 30% federal allowance) in TY 2019. The 2-year phase-in of full state conformity to federal
bonus depreciation is estimated to reduce individual income tax by $(8.0) million in FY 2017, followed by an
additional reduction of $(8.0) million in FY 2018. (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 155 was the annual conformity bill that updated the definition of the Internal Revenue Code
(IRC) to include all IRC provisions that were in effect as of January 1, 2016. The federal Consolidated
Appropriations Act of 2016 authorized a permanent business expensing limit of $500,000, retroactively to TY 2015.
A primary implication of Chapter 155 was conformity of the state’s tax statutes to the permanent business
expensing limit of $500,000. There is no added revenue loss from conforming to the permanent limit, as the
previous estimated impact of $(30.8) million a year assumed the continuation of the $500,000 limit in future years.
The Accelerated Depreciation Allowances section includes more details on the business expensing allowance.
(Effective retroactive from January 1, 2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 156 was a correction bill that made technical and clarification changes to the Arizona Revised
Statutes. (Effective from August 6, 2016)
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Laws 2016, Chapter 214 requires the state to implement tax-exempt Achieving a Better Life Experience (ABLE)
savings accounts that can be used to fund qualified expenses of disabled beneficiaries. Qualified expenses may
include costs of the disabled individual’s housing, transportation, employment training, and other needs. Under
Section 529 of the federal IRC, earnings generated from contributions to the accounts are allowed to grow tax-
free. The same tax advantage applies to state income tax since federal adjusted gross income is the starting point
for determining Arizona income tax liability. Chapter 214 also permits taxpayers a subtraction of account earnings
if the individual did not already exclude the income when calculating federal adjusted gross income. Individuals
have the option of opening an account outside of their state of residence. (Effective retroactively from January 1,
2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 216 allows fees and contributions that fund cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) training for
public high school students to qualify for the existing public-school extracurricular activity fee income tax credit.
The legislation also requires public schools to provide at least 1 training to each high school student from January
1, 2016 to July 1, 2019. The maximum credit remains $200 for taxpayers filing as single or head of household and
$400 for those filing as married couples. (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 258 is an emergency measure that amends current statutes with respect to the method by
which state-shared revenues are apportioned among counties and municipalities, as described below.

Under current law, state-shared revenue is distributed to an incorporated city or town based on its population
count as of the last federal decennial census [A.R.S. § 42-5029(1)]. During the fifth year following the decennial
census, a city/town may contract with the U.S. Census Bureau to conduct a special census of the population of that
municipality. Beginning July 1 in the sixth year following the decennial census, the special census must be used as
the basis for apportioning state-shared revenue to that municipality until the next federal decennial census [A.R.S.
§ 42-5033].

For purposes of apportioning state-shared revenue, Laws 2016, Chapter 258 provides a city/town the option to use
either the population count from the special census or the most recent population estimate from the U.S. Census
Bureau. However, Chapter 258 provides that the population count from the special census be used for only 1 year.
Beginning on July 1 in the second year following the special census, a city/town must use the most recent
population estimate from the U.S. Census Bureau. If a special census is not conducted, Chapter 258 requires a
city/town to use the most recent population estimate from the U.S. Census Bureau beginning on July 1 in the
second year following the decennial census through June 30 of the year following the next decennial census.
(Effective by emergency measure, from May 17, 2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 309 provides that cash contributions to charitable organizations made on or before April 15t
for purposes of claiming the charitable tax credit can be applied to either the current or preceding taxable year.
This provision is estimated to reduce General Fund revenue by $(1.7) million annually, beginning in FY 2017.
(Effective retroactively from January 1, 2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 372 expands the facility tax credit by reducing investment and employee compensation
requirements that taxpayers must meet. The credit is 10% of the lesser of: (1) the taxpayer’s total capital
investment in a qualified facility or (2) $200,000 for each net new employee at the qualified facility. Chapter 372
expands the definition of an investment to include development costs of build-to-suit facilities that are leased to
the taxpayer. The legislation additionally reduces the portion of employee health insurance that employers must
pay (from 80% to 65% of premiums) and lowers the minimum wage that rural businesses must pay a majority of
their employees (from 125% to 100% of the median state wage). The bill extends the final year the credit may be
approved from TY 2019 to TY 2022. (Effective from August 6, 2016)

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2016 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
https://www.azjlbc.gov/22taxbook/22taxbk.pdf.
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Attachment A

DOLLAR VALUE OF TY 2015 INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX
SUBTRACTIONS, EXEMPTIONS AND DEDUCTIONS

FEDERAL SUBTRACTIONS FROM INCOME:

Certain business expenses of reservists, performing artists, etc.
Health savings account deduction

Moving expenses

One-half of self-employment tax

Self-employed SEP and SIMPLE deduction
Self-employed health insurance deduction

Penalty on early withdrawal of savings

Alimony paid

Individual Retirement Account for Qualifying Individuals
Student Loan Interest Deduction

Tuition and fees deduction

Domestic Production Activities

Educator Expenses

Total Value of Federal Subtractions from Income ¥

EXEMPTIONS:

Personal Exemptions

Preferential Personal Exemption for Unmarried Head of Household

Preferential Personal Exemption for Married Filers with One or More Dependents
Age 65 or over Exemptions

Dependent Exemptions

Blind Exemptions

Qualifying Parent or Ancestor Exemption

Total Value of Exemptions ¥

SUBTRACTIONS FROM INCOME:

Interest on U.S. Obligations

Exclusion for Federal, State, and Local Pensions

Exempt State Lottery Winnings

Social Security or Railroad Retirement Benefits Included on Federal Form 1040
Bonus Depreciation Adjustment

Certain Wages of Native Americans

Adjustment for IRC Section 179 Not Allowed
Active-Duty Military Pay

Net Operating Loss Adjustment

Contributions to 529 College Savings Plan

Net Capital Gains from a Qualified Small Business

Net Long Term Capital Gains Acquired After 12/31/2011
Certain wages of Native Americans

Other Subtractions

Total Value of Subtractions ¥

DEDUCTIONS:

Standard Deduction

Preferential Standard Deduction for Unmarried Head of Household
Itemized Deductions:

Medical and Dental Expenses

Additional Medical Allowed on Arizona Return

Tax Year 2015
$420,000
3,580,000
430,000
16,180,000
17,540,000
18,970,000
140,000
11,160,000
6,010,000
7,220,000
1,630,000
6,750,000
460,000
$91,480,000

$252,620,000
17,320,000
30,450,000
36,370,000
104,410,000
100,000
1,890,000
$409,590,000

3,030,000
13,590,000
340,000
206,770,000
74,250,000
26,120,000
1,810,000
23,130,000
20,000
2,040,000
300,000
17,720,000
26,120,000
10,470,000
$386,820,000

$333,000,000
33,260,000

161,020,000
120,450,000
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Attachment A (continued)

Taxes Paid:

State and Local Income Taxes

Real Estate Taxes

Personal Property and Other Taxes
Total Value of Taxes Paid Deduction

Interest Expense:

Home Mortgage Interest and Points
Mortgage Interest not on Form 1098
Points not on Form 1098

Qualified Mortgage Insurance Premiums
Deductible Investment Interest

Total Value of Interest Expense

Charitable Contributions:

Cash Contributions

Contributions Other Than Cash
Carryover from Prior Year

Total Value of Charitable Contributions

Casualty or Theft Losses

Job Expenses and most Other Miscellaneous Deductions

Nonlimited Miscellaneous Deductions
Total Value of Itemized Deductions ¥

Total Value of Standard and Itemized Deductions ¥

Total Value of Subtractions, Exemptions and Deductions

1/ Totals may not add up due to rounding

151,950,000
73,590,000
14,570,000

$233,890,000

194,870,000
4,390,000
1,010,000
4,820,000

10,490,000
$213,720,000

105,530,000
35,960,000
5,180,000
$146,160,000

1,280,000
70,650,000
24,240,000

$618,960,000
$1,241,330,000

$2,129,220,000

SOURCE: Department of Revenue Report — The Revenue Impact of Arizona’s Tax Expenditures FY 2017
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FY 2022 INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX CREDITS

CREDITS:

Agricultural Pollution Control Equipment
Agricultural Water Conservation System
Commercial and Industrial Solar

Contributions to Qualifying Charitable Organizations
Contributions to Qualifying Foster Charitable Org.
Dependent Tax Credit

Donations to the Military Family Relief Fund
Employing National Guard

Excise Tax Credit ¥

Facility Credit

Family Tax

Healthy Forest Enterprise

Healthy Forecast Restoration Workforce Training
Investment in Qualified Small Businesses

Military Reuse Zone

New Employment ¥

Pollution Control Device

Property Tax

Public School Extra Curricular Activity Fee
Renewable Energy Production ¥

Research and Development - Nonrefundable ¢ ¢
Research and Development - Refundable Z
Research and Development — University Research &
School Site Donation

School Tuition Organizations (Original)

School Tuition Organizations (Switcher)

School Tuition Organization- S Corp (low-income) ¥
School Tuition Organization- S Corp (disabled/ displaced)
Solar Energy Device

Solar Hot Water Heater Plumbing Stub Out/ EV Recharge
Taxes Paid to Other State or Countries ¥ 2/

Total Value of Credits ¥/

1/  Amounts represent credits claimed in FY 2021.

2/ “N/R” indicates that information is not releasable due to Arizona confidentiality laws.

3/  Creditis subject to the 1998 Voter Protection Act (Proposition 105).

4/  Statute does not permit the Arizona Commerce Authority to authorize new credits after June 30, 2025.
Given a maximum 5-year schedule, the credit may not be claimed after TY 2029.

5/  Creditis capped at $20.0 million annually between corporate and individual income taxpayers.

6/  Creditis capped at $10.0 million annually between corporate and individual income taxpayers.

7/  Creditis capped at $5.0 million annually between corporate and individual income taxpayers.

8/  Creditis capped at $10.0 million annually between corporate and individual income taxpayers.

9/  Includes total of credits used under both the regular individual income tax and the alternative ("Small
Business") income tax.

10/ Credit prevents double-taxation of income.

11/ Totals include amounts that were not releasable by credit. As a result, credit amounts may not add to

total.

SOURCE: Department of Revenue report to the Legislature on the amount of individual income tax credits

claimed in FY 2022.

Effective Tax Years

1999 -
1994 -
2006 - 2018
1998 -
2016 -
20109 -
2009 - 2018
2006 -
2001-
2013 - 2022
1996 -
2005 - 2022
2012 - 2017
2007 - 2024
1993 - 2017
2011 - 2029
1995 -
1975 -
1998 -
2011 -2030
2001 -
2010 -
2012 -
2001 -
1998-
2012-
2015-
2015-
1995-
1998-2017
1935-

Annual Cost ¥
$25,000
1,442,422
109,702
82,210,693
26,800,272
145,396,915
934,745

0
24,177,462
0

756,370

0

0

1,792,438

0

1,603,231
N/R
8,004,691
33,574,889
0
24,357,337
1,013,158

0

154,383
73,750,232
46,876,492
38,017,448
360,431
15,971,495
N/R
269,478,805
$796,870,473
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CORPORATE INCOME TAX

DESCRIPTION

The corporate income tax is levied on corporations that engage in business within Arizona. The tax rate is 4.9% of
taxable income in TY 2022. A multi-state company must allocate a portion of its income to Arizona based on its
Arizona property, payroll, and sales. Beginning in TY 2017, a multi-state corporation can also elect to allocate its
income to Arizona based solely on its sales in the state.

The corporate income tax is an important revenue source for the state, representing 6.7% of total General Fund
revenue collections in FY 2022. A portion of corporate income tax collections (along with individual income tax
collections) is shared with incorporated cities and towns within the state.

COLLECTIONS
Table 1 below provides historical corporate income tax collections for the last 20 years. Corporate income tax

receipts are deposited into the General Fund, after sufficient amounts have been deposited into the tax refund
account to meet the requirements for tax refunds [A.R.S. § 42-1116].

Table 1
COLLECTIONS
Fiscal Year State General Fund Fiscal Year State General Fund
2022 $1,163,468,873 2012 $643,771,845
2021 $847,020,795 2011 $560,235,683
2020V $511,881,751 2010 $413,193,307
2019 $514,264,089 2009 $592,157,255
2018 $373,076,384 2008 $784,510,885
2017 $368,136,444 2007 $986,169,564
2016 $570,547,697 2006 $874,219,473
2015 $663,003,020 2005 $701,859,285
2014 $575,180,221 2004 $494,044,869
2013 $662,026,399 2003 $389,406,300

1/ By Executive Order, the tax year 2019 filing due date was moved from April 15, 2020 to July 15, 2020.
SOURCE: Department of Revenue annual reports - amounts are net of refunds and charge-offs. A portion of
corporate income tax collections is shared with incorporated cities and towns — see Table 2 in Individual Income
Tax section.

DISTRIBUTION

Based on an initiative measure approved by the voters in 1972, an Urban Revenue Sharing Fund was established.
The initiative provided that a percentage of income tax revenues (including both individual and corporate income
tax) be shared with incorporated cities and towns within the state. Currently, 15% of net income tax revenue from
2 years prior is distributed to cities and towns. Pursuant to Laws 2021, Chapter 412, beginning in FY 2024, the URS
distribution percentage is increased from 15% to 18%. This distribution is based on the most recent population
estimates of each city and town made annually by the U.S. Census Bureau [A.R.S. § 42-5033.01]. Cities and towns
have the option of using special census population counts for purposes of calculating distributions, but only during
the 6" year following a decennial census. In the 2" year following the special census, a city/town must use the
most recent estimate from the U.S. Census Bureau [A.R.S. § 42-5033]. Prior to Laws 2016, Chapter 258,
distributions were based on population estimates from the last U.S. decennial census or special census. Table 4
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(Distribution of Individual and Corporate Income Tax) in the Individual Income Tax section provides historical urban
revenue sharing distributions [A.R.S. § 43-206].

WHO PAYS

Any corporation, excluding exempt organizations, having Arizona taxable income is subject to the corporate
income tax [A.R.S. § 43-1111].

Exempt organizations include those that are exempt from federal income tax under section 501 of the Internal
Revenue Code (generally "non-profit" organizations), as well as a specific list of exempt organizations included in
state statute [A.R.S. § 43-1201].

The income of a corporation owned by an Indian tribe or tribal member is not subject to Arizona’s corporate
income tax if its income is derived from businesses located on the reservation. Income from a corporation not
owned by a tribe or tribal member, regardless of whether it is located on a reservation, is subject to the state
corporate income tax. Corporations owned by tribes or tribal members that derive their income from non-
reservation sources are subject to the income tax in the same manner as all other corporations with income in
Arizona.

There are no specific statutory references related to the imposition of Arizona state income tax on tribal members
or corporations. Thus, to facilitate the administration of state income tax on Indian reservations, the Department
of Revenue (DOR) has adopted income tax rulings based on the decisions in several court cases.

Small business corporations that make a "subchapter S" election for a taxable year under the Internal Revenue
Code are not subject to the corporate income tax. The income of these corporations is generally passed through
to each shareholder, who is then taxed under the state's individual income tax [A.R.S. § 43-1126]. Laws 2021,
Chapter 425 creates an optional entity-level income tax for partnerships and S corporations, beginning in TY 2022.
For more details on this entity-level tax, please see the Individual Income Tax section.

The United States, the state, counties, towns, school districts, or other political subdivisions of the state or federal
government are excluded from the definition of a taxpayer and are exempt from the corporate income tax [A.R.S.
§ 43-104].

EXEMPTIONS

Organizations that are exempt from federal income tax under Section 501 of the Internal Revenue Code are also
exempt from state income tax. In addition, the following organizations are exempt from state income tax [A.R.S. &
43-1201]:

(1) Any organization that is exempt from federal income tax.
(2) Insurance companies that pay taxes on premiums derived from sources within Arizona.
(3) Non-profit medical marijuana dispensaries.

REVENUE BASE AND RATE

The tax is levied, paid, and collected each taxable year based on Arizona taxable income [A.R.S. § 43-1111]. The
tax base for the corporate income tax starts with Arizona gross income, which is equivalent to the taxpayer's
federal taxable income and is then adjusted by a series of additions and subtractions as specified in Title 43, Article
3 of the Arizona Revised Statutes [A.R.S. § 43-1121 - A.R.S. § 43-1130.01]

The current tax rate for corporate income tax is 4.9% of a corporation's net Arizona taxable income or $50,
whichever is greater [A.R.S. § 43-1111]. Laws 2011, 2" Special Session, Chapter 1 reduced the corporate tax rate
from 6.968% to 4.9% over 4 years, beginning in TY 2014. Prior to Chapter 1, a 6.968% tax was in effect from
January 1, 2001 through December 31, 2013. Prior to 1990, Arizona used graduated brackets for the corporate
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income tax. (Table 2 below displays historical corporate income tax rates since 1990). The $50 minimum tax was
effective beginning January 1, 1988.

Table 2
Historical Corporate Income Tax Rates /2

Tax Year Rate
1990 9.300%
1994 9.000%
1998 8.000%
2000 7.968%
2001 6.968%
2014 6.500%
2015 6.000%
2016 5.500%
2017 4.900%

1/ For tax rates prior to 1990, see page 144 of the 1995 Tax
Handbook
2/ Years represent a flat rate for all income levels.

Any corporation that has income from business activity that is taxable both within the state and outside of the
state (hereafter referred to as “multistate corporation”) is required to allocate a portion of the income to Arizona
for purposes of computing its Arizona taxable income [A.R.S. § 43-1132]. The method of allocation depends on
whether the income is classified as “business income” or “nonbusiness income,” as described below.

Allocation of Business Income

Business income arises from transactions and activity in the course of the corporation’s regular trade or business
operations [A.R.S. § 43-1131]. Any multistate corporation (other than a commercial airline) can elect to allocate its
business income based on what is commonly referred to as either the “Standard Apportionment Formula” or the
“Enhanced Apportionment Formula.” Commercial airlines are required to use a separate allocation method for
business income commonly referred to as the “Air Carrier Apportionment Formula” [A.R.S. § 43-1139].

Both the Standard and Enhanced Apportionment Formulas allocate a corporation’s business income based on the
proportion of its property, payroll, and sales in Arizona relative to other states. These proportions are referred to
as respectively the “property factor,” “payroll factor,” and “sales factor.” The apportionment ratio used for the
allocation of business income to Arizona is determined by calculating the weighted average of the 3 factors. Under
the Standard Apportionment Formula, the sales factor is assigned a weight of 50% whereas the property factor
and payroll factor are each given a weight of 25%.

The Enhanced Apportionment Formula, which was established by Laws 2005, Chapter 289, increased the weight of
the sales factor to 60% in TY 2007, 70% in TY 2008, and 80% in TY 2009 and subsequent years. This formula was
further modified by Laws 2011, 2" Special Session, Chapter 1, which increased the weight of the sales factor to
85% in TY 2014, 90% in TY 2015, 95% in TY 2016, and 100% in TY 2017 and subsequent years. The phase-in of the
increased weight of the sales factor enacted in 2005 and 2011 was simultaneously offset by a commensurate
reduction of the weights for the property and payroll factors [A.R.S. § 43-1139 - A.R.S. § 43-1145].

Beginning in TY 2017, a multistate corporation may choose (for purposes of allocating its business income to
Arizona) either the 50% sales factor under the Standard Apportionment Formula or the 100% sales factor under
the Enhanced Apportionment Formula. The corporation is likely to choose the formula that reduces its Arizona tax
liability the most. For example, a business with 10% of its total sales and 20% of its total property and payroll in
Arizona would benefit from the 100% sales factor. In calculating the proportion of the corporation’s business
income allocated to Arizona, the 10% sales factor would receive a weight of 100% whereas the 20% property and
payroll factors would each receive a weight of 0%. After applying the weights under the Enhanced Apportionment
Formula, 10% of the total multistate business income would be allocated to Arizona. Under the Standard
Apportionment Formula, the corporation would have to allocate 15% of its total business income to Arizona.
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The proportion of sales allocated to Arizona (for purposes of calculating the sales factor) is determined differently
for sales of tangible personal property (“goods”) than for sales other than tangible personal property (“services”)
as described below:

e Sale of tangible personal property is allocated to Arizona if the property is delivered or shipped to a purchaser
within the state [A.R.S. § 43-1146].

e Sale of other than tangible personal property is allocated to Arizona if either of the following applies [A.R.S. §
43-1147]: (1) the income producing activity is performed solely in the state, or (2) the income producing
activity is performed both in and outside the state, but a greater proportion of the activity is performed in
Arizona than in any other state. Beginning in TY 2014, Laws 2012, Chapter 2 provides multistate service
providers the option to treat sales from services as being in this state based on a combination of income
producing activity sales and market sales. For the 2014 taxable year, Chapter 2 provided an option for
corporations that sold more than 85% of their services to consumers outside of Arizona to use the location of
the buyer in calculating the sales factor. Chapter 2 increased this figure to 90% in TY 2015, 95% in TY 2016,
and 100% in TY 2017 and subsequent years. Thus, beginning in TY 2017, the location of sales accounts for
100% of the sales factor for multistate service providers [A.R.S. § 43-1147]. Laws 2013, Chapter 236 expanded
eligibility of this provision by broadening the definition of a multistate service provider to include regionally
accredited institutions of higher education with at least one university campus in Arizona on which at least
2,000 students reside. Beginning in TY 2019, Laws 2019, Chapter 272 expands the definition of "multistate
service provider" to include a taxpayer that has more than 2,000 employees in the state and that derives more
than 85% of its sales from support services provided to a regionally accredited institution of higher education.

Allocation of Nonbusiness Income

Nonbusiness income refers to all income other than business income and typically includes rents and royalties
from real property or tangible personal property, capital gains, interest and dividends, and patent and copyright
royalties. Nonbusiness income is generally allocated to Arizona to the extent that the property is utilized or
located in the state, or if the taxpayer's commercial location is in the state [A.R.S. § 43-1134 - A.R.S. § 43-1138].

If the allocation and apportionment provisions do not fairly represent the extent of the taxpayer's business activity
in the state, the taxpayer may petition for, or DOR may require, an alternative method of allocation [A.R.S. § 43-
1148].

Net Operating Loss. A net operating loss (NOL) is incurred when a corporation’s allowable deductions exceed its
taxable income within the same taxable year. Under current law, a corporation is allowed to apply prior years’ net
operating losses against its current year’s Arizona income. Pursuant to Laws 2012, Chapter 343, the net operating
loss incurred in one taxable year can be carried forward to offset taxable income in each of the next 20 taxable
years, beginning in TY 2012. Prior to Chapter 343, a corporation’s net operating loss was only allowed to be
carried forward to the next 5 taxable years.

TAX REFUNDS AND/OR TAX CREDITS

Tax credits are either refundable or non-refundable. Unlike refundable credits, non-refundable credits can never
exceed a taxpayer’s tax liability. However, many of the non-refundable tax credits allow the unused amounts to be
carried forward to future years. Only the credits shown in Table 3 below are refundable under current statutes.

The value of tax credits used and carried forward through tax year 2020 is summarized by the DOR summary report
attached at the end of this section.

Laws 2002, Chapter 238 established the Arizona Joint Legislative Income Tax Credit Review Committee. The
Committee is required to determine the purpose of income tax credits, develop performance standards for
evaluating the credits, and evaluate the benefits to the state. The Committee reviews each tax credit every 5 years
according to a rotating schedule [A.R.S. § 43-221].
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Table 3
REFUNDABLE INCOME TAX CREDITS

Name of Credit Type of Credit

Motion Picture Production Credit ¥ Individual and Corporate
Research and Development (R&D) Credit 2/ Individual and Corporate
Qualified Facility Credit ¥ Individual and Corporate

Notes:

1/Arizona Commerce Authority is authorized to pre-approve total credits of $75 million in Calendar Year
(CY) 2023, $100 million in CY 2024, and $125 million, beginning in CY 2025.

2/ Credit is only available to businesses that employ less than 150 full-time employees. Refundable
portion of R&D credit is subject to an aggregate cap of $5 million annually.

3/ Credit is subject to an aggregate cap of $125 million annually.

Income tax credits available to corporate taxpayers are described below. Laws 2016, Chapter 125 requires DOR to
report by September 30 each year on the amounts of corporate income tax credits claimed in the preceding fiscal
year. Table 4 lists the cost of these credits on a fiscal year basis.

Title 43, Chapter 11, Article 6 of the Arizona Revised Statutes lists all the corporate income tax credits currently
available to Arizona taxpayers. A brief description of each tax credit currently in statutes is provided below.
Appendix C in the Tax Handbook lists all individual income, corporate income, and insurance premium tax credits
with statutory ending dates. Appendix B provides a complete list and detailed description of the various school tax
credits currently available to individual and corporate taxpayers, as well as insurance companies. In addition to tax
credit provisions, the state permits individual and corporate income tax filers to accelerate depreciation of certain
qualified asset purchases, for purposes of calculating state income tax liability. The Accelerated Depreciation sub-
section to the Individual Income Tax section of the Tax Handbook includes more details.

Affordable Housing. A taxpayer can claim a nonrefundable credit equal to at least 50% of the amount of the federal
Low-Income Housing Tax Credit for qualified projects placed in service in Arizona after June 30, 2022. The Arizona
Department of Housing is authorized to allocate a total of $4 million in tax credits per year from 2022 to 2025.
Each of these 4 award cycles is available for 10 years. Unused credits may be carried forward up to 5 years [A.R.S §
43-1163].

Arizona National Guard Employees. A tax credit of $1,000 per employee is allowed for businesses that employ
Arizona National Guard members who are called to active duty. This non-refundable tax credit, which is effective
from January 1, 2006, is allowed to be carried forward for no more than 5 years [A.R.S. § 43-1167.01].

Environmental Technology Facility Construction Costs. A non-refundable credit is allowed for expenses incurred in
constructing a qualifying facility involved in recycled materials or renewable energy as described in A.R.S. § 41-
1514.02. The credit is equal to 10% of the amount spent to construct the facility, including land acquisition,
improvements, building improvements, machinery, and equipment, but not to exceed 75% of the tax liability for
the taxable year. Certain recapture provisions apply to this credit. The credits can be carried forward for 15 years
[A.R.S. § 43-1169]. Laws 2022, Chapter 235 repealed this corporate credit beginning in TY 2022. Credit from
previous tax years may be carried forward.

Facility Credit. A business that expands or locates a qualified facility in the state may claim a credit for qualifying
investment and employment [A.R.S. § 41-1512 and § 43-1164.04]. The credit is 10% of the lesser of: (1) the total
capital investment in the qualified facility by the taxpayer or third-party lessor of the property or (2) $200,000 for
each net new employee at the qualified facility if the total qualifying investment is less than $2 billion, or (3)
$300,000 for each net new employee at the qualified facility if the total qualifying investment is $2 billion or more.

To be eligible for the credit, a business is required to devote at least 80% of its property and payroll at the facility
to manufacturing, research, or a national or regional headquarter. The credit is dependent upon the taxpayer
paying at least 51% of new full-time employees a wage exceeding 125% of the state median wage in urban areas
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Table 4
FY 2022 CORPORATE INCOME TAX CREDITS
Credit Effective Annual Cost 2/2/
Commercial and Industrial Solar Energy Devices 2006 — 2018 $6,312
Employing National Guard Members 2006 - N/R
Employing TANF Recipients 1998 - N/R
Environmental Technology Facility 1993 - 0
Facility Credit 2013 - 2030 24,641,213
New Employment ¥ 2011 - 2029 11,345,071
Pollution Control Device 1995 - 849,055
Renewable Energy Investment for Production and Self-Consumption % 2014 - 2025 N/R
Renewable Energy Production ¥ 2011 - 2030 4,651,261
Research & Development - Nonrefundable 2001 - 79,909,796
Research & Development - Refundable & 2010 - 3,981,203
Additional Research & Development - University Research Z/ 2012 - N/R
Private School Tuition Organizations - Low-Income Students & 2006 - 21,943,661
Private School Tuition Organizations - Disabled/Displaced Students ¥ 2009 - N/R
School Site Donation 2001 - 0
Taxes paid for Coal Consumed in Electric Power Generation 1998 - N/R
TOTAL VALUE OF CORPORATE INCOME TAX CREDITS 1/ $151,629,682
1/ Amounts represent credits claimed in FY 2022.
2/ “N/R” indicates that the information is not releasable due to Arizona confidentiality laws.
3/ Statute does not permit the Arizona Commerce Authority to authorize new credits after June 30, 2025. Given a maximum 5-
year schedule, the credit may not be claimed after TY 2029.
4/ Credit is capped at $10.0 million annually.
5/ Credit is capped at $20.0 million annually between corporate and individual income taxpayers.
6/ Credit is capped at $5.0 million annually between corporate and individual income taxpayers.
7/ Credit is capped at $10.0 million annually between corporate and individual income taxpayers.
8/ Pursuant to A.R.S. § 43-1183, the credit cap was $135.3 million in FY 2022.
9/ Credit is capped at $6.0 million annually.
10/ Totals include amounts that were not releasable by credit. As a result, credit amounts may not add to total.
SOURCE: Department of Revenue report to the Legislature on the amount of corporate income tax
credits claimed in FY 2022.

and 100% in rural areas and paying 65% or more of the premium for all full-time employees’ health insurance
[A.R.S. § 41-1512]. Prior to Laws 2016, Chapter 372, investments by a third-party lessor could not qualify for the
credit and taxpayers in urban and rural areas were required to pay at least 80% of employee health insurance
premiums and at least 125% of the state median wage.

The credit is refundable, but no single taxpayer can claim more than $30 million in credits per calendar year. The
credit must be taken in equal installments over 5 taxable years. The credit is available through TY 2030 but may be
claimed through TY 2034 under the 5-year installment schedule. Laws 2021, Chapter 80 increases the aggregate
annual credit cap from $70 million to $125 million. [A.R.S. § 43-1164.04].

Healthy Forest Production. Allows a taxpayer, beginning in TY 2021, to receive a tax credit for processing qualifying
forest products if the taxpayer has a Healthy Forest Enterprise Incentive certification, processes qualifying forest
products from a qualifying project between 2021 and 2030, and the facility processing the qualifying forest
products is located in Arizona. The amount of credit is based on the number of tons of qualifying forest products
that a taxpayer processes during a calendar year, $10,000 for the first 20,000 tons and $5,000 for every 10,000
after that. The maximum amount of credit for a calendar year that can be claimed is $500,000 per taxpayer and
$2,000,000 in total. The credit is non-refundable and can be carried forward for no more than 5 years [A.R.S. § 43-
1162].
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Motion Picture Production Tax Credit. Beginning in TY 2023, a refundable credit may be claimed equal to a
percentage of the total amount of approved and qualified motion picture production costs: 15% for the first $10
million, 17.5% on the next $25 million and 20% when the production company spends more than $35 million.
Additional credit may be claimed equal to 2.5% of production labor costs, production costs for using qualified
facilities, and qualified production costs if the motion picture production is done in association with a long-term
tenant of a qualified production facility. The credit program will be implemented and administered by the Arizona
Commerce Authority (ACA). The credit, which was enacted by Laws 2022, Chapter 387, authorizes ACA to pre-
approve up to $75 million in refundable credits in Calendar Year (CY) 2023, $100 million in CY 2024, and $125
million, beginning in CY 2025. The credit is set to be repealed on December 31, 2043. [A.R.S. § 43-1165]

New Employment Tax Credit.

A $3,000 annual tax credit may be claimed for each net new qualifying job added by an employer in the state
[A.RS. & 43-1161]. To qualify for the credit, new employment positions must be full-time, meet wage
requirements, and offer health insurance paid by the employer (at least 65% of the premium). Credits associated
with 1 net new job can be claimed for 3 years. A company may claim first year credits for separate new jobs for up
to 3 consecutive years. Since second- and third year credits may be claimed against each of the new positions, the
taxpayer may claim credits for up to a total of 5 consecutive years. ACA is authorized to issue first year credits for
up to 10,000 new employees ($30.0 million) in each

year. Table 5

New Employment Tax Credit

Prior to Laws 2017, Chapter 340, a business could not . .
Investment and Median Wage Requirements

claim the new credit unless it added at least 25 net new
jobs in a year in an urban area (5 in a rural area), paid

Urban Location
employees at least 100% of the county median wage,

and made a capital investment of at least $5.0 million .Minimum Wages as Perc?nt
(1.0 million in a rural area) [ARS. § 43-1161]. Capital Investment of County Median
Beginning in TY 2018, Laws 2017, Chapter 340 permits $5,000,000 100%
businesses to qualify under alternative levels of capital 52,500,000 125%
investment and wages as displayed in Table 5 and 51,000,000 150%
$500,000 200%

permits ACA to authorize credits through June 30, 2025.
A business can now invest less than $5.0 million if they

Rural Location
pay wages that exceed 100% of the county median -

level. The required number of net new jobs remains Minimum Wages as Percent

unchanged. Given the maximum 5-year schedule Capital Investment of County Median

outlined above, businesses may claim credits through TY $1,000,000 100%

2029. [AR.S. § 41-1525] $500,000 125%
$100,000 150%

In TY 2013 and later years, Laws 2012, Chapter 343

eliminates the requirement (provided by Laws 2011, 2

Special Session, Chapter 1) that no employer can claim more than 400 new jobs in the first year of credit use, 800
jobs in the second year, and 1,200 jobs in the third year. The cap applied to credits claimed against insurance
premium, individual income, and corporate income taxes. The credit cannot be claimed against employees that
are also claimed under the Military Reuse Zone Tax Credit (A.R.S. § 41-1525; Laws 2017, Chapter 299 repeals credit
after December 31, 2017). Laws 2014, Chapter 168 changes the requirement for the New Employment Tax Credit
program by providing that second-year and third-year credits can be claimed irrespective of whether the same
employee remains employed as long as the employer replaces the vacant position with another qualified
employee within 90 days.

Pollution Control Equipment. The credit is allowed for purchases of real or personal property used to control or
prevent pollution. The qualifying facilities must be built or purchased to comply with U.S. Environmental
Protection Agency or Arizona Department of Environmental quality regulations. The credit amount is equal to the
lesser of 10% of the purchase price or $500,000 in a taxable year. This non-refundable tax credit can be carried
forward for no more than 5 years [A.R.S. § 43-1170].
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Renewable Energy Investment and Production for Self-Consumption. This is a corporate income tax credit for
investment in new renewable energy facilities that produce energy for self-consumption using renewable energy
sources if the power is primarily used by an International Operations Center [A.R.S. § 41-1520 and A.R.S. § 43-
1164.05].

The taxpayer must qualify for this credit as an International Operations Center (IOC), which requires the taxpayer
to:

e Invest at least $100 million in one or more renewable energy facilities in Arizona by December 31, 2018.

e Invest at least $1.25 billion in new capital assets, including land, buildings, and 10C equipment, within 10 years
after being certified as an 10C by the Arizona Commerce Authority (ACA).

e Use at least 51% of the energy produced for self-consumption by the 5% year the IOC is in operation.

Approval by the Department of Revenue (DOR) is required to take the credit. The amount of the credit is $5
million per year for 5 years for each renewable facility. The credit per taxpayer cannot exceed $5 million per year,
and $25 million in total over 5 years. The total amount of credits that DOR can approve for all taxpayers in a
calendar year is $10 million. No new credits can be claimed for any taxable year beginning after December 31,
2025.

To meet the definition of a "renewable energy facility" for purposes of claiming the credit, the taxpayer must have
invested at least $30 million in each facility. Furthermore, the facility must have a minimum generating capacity of
20 megawatts, or a minimum annual generation of 40,000 megawatt hours, be located in Arizona, and produce
electricity using a renewable energy resource.

According to DOR's most recent "Arizona's Individual and Corporate Income Tax Report," one renewable energy
facility has been approved for this credit. Since no other taxpayer met the minimum investment requirement by
the statutory due date of December 31, 2018, no additional credits will be authorized under this program.

Laws 2019, Chapter 203 repealed the individual income tax credit for IOCs but retained the corporate income tax
credit. This credit cannot be claimed against the same facilities that are used to claim the Renewable Energy
Production Credit [A.R.S. § 43-1164.03]. For additional information on renewable energy incentives, see Appendix
A.

Renewable Energy Production. A credit is allowed on the production of electricity using renewable energy. To be
eligible for the credit, a taxpayer must hold title to a qualified energy generator that first produces electricity
between January 1, 2011 and December 31, 2020. The credit allows a qualified producer of renewable energy to
receive an individual or corporate income tax credit of up to $2.0 million per year on the electricity that they
produce for up to 10 years. Given that a taxpayer may begin earning credits as late as TY 2020, the latest year a
credit may be earned under a 10-year schedule is TY 2030. The renewable energy credit has an annual cap of
$20.0 million for total individual and corporate income tax credits. A 5-year carry forward of the credit is allowed
[A.R.S. § 43-1164.03]. This credit cannot be claimed against the same facilities that are also claimed under the
Renewable Energy Investment and Production for Self-Consumption Credit [A.R.S. § 43-1164.05]. For additional
information on renewable energy incentives, see Appendix A.

Research and Development (R&D). The credit is calculated based on the amount of qualified research expenses
exceeding a certain "base amount" (defined in the Internal Revenue Code). Prior to TY 2010, the credit was
calculated as 20% of up to $2.5 million in qualified expenses and 11% of qualified expenses above $2.5 million.
Laws 2008, Chapter 290 expanded the credit in TY 2010 to TY 2017, to 24% of up to $2.5 million in qualified
expenses and 15% of qualified expenses above $2.5 million. Laws 2017, Chapter 340 extended availability of the
enhanced credit rates from TY 2017 to TY 2021. This was further amended by Laws 2020, Chapter 7, which
extended the enhanced credit rates to TY 2030. Beginning in TY 2031, the credit percentages are lowered to 11%
and 20%. These changes under Chapter 7 only apply to the corporate R&D credit. In addition to these changes,
Chapter 7 provides that unused corporate R&D credits that are claimed in TY 2022 and subsequent taxable years
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can be carried forward for no more than 10 years. Corporate R&D credits claimed before TY 2022 can be carried
forward for 15 years [A.R.S. § 43-1168].

Laws 2010, Chapter 312 changes the credit from being nonrefundable to refundable for those companies that
employ less than 150 full-time employees. Specifically, the act provides that such taxpayers receive a refund equal
to 75% of the amount by which the credit exceeds their liability. The refundable aspect of the credit has an annual
cap of $5.0 million cumulatively for the individual and corporate income tax and is effective retroactively from
January 1, 2010. If in any year less than $5.0 million of credits are filed collectively by all taxpayers, any unused
amount rolls over to the next year. Laws 2011, 2" Special Session, Chapter 1 expands the tax credit, beginning in
FY 2013, by increasing the credit calculation by 10% for university-related research. The credit is subject to an
aggregate cap of $10.0 million per year between individual and corporate income taxpayers.

School Site Donation. A credit is allowed in the amount of 30% of the value of real property and improvements
donated by a taxpayer to a school district or a charter school. This credit became available January 1, 2001. This
non-refundable tax credit is allowed to be carried forward for no more than 5 consecutive years [A.R.S. § 43-1181].
Laws 2020, Chapter 43 repealed the corporate (but not the individual) credit retroactively from TY 2020. Laws
2021, Chapter 383 reinstates the corporate credit retroactively from TY 2020.

School Tuition Organization. A corporation (and an insurer) may claim a tax credit, up to the full amount of the
donation, for contributions made to a school tuition organization (STO) that provides education scholarships and
tuition grants either to students of low-income families pursuant to A.R.S. § 43-1183 (and A.R.S. § 20-224.06) or to
disabled students or students in foster care (“displaced students”) pursuant to A.R.S. § 43-1184 (and A.R.S. § 20-
224.07). Laws 2015, Chapter 301 expands the “low-income” and “disabled/displaced” STO credits to include
businesses organized as S corporations pursuant to Section 1361 of the Internal Revenue Code, beginning in TY
2015. Since tax credits earned by an S corporation are pro-rated and passed through to the owners, such credits
are claimed against the individual income tax rather than the corporate income tax (see the Individual Income Tax
section for more details on Laws 2015, Chapter 301).

Beginning in TY 2021, Laws 2021, Chapter 412 expands credit-eligible corporate donations to STOs to include
students who are homeschooled before enrolling in a qualified school, students who moved to Arizona from out of
state before enrolling in a qualified school, and to students who participated in an Arizona Empowerment
Scholarship Account (ESA) and did not renew the account or accept the scholarship in order to accept a scholarship
or tuition grant.

The total amount of the low-income tax credit approved by DOR pursuant to A.R.S. § 43-1183 for both corporate
income tax credits and insurance premium tax credits is capped at $10.0 million per year, with the cap increasing
by 20% per year beginning in FY 2008. The credit cap was $74.3 million in FY 2018, and increased to $89.2 million
in FY 2019, and $107.0 million in FY 2020. Laws 2019, Chapter 281 limits the annual increase of the credit cap to
15% in FY 2021, 10% in FY 2022, and 5% in FY 2023. Beginning in FY 2024, the increase of the credit cap is limited
to the greater of 2% or the annual change of the Metropolitan Phoenix consumer price index. In dollar terms,
Chapter 281 limits the growth of the credit cap to $123.1 million in FY 2021, $135.4 million in FY 2022, and $142.1
million in FY 2023. Due to the aggregate credit cap, all corporations and insurers must be pre-approved for the
credit. There is no cap on the amount of contributions made by individual corporations and insurers.

The full amount of the disabled/displaced student tax credit approved by DOR pursuant to A.R.S. § 43-1184 is
capped at $6.0 million per year. Laws 2021, Chapter 412 increased the credit cap from $5.0 million to $6.0 million,
beginning in FY 2022. A taxpayer may carry forward the unused portion of either tax credit for 5 years. A taxpayer
shall not claim a tax credit under both A.R.S. § 43-1183 and A.R.S. § 43-1184 for the same contribution [A.R.S. § 43-
1183 and A.R.S. § 43-1184]. See Appendix B in the Tax Handbook for a comparison of private school tax credits.

Solar Energy Devices for Commercial and Industrial Purposes. A taxpayer can claim a credit equal to 10% of the

installed cost of a solar energy device used in their trade or business. The credit cannot exceed $25,000 for the

same building in the same year or $50,000 in total in any year. This income tax credit may be claimed by a

taxpayer purchasing a solar energy device, or a taxpayer that finances the purchase of a qualifying device. The

credit may be transferred to a third party that manufactures or installs a qualifying device. The credit is available
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from TY 2006 through TY 2018. This non-refundable tax credit can be carried forward for no more than 5
consecutive years [A.R.S. § 43-1164]. For additional information on renewable energy incentives, see Appendix A.

Taxes Paid for Coal Consumed in Generating Electric Power. The credit is for 30% of the amount paid by the seller
or purchaser as transaction privilege tax or use tax on coal sold to the taxpayer to be consumed in generating
electrical power within the state. The credit can be carried forward for 5 years [A.R.S. § 43-1178].

Temporary Assistance for Needy Families Employment. A credit that is allowed for net increases in qualified
employment of recipients of temporary assistance for needy families (TANF) residing in Arizona. The credit is in
lieu of any wage expense deduction taken for tax purposes. The credit is 25% of the taxable wages paid in the first
year of employment for each newly created position, 33% in the second year of continuous employment, and 50%
in the third year, not to exceed $500, $1,000, and $1,500 respectively [A.R.S. § 43-1175].

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

Period Covered by the Taxable Year

Every taxpayer (individual, business entity, etc.) must figure its taxable income based on an annual accounting
period called a tax year. For individual income taxpayers the calendar year is also their tax year. Other taxpayers,
such as corporations or partnerships may use a fiscal year as their tax year.

A calendar year is 12 consecutive months beginning on January 1 and ending on December 31. Taxpayers that
adopt the calendar year as their tax year must maintain their books and records and report their income and
expenses from January 1 through December 31 of each year.

A fiscal year is 12 consecutive months ending on the last day of any month except December 31. Taxpayers that
adopt a fiscal year must consistently maintain their books and records and report their income and expenses using
the period (fiscal year) adopted.

The federal and state filing due date for C corporations and partnerships is the 15% day of the 4™ month following
the close of the tax year. For S corporations the state and federal due date is the 15 day of the 3™ month
following the close of the tax year [A.R.S. § 43-501]. For example, a corporation whose tax year is the same as the
calendar year has a federal and state filing due date of April 15. Prior to passage of the federal Surface
Transportation and Veterans Health Care Choice Improvement Act of 2015, C and S corporations had a federal
filing due date of the 15t day of the 3™ month following a tax year.

On March 20, 2020, the Governor issued an executive order that instructed the Department of Revenue to move
the deadline for filing and paying state income taxes from April 15, 2020 to July 15, 2020. The July 15 filing due
applied to 2019 state individual and corporate income tax returns. The executive order did not apply to quarterly
estimated payments made by individual and corporate filers.

A filing extension may be granted if 90% of the corporation’s tax liability is paid by the original due date and the
extension request is received by the original due date. No extension may be granted beyond 6 months from the
original due date [A.R.S. § 42-1107].

The Table 6 below provides 3 examples of when a corporation’s 2022 tax return is due. The due date depends on

the corporation’s elected tax year (calendar year or fiscal year) as well as whether the corporation files for a 6-
month extension or not.
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Table 6
FILING DUE DATE FOR CORPORATE INCOME TAX RETURN

Accounting Corporation’s Filing Extension Income Tax

Period Taxable Year Due Date Due Date Return Year
1/1/2022 - CY 2022 4/15/2023 10/15/2023 2022
12/31/2022
7/1/2022 - FY 2023 10/15/2023 4/15/2024 2022
6/30/2023
12/1/2022 - FY 2023 3/15/2024 9/15/2024 2022
11/30/2023

As indicated in the table above, a corporation’s 2022 state tax return could be filed as early as April 15, 2023 and
as late as September 15, 2024 depending on: (1) the corporation’s elected tax year (calendar year or fiscal year)
and (2) whether the corporation requests a 6-month extension or not. According to DOR, large corporations
typically file for the 6-month extension.

Estimated Tax Payments

Corporations that expect an Arizona income tax liability for the taxable year of $1,000 or more must make Arizona
estimated tax payments during the year [A.R.S. § 43-582]. Corporations whose Arizona income tax liability for the
preceding taxable year was $500 or more must make their estimated payments via electronic fund transfer
(“EFT”). Any corporation that fails to make the required estimated tax payments is subject to a penalty on any
payment that is late or underpaid [A.R.S. § 43-582]. The required annual payment of the estimated tax is the
smaller of:

e 90% of the corporation’s Arizona tax liability for the current taxable year, or
e 100% of the corporation’s Arizona tax liability for the prior taxable year.

Large corporations (defined as having a federal tax liability of $1.0 million or more for any 1 of the preceding 3
taxable years) are required to make total estimated payments of 90% of the current year’s tax liability.

Calendar year and fiscal year basis taxpayers are required to make their Arizona corporate estimated tax payments
by the 15% day of the 4%, 6%, 9t and 12™ months of the taxable year. If the installment due date falls on a
weekend or legal holiday, the payment is considered timely if made on the next business day.

Electronic Fund Transfer and Tax Filing Requirements

Businesses with corporate income tax liability of at least $5,000 in the preceding taxable year are required to remit
estimated tax payments to DOR by electronic fund transfer (EFT). Laws 2017, Chapter 60 lowered the tax liability
threshold for EFT payments from $20,000 to $10,000 for TY 2019, $5,000 for TY 2020, and $500 for TY 2021 and
later years [A.R.S. § 42-1129].

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2016.

2022 LAWS

Laws 2022, Chapter 41 conforms the Arizona tax code to the federal Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1,
2022 to reflect changes adopted by the U.S. Congress during 2021.
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Laws 2022, Chapter 235 was a tax correction bill that made technical and clarifying to the Arizona Revised
Statutes. This chapter repeals the corporate credit for Environmental Technology Facility Construction Costs.
Chapter 235 also repeals the individual Credit for Employment by a Healthy Forest Enterprise and the individual
Credit for Pollution Control Equipment.

Laws 2022, Chapter 387 creates a motion picture production income tax credit, beginning in TY 2023. The credit
program will be implemented and administered by the Arizona Commerce Authority (ACA). Chapter 387 authorizes
ACA to pre-approve up to $75 million in refundable credits in Calendar Year (CY) 2023, $100 million in CY 2023, and
$125 million, beginning in CY 2025. Chapter 387 was not scored as part of the 3-year budget plan. We estimated
that during the first 3 years of the credit program, Chapter 387 would reduce General Fund revenues by less than
half of the credit cap. We did not attempt to quantify the indirect impacts of any additional economic activity
associated with the bill.

2021 LAWS

Laws 2021, Chapter 80 makes several changes to the Credit for Qualified Facilities [A.R.S. § 41-1512, A.R.S. § 43-

1083.03, and A.R.S. § 43-1164.04]. Under current law, a business that expands or locates a qualified facility in the

state may receive a credit for qualifying investment and employment. The credit is the lesser of 10% of the total

qualifying investment in the facility or $20,000 for each net new job at the qualified facility. Chapter 80 makes the

following changes to the Qualified Facility Credit:

(1) Increases the credit from $20,000 to $30,000 per net new job if the total qualifying investment is $2 billion or
more. If the qualifying investment is less than $2 billion, the credit remains at $20,000 per net new job.

(2) Increases the aggregate cap of the credit that can be preapproved by the Arizona Commerce Authority (ACA) in
a calendar year from $70 million to $125 million.

(3) Expands the statutory definition of "qualified manufacturing” to include products sold to other qualifying
facilities regardless of whether such facilities have been pre-approved by ACA.

The changes under Chapter 80 are effective from September 29, 2021.

Laws 2021, Chapter 174 reduces the automatic repeal of unused tax credits from 4 years to 3 years. Tax credits
with remaining carryforward amounts may still be claimed under the carryforward period provided for the
repealed credit.

Laws 2021, Chapter 196 was a tax correction bill that made technical and clarifying to the Arizona Revised
Statutes. Chapter 196 repeals the individual (but not the corporate) tax credit for Employment of Temporary
Assistance of Needy Families (TANF) Recipients.

Laws 2021, Chapter 232 conforms Arizona tax statutes to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) in effect as of March 11,
2021. Chapter 232 adopts all the federal changes enacted under the Families First Coronavirus Response Act
(FFCRA), Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act, Paycheck Protection Program (PPP) Flexibility
Act, Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2021 (CAA), and American Rescue Plan (ARP) Act. Chapter 232 is estimated
to result in a one-time General Fund revenue reduction of $(624.8) million over the next several years.

Laws 2021, Chapter 383 reinstates the School Site Donation credit that was repealed by Laws 2020, Chapter 43.

Laws 2021, Chapter 412 is the 2021 Tax Omnibus, which included changes individual and corporate income tax, as
well as insurance premium tax, property tax, Transaction Privilege Tax and Unemployment Insurance Tax (for a
detailed description, see the Individual Income Tax section of the Tax Handbook). The corporate income tax

provisions in the Tax Omnibus are described below.

e Increases the credit cap for contributions by corporations and insurers to School Tuition Organizations
(STO) for displaced/disabled students from $5 million to $6 million, beginning in FY 2022.
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e (Creates a new nonrefundable individual and corporate income tax credit for the processing of qualified
forest products, beginning in TY 2021. The credit has an annual cap of $0.5 million per taxpayer and $2
million in the aggregate

e Expands the eligibility for students receiving "switcher" individual or low-income corporate STO
scholarships to include those who were homeschooled, moved from out of state, or held an
Empowerment Scholarship Account (ESA), beginning in TY 2021.

o Allows public service corporations to deduct for income tax purposes any amount of monies or other
property contributed to them to expand, improve, or replace their water system or sewage disposal
facilities, beginning in TY 2021.

e Increases the distribution from the Urban Revenue Sharing (URS) Fund to incorporated cities and towns
from 15% to 18% of the amount of individual and corporate income taxes collected 2 fiscal years prior,
beginning in FY 2024.

Laws 2021, Chapter 425 creates an optional entity-level income tax for partnerships and S corporations, beginning
in TY 2022. If the partners or shareholders of such pass-through-entities (PTE) elect to be taxed at the entity level,
the PTEs are taxed at 4.5% of their Arizona taxable income. Such an election allows PTEs to claim a full deduction
on their federal partnership return for state taxes paid at the entity level. Currently, the amount of itemized
deductions that can be claimed for state and local taxes paid by each partner or shareholder of a PTE on their
federal individual income tax return is limited to $10,000. Chapter 425 has no impact on General Fund revenues.
At the state level, partners, and shareholders of PTEs will pay the same amount of state individual income tax
under Chapter 425 as under current law. At the federal level, however, there will be a reduction of individual
income tax revenues since Chapter 425 will effectively allow partners and shareholders of PTEs to claim their full
deduction for state taxes.

Laws 2021, Chapter 430 creates a new individual and corporate nonrefundable affordable housing tax credit that
is equal to at least 50% of the amount of the federal low-income housing credit for qualified projects placed in
service after June 30, 2022. The Arizona Department of Housing is authorized to allocate a total of $4 million in tax
credits per year from TY 2022 to TY 2025. Each of these 4 award cycles is available for 10 years. The credit is
estimated to have a revenue impact of $(4.0) million in FY 2024.

2020 LAWS

Laws 2020, Chapter 7 extended the availability of credits for Qualified Facilities (A.R.S. § 43-1083.03), Renewable
Energy Investment and Production for Self-Consumption by International Operations Centers (A.R.S. § 43-1164.05)
and Research and Development (A.R.S. § 43-1168). These credits are set to expire in 2030.

Laws 2020, Chapters 24 and 40 conform the Arizona tax code to the federal Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of
January 1, 2020 to reflect changes adopted by the U.S. Congress during 2019.

Laws 2020, Chapter 43 was a correction bill that made technical and clarification changes to the Arizona Revised
Statutes. This chapter also repeals the corporate tax credits for employment by a healthy forest enterprise,
agricultural pollution control equipment, and the donation of a school site.

2019 LAWS

Laws 2019, Chapter 203 was a correction bill that made technical and clarification changes to the Arizona Revised
Statutes. (Effective from August 27, 2019)

Laws 2019, Chapter 272 expands the definition of "multistate service provider" to include a taxpayer that has
more than 2,000 employees in the state and that derives more than 85% of its sales from support services
provided to a regionally accredited institution of higher education (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2019)
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Laws 2019, Chapter 273 conforms Arizona to the federal definition of taxable income as of January 1, 2018 for tax
year 2018, and January 1, 2019 for tax year 2019. In addition, Chapter 273 includes numerous changes related to
individual income tax and transaction privilege tax. For more details on these changes, please see the Individual
Income Tax and Transaction Privilege Tax sections of the Tax Handbook.

Laws 2019, Chapter 281 limits the annual increase of the aggregate credit cap for contributions made by
corporations and insurers to qualifying school tuition organizations (STO) that provide education scholarships and
tuition grants to students of low-income families from 20% to 15% in FY 2021, 10% in FY 2022, and 5% in FY 2023.
Beginning in FY 2024, the increase of the credit cap is limited to the greater of 2% or the annual change of the
Metropolitan Phoenix consumer price index. In dollar terms, Chapter 281 limits the growth of the credit cap to
$123.1 million in FY 2021, $135.4 million in FY 2022, and $142.1 million in FY 2023.

2018 LAWS

Laws 2018, Chapter 104 was a correction bill that made technical and clarification changes to the Arizona Revised
Statutes. (Effective from August 3, 2018)

Laws 2018, Chapter 106 expands the definition of a multistate-service-provider to include taxpayers that derive
more than 85% of its sales from services or other intangibles provided to out-of-state purchasers. The prior
definition had been limited to just sales of services. See Laws 2012, Chapter 2 (below) for more information.

Laws 2018, Chapter 142 was the annual conformity bill that updated the definition of the Internal Revenue Code
(IRC) to include all IRC provisions that were in effect as of January 1, 2017. This included provisions of the federal
Tax Cuts and Jobs Act (TCJA) that were made retroactively effective for tax year 2017. The TCJA increased the
allowable rate of the bonus depreciation allowance from 50% to 100% of qualified business investment made after
September 27, 2017. However, Arizona does not conform to federal bonus depreciation amounts for the
corporate income tax. Most TCJA provisions were effective January 1, 2018. Chapter 142 does not address those
provisions.

2017 LAWS

Laws 2017, Chapter 2 was the annual conformity bill that updated the definition of the Internal Revenue Code
(IRC) to include all IRC provisions that were in effect as of January 1, 2017.

Laws 2017, Chapter 60 includes several provisions for electronic filing and payment of taxes to the Department of
Revenue (DOR). The act's corporate income tax provisions are listed below.

e Requires C corporations to electronically file their state returns, beginning in TY 2020 or in the tax year when
DOR begins accepting electronic returns from C corporations, whichever is later. (Effective from January 1,
2020 or later)

e Requires C corporations to make all tax payments to DOR electronically, if the taxpayer's annual liability is
greater than $10,000 in TY 2019, $5,000 in TY 2020, and $500 in TY 2021 and later years. Prior to Chapter 60,
taxpayers with annual liability greater than $20,000 were required to make payments electronically.

e  Prohibits DOR from distributing paper tax return forms, except upon request from the taxpayer. (Effective
from August 9, 2017)

Laws 2017, Chapter 127 designates a business' conversion from one type of legal structure to another as a
nontaxable event for purposes of calculating state income taxes, if the conversion does not include changes to a
business' ownership interests or assets. Prior to the bill, owners of a C or S corporation that converted to a
partnership or limited liability company could realize capital gains income that was subject to the state's individual
income tax. (Effective from August 9, 2017)
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Laws 2017, Chapter 178 was a tax correction bill that made technical and clarifying changes to the Arizona Revised
Statutes. (Most provisions are effective from August 9, 2017 while others are effective from December 31, 2017).

Laws 2017, Chapter 278 permits a business to subtract for income tax purposes the entire amount of business
access expenditures incurred in a tax year to retrofit property in order to comply with the federal Americans with
Disabilities Act of 1990. The bill has the effect of accelerating depreciation of such property to 1 year rather than
depreciating it over several years. The income tax subtraction applies to property that was originally placed in
service 10 years prior to retrofitting. The act is estimated to reduce corporate income tax collections by $(1.3)
million annually, beginning in FY 2019. (Effective from January 1, 2018)

Laws 2017, Chapter 299 includes several tax (individual income, corporate income, and insurance premium)
provisions. The act’s corporate income tax provisions are summarized below.

TY 2018 Repeal of Credits
The act repeals the credits listed below, beginning in TY 2018. See the individual credits in the Tax Credits section
for information about each.

e Healthy Forest - Ecological Restoration Workforce Training

e Military Reuse Zone

e Renewable Energy Investment

e Solar Hot Water Heater Stub Outs and Electric Vehicle Recharge Outlets
e Solar Liquid Fuel

The credits above have either not been claimed or claimed in a negligible amount in recent years. As a result, their
repeal is not expected to have a significant revenue impact. (Effective from January 1, 2018)

Repeal of Unused Credits

Beginning in TY 2018, the act requires the Department of Revenue (DOR) to end servicing of tax credits that have
not been claimed during the 4 most recent consecutive fiscal years. Credits that are authorized by the Arizona
Commerce Authority (ACA) may not be repealed if the agency approved any credits during the prior 4 fiscal years,
regardless of whether the credits were claimed against tax liability. DOR will include language to repeal unused
credits in draft tax correction legislation proposed to the Legislature annually. If legislation to repeal the credit
from statute is not enacted in the following Legislative session, DOR will restore servicing of the tax credits.
Provisions for the repeal of unused credits are not expected to have a revenue impact. (Effective from January 1,
2018)

Laws 2017, Chapter 316 provides individual and corporate income taxpayers a subtraction of net capital gains
income earned on the exchange of U.S. coins or currency in TY 2018 and later years. (Effective from January 1,
2018)

Laws 2017, Chapter 340 includes several tax (individual income, corporate income, sales, insurance premium, and
property) provisions. The act’s corporate income tax provisions are summarized below.

Extend and Expand the New Employment Tax Credit

Chapter 340 extends the date by which New Employment Tax Credits may be authorized and expands access to the
credit. The bill extends the last date that ACA is permitted to authorize new credits from June 30, 2017 to June 30,
2025. Given a maximum 5-year schedule for claiming the credit (see New Employment Tax Credit section for
information), businesses may claim credits through TY 2029. Prior to Laws 2017, Chapter 340, a business could not
claim the new credit unless it added at least 25 net new jobs in a year in an urban area (5 in a rural area), paid
employees at least 100% of the county median wage, and made a capital investment of at least $5.0 million ($1.0
million in a rural area). Beginning in TY 2018, Laws 2017, Chapter 340 permits businesses to qualify under
alternative levels of capital investment and wages as displayed in Table 5. A business can now invest less than $5.0
million if they pay wages that exceed 100% of the county median level. The required number of net new jobs
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remains unchanged. The provision is estimated to reduce corporate income tax collections by $(800,000) in FY
2019, followed by a further reduction of $(900,000) in FY 2020.

Extend Rate Increase for Research and Development Tax Credit

The act extends a rate increase for calculating Research and Development (R&D) credits through TY 2021. The
state's R&D credit is calculated based on the amount of qualified research expenses exceeding a certain base
amount (which is defined in the Internal Revenue Code). Prior to TY 2010, the credit was calculated as 20% of up to
$2.5 million in qualified expenses and 11% of qualified expenses above $2.5 million. Laws 2008, Chapter 290
temporarily increased the credit in TY 2010 to TY 2017, to 24% of up to $2.5 million in qualified expenses and 15%
of qualified expenses above $2.5 million. Chapter 340 extends the rate increase under Laws 2009, Chapter 290
through TY 2021. As the provision continues an existing credit at the same rate as that reflected in the revenue
base, it is not expected to have a revenue impact.

Clarification for Claiming Qualified Facility Tax Credits

Chapter 340 clarifies that Qualified Facility credits that are pre-approved prior to the expiration of the program on
December 31, 2022 can be claimed in 5 annual installments notwithstanding any intervening repeal or termination
of the credit. This clarification of prior law has no impact on revenue collections.

2016 LAWS

Laws 2016, Chapter 35 requires the state to withhold distributions of Urban Revenue Sharing Fund (URS) monies
from cities or towns that the Attorney General finds are violating the Arizona Constitution or state laws. Cities and
towns receive annual distributions from the URS that total 15% of individual and corporate income tax collections
from 2 years prior. Under Chapter 35, the URS share of any offending locality will be redistributed to the
remaining cities and towns. The state would continue to withhold URS distributions until the Attorney General
certifies that the city or town is no longer in violation of the Arizona Constitution and state laws. The shared
revenue would not be withheld, though, if doing so would leave the city or town with insufficient funding to
service their long-term debt obligations. (Effective from August 6, 2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 155 was the annual conformity bill that updated the definition of the Internal Revenue Code
(IRC) to include all IRC provisions that were in effect as of January 1, 2016. The federal Consolidated
Appropriations Act of 2016 authorized a permanent business expensing limit of $500,000, retroactively to TY 2015.
A primary implication of Chapter 155 was conformity of the state’s tax statutes to the permanent business
expensing limit of $500,000. There is no added revenue loss from conforming to the permanent limit, as the
previous estimated impact of $(30.8) million a year assumed the continuation of the $500,000 limit in future years.
The Accelerated Depreciation Allowances subsection of the Individual Income Tax section includes more details on
the business expensing allowance. (Effective retroactive from January 1, 2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 156 was a correction bill that made technical and clarification changes to the Arizona Revised
Statutes. (Effective from August 6, 2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 258 is an emergency measure that amends current statutes with respect to the method by
which state-shared revenues are apportioned among counties and municipalities, as described below.

Under current law, state-shared revenue is distributed to an incorporated city or town based on its population
count as of the last federal decennial census [A.R.S. § 42-5029(I)]. During the fifth year following the decennial
census, a city/town may contract with the U.S. Census Bureau to conduct a special census of the population of that
municipality. Beginning July 1 in the sixth year following the decennial census, the special census must be used as
the basis for apportioning state-shared revenue to that municipality until the next federal decennial census [A.R.S.
§ 42-5033].

For purposes of apportioning state-shared revenue, Laws 2016, Chapter 258 provides a city/town the option to use

either the population count from the special census or the most recent population estimate from the U.S. Census

Bureau. However, Chapter 258 provides that the population count from the special census be used for only 1 year.

Beginning on July 1 in the second year following the special census, a city/town must use the most recent

population estimate from the U.S. Census Bureau. If a special census is not conducted, Chapter 258 requires a
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city/town to use the most recent population estimate from the U.S. Census Bureau beginning on July 1 in the
second year following the decennial census through June 30 of the year following the next decennial census.
(Effective by emergency measure, from May 17, 2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 372 expands the facility tax credit by reducing investment and employee compensation
requirements that taxpayers must meet. The credit is 10% of the lesser of: (1) the taxpayer’s total capital
investment in a qualified facility or (2) $200,000 for each net new employee at the qualified facility. Chapter 372
expands the definition of an investment to include development costs of build-to-suit facilities that are leased to
the taxpayer. The legislation additionally reduces the portion of employee health insurance that employers must
pay (from 80% to 65% of premiums) and lowers the minimum wage that rural businesses must pay a majority of
their employees (from 125% to 100% of the median state wage). The bill extends the final year the credit may be
approved from TY 2019 to TY 2022. (Effective from August 6, 2016)

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2016 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
https://www.azjlbc.gov/22taxbook/22taxbk.pdf.
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Appendix A

RENEWABLE ENERGY TAX INCENTIVES

DESCRIPTION

The state has numerous Individual and Corporate Income tax credits for renewable energy investment, production,
and installation. The state also allows for property tax incentives and sales or use tax exemptions for the purchase
of certain renewable energy equipment or facilities.

INDIVIDUAL AND CORPORATE TAX CREDITS

A tax credit is a dollar-for-dollar reduction of a taxpayer’s income tax liability. A credit is different from a
subtraction, exemption, or deduction, which reduces the amount of income that will be taxed.

A tax credit is either refundable or non-refundable. Unlike refundable credits, non-refundable credits can never
exceed a taxpayer’s tax liability. However, many of the non-refundable tax credits allow the unused amounts to be
carried forward to future years.

Current statutes include the following tax credits which are sorted by whether they relate to the investment in, or
production of, renewable energy, or whether they pertain to the installation of a renewable energy device:

Investment and Production:

Renewable Energy Investment and Production for Self-Consumption by an International Operations Center. This is
a corporate income tax credit for investment in new renewable energy facilities that produce energy for self-
consumption using renewable energy sources if the power is primarily used by an International Operations Center
[A.R.S. § 41-1520 and A.R.S. § 43-1164.05].

The taxpayer must qualify for this credit as an International Operations Center (I0C), which requires the taxpayer

or third-party on behalf of the taxpayer to:

e Invest at least $100 million in one or more renewable energy facilities in Arizona by December 31, 2018.

e Invest at least $1.25 billion in new capital assets, including land, buildings, and 10C equipment, within 10 years
after being certified as an I0C by the Arizona Commerce Authority (ACA).

e A portion of the energy produced at each renewable energy facility must be for self-consumption in Arizona

e Use at least 51% of the energy produced for self-consumption by the 5% year the IOC is in operation.

Approval by the Department of Revenue (DOR) is required to take the credit. The amount of the credit is $5
million per year for 5 years for each renewable facility. The credit per taxpayer cannot exceed $5 million per year,
and $25 million in total over 5 years. The total amount of credits that DOR can approve for all taxpayers in a
calendar year is $10 million. No new credits can be claimed for any taxable year beginning after December 31,
2025.

To meet the definition of a "renewable energy facility" for purposes of claiming the credit, the taxpayer or third-
party on behalf of the taxpayer must have invested at least $30 million in each facility. Furthermore, the facility
must have a minimum generating capacity of 20 megawatts, or a minimum annual generation of 40,000 megawatt
hours, be located in Arizona, and produce electricity using a renewable energy resource.

According to DOR's most recent "Arizona's Individual and Corporate Income Tax Report," one renewable energy

facility has been approved for this credit. Since no other taxpayer met the minimum investment requirement by
the statutory due date of December 31, 2018, no additional credits will be authorized under this program.
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Laws 2021, Chapter 266 grants a taxpayer eligibility for the credit if a third-party entity invests in one or more
renewable energy facilities in Arizona on behalf of or for the direct benefit of the taxpayer. The requirements for
third-party investments to qualify for the credit are the same as those for the taxpayer with a few exceptions. The
minimum investment threshold for new capital assets for third-party investors is $1.50 billion instead of $1.25
billion and the third-party entity cannot include the owner or operator of the 10C or affiliated entities [A.R.S. § 41-
1520].

The definition of "renewable energy facility" is expanded to include battery storage that is independent from or
coupled with other sources [A.R.S. § 41-1520].

Laws 2019, Chapter 203 repealed the individual income tax credit for IOCs but retained the corporate income tax
credit. This credit cannot be claimed against the same facilities that are used to claim the Renewable Energy
Production Credit [A.R.S. § 43-1164.03].

Renewable Energy Production. An individual and corporate credit is allowed on the production of electricity using
renewable energy, including solar light, solar heat, wind or biomass. To be eligible for the credit, a taxpayer must
hold title to a qualified energy generator that first produces electricity between January 1, 2011 and December 31,
2020. The new credit allows a qualified producer of renewable energy to receive a tax credit of up to $2.0 million
per year on the electricity they produce for up to 10 years. Given that a taxpayer may begin earning credits as late
as tax year 2020, the latest year a credit may be earned under the 10-year schedule is tax year 2030. The credit is
equal to 1¢ per kilowatt hour for the first 200,000 megawatt hours of biomass or wind energy produced and 1¢ -
4¢ for every kilowatt hour of solar energy [A.R.S. § 43-1164.03].

Approval from DOR is required to take the credit. DOR is authorized to approve up to $20.0 million in total
individual and corporate income tax credits each year. DOR approved $1.3 million in credits in calendar year (CY)
2011, $9.7 million in CY 2012, $18.4 million in CY 2013, and $20.0 million a year in CY 2014 through CY 2019.
Approvals, however, do not automatically translate into a credit. The production credit was originally forecast to
be $10.0 million in FY 2012 and grow to $20.0 million annually by FY 2013. DOR reports that the credit had an
annual General Fund revenue impact of $(7.1) million in FY 2020. A 5-year carry-forward of the credit is allowed.

Installation:

Commercial and Industrial Solar Energy Devices. Taxpayers can claim individual and corporate credits equal to 10%
of the installed cost of a solar energy device used in their trade or business. The credit cannot exceed $25,000 for
the same building in the same year, or $50,000 for the same taxpayer in total in any year. This income tax credit
may be claimed by a taxpayer purchasing a solar energy device, or a taxpayer that finances the purchase of a
qualifying device. The credit also may be transferred to a third party that manufactures or installs a qualifying
device. This tax credit may be carried forward for no more than 5 consecutive years. The credit is available
between tax years 2006 and 2018 [Laws 2010, Chapter 294; Laws 2007, Chapter 180; Laws 2006, Chapter 333;
A.R.S. § 41-1510.01; A.R.S. § 43-1085, and A.R.S. § 43-1164].

Residential Solar Energy Devices. An individual income taxpayer may claim 25% of the purchase price for a
qualified solar energy device installed in the taxpayer’s residence located in Arizona. The maximum credit is
$1,000 per year and $1,000 in aggregate for the same residence. This non-refundable tax credit is allowed to be
carried forward for no more than 5 consecutive years [Laws 1998, Chapter 1; Laws 1997, Chapter 218; Laws 1994,
Chapter 117, and A.R.S. § 43-1083].

Table 1 on the following page provides a summary of the main provisions of the above-mentioned tax credits.
PROPERTY, SALES, AND USE TAX EXEMPTIONS

Electricity and Natural Gas Exemption for International Operations Centers. Gross proceeds from sales of
electricity and natural gas to an International Operations Center (I0C) are exempt from the Transaction Privilege
Tax. To be certified by ACA as an 10C, an owner or operator must make minimum capital investments of at least
$100.0 million per year for 10 years, make a total capital investment of at least $1.25 billion over 10 years, and use
at least 51% of self-generated renewable energy for self-consumption by the fifth year of the operation (See the
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Renewable Energy Investment and Production for Self-Consumption credit for more information) [A.R.S. § 41-1520;
A.R.S. § 42-5063 and A.R.S. § 43-1164.05].

Mixed Waste Processing Facility. Gross proceeds from building a mixed waste processing facility are exempt from
the prime contracting tax. To qualify for this Transaction Privilege Tax exemption, a facility must be located on a
municipal landfill and constructed for the purposes of recycling solid waste or producing renewable energy from
landfill waste. The exemption is effective retroactively from January 1, 2013 [Laws 2014, Chapter 228; A.R.S. § 42-
5075].

Renewable Energy Investment. Qualifying renewable energy companies that build headquarters or manufacturing
facilities in the state will receive a class 6 property designation, which reduces the assessment ratio to 5% instead
of the current class 1 assessment ratio of 17.5%. The class 6 property designation remains in effect for 10 or 15
years, depending upon the level of wages paid to employees of the facility in relation to the median wage of the
state [Laws 2009, Chapter 96; A.R.S. § 42-12006]. No new properties may be classified pursuant to this paragraph
from and after December 31, 2014

Solar Energy Devices for Commercial and Industrial Purposes. Solar energy systems that are utilized for the
production of solar energy primarily for on-site consumption are prohibited from being added to a property’s value
for the purposes of property tax assessments or from being counted as part of the Transaction Privilege Tax or Use
Tax base [Laws 2010, Chapter 294; Laws 2008, Chapter 60; Laws 2006, Chapter 333; A.R.S. § 42-12056; A.R.S. § 42-
5061; A.R.S. § 42-5075; A.R.S. § 42-5159, and A.R.S. § 42-11054].
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Table 1

Tax Credit

Renewable Energy
Investment and
Production for
Self-Consumption
by an
International
Operations Center
(loc)

Renewable Energy
Production

Commercial and
Industrial Solar
Energy Devices

Residential Solar
Energy Devices

SUMMARY OF MAIN TAX CREDIT PROVISIONS

Annual
Aggregate
Value of Credit Credit Cap
$5.0 million per qualifying $10.0 million
facility
1¢ per kilowatt hour for the $20.0 million
first 200,000 megawatt hours
of biomass or wind energy
and 1¢ - 4¢ for every kilowatt
hour of solar energy
10% of the installed cost of a None
solar device used in the
business
25% of the purchase price for  None

a solar energy device

Annual
Revenue

Impact
$(5.0) million ¥

$(4.7) million ¥

$(6,300) ¢

$(16.0) million ¢

1/  Estimate based on report by DOR that only 1 company was approved for the credit.
2/ Reflects the FY 2022 General Fund revenue impact as reported by DOR.

Qualifications

(1) Invest at least $100 million
in one or more renewable
energy facilities in Arizona by
December 31, 2018. (2) Invest
at least $1.25 billion in new
capital assets, including land,
buildings, and I0C equipment,
within 10 years after being
certified as an I0C. (3) Use at
least 51% of the energy
produced for self-consumption
by the 5" year in operation.

Energy must be produced from
a qualified generator that did
not first produce energy
before January 1, 2011 or after
December 31, 2020

Qualified solar device that is

utilized for business purposes

Qualified solar device for
residential use
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Table 2 below shows the estimated dollar impact of renewable energy tax credits and exemptions and provides
the year of the estimate.

Table 2
ESTIMATED ANNUAL REVENUE IMPACT OF TAX CREDITS AND EXEMPTIONS
Description Year of Estimate Revenue Impact
Credits
Renewable  Energy Investment and FY 2022 $ (5,000,000) ¥
Production for Self-Consumption by an I0C
Renewable Energy Production FY 2022 (4,651,300) ¥
Solar Energy Devices of Commercial FY 2022 (6,300) ¥
and Industrial Purposes
Solar Energy Devices of Residential FY 2022 (15,971,500) ¥
Purposes
Subtotal $(25,629,100)
Exemptions
Electricity and Natural Gas Sold to CY 2015 $ (1,300,000) ¥
International Operations Centers
Mixed Waste Processing Facility CY 2014 (184,000) ¥
Solar Energy Devices for Commercial and FY 2021 (17,369,700) ¢
Industrial Purposes (TPT Exemption)
Subtotal $(18,853,700)
1/ The statutory due date to qualify for the credit was December 31, 2018. According to ACA, 1 company was approved for
the credit. The credit is capped at $5.0 million annually for 5 years. DOR has not been able to release credit use data
due to confidentiality restrictions. The figure in the table is an estimate.
2/ Actual General Fund revenue impact as reported by DOR.
3/ Based solely on the budgeted estimate. No actual data is available.
4/  Estimated General Fund revenue impact based on DOR's FY 2021 Tax Expenditure Report.
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Appendix B

COMPARISON OF PUBLIC AND PRIVATE SCHOOL TAX CREDITS

Table A: Statutes, Caps & Data

Statute #of STOs ¥/ Donations ¥ Scholarships ¢
Type Category Cap (that received
i Y # Average # Average
STO Tax Credit donations) 3 & &
Public School NA A.R.S. §43-1089.01 $200 single/ - $549M | 277,589 $198 - —
Extracurricular $400 married
filing jointly
Private School AR.S. §43-1601 A.R.S. § 43-1089 $623 single/ 53 $75.1M 91,426 $821 32,560 | $1,922
Individual Original through 43-1605 $1,245 married
filing jointly ¥
Private School ARS.§43-1601 | AR.S. §43-1089.03 $620 single/ 51 $48.3M | 54,061 $894 | 27,080 | $1,447
“Switcher” ¥ through 43-1605 $1,238 married
filing jointly ¥
Private School A.R.S. §43-1501 A.R.S.§43-1183 & $142,113,727 ¥ 45 $122.4M 1,171 $104,543 | 30,423 | $2,971
Corporate & Student (except 1505)
Insurance
Premium Private School AR.S.§43-1501 | A.R.S.§43-1184 & $6.0 M ¥ 9 S5.0 M 29 $172,414 928 $4,869
Disp|aced/Di5ab|ed through 1507 20-224.07
Student (except 1504)

1/ Public school tax credit data are for calendar year 2019 (latest reported data); private school data are for fiscal year 2021 (individual income tax and corporate income tax; latest reported data).

2/ Total donations in the table are $305.7 million for the mix of years represented (see footnote 1). Donations for a given year may not equal tax credits for that year depending on donors’ tax liabilities and
because corporations and insurers may carry forward tax credits for up to 5 years before using them. Similarly, donations for a given year may not equal total scholarship disbursements for that year because
STOs may reserve a portion of current year donations for future year scholarships and may use up to 10% of donations for administration.

3/ Adjusted annually for inflation. Figures shown are for Tax Year 2022 (latest published data).

4/ Referred to as the “Switcher” credit in Department of Revenue publications, since it is limited mostly to students switching from public to private schools (A.R.S. § 43-1603E)

5/ Capisfor FY 2023. Increases annually by the amounts stipulated in A.R.S. § 43-1183.C1, as amended by Laws 2019, Chapter 281.

6/ Laws 2021 Chapter 412 increases the cap from $5.0 million to $6.0 million, beginning in FY 2022.

Note: "Empowerment Scholarship Accounts" (ESA's) authorized by A.R.S. § 15-2402 are not included in this analysis, as they are funded with appropriated state monies rather than contributions that qualify an
individual or corporation for a state tax credit. Student must meet criteria specified in A.R.S. §15-2401 to qualify for an ESA. ESAs are funded under formulas prescribed in A.R.S. §15-2402C&D. In FY 2022, 11,699
students received $174.9 million in total ESA funding.
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Table B: Program Restrictions

Type Category Donors Recipients Use of Funds Earmarking Other
Individual Public Extracurricular Can designate a Funds can only be used for activities or programs of public schools specified in statute, such as
income tax schools activities, character | specific student, standardized testing for college credit, standardized testing preparation, industry certification exams, CPR
Public School filers education, and school club, or use training, character education programs and extracurricular activities. Extracurricular activities include
Extracurricular college or industry band uniforms, equipment or uniforms for varsity athletics, scientific laboratory equipment or materials,
testing fees or in-state or out-of-state trips that are solely for competitive events. Extracurricular activities do not
include any senior trips or events that are recreational, amusement or tourist activities.
Individual Private Private school Taxpayer may The tax credit is not allowed if the taxpayer designates the taxpayer's contribution to the school tuition
income tax school scholarships recommend organization for the direct benefit of any dependent of the taxpayer or if the taxpayer designates a
filers students recipient; may not student beneficiary as a condition of the taxpayer's contribution to the school tuition organization. A
Original recommend funds taxpayer may not claim a tax credit if the taxpayer agrees to swap donations with another taxpayer to
- for own dependent | benefit either taxpayer's own dependent. A STO cannot award, restrict or reserve scholarships solely
Individual . . X
or another's based on a donor's recommendation. If a STO scholarship exceeds a school's total cost of educating the
dependentin a recipient, the school must return the excess portion to the STO.
donation swap
Individual Private Private school Taxpayer may The tax credit is allowed only after the taxpayer has used the maximum tax credit available under the
income tax school scholarships recommend “Original” program. All restrictions for "Original" also apply to "Switcher." In addition, "Switcher"
filers students recipient; may not scholarships may only be awarded to public school transfers, kindergartners, preschool disabled students,
“Suitcher” recommend funds military dependents, pupils who received a corporate STO or "Switcher" scholarship in the prior year, are
for own dependent | homeschooled before enrolling in a private school, moved from out of state before enrolling in a private
or another's school, or previously participated in the ESA program. A STO shall give priority to students and siblings of
dependentin a students on a waiting list for scholarships if the STO maintains a waiting list. If a STO scholarship exceeds
donation swap a school's total cost of educating the recipient, the school must return the excess to the STO.
Corporations, Private Private school Not allowed 1. Family income cannot exceed 185% of the income limit required to qualify a child for reduced price
Insurers & S school scholarships lunches under the national school lunch and child nutrition acts (maximum annual income of $94,974
Corporations students for a family of four for FY 2023).
from "low 2. The student receiving the scholarship must meet one of the following:
income" a. Attended a public primary or secondary school as a full-time student or attended a public
households program for preschool disabled pupils for at least ninety days or one full semester of the
prior fiscal year.
b. Enrollin a private school kindergarten or preschool disabled program.
Low-Income c. Be amilitary dependent.
Student d. Be homeschooled before enrolling in a private school.
e. Moved from out of state before enrolling in a private school.
Corporate . L. .
f. Previously Participated in the ESA program
and g. Received an individual or corporate STO scholarship in the prior year and continues to attend
Insura?nce a qualified private school.
Premium 3. The total scholarship amount per pupil from each STO increases each year by $200. In FY 2023, a STO
cannot issue a scholarship in an amount that exceeds:
a. $5,900 for students in kindergarten through grade 8
b. $7,700 for students in grades 9 through 12.
Corporations, Private Private school Not allowed 1. The student must have been either placed in foster care at any time before graduating from high
Insurers & S school scholarships school or obtaining GED or have been identified at any time as having a disability under federal or
Displaced/ Corporations students state law.
Disabled with 2. The amount of the scholarship shall not exceed the lesser of the cost of tuition or 90% of the amount
Student disabilities of state aid that would have been computed for the student to attend public school.
or foster

care history

1/ Al STOs must allocate at least 90% of their tax credit-related revenues for scholarships or grants, so STOs can spend a maximum of 10% of those revenues on program administration.
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Appendix C

LiST OF TAX CREDITS WITH STATUTORY ENDING DATES

INCOME TAX CREDITS WITH STATUTORY ENDING DATES

Name of Credit

Affordable Housing

Agricultural Pollution Control Equipment
Facility Credit

Healthy Forest Enterprise

Healthy Forest Production

Military Family Relief Fund

Type of Credit

Individual/Corporate
Corporate
Individual/Corporate
Individual
Individual/Corporate
Individual

Ending Date

December 31, 2025

December 31, 2019 ¥
December 31, 2034 ¥
December 31, 2027 ¥
December 31, 2034 ¥
December 31, 2026 ¥

Motion Picture Production December 31, 2043
June 30, 2025 &

December 31, 2018 7

Individual/Corporate
New Employment Individual/Corporate/Insurance
Renewable Energy Investment and Production Corporate

for Self-Consumption
Renewable Energy Production

Small Business (“Angel”) Investment

December 31, 2030 &
December 31, 2034 ¥
December 31, 2018

Individual/Corporate
Individual

Solar Energy Devices for Commercial Individual/Corporate

and Industrial Purposes

1/ Laws 2020, Chapter 43 repealed the corporate (but not the individual) credit for taxable years beginning from and after
December 31, 2019.

2/ Statute provides that credits can be claimed in 5 annual installments. Laws 2020, Chapter 7 extended the credit from
December 31, 2022 to December 31, 2030. Given that a taxpayer may begin earning credits as late as TY 2030, the latest
year a credit may be claimed under the 5-year schedule is TY 2034.

3/ Laws 2022, Chapter 235 repealed the Healthy Forest Enterprise Credit. Given that a taxpayer may carry forward the credit
for up to 5 years, the latest year a credit may be claimed is TY 2027

4/ Statute provides that credits can be claimed for 5 consecutive years beginning with the calendar year in which the taxpayer
processes qualifying forest products. Since December 31, 2030 is the deadline for processing qualifying forest products, the
credit can be claimed through December 31, 2034.

5/ Laws 2018, Chapter 199 extended the ending date of the credit from December 31, 2018 to December 31, 2026.

6/ Statute prevents the Arizona Commerce Authority from authorizing new credits after June 30, 2025. Credits associated
with 1 net new job can be claimed for 3 years. A company may claim first year credits for separate new jobs for up to 3
consecutive years. Since second year and third year credits may be claimed against each of the new positions, the taxpayer
may claim credits for up to a total of 5 consecutive years. Therefore, credits may be claimed through TY 2029.

7/ Credit authorization for a certified International Operation Center (I0C) is allowed through December 31, 2018. Thus, an
I0C may not generate new credits after this date.

8/ Statute provides that credits can be claimed for 10 consecutive years beginning with the calendar year in which the
taxpayer holds title to a qualified energy generator that first produces electricity between January 1, 2011 and December
31, 2020. Given that a taxpayer may begin earning credits as late as TY 2020, the latest year a credit may be earned under
the 10-year schedule is TY 2030.

9/ Credit authorization is only allowed through June 30, 2031. Thus, no new credits can be generated after this date.

-111-




PROPERTY TAXES



PROPERTY TAX

DESCRIPTION

Arizona has 2 distinct types of property taxes: primary and secondary. Primary property taxes are levied to pay for
the maintenance and operation of a taxing jurisdiction. Secondary property taxes are levied to pay for bond
indebtedness, voter-approved budget overrides, and special districts such as fire or sanitary districts. Although the
state property tax was repealed in 1996, primary property tax collections in certain districts are still deposited in
the state General Fund. The monies deposited into the state General Fund are from taxes levied on property not
located within any school district, so-called unorganized districts [A.R.S. § 15-991.01], and on property in certain
school districts ineligible for state aid, sometimes referred to as minimum qualifying tax rate (MQTR) districts
[A.R.S. § 15-992]. (For more details, see Tax Rate section.)

Property is listed in 2 categories: real property and personal property. Real property includes land, buildings, and
improvements to land. Personal property includes property used for commercial, industrial, and agricultural
purposes, such as office furniture, business equipment, and tools. In addition, most mobile homes in Arizona are
taxed as personal property.

Assessment duties are divided between the Department of Revenue (DOR) and the 15 county assessors.
Generally, geographically dispersed, and complex properties, such as mines, utilities, airlines, and railroads,
commonly referred to as “centrally valued property,” are valued by DOR. All other properties are valued by the
county assessors and are, therefore, referred to as “locally assessed property.” (For more details, see Tax Base
section.)

Property in Arizona is classified for assessment purposes into 9 legal classes, with sub-classifications in many of
those classes. The classification is based on the current use of the property by its owner, such as commercial,
agricultural, or residential. Each legal class has an assessment ratio, which is specified by statute. The assessment
ratio, which currently ranges from 1% to 17.5%, is used to calculate the assessed value of a property. (For more
details, see Tax Rate section.)

DISTRIBUTION
As mentioned previously, revenues from unorganized and MQTR districts are deposited in the state General Fund.

Otherwise, every taxing jurisdiction simply collects what it levies. (Please see Tax Rate section for more
discussion.) Property tax collected and deposited in the General Fund is shown in Table 1 below.

Table 1
STATE GENERAL FUND COLLECTIONS
Fiscal Year General Fund Fiscal Year General Fund
2022 $26,787,448 2012 $15,887,896
2021 $22,380,047 2011 $20,333,501
2020 $24,142,944 2010 $20,269,632
2019 $29,683,305 2009 $18,244,500
2018 $38,719,634 2008 $20,041,338
2017 $32,538,497 2007 $24,486,025
2016 $38,483,335 2006 $24,998,760
2015 $36,515,876 2005 $25,245,622
2014 $25,611,186 2004 $33,266,987
2013 $13,202,508 2003 $19,433,856

SOURCE: DOR and State Treasurer’s Office.
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Property tax in Arizona is primarily a local revenue source as the state General Fund currently receives less than
0.5% of all taxes levied in the state. Table 2 below shows the distribution of property taxes among local taxing

jurisdictions.

Table 2

Jurisdiction
State ¥
Counties

Cities & Towns
School Districts
Special Districts

Community Colleges

TOTAL

PRIMARY AND SECONDARY COMBINED PROPERTY TAX LEVIES

FY 2022
$351,760,428

$1,706,680,035
$807,121,713

$4,314,629,033

FY 2021
$338,490,715
$1,650,068,770
$764,435,024
$4,168,363,680

$675,413,041 $636,418,883
$963,709,568 $951,525,958
$8,819,313,818  $8,509,303,030

FY 2020
$331,639,370
$1,592,272,542
$731,541,390
$4,015,912,086
$613,797,032
$925,914,892

FY 2019
$330,337,012
$1,503,789,530
$689,943,413
$3,863,097,626
$574,865,962
$901,776,096

FY 2018
$330,887,686
$1,471,069,472
$652,664,972
$3,711,122,953
$531,248,566
$875,445,399

$8,211,077,312

$7,863,809,639

$7,572,439,048

1/ Although the state equalization assistance property tax (SETR) is technically a school district tax (see A.R.S. § 15-994), ATRA lists

it as a state tax for reporting purposes since the tax levy reduces Basic State Aid to schools by an equal amount. Laws 2022,
Chapter 317 repealed the SETR, beginning in FY 2023. Pursuant to Laws 2006, Chapter 354, the state equalization tax was not

levied in FY 2007, FY 2008, and FY 2009.

SOURCE: Arizona Tax Research Association (ATRA).

WHO PAYS

The owner of record, or the person who is the purchaser under a deed of trust or an agreement of sale, is liable for
the payment of the tax [A.R.S. § 42-15101].

Tribal Members

The Arizona Constitution provides that a property owned by an Indian tribal member is exempted from taxation if
such property is located within an Indian reservation or has been acquired under an act of Congress [Article 20,
Section 5]. Laws 2005, Chapter 276 provides that property outside an Indian reservation that is owned by an
Indian tribe or tribally designated housing authority, is exempted from taxation if such property provides low-
income rental housing for Indian tribal members [A.R.S. § 42-11131].

REVENUE BASE

Since 1980, the state has used 2 distinct valuation bases for levying property taxes and for this reason each
property is assigned 2 values: limited property value and full cash value. The former is also referred to as primary
value and the latter as secondary value.

Full Cash Value (FCV)

A property’s full cash value is the value determined as prescribed by statute. If no statutory method is prescribed,
full cash value is synonymous with market value, as determined by standard appraisal methods. There are no
restrictions or limitations on full cash value growth [A.R.S. § 42-11001].

Although property values in Arizona are based on market value as represented by sales price, Arizona statutes set
sales ratio standards at 81% of nominal sales price for commercial and industrial properties, and 82% for
residential and other properties. These standards allow for the exclusion of personal property items included in
sales, financing incentives, time on the market, and reasonable mass appraisal errors [A.R.S. § 42-11054E].

The Legislature has also mandated that specific types of property be appraised on a basis other than market value.
These property types are agricultural, shopping centers, certain golf courses, and most centrally valued properties,

such as electric and gas utilities [A.R.S. § 42-13101 through 42-13206].
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Limited Property Value (LPV)

A property’s limited value is the value determined as provided by Article 9, Section 18 of the Arizona Constitution,
and further defined by Section 42-13301, 42-13302, and 42-13304 of Arizona Revised Statutes. The limited value
can equal but not exceed the full cash value of a property. Limited property valuations are derived on an individual
parcel basis by using one of the following methods:

e For a parcel in which there has been no physical change in either land or improvement since the prior year, no
change in use, and the property was not totally omitted from the tax roll in the preceding valuation year, the
parcel’s limited value is established at its previous year’s LPV increased by 5%. The property’s LPV can never
exceed its FCV [A.R.S. § 42-13301]. In DOR's Assessment Procedures Manual, this calculation is referred to as
"Rule A."

e  For a parcel for which the land or improvement was erroneously omitted from the preceding year's property
tax roll, had a change in use, was modified by new construction, destruction, or demolition, or was spilt or
consolidated, the parcel’s limited value is established at a level or percentage that is commensurate to the
relationship of LPV to FCV of other properties of the same or similar use or legal classification [A.R.S. § 42-
13302]. Laws 2022, Chapter 300 requires that a change in the use of a property must be physical and
objectively verifiable for the purpose of determining limited property value and that a change in occupant or
classification of a single-family residence does not constitute a change in use. In DOR's Assessment Procedures
Manual, this calculation is referred to as "Rule B."

Prior to the enactment of Laws 2019, Chapter 306, DOR's guidelines stipulated that Rule B applied when
modification to a property resulting from construction, destruction of demolition equaled 10% or more of the prior
valuation year's FCV for that property. If the value of such modification was less than 10%, Rule A applied.
Chapter 306 provides that the Rule B calculation be applied when the value of the modification resulting from
construction, destruction, or demolition is 15% or greater that the property's FCV in the preceding valuation year.

The limit on increases in property values, as described above, does not apply to: (1) personal property other than
mobile homes and (2) centrally valued property [A.R.S. § 42-13304]. The limited and full cash values of personal
property (except mobile homes) and most centrally valued property are the same.

Proposition 117
On November 6, 2012, voters approved Proposition 117, which provided 2 significant changes to the Arizona

Constitution, beginning in TY 2015. First, Proposition 117 reduced the maximum year-over-year increase of limited
property value from 10% (or an amount equal to 25% of the difference between the current year’s full cash value
and the previous year’s limited value, whichever is greater) to 5%. Second, Proposition 117 provides that limited
property value be the basis for levying all property (i.e., both primary and secondary) taxes. Through TY 2014,
limited property value was the basis for levying primary taxes whereas full cash value was the basis for levying
secondary taxes.

Laws 2013, Chapter 66 conformed Arizona Revised Statutes to the voter-approved constitutional amendments
under Proposition 117. Among the conforming changes included in Chapter 66 was the removal of any statutory
reference to the terms “primary net assessed valuation” and “secondary net assessed valuation.” To reflect the
use of a single tax base, these terms were replaced by the generic term “net assessed valuation.” Note, however,
that Chapter 66 retained the statutory terms “primary property taxes” and “secondary property taxes.”
Additionally, Chapter 66 clarified that limited value is the basis for levying both primary and secondary taxes on all
property except locally assessed personal property (other than mobile homes) and centrally valued property.
Instead, full cash value is the basis for levying primary and secondary taxes on such property [A.R.S. § 42-13304].
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Net Assessed Value (NAV)

A property’s assessed value is derived by multiplying the property’s full cash value and limited value by the
applicable assessment ratio, which depends on the legal classification of the property as shown in Table 3. NAV is
obtained by subtracting any applicable exemption from the property’s assessed value.

A property’s tax liability is determined by multiplying the applicable tax rate with the NAV of the property divided
by 100. (Pursuant to A.R.S. § 42-17151, the tax rate is determined per $100 NAV.) This means that the property
tax liability depends on 3 factors: (1) the limited property value as determined by the county assessor or DOR, (2)
the assessment ratio based on the use of the property, and (3) the tax rate as set by the taxing jurisdiction (see Tax
Rate section).

Table 3
PROPERTY TAX CLASSES AND TAX YEAR 2022 ASSESSMENT RATIOS
Assessment
Class Ratio Property Usage
1 17.5% Properties of mining, utility, and telecommunication companies, standing timber, airport

fuel delivery, producing oil and gas property, pipeline property, shopping centers, golf
courses, manufacturers, and most other commercial property. [A.R.S. § 42-12001]. Note
that Laws 2011, 2"¢ Special Session Chapter 1 reduces the assessment ratio to 19.5% in
TY 2013, 19.0% in TY 2014, 18.5% in TY 2015, and 18.0% in TY 2016, when fully
implemented. In addition, Laws 2021, Chapter 412 reduces the assessment ratio to
17.5% in TY 2022, 17.0% in TY 2023, 16.5% in TY 2024, and 16.0% in TY 2025, when fully
implemented. Laws 2022, Chapter 171 sets the assessment ratio to 15.5% in TY 2026 and
15.0% in TY 2027 and each year thereafter.

2 15% Agricultural property, properties of nonprofit organizations, and vacant land. [A.R.S. §
42-12002]. Note that Laws 2011, 2" Special Session Chapter 1 reduces the assessment
ratio to 15% in TY 2016.

3 10% Primary residential property. [A.R.S. § 42-12003].

4 10% Non-primary residential property as well as leased or rented residential property. [A.R.S.
§ 42-12004].

5 15% Airlines, railroad, and private car company property. [A.R.S. § 42-12005]. This
assessment ratio is annually determined by DOR.

6 5% Noncommercial historic property, property located in a foreign trade, military reuse, or

enterprise zone, property of a qualified environmental technology manufacturing facility.
[A.R.S. § 42-12006].

7 18% or 1% Property that meets the criteria for Class 1 property and also the criteria for commercial
historic property. [A.R.S. § 42-12007].
8 10% or 1% Property that meets the criteria for Class 4 property and also the criteria for commercial
historic property. [A.R.S. § 42-12008].
9 1% Improvements on federal, state, county, and municipal property. [A.R.S. § 42-120009].
Table 4

STATEWIDE PRIMARY AND SECONDARY NET ASSESSED VALUATION (NAV)

Tax Year Primary NAV Secondary NAV
2022 $78,405,598,978 $103,872,223,919
2021 $74,200,360,570 $97,282,221,465
2020 $69,914,521,042 $90,007,317,461
2019 $66,154,632,834 $82,730,928,616
2018 $62,328,439,592 $76,437,036,352

SOURCE: ATRA and DOR.
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Real Property versus Personal Property. Real property is generally synonymous with real estate and includes land,
buildings, and improvements to land. Personal property is property other than real estate and includes items such
as manufactured housing, office furniture, business equipment, and tools. Personal property is usually movable
and not permanently attached to real estate.

Centrally Valued Property. As noted previously, certain property is subject to valuation by DOR. Such property,
commonly referred to as “centrally valued property,” is listed below.

e  Mines, mills, and smelters [A.R.S. § 42-14051].

e Qil, gas, and geothermal properties [A.R.S. § 42-14101].

e  Gas, water, electric, and sewer and wastewater utilities [A.R.S. § 42-14151].
e Pipelines [A.R.S. § 42-14201].

e Airline companies [A.R.S. § 42-14251].

e  Private car companies [A.R.S. § 42-14301].

e Railroad companies [A.R.S. § 42-14351].

e Telecommunications companies [A.R.S. § 42-14401].

e Airport fuel delivery companies [A.R.S. § 42-14501].

Equalization of Valuations. DOR is authorized by statute to examine property valuations for inequities between or
within counties and classifications and to issue equalization orders to ensure that all property in the state is
appropriately valued [A.R.S. § 42-13251]. To this end, DOR conducts sales ratio studies to determine whether
properties are valued fairly or not [A.R.S. § 42-13005]. County assessors affected by an equalization order may
appeal to the State Board of Tax Appeals [A.R.S. § 42-16159].

EXEMPTIONS

All property in Arizona is subject to taxation unless exempted by law. The exemptions are provided in Article 9,
Sections 2, 2.1, and 2.2 of the Arizona Constitution, and are summarized in Table 5 below. Arizona Revised
Statutes further define the property tax exemptions provided by the Arizona Constitution. As a general rule, under
Arizona law, property classification is based on the use of the property by the owner, whereas property exemption
is provided based on the ownership of the property. All exemptions currently listed in statutes are displayed in
Table 6 below.

Table 5

PROPERTY TAX EXEMPTIONS AUTHORIZED BY THE ARIZONA CONSTITUTION

Article Section Exemption

9 2 Federal, state, county, and municipal properties

Property owned by non-profit educational, charitable, and religious organizations

Public debts (i.e., bonds of Arizona, its counties, municipalities, or other subdivisions)

Household goods owned by the user and used solely for non-commercial purposes

Inventory of materials, parts, and products owned by a retailer or wholesaler for resale purposes
The first $50,000 of full cash value for business and agricultural personal property ¥

Property of cemeteries

Property of widows

2.1 Property of widowers

2.2 Property of disabled persons

N NNNNNDN

1/ Pursuant to A.R.S. § 42-11127, the maximum amount of the exemption is increased each year to account for inflation. For TY
2022, the maximum amount of the exemption is $207,366. Laws 2012, Chapter 343 changed the calculation of the maximum
exemption amount, beginning in TY 2013. Under Chapter 343, the maximum exemption is calculated based on the percentage
increase in the Employment Cost Index in the 2 most recent years rather than only the most recent year. Additionally, this
amount is calculated as if Chapter 343 had been continuously in effect since 1997. As a result of Chapter 343, the maximum
exemption increased from $68,079 in TY 2012 to $133,868 in TY 2013.
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Table 6

Title

PROPERTY TAX EXEMPTIONS FURTHER DEFINED BY ARIZONA REVISED STATUTES

Section Exemption

42

11102
11103
11104
11105
11106
11107
11108
11109
11110
11111
11112
11113
11114
11115
11116
11117
11118
11119
11120
11121
11122
11123
11124
11125
11126
11127
11128
11129
11130
11131
11132

Government property

Government bonded indebtedness

Education and library property

Health care property

Apartments for elderly or handicapped residents
Institutions for relief of indigent or afflicted

Grounds and buildings owned by agricultural societies
Religious property

Cemeteries

Property of widows, widowers, disabled veterans, and permanently disabled persons
Observatories

Land and buildings owned by animal control and humane societies
Property held for conveyance as parkland

Property held to preserve or protect scientific resources
Property of arts and science organizations

Property of volunteer fire departments

Social welfare and quasi-governmental service property
Property of volunteer roadway cleanup and beautification organizations
Property of veterans’ organizations

Property of charitable community service organizations
Trading commodities

Animal and poultry feed

Possessory interests for educational or charitable activities
Inventory, materials, and products

Production livestock and animals

Personal property

Personal property in transit

Property of fraternal societies

Property of public library organizations

Property providing low-income rental housing for Indians
Property leased to an educational institution

11132.01 Property leased to a church, religious assembly, or religious institution

11133

Low-income housing projects.
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As noted earlier, Article 20, Section 5 of the Arizona Constitution provides that property owned by Indians, when
such property is located within an Indian reservation or has been acquired under an act of Congress, is exempted
from taxation.

RATE

The tax rates for primary and secondary property taxes are determined by each individual taxing jurisdiction in the
state. The rates vary considerably among the state’s taxing authorities, as reflected in the total average tax rate by
county shown in Table 7 below. (Note that a taxing authority is required by statute to determine the tax rate,
rounded to 4 decimal places, on each $100 of NAV [A.R.S. § 42-17151]).

Table 7
TOTAL COMBINED PRIMARY AND SECONDARY AVERAGE TAX RATE PER $100 NAV

County TY 2021 TY 2020 TY 2019 TY 2018 TY 2017 TY 2016 TY 2015 TY 2014
Apache $6.97 $7.17 $6.78 $6.61 $6.75 $6.17 $6.03 $5.87
Cochise $12.52 $12.85 $13.12 $13.05 $13.27 $12.78 $13.11 $12.72
Coconino $8.80 $8.86 $9.08 $9.27 $9.30 $9.54 $9.51 $9.23
Gila $13.76 $13.88 $13.76 $13.74 $13.59 $13.38 $13.10 $13.95
Graham $10.79 $11.49 $12.52 $12.59 $12.08 $11.96 $11.46 $12.10
Greenlee $3.78 $3.52 $3.95 $3.89 $4.00 $4.10 $3.94 $3.94
Maricopa $11.60 $11.95 $12.17 $12.38 $12.43 $12.74 $12.48 $12.41
Mohave $10.60 $10.60 $10.69 $11.02 $11.19 $10.74 $11.03 $11.26
Navajo $10.67 $10.74 $11.03 $11.06 $10.96 $10.81 $10.31 $10.20
Pima $14.44 $14.75 $15.14 $15.45 $16.01 $15.91 $15.91 $15.79
Pinal $14.77 $14.81 $14.85 $15.22 $15.46 $15.53 $16.05 $15.69
Santa Cruz $13.74 $13.73 $13.08 $13.09 $13.06 $13.10 $12.99 $13.11
Yavapai $9.83 $10.17 $10.57 $10.65 $10.85 $11.13 $11.21 $11.20
Yuma $13.11 $13.08 $13.29 $13.27 $13.34 $14.01 $13.19 $12.33
La Paz $11.53 S11.61 $11.38 $10.63 $11.07 $10.81 $11.03 $10.77
State of Arizona $11.89 $12.17 $12.41 $12.62 $12.75 $12.95 $12.77 $12.67
SOURCE: DOR

Unlike local government entities, the state does not levy property taxes due to the repeal of the state property tax
in 1996 [Laws 1996, 7t Special Session, Chapter 2]. However, statute requires that the counties levy and collect
certain primary property taxes, which are transmitted to the state to aid in school financial assistance. First, each
county is required (pursuant to A.R.S. § 15-991.01) to levy a primary tax on property not located in a school district
(“unorganized district”) at a rate equal to 50% of the qualifying tax rate (QTR) used to calculate state equalization
assistance for unified school districts. Second, each county is also required (pursuant to A.R.S. § 15-992) to levy an
additional primary tax in school districts that are ineligible for state equalization assistance (“zero-aid districts”).
This additional tax rate, referred to as the minimum qualifying tax rate (MQTR), is determined based on the
difference between the levy that would be produced by 50% of the zero-aid district’s applicable QTR and its
“equalization base.” (Under the statutory K-12 funding formula, each school district is provided a certain amount
of funding based on its student count and other factors. This funding amount is referred to as the district’s
equalization base.) If the levy produced by 50% of the district’s applicable QTR is equal to or less than its
equalization base, the MQTR will not be levied in such zero-aid district. Otherwise, the MQTR will be levied at a
rate such that the additional tax generates an amount equal to the difference between 50% of the zero-aid
district’s QTR and its equalization base. Although the additional taxes levied in unorganized districts and certain
zero-aid school districts are collected by the counties, these monies are later transmitted to the state for deposit
into the General Fund.
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In addition to the additional primary tax levied on property in unorganized districts and some zero-aid school
districts, each county is also required to levy and collect the “State Equalization Assistance Property Tax” on all
property within the county [A.R.S. § 15-994]. Laws 2022, Chapter 317 repealed the State Equalization Assistance
Property Tax, beginning in FY 2023. The monies collected from this state-mandated tax are apportioned to each
school district within the county. The state equalization tax along with qualifying tax comprises the “local share” of
the statutory K-12 funding formula. The K-12 tax rates used in the statutory school funding (“Basic State Aid”)
formula are shown in Table 8 below.

Table 8
K-12 TAX RATES PER $100 NAV
Qualifying Tax Rate (QTR) State Equalization Rate
Fiscal Year Unified School Districts Non-Unified School Districts All School Districts
2023 $3.4266 $1.7133 N/AY
2022 $3.5388 $1.7694 $0.4263
2021 $3.6742 $1.8371 $0.4426
2020 $3.7908 $1.8954 $0.4566
2019 $3.9358 $1.9679 $0.4741
2018 $4.0468 $2.0234 $0.4875
2017 $4.1586 $2.0793 $0.5010
2016 $4.1954 $2.0977 $0.5054
2015 $4.2246 $2.1123 $0.5089
2014 $4.2530 $2.1265 $0.5123

1/ Laws 2022, Chapter 317 eliminated the State Equalization Tax Rate beginning in FY 2023

A.R.S. § 15-971. Equalization Assistance (“Basic State Aid”). The purpose of the basic state aid formula is to
establish a comparable funding amount per pupil in each school district. The funding formula consists of a local
share and a state share. The local share represents the amount of budgeted expenditures financed by the district’s
own property tax. The state share is simply the amount of spending not covered by the district’s property tax.
This means that anything that causes the local share to decrease, such as a reduction in NAV or the QTR and/or
State Equalization rate, will cause the state share (i.e., basic state aid) to increase by the same amount. As noted
above, Laws 2022, Chapter 317 eliminated the State Equalization Tax Rate, beginning in FY 2023.

A.R.S. § 15-972. Additional State Aid (“Homeowner’s Property Tax Rebate”). In return for reducing the school
district primary tax levy for primary residential properties (Class 3) by 50.0%, the state appropriates an amount
equal to the tax rebate to the same districts. This aid, which is in addition to basic state aid, is limited to $600 per
parcel.

Beginning in FY 2012, Laws 2010, 7" Special Session, Chapter 8 limits the Homeowner’s Rebate to the lesser of the
QTR or the school district’s primary property tax rate. The tax rate levied by districts for primary property taxes is
further reduced on individual parcels of residential property if the combined primary property tax levy exceeds 1%
of the parcel’s limited property value (see Tax Limitations section).

Laws 2011, 2" Special Session, Chapter 1 increased the Homeowner’s Rebate percentage for FY 2014 through FY
2017 by an amount determined by DOR. The purpose of the rebate increase was to offset the property tax shift to
homeowners that would otherwise occur as a result of the reduced assessment ratios for commercial (Class 1) and
agricultural (Class 2) property under Chapter 1. As a result of this act, the Homeowner’s Rebate percentage was
increased to 47.19%, beginning in FY 2017.

Laws 2021, Chapter 412 then increased the Homeowner's Rebate percentage from 47.19% to 50.0%, beginning in
TY 2022.

A.R.S. § 41-1276. Truth in Taxation for Equalization Assistance. Absent any tax rate changes, a property owner’s
tax liability changes whenever the valuation of his property changes. The purpose of truth in taxation (TNT) is to
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prevent such a change in property tax liability by adjusting the tax rate commensurately. Prior to the enactment of
TNT (Laws 1998, Chapter 153), the state received monies from a primary property tax rate of $2.20 per $100 NAV
levied in unorganized districts, and up to $2.20 per $100 NAV in MQTR districts. The equalization tax rate was
$0.53 per $100 NAV. However, starting in FY 2000, these tax rates have been adjusted each year to offset the
statewide appreciation or depreciation of property, as reflected in Table 8 above. Note that since these tax rates
are used both for collecting property taxes and for disbursing basic state aid, the annual TNT rate adjustments
affect both General Fund revenues and General Fund expenditures.

In addition to the K-12 property tax rates shown in Table 8, which help fund the Basic State Aid formula, school
districts may establish property tax rates to fund “overrides,” bonds, and certain other miscellaneous costs:

K-12 Budget Overrides

Voter-approved K-12 budget overrides allow school districts to spend more than would be permitted under
statutory budget limits, such as the “Revenue Control Limit” (RCL) defined in A.R.S. § 15-947. The 3 types of K-12
budget overrides are (1) Maintenance and Operation (M&O) overrides, (2) “special program” overrides, and (3)
capital overrides. M&O and “special program” overrides combined cannot exceed 15% of a school district’s RCL
and capital overrides are separately capped at 10% of a district’'s RCL. Revenues from M&O overrides may be
spent on any M&O expenditure, whereas revenues from “special program” overrides and capital overrides must be
spent only on “special programs” or capital improvements, respectively. All 3 types of overrides may be approved
for a maximum of 7 years and are funded with secondary property tax revenues.

K-12 Bonding
A.R.S. § 15-1021 authorizes school districts to issue voter-approved bonds for long-term capital needs, such as

school construction and renovation. Article 9, Section 8.1 of the State Constitution caps a unified school district’s
bonded indebtedness at 30% of its NAV for secondary tax purposes, but A.R.S. § 15-1021D further caps its “Class
B” bonds (bonds issued after December 31, 1999) at 10% of its NAV. The corresponding constitutional (Article 9,
Section 8) and statutory (A.R.S. § 15-1021B) caps for non-unified school districts are 15% and 5% of NAV,
respectively. Laws 2013, 1% Special Session, Chapter 3 increases the Class B bonding capacity cap for unified school
districts from 10% to 20% of NAV. The Class B bonding capacity cap for non-unified school districts is increased
from 5% to 10% of NAV. The proceeds from K-12 bonds may only be used for expenditures listed in A.R.S. § 15-
491A3&4. Bond debt service is funded with secondary property tax revenues.

K-12 Miscellaneous Costs

School districts may also establish property tax rates to fund desegregation programs and other miscellaneous
costs authorized in A.R.S. § 15-910. These rates do not require voter approval and are funded with primary, rather
than secondary, property taxes.

TAX LIMITATIONS
The following constitutional provisions limit property taxation in Arizona:

e Arizona Constitution, Article 9, Section 8. “Local Debt Limits.” The amount of General Obligation (GO) debt
issued by a county, city, town, school district, or other municipal corporation is limited to 6% of the
jurisdiction’s NAV. The voters of a county, elementary or high school district may authorize additional debt for
up to 15% of NAV. (Pursuant Article 9, Section 8.1, unified school districts are allowed additional debt for up
to 30% of NAV.) The voters of a city or town may approve additional debt for up to 20% of NAV for providing
services such as water, artificial lights, sewers, and for the acquisition and development of land for open space
preserves, parks, playgrounds, and recreational facilities. Proposition 104, which was approved by voters in
November 2006, added the following list of items to be included within a city’s or town’s 20% debt limit:
public safety, law enforcement, fire and emergency service facilities, and street and transportation facilities.

e Arizona Constitution, Article 9, Section 18. “The 1% Cap.” The total amount of taxes collected on residential
property (Class 3) for primary tax purposes is not allowed to exceed 1% of the parcel’s limited property value.
Through FY 2015, the combined primary property taxes on a parcel of residential property that exceeded this
limit was reduced through a commensurate increase in additional state aid to schools [A.R.S. § 15-972].
Beginning in FY 2016, Laws 2015, Chapter 15 caps the state’s cost of the 1% Cap program to $1.0 million per
county. Additionally, Chapter 15 requires the Property Tax Oversight Commission to allocate the loss of state
1% Cap funding among local taxing jurisdictions based on its determination of their pro rata shares of the
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overall 1% Cap exceedance. The 2015 law was subsequently ruled unconstitutional by the Maricopa County
Superior Court in May 2016.

e Arizona Constitution, Article 9, Section 18. “Limited Property Valuation.” This constitutional provision
imposes a limitation on increases in the value of real property and mobile homes, as described in the Revenue
Base section.

e Arizona Constitution, Article 9, Section 18. “The Senior Property Valuation Freeze.” An Arizona resident who
meets the following requirements is eligible for a property valuation freeze on their home: (1) is 65 years of
age or older, (2) the home is their primary residence, (3) has lived in their home for at least 2 years, and (4)
their gross income does not exceed 400% of the supplemental security income benefit rate. If the
homeowner meets these requirements, they can apply for a “property valuation protection option” from their
county assessor. The county assessor then fixes the value of the home at the full cash value in effect during
the year the application was filed. The value of the home will remain frozen for as long as the owner remains
eligible for the protection option. To be eligible for the senior valuation protection option in 2021, the income
cannot exceed $38,112 for single owners and $47,640 for 2 or more owners.

e Arizona Constitution, Article 9, Section 19. “The 2% Levy Limit.” A city, town, county, or community college
district is not allowed to levy primary property taxes on existing property in excess of a 2% increase from the
maximum allowable amount in the preceding tax year unless approved in an override election, as prescribed
by A.R.S. § 42-17201 through 42-17203. Proposition 101, which was approved by voters in November 2006,
changed the base year used to calculate the levy limits of cities, towns, counties, and community colleges from
1980 to 2005. By resetting the base year to 2005, Proposition 101 eliminated any unused taxing capacity of
such taxing jurisdictions as of TY 2005. Any unused taxing capacity accumulated after TY 2005 is carried
forward to subsequent years. (Note that the 2% levy limit does not apply to school districts.)

The following statutory provisions limit property taxation in Arizona:

e Truth in Taxation Levy for Equalization Assistance to Schools. The QTR and the state equalization tax rate, the
2 statutory K-12 tax rates used to determine basic state aid for school districts, are required to be adjusted
each year to offset the statewide valuation increase or decrease of existing property. The statutory K-12 tax
rates cannot exceed the TNT rates provided under this statute unless the Legislature overrides them by a two-
thirds vote [A.R.S. § 41-1276].

e Truth in Taxation Base Limit for School Expenditures outside the Budget Limit. Each school district is required
to determine a TNT base limit for expenditures (desegregation, dropout prevention, excess utilities, vocational
education, and small school adjustments) not paid for by the statutory K-12 tax rates. Any school district that
budgets an amount that exceeds its TNT base limit (or levies any amount for adjacent ways or liabilities in
excess) is required to issue a special TNT notice that includes information on the resulting property tax
increase [A.R.S. § 15-905.01].

e Truth in Taxation Levy for Counties, Cities, and Towns. Any county, city, or town that proposes a primary
property tax levy, excluding amounts attributable to new construction, which exceeds the preceding year’s
levy, is required to issue a special TNT notice that includes information on the property prior to and after the
increase. The levy equals net assessed valuation of existing property for primary tax purposes divided by $100
and multiplied by the primary tax rate. If such taxing jurisdiction fails to comply with the requirements under
this statute, it is not allowed to levy an amount that exceeds the preceding year’s levy, except for amounts
attributable to new construction [A.R.S. § 42-17107].

e Truth in Taxation Levy for Community Colleges. Any community college district that proposes a primary
property tax levy, excluding amounts attributable to new construction, which exceeds the preceding year’s
levy, is required to issue a special TNT notice that includes information on the resulting property tax increase.
If a district fails to comply with the requirements under this statute, it is not allowed to levy an amount that
exceeds the preceding year’s levy, except for amounts attributable to new construction [A.R.S. § 15-1461.01].

Note that while a county, city, town, or community college district may exceed its TNT levy, it can never exceed its
constitutional levy limit.
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Elderly Assistance Fund

The Board of Supervisors in a county with a population of more than 2 million is authorized by statute to establish
a fund to reduce the property tax of qualified elderly taxpayers [A.R.S. § 42-17401]. In February 2007, the
Maricopa County Board of Supervisors established the Elderly Assistance Fund (EAF), which has since been
administered by the Maricopa County Treasurer’s Office. Qualified applicants of the tax relief program are those
who have limited income, live within an organized school district, and have enrolled in the Seniors Valuation
Protection Program.

Through FY 2015, the EAF received its funding from some of the proceeds resulting from the Arizona tax lien sales
held in February of each year by the Maricopa County Treasurer’s Office. Beginning in FY 2016, Laws 2015,
Chapter 324 disallows this funding mechanism but permits existing monies in EAF to be used to fund the Elderly
Assistance Program.

Laws 2016, Chapter 125 specifies that the Maricopa County Board of Supervisors must spend the remaining
monies in EAF after December 31, 2015 solely on the Elderly Assistance Program. In addition, Chapter 125
requires that any subsequent appropriations made to EAF must be spent solely on the Program.

TAX ADMINISTRATION

Valuation Year versus Tax Year. Under Arizona law, the valuation year for locally assessed real property and
centrally valued property is the calendar year preceding the year in which the taxes are levied. In other words, the
tax year lags the valuation year by 1 year. By contrast, for locally assessed personal property, the valuation year is
the calendar year in which the taxes are levied [A.R.S. § 42-11001]. However, because of the payment schedule in
Arizona (see Payment Schedule section below), real and personal property taxes are always collected in the fiscal
year immediately following the tax year. For real property, this means that the valuation year precedes the tax
year by 1 year and the fiscal year by 2 years. The relationship of the valuation year and tax year to FY 2022 is
summarized in Table 9 below.

Table 9

PROPERTY VALUATION AND TAXATION CALENDAR

Tvpe of Propert Valuation Years 2021 & 2022 Tax Year 2022 Fiscal Year 2023
lype ot Froperty . o e e =~
(When Tax Base Is Determined) (When Tax Rate Is Determined) (When Tax Is Due and Payable)

Locally Assessed Real Property October 1, 2022 and
(Old Construction) January 1, 2021 August 16, 2022 March 1, 2023

Locally Assessed Real Property October 1, 2020 through October 1, 2022 and
(New Construction) September 30, 2021 August 16, 2022 March 1, 2023

Locally Assessed Personal October 1, 2022 and
Property January 1, 2022 August 16, 2022 March 1, 2023

October 1, 2022 and
Centrally Valued Property January 1, 2021 August 16, 2022 March 1, 2023

As shown in the table above, the valuation date for existing property is always January 1 of the valuation year
[A.R.S. § 42-11001]. This means that for real property, the period between when the parcel’s initial value is
determined (January 1) and its tax is due and payable (March 1) is more than 2 years. For new construction, the
valuation date is between October 1 in the year preceding valuation year and September 30 of the valuation year
[A.R.S. § 42-15105]. The property tax rates are always set on or before the third Monday in August of the tax year.

DOR values all centrally valued properties such as utilities, mines, airlines, and railroads [A.R.S. § 42-14002]. DOR

must notify the property owners by June 15 of the initial full cash value established. The property owner then has
until July 15 to file an application to appear before DOR and be heard concerning the full cash value determined. If
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the property owner is not satisfied with DOR’s valuation, they can appeal to either the State Board of Equalization
[A.R.S. § 42-16158] by October 1 or directly to the Superior Court [A.R.S. § 42-16204] by December 15.

The county assessors are responsible for the valuation of all properties not valued by the state. The assessor must
notify the real property owners through a “Notice of Value” form by March 1 of the initial values of existing
properties for the following tax year [A.R.S. § 42-15101]. The taxpayer then has 60 days to appeal to the assessor
[A.R.S. § 42-16051]. The assessor must rule on these appeals by August 15 [A.R.S. § 42-16055]. The property
owner then has 25 days to appeal to the State Board of Equalization for property located in Maricopa or Pima
County or the County Board of Supervisors for property located in other counties [A.R.S. § 42-16105]. The county
or state board must rule on these appeals by October 15 [A.R.S. § 42-16108]. If the taxpayers are still unsatisfied
with the result, they may directly appeal to the state tax court within 60 days after the mailing of the decision, or
by December 15, whichever is later [A.R.S. § 42-16202].

For new construction, additions to, deletions from, or splits or consolidations of assessment parcels, or changes to
the use of real property resulting in a change of legal classification, the county assessor is required to notify the
property owners of the initial values through a “Notice of Change” form by September 30 of the valuation year.
The Notice of Change applies to property changes that occurred after September 30 of the year preceding the
valuation year and before October 1 of the valuation year. As with the Notice of Value, the valuation year for the
Notice of Change is defined as the calendar year preceding the year in which taxes are levied [A.R.S. § 42-15105].
Within 25 days after the date of the assessor’s Notice of Change, the owner may file an appeal to the County Board
of Equalization or the State Board of Equalization, whichever is applicable. The Board of Equalization must issue a
ruling on or before the third Friday in November. The taxpayer then has 60 days to appeal to the state tax court
[A.R.S. § 42-16205].

On or before February 10, each county assessor is required to provide the staff of JLBC and the Governor’s Office
of Strategic Planning and Budgeting (OSPB) the property values used to compute the TNT Rates for Equalization
Assistance to School Districts [A.R.S. § 42-17052C].

On or before February 10, the governing board of each fire district is required to transmit to the Property Tax
Oversight Commission the total assessed value of all property annexed by the district in the preceding calendar
year [A.R.S. § 42-17052D].

Collections. The lieu taxes on private car companies and airline flight property are collected by DOR [A.R.S. § 42-
14308 and § 42-14255]. All other property taxes are collected by the county treasurers [A.R.S. § 42-18001].
Property taxes collected by the county treasurers must be apportioned to the taxing districts at the end of each
month. Any property taxes apportioned to the state must be remitted to the State Treasurer by the 15 day of the
following month [A.R.S. § 35-145].

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

Normally, one-half of the tax on real and personal property is due and payable on October 1 of the tax year, unless
the total amount of the tax due is $100 or less, in which case the full amount of the tax is due and delinquent after
November 1. The remaining one-half of the tax is due on March 1 of the year following the tax year and
delinquent after May 1 [A.R.S. § 42-18052]. Both of these payments fall in the same fiscal year.

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2016. As noted previously, due to the repeal of the state property tax in 1996 (Laws 1996, 7*" Special Session,
Chapter 2), the state no longer levies a property tax. For this reason, property tax legislation primarily affects the
state General Fund through its impact on Arizona Department of Education (ADE) expenditures. Under the K-12
funding formula, the state must offset any loss of local property tax revenue by a commensurate increase in ADE
state aid to schools.
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2022 LAWS

Laws 2022, Chapter 103 sets the full cash value of business and agricultural personal property initially classified in
TY 2022 or later to 2.5% of the property's acquisition cost. Under the valuation tables in place prior to Chapter 103,
it generally took between 3 and 30 years for such property to depreciate to 2.5% of its acquisition cost. Laws 2022,
Chapter 103 was not scored as part of the 3-year budget plan. Under a separate fiscal analysis by the JLBC Staff,
Chapter 103 was estimated to increase General Fund K-12 funding formula costs by $9.2 million in FY 2023, $19.2
million in FY 2024, and $29.6 million in FY 2025. Since the state does not levy a property tax, there is no General
Fund revenue impact.

Laws 2022, Chapter 171 reduces the Class 1 (commercial) property assessment ratio from 16.0% in TY 2025 to
15.5% in TY 2026 and 15.0%, beginning in TY 2027. The JLBC Fiscal Note estimated that the Class 1 assessment
ratio reduction will increase General Fund K12 funding formula costs by $3.8 million in FY 2027 and $6.9 million,
beginning in FY 2028. Since the state does not levy a property tax, there is no General Fund revenue impact.

Laws 2022, Chapter 261 allows property leased to a U.S. veterans' organization to qualify as Class 9 property.
According to the JLBC Fiscal Note, the Maricopa County Assessor's Office expects the bill to have a minimal impact
on the tax base.

Laws 2022, Chapter 287 removes the 200-unit cap for an affordable rental housing project to qualify for the low-
income housing property tax exemption under A.R.S. § 42-11133.

Laws 2022, Chapter 300 makes several mostly technical and clarifying changes with respect to the types of
properties that can be classified under legal class 3 and 4. For the purpose of the "Rule B" calculation (which is
used to determine a property's limited value under certain circumstances), Chapter 300 requires that a property's
change of use must be physical and objectively verifiable.

Laws, Chapter 317 eliminates the State Equalization Assistance Tax Rate (SETR), beginning in FY 2023. The
elimination of SETR is estimated to increase the General Fund cost for the K-12 funding formula by $330.5 million
in FY 2023.

Laws 2022, Chapter 341 provides a property tax exemption for veterans with service- or nonservice-connected
disabilities in direct proportion to the percentage rating of the veteran's disability. If approved by voters in the
November 2022 General Election, the veterans' exemption is estimated to result in a General Fund K-12 funding
formula savings of $1.0 million, beginning in FY 2024. The savings is due to a property tax shift from homes owned
by veterans to owners of other types of property. Since the state does not levy a property tax, there is no General
Fund revenue impact. Chapter 341 is contingent on voter approval of Proposition 130 at the November 2022
General Election.

2021 LAWS

Laws 2021, Chapter 26 requires DOR to adjust the base value used to determine the Full Cash Value (FCV) of
pipelines in cases of: 1) a final court ruling that the FCV of a pipeline determined using the required statutory
valuation formula is more than the market value determined using standard appraisal methods and techniques; 2)
an agreement between a pipeline company and DOR resulting from a pending tax appeal, in which the parties
enter into a binding stipulation approved by the court; or 3) an agreement between a pipeline and DOR to correct
an error in the calculation of the FCV of the system plan in service. In the first case, the FCV of the system plant
determined by the court for the most recent tax year involved in the tax appeal is the base value for the
subsequent tax year and DOR must adjust all valuations for future tax years. In the second and third cases, DOR
must adjust the base value as set forth in the binding stipulation or agreement. (Effective retroactively from
January 1, 2016)

Laws 2021, Chapter 109 requires a county board of supervisors to compile property tax rates, levies, and
valuations for all taxing jurisdictions on a worksheet prescribed by DOR within seven days of adoption.

Laws 2021, Chapter 185 classifies real property and improvements to property of a guest ranch as Class 2(R)
property and classifies personal property of a guest ranch as Class 2(P) property. (Effective from September 29,
2021)
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Laws 2021, Chapter 352 classifies low-income multifamily residential rental properties as Class 4 (residential
rental) property and requires a county assessor to value these properties using an income-based method.

Laws 2021, Chapter 412 reduces the assessment ratio for Class 1 (commercial) property from 18.0% to 17.5% in TY
2022, 17.0% in TY 2023, 16.5% in TY 2024, and 16.0% in TY 2025, when fully implemented. Chapter 412 also
increases the Homeowner's Rebate percentage on Class 3 (residential) property from 47.19% to 50.0%, beginning
in TY 2022. Finally, the act increases the maximum property tax rate for Fire Assistance Districts from $3.25 per
$100 NAV to $3.375 in TY 2022 and $3.50, beginning in TY 2023. (Effective from September 29, 2021)

Laws 2021, Chapter 417 sets the FCV of renewable energy storage equipment at 20% of the depreciated cost of
the equipment. DOR is required to determine the FCV of taxable renewable energy storage equipment through
December 31, 2040. (Effective from September 29, 2021)

2020 LAWS

Laws 2020, Chapter 11 requires the county treasurer to mail the statement of taxes due to the owners of a
mortgaged property by November 1. In addition, the statement must separately list the amount of primary and
secondary taxes applicable to the property that is due to each taxing jurisdiction and, if applicable, the amount of
additional state aid to school districts provided to class 3 property. (Effective from August 25, 2020)

2019 LAWS

Laws 2019, Chapter 31 makes several changes to the procedures used for the sale of tax liens by county
treasurers. Most notably, Chapter 31 allows a county treasurer to prohibit a purchaser who failed to pay the
amount due on a closed tax lien sale from purchasing tax liens from any county in Arizona for up to 1 year.
(Effective from August 27, 2019)

Laws 2019, Chapter 49 allows inactive or partially inactive agricultural land due to partial reduction in water supply
or irrigation district water allotment to be eligible for classification as property used for agricultural purposes (Class
2). (Effective from August 27, 2019)

Laws 2019, Chapter 167 requires the county treasurer to mail a statement of taxes due to the owners of a
mortgaged property and when requested send a statement to the lender. (Effective from August 27, 2019)

Laws 2019, Chapter 208 exempts property owned by a nonprofit Residential Treatment Center from property
taxation. Property that is leased to but not owned by a nonprofit Residential Treatment Center is assessed and
taxed as Class 9 property. (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2019)

Laws 2019, Chapter 225 provides that tax-exempt personal property is not required to be reported to the county
assessor. (Effective from August 27, 2019)

Laws 2019, Chapter 249 requires that possessory improvements qualify for a limited property value and are valued
as real property. Chapter 249 defines possessory improvement as all residential, commercial, and industrial
buildings, together with appurtenant awnings, decks, docks, garages, carports, storage, or other incidental
buildings located on federal, state, county or municipal property or the property of another political subdivision of
Arizona that is owned by a nongovernmental possessor. (Effective from August 27, 2019)

Laws 2019, Chapter 291 establishes an appraisal method for solar energy devices such that the value is set at the
device's taxable original cost minus a 10-year accelerated depreciation schedule. In addition, businesses that own
solar energy devices are required to annually report the cost for property valuation purposes. The appraisal
method provided by Chapter 291 applies to solar energy devices for all tax years preceding the act's effective date.
In practice, this is for tax years 2015 through 2018. (Effective from August 27, 2019)

Laws 2019, Chapter 294 defines "agritourism" and sets criteria for it to be classified as Class 2 agricultural real
property. Agritourism under Chapter 294 is defined as any activity that allows members of the public to view,
enjoy, and participate in rural activities for recreational or educational purposes. (Effective from August 27, 2019)
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Laws 2019, Chapter 303 includes outstanding fees in the sale of a tax lien property and specifies that the
expiration date to foreclose on a tax lien property is determined by the original certificate of purchase. (Effective
from August 27, 2019)

Laws 2019, Chapter 306 makes changes to the "Rule B" calculation for purposes of determining a property's
Limited Property Value (LPV) when such property has been modified by construction, destruction, or demolition.
Under "Rule B," a parcel’s limited value is established at a level or percentage that is commensurate to the
relationship of LPV to Full Cash Value (FCV) of other properties of the same or similar use or legal classification.
Prior to Chapter 306, guidelines issued by the Department of Revenue stipulated that "Rule B" applied when
modification to a property resulting from construction, destruction of demolition equaled 10% or more of the prior
valuation year's FCV for that property. If the value of such modification was less than 10%, Rule A applied.
Chapter 306 provides that the Rule B calculation be applied when the value of the modification resulting from
construction, destruction, or demolition is 15% or greater that the property's FCV in the preceding valuation year.
(Effective from August 27, 2019)

Laws 2019, Chapter 308 modifies some of the conditions to qualify for tax exempt low-income housing. (Effective
from August 27, 2019)

2018 LAWS

Laws 2018, Chapter 73 prohibits the court from setting the full cash value of real property in a property tax appeal
to be greater than the amount appealed by the taxpayer to the Board of Equalization. This was an emergency
measure signed by the Governor on March 23, 2018. (Chapter 73 applies retroactively to property tax appeals
filed after December 31, 2016)

Laws 2018, Chapter 281 permits a community college district to resubmit a proposed primary tax levy amount to
the voters between 20 and 35 years after the initial tax levy amount was approved. The proposed levy must be
less than or equal to 2 times the otherwise authorized levy amount for the same year. Chapter 281 stipulates that
if the proposal is approved by voters in an election, the difference between the prior and new levy amounts must
be phased in over 3 tax years. Moreover, Chapter 281 prohibits a community college district whose proposal was
rejected by voters in an election from resubmitting a proposed primary tax levy until at least 2 years after the
election. (Effective from August 3, 2018)

Laws 2018, Chapter 319 makes several changes to the redemption and removal of real property tax liens, including
allowing a real property tax lien to be redeemed by any person who wants to pay on behalf of the owner by
making a charitable gift. (Effective from August 3, 2018)

2017 LAWS

Laws 2017, Chapter 178 was a tax correction bill that made technical and clarifying changes to the Arizona Revised
Statutes. (Effective from August 9, 2017)

Laws 2017, Chapter 198 requires truth and taxation notices of property tax increases to specify the increased tax
amount and what the tax would otherwise be without the increase. Chapter 198 additionally adds secondary
property tax review responsibilities and requirements for the Property Tax Oversight Commission. (Effective from
August 9, 2017)

Laws 2017, Chapter 220 expands accelerated depreciation provisions to include qualifying broadband
infrastructure property, such as cables, telecommunications equipment, and other property used in electronic
transmission of data. The act's accelerated depreciation provisions are expected to reduce statewide net assessed
valuation, beginning in TY 2019. The valuation reduction is estimated to increase General Fund spending on state
aid to school districts by $2.7 million, beginning in FY 2020. (Effective from January 1, 2018)

Laws 2017, Chapter 340 expands accelerated depreciation provisions to include Class 6 personal property located
within a foreign trade zone or military reuse zone. The reduction to statewide net assessed valuation under
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Chapter 340 is estimated to increase General Fund spending on state aid to school districts by $600,000 a year,
beginning in FY 2019. (Effective from January 1, 2018)

2016 LAWS

Laws 2016, Chapter 125 requires the Maricopa County Board of Supervisors to spend the remaining monies in the
Elderly Assistance Fund (EAF) after December 31, 2015 solely on the Elderly Assistance Program. In addition,
Chapter 125 requires that any subsequent appropriations made to EAF must be spent solely on the Program.
(Effective retroactively from January 1, 2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 168 establishes a third subclass under Class 2 referred to as Class 2(C). The new Class 2(C)
consists of real property, and improvement to real property, that is currently under a conservation easement. In
addition, Chapter 168 requires county assessors to establish and maintain a public digital registry of each parcel of
property classified as Class 2(C). (Effective January 1, 2017)

Laws 2016, Chapter 173 requires a proposed property tax levy by a community college district, county, or
municipality, which increased by 15% or more over the preceding year’s levy, excluding increases attributable to
new construction, to be approved by a unanimous roll call vote by the jurisdiction’s governing board. (Effective
August 6, 2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 208 provides that property that is occupied as the primary residency of the owner who also
uses the property for lease or rent to lodgers be classified as Class 3. Property that is leased or rented to lodgers
for residential purposes and is not the primary residency of the owner or used for commercial purposes, is
classified under Class 4. (Effective January 1, 2017)

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2016 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
https://www.azjlbc.gov/22taxbook/22taxbk.pdf.
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AIRCRAFT LICENSE TAX

DESCRIPTION
The aircraft license tax is a tax imposed on aircraft based and registered in the state [A.R.S. § 28-8335].
DISTRIBUTION

Effective August 9, 2017, Laws 2017, Chapter 312 provides that monies received from the aircraft license tax be
deposited as follows [A.R.S. § 28-8345]:

e 50% to the state General Fund.

e 35% to the State Aviation Fund for use in the construction, development, and improvement of airports.
e 9.5% to counties based on proportion of total state population.

e 5.5%toincorporated cities and towns based on proportion of total state population.

Table 1
COLLECTIONS UNDER LAWS 2017, CHAPTER 312

Fiscal Year General Fund Aviation Fund Counties Cities and Towns Total
2022 $4,689,790 $3,282,853 $891,060 $515,877 $9,379,580
2021 $4,329,434 $3,030,604 $822,592 $476,238 $8,658,868
2020 $4,134,843 $2,894,390 $785,620 $454,833 $8,269,686
2019 $4,121,315 $2,816,905 $783,050 $453,345 $8,174,614

2018 4 $3,443,111 $2,410,178 $654,191 $378,742 $7,032,339
1/ Includes collections from August 9, 2017 to June 30, 2018.
SOURCE: Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT), Office of Financial Planning.

Prior to Chapter 312, all monies received from the aircraft license tax were deposited in the State Aviation Fund, as
reflected in Table 2.

Table 2
COLLECTIONS PRIOR TO LAWS 2017, CHAPTER 312
Fiscal Year Aviation Fund Fiscal Year Aviation Fund
2018 Y $146,117 2008 $7,413,608
2017 $7,590,999 2007 $7,748,524
2016 $7,937,596 2006 $5,980,022
2015 $6,986,349 ¥ 2005 $5,577,258
2014 $7,326,085 2004 $5,748,210
2013 $7,374,472 2003 $4,360,187
2012 $8,802,691 2002 $3,543,819
2011 $7,733,417 2001 $3,176,180
2010 $7,582,645 2000 $3,094,727
2009 $6,900,648 1999 $2,365,498

1/ Includes collections from July 1, 2017 to August 9, 2017.
2/ Does not include a 13t month fiscal year adjustment.
SOURCE: Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT), Office of Financial Planning.
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WHO PAYS
The tax is paid by owners of aircraft registered in the state, unless an exemption is provided [A.R.S. § 28-8324].
REVENUE BASE AND RATE

The revenue base is aircraft based in the state and registered with the Arizona Department of Transportation
(ADOT). ADOT is responsible for determining the fair market value of such aircraft each year as established by the
dealer price guides or other recognized reliable source of information [A.R.S. § 28-8342].

The following are exempt from the aircraft license tax:

(1) Regularly scheduled aircraft operated by an airline company for hire [A.R.S. § 28-8322].

(2) Nonresident-owned aircraft not used for intrastate commercial activities and not based in Arizona for more
than 90 days per year [A.R.S. § 28-8322].

(3) A balloon. A balloon is defined as an aircraft that is a flexible, nonporous bag inflated with a gas that is lighter
than air or a hot air balloon [A.R.S. § 28-8322].

(4) Aircraft operated exclusively in the public service by the United States Government, the state, a political
subdivision, or the Civil Air Patrol [A.R.S. § 28-8323].

The tax rate is 0.5% of the average fair market value of the aircraft, except that in no case shall the tax be less than
$20 per year unless an exemption has been established. The aircraft license tax may not have an annual
percentage change that is more than the annual percentage change in the average consumer price index as
published by the United States Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics. The aircraft license tax is
benchmarked in FY 2022 to the fair market value of the aircraft in 2019. [A.R.S. § 28-8335]. A nonresident who
bases an aircraft in Arizona for more than 90 days but less than 210 days in any calendar year and is not engaged in
intrastate commercial activity is subject to a tax rate equal to 0.1% of the average fair market value [A.R.S. § 28-
8336].

The license tax for aircraft in storage or under repair is $20 per aircraft [A.R.S. § 28-8337]. The license tax for
salvaged aircraft that is in storage or being restored is $5 per aircraft [A.R.S. § 28-8338]. The license tax for
antique, classic, warbird, glider, experimental, or homebuilt aircraft is $20 per aircraft [A.R.S. § 28-8339]. The
license tax for manufacturer’s aircraft is $20 per aircraft [A.R.S. § 28-8340]. The license tax for maintenance
aircraft owned by a nonresident is $20 per aircraft [A.R.S. § 28-8341].

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

All aircraft based in the state, except those for which exemptions were provided, must be registered with ADOT
within 60 days after the aircraft was brought into the state. ADOT establishes a system of staggered registrations
on a monthly basis to distribute the work of registering aircraft throughout the 12 months in a calendar year.
Within the staggered system, ADOT may register an aircraft for more or less than a 12-month period, but not more
than an 18-month period, and will prorate the license tax to 1/12 the full amount for each full month of the
registration cycle [A.R.S. § 28-8322.01].

ADOT may register a fleet of two or more aircraft on an annual basis so that the registrations for all aircraft in the
fleet expire in the same month. ADOT is required to approve such requests, if an applicant meets the specified

requirements, 30 days prior to the registration date [A.R.S. § 28-8322.02].

The registration fee is $5 per year [A.R.S. § 28-8325]. If the registration requirement is not met, then a penalty of
$25 for the first month and $5 for each succeeding month of delinquency will be assessed [A.R.S. § 28-8329].

The aircraft license tax is payable to ADOT upon initial registration and annually as established under the staggered
registration system [A.R.S. § 28-8335].
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Owners of aircraft in storage or salvaged aircraft must notify ADOT within 10 days of the date the aircraft is
returned to use and then pay the appropriate license tax, if any, on a pro rata basis [A.R.S. § 28-8337 and § 28-
8338].

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2016.

There were no changes enacted to this tax in 2016 and in the period from 2018 through 2021.
2022 LAWS

Laws 2022, Chapter 264 modifies the exemptions for the aircraft license tax and rules for registering aircraft. A
balloon is exempt from the aircraft license tax. In lieu of a registration date on or before the last day of February
each year, ADOT must establish a system of staggered registration on a monthly basis in a calendar year. Under
the staggered registration system, ADOT may register an aircraft for more or less than a 12-month period, but not
more than an 18-month period, and will prorate the license tax to 1/12 the full amount for each full month of the
registration cycle. ADOT is permitted to register a fleet of two or more aircraft on an annual basis. ADOT must
approve such requests, if an applicant meets the specified requirements, 30 days prior to the registration date.

Laws 2022, Chapter 321 limits the assessment of the aircraft license tax to not exceed the annual percentage
change in the U.S. Consumer Price Index (CPl). Chapter 321 further benchmarks the license tax in FY 2022 to the
fair market value of the aircraft in 2019. ADOT is required to apply a credit in FY 2023 to any aircraft in FY 2022
that was assessed and paid an aircraft license tax that exceeds the benchmark to make up the difference.

2017 LAWS

Laws 2017, Chapter 312 modifies aircraft license tax distribution to account for a change in jet fuel tax distribution.
A December 2014 federal policy change requires aviation fuel taxes to be used only for airport-related purposes.
Prior law distributed 40% of jet fuel excise tax revenue to the Transaction Privilege Tax (TPT) distribution base and
60% to the state General Fund, and 100% of jet fuel use tax collections to the state General Fund. (For more
details on the jet fuel taxes, see the Jet Fuel Excise and Use Tax section.) In order to meet compliance with the
federal policy change, Chapter 312 distributes jet fuel tax collections entirely to the State Aviation Fund. To make
this change revenue neutral, Chapter 312 modifies the aircraft license tax distribution to backfill the losses to the
state General Fund and recipients of TPT distribution base funds. (Effective August 9, 2017)

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2016 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
https://www.azjlbc.gov/22taxbook/22taxbk.pdf.
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IN LIEU TAX ON PRIVATE RAILROAD CAR COMPANIES

DESCRIPTION

This tax is imposed in lieu of all other taxes on the property and business of private railroad car companies in the
state, except for the annual license tax and registration fee [A.R.S. § 42-14308]. Private railroad car companies
operate, furnish, or lease cars that transport people or freight over railroad lines located wholly or partially in the
state, and that are not owned, leased, or operated by them [A.R.S. § 42-14301].

DISTRIBUTION
Table 1 below provides historical private railroad car company tax collections for the past 20 years. The

Department of Revenue remits tax payments from private railroad car companies to the State Treasurer for
deposit in the state General Fund [A.R.S. § 42-14308].

Table 1
COLLECTIONS
Fiscal Year General Fund Fiscal Year General Fund
2022 $2,426,134 2012 $1,065,773
2021 $2,380,655 2011 $1,283,026
2020 $2,220,383 2010 $1,335,091
2019 $2,027,884 2009 $1,435,069
2018 $2,038,908 2008 $1,615,246
2017 $1,726,458 2007 $1,709,362
2016 Y $(189,264) 2006 $1,426,435
2015% $3,484,442 2005 $1,312,163
2014 ¥ $(1,061,682) 2004 $1,335,056
2013 ¥ $3,698,193 2003 $1,485,996
1/ Absent a refund of $(1,819,028) to correct for an error from FY 2015, collections would have
been $1,629,764 in FY 2016.
2/ This figure includes $1,819,028 that should have been deposited to Flight Property Tax.
3/ Absent a refund of $(2,473,651) to correct for an error from FY 2013, collections would have
been $1,411,969 in FY 2014.
4/ This figure includes $2,473,651 that should have been deposited to Flight Property Tax.
SOURCE: Department of Revenue, Annual Reports.

WHO PAYS

The tax is paid by private railroad car companies in Arizona.

REVENUE BASE AND RATE

The tax base is the full cash value, as determined by the Department of Revenue, on or before June 15 each year
[A.R.S. § 42-14305]. The assessed value of private railroad car property is derived by multiplying its full cash value
by the Class 5 assessment ratio [A.R.S. § 42-12005]. The assessment ratio for Class 5 property is re-calculated each

year based on a statutory formula [A.R.S. § 42-15005]. The TY 2021 assessment ratio for this type of property is
15%.
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The tax rate for properties operated by private railroad car companies is equal to the sum of the average rates for
primary and secondary property taxes in the taxing jurisdictions in this state for the current year [A.R.S. § 42-
14308]. The statewide average tax rate for TY 2020 was $12.17 per $100 of assessed value.

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

This tax is due and payable on October 1 and delinquent after November 1. (Delinquent taxes bear interest at the
rate determined pursuant to A.R.S. § 42-1123 for each subsequent month in which the tax remains unpaid.) The
tax is levied and collected by the Department of Revenue for deposit in the state General Fund [A.R.S. § 42-14308].

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2016.

There were no changes enacted to this tax from 2016 through 2022.

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2016 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
https://www.azjlbc.gov/22taxbook/22taxbk.pdf.
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VOLUNTARY CONTRIBUTIONS BY DISTRICTS

DESCRIPTION

Certain districts in Arizona are authorized to make voluntary contributions to the state, county, city, town, school
district, or other political subdivision instead of paying property taxes. The Legislature provided this incentive to
encourage such districts to operate as multi-purpose reclamation projects to provide funds for water conservation
and maintenance and development of their water distribution systems.

DISTRIBUTION

The County Treasurer is required to remit to the county, school districts, cities, towns, or other political
subdivisions, and the State of Arizona, all monies received as net voluntary contributions (see definition under
Revenue Base and Rate below) from districts in the same manner as property taxes are distributed.

The monies deposited in the state General Fund are from voluntary contributions for properties not located within
any school district, so-called unorganized districts [A.R.S. § 15-991.01], and for properties in certain school districts

ineligible for state aid, sometimes referred to as minimum qualifying tax rate (MQTR) districts [A.R.S. § 15-992].

The amount of voluntary contributions by districts deposited in the General Fund is shown in Table 1 below.

Table 1
COLLECTIONS
Fiscal Year General Fund Fiscal Year General Fund
2022 SO 2012 $767,569
2021 SO 2011 $422,596
2020 S0 2010 $84,855
2019 $48 2009 $708,972
2018 $1,141,412 2008 $1,053,210
2017 $1,967,722 2007 $2,037,640
2016 $1,620,904 2006 $2,490,685
2015 $1,445,224 2005 $2,653,117
2014 $1,490,121 2004 $1,769,124
2013 $243,985 2003 $2,030,685

SOURCE: Arizona Department of Administration’s Finance Division, Revenue Codes, the
State Treasurer’s Office, and the Salt River Project.

WHO PAYS

Any irrigation district, power district, electrical district, or agricultural improvement district organized under
Arizona law that is directly engaged in the sale of electrical power or energy other than for irrigation purposes
[A.R.S. § 48-241]. Effectively, this law applies mainly to properties included within the Salt River Project (SRP).
REVENUE BASE AND RATE

The revenue base is the statewide total gross voluntary contribution. This is the base from which to determine the

statewide net voluntary contribution, which is the total amount of voluntary contributions paid to all taxing
jurisdictions by the Salt River Project.
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In determining the net voluntary contributions paid by the Salt River Project in lieu of property taxes, the following
calculations are made [A.R.S. § 48-241 and § 48-242]:

(1) Calculate for all taxing districts combined the total property tax for which the Salt River Project would be liable
if assessed by the same property tax procedures as other similar properties for the current tax year.
(a) The method used would be the full cash value as determined by the Department of Revenue multiplied by
the assessment ratio for Class 1 property.
(b) The primary and secondary property tax rates for each taxing jurisdiction are then applied against the
product calculated in (a) above to obtain the statewide total gross voluntary contribution.

(2) To obtain the statewide net voluntary contribution, subtract the following deductions from the total gross
voluntary contribution determined above:

(a) The tax on properties devoted to production of electricity for pumping groundwater. This amount is
estimated by multiplying the total net property tax liability to which Salt River Project is subject by the
percent that represents the portion of electricity produced by Salt River Project during the preceding 5-
year period used specifically for pumping groundwater. (The maximum percent of electricity that may be
claimed for pumping groundwater is 10%, unless the percent of kilowatt hours devoted to pumping
groundwater exceeds 70% within a district.)

(b) The annual average of total water costs incurred by Salt River Project in producing and distributing water
for municipal use, as estimated by:

(i) Summing for the previous 3-year period, the operating expenses (less depreciation) attributable to:
(1) protection of watersheds, water production, development, storage, distribution and conservation,
and (2) any repayment of U.S. government debt obligations incurred by Salt River Project for water
department construction and expenses related to the development of future water projects.

(i) Dividing this sum by 3 to arrive at the annual average of total water costs.

(iii) Multiplying this total by the percent of total water produced by Salt River Project devoted to
municipal use during the latest 3 calendar years. (The percentage of water devoted to municipal use
is the ratio of total water for municipal uses for the past 3 calendar years to total water delivered for
all uses during the same time period.)

(c) Any taxes or assessments paid to the State of Arizona or its political subdivisions during the preceding
calendar year other than transaction privilege taxes, highway taxes, unemployment taxes, equipment
weight fees, improvement district assessments, and any other taxes paid by the district prior to effective
date of this law.

The district is required to report to the county assessors and the Department of Revenue by May 1 of each year
the factor used to compute each county’s proportion of the total deductions taken by the district. The district is
also required to submit to the Board of Supervisors at the same time as the submission of the assessment roll, an
estimate of the net contributions for the following fiscal year.

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

One-half of the voluntary contribution is paid to the County Treasurer of the county in which the property is
located on the first Monday in November of each year. The other half is due on the first Monday in May of the
succeeding calendar year [A.R.S. § 48-242E]. Each County Treasurer is required to remit to the State Treasurer the
state’s portion of the net voluntary contribution.

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2016.

There were no changes enacted to this revenue category from 2016 through 2022.

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2016 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
https://www.azjlbc.gov/22taxbook/22taxbk.pdf.
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LUXURY TAX ON CIGARETTES AND TOBACCO

DESCRIPTION

The luxury tax on cigarettes and tobacco is imposed on cigarettes, cigars, cavendish, and chewing tobacco, but not
on electronic cigarettes and vapor products. A luxury tax is a tax levied on items that are normally considered a
luxury rather than a necessity. The tax rate varies by product, with the rate for the largest revenue producer,
cigarettes, set at $2.00 per pack of 20. The majority of revenues from this tax are dedicated to health care
programs.

DISTRIBUTION

Revenues from the luxury tax on cigarettes and tobacco are distributed as follows:

Tax on Cigarettes

Of the $2.00 tax, 18¢ is distributed as part of the general tax rate for the following purposes:

e  (Corrections Fund. 2¢ of the 18¢ general tax rate per pack of 20 cigarettes is deposited in the Corrections Fund
[A.R.S. § 42-3104].

e General Fund. The remaining 16¢ of the 18¢ general tax rate per pack of 20 cigarettes is deposited in the
General Fund [A.R.S. § 42-3102].

e  State School Aid. 19.44% of general cigarette tax collections is allocated to state school aid. The 16¢ General
Fund distribution described above is presumed to contribute to the existing General Fund appropriation for
state school aid [A.R.S. § 42-3103].

In addition, $1.00 of the $2.00 cigarette tax is dedicated to health care and distributed to the following funds and
their subaccounts:

e Tobacco Tax and Health Care Fund. 40¢ is distributed to the following accounts of the Tobacco Tax and Health
Care Fund [A.R.S. § 36-771, § 42-3251, § 42-3252, § 42-3302]. While the 40¢ tax was originally created by
Proposition 200 in 1994, it was re-enacted by Proposition 200 in 2000. While the 40¢ tax was re-enacted,
Proposition 200 in 2000 did not recreate the accounts. As a result, the distributions are governed by the 1994
ballot proposition and are as follows:

a. Medically Needy Account — 70% of revenues, to provide health care or behavioral health care services for
those who cannot afford these services [A.R.S. § 36-774]. Created by Proposition 200 in 1994.

b. Health Education Account — 23% of revenues, for the prevention and reduction of tobacco use [A.R.S. §
36-772]. Created by Proposition 200 in 1994.

c. Health Research Account — 5% of revenues, for research on preventing and treating tobacco-related
disease and addiction [A.R.S. § 36-773]. Created by Proposition 200 in 1994.

d. Corrections Fund Adjustment Account — 2% of revenues, to compensate the Corrections Fund for
decreases in general cigarette tax revenues resulting from the levy of the cigarette tax dedicated to health
care [A.R.S. § 36-775]. The distribution, when combined with existing tobacco tax revenues to the
Corrections Fund, cannot exceed the FY 1994 tobacco tax revenues to the Corrections Fund. Any
revenues in excess of this amount are deposited into the General Fund. Created by Proposition 200 in
1994.

e Tobacco Products Tax Fund. Under the provisions of Proposition 303 in 2002, 60¢ is distributed to the
following accounts of the Tobacco Products Tax Fund [A.R.S. § 36-770, § 42-3251.01, § 42-3302]:

a. Proposition 204 Protection Account — 42% of revenues, to implement and fund the programs established
by Proposition 204 in the 2000 General Election [A.R.S. § 36-778]. Created by Proposition 303 in 2002.
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b. Medically Needy Account — 27% of revenues, to provide health care services for those who cannot afford
these services [A.R.S. § 36-774].

c. Emergency Health Services Account — 20% of revenues, to provide reimbursement of uncompensated
care, primary care services, and trauma center readiness costs [A.R.S. § 36-776]. Created by Proposition
303 in 2002.

d. Health Research Fund — 5% of revenues, for health research [A.R.S. § 36-275].

e. Health Care Adjustment Account — 4% of revenues, to compensate the subaccounts of the Tobacco Tax
and Health Care Fund for decreases in cigarette tax revenues resulting from the levy of this portion of the
cigarette tax [A.R.S. § 36-777]. Created by Proposition 303 in 2002.

f.  Health Education Account — 2% of revenues, for the prevention and early detection of the 4 leading
causes of death in Arizona [A.R.S. § 36-772]. Created by Proposition 303 in 2002.

Of the $2.00 cigarette tax, Proposition 203 in 2006 dedicated 80¢ to childhood development and health, which is
deposited into the following fund and its subaccounts:

e  Early Childhood Development and Health Fund. Monies are distributed to the following accounts of the Early
Childhood Development and Health Fund [A.R.S. § 42-3371, A.R.S. § 8-1181]:

a. Program Account — 90% of revenues, to improve the quality and availability of health and education
programs for pre-kindergarten children and their families who otherwise have limited access to such
services [A.R.S. § 8-1181, A.R.S. § 8-1171]. Created by Propositions 203 in 2006.

b. Administrative Costs Account — 10% of revenues, to cover the administrative costs of the Arizona Early
Childhood Development and Health Board [A.R.S. § 8-1181]. Created by Proposition 203 in 2006.

The remaining 2¢ of the $2.00 tax is distributed under the provisions of Proposition 201 in 2006 for the following
purpose:

e Smoke-Free Arizona Fund. Revenues are used to enforce the provisions of the Smoke-Free Arizona Act with
any unexpended monies being deposited in the Tobacco Products Tax Fund to be used for education programs

to reduce and eliminate tobacco use [A.R.S. § 42-3251.02, A.R.S. § 36-601.01].

Tax on Tobacco, Cavendish, and Cigars

Apart from the $2.00 cigarette tax, tobacco, cavendish, and cigars are taxed at different rates (see Table 3).
All of the general tax rate collections are distributed as follows:

e Corrections Fund. 50% of all general tax rate collections from the tax on tobacco products is deposited in the
Corrections Fund [A.R.S. § 42-3104].

e General Fund. The remaining general tax rate collections from the tax on tobacco products is deposited in the
General Fund [A.R.S. § 42-3102].

All monies collected from the 1994 Tobacco Tax and Health Care Tax, the 2002 Tobacco Product Tax, and the 2006

Early Childhood Development and Health Tax are distributed into their relevant funds at the same percentage as
cigarettes, described previously. However, the 2006 Smoke Free Arizona Tax only applies to cigarettes.

-138 -



Luxury Tax on Cigarettes and Tobacco

Table 1
COLLECTIONS AND DISTRIBUTION

Fiscal General Corrections

Year Fund Fund TTHCF ¥ TPTF Y ECDHF ¥ SFAF ¢/ Total
2022 $21,040,797  $5,309,673 $57,769,425 $86,696,532 $115,391,517 $2,591,349 $288,799,293
2021 $21,687,135  $5,187,491 $61,306,692 $84,966,240 $118,163,262 $2,680,993 $293,991,813
2020 $22,074,751  $5,039,778 $63,188,971 $86,729,908 $121,115,685 $2,765,706 $300,914,799
2019 $21,046,021  $4,909,797 $61,105,427 $83,852,401 $115,853,834 $2,645,393 $289,412,873
2018 $21,984,160  $5,074,109 $61,665,004 $84,606,892 $121,554,785 $2,784,370 $297,669,320
2017 $22,923,141  $5,150,372 $64,973,753 $90,112,386 $124,515,638 $2,879,410 $310,554,700
2016 $24,550,412  $5,143,144 $66,415,766  $92,031,875 $126,206,733 $2,941,563 $317,289,493
2015 $23,645,756  $5,230,839 $67,071,278  $93,055,529 $122,239,828 $2,848,986 $314,092,216
2014 $25,810,507  $5,100,324 $61,694,151  $91,923,081 $124,371,662 $2,918,213 $311,817,939
2013 $24,530,414  $5,041,634 $65,750,954 $91,044,441 $125,771,470 $2,956,134 $315,095,047
2012 $24,931,105  $5,142,535 $65,665,913  $90,953,118 $129,391,158 3,043,448 $319,127,277
2011 $25,066,894  $5,230,772 $68,781,910 $95,586,289 $130,083,235 $3,058,479 $327,807,579
2010 $25,810,438  $5,307,048 $69,089,344  $96,335,427 $133,118,902 $3,888,483 $333,549,642
2009 $29,080,647  $5,129,852 $76,972,057 $108,934,079 $151,363,815 $2,868,990 $374,349,440
2008 $32,467,344  $6,206,674 $83,868,465 $116,127,254 $164,805,113 $3,946,308 $407,421,158
2007 $37,558,776  $6,206,673 $100,500,062 $137,624,178  $74,445,246 $1,778,847 $358,121,881
2006 $39,578,709  $6,206,674 $106,821,045 $145,399,774 $298,006,202
2005 $38,360,552  $6,206,608 $102,310,127 $138,521,611 $285,398,898
2004 $36,757,081  $6,206,674 $98,163,310 $133,563,168 $275,104,562
2003 $41,174,667  $6,206,674 $105,027,137 $59,938,321 $212,346,799

1/ Tobacco Tax and Health Care Fund (Proposition 200 in 1994. The distribution was altered in Laws 2007, Chapter 150).
2/ Tobacco Products Tax Fund (Proposition 303 in 2002).
3/ Early Childhood Development and Health Fund (Proposition 203 in 2006).
4/ Smoke-Free Arizona Fund (Proposition 201 in 2006).

SOURCE: Department of Revenue, Luxury Tax Section.

WHO PAYS

Licensed distributors of cigars and other tobacco products besides cigarettes submit tax payments together with a
monthly return [A.R.S. § 42-3501]. Licensed distributors of cigarettes pay the tax through the purchase of tax
stamps from the Department of Revenue.

Every pack of cigarettes sold in Arizona must bear a stamp as a method of providing proof that a retailer or
distributor is in compliance with Arizona’s luxury tax laws [A.R.S. § 42-3401 and § 42-3452]. There are 4 categories
of stamps that are sold by the Department of Revenue to distributors, each with a different tax rate:

e  Blue stamps have a face value of $2.00 and include all cigarette taxes;
e Red stamps have a face value of $1.00 and include only the 40¢ and 60¢ health care taxes; and
e Green and Yellow stamps have a face value of $0.00.

Green, Yellow, and Red Stamps are used only on tribal nations.
The 40¢ tax (per package of 20 cigarettes) and the 60¢ tax per package are direct taxes on the consumer and are to
be collected and paid to the Department of Revenue by the distributors [A.R.S. § 42-3303]. The 18¢ general tax

rate per package, the 80¢ Early Childhood Development and Health Tax, and the 2¢ Smoke-Free Arizona tax are
considered to be a tax on the seller.
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The type of stamp sold on tribal nations varies depending on 4 factors: 1) whether the consumer is an enrolled
member of the Indian Tribe or the consumer is a member of the general public; 2) whether the seller is a tribal
member of the nation in which it is conducting business or the seller is a non-tribal member licensed by the federal
government to sell goods and services on the nation; 3) whether or not the Indian Tribe levies its own tribal tax;
and 4) whether the Indian Tribe exempts its members from the tribal tax.

Cigarette sales on tribal nations to non-members require either a $2.00 Blue or $1.00 Red stamp, depending on the
seller. Federally-licensed, non-tribal member sellers are required to purchase Blue stamps, meaning all $2.00 in
state taxes are applied to packs of cigarettes sold by these vendors. Tribal member sellers are required to
purchase Red stamps, meaning only $1.00 in state health care related cigarette taxes are included. If the tribe has
elected to impose its own tobacco tax, the amount of the tax collected (up to $1.00) is retained by the tribe and
not deposited into the state health care accounts. Tribal member sellers are exempt from paying the 18¢ general,
the 80¢ Early Childhood Development, and 2¢ Smoke-Free Arizona tax rates when selling to non-tribal members. A
December 2006 Attorney General Legal Opinion determined that the Early Childhood Development and Smoke-
Free Arizona taxes could be levied on tribal nation cigarettes sold only by federally-licensed, non-tribal member
sellers, in addition to the general cigarette tax rate. These taxes make up the $1.00 value of Red stamps.

Cigarette purchases by tribal members on their own nations are exempt from state taxes, regardless of seller
classification. These sales require a Green or Yellow stamp. Statute gives Indian tribes the ability to levy their own
tax on tobacco sales. Green stamps are used if the Tribe does not levy a tax, or if the Tribe has levied a tax, but
exempts members of the Tribe. A Yellow stamp is used when the Tribe levies a tax and does not exempt members
of the tribe. This provision allows the tribe to retain the funding collected from the optional tax and does not
specify how the tribe should spend the revenues collected. Table 2 displays the stamp assignments by customer
and seller classifications.

Table 2
CIGARETTE STAMP ASSIGNMENTS PER PACK
Indian Tribe
Member Exempt Indian Non-Exempt Indian All Other

Seller (No tribal tax) Tribe Member Tribe Member Consumers
All Vendors not on a tribal nation $2 Blue Stamp $2 Blue Stamp $2 Blue Stamp $2 Blue Stamp
Tribal Member Retailer S0 Green Stamp S0 Green Stamp S0 Yellow Stamp $1 Red Stamp¥
Federally-Licensed Non-Tribal Seller S0 Green Stamp S0 Green Stamp S0 Yellow Stamp $2 Blue Stamp

1/ If the tribe has elected to impose its own tobacco tax, the amount of the tax collected (up to $1.00) is retained by the tribe and not deposited into
the state health care accounts.

If the tribe imposes its own tax on cigarettes, the taxes collected by the state for cigarette sales on nations will be
levied at a rate that is the difference between the rate the state would otherwise levy and what the tribe imposes
[A.R.S. § 42-3302]. The offset applies only to the $1.00 in taxes collected for each pack sold that are dedicated to
the Tobacco Tax and Health Care Fund (40¢) and to the Tobacco Products Tax Fund (60¢) [A.R.S. § 42-3302]. For
example, if a tribe imposes a $0.75 tribal tax rate, the state tax rate would be $0.25. To date, 5 nations have not
enacted a tribal tax on cigarettes and 16 nations have enacted taxes that offset all or a part of the $1.00 per pack
of state cigarettes taxes dedicated to health care.

The tax treatment of other tobacco products is similar to the treatment of cigarettes described above, with the tax
rates detailed below in Table 3.

REVENUE BASE AND RATE

The revenue base consists of the following products [A.R.S. § 42-3052]:
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o (Cigarettes.

e Tobacco. Includes smoking tobacco, snuff, fine cut chewing tobacco, cut and granulated tobacco, shorts and
refuse of fine cut chewing tobacco, and refuse, scraps, clippings, cuttings, and sweepings of tobacco.

e Cavendish. Includes plug or twist tobacco.

e  Small cigars. Not weighing more than 3 pounds per 1,000.

e large cigars 5¢ or less. Weighing more than 3 pounds per 1,000 and retailing at 5¢ or less.

e Large cigars more than 5¢. Weighing more than 3 pounds per 1,000 and retailing at more than 5¢ each.

The tax rates are as follows [A.R.S. § 42-3052, § 42-3251, § 42-3251.01, § 42-3251.02, and § 42-3371]:

Table 3
TOBACCO PRODUCT TAX RATES
General Total
Tax 1994 2002 2006 2006 Tax
Item Rate TTHCF VY TPTFY ECDHF SFAF Rate
Cigarettes (per pack of 20) 18¢ 40¢ 60¢ 80¢ 2¢ $2.00
Tobacco per ounce 2¢ 4.5¢ 6.75¢ 9¢ -- 22.25¢
Cavendish per ounce 0.5¢ 1.1¢ 1.65¢ 2.2¢ -- 5.45¢
Small Cigars per 20 4¢ 8.9¢ 13.35¢ 17.8¢ -- 44.05¢
Large cigars 5¢ or less (per 3) 2¢ 4.4¢ 6.6¢ 8.8¢ -- 21.8¢
Large cigars more than 5¢ 2¢ 4.4¢ 6.6¢ 8.8¢ -- 21.8¢

1/ Tax Rates Dedicated to Health Care.

Tobacco powder or tobacco products used exclusively for agricultural or horticultural purposes and unfit for
human consumption are exempt from this tax [A.R.S. § 42-3052]. Additionally, electronic cigarettes and vapor
products are not subject to this tax, based on a July 30, 2014 Attorney General legal opinion.

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

Licensed distributors of cigarettes pay the luxury tax on cigarettes when they purchase a stamp from the
Department of Revenue [A.R.S. § 42-3452].

Statute allows distributors to purchase stamps at a cost less than the face value of the stamps. This discount
allows distributors to recoup the administrative cost of affixing stamps to cigarette packages. Beginning October 1,
2016, statute allows distributors that purchase cigarette stamps to receive a discount of 3.52% of the purchase of
the stamps. Blue and Red stamps will be purchased from the Department of Revenue for 96.48% of the face value
of the stamps, or $1.9296 for Blue stamps and $0.9652 for Red stamps. Distributors of Green and Yellow stamps
will receive the discount via a 3.52 cent administrative allowance for each Green and Yellow stamp purchased,
which will be realized when distributors file their monthly reports with DOR. Table 4 displays the amount of the
administrative discount as well as the amount of the tax collected by DOR for each stamp category [A.R.S. § 42-
3458].

Electronic Funds Transfer and Tax Filing Requirements

All licensed tobacco distributors are required to submit payments for cigarette stamp and other tobacco products
to DOR via Electronic Fund Transfer (EFT) [A.R.S. 42-3053]. A distributor who fails to make payments in a timely
manner via EFT is subject to civil penalties.

Additionally, licensed tobacco distributors are required to submit monthly tax returns and reports as well as refund
and rebate requests electronically to DOR.
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Table 4
CIGARETTE STAMP DISCOUNTS AND COLLECTED TAX
DOR
Stamp Category Discount per Stamp ¥ Tax Collected per Pack
Blue Stamps $0.0704 $1.9296
Red Stamps $0.0352 $0.9648%
Green Stamps $0.0352 s0¥
Yellow Stamps $0.0352 s0¥/

1/ Retained by distributor

2/ If Red stamps are sold to tribal member retailers on a tribal nation that has instituted its own tobacco
tax, the distributor who purchased the stamps may file for a rebate with DOR for the full face value of
the stamps.

3/ Green and Yellow stamps are differentiated by the end consumer. Green stamps are to be sold to
members of the tribal nation where the tribe has not imposed a tribal tax or the tribe exempts its
members from its own tribal tax. Yellow stamps are to be sold to tribal members where the tribe does
not exempt its members from the tax imposed by the tribe.

If distributors sell Red stamps to Tribal Member Retailers where the Tribe has levied its own tribal tax, the
distributors may file for a rebate of the cost of Red stamps with the Department of Revenue. This rebate is
granted for the full face value of the purchased stamps, creating a 3.52 cent administrative allowance because the
stamps were purchased at 96.48% of face value. Prior to Laws 2016, Chapter 125 rebates of Red stamps were
granted at the same price that stamps were purchased.

Licensed distributors of cigars or tobacco products other than cigarettes must pay the tax to the Department of
Revenue monthly on or before the 20" day of the next month succeeding the month in which the tax accrues.
Failure to pay the tax within 10 days of the due date will result in penalty and interest charges from the time the
tax was due until paid [A.R.S. § 42-3501].

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2016.

There were no changes enacted to this tax in 2018, or in the period from 2020 to 2022.

2019 LAWS

Laws 2019, Chapter 65 defines cavendish as a tobacco product that is smoked from a pipe that is either described
on packaging as cavendish, contains cavendish or has a cavendish blend, or appears to have been manufactured
with flavorings and humectants that exceed 20% of the weight of the tobacco contained in the product.

2017 LAWS

Laws 2017, Chapter 60 requires payments and tax filings to be made electronically.

2016 LAWS

Laws 2016, Chapter 122 allows monies in the Medically Needy Account to be used for behavioral health care
services.

Laws 2016, Chapter 125 changes the cigarette stamp discount from 96.0% of face value to 96.48% of face value,
and grants an administrative allowance of 3.52 cents for all Green and Yellow stamps, as well as Red stamps where
the tax is not pre-collected and the distributor purchases the stamps on credit.
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A listing of tax law changes prior to the 2016 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
https://www.azjlbc.gov/22taxbook/22taxbk.pdf.

- 143 -


https://www.azjlbc.gov/22taxbook/luxtaxcig.pdf

LUXURY TAX ON LIQUOR

DESCRIPTION

The luxury tax on liquor is levied on wholesalers of spirituous, vinous, and malt liquors. In addition, the luxury tax
is also levied on every farm winery, microbrewery, craft distiller, or winery holding a direct shipment license that
sells vinous or malt liquor at retail or to certain licensees.

Arizona operates on a three-tier distribution system for most liquor sales. The first tier consists of manufacturers
or producers of liquor who sell to licensed wholesalers. The second tier consists of licensed wholesalers who sell
to licensed retailers. The third tier consists of licensed retailers who make final sales to consumers, and not for
resale. Farm wineries, microbreweries, and craft distillers are not subject to the three-tier distribution system and
may sell directly to retailers or consumers within the state.

Within the three-tier distribution system, Arizona imposes a luxury tax only at the second-tier level (i.e., on the
wholesalers for sales of liquor with the state). Producers or manufacturers (first tier) and licensed retailers (third
tier) are generally not liable for luxury tax.

DISTRIBUTION
Revenues from this tax are distributed among several funds, including:

State School Aid. 1.17% of spirituous liquor tax collections and 14% of tax collections from vinous liquor with a
high alcohol content (over 24%) are allocated for state school aid. In practice, these monies are deposited in the
General Fund, which in turn funds state school aid. [A.R.S. § 42-3103]

Corrections Fund. 20% of the monies collected from spirituous liquor and 50% of the monies collected from vinous
and malt liquors are deposited in the Corrections Fund [A.R.S. § 42-3104].

Drug Treatment and Education Fund. 7% of the monies collected from spirituous liquor and 18% of the monies
collected from vinous and malt liquors are deposited in the Drug Treatment and Education Fund of the Arizona
Judiciary [A.R.S. § 42-3106A].

Corrections Revolving Fund. 3% of the monies collected from spirituous liquor and 7% of the monies collected
from vinous and malt liquors are deposited in a revolving fund of the Department of Corrections [A.R.S. § 42-
31068].

General Fund. All remaining tax monies are deposited in the General Fund [A.R.S. § 42-3102].
WHO PAYS
The luxury tax on liquor is added to the sales price of liquor items and is paid by:

e Wholesalers who purchase malt liquors for resale within Arizona [A.R.S. § 42-3353A].

e Wholesalers who sell spirituous liquors within Arizona [A.R.S. § 42-3354A].

e Wholesalers who sell vinous liquors within Arizona [A.R.S. § 42-3354B].

e Every farm winery, microbrewery, craft distiller, or winery holding a direct shipment license that sells vinous or
malt liquor at retail or to certain licensees. [A.R.S. § 42-3355].

REVENUE BASE AND RATE
The following is the revenue base and rate for each liquor type [A.R.S. § 42-3052]. A proportionate rate is applied

to each liquor type for greater or lesser quantities:
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e  Spirituous liquor. S3 per gallon. Examples of spirituous liquor include whiskey and vodka.

e  Vinous Liquor with High Alcohol Content. $0.25 on each container of 8 ounces or less of vinous liquor having
an alcohol content of greater than 24%. Containers exceeding 8 ounces are taxed at a rate of $0.25 per 8
ounces. An example of vinous liquor at this alcohol content level is brandy. According to the Department of
Revenue, no revenue has been collected from this tax in recent years.

e Vinous Liquor with Low Alcohol Content. $0.84 per gallon on each container of vinous liquor with an alcohol
content of 24% or less, except cider. An example of vinous liquor at this alcohol content level is white wine.

e  Malt Liquor. $0.16 on each gallon of malt liquor or cider. Examples of malt liquor are beer and cider made
from apples, pears and other pome fruit that does not exceed an alcohol content of 7%.

COLLECTIONS AND DISTRIBUTION

Corrections
Fund

$31,352,671
$31,795,434
$28,345,593
$27,235,821
$26,898,876
$26,292,469
$25,774,829
$25,446,032
$25,496,628
$24,686,455
$24,635,454
$23,221,811
$23,918,010
$23,587,644
$23,976,492
$23,273,991
$22,636,747
$22,068,568
$20,938,588
$20,419,376

Table 1
General
Fiscal Year Fund ¥
2022 $43,919,974
2021 $43,150,557
2020 $38,068,485
2019 $37,268,293
2018 $36,029,582
2017 $34,687,070
2016 $33,618,388
2015 $33,101,191
2014 $32,901,156
2013 $31,654,182
2012 $31,425,990
2011 $28,532,514
2010 $29,541,822
2009 $28,797,539
2008 $28,562,812
2007 $28,277,919
2006 $27,192,240
2005 $26,085,548
2004 $24,543,937
2003 $23,412,284
1/ Includes funds to be used for state school aid.
2/

Wine
Promotional
Fund ¥
SO
SO
SO
SO
SO
SO
SO
SO
SO
SO
SO
SO
SO
SO
$29,003
$35,965
$38,481
$34,667
$27,995
$25,497

Corrections
Revolving
Fund

$4,296,865
$4,384,893
$4,048,034
$3,891,849
$3,841,109
$3,752,748
$3,677,579
$3,630,371
$3,636,704
$3,520,472
$3,512,658
$3,307,459
$3,407,130
$3,358,868
$3,411,936
$3,313,708
$3,221,929
$3,139,770
$2,978,318
$2,902,721

Drug
Treatment &
Education
Fund
$10,704,820
$10,944,235
$10,124,758
$9,726,060
$9,608,327
$9,393,483
$9,209,833
$9,092,642
$9,111,608
$8,822,750

$8,805,069
$8,303,445
$8,551,873
$8,434,654
$8,576,309
$8,323,288
$8,096,444
$7,894,513
$7,490,976
$7,306,966

Total
Collections
$90,274,330
$90,275,119
$80,586,870
$78,122,023
$76,377,895
$74,125,770
$72,280,629
$71,270,235
$71,146,096
$68,683,859
$68,379,171
$63,365,229
$65,418,835
$64,178,705
$64,556,552
$63,188,906
$61,147,360
$59,223,067
$55,979,814
$54,066,844

Monies collected for this fund were transferred quarterly by the General Accounting Office to the Department of Commerce to pay back an

outstanding loan the now defunct Wine Commission had taken from the Commerce Economic Development Fund. The statute establishing the
Wine Promotion Fund was repealed by Laws 2005, Chapter 11.

SOURCE: Department of Revenue, Annual Reports.

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

Wholesalers, domestic farm wineries, and domestic microbreweries must submit a return and pay the luxury tax
on liquor to the Department of Revenue monthly on or before the 20" day of the month following the month in
which the tax accrues. The tax must be paid within 10 days of the due date to avoid penalty and interest charges

[A.R.S. § 42-3353 and § 42-3354].

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since

2016.
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There were no changes enacted to this tax from 2018 through 2022.
2017 LAWS

Laws 2017, Chapter 60 requires payments and tax filings to be made electronically beginning January 1, 2020 or
whenever the Department of Revenue has established an electronic filing program, whichever is later.

2016 LAWS

Laws 2016, Chapter 76 allows all wineries to obtain a direct shipment license to sell and ship wine directly to
consumers. Prior to Chapter 76, a direct shipment license required producers to ship any out-of-state alcohol to a
wholesaler, and then to a retailer unless the consumer was physically present at a winery at the time of the
purchase, which would allow the winery to ship directly to the consumer’s residence or business. The direct
shipment license holder is required to pay all applicable luxury taxes. (Effective August 6, 2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 125 permanently extends the luxury tax revenue allocation to the Corrections Fund by
eliminating the June 30, 2015 repeal date.

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2016 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
https://www.azjlbc.gov/22taxbook/22taxbk.pdf.
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ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE LICENSE FEES

DESCRIPTION

Alcoholic beverage license fees are charged to sellers and producers of these beverages. Fees are charged for
original licenses, license renewals, and transfers of licenses. The number of original licenses granted per county is
restricted according to county population. Fee amounts vary by type of fee and type of seller or producer (e.g.,
restaurant, hotel, microbrewery, etc.). The revenues from the license fees are distributed among several
recipients.

DISTRIBUTION

Club Licenses and Applications. The revenues derived from club licensing and applications are dedicated to the
Department of Economic Security's Economic Security Capital Investments Fund [A.R.S. § 4-116].

Special Event Licenses. Collections are dedicated to the Department of Health Services for use in the evaluation
and treatment of alcoholics [A.R.S. § 4-203.02A].

Sampling and Growler Permits. Collections from sampling and growler permit applications are deposited in the
Liquor Licenses Fund and continuously appropriated to the Department of Liquor Licenses and Control in addition
to the department's legislative appropriation [A.R.S. § 4-116.01].

All Other Licenses. Except for the above club, special event, and some restaurant license fees, two-thirds of license
fees are deposited in the Liquor Licenses Fund. Any revenues of this two-thirds of license fees in excess of the
amount appropriated to the Liquor Licenses Fund are deposited into the state General Fund. One-third of the
license fees collected in counties with a population of 500,000 or less are to be paid monthly by the Director of
Liquor Licenses and Control to the treasurer of those counties. For each county with a population of over 500,000,
the director is to pay the county treasurer from the remaining one-third of license fees the amount of $3,000 for
each new license issued for premises in unincorporated areas of that county, up to a maximum of $150,000. The
remainder of the one-third of license fees collected in counties with a population of over 500,000 is deposited in
the state General Fund [A.R.S. § 4-115].

WHO PAYS

The tax is paid by manufacturers, wholesalers, out-of-state producers, exporters, importers or rectifiers, retailers
of alcoholic beverages, businesses authorized by local governments to sell liquor, and farm wineries or
microbreweries. All sellers of alcoholic beverages, including Indian tribal members on reservations, are required to
pay the license fees [A.R.S. § 4-209].

REVENUE BASE AND RATE

License and Permits. A flat fee is charged for an original license, annual and biannual license renewals, transfers of
licenses, assignments of agents, and interim permits. Licenses can expire annually or biannually depending on the
type of license renewal and whether the holder received any compliance penalties in the year prior to renewal. In
addition, for each additional original license issued there will be levied a separate issuance fee equal to the
license's fair market value which will be deposited in the state General Fund [A.R.S. § 4-209, A.R.S. § 4-203.01, .02,
and .03, and A.R.S. § 42-206.01].

Surcharges. Certain licenses are assessed various surcharges as part of the annual license renewal fee. The
revenues from these surcharges are dedicated to costs associated with audit and support staff activities, and costs
associated with an enforcement program to investigate licensees who have been the subject of multiple
complaints to the department [A.R.S. § 4-209J&K].
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Maximum Additional Licenses Per County. With the exception of bar, beer and wine bar, liquor store and some
restaurant licenses issued pursuant to A.R.S. § 4-213E, there is no maximum number of licenses that can be issued.
Restaurant licenses that do not meet the definition of a restaurant and receive permission from the Department of
Liquor Licenses and Control to continue to operate as a restaurant are limited to a maximum of 15 restaurant
licenses in any fiscal year. In FY 2013 and beyond, no additional licensees will be granted permission to continue to
operate under A.R.S. § 4-213E.

The Department of Liquor Licenses and Control shall annually issue 1 bar and 1 liguor store license in each county
for each 10,000 person increase over the population in that county as estimated by the Office of Economic
Opportunity as of July 1, 2010 minus the number of licenses distributed since 2010. The director may also issue
new bar and liguor store licenses for each license that has been revoked or reverted in each county for the first 5
revoked or reverted licenses. If the number of revoked or reverted licenses is greater than 5, the director may
issue the initial 5 new licenses plus a number equal to 20% of the difference between the total number of revoked
or reverted licenses and 5.

The department shall annually issue 1 beer and wine bar license in each county for each 5,000 person increase
over the population in that county as of July 1, 2010 minus the number of licenses distributed since 2010 until
January 1, 2022, and issue 1 new license for each 10,000 person increase thereafter. However, the director may
opt to waive the issuance of any new, or reissuance of any revoked or reverted licenses in any county for 1 year if
there has been no request made to the department for the issuance of a license of that series (A.R.S. § 4-206.01B).

Table 1
COLLECTIONS AND DISTRIBUTION
Department Department
of of Liquor
Fiscal General Economic Health Audit Enforcement Liquor Licenses
Year Total Fund Security Services Counties  Surcharge Surcharge  Department Y23/ Fund
2022 $10,773,440 $5,453,200 $51,575 $13,545 $430,485 $195,420 $836,105 $294,910 $3,498,200
2021 $10,773,440 $5,453,200 $51,575 $13,545 $430,485 $195,420 $836,105 $294,910 $3,498,200
2020 $11,485,604 $6,298,746 $45,625 $62,615 $420,244 $188,710 $817,910 $277,955 $3,373,800
2019 $10,008,340 $5,121,964 $45,025 $80,135 $434,381 $187,260 $810,980 $242,595 $3,086,000
2018 $9,741,176  $5,032,422 $41,700 $72,500 $396,657 $182,550 $785,625 $128,000 $3,047,500
2017 $9,994,536 $5,349,139 $48,825 $70,925 $390,872 $179,230 $807,145 $141,000 $3,007,400
2016 $8,532,918 $3,713,973 $47,225 $71,200 $382,115 $173,190 $789,915 SO $3,355,300
2015 $7,651,662 $3,187,414 $47,775 $66,725 $440,228 $169,080 $777,940 SO $2,962,500
2014 $6,379,186 $1,932,468 $54,550 $64,725 $442,258 $170,680 $782,305 SO $2,932,200
2013 $6,476,642 $2,064,997 $59,025 $57,800 $448,900 $166,800 $767,820 SO $2,911,300
2012 $5,989,607 $1,716,990 $45,550 $57,850 $427,877 $164,220 $761,520 SO $2,815,600
2011 $8,760,692 $4,660,056 $55,650 $54,675 $404,971 $165,030 $761,610 SO $2,658,700
2010 $6,110,927 $2,913,632 $46,200 $45,275 $385,795 $144,300 $662,025 SO $1,913,700
2009 $6,559,069 $5,040,087 $56,400 $49,175 $530,252 $158,730 $724,425 SO
2008 $6,333,680 $4,871,121 $49,600 $45,775 $483,938 $162,186 $721,060 SO
2007 $6,042,559 $4,661,571 $47,750 $45,975 $448,928 $155,040 $683,295 SO
2006 $5,903,308 $4,431,909 $49,275 $51,250 $446,672 $152,580 $673,290 $98,332
2005 $5,581,198 $4,206,281 $48,850 $47,775 $458,487 $151,650 $668,155
2004 $5,473,828 $4,219,995 $49,100 $44,500 $369,358 $147,180 $643,695
2003 $5,018,445 $3,826,968 $53,800 $42,350 $327,837 $143,480 $624,010

1/ See Laws 2005, Chapter 284 — the Department of Liquor Licenses and Control may retain costs associated with the random selection of additional licensees.
2/ See Laws 2016, Chapter 76 — the director may charge an administrative fee for Wine Direct Shipment licenses for costs associated with administering the direct
shipment license.
3/ See Laws 2018, Chapter 240 — Designates all revenue collected from sampling and growler permits as continuously appropriated within the Liquor Licenses
Fund without regard for the legislative appropriation from the fund.
Note: 5% of the revenues generated from licensees that are permitted to continue operation as a restaurant pursuant to A.R.S. § 4-213E will be deposited into the
Driving Under the Influence Abatement Fund beginning in FY 2009.

SOURCE: Department of Liquor Licenses and Control.
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Exemptions:

e Drug stores selling spirituous liquors only upon prescription.

e Any confectionery candy with less than 5% by weight of alcohol.

e  Manufacturers, wholesalers and retailers of ethyl alcohol used for scientific, chemical, mechanical, industrial,
medicinal or other non-beverage purposes.

e Individuals and establishments authorized by Congress to procure spirituous liquor or ethyl alcohol tax-free.

e  Manufacturers of denatured alcohol produced under provisions established by acts of Congress [A.R.S. § 4-
226].

Application Fees:

e Original license: $100
e Transfer of license: $100 [A.R.S. § 4-209A]

Issuance fees for original licenses [A.R.S. § 4-209B]:

Table 2
ISSUANCE FEES FOR ORIGINAL LICENSES
1. In-state producers of spirituous liquors $1,500
2. Out-of-state producer’s, exporter’s, importer’s, or rectifier’s license, except an out-of-state 300
winery selling 50 or fewer cases of wine in a calendar year

3 Microbrewery license 300
4 Wholesalers of spirituous liquors 1,500
5 State, and local government, community colleges, or National Guard licenses 100
6. On-sale retailers on all spirituous liquors and bar license 1,500
7 On-sale retailers beer and wine bar license 1,500
8 Railroads, airlines or boats, conveyance licenses 1,500
9. Off-sale retailers on all spirituous liquors, liquor store license 1,500
10.  Off-sale retailers beer and wine store license 1,500
11. Hotels and motels 1,500
12. Restaurants 1,500
13.  Farm winery 100
14.  Clubs 1,000
15 Out-of-state winery selling 240 or fewer cases of wine in a calendar year 125
16.  Craft distiller 300
17. Direct Shipment Wine 50
18.  To-Go Cocktails TBDY

1/ This permit will be available beginning in 2026 and the fee will be determined by the Department of Liquor Licenses and Control. Until
the To-Go Cocktail License is established, a restaurant may lease an off-sale privilege license from a bar or liquor store at a fee
determined by the Department. The fee may differ for urban and rural counties.
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Annual License Fees [A.R.S. § 4-209D]:

Table 3
ANNUAL LICENSE FEES

1. In-state producers of spirituous liquors $350

2. Out-of-state producer’s, exporter’s, importer’s, or rectifier’s license, except an out-of-state 50

winery selling 50 or fewer cases of wine in a calendar year

3 Microbrewery license 300

4 Wholesalers of spirituous liquors 250

5 Local government, community colleges, or National Guard licenses 100

6. On-sale retailers on all spirituous liquors and bar license 150

7 On-sale retailers beer and wine bar license 75

8 Railroads, airlines or boats, conveyance licenses 225

9. Off-sale retailers on all spirituous liquors, liquor store license 50

10.  Off-sale retailers beer and wine store license 50

11.  Hotels and motels 500

12.  Restaurants 500 Y

13.  Farm winery 100

14. Clubs 150

15.  Out-of-state winery selling 240 or fewer cases of wine in a calendar year 25

16.  Craft distiller 300

17. Direct Shipment Wine 175

18.  To-Go Cocktails NAZ

1/  If the restaurant is continuing to operate under A.R.S. § 4-213E, an additional fee, to be determined by the Department of Liquor Licenses
and Control will be levied. In FY 2013 and beyond, no additional licensees will be granted permission to continue to operate under A.R.S.
4-213E. (Please see Laws 2006, Chapter 383 and Laws 2008, Chapter 256 for additional information)

2/ This permit will be available beginning in 2026 and the fee will be determined by the Department of Liquor Licenses and Control. Until the
To-Go Cocktail License is established, a restaurant may lease an off-sale privilege license from a bar or liquor store at a fee determined by
the Department. The fee may differ for urban and rural counties.

Note:  The Department of Liquor Licenses and Control may issue such licenses with staggered renewal dates. A license issued less than 6

months before the scheduled renewal date shall be charged only one-half of the annual license fee [A.R.S. § 4-209C].

Note:  Establishments operating on a seasonal basis not exceeding 6 months in any year are subject to license fees equal to half the annual

rate [A.R.S. § 4-209E].

Note:  Any licenses that receive nonuse status are excluded from paying any municipal fee or tax attributed to the time that the license was

held in nonuse status [A.R.S. § 4-203.05].

Transfer Fees for Spirituous Liquor Licenses:

(1) From Person to Person $300
(2)  From Location to Location $100

[A.R.S. § 4-209F-G]

Assignment Fees. A $100 fee is charged to transfer control of a license or to change the license agent responsible
for receiving communication from and filing documents with the department. For a holder of multiple licenses,
the fee is $100 for the first license and all remaining licenses transferred to the same agent are $50 each, with a

maximum fee of $1,000 [A.R.S. § 4-209H].

NOTE: License transfers are not permitted for restaurants, hotels, motels, clubs or farm wineries or
microbreweries, except that clubs may transfer a license from location to location.

Interim Permit Fees. For original license pending or license transfer pending, the fee is $100 [A.R.S. § 4-203.01].
Other Licenses. In addition, special event licenses are issued on a daily basis at a fee of $25 per day, the wine
festival license fee and the farm winery fair license fee are both statutorily set by the director and are currently set

at $15 per day [A.R.S. § 4-203.02 and § 4-203.03].
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PAYMENT SCHEDULE

Original license fees, interim permit fees, and transfer fees are due upon application. Payments for annual license
renewal are due in advance. A system of staggered renewal dates may be implemented by the department.
Licenses that are not renewed on the due date are subject to a penalty of $150 [A.R.S. § 4-209A].

The Department of Liquor Licenses and Control collects the tax [A.R.S. § 4-112].
IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2016.

There were no changes enacted to this fee in 2020.
2022 LAWS
Laws 2022, Chapter 282 includes the following provisions:

e Allows an owner of more than one microbrewery to conduct retail operations remotely.

e Repeals a provision excluding establishments within 300 feet of a church from receiving an alcoholic beverage
retailer's license.

e  Establishes an extended premises application process and rules for extending licensee premises on a one-time
or ongoing basis.

e  Establishes special rules for extended premises applications from retail shopping centers exceeding 400,000
square feet.

e Affirms the right of licensees to use reasonable intervention, restraint, and/or removal of a person from the
premises to prevent that person from harming others.

e Allows the governor to issue an executive order extending closing time for spirituous liquor sales to 3:00 AM in
connection with a professional or collegiate national sporting championship event held in this state.

2021 LAWS
Laws 2021, Chapter 95 increases the gallons that a craft distiller may sell from 1,189 gallons to 3,566 gallons.

Laws 2021, Chapter 375 allows bars, restaurants, and liquor stores to sell mixed cocktails for carry-out and delivery
orders beginning October 1, 2021. Restaurants are required to lease off-sale privileges from a bar or liquor store
through December 31, 2025, as approved by the Department of Liquor License and Control. Beginning January 1,
2026, restaurants will be required to apply for a permit to sell to-go cocktails. In addition, Chapter 375 requires the
Department to register alcohol delivery contractors.

2019 LAWS
Laws 2019, Chapter 136 includes the following provisions:

e Allows a licensee that provides sampling services incidental to an instructional course to charge a fee to the
customer for the educational course.

e Creates a new Joint Premises Permit, which can be provided to one or more on-sale licensees with the same
type of bar, beer and wine bar, restaurant or remote tasting room license type.

e (Creates a pilot program that allows the director to issue up to 10 permits to extend the premises for on-sale
licensee located at regional shopping centers. The program terminates on December 31, 2022.
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2018 LAWS
Laws 2018, Chapter 240 includes the following provisions:

o Allows a special event license to be issues to a government entity.

e Allows the director to determine the amount of farm winery festival and farm winery fair licenses, which were
previously statutorily set at $15 per day.

e Allows a farm winery license that operates primarily as a remote tasting room to convert to a remote tasting
room license without any additional fee if done by December 31, 2018.

e Allows a county, city or town to deny a craft distillery festival license within 60 days of receiving the
application.

e Allows the director to issue a new bar or liquor store license for each revoked or reverted license in a county
that has not been reverted, but not to exceed 20% of the total number of revoked or reverted licensees in that
county.

e Adjusts the definition of fair market value of bar, beer and wine bar, or liquor store licenses to include market
trends during the previous 12 months, and requires a appraisal to determine the fair market value.

e Designates all revenue collected from sampling and growler permits as continuously appropriated within the
Liquor Licenses Fund without regard for the legislative appropriation from the fund.

2017 LAWS
Laws 2017, Chapter 168 includes the following provisions:

e Allows the Department of Liquor Licenses and Control to issue 1 new beer and wine bar licenses for every
5,000 person increase over the population in that county as estimated by the Office of Economic Opportunity
as of July 1, 2010 minus the number of licenses distributed since 2010 until January 1, 2022. This standard
changes to 1 new license for every 10,000 person increase after January 1, 2022. Previously, new beer and
wine bar licenses were issued for every 10,000 person increase over the population of the county as of July 1,
2010 minus the number of licenses distributed since 2010, which is the current standard for bar licenses and
liquor store licenses.

e Increases the maximum number of board members that can serve on the board from a single county from 2 to
3 board members.

e Limits a local governing body to charge only 1 fee to a licensee for an application of acquisition of control
regardless of the number of licenses held by the licensee.

e Requires a licensee to submit a written request for more time before a nonuse license reverts to the state.

e Increases the amount of time a license can be in nonuse status before it must requalify for a license from 2
years to 3 years.

e Changes the limit on special licenses in one calendar year from 12 event licenses to 30 days of special event
licenses.

e Allows a special event contractor to assist in the selling of spirituous liquor for a special event licensee. Special
event contractors can be a holder of a bar license, beer and wine bar license, hotel and motel license, or a
restaurant license.

e The department may prohibit a special event licensee or special event contractor from obtaining a special
event license for 1 year for violations of state liquor statutes.

e Allows a licensed producer to donate spirituous liquor to a special event license holder.

e Requires a special event licensee to return unbroken bottles of spirituous liquor to the appropriate licensee or
wholesaler.

e Limits the number of events hosted by club licensees where the attendance is not based on membership of
the club to 12 events per calendar year.

e Increases the amount of tasting rooms a craft distiller licensee may operate from 1 to 2.

e Changes the provisions of a craft distillery festival license allowing 1 or more licenses for up to 150 calendar
days. Previous provisions allowed 25 licenses for up to 75 calendar days.

e Allows the director to issue two remote tasting room licenses to the same location if each license is issued to a
different person.
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e Adds acquisitions of control and restructurings to the list of assignment fees.

e Prohibits the department from auditing a restaurant during its first 3 months of operation.

e Allows the director to notify the Department of Revenue, the regulatory body of another state, and other
industry associates if an out-of-state licensee knowingly violates a cease and desist order from the director.

2016 LAWS

Laws 2016, Chapter 76 allows all wineries to obtain a direct shipment license to sell and ship wine directly to
consumers. Prior to Chapter 76, a direct shipment license required producers to ship any out-of-state alcohol to a
wholesaler, and then to a retailer unless the consumer was physically present at a winery at the time of the
purchase, which would allow the winery to ship directly to the consumer’s residence or business. (Effective August
6, 2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 161 includes the following provisions:

e Requires a Notice of Change Agent be filed with the director of the Department of Liquor Licenses and Control
within 30 days of the agent change. An agent is the natural person who is designated by the applicant or
licensee to receive communications from the Department of Liquor Licenses and Control and to file and sign
documents on behalf of the applicant or licensee.

e Allows a restaurant license to receive a permit from the Department of Liquor Licenses and Control to sell
beer for off-premise consumption.

e Increases the amount of beer a person can be served while on a boat at one time from 32 ounces to 50
ounces.

e Requires a supplying farm winery in a custom crush arrangement to have a basic permit from the United
States Alcohol Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau for the gallonage to be allocated to the supplying winery. A
custom crush arrangement is a contractual agreement where a person or winery provides grapes to a separate
winery to be used for the production of wine. The wine is then marketed and sold by the person or winery
supplying the grapes.

e Allows the Department of Liquor Licenses and Control to use monies from the sale of seized liquor for
investigation purposes.

e If an establishment holds multiple licenses at one location with both on-sale and off-sale privileges (on-sale
versus off-sale privileges are also referred to as channels), the bill requires liquor be sold under the channel of
the primary use of the establishment. This affects the price at which a wholesaler can sell alcohol to a retailer.
Current statute allows wholesalers to sell alcohol to retailers with on-sale privileges at a different price than it
sell to retailers with off-sale privileges. This is referred to as channel pricing.

e Changes the reporting requirement for producers and wholesalers to provide sampling from not less than 10
days to not less than 5 days before the event.

e Exempts a passenger in a transportation network company vehicle from laws prohibiting consumption of
alcohol as a passenger in a vehicle.

e Adds a refillable container up to 1 gallon, also known as a growler, to the definition of open containers.

Laws 2016, Chapter 184 requires the Director of the Department of Liquor Licensing and Control to report the use
of Enforcement Surcharge monies to the Arizona State Liquor Board.

Laws 2016, Chapter 345 allows beer and wine store licenses with fewer than 5,000 square feet of store space to
obtain sampling privileges if the store dedicates at least 75% of shelf space to the sale of liquor.

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2016 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
https://www.azjlbc.gov/22taxbook/22taxbk.pdf.
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INSURANCE PREMIUM TAX

DESCRIPTION

This tax is imposed on net insurance premiums received by insurance companies for risks that exist within the
state. Included are premiums for life insurance, accident and health insurance, AHCCCS contracted coverage, fire
insurance, vehicle insurance, prepaid dental and legal insurance, and other property and casualty premiums such
as homeowners and commercial insurance, medical malpractice, and fidelity and surety insurance.

The tax applies to insurance companies formed under the laws of this state (“domestic” insurance carriers) and
insurance companies formed under the laws of another state within the United States or another country (“out-of-
state” insurance carriers).

Insurance premium tax also includes “retaliatory” taxes, which are taxes owed by out-of-state insurers to the
extent that the sum of taxes an insurer pays in Arizona is less than what the sum of taxes would be if the same
insurance business were transacted in the insurer’s “home” state (state of domicile).

DISTRIBUTION

Except for a portion of the tax on fire insurance premiums and an additional tax paid on vehicle insurance
premiums, these tax revenues are deposited in the state’s General Fund [A.R.S. § 20-227].

Eighty-five percent of the fire insurance premium tax is transferred to cities and towns and legally organized fire
districts which procure the services of private fire companies and to cities and towns which have their own fire
department or legally organized fire district. The proceeds are to be used to assist in funding pension plans for fire
fighting personnel. The other 15% is deposited into the state’s General Fund [A.R.S. § 20-224, A.R.S. § 9-951, and
A.R.S. § 9-952].

An additional tax of 0.4312% paid on insurance carried on vehicles is separately accounted for and transferred to
the Public Safety Personnel Retirement System for deposit in the Highway Patrol Account to assist in funding the
pension plan for highway patrol personnel [A.R.S. § 20-224.01].

Table 1 on the following page provides the historical distribution of insurance premium tax. It should be noted
that the “total” column in the following table reflects net collections for the fiscal year, and in some cases, does
not equal the amounts distributed to the General Fund, the Public Safety Personnel Retirement System, and to
cities and fire districts. In these cases, some collections were carried forward into the next fiscal year and were
distributed then.

WHO PAYS

All authorized insurers and formerly authorized insurers (insurers not currently authorized, but continuing
collection of premiums and servicing of existing policies in the state) are subject to the insurance premium tax. In
addition, health care service organizations, prepaid dental plan organizations, and prepaid legal insurance
corporations are subject to the tax [A.R.S. § 20-206, A.R.S. § 20-224, A.R.S. § 20-401.05, A.R.S. § 20-416, A.R.S. §
20-837, A.R.S. § 20-1010, A.R.S. § 20-1060, A.R.S. § 20-1097.071].

Out-of-state insurers pay the greater of the Arizona insurance premium tax or the tax imposed by their home state
on Arizona insurers. For example, if an out-of-state insurer operating in Arizona pays a 2% insurance premium tax
to the Department of Insurance and Financial Institutions (DIFI), but an Arizona insurer operating in the out-of-
state insurer’s home state pays a 3% premium tax, the out-of-state insurer must also pay DIFl a 1% retaliatory tax
that equals the difference in rates charged in the 2 states. Arizona provides an exemption from retaliatory tax, if
the out-of-state insurer’s home state does not charge retaliatory taxes on Arizona insurers. Retaliation applies to
taxes, fees, assessments or other charges levied in the insurance company’s home state [A.R.S. § 20-230].
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Table 1
INSURANCE PREMIUM COLLECTIONS AND DISTRIBUTION
Transfer to Public
Safety
Retirement Transfer to Cities

Fiscal Year General Fund System and Fire Districts Total

2022 $707,654,005 $27,522,673 $22,243,723 $757,420,401
2021 $616,251,446 $27,159,531 $19,246,959 $662,657,936
2020 $535,163,356 $26,507,317 $18,797,111 $580,467,784
2019 $549,596,876 $25,562,011 $18,195,409 $593,354,293
2018 $509,276,002 $23,233,981 $17,165,571 $549,675,554
2017 $504,339,292 $21,009,348 $16,419,859 $541,768,499
2016 $490,576,281 $19,312,244 $16,777,097 $530,178,577
2015 $449,546,754 $18,212,445 $13,343,767 $481,102,966
2014 $411,760,685 $16,942,842 $14,481,050 $443,184,577
2013 $386,776,104 $16,185,326 $13,141,283 $416,102,713
2012 $393,990,499 $15,720,974 $12,606,341 $422,317,814
2011 $413,765,850 $15,978,058 $12,514,392 $442,258,300
2010 $405,612,042 $16,696,764 $13,492,671 $435,801,477
2009 $411,370,853 $17,507,607 $12,480,006 $441,358,466
2008 $407,035,082 $17,569,437 $13,361,461 $437,965,980
2007 $399,850,367 $17,861,557 $12,652,891 $430,364,815
2006 $373,703,789 $17,057,414 $11,842,931 $402,604,134
2005 $358,752,402 $16,234,673 $12,459,164 $387,446,239
2004 $308,967,921 $15,441,384 $11,677,878 $336,087,183
2003 $226,648,800 $14,009,100 $10,588,600 $251,246,500

SOURCE: Department of Insurance and Financial Institutions.

REVENUE BASE AND RATE

The tax applies to premiums paid for insurance covering liabilities that exist within the state. The tax is levied on
the net premium income, which is defined as the total amount received from premiums after deducting
cancellations, returned premiums, policy dividends, refund reductions, savings coupons, and similar amounts paid
or credited to policyholders within the state, and not reapplied as premiums for new, additional, or extended
insurance [A.R.S. § 20-224].

The insurance premium tax rate on life, vehicle, and other property and casualty lines of insurance is 1.70% in
calendar year (CY) 2022. Laws 2016, Chapter 358 gradually decreases the tax rate from 2.0% in CY 2015 to 1.7% by
CY 2021 and every subsequent year (See Table 2). This schedule of rate reductions replaced the schedule enacted
under Laws 2015, Chapter 220, in which the rate was decreased gradually from 2.0% in CY 2015 to 1.7% in CY
2026. Except for fire insurance and surplus line insurance (types of insurance that are not sufficiently offered by
authorized insurers and therefore may be procured from unauthorized out-of-state insurers), the tax rate for most
other types of insurance is 2.0% of net premium income [A.R.S. § 20-224].

The tax rate for fire insurance is 0.66% for insurance on properties located in an incorporated city or town which
procures the services of a private fire company. The rate on all other fire insurance is 2.2% [A.R.S. § 20-224].

The tax rate on premiums paid to brokers selling surplus line insurance and industrial insurance contracts procured
from unauthorized insurers is 3% of the net premium income [A.R.S. § 20-401.07 and A.R.S. § 20-416].
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Certain types of insurers, employee benefit trusts, and voluntary employees’ beneficiary associations are
exempted from the insurance premium tax, including some hospital and medical service corporations, some
fraternal benefit societies, non-profit military mutual aid associations, and extended warranty insurers [A.R.S. § 20-
108].

Title insurance premiums are also exempted from the insurance premium tax and are instead subject to the state
income tax [A.R.S. § 20-224 and A.R.S. § 20-1566].

Premiums paid by government entities to non-profit hospitals and medical, dental, and optometric service
corporations are exempt from the insurance premium tax [A.R.S. § 20-837].

Table 2
INSURANCE PREMIUM
TAX RATES V2
Calendar Year Rate
2015 2.00%
2016 1.95
2017 1.90
2018 1.85
2019 1.80
2020 1.75
2021 1.70
2022 1.70
1/ Asenacted by Laws 2016, Chapter 358.
2/ Rates apply to life, vehicle, and other
property and casualty lines of insurance.

TAX REFUNDS AND/OR TAX CREDITS

Affordable Housing Premium Tax Credit. A credit against insurance premium tax liability is allowed if the Arizona
Department of Housing issues an eligibility statement for qualified projects for affordable housing. The amount of
the credit is equal to at least 50% of the Federal Low-Income Housing Credit for the qualified Project. The
Department of Housing cannot authorize more than $4 million in total credits annually. The credit may be
distributed among the partners, members or shareholders of the claimant regardless of the size of the participants
ownership interest. The total amount of claimed credit may not exceed the claimant organization's tax liability for
the year but may be carried forward for up to 5 years. The credit is repealed on January 1, 2026.

Enterprise/Military Reuse Zones Tax Credit. A tax credit against insurance premium tax liability was allowed for net
increases in employment positions of residents of the state by an insurer that is located in an enterprise zone or a
military reuse zone. As noted below, while both credits have been repealed, unused amounts are allowed to be
carried forward for a limited time.

The tax credit for insurers in an enterprise zone equals one-fourth of taxable wages (not to exceed $500) paid to an
employee in a qualified employment position in the first year of employment, one-third of taxable wages (not to
exceed $1,000) in the second year, and one-half of taxable wages (not to exceed $1,500) in the third year. Laws
2011, 2"¢ Special Session, Chapter 1 allowed this credit to sunset at the end of FY 2011, as scheduled. Although
new credits may not be earned after tax year (TY) 2011, previously earned credits may be carried forward up to 5
years and used no later than for TY 2016. This credit was replaced by the New Employment Tax Credit, which is
described below.

The tax credit for insurers in a military reuse zone equals $1,000 per year in the first year of employment,
increasing by $500 per year up to $3,000 per year in the fifth year of employment for each dislocated military base
employee, and $500 per year in the first year of employment, increasing by $500 per year up to $2,500 per year in
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the fifth year of employment for each employee other than a dislocated military base employee. Laws 2017,
Chapter 299 repeals the credit after TY 2017. Although new credits may not be earned after TY 2017, previously
earned credits may be carried forward up to 5 years and used no later than for TY 2022.

Health Insurance Premium Tax Credit. A premium tax credit is allowed for health care insurers that provide health
insurance to qualified individuals and small businesses that are certified by the Arizona Department of Revenue
(DOR). An application must be submitted to DOR for the tax credit, which includes a written declaration subject to
the penalties of perjury [A.R.S. § 20-224.05 and A.R.S. § 43-210].

An individual or small business must obtain health insurance to receive the credit. In order for the insurer to claim
a credit on an individual, that individual must be a United States citizen or legally residing resident. The individual
must also: 1) earn less than 250% of the federal poverty level, be a resident of Arizona, not have had health
insurance for at least the past 6 consecutive months, and not be enrolled by any other state or federal government
health insurance program; or 2) work for a small business that has been in existence for at least 1 calendar year
and that has not provided health insurance to its employees for at least 6 months. A small business is defined as
between 2 and 25 employees during the most recent calendar year.

The amount of the tax credit for individuals is the lesser of the following: a) $1,000 for single coverage, $500 for
coverage of a child, or $3,000 for family coverage; or b) 50% of the health insurance premium. The amount of the
tax credit for small businesses is the lesser of the following: $1,000 for single coverage or $3,000 for family
coverage; or 50% of the health insurance premium.

Health insurers are required to deduct the amount of the tax credit from the premium paid by the individual or
small business for health insurance. In this way, the state effectively subsidizes the cost of the individual or small
business’s health insurance in the amount of the premium tax credit. The maximum amount of tax credits allowed
in a calendar year is capped at $5.0 million. The tax credits are administered by DOR.

New Employment Tax Credit. A $3,000 annual tax credit may be claimed for each net new qualifying job added by
an employer in the state. To qualify for the credit, new employment positions must be full-time, meet wage
requirements, and offer health insurance paid by the employer (at least 65% of the premium). Credits associated
with 1 net new job can be claimed for 3 years. A company may claim first year credits for separate new jobs for up
to 3 consecutive years. Since second and third year credits may be claimed against each of the new positions, the
taxpayer may claim credits for up to a total of 5 consecutive years. The Arizona Commerce Authority (ACA) is
authorized to issue first year credits for up to 10,000 new employees ($30.0 million) in each year.

Prior to Laws 2017, Chapter 340, a business could not claim the new credit unless it added at least 25 net new jobs
in a year in an urban area (5 in a rural area), paid employees at least 100% of the county median wage, and made a
capital investment of at least $5.0 million ($1.0 million in a rural area). Beginning in TY 2018, Laws 2017, Chapter
340 permits businesses to qualify under the alternative levels of capital investment and wages shown in Table 3
and permits ACA to authorize credits through June 30, 2025. A business can now invest less than $5.0 million if
they pay wages that exceed 100% of the county median level. The required number of net new jobs remains
unchanged. Given the maximum 5-year schedule outlined above, businesses may claim credits through TY 2029.
[A.R.S. § 41-1525]

Table 3

Investment and Median Wage Requirements

Urban Location

Minimum Wages as Percent
Capital Investment of County Median
$5,000,000 100%
$2,500,000 125%
$1,000,000 150%
$500,000 200%
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Rural Location

Minimum Wages as Percent
Capital Investment of County Median
$1,000,000 100%
$500,000 125%
$100,000 150%

In TY 2013 and later years, Laws 2012, Chapter 343 eliminates the requirement (provided by Laws 2011, 2" Special
Session, Chapter 1) that no employer can claim more than 400 new jobs in the first year of credit use, 800 jobs in
the second year, and 1,200 jobs in the third year. The cap applied to credits claimed against insurance premium,
individual income, and corporate income taxes. The credit cannot be claimed against employees that are also
claimed under the Military Reuse Zone Tax Credit (A.R.S. § 20-224.04 and A.R.S. § 41-1531). Laws 2014, Chapter
168 changes the requirement for the New Employment Tax Credit program by providing that second and third-
year credits can be claimed irrespective of whether the same employee remains employed as long as the employer
replaces the vacant position with another qualified employee within 90 days.

School Tuition Organization Tax Credit. A taxpayer may claim an insurance premium tax credit, up to the full
amount of the donation, for contributions made to a school tuition organization that provides education
scholarships and tuition grants either to children of low-income families (A.R.S. § 20-224.06) or to disabled children
or children in foster care (A.R.S. § 20-224.07). The full amount of tax credits approved by DOR pursuant to A.R.S. §
43-1183 (low-income credit) for both corporate income tax credits and insurance premium tax credits combined is
capped at $10.0 million per year, with the cap increasing by 20% per year beginning in FY 2008. The credit cap is
$142.1 million in FY 2023. Laws 2019, Chapter 281 limits the annual increase of the credit cap to 15% in FY 2021,
10% in FY 2022, and 5% in FY 2023. Beginning in FY 2024, the increase of the credit cap is limited to the greater of
2% or the annual change of the Metropolitan Phoenix consumer price index. In dollar terms, Chapter 281 limits
the growth of the credit cap to $123.1 million in FY 2021, $135.4 million in FY 2022, and $142.1 million in FY 2023.
Pursuant to A.R.S. § 43-1184 (displaced and disabled credit) the full amount of tax credits approved by DOR was
capped at $5.0 million per year. Laws 2021, Chapter 412 increased the cap to $6 million beginning in FY 2022. A
taxpayer may carry forward the unused portion of either tax credit for 5 years. A taxpayer claiming the credit shall
not be required to pay any retaliatory taxes required by A.R.S. § 20-230. [A.R.S. § 20-224.06 and A.R.S. § 20-
224.07].

Insurance Guaranty Fund Assessment Credit. A taxpayer may claim an insurance premium tax credit on 20% of any
assessment paid to the Arizona Life and Disability Insurance Guaranty Fund (ALDIGF). Taxpayers may take an
additional credit of 20% of the assessment in each of the 4 subsequent years following the assessment, thus
allowing taxpayers to offset 100% of the cost over a 5-year period.

The ALDIGF was created as a safeguard to meet the obligations of a licensed insurance company in the event that
the insurer becomes insolvent. Monies in the fund come from an assessment levied on all other licensed insurers.
The maximum assessment amount that can be levied on a single insurer in any one year is capped at 2% of the
insurer's average total premiums of similar insurance lines covered by the ALDIGF in the previous 3 years. This
assessment was levied in FY 2018 due to the failure of 2 national insurance companies with business in Arizona.
Prior to FY 2018, the assessment was last levied in FY 1997. (For more information on Insurance Guarantee Fund
Assessments, see Insurance Guarantee Fund Assessments section of the Tax Handbook.)

The actual dollar impact of these tax credits is included in Table 4:
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Table 4
FY 2022 INSURANCE PREMIUM TAX CREDIT USE
Effective

CREDITS: Calendar Years Annual Cost
Health Insurance Premium ¥ 2007 - 3,808,244
Insurance Guaranty Fund Assessment 1991 - 7,571,665
Military Reuse Zone 1993 - 2017 0
New Employment ¥ 2011 - 2029 4,796,098
Private School Tuition Organization — Low-Income Students ¥ 2006 - 45,253,095
Private School Tuition Organization — Disabled/Displaced Students ¢ 2009 - 5,589,500
Total Value of Credits $67,018,602

1/  Creditis capped at $5 million annually.

2/ Credits claimed by individuals and corporations are separately reported under individual and corporate income tax
credits. The ACA is authorized to issue up to $30 million of 15t year credits in each year between individual and
corporate income and insurance premium taxpayers.

3/ Credits claimed by corporations are separately reported under corporate income tax credits. The credit was capped
at $123.1 million in FY 2021 between corporate income and insurance premium taxpayers. Pursuant to Laws 2019,
Chapter 281, the credit cap is increased by 10% in FY 2022, and 5% in FY 2023.

4/ Credits claimed by corporations are separately reported under corporate income tax credits. The credit is capped at
$6 million annually beginning in FY 2022 between corporate income and insurance premium taxpayers.

SOURCE: Department of Insurance and Financial Institutions, Report of Insurance Premium Tax Credits.

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

Payment of the preceding calendar year’s insurance premium tax liability is due on or before March 1 of each year.
[A.R.S. § 20-224].

Any insurer that paid or is required to pay a tax of $50,000 or more for the preceding calendar year is required to
pay an “installment” payment of 15% of that amount on or before the 15" day of each month from March through
August. Laws 2017, Chapter 153 increased the threshold of tax liability above which an insurer is required to make
installment payments, from $2,000 to $50,000 in the preceding calendar year, beginning in calendar year 2018.
Installment payments are credited against the insurance premium tax due on March 1 of the following year [A.R.S.
§ 20-224]. Table 5 lists the dates and descriptions of insurance premium tax payments due in FY 2023.

Table 5

FY 2023 Insurance Premium Tax Payment Schedule ¥/
Due Date Payment Description
July 15, 2022 CY 2022 Installment Payment (15% of CY 2021 Liability)
August 15, 2022 CY 2022 Installment Payment (15% of CY 2021 Liability)
March 1, 2023 Final Payment (Refund) of CY 2022 Liability

Retaliatory Tax Payment for CY 2022
March 15, 2023 CY 2022 Installment Payment (15% of CY 2022 Liability)

April 15, 2023 CY 2022 Installment Payment (15% of CY 2022 Liability)
May 15, 2023 CY 2022 Installment Payment (15% of CY 2022 Liability)
June 15, 2023 CY 2022 Installment Payment (15% of CY 2022 Liability)

1/ If tax liability is at least $50,000 annually.
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AHCCCS health contractors make separate quarterly estimated payments for taxes on Medicaid premiums.
Estimated payments are due on March 15, June 15, September 15, and December 15 of each year. DIFI bills
(refunds) the insurer for any balance of liability (overpayment) that remains on April 1 of the following year.
[A.R.S. § 36-2944.01].

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2016. There were no changes enacted to this tax in 2020 and 2022.

LAWS 2021

Laws 2021, Chapter 412 increased the aggregate credit cap for contributions made by corporations and insurers to
qualifying school tuition organizations (STO) that provide education scholarships and tuition grants to
disabled/displaced students from S5 million to $6 million, beginning in FY 2022.

Laws 2021, Chapter 430 creates a new insurance premium tax credit for affordable housing, which is administered
by the Arizona Department of Housing. The Department is required to allocate the Affordable Housing credit for
projects in Arizona that qualify for the federal Low-Income Housing Tax Credit and that are placed in service after
June 30, 2022. The Affordable Housing credit is at least 50% of the federal Low-Income Housing Tax Credit but
cannot exceed $4 million annually. The credit may not exceed the tax liability of the claimant but may be carried
forward for up to 5 years. The Arizona Department of Housing is authorized to allocate a total of $4 million in tax
credits per year from TY 2022 to TY 2025. Each of these 4 award cycles is available for 10 years.

LAWS 2019

Laws 2019, Chapter 281 limits the annual increase of the aggregate credit cap for contributions made by
corporations and insurers to qualifying school tuition organizations (STO) that provide education scholarships and
tuition grants to students of low-income families from 20% to 15% in FY 2021, 10% in FY 2022, and 5% in FY 2023.
Beginning in FY 2024, the increase of the credit cap is limited to the greater of 2% or the annual change of the
Metropolitan Phoenix consumer price index. In dollar terms, Chapter 281 limits the growth of the credit cap to
$123.1 million in FY 2021, $135.4 million in FY 2022, and $142.1 million in FY 2023.

2018 LAWS

Laws 2018, Chapter 104 repeals the requirement that taxpayers that claim the Military Reuse Zone Insurance
Premium tax credit may not claim the New Employment tax credit with respect to the same employment positions.
The Military Reuse Zones Tax Credit was repealed by Laws 2017, Chapter 299.

2017 LAWS

Laws 2017, Chapter 153 modifies requirements for submitting insurance premium taxes. Beginning in CY 2018,
DIFI may choose to require electronic payment and filing of all insurance premium taxes. The bill also increases
the threshold of tax liability above which an insurer is required to make installment payments, from $2,000 to
$50,000 in the preceding calendar year, beginning in CY 2018.

Laws 2017, Chapter 299 repeals the Military Reuse Zones Tax Credit in TY 2018. Although new credits may not be
earned after TY 2017, previously earned credits may be carried forward up to 5 years and used no later than for TY
2022. Based on historical use, repeal of the tax credit is not estimated to have a revenue impact.

Laws 2017, Chapter 340 extends the date by which New Employment Tax Credits may be authorized and expands

access to the credit. The bill extends the last date that ACA can authorize new credits from June 30, 2017 to June

30, 2025. Given a maximum 5-year schedule for claiming the credit (see New Employment Tax Credit section for

information), businesses may claim credits through TY 2029. Prior to Laws 2017, Chapter 340, a business could not

claim the new credit unless it added at least 25 net new jobs in a year in an urban area (5 in a rural area), paid
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employees at least 100% of the county median wage, and made a capital investment of at least $5.0 million ($1.0
million in a rural area). Beginning in TY 2018, Laws 2017, Chapter 340 permits businesses to qualify under the
alternative levels of capital investment and wages shown in Table 3. The required number of net new jobs remains
unchanged. The bill's impact on revenue collections is included within the Corporate Income Tax section.

2016 LAWS

Laws 2016, Chapter 38 permits domestic insurers to sell surplus line insurance for risks that exist within the state.
DIFI designates types of insurance coverage that is not sufficiently offered by Arizona authorized insurers as
surplus insurance lines. Prior to Chapter 38, statute only permitted unauthorized out-of-state insurers to sell
surplus lines of insurance in Arizona. The legislation also requires that Arizona authorized insurers pay the same
3.0% insurance premium tax on surplus line insurance as paid by unauthorized out-of-state insurers. (Effective
from August 6, 2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 358 gradually reduces insurance premium tax rates for life, vehicle, and other property and
casualty lines of insurance from 2.0% in CY 2015 to 1.7% in CY 2021 and every subsequent year (see Table 2). The
legislation replaces the schedule enacted under Laws 2015, Chapter 220, which gradually lowered rates from 2.0%
in CY 2015 to 1.7% in CY 2026 and every subsequent year. Relative to Laws 2015, Chapter 220, the legislation is
estimated to reduce insurance premium tax collections to the General Fund by $(3.0) million in FY 2017, followed
by further decreases of $(4.1) million in FY 2018 and $(4.3) million in FY 2019. Relative to a 2.0% tax rate, the
reduced 1.7% rate is estimated to decrease revenues by $(27.2) million in FY 2022, once the 6-year phase-in under
Laws 2016, Chapter 358 is completed. (Effective from August 6, 2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 360 eliminates a December 31, 2019 deadline for claiming New Employment Tax Credits
against insurance premium taxes. The ACA may authorize new credits through June 30, 2017. Given a maximum
5-year schedule for claiming credits (see New Employment Tax Credit for more information), Laws 2016, Chapter
360 effectively extends the last year the credit can be claimed against insurance premium taxes from TY 2019 to TY
2021. The change conforms the insurance premium tax to the individual and corporate income tax treatment of
the credit. (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2016)

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2016 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
https://www.azjlbc.gov/22taxbook/22taxbk.pdf.
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BINGO LICENSE AND LIEU TAX

DESCRIPTION

The bingo license and lieu tax consists of a license fee charged to qualified operators of bingo games and a bingo
tax assessed on the receipts from bingo games. There are 3 license classifications for bingo operators based on the
amount of gross receipts. The license fee and tax rate vary by classification, with a maximum tax rate of 2% of
gross receipts. All bingo games in Arizona must be conducted by a licensed person. The Department of Revenue
serves as the licensing authority in the state. The tax is in lieu of the transaction privilege tax.

DISTRIBUTION

All bingo tax revenue, administrative receipts, license fees, penalties and interest collections are deposited in the
state General Fund [A.R.S. § 5-407H].

Table 1
COLLECTIONS

Fiscal Year General Fund Fiscal Year General Fund
2022 $331,145 2012 $508,145
2021 $165,181 2011 $504,905
2020 $397,780 2010 $520,655
2019 $469,026 2009 $531,588
2018 $473,625 2008 $558,330
2017 $486,660 2007 $619,387
2016 $476,079 2006 $623,480
2015 $507,211 2005 $610,055
2014 $521,583 2004 $624,501
2013 $519,998 2003 $626,770

SOURCE: Department of Revenue, Annual Report.

WHO PAYS

The license fee and lieu tax is paid by persons and organizations that have been licensed by the Department of
Revenue to conduct the game of bingo [A.R.S. § 5-403 and 5-407H].

REVENUE BASE

Licenses. A flat fee and a percentage of adjusted gross receipts or gross receipts are charged for bingo licenses,
license renewals and games, depending on the license classification. Class A licenses are taxed on adjusted gross
receipts, while Class B and Class C licenses are taxed on gross receipts. Adjusted gross receipts means gross
receipts minus prize money paid [A.R.S. § 5-414].

License Classifications. There are 3 license classes based on the bingo game's gross receipts per year [A.R.S. § 5-
413]:

e C(lass A License. Bingo games for which the gross receipts do not exceed $75,000 per year. This license cannot
be issued to persons holding a liquor license unless it is a club license. The reporting period is 1 year
coinciding with the license's term.

e (lass B License. Bingo games for which gross receipts do not exceed $500,000 per year. There are 4 reporting
periods coinciding with the quarters of the license's term.
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e C(lass C License. Bingo games for which gross receipts exceed $500,000 per year. There are 12 reporting
periods coinciding with each month of the license's term.

RATE

The following fees and tax are assessed for the different license classes [A.R.S. § 5-414]:

Local Governing
License Class Body Fee License Fee  Bingo Tax
A S5 $10 2.5% of Adjusted Gross Receipts
B $25 S50 1.5% of Gross Receipts
C S50 $200 2.0% of Gross Receipts
PAYMENT SCHEDULE

License Fee Due Date. The license fee, which is non-refundable, is due and paid at the time of application.
Licenses expire 1 year from the issue date and must be renewed annually [A.R.S. § 5-403].

Bingo Tax. The tax is due at the time of each financial report submitted by the licensee according to the above-
described schedule for the corresponding license class [A.R.S. § 5-4071].

License Fee Collection. The initial application for license is submitted to the local governing body along with the
one-time local governing body fee and the license fee. The license fee and an original or certified copy of the
application must be received by the Department of Revenue before a license is issued. Subsequent renewal fees,
which are the same amount as the license fee, are paid to the Department of Revenue. A 30-day grace period
from the expiration date is given for renewal with a penalty equal to the license fee; otherwise after such period a
licensee must reapply for a new license [A.R.S. § 5-403].

The Department of Revenue collects the tax [A.R.S. § 5-407H].
IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2016.

There were no changes enacted to this tax in 2016, 2018, 2019 or 2020.
2022 LAWS

Laws 2022, Chapter 59 removes the statutory language requiring bingo license applicants to be of "good moral
character" to be issued a license.

2021 LAWS

Laws 2021, Chapter 97 increases the bingo licenses gross receipt thresholds and the cap on the amount of cash
prizes payable by check. Chapter 97 provides that Class A License applies to annual gross receipts up to $75,000
(previous threshold was $15,000); Class B License applies to annual gross receipts up to $500,000 (previous
threshold was $300,000); and Class C License applies to annual gross receipts greater than $500,000 (previous
threshold was $300,000). Chapter 97 also raises the threshold at which bingo prizes must be paid by check from
$150 to $1,100.
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2017 LAWS

Laws 2017, Chapter 60 requires bingo licensees to file tax revenue reports electronically with the Department of
Revenue beginning January 1, 2020, or when the Department of Revenue has established an electronic filing
program, whichever is later.

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2016 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
https://www.azjlbc.gov/22taxbook/22taxbk.pdf.
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BOULDER CANYON PROJECTS - IN LIEU PAYMENTS

DESCRIPTION

These are payments made by the United States or its agencies or instrumentalities to the State of Arizona in lieu of
taxes from the proceeds of any hydroelectric power development (“Boulder Canyon Projects”) on the Colorado
River [A.R.S. § 45-1331A].

DISTRIBUTION
Two-thirds of payments received are dedicated to the state General Fund. The remaining one-third of payments

received are placed in a special fund of the county in which the hydroelectric power development is located and
are used for recreational facilities, access roads, and public works [A.R.S. § 45-1331].

Table 1
COLLECTIONS

Fiscal Year General Fund Fiscal Year General Fund
2022 $200,000 2012 $200,000
2021 $200,000 2011 $200,000
2020 $200,000 2010 $200,000
2019 $200,000 2009 $200,000
2018 $200,000 2008 $200,000
2017 $200,000 2007 $200,000
2016 $200,000 2006 $200,000
2015 $200,000 2005 $200,000
2014 $200,000 2004 $200,000
2013 $200,000 2003 $200,000

SOURCE: State Treasurer’s Office. Total collections from Boulder Canyon Projects are

derived by summing the payments to the state General Fund and to Mohave County.

WHO PAYS
Department of the Interior - Bureau of Reclamation.
REVENUE BASE AND RATE

These are lump sum payments received from the Federal Government in lieu of taxes on the proceeds from the
Boulder Canyon Projects.

PAYMENT SCHEDULE
Federal payments are normally made in June of each year.
IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2016.

There were no changes enacted to this tax in the period from 2016 through 2022.

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2015 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
https://www.azjlbc.gov/22taxbook/22taxbk.pdf.
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GAMING FEES

DESCRIPTION

Certain gaming fees are levied by the Arizona Department of Gaming (ADG) on the licensed operators of event
wagering and fantasy sports contests as a requirement for conducting the authorized gaming activities in this
state. These activities were authorized by Laws 2021, Chapter 234.

There are 2 types of gaming fees levied by the state related to event wagering and fantasy sports contests:

e A license fee paid to ADG for the costs of reviewing licensure applications and processing required
background checks.

e A privilege fee paid to ADG by operators (or their designee) based on the adjusted gross revenue derived
from the gaming activity.

Event wagering, also known as sports betting, involves wagers on the outcomes of professional and collegiate
athletic events, motor racing events, Olympic events and E-Sport events (competitive video games competitions).
[A.R.S. § 5-1301].

Fantasy sports contests involves individuals paying a fee to enter a simulated contest, where multiple individual
athletes are selected by the individual and the winning outcome is determined by the aggregated statistical results
of the athlete's actual performance in the athletic event. [A.R.S. § 5-1201].

DISTRIBUTION

Event wagering licensure and privilege fee revenue is deposited into the Event Wagering Fund. ADG is authorized
to retain 10.0% of monies in the fund for event wagering regulation and enforcement costs, after which the
remaining 90% is transferred to the General Fund. Laws 2022, Chapter 306 requires 90% of the money deposited
into the Event Wagering Fund to be transferred to the General Fund on or before the 25™ day of the following
month [A.R.S. § 5-1318].

Fantasy sports licensure and privilege fee revenue is deposited into the Fantasy Sports Contest Fund. Subject to
legislative appropriation, ADG is authorized to spend up to 10.0% of monies in the fund on fantasy sports
regulation and enforcement costs. Laws 2022, Chapter 306 requires all fantasy sports contest revenue exceeding
the amount appropriated from the fund to be transferred to the General Fund at the end of each fiscal year [A.R.S.
§5-1212].

The total amount of gaming revenue (privilege fees plus license fees) deposited into the General Fund in FY 2022 is
shown in Table 1 below.

Table 1
General Fund Gaming Revenue
FY Privilege Fees License Fees Total
2022 $10,437,000 ¥ 0¥ $10,437,000

1/ This amount only includes amounts transferred to the General Fund
during FY 2022 and does not reflect the total amount of privilege fees
collected and deposited into the Event Wagering Fund or Fantasy
Sports Contest Fund.

2/ Inits FY 2022 Annual Report, ADG reports $14.9 million in FY 2022
license fee revenue. This amount was deposited into the General Fund
in August 2022 and was recorded as FY 2023 General Fund revenue.
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WHO PAYS

Event Wagering — License Eligibility

ADG is authorized to issue event wagering licenses subject to the following restrictions:

e Not more than 10 event wagering operator licenses to non-tribal entities, which must be one of the following
types of organizations: a professional sports team or franchise based in Arizona, the operator of an Arizona
sports facility that hosts an annual tournament on the PGA Tour, or a promoter of a NASCAR national touring
race in Arizona.

e Not more than 10 event wagering operator licenses to Indian tribes, for the purpose of operating mobile event
wagering outside the boundaries of tribal lands. To qualify, an Indian tribe must have signed the most recent
Tribal-State Gaming Compact and any applicable appendices or amendments.

e Not more than 10 limited event wagering licenses, which must be issued to racetracks or additional wagering
facilities (off-track betting locations).

As of publication, there are 10 tribal operators, 8 non-tribal operators, and 1 limited operator licensed and
operating in the state. Event wagering that is conducted by an Indian Tribe only on Tribal land is not subject to
ADG licensure, but is instead governed by the Tribal-State Gaming process and federal law. [A.R.S. § 5-1303 and
A.R.S. § 5-1304].

Event Wagering — License Fees

Statute and ADG regulations outline 7 different event wagering license categories based on what role the entity
performs in event wagering operations:

e  Event Wagering Operator — An entity authorized to facilitate event wagering in the state.

e Designee — A person authorized to act on behalf of an event wagering operator and who is responsible for the
management and control of event wagering operations. A designee must maintain a designation from a
qualified event wagering operator to continue providing event wagering services. Designee licenses last 5
years.

e Limited Event Wagering Operator — A racetrack or additional wagering facility with a permit issued by the
Division of Racing to offer wagers on horseracing. Limited event wagering licenses last 5 years.

e Management Services Provider — An entity that contracts with an event wagering operator to conduct event
wagering. Management services provider licenses last 2 years.

e  Supplier — Individuals who manufacture, distribute, sell, or lease event wagering equipment, systems, or other
gaming items to conduct event wagering. A supplier license lasts 2 years.

e Ancillary Supplier — A category of supplier that includes affiliates, bookmakers, data centers, geofence
providers, identity verification service providers, independent test laboratories, integrity monitoring providers,
league data providers, marketing affiliates, payment processors, and any other person as determined by ADG.
These licenses last 2 years.

e Employee — Primary management officials responsible for event wagering in the state, those who accept
wagers, redeem tickets, handle monies, and any other individual as determined by ADG. These licenses last 2
years.

Event Wagering — Privilege Fee

Event wagering privilege fees are the responsibility of the event wagering operator or their designee [A.R.S. § 5-
1318]. Under ADG regulation, privilege fees may be remitted by any "responsible party"”, which includes event
wagering operators, designees, limited event wagering operators, and management services providers.
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Fantasy Sports Contests — License Fees

Statute and ADG regulations outline 4 different fantasy sports license categories based on what role the entity
performs in fantasy sports operations:

e  Fantasy Contest Operator — An entity authorized to facilitate fantasy sports contests and fantasy sports betting
e  Management Company — A person retained by a fantasy sports contest operator to manage a fantasy sports
contest platform and provide general administration as well as other operational services [A.R.S. § 5-1201].

e Holding Company — Fantasy contest operators and management companies must identify holding companies
that hold at least 10.0% ownership interest in the operation. ADG may require such a holding company to be
licensed.

e Suppliers — Provides goods or services to a fantasy sports contest operator or management company.
Suppliers include fantasy sports contest platform providers, identity verification service providers, payment
processors, geofence providers, and any other relevant person as determined by ADG.

As of publication, there are 10 licensed fantasy sports contest operators in the state.

Fantasy Sports Contests — Privilege Fee

Fantasy sports contests privilege fees are the responsibility of the fantasy sports contest operator [A.R.S. § 5-
1211].

REVENUE BASE AND RATE

Event Wagering — License Fees

Event wagering operators are required to have a license to facilitate event wagering in the state. Laws 2021,
Chapter 234 authorizes ADG to establish the event wagering license fees without any specified dollar limitation.
ADG has established the license fees as outlined in Table 2 below. For each license there is a non-refundable
application fee that will be credited toward the initial license fee if the application is accepted. After the initial
application acceptance, licenses are issued for multiple years and are subject to the following annual payments as
listed in the "Annual Fee" column.

Table 2
Event Wagering License Fees

Application Fee Initial License Fee Annual Fee
Event Wagering Operator $100,000 $750,000 $150,000
Designee 100,000 750,000 150,000
Limited Event Wagering Operator 5,000 25,000 5,000
Management Services Provider 1,000 10,000 5,000
Supplier N/A 1,500 500
Ancillary Supplier N/A 1,500 500
Employee N/A 250 125

Event Wagering — Privilege Fee

ADG is required to establish a fee that is applied to the adjusted gross event wagering receipts collected by event
wagering operators. ADG has the discretion to set this fee at any rate, although statute requires that ADG
"consider" the highest percentage of revenue share that an Indian tribe pays to the state pursuant to the Tribal-
State Gaming Compact, which is 8.0%. [A.R.S. § 5-1318].

Adjusted gross event wagering receipts is defined as the total gross amount wagered (known as the handle) minus
winnings paid out and any federal excise tax paid by the licensee. In addition, a deduction equal to the value of
free bets and promotional credits redeemed by bettors is allowed, subject to the following restrictions (relative to
the start of the licensee's operations): For years 1 and 2 of operations, up to 20% of gross amount wagered; For
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year 3 of operations up to 15% of gross amount wagered; For years 4 and 5 of operations, up to 10% of gross
amount wagered; For the sixth year of operations and thereafter, the free bet and promotional credit deduction is
not allowed. [A.R.S. § 5-1301].

ADG set the fee for the privilege of operating event wagering at 8.0% of adjusted gross event wagering receipts for
bets placed at retail locations and 10.0% of adjusted gross event wagering receipts for online/mobile bets. Laws
2022, Chapter 306 set the maximum fee rate that ADG may apply to adjusted gross wagering receipts at 10.0%
[A.R.S. § 5-1318]. The 10% maximum rate for the event wagering privilege fee went into effect September 24,
2022.

Table 3 below shows event wagering privilege fee revenue as reported by ADG in their annual reports.

Table 3
Event Wagering Fund Privilege Fee Revenue ¥

Adjusted Net Privilege Fee License
FY Handle Net Win Free Bets ¥/ Win Revenue ¥ Revenue Total
2022 $4,463,917,600 $343,415,400 $184,693,900 $158,721,500 515,789,100 $14,919,100 $30,708,200

1/ These totals reflect privilege fee data as reported by ADG.

2/ Represents promotional credits subtracted from taxable adjusted gross wagering revenue.

3/ Represents privilege fee revenues deposited in the Event Wagering Fund prior to transfer to the General Fund.
SOURCE: ADG, Annual Reports

Fantasy Sports Contests — License Fees

Fantasy sports contest operators are required to have a license to facilitate fantasy sports contests in the state.
Laws 2021, Chapter 234 authorizes ADG to establish the fantasy sports contest license fees without any specified
dollar limitation. ADG has established the license fees as outlined in Table 4 below. Each license lasts 2 years and
has an initial license fee and a renewal fee paid every 2 years.

Table 4
Fantasy Sports Contest License Fees
Initial License Fee Renewal Fee
Fantasy Sports Contest Operator $2,000 $1,000
Management Company 2,000 1,000
Holding Company 500 250
Suppliers 250 125

Fantasy Sports Contests — Privilege Fees

ADG is required to establish a fee that is applied to the fantasy sports contest adjusted revenues collected by a
fantasy sports contest operator. ADG has the discretion to set this fee at any rate, although statute requires that
ADG "consider" the highest percentage of revenue share that an Indian tribe pays to the state pursuant to the
Tribal-State Gaming Compact, which is 8.0%. [A.R.S. § 5-1211].

Fantasy sports contest adjusted revenues are the total entry fees an operator collects (known as the handle) minus
the total paid out as prizes to fantasy sports contest players, multiplied by the in-state percentage. The in-state
percentage is calculated by dividing the total entry fees collected from participants in the state by the total entry
fees collected from all participants in the fantasy sports contest. [A.R.S. § 5-1201, A.R.S. § 5-1211].

ADG set the fee for the privilege of operating fantasy sports contests at 5.0% of fantasy sports contest adjusted
revenue. Laws 2022, Chapter 306 set the maximum fee rate that ADG may apply to fantasy sports contest adjusted
revenues at 10.0% [A.R.S. § 5-1211]. The 10% maximum rate for the fantasy sports contest privilege fee went into
effect September 24, 2022.
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Table 5
Fantasy Sports Contest Fund Privilege Fee Revenue ¥
Privilege Fee
FY Handle Adjusted Revenue Revenue ¥ License Revenue Total
2022 $30,589,200 $2,943,200 $170,400 $34,300 $204,700

1/ These totals reflect privilege fee data as reported by ADG.
2/ Represents privilege fee revenues deposited in the Fantasy Sports Contest Fund prior to transfer to the General Fund.
SOURCE: ADG, Annual Reports

Table 5 above shows the fantasy sports contest privilege fee revenue as reported by ADG in their annual reports.
PAYMENT SCHEDULE

Event Wagering

Initial event wagering license fees are due upon application. Annual license fees must be paid within 12 months of
the date in which they were approved for licensure and annually thereafter. License renewal must be applied for at
least 30 days prior to the expiration date of the license.

Fees paid on adjusted gross event wagering receipts collected each month are due to ADG by the 25™ of the
following month [A.R.S. § 5-1318].

Fantasy Sports Contest

Initial fantasy sports contest license fees are due upon application. Annual license fees must be paid within 12
months of the date in which they were approved for licensure and annually thereafter. License renewal must be
applied for at least 30 days prior to the expiration date of the license.

Fees paid on fantasy sports contest adjusted revenues collected each month are due to ADG on the 25™ of the
following month [A.R.S. § 5-1211].

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
sports betting was enacted in 2021.

2022 LAWS

Laws 2022, Chapter 306 caps the event wagering privilege fee that ADG can set at 10.0% of adjusted gross
wagering receipts for both retail and mobile wagers. The fantasy sports contest privilege fee is also capped at
10.0% [A.R.S. § 5-1211 and A.R.S. § 5-1318].

Chapter 306 requires ADG to transfer 90% of the monies deposited into the Event Wagering Fund from the prior
month into the General Fund by the 25% of the following month. Any fantasy sports contest revenues collected in
excess of the amount appropriated from the Fantasy Sports Contest Fund must be transferred to the General Fund
at the end of each fiscal year [A.R.S. § 5-1211 and A.R.S. § 5-1318].

2021 LAWS

Laws 2021, Chapter 234 contains all the provisions in this section. The FY 2022 budget 3-year plan assumed a
General Fund revenue impact of $200 million in FY 2023 and $300 million in FY 2024 related to Chapter 234. At
the time of enactment, the JLBC Staff estimated that the General Fund impact of this legislation would be $34.2
million once the market for the authorized games becomes more fully operational. The JLBC Staff estimate
reflected the event wagering and fantasy sports contest license and privilege fee revenue described above, along
with revenue from the Lottery keno and mobile draw games authorized in the legislation.
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In the following year during the FY 2023 budget development, the estimates of Gaming proceeds were revised.
Actual FY 2022 General Fund collections were $10 million. As a result, the enacted FY 2023 budget incorporated
Gaming revenue estimates that would grow from $18 million in FY 2023 to $21 million in FY 2025.
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DESCRIPTION

Unclaimed property includes intangible personal property such as traveler’s checks, money orders, stocks or other
equity interest, principal on debt, demand or savings deposits, customer credits, insurance settlements, property
received or held by a court, wages, retirement accounts, and other miscellaneous types of property that are
presumed abandoned according to the schedule set out in statute (A.R.S. § 44-302). Unclaimed property also
includes tangible property held in a safe deposit box which remains unclaimed after the expiration of the lease on
the box (A.R.S. § 44-303). Property is presumed abandoned and therefore unclaimed after it is held for an
extended period of time with no owner contact and a “good faith” effort has been made to locate the owner.
Abandoned property is transferred to the Department of Revenue (DOR) from many holders, including banks,
credit unions, corporations, utilities, insurance companies, governmental entities, and retailers. DOR also
establishes and maintains records of escheated estates. An escheated estate is created when a person dies
without leaving a will and has no known heirs; the property reverts to the state after 5 years.

DOR acts as custodian of the property and administers a program to locate the owners. Once reported to DOR,
unclaimed property is available for refund for 35 years after the last day of the fiscal year in which DOR receives
the unclaimed property. Statute requires businesses and other organizations to review their records each year to
determine whether they hold any funds, securities, or other property that are unclaimed for the statutory
abandonment period. Holders file an annual report and transfer the property to the state. The holding period
before property is considered unclaimed varies by type of property. If the properties received by DOR remain
unclaimed within a specified time period, the properties are sold by DOR with the proceeds distributed to a
number of state funds.

Although the collection and sale of unclaimed property held by the DOR does not constitute a tax, monies derived
from this activity represent a significant state revenue source.

DISTRIBUTION

Monies from the collection and sale of unclaimed property are deposited in the non-appropriated Estate and
Unclaimed Property Fund administered by DOR. DOR retains not less than $100,000 to pay allowed claims while
the state attempts to locate abandoned property owners. Revenues from the sale of escheated estates are
deposited in the Escheated Estates Fund.

Monies received by DOR from the collection and sale of unclaimed properties and escheated estates are
distributed as follows:

e Monies derived from unclaimed victim restitution payments are deposited in the Victim Compensation and
Assistance Fund (VCAF) [A.R.S. § 44-313C and A.R.S. § 41-2407Al].

e Monies from unclaimed shares and dividends of any corporation incorporated under the laws of Arizona,
escheated estates, and unclaimed property in a self-storage unit are deposited in the Permanent State School
Fund (PSSF) [A.R.S. § 44-313B, § 37-521A, § 12-885B, § 33-1704G].

The remaining monies are distributed as follows:

e The first $2.0 million in unclaimed property collections are deposited into the Seriously Mentally Ill Housing
Trust Fund.

e The next $2.5 million are deposited into the Housing Trust Fund.

e The next $24.5 million are deposited into the DOR Administrative Fund to cover DOR’s administrative costs,
including unclaimed property contract auditors and the handling, publicizing, and selling of abandoned
property.

e All remaining monies are redirected to the General Fund.
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Table 1
Unclaimed Property Distributions
Housing DOR

Fiscal General Trust Admin. Racing AHCCCS

Year Fund Fund Fund Funds VCAF v UAF % PSF¥ SMIHTF ¥ Total
2022 $123,953,407 $2,500,000 $24,500,000 S0 $825,986 S0 $51,025  $2,000,000 $153,830,418
2021 $117,570,231 $2,500,000 $24,500,000 S0 $719,854 S0 $366,550  $2,000,000 $147,656,635
2020 $98,913,893 $2,500,000 $24,500,000 S0 $428,344 S0 $180,124  $2,000,000 $128,522,361
2019 $91,509,200 $2,500,000 $24,500,000 S0 $394,900 S0 $201,600  $2,000,000 $121,105,700
2018 $81,318,200 $2,500,000 $24,500,000 S0 $643,600 S0 $233,800  $2,000,000 $111,195,600
2017 $48,834,800 $2,500,000 $24,500,000 S0 $631,200 S0 $650,800  $2,000,000 $79,116,800
2016 $65,996,200 $2,500,000 $24,500,000 S0 $716,800 S0 $273,600  $2,000,000 $95,986,600
2015 $54,052,200 $2,509,300 $24,500,000 S0 $683,200 S0 $737,100  $2,000,000 $84,481,800
2014 $49,186,400 $2,511,100 $24,500,000 S0 $864,600 S0 $234,600  $2,000,000 $79,296,700
2013 $60,899,600 $2,500,000 $25,014,700 ¥ S0 $612,500 S0 $356,900  $2,000,000 $91,383,700
2012¢ $45,840,400 $2,500,000 $24,500,000 S0 $100,500 S0 $140,400  $2,000,000 $75,081,300
2011 $49,120,900 $10,500,000 $24,500,000 S0 $1,143,800 S0 $59,100 0 $85,323,800
20107¢¥  $101,669,100 $10,500,000 $24,500,000 S0 $739,400 S0 $20,600 0 $137,429,100
2009 $9,526,600 $28,554,100 $10,383,300 $144,600 S0 $9,100 0 $48,617,700
2008 ¥ $58,020,600  $33,684,300 $12,248,800 $173,100 $26,300 $11,200 0 $104,164,300
2007 v $12,346,200 $40,972,900 $14,899,200 $1,250,300  $2,550,700 $408,600 0 $72,427,900
2006 $22,825,000 $26,004,600 $9,456,200 $128,300 $855,500 $408,700 0 $59,678,300
2005 $30,715,200  $23,942,700 $8,706,400 $299,600 $1,664,500 $426,100 0 $65,754,500
2004 $8,044,000 $20,708,300 $7,530,300 $547,300 $1,308,000 $397,200 0 $38,535,200
2003 $6,745,700  $17,950,700 $6,527,500 $2,128,000 $1,119,000 $214,100 0 $34,685,000

1/  Victim Compensation and Assistance Fund distributions became effective January 1, 2001, with the implementation of Laws 2001, Chapter 146.

2/ Utility Assistance Fund.

3/ Permanent School Fund.

4/  Arizona Health Care Cost Containment System Seriously Mentally Ill Housing Trust Fund.

5/ Includes one-time revenues of $514,700 from General Fund Unclaimed Property collections to cover retention payments and rent expenses.

6/ InFY 2012 the first $2 million in unclaimed property collections were deposited into the Department of Health Services Seriously Mentally Ill Housing

Trust Fund, the next $2.5 million were deposited into the Housing Trust Fund, the next $24.5 million into the Department of Revenue Administration
Fund, and all the remaining monies were deposited in the General Fund. Transfers to the VCAF, UAF, and PSF continue to be distributed as under
current law.

In FY 2010 and FY 2011, the first $10.5 million in unclaimed property collections were deposited in the Housing Trust Fund, the next $24.5 million

were deposited in the DOR Administrative Fund, and all remaining monies were deposited in the General Fund. Transfers to VCAF, UAF and PSF were

made in accordance with statute.

8/ Laws 2009, 4* Special Session, Chapter 3 as permanent law, accelerated by 2 years the holding periods for all property types to be presumed
abandoned and therefore unclaimed. Chapter 3 also revised the holding period for traveler’s checks from 15 to 3 years as well as the holding period
for money orders from 7 to 3 years. This was estimated to generate one-time additional revenue of $39.4 million to the General Fund in FY 2010.
Actual FY 2010 collections totaled $83.7 million, or $44.3 million more than anticipated. Laws 2010, Chapters 102 and 119 restored the holding
period for traveler’s checks to 15 years as well as the holding periods for stocks, principal and interest on debt, and any dividend, profit distribution,
redemption, payment on principals or other sum held by a business association for its shareholders to 3 years.

9/  Laws 2007, Chapter 260 as session law, allowed DOR to sell unclaimed securities upon their receipt with the requirement that all proceeds from the
sales of these securities in FY 2008 be deposited into the General Fund, instead of the statutory split among the General Fund, Department of
Housing, and Department of Racing. This was estimated to generate increased revenue of $45 million to the General Fund in FY 2008; the actual
amount was $47.2 million.

10/ Laws 2007, Chapter 218 eliminated the Utility Assistance Fund and required a utility to transmit all abandoned utility deposits to a qualified fuel fund
entity for the purpose of assisting low-income residents in making utility deposits or owner repairs or replacement of utility-related appliances or

N

systems.
11/ FY 2005 — FY 2007 General Fund distributions include unclaimed monies arising from the cases of Ladewig v. State of Arizona and Kerr v. State of
Arizona.

SOURCE: DOR, Annual Reports. Figures are net of refunds and agency administrative expenses.

Prior to FY 2012, the first $10.5 million in unclaimed property collections were deposited into the Housing Trust
Fund. The next $24.5 million in collections were deposited into the DOR Administrative Fund and the remaining
monies were deposited into General Fund.

Prior to FY 2010, 55% of all remaining monies were transferred to the Housing Trust Fund, 25% to the General
Fund, and the remaining 20% was distributed among 8 funds administered by the Department of Racing.
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REVENUE BASE

Property is presumed abandoned and, therefore, unclaimed after it has been held for an extended period of time
with no owner contact and a “good faith” effort has been made to locate the owner. The length of time for
property to be presumed abandoned varies depending on the classification of property. The property
classifications and presumption of abandonment timeframes are as follows [A.R.S. § 44-302, A.R.S. § 38-722, A.R.S.
§ 12-881]:

1 Year

Life or endowment insurance policy or an annuity that is payable on proof of death - 1 year after the insured
has attained, or would have attained, the limiting age on the mortality table on which the reserve is based.

Life or endowment insurance policy or an annuity not matured by actual proof of death is deemed matured - 1
year after the insured has attained, or would have attained, the limiting age on the mortality table on which
the reserve is based.

Property that is distributable by a business association or financial organization in a course of dissolution — 1
year after the property becomes distributable.

Property that is received by a court as proceeds of a class action suit and that is not distributed pursuant to
the judgment - 1 year after the date the court distributed the proceeds.

Wages or other labor compensation - 1 year from payment date.

2 Years

Property that is held by a court or governmental entity - 2 years after the property becomes distributable.
Property in any individual retirement account or defined benefit - 2 years after date of the required
distribution.

Excess proceeds from a trustee sale deposited with the county treasurer pursuant to A.R.S. § 33-812 - 2 years
from the date of deposit.

3 Years

Money Order - 3 years after issuance.

Any stock or other equity interest in a business association or financial organization, including security
entitlements - 3 years after the most recent unclaimed dividend, stock split, or other distribution.

The principal and interest on corporate bonds - 3 years after the maturity and after the last interest payment
date.

Demand, savings, or time deposit and any interest or dividends accrued by the accounts - 3 years after
maturity.

Credits owed to a retail customer - 3 years after the obligation accrued.

Life or endowment insurance policy or an annuity that has matured or terminated - 3 years after the
obligation to pay arose.

Check, or similar instrument, to include cashier's and certified checks - 3 years after the check or instrument
was payable.

Dividend, profit, distribution, interest, redemption, payment on principal or other sum held or owed by a
business to shareholders, bondholders, or other security holders who have not claimed it - 3 years after the
date prescribed for payment or delivery.

All other property not otherwise specified - 3 years after the owner's rights to demand the property or after
the obligation to pay or distribute the property arises, whichever occurs first.

Tangible property held in safe deposit box - 3 years after expiration of safe deposit box lease or rental period.
Monies deposited into the Arizona State Retirement System (ASRS) Trust Fund established by A.R.S. § 38-712
and the Long-Term Disability (LTD) Trust Fund established by A.R.S. § 38-797.02 - Monies in both the ASRS and
LTD Trust Funds are presumed abandoned if the apparent owner has not communicated in writing with ASRS
and has not otherwise indicated an interest in the monies for the 3-year period following the required
beginning date of distributions.

Certificates of Deposit and resultant interest — 3 years after maturity.

5 Years

Escheated estate - 5 years without having identified an heir.
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15 Years
e Traveler’s Check - 15 years after issuance.

Property that is not covered under the Arizona Unclaimed Property Act includes gift certificates, electronic gift
cards, nonrefundable tickets, prepaid phone cards, frequent flyer miles, stored value cards, merchandise points
and business accounts of less than $50 [A.R.S. § 44-301].

A.R.S. § 44-304 provides further guidance on how to determine whether property is abandoned.
HOW REVENUES ARE COLLECTED

Holders of unclaimed property include banks, credit unions, corporations, utilities, insurance companies,
governmental entities, and retailers. Each institution is required, except for state agencies, to annually report to
DOR unclaimed property in its possession. Life insurance companies are required to file the report for each
reporting year before May 1 of the succeeding year; all other holders of property presumed abandoned file the
report before November 1 and the report covers the last 12 months before July 1 of that year. For the prior fiscal
year, county treasurers must file the report on or before November 1. State agencies that hold monies for the
payment of voided warrants report no later than the 10" day of each month [A.R.S. § 44-307]. In FY 2010 only,
Laws 2009, 4t Special Session, Chapter 3 required holders of property presumed abandoned to file the report
before June 1, 2010 for the period that covered the last 12 months before July 1, 2009.

Upon filing the report with DOR, the holder of unclaimed property shall pay or deliver it to DOR. On payment or
delivery of property to DOR, the State of Arizona assumes custody and responsibility for the property. A holder
who pays or delivers property to the department in good faith is relieved of all liability with respect to the property
that arises after the payment or delivery [A.R.S. § 44-310].

Statute requires DOR to publish a notice at least semiannually of abandoned property that has been paid or
delivered to the department. The notice must be published in a newspaper circulated in each county and also
published via social media, the radio or another means determined by DOR. DOR’s website must contain
information about abandoned property no later than November 30 of the year following the year in which
abandoned property was paid or delivered to the department [A.R.S. § 44-309].

Unclaimed securities may be sold upon receipt (for more detail, refer to Laws 2007, Chapter 260). Within 3 years
after receiving abandoned property other than securities, the department must sell the unclaimed properties to
the highest bidder at a public sale. Before conducting a sale, the department publishes a notice at least 3 weeks
before the sale in the county in which the sale will occur. A purchaser of property at a sale conducted by the
department takes the property free of all claims of the owner or previous holder and of all persons claiming
through or under the owner or previous holder. [A.R.S. § 44-312].

Securities that are listed on an established stock exchange are sold at prices prevailing on the exchange at the time
of the sale. DOR may sell all other securities in the over-the-counter market at prices prevailing at the time of the
sale. Except in a case of intentional misconduct or malfeasance by the department, a person claiming their
property is not entitled to receive any appreciation in property value that occurred after the delivery to DOR
[A.R.S. § 44-312].

Any person who claims property that was paid or delivered to DOR may file a claim to recover the property or its
monetary value at the time the property was sold. Within 90 days after a claim is filed the department is required
to allow or deny the claim. If the claim is denied, the department informs the claimant of the reasons for the
denial and specifies what additional evidence is required before the claim will be allowed. Within 30 days after a
claim is allowed the department must deliver the property or pay the net proceeds of a sale of the property to the
claimant [A.R.S. § 44-317]. Table 2 displays refunds of unclaimed properties to its owners.
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Table 2
Unclaimed Property Refunds
Fiscal Year Refund Fiscal Year Refund

2022 $47,034,353 2012 $40,049,500
2021 $48,321,802 2011 $34,677,600
2020 $42,494,170 2010 $24,207,900
2019 $48,373,100 2009 $22,267,200
2018 $64,385,400 2008 $27,859,500
2017 $57,030,300 2007 $22,541,000
2016 $54,884,200 2006 $17,693,700
2015 $42,673,900 2005 $16,241,200
2014 $34,059,200 2004 $10,093,800
2013 $40,013,500 2003 $10,333,100

SOURCE: DOR, Annual Reports.

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2016. There were no changes enacted in the period from 2019 through 2022.

2018 LAWS

Laws 2018, Chapter 50 limits the time window in which a person can receive a refund for unclaimed property from
DOR to 35 years after the final day of the fiscal year in which DOR receives the unclaimed property. Prior to
Chapter 50, unclaimed property was available for refund to the owners or their heirs indefinitely. Chapter 50 also
requires DOR to publish a notice with the unclaimed property website via social media, radio or another means
determined by DOR. (These changes take effect retroactively to December 31, 2017.)

Laws 2018, Chapter 59 exempts patronage capital credits and fees issued by electric cooperatives from state
unclaimed property statute and allows the cooperative to use the abandoned property as specified by the
cooperative's bylaws.

2017 LAWS

Laws 2017, Chapter 229 requires county treasurers to distribute unclaimed victim restitution payments to the
Victim Compensation and Assistance Fund (VCAF). Statute requires abandoned monies held by a Justice of the
Peace be transferred to the county treasurer if unclaimed after 2 years. After 1 year without claim, the country
treasurer deposits victim restitution payments in the VCAF and all other unclaimed monies in the county general
fund. Previously, all monies, including victim restitution payments, were transferred to county general funds.

2016 LAWS

Laws 2016, Chapter 239 requires DOR to establish procedures and metrics to monitor and evaluate contracted
unclaimed property auditors who operate on a contingency fee basis. The bill also requires DOR to provide holders
of unclaimed property with a notice of rights, which must state that DOR makes a final decision regarding
recommendations made by the contracted auditors, as well as information on appeals and complaint procedures
and department contact information. Additionally, the bill requires DOR to issue a Request for Information by
January 1, 2017 to explore the feasibility of contracting for unclaimed property audits on a non-contingency basis.

DOR currently contracts with private sector auditors to identify unclaimed property that has not been reported by
businesses. The majority of these audits involve life insurance companies, whose files are checked against the
Social Security Administration’s Master Death File to identify potential unclaimed life insurance benefits. These
auditors currently operate under contingency contracts, retaining between 10.25% and 12.5% of the value of
property that they recover.
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A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2016 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
https://www.azjlbc.gov/22taxbook/22taxbk.pdf.
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PAYMENTS IN LIEU OF
PROPERTY TAXES



FLIGHT PROPERTY TAX

DESCRIPTION

The flight property tax is assessed on the value of airline company aircraft operating in Arizona. The tax is in lieu of
ad valorem property taxes on this type of property [A.R.S. § 42-14255].

DISTRIBUTION

Laws 1986, Chapter 369 shifted flight property tax revenues from the General Fund to the Aviation Fund over a
phase-in period of 3 years. Beginning on January 1, 1987, 33% of total tax receipts were deposited in the Aviation
Fund. On the same date the following 2 years, the distribution level to the Aviation Fund increased to 66% and
100%, respectively.

Laws 1997, 1%t Special Session, Chapter 3 changed the distribution of flight property tax revenues so that, starting
in FY 1998, 50% of total proceeds were deposited in the General Fund and the other 50% in the Aviation Fund.

Laws 2003, Chapter 263 provided that, beginning in FY 2005, 100% of flight property tax revenues are deposited in
the Aviation Fund [A.R.S. § 42-14255].

Table 1
COLLECTIONS AND DISTRIBUTION
Fiscal Year General Fund Aviation Fund Total
2022 S0 $12,655,949 $12,655,949
2021 S0 $12,714,725 $12,714,725
2020 S0 $13,883,835 $13,883,835
2019 S0 $11,728,981 $11,728,981
2018 S0 $13,003,735 $13,003,735
2017 S0 $10,364,980 $10,364,980
2016 S0 $9,295,293 $9,295,293
2015 S0 $9,727,092 $9,727,092
2014 S0 $12,974,652 $12,974,652
2013 S0 $8,084,374 $8,084,374
2012 S0 $10,585,261 $10,585,261
2011 S0 $9,709,712 $9,709,712
2010 S0 $9,451,430 $9,451,430
2009 S0 $11,712,920 $11,712,920
2008 S0 $13,821,790 $13,821,790
2007 S0 $15,300,127 $15,300,127
2006 S0 $13,685,936 $13,685,936
2005 S0 $13,180,039 $13,180,039
2004 $6,320,722 $6,320,723 $12,641,445
2003 $6,715,536 $6,026,213 $12,741,749
SOURCE: Department of Transportation, Office of Financial Planning.

WHO PAYS

The tax is paid by airline companies operating within the state [A.R.S. § 42-14255].
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REVENUE BASE AND RATE

The Department of Revenue (DOR) determines the full cash value of flight property by August 31 each year. The
full cash value is the value determined as of the prior January 1 of the valuation year [A.R.S. § 42-14254A]. DOR
establishes the full cash value as follows [A.R.S. § 42-14254B]:

(1) determines the valuation of flight property by fleet type,

(2) determines the valuation of each fleet type by the original cost less depreciation,

(3) computes depreciation using 15-year straight-line depreciation to salvage value, and
(4) allows additional obsolescence if supported by market evidence.

Small flight property that is operated in the state in air commerce is valued at 30% of its original cost less
depreciation [A.R.S. § 42-14254C]. (Small flight property is airline company aircraft with a maximum passenger
capacity of less than 56 seats and a maximum payload capacity of less than 18,000 pounds [A.R.S. § 42-14251].)

Arizona’s share of the total full cash value of flight property is determined by an apportionment formula, which
depends on the number of minutes that flight property is on the ground and on the flight mileage scheduled within
and outside Arizona [A.R.S. § 42-14254D].

Flight property is assessed as Class 5 property [A.R.S. § 42-12005]. The assessment ratio for Class 5 property is
equal to the ratio that the total net assessed valuation of all taxable property for primary and secondary tax
purposes in Class 1 (commercial/industrial) and Class 6, paragraph 3 (military reuse zones), and personal property
in Class 2 (agricultural/non-profit/golf courses) bears to the total limited valuation of such property [A.R.S. § 42-
15005].

As the formulas above suggest, the assessment ratio for Class 5 property may change from one year to the next. In
the period from 2012 to 2021, the assessment ratio has varied between 14% and 15%. The TY 2022 assessment
ratio for this type of property is 15%.

The tax rate equals the sum of the average rates for primary and secondary property taxes in all taxing jurisdictions
of the state in the current year [A.R.S. § 42-14255]. The historical flight property tax rates are shown in Table 2 on
the following page.

The property tax liability is calculated in the same manner as other property (see Property Tax section), i.e., by
multiplying the tax rate by the assessed valuation of the flight property and then dividing the product by 100.

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

The flight property tax is due and payable at the same time as real and personal property [A.R.S. § 42-14255]. This
means that one-half of the tax is due and payable on October 1 of the tax year, unless the total amount of the tax
due is $100 or less, in which case the full amount of the tax is due and delinquent after November 1. The
remaining one-half of the tax is due on March 1 of the year following the tax year and becomes delinquent after
May 1 [A.R.S. § 42-18052]. Both of these payments fall in the same fiscal year.

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2016. There were no changes enacted to this tax from 2016 through 2022.

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2016 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
https://www.azjlbc.gov/22taxbook/22taxbk.pdf.
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Flight Property Tax

Table 2
HISTORICAL AVERAGE PROPERTY TAX RATES PER $100 OF ASSESSED VALUATION
Tax Year Sum of Average State Tax Rates Primary Tax Rate Secondary Tax Rate

2021 $11.89 $7.76 $4.12
2020 $12.17 $7.87 $4.30
2019 $12.41 $8.05 $4.37
2018 $12.62 $8.01 S4.61
2017 $12.75 $8.54 $4.21
2016 $12.95 $8.73 $4.22
2015 $12.77 $8.74 $4.03
2014 $12.67 $8.75 $3.92
2013 $12.54 $8.52 $4.02
2012 $11.75 $7.89 $3.87
2011 $10.94 $7.28 $3.67
2010 $9.67 $6.32 $3.35
2009 $9.20 $6.13 $3.07
2008 $9.23 $6.24 $2.99
2007 $10.04 $6.75 $3.29
2006 $10.99 $7.24 $3.75
2005 $11.56 $7.81 $3.75
2004 $11.81 $8.09 $3.72
2003 $12.18 $8.36 $3.82
2002 $12.49 $8.56 $3.93

SOURCE: Arizona Property Tax Rates and Assessed Valuations, published by the Arizona Tax Research

Association (ATRA).
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VOLUNTARY CONTRIBUTIONS BY THE
GAME AND FISH COMMISSION

DESCRIPTION

The Game and Fish Commission may elect to make voluntary contributions to the state, county, municipality,
school district, community college district, or other special taxing district in lieu of property taxes when purchasing
real property within the district [A.R.S. § 17-272A].

DISTRIBUTION
The County Treasurer distributes the monies received to the various taxing jurisdictions in which the property is

located in the same manner as property taxes are distributed (see Distribution under Property Taxes) [A.R.S. § 17-
272E].

Table 1
COLLECTIONS
Fiscal Year Net Collections ¥
2022 $44,760
2021 $43,528
2020 $38,139
2019 $34,534
2018 $34,867
2017 $22,140
2016 $22,736
2015 $18,127
2014 $16,286
2013 $35,242
2012 $10,776
2011 $11,141
2010 $11,482
2009 $10,799
2008 $10,369
2007 $12,630
2006 $12,382
2005 $12,009
2004 $12,229
2003 $12,485
1/ Laws 1996, 7t Special Session, Chapter 2 repealed the state property tax.
Beginning in FY 1998, amounts represent contributions that were collected for
local jurisdictions. Amounts were distributed to local jurisdictions and not
retained by the state.
SOURCE: Arizona Game and Fish Department, Habitat Branch.

WHO PAYS

The Game and Fish Commission may make voluntary contributions instead of paying property taxes if the
commission purchases the following types of real property [A.R.S. § 17-272A]:
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(1)  The property was subject to taxation, or
(2)  The property was exempt from taxation at the time of purchase due to one of the following reasons:

e Held by a charitable organization as parkland and no rent or value was received by the charitable
organization, or

e Held by a charitable organization to preserve and protect scientific, biological, geological, paleontological,
natural, or archaeological resources.

The Game and Fish Commission is not required to make contributions with respect to lands acquired for fish
hatcheries, game farms, firing ranges, reservoir sites, administrative sites, or rights-of-way to fishing waters [A.R.S.
§ 17-272F].

REVENUE BASE AND RATE

The Game and Fish Commission is required to consult with the assessor of the county in which the property is
located and determine the assessed valuation as Class 2 agricultural property. The assessed valuation of the
property cannot be increased from one year to the next by more than 2% [A.R.S. § 17-272B].

The tax rates are the same as those set for real and personal property for agricultural purposes or Class 2 property.
The amount of the contribution is determined by applying the current aggregate property tax rate to the
determined valuation [A.R.S. § 17-272C].

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

The County Treasurer collects the voluntary contributions from the Game and Fish Commission at the same time
and in the same manner as ad valorem property taxes (see Payment Schedule under Property Taxes) [A.R.S. § 17-
272D].

The voluntary contributions may be made by the Game and Fish Commission from the Game, Nongame, Fish and
Endangered Species Fund, the Conservation Development Fund, the Arizona Game and Fish Commission Heritage
Fund, or any other source of monies available to and budgeted by the commission [A.R.S. § 17-272A].

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2016.

There were no changes enacted to this revenue category from 2016 to 2022.

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2016 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
https://www.azjlbc.gov/22taxbook/22taxbk.pdf.

-183 -


https://www.azjlbc.gov/22taxbook/volgamefish.pdf

WATERCRAFT REGISTRATION FEE

DESCRIPTION

The Arizona Constitution, Article 9, Section 16 exempts all watercraft registered for operation in the state, except
those owned and operated for commercial purposes, from property taxes. Instead, watercraft is subject to the
watercraft registration fee, which is a fee levied based on the length of a watercraft [A.R.S. § 5-321]. The
watercraft registration fee replaced the former watercraft license tax in FY 2006 (Laws 2005, Chapter 318).

(Statute defines "watercraft" as any boat designed to be propelled by machinery, oars, paddles or wind for
navigation on the water [A.R.S. § 5-301].)

DISTRIBUTION

Each month, watercraft license fee revenues are deposited as follows [A.R.S. § 5-323]:

e 65% of revenues are transferred to the Watercraft Licensing Fund. Such monies are subject to legislative
appropriation. Monies deposited in this fund are used for administration and enforcement of watercraft laws.

e The remaining 35% of revenues are deposited by the Arizona Game and Fish Department as follows: (1) 15%

to the State Lake Improvement Fund and (2) 85% to the Law Enforcement and Boating Safety Fund.

Total net collections from the watercraft license fee are shown in the table below.

Table 1
COLLECTIONS
Fiscal Year Net Collections Fiscal Year Net Collections

2022 $7,748,283 2012 $4,301,047
2021 $6,984,326 2011 $4,450,746
2020 $6,765,844 2010 $5,120,398
2019 $6,581,150 2009 $5,468,067
2018 $4,233,043 2008 $4,955,124
2017 $4,245,613 2007 $5,398,134
2016 $4,217,386 2006 $4,338,741
2015 $4,348,579 2005 $2,317,368
2014 $4,432,379 2004 $1,061,931
2013 $4,146,344 2003 $2,327,090

SOURCE: Game and Fish Department

WHO PAYS

The fee is paid by the owner of each watercraft that requires numbering by the state [A.R.S. § 5-321]. Numbering
is required for all undocumented watercraft underway, moored, or anchored on the waters of this state [A.R.S. §
5-322].

REVENUE BASE AND RATE

The watercraft registration fee is levied on watercraft based on 7 different watercraft length ranges [A.R.S. § 5-321

and A.R.S. § 5-327].
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Watercraft Registration Fee

The fees for watercraft are as follows: Registration NBSIF
Twelve feet and less $20 S80
Twelve feet one inch through sixteen feet S22 $88
Sixteen feet one inch through twenty feet S30 $192
Twenty feet one inch through twenty-six feet S35 $224
Twenty-six feet one inch through thirty-nine feet $39 $253
Thirty-nine feet one inch through sixty-four feet $44 $286
Sixty-four feet one inch and over S66 $429

Pursuant to Laws 2012, Chapter 237, residents and nonresidents pay the same boating registration fee. The prior
system of a different fee for residents compared to nonresidents was out of compliance with federal law; however,
Chapter 237 additionally requires nonresidents to pay a boating safety infrastructure fee (NBSIF).

Pursuant to Laws 2013, Chapter 197, the Arizona Game and Fish Commission is authorized to establish by rule new
registration and boating safety infrastructure fees for watercraft owned by residents and non-residents of Arizona.

The commission held public meetings on the proposed new watercraft registration fees, which became effective
January 1, 2014.

Chapter 197 stipulated that the total amount of watercraft registration fees collected in any fiscal year does not
exceed 50% more than the amount appropriated from the Watercraft Licensing Fund in FY 2013 (which was

$4,504,200). Laws 2018, Chapter 103 later repealed that provision.

In addition, owners of motorized watercraft may be charged a fee for the Lower Colorado River Multispecies
Conservation Program (MSCP) [A.R.S. § 5-323].

The main exemptions from the watercraft registration fee are [A.R.S. § 5-322A]:

(1) Foreign watercraft temporarily using the waters of the state.

(2) Military or public vessels of the United States, except recreational type of public vessels.

(3) Watercraft used solely as lifeboats.

(4) Undocumented watercraft operating under a valid temporary certificate.

(5) Documented watercraft numbered in accordance with the regulations of the United States Coast Guard.

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

Watercraft registration fees are due at the time of application for watercraft registration with the Arizona Game
and Fish Department [A.R.S. § 5-321A].

Laws 1982, Chapter 255 authorized the Arizona Game and Fish Commission to establish rules for registering
watercraft on a staggered monthly basis. All registrations expire according to schedules established by the
commission [A.R.S. § 5-321.01].

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2016.

There were no changes enacted to this fee in 2016, 2017, or from 2019 through 2022.
2018 LAWS

Laws 2018, Chapter 103 repeals the limitation on watercraft license fees, which capped fee collections at 150% of
the department's FY 2013 appropriation from the Watercraft Licensing Fund.
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Watercraft Registration Fee

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2016 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
https://www.azjlbc.gov/22taxbook/22taxbk.pdf.
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GOVERNMENT PROPERTY LEASE EXCISE TAX

DESCRIPTION

The Government Property Lease Excise Tax (GPLET) was enacted in 1996 (Laws 1996, Chapter 349) to allow cities,
towns, counties, and county stadium districts (hereafter referred to as "government lessors") to lease property
that they own to private parties ("prime lessees") for commercial, residential rental, or industrial purposes for at
least 30 days [A.R.S. § 42-6201]. GPLET replaced the tax on possessory interests that was repealed in 1995 (for a
more detailed discussion, see Possessory Interest section).

Because the Arizona Constitution exempts federal, state, county, and municipal property from taxation,
government lessors do not have to pay any property taxes. Instead, the prime lessees are required to pay a GPLET
on the building ("government property improvement") that they lease from the government lessor. Unlike the
property tax, GPLET is based on factors other than a property’s assessed value, such as a building’s square footage
and usage.

Grandfather Provisions

Laws 2010, Chapter 321 provided new requirements for all leases subject to GPLET that were entered into on or
after June 1, 2010. The act provided new and higher tax rates, as well as new abatement and reporting
requirements. Additionally, the act grandfathered all leases that were entered into before June 1, 2010, or that
resulted from a development agreement, ordinance, or resolution approved before this date and entered into
within 10 years of such approval. Laws 2017, Chapter 120 provides that for a lease to be grandfathered under the
original GPLET rates, the Department of Revenue (DOR) must determine that such lease is in compliance with the
aforementioned requirement.

A grandfathered lease that is amended after June 1, 2010 continues to be subject to the provisions in effect prior
to Laws 2010, Chapter 321, if all of the following conditions are met: (1) the amendment furthers the purpose of
the original lease, (2) any land added under the amendment is contiguous to the land under the original lease and
does not increase the land area by more than 50%, and (3) any government property improvement added under
the amendment does not increase the area of gross building space by more than 100% [A.R.S. § 42-6203].

DISTRIBUTION
The county treasurer is required to distribute the excise tax within 30 days of receipt as follows [A.R.S. § 42-6205]:

e  13% to the county general fund

e 7% to the city, if applicable

o 7% to the community college district, if applicable

e 73% to the school district not within a high school district (or 36.5% each to the high school and elementary
district), if applicable.

If inapplicable, proceeds are split proportionally among the other entities. Table 1 below shows the annual
amount of GPLET collections in the last 20 years.
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Table 1
COLLECTIONS ¥ %

Calendar Year Net Collections Calendar Year Net Collections
2021 $14,036,288 2011 $6,038,494
2020 $14,368,848 2010 $5,672,312
2019 $14,229,685 2009 $3,091,291
2018 $13,718,519 2008 $3,204,870
2017 $9,489,639 2007 $3,108,195
2016 $9,492,158 2006 $2,921,164
2015 $8,780,769 2005 $2,696,092
2014 $6,643,785 2004 $2,898,944
2013 $6,042,658 2003 $3,013,352
2012 $5,812,888 2002 $2,721,824

1/ The tax became effective December 1, 1996.
2/ The state does not collect any monies from the tax.

SOURCE: League of Arizona Cities and Towns, 1996 — 2010
County Treasurers, 2011 — 2021

WHO PAYS

County treasurers collect the tax annually on prime lessees who use or occupy the government property [A.R.S. §
42-6202].

The following are exempt from GPLET [A.R.S. § 42-6208]:

Eall S

10.
11.
12.
13.
14.

15.

Property used for government activity.

Property used for public housing.

Easements and rights-of-way of railroads and gas, electric, pipeline, and telephone utilities.

Interests in a facility that is owned by the government lessor and used primarily for athletic, recreational,
entertainment, artistic, cultural, or convention activities.

Property that is used for aviation-related purposes, including hangars, tie-downs, aircraft maintenance,
commercial aircraft terminal franchises, rental car operations, parking facilities, restaurants, stores, and other
services located in a terminal.

The use by a commercial airline of the runways and terminal facilities of a state, city, town, or county airport.
Leases of property or interests in a transportation facility that is constructed or operated pursuant to Title 28,
Chapter 22.

Interest in state trust lands.

Interest in property held in trust for an Indian tribe by the United States government.

Interest in “contractor-acquired property” or “government-furnished property” that is owned by the
government and used to perform a government contract.

Property of a corporation that is organized or directed by a county, city, or town to be used for public
purposes.

Interest in property used by a chamber of commerce.

Interest in property used by tax-exempt organizations under 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code.

Interest in parking garages or decks owned and operated by the government lessor, or operated on behalf of
the government lessor by an entity other than the prime lessee.

Residential rentals occupied by the prime lessee.
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Tax Abatement
As noted in Table 2, a city or town is allowed to fully abate the tax on a government property improvement in the
first 8 years after the certificate of occupancy is issued if the following requirements are met [A.R.S. § 42-6209]:

1. The improvement is located in a single central business district in the city or town and is subject to a lease or
development agreement entered into on or after April 1, 1985.

2. The improvement is located entirely within a "slum or blighted area" established pursuant to Title 36, Chapter
12, Article 3.

3. The government property improvement resulted or will result in an increase in property value of at least
100%.

Pursuant to Laws 2018, Chapter 231, the central business district must be "geographically compact" and no larger
than the greatest of: (1) the total land area of an existing central business district as of January 1, 2018, (2) 2.5% of
the total land area within the exterior boundaries of the city or town, or (3) 960 acres. Chapter 231 defines a
"geographically compact" central business district as having a length that is no more than twice its width. Any
central business district existing prior to January 1, 2018 is deemed "geographically compact."

Laws 2010, Chapter 321 prohibits a city or town from designating more than 1 central business district within its
corporate boundaries and approving a new lease or development agreement within 1 year of such designation.
Unless the grandfather provisions are met, the act prohibits a city or town from approving a new lease or
development agreement on or after June 1, 2010 unless the government lessor: (1) approves the lease or
development agreement by simple majority vote without the use of consent calendar, (2) notifies the governing
bodies of affected taxing jurisdictions where the government property is located at least 60 days prior to approval,
and (3) determines that the economic and fiscal benefits to the state and county, city, or town where the
government property is located will exceed the benefits received by the prime lessee, as determined by an
independent third party.

Laws 2017, Chapter 120 limits the lease period for a government property improvement for which GPLET is abated
to 8 years, including the abatement period. The 8-year limit applies to leases approved by the governing body of
the government lessor after December 31, 2016. For leases approved prior to January 1, 2017, the lease period is
limited to 25 years, including the abatement period.

Park Property Lease Excise Tax

Each county is required to levy and collect an annual Park Property Lease Excise Tax on each prime lessee of a
lease with the National Park Service of a property improvement located in that county [A.R.S. § 42-6210]. The tax
is assessed, collected, and distributed in the same manner GPLET, except that:

1. Each lease or development agreement is neither required to include a notice of tax liability nor a provision
that failure to pay could result in divesting the prime lessee of any interest in the right of occupancy of the
property.

2. The tax rate cannot be less than 20% of GPLET (see the Tax Base and Rate section below).

REVENUE BASE AND RATE
Grandfathered Leases

The tax rates applied to a government property improvement subject to a pre-June 2010 grandfathered lease are
as follows [A.R.S. § 42-6203(A)]:

e $1.00 per square foot for 1-story office buildings

e $1.25 per square foot for office buildings with 2 to 7 stories

e $1.75 per square foot for office buildings with 8 or more stories
e $1.50 per square foot for retail buildings

e $1.50 per square foot for hotel/motel buildings

e $0.75 per square foot for warehouse or industrial buildings

e $0.50 per square foot for residential rental buildings
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e $1.00 per square foot for any other building
e 5100 per parking space for parking garages

Lessees pay a percentage of the “base” rates listed above depending on where the property is located, the start
date of the lease, and when the original certificate of occupancy for the government property improvement was
issued, as summarized in Table 2 below.

The tax rate on a government property improvement subject to a lease or development agreement entered into
after June 30, 1996 and that is located outside a “slum and blighted area” is 150% of the applicable rate listed
above. The tax rate on a government property improvement subject to a pre-April 1, 1985 lease or development
agreement, or on an improvement at a rural (county population under 400,000 prior to 1988) county or city airport
is 20% of the applicable rate listed above.

As noted above, tax abatement is restricted to government property improvements within a single central business
district within the “slum and blighted area.” Other improvements outside the single central business district but
still within the “slum and blighted area” will pay 80% of the tax.

New Leases
The 2022 tax rates applied to a government property improvement subject to a new lease entered into on or after
June 1, 2010 are as follows [A.R.S. § 42-6203(B)]:

e $2.46 per square foot for 1-story office buildings

e $2.83 per square foot for office buildings with 2 to 7 stories

e $3.82 per square foot for office buildings with 8 or more stories
e $3.09 per square foot for retail buildings

e $2.46 per square foot for hotel/motel buildings

e $1.66 per square foot for warehouse or industrial buildings

e $0.94 per square foot for residential rental buildings

e $2.46 per square foot for any other building

e $246.17 per parking space for parking garages

The GPLET rates above apply to Tax Year 2022. Laws 2010, Chapter 321 requires the Department of Revenue
(DOR) to adjust the tax rates for inflation each year. The act also provides that the tax rates for government
property improvements subject to a lease entered into on or after June 1, 2011 be reduced by 10% if the aggregate
of all property tax rates of all taxing jurisdictions in which the government property improvement is located is less
than 90% of the county-wide average combined property tax rates in the tax year in which the lease is entered
into. For example, if the average combined property tax rate is $10.00 for all properties in a county but $9.00 or
less for those properties located in the same taxing jurisdictions as the GPLET property, then the tax rates would
be reduced by 10%.

Laws 2010, Chapter 321 requires that all new leases entered into on or after June 1, 2010 begin within 10 years
after the approval of the development agreement. The act limits the term of such lease to 25 years, including any
abatement period regardless of whether the lease is transferred or conveyed to subsequent prime lessees during
that period. Moreover, the act requires the government lessor to convey the title to the government property
improvement and underlying land to the prime lessee as soon as practicable but no later than 12 months after the
expiration of the lease. Additionally, such property is prohibited from subsequently being designated as Class 6 or
any other discounted assessment.

For leases approved after December 31, 2016, Laws 2017, Chapter 120 reduces the maximum lease period for a
government property improvement for which GPLET is abated from 25 to 8 years, including the abatement period
regardless of whether the lease is transferred or conveyed to subsequent prime lessees during that period. As
under prior law, the government lessor is required to convey the title to the government property improvement
and underlying land to the prime lessee as soon as practicable but no later than 12 months after the expiration of
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the lease. In addition, property conveyed to a prime lessee is prohibited from subsequently being designated as
Class 6 or any other discounted assessment.

PAYMENT SCHEDULE
The excise tax is due and payable to the county treasurer annually on or before December 1 [A.R.S. § 42-6204].
POSSESSORY INTEREST

In 1985, the Arizona Legislature enacted legislation that provided a method for the taxation of possessory
interests. A possessory interest is created when a private party is granted the exclusive use of real property owned
by a non-taxable entity. Typically, possessory interests are created when private individuals, companies, or
corporations lease, rent, or use federal, state, county, or municipal government-owned facilities and land for their
own benefit.

The tax on possessory interest was enacted in response to the extensive use of the property tax exemption for
government owned property as an economic development tool. (Article 9 of the Arizona Constitution provides
that federal, state, county, and municipal government property be exempt from taxation.) The new law
specifically provided that possessory interests in federal, state, county, and municipal government property would
become subject to taxation. Additionally, the law established possessory interest tax exemptions and provided
special valuation rules for possessory interests that were created prior to April 1, 1985.

Over time, the possessory interest tax was challenged in court in a number of cases. As a result, the court held
that limiting the special valuation to possessory interests created before April 1, 1985 was in violation of the
uniformity clause under the Arizona Constitution. The court also held that the possessory interest exemptions
went beyond the constitutional tax exemptions and were therefore ruled invalid. The effect of these court rulings
was that all possessory interests became taxed in the same manner as other properties.

In 1995, the Legislature repealed the possessory interest tax (effective retroactively from January 1, 1995). The
intent statement expressed the Legislature’s desire that possessory interests not be subject to ad valorem taxation
until a new taxing mechanism was enacted. Laws 1996, Chapter 349 created such a taxing mechanism in the form
of GPLET, which was to serve as the successor to the possessory interest tax.
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Table 2

Location of Property

Inside of a Redevelopment

Area

Outside of a
Redevelopment Area

Inside of a “Slum” or
“Blighted” Area

Outside of a “Slum” or
“Blighted” Area

Inside of a “Central
Business District”

At an Airport Owned by a
County (or a City within a
County) with a Population

of 400,000 or Less

Location is Not Specified

National Park Service
Property

TAX RATES FOR GRANDFATHERED PRE-JUNE 2010 LEASES

Years Since Date of Issuance of
Original Certificate of

Start Date of Lease Occupancy (COO

On or after 4/1/1985

On or after 4/1/1985 but

before 6/30/1996

Before 6/1/2010

On or after 6/30/1996

On or after 4/1/1985

Before 6/1/2010

Before 4/1/1985

Before 6/1/2010

0-10
10-20
20-30
30-40
40-50

50 or more

0-10
10-20
20-30
30-40
40-50

50 or more

0-10
10-20
20-30
30-40
40-50

50 or more

0-10
10-20
20-30
30-40
40-50

50 or more

0-8
8-10
10-20
20-30
30-40
30-40
50 or more

0-10
10-20
20-30
30-40
40-50

50 or more

0-10
10-20
20-30
30-40
40-50

50 or more

0-10
10-20
20-30
30-40

40 or more

Percentage of “Base”
Excise Tax Rate

(by age of COO)

100%
80%
60%
40%
20%

0%

100%
80%
60%
40%
20%

0%

80%
80%
60%
40%
20%

0%

150%
120%
90%
60%
30%
0%

0%
80%
80%
60%
40%
20%

0%

20%
16%
60%
40%
20%

0%

20%
16%
60%
40%
20%

0%

100%
80%
60%
40%
20%
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IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2016.

There were no changes enacted to this tax in 2016 and in the period from 2019 through 2022.
2018 LAWS

Laws 2018, Chapter 231 provides the following changes to the tax abatement program for government property
improvements located in a central business district:

e Adjusts the maximum size of a central business district to the greatest of: (1) the total land area of an existing
central business district as of January 1, 2018, (2) 2.5% of the total land area within the exterior boundaries of
the city or town, or (3) 960 acres.

e Defines a "geographically compact" central business district as having a length that is no more than twice its
width. Any central business district existing prior to January 1, 2018 is deemed "geographically compact."

e Specifies that a slum or blighted area designation made after September 30, 2018 automatically terminates
after 10 years, unless after a review by the city or town, the designation is formally renewed, modified, or
terminated in whole or in part.

e Directs each municipality, by October 1, 2020, to review each slum or blighted area in which a central business
district is located that was designated before September 30, 2018 and renew, modify, or terminate it.

2017 LAWS

Laws 2017, Chapter 120 limits the length of a lease for a property with an abated GPLET approved by the
governing body of the government lessor through a development agreement, ordinance or resolution after
December 31, 2016 to 8 years. Additionally, Chapter 120 requires the government lessor to calculate the GPLET
liability for each prime lessee. (Prior to Chapter 120, the prime lessee was required to make this calculation.)
Moreover, Chapter 120 requires the government lessor to either maintain a public database by county or
municipality, as applicable, of all leases subject to GPLET, or alternatively, post its lease agreements on a county or
municipal website where the government property improvement is located.

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2016 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
https://www.azjlbc.gov/22taxbook/22taxbk.pdf.
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HIGHWAY USER REVENUE FUND OVERVIEW

DESCRIPTION

The State of Arizona taxes motor fuels and imposes various other fees related to the registration and operation of
motor vehicles. Included are motor vehicle fuel taxes, use fuel taxes, vehicle license taxes, motor carrier fees,
vehicle registration fees, and various other miscellaneous fees. Depending on the category, all, or a portion of
these taxes and fees are distributed to the Arizona Highway User Revenue Fund (HURF). This 2022 Tax Handbook
contains individual sections on the major tax components of HURF, including Motor Vehicle Fuel Tax, Use Fuel Tax,
Vehicle License Tax (VLT), and the Motor Carrier Fee (which replaced the Motor Carrier Tax in FY 1998), as well as
distributions from the 16% Marijuana Excise Tax approved by voters in the November 2020 General Election.
Vehicle registration fees and various other fees that are part of HURF are not included in the handbook.

HURF revenues are a major source of funding to the state for highway construction, highway maintenance and
improvements, and other highway-related expenditures. A portion of HURF revenue is also distributed to Arizona
cities, towns, and counties for highway-related purposes.

DISTRIBUTION

HURF collections totaled approximately $1.7 billion in FY 2022. This was an increase of 6.3% from FY 2021
collections. The largest source of HURF revenue comes from VLT. The next biggest category is motor fuel or gas
taxes, followed by Use Fuel Tax, registration, motor carrier fee, other fees, and the marijuana excise tax. As noted
above, more detailed discussion of the tax categories is provided in subsequent sections of the handbook.

The following chart provides a graphic representation of the relative importance of each of the HURF revenue
categories for FY 2022:

Highway User Revenue Fund
FY 2022 Collections by Major Category

Use Fuel
14.9%
I\/I%tlc)rl;ue' Motor Carrier
1% 3.3%
Marijuana
2.5% VLT
Other 31.4%
3.2%
Registration

13.7%

Table 1 summarizes HURF collections by major category over the last 10 years.
-195 -



Highway User Revenue Fund Overview

Table 1
HURF COLLECTIONS
(S in Thousands)
Motor Vehicle Motor

Fiscal Vehicle Use Fuel License Carrier Registration Other Marijuana

Year Fuel Tax Tax Tax ¥ Fee Fees ¥ Fees ¥ Excise Tax Total
2022  $537,859 $256,878 $542,835 556,698 $236,122 $55,578 $43,168 $1,729,138
2021  $505,225 $249,838 $551,141 $52,129 $220,075 $48,762 SO $1,627,170
2020  S$515,447 $217,958 $473,259 $45,472 $191,464 $37,236 SO $1,480,836
2019  $531,068 $218,818 $469,470 $45,812 $192,926 $62,128 SO $1,520,221
2018 $527,355 $202,114 $444,757 $42,823 $181,227 $57,503 SO $1,455,779
2017 $515,116 $201,697 $421,939 $42,091 $177,818 $57,863 SO $1,416,524
2016  $505,687 $193,291 $395,952 $41,058 $173,647 $57,989 S0 $1,367,624
2015  $481,250 $184,500 $369,719 $40,227 $168,541 $56,549 SO $1,300,787
2014  $467,004 $176,368 $348,509 538,842 $163,667 $56,532 SO $1,250,922
2013  $461,046 $177,240 $326,541 $37,310 $157,749 $57,332 SO $1,217,218

1/ The amounts indicated reflect only the portion of VLT that is distributed to HURF.
2/ The amounts indicated reflect a minor change in revenue categorization. In prior years, authorized third-party
retainage of revenues was recorded in Other Fees. ADOT is now recording that amount in Registration Fees.

SOURCE: Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT), Office of Financial Planning.

HUR

(1)
(2)
(3)
(4)

(5)
(6)
(7)

HUR

F may be expended for the following purposes (see Arizona Constitution, Article 9, Section 14):

The cost of administering taxes that are deposited in the fund.

Refunds and adjustments provided for by law.

Payment of highway obligations.

The cost of construction, reconstruction, maintenance and repair of public highways and bridges and county,
city and town roads and streets.

The cost of state enforcement of traffic laws.

The cost of publication and distribution of Arizona Highways Magazine.

Distribution to counties, incorporated cities and towns according to law.

F is distributed each fiscal year in the following manner [A.R.S. § 28-6533]:

Direct Allocations

First

, certain distributions are made before applying the statutory formula.

According to statute, 1.6% of the motor vehicle fuel tax collections portion of HURF is deposited in the State
Lake Improvement Fund (SLIF), except that 1% of such collections is retained in the Watercraft Fuel Tax
Administration (Administration) Fund by the Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT) to defray
administrative expenses [A.R.S. § 28-5926].

According to statute, 0.55% of the motor vehicle fuel tax collections portion of HURF is transferred to the Off-
Highway Vehicle Recreation (OHV) Fund on a monthly basis [A.R.S. § 28-5927].

According to statute, $1.0 million is allocated to the Economic Strength Project Fund [A.R.S. § 28-6534].

The Legislature appropriates an amount to ADOT for funding vehicle registration compliance operations,
included in the "Other" column in Table 3 below.

Beginning in FY 2015, the Legislature has directly allocated $30.0 million to local governments. If this amount
were not directly allocated, it would flow through the formula and be distributed to both the State Highway
Fund and to local governments. By directly allocating the $30.0 million, local governments receive that full
amount rather than splitting it with the State Highway Fund.

- 196 -




Highway User Revenue Fund Overview

In FY 2021, the Legislature discontinued the $30 million direct allocation to local governments, resulting in an
effective increase to the State Highway Fund of about $12.8 million.

Statutory Formula Distribution

After making the above distributions, the balance of collections is distributed by statutory formula as follows
[A.R.S. § 28-6538]:

50.5% State Highway Fund (SHF).

Of the monies distributed to SHF, 15.2% (12.6% by statute and 2.6% per State Transportation Board policy) are

further distributed as follows [A.R.S. § 28-6538B]:

— 75% to counties with a population of 1.5 million or more for design, right-of-way purchase, or
construction of controlled access highways to be included as state routes or state highways in regional
transportation plans and the state highway system.

—  25% to counties with a population of more than 800,000 but less than 1.5 million for design, right-of-way
purchase, or construction of controlled access highways to be included as state routes or state highways
in regional transportation plans and the state highway system.

These amounts (6.4% of all HURF for the statutory portion and 1.3% for the Board policy portion) are

displayed in the "County Controlled Access" column in Table 3 and are in practice distributed to Maricopa

Association of Governments and Pima Association of Governments, respectively, which are regional planning

agencies for their respective areas.

The remaining 84.8% (or 42.8% of all HURF) is retained by the State Highway Fund, as displayed in the "State

Highway Fund" column in Table 3, which is primarily used to fund ADOT's operating budget and capital

projects.

19% Counties - Each county receives 72% of its HURF distribution based on 2 criteria: the portion of gasoline

distributed by fuel suppliers to gasoline stations in the county and an estimation of diesel consumed in the

county. The other 28% of the county distribution is based on unincorporated population.

27.5% Incorporated cities and towns - Cities and towns receive half of their HURF distribution based on their

share of statewide incorporated population. The other half is based on the portion of gasoline supplied at the

county level. Once a county’s pro-rata share of gasoline supplies is determined, those monies are distributed
based on a city’s or town’s total population in relation to the county’s incorporated population.

3% Incorporated cities with population greater than 300,000 persons - This distribution to Phoenix, Tucson,

and Mesa is based on population.

Table 2 below summarizes HURF actual distribution percentages for FY 2022 after the Economic Strength Project
and other distributions noted above.

Table 3 below summarizes HURF distributions by major
category. Please refer to the table in the Summary of Highway
Construction section of the Capital Outlay section in the FY
2023 Appropriations Report for a more detailed explanation of
the distribution of HURF revenues. It should be noted that the
FY 2022 amounts in Table 3 vary slightly from those presented
in the Appropriations Report. The numbers in Table 3 reflect
actual collections, while the numbers in the FY 2023
Appropriations Report were based on estimated collections.

The tax base and tax rates, payment schedules, and the impact
of tax law changes for the Motor Vehicle Fuel Tax, Use Fuel
Tax, VLT, Motor Carrier Fee are provided in the individual
write-ups for each of the HURF revenue categories in the
following section of the handbook. As discussed in more detail

Table 2

PERCENTAGE DISTRIBUTION
OF STATUTORY FORMULA HURF MONIES

Cities 30.5%
Counties 19.0%
Controlled Access 7.7%Y
State Highway Fund 42.8%
Total 100.0%

1/ Includes 1.3% (2.6% of 50.5% SHF share) distributed
for Controlled Access per State Transportation Board
policy.

in the Marijuana Excise Tax section of the Tax Handbook, a certain percentage of the revenue collected from the
16% excise tax is deposited in HURF to fund state and local transportation programs.
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Table 3
HURF DISTRIBUTION
(S in Thousands)
State County Cities Economic
Fiscal Highway Controlled and Strength
Year Fund Access Towns Counties DPS Project Other Total
2022 $724,391 $129,844 $523,341 $326,106 $4,020 $1,000 $20,526 $1,729,138
2021 $656,178 $121,801 $492,461 $306,779 $4,126 $1,000 $44,824 2/ $1,627,170
2020 $582,270 $112,580 $454,683 $283,245 $3,344 $1,000 $43,714 ¥ $1,480,836
2019 $580,459 $108,072 $461,903 $287,743 $18,714 $1,000 $62,330% $1,520,221
2018 $552,829 $103,120 $416,621 $259,534 $102,623 $1,000 $20,052 &/ $1,455,779
2017 $539,324 $100,699 $406,348 $253,135 $97,142 $1,000 $18,876 ¢ $1,416,523
2016 $518,948 $97,047 $391,173 $243,682 $98,008 $1,000 $17,768 $1,367,624
2015 $496,230 $92,975 $374,413 $233,241 $86,445 $1,000 $16,483 & $1,300,786
2014 $474,132 584,985 $342,230 $213,192 $120,208 $1,000 $15,174 ¥ $1,250,921
2013 $460,839 $82,603 $332,234 $206,965 $122,320 $1,000 $11,258 W $1,217,219
1/ A.R.S. §28-5808E transfers the SHF share of HURF VLT that was generated from the difference between the 2-year registration and the 5-year registration to

the General Fund. The transfer totaled $3.4 million in FY 2022. A.R.S. § 28-5808D provides that an amount equal to 90% of the fees collected under A.R.S. §
28-4802A and 60% of the fees collected under A.R.S. § 28-4802B concerning abandoned vehicles shall be transferred from the SHF share of HURF VLT to the
General Fund. The transfer totaled $4.9 million in FY 2021. Other distributions included $701,600 for the Registration Compliance program, $8.5 million for
SLIF, $86,100 for the Administration Fund, and $3.0 million for the OHV Fund.

A.R.S. § 28-5808E transfers the SHF share of HURF VLT that was generated from the difference between the 2-year registration and the 5-year registration to
the General Fund. The transfer totaled $3.9 million in FY 2021. A.R.S. § 28-5808D provides that an amount equal to 90% of the fees collected under A.R.S. §
28-4802A and 60% of the fees collected under A.R.S. § 28-4802B concerning abandoned vehicles shall be transferred from the SHF share of HURF VLT to the
General Fund. The transfer totaled $6.0 million in FY 2021. Other distributions included $679,900 for the Registration Compliance program, $8.0 million for
SLIF, $80,800 for the Administration Fund, and $2.8 million for the OHV Fund.

A.R.S. § 28-5808E transfers the SHF share of HURF VLT that was generated from the difference between the 2-year registration and the 5-year registration to
the General Fund. The transfer totaled $2.5 million in FY 2020. A.R.S. § 28-5808D provides that an amount equal to 90% of the fees collected under A.R.S. §
28-4802A and 60% of the fees collected under A.R.S. § 28-4802B concerning abandoned vehicles shall be transferred from the SHF share of HURF VLT to the
General Fund. The transfer totaled $6.2 million in FY 2020. Other distributions included $658,000 for the Registration Compliance program, $8.2 million for
SLIF, $82,500 for the Administration Fund, and $2.8 million for the OHV Fund.

A.R.S. § 28-5808E transfers the SHF share of HURF VLT that was generated from the difference between the 2-year registration and the 5-year registration to
the General Fund. The transfer totaled $1.7 million in FY 2019. A.R.S. § 28-5808D provides that an amount equal to 90% of the fees collected under A.R.S. §
28-4802A and 60% of the fees collected under A.R.S. § 28-4802B concerning abandoned vehicles shall be transferred from the SHF share of HURF VLT to the
General Fund. The transfer totaled $6.2 million in FY 2019. Other distributions included $654,400 for the Registration Compliance program, $8.4 million for
SLIF, $85,000 for the Administration Fund, and $2.9 million for the OHV Fund.

A.R.S. § 28-5808E transfers the SHF share of HURF VLT that was generated from the difference between the 2-year registration and the 5-year registration to
the General Fund. The transfer totaled $1.8 million in FY 2018. A.R.S. § 28-5808D provides that an amount equal to 90% of the fees collected under A.R.S. §
28-4802A and 60% of the fees collected under A.R.S. § 28-4802B concerning abandoned vehicles shall be transferred from the SHF share of HURF VLT to the
General Fund. The transfer totaled $6.3 million in FY 2018. Other distributions included $656,100 for the Registration Compliance program, $8.4 million for
SLIF, $84,400 for the Administration Fund, and $2.9 million for the OHV Fund.

A.R.S. § 28-5808E transfers the SHF share of HURF VLT that was generated from the difference between the 2-year registration and the 5-year registration to
the General Fund. The transfer totaled $1.7 million in FY 2017. A.R.S. § 28-5808D provides that an amount equal to 90% of the fees collected under A.R.S. §
28-4802A and 60% of the fees collected under A.R.S. § 28-4802B concerning abandoned vehicles shall be transferred from the SHF share of HURF VLT to the
General Fund. The transfer totaled $5.5 million in FY 2017. Other distributions included $649,700 for the Registration Compliance program, $8.2 million for
SLIF, $82,400 for the Administration Fund, and $2.8 million for the OHV Fund.

A.R.S. § 28-5808E transfers the SHF share of HURF VLT that was generated from the difference between the 2-year registration and the 5-year registration to
the General Fund. The transfer totaled $1.5 million in FY 2016. A.R.S. § 28-5808D provides that an amount equal to 90% of the fees collected under A.R.S. §
28-4802A and 60% of the fees collected under A.R.S. § 28-4802B concerning abandoned vehicles shall be transferred from the SHF share of HURF VLT to the
General Fund. The transfer totaled $4.8 million in FY 2016. Other distributions included $652,700 for the Registration Compliance program, $8.0 million for
SLIF, $80,900 for the Administration Fund, and $2.8 million for the OHV Fund.

A.R.S. § 28-5808E transfers the SHF share of HURF VLT that was generated from the difference between the 2-year registration and the 5-year registration to
the General Fund. The transfer totaled $1.2 million in FY 2015. A.R.S. § 28-5808D provides that an amount equal to 90% of the fees collected under A.R.S. §
28-4802A and 60% of the fees collected under A.R.S. § 28-4802B concerning abandoned vehicles shall be transferred from the SHF share of HURF VLT to the
General Fund. The transfer totaled $4.3 million in FY 2015. Other distributions included $651,800 for the Registration Compliance program, $7.6 million for
SLIF, $77,000 for the Administration Fund, and $2.7 million for the OHV Fund.

A.R.S. § 28-5808E transfers the SHF share of HURF VLT that was generated from the difference between the 2-year registration and the 5-year registration to
the General Fund. The transfer totaled $1.2 million in FY 2014. A.R.S. § 28-5808D provides that an amount equal to 90% of the fees collected under A.R.S. §
28-4802A and 60% of the fees collected under A.R.S. § 28-4802B concerning abandoned vehicles shall be transferred from the SHF share of HURF VLT to the
General Fund. The transfer totaled $3.7 million in FY 2014. Other distributions included $671,500 for the Registration Compliance program, $4,500 for the
Automation Projects Fund, $7.0 million for SLIF, $70,200 for the Administration Fund, and $2.6 million for the OHV Fund.

10/ A.R.S. § 28-5808E transfers the SHF share of HURF VLT that was generated from the difference between the 2-year registration and the 5-year registration to

the General Fund. The transfer totaled $1.0 million in FY 2013. A.R.S. § 28-5808D provides that an amount equal to 90% of the fees collected under A.R.S. §
28-4802A and 60% of the fees collected under A.R.S. § 28-4802B concerning abandoned vehicles shall be transferred from the SHF share of HURF VLT to the
General Fund. The transfer totaled $3.2 million in FY 2013. Other distributions included $624,800 for the Registration Compliance program, $(765,200) for
reversions, $4.6 million for SLIF, $46,600 for the Administration Fund, and $2.5 million for the OHV Fund.

SOURCE: ADOT, Office of Financial Planning.
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IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2016.

There were no changes enacted to this tax in 2021 and 2022.
2020 LAWS

Laws 2020, Chapter 52 (FY 2021 Revenue Budget Reconciliation Bill) modifies the $30 million direct allocation to
local governments. Since HURF revenues are no longer used for DPS operating expenses, the FY 2021 budget did
not continue the $30 million allocation and those monies will now go through the normal distribution process.
This will result in an effective increase to the State Highway Fund of about $12.8 million.

2019 LAWS

Laws 2019, Chapter 263 (FY 2020 General Appropriations Act) eliminates the use of HURF in the Department of
Public Safety (DPS) budget for FY 2020. Previously, the Legislature had appropriated an amount to DPS for funding
a portion of highway patrol costs. Statute still permits, however, the use of up to $10.0 million of HURF annually
for the DPS budget [A.R.S. § 28-6537]. The FY 2020 budget did not allocate any monies from HURF to DPS.

2018 LAWS

Laws 2018, Chapter 278 suspends, as session law, the statutory cap of $10.0 million established by A.R.S. § 28-
6537 governing HURF revenues available to fund DPS’ Highway Patrol costs.

Laws 2018, Chapter 283 amends Laws 2017, Chapter 312 to reduce the special HURF distribution from $60.0
million to $30.0 million in FY 2020. (See section 7.) In addition to that modification of the special HURF
distribution, the legislation eliminates the $30.0 million allocation from the Highway Expansion and Extension Loan
Program Fund in FY 2019. (See section 6.) These measures were taken due to the creation of the Highway Safety
Fee established in Laws 2018, Chapter 265. For more information, please see the Department of Public Safety
section in the FY 2019 Appropriations Report.

2017 LAWS

Laws 2017, Chapter 44 removes requirements for spending, reporting and certification regarding expenditures of
local revenues on street and highway purposes for counties with a population of more than 400,000 persons and
cities and towns with more than 30,000 persons located in such a county. The legislation also eliminates the
penalty for not meeting those requirements, which was a reduction in HURF monies distributed to the
noncompliant county, city or town.

Laws 2017, Chapter 303 suspends, as session law, the statutory cap of $10.0 million established by A.R.S. § 28-
6537 governing HURF revenues available to fund DPS’ Highway Patrol costs.

Laws 2017, Chapter 312 continues the special $30.0 million HURF distribution authorized in Laws 2015, Chapter 10
for another year through FY 2019 and increases that distribution to $60.0 million in FY 2020, effective August 9,
2017. (See section 9.) This continues the distribution that began in Laws 2014, Chapter 9 as modified by Laws
2015, Chapter 10. In addition to the special HURF distribution, the legislation allocates $30.0 million from the
Highway Expansion and Extension Loan Program Fund in each of FY 2018 and FY 2019 for highway construction
directly to counties and cities and towns in percentages reflecting current non-state distribution of HURF revenues.
(See section 8.)
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2016 LAWS

Laws 2016, Chapter 119 suspends, as session law, the statutory cap of $10.0 million established by A.R.S. § 28-
6537 governing HURF revenues available to fund DPS’ Highway Patrol costs.

Laws 2016, Chapter 125 continues the special HURF distribution authorized in Laws 2015, Chapter 10 for another
year through FY 2018, effective August 6, 2016. (See section 8.) This continues the distribution begun in Laws
2014, Chapter 9 as modified by Laws 2015, Chapter 10. In addition to the special HURF distribution, the legislation
allocates $30.0 million from the General Fund for highway construction directly to counties and cities and towns in
percentages reflecting current non-state distribution of HURF revenues. (See section 9.)

Laws 2016, Chapter 163 requires counties receiving HURF revenues to publish by December 31 of each year an
annual financial report detailing the budgeted and actual expenditures from the prior fiscal year's HURF funds
received.

Laws 2016, Chapter 258 is an emergency measure that amends current statutes with respect to the method by
which state-shared revenues are apportioned among counties and municipalities, as described below.

Counties

Under current law, state-shared revenue is distributed to a county based on its population count as of the last
federal decennial census [A.R.S. § 42-5029(1)]. During the fifth year following the decennial census, a county may
contract with the U.S. Census Bureau to conduct a special census of the population of that county. Beginning on
July 1 in the sixth year following the decennial census, the result of the special census must be used as the basis for
apportioning state-shared revenue to that county until the next federal decennial census [A.R.S. § 42-5033].

If a special census is not conducted, Laws 2016, Chapter 258 provides a county the following 3 options, all of which
must be exercised before May 1 of the sixth year following a federal decennial census:

1. County submits its own population estimate as of the fifth year following the last decennial census, as
approved by the Office of Employment and Population Statistics.

2. County contracts with the U.S. Census Bureau to conduct a sample survey in order to produce a mid-decade
county population estimate.

3. County requests to continue to use the population count from the most recent U.S. decennial census.

If a county elects to use one of the options above, that population figure must be used (for purposes of
apportioning state-state shared revenue) in the sixth year following the decennial census through June 30 of the
year following the next decennial census.

Municipalities

Under current law, state-shared revenue is distributed to an incorporated city or town based on its population
count as of the last federal decennial census [A.R.S. § 42-5029(I)]. During the fifth year following the decennial
census, a city/town may contract with the U.S. Census Bureau to conduct a special census of the population of that
municipality. Beginning July 1 in the sixth year following the decennial census, the special census must be used as
the basis for apportioning state-shared revenue to that municipality until the next federal decennial census [A.R.S.
§ 42-5033].

For purposes of apportioning state-shared revenue, Laws 2016, Chapter 258 provides a city/town the option to use
either the population count from the special census or the most recent population estimate from the U.S. Census
Bureau. However, Chapter 258 provides that the population count from the special census be used for only 1 year.
Beginning on July 1 in the second year following the special census, a city/town must use the most recent
population estimate from the U.S. Census Bureau. If a special census is not conducted, Chapter 258 requires a
city/town to use the most recent population estimate from the U.S. Census Bureau beginning on July 1 in the
second year following the decennial census through June 30 of the year following the next decennial census.
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Laws 2016, Chapter 277 replaces the motor vehicle dealer licensing application and renewal fees collected by the
Department of Financial Institutions with dealer fees collected by ADOT. Under the legislation, if the dealer has a
contractual relationship with a third-party lender, the dealer is subject to 1) a $400 annual license filing fee, of
which $300 is deposited in the General Fund and $100 in HURF, and 2) a $250 annual dealer renewal fee, of which
$150 is deposited into the General Fund and $100 is deposited into HURF. These fees are equivalent to the fees
collected prior to the legislation. The legislation became effective August 6, 2016.

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2016 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
https://www.azjlbc.gov/22taxbook/22taxbk.pdf.
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MOTOR VEHICLE FUEL TAX

DESCRIPTION

The motor vehicle fuel tax is levied on each gallon of motor vehicle fuel, commonly known as gasoline, produced or
imported into the state by a distributor. The tax rate is 18¢ per gallon, and the large majority of revenues are
deposited in the Highway User Revenue Fund (HURF) to pay for highway construction and maintenance. The rate
was last adjusted in 1990. In addition to the 18¢ per gallon motor vehicle fuel tax, there is also a 1¢ per gallon tax
on gasoline and other petroleum products placed in underground storage tanks (see the Underground Storage
Tank Tax section for more information.)

DISTRIBUTION

Table 1 shows a 20-year revenue history for this tax. Almost all of the tax on motor vehicle fuel consumed in
vehicles operated on Arizona roads and highways is deposited in HURF [A.R.S. § 28-6533].

NOTE: Prior years' tax handbooks displayed statutory distributions to the State Lake Improvement Fund,
Watercraft Fuel Tax Administration Fund, and Off Highway Vehicle Recreation Fund as coming directly from motor
vehicle tax collections. In 2017, ADOT reported that, as a technical matter, those distributions instead come from
the motor vehicle fuel tax portion of the Highway User Revenue Fund and revised its reporting accordingly. The
2018 Tax Handbook conforms with the revised reporting and displays those distributions in the Highway User
Revenue Fund Overview section rather than in this section.

Tax collections are distributed on the following basis (see Table 2 on following page):
e Aircraft. Taxes collected from sales of motor vehicle fuel consumed in aircraft are deposited in the State
Aviation Fund. However, if a refund is claimed, 5¢ on each gallon of tax collected remains in the State Aviation

Fund and the balance is refunded to the taxpayer [A.R.S. § 28-5611]."

e Remainder. The net collections remaining after refunds and the above distributions are deposited in HURF
[A.R.S. § 28-5925]. (See HURF Overview at the beginning of this section for distribution of HURF monies.)

Table 1
COLLECTIONS
Fiscal Year Net Collections Fiscal Year Net Collections
2022 $560,676,896 2012 $471,264,772
2021 $512,699,298 2011 $471,346,375
2020 $523,499,259 2010 $471,232,029
2019 $541,214,864 2009 $474,008,922
2018 $536,651,832 2008 $512,094,400
2017 $527,157,899 2007 $516,208,893
2016 $518,458,963 2006 $503,210,580
2015 $492,554,392 2005 $496,340,649
2014 $476,475,676 2004 $478,829,323
2013 $470,658,374 2003 $463,864,197

SOURCE: ADOT, Office of Financial Planning.
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WHO PAYS

The motor vehicle fuel tax is presumed to be a direct tax on the consumer but is still collected and remitted to
ADOT by suppliers for the purpose of convenience. In other words, the tax is collected and paid to ADOT by a
supplier, who then adds the tax to the price of motor vehicle fuel in order to recover it from the consumer [A.R.S. §

28-5606].

Table 2
DISTRIBUTION OF COLLECTIONS
State

Fiscal Highway User Aviation Refunds to Net
Year Revenue Fund ¥ Fund Taxpayers Collections
2022 $537,858,884 $333,524  $22,484,488 $560,676,896
2021 $505,224,900 $327,649  $7,146,749 $505,224,900
2020 $515,447,923 $360,942  $7,690,394 $523,499,259
2019 $531,067,688 $316,959  $9,830,217 $541,214,864
2018 $527,355,093 $341,400  $8,955,340 $536,651,832
2017 $515,115,783 $306,780 $11,735,335 $527,157,899
2016 $505,686,632 $325,479  $12,446,852 $518,458,963
2015 $481,249,488 $329,326  $10,975,578 $492,554,392
2014 $467,004,158 $313,075  $9,158,443 $476,475,676
2013 $461,046,068 $358,677  $9,253,630 $470,658,374
2012 $461,978,721 $312,914  $8,973,138 $471,264,772
2011 $463,532,008 $383,655 $7,430,713 $471,346,375
2010 $464,016,951 $339,980  $6,875,098 $471,232,029
2009 $467,401,612 $380,429  $6,226,880 $474,008,922
2008 $503,954,401 $420,915  $7,719,084 $512,094,400
2007 $509,239,936 $460,470  $6,508,486 $516,208,893
2006 $499,069,011 $462,598  $3,678,970 $503,210,580
2005 $491,113,158 $499,136  $4,728,355 $496,340,649
2004 $472,997,475 $572,686  S$5,259,161 $478,829,323
2003 $458,739,246 $646,314 $4,478,637 $463,864,197
1/ Use Fuel Tax collections excluded.

REVENUE BASE AND RATE

The revenue base is motor vehicle fuel, which includes all products that are commonly or commercially known or
sold as gasoline. This definition includes casinghead gasoline (unprocessed natural gas containing natural gasoline
and other liquid hydrocarbon vapors produced from an oil well), natural gasoline and all flammable liquids
composed of a mixture of selected hydrocarbons manufactured or blended for use in internal combustion engines.
Motor vehicle fuel does not include transmix, jet or aviation fuel, or any fuels covered under the use fuel tax
[A.R.S. § 28-101].

The following are exempted from the motor vehicle fuel tax [A.R.S. § 28-5610]:

e Motor vehicle fuel for which proof of export is available in the form of a terminal issued destination state
shipping paper, and is either exported by a supplier that is licensed in the destination state, or sold by a
supplier to a distributor for immediate export.

e Motor vehicle fuel that was acquired by a distributor on which the tax has previously been paid and was
subsequently exported across the state border.
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e Motor vehicle fuel sold on an Indian reservation to a tribal member.

e  Motor vehicle fuel sold off an Indian reservation for purposes of operating a motor vehicle for the benefit of
an Indian tribe.

e Motor vehicle fuel that is moving in interstate or foreign commerce and that is not destined or diverted to a
point in this state.

e  Motor vehicle fuel that is sold to the United States or its agencies or instrumentalities.

The tax rate is 18¢ per gallon [A.R.S. § 28-5606].
TAX REFUNDS AND/OR TAX CREDITS

A person who buys and uses motor vehicle fuel is entitled to a refund if he or she pays the tax on the fuel and
either [A.R.S. § 28-5611]:

e uses the fuel for purposes other than operating a motor vehicle on a highway, a motor vehicle on a
transportation facility or toll road (public-private partnerships), or a watercraft on a waterway in Arizona,

e buys aviation fuel for use in aircraft applying seeds, fertilizer, or pesticides, or
e |oses the fuel by fire, theft or other accident.

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

The motor fuel tax that is accrued in any calendar month shall be paid on or before the 27t day of the succeeding
calendar month to ADOT [A.R.S. § 28-5925].

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2016.

There were no changes enacted to this tax from 2016 through 2022.

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2016 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
https://www.azjlbc.gov/22taxbook/22taxbk.pdf.
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USE FUEL TAX

DESCRIPTION

The use fuel tax applies to diesel and other fuels, but not to gasoline and alternative fuels. For vehicles weighing
less than 26,000 pounds, the tax rate is the motor vehicle fuel tax rate, or 18¢ per gallon. For vehicles weighing
more than 26,000 pounds, the tax rate is 26¢ per gallon. Revenues from the tax are deposited in the Highway User
Revenue Fund (HURF).

DISTRIBUTION

The use fuel tax is deposited in HURF [A.R.S. § 28-5730]. (See HURF Overview at the beginning of this section for
distribution of HURF monies.)

Table 1
COLLECTIONS
Fiscal Year Net Collections Fiscal Year Net Collections
2022 $256,878,389 2012 $180,242,229
2021 $249,838,316 2011 $178,684,336
2020 $217,957,656 2010 $171,308,245
2019 $218,817,526 2009 $173,930,895
2018 $202,113,866 2008 $207,859,050
2017 $201,696,623 2007 $210,281,755
2016 $193,290,854 2006 $213,460,036
2015 $184,499,917 2005 $194,368,181
2014 $176,367,953 2004 $179,002,025
2013 $177,240,384 2003 $166,744,147

SOURCE: Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT), Office of Financial Planning.

WHO PAYS

The use fuel tax is presumed to be a direct tax on the consumer but is still collected and remitted to the Arizona
Department of Transportation (ADOT) by suppliers for the purpose of convenience. In other words, the tax is
collected and paid to ADOT by a supplier, who then adds the tax to the price of use fuel in order to recover it from
the consumer [A.R.S. § 28-5606].

REVENUE BASE AND RATE

The revenue base is use fuel, which includes all gases and liquids used to propel motor vehicles that are not subject
to the motor vehicle fuel tax [A.R.S. § 28-5601].

An interstate user of use fuel on which the use fuel tax has not been paid is required to remit an amount that is
computed by multiplying the number of gallons of use fuel used by the tax rate per gallon. The taxable gallonage is
computed on the basis of miles traveled in Arizona as compared to total miles traveled in and outside the state.

The actual method of computation is decided by ADOT [A.R.S. § 28-5720].

The following are exempted from the use fuel tax [A.R.S. § 28-5610]:
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e Use fuel for which proof of export is available in the form of a terminal-issued destination state shipping
paper, and is either exported by a supplier that is licensed in the destination state, or sold by a supplier to a
distributor for immediate export.

e Use fuel that was acquired by a distributor on which the tax has previously been paid and was subsequently
exported across the state border.

e Use fuel sold on an Indian reservation to a tribal member.

e Use fuel sold off an Indian reservation for purposes of operating a motor vehicle for the benefit of an Indian
tribe.

e Use fuel that is moving in interstate or foreign commerce and that is not destined or diverted to a point in this
state.

e Use fuel that has been accidentally contaminated by dye and hence rendered unsalable as highway fuel.

e Dyed diesel fuel.

NOTE: There is no use fuel tax on alternative fuels [A.R.S. § 28-5606].

The tax rate is 18¢ per gallon for vehicles weighing less than 26,000 pounds. The tax rate is 26¢ per gallon for
vehicles weighing more than 26,000 pounds [A.R.S. § 28-5606]. There is an exception to both of these rates for
healthy forest enterprises, which pay 9¢ per gallon.

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

Tax that is accrued in any calendar month shall be paid on or before the 27t day of the succeeding calendar month
to ADOT [A.R.S. § 28-5925].

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2016.

There were no changes enacted to this tax in the period from 2016 through 2022.

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2016 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
https://www.azjlbc.gov/22taxbook/22taxbk.pdf.
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VEHICLE LICENSE TAX

DESCRIPTION

The Vehicle License Tax (VLT) is an ad valorem tax levied on registered vehicles in the state. The tax is levied per
$100 of a vehicle’s assessed value. For the first 12 months of the vehicle’s life, the assessed value is 60% of the
manufacturer’s base retail price. For each subsequent year, the assessed value is 16.25% less than the previous

year. The rate per $100 of assessed value is $2.80 for new vehicles and $2.89 for renewals.

Table 1
COLLECTIONS
Fiscal Year Net Collections Fiscal Year

2022 $1,209,493,565 2012
2021 $1,226,266,999 2011
2020 $1,053,745,450 2010
2019 $1,045,019,207 2009
2018 $990,139,421 2008
2017 $939,766,758 2007
2016 $881,841,424 2006
2015 $823,916,863 2005
2014 $776,650,468 2004
2013 $728,290,689 2003

SOURCE: ADOT, Office of Financial Planning.

Net Collections

$716,086,941
$719,280,662
$735,972,889
$796,683,787
$858,975,998
$875,746,210
$831,950,743
$747,013,406
$695,325,929
$633,788,189

DISTRIBUTION

Monies received by the Director of the Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT) from this tax are distributed

as follows [A.R.S. § 28-5808]:
For monies collected from most vehicles:

e  45% to the Highway User Revenue Fund (HURF)

e 24.6% to county general funds

e 5.8% to counties for transportation-related purposes
e  24.6% to incorporated cities and towns

Once the 45% of HURF is distributed, the VLT distribution appears as follows:

Counties - 38.7%

e 24.6% to county general funds

e 14.1% to county highway and transportation purposes

Cities and Towns - 38.0%

e 24.6% to incorporated city and town general funds

e 13.4% to incorporated city and town highway and transportation purposes
State - 23.3%

e 19.0% to the State Highway Fund

e 3.1% to Motor Vehicle Department (MVD) third parties

e 0.9% to the state General Fund

e 0.3% to the Department of Public Safety Parity Compensation (DPS) Fund
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Table 2
DISTRIBUTION

State General State Highway MVD Local DPS Parity
Fiscal Year Fund Fund Third PartiesY Governments Comp Fund Net Collections
2022 ¥ $11,162,230 $231,875,393 $35,547,112 $926,888,627 $4,020,203 $1,209,493,565
2021 ¥ $34,031,974 $213,907,193 $43,873,374 $930,328,254 $4,126,204 $1,226,266,999
2020¥ $33,124,601 $191,273,551 $28,632,555 $797,171,355 $3,543,388 $1,053,745,450
2019 ¥ $51,213,367 $176,389,479 $32,271,808 $781,612,168 $3,532,385 $1,045,019,207
20187 $9,047,112 $186,164,005 $31,547,056 $760,041,747 $3,339,501 $990,139,421
2017 ¥ $8,378,583 $177,280,870 $29,658,748 $721,286,730 $3,161,827 $939,766,758
2016 ¥ $7,447,186 $167,311,596 $27,010,326 $677,099,368 $2,972,948 $881,841,424
2015 ¥ $6,956,810 $158,315,406 $23,469,044 $632,404,919 $2,770,684 $823,916,863
2014 ¥/ $6,401,486 $149,551,575 $21,821,576 $596,259,670 $2,616,160 $776,650,468
2013 &/ $6,091,579 $141,182,351 $19,696,323 $558,873,217 $2,447,220 $728,290,689
1/ AR.S. § 28-5101 provides for the reimbursement of authorized MVD third parties for their services performed. The majority of reimbursement monies come

2/
3/
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from the State Highway Fund.

Includes the following VLT distributions equaling 76.7% of all VLT: 24.6% for incorporated city and town general funds, 24.6% for county general funds, 14.1% for
county highway and transportation purposes and 13.4% for incorporated city and town highway purposes.

In FY 2022, there was a distribution in the amount of $8.3 million of the State Highway Fund share of the HURF portion of the VLT monies to the General Fund.
Additionally, there were allocations to the General Fund of $2,807,700 for school financial assistance and $93,700 from the MVD Registration Compliance
program per Laws 2002, Chapter 328, which requires ADOT to deposit 50% of any increase in VLT collections due to vehicle registration enforcement in the
General Fund.

In FY 2021, there was a distribution in the amount of $9.9 million of the State Highway Fund share of the HURF portion of the VLT monies to the General Fund.
Additionally, there were allocations to the General Fund of $734,400 for school financial assistance and $15,700 from the MVD Registration Compliance program
per Laws 2002, Chapter 328, which requires ADOT to deposit 50% of any increase in VLT collections due to vehicle registration enforcement in the General Fund.
In FY 2020, there was a distribution in the amount of $8.6 million of the State Highway Fund share of the HURF portion of the VLT monies to the General Fund.
Per Laws 2019, Chapter 263, there was another distribution in the amount of $23.4 million to the General Fund from the $15.5 million transfer of the "excess"
highway safety fee revenues and the $7.9 million suspension of State Highway Fund appropriated funding in the DPS budget. Additionally, there were allocations
to the General Fund of $1,137,000 for school financial assistance and $14,000 from the MVD Registration Compliance program per Laws 2002, Chapter 328,
which requires ADOT to deposit 50% of any increase in VLT collections due to vehicle registration enforcement in the General Fund.

In FY 2019, there was a distribution in the amount of $7.9 million of the State Highway Fund share of the HURF portion of the VLT monies to the General Fund.
Per Laws 2018, Chapter 276, there was another distribution in the amount of $42 million to the General Fund from the elimination of HURF in the DPS budget.
Additionally, there were allocations to the General Fund of $930,300 for school financial assistance and $25,400 from the MVD Registration Compliance program
per Laws 2002, Chapter 328, which requires ADOT to deposit 50% of any increase in VLT collections due to vehicle registration enforcement in the General Fund.
In FY 2018, there was a distribution in the amount of $8.1 million of the State Highway Fund share of the HURF portion of the VLT monies to the General Fund.
Additionally, there were allocations to the General Fund of $1.0 million for school financial assistance and $9,800 from the MVD Registration Compliance
program.

In FY 2017, there was a distribution in the amount of $7.2 million of the State Highway Fund share of the HURF portion of the VLT monies to the General Fund.
Additionally, there were allocations to the General Fund of $1.2 million for school financial assistance and $27,200 from the MVD Registration Compliance
program.

In FY 2016, there was a distribution in the amount of $6.2 million of the State Highway Fund share of the HURF portion of the VLT monies to the General Fund.
Additionally, there were allocations to the General Fund of $930,600 for school financial assistance and $274,000 from the MVD Registration Compliance
program.

In FY 2015, there was a distribution in the amount of $5.5 million of the State Highway Fund share of the HURF portion of the VLT monies to the General Fund.
Additionally, there were allocations to the General Fund of $1.2 million for school financial assistance and $305,400 from the MVD Registration Compliance
program.

In FY 2014, there was a distribution in the amount of $4.9 million of the State Highway Fund share of the HURF portion of the VLT monies to the General Fund.
Additionally, there were allocations to the General Fund of $892,100 for school financial assistance and $600,700 from the MVD Registration Compliance
program.

In FY 2013, there was a distribution in the amount of $4.2 million of the State Highway Fund share of the HURF portion of the VLT monies to the General Fund.
Additionally, there were allocations to the General Fund of approximately $1.0 million for school financial assistance and about $855,900 from the MVD
Registration Compliance program.

SOURCE: ADOT, Office of Financial Planning.

For monies collected from alternative fuel vehicles (except those purchased on or after January 1, 2020 that
exceed 10,000 pounds), car rental surcharges, and private ambulances, fire fighting vehicles, and school buses:

e 37.61% to HURF

e 20.45% to county general funds

e 4.91% to counties for transportation-related purposes

e 20.45% to incorporated cities and towns

e 5.73% to the State Highway Fund

e 10.85% to the General Fund for school financial assistance
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In addition to these statutory distributions, session law may distribute VLT for other purposes, as shown in the
footnotes of Table 2.

(See HURF Overview at the beginning of this section for distribution of HURF monies.)
Of the VLT distributed to the State Highway Fund, 1.51% is dedicated to the Parity Compensation Fund.
WHO PAYS

Owners of vehicles that are registered for operation on the highways of Arizona [Arizona Constitution, Article 9,
Section 11].

REVENUE BASE

The VLT is levied on the assessed value of each vehicle. Effectively, the tax is levied on 10 classes of vehicles [A.R.S.
§ 28-5801]:

(1) Passenger vehicles
(2) Commercial vehicles
(3) Non-commercial one-half ton pick-ups and similar vehicles

(4) Buses

(5) Taxis

(6) Travel trailers
(7) Trailers

(8) Motorcycles and scooters
(9) Privately-owned motor vehicles used exclusively as a school bus
(10) Motor vehicles powered by alternative fuels

The taxable value of vehicles in these classes is determined as follows:

Classes 1 through 8

During the first 12 months of the life of the vehicle (as determined by its initial registration) the assessed value of
the vehicle is 60% of the manufacturer's base retail price. During each succeeding 12-month period, the assessed
value of the vehicle is 16.25% less than the assessed value for the preceding 12-month period.

Class 9

During the first 12 months of the life of the vehicle (as determined by its initial registration) the assessed value of
the vehicle is 1% of the manufacturer's base retail price. During each succeeding 12-month period, the assessed
value of the vehicle is 15% less than the assessed value for the preceding period [A.R.S. § 28-5804].

If a Class 9 vehicle is temporarily used for purposes other than as a school bus, the taxable value is determined in
the same manner as Class 1 through 8 vehicles. The tax is then assessed and collected monthly in an amount equal
to one-tenth of the calculated annual VLT for each full month the vehicle is operated for other purposes [A.R.S. §
28-5804].

Alternative Fuel Vehicles (Class 10)

e During the first 12 months of the life of a vehicle (as determined by its initial registration) purchased before
January 1, 2020, the assessed value of the vehicle is a percentage set by the ADOT Director of the
manufacturer's base retail price, not to exceed 10% per legislative intent. After the first 12 months of the
vehicle's life, the assessed value of the vehicle is 15% less for each 12-month period than the manufacturer's
base retail price.

e  For vehicles purchased on or after January 1, 2020, there are 2 classifications based on weight:

0 During the first 12 months of life of a vehicle that is 10,000 pounds or less, the assessed value of the
vehicle is 30% of the manufacturer's base retail price. During each succeeding 12-month period, the
assessed value of the vehicle is 15% less than the assessed value for the preceding 12-month period.
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0 For vehicles that exceed 10,000 pounds, the assessed value is determined in the same manner as Class 1
through 8 vehicles [A.R.S. § 28-5805].

RATE

For Classes 1 through 8, the VLT rate is $2.80 per $100 of assessed value for the first 12 months of the vehicle’s
life, and $2.89 per $100 of value thereafter. Exception: for noncommercial trailers that are not travel trailers and
have a gross vehicle weight of less than 10,000 pounds, the VLT is a one-time tax of $105 on initial registration and
is a one-time tax of $70 on renewal of registration [A.R.S. § 28-5801].

For Classes 9 and 10, the VLT rate is $4 per $100 of assessed value [A.R.S. § 28-5804, 28-5805].

For trailers and semitrailers that are not travel trailers over 10,000 pounds gross vehicle weight, the VLT is a one-
time fee of $555 for trailers which have not previously been registered, $355 for trailers less than 6 years old which
have been previously registered in another state, and $100 for trailers 6 or more years old which have been
previously registered in another state.

Minimum Tax. For Classes 1 through 8, the minimum amount of the VLT is $10 per year for each vehicle subject to
the tax [A.R.S. § 28-5801]. For Class 9 and Class 10 vehicles, the minimum VLT is $5 per year [A.R.S. § 28-5804, 28-
5805]. For new Class 10 vehicles initially registered from and after December 31, 2022, the minimum VLT is $10
per year [A.R.S. § 28-5805].

EXEMPTIONS

A veteran who is a resident of Arizona and whose vehicle, or replacement of such vehicle, is acquired by financial
aid from the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs is exempt from this license tax [A.R.S. § 28-5802].

No license tax or registration fee shall be collected for a vehicle that is personally owned by a veteran, a veteran
and another party, or the surviving spouse of a veteran, if such veteran is certified by the U.S. Department of
Veterans Affairs as 100% disabled and drawing compensation. Only 1 vehicle or its replacement may claim this
exemption during each 12-month period.

A vehicle owned by a resident who receives disability payments under Title 16 of the Social Security Act is exempt
from the VLT. Such resident must show satisfactory proof of such assistance [A.R.S. § 28-5803]. Only 1 vehicle
may be claimed by a resident with a disability.

An Arizona resident who is a member of the U.S. Armed Forces, including a member of a National Guard or
Reserve unit, who is deployed in support of a worldwide contingency operation of the U.S. Armed Forces may
register or renew the registration of a motor vehicle for 1 year without payment of registration fees and VLT. No
more than 2 motor vehicles owned or leased by the member of the U.S. Armed Forces may be claimed. This
exemption may only be taken 1 time by the member of the U.S. Armed Forces, the member’s spouse or the
member’s legally-designated representative [A.R.S. § 28-5811].

A spouse or dependent of a first responder or U.S. military member killed in the line of duty is exempted from VLT
and the registration fee. The exemption ends when the spouse remarries or dies, or when the dependent turns 18
(or 23 if a full-time student), and is limited to 1 vehicle per claimant [A.R.S. § 28-5803.01].

An enrolled member of an Arizona tribe who resides within the boundaries of a reservation may claim an
exemption from the VLT [Arizona Constitution, Article 20, Section 5].

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

The VLT is due and collected annually at the time of vehicle registration [A.R.S. § 28-5801]. Exception: depending
on eligibility, owners of vehicles may participate in a 2-year or 5-year vehicle registration program and prepay the
VLT for the subsequent year or years [A.R.S. § 28-2159].
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ADQOT collects tax payments and fees.
IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2016.

There were no changes enacted to this tax in 2017 and 2020 through 2021.
2022 LAWS

Laws 2022, Chapter 264 alters the maximum weight limit for an all-terrain vehicle or off-highway vehicle to qualify
for a $3 VLT payment from 1,800 pounds to 2,500 pounds. Chapter 264 further states that the minimum VLT
payment for new alternative fuel vehicles initially registered from and after December 31, 2022 is $10.

2019 LAWS

Laws 2019, Chapter 206 clarifies that a vehicle owned by a government entity is exempted from the requirement
to collect a rental vehicle surcharge. Such rental vehicle surcharges levied on persons other than government
entities must be used for reimbursement of the VLT imposed on the rental vehicles.

Laws 2019, Chapter 313 alters the formula for calculating the VLT due for an alternative fuel vehicle. The bill
makes the following changes:

e  For vehicles initially registered or transferred in 2022, the initial value of the vehicle will be 20% of the
manufacturer's base retail price rather than 1%.

e  For vehicles initially registered or transferred in 2023, the initial value of the vehicle will be 60% of the
manufacturer's base retail price as it is with gas powered vehicles.

e The initial value of vehicles purchased before 2022 will continue to be calculated based on 1% of the
manufacturer's base retail price until the vehicle is transferred to a new owner.

2018 LAWS
Laws 2018, Chapter 265 modifies the alternative fuel vehicle VLT rate as follows:

1. For alternative fuel vehicles purchased before January 1, 2020, the taxable value of the vehicle is a percentage
set by the ADOT Director of the manufacturer's base retail price, not to exceed 10%, per legislative intent. For
each successive 12-month period, the vehicle's assessed value is 15% less for each 12-month period than the
manufacturer's base retail price.

2. For alternative fuel vehicles purchased after January 1, 2020 that are 10,000 pounds or less, the value of the
vehicle is 30% of the manufacturer's base retail price. For each successive 12-month period, the vehicle's
assessed value is 15% less than the assessed value for the preceding 12-month period.

3. For alternative fuel vehicles purchased after January 1, 2020 that are over 10,000 pounds, the standard VLT
rate will apply.

Prior to Chapter 265, the assessed value for motor vehicles powered by alternative fuel was determined in the
same manner as Class 9 vehicles.

2016 LAWS

Laws 2016, Chapter 12 further modifies Laws 2015, Chapter 186 by replacing the phrase “law enforcement officer,
firefighter or emergency responder” with “first responder.” The bill also defines “first responder” as the same
meaning prescribed in A.R.S. § 36-661 (i.e., law enforcement officer, a firefighter or an ambulance attendant) and
includes a person who is a volunteer first responder and who is operating in an official capacity on behalf of a
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governmental entity that is involved in an emergency of law enforcement response. These changes are effective
on March 14, 2016.

Laws 2016, Chapter 213 establishes a VLT and registration exemption for a spouse or dependent of a U.S. military
member who died as the result of injuries suffered in the line of duty. The exemption applies to military members
who were killed before and after the bill’s effective date of August 6, 2016.

Laws 2016, Chapter 258 is an emergency measure that amends current statutes with respect to the method by
which state-shared revenues are apportioned among counties and municipalities, as described below.

Counties

Under current law, state-shared revenue is distributed to a county based on its population count as of the last
federal decennial census [A.R.S. § 42-5029(1)]. During the fifth year following the decennial census, a county may
contract with the U.S. Census Bureau to conduct a special census of the population of that county. Beginning on
July 1 in the sixth year following the decennial census, the result of the special census must be used as the basis for
apportioning state-shared revenue to that county until the next federal decennial census [A.R.S. § 42-5033].

If a special census is not conducted, Laws 2016, Chapter 258 provides a county the following 3 options, all of which
must be exercised before May 1 of the sixth year following a federal decennial census:

1. County submits its own population estimate as of the fifth year following the last decennial census, as
approved by the Office of Employment and Population Statistics.

2. County contracts with the U.S. Census Bureau to conduct a sample survey in order to produce a mid-decade
county population estimate.

3. County requests to continue to use the population count from the most recent U.S. decennial census.

If a county elects to use one of the options above, that population figure must be used (for purposes of
apportioning state-state shared revenue) in the sixth year following the decennial census through June 30 of the
year following the next decennial census.

Municipalities

Under current law, state-shared revenue is distributed to an incorporated city or town based on its population
count as of the last federal decennial census [A.R.S. § 42-5029(I)]. During the fifth year following the decennial
census, a city/town may contract with the U.S. Census Bureau to conduct a special census of the population of that
municipality. Beginning July 1 in the sixth year following the decennial census, the special census must be used as
the basis for apportioning state-shared revenue to that municipality until the next federal decennial census [A.R.S.
§ 42-5033].

For purposes of apportioning state-shared revenue, Laws 2016, Chapter 258 provides a city/town the option to use
either the population count from the special census or the most recent population estimate from the U.S. Census
Bureau. However, Chapter 258 provides that the population count from the special census be used for only 1 year.
Beginning on July 1 in the second year following the special census, a city/town must use the most recent
population estimate from the U.S. Census Bureau. If a special census is not conducted, Chapter 258 requires a
city/town to use the most recent population estimate from the U.S. Census Bureau beginning on July 1 in the
second year following the decennial census through June 30 of the year following the next decennial census.

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2016 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
https://www.azjlbc.gov/22taxbook/22taxbk.pdf.
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MOTOR CARRIER FEE

DESCRIPTION

The motor carrier fee replaced the motor carrier tax with the enactment of Laws 1997, Chapter 8. The fee is
annually imposed on vehicles with a weight in excess of 12,000 pounds for the use of public highways. The
amount of the fee varies according to vehicle weight, with a maximum fee of $800 for vehicles that weigh up to
80,000 pounds. Collections from the motor carrier fee are dedicated to the Highway User Revenue Fund (HURF).

DISTRIBUTION

Table 1 shows a 20-year revenue history for this fee.

Table 1
COLLECTIONS
Fiscal Year Net Collections Fiscal Year Net Collections
2022 $56,698,432 2012 $37,349,582
2021 $52,128,892 2011 $36,299,755
2020 $45,472,271 2010 $35,807,490
2019 $45,812,078 2009 $40,483,421
2018 $42,822,555 2008 $40,177,453
2017 $42,090,754 2007 $45,226,185
2016 $41,058,142 2006 $40,504,406
2015 $40,226,982 2005 $37,980,023
2014 $38,841,688 2004 $34,617,452
2013 $37,310,404 2003 $32,856,325

SOURCE: Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT), Office of Financial Planning.

All collections from the motor carrier fee are deposited in HURF [A.R.S. § 28-6501]. (See HURF Overview at the
beginning of this section for distribution of HURF.)

WHO PAYS

A person who operates or causes to be operated a motor vehicle on a public highway [A.R.S. § 28-5851].

REVENUE BASE

Motor vehicle means a motor driven vehicle that has a declared gross vehicle weight of more than 12,000 pounds
(typically, a delivery type van, a large 1-ton pickup truck, or some recreational vehicles), and is subject to vehicle
registration, excluding a vehicle that is exempt from gross weight fees [A.R.S. § 28-5851].

RATE

Motor carriers pay a flat fee that varies with the weight class of the motor vehicle, as shown in Table 2 [A.R.S. § 28-
5854].
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Table 2
FEE SCHEDULE

Vehicle Weight Fee Vehicle Weight Fee
12,001 - 14,000 lbs. S64 32,001 - 36,000 lbs. $155
14,001 - 16,000 lbs. S73 36,001 - 40,000 lbs. $173
16,001 - 18,000 lbs. $82 40,001 - 45,000 Ibs. $336
18,001 - 20,000 lbs. $91 45,001 - 50,000 Ibs. $374
20,001 - 22,000 lbs. $101 50,001 - 55,000 lbs. $412
22,001 - 24,000 lbs. $110 55,001 - 60,000 lbs. $450
24,001 - 26,000 lbs. $119 60,001 - 65,000 lbs. $627
26,001 - 28,000 lbs. $128 65,001 - 70,000 lbs. $693
28,001 - 30,000 lbs. $137 70,001 - 75,000 Ibs. $750
30,001 - 32,000 Ibs. $146 75,001 - 80,000 Ibs. $800

The following vehicles are exempt from this fee [A.R.S. § 28-5853]:

e School buses
e  Motor vehicles used in the production of
- motion pictures
- industrial, training, and educational films
- television commercials
- video discs and video tapes

The Director of ADOT shall compute a reduced fee that is seven-tenths of the original fee if the motor carrier pre-
qualifies for a reduced fee prior to registration and if other specific circumstances regarding vehicle load status are
met [A.R.S. § 28-5855; A.R.S. § 28-5856; A.R.S. § 28-5857].

The fee for a vehicle that weighs more than 26,000 pounds and is driven less than 2,000 miles each year is $80.
The fee for a vehicle that weighs more than 26,000 pounds and is driven between 2,000 and 4,000 miles a year is
$160 [A.R.S. § 28-5867].

In addition to a commercial registration fee of $4 and a gross weight fee, each light motor vehicle pays an annual
fee of $64. A light motor vehicle is a self-propelled motor driven vehicle that has a declared gross weight of 12,000
or fewer pounds and used to transport for hire persons, freight or property. The light motor vehicle fee exempts
the vehicle from transaction privilege tax or similar taxes related to transporting for hire [A.R.S. § 28-5492].
Vehicle for hire companies (i.e., taxis, livery vehicles or limousines) and transportation network companies (such as
Uber and Lyft) are exempt from the light motor vehicle fee [A.R.S. § 42-5062].

Non-resident motor carriers, or non-resident persons, who operate a motor vehicle in this state may purchase a
Single-Trip Motor Carrier Fee Permit instead of paying the regular motor carrier fee. A single-trip permit is only
effective during the specific trip for which it is issued. The motor carrier fee on a single-trip permit is $12 for 50
miles or less or $48 for more than 50 miles traveled on the highways of this state [A.R.S. § 28-5863].

ADOT may also issue a Special 30-Day Motor Carrier Fee Permit for vehicles not in the commercial transportation

business, only in the state for a limited period of time and will make limited use of Arizona's highways. The motor
carrier fee for a special 30-day permit is $96 [A.R.S. § 28-5864].
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TAX REFUNDS AND/OR TAX CREDITS

In the event the director determines that a motor carrier overpaid the fee, penalty, or interest, the director shall
credit that amount on any current amount due or refund the excess amount [A.R.S. § 28-5859].

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

Fee is payable at the time the motor vehicle is registered with the state [A.R.S. § 28-5854B].
The collecting agency is ADOT [A.R.S. § 28-5854B].

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2016.

There were no changes enacted to this fee from 2017 through 2022.

2016 LAWS

Laws 2016, Chapter 171 revises the annual license fee for taxis and eliminates the $64 annual light motor vehicle
fee for vehicle for hire companies (i.e., taxis, livery vehicles, or limousines). These changes are effective on

September 1, 2016.

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2016 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
https://www.azjlbc.gov/22taxbook/22taxbk.pdf.
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AVIATION FUEL TAX

DESCRIPTION

The aviation fuel tax is levied on each gallon of aviation fuel produced or imported into Arizona. Aviation fuel is
defined as fuel that is expressly manufactured for use in an internal combustion engine of an aircraft. The tax rate
is 5¢ per gallon, and revenues are deposited in the State Aviation Fund.

DISTRIBUTION

The tax on aviation fuel is deposited in the State Aviation Fund [A.R.S. § 28-8345]. The monies in the fund are
dedicated to the construction, development, and improvement of airports in the state.

Table 1
COLLECTIONS
Fiscal Year Net Collections Fiscal Year Net Collections
2022 $333,524 2012 $312,914
2021 $327,649 2011 $383,655
2020 $360,942 2010 $339,980
2019 $316,959 2009 $380,429
2018 $341,400 2008 $420,915
2017 $306,780 2007 $460,470
2016 $325,479 2006 $462,598
2015 $329,326 2005 $499,136
2014 $313,075 2004 $572,686
2013 $358,677 2003 $646,314

SOURCE: Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT), Office of Financial Planning.

WHO PAYS

The aviation fuel tax is presumed to be a direct tax on the consumer but is still collected and remitted to the
Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT) by suppliers for the purpose of convenience. In other words, the
tax is collected and paid to ADOT by a supplier, who then adds the tax to the price of aviation fuel in order to
recover it from the consumer [A.R.S. § 28-5606].

REVENUE BASE AND RATE

The revenue base is aviation fuel, which means all flammable liquids composed of a mixture of selected
hydrocarbons manufactured and blended for the purpose of operating an internal combustion engine in an
aircraft. Aviation fuel does not include fuel used in jet or turbine powered aircraft [A.R.S. § 28-101].

The following are exempted from the aviation fuel tax [A.R.S. § 28-5610]:

e Aviation fuel for which proof of export is available in the form of a terminal issued destination state shipping
paper, and is either exported by a supplier that is licensed in the destination state, or sold by a supplier to a
distributor for immediate export.

e Aviation fuel that was acquired by a distributor on which the tax has previously been paid and that was
subsequently exported across the state border.

e Aviation fuel that is moving in interstate or foreign commerce and that is not destined or diverted to a point in
this state.
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e Aviation fuel that is sold to the United States or its agencies or instrumentalities.
The tax rate is 5¢ per gallon [A.R.S. § 28-8344].
PAYMENT SCHEDULE

The tax that is accrued in any calendar month is to be paid on or before the 27" day of the next succeeding
calendar month to ADOT [A.R.S. § 28-5925].

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2016.

There were no changes enacted to this tax in the period from 2016 through 2022.

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2016 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
https://www.azjlbc.gov/22taxbook/22taxbk.pdf.
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COMMERCIAL NUCLEAR GENERATING STATION ASSESSMENT

DESCRIPTION

The commercial nuclear generating station assessment is levied on each consortium of public service corporations
engaged in operating a commercial nuclear generating station. In effect, only the Palo Verde nuclear generating
station is assessed by this law. Collection amounts are used by the state to develop emergency response
capabilities for accidents caused at a commercial nuclear generating station. The assessment is equal to the
amount appropriated by the Legislature from the Nuclear Emergency Management Fund for nuclear emergency
response.

DISTRIBUTION
Through 2017, monies collected from the commercial nuclear generating station assessment were deposited in the

General Fund. Laws 2017, Chapter 43 redirected these monies to be deposited directly into the Nuclear
Emergency Management Fund (NEMF) [A.R.S. § 26-306.01D] beginning in FY 2018.

Table 1
COLLECTIONS
Fiscal Year General Fund NEMF
2022 S0 $2,267,935
2021 S0 $2,210,929
2020 S0 $2,576,291
2019 S0 $2,549,792
2018 S0 $2,526,277
2017 $2,503,140 SO
2016 $2,412,474 SO
2015 $2,404,010 SO
2014 $2,269,086 SO
2013 $2,153,517 SO
2012 $1,782,028 SO
2011 $1,812,420 SO
2010 $1,569,091 SO
2009 $1,523,108 SO
2008 $1,440,492 SO
2007 $1,367,248 SO
2006 $1,198,087 SO
2005 $1,168,550 SO
2004 $1,036,085 SO
2003 $1,012,992 SO
SOURCE: Department of Revenue, Annual Reports

WHO PAYS
The assessment is paid by each consortium of public service corporations and municipal corporations engaged in

constructing or operating a commercial nuclear generating station [A.R.S. § 26-306.01D]. In practice, the
assessment is only paid by the Palo Verde nuclear plant.
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REVENUE BASE AND RATE

Pursuant to Laws 2021, Chapter 71, the amount of the assessment is equal to the biennial legislative appropriation
from the Nuclear Emergency Management Fund, plus an additional 10% per year for interest [A.R.S. § 26-306.01D].
However, any unexpended monies in the Nuclear Emergency Management Fund at the end of each fiscal year are
used to offset the assessment in future years [A.R.S. § 26-306.02B]. The assessments are used to develop,
maintain, and support the state plan for responding to accidents at a commercial nuclear generating station [A.R.S.
§ 26-306.01A].

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

The assessment is due to the Department of Revenue each year on the date that the appropriation to the Nuclear
Emergency Management Fund becomes available for expenditure. If the assessment is not paid on this date,
interest is charged at the rate of 10% per year until payment is received. If a consortium fails to pay the
assessment within 1 year, the Legislature may require the Director of Emergency Management to notify the United
States Nuclear Regulatory Commission [A.R.S. § 26-306.01D&E].

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2016.

There were no changes enacted to the assessment in 2016, 2018, 2020, and 2022.
2021 LAWS

Laws 2021, Chapter 74 levies an assessment of $2,210,929 in FY 2022 and $2,267,935 in FY 2023. Chapter 74 also
makes technical changes and removes the Arizona Department of Health Services from receiving a portion of the
assessment. (Effective March 23, 2021)

2019 LAWS

Laws 2019, Chapter 24 levies an assessment of $2,549,792 in FY 2020 and $2,576,291 in FY 2021. (Effective March
22,2019)

2017 LAWS

Laws 2017, Chapter 43 directs the assessment fees to be deposited in the Nuclear Emergency Management Fund
rather than the General Fund. These monies will now be appropriated directly from the Nuclear Emergency
Management Fund. Chapter 43 also levies an assessment of $2,503,140 in FY 2018 and $2,526,277 in FY 2019.
(Effective March 22, 2017)

The following statutory changes levied biennial assessments against each consortium of public service corporations
and municipal corporations engaged in constructing or operating a commercial nuclear generating station. The
assessment amounts were then appropriated from the state General Fund to the Nuclear Emergency Management
Fund to develop and maintain the state response plan for an accident at a commercial nuclear generating station.
The monies were allocated to various entities, including the Department of Emergency and Military Affairs, the
Radiation Regulatory Agency, Maricopa County, and the Town of Buckeye.

Laws 2017, Chapter 313 transferred the responsibilities of the Arizona Radiation Regulatory Agency (ARRA) to the
Department of Health Services (DHS) effective January 1, 2018. As a result, a portion of ARRA's FY 2018 NEMF
appropriation and the entirety of ARRA's FY 2019 NEMF appropriation of $789,663 and 5.5 FTE Positions was
transferred to the DHS.
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A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2016 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
https://www.azjlbc.gov/22taxbook/22taxbk.pdf.
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INSURANCE GUARANTY FUND ASSESSMENTS

DESCRIPTION

The Department of Insurance and Financial Institutions manages 2 Guaranty Funds - the Arizona Property and
Casualty Insurance Guaranty Fund, and the Life and Disability Insurance Guaranty Fund [A.R.S. § 20-662 and § 20-
683]. These 2 funds serve as a safeguard in the event that a certified insurance provider becomes insolvent or is
placed under a court order of rehabilitation. The Property and Casualty Insurance Guaranty Fund covers policies
on property insurance, casualty insurance and workers’ compensation insurance. The Life and Disability Insurance
Guaranty Fund covers policies on life insurance, disability insurance and annuities. Each Guaranty Fund is
administered by a separate Board of Directors with members appointed by the Governor [A.R.S. § 20-662, A.R.S. §
20-664, A.R.S. § 20-684, and A.R.S. § 20-685].

DISTRIBUTION
Each Guaranty Fund is broken into 3 accounts
Arizona Property and Casualty Insurance Guaranty Fund [A.R.S. § 20-662]

e Automobile insurance account
e  Workers’ compensation insurance account
e Account for all other insurance covered by the fund

The Board of Directors levies assessments for each account and spends money only for the purposes of that
account. The Board of Directors can levy an additional assessment for administrative costs [A.R.S. § 20-664 and
A.R.S. § 20-666F].

Life and Disability Insurance Guaranty Fund [A.R.S. § 20-683]

e Lifeinsurance account
e Disability account
e Annuity account

The obligations of the fund are not allowed to exceed the amount to which the impaired or insolvent member
insurer is contractually liable. However, there are caps on the amount of obligations that the fund can pay, even if
the insolvent or impaired insurer is contractually liable for an amount above the cap. The cap on obligations is
$300,000 for life insurance death benefits, or $100,000 for net cash withdrawal or net cash surrender for life
insurance. The cap on obligations is $300,000 for disability income and long-term care insurance; $500,000 for
health benefit plans; and $100,000 for coverages not defined as disability income, long term care, or health benefit
plans. The cap on obligations to the annuity account is $250,000 in present value annuity benefits. [A.R.S. § 20-
682E]

If an individual, firm or corporation owns multiple policies, the fund’s obligation cannot exceed $5 million. [A.R.S.
§ 20-682F]
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Table 1
COLLECTIONS — ARIZONA PROPERTY AND CASUALTY
INSURANCE GUARANTY FUND ¥
Fiscal Automobile Worker’s Compensation Other Total Net
Year Account Account? Account Collections
1998 $3,949,018 S0 $1,446,788 $5,395,806

1/ Since FY 1996, assessments were only levied in FY 1998.
2/ Laws 2014, Chapter 186 moved the workers’ compensation account from the Industrial Commission Special Fund to the
Arizona Property and Casualty Insurance Guaranty Fund.

SOURCE: Department of Insurance and Financial Institutions

Table 2
COLLECTIONS — LIFE AND DISABILITY INSURANCE GUARANTY FUND ¥
Fiscal Life Disability Annuity Total Net
Year Account Account Account Collections % ¥
20229 SO $4,735,000 SO S$5,435,000
2021 Y% S0 $7,006,021 S0 $7,006,257
2020 SO $15,789,400 S0 $15,789,400
2019 SO $9,159,400 SO $9,159,400
2018 SO $6,980,900 S0 $6,980,900
1997 $13,542,000 SO $10,089,000 $23,631,000
1/ No assessment was levied from FY 1998 through FY 2017.
2/ The FY 2018 collections shown in the table include a $3,000,000 administrative assessment pursuant to A.R.S. §20-686A.
3/ The FY 2020 collections shown in the table include a $1,968,100 administrative assessment pursuant to A.R.S. §20-686A.
4/ The FY 2021 collections shown in the table include a $4,349 disability account assessment pursuant to A.R.S. §20-686A
5/ The FY 2021 collections shown in the table include a $236 administrative account assessment pursuant to A.R.S §20-686A
6/ The FY 2022 collections shown in the table include a $700,000 administrative account assessment pursuant to A.R.S §20-

686A.

SOURCE: Department of Insurance and Financial Institutions

WHO PAYS

Arizona Property and Casualty Insurance Guaranty Fund: Member insurers pay the assessment. A member insurer
under the Arizona Property and Casualty Insurance Guaranty Fund is a person who is licensed to write any kind of
insurance, unless that person only writes life, title, surety, disability, credit, mortgage guaranty or ocean-marine
insurance [A.R.S. § 20-661 and A.R.S. § 20-666A].

Life and Disability Insurance Guaranty Fund: Member insurers pay the assessment. A member insurer is any
insurer or health care services organization that holds a certificate of authority and transacts life, disability or
annuity insurance in the state and may include member insurers who may have had the certificate of authority
suspended, revoked, not renewed or voluntarily withdrawn [A.R.S. § 20-681 and A.R.S. § 20-686A].

As shown in Table 1, prior to FY 2018 the guaranty fund assessments have not been levied since 1998. However,
an assessment of $7.0 million was levied for the Life and Disability Insurance Guaranty Fund (LDIGF) in FY 2018.
The assessment is the result of the failure of 2 national insurance companies that sold policies in Arizona. The
affected policies are primarily long-term care policies and are covered by the disability insurance account of the
LDIGF. While the exact amount of liabilities to the fund is not yet known, estimates exceed $150 million. The
department and the board intend to levy assessments over multiple years to cover the expected liabilities to
match actual fund payouts, rather than making larger assessments up front.
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REVENUE BASE

The assessments for each Guaranty Fund are determined by each fund’s respective Board of Directors. The
amount owed by member insurers is based on the proportion of premiums written by a member insurer to total
premiums written for all member insurers by insurance type for each subaccount. For example, if a member
insurer receives 25% of all life insurance premiums in the state, then that member insurer will be responsible for
25% of the life insurance account assessment under the Life and Disability Insurance Guaranty Fund [A.R.S. § 20-
666 and A.R.S. § 20-686].

The Arizona Property and Casualty Insurance Guaranty Fund assessment cannot exceed 1% of a member insurer’s
net direct premiums from the preceding calendar year on the type of insurance in the subaccount. In addition to
the assessments for each subaccount, the board of directors may levy an additional assessment on each member
insurer for operating expenses not to exceed $200 annually [A.R.S. § 20-666B and A.R.S. § 20-666F].

The Life and Disability Insurance Guaranty Fund is made up of 2 types of assessments, Class A and Class B. Class A
assessments are set at a level by fund administrators to pay for administration expenses. Class B assessments are
divided into the 3 accounts. The amount of a Class B assessment that goes to a particular account is proportional
to the share of an insolvent or impaired insurer’s total premiums that are covered under that particular account,
except for long term care policies. For example, if 10% of an impaired insurer’s premiums are covered by the
disability insurance account, then 10% of the assessment levied to member insurers as a result of the impaired
insurer will go to the disability insurance account under the Life and Disability Insurance Guaranty Fund, except for
assessments for long term care policies which are split - 50% allocated to disability insurers and 50% allocated to
life and annuity insurers. The total from both Class A and Class B assessments imposed on a member insurer in 1
calendar year cannot exceed 2% of the average of total premiums collected during the 3 years before the
offending member insurer became insolvent [A.R.S. § 20-686].

PREMIUM TAX OFFSET

Under both guaranty funds, member insurers who pay the assessment offset their premium tax liability by 20% of
the assessment in the year of the assessment and by 20% in each of the succeeding 4 years. However, the total
amount of the premium tax offset cannot exceed 100% of the assessment [A.R.S. § 20-674 and A.R.S. § 20-692].

RECENT HISTORY

Recent assessments to the ALDIGF levied since FY 2018 are due to the failure of 2 national insurance companies
with business in Arizona, Penn Treaty Network American Insurance Company and its subsidiary, American Network
Insurance Company. Unlike other large multi-state insurance companies that sell multiple lines of insurance, Penn
Treaty and American Network almost exclusively issued long-term care insurance policies. These types of policies
increased in the 1990's as the Baby Boom generation began to plan for retirement. However, many of the
actuarial assumptions that went into the pricing decisions were wrong, causing the costs of the policies to
outweigh the premiums collected.

Due to these miscalculations combined with the economic and financial conditions of the Great Recession, the
Pennsylvania Department of Insurance determined that Penn Treaty and American Network would not have the
ability to cover future claims without an average premium increase of 300%. In 2009, the Pennsylvania
Department of Insurance deemed such premium increases to be unfair to policyholders and instead requested an
order of liquidation. After years of litigation, a Pennsylvania court ordered the liquidation in March 2017, requiring
state guaranty funds to cover claims issued in the respective states.

As a result of the liquidation order, the ALDIGF board issued an assessment in November 2017 (its first since FY
1997) to ensure the ALDIGF is adequately funded (See table 2, above). Similar assessments will continue over
many years, likely decreasing over time, to match the annual fund payouts. While the exact amount of the total
assessments is not yet known, the department estimates that total assessments could exceed $150 million through
CY 2051.
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IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2016. There were no changes enacted to these assessments in 2016 and 2017 and from 2019 through 2022.

2018 LAWS

Laws 2018, Chapter 64 expands the Life and Disability Insurance Guaranty Fund board from 9 to 11 members and
adds health care service organizations as assessment-paying member insurers. Chapter 64 also redefines how
Class B assessments for long term care policies are paid, allocating 50% of the assessment to disability insurers and
50% to life and annuity insurers. (Effective December 31, 2018)

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2016 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
https://www.azjlbc.gov/22taxbook/22taxbk.pdf.
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JET FUEL EXCISE AND USE TAX

DESCRIPTION

The jet fuel excise tax is a tax levied on the retail sale of jet fuel. The jet fuel use tax is a tax levied on the storage,
use, or consumption in the state of jet fuel purchased from a retailer [A.R.S. § 42-5352].

DISTRIBUTION

Effective August 9, 2017, Laws 2017, Chapter 312 provides that 100% of jet fuel excise and jet fuel use tax
collections be deposited in the State Aviation Fund [A.R.S. § 28-8345]. The monies in the fund are dedicated to the
construction, development, and improvement of airports in the state. Table 1 shows total jet fuel excise and use
tax collections deposited into the State Aviation Fund pursuant to Laws 2017, Chapter 312, beginning in FY 2018.

Table 1

JET FUEL EXCISE AND USE TAX COLLECTIONS

Fiscal Year Net Collections
2022 $4,774,822
2021 $5,054,642
2020 $4,850,825
2019 $4,956,396
2018 $4,151,398

SOURCE: Arizona Department of Revenue (ADOR),
Annual Report

Through FY 2017, 40% of the excise tax revenue collected was designated as distribution base and was distributed
as described in the Transaction Privilege Tax (TPT) section of this book. Sixty percent of the excise tax revenue,
and 100% of the use tax revenue, was credited directly to the state General Fund [A.R.S. § 42-5353]. The history of
jet fuel excise tax and use tax distributions can be found in the Jet Fuel Excise and Use Tax section of the 2021 Tax
Handbook.

As noted above, Laws 2017, Chapter 312 provides that 100% of jet fuel excise and jet fuel use tax collections be
deposited in the State Aviation Fund, beginning in FY 2018. To hold the General Fund, cities, and counties
harmless, Chapter 312 provides that monies received from the aircraft license tax (pursuant to A.R.S. § 28-8345) be
distributed as follows:

e 50% to the state General Fund
e 9.5% to counties based on proportion of total state population
e 5.5%toincorporated cities and towns based on proportion of total state population

Chapter 312 provides that the remaining 35% to the aircraft license tax be deposited in the State Aviation Fund.
(For more details, see the Aircraft License Tax section.)

WHO PAYS
The excise tax is paid by every person engaging or continuing in the retail sale of jet fuel. The use tax is levied on

the storage, use, or consumption in Arizona of jet fuel purchased from a retailer in any case in which the excise tax
has not been paid to the state [A.R.S. § 42-5352].
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REVENUE BASE AND RATE

The tax rate is 3.05¢ per gallon on the first 10 million gallons of jet fuel per filer. The tax on amounts over 10
million gallons was reduced from 3.05¢ per gallon to 2.05¢ per gallon in FY 1993, to 1.05¢ per gallon in FY 1994,
and is not subject to tax in FY 1995 and thereafter [A.R.S. § 42-5352].

The jet fuel excise tax does not apply to jet fuel that is sold in Arizona to commercial airlines and used on flights
that originate in the state and whose first outbound destination is outside of the United States [A.R.S. § 42-5354].

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

Taxes are collected and due in the same manner as for the Transaction Privilege Tax (TPT) [A.R.S. § 42-5353].
Electronic filing and payment requirements are the same as for TPT [A.R.S. § 42-5014].

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2016.

There were no changes enacted to this tax in 2016 and in the period from 2018 to 2022.
2017 LAWS

Laws 2017, Chapter 312 provides that 100% of jet fuel excise and jet fuel use taxes be deposited in the State
Aviation Fund. To hold the General Fund, cities, and counties harmless, Chapter 312 provides that monies received
from the aircraft license tax be distributed as follows:

e 50% to the state General Fund
e 9.5% to counties based on proportion of total state population
e 5.5%toincorporated cities and towns based on proportion of total state population

Chapter 312 provides that the remaining 35% of the aircraft license tax be deposited in the State Aviation Fund.

The changes under Chapter 312 stemmed from a December 2014 federal policy change that requires aviation fuel
taxes to be used only for airport-related purposes. To be in compliance with this federal policy change, Chapter
312 distributes all jet fuel excise and use tax revenues to the State Aviation Fund, as noted above. To make this
change revenue neutral, Chapter 312 modifies the aircraft license tax distribution to backfill the losses to the state
General Fund, cities and counties. (Effective August 9, 2017)

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2016 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
https://www.azjlbc.gov/22taxbook/22taxbk.pdf.
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HOSPITAL ASSESSMENT

DESCRIPTION

The Arizona Health Care Cost Containment System (AHCCCS) is required to establish, administer, and collect a
hospital assessment for state costs that are not otherwise covered by voter-approved tobacco revenues and other
state funds for the Proposition 204 and Adult Expansion populations, on and after January 1, 2014. [A.R.S. § 36-
2901.08]

Proposition 204, also known as the “Healthy Arizona Initiative,” was a voter-approved ballot initiative in year 2000
that expanded AHCCCS eligibility for childless adults, parents, and other Proposition 204 populations (i.e., aged, blind
and disabled individuals) with incomes that exceed the limits for the Traditional population but are not above 100%
of the federal poverty level (FPL). However, in July 2011, enrollment for Proposition 204 childless adults was
suspended to address the FY 2012 budgetary shortfall. Other Proposition 204 populations retained coverage and
their enrollment continued unaffected.

Beginning January 1, 2014, the federal Affordable Care Act (ACA) required mandatory expansion of Medicaid
eligibility to children up to 133% FPL, while making expansion of adult eligibility up to 133% FPL an option of the
state. Arizona opted to restore its prior Proposition 204 childless adult coverage along with expanding participation
to all adults with incomes up to 133% FPL. (See the JLBC Staff’s January 1, 2014 Expansion of Medicaid Eligibility and
the Affordable Care Act Program Summary for more information.) [A.R.S. § 36-2901.01, A.R.S. § 36-2901.07]

A hospital assessment was enacted to pay for the state’s share of acute care costs of Proposition 204 Childless Adult
Restoration (0-100% FPL), other Proposition 204 populations and Adult Expansion (100-133% FPL). Hospital
assessment monies are matched with enhanced Federal Medical Assistance Percentages (FMAP) to cover AHCCCS
costs incurred by the Proposition 204 Childless Adult Restoration and the Adult Expansion populations. Hospital
assessment monies that fund state costs of other Proposition 204 populations in AHCCCS receive the regular 2-to-1
federal match rate.

The enactment of HB 2668 (Laws 2020, Chapter 46) further expands the assessment beginning October 1, 2020. In
contrast to the original assessment, the Health Care Investment Fund assessment is levied to increase base
reimbursement rates for services on AHCCCS' dental and physician fee schedules. The assessment also makes
directed payments to hospitals to supplement the base reimbursement level for services provided to AHCCCS
members. Monies flow through the Health Care Investment Fund, also established by Laws 2020, Chapter 46.

COLLECTIONS
Combined, the hospital assessment and the Health Care Investment Fund Assessment generated an estimated

$971.5 million in collections in FY 2022. Table 1 below provides historical assessment collections since the
assessment’s initial implementation in FY 2014.
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Table 1
COLLECTIONS

Fiscal Year Amount

2022* $971,453,796
2021Y $746,539,015
2020 $329,326,003
2019 $286,187,021
2018 $287,956,535
2017 $265,500,280
2016 $250,204,956
2015 $270,538,669
2014 $75,193,195

* AHCCCS' preliminary assessment estimate
1/ The Health Care Investment Fund assessment was only
levied for 9 months in SFY 2021.

SOURCE: Arizona Health Care Cost Containment System,
Hospital Assessment Reports.

DISTRIBUTION
In FFY 2022, AHCCCS levied an estimated $971.5 million in aggregate hospital assessment revenues.

Assessment amounts collected under the original hospital assessment may be used to fund the acute care costs of
Proposition 204 Childless Adult Restoration (0-100% FPL), other Proposition 204 populations and Adult Expansion
(100-133% FPL). These costs are included within the AHCCCS budget. Of the $971.5 million in total assessment
collections, an estimated $533.6 million funds the acute care costs of these populations.

Under the ACA, the federal government provides an 90% federal match rate for Proposition 204 childless adults and
Adult Expansion. Hospital assessment funding for other Proposition 204 populations receives a regular 2-to-1 match
rate.

Beyond the original hospital assessment, assessment collections deposited into the Health Care Investment Fund
may be used to increase reimbursement rates in AHCCCS' dental and physician fee schedules, as well as to increase
base reimbursement payments to hospitals serving AHCCCS members. Each hospital reimbursement class is placed
in a payment pool with its own target pay-to-cost ratio. An estimated $437.8 million of hospital assessment
collections were distributed through the Health Care Investment Fund in FFY 2022. Of this amount, $367.3 million
would be used to fund the state share of directed hospital payments.

Assessment funds distributed to AHCCCS are not remitted to the General Fund, do not lapse and are continuously
appropriated. [A.R.S. § 36-2901.09]

WHO PAYS

A.R.S. § 36-2901.08A and A.R.S. § 36-2999.73 allow AHCCCS the option to levy the assessments on a participating
hospital’s revenues, discharges or bed days to fund the state share of costs incurred for Affordable Care Act
expansion and to fund the cost of making directed payments to hospitals and increasing base reimbursement rates
in AHCCCS' dental and physician fee schedules. [A.R.S. § 36-2901.01, A.R.S. § 36-2901.07] Statute also permits
AHCCCS to establish the amount, method, modifications or exemptions to the assessment, such as the size of the
hospital, the specialty services available to patients and the geographic location of the hospital. [A.R.S. § 36-
2901.08C] Federal regulations require that assessments be broad-based and uniformly applied to all providers within
a specified class of providers. Table 2 lists the hospital providers (by peer hospital classification) that contributed to
the FFY 2022 assessment and the respective percentage amounts to the total funds AHCCCS collected in FFY 2022.
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Table 2
Hospital Provider Peer Group (# of hospitals) ¥ FFY 2022 Subtotals % of total
Urban Acute Providers (29) $588,145,117 60.5%
Critical Access Hospital (CAH) Providers (11) 12,567,472 1.3%
Non-CAH Rural Acute Providers (13) 130,051,240 13.4%
Long-Term Care Provider (6) 493,457 0.1%
Large Psychiatric Provider (10) 10,918,435 1.1%
Pediatric-Intensive General Acute Hospitals (1) 32,848,764 3.4%
Medium Pediatric Intensive General Acute Hospitals (6) 186,577,304 19.2%
Freestanding Children's Hospitals (1) 9,852,008 1.0%
Total $971,453,796 100.0%
*AHCCCCS' preliminary assessment estimate
1/ InFFY 2022, 77 hospitals participated in the hospital assessment.

REVENUE BASE AND RATE

AHCCCS determines the amount to collect based on the estimated state funding needed to cover ACA expansion
(original hospital assessment), directed payments to hospitals (Health Care Investment Fund assessment), and base
reimbursement rates to AHCCCS' dental and physician fee schedules (Health Care Investment Fund assessment).
Each hospital’s share of the inpatient assessment is calculated by multiplying discharges reported on the hospital’s
Medicare Cost Report by the hospital’s per-inpatient discharge rate. Although rates differ among hospital peer
groups, each hospital must agree to the discharge rate before it can be imposed. Table 3 outlines each peer hospital
group’s discharge rate on a per-inpatient basis for FFY 2022.

Since its January 1, 2014 implementation, the total hospital assessment liability has been split among hospitals
according to their number of reported discharges and the per-inpatient discharge rate. In FFY 2021, AHCCCS added
an assessment on outpatient services to keep pace with expected population growth and to meet 42 CFR § 433.68,
a federal requirement that prevents health care assessments from exceeding 6% of net revenues. The outpatient
assessment is calculated by multiplying net outpatient revenues by the provider type assessment rate percentage.
Table 3 outlines the percentage of each peer hospital group's outpatient net revenue for FFY 2022.

Before any assessment can be imposed, federal Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) approval is
required. Each hospital’s inpatient discharge rate and assessment on net outpatient revenue (in FFY 2022) is verified
to comply with federal regulations for permissible health care-related taxes outlined in federal regulations 42 CFR
433.68.

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

Payments for the original hospital assessment are made on a quarterly basis and are collected by AHCCCS. The funds
are then held within the Hospital Assessment Fund before Federal Funds are drawn into the state for deposit at the
time of payment. Total payments are based on state matching monies and various federal match rates before the
total fund amount is distributed to managed care organizations and service providers.

Hospital payments from the Health Care Investment Fund are made on a quarterly basis to participating hospitals.

AHCCCS implemented physician and dental fee schedule increases of 15% via a higher monthly capitation rate
effective October 1, 2020.
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Table 3

FFY 2022 FFY 2022

Inpatient Outpatient

Discharge % of Net
Hospital Provider Peer Group (# of hospitals) Rate Revenue
Urban Acute Providers (29) 953.25 7.9039%
Critical Access Hospitals (CAH) (11) 953.25 1.5808%
Non-CAH Rural Acute Providers (13) 953.25 4.7423%
Long-Term Care Provider (6) 238.50 1.9759%
Large Psychiatric Provider (10) ¥ 238.50 1.9759%
Pediatric-Intensive General Acute Hospitals (1) 762.75 5.1375%
Medium Pediatric Intensive General Acute 857.75 5.9278%
Hospitals (6)
Freestanding Children's Hospitals (1) $190.75 1.5808%

WEIGHTED AVERAGE $783.86 6.2318%

1/ For FFY 2022, AHCCCS used discharge data from FY 2019 Medicare Cost reports to calculate
the inpatient assessment rate. The original hospital assessment would be allocated $400.2
million of inpatient revenue while the Health Care Investment Fund would be allocated
$109.5 million.

2/ For FFY 2022, AHCCCS used FYE 2019 net patient revenues and gross patient revenues as
reported in FYE 2018 Uniform Accounting Reports. The original hospital assessment would
be allocated $133.4 million of outpatient revenue while the Health Care Investment Fund
would be allocated $328.4 million.

3/ For discharges from a psychiatric sub-provider within an acute care hospital, the
assessment rate is equal to the rate paid by Large Psychiatric Providers, or $238.50 in FFY
2022.

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of all statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature. The
first legislation was in 2013. There were no statutory changes to the Hospital Assessment in 2014 through 2019. In
FY 2020, the legislature expanded the hospital assessment.

2020 LAWS

Laws 2020, Chapter 46 requires AHCCCS to establish an assessment on hospital revenue, discharges, or bed days for
the purpose of funding fee schedule increases for providers as well as increased payments to hospitals. The AHCCCS
director is required to present the methodology to the JLBC before the implementation of the assessment and
thereafter, if the methodology is modified.

2013 LAWS

Laws 2013, 1% Special Session, Chapter 10 requires AHCCCS to establish an assessment on hospital revenue,
discharges, or bed days for the purpose of funding the state match portion of the Medicaid expansion (adults from
100%-133% of FPL) and the entire Proposition 204 population beginning January 1, 2014. In addition, Chapter 10
allows AHCCCS to establish modifications or exemptions to the assessment, such as the size of the hospital, the
specialty services available to patients and the geographic location of the hospital. The AHCCCS director is required
to present the methodology to the JLBC before the implementation of the assessment and thereafter, if the
methodology is modified.

The legislation additionally repeals the hospital assessment if: 1) the federal matching rate for adults from 100%-
133% FPL or childless adults is less than 80%; 2) the federal ACA is repealed; or 3) the maximum amount that can be
assessed and still retain a federal match, along with any other appropriated monies, is insufficient to pay for the
Childless Adult Restoration to 100% of FPL and the Adult Expansion between 100% and 133% of FPL. (Effective
September 12, 2013)
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DESCRIPTION

The marijuana excise tax, which was approved by voters in November 2020 and commonly referred to as Proposition
207, is a tax on the sale and use of recreational marijuana for persons 21 years of age and older. Proposition 207
established a 16.0% tax on the sale of recreational marijuana and marijuana products [A.R.S. § 42-5452]. Marijuana
establishments are also required to pay licensing fees. The monies collected from the excise tax and licensing fees
are deposited into the Smart and Safe Arizona Fund.

DISTRIBUTION

Monies collected from the 16% excise tax levied on the sale of recreational marijuana and marijuana products are
deposited into the Smart and Safe Arizona Fund (SSAF). SSAF monies are first used to pay administrative costs for
certain agencies. The remainder of these monies are distributed on or before June 30 and December 31 of each
calendar year as follows [A.R.S. § 36-2856]:

e  33.0% to community college districts, including:
0 15.0% divided equally among each district.
0 0.5% divided equally among each provisional district.
0 17.5% divided among the districts according to enrollment.
e 31.4% to municipal police and fire departments, divided according to the number of individuals from each
department enrolled in the Public Safety Personnel Retirement System.
e  25.4% to the Highway User Revenue Fund (HURF) for state and local transportation programs.
e 10.0% to the Justice Reinvestment Fund, including:
0 3.5% to county health departments.
0 3.5% to the Department of Health Services (DHS) for grants to qualified non-profit organizations that
provide justice reinvestment programs.
0 3.0% to DHS to address public health issues affecting the state.
e 0.2% to the Attorney General for enforcement.

Total collections and distributions from the marijuana excise tax by fiscal year are shown in Table 1 below.

Table 1
COLLECTIONS AND DISTRIBUTION
Local Law State and Local Public Health
Fiscal Community Enforcement and  Transportation and Criminal Attorney Total
Year Colleges Fire Departments Programs Justice Programs General Collections
2022 $43,830,739 $41,705,613 $33,736,387 $13,282,042 $265,641 $132,820,422
2021 Y $12,264,684 $11,670,032 $9,440,090 $3,716,571 $74,331 $37,165,708

1/ Collections for FY 2021 only include the months of February through June.

SOURCE: State Treasurer

WHO PAYS

The 16.0% marijuana excise tax is levied on the sale and use of recreational marijuana and marijuana products and
paid by the marijuana establishment [A.R.S. § 42-5452]. In addition to the excise tax, the Department of Revenue
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(DOR) is also collecting regular Transaction and Privilege Tax (TPT) and Use Tax from the sale of recreational
marijuana. The monies collected under TPT and Use Tax are distributed to the General Fund and local governments.

REVENUE BASE AND RATE

Establishments that want to sell recreational marijuana may apply for a license at a rate of $25,000 for an initial
license and a fee of $5,000 for a renewal of the recreational marijuana license, according to the Arizona
Administrative Code Title 9, Chapter 18. Pursuant to A.R.S. § 36-2854, licenses must be renewed every two years.
The licenses are available at a rate of 1 license for every 10 registered pharmacies in the state. An additional 26
licenses are available as part of the Social Equity program [A.R.S. § 36-2854]. According to the Arizona Department
of Health Services, there were 143 licensees as of June 30, 2021. Establishments that obtain a recreational marijuana
license will then pay a 16% excise tax on the sale of recreational marijuana and marijuana products. If the
establishment also holds a medical marijuana license, the 16% tax will not be levied on the sale of marijuana
purchased by individuals with a medical marijuana card.

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

The fees for licenses are due with the applications. The excise tax levied on the sale of recreational marijuana and
marijuana products is due by the 20" of each month.

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2020. There were no statutory changes in 2022.

LAWS 2021
Laws 2021, Chapter 196 adds the marijuana excise tax to the state's confidentiality statutes.
LAWS 2020

Proposition 207 allows the sale of recreational marijuana by licensed marijuana establishments to individuals 21
years of age and older. The proposition requires that revenues from the sale of the newly created 16% excise tax on
recreational marijuana and marijuana products be distributed as follows:

e 33.0% to community colleges

e 31.4% to local law enforcement and fire departments

e  25.4% to the state and local transportation programs

e  10.0% to public health and criminal justice programs

e 0.2% to the Attorney General
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PARI-MUTUEL TAX

DESCRIPTION

The pari-mutuel tax is assessed on the amount of money wagered at horse and dog racing facilities and simulcasts
in the state. The tax structure is separated according to the type of racing — horse or dog — and the population size
of the county in which the facility is located. Live dog racing was prohibited in Arizona as of January 2017.

In July 2015, the Department of Racing was consolidated into the Department of Gaming under the title of the
Division of Racing [A.R.S. § 5-101.01A]. The Division of Racing collects fees for licenses issued to facilities and
personnel involved in the racing industry and regulatory assessments. The distribution has varied in the past
several years. (See Distribution discussion below.)

The state's pari-mutuel tax does not apply to any Tribal gaming activities. Instead, on-reservation pari-mutuel
wagering activity pursuant to the Tribal-State gaming compact is included as part of a tribe's calculation of Class Ill
net gaming win. This Class Il net win is subject to the tribal gaming contribution rates under the 2021 Gaming
Compacts.

DISTRIBUTION

Table 1 below provides pari-mutuel tax and license fee collections for the past 20 years. Prior to FY 2010, pari-
mutuel taxes, license fees, and unclaimed property monies collected by the Department of Revenue (DOR) were
distributed among several different racing funds. In FY 2010 and FY 2011 these proceeds were all distributed to
the General Fund. In FY 2012, licenses and assessments were deposited into the Racing Regulation Fund, while the
pari-mutuel taxes continued to be deposited into the General Fund. Since FY 2013, all proceeds are distributed to
the Racing Regulation Fund.

Table 1
COLLECTIONS
Fiscal Year Pari-Mutuel Taxes Licenses Total Collections
2022 $154,271 $294,163 $448,434
2021 $120,646 $294,200 $414,846
2020 $175,303 $133,275 $308,578
2019 $242,683 $240,386 $483,069
2018 $236,678 $152,379 $389,057
2017 $225,334 $254,905 $480,239
2016 $158,085 $165,641 $323,726
2015 $185.892 $324,945 $510.837
2014 $215.525 $177.906 $393.431
2013 $234,628 $361,513 $596,141
2012 $254,801 $182,088 $436,889
2011 $284,807 $130,200 $415,007
2010 $314,021 $73,600 $387,621
2009 $326,590 $80,356 $406,946
2008 $429,592 $168,600 $598,200
2007 $431,437 $53,500 $484,900
2006 $527,860 $61,426 $589,286
2005 $483,901 $194,954 $655,914
2004 $565,204 $130,900 $696,104
2003 $628,564 $111,750 $740,314
SOURCE: Arizona Department of Gaming.
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WHO PAYS

The taxpayer is the person, firm, partnership, corporation, or association that holds a pari-mutuel permit. No
single permittee may simultaneously own more than 4 racetracks within the state. No permittee that holds a
permit in a county of over 700,000 persons may simultaneously hold a permit for the same kind of racing in
another county having a population of over 700,000 [A.R.S. § 5-108.03].

REVENUE BASE AND RATE

The revenue base is the “handle,” which is defined as the total amount of money contributed to pari-mutuel pools
by bettors [A.R.S. § 5-101 and A.R.S. § 5-111].

Laws 2016, Chapter 246 prohibits live dog racing in Arizona as of January 1, 2017. Prior to Chapter 246, the state
received 5.5% of the total handle for dog racing.

For horse racing, the state receives 2% of the first $1.0 million of the daily pari-mutuel pool, and 5% of the amount
exceeding $1.0 million of the daily pari-mutuel pool [A.R.S. § 5-111C].

Exemptions to the pari-mutuel tax include [A.R.S. § 5-111]:

e The portion of the handle for wagering on simulcasts of out-of-state races.

e Racing meetings conducted by county fair associations with the permission of the Racing Commission. This
exemption is limited to one racing meeting each year.

e  Monies received from races held on charity days. Charity days are defined as days on which the net proceeds
of the pari-mutuel pool are donated to non-profit organizations and corporations that benefit the public.

Licenses and assessments. The Division of Racing issues annual licenses and assessments to facilities and personnel
involved in the racing industry. The Division of Racing establishes and collects fees for the licenses it issues [A.R.S.
§ 5-104].

The licenses and assessments include:

e Racing licenses.

e A regulatory assessment from the purse accounts to pay for racing animal medication testing, and animal
safety and welfare.

e Avregulatory assessment from each permittee for each day of dark day simulcasting conducted in excess of the
number of live racing days conducted by the permittee.

e A regulatory assessment from each commercial racing permittee equal to 0.5% of the handle, payable from
amounts deducted from pari-mutuel pools by the permittee, in addition to the amounts the permittee is
authorized to deduct from amounts wagered on live and simulcast races from in-state and out-of-state
wagering handled by the permittee. Laws 2022, Chapter 304 continues to set the assessment ratio at 0.5% of
the handle in FY 2023.

Note that these fees and assessments shall not be reduced for hardship tax credits or capital improvements.

Persons, firms, partnerships, corporations, or associations applying for a pari-mutuel permit are not charged a
permit fee. Instead, the Division of Racing charges an annual licensing fee of $150 to the following individuals
representing permit applicants, where appropriate: racetrack owners with a stake of 10% or greater, corporate
officers, and racetrack general managers. However, prior to the issuance of a permit, each applicant must post a
bond document of up to $300,000 for horse racing payable to the Division of Racing and the state [A.R.S. § 5-
107D]. Each pari-mutuel permit holder must also make a refundable $5,000 deposit with the Division of Racing 10
days prior to a racing meeting to ensure payment of the amount of pari-mutuel tax due to the state [A.R.S. § 5-
107C].
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TAX REFUNDS AND/OR TAX CREDITS

Hardship Credit. Under prior law, a permittee was eligible for a hardship tax credit determined as follows [A.R.S. §
5-111]:

e Determine the percentage decrease in pari-mutuel wagering in the previous fiscal year compared to the base
year. The base year is defined as the highest total pari-mutuel wagering at the racetrack and all additional
wagering facilities owned by the permittee for FY 1990 through FY 1994.

e  Multiply the total pari-mutuel tax liability for the current year by the percentage decrease determined above
and multiply the result by 3.

e Reduce the permittee’s pari-mutuel tax due for the current period, and all future periods, by the result. The
hardship tax credit can be used in addition to any other tax exemptions, rebates, and credits.

The credits do not apply to licenses and assessments.

Laws 2016, Chapter 247 eliminated the Hardship Credit effective May 13, 2016. Hardship credits earned prior to
May 13, 2016 may still be used to offset pari-mutuel tax owed after the effective date. The formula for
determining the amount of pari-mutuel tax owed and the amount of hardship credits that can be applied to the
pari-mutuel tax is displayed in Table 2 on the following page. Prior to the elimination of the hardship credit,
determination of the amount of hardship credits awarded was based on statutorily set base levels, industry trends
and state pari-mutuel taxes from dollars wagered during the most recent fiscal year. Table 2 assumes the
continued operation of each of Arizona’s commercial race tracks. Yavapai Downs was not in operation in FY 2017.
However, J&) Equine Enterprises purchased the property in January 2018 and changed the track name from
Yavapai Downs to Arizona Downs. The Arizona Downs track was granted a temporary permit to conduct live racing
between FY 2019 and FY 2021 and reopened for horse racing at the start of FY 2020. The Apache Greyhound Park
currently takes wagers on simulcast races but does not conduct any live racing.

Capital Improvements. The permittee’s pari-mutuel annual tax liability may be reduced to fund capital
improvements to racetracks. The reduction can be up to 1% of the total handle in counties having a population of
500,000 or more, and up to 2% in all other counties. The annual reduction continues until sufficient funds have
been obtained for the completion of the capital improvement project. The projects must be approved by the
Racing Commission. [A.R.S. § 5-111.02 and A.R.S. § 5-111.03].

The capital improvements provision expired on June 30, 1992 for counties with populations of 500,000 or more,
and on June 30, 1999 for all other counties. Projects approved prior to these dates may continue with the tax
reduction until sufficient funds have been obtained for completion of the capital improvement.

The capital improvement reduction does not apply to licenses and assessments.

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

Pari-mutuel taxes are paid daily during the racing season. The tax is collected by the Division of Racing.
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FY 2022 Hardship Tax Credit Usage Based on the FY 2021 Dollars Wagered ¥/

Table 2 (a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) (h) (i) (i) (k)
FY 21
FY 21 Pari- FY21 FY 21 Pari-
FY 21 Actual Amount Mutuel Tax Amount FY 21 Mutuel Tax Carryover FY 21 FY 22 Tax
Base Base Year Wagered Allowable N from FY 21 due based
Track Tax Rate Amount . owed before Wagered . paid after . Percent
Year Amount Subject to . . Hardship R Hardship on Percent
Wagered . Hardship on Charity . Hardship . Change
Pari-Mutuel R Credits R Credit Decrease
Credit Days Credit
Tax
=b*d =e-f-g =g-e =(c-a)/a =e*|jl
AZ Downs | FY 1994 $17,490,826 2.0%2/ $5,684,996 $285,498 $5,710 SO SO $5,710 SO -67.50% $3,854
Turf FY 1994 | $101,467,993 2.0%2/ $89,409,954 | $4,759,752 $95,195 $1,323 ¥ S0 $93,8729 $14,5649 -11.88% $11,309
Rillito FY 1990 $3,887,981 2.0%2/ S0 S0 S0 SO S0 s0Z/ $262,776 -100.0% S0
Apache FY 1990 $12,262,396 5.5% $11,284,951 $S03/ S0 SO $02/ s0Z/ $0%/ -7.97% S0
Tucson FY 1990 $38,110,346 5.5% $4,300,348 S0/ S0 SO $09/ o4 S0y -88.72% S0

e ¥ & & R K

Laws 2016, Chapter 247 eliminated the hardship credit effective May 13, 2016, no additional Hardship credits will be awarded after the effective date. Hardship credits earned prior to

May 13, 2016 may still be used by racing tracks to offset pari-mutuel tax owed after this date.

For horse racing, the state receives 2% of the first $1.0 million of the daily pari-mutuel pool, and 5% of the amount exceeding $1.0 million of the daily pari-mutuel pool [A.R.S. § 5-
111C].

Laws 2016, Chapter 246 prohibited live dog racing in Arizona effective January 2017. The Apache Greyhound track and the Tucson Greyhound track conduct only simulcast races; no
live races are held at the Apache or Tucson racetrack. Wagering on simulcasts of out-of-state races is not subject to pari-mutuel tax [A.R.S. § 5-111].

Charity days are defined as days on which the net proceeds of the pari-mutuel pool are donated to non-profit organizations and corporations that benefit the public. Monies received
from races held on charity days are exempt from pari-mutuel tax [A.R.S. § 5-111].

Laws 2016, Chapter 247 eliminated the hardship credit effective May 13, 2016. Although Chapter 247 allows credits earned before May 13, 2016 to still be used by racing tracks to
offset pari-mutuel tax owed after this date, greyhound tracks are unable to use previously-accrued credits due to the elimination of live dog racing by Chapter 246.

The Turf racetrack elected not to use the remaining balance of Hardship Credits.

If the resulting amount in column (h) is negative, the track does not pay the pari-mutuel tax but rather that amount is subtracted from the Allowable Hardship Credit in column (g).
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IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2016. There were no changes enacted to this tax in 2017 and 2018.

2022 LAWS

Laws 2022 Chapter 306 continues the regulatory assessment levied on commercial racing permittees in FY 2023,
which is equal to 0.5% of the permittees' handle.

2021 LAWS

Laws 2021, Chapter 6 classifies knowingly holding an unauthorized racing meeting as a class 6 felony and expands
the definition of "racketeering" to include acts that involve holding and unauthorized racing meeting for financial
gain [A.R.S. § 5-107.01H, A.R.S. § 13-2301D].

Laws 2021, Chapter 171 removes the limit on a live-racing permittee in a county with a population between
700,000 and 1,500,000 persons of owning or leasing 6 additional wagering facilities between August 27, 2019, and
June 30, 2022. A live-racing permittee in such a county does need the written consent of a racetrack enclosure to
own or lease an additional wagering facility withing 60 miles of the racetrack in a county:

- With a population between 200,000 and 500,000 persons, or

- With a population greater than 3,000,000 persons [A.R.S. § 5-118].

Laws 2021, Chapter 234 allows for wagering on live and simulcast races through the same means as the state's
newly authorized event wagering activities, which includes online and mobile applications. Previously, state law
authorized a process of "advance deposit wagering" for races that was conducted only by telephone. This change
to allow for online and mobile race wagering is subject to any restrictions in federal law [A.R.S. § 5-1314B].

Laws 2021, Chapter 405 requires the Department of Gaming, by January 1, 2023, to convert a dog racing
permittee's permit to a harness racing permit if the permittee meets the qualifications for a harness racing permit
[A.R.S. § 5-110H]. Harness racing is a form of horse racing in which the horses race with a specific gait and typically
pull along the jockey in a harness.

2020 LAWS

Laws 2020, Chapter 36 continues the Department of Gaming through July 1, 2026.

2019 LAWS

Laws 2019, Chapter 197 requires the Department of Gaming to allocate 1% of the horse racing handle to the
Arizona Thoroughbred Breeders Association (ATBA) on a monthly basis. Chapter 197 creates the Arizona Horse
Breeders' Fund to receive monies from the 1% handle allocation. The 1% allocation will be phased in according to
the following schedule:

e 34% of the 1% handle allocation in FY 2020

*  67% of the 1% handle allocation in FY 2021

e 100% of the 1% handle allocation in FY 2022 and subsequent years

Additionally, Chapter 197 creates the Retired Racehorse Adoption Fund and requires the ATBA to contribute up to
$25,000 annually to the Retired Racehorse Adoption Fund.

2016 LAWS
Laws 2016, Chapter 246 prohibits live dog racing in Arizona effective January 1, 2017. A qualified live dog racing

permit holder may still conduct advance deposit wagering and wagering at additional wagering facilities owned or
leased by the permit holder without having live dog racing.
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Laws 2016, Chapter 247 eliminates the hardship tax credit effective May 13, 2016. Hardship credits earned prior
to May 13, 2016 may still be used by racing tracks to offset pari-mutuel tax owed after this date.

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2016 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
https://www.azjlbc.gov/22taxbook/22taxbk.pdf.
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TELECOMMUNICATIONS SERVICES EXCISE TAX

DESCRIPTION

The state is levying 3 separate taxes on telecommunications services. The Emergency Telecommunication Services
Tax and the Prepaid Wireless Telecommunications E911 Excise Tax are levied for the purpose of financing 911
emergency telephone services for political subdivisions of the state and are both deposited into the Emergency
Telecommunication Services Revolving Fund. The Telecommunications Provider Proceeds Tax is levied to finance
telecommunication devices for deaf, severely hearing impaired, and severely speech impaired residents of the
state and is deposited into the Telecommunication Fund for the Deaf.

DISTRIBUTION

Table 1 below provides a 20-year history of the distribution of the taxes levied on telecommunications services. As
noted above, the current taxes levied on telecommunications services are deposited in either the Emergency
Telecommunication Services Revolving Fund or the Telecommunication Fund for the Deaf. Prior to Laws 2006,
Chapter 351, collections from the Telecommunications Provider Proceeds Tax were shared with the Poison Control
System within the Department of Health Services (DHS), the Arizona State Schools for the Deaf and the Blind
(ASDB), and the Teratogen Information Program administered by the University of Arizona Health Sciences Center.

Table 1
COLLECTIONS AND DISTRIBUTION
Emergency AZ State Teratogen
Telecomm. Svcs. Telecomm. Fund Poison Schools for the Information

Fiscal Year Revolving Fund for the Deaf Control Fund ¥ Deaf & the Blind ¥ Program ¥
2022 $19,248,923 $2,900,471 - - -
2021 $18,912,788 $3,313,360 - - -
2020 $18,461,122 $3,597,537 - - -
2019 $17,717,433 $3,939,596 - - -
2018 $15,713,205 $4,386,029 - - -
2017 $17,810,659 $4,405,381 - - -
2016 $17,695,124 $4,641,805 - - -
2015 $17,850,677 $4,852,778 - - -
2014 $17,109,403 $4,865,666 - - -
2013 $16,425,768 $4,587,729 - - -
2012 $16,481,762 $4,857,379 - - -
2011 $16,606,135 $6,452,762 - - -
2010 $16,453,500 $6,086,692 - - -
2009 $17,774,128 $6,274,404 - - -
2008 $17,332,349 $6,581,940 - - -
2007 $23,074,167 $6,744,231 - - -
2006 $28,736,951 $3,860,508 $1,128,620 $867,140 $48,678
2005 $27,245,559 $4,035,765 $1,066,833 $1,363,179 $53,771
2004 $25,691,865 $5,091,661 $1,437,566 $1,362,312 -
2003 $23,510,706 $6,338,095 $2,340,528 - -

1/ Prior to Laws 2006, Chapter 351, 1.1% of the public service corporations’ gross proceeds of sales or gross income
from wired telephone lines (i.e., Telecommunications Provider Proceeds Tax) were distributed as follows: 0.68%
to the Telecommunication Fund for the Deaf, 0.25% to the Poison Control Fund, 0.16% to the Arizona State
Schools for the Deaf and the Blind Telecommunications Fund, and 0.01% to the Teratogen Information Program
Fund.

SOURCE: Department of Revenue, Annual Reports
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WHO PAYS

The Emergency Telecommunication Services Tax and Telecommunications Provider Proceeds Tax are both levied on
the “provider.” A “provider” is either of the following: (1) a public service corporation that provides exchange
access services to a local telecommunications network, (2) a supplier of wireless services, or (3) a supplier of any
combination of wire and wireless services [A.R.S. § 42-5251].

The Prepaid Wireless Telecommunications E911 Excise Tax is levied on the “seller.” A “seller” is any business or
person that sells prepaid wireless telecommunications service to a consumer. Prepaid wireless telecommunications
service is a commercial mobile radio service that is paid in advance and sold in a predetermined amount, and
which allows the caller to dial 911 to access the emergency system [A.R.S. § 42-5401].

REVENUE BASE AND RATE
BASE

The Emergency Telecommunication Services Tax is imposed on each activated wire and wireless service account,
including Voice Over Internet Protocol (VolP) [A.R.S. § 42-5252A].

The Telecommunications Provider Proceeds Tax is imposed on the public service corporations’ gross proceeds of
sales or gross income from the business of providing exchange access services [A.R.S. § 42-5252B]. Exchange
services are essentially wired telephone or telecommunication exchange lines that provide access from the
customer to the local telecommunications network. This tax does not apply to wireless and VolP.

The Prepaid Wireless Telecommunications E911 Excise Tax is imposed on the seller’s gross proceeds of sales or
gross income derived from the retail sale of prepaid wireless telecommunications services [A.R.S. § 42-5402A].

RATE

Emergency Telecommunication Services. Beginning in FY 2008, the monthly rate is 20¢ per activated wire and
wireless service account. The corresponding rate was 28¢ in FY 2007, and 37¢ in the period from FY 2001 through
FY 2006 [A.R.S. § 42-5252A].

Telecommunications Provider Proceeds. An amount equal to 1.1% of the public service corporations’ monthly
gross proceeds of sales or gross income from wired telephone lines [A.R.S. § 42-5252B].

Prepaid Wireless Telecommunications E911. Beginning January 1, 2014, an amount of 0.8% of the monthly gross
proceeds of sales or gross income derived from the retail sale of prepaid wireless telecommunications services
[A.R.S. § 42-5402A].

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

Each provider remits the tax monthly to the Department of Revenue in the same manner and time as the
Transaction Privilege Tax (TPT). Electronic filing and payment requirements are the same as for TPT. The seller of
prepaid wireless telecommunications services is allowed to retain 3% of the amount of tax collected before
remitting the tax to the department [A.R.S. § 42-5402B].

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2016. There were no changes enacted to this revenue category in the period from 2016 through 2022.

A listing of tax law changes prior to the 2016 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
https://www.azjlbc.gov/22taxbook/22taxbk.pdf.
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TRIBAL GAMING CONTRIBUTIONS

DESCRIPTION

Pursuant to the Indian Gaming Regulatory Act of 1988, Indian tribes are permitted to enter a gaming compact with
the state to allow Class Il ("casino-style") gaming to take place on tribal lands. Indian tribes that have entered a
Tribal-State gaming compact are required to pay a share of their net win, which is the difference between gaming
wins and losses before deducting casino operating costs, to the Arizona Department of Gaming (ADG).

The first Tribal-State gaming compacts in Arizona were signed and implemented in 1992. In 2002, voters passed
Proposition 202, which continued tribal gaming and corresponded with the signing of new "standard form" Tribal-
State compacts as specified in the ballot measure that were to last for 20 years. In 2021, amended and restated
gaming compacts were entered into between the state and most Arizona Indian tribes for another 20 years.

The 2021 compacts stipulate that certain specified tribes contribute 1.0% to 8.0% of their net win to the state,
depending on the annual level of the tribe's net winnings. All other tribes not specifically listed are required to
contribute 0.75% of their net win to the state.

The 2021 compacts also require certain tribes to contribute to the 2021 Compact Trust Fund, with those funds
then distributed to various tribes based on the allocation and priority system outlined in the compacts.

DISTRIBUTION

Of the total tribal contributions, the 2021 compacts require that 12.0% goes directly to either 2 types of
allocations: 1) Cities, towns, and counties for government services; or 2) Deposited into the Commerce and
Economic Development Commission Local Communities Fund, which provides grants to cities, towns, and counties
for government services that benefit the general public [A.R.S. § 41-1505.12]. Tribes generally notify the State of
their planned allocation on or before the first day of the Tribe's fiscal year.

The remaining 88.0% of tribal contributions is deposited into the Arizona Benefits Fund. $8.0 million or 9.0% of the
fund (whichever is greater) is subject to legislative appropriation to ADG for administrative expenses. In addition,
2.0% is allocated to ADG to fund state and local programs for the prevention, education, and treatment of problem
gambling. The remaining funds are to be distributed as follows [A.R.S § 5-601.02]:

- 56.0% to the Instructional Improvement Fund to be used by school districts

- 28.0% to the Trauma and Emergency Service Fund to reimburse hospitals for unrecovered costs

- 8.0% to the Wildlife Conservation Fund to conserve, enhance, and restore Arizona's wildlife resources
- 8.0% to the Tourism Fund to promote tourism in the state.

Table 3, located at the end of this section, provides historical tribal gaming contributions and distributions since FY
2004.

WHO PAYS

Any Indian tribe that signs the Tribal-State gaming Compact is required to contribute a portion of its Class Ill net
win for each fiscal year to the state for the privilege of operating casino-style gaming.

The 2021 compacts require the following tribes to contribute to the 2021 Compact Trust Fund:
- The Gila River Indian Community shall contribute $1.0 million per year for the first 3 years, $3.9 million for
each of the next two years, then $4.8 million per year for years 5 through 10.

- The Salt River Pima-Maricopa Indian Community shall contribute $2.8 million per year for the first 3 years
and $4.8 million each year for years 3-10.
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- The Tohono O'odham Nation shall contribute $2.8 million per year for the first 3 years and $4.8 million
each year for years 3 through 10.

REVENUE BASE AND RATE

The revenue base for tribal contributions is the net win on Class Il games, which is the difference between gaming
wins and losses before deducting casino operating costs. Under federal law, Class Ill games include all gaming
activity permitted by a Tribal-State compact beyond certain specific games such as bingo. In practice, Class Ill
games are typically thought of as "casino-style" or "Las Vegas-style" games. Table 1 outlines the Class Ill games
authorized under the Proposition 202 standard form compact, along with the expanded list of games authorized
under the 2021 Gaming Compacts.

Table 1
Games Authorized Under 2003 Compact Games Authorized Under 2021 Compact
Slot Machines Slot Machines
Blackjack Blackjack
Poker Poker
Jackpot Poker Jackpot Poker
Keno Keno
Lottery Lottery
Pari-Mutuel Wagering on Horse Races Pari-Mutuel Wagering on Horse Races
Pari-Mutuel Wagering on Dog Races ¥ Off-Track Pari-Mutuel Wagering
Off-Track Pari-Mutuel Wagering Baccarat
Roulette
Craps
Sic Bo
Pai Gow
Dealer Controlled Electronic Table Games
Event Wagering (On-Reservation)
Fantasy Sports Contests (On-Reservation)
1/ Live dog racing was prohibited in Arizona as of January 2017

Under the 2003 compacts, each tribe's gaming contribution was determined on a sliding scale based on the tribe's
annual Class Il net win, as shown in Table 2 below.

Table 2

Tribal Contribution Rates — 2003 Compacts

Rate Annual Class Il Net Win
1.0% First $25 million
3.0% Next $50 million
6.0% Next $25 million
8.0% Above $100 million

Under the Amended 2021 compacts, only the following tribes are subject to the rates in Table 2: Gila River Indian
Community, Salt River Indian Community, Ak Chin Indian Community, Tohono O'odham Nation, and Pascua Yaqui
Tribe. The tribes which continue to be subject to the 1% to 8% contribution schedule may reduce their
contribution rate to a 0.75% flat rate if certain 2021 compact provisions are violated (sometimes referred to as
"poison pill" provisions) — these include: 1) Inter-tribal parity provisions (not allowing a specific tribe to exceed
their gaming facility/device limits); and 2) Gaming exclusivity provisions (not authorizing additional off-reservation
gaming changes under state law).
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If a tribe is not included among the above listed tribes, then it is subject to a flat rate of 0.75% of Class Ill net win.
Under the 2021 compact, a tribe subject to the 0.75% flat rate is required to revert to the rates describe in Table 3
if ADG determines that the tribe has exceeded the gaming facility or gaming device limitations contained in the
compact.

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

Tribal contributions to the Arizona Benefits Fund are paid quarterly to ADG and are to be made no later than 25
days after the last day of each fiscal quarter (relative to the tribe's fiscal year or the fiscal year of the tribe's gaming
enterprise).

Contributions made to local cities, towns, and counties are to be made annually within 60 days of the last day of
the tribe's fiscal year (or the fiscal year of the tribe's gaming enterprise). Any contributions not sent to a recipient
by this time will be deposited into the Commerce and Economic Development Commission Local Communities
Fund.

Payments into the 2021 Compact Trust Fund are due quarterly within 30 days after the last day of the fiscal
quarter. Quarterly contributions are to be one-fourth of the yearly total required by the 2021 Amended Tribal-
State Compact.

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2021. There were no changes enacted to this tax in 2022.

2021 LAWS
Laws 2021, Chapter 234 created the 2021 Compact Trust Fund for the purpose of mitigating the impacts to Indian

tribes from gaming authorized by the 2021 Amended Tribal-State Gaming Compacts and for providing economic
benefits to beneficiary Indian tribes.
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UNDERGROUND STORAGE TANK TAX

DESCRIPTION

The tax applies to gasoline, diesel fuel, and aviation fuel. The tax finances the Underground Storage Tank (UST)
Revolving Fund to provide partial coverage for corrective action costs incurred by the Department of
Environmental Quality (DEQ), owners, operators, or political subdivisions. This 1¢ excise tax on petroleum
products and hazardous substances became effective July 1, 1990. The tax is deposited in the UST Revolving Fund,
which finances leak prevention programs and corrective action costs related to leaking USTs incurred by the
department, owners, operators, or political subdivisions.

DISTRIBUTION

The Director of the Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT) acts as the collecting agent for the Director of
DEQ and is required, by the 20*" day of each month, to distribute the UST Tax monies, net of administrative costs
received during the preceding calendar month, to the Director of DEQ [A.R.S. § 28-6008]. The tax monies are then
credited into the UST Revolving Fund [A.R.S. § 49-1036] and can be used in the following manner [A.R.S. § 49-
1015]:

e Reimbursement for corrective action costs incurred by a political subdivision or an owner or an operator of an
UST which is subject to the tax [A.R.S. § 49-1053].

e Provide grant monies. [A.R.S. § 49-1071].

e Reimburse DEQ for costs in taking corrective actions [A.R.S. § 49-1017].

e Reimburse DEQ for "reasonable" administration costs [A.R.S. § 49-1015].

Reimbursable Costs. The UST Revolving Fund may be used to reimburse costs of corrective actions incurred in soil
and groundwater remediation. Corrective action cost reimbursements are limited to releases reported prior to
January 1, 2023. Applications for preapproval must be submitted no later than December 31, 2029 and
reimbursement of eligible costs must be submitted by no later than December 31, 2030. Pursuant to Laws 2021,
Chapter 440, after December 31, 2032, reimbursements for corrective action costs will be limited to releases
reported prior to January 1, 2033. Chapter 440 provides that applications for preapproval must be submitted by
no later than December 31, 2039, and reimbursement of eligible costs must be submitted by no later than
December 31, 2040.

Table 1
COLLECTIONS
Fiscal Year Net Collections Fiscal Year Net Collections
2022 $35,448,412 2012 $28,233,058
2021 $32,875,717 2011 $28,644,426
2020 $31,999,200 2010 $28,703,900
2019 $32,804,131 2009 $28,652,200
2018 $33,037,711 2008 $31,581,700
2017 $30,302,036 2007 $32,092,000
2016 $31,796,946 2006 $36,174,100
2015 $29,853,233 2005 $30,759,200
2014 $28,579,676 2004 $28,090,000
2013 $29,023,072 2003 $27,769,100
SOURCE: Department of Environmental Quality
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Underground Storage Tank Tax

WHO PAYS

The operator and owner of an UST, which serves as the final dispenser of motor vehicle fuel, aviation fuel, and
diesel, is responsible for payment of this tax. UST means tank(s) used to contain vehicle fuel, aviation fuel, and
diesel with at least 10% of its volume underground [A.R.S. § 49-1001 and 49-1031B].

Excluded are:

1) non-commercial types of tanks

2) certain regulated pipeline facilities

3) tanks owned and operated by Indian tribes

4) septic tanks or wastewater collection systems

5) surface water impoundment pit

6) tanks situated on the floor of an underground area such as a basement.

A separate license is not required for payment of this tax [A.R.S. § 28-6003B].
REVENUE BASE AND RATE
The tax rate is 1¢ per gallon of regulated substance placed in a tank in any calendar year [A.R.S. § 49-1031].

“Regulated substance” means petroleum or a substance defined in the Comprehensive Environmental Response
Compensation and Liability Act (CERCLA) of 1980, not including a substance regulated as hazardous waste under
the Solid Waste Disposal Act of 1984 [A.R.S. § 49-1001].

The tax does not apply to: (1) USTs operated by the Federal or State Government or (2) USTs used for jet fuel
[A.R.S. § 49-1031C]. Indian tribes are also exempt but through an intergovernmental agreement may participate in
the new programs by paying the UST Tax [A.R.S. § 49-1057].

Additional Fees. Owners and operators subject to the UST Tax shall pay an annual registration fee of $100 for each
tank [A.R.S. § 49-1020].

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

The tax is due and payable annually by March 31 for the proceeding calendar year and is delinquent if not
postmarked or delivered in person by that same date. A return is required to be filed at this time [A.R.S. § 49-
1032].

Most taxpayers make periodic payments to ADOT at the same time and manner as the Motor Vehicle Fuel Tax.
This refers to those distributions of products that ADOT normally collects for, such as gasoline, aviation fuel, and
diesel oxygenated fuel. The Director of DEQ may extend the filing time for "good cause" provided that at least 90%
of the tax liability is paid upon the extension request [A.R.S. § 49-1033].

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2016. There were no changes enacted in 2022.

2021 LAWS
Laws 2021, Chapter 407 suspends the administrative cap established in A.R.S. § 49-1015 for FY 2021 and
authorizes DEQ to transfer up to $6.5 million from the UST Revolving Fund for administrative expenses and for

sewage remediation.

Laws 2021, Chapter 440 includes the following provisions:
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e Repeals the January 1, 2024 sunset date for the UST excise tax.

e  Modifies UST performance standards.

e Allows monies in the UST Revolving Fund to be used to reimburse DEQ for reasonable and necessary costs
that it incurs in administering the UST Site Improvement Program, rather than UST grant programs.

e Requires the UST excise tax and supported programs to be reviewed during the legislative sunset review
of DEQ.

e Modifies preapproval process and eligibility requirements for reimbursement of corrective action.

e  Modifies actions that can be taken by DEQ in placing liens against properties for unrecovered corrective
action costs.

e Lengthens the period for conducting baseline assessments of USTs to January 1, 2033.

e Modifies standards for reimbursement of noncorrective actions.

e Applies new stipulations for UST owners and operators and those with previously ineligible claims to apply
for and receive reimbursement of corrective action costs.

e Allows DEQ to determine the amount of monies in the UST Revolving Fund available to pay previously
ineligible claims and pay claims at least once annually.

e Requires DEQ to develop criteria to prioritize payments that include reimbursing small UST owners and
operators.

e  Makes technical and conforming changes.

2020 LAWS

Laws 2020, Chapter 55 suspends the administrative cap established in A.R.S. § 49-1015 for FY 2021 and authorizes
DEQ to transfer up to $6.5 million from the UST Revolving Fund for administrative expenses and for sewage
remediation.

2019 LAWS

Laws 2019, Chapter 269 includes the following provisions:

Suspends the administrative cap established in A.R.S. § 49-1015 for FY 2020 and authorizes DEQ to transfer up
to $6.5 million from the UST Revolving Fund for administrative expenses and for sewage remediation.
Appropriates and transfers $5.0 million from the UST Revolving Fund to the Water Quality Assurance
Revolving Fund.

Laws 2019, Chapter 114 includes the following provisions:

Modifies corrective action eligibility requirements.

Requires DEQ's lien against a party responsible for a UST release for unrecovered corrective actions costs to be

in the amount of the estimated increase in the property's appraised market value after the completed

corrective action.

Increases the maximum allowable grant amounts for a UST owner or operator:

0 From $100,000 to $200,000 for actions necessary to ensure the UST, the UST piping and the UST under-
dispenser containment comply with new installation standards and other federal requirements;

0 From $10,000 to $20,000 for the confirmation of a suspected release at a UST or site;

0 From $30,000 to $40,000 for a baseline assessment of a site; and

0 From $100,000 to $300,000 total per site.

Adds a reimbursement of up to $15,000 if petroleum is encountered during the UST removal and additional

excavation is needed.

Makes technical and conforming changes.

2018 LAWS

Laws 2018, Chapter 276 transfers $1.4 million from the UST Revolving Fund to the Arizona Department of
Administration for Phase 5 of the DEQ web portal, myDEQ, which will automate additional permitting and
compliance processes that are currently conducted with paper.

-248 -



Underground Storage Tank Tax

Laws 2018, Chapter 280 suspends the administrative cap established in A.R.S. § 49-1015 for FY 2019 and
authorizes DEQ to transfer up to $6.5 million from the UST Revolving Fund for administrative expenses and for
sewage remediation.

Laws 2018, Chapter 299 includes the following provisions:

e Amends Laws 2015, Chapter 247 to permit reimbursement up to $1.0 million per facility for corrective actions
conducted between July 1, 2010 and December 31, 2016 for releases that were properly reported and
confirmed before federal responsibility requirements went into effect in 1988. The reimbursement amount is
reduced by the amount of previously paid claims. A facility is prohibited from obtaining additional
reimbursement if previous reimbursement exceeded $1.0 million. Requests for reimbursement from the UST
Revolving Fund must be made by the owner or operator by December 31, 2018.

e Amends Laws 2015, Chapter 247 to permit an owner or operator that satisfies the federal reporting
requirements through insurance to receive additional corrective action reimbursement for work conducted on
or after January 1, 2016 without filing a timely claim against its insurance carrier if the release was reported
between July 1, 2006 and December 31, 2015. Reimbursement is limited to $500,000 per facility after
meeting a cost sharing obligation payment of $50,000. No reductions are made for payments previously made
under the corrective action program. In effect, this allows these facilities to receive up to $1.0 million in
reimbursement payments like other facilities that maintained insurance and holds them harmless for not filing
a timely release against their insurance carrier.

e  Makes technical and conforming changes.

2017 LAWS

Laws 2017, Chapter 305 transfers $3.2 million from the UST Revolving Fund to the Arizona Department of
Administration for Phase 4 of the DEQ web portal, myDEQ, which will automate additional permitting and
compliance processes that are currently conducted with paper.

Laws 2017, Chapter 308 suspends the administrative cap established in A.R.S. § 49-1015 for FY 2018 and
authorizes DEQ to transfer up to $6.5 million from the UST Revolving Fund for administrative costs.

2016 LAWS

Laws 2016, Chapter 120 clarifies that the UST Revolving Fund shall continue to retain its interest earnings rather
than deposit them into the General Fund. This provision had been inadvertently changed in Laws 2015, Chapter
247. Additionally, Chapter 120 suspends the administrative cap established in A.R.S. § 49-1015 for FY 2017 and
authorizes DEQ to transfer up to $6.5 million from the UST Revolving Fund for administrative costs.

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2016 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
https://www.azjlbc.gov/22taxbook/22taxbk.pdf.
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UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE TAX

DESCRIPTION

Employers are required to pay both federal and state unemployment insurance taxes. Each employer is required
to make contributions based on wages paid for employment, the employer’s history of benefit charges, and the
solvency of the statewide unemployment insurance (Ul) system. These contributions are used to pay benefits to
unemployed persons.

In summary, an employer is paying the following taxes and assessment on the first $7,000 of an employee’s wages
each for CY 2022:

e abase state unemployment tax of between 0.08% and 20.93% (with an average of 1.48%).

e anet Federal Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA) rate of 0.6%

The base state unemployment insurance rate is between 0.02% and 5.4% of the first $7,000 of each employee’s
wages each calendar year (CY) through CY 2022 and the first $8,000 of wages in CY 2023 and each year thereafter
pursuant to Laws 2021, Chapter 412. An individual employer's rate varies depending on the solvency of an
employer’s unemployment insurance account. These rates may be further adjusted depending on the solvency of
the state’s overall unemployment insurance system. The average state unemployment insurance rate is 1.48% in
CY 2022, resulting in an effective average per-employee tax of approximately $104.

The state unemployment insurance taxes fund 26 weeks of benefits at a maximum of $240 per week through FY
2022. Beginning in FY 2023, the maximum benefit increases to $320 per week and the weeks of benefits declines
to 24 weeks if the state's unemployment rate in the prior calendar quarter is less than 5% pursuant to Laws 2021,
Chapter 412. During periods of high unemployment, the state tax may not generate sufficient revenue to fund all
26 weeks of benefits. The state can then borrow funds from the federal government to cover its cost, as Arizona
did in 2010.

In addition, an employer pays a net federal unemployment tax of 0.6% of the first $7,000 of each employee’s
wages through CY 2022 and the first $8,000 of wages in CY 2023 and each year thereafter. Arizona employers who
pay their state taxes on time receive a tax credit equal to 5.4% on the standard federal unemployment tax (FUTA)
rate of 6.0% for a net rate of 0.6%. The FUTA rate may increase above 0.6% if the Unemployment Insurance Trust
Fund has unpaid loan balances from the federal government for at least 2 years. Arizona's FUTA rate last rose
above 0.6% in CY 2013. (See 2020 Tax Handbook for Additional information).

FUTA funds are deposited into 3 federal accounts. The first, the Employment Security Administration Account
(ESAA), which supports state program administration for the Unemployment Insurance program and the
Employment Service program. The second, the Extended Unemployment Compensation Account (EUCA), provides
the funds for the 50% share of the Extended Benefits program; the other 50% share is from the state’s
Unemployment Compensation Fund. The third, the Federal Unemployment Account (FUA), provides a loan fund
for state unemployment programs in distress to ensure a continued flow of benefits.
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DISTRIBUTION

Contributions are deposited in the Unemployment Compensation Fund and are used for the benefit of persons
unemployed through no fault of their own [A.R.S. § 23-701].

Table 1
COLLECTIONS
Average State Unemployment Reimbursement
Contribution Total Tax Payments in Federal
Fiscal Year Rate ¥ Collections Contributions Lieu of Tax ¢ Reimbursements

2022 1.48% $606,579,448 $462,618,519 $3,818,728 $140,142,201
2021 2.28% $1,188,400,861 $495,975,868 $49,934,044 $642,490,948
2020 1.60% $5,132,200,910 $382,554,712 $9,778,325 $4,739,867,873
2019 1.73% $444,743,565 $430,695,116 $11,547,371 $2,501,078
2018 2.36% $513,382,500 $496,845,436 $13,651,773 $2,885,291
2017 2.38% $497,209,125 $479,203,084 $15,020,981 $2,985,059
2016 2.40% $483,885,156 ¥ $463,819,390 $15,826,137 $4,239,629 ¥
2015 2.40% $711,205,617 $440,950,664 $18,962,246 $251,292,706
2014 2.40% $918,177,420 $431,452,278 $22,607,013 $464,118,129
2013 2.40% $1,101,706,097 = $415,808,516 $26,457,982 $659,439,599 7
2012 290% %Y  $1,485,462,876Y  $391,350,470 $37,569,725 $1,056,542,680
2011 2.64%Y  $2,257,212,580Y  $354,688,388 $50,022,678 $1,852,501,515 ¥
2010 2.08% $1,755,552,142 $277,863,738 $52,537,283 $1,425,151,121 8
2009 1.36% $587,359,403 $246,091,332 $21,889,172 $319,378,899 &
2008 1.39% $301,561,384 $282,038,804 $14,111,465 $5,411,115
2007 1.52% $324,836,608 $304,835,124 $13,736,790 $6,264,694
2006 1.48% $311,615,055 $288,389,906 $16,099,858 $7,125,290
2005 1.43% $254,702,773 $228,222,848 $18,269,674 $8,210,251
2004 1.01% $239,618,898 $162,309,395 $20,411,672 $56,897,831
2003 0.80% $228,540,796 $135,055,266 $16,718,797 $76,766,733

1/ Contribution rates are based on calendar years. Represents effective average contribution rate after accounting for all adjustments.

2/ Certain non-profit organizations, the state government and its political subdivisions may elect to make payments in lieu of contributions equal

&

Xy

to the regular benefits and one-half of the extended benefits paid [A.R.S. § 23-750].

The Unemployment Insurance Title XII Loan was paid off on 05/01/2015.

Rate includes a special assessment of 0.4% in CY 2011 and 0.5% in CY 2012 according to Laws 2011, Chapter 218 to pay down the state’s
federal loan balance.

Includes funds received from the federal government for borrowing and emergency unemployment.

Includes funds received from the federal government for borrowing, emergency unemployment, extended benefits, and the Reed Act.

In FY 2012 - FY 2013, Federal Reimbursements include extensions of benefits authorized by the Emergency Unemployment Compensation
program enacted in the federal Supplemental Appropriations Act of 2008, as well as additional extensions authorized by the Unemployment
Compensation Extension Act of 2008, by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (ARRA), and most recently by the American
Taxpayer Relief Act of 2012. All of these benefit extensions and increases are federally funded. In addition, these funds include monies
received from the federal loan.

In FY 2009 - FY 2011, the Federal Reimbursements include extensions of benefits authorized by the Emergency Unemployment Compensation
program enacted in the federal Supplemental Appropriations Act of 2008, as well as additional extensions authorized by both the
Unemployment Compensation Extension Act of 2008 and the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (ARRA) and a benefit increase
also authorized by ARRA. All of these benefits extensions and increases are federally funded. In addition, these funds include monies
received from the federal loan and the Reed Act.

SOURCE: Department of Economic Security

WHO PAYS

The unemployment insurance tax is paid by Arizona employers [A.R.S. § 23-726].
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The following employing units are excluded from the definition of employer and are, therefore, not subject to the
unemployment insurance tax (for definition of employer and employing unit, see A.R.S. § 23-613):

(1) Any employing unit that has not employed at least 1 individual for some portion of a day in each of 20
different calendar weeks during the current or preceding calendar year and has not paid $1,500 or more in
wages in any calendar quarter of the current or preceding calendar year. This exclusion does not apply to an
employer of the following services:

(a) Services performed in the employ of this state or any of its instrumentalities, any political subdivisions of
this state and their instrumentalities, or any combination of these employing units with each other or with
similar employing units in other states.

(b) Services performed for an employing unit that volunteer for coverage.

(c) Services that are subject to the Federal Unemployment Tax, when a credit may be taken against the
federal tax for amounts paid into the State Unemployment Compensation Fund.

(d) Services performed for an employing unit that acquires the business of a covered employer.

(2) Any employing unit that has not employed at least 10 individuals in each of 20 calendar weeks during the
current or preceding calendar year and has not paid $20,000 or more in wages in any calendar quarter of the
current or preceding calendar year for agriculture employment.

(3) An employing unit that has not paid $1,000 or more in wages in any calendar quarter of the current or
preceding calendar year for domestic service in a private home, local college club, or local chapter of a college
fraternity or sorority.

(4) An employer that has a combined Unemployment Compensation Fund contribution, Unemployment Special
Assessment Fund contribution, and Arizona Job Training Fund contribution amount of less than $10 due in a
quarter.

NOTE: Employers, once covered by unemployment insurance, are not permitted to terminate coverage simply
by virtue of this exemption [A.R.S. § 23-725].

REVENUE BASE

The revenue base is the wages from employment. The unemployment insurance tax is levied on the first $7,000 of
wages paid by an employer to each employee during a calendar year through 2022 and on the first $8,000 of
wages in calendar year 2023 and each year thereafter. Wages mean remunerations for services from whatever
source including commissions, bonuses, fringe benefits, and the cash value of remuneration in any medium other
than cash [A.R.S. § 23-622]. (Exclusions from the statutory definition of wages are provided in A.R.S. § 23-622B.)

A.R.S. § 23-615 and § 23-617 list the services not included in the definition of employment.
RATE

State Base Rate
The maximum base rate of contribution is 5.40% of the wages paid by the employer during each calendar year
[A.R.S. § 23-728].

An employer, whose account has not been chargeable with benefits during the 12 consecutive calendar month
period ending June 30 of the preceding calendar year, pays a contribution rate of 2.0% [A.R.S. § 23-729].

If the employer's account has been subject to charges for benefits, the maximum rate is adjusted downward
depending on the employer's reserve, which is the contributions received from the employer minus benefits
charged [A.R.S. § 23-730]:

(1) If the employer's total contributions paid on or before July 31 of the preceding calendar year equals or
exceeds the total benefits chargeable to the employer's account prior to July 1 of the preceding calendar year,
the contribution rate for the ensuing calendar year is determined by the employer's Positive Reserve Ratio.
An employer's reserve ratio is the percentage that results from dividing the employer’s reserve surplus (the
excess of contributions paid to the Unemployment Compensation Fund over benefits charged to the
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employer's account) by the employer's average annual payroll. The new contribution rate is determined from
the Positive Reserve Ratio as shown in Table 2 on the next page:

Table 2
EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION RATES
POSITIVE RESERVE RATIO
Positive Reserve Ratio Base Statutory Rate 2022 Adjusted Rate ¥
less than 3% ¢ 2.60% 10.08%
3% to 4% 2.40% 9.30%
4% to 5% 2.15% 8.33%
5% to 6% 1.90% 7.36%
6% to 7% 1.65% 6.39%
7% to 8% 1.40% 5.43%
8% to 9% 1.15% 4.46%
9% to 10% 0.90% 3.49%
10% to 11% 0.65% 2.52%
11% to 12% 0.40% 1.55%
12% to 13% 0.15% 0.58%
13% or more 0.02% 0.08%
1/ Base rate adjusted to account for overall system solvency.
2/ At 0%, the Base Statutory Rate is 0%.

(2) If an employer's reserve equals zero, the adjusted contribution rate for the ensuing calendar year shall be
10.30%. If an employer has a negative reserve ratio, the contribution rate is displayed in Table 3.

Table 3
EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION RATES
NEGATIVE RESERVE RATIO
Negative Reserve Ratio Base Statutory Rate 2022 Adjusted Rate ¥
less than 3% 2.85% 11.05%
3% to 4% 3.05% 11.82%
4% to 5% 3.30% 12.79%
5% to 6% 3.55% 13.76%
6% to 7% 3.80% 14.73%
7% to 8% 4.05% 15.70%
8% to 9% 4.30% 16.67%
9% to 10% 4.55% 17.63%
10% to 11% 4.80% 18.60%
11% to 12% 5.05% 19.57%
12% to 13% 5.30% 20.54%
13% or more 5.40% 20.93%

1/ Base rate adjusted to account for overall system solvency.

State Adjusted Rate

Employer contribution rates may be further adjusted depending on the level of overall assets in the
Unemployment Compensation Fund [A.R.S. § 23-730]. The ratio of total assets of such fund on July 31 to the total
taxable payrolls for the preceding year is designated as the Fund Ratio and is used to determine the systemwide
Required Income Rate in accordance with Table 4. The required income rate will be used in a calculation to
determine whether the employer contribution rates need to be adjusted.
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Table 4
Fund Ratio Required Income Rate
12.0% or more 0.40%
10.0% to 12.0% 0.50%
9.5% to 10.0% 0.60%
9.0% to 9.5% 0.70%
8.5% t0 9.0% 0.80%
8.0% to 8.5% 0.90%
7.5% to 8.0% 1.00%
7.0% to 7.5% 1.10%
6.5% to 7.0% 1.20%
6.0% to 6.5% 1.30%
5.5% to 6.0% 1.40%
5.0% to 5.5% 1.50%
4.5% to 5.0% 1.70%
4.0% to 4.5% 1.80%
3.5% to 4.0% 2.00%
3.0% to 3.5% 2.00%
less than 3.0% 2.40%

At the beginning of each year the department computes the Estimated Required Tax Yield from employers. This is
the product of the total taxable payrolls for the preceding year multiplied by the Required Income Rate as
determined from the Fund Ratio. The contribution rates are adjusted proportionately if the Estimated Required
Tax Yield differs from the amount that would be collected using the contribution rates determined from the
employer's Reserve Ratio. An employer's final rate of contribution is never less than 0.02% [A.R.S. § 23-730].

Sample State Rate Calculation

An employer who has benefit charges in the past year with total contributions in excess of total benefits charged
and a positive reserve ratio of less than 3% would have a base statutory rate of 2.6% as identified in Positive
Reserve Ratio in Table 2. This rate is then adjusted further based upon a series of calculations beginning with the
determination of the fund ratio. Assuming a hypothetical Unemployment Compensation Fund balance of $1.19
billion and state taxable payroll of $22.8 billion, the fund ratio would be 5.19%. In accordance with Table 4, the
Required Income Rate would be 1.50%. When applied against the state taxable payroll, the estimated required tax
yield would be $342.6 million, which is then adjusted down by any interest. Assuming $5.5 million of interest, the
adjusted required tax yield would be $337.1 million.

The next calculation determines whether the actual tax rates will generate the required tax yield (of $337.1
million). If not, then the base rate needs to be adjusted. As part of the calculation, the aggregate taxable payroll
within each ratio group is multiplied by its unadjusted tax rate to arrive at the unadjusted yield for each ratio
group; then all the unadjusted yields for each ratio group are added together to arrive at the total unadjusted
yield. The unadjusted yield is then adjusted downward for non-adjustable yield, which consists of taxes collected
from employers with no benefit charges in the prior year pursuant to A.R.S. § 23-729. Assuming a $97.9 million
unadjusted yield and $14.7 million of non-adjustable yield, the net adjusted yield would be $83.2 million ($97.9
million - $14.7 million), and the net adjusted required tax yield would be $322.4 million ($337.1 million - $14.7
million). The $322.4 million required yield is divided by the $83.2 million net adjusted yield to derive an
adjustment factor of 3.876.

The contribution rate within each reserve ratio group is multiplied by the adjustment factor to arrive at the
adjusted contribution rate for the year. In this example, the final adjusted contribution rate for the year would be
10.08% (2.6% X 3.876) for employers within that reserve ratio group as shown in Table 2. However, this rate may
be further adjusted if the state has an outstanding loan balance and the legislature has authorized an additional
assessment.
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Special Assessment

The weak labor market that followed the Great Recession increased the amount of claims against Arizona’s
Unemployment Compensation Fund. Arizona was one of 33 states that borrowed from the U.S. Department of
Labor to fund unemployment benefits. To pay off the federal loan and moderate the loss of the FUTA credit, the
state established a special assessment for CY 2011 and CY 2012 only. The maximum allowable assessment was
0.8% (see Laws 2011, Chapter 218). The assessment was set at 0.5% in CY 2012, which was the final year of the
assessment.

Statewide Effective Rate
After adjusting for all of these factors, the average effective state rate is approximately 1.48% in CY 2022.

Federal Rate

In FY 2011, FUTA was 6.2% on the first $7,000 of wages, but was offset by a 5.4% credit for a net tax rate of 0.8% in
states with programs that conform to federal standards. Beginning July 1, 2011, the FUTA rate declined to 6.0% for
a net tax rate of 0.6%. FUTA funds are deposited into 3 federal accounts which support state program
administration, the Extended Benefits program, and the loan fund for state unemployment programs in distress.

Arizona had to borrow money to pay its share of the 26 weeks of benefits. The state was unable to repay its loan
and had a negative federal account balance in January 2011 and January 2012. Under federal law, it was required
to repay the federal loan by no later than November 10, 2012 or have its FUTA credit reduced. Since the state was
unable to repay the federal Ul loan before November 10, 2012, the FUTA tax rate credit was reduced by 0.3% in CY
2012 and CY 2013. This reduction effectively increased employers’ net federal tax rate from 0.6% to 0.9%. The
state did not have a federal Ul loan balance on January 1, 2014 so the net federal tax rate returned to 0.6% in CY
2014.

Relationship with Job Training Employer Tax

Pursuant to Laws 2000, Chapter 383, the state began levying a new tax referred to as the Job Training Employer
Tax as of January 1, 2001. This tax is imposed on each employer in the state at 0.1% of taxable wages. However,
through a variety of exemptions, several categories of employers are excluded. Four of these exemptions are tied
to the level of FUTA taxes. Effective January 1, 2001 through June 30, 2012, if the FUTA rate declined to 6.0% or
less, as occurred on July 1, 2011 when the FUTA rate declined to 6.0%, the law provided for these exemptions to
be eliminated and the exempted employers would have to start paying the tax. However, effective August 2, 2012,
Laws 2012, Chapter 162 amended A.R.S. § 23-730.02 to change the exemptions elimination trigger to a FUTA rate
that is less than 6.0%. Because contributions are paid by employers on a quarterly basis, the exemptions were
restored administratively as of the beginning of the third quarter of 2012 (July 1, 2012). The tax was collected by
DES and deposited in the Arizona Job Training Fund.

Laws 2015, Chapter 10 repealed the Job Training Employer Tax effective January 1, 2016. Laws 2017, Chapter 307,
however, extended the Job Training Fund until June 30, 2022 to spend down the fund balance.

Combined State and Federal Rate
The average combined state and federal rate is 2.08%, consisting of an average base state unemployment tax of
1.48%, and a net FUTA rate of 0.6%.

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

Contributions are paid by employers on a quarterly basis with due dates determined by DES [A.R.S. § 23-723]. The
department serves as the collecting agency for state unemployment taxes and special assessments [A.R.S. § 23-
726A].

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2016.
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There were no changes enacted to this tax in 2017, 2019 and 2022.
2021 LAWS

Laws 2021, Chapter 412 increases the maximum weekly unemployment insurance benefits from $240 to $320,
effective July 1, 2022. It also decreases the number of weekly of unemployment benefits from 26 weeks to 24
weeks if the state unemployment rate is less than 5% in the prior calendar quarter, effective July 1, 2022. Chapter
412 increases the taxable payroll base from $7,000 to $8,000 beginning January 1, 2023. It requires DES to obtain
current and actual employment and earned income information from third-party sources when it determines
eligibility for unemployment benefits. The identity verification process may include digital and/or physical identity
authentication factors. It requires DES to report by December 31 annually on unemployment insurance fraud for
the previous fiscal year.

2020 LAWS

Laws 2020, Chapter 48 allows the Department of Economic Security (DES) to implement alternative
unemployment insurance benefit eligibility and employer contribution requirements consistent with federal
guidance for individuals and employers affected by a declaration of emergency related to the coronavirus disease
2019 (COVID-19).

2018 LAWS

Laws 2018, Chapter 171 makes several changes to employment security law including exempting certain medical
professionals from unemployment insurance taxes and the type of evidence an independent contractor must
present to the Department of Economic Security (DES) to be exempt from unemployment tax.

Laws 2018, Chapter 340 requires the DES to establish a voluntary worker training program and defines suitable
work as any employment offer that pays 120% of the individual's weekly unemployment benefit amount. If, after
4 weeks, a beneficiary is offered a job that is defined as suitable work, they must accept the offer and if they do
not, their benefits will expire.

2016 LAWS
Laws 2016, Chapter 185 repeals A.R.S. § 23-765, which increased the contribution rates for employers who
participate in the Shared Work Program. It also restored the exemption for unemployment insurance

contributions if the quarterly amount owed is less than $10.

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2016 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
https://www.azjlbc.gov/22taxbook/22taxbk.pdf.
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UTILITY CORPORATION ASSESSMENTS

DESCRIPTION

Two separate assessments are imposed on public service corporations to support the statutory duties of the
Corporation Commission's Utilities Division and the Residential Utility Consumer Office (RUCO).

Public service corporations essentially refer to electric, gas, sewer, water, and telephone utilities not operated by
municipalities. (Arizona Constitution, Article 15, Section 2)

DISTRIBUTION

Utilities Division. Proceeds from the Utilities Division assessment are dedicated to the Utility Regulation Revolving
Fund (URRF) to pay representing attorneys and the expenses of the Utilities Division of the Corporation
Commission, including related expenses of the Corporation Commission’s Legal, Administration, and Hearing
Divisions [A.R.S. § 40-408B-C].

Residential Utility Consumer Office. Proceeds from the RUCO assessment are dedicated to the RUCO Revolving
Fund for the operation of RUCO [A.R.S. § 40-409B-C].

Disposition. Both funds are subject to legislative appropriation. Monies remaining in the funds at the end of the
fiscal year do not revert to the state General Fund but are used to calculate the annual assessments [A.R.S. § 40-
408D-F and § 40-409D-F].

Table 1 on the following page provides tax collections for the past 20 years. As noted above, the Utilities Division
assessment is distributed to URRF, and the RUCO assessment is distributed to the RUCO Revolving Fund.

WHO PAYS

Public service corporations with gross operating revenues exceeding $500,000 from intrastate operations during
the preceding calendar year must pay the tax [A.R.S. § 40-401 and § 40-401.01]. (Prior to Laws 2005, Chapter 79,
the qualifying level of revenues was $250,000.)

Exceptions. Corporations that are not required to hold certificates of convenience and necessity are exempted
from this assessment [A.R.S. § 40-401A and § 40-401.01A]. In effect, this exception applies mainly to railroads
[A.R.S. § 40-281A]. The RUCO assessment also does not apply to member-owned nonprofit cooperative
corporations [A.R.S. § 40-461].

REVENUE BASE

Utilities Division. The assessment for the Corporation Commission's Utilities Division is levied on the gross
operating revenue from each corporation's intrastate operations during the preceding calendar year [A.R.S. § 40-
401 B).

Residential Utility Consumer Office. The assessment for RUCO is levied on the gross operating revenue during the

preceding calendar year from each corporation's intrastate operations that served residential consumers [A.R.S. §
40-401.01B].
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Table 1
COLLECTIONS AND DISTRIBUTION
Utilities Division RUCO Net Total
Fiscal Year Net Collections Collections Collections
2022 $12,438,700 $1,107,400 $13,546,100
2021 $13,985,900 $1,349,600 $15,335,500
2020 $13,237,000 $957,200 $14,194,200
2019Y $22,403,900 $1,342,300 $23,746,200
2018Y $3,621,300 $1,141,400 $4,762,700
2017 $23,936,200 $1,230,500 $25,166,700
2016 $10,268,400 $1,158,400 $11,426,800
2015 $15,280,100 $1,161,100 $16,441,200
2014% $22,886,000 $1,132,100 $24,018,100
2013 $12,997,700 $1,375,100 $14,372,800
2012 $13,655,900 $1,319,200 $14,975,100
2011 $13,226,800 $1,325,200 $14,552,000
2010 $17,548,800 $1,308,700 $18,857,500
2009 $14,702,300 $1,313,100 $16,015,400
2008 $14,702,300 $1,313,100 $16,015,400
2007 $13,787,200 $1,313,300 $15,100,500
2006 $12,225,000 $1,184,000 $13,409,000
2005 $11,100,900 $1,110,200 $12,211,100
2004 $11,158,000 $1,131,700 $12,289,700
2003 $8,418,500 $1,095,200 $9,513,700
1/ The assessment is levied on June 15 of each year for the upcoming fiscal year. Generally, most assessment
payments are received after June 30. However, in 2018, a timing issue caused all the 2018 assessment
collections to occur after the close of FY 2018 after July 1.
2/ In 2014, a higher than usual percentage of the assessment collections were received prior to July 1, which
resulted in higher collections in FY 2014.
SOURCE: Corporation Commission, Annual Reports.

RATE

Utilities Division. The assessment for the Utilities Division is set at a rate determined by the Corporation
Commission that will raise monies equal to the amount determined as follows [A.R.S. § 40-401B]:

(1) Determine the amount appropriated by the Legislature to operate the Utilities Division, including related
appropriations for the Corporation Commission’s Legal, Administration, and Hearing Divisions, for the
following fiscal year.

(2) Multiply the amount determined in (1) by 1.2.

(3) Subtract the monies estimated to remain unexpended in URRF at the end of the current fiscal year. The
difference computed is the amount to be raised by the assessment.

The assessment is allocated to each public service corporation with gross operating revenues exceeding $500,000
from intrastate operations during the preceding calendar year proportionate to each public service corporation’s

share of the total amount of gross operating revenues earned by all such public service corporations.

Residential Utility Consumer Office. The assessment for RUCO is set at a rate that will raise monies equal to the
amount determined as follows [A.R.S. § 40-401.01B]:
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(1) Determine the amount appropriated by the Legislature for operating RUCO for the following fiscal year.
(2) Subtract the monies estimated to remain in the RUCO Revolving Fund at the end of the current fiscal year.
The difference computed is the amount to be raised by the assessment.

The assessment is allocated to each public service corporation with gross operating revenues exceeding $500,000
from intrastate operations during the preceding calendar year proportionate to each public service corporation’s
share of the total amount of gross operating revenues derived from serving residential consumers earned by all
such public service corporations.

Maximum Combined Rate. Notwithstanding the assessment formulas, the combined assessment rates may not
exceed 0.25% of any corporation's gross operating revenues from intrastate operations during the preceding
calendar year [A.R.S. § 40-401C and § 40-401.01C]. (Prior to Laws 2005, Chapter 79, the combined assessment
rates could not exceed 0.20%.)

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

Due Date. The Corporation Commission must levy both assessments no later than June 15 of each year. Notice is
then sent to each corporation by certified mail. The assessments are due within 15 days after such mailing [A.R.S.
§ 40-401D and § 40-401.01D].

Collecting Agencies. The Corporation Commission [A.R.S. § 40-408B and § 40-409B]. In the event a corporation
fails or refuses to pay the amount assessed within 15 days without filing objections to the assessment statement
with the Corporation Commission, the Corporation Commission shall transmit a certified copy of the statement of
the assessment to the Department of Public Safety (DPS). Within 10 days after receipt of the copy of the
statement, DPS shall proceed to collect the amount stated due, with legal interest, by seizure and sale of any
goods or property in the state belonging to the public service corporation [A.R.S. § 40-407].

Filing Dates. Public service corporations with gross operating revenues exceeding $500,000 must file an estimate
of their gross operating revenues from intrastate operations during the previous calendar year on or before
January 10. All public service corporations must file a statement showing the amount of such revenues received
during the prior calendar year by May 1, as well as a statement showing the gross operating revenues derived from
intrastate operations during the preceding calendar year that were received from residential consumers. [A.R.S. §
40-401E-F, and § 40-401.01E]. (Prior to Laws 2005, Chapter 79, the threshold for the January 10 filing was
$250,000.)

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2016.

There were no changes enacted to the assessments in the period from 2016 through 2022.

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2016 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
https://www.azjlbc.gov/22taxbook/22taxbk.pdf.
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WATER USE TAX

DESCRIPTION

The tax is applied on water use by a municipal water delivery system. Beginning in FY 2018, the first $1.8 million of
this tax's annual revenues are directed to the appropriated Safe Drinking Water Program Fund to be used for the
Safe Drinking Water Program and the remaining monies are deposited into the Water Quality Assurance Revolving
Fund (WQARF). Prior to this change, all of these tax monies were deposited into WQARF.

Through the Safe Drinking Water Program, the Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) regulates over 1,500
water systems with the help of local counties. Through the WQARF Program, DEQ identifies, assesses, and cleans
up soil and groundwater that is contaminated with hazardous substances.

DISTRIBUTION

Table 1 below provides historical water use tax collections since FY 2003. Prior to FY 2018, net tax collections
(gross collections less collection fees) were deposited in WQARF by the State Treasurer [A.R.S. § 42-5304].
Allowable uses of WQARF-monies are detailed in A.R.S. § 49-282E. Beginning in FY 2018, the first $1.8 million of
this tax's annual revenues are directed to the appropriated Safe Drinking Water Program Fund to be used for the
Safe Drinking Water Program and the remaining monies are deposited into WQARF.

Table 1
COLLECTIONS
Fiscal Year Net Collections Fiscal Year Net Collections
2022 $2,550,228 2012 $2,545,748
2021 $2,646,927 2011 $2,377,136
2020 $2,442,336 2010 $2,392,765
2019 $2,418,656 2009 $2,375,423
2018 $2,689,420 2008 $2,550,646
2017 $2,446,164 2007 $2,449,270
2016 $2,197,353 2006 $2,403,644
2015 $2,455,869 2005 $2,156,683
2014 $2,428,062 2004 $2,195,590
2013 $2,427,127 2003 $2,150,995

SOURCE: Department of Revenue, Annual Report.

WHO PAYS
The tax is paid by the owners or operators of municipal water delivery systems [A.R.S. § 42-5302B].

A "municipal water delivery system" is an entity that distributes or sells potable water mainly through a pipeline
system owned by either: [A.R.S. § 42-5301]

e Anincorporated city or town.

e A private entity regulated as a public service corporation by the Arizona Corporation Commission.
e A special taxing district under Title 48, Chapter 6 of the Arizona Revised Statutes.

e  An entity regulated as a water supply system by DEQ.
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Water Use Tax

REVENUE BASE AND RATE

The revenue base is gallons of water delivered to customers of a municipal water delivery system. Water delivered
to a customer for resale is exempt from this tax. The tax rate is 0.65¢ per 1,000 gallons of water delivered to
customers [A.R.S. § 42-5302A].

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

Payment of the water use tax, if the municipal water delivery system is also subject to the transaction privilege tax,
is reported and paid monthly to the Department of Revenue with the transaction privilege tax. Otherwise, the due
and delinquent date is the same as the transaction privilege tax [A.R.S. § 42-5302B and A.R.S. § 42-5014].
Electronic filing and payment requirements are the same as for the transaction privilege tax.

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2016. There were no changes enacted to this tax in 2016 and in the period from 2018 through 2022.

2017 LAWS

Laws 2017, Chapter 308 modifies A.R.S. § 42-5304 to redirect the first $1.8 million of net revenues collected from
the Water Use Tax to the new appropriated Safe Drinking Water Program Fund. The remaining net revenues are
deposited in the Water Quality Assurance Revolving Fund (WQARF). Prior to this change, all net revenues
collected from the Water Use Tax were deposited in WQARF. Chapter 308 directs the remaining FY 2018 tax
collections in WQARF to be used for the Water Quality Monitoring Program.

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2016 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
https://www.azjlbc.gov/22taxbook/22taxbk.pdf.
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WORKERS’ COMPENSATION INSURANCE PREMIUM TAX

DESCRIPTION

Both a tax and an assessment is levied on workers’ compensation insurance premium. These levies are in lieu of all
other taxes on workers' compensation insurance [A.R.S. § 23-961].

The state requires most employers to obtain such insurance so that employees and their families are provided
financial protection from industrial injuries or death. The tax rate may be a maximum of 3% of net premiums, and
revenues are used for the administrative expenses of the Industrial Commission of Arizona [A.R.S. § 23-961].

DISTRIBUTION

Administrative Fund. Tax collections for the Administrative Fund are used for all administrative expenses of the
Industrial Commission. Expenditures from the Administrative Fund are subject to budgetary review and legislative
appropriation. Tax collections to this fund are to be no more than necessary to cover actual expenses, and unless
the Special Fund [see description below] is not on an actuarially sound basis, any surplus or deficit in revenue
above or below the expenses shall be included in the calculation of the rate to be fixed the following year [A.R.S. §
23-1081].

Special Fund. Collections for the Special Fund provide additional compensation payments or awards to promote
the rehabilitation of disabled workers. Since July 25, 1981, monies in the Special Fund may be allocated to acquire
real property or construct and furnish or procure a new office building for the Industrial Commission. Since April
19, 1983, the Special Fund may also provide loans to the Administrative Fund [A.R.S. § 23-1065].

Net collections by fund are provided in Table 1 on the following page.
WHO PAYS

The levy on workers’ compensation insurance premiums is paid by insurance carriers issuing workers'
compensation insurance, and employers providing workers' compensation insurance through the self-insurance
method [A.R.S. § 23-961].

REVENUE BASE

The levy on workers’ compensation insurance premiums is based on total direct premiums paid or contracted for
during the preceding calendar year minus deductions for cancellations, returned premiums, policy dividends,
refunds and similar amounts paid or credited to policyholders within this state and not reapplied as premiums for
new, additional or extended insurance [A.R.S. § 23-961]. The above applies to premiums paid to insurers. For self-
insured employers, the levy is based on the premiums that would have been paid by the employer if fully insured
under a plan available from an insurance carrier issuing workers' compensation insurance, during the preceding
calendar year. Employers of domestic servants are not subject to the "workmen's compensation" statutes [A.R.S. §
23-902].

RATE
There are 2 separate rates:
(1) Tax Rate for Administrative Fund. No more than 3% of net premiums, but for self-insured employers, not less

than $250 annually [A.R.S. § 23-961]. The Industrial Commission set an Administrative Fund rate of 1.75% for
CY 2020.
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Workers’ Compensation Insurance Premium Tax

(2) Special Fund Assessment. Effective July 1, 2015, the Special Fund assessment rate is not to exceed 1% and is
to be set at a rate no more than necessary to keep the Special Fund actuarially sound, but for self-insured
employers, the minimum annual payment is $250 [A.R.S. § 23-1065]. Up to an additional 0.5% may be levied
to cover Special Fund liabilities in excess of $6.0 million [A.R.S. § 23-1065F]. The Industrial Commission set a
Special Fund total rate of 0.00% in CY 2020.

COLLECTIONS

Net Collections
Special Fund %

S0

S0

S0

S0

S0

S0
$8,459,200
$19,753,500
$23,783,100
$23,103,100
$20,140,000
$19,328,000
$12,975,000
$15,279,100
$26,490,900
$23,653,400
$20,540,600
$10,888,700
S0

S0

Table 1
Calendar Net Collections
Year Administrative Fund ¥
2021 $18,556,978
2020 $18,158,634
2019 $19,011,703
2018 $19,582,000
2017 $26,316,000
2016 $17,561,500
2015 $16,917,500
2014 $19,752,400
2013 $29,080,400
2012 $27,721,800
2011 $24,166,300
2010 $20,486,000
2009 $25,950,000
2008 $30,558,100
2007 $31,786,900
2006 $28,382,700
2005 $24,647,200
2004 $21,758,100
2003 $20,117,300
2002 $15,716,000
more than necessary to cover actual expenses.
liabilities in excess of $6.0 million.
NA = Not Available
SOURCE: Industrial Commission.

Special Fund
Rate ¥
0%
0%
0%
0%
0%
0%
0.75%
1.75%
2.25%
2.5%
2.5%
2.5%
1.5%
1.5%
2.5%
2.5%
2.5%
1.5%
0%
0%

Total Net

Collections
$18,556,978
$18,158,634
$19,011,703
$19,582,000
$26,316,000
$17,561,500
$25,376,700
$39,506,000
$52,863,500
$50,824,900
$44,306,300
$39,814,000
$38,925,000
$45,837,200
$58,277,800
$52,036,100
$45,187,800
$32,646,800
$20,117,300
$15,716,000

1/ Laws 1993, 2nd Special Session, Chapter 9, provides that collections for the Administrative Fund will be no

2/ Effective July 1, 2015, the Special Fund assessment is not to exceed 1% and is set at a rate no more than
necessary to keep it actuarially sound. Up to an additional 0.5% may be levied to cover Special Fund

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

The revenue is due annually, on or before March 31 for self-insured employers, and on or before March 1 for all
other covered insurance carriers [A.R.S. § 23-961].

Since the 1983 tax year, insurance carriers are required to make quarterly payments on the Administrative Fund
tax and Special Fund assessment if their tax liability for the preceding calendar year was $2,000 or more. Quarterly
payments are submitted to the state on or before the last day of the month following the close of each quarter. All
quarterly payments are deducted from the levy that is payable on the regular March due date [A.R.S. § 23-961].

The quarterly payments are to equal one of the following methods, applied to all 4 quarters in a tax year:

(1) The levy due on net premiums collected or contracted for during the preceding calendar quarter, or
(2) 25% of the levy paid or required to be paid for the preceding calendar year.
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Any overpayment of levies resulting from the quarterly payments may be refunded by the Industrial Commission
without interest [A.R.S. § 23-961].

The revenue for the Administrative and Special Fund is paid to the State Treasurer through the Industrial
Commission [A.R.S. § 23-961].

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2016.

There were no changes enacted to this revenue category in 2016 through 2022.

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2016 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
https://www.azjlbc.gov/22taxbook/22taxbk.pdf.
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APPENDIX D

FiscAL IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

This report details the estimated dollar value of individual historical tax law changes enacted by the Legislature
since FY 1989. The report is limited to statutory changes with a General Fund revenue impact.

The report includes individual tables for calendar years 1988 through 2022. The tables provide a listing of
statutory changes for each calendar year, and the estimated dollar revenue impact of these changes for ensuing
fiscal years. The dollar change reflects the estimated impact at the time of enactment. Unless otherwise noted,
the dollar estimate has not been subsequently revised to reflect the actual result. Also included is a one-page
summary of the estimated impact of statutory changes for each fiscal year, which provides the estimated marginal
dollar value of statutory changes relative to the prior year.

Since the repeal of the state property tax in 1996, the General Fund revenue impact of property tax legislation is
often negligible. Instead, property tax law changes typically affect the General Fund by increasing Arizona
Department of Education (ADE) expenditures. Generally, any legislation that reduces the local property tax base
results in higher General Fund expenditures. Under the statutory K-12 funding formula, the state share of
education funding increases whenever local property values decrease. This higher level of K-12 spending is not
reflected in the following tables. However, property tax legislation that reduced tax levies deposited into the
General Fund was included in the tables. (Tax levied on property located in unorganized districts and certain
districts ineligible for state aid, known as minimum qualifying tax rate (MQTR) districts, are deposited in the
General Fund.)

There are several caveats related to the estimated dollar impact of tax law changes included in this report. The
impact of the 0.6% sales tax authorized by Proposition 301 in 2000 and the extension of that tax under Laws 2018,
Chapter 74 has not been included in the following tables. In addition, the tobacco tax increases authorized by
Proposition 303 in 2002 and Propositions 201 and 203 in 2006 have not been included. The revenues generated by
these tax law changes were deposited into dedicated funds; therefore, they did not have a General Fund impact.

Additionally, no inflation factors have been applied to the “out year” estimates, which may understate their
impact. Also, the estimates do not include a “dynamic” component. The potential behavioral impact of taxpayers
of tax reductions or tax increases has not been incorporated into the numbers. It is very difficult to estimate how
inflationary changes, as well as changes in taxpayer behavior over time, would have affected the estimated dollar
value of statutory changes enacted in prior years. As a result, cumulative totals for the marginal annual values of
the statutory changes are not provided.

The estimated incremental value of statutory changes for FY 2023 is a net General Fund revenue reduction of
$(1.27) billion, which is almost exclusively attributable to the reduction of the individual income tax from 4 rates

ranging from 2.59% to 4.5% to 2 rates of 2.55% and 2.98% for TY 2022.

JLBC Staff
November 2022
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Estimated Incremental Dollar Value of General Fund Tax Changes
($in Thousands)

1/

Total ¥

Fiscal Sales Individual Corporate Property Other Annual
Year Tax Income Tax Income Tax Tax Taxes Changes
1989 23,100.0 35,400.0 29,000.0 28,200.0 6,000.0 121,700.0
1990 7,000.0 63,900.0 - 22,600.0 15,800.0 109,300.0
1991 (4,404.0) 118,680.0 30,900.0 49,640.0 13,560.0 208,376.0
1992 (377.5) 9,200.0 400.0 - 485.0 9,707.5
1993 (7,972.1) (13,500.0) - (1,343.0) 3,472.0 (19,343.1)
1994 (12,243.5) (10,776.0) - (1,200.0) (1,233.0) (25,452.5)
1995 (21,217.0) (102,826.0) 4,200.0 (850.0) - (120,693.0)
1996 (46,151.9) (202,260.5) (18,000.0) (18,256.0) - (284,668.4)
1997 (23,494.3) (950.0) (60.0) (150,095.3) - (174,599.6)
1998 (59,862.9) (114,969.0) 2,601.9 17.3 (105.0) (172,317.7)
1999 (3,684.2) (51,091.5) (7,015.2) - (80,000.0) (141,790.9)
2000 (8,402.3) (27,177.9) (13,982.3) (51.6) (55,000.0)  (104,614.1)
2001 (3,392.0) (82,895.0) (46,486.1) (30.0) (25,000.0) (157,803.1)
2002 (2.1) 9,825.3 (40,759.6) (2,234.9) - (33,171.3)
2003 (2.2) 11,384.5 21,567.0 (1,738.3) (18,830.0) 12,381.0
2004 - - - - 50,418.1 50,418.1
2005 - (1,834.0) - - 3,892.0 2,058.0
2006 (600.0) (14,200.0) (3,250.0) - - (18,050.0)
2007 (1,678.6) (176,090.0) (10,990.0) - (5,000.0) (193,758.6)
2008 (100.0) (185,510.0) (31,900.0) - - (217,510.0)
2009 - (4,150.0) (29,720.0) - - (33,870.0)
2010 - (8,030.0) (33,330.0) - - (41,360.0)
2011 918,000.0 16,120.0 (35,390.0) - - 898,730.0
2012 - (900.0) (12,100.0) - - (13,000.0)
2013 - 4,590.0 (16,100.0) - - (11,510.0)
2014 (922,800.0) (56,850.0) (21,900.0) - - (1,001,550.0)
2015 (16,780.0) (44,900.0) (102,282.0) - - (163,962.0)
2016 (4,200.0) (12,000.0) (108,500.0) - (983.4) (125,683.4)
2017 (13,170.0) (35,500.0) (93,400.0) - (4,300.0) (146,370.0)
2018 (14,500.0) (29,833.3) (104,000.0) - (4,300.0) (152,633.3)
2019 10,000.0 156,466.6 (27,000.0) - (4,300.0) 135,166.6
2020 54,700.0 (290,733.3) 18,900.0 - (4,700.0) (221,833.3)
2021 20,600.0 300.0 2,600.0 - (2,500.0) 21,000.0
2022 - (47,400.0) 4,304.2 - 15,900.0 (27,195.8)
2023 (583.0) (1,266,300.0) - - (1,900.0) (1,268,783.0)

1/ The estimates exclude one-time increases or decreases in revenue collections. The tax changes also
exclude General Fund distribution formula changes and additional K-12 expenditures that were the direct
result of property tax legislation. The estimates also reflect the projected fiscal impact at the time of
enactment and have not been adjusted for the actual dollar value of a tax change.

Each yearly amount represents the incremental dollar value of tax law changes relative to the prior year.
For example, the total net tax reduction in FY 2008 relative to FY 2007 was $(217.5) million.
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 1988
(S in Thousands)

FY 1988 FY 1989

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Elimination of Gasoline Deduction 10,000.0
Ch. 271
Federal Income Tax Windfall Cap 25,400.0
Ch. 271
TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME 35,400.0
CORPORATE INCOME
Elimin. of Lower Cap. Gains Rate 14,000.0
Ch. 271
Controlled Corp. Dividends Conformed 13,000.0
Ch. 271
Depletion Deduction Conformed 1,000.0
Ch. 271
Elimination of Gasoline Deduction 1,000.0
Ch. 271
TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME 29,000.0
SALES AND USE
Accounting Allowance Cap. - $500 3,000.0
Ch. 271
No Exemption for Semi-conductors 1,700.0
Ch. 271
Taxation of Casual Commercial Rents 3,300.0
Ch. 271
Hotel/Motel Tax Increase to 5.5% 4,200.0
Ch. 271
Rental Real Property Increase to 5% 10,900.0
Ch. 271
TOTAL SALES AND USE 23,100.0
PROPERTY
Assessment Ratio Freeze to 1987 1,600.0
Ch. 271
QTR for Homeowners Capped 9,300.0
Ch. 271
State Education Rate Set at $0.09 17,300.0
Ch. 271
TOTAL PROPERTY 28,200.0
OTHER
Increase Ins. Prem. Tax to 2.0% 6,000.0
Ch.4
TOTAL OTHER 6,000.0

TOTAL 121,700.0
Notes:

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the
incremental amount.
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 1989

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Federal Conformity
Ch. 211

Eliminate Deduction of Fed. Excise Tax

Ch. 211

Federal Windfall Retention
Ch. 312

(S in Thousands)

Reduce Consumer Interest Deduction to 50%

Ch. 312

Taxation of Previous Exempt Pensions

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME

CORPORATE INCOME
None

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME

SALES AND USE
Taxation of Catalog Sales
Ch. 312

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY
Minimum QTR School District Tax
Ch. 312

Tax Reduction for Unorg. Districts
Ch. 312

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
Minimum VLT to $30
Ch.4

TOTAL OTHER

TOTAL

Notes:

FY 1990

1,900.0

4,000.0

16,800.0

39,000.0

2,200.0

63,900.0

7,000.0

7,000.0

26,000.0

(3,400.0)

22,600.0

15,800.0

15,800.0

109,300.0

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the

incremental amount.
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 1990

(S in Thousands)

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Federal Conformity
Ch. 63

Tax Simplification - Widened Tax Base, Increased

Tax Rates
Ch. 3

Limitation of Renters Credit
Ch.3

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME

CORPORATE INCOME
Federal Conformity
Ch. 63

Tax Simplification - Widened Tax Base
Ch.3

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME

SALES AND USE
Elimination of Account Allowance
Ch.3

Tax Reduction - Rental Real Property
Ch.3

County Property Tax Relief
Ch.3

Rodeo Sales Exemption
Ch. 239

Tax Suspension - Federal Bldgs.
Ch. 251

Bed Tax to Tourism
Ch. 391

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY
Minimum QTR School Dist. Tax
Ch.3

Assessment Ratio Changes
Ch.3

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
Minimum QTR School Dist. Tax = Salt River
Ch.3

Assessment Ratio Changes = Salt River
Ch.3

Minimum VLT Reduction
Ch.3

Cigarette Tax Increase
Ch.3

TOTAL OTHER

TOTAL

Notes:

FY 1991

4,880.0

110,000.0

3,800.0

118,680.0

5,300.0

25,600.0

30,900.0

8,000.0

(1,800.0)

(10,000.0)

(47.0)

(94.0)

(463.0)

4,404.0

40,700.0

8,940.0

49,640.0

7,000.0

660.0

(3,600.0)

9,500.0

13,560.0

208,376.0

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the

incremental amount.
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 1991

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Federal Conformity
Ch. 146

Eliminate Ret. Contrib. Subtraction
Ch. 155

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME

CORPORATE INCOME
Federal Conformity
Ch. 146

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME

SALES AND USE
Membership Camping Tax
Ch.31

Medical Equipment Exemption
Ch. 200

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY
Rental property; Assess. Reduction
Ch. 134

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
Drano Tax Repeal
Ch. 184

Groundwater Fees
Ch. 211

TOTAL OTHER

TOTAL

Notes:

FY 1991

(S in Thousands)

FY 1992 FY 1993 FY 1994
7,600.0 7,600.0 7,600.0
1,600.0 1,600.0 1,600.0

"~ 9,200.0 9,200.0 9,200.0
400.0 400.0 400.0

© 4000 400.0 400.0
1225 1225 1225
(500.0) (500.0) (500.0)

T (377.5) (377.5) (377.5)
(1,200.0) (2,400.0)

(1,200.0) (2,400.0)

320.0 320.0 320.0
165.0 165.0 165.0

T 4850 485.0 485.0
" 9,707.5 8,507.5 7,307.5

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.

- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

-270 -



TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 1992
($ in Thousands)

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Increased Exemptions Phase-in
Ch. 290

Withhold Penalty Forgiveness
Ch. 220

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME

CORPORATE INCOME
None

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME

SALES AND USE
Church Leases Exemption
Ch.29

Restaurant Food: Use Tax Exemp.
Ch. 32

Motion Picture Sales Tax Refund
Ch. 96

Semi-Trailers, Bowl Games Exemption
Ch. 135

Feed and Seed Exemption
Ch. 162

Lessor Utility Exemptions
Ch. 215

Manufactured Bldgs. Exemptions
Ch. 217

Aircraft Sales Tax Exemptions
Ch. 222

Microwave Systems Exemptions
Ch. 237

R & D Equipment Exemptions
Ch. 238

Repeal Aircraft Exemptions
Ch. 290

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY
Widow/Widower Exemption
Ch.5

Local Telecom. Property
Ch. 41

Pipeline Valuations
Ch.51

Sewer/Wastewater Prop. Cent. Valued
Ch. 347

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
VLT: Rental Car Surcharge
Ch. 219

Cigarette Luxury Stamps
Ch. 55

Jet Fuel Reduction
Ch. 221

Insurance Premium Tax Offset
Ch. 290

TOTAL OTHER

TOTAL

Notes:

FY 1992

FY 1993

(12,000.0)
(1,500.0)

(13,500.0)

(50.0)
(100.0)
(67.1)
(600.0)
(1,600.0)
(1,921.0)
(100.0)
(300.0)
(84.0)
(250.0)
(2,900.0)
T2y
(50.0)
(70.0)
(50.0)
27.0
T (s3.0)
600.0
(100.0)
(1,028.0)
4,000.0

3,472.0

(18,143.1)

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the

incremental amount.
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 1993

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Increased Dependent Exemption
Cch.9

Increased Exemption - Elderly
Cch.9

Accelerate Medical Deductions
Ch.9

Alternative Fuel Vehicles Credit
Ch. 160

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME

CORPORATE INCOME
None

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME

SALES AND USE
Phase-out of Commercial Lease Tax
Ch.9

Feed Lots Exemption
Ch. 64

Residential Care Homes - Use Exemp.
Ch. 103

Motion Picture Tax Refund
Ch. 104

Retail Classifications Changes
Ch. 132

Health Care Centers - Exemptions
Ch. 199

Alternative Use Fuel - Exemption
Ch. 206

Nursing Care Leases
Ch. 212

Sales Deductions - Telecomm. Charges
Ch. 240

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY
None

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
Wine Commission Fees
Ch. 40

Liquor License Fees
Ch. 133

TOTAL OTHER

TOTAL

Notes:

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

(S in Thousands)

FY 1993 FY 1994 FY 1995 FY 1996 FY 1997 FY 1998
(5600.0)  (5600.0)  (5600.0)  (5,600.0) (5,600.0)
(2,700.0)  (2,700.0)  (2,700.0)  (2,700.0) (2,700.0)
(2,300.0)  (2,300.0)  (2,300.0)  (2,300.0) (2,300.0)

(176.0) (176.0) (176.0) (176.0) (176.0)
(10,776.0)  (10,776.0)  (10,776.0)  (10,776.0)  (10,776.0)
(8,100.0)  (26,300.0)  (47,300.0)  (70,600.0)  (96,300.0)
(331.8) (331.8) (331.8) (331.8) (331.8)
(1,300.0)  (1,300.0)  (1,300.0)  (1,300.0) (1,300.0)
(20.4) (20.4) (20.4) (20.4) (20.4)
(138.3) (138.3) (138.3) (138.3) (138.3)
(227.0) (227.0) (227.0) (227.0) (227.0)
(50.0) (50.0) (50.0) (50.0) (50.0)
(976.0) (976.0) (976.0) (976.0) (976.0)
(1,1000)  (1,100.0)  (1,100.0)  (1,100.0) (1,100.0)
(12,243.5)  (30,443.5)  (51,443.5) (74,743.5)  (100,443.5)
(33.0) (33.0) (33.0) (33.0) (33.0)
(1,2000)  (1,200.0)  (1,200.0)  (1,200.0) (1,200.0)
(1,233.0)  (1,233.00  (1,233.0)  (1,233.0) (1,233.0)
(24,252.5)  (42,452.5)  (63,452.5)  (86,752.5) (112,452.5)
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 1994
(S in Thousands)

FY 1994 FY 1995 FY 1996

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
IRS Conformity 6,200.0 6,200.0
Ch. 41
Personal Income Tax Cut (106,900.0) (106,900.0)
Ch. 41
Medical Savings Account (175.0)
Ch. 45
Water Conservation Inc. Tax Credit (1,626.0) (1,874.0)
Ch. 90
Income Tax Benefit Rule (500.0) (500.0)
Ch. 354
Pollution Control Credits (1,500.0)
Ch. 117
TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (102,826.0) (104,749.0)
CORPORATE INCOME
IRS Conformity 10,000.0 10,000.0
Ch. 41
Lower Corporate Rate (5,800.0) (5,800.0)
Ch. 41
Consolidated Returns (13,400.0)
Ch. 41
Pollution Control Credits (1,000.0)
Ch. 117
TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME 4,200.0 (10,200.0)
SALES AND USE
MITRA; Chemicals (4,000.0)
Ch. 41
Super Bowl Exemption (481.9)
Ch. 145
Personal Property Liquidators (1,000.0) (1,000.0)
Ch.174
Prison Food TPT Exemption (80.0) (80.0)
Ch. 240
University Cars Exemption (57.0) (57.0)
Ch. 305
Feed Exemption (655.0) (655.0)
Ch. 307
Amusement/Instruc. Exemption (825.0) (825.0)
Ch. 312
Tax Accounting (11,870.0)
Ch. 346
Omnibus Alternative Fuels (400.0) (400.0)
Ch. 353
Government Contract Overhead (8,000.0)
Ch.377
TOTAL SALES AND USE (3,017.0) (27,368.9)
PROPERTY
MITRA; 1% Personal Prop./Phasedown (16,496.0)
Ch. 41
Livestock (660.0)
Ch. 102
Homeowners' Rebate Freeze 0.0 0.0
Ch. 41 Not Included-Tax Cut as Spending Increase
Telecommunications Cos. Valuations (850.0) (850.0)
Ch.271
TOTAL PROPERTY (850.0) (18,006.0)
OTHER
None
TOTAL OTHER

TOTAL (102,493.0) (160,323.9)
Notes:

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental
amount.

1/ Chapter 41 provided a tax credit totalling $115 million for certain consolidated returns, which was
to be spread over 10 years. In the 11th year, DOR is required to refund any unused credit (refer
to Calendar Year 2006 tax law changes page at the end of this section).
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 1995
(S in Thousands)

FY 1995 FY 1996 FY 1997

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Income Tax Reduction (200,000.0) (200,000.0)
Ch.9
Summer Schools and Jobs (337.5) (337.5)
Ch. 236
TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (200,337.5) (200,337.5)
CORPORATE INCOME
Consolidated Tax Returns (400.0) (400.0)
Ch.31
Lower Corporate Rate (2,200.0) (2,200.0)
Ch.41
Pollution Control Credits (1,000.0) (1,000.0)
Ch. 117
TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME (3,600.0) (3,600.0)
SALES AND USE
Motion Picture Tax Refund (100.0) (100.0)
Ch. 98
Sales Tax Amenities (700.0) (700.0)
Ch. 267
TOTAL SALES AND USE (800.0) (800.0)
PROPERTY
Personal Property Tax Reductions (17.3)
Ch.9
Property Tax Reduc. Min. Value (78.0)
Ch. 137
Possessory Interest; Repeal (1,100.0) (1,100.0)
Ch. 294
TOTAL PROPERTY (1,100.0) (1,178.0)
OTHER
None
TOTAL OTHER

TOTAL (205,837.5) (205,915.5)
Notes:

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 1996
(S in Thousands)

FY 1996 FY 1997 FY 1998

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Income Tax Definitions (860.0) (860.0)
Ch. 49
Neighborhood Protection Deductions (90.0) (90.0)
Ch. 309
TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (950.0) (950.0)
CORPORATE INCOME
Neighborhood Protection Act (60.0) (60.0)
Ch. 309
Enterprise Zones: Tax Credits (1,575.1)
Ch. 344
TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME (60.0) (1,635.1)
SALES AND USE
Arts Fund; Partnership (1,475.9)
Ch. 186
Prime Contracting Sales Tax (30,000.0)
Ch. 319
Movie Studios Incentives (49.3) (49.3)
Ch. 322
Homeowners Organizations (100.0) (100.0)
Ch. 326
TOTAL SALES AND USE (194.3) (31,625.2)
PROPERTY
Property Tax Reductions (150,000.0) (150,000.0)
Ch. 2 - Does not include S50M in spending
TOTAL PROPERTY (150,000.0) (150,000.0)
OTHER
TOTAL OTHER

TOTAL (151,159.3) (184,210.3)
Notes:

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental
amount.
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 1997
(S in Thousands)

FY 1997 FY 1998 FY 1999

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Tax Credit; School Tuition Organizations (8,443.2)
Ch. 48
Welfare Reform; Arizona Works (8,030.8)
Ch. 300
IRS Conformity (3,330.0) (3,330.0)
Ch. 63
Energy Conservation Incentives (34.1)
Ch. 137
Income Adjustments (749.0) (749.0)
Ch. 238
Air Quality Omnibus (250.0) (250.0)
Ch. 274
Savings Account; Postsecondary Ed. (20.4)
Ch. 171
Tax Relief Act of 1997 - Rates Reductions (110,800.0) (110,800.0)
Ch.8
TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (115,129.0) (131,657.5)
CORPORATE INCOME
IRS Conformity 4,177.0 4,177.0
Ch. 62
Welfare Reform; Arizona Works (585.2)
Ch. 300
TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME 4,177.0 3,591.8
SALES AND USE
Light Vehicle Fees (2,000.0) (2,000.0)
Ch. 110
Used Oil Amendments (92.2) (92.2)
Ch. 178
Use Tax Exemptions - Libraries (36.9) (36.9)
Ch. 227
Sales Tax; Nursing Homes (2,000.0)
Ch. 245
Omnibus Tax Changes (542.9) (542.9)
Ch. 274
TOTAL SALES AND USE (2,672.0) (4,672.0)
PROPERTY
None
TOTAL PROPERTY
OTHER
Agriculture Omnibus (90.0) (90.0)
Ch. 228
Health Care Omnibus (15.0) (15.0)
Ch. 268
TOTAL OTHER (105.0) (105.0)

TOTAL (113,729.0) (132,842.7)
Notes:

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 1998
(S in Thousands)

FY 1998 FY 1999 FY 2000 FY 2001

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Prop. 200 - Campaign Finance (1,279.1) (1,279.1)
Alternative Fuels (923.0) (2,854.8) 0.0
Ch. 221
Omnibus Taxation of 1998 160.0 (3,240.0) (6,410.0) (6,410.0)
Ch. 283
Tax Relief Act of 1998 - Rates Reductions (30,000.0) (50,000.0) (50,000.0)
Ch.3
Wheels to Work (1,140.0) (1,140.0)
Ch. 208
Tax Exemptions; Exempts; Credits (1,347.0) (1,347.0)
Ch. 286
TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME 160.0 (34,163.0) (63,030.9) (60,176.1)
CORPORATE INCOME
Income Tax Credits; Coal Taxes (1,600.0) (1,600.0) (1,600.0)
Ch. 137
Tax Relief Act of 1998 - Rates Reductions and
Deduction Elimination (10,000.0) (20,000.0) (20,000.0)
Ch. 3
Wheels to Work (1,140.0) (1,140.0)
Ch. 208
Tax Exemptions, Deductions (577.3) (577.3)
Ch. 286
TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME (11,600.0) (23,317.3) (23,317.3)
SALES AND USE
Sales and Use; Printing (100.0) (200.0) (200.0)
Ch. 132
Flight Property Exemptions (110.0) (30.0) (30.0)
Ch. 177
Alternative Fuels (577.0) (1,434.6) (1,434.6)
Ch. 221
Tax Exemptions, Deductions (60.0) (857.2) (296.5) (296.5)
Ch. 286
TOTAL SALES AND USE (60.0) (1,644.2) (1,961.1) (1,961.1)
PROPERTY
Telecommunications ¥ (19.3) (19.3)
Ch. 220
Widow, Widowers Exemption v (32.3) (32.3)
Ch. 261
TOTAL PROPERTY (51.6) (51.6)
OTHER
Tax Relief Act of 1998 - VLT Rate Reduction (80,000.0) (100,000.0) (100,000.0)
Ch. 3
TOTAL OTHER (80,000.0) (100,000.0) (100,000.0)

TOTAL 100.0 (127,407.2) (188,360.9) (185,506.1)
Notes:

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

1/ Revenue loss due to reduced levies on property located in unorganized districts and minimum qualifying

tax rate (MQTR) districts. Property tax levies in such districts are deposited in the General Fund.
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 1999
(S in Thousands)

FY 1999 FY 2000 FY 2001 FY 2002

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Public Retirement Benefits (1,766.7) (1,766.7)
Ch. 50
Alternative Fuel Vehicles (427.1)
Ch. 168
Taxpayer Bill of Rights (200.0) (600.0) (400.0)
Ch. 250
IRS Conformity (240.0) 2,330.0 690.0 (3,190.0)
Ch. 317
TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (240.0) 2,130.0 (2,103.8) (5,356.7)
CORPORATE INCOME
Tax Relief and Fiscal Control (Trigger) Rate
Reduced from 8.0% to 7.0%; R&D Cap.
Removed (37,000.0) (74,000.0)
Ch.5
Income Allocation (Airline Bill) (700.0) (1,400.0)
Ch. 190
Alternative Fuel Vehicles (1,052.1)
Ch. 168
IRS Conformity 5,170.0 2,920.0 2,920.0 890.0
Ch. 317
TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME 5,170.0 2,920.0 (35,832.1) (74,510.0)
SALES AND USE
Sales Tax Exemption; Expendables (100.0) (3,500.0) (3,500.0) (3,500.0)
Ch. 153
Tax Relief and Fiscal Control (Trigger) Mining
Severance Tax Reduction (4,667.0) (8,000.0) (8,000.0)
Ch.5
TOTAL SALES AND USE (100.0) (8,167.0) (11,500.0) (11,500.0)
PROPERTY
Reduced Min. Value of Personal Property Y (30.0) (30.0)
1st SS, Ch. 5
TOTAL PROPERTY (30.0) (30.0)
OTHER
Omni. Reconciliation - VLT Cut (35,000.0) (60,000.0) (60,000.0)
Ch.5
TOTAL OTHER (35,000.0) (60,000.0) (60,000.0)

TOTAL 4,830.0 (38,117.0) (109,465.9) (151,396.7)
Notes:

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

1/ Revenue loss due to reduced levies on property located in unorganized districts and minimum qualifying
tax rate (MQTR) districts. Property tax levies in such districts are deposited in the General Fund.
Provision does not include $21.4 million in increased Arizona Department of Education expenditures.
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2000

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Renewable Energy Incentives
Ch. 214

Technology Training Credit
Ch. 239

IRS Conformity
Ch. 252

Agricultural Preservation District
Ch. 267

Character Instruction Tax Credit
Ch. 313

Handicapped Preschoolers Tax Credit
Ch. 394

Clean Air Act

Ch. 405 (neighborhood electric vehicle credit)

Clean Air Act ¥
Ch. 405 (alt fuel vehicle credit)

Alternative Fuels Program Changes
Ch. 1 (7th Special Session)

Low-income Tax Credit
Ch. 1 (5th Special Session)

Tuition Tax Credit
Ch. 1 (5th Special Session)

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME

CORPORATE INCOME
Technology Training Credit
Ch. 239

IRS Conformity
Ch. 252

Clean Air Act

Ch. 405

Clean Air Act ¥

Ch. 405 (alt fuel vehicle credit)
TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME

SALES AND USE
Renewable Energy Incentives
Ch. 214

Spaceport Launch Site Exemption
Ch. 359

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY

Renewable Energy Incentives 2
Ch. 214

/

Cemeteries; Property Tax Exemption Y
Ch. 258

Electrical Generation Facilities ¥
Ch. 384
TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
None

TOTAL OTHER

TOTAL

Notes:

(S in Thousands)

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.

- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

FY 2000 FY 2001 FY 2002 FY 2003
(57.0)
(300.0) (300.0)
(680.0) (2,796.0) (3,260.0) (636.0)
(100.0) (100.0)
(75.0) (75.0)
(100.0) (100.0)
(15,750.0)
(59,100.0) (26,700.0) (3,100.0)
(4,427.0)
(20,100.0) (20,100.0)
(3,750.0) (3,847.5)
(680.0) (82,073.0) (54,385.0) (28,315.5)
(2,500.0) (2,500.0)
(15.0) 21.0 175.0 149.0
1923 1923
(7,300.0) (6,600.0) (1,600.0)
(15.0) (7,279.0) (8,732.7) (3,758.7)
(40.7) (42.8) (45.0)
(18.4) (36.7) (36.7) (36.7)
(18.4) (77.4) (79.5) (81.7)
(8.8)
(7.3)
(2,234.9) (3,957.1)
(2,234.9) (3,973.2)
(713.4) (89,429.4) (65,432.1) (36,129.1)

1/ Amounts for FY 2001, FY 2002, and FY 2003 represent actual impact rather than initial estimated impact. Totals do not

include approximately $(12.7) million paid out for consumer loss recovery, for a total alternative fuel impact of

approximately $(117) million.

2/ Revenue loss due to reduced levies on property located in unorganized districts and minimum qualifying

tax rate (MQTR) districts. Property tax levies in such districts are deposited in the General Fund.
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2001
(S in Thousands)

FY 2001 FY 2002 FY 2003

INDIVIDUAL INCOME

Conditional Appropriations; Taxation

(reduce standard deduction) (15,000.0) (15,000.0)
Ch. 235

Department of Revenue; Confidentiality 1,400.0 1,300.0
Ch. 261

IRS Conformity (123.0) (280.0) (385.0)
Ch. 296

Retirement Benefits; Defined Contribution (300.0) (300.0)
Ch. 380

Equity Tax Act; Archaic Laws (552.8) (552.8)
Ch. 382

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (123.0) (14,732.8) (14,937.8)

CORPORATE INCOME
IRS Conformity (470.0) (1,098.0) (1,315.0)
Ch. 296

Enterprise Zone Program; Extension
Ch. 370 (impact can not be determined)

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME (470.0) (1,098.0) (1,315.0)

SALES AND USE
None

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY
None

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
None

TOTAL OTHER

TOTAL (593.0) (15,830.8) (16,252.8)

Notes:

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.

- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental
amount.
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2002 *
(S in Thousands)

FY 2002 FY 2003 FY 2004

FY 2005

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
IRS Conformity (14,480.0) (14,480.0)
Ch. 344

(14,480.0)

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (14,480.0) (14,480.0)

CORPORATE INCOME
Repeal Dividends Income Tax Subtraction 11,200.0 11,200.0
Ch. 50

IRS Conformity 5,610.0 5,610.0
Ch. 344

(14,480.0)

11,200.0

5,610.0

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME 16,810.0 16,810.0

SALES AND USE
None

16,810.0

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY
None

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
IRS Conformity - Estate Tax (18,830.0) (38,140.0)
Ch. 344

(57,740.0)

TOTAL OTHER (18,830.0) (38,140.0)

(57,740.0)

TOTAL (16,500.0) (35,810.0)

Notes:
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

* Includes 45th Legislature, 2nd Special Session (December 2001), 3rd Special Session (March 2002), and
2nd Regular Session.
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2003 *
(S in Thousands)

FY 2003 FY 2004 FY 2005
INDIVIDUAL INCOME
None

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME

CORPORATE INCOME
None

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME

SALES AND USE
None

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY
None

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
Remove Medicaid Exemption/Ins. Premium Tax 69,728.1 92,970.1
Ch. 136

TOTAL OTHER 69,728.1 92,970.1

TOTAL 69,728.1 92,970.1

Notes:
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

* Includes 45th Legislature, 6th Special Session (November 2002), and 46th Legislature, 1st Special Session
(March 2003), and 1st Regular Session.
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2004

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
IRS Conformity
Ch. 196

Stillborn Children Exemption
Ch. 214

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME

CORPORATE INCOME
None

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME

SALES AND USE
None

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY
None

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
Liquor Fees
Ch. 275

TOTAL OTHER

TOTAL

Notes:

(S in Thousands)

FY 2004 FY 2005

(1,800.0)
(34.0)

(1,834.0)

250.0

250.0

(1,584.0)

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the

incremental amount.
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INDIVIDUAL INCOME
IRS Conformity
Ch. 334

Elimination of "Marriage Penalty"
Ch.334

Index Standard Deduction to CPI
Ch. 334

Active Duty Military Pay Exemption
Ch. 303

Graywater Tax Credit 4
Ch. 292

Small Business Investment Credit
Ch. 316
TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME

CORPORATE INCOME
IRS Conformity
Ch. 196

AZ National Guard Employment Credit
Ch. 264

Motion Picture Tax Incentives
Ch. 317

Graywater Tax Credit 4
Ch. 292

Corporate Sales Factor Y
Ch. 289

Corporate Consolidated Credit s/
Laws 1994 Ch. 41

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME

SALES AND USE
Motion Picture Tax Incentives
Ch. 317

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY

Business Property Tax Reduction 6
Ch. 302

/

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2005

($ in Thousands)

FY 2005 FY 2006

FY 2007

FY 2008

FY 2009

FY 2010

FY 2011

(5,400.0)

(6,400.0)

(2,400.0)

(5,090.0)

(12,800.0)

(4,800.0)

(10,300.0)

(7,950.0)

(12,800.0)

(7,200.0)

1/

(250.0)

3/

(7,950.0)

(12,800.0)

(7,200.0)

1/

(250.0)

3/

(7,950.0)

(12,800.0)

(7,200.0)

(7,950.0)

(12,800.0)

(7,200.0)

1/

(250.0)

3/

(14,200.0)

(3,000.0)

(250.0)

(32,990.0)

5,210.0

(250.0)

(8,000.0)

(28,200.0)

9,410.0

(250.0)

(9,200.0)

(500.0)

(32,000.0)

(28,200.0)

9,410.0

(250.0)

(9,200.0)

(500.0)

(62,000.0)

(28,200.0)

9,410.0

(250.0)

(9,200.0)

(500.0)

(91,000)

(28,200.0)

9,410.0

(250.0)

(9,200.0)

(500.0)

(120,000)

(3,250.0)

(600.0)

(3,040.0)

(1,200.0)

(32,540.0)

(1,300.0)

(62,540.0)

(1,300.0)

(91,540.0)

(1,300.0)

(120,540.0)

(1,300.0)

(600.0)

Increased Widows Property Tax Exemption &

Ch. 309
TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
None

TOTAL OTHER

TOTAL

Notes:

(1,200.0)

(1,300.0)

(1,300.0)

(1,300.0)

(1,300.0)

(18,050.0)

(37,230.0)

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

(62,040.0)

(92,040.0)

(121,040.0)

1/ Chapter 303 established a one-time active duty pay exemption. Laws 2006, Chapter 342 (see following page) made the exemption
permanent, as well as expanding the exemption to National Guard or Reserves..

2/ Individual and corporate credit combined capped at $750,000 per year for 5 years beginning in FY 2008.

3/ Credit capped at $20 million for tax years 2007 through 2014. No estimates of impact by year.

4/ Revised since 2020 Tax Handbook to correct an error.

5/ Legislation enacted in 1994 provided a tax credit totalling $115 million for certain consolidated returns which was to be spread
over 10 years. In the 11th year, DOR is required to refund any unused credit. This legislation is estimated to have a one-time
impact of $(4) million in FY 2007, and $(55.5) million in FY 2008.

6/ Impact will occur as increased Arizona Department of Education expenditures. The cost is expected to be $12.3 million in FY 2007,
$26.6 million in FY 2008, $42.8 million in FY 2009, $61.5 million in FY 2010, $82.7 million in FY 2011, $102.8 million in FY 2012,
$114.2 million in FY 2013, and $126.5 million in FY 2015. Full implementation in FY 2016 is expected to cost $140 million.

7/ Impact will occur as increased Arizona Department of Education expenditures. The cost is expected to be $500,000 in FY 2007
and $512,000 in FY 2008.
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2006

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
IRS Conformity
Ch. 357

Individual Income Tax Rate Reduction
Ch. 354

Solar Energy Device Credit

Ch. 333

Active Duty Military Pay Exemption v
Ch. 342

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME

CORPORATE INCOME
IRS Conformity
Ch. 357

Solar Energy Device Credit
Ch.333

School Tuition Tax Credit ¥
Chs. 14 & 325

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME

SALES AND USE
Solar Energy Device Credit
Ch. 333

Exemption for Purchase of Liquid Natural Gas
Ch.371

Tax Simplification-Eliminate 3 Categories
Ch. 354

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY

State Equalization Rate Suspension 3
Ch. 354

/

Nonprofit Hospital Property Tax Exemption Y
Ch.327

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
Health Insurance Premium Tax Credit
Ch. 378

TOTAL OTHER

TOTAL

Notes:

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.

(S in Thousands)

FY 2006 FY 2007

(700.0)

(156,100.0)

(500.0)

(157,300.0)

(700.0)

(500.0)

(10,000.0)

(11,200.0)

(500.0)

(378.6)

(200.0)

(1,078.6)

(5,000.0)

(5,000.0)

(174,578.6)

FY 2008

400.0

(334,000.0)

(500.0)

(12,200.0)

(346,300.0)

(800.0)

(500.0)

(12,000.0)

(13,300.0)

(500.0)

(378.6)

(200.0)

(1,078.6)

(5,000.0)

(5,000.0)

(365,678.6)

- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

1/ Chapter 342 made the one-time active duty pay exemption enacted by Laws 2005, Chapter 303 permanent.

In addition, the act expands the exemption to include active National Guard or Reserves.
2/ Credit capped at $10 million for FY 2007. The cap will increase 20% annually beginning in FY 2008.

3/ Impact will occur as increased Arizona Department of Education expenditures. The cost is expected to be
$215.2 million in FY 2007, $226.0 million in FY 2008, and $239.6 million in FY 20009.
4/ Impact will occur as increased Arizona Department of Education expenditures. The cost is expected to be

$60,000 per year beginning in FY 2007.
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2007

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
IRS Conformity
Ch.1

College Savings Plan
Ch. 258

Military Relief Fund
Ch. 258

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME

CORPORATE INCOME
IRS Conformity
Ch.1

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME

SALES AND USE
None

TOTAL SALES AND USE
PROPERTY

Business Property Tax Reduction !

Ch. 258

Business Personal Property Accelerated Depreciation 2

Ch. 258
TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
None

TOTAL OTHER

TOTAL

Notes:

(S in Thousands)

FY 2007

/

FY 2008

(1,300.0)

(1,300.0)

(300.0)

(300.0)

(1,600.0)

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

FY 2009

(980.0)

(2,500.0)

(1,000.0)

(4,480.0)

60.0

60.0

(4,420.0)

1/ Laws 2005, Chapter 302 phased down the assessment ratio for business personal property over 10 years.

Chapter 258 accelerates the phase down from the remaining 8 years to 4 years. Impact will occur as

increased Arizona Department of Education expenditures. The incremental cost of the accelerated phase

down is expected to be an additional $3.1 million in FY 2009.

2/ Impact will occur as increased Arizona Department of Education expenditures. The cost is expected to be

$4.0 million per year beginning in FY 2009.
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2008
(S in Thousands)

FY 2008 FY 2009 FY 2010 FY 2011

FY 2012

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
IRS Conformity (970.0)
Ch.94

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (970.0)

CORPORATE INCOME
IRS Conformity (80.0)
Ch.94

Research and Development Credit v (5,700.0)
Ch. 290

(11,200)

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME (80.0) (5,700.0)

SALES AND USE
None

(11,200.0)

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY
None

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
None

TOTAL OTHER

TOTAL (1,050.0) (5,700.0)

Notes:
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

1/ Revised since 2020 Tax Handbook to correct an error.
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2009

(S in Thousands)

FY 2009 FY 2010

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
IRS Conformity (4,000.0)
Ch.2

Contributions to Charitable Organizations (5,000.0)
Ch. 80

Renewable Energy Investment Y
Ch. 96

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (9,000.0)

CORPORATE INCOME
IRS Conformity (4,410.0)
Ch.2

Renewable Energy Investment Y
Ch. 96

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME (4,410.0)

SALES AND USE
None

TOTAL SALES AND USE
PROPERTY

Renewable Energy Investment Y
Ch. 96

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
None

TOTAL OTHER

TOTAL (13,410.0)

Notes:
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.

- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

1/ Chapter 96 provides income and property tax incentives for qualifying renewable energy companies that invest in

FY 2011 FY 2012
(880.0) (880.0)
(5,900.0) (5,900.0)
(6,780.0) (6,780.0)
(100.0) (100.0)
(5,000.0) (5,000.0)
(5,100.0) (5,100.0)
(11,880.0) (11,880.0)

headquarter or manufacturing facilities in the state, including land, buildings, machinery and equipment, from tax year
2010 to 2014. The income tax credits are refundable, and are capped at $70 million annually. The $(5) million impact is a
revised estimate for CY 2010. The cumulative $(5) million reduction is shown as a corporate income tax reduction for

display purposes.
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2010

FY 2010

INDIVIDUAL INCOME

IRS Conformity Y
Ch. 176

STO Contribution Deadline Extension
Ch. 188

STO Maximum Credit Inflation Adjustment
Ch. 293

Research and Development Refundable Credit Y
Ch. 312

Renewable Energy Production Credit ¥
Ch. 312

Out-of-State Filers Proportionality
6th SS, Ch. 3

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME

CORPORATE INCOME

IRS Conformity Y
Ch. 176

Research and Development Refundable Credit Y

Ch.312

Renewable Energy Production Credit 3
Ch. 312

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME

SALES AND USE
TPT Increase - May Election

6th SS, SCR 1001 (May 2010 Election, Prop 100) o

Estimated Payment Threshold
7th Ss, Ch. 12

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY
None

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
None

TOTAL OTHER

TOTAL

Notes:

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.

(S in Thousands)

FY 2011

(2,500.0)

(600.0)

(5,000.0)

22,000.0

13,900.0

0.0

918,000.0

918,000.0

931,900.0

FY 2012 FY 2013 FY 2014
(2,500.0) (2,500.0) (2,500.0)
(600.0) (600.0) (600.0)
(5,000.0) (5,000.0) (5,000.0)
22,000.0 22,000.0 22,000.0
13,900.0 13,900.0 13,900.0
(10,000.0) (20,000.0) (20,000.0)
(10,000.0) (20,000.0) (20,000.0)
918,000.0 918,000.0 0.0
918,000.0 918,000.0 0.0
921,900.0 911,900.0 (6,100.0)

- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

1/ These adjustments may have a minimal revenue impact not reflected in this chart.
2/ The refundable credit provisions of Chapter 312 impact both individual and corporate income tax. The cumulative $(5) million reduction

is shown as an individual income tax reduction for display purposes.
3/ The renewable energy production provisions of Chapter 312 impact both individual and corporate income tax. The cumulative $(10) million

reduction is shown as a corporate income tax reduction for display purposes.
4/ The original ballot proposition estimated collections of $918 million, $968 million, and $1.06 billion respectively for the three years of collection.
5/ The threshold for the June estimated TPT payment was lowered from $1.0 million in TPT tax liability to $100,000 for FY 2010 through FY 2012.

This change was estimated to generate $48 million in FY 2010, and reduce revenues by $(52) million in FY 2013. These changes do not impact

a taxpayer's tax liability, but do impact the timing of payments. The impacts are considered one-time, and are not included in the above chart.
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2011
(S in Thousands)

FY 2011 FY 2012 FY 2013 FY 2014 FY 2015 FY 2016 FY 2017 FY 2018

INDIVIDUAL INCOME ¥/
IRS Conformity 3,100.0 3,100.0 3,100.0 3,100.0 3,100.0 3,100.0 3,100.0
Ch.4

"Angel" Investment Credit Increase Y (4,000.0) (4,000.0) (4,000.0) (4,500.0) 0.0 0.0 0.0
2nd SS, Ch. 1

Eliminate Small Business-Generated Cap. Gains (11,600.0) (12,300.0) (12,900.0) (13,600.0)
2nd SS, Ch. 1

New Employment Credit
2nd SS, Ch. 1

University R&D Credit Increase
2ndss, ch.1¥

Eliminate Enterprise Zones
2nd'ss, ch. 1Y

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (900.0) (900.0) (900.0) ~ (13,000.0) (9,200.0) (9,800.0) ~ (10,500.0)

CORPORATE INCOME ¥/

IRS Conformity 6,100.0 6,100.0 6,100.0 6,100.0 6,100.0 6,100.0 6,100.0
Ch.4

Corporate Rate Reduction (53,800.0) (116,000.0) (183,500.0) (269,600.0)
2nd ss, ch. 1

100% Sales Factor (24,600.0)  (47,300.0)  (67,800.0)  (84,000.0)
2nd ss, ch. 1

New Employment Credit (6,700.0)  (13,400.0)  (29,800.0)  (47,700.0)  (52,700.0)  (53,700.0)  (50,900.0)
2nd SS, Ch. 1

University R&D Credit Increase (4,000.0)  (4,000.0) (4,000.0) (4,000.0) (4,000.0) (4,000.0)
2nd ss, ch.1¥

Eliminate Enterprise Zones 4,000.0 4,000.0 4,000.0 4,000.0 4,000.0 4,000.0 4,000.0
2ndss, ch. 1

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME 3,400.0 (7,300.0) ~ (23,700.0) (120,000.0) (209,900.0) (298,900.0) (398,400.0)

SALES AND USE
None

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY
None

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
None

TOTAL OTHER

TOTAL 2,500.0 (8,200.0) ~ (24,600.0) (133,000.0) (219,100.0) (308,700.0) (408,900.0)

Notes:
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

1/ The Chapter 1 "Jobs Bill" provisions are fully phased in by 2018. See the Corporate Income Tax section for additional information.

2/ Revised since 2013 Tax Handbook to correct an error.

3/ The university R&D credit impacts both individual and corporate income tax. The cumulative reduction is shown as a corporate income tax reduction
for display purposes.

4/ The elimination of enterprise zones impacts both individual and corporate income tax. The cumulative reduction is shown as a corporate income tax

reduction for display purposes.
5/ The impact of the corporate income tax rate reduction is estimated at $(116.0) million in FY 2016, $(183.5) million in FY 2017, and $(269.6) million in

FY 2018. These reflect estimates at the time of enactment and have changed since that time.
6/ The impact of the 100% sales factor phase-in is estimated at $(47.3) million in FY 2016, $(67.8) million in FY 2017, and $(84.0) million in
FY 2018. These reflect estimates at the time of enactment and have changed since that time.
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2012
($ in Thousands)

FY 2012 FY 2013 FY 2014 FY 2015 FY 2016 FY 2017 FY 2018 FY 2019

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
STO Tax Credit (4,000.0) (4,000.0) (4,000.0) (4,000.0) (4,000.0) (4,000.0) (4,000.0)
ch.4

Eliminate Clean Election Tax Credit 12,800.0 12,800.0 12,800.0 12,800.0 12,800.0 12,800.0 12,800.0
Ch. 257

Healthy Forest Restoration (110.0) (110.0) (110.0) (110.0) (110.0) (110.0) (110.0)
Ch. 331

Long-Term Capital Gains Reduction (17,500.0)  (40,500.0)  (56,500.0)  (61,400.0)  (65,600.0) (69,300.0)
Ch. 343

Federal Bonus Depreciation Deduction v (4,200.0) 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0
Ch. 343

Eliminate Cap-New Employment Y
Ch. 343

Qualified Facility Credit 3
Ch. 343

Long Term Care Premium Subtraction (4,100.0) (4,100.0) (4,100.0) (4,100.0) (4,100.0) (4,100.0) (4,100.0)
Ch. 351

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME 4,590.0 (12,910.0) ~ (40,110.0)  (51,910.0)  (56,810.0)  (61,010.0) (64,710.0)

CORPORATE INCOME
Service Provider Corporate Sales Factor v (3,000.0) (3,500.0) (3,900.0) (4,400.0) (4,400.0)
Ch. 2

Eliminate Cap-New Employment y (1,800.0) (3,600.0) (5,400.0) (5,400.0) (5,400.0) (5,400.0)
Ch. 343

Qualified Facility Credit ¥ (4,000.0) (8,000.0)  (12,000.0)  (16,000.0)  (20,000.0) (20,000.0)
Ch. 343

Extend Net Operating Loss Carry Forward (12,200.0)
Ch. 343

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME 0.0 (5,800.0)  (14,600.0)  (20,900.0)  (25,300.0) (29,800.0) _ (42,000.0)

SALES AND USE

Public Infrastructure Improvements Y
Ch. 328

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY
None

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
None

TOTAL OTHER

TOTAL 4,590.0 (18,710.0) ~ (54,710.0)  (72,810.0)  (82,110.0)  (90,810.0)  (106,710.0)

Notes:
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

1/ Revised since 2013 Tax Handbook to correct an error.

2/ Impact is estimated at $(1.8) million between corporate and individual income taxpayers beginning in FY 2014. Impact grows by another $(1.8) million
each year through FY 2016. The impact of the credit is shown in the Corporate Income Tax section for display purposes.

3/ Impact is estimated at $(4.0) million between corporate and individual income taxpayers, beginning in FY 2014. Impact grows by another $(4.0) million
each year through FY 2018. The impact of the credit is shown in the Corporate Income Tax section for display purposes.

4/ Fiscal impact could not be determined at the time of enactment but statute caps the loss to more than $50 million over the life of the program.
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2013

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
IRS Conformity
Ch. 65

Working Poor Credit/Itemized Deduction
Ch. 236

529 College Savings Plan Subtraction
Ch. 236

Business Expensing Conformity Y
Ch. 256

Foster Care Credit
1st SSCh.9

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME

CORPORATE INCOME
IRS Conformity
Ch. 65

ACA Certification/Enterprise Zone Credit
Ch. 236

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME

SALES AND USE
Certified Interlock Device Rental
Ch. 236

TPT Simplification
Ch. 255

Data Center Exemption
1st SSCh. 9

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY
None

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
None

TOTAL OTHER
TOTAL

Notes:

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

1/ Removed the state's $25,000 business expensing cap, beginning in TY 2013. As a result, the state effectively
conformed its business expensing level to the amounts permitted by federal law. At the time of enactment,
Chapter 256 was expected to have a one-time revenue impact of $(24.8) million in FY 2014. While Chapter 256
reduces both individual and corporate income tax, the entire impact is shown as an individual income tax
reduction for display purposes. Laws 2015, Chapter 227 extends this provision.

(S in Thousands)
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FY 2013 FY 2014 FY 2015 FY 2016
8,300.0 8,700.0 9,300.0

(18,000.0) (18,000.0) (18,000.0)

(4,000.0) (4,000.0) (4,000.0)

(24,800.0) 0.0 0.0

(850.0) (850.0) (850.0)

(39,350.0) (14,150.0) (13,550.0)

4,600.0 5,400.0 8,900.0 6,300.0
(500.0) (300.0) 0.0

T 4,600.0 4,900.0 8,600.0 6,300.0
(600.0) (600.0) (600.0)

1,300.0

(4,200.0) (6,000.0) (7,900.0)

(4,800.0) (6,600.0) (7,200.0)

© 4,600.0 (39,250.0) (12,150.0) (14,450.0)



TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2014

INDIVIDUAL INCOME

Tax Bracket Inflation Adjustment
Ch. 10

Social Security Number Requirement

Ch. 68
TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME

CORPORATE INCOME
Renewable Energy Facility Credit
Ch. 8

Job Tax Credit
Ch. 168

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME

SALES AND USE
Electricity/Natural Gas Exemption
Ch.7

Mixed Waste Processing Facility
Ch. 228

Health Science Institution
Ch. 276

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY
None

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
None

TOTAL OTHER

TOTAL

Notes:

(S in Thousands)

FY 2015 FY 2016 FY 2017
(6,100.0) Yy

1,500.0 1,500.0

(4,600.0) 1,500.0

(10,000.0) (10,000.0)

(882.0) (882.0) (882.0)
(882.0) (10,882.0) (10,882.0)
(14,600.0) (18,200.0) (18,200.0)
(183.6) (183.6) (183.6)
(196.4) (196.4) (196.4)
(14,980.0) (18,580.0) (18,580.0)
(15,862.0) (34,062.0) (27,962.0)

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.

- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

1/ Chapter 10 provided a one-time inflation adjustment of the income tax rate brackets for TY 2015. Laws 2015,
Chapter 91 (see following page) made the inflation adjustment of the tax brackets permanent, beginning in

TY 2016.
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2015
(S in Thousands)

FY 2015 FY 2016 FY 2017 FY 2018

INDIVIDUAL INCOME

Tax Bracket Inflation Adjustment Y (15,400.0) (24,700.0)

Ch.91

Internal Revenue Code Conformity (30,800.0) (30,800.0) (30,800.0) (30,800.0)

Ch. 227

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (30,800.0) (30,800.0) (46,200.0) (55,500.0)

CORPORATE INCOME

Renewable Energy Facility Credit 2
Ch.6

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME 0.0 0.0 0.0

SALES AND USE

Electricity/Natural Gas Exemption 3/ (1,300.0)
Ch.6

0.0

(1,300.0)

TOTAL SALES AND USE 0.0 0.0 (1,300.0)

PROPERTY

Religious Institution Exemption 4
Ch. 49

/

(1,300.0)

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
Insurance Fraud Assessment 516.6 516.6
Ch. 10

Retaliatory Insurance Premium Tax Exemption (1,500.0) (1,500.0)
Ch. 184

Insurance Premium Tax Rate Reduction ”/ (1,300.0)
Ch. 220

516.6

(1,500.0)

(1,500.0)

TOTAL OTHER 0.0 (983.4) (2,283.4)

(2,483.4)

TOTAL (30,800.0) (31,783.4) (49,783.4) (59,283.4)

Notes:
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

1/ Chapter 91 made the one-time tax bracket inflation adjustment enacted by Laws 2014, Chapter 10 permanent,

beginning in TY 2016.

2/ Laws 2014, Chapter 8 created a credit for investments in new renewable energy facilities that produce
energy for self-consumption used in manufacturing operations. Laws 2015, Chapter 6 expanded the credit
program to include "International Operations Centers" (I0C). Since the program's credit cap of $10 million
is already "priced in" for manufacturers, there would be no additional revenue loss for IOCs under Chapter 6.

3/ Laws 2014, Chapter 7 established an electricity and natural gas sales tax exemption for manufacturers.
Laws 2015, Chapter 6 expanded the exemption to include "International Operations Centers" (10C).
The numbers as displayed reflect the marginal impact of Laws 2015, Chapter 6.

4/ Impact will occur as increased Arizona Department of Education expenditures. The cost is expected to be
$300,000 per year, beginning in FY 2017.

5/ The numbers as displayed reflect the scheduled insurance premium tax rate reduction provided by Laws 2015
Chapter 220. See Laws 2016, Chapter 358 for further changes.

294 -

’



TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2016
(S in Thousands)

FY 2016 FY 2017 FY 2018 FY 2019 FY 2020 FY 2021

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Charitable Tax Credit Cap Increase Yy (11,000.0) (11,000.0) (11,000.0) (11,000.0) (11,000.0)
Ch. 109
Federal Bonus Depreciation Deduction 4 (8,000.0) (16,000.0) (16,000.0) (16,000.0) (16,000.0)
Ch. 118
Extended Due Date for Charitable Tax Credit (1,700.0) (1,700.0) (1,700.0) (1,700.0) (1,700.0)
Ch. 309
TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (20,700.0) (28,700.0) (28,700.0) (28,700.0) (28,700.0)
CORPORATE INCOME
None
SALES AND USE
Natural Gas Transportation Exemption (870.0) (870.0) (870.0) (870.0) (870.0)
Ch. 357
Agricultural Feed Exemption (1,000.0) (1,000.0) (1,000.0) (1,000.0) (1,000.0)
Ch. 361
Charter Airline Exemption 0.0 (2,300.0) (2,300.0) (2,300.0) (2,300.0)
Ch. 367
Fine Art Exemption (1,300.0) (1,300.0) (1,300.0) (1,300.0) (1,300.0)
Ch. 368
Electricity/Natural Gas Exemption 34/ (8,700.0) (20,900.0) (20,900.0) (20,900.0) (20,900.0)
Ch.374
TOTAL SALES AND USE (11,870.0) (26,370.0) (26,370.0) (26,370.0) (26,370.0)
PROPERTY
None
OTHER
Insurance Premium Tax Rate Reduction ¥ (3,000.0) (7,100.0) (11,400.0) (16,100.0) (21,100.0)
Ch. 358
TOTAL OTHER (3,000.0) (7,100.0) (11,400.0) (16,100.0) (21,100.0)

TOTAL (35,570.0) (62,170.0) (66,470.0) (71,170.0) (76,170.0)
Notes:

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

1/ Chapter 109 increases the maximum amount that an individual income taxpayer is allowed to claim for cash
contributions to charitable organizations and foster care charitable organizations, beginning in TY 2016.
Based on JLBC Staff's original estimate, the May 2016 budget agreement assumed an annual impact of
$(2.6) million, beginning in FY 2017. The current numbers reflect JLBC Staff's revised estimates based on
additional research.

2/ Laws 2012, Chapter 343 provided an individual income tax deduction equal to 10% of the federal bonus
depreciation allowance. The current numbers reflect Laws 2016, Chapter 118, which increases the deduction
to 55% of federal bonus depreciation in TY 2016 and 100% in TY 2017 and subsequent years.

3/ Laws 2014, Chapter 7 established an electricity and natural gas sales tax exemption for manufacturers
while Laws 2015, Chapter 6 expanded the exemption to "International Operation Centers" (I0C). Laws 2016,
Chapter 374 further modified the requirements to qualify for the exemption. The numbers as displayed reflect
the marginal impact of Laws 2016, Chapter 374.

4/ Chapter 374 modifies requirements to qualify for the electricity sales tax exemption, beginning in CY 2017.
Based on Department of Revenue's original estimate, the May 2016 budget agreement assumed a revenue
impact of $(7.0) million in FY 2017 and $(14.0) million, beginning in FY 2018. The current number reflects
JLBC Staff's revised estimate based on additional research.

5/ The scheduled insurance premium tax rate reduction provided by Laws 2015, Chapter 220 was accelerated by
Laws 2016, Chapter 358. The numbers as displayed reflect the marginal impact of Laws 2016, Chapter 358.
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2017

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Personal Exemption Increase
Ch. 299

"Angel" Investment Credit Increase
Ch. 319

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME

CORPORATE INCOME
Income Tax Subtraction for ADA Retrofits
Ch. 278

New Requirements for Employment Credit
Ch. 340

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME

SALES AND USE
None

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY
None

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
None

TOTAL OTHER

TOTAL

Notes:

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

(S in Thousands)

FY 2017 FY 2018 FY 2019 FY 2020
(6,800.0) (13,500.0) (16,400.0)

(833.3) (1,666.7) (2,500.0)

(7,633.3) (15,166.7) (18,900.0)

(1,300.0) (1,300.0)

(800.0) (1,700.0)

(2,100.0) (3,000.0)

(7,633.3) (17,266.7) (21,900.0)
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2018
(S in Thousands)

FY 2018 FY 2019 FY 2020 FY 2021

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Military Pension Exemption Increase (2,000.0) (2,000.0)
Ch. 283

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (2,000.0) (2,000.0)

CORPORATE INCOME
None

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME

SALES AND USE

Online Marketplace Lodging TPT Changes
Ch. 189

1/ 1/ 1/

Sales Suppression Software Prohibition Y Y Y

Ch. 190

TOTAL SALES AND USE 10,000.0 15,000.0 15,000.0

PROPERTY
None

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
None

TOTAL OTHER

TOTAL 10,000.0 13,000.0 13,000.0

Notes:
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

1/ Under the FY 2019 enacted budget, the revenue impacts of Chapter 189 and Chapter 190 were not separately
delineated. Therefore, there are no separate estimates for Chapters 189 and 190.
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2019

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
IRS Conformity
Ch. 273

IRS Conformity Offset:
Eliminate Personal and Dependent

Exemptions
Ch. 273

Eliminate Lottery Winning Subtraction
Ch. 273

Increase Standard Deduction
Ch. 273

Dependent Credit
Ch. 273

Reduce number of tax brackets and rates
Ch. 273

Provide Additional Standard Deduction on
25% of Charitable Contributions
Ch. 273

IRS Conformity Offset: Sub-Total

Reduce Annual Increase of STO Credit Cap
Ch. 281

Expand Eligibility for Charitable Credit
Ch. 297

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME

CORPORATE INCOME
IRS Conformity
Ch. 273

Reduce Annual Increase of STO Credit Cap
Ch. 281

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME

SALES AND USE
Enactment of "Wayfair" Legislation
Ch. 273

Expand Propagative Materials Exemption
Ch. 288

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY
None

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER

Reduce Annual Increase of STO Credit Cap
(Insurance Premium Tax)

Ch. 281

TOTAL OTHER

TOTAL

Notes:

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

(S in Thousands)

FY 2020 FY 2021 FY 2022

209,900.0 209,900.0 209,900.0

353,900.0 353,900.0 353,900.0
100.0 100.0 100.0

(404,000.0)

(144,000.0)

(108,000.0)

(404,000.0)

(144,000.0)

(108,000.0)

(404,000.0)

(144,000.0)

(108,000.0)

(24,000.0) (24,000.0) (24,000.0)
(326,000.0) (326,000.0) (326,000.0)
300.0 1,200.0
(1,200.0) (1,200.0) (1,200.0)
(117,300.0) (117,000.0) (116,100.0)
7,100.0 7,100.0 7,100.0
2,600.0 9,100.0
7,100.0 9,700.0 16,200.0
57,000.0 85,000.0 85,000.0
(7,300.0) (14,700.0) (14,700.0)
49,700.0 70,300.0 70,300.0
2,500.0 8,400.0
2,500.0 8,400.0
(60,500.0) (34,500.0) (21,200.0)



TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2020 *

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
None

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME

CORPORATE INCOME
None

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME

SALES AND USE
None

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY
None

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
None

TOTAL OTHER

TOTAL

Notes:

(S in Thousands)

FY 2020 FY 2021 FY 2022 FY 2023
0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0
0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0
0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0
0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0
0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0
0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0

* No legislation with revenue impact was enacted in 2020

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2021
($ in Thousands)

FY 2021 FY 2022 FY 2023 FY 2024
INDIVIDUAL INCOME
IRC Conformity y
Ch. 232
Maximum 4.5% Tax Rate
Ch. 411
Reduce Tax Rates to 2.55%/2.98% ¥/ (1,273,700.0) (1,336,000.0)
Ch. 412
Reduce Tax Rates to a 2.5% Single Rate (700,000.0)
Ch. 412
Full Exemption on Military Pension (48,300.0) (37,900.0) (37,900.0)
Ch. 412
Increase Optional Standard Deduction for
Charitable Contributions (2,000.0) (3,900.0)
Ch. 412
Impose Alternative Income Tax (SB 1783) S
Ch. 436
TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME 0.0 (48,300.0) (1,313,600.0) (2,077,800.0)
CORPORATE INCOME
Increase STO Credit Cap for Displaced/Disabled
Students (1,000.0) (1,000.0) (1,000.0)
Ch. 412
Expand Eligibility for Students Receiving
Corporate Scholarships (400.0) (400.0) (400.0)
Ch. 412
Deduction for "Contribution in Aid of
Construction" (400.0) (400.0) (400.0)
Ch. 412
Healthy Forest Production Credit (395.8) (395.8) (395.8)
Ch. 412
Affordable Housing Credit (4,000.0)
Ch. 430
TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME 0.0 (2,195.8) (2,195.8) (6,195.8)
SALES AND USE
None
TOTAL SALES AND USE
PROPERTY
Class 1 Assessment Ratio Reduction */
Ch. 412
Increase of Homeowner's Rebate
Ch. 412
TOTAL PROPERTY
OTHER
Gaming - Keno/Mobile Draw Games, Fantasy
Sports Betting, and Event Wagering & 10,000.0
Ch. 234
TOTAL OTHER 10,000.0 0.0 0.0
TOTAL 0.0 (40,495.8) (1,315,795.8) (2,083,995.8)
Notes:

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

1/ Arizona conformed to the Internal Revenue Code in effect as of March 11, 2021. Conformity was estimated to have
a one-time cost of $(635) million. The tax law changes charts, however, do not display one-time impact. As background,
this cost was originally intended to be offset by a deposit of federal funds, which would have resulted in no net overall
revenue impact. The Executive ultimately choose to offset the cost of the conformity provisions by using federal funds
to reduce General Fund spending.

2/ After Proposition 208 was ruled invalid in March 2022, the impact of this provision was nullified as no taxpayers
had a highest mariginal tax rate above 4.5%.

3/ These revised estimates reflect the fiscal impact from the FY 2023 enacted budget and differ from the original estimates
included in the 2021 Tax Handbook.

4/ Ch. 412 further reduces tax rates to as low as a single 2.5% rate conditional on receiving sufficient revenues above
the forecast. Based on a joint JLBC Staff/OSPB determination that actual FY 2022 revenue collections were $16.7 billion,
the Executive determined that this level was sufficient to implement the flat 2.5% rate as of TY 2023/FY 2024.

5/ The ongoing effect of this provision was nullified once Proposition 208 was ruled invalid, as the original estimate was
related to offseting the costs of the 4.5% maximum tax rate. In FY 2022, this provision resulted in General Fund revenue
collections of $143 million. This amount should not be considered a net revenue gain, however, as FY 2022 payments
under the Ch. 436 tax rate is less than what certain taxpayers would have paid under the pre-Ch. 412 tax rates.

We do not have an estimate of the dollar value of that tax reduction in FY 2022.

6/ Increases the General Fund formula cost for K-12 funding by $4.4 million in FY 2023 and $9.0 million in FY 2024.
7/ Increases the General Fund formula cost for K-12 funding by $30.0 million in FY 2023 and $30.8 million in FY 2024.

8/ The FY 2022 budget 3-year plan assumed a General Fund revenue impact of $200 million in FY 2023 and $300 million
in FY 2024. The actual FY 2022 collections were $10 million and the enacted FY 2023 budget incorporated slightly
higher estimates for FY 2023 and beyond.
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2022
($ in Thousands)

FY 2022 FY 2023 FY 2024 FY 2025

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Annually Increase QCO/QFCO Credit Cap for Inflation 0.0 (1,000.0) (2,000.0) (4,000.0)
Ch. 385

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME 0.0 (1,000.0) (2,000.0) (4,000.0)

CORPORATE INCOME

Motion Picture Production Credit 0.0 -- .- .-
Ch. 387

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME 0.0

SALES AND USE
Exemption for Used Agricultural Machinery 0.0 (583.0) (583.0) (583.0)
Ch. 321

TOTAL SALES AND USE 0.0 (583.0) (583.0) (583.0)

PROPERTY
Increase Depreciation of Business Personal Property 2
Ch. 103

Class 1 Assessment Ratio Reduction ¥
Ch. 171

Veterans' Property Tax Exemption i

Ch. 341

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
Change to Aircraft License Tax 0.0 (1,900.0) (950.0) (950.0)
Ch. 321

TOTAL OTHER 0.0 (1,900.0) (950.0) (950.0)

TOTAL 0.0 (3,483.0) (3,533.0) (5,533.0)

Notes:
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

1/ Chapter 387 was not scored as part of the 3-year budget plan. The credit has a cap of $75 million in 2023, $100 million in 2024,
and $125 million, beginning in 2025. Based on a JLBC Fiscal Note of an earlier version of the bill, we estimate that less than half
of the credit cap will be used by the third year. The JLBC analysis did not attempt to estimate the indirect impacts of the credit.

2/ Chapter 103 was not scored as part of the 3-year budget plan. JLBC Staff analysis estimated the General Fund K-12 funding
formula cost to be $9.2 million in FY 2023, $19.2 million in FY 2024, and $29.6 million in FY 2025.

3/ JLBC Fiscal Note estimated the General Fund K-12 funding formula cost to be $3.8 million in FY 2027 and $6.9 million annually,
beginning in FY 2028.

4/ JLBC Staff analysis estimated the General Fund K-12 funding formula savings to be $(1.0) million annually, beginning in FY 2024.
This property tax exemption is subject to voter approval (as Proposition 130) in the November 2022 General Election.
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	Drug Treatment &
	Corrections
	Wine Promotional    Fund 2/    
	Total
	Collections

	Education Fund
	RevolvingFund
	Corrections Fund
	General
	Fiscal Year
	    Fund 1/    
	$90,274,330
	$10,704,820
	$4,296,865
	$0
	$31,352,671
	$43,919,974
	$90,275,119
	$10,944,235
	$4,384,893
	$0
	$31,795,434
	$43,150,557
	$80,586,870
	$10,124,758
	$4,048,034
	$0
	$28,345,593
	$38,068,485
	$78,122,023
	$9,726,060
	$3,891,849
	$0
	$27,235,821
	$37,268,293
	$76,377,895
	$9,608,327
	$3,841,109
	$0
	$26,898,876
	$36,029,582
	$74,125,770
	$9,393,483
	$3,752,748
	$0
	$26,292,469
	$34,687,070
	$72,280,629
	$9,209,833
	$3,677,579
	$0
	$25,774,829
	$33,618,388
	$71,270,235
	$9,092,642
	$3,630,371
	$0
	$25,446,032
	$33,101,191
	$71,146,096
	$9,111,608
	$3,636,704
	$0
	$25,496,628
	$32,901,156
	$68,683,859
	$8,822,750
	$3,520,472
	$0
	$24,686,455
	$31,654,182
	$68,379,171
	$8,805,069
	$3,512,658
	$0
	$24,635,454
	$31,425,990
	$63,365,229
	$8,303,445
	$3,307,459
	$0
	$23,221,811
	$28,532,514
	$65,418,835
	$8,551,873
	$3,407,130
	$0
	$23,918,010
	$29,541,822
	$64,178,705
	$8,434,654
	$3,358,868
	$0
	$23,587,644
	$28,797,539
	$64,556,552
	$8,576,309
	$3,411,936
	$29,003
	$23,976,492
	$28,562,812
	$63,188,906
	$8,323,288
	$3,313,708
	$35,965
	$23,273,991
	$28,277,919
	$61,147,360
	$8,096,444
	$3,221,929
	$38,481
	$22,636,747
	$27,192,240
	$59,223,067
	$7,894,513
	$3,139,770
	$34,667
	$22,068,568
	$26,085,548
	$55,979,814
	$7,490,976
	$2,978,318
	$27,995
	$20,938,588
	$24,543,937
	$54,066,844
	$7,306,966
	$2,902,721
	$25,497
	$20,419,376
	$23,412,284
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