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FOREWORD

The 2018 Tax Handbook provides a description of each state tax and certain other revenue categories. The
Handbook also includes a 20-year history of the collections and distributions for each revenue category, as well as
summaries of all statutory revisions between the 2012 and 2018 legislative sessions. A listing of statutory changes
prior to the 2012 legislative session is available on the Joint Legislative Budget Committee (JLBC) website located at
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/18taxbook/18taxbk.pdf. Appendix D provides the estimated dollar value of individual
tax law changes enacted by the Legislature since FY 1989.

The Tax Handbook includes tables that provide the estimated impact of tax credits and exemptions to the Sales
Tax, Individual Income Tax, Corporate Income Tax, and Insurance Premium Tax sections. These tables were
prepared by the Office of Economic Research and Analysis at the Arizona Department of Revenue.

Each entry in the Tax Handbook includes the following sections (where applicable):

e Description —a comprehensive narrative description of the tax or revenue source.

e Distribution — a 20-year history of collections and a description of how the tax is distributed by fund, or shared
with other jurisdictions such as cities and towns.

e  Who Pays — a description of who is legally responsible for the payment of the tax or fee.

e Revenue Base and Rate — a definition of the tax base, a discussion of exemptions, if any, and a description of
the tax rate(s).

e Tax Refunds and/or Credits — a description of circumstances under which tax refunds are made, and/or credits
are allowed.

e Payment Schedule — due dates, delinquency dates, and payment schedules, as well as an explanation of how
the tax or fee is remitted to the state.

e Impact of Statutory Changes — includes statutory changes from 2012 through 2018. As noted above, statutory
changes prior to 2012 are available on the JLBC website.




OVERVIEW OF ARIZONA TAXES

The revenues from Arizona’s different taxes are deposited in a number of funds. The largest fund is the General Fund. In

FY 2018, on-going General Fund revenue was $10.7 billion. This amount excludes urban revenue sharing and one-time
financing sources.

While revenues from numerous taxes are deposited in the General Fund, 4 taxes constitute the bulk of General Fund
collections: sales tax, individual income tax, corporate income tax, and insurance premium tax. In FY 2018, these 4 taxes
represented 95% of on-going General Fund revenue. As noted in the chart below, the largest category is the state sales
tax, which represented 44.7% of General Fund revenue collections in FY 2018. Individual income tax, corporate income
tax, and insurance premium tax represented 42.4%, 3.5%, and 5.0% respectively, of General Fund revenue.

Sources of FY 2018 General Fund Revenue

Individual
Income Tax
42.4%

Corporate
Income Tax
3.5%

Insurance
Premium Tax
5.0%

Sales Tax

44.7% Other

4.7%

The state levies many other taxes, fees, and assessments. Some of the other taxes generate sizable amounts of revenue,
but their collections are not deposited in the General Fund. For example, the motor vehicle fuel tax generated $537
million in FY 2018 and the unemployment insurance tax generated $513 million. However, these collections were
deposited in the Highway User Revenue Fund and the Unemployment Compensation Fund, respectively.

This handbook provides a listing and description of the taxes levied by the State of Arizona. Additionally, it shows the
amount of revenue collections and tax distributions by fund.



SALES AND USE TAXES



TRANSACTION PRIVILEGE TAX

DESCRIPTION

The transaction privilege tax (TPT) is a gross receipts tax levied by the State of Arizona on certain persons for the
privilege of conducting business in the state. Although TPT is commonly referred to as Arizona’s sales tax, it differs
from the “true” sales tax imposed by many other states as it is imposed upon the seller rather than the buyer of
the taxable item. Although the seller may pass the burden of the tax onto the buyer, the seller is the party that
remains ultimately liable to the state for the tax.

TPT is currently imposed under 16 separate business classifications: retail, transporting, utilities,
telecommunications, publication, job printing, pipeline, private car line, commercial lease, transient lodging,
personal property rental, mining, amusement, restaurant, prime contracting, and online lodging marketplace. The
state tax rates for the various classifications are as follows: 5.5% for the transient lodging (hotel/motel) and online
lodging marketplace classification, 3.125% for the mining classification, 0% for the commercial lease (rental of real
property for commercial use) classification, and 5.6% for all other TPT classifications. (Note that Laws 1993, 2"
Special Session, Chapter 9 reduced the state TPT rate on commercial leases to 0%, beginning in FY 1998.)

TPT is imposed on the total gross receipts of taxable businesses, with the exception for prime contractors, who are
taxed at 65% of their gross receipts. As of January 1, 2015, prime contractors are not subject to tax on the gross
receipts from contracts for the maintenance, repair, replacement or alteration (MRRA) of real property if such
contracts do not include modification activity.

All gross receipts are subject to tax (under one of the 16 TPT classifications) unless specifically exempted or
excluded by statute. Exemptions and deductions under one TPT classification cannot be used under another
classification unless specifically provided by law.

Chart 1 illustrates the relative importance of the major TPT categories. Retail is the largest TPT category and
comprised 55% of total state sales tax collections in FY 2018. Other large categories are restaurants and bars,
prime contracting, and utilities.

Components of Sales Tax Revenues

Chart 1

TPT is the state’s single largest revenue source, representing 45% of ongoing General Fund revenues in FY 2018. A
significant portion of state sales tax revenues is shared with the counties and cities. This revenue sharing occurs
through the distribution base, described in further detail in the Distribution section below.



Transaction Privilege Tax

From June 2001 through June 2021, the state is levying an additional 0.6% tax exclusively dedicated to education.
The 0.6% education tax, which was approved by voters in November 2000 and commonly referred to as
Proposition 301, is not subject to the regular TPT distribution. Proposition 301 raised the general state TPT rate
from 5.0% to 5.6%, beginning in June 2001. The 0.6% education tax generated $712.9 million in FY 2018. Laws
2018, Chapter 74 extends the additional 0.6% education sales tax through June 30, 2041.

From June 2010 through May 2013, the state levied an additional 1.0% tax exclusively for public primary and
secondary education, health and human services, and public safety. The 3-year 1.0% tax, which was approved by
voters in May 2010 and commonly known as Proposition 100, was not subject to the regular TPT distribution.
Proposition 100 increased the state TPT rate from 5.6% to 6.6% from June 2010 through May 2013. In June 2013,
the state TPT rate returned to 5.6%. The temporary 1.0% tax generated $864 million in FY 2011, $916 million in FY
2012, and $962 million in FY 2013.

Of the state’s 15 counties, all but 1 (Maricopa) are authorized by statute to impose a general excise tax. All sales
subject to state TPT are also subject to the applicable county general excise tax. By statute, the county general
excise tax cannot exceed 10% of the regular state TPT rate. Subject to voter approval, any county may levy a
transportation or road tax. Other county excise tax options are: jail tax, capital projects tax, and tax on county
judgment bonds.

Unlike the county general excise tax, the imposition of Arizona city transaction privilege taxes is separate and
distinct from the imposition of state TPT. Instead, cities in Arizona use the Model City Tax Code (MCTC) as the
basis for imposing their privilege taxes. MCTC is a uniform sales and use tax act that has been adopted by most
cities in Arizona. Although MCTC is intended to facilitate tax base uniformity among cities, the code authorizes
cities to exempt or tax certain items that are not part of the standard or “model” language of the code.

DISTRIBUTION

TPT revenues are shared with Arizona’s counties and cities through a complex system of formulas established in
statute. See Table 1 for amounts distributed. Legislative changes to the state sales tax usually have local
government impacts, unless otherwise specified through hold harmless provisions (provisions designed not to
harm local governments).

Distribution. The Department of Revenue (DOR) transmits all sales tax revenues to the State Treasurer, separately
accounting for payments of estimated taxes, the transient lodging tax, transaction privilege and severance taxes on
mining and timber collected from businesses located on Indian reservations, and education sales taxes. The
aforementioned tax collections have dedicated uses. All other sales tax revenues are credited to a clearing
account. A portion of transaction privilege and severance taxes referred to as the distribution base is designated
for distribution to counties, cities, and other purposes pursuant to A.R.S. § 42-5029D4. (The allocation of
distribution base monies to special purposes is described on the following pages.) After the required distributions
to counties, cities, and other special purposes, remaining distribution base monies are credited to the General
Fund (see Table 1 and Table 4). The portion of sales tax revenues (non-shared) not designated to the distribution
base is directly credited to the General Fund.

As previously mentioned, revenues collected from the 1.0% tax under Proposition 100 were not distributed to
counties and municipalities, nor other government entities. Two-thirds of the additional revenue from the 1.0%
tax was appropriated to public primary and secondary education and the remaining one-third was appropriated to
both health and human services and public safety.

Revenues collected from the 0.6% Proposition 301 tax go directly toward education programs. For a more
extensive discussion of the specific uses of education tax revenues, please refer to the Department of Education —
Basic State Aid Formula Summary section of the FY 2019 Appropriations Report.
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Monies in the distribution base are allocated on a monthly basis in the following way:

— 25% is paid to the cities in proportion to their population based on the last U.S. decennial census [A.R.S. § 42-
5029(1)], special census [A.R.S. § 42-5033], or the most recent annual population estimates by the U.S. Census
Bureau [A.R.S. § 42-5033.01].

— 40.51% is paid to the counties according to the formula described below.

— The remaining 34.49% is retained by the state and used to make various allocations and appropriations
specified by statute. (General Fund retains the distribution base monies that remain after the required
allocations and appropriations.)

In total, the counties receive 40.51% of distribution base revenues. The amount that each county receives is
determined by the following calculations:

1. 38.08% of the total TPT distribution base is calculated.
2. 2.43% of the total TPT distribution base is calculated.

3. Each county's share of the 38.08% portion of the TPT distribution base is calculated using an average of
percent of total point-of-sale and percent of total net assessed valuation for secondary property taxes.

4. Each county's share of the 38.08% portion of the TPT distribution base is calculated using an average of
percent of total point-of-sale and percent of total population based on the last U.S. decennial census [A.R.S. §
42-5029(1)], special census [A.R.S. § 42-5033], or an approved mid-decade population estimate [A.R.S. § 42-
5033.01]. (For more details, see Laws 2016, Chapter 258.)

5. The shares that each county would receive under the 2 previous steps are compared, with the larger of the 2
amounts selected for each county. The "new" amounts are added for all 15 counties to determine the
difference between this total and the sum of the 38.08% proportions. This difference is subtracted from the
sum of the 2.43% proportions calculated in Step 2.

6. Any monies remaining from the 2.43% portion are distributed among all 15 counties based on Step 4's
combined percentage. Add the amount for each county from this step to the total for each county from Step
5 to get the total amount to be distributed to each county for the month.

The remaining 34.49% of distribution base revenue is allocated to various purposes as provided by A.R.S. § 42-
5029D4, including expansion of the Phoenix Convention Center, school capital finance, multipurpose facilities,
construction of a bridge and improvement of a highway at Phoenix International Raceway, the Tourism and Sports
Authority (TSA) and certain public infrastructure improvements. The TSA’s share of distribution base monies is
equal to the amount of sales taxes collected at the University of Phoenix Stadium. In addition, some monies are
transferred to the Water Quality Assurance Revolving Fund, as required by A.R.S. § 49-282. After these
distributions have been made, the remainder is credited to the General Fund. From this amount, the following
distributions are subject to appropriation:

1) Department of Revenue (DOR) receives monies sufficient to cover administrative expenses.

2) Department of Economic Security (DES) receives monies for the purposes stated in Title 46, Chapter 1 (public
welfare, out-of-wedlock pregnancy prevention, and aging).

3) The Firearm Safety and Ranges Fund receives $50,000 derived from retail sales taxes collected during the
current fiscal year.
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Table 1
COLLECTIONS AND DISTRIBUTION *

Fiscal Year General Fund Cities Counties Proposition 301 Proposition 100 Total
2018 $4,787,462,504 $528,094,832 $855,724,866 $712,903,811 $184,694 $6,884,370,707
2017 $4,506,407,358 $496,532,025 $804,580,493 $670,788,089 $(246,291) $6,478,061,674
2016 $4,313,942,592 $476,773,305 $772,563,464 $645,012,218 $198,681 $6,208,490,260
2015 $4,189,263,497 $459,176,964 $744,050,353 $626,400,822 $1,760,338 $6,020,651,974
2014 $3,985,881,580 $437,628,967 $709,133,978 $601,853,602 $8,422,920 $5,742,921,047
2013 $3,778,863,746 $411,117,897 $666,175,440 $567,824,410 $962,171,977 $6,386,153,470
2012 $3,652,165,656 $392,475,912 $635,967,967 $542,394,529 $915,835,541 $6,138,839,605
2011 $3,448,016,988 $373,259,250 $604,829,288 $514,345,951 $864,501,708 $5,804,953,185
2010 $3,422,528,509 $356,997,763 $578,479,176 $513,589,704 $4,871,595,152
2009 $3,756,407,238 $387,050,618 $627,176,822 $558,899,709 $5,329,534,387
2008 $4,353,564,848 $447,060,657 $724,417,089 $645,827,821 $6,170,870,415
2007 $4,457,494,716 $462,037,141 $748,684,984 $666,184,022 $6,334,800,863
2006 $4,273,358,451 $439,120,139 $711,550,274 $628,471,192 $6,052,500,056
2005 $3,661,168,623 $376,212,970 $609,615,497 $538,346,435 $5,185,343,525
2004 $3,294,788,319 $340,535,844 $551,804,282 $487,214,807 $4,674,343,252
2003 $3,033,877,715 $316,406,294 $512,704,759 $447,841,034 $4,310,829,802
2002 $3,000,431,898 $311,693,101 $505,067,501 $439,004,543 $4,256,197,043
2001 $2,983,552,245 $312,676,402 $506,661,075 $3,802,889,722
2000 $2,829,307,415 $299,386,513 $485,126,158 $3,613,820,086
1999 $2,577,768,324 $272,402,244 $441,400,596 $3,291,571,164

*  The figures displayed in this table include revenues collected from the sales tax and its affiliated taxes — the use tax, mining and timber severance
taxes, jet fuel taxes, and the rental occupancy tax. The table excludes funds distributed to multipurpose facility districts and other special
distributions.

Multipurpose Facility Districts

Laws 1997, Chapter 297 expanded existing legislation that authorized county stadium districts to include
multipurpose facilities, defined as facilities located in the district to accommodate sporting, entertainment,
cultural, civic, and convention events and meetings. The legislation also expanded the ability to form a district to 2
or more municipalities located within a county and authorized these districts to generate TPT revenue. If a district
were to construct a facility, the state would divert one-half of the state TPT revenues generated at the facility from
the General Fund to the district.

Laws 1999, Chapter 162 required the state to pay a county multipurpose facility district one-half of all the TPT
revenue received each month from all persons doing business at a multipurpose facility or generated from the
construction of a multipurpose facility. In no case are the monthly payments to exceed the net new revenues
generated in a given month compared to the TPT revenues generated in the same month during the year prior to
the vote authorizing the creation of the district. Payments were to begin when the district board of directors
delivered to the State Treasurer a resolution requesting payment and would continue for 10 years after either the
commencement or completion of the primary component of the facility, at the option of the district. Chapter 162
required that the publicly-owned components of the district cost at least $200 million to construct. The definition
of a multipurpose facility was broadened to include secondary components such as parking lots and garages, on-
site infrastructure, artistic components, public parks, plazas, and some commercial facilities. Chapter 162 was
effective retroactively from July 1, 1998.

Rio Nuevo

In 1999, Tucson voters approved Proposition 400 authorizing the creation of a development area called the Rio
Nuevo Multipurpose Facility District. This district, which receives a diversion of state TPT to finance the
development of a multipurpose facility and supporting projects, stretches east from Downtown Tucson along the
retail-intensive Broadway Corridor.
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Background

Several pieces of legislation paved the way for the creation of the Rio Nuevo District. Laws 1990, Chapter 390
introduced the concept of a county stadium district, permitting Maricopa County to impose a 0.25% TPT for 3
years upon the award of a Major League Baseball franchise. These tax revenues could then be used to finance the
construction of a stadium, either directly or by securing district bond obligations.

Laws 1997, Chapter 297, expanded the county stadium district concept to include multipurpose facilities located in
the district such as those used for sporting, entertainment, cultural, civic, meeting or convention events. Laws
1999, Chapter 162 then increased the revenue payments to these districts by allowing them to retain the state’s
share of TPT from sales of secondary businesses that are deemed “necessary or beneficial” to the development of
the primary component multipurpose facility. This law also limited TPT payments to the lesser of: (1) 50% of
collections or (2) revenues net of those received prior to the year of the election authorizing the district. This
method of permitting a local area to use the state’s tax collections to finance local development projects with the
expectation that future tax collections will increase as a result is known as tax increment financing. Lastly, Laws
1999, Chapter 172 required the facility’s municipality to spend a matching amount on projects by the district’s
expiration date in order to receive state TPT revenues.

Creation of the Rio Nuevo Multipurpose Facility District

Tucson voters approved Proposition 400 in November 1999, establishing the Rio Nuevo Multipurpose Facilities
District from 1999 to 2009. The ballot information for Proposition 400 described Rio Nuevo as a development
project of cultural and recreational amenities and improvements, historical recreations, and mixed-use
developments. The District’s limits begin west in downtown where the primary component multipurpose facility,
the Tucson Convention Center, is located. From downtown, Rio Nuevo then stretches east along the Broadway
Corridor encompassing the District’s secondary component businesses. Management responsibilities were given
to a District Board made up of 4 Directors appointed by the Tucson City Council. Through FY 2018, Rio Nuevo has
received a total of $165.9 million in TPT distributions from the state (See Table 2). Laws 2006, Chapter 376
extended the period Rio Nuevo could receive these payments from 10 years to 25 years (to July 1, 2025).

Reconstituted Rio Nuevo District

Laws 2009, Chapter 3 reconstituted the District board by replacing the 4-Director body appointed by the city
council with one made up of 9 Directors appointed by the Governor and the Legislature. In addition, Chapter 3
provided that Rio Nuevo would receive state TPT diversions only through July 1, 2025 or the time of last debt
service payment, whichever would come first. Laws 2018, Chapter 138 extends the due date for the district to
operate and receive state TPT distributions to July 1, 2035, or upon the completion of authorized debt service
payments, whichever occurs later.

Prior to Chapter 138, the district was authorized to use state TPT distributions to service debt on bonds issued by
the district before January 1, 2009. The same authority applied to contractual obligations incurred by the district
before January 1, 2009. Chapter 138 extends such authority to bonds issued before January 1, 2025 and
contractual obligations incurred before January 1, 2025. State TPT payments to the Rio Nuevo District are shown
in the Table 2 below:
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Table 2
Fiscal Year Distributions
2018 $13,562,705
2017 $13,988,471
2016 $13,008,813
2015 $6,958,022
2014 $9,486,100
2013 $9,755,752
2012 $11,957,943
2011 $14,099,949
2010 $8,727,318
2009 $10,399,336
2008 $15,456,187
2007 $14,974,923
2006 $10,968,178
2005 $7,469,632
2004 $5,081,197
Total $165,894,526
Source: DOR, Annual Reports

Phoenix Convention Center Expansion

In November 2001, Phoenix voters approved a ballot measure that would provide $300 million to expand the
Phoenix Convention Center from the city fund that was established to pay for construction and expansion of the
Civic Plaza’s first phase in the 1960s. Laws 2003, Chapter 266 authorized the expansion of eligible convention
centers with matching state funds.

Chapter 266 established the Arizona Convention Center Development Fund (ACCDF) for the purpose of enabling
qualifying cities to develop and expand major convention facilities. The Phoenix Convention Center expansion
project is the only project that qualified under Chapter 266.

The state’s obligation for the Phoenix Convention Center project is to pay the debt service and related costs on
$300 million of construction bonds. Pursuant to Laws 2003, Chapter 266, the state’s obligation was to begin in the
first fiscal year after the Certificate of Completion for the project was filed with the State Treasurer, which
occurred on March 25, 2009. Under A.R.S. § 9-602D, as added by Chapter 266, the State Treasurer was required to
transfer $5 million in debt payments from the ACCDF to the City of Phoenix in the first year (FY 2010), $10 million
in the second year (FY 2011), $15 million in the third year (FY 2012), and $20 million in the fourth year (FY 2013).
Beginning in the fifth year (FY 2014), the debt payments would increase by $500,000 annually up to a maximum of
$30 million per year until debt service and related costs would be retired.

Laws 2011, Chapter 28 suspended the State Treasurer’s debt payment from the ACCDF in FY 2012 and changed the
distribution schedule under A.R.S. § 9-602D for subsequent years. However, Chapter 28 did not provide the same
change to the DOR’s distribution schedule under A.R.S. § 42-5030, which requires the department to transfer state
TPT monies from the distribution base to the ACCDF. Laws 2015, Chapter 10 conformed DOR’s transfer schedule
of state TPT monies under A.R.S. § 42-5030 to the State Treasurer’s debt service payment schedule under A.R.S. §
9-602D.

Public Infrastructure Improvements

Laws 2012, Chapter 328 authorizes the State Treasurer to pay state prime contracting tax revenues generated
from qualifying projects to a municipality or county in order to fund up to 80% of the costs of public infrastructure
improvements (roads, water and wastewater facilities) needed to support the activities of a manufacturing facility.
The total amount of state tax dollars paid to cities and counties statewide under Chapter 328 is capped at $50
million over 10 years. Chapter 328 is effective from October 1, 2013 through September 30, 2023. In order for a
city or county to receive state prime contracting tax monies, the manufacturing plant must make certain minimum
capital investments depending on its location ($500 million in Maricopa and Pima and $50 million in all other
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counties). The State Treasurer was not allowed to make any payments to a city or county before July 1, 2014. The
total amount of statewide distributions to cities and counties was limited to $5 million in FY 2015. To date, no
contracting tax revenues have been distributed under the program.

Monies for public infrastructure improvements are distributed from the state and local share of prime contracting
taxes generated from qualifying projects. Chapter 328 requires DOR to account separately for prime contracting
tax revenues generated from qualifying public infrastructure improvements. While DOR is authorized to disclose
information to cities and counties regarding the distribution of monies associated with public infrastructure
improvements, Chapter 328 prohibits DOR and the relevant local government entities from disclosing such
information to the public.

Laws 2017, Chapter 340 makes several changes to the program, beginning January 1, 2018, including the following:
(1) provides that prime contracting tax revenues used for purposes of public infrastructure improvement not be
distributed until 10% of the qualifying capital investment has been made by the manufacturing facility, (2) requires
the manufacturing facility to file a sworn certification with the Arizona Commerce Authority (ACA) within 180 days
after commencement of buildings and associated improvements, and (3) requires the manufacturing facility and
the county or municipality to enter into a written agreement before submitting the certification to ACA.

WHO PAYS
Individuals and Businesses

Persons or companies engaging in business in the state are legally responsible for payment of the tax. However, in
practice TPT is passed on to consumers [A.R.S. § 42-5001].

Recent Developments Regarding Internet Taxation. On June 21, 2018, the Supreme Court of the United States
(SCOTUS) overruled in South Dakota v. Wayfair Inc. a previous decision made by the same court on May 26, 1992
in Quill Corp. v. North Dakota, which had required a business with a physical presence inside a state to collect sales
tax on transactions conducted over the Internet. While SCOTUS overruled the physical presence ("nexus"
requirement under Quill, it retained the nexus test under its 1977 ruling on Complete Auto Transit v. Brady. Under
the Complete Auto ruling, SCOTUS outlined the conditions to determine whether a state violates the U.S.
Commerce Clause. This is effectively a 4-part test that requires the following elements:

Substantial nexus (there must be sufficient connection between a taxpayer and the state).

Fair apportionment (the state must not tax more than its fair share of the income of the taxpayer).
No discrimination (the state must not treat out-of-state taxpayers differently than in-state taxpayers).
Services (the tax must be fairly related to the services provided to the taxpayer by the state).

PwnNPR

In its June 21 Wayfair ruling, SCOTUS noted that that South Dakota’s Senate Bill (SB) 106 satisfied the substantial
nexus requirement under Complete Auto. (South Dakota's SB 106 expanded the state's sales tax nexus beyond the
physical presence requirements set forth in Quill and it was the legal challenge of this bill that was brought before
SCOTUS in South Dakota v. Wayfair Inc.) Although the Wayfair ruling did not directly address all the Commerce
Clause tests under Complete Auto (as it relates to SB 106), the Court noted that "South Dakota's tax system
includes several features that appear designed to prevent discrimination against or undue burden upon interstate
commerce." Specifically, the Court referenced: (1) SB 106's “safe harbor” provision under which annual sales in
South Dakota must exceed $100,000 or include 200 or more transactions for substantial nexus to exist, (2) no
retroactive tax clause included in the legislation, and (3) that South Dakota has adopted the Streamlined Sales and
Use Tax Agreement (SSUTA). Under SSUTA, states agree to a set of "ground rules" to standardize the imposition
and administration of sales and use taxes, including a single, state-level administration of taxes, a simplified tax
rate structure, and uniform definitions and rules.

At current time, it is unclear when states, including Arizona, will start noticing the effects of the Wayfair decision.

One question is whether a state would be required to enact the same or similar laws as under South Dakota's SB

106 to collect sales tax on Internet purchases. Another question is whether a state would be required to adopt

more uniform, simplified tax laws as prescribed by SSUTA. (Arizona is not currently a SSUTA member state.) A

third question is how (or whether) the U.S. Congress will act in response to the Wayfair ruling. To provide some
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perspective, there is pending legislation in Congress (such as the Remote Transactions Parity Act and Marketplace
Fairness Act) that would require, if enacted, states to make certain changes to their sales tax system that are
compatible with the Wayfair ruling, before they could collect sales tax from remote sellers.

"Pre-Wayfair" Internet Taxation. The following section discusses the extent to which transactions conducted on
the Internet are subject to the sales tax under current ("pre-Wayfair") state practices. This includes the current
Arizona policy with respect to 3 different Internet sales scenarios.

1. A consumer purchases an item on the Internet from a company headquartered out of state that also has a
store in Arizona. This can be either a sales tax or a use tax situation, depending on whether the retailer has
created a semi-separate Internet version of itself. If the product is shipped from the retailer's “Internet
company” located in another state, it is a use tax situation. If the product is shipped from the local retail
branch, it is a sales tax situation. Regardless, the vendor is required to collect the tax because it has a physical
presence (nexus) in this state.

2. A consumer makes an Internet purchase from an out-of-state company that has no physical presence in
Arizona but whose products are sold in Arizona retail stores. For example, consider a situation in which
vitamins are bought on the Internet from an out-of-state company; this company’s vitamins are also sold in
Arizona grocery stores. In this case, the vendor is not responsible for collecting a tax for the state because it
has no nexus in Arizona. The purchaser is legally responsible for paying the use tax.

3. A consumer buys something on the Internet from an out-of-state company that has no presence whatsoever
in Arizona. Since the vendor has no nexus in Arizona, the purchaser is required to pay the use tax.

Tribal Members and Businesses

Indian tribal members or companies engaged in business activities on the reservation are not subject to the sales
tax. This exclusion applies to affiliated Indian members who have been adopted into the tribe and who have
attained full and unrestricted membership privileges in that tribe.

Non-Indian or non-affiliated Indian retailers engaged in business activities located on the reservation are not
subject to the sales tax if the activity is performed for an Indian tribal member of the reservation. The activity is
subject to the sales tax, however, if it is performed for a non-Indian or non-affiliated Indian.

For business activities performed for Indian tribal members by retailers located off the reservation, those activities
are subject to the sales tax. Sales of tangible personal property to an Indian tribal member, however, are not
subject to the sales tax if the solicitation, delivery and payment of the goods take place on the reservation. In
addition, the sale of a motor vehicle to an Indian tribal member who resides on the reservation is exempt from the
sales tax [A.R.S. § 42-5061].

Other than motor vehicles sales, there are no specific statutory references related to the imposition of Arizona
state sales tax on tribal members. Thus, to facilitate the administration of state sales tax on Indian reservations,
DOR has adopted sales tax rulings based on the decisions in several court cases. The most recent ruling, which is
reflected in the description above, was issued in April 1995 and is referred to as TPR 95-11.

REVENUE BASE AND RATE

In general, the tax base is the gross proceeds of sales or gross income derived by a person from a taxable business.
However, there are variations between the tax bases of the different classifications of the TPT, as specified in
A.R.S. § 42-5061 - A.R.S. § 42-5076. Notably, the contracting tax has a unique tax base. The tax base for
contractors is 65% of the value of a contract, based on the assumption that labor costs represent 35% of the value
of a contract [A.R.S. § 42-5075]. Note, however, Laws 2014, Chapter 263 provides that prime contractors are not
subject to tax from the gross sale proceeds or gross income resulting from contracts for the maintenance, repair,
replacement or alteration (MRRA) of real property, if such contracts do not include modification activity.
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Exemptions. There are numerous (over 100) TPT and use tax exemptions provided in statute, such as exemptions
for food and medicine. The effect of these exemptions is to reduce the size of the tax base. See Table 4 for
specific tax exemption statutes for each sales tax classification. Attached at the end of this section is the
Transaction Privilege and Use Tax Expenditures section of DOR’s publication, The Revenue Impact of Arizona’s Tax
Expenditures, FY 2016/17. This document provides a complete listing of the sales tax exemptions and includes the
estimated FY 2017 revenue impact of each exemption (where available). Table 3 below lists exemptions with an
estimated revenue impact of at least $400 million in FY 2017. The complete list of tax expenditures is shown in
Attachment B at the end of Transaction Privilege Tax section.

Table 3
THE FY 2017 DOLLAR VALUE OF MAJOR SALES TAX EXEMPTIONS
Collections at a
Exemptions 5% Rate
Wholesale Trade $3,533,905,095
Health Care Services 2,078,542,301
Professional, Scientific and Technical Services 1,063,107,452
Financial Services 933,205,532
Administrative and Business Support Services 735,253,787
Prescription Drugs and Medical Oxygen 641,606,275
Commercial Lease 450,251,228
Other _2,564,602,813
Total $12,000,474,483
Source: DOR, The Revenue Impact of Arizona’s Tax Expenditures FY 2016/17

Tax Rates. Once the net tax base is computed, it is multiplied by the applicable tax rate to derive the total tax due.
The tax rates vary according to the business classification of the taxable activity. Most categories, however, are
taxed at the rate of 5.6%. Table 4 lists the tax rates for each classification. In addition, a complete list of sales tax
rates by all Arizona cities, including the tax rates levied by state, county, and city governments, is provided in
Attachment A at the end of this section [A.R.S. § 42-5010].

TAX REFUNDS AND/OR TAX CREDITS

Telecommunications Service Assistance Program. Local exchange telephone companies may claim a tax credit for
rate reductions given to elderly low-income persons [A.R.S. § 42-5016].

Accounting Credit. Taxpayers are allowed to claim a tax credit against their sales taxes for the expenses incurred
for accounting and reporting those taxes. Pursuant to Laws 2017, Chapter 60, the amount of the accounting credit
depends on whether the taxpayer files a paper return or uses electronic filing. For taxpayers that file paper
returns, the credit is 1.0% of the tax due, not to exceed $10,000 in any calendar year. For taxpayers that file
electronically, the credit is 1.2% of the tax due, not to exceed $12,000 in any calendar year [A.R.S. § 42-5017].

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

Due Dates. TPT is due to DOR every month on or before the 20th day of the month after the month in which the
tax accrues. For example, for taxable sales made in January, a tax payment is due to DOR by February 20 [A.R.S. §
42-5014].

Delinquency Dates. For taxpayers that are required or elect to file and pay electronically, tax payments are
delinquent if not received by DOR on or before the last business day of the month. (A business day is any day
except Saturday, Sunday, or a legal Arizona state holiday.) For taxpayers that file by mail or in person, tax
payments are delinquent if not received by DOR on or before the business day preceding the last business day of
the month [A.R.S. § 42-5014].
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Penalties. Any return that is not filed timely is subject to a late filing penalty. The late filing penalty is the greater
of 4.5% of the tax reported on the return, or $25. The penalty is added to the tax for each month or fraction of a
month elapsing between the due date of the return and the date on which the return is filed. The total penalty
cannot exceed the greater of 25% of the tax due, or $100 [A.R.S. § 42-1125].

Alternative Payment Schedules. DOR may authorize different payment schedules depending on the taxpayer’s
estimated tax liability or transient nature of the business.

e Taxpayers with an estimated annual tax liability of $2,000 or less may pay on an annual basis.

e Taxpayers with an estimated annual tax liability of between $2,000 and $8,000 may pay on a quarterly basis.

e Taxpayers whose business is of a “transient character” may be required to pay on a daily, weekly, or
transaction-by-transaction basis.

Electronic Tax Filing and Payment Requirements. Any business that has 2 or more locations or operates under 2 or
more business names is required to file and pay their taxes electronically. All other businesses have the option to
enroll to file and pay electronically. Laws 2017, Chapter 60 requires that businesses with an annual tax liability of
at least $20,000 in Calendar Year (CY) 2018 file and pay their taxes electronically. Chapter 60 lowers the tax
liability threshold for electronic filing and payments to $10,000 in CY 2019, $5,000 in CY 2020, and $500 in CY 2021
and subsequent years.

Estimated Tax Payments. Taxpayers who pay income taxes and whose business had an annual sales tax liability in
the preceding calendar year of $1.0 million or more must make a single estimated advance payment in June of
each year. Normally, the full June tax bill would be due on July 20. This estimated payment is in addition to the
regular June sales tax liability (which represents May sales). Laws 2010, 7" Special Session, Chapter 12 lowered
the threshold for estimated TPT payments from $1.0 million in annual sales tax liability to $100,000 for FY 2010
through FY 2012. Prior to FY 2007, the threshold for estimated payments was $100,000. Laws 2006, Chapter 351
increased the threshold to $1.0 million.

Table 4
TRANSACTION PRIVILEGE TAX CLASSIFICATIONS
A.R.S.
Exemption
Classification Statute Tax Rate  Distribution Base  Non-Shared Base % Education ¥
Retail 42-5061 5.6% 40% of first 5.0% 60% of first 5.0% 0.6% Increment
Transporting 42-5062 5.6% 20% of first 5.0% 80% of first 5.0% 0.6% Increment
Utilities 42-5063 5.6% 20% of first 5.0% 80% of first 5.0% 0.6% Increment
Telecommunications 42-5064 5.6% 20% of first 5.0% 80% of first 5.0% 0.6% Increment
Publication 42-5065 5.6% 20% of first 5.0% 80% of first 5.0% 0.6% Increment
Job Printing 42-5066 5.6% 20% of first 5.0% 80% of first 5.0% 0.6% Increment
Pipeline 42-5067 5.6% 20% of first 5.0% 80% of first 5.0% 0.6% Increment
Private Car Line 42-5068 5.6% 20% of first 5.0% 80% of first 5.0% 0.6% Increment
Commercial Lease 42-5069 0.0% 0% 0% None
Transient Lodging 42-5070 5.5% 50% 50% None
Personal Property Rental 42-5071 5.6% 40% of first 5.0% 60% of first 5.0% 0.6% Increment
Mining 42-5072 3.125% 32% 68% None
Amusement 42-5073 5.6% 40% of first 5.0% 60% of first 5.0% 0.6% Increment
Restaurant and Bar 42-5074 5.6% 40% of first 5.0% 60% of first 5.0% 0.6% Increment
Prime Contracting 42-5075 5.6% 20% of first 5.0% 80% of first 5.0% 0.6% Increment
Online Lodging Marketplace 42-5076 5.5% 50% 50% None
1/ Represents the portion of revenues that is designated for the distribution base.
2/ Represents the portion of revenues that is designated for the non-shared base.
3/ Represents the portion of revenues that is designated for education.
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Pursuant to A.R.S. § 42-5014, the estimated tax payment should equal either 1) one-half of the actual tax liability
for May of the current calendar year, or 2) the actual tax liability for the first 15 days of June of the current
calendar year. Estimated payments are due by June 20. In July of each year, those taxpayers that made estimated
payments in the preceding month may subtract the amount of June’s estimated payment from their July tax bill.

When the Estimated Payments program was first enacted in 1989 (pursuant to Laws 1989, 2" Special Session,
Chapter 1), the estimated payments provided a one-time increase of state revenues by advancing a portion of the
next fiscal year’s revenues into the current fiscal year. If the program were ever eliminated, as is periodically
proposed, it would result in a one-time loss of state revenues. This is because every July, taxpayers make a “claim”
for the preceding month’s estimated payment and every June, taxpayers make a counterbalancing estimated
payment. Eliminating the June payment leaves the July claim without a counterbalance — and the state with a one-
time revenue loss.

Collections. DOR was originally required (pursuant to Laws 2013, Chapter 255) to become the single point for
licensing, filing tax return, and paying state, county, and municipal TPT, beginning January 1, 2015. However, due
to the complexity of incorporating the cities’ requirements into DOR’s information technology system, the full
implementation of this requirement did not begin until January 1, 2017.

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2012.

2018 LAWS

Laws 2018, Chapter 17 requires municipalities that impose TPT or use tax on the sale of food for home or premises
consumption to apply the tax uniformly and without an additional tax or fee differential for any specific food item.
In addition, Chapter 17 prohibits a municipality from imposing TPT or use tax on: (1) manufacturing, wholesale or
distribution of food for home or premises consumption, and (2) any container or packaging used exclusively for
transporting, protecting or consuming food at home or on premises. (Effective August 3, 2018)

Laws 2018, Chapter 74 extends the additional 0.6% tax exclusively dedicated to education (originally approved by
voters in November 2000 as Proposition 301) from July 1, 2021 through June 30, 2041. Absent Chapter 74, the
additional 0.6% tax rate would have expired June 30, 2021. Moreover, Chapter 74 extends the low-income
individual income tax credit (authorized by Proposition 301) from TY 2021 through TY 2041. (Effective March 26,
2018)

Laws 2018, Chapter 104 was a correction bill that made technical and clarification changes to the Arizona Revised
Statutes. (Effective from August 3, 2018)

Laws 2018, Chapter 138 extends the due date for the Rio Nuevo Multipurpose Facilities District to operate and
receive state TPT distributions to July 1, 2035, or upon the completion of authorized debt service payments,
whichever occurs later. Prior to Chapter 138, the district was permitted to operate and receive state TPT
distributions to no longer than July 1, 2025. (Effective August 3, 2018)

Laws 2018, Chapter 189 requires all online lodging marketplaces to register with Department of Revenue (DOR) for
a TPT license for the purpose of remitting sales tax on online lodging transactions facilitated by them. (An online
lodging marketplace is any digital platform that provides, at a cost, an unaffiliated third-party with a platform to
rent lodging accommodations.) Prior to Chapter 189, which goes into effect January 1, 2019, an online lodging
marketplace is allowed to (as opposed to being required to) remit sales tax on its online lodging transactions.

Laws 2018, Chapter 190 makes the use of any automated sales suppression (or "zapper") software for tax evasion

purposes illegal and subject to a fine of no more than $500,000 for corporations and $100,000 for all others. While

fines will be deposited in a new fund established by the act (Tax Fraud Interdiction Fund), taxes, penalties, and

interest owed as a result of businesses using sales suppression software will be distributed in the same manner as
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for TPT. Combined, Chapters 189 and 190 are estimated to increase General Fund revenue by $10.0 million in FY
2019, followed by an additional $5.0 million annually, beginning in FY 2020.

Laws 2018, Chapter 249 specifies that the TPT and use tax exemptions for non-profit organizations associated with
a major league baseball team or a professional golfing association do not apply to organizations that are owned,
managed, or controlled by a major league baseball team, major league baseball association, or professional golfing
association, unless the organization operated exhibition events before January 1, 2018 that were exempt from TPT
under the amusement classification. (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2018)

Laws 2018, Chapter 263 exempts the sale of coal from state and municipal TPT and imposes a 0.5% county excise
tax on the sale of coal that has been mined or extracted within the county boundaries. Chapter 263 is conditional
upon the approval of the transfer of ownership of the Navajo Generating Station (NGS) by the Navajo Nation
Council on or before December 31, 2022. (The NGS is currently scheduled to close December 31, 2019.)

Laws 2018, Chapter 286 adds mobile food units to the restaurant classification of TPT and repeals the TPT
exemption for food sold by a retailer who uses a mobile facility, motor vehicle or similar conveyance. (Effective
August 3, 2018)

Laws 2018, Chapter 341 specifies that the prime contracting classification does not include any work performed by
a person who is not required to be licensed by the Registrar of Contractors. In addition, Chapter 341 removes the
following exceptions from the definition of "alteration": (1) projects in which the scope applies to more than 40%
of the square footage of the existing property, and (2) projects in which the scope involves expanding the square
footage of the existing property by more than 10%. (Effective January 1, 2019)

2017 LAWS

Laws 2017, Chapter 60 includes several provisions for electronic filing and payment of taxes to the Department of
Revenue (DOR). The act's main transaction privilege tax provisions are listed below.

e Requires electronic filing of TPT returns if the taxpayer's annual liability is at least: $20,000 in Calendar Year
(CY) 2018, $10,000 in CY 2019, $5,000 in CY 2020, and S500 in CY 2021 and subsequent years.

e Increases the TPT accounting credit from 1.0% to 1.2% of tax liability, or from a maximum annual credit of
$10,000 to $12,000, for taxpayers that file their TPT returns electronically. (Effective August 9, 2017)

e Changes the penalty for late filing of TPT returns from 4.5% of the taxpayer's liability to the greater of 4.5% of
the taxpayer's liability or $25. (Effective August 9, 2017)

e Changes the penalty for failure of filing TPT returns from 25% of the taxpayer's liability to the greater of 25%
of the taxpayer's liability or $100. (Effective August 9, 2017)

Laws 2017, Chapter 340 makes several changes to the existing Public Infrastructure Improvements program,
including the following: (1) provides that prime contracting state TPT revenues used for purposes of public
infrastructure improvement not be distributed until 10% of the qualifying capital investment has been made by a
qualifying manufacturing facility, (2) requires the manufacturing facility to file a sworn certification with the
Arizona Commerce Authority (ACA) within 180 days after commencement of buildings and associated
improvements, and (3) requires the manufacturing facility and the county or municipality to enter into a written
agreement before submitting the certification to ACA. There is no fiscal impact associated with these changes.
(Effective January 1, 2018)

Besides the changes to the existing Public Infrastructure Improvements program, Chapter 340 also exempts
aircraft sales from TPT if the aircraft is registered with a fractional ownership program that meets the
requirements of the Federal Aviation Administration. (Fractional ownership of aircraft refers to an arrangement
under which multiple owners share the costs of purchasing, leasing and operating an aircraft.) The fiscal impact of
this provision is currently unknown. (Effective January 1, 2018)
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2016 LAWS

Laws 2016, Chapter 35 authorizes the State Treasurer to withhold state-shared revenues from an offending local
jurisdiction. Chapter 35 directs the Attorney General to certify to the State Treasurer that the violation is resolved,
at which time distribution of state-shared revenue resumes. (Effective August 6, 2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 148 increases the initial and renewal terms for Indian tribe compacts to receive state TPT for
community colleges owned, operated or charted by a qualifying Indian tribe from 10 years to 20 years. (Effective
August 6, 2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 171 expands the TPT exemption for transportation network companies provided by Laws
2015, Chapter 235 to include vehicle for hire companies (taxis, livery vehicles, and limousines). The exemption
applies to both state and municipal TPT. The impact on state TPT is expected to be small. (Effective September 1,
2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 181 exempts aircraft built for agricultural use for the aerial application of pesticides or
fertilizer or for aerial seeding from state TPT and use tax. Chapter 181 is estimated to reduce General Fund
revenue by $(18,600) annually, beginning in FY 2017. (Effective August 6, 2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 208 establishes the Online Lodging Marketplace classification under state TPT. The tax base
for the Online Lodging Marketplace classification is the gross proceeds of sales from the business measured by the
total amount charged for an online transient lodging transaction by the online lodging operator. The tax rate
under the Online Lodging Marketplace classification is 5.5%. (Effective January 1, 2017)

Laws 2016, Chapter 223 exempts the leasing or renting of billboards from the personal property rental
classification of state TPT. Chapter 223 is estimated to reduce General Fund revenue by $(10,000) annually,
beginning in FY 2017. (Effective August 6, 2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 258 is an emergency measure that amends current statutes with respect to the method by
which state-shared revenues are apportioned among counties and municipalities, as described below.

Counties

Under current law, state-shared revenue is distributed to a county based on its population count as of the last
federal decennial census [A.R.S. § 42-5029(1)]. During the fifth year following the decennial census, a county may
contract with the U.S. Census Bureau to conduct a special census of the population of that county. Beginning on
July 1 in the sixth year following the decennial census, the result of the special census must be used as the basis for
apportioning state-shared revenue to that county until the next federal decennial census [A.R.S. § 42-5033].

If a special census is not conducted, Laws 2016, Chapter 258 provides a county the following 3 options, all of which
must be exercised before May 1 of the sixth year following a federal decennial census:

1. County submits its own population estimate as of the fifth year following the last decennial census, as
approved by the Office of Employment and Population Statistics.

2. County contracts with the U.S. Census Bureau to conduct a sample survey in order to produce a mid-decade
county population estimate.

3. County requests to continue to use the population count from the most recent U.S. decennial census.

If a county elects to use one of the options above, that population figure must be used (for purposes of
apportioning state-state shared revenue) in the sixth year following the decennial census through June 30 of the
year following the next decennial census.

Municipalities

Under current law, state-shared revenue is distributed to an incorporated city or town based on its population

count as of the last federal decennial census [A.R.S. § 42-5029(I)]. During the fifth year following the decennial

census, a city/town may contract with the U.S. Census Bureau to conduct a special census of the population of that
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municipality. Beginning July 1 in the sixth year following the decennial census, the special census must be used as
the basis for apportioning state-shared revenue to that municipality until the next federal decennial census [A.R.S.
§ 42-5033].

For purposes of apportioning state-shared revenue, Laws 2016, Chapter 258 provides a city/town the option to use
either the population count from the special census or the most recent population estimate from the U.S. Census
Bureau. However, Chapter 258 provides that the population count from the special census be used for only 1 year.
Beginning on July 1 in the second year following the special census, a city/town must use the most recent
population estimate from the U.S. Census Bureau. If a special census is not conducted, Chapter 258 requires a
city/town to use the most recent population estimate from the U.S. Census Bureau beginning on July 1 in the
second year following the decennial census through June 30 of the year following the next decennial census.

Laws 2016, Chapter 357 exempts natural gas transportation services sold to businesses that are principally
engaged in manufacturing or smelting operations from state TPT and use tax. Chapter 357 is estimated to reduce
General Fund revenue by $(870,000) annually, beginning in FY 2017. (Effective August 6, 2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 359 exempts liquefied petroleum gas (more commonly referred to as propane) sold to
businesses that are principally engaged in manufacturing or smelting operations from state TPT and use tax.
Chapter 359 is estimated to reduce General Fund revenue by $(91,000) annually, beginning in FY 2017. (Effective
September 1, 2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 361 exempts the sale of animal feed to a person who boards livestock non-commercially from
state TPT and use tax. Chapter 361 is estimated to reduce General Fund revenue by $(1.0) million annually,
beginning in FY 2017. (Effective August 6, 2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 367 exempts the sale of aircraft and aircraft equipment to charter airlines under certain
conditions from state TPT and use tax. The exemption is estimated to reduce General Fund revenue by $(2.3)
million annually, beginning in FY 2018. (Effective July 1, 2017)

Laws 2016, Chapter 368 exempts the sale of fine art at an auction or gallery to a nonresident, for use outside the
state, from state TPT. The exemption is estimated to reduce General Fund revenue by $(1.3) million annually,
beginning in FY 2017. (Effective September 1, 2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 369 provides numerous changes to the data center equipment exemption authorized by Laws
2013, 1%t Special Session, Chapter 9. Notably, Chapter 369 adds improvements to the expenses that qualify
towards the required minimum investment. In addition, Chapter 369 allows new data centers to obtain
certification as a sustainable redevelopment project. (Effective retroactively from September 13, 2013)

Laws 2016, Chapter 373 exempts the gross proceeds from entry fees paid to participate in noncompetitive races
sponsored by nonprofit organizations from state and municipal TPT. Chapter 373 is not expected to have any fiscal
impact. (Effective August 6, 2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 374 modifies the requirements to qualify for the existing state TPT and use tax exemption for
electricity and natural gas purchased by manufacturers and smelters. To qualify for the exemption under current
law (Laws 2014, Chapter 7), a business must use at least 51% of the electricity or natural gas purchased in
manufacturing or smelting operations. In addition, at least 51% of the business must be devoted to (“principally
engaged in”) a manufacturing or smelting operation. Laws 2016, Chapter 374 changes the current eligibility
requirements to one of the following: (1) at least 51% of the manufactured or smelted products are exported out
of state, (2) at least 51% of gross income is derived from sale of manufactured or smelted products, (3) at least
51% of a business’ square footage in Arizona is used for manufacturing or smelting, (4) at least 51% of a business’
workforce in Arizona is employed in manufacturing or smelting operations, or (5) at least 51% of the value of a
business’ assets in Arizona is used for manufacturing or smelting. Chapter 374 is estimated to reduce General
Fund revenue by $(7.0) million in FY 2017, followed by an additional reduction of $(7.0) million, beginning in FY
2018. (Effective January 1, 2017)
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2015 LAWS

Laws 2015, Chapter 4 clarifies and simplifies the implementation of the TPT tax reform measures (commonly
referred to as “TPT Simplification”) enacted by Laws 2013, Chapter 255 and further amended by Laws 2014,
Chapter 263. (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2015)

Laws 2015, Chapter 6 exempts the gross proceeds from sales of electricity and natural gas to the owner or
operator of a business certified by the Arizona Commerce Authority as an “International Opertions Center.” The
exemption is estimated to reduce General Fund revenue by $(1.3) million, beginning in FY 2017. (Effective August
1, 2015)

Laws 2015, Chapter 10 permits DOR to authorize contracted collectors to collect TPT accounts receivable in FY
2016 and FY 2017. DOR may use up to $2.0 million of the revenues collected by the contracted collectors to pay
for for their services. The additional TPT collectors are expected increase General Fund revenue by $32.6 million in
FY 2016 and $13.0 million in FY 2017. Moreover, Chapter 10 requires DOR to establish a tax amnesty program
from September 1, 2015 through October 31, 2015. The program, which is estimated to generate a total of $15.0
million (of which $3.3 million is expected to come from TPT) for the General Fund in FY 2016, waives civil penalties
and interest on unpaid tax liabilities for any period before January 1, 2014 for annual filers and February 1, 2015
for all other filers.

Laws 2015, Chapter 16 extends the deadline by which an Indian tribe must enter into a compact with the state to
receive TPT revenues for tribal community colleges from September 1, 2012 to September 1, 2017. (Effective July
3,2015)

Laws 2015, Chapter 72 exempts the leasing or renting of space to make attachments to utility poles from state and
municipal TPT. Fiscal impact is unknown. (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2015)

Laws 2015, Chapter 235 exempts Transportation Network Companies (TNC) with a permit and TNC drivers from
the transporting classification of TPT. (Effective July 3, 2015)

2014 LAWS

Laws 2014, Chapter 7 exempts gross proceeds from sales of electricity and natural gas to businesses that are
principally engaged in manufacturing and smelting operations from the state TPT and use tax. The exemption is
estimated to reduce General Fund revenue collections by $(14.6) million in FY 2015 and $(18.2) million in FY 2016.
(Effective August 1, 2014)

Laws 2014, Chapter 54 exempts the transfer of coal, back and forth, between a coal refinery and a power plant
from the state and municipal TPT and use tax if certain conditions are met. The act is not expected to have any
fiscal impact. (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2014)

Laws 2014, Chapter 121 specifies that any changes that cities make in their Model City Tax Code (MCTC) are void if
those changes are not shown in DOR’s official copy of the MCTC. (Effective retroactively from July 1, 1988, which is
the original effective date of the MCTC.)

Laws 2014, Chapter 141 requires DOR to allow TPT taxpayers with annual liabilities of less than $2,000 to pay taxes
annually and taxpayers with annual liabilities between $2,000 and $8,000 to pay quarterly. (Effective January 1,
2015)

Laws 2014, Chapter 228 exempts the gross proceeds from building a mixed waste processing facility from the
prime contracting tax. To qualify for the TPT exemption, the facility must be located on a municipal landfill and
constructed for the purpose of recycling solid waste or producing renewable energy from landfill waste. The act is
estimated to reduce General Fund revenue by $(183,600) in FY 2015, $(56,500) in FY 2016, and $(183,600) in FY
2017. (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2013)
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Laws 2014, Chapter 263 exempts from the state and municipal TPT the sales of restaurant meals to the elderly,
disabled, or homeless by restaurants that contract with the Department of Economic Security (DES) and are
approved under the federal Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP). To qualify for the exemption, the
meals must be paid with the benefits issued to SNAP recipients. The General Fund impact of this provision is
expected to be less than $(10,000) annually. (Effective January 1, 2015)

Laws 2014, Chapter 276 exempts personal property that is sold to a qualified health sciences educational
institution from state and municipal retail, publication, and job printing TPT and use tax. The act is estimated to
reduce General Fund revenue by $(196,400) in FY 2015 and $(471,400) in FY 2016. (Effective January 1, 2015)

2013 LAWS

Laws 2013, Chapter 27 provides a municipal TPT exemption for the leasing of real property between affiliated
companies, businesses, persons, and reciprocal insurers. (Effective September 13, 2013)

Laws 2013, Chapter 120 exempts orthodontic devices that are dispensed by a licensed dental professional to a
patient from state and municipal TPT. This act has no state General Fund impact. (Effective retroactively from
October 1, 2007)

Laws 2013, Chapter 153 specifies that machinery and equipment that is exempt from taxation under the retail
classification and that has independent functional utility is not considered taxable under the prime contracting
classification. Fiscal impact is unknown. (Effective retroactively from July 1, 1997)

Laws 2013, Chapter 233 exempts the sale of cash equivalents, such as gift cards and gift certificates, from taxation
under the retail classification. Any claim of TPT refund must be submitted to DOR on or before December 31,
2013. Total statewide refunds are limited to $10,000. (Effective retroactively from September 1, 1999)

Laws 2013, Chapter 236 exempts the leasing and renting of certified interlock devices from state and municipal
TPT. This provision is estimated to result in a General Fund revenue reduction of $(0.6) million, beginning in FY
2014. (Effective retroactively from September 1, 2004.) In addition, Chapter 236 exempts, retroactive to January
1, 2002, qualified destination management companies from state TPT. Chapter 236 also exempts energy drinks
from state TPT (Effective September 13, 2013). For a list of all tax provisions in Chapter 236, see Table 13 in the
Individual Income Tax section.

Laws 2013, Chapter 255 makes numerous statutory changes intended to simplify the administration of TPT.
Among the requirements of Chapter 255 is that DOR modifies its online portal on or before January 1, 2015. The
online portal is required to serve as a single point for licensing, filing a single tax return, and paying all state,
county, and municipal TPT. Chapter 255 also requires the Director of DOR and the cities and towns that levy TPT to
enter into agreements with each other to provide for unified and coordinated licensing, collection, and auditing
programs. In addition, the act exempts service contractors who work directly for the property owners and whose
work is limited to the maintenance, repair, or replacement of existing property from TPT under the prime
contracting classification. Instead, materials purchased as part of such service contract are subject to taxation
under the retail classification. The fiscal impact of Chapter 255 is uncertain and depends in large measures on the
underlying assumptions with respect to factors such as taxpayer non-compliance, materials as a percent of service
contracts, and the share of total contracting activity attributable to trade/service contracting and minor remodels.
Depending on these assumptions, Chapter 255 is estimated to result in a General Fund revenue gain of either $1.3
million or $36.6 million in FY 2016, the first full year of the act’s implementation. Additionally, JLBC is required to
prepare a report by September 30, 2016 on the estimated revenue impact of Chapter 255 on the state, counties,
cities and towns. (Effective January 1, 2015)

Laws 2013, 1% Special Session, Chapter 9 establishes a TPT and use tax exemption for equipment purchased by

owners, operators, or co-location tenants of computer data centers certified by the Arizona Commerce Authority.

To qualify for the exemption, newly constructed data centers located in Maricopa and Pima Counties must make a

minimum investment of $50 million over 5 years. The corresponding minimum investment requirement in other

counties is $25 million. Existing data centers, which made an investment of at least $250 million during the 6 years
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immediately preceding the act’s effective date, are eligible for the same exemption with respect to future
equipment purchases. Chapter 9 is expected to reduce General Fund revenues by $(4.2) million in FY 2014, $(6.0)
million in FY 2015, and $(7.9) million in FY 2016. (Effective September 1, 2013)

2012 LAWS

Laws 2012, Chapter 3 was the annual correction bill that made technical, conforming, and clarification changes to
the Arizona Revised Statutes. (Contained various effective dates)

Laws 2012, Chapter 170 conformed Arizona Revised Statutes to the provisions of Laws 2011, 2" Special Session,
Chapter 1, which created the Arizona Commerce Authority. (Effective August 2, 2012)

Laws 2012, Chapter 198 establishes the prepaid wireless telecommunications 911 excise tax. The tax is equal to
0.8% of the gross income derived from the retail sale of prepaid wireless telecommunications services. The
revenue generated from the tax will be deposited in the Emergency Telecommunications Services Revolving Fund.
(Effective January 1, 2014)

Laws 2012, Chapter 232 provides a TPT and use tax exemption for the portion of sales proceeds attributable to the
transfer of solar photovoltaic electricity from a retail electric customer to an electric utility distribution system.
Arizona’s major electric utility companies offer buyback programs to individuals who own solar photovoltaic
energy generating systems (such as solar panels). Under this type of buyback program, the electric ulitity company
redistributes excess electricity generated by an individual’s solar energy system, and then credits the value of the
redistributed electricity against the individual’s future energy consumption. Prior to Chapter 232, this type of
transaction was subject to TPT or use tax. The fiscal impact of Chapter 232 is unknown. (Effective retroactively
from January 1, 2007)

Laws 2012, Chapter 328 authorizes the State Treasurer to pay state prime contracting tax revenues generated
from qualifying projects to a city or county in order to fund up to 80% of the costs of public infrastructure
improvements (roads, water and wastewater facilities) needed to support the activities of a manufacturing facility
located in that city or county. The total amount of state tax dollars paid to cities and counties statewide under
Chapter 328 is capped at $50 million over 10 years. In order for a city or county to receive state prime contracting
tax monies, the manufacturing plant must make certain minimum capital investments depending on its location
(5500 million in Maricopa and Pima and $50 million in all other counties). The State Treasurer is not allowed to
make any payments to a city or county before July 1, 2014. The total amount of statewide distributions to cities
and counties is limited to $5 million in FY 2015. Monies for public infrastructure improvements are distributed
from the state and local share of prime contracting taxes generated from qualifying projects. (Effective from
October 1, 2013 through September 30, 2023)

Laws 2012, Chapter 331 extends existing tax incentives under the Healthy Forest program from 2014 through
2024. Additionally, Chapter 331 also eases program qualification requirements and establishes new tax incentives
for certified Healthy Forest Enterprises (HFE). Among the new incentives are TPT and use tax exemptions for
motor vehicle fuel and equipment replacement parts sold to qualified HFE’s. The fiscal impact of the TPT and use
tax incentives is currently unknown. (Effective August 2, 2012)

Laws 2012, Chapter 332 allows taxpayers who are required to pay municipal TPT and affiliated use taxes to “non-
program cities” (municipalities that are not under contract with DOR for tax collection services) to submit their
payments through an online portal (Effective August 2, 2012)

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2012 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/18taxbook/18taxbk.pdf.
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Attachment A - State and Local Retail TPT Rates (Updated April 19, 2018)

County County
2| s -
) w _§ = - E " = e § = = E .

Cilies by Counly Sate] 5 | 2 | =] 8 £ City | Total Rate |Cities by County State | ¢5 = 28] £ City | Total Rate

Apache County rMaricopa County
Eagar 59.60 050 - = T = 3.00 9.10 Scottsdale 5.60 - 050 jo20) - - 1.65 7.95
St. Johns 5.60 050} - = 5 = 3.00 9.10 Surprise 5.60 = 050 jo20] - = 2.20 8.50
Springerville 560 050 - - . 3.00 9.10 Tempe 5.60 - 050 jo20] - - 1.80 8.10

Cochise County Tolleson 5.60 - 0.50 J0.20 2.50 8.80
Benson 560 J0.50) - - - - 3.50 9.60 Wickenburg 5.60 - 050 jo.2o0]Q - - 2.20 8.50
Bisbee 5.60 | 0.50 - - - - .50 9.60 Youngtown 5.60 - 050 | 0.20 - - 3.00 9.30
Douglas 560 J0s0) - - - - 2.80 890 |Mohave County
Huachuca Gity 5.60 050 - = = = 1.50 7.60 Bullhead City 5.60 | 0.25 = - - - 2.00 7.85
Sierra Vista 5.60 J0.50) - - - - 1.95 8.05 Colorado City 5.60 | 0.25 - . . . 3.00 8.85
Tombstone 560 | 050 - - - - 3.50 9.60 Kingman 5.60 | 0.25 - - - - 3.50 9.35
Willcox 560 | 0.50) - - - - 3.00 9.10 Lake Havasu City 5.60 | 0.25 - - - - 2.00 7.85

Coconino County Navajo County
Flagstaff 5.60 | 0.50)0.30]0.50 = = 2.051 8.951 Helbrook 560 | 0.50 = - = = 3.00 9.10
Fredonia 5.60 | 0.50)0.3010.50 T = 4.00 10.90 Pinetop-Lakeside 5.60 | 0.50 = = - - 3.00 9.10
Page 5.60 | 0.50) 0.30]0.50 - - 3.00 9.90 Show Low 5.60 | 0.50 - - - - 2.00 8.10
Sedona 5.60 | 0.50) 0.30]0.50 - - 3.50 10.40 Snowflake 5.60 | 0.50 - - - - 2.00 8.10
Tusayan 5.60 | 0.50) 0.30]0.50 - - 2.00 8.90 Taylor 5.60 | 0.50 - - - - 2.00 8.10
Williams 5.60 | 0.50) 0.30]0.50 = - 3.50 10.40 Winslow 5.60 | 0.50 = = = - 3.00 9.10

Gila County |Pima County
Globe 5.60 | 0.50) 050 - o 5 2.30 8.90 Marana 5.60 = 0.50 E = o 2.50 8.60
Hayden 5.60 050 0500 - - - 3.00 9.60 Oro Valley 5.60 - 0.50 - - - 2.50 8.60
Miami 5.60 050 050) - - - 2.50 9.10 Sahuarita 5.60 - 0.50 . . . 2.00 8.10
Payson 5.60 050 050] - - - 3.00 9.60 South Tucson 5.60 - 0.50 - - - 4.50 10.60
Star Valley 5.60 | 0500500 - = = 2.00 8.60 Tucson 3.60 = 0.50 i - = 2.60 8.70
Winkelman 5.60 050 050] - - - 3.50 10.10  |Pinal County*

Graham Counly Apache Junction 5.60 J0.50) 1.00 - - 010 | 240 9.60
Pima 5.60 050 - 050 = = 2.00 8.60 Casa Grande 5.60 0501 1.00 = = 0.10 2.00 9.20
Safford 560 050 - J0O.50 - - 2.50 9.10 Coolidge 5.60 050 1.00 - - 010 3.00 10.20
Thatcher 560 050y - OS50 - - 2.50 9.10 Eloy 5680 050 1.00 - - 0.10 3.00 10.20

Greenlee County Florence 5.60 1050 1.00 = = 0.10 2.00 9.20
Clifton 9.60 J 050 - = = » 3.00 9.10 Kearny 9.60 10501 1.00 = ] 0.10 3.00 10.20
Duncan 5.680 | 0.50) - = n = 2.00 8.10 Mammoth 2.60 1 0.50) 1.00 C . Q.10 4.00 11.20

|La Paz County Marana 5.60 J0.50] 1.00 - = 1010 250 9.70
Parker 5680 1150} - 050 2 & 2.00 9.60 Maricopa 5.60 0501 1.00 = = 010 | 2.00 9.20
Quartzsite 5.60 150 - J0.50 = = 2.50 10.10 Queen Creek 5.60 J0.50) 1.00 = & 010 | 225 9.45

[Maricopa County Superior 560 0501 1.00 - - 010 | 4.00 11.20
Apache Junction 5.60 - |os50)0.20 - - 2.40 8.70 Winkelman 560 0501 1.00 - - 0.10 3.50 10.70
Avondale 560 - Jos0j020] - . 2.50 8.80 |Santa Cruz County
Buckeye 5.60 - 1050)0.20 = - 3.00 9.30 MNogales 5.60 | 0.50 = 0.50] - = 2.00 8.60
Carefree 5.60 - 1050)0.20 = = 3.00 9.30 Patagonia 5.60 | 0.50 = 050] - = 3.00 9.60
Cave Creek 560 ) - Josofjozo) - - 3.00 9.30 Yavapai County
Chandler 5.60 - |o50)0.20 - - 1.50 7.80 Camp Verde 5.60 | 0.50 - 025 - - 3.65 10.00
El Mirage 5.60 - |o50)0.20 - - 3.00 9.30 Chino Valley 5.60 | 0.50 - 0.25] - - 4.00 10.35
Fountain Hills 5.60 - |050)0.20 - - 2.60 890 Clarkdale 5.60 | 0.50 - 025] - - 3.00 9.35
Gila Bend 5.60 - 1050)0.20 = = 3.50 9.30 Cottonwood 5.60 | 0.50 = 0.25] - - 3.00 9.35
Gilbert 5.60 - |050)0.20 2 = 1.50 7.80 Dewey-Humbolkdt 5.60 | 0.50 = 0251 - = 2.00 8.35
Glendale 5.60 - 1050)0.20 : 2 2.90 9.20 Jerome 5.60 | 0.50 = 0.25) - = 3.50 9.85
Goodyear 5.60 - |o50)0.20 - - 2.50 8.80 Prescott 5.60 | 0.50 - 0.25] - - 2.75 9.10
Guadalupe 5.60 - |o50)0.20 - - 4.00 10.30 Prescott Valley 5.60 | 0.50 - 0.25] - - 283 9.18
Litchfield Park 5.60 - |o50)0.20 - - 2.80 9.10 Sedona 5.60 | 0.50 - 0.25] - - 3.50 9.85
Mesa 5.60 - Jos0)0.20 - - 1.75 8.05 Yuma County
Paradise Valley 5.60 - |950)0.20 = = 2.50 8.80 San Luis 5.60 | 0.50 = 050 - |o.n1z2] 4.00 10.71
Peoria 5.60 - |050)0.20 2 = 1.80 8.10 Somerton 5.60 | 0.50 = 050 - jo.n12] 3.30 10.01
Phoenix 5.60 - |050)0.20 - - 2.30 &8.60 Wellton 5.60 | 0.50 - 050 - Jo.112] 250 9.1
Queen Creek 5.60 = ] 0.50)0.20 = = 2.25 8.55 Yuma 3.60 | 0.50 = 0504 - jo.112] 1.70 8.41

Sources: Arizona Department of Revenue; Model City Tax Code

NOTE: If these rate tables are being used to remit taxes, please refer to the Arizona Department of Revenue website at www.azdor.gov.

*A lawsuit has been filed challenging the legality of Pinal County’s increased transportation excise tax approved by voters under Prop
417, For mors information, visit the Arizona Department of Revenue's website at hitps:/www.azdor.gov/ClassActionNotices.aspx.

Arizona Tax Research Association
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Attachment B

The following preliminary information on sales tax exemptions and credits for FY 2017 is provided by courtesy of DOR.

SUMMARY OF TRANSACTION PRIVILEGE AND USE TAX EXPENDITURES

FISCAL YEAR 2016/17
PREFERENTIAL TAX RATES:
Nonmetalliferous Mining; Oil and Gas Production $2,637,144
Commercial lease 450,251,228
TOTAL VALUE OF PREFERENTIAL TAX RATES $452,888,372
CREDITS:
Accounting credit $16,479,702

TRANSACTION PRIVILEGE AND USE TAX EXEMPTIONS — SAMPLE OF SERVICES:
PROFESSIONAL, SCIENTIFIC AND TECHNICAL SERVICES:

Legal

$184,949,223

Accounting, Tax Preparation, Bookkeeping and Payroll Services 81,993,339
Architectural and Engineering 205,679,207
Specialized Design Services 12,873,361
Computer System Design and Related Services 284,519,381
Management Consulting Services 107,054,409
Environmental Consulting Services 9,700,940
Other Scientific and Technical Consulting Services 17,369,860
Scientific Research and Development 46,873,302
Advertising, Public Relations and Technical Services 41,250,693
Other Professional, Scientific and Technical Services 70,843,738
TOTAL VALUE OF PROFESSIONAL, SCIENTIFIC AND TECHNICAL SERVICES $1,063,107,452
HEALTH CARE SERVICES:

Physicians $454,003,981
Dentists 121,940,571
Chiropractors 13,660,269
Optometrists 11,338,735
Mental Health Practitioners 6,943,804
Physical, Occupational and Speech Therapists 24,065,921
All Other Health Practitioners 14,897,793
Outpatient Care Centers 122,253,858
Medical and Diagnostic Labs 58,450,857
Home Health Services 54,382,600
Other Ambulatory Health Services 94,655,882
General Medical and Surgical Hospitals 810,136,127
Nursing Care Facilities 62,878,536
Residential Intellectual and Developmental Disability, Mental Health, and Substance

Abuse Facilities 33,910,494
Continuing Care Retirement Facilities and Assisted Living Facilities 57,652,614
Other Residential Care Facilities 6,600,124
Individual and Family Services 75,064,061
Community Food and Housing, and Emergency and Other Relief Services 33,590,485
Child Day Care Services 22,115,587
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| TOTAL VALUE OF HEALTH CARE SERVICES $2,078,542,301
ADMINISTRATIVE AND BUSINESS SUPPORT SERVICES:
Office Administrative $46,958,355
Facilities Support 33,297,755
Employment Services 225,508,901
Business Support 83,895,484
Travel Arrangement and Reservation 69,912,676
Investigation and Security 53,885,290
Services to Building and Dwellings 124,150,050
Other Support Services 33,962,508
Waste Collection 38,976,255
Waste Treatment and Disposal 9,395,018
Remediation and other waste management services 15,311,495
TOTAL VALUE OF ADMINISTRATIVE AND BUSINESS SUPPORT SERVICES $735,253,787
PERSONAL CARE SERVICES:
Barber $558,193
Beauty Salons 18,696,033
Nail Salons 3,198,040
Diet and Weight Reducing Centers 2,347,883
Other Personal Care 5,404,798
Death Care Services 9,295,402
Personal and Laundry Services 23,049,258
Pet Care (not Veterinary) 3,502,621
Photofinishing 847,143
Parking lot/Garages 11,030,718
Other Personal Services 4,044,066
TOTAL VALUE OF PERSONAL SERVICES $81,974,155
EDUCATIONAL SERVICES:
Business School/Computer/Management Training $9,374,095
Technical and Trade Schools 31,760,003
Other Schools and Instruction 14,746,356
Education Support Services 9,443,827
TOTAL VALUE OF EDUCATIONAL SERVICES $65,324,280
FINANCIAL SERVICES:
Credit Unions $43,600,655
Sales Financing 94,694,891
Mortgage and Nonmortgage Loan Brokers 9,830,807
Financial Transaction Processing and Clearing 65,465,417
Other Activities Related to Credit Intermediation 14,145,203
Securities Brokerage 116,773,873
Portfolio Management 47,378,391
Investment Advice 35,553,156
Other Financial Investment Activities 505,763,137
TOTAL VALUE OF FINANCIAL SERVICES $933,205,532

OTHER SERVICES:

Automotive Repair and Maintenance

105,280,207

Electronic and Precision Repair and Maintenance 13,577,059
Commercial, Industrial Machinery Repair and Maintenance 27,600,549
Personal and Household Goods Repair and Maintenance 5,634,071
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Religious, Grantmaking, Civic, Professional and similar Organizations 113,816,000
TOTAL VALUE OF OTHER SERVICES $265,907,886
TRANSACTION PRIVILEGE AND USE TAX EXEMPTIONS — ALL OTHER:

Wholesale trade (503) $3,533,905,095
Cash discounts (708) 11,873,190
Trade-ins (711) 24,933,751
Services provided by a retailer (549) 198,812,231
Business activity on a Reservation for a Enrolled Native American or Tribal entity (570) 12,335,085
Sale of postage stamps at face value (716) NIAl
Sales to Foreign diplomats (777) NIA
Sale of warranty or service contracts (542) 23,944,620
Sale of tangible personal property by a nonprofit organization (725) 470,642
Sale of an aircraft sold to a carrier, government or nonresident (507) 1,212,693
Sale of stocks and bonds (no deduction code) NIA
Prescription drugs and medical oxygen (536) 641,606,275
Prosthetic appliances (559) 12,869,392
Insulin, insulin syringe and glucose test strips (533) 68,214
Prescription eyeglasses and contact lenses (590) 3,372,063
Hearing aids (594) 979,317
Durable medical equipment (526) 23,505,387
Sales to nonresidents for use outside Arizona if the property is shipped or delivered

outside the state (541) 39,596,526
Food for home consumption (506 and 513) 359,337,787
Textbooks that are required by any state university or community college (505) $2,425,927
Meals provided to Employee of restaurants (568) NIA2
Food used in school lunches (569) 3,057,815
Sale of Arizona lottery tickets (521) 42,603,325
Precious metal bullion and monetized bullion (567 and 601) 2,950,100
Sales of vehicle fuel and aviation fuel (515) 171,927,497
Tangible personal property sold to Personal property leasing business to lease (571) 1,497,109
Tangible personal property sold in interstate or foreign commerce (504) 259,431,738
Tangible personal property sold to a qualifying hospital or a qualifying health care

organization or sold to or purchased by qualifying community health centers and health

care organizations (545, 546, 572, 574) 44,696,146
Tangible personal property sold to a nonprofit organization which regularly serves meals

to the needy and indigent (544) 823,513
Tangible personal property sold to a nonprofit organization which provides housing for

low-income persons over 62 years of age (573) NIA
Tangible personal property sold to Qualifying Health Sciences Educational Institution

(699) NIA
Magazines or other periodicals or publications to encourage tourist travel (602) NIA
Sale of articles to a contractor for incorporation or fabrication under a contract or for

environmental response or remediation (552 and 589) 7,484,674
Tangible personal property sold to a Subcontractor for incorporation into a Prime

Contracting project (584) 147,050
Exempt motor vehicle sales for certain nonresidents (580) 54,202
Exempt motor vehicle sales for Native Americans (530) 1,443,975

1 No Information Available.
2 No Information Available.
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Tangible personal property purchased by a nonprofit charitable organization that uses

such property for training, etc., for mentally or physically handicapped persons (575) 69,629
Tangible personal property sold by a nonprofit organization associated with a major

league baseball team or a national touring professional golf association (762) 206,496
Tangible personal property sold by a nonprofit organization associated with a rodeo

featuring primarily farm and ranch animals (763) NIA
Sales of commodities under futures contracts consigned to a warehouse for resale (583) 131,530
Seeds, seedlings, etc., to commercially produce agricultural, horticultural, viticultural or

floricultural crops in Arizona (537) 1,652,809
Machinery, equipment and certain supplies used to assist the physically or

developmentally disabled or those persons with head injuries (525) $3,077,315
Sales of natural gas or liquefied petroleum gas used to propel a vehicle (509) 1,736,766
Paper machine clothing used or consumed in paper manufacturing (586) NIA3
Machinery, equipment, utility product, materials and other tangible personal property

used to construct a qualified environmental technology facility (607) 73,018
Sales of coal, petroleum, coke, natural gas, virgin fuel oil and electricity to an

environmental technology facility (511) 788,748
Sales of liquid, solid or gaseous chemicals used in manufacturing, processing, fabricating,

mining, refining, metallurgical operations or research or development (510) 8,662,075
Sales of food or drink consumed on the premises of a jail or prison (514) 400,663
Motor vehicles and any tangible personal property or repair that becomes a part of the

motor vehicles sold to a licensed motor operator that lease or rent the property (528) 4,403,902
Livestock, poultry feed, salts, vitamins for livestock or poultry consumption (520) 7,880,314
Sale or purchase of implants used as growth promotants and injectable medicine (516) NIA
Sales of motor vehicles at auction to nonresidents of Arizona for use outside Arizona

(529) 5,732,040
Personal hygiene products which are furnished to and to be consumed by hotel

occupants (534 and 566) NIA
Sales or purchases of alternative fuel to a used oil fuel burner (587) NIA
Printed, photographic, electronic or digital media materials for use in publicly funded

libraries (519) 317,390
Tangible personal property consisting of food, beverages and condiments sold to or

purchase by a commercial airline (512) 192,228
Sale of new alternative fuel vehicles and conversion equipment (592) NIA
Sale of spirituous, vinous or malt liquor by a liquor wholesaler (588) NIA
Tangible personal property by a nonprofit that produces, organizes or promotes cultural

or civic related festivals (764) 361,077
Application services designed to assess or test student learning (596) 121,940
Sale of motor vehicle fuel and use fuel to a Healthy Forest business (598) NIA
Sale of repair parts in equipment used by a Healthy Forest business (603) 1,623,844
Sales or transfer of renewable energy credits (604) 243,861
Sales of computer data equipment for use in a certified computer data center (565) 359,585
Sales of orthodontic devices dispensed by a dental professional (582) NIAZ
Property sold to a Contractor for a MRRA project on an Indian Reservation (712) $418,229
Works of fine art sold to nonresidents and used outside of the state (773) 210,637
Machinery or equipment used directly in manufacturing, processing, fabricating, job

printing, refining or metallurgical operations (522) 29,230,895
Sale of machinery or equipment used in mining and in drilling for or extracting oil or gas

from the earth (523 and 579) 14,761,624

3 No Information Available.

4 No Information Available.
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Certain equipment used in the telecommunications industry (539) 612,884
Machinery, equipment or transmission lines used directly in producing or transmitting
electrical power (524) 3,981,890
Neat animals, horses, asses, sheep, swine or goats used or to be used as breeding or
production stock (605) 188,135
Pipes or valves 4” in diameter used to transport oil, natural gas, artificial gas, water or
coal slurry (535) 577,449
Certain aircraft, navigational and communication instruments (508) 10,493,195
Machinery, tools, equipment used in repairing, remodeling or maintaining aircraft,
aircraft engines or aircraft component parts (532) 305,337
Railroad rolling stock, rails, ties and signal control equipment used to transport persons
or property for hire (576) 92,959
Buses or other urban mass transit vehicles used to transport persons for hire or pursuant
to a governmentally adopted and controlled urban mass transportation program (606) NIA
Certain groundwater measuring devices and their installation (581) NIA
New machinery and equipment used for commercial production of agricultural,
horticultural, viticultural and floricultural crops (585) 554,545
Machinery or equipment used in research and development (553) 2,285,303
Tangible personal property used by a direct broadcast satellite television or data
transmission service or facility (591) NIA
Clean rooms used for manufacturing, processing, fabrication or research and
development (595) 1,299,175
Machinery or equipment for poultry and egg production (577)

NIA
Machinery and equipment used by agriculture to prevent, monitor, control or reduce
pollution (597) NIA
Machinery and equipment to prevent pollution for farming and ranching (599) NIA
Digital television machinery and equipment purchases for compliance with the
Telecommunications Act of 1996 (578) NIA
Machinery and equipment sold or rented to a healthy forest certified business (554) NIA
Federal luxury excise tax on heaving trucks and trailers (609) NIAS
Sales made to the U S Government by a manufacturer, modifier, assembler or repairer
(547) $31,319,600
Sales of component parts made to a manufacturer, modifier, assembler or repairer for
sale to the U S Government (543) 4,614,918
Sales of overhead materials used in a contract between the U S Government and a
manufacturer, modifier, assembler or repairer (611) 470,597
50% of retail sales made to U S Government; 100% of Use Tax (548) 5,638,580
Gross income from motor vehicle manufacturer’s cash rebates if assigned to the retailer
(501) 14,628,023
Gross income derived from the waste tire disposal fee (613) 76,652
Sales of solar energy devices (538) 31,949,970
Sales of wireless telecommunication equipment as an inducement to enter into or
continue a contract for telecommunication services or sales commissions received (614) 75,714
Sales of motor vehicle to a nonresident from a state with a lower tax rate (531) 2,418,947
Transportation by vehicles subject to fees paid to MVD (715) 702,304
Transportation network company’s income or fees or driver’s income (772) NIA
Vehicle for hire company’s income or driver’s income (778) 82,126
Transportation of persons by air if taxation is prohibited by Federal Law (615) 2,027,354
Ambulances or ambulance services (no deduction code) NIA

5 No Information Available.
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Public transportation services for dial-a-ride programs and special needs transportation

services (no deduction code) NIA
Gross proceeds for transporting freight or property by an exclusively Arizona railroad for

portions of single shipments involving other railroads (616) 1,053,167
Gross proceeds for arranging transportation as a convenience or service to a customer if

the business is not engaged in the transportation business (no deduction code) NIA
Gross proceeds of sales or gross income derived from transporting for hire persons,

freight or property by a railroad pursuant to a contract with another railroad (620) NIA
Sales taxed under another business code (640) 245,738
Sales of transportation or amusement activities arranged by another business that is

exempt (612) 746,779
Sales of transportation or amusement activities arranged and taxed by another (702) 99,543
Gross proceeds of sales or gross income derived from transporting fertilizer by a railroad

from a point in Arizona to another point in Arizona (625) NIAG
Sales of electric services to a retail electric customer who is located outside Arizona for

Delivery and use outside Arizona (617) NIA
Rental of space on utility poles (759) NIA
Sales from transfer of electricity by a retail electric customer to an electric distribution

system (618) NIA
Development fees charged by a municipally owned utility (621) $298,216
Revenue received by any person owning a utility system in the form of reimbursement or

compensation for property and equipment installed to provide utility access to, on or

across land of any actual utility consumer (626) NIA
Interstate sales of electricity, natural gas and water NIA
Interstate telecommunications services (643) 900,539
Sales of intrastate telecommunications services by a cable television system or by a

microwave television transmission system (no deduction code) NIA
Sales of internet access services (517) 1,341,207
Sales of intrastate telecommunications services to a direct broadcast satellite television

or data transmission service (619) NIA
End-user common line charges and carrier access charges established by federal

communications regulations (641 and 627) 219,273
Sales of direct broadcast satellite television services (633) DNR7
Telecommunications services purchased with a prepaid calling card (649) NIA
Manufacturing or publishing books (no deduction code) NIA

Gross income of publications derived from advertising (628)

Included in services

Sales to a person distributing printing, engraving, embossing or copying without

consideration in connection with the publication of a newspaper or magazine (630) NIA
Sales of job printing, engraving, embossing and copying for use outside Arizona if the

materials are shipped or delivered out of the state (637) 1,284,907
Sales of postage and freight (561) 700,004
Leasing a mobile home for more than 29 days (629) 1,326,094
Leasing or renting 4 or fewer rooms of an owner-occupied residence bed and breakfast

with less than 50% average annual occupancy (636) NIA
Transient lodging sales or activities that are exempt (704) 1,087,197
Transient lodging sales or activities that are exempt under the Amusement or

Transporting classifications (701) NIA
Commissions paid in the Transient Lodging classification (648) NIAS

6 No Information Available.
7 Data Not Releasable.

8 No Information Available.
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Transient lodging sales for lodging for more than thirty days (718) $655,359
Leasing films, tapes or slides used by theaters or movies or used by television stations or

radio stations (784) NIA
Amusement activities sponsored by the Arizona exposition and state fair board (785) NIA
Lease of tangible personal property by a parent to a subsidiary or by a subsidiary to

another subsidiary (631) 359,401
Operating coin-operated washing, drying and dry-cleaning machines or car washing

machines (786) NIA
Leasing or renting aircraft or training equipment by a nonprofit school offering aviation

and aerospace degrees (787) NIA
Leasing or renting photographs, transparencies, etc. used by Arizona on the internet, in

magazines or other publications encouraging tourism (651) NIA
Leasing for billboards that are visible from any street (774) NIA
Leasing or renting certified ignition interlock devices (no deduction code) NIA
Vehicle registration fee reimbursements (656) 73,818
Leasing or renting a motor vehicle if the motor carrier fee has been paid (660) 3,570,708
Amounts received by a motor vehicle dealer for the 15t month of a lease payment if the

lease is transferred to a third party (556) 571,776
Car rental surcharge charges (680) NIA
Freight charges relating to nonmetalliferous mineral products (652) NIA
Process cost on nonmetalliferous mineral products shipped out of state (658) 836,039
Private or group instructional activities (657) 775,386
Monthly membership fees (527) 3,136,162
Musical, dramatic or dance groups or a botanical garden, museum or zoo that qualifies as

a nonprofit charitable organization (no deduction code) NIA
Sales of admissions to intercollegiate football contests (no deduction code) NIA
Fees and assessments received by a home owners organization (no deduction code) NIA
Arranging an amusement activity as a service to a person’s customers (no deduction

code) NIA
Pari-mutuel and purse monies (661) 386,190
Transient Lodging recreational establishment membership fees (666) 269,245
Sale to transient lodging business for resale (670) 181,750
Entry fees for 501c3 organizations’ run, walk, swim, ride, or similar events (735) NIA
Gratuities distributed to servers or service employees (724) $210,023
Sales by Congressionally-chartered veterans organization of food or drink (744) 50,848
Sales by churches, fraternal benefit societies and other nonprofit organizations which

don’t regularly engage or continue in the restaurant business for the purpose of fund

raising (no deduction code) NIAS
Restaurant sales to a school district (662) NIA
Prime Contracting income from out of state projects (681) 7,568,979
Sale of used manufactured buildings (562) 72,386
Sale for resale to another manufactured building dealer (668) 119,639

35% Deduction from Prime Contracting Base (502)

151,465,573

Purchase by a Prime Contractor of machinery, equipment or other tangible personal
property by a that is exempt under another classification (608, 622, 623, 624, 632, 635,

639, 644, 645, 646, 653, 654, 665, 672, 674, 675, 676, 677, 678, 679, 685, 697, 706, 799) 14,776,257
Land Deduction (518) 16,696,837
Furniture and Appliances not incorporated into a Manufactured building (663) NIA
Contracting in a military reuse zone for a manufacturer, assembler or fabricator of

aviation or aerospace products (667) NIA

9 No Information Available.
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Gross proceeds of sales from a contract to install, assemble, repair or maintain

machinery that does not become permanently attached (600) 1,851,366
Income from contracts for construction of facilities for raising egg producing poultry or

the production and packaging of eggs (683) 1,774,779
Income from contracts for construction of a launch site (698) NIA
Income from contracts for construction of a domestic violence shelter (673) NIA
Gross proceeds from contracts to perform post-construction treatment of real property

for termite and general pest control (686) 169,746
Gross proceeds from contracts to certain state university research infrastructure projects

(696) NIA
Gross proceeds from construction contracts for healthy forest business (555) 58,872
Gross proceeds from development or impact fees (560) 1,364,316
Gross proceeds from construction of a mixed waste processing facility located on a

municipal solid waste landfill (719) NIA
Subcontracting income (550) 308,212,610
Lawn maintenance services (689) 1,297,246
Cost of architectural or engineering service (557) 3,025,567
Manufactured building delivered out of state (694) NIA
Construction Design phase or professional services (690) 4,245,179
Maintenance, repair, replace or alteration contract with a property owner (500) $129,494,024
Credit for tax paid to an equivalent jurisdiction (684) DNR10
Component parts for a manufactured product for resale (687) 1,950,367
Tangible personal property not exceeding $200 purchased by an individual at retail

outside the continental U.S. — USE TAX ONLY (693) NIAll
Advertising Supplements (688) NIA
Tangible personal property purchased by a nonprofit charitable organization from the

parent or affiliate organization located out of state — USE TAX ONLY (695) 263,182
Motor vehicles removed from inventory and provided to charitable or educational

institutions or state universities or their affiliated organization — USE TAX ONLY (703) 71,006
Tangible personal property which directly enters into or becomes an ingredient or part of

cards used as prescription plan identification cards — USE TAX ONLY (705) NIA
Liquefied natural gas used to fuel compressor equipment — USE TAX ONLY (563) NIA
Tangible personal property exempt under the Utility classification (707) 494,089
Purchase price of electricity bought by a retail electric customer from a utility when tax is

paid under utility classification (709) 72,355
Purchase price of electricity or natural gas by a manufacturer or smelting operations

(710) 3,515,812
Purchase price of electricity or natural gas by a business that operates an international

operations center that is certified by the Arizona Commerce Authority (783) NIA
Sales to Direct Pay permit holder (692) 607,555
3% of tax collected for 911 tax on prepaid wireless products (564) 212,875
Leasing between affiliated companies (634) 4,037,211
Rentals of personal property shipped & used exclusively out-of-state (593) 3,015,359
TOTAL VALUE OF ALL OTHER TRANSACTION PRIVILEGE AND USE TAX EXEMPTIONS $6,307,791,03612
TOTAL QUANTIFIABLE TRANSACTION PRIVILEGE AND USE TAX EXPENDITURES13 $12,000,474,483
Value of exemptions from the Proposition 301 — Education Tax $1,440,056,938

10 pata Not Releasable.
11 No Information Available.
12 |Includes the value of exemptions that were not releasable.

13 This amount represents foregone revenue to the state general fund, counties and incorporated cities and towns.
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DESCRIPTION

The use tax is assessed on items purchased in other states and brought into Arizona for storage, use, or
consumption, and for which no tax (or tax at a lesser rate) has been paid in another state. The use tax serves to
protect Arizona retailers from out-of-state competition by attempting to ensure that in-state and out-of-state
purchases are taxed at an equal rate.

In June 2010, the use tax rose from 5.6% to 6.6%, with the additional 1.0% dedicated exclusively to public primary
and secondary education, health and human services, and public safety. The tax increase, which lasted through
May 2013, was not subject to the regular use tax distribution. This rate increase was approved by voters on May
18, 2010 and is commonly known as Proposition 100 [please see the Transaction Privilege Tax (TPT) section of this
book for additional information].

In June 2001, the use tax rate had previously risen from 5.0% to 5.6%, with the extra 0.6% being dedicated to
education. This tax increase, which is in effect through June 30, 2021, was approved by voters in November 2000
under Proposition 301. Laws 2018, Chapter 74 extends the additional 0.6% education sales tax through June 30,
2041. (For more details on Laws 2018, Chapter 74, see the Transaction Privilege Tax section.)

DISTRIBUTION

Almost all use tax revenues are deposited in the General Fund. Twenty percent of the revenue collected from the
use tax on electricity purchased from electricity suppliers is designated as distribution base. The remaining 80% is
deposited in General Fund [A.R.S. § 42-5164]. The use tax collected from utilities makes up less than 1% of total
use tax collections.

Table 1
COLLECTIONS
Fiscal Year State General Fund Fiscal Year State General Fund
2018 $327,200,971 2008 $340,535,252
2017 $300,875,454 2007 $303,010,863
2016 $283,352,073 2006 $303,198,808
2015 $281,143,731 2005 $259,615,656
2014 $235,984,933 2004 $232,216,222
2013 $257,899,313 2003 $189,684,520
2012 $263,724,399 2002 $162,022,998
2011 $229,250,912 2001 $196,147,647
2010 $271,763,845 2000 $175,730,649
2009 $292,698,574 1999 $147,642,017

SOURCE: Department of Revenue (DOR), Annual Reports.

WHO PAYS

Individuals and Businesses

The tax is paid by persons who make retail purchases of tangible personal property outside this state and store,
use, or consume the item in Arizona. If a sales tax has already been paid on the item in another state, the Arizona
use tax does not apply. The use tax is due, for example, when an Arizona resident purchases goods over the
Internet from an out-of-state retailer and has the item delivered to this state (see the Internet Taxation section in
the TPT section of this book). In practice, the use tax is primarily paid by businesses. Individuals are also liable for
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the use tax but rarely pay it, because individuals are often unaware of the tax or are unwilling to “voluntarily”
report a taxable transaction [A.R.S. § 42-5155].

Tribal Members and Businesses

Purchases made on the reservation by Indian tribal members are not subject to the use tax. This exclusion applies
to affiliated Indian members who have been adopted into the tribe and who have attained full and unrestricted
membership privileges in that tribe.

Purchases made on the reservation by non-Indian or non-affiliated Indians are subject to the use tax if the
property will be stored, used, or consumed in Arizona.

Purchases made by Indian tribal members off the reservation are subject to the use tax. Sales of tangible personal
property to an Indian tribal member, however, are not subject to the use tax if the solicitation, delivery and
payment of the goods take place on the reservation.

There are no specific statutory references related to the imposition of Arizona state use tax on tribal members.
Thus, to facilitate the administration of state use tax on Indian reservations, DOR has adopted use tax rulings based
on the decisions in several court cases. The most recent ruling, which is reflected in the description above, was
issued in April 1995 and is referred to as TPR 95-11.

REVENUE BASE AND RATE

The revenue base is the sales price of tangible personal property purchased at retail in another state and brought
to Arizona for storage, use, or consumption. Statute mentions a few special cases in which the use tax is also
applicable, including tangible personal property provided under the conditions of a warranty or service contract,
motor vehicles removed from inventory, and motor vehicles used by motor vehicle manufacturers [A.R.S. § 42-
5155 —5158].

As with the retail sales tax, the law provides a number of exemptions from the use tax. The effect of these
exemptions is to reduce the size of the use tax base [A.R.S. § 42-5155].

The current use tax rate is 5.6%, the same as the TPT rate for retail sales. However, if the item has already been
taxed in another state at a rate less than 5.6%, the use tax rate is reduced by the amount of the tax already
imposed by the other state [A.R.S. § 42-5155 and § 42-5159].

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

Use taxes are due to DOR on the 20th day of the month after the month in which the tax accrues. For example, for
taxable sales made in January, the tax payment is due to DOR by February 20 [A.R.S. § 42-5162].

Tax payments are delinquent if not received by DOR on or before the business day preceding the last business day
of the month [A.R.S. § 42-5162]. (A business day is any day except Saturday, Sunday, or a legal Arizona state
holiday.)

DOR may allow taxpayers whose estimated annual use tax liability is between $500 and $1,250 to make quarterly
tax payments. Also, DOR may permit taxpayers with an estimated annual tax liability of less than $500 to make an
annual payment. If good cause is shown, DOR can allow a 2-month extension for filing the tax return [A.R.S. § 42-
5162].

Electronic filing and payment requirements are the same as for the Transaction Privilege Tax (TPT) [A.R.S. § 42-
5014].
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IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2012.

There were no changes enacted to this tax in the period from 2013 through 2018.
2012 LAWS

Laws 2012, Chapter 323 repealed the use tax declaration requirement on the individual income tax return enacted
by Laws 2011, Chapter 128. Chapter 323 did not repeal, however, the individual’s requirement to pay use tax on
out-of-state purchases. The act is estimated to reduce use tax revenues by $(1.8) million in FY 2013. (Effective
retroactively from January 1, 2012)

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2012 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/18taxbook/18taxbk.pdf.
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SEVERANCE TAX ON METALLIFEROUS MINERALS

DESCRIPTION

The severance tax on metalliferous minerals (copper or other metals) is levied on the production or extraction
from the earth of minerals. The tax rate is 2.5%, and it is applied to 50% of the difference between the gross value
of production and the production costs.

DISTRIBUTION
Eighty percent of metalliferous minerals tax revenue is designated as distribution base, and is distributed as

described in the Transaction Privilege Tax (TPT) section of this book. The remaining 20% is designated for the
General Fund. Of the distribution base monies, 34.49% is allocated to the General Fund, 40.51% is designated to

the counties, and 25% goes to the cities [A.R.S. § 42-5205].

Table 1
COLLECTIONS AND DISTRIBUTION
Fiscal Year General Fund Cities Counties Total
2018 $11,689,484 $4,912,373 $7,960,010 $18,377,156
2017 $8,746,056 $3,675,431 $5,955,669 $18,377,156
2016 $7,232,083 $3,039,201 $4,924,722 $15,196,006
2015 $11,832,303 $4,972,391 $8,057,263 $24,861,957
2014 $12,464,109 $5,237,901 $8,487,495 $26,189,505
2013 $14,196,409 $5,965,880 $9,667,113 $29,829,402
2012 $19,311,779 $8,115,557 $13,150,448 $40,577,783
2011 $19,149,246 $8,047,254 $13,039,770 $40,236,270
2010 $13,848,584 $5,819,711 $9,430,259 $29,098,554
2009 $8,666,537 $3,642,014 $5,901,520 $18,210,071
2008 $20,822,267 $8,750,323 $14,179,023 $43,751,613
2007 $20,725,843 $8,709,801 $14,113,362 $43,549,006
2006 $14,486,992 $6,087,995 $9,864,986 $30,439,973
2005 $7,804,650 $3,279,819 $5,314,617 $16,399,086
2004 $3,112,796 $1,308,118 $2,119,674 $6,540,588
2003 $539,399 $224,889 $361,945 $1,126,233
2002 $(49,954) $(21,400) $(35,237) $(106,591)
2001 Y $56 $1,609,331 $2,607,994 $4,217,380
2000 $3,554,565 $3,237,959 $5,247,042 $12,039,566
1999 $8,914,656 $3,746,283 $6,070,478 $18,731,417

1/ Note Laws 1999, 1% Special Session, Chapter 5.

SOURCE: Department of Revenue, Annual Reports.

WHO PAYS

The tax is paid by “severers,” or persons engaged in the business of mining metalliferous minerals from the earth
[A.R.S. § 42-5202 and § 42-5201].
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REVENUE BASE AND RATE

The severance tax on metalliferous minerals is levied at the rate of 2.5% on a tax base that is 50% of the difference
between the gross value of production and the production costs [A.R.S. § 42-5202 and § 42-5204].

Metalliferous minerals are defined as copper, gold, silver, or other metals or ores that are mined in this state
[A.R.S. § 42-5201].

The tax does not apply to metalliferous products sold at retail [A.R.S. § 42-5203]. These items are taxed under TPT.
PAYMENT SCHEDULE

Payments for this tax are due on the same schedule as for the Transaction Privilege Tax (TPT) [A.R.S. § 42-5205].
Electronic filing and payment requirements are the same as for TPT [A.R.S. § 42-5014].

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2012.

There were no changes enacted to this tax from 2012 through 2018.

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2012 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/18taxbook/18taxbk.pdf.
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JET FUEL EXCISE AND USE TAX

DESCRIPTION

The jet fuel excise tax is a tax levied on the retail sale of jet fuel. The jet fuel use tax is a tax levied on the storage,
use, or consumption in the state of jet fuel purchased from a retailer [A.R.S. § 42-5352].

DISTRIBUTION

Through FY 2017, 40% of the excise tax revenue collected was designated as distribution base, and was distributed
as described in the Transaction Privilege Tax (TPT) section of this book. Sixty percent of the excise tax revenue,
and 100% of the use tax revenue, was credited directly to the state General Fund [A.R.S. § 42-5353]. Tables 1 and
2 below provide a history of jet fuel excise tax and use tax distributions over the last 20 years.

Effective August 9, 2017, Laws 2017, Chapter 312 provides that 100% of jet fuel excise and jet fuel use tax
collections be deposited in the State Aviation Fund. To hold the General Fund, cities and counties harmless,
Chapter 312 provides that monies received from the aircraft license tax (pursuant to A.R.S. § 28-8345) be
distributed as follows:

e 50% to the state General Fund
e 9.5% to counties based on proportion of total state population
e 5.5% to incorporated cities and towns based on proportion of total state population

Chapter 312 provides that the remaining 35% to the aircraft license tax be deposited in the State Aviation Fund.
(For more details, see the Aircraft License Tax section.)

Table 1
DISTRIBUTION OF JET FUEL EXCISE TAX

Fiscal Year General Fund Cities Counties Total

2018 $304,997 $41,330 $66,971 $413,298
2017 $2,682,036 $363,439 $588,917 $3,634,392
2016 $3,166,950 $429,149 $695,394 $4,291,492
2015 $2,913,538 $394,810 $639,750 $3,948,098
2014 $2,181,056 $301,707 $534,309 $3,017,072
2013 $2,637,640 $362,379 $623,767 $3,623,786
2012 $2,811,537 $380,987 $617,353 $3,809,877
2011 $3,819,798 $517,616 $838,745 $5,176,159
2010 $3,291,706 $446,054 $722,789 $4,460,549
2009 $2,982,561 $404,163 $654,906 $4,041,630
2008 $3,421,347 $462,874 $752,020 $4,636,291
2007 $3,584,305 $485,704 $787,036 $4,857,045
2006 $4,471,848 $605,974 $981,921 $6,059,743
2005 $3,941,095 $534,053 $865,378 $5,340,526
2004 $3,833,833 $519,518 $841,826 $5,195,177
2003 $4,308,588 $583,851 $946,073 $5,838,512
2002 $4,167,728 $564,764 $915,143 $5,647,635
2001 $4,333,585 $587,239 $951,561 $5,872,385
2000 $3,838,375 $519,727 $842,165 $5,200,267
1999 $3,645,555 $494,004 $800,485 $4,940,044

SOURCE: Department of Revenue (DOR), Annual Reports.

-32-



Jet Fuel Excise and Use Tax

Table 2
DISTRIBUTION OF JET FUEL USE TAX
Fiscal Year General Fund Fiscal Year General Fund

2018 $154,726 2008 $1,045,498
2017 $636,438 2007 $906,377
2016 $805,035 2006 $724,106
2015 $671,606 2005 $890,252
2014 $555,401 2004 $724,543
2013 $701,492 2003 $501,537
2012 $731,896 2002 $728,989
2011 $320,137 2001 $740,281
2010 $828,265 2000 $835,615
2009 $679,816 1999 $458,118

SOURCE: DOR, Annual Reports.

WHO PAYS

The excise tax is paid by every person engaging or continuing in the retail sale of jet fuel. The use tax is levied on
the storage, use, or consumption in Arizona of jet fuel purchased from a retailer in any case in which the excise tax
has not been paid to the state [A.R.S. § 42-5352].

REVENUE BASE AND RATE

The tax rate is 3.05¢ per gallon on the first 10 million gallons of jet fuel per filer. The tax on amounts over 10
million gallons was reduced from 3.05¢ per gallon to 2.05¢ per gallon in FY 1993, to 1.05¢ per gallon in FY 1994,
and is not subject to tax in FY 1995 and thereafter [A.R.S. § 42-5352].

The jet fuel excise tax does not apply to jet fuel that is sold in Arizona to commercial airlines and used on flights
that originate in the state and whose first outbound destination is outside of the United States [A.R.S. § 42-5354].

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

Taxes are collected and due in the same manner as for the Transaction Privilege Tax (TPT) [A.R.S. § 42-5353].
Electronic filing and payment requirements are the same as for TPT [A.R.S. § 42-5014].

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2012.

There were no changes enacted to this tax in the period from 2012 through 2016, and 2018.

2017 LAWS

Laws 2017, Chapter 312 provides that 100% of jet fuel excise and jet fuel use taxes be deposited in the State
Aviation Fund. To hold the General Fund, cities, and counties harmless, Chapter 312 provides that monies received

from the aircraft license tax be distributed as follows:

e  50% to the state General Fund
e 9.5% to counties based on proportion of total state population
e 5.5% to incorporated cities and towns based on proportion of total state population
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Chapter 312 provides that the remaining 35% of the aircraft license tax be deposited in the State Aviation Fund.

The changes under Chapter 312 stemmed from a December 2014 federal policy change that requires aviation fuel
taxes to be used only for airport-related purposes. To be in compliance with this federal policy change, Chapter
312 distributes all jet fuel excise and use tax revenues to the State Aviation Fund, as noted above. To make this
change revenue neutral, Chapter 312 modifies the aircraft license tax distribution to backfill the losses to the state
General Fund, cities and counties. (Effective August 9, 2017)

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2012 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/18taxbook/18taxbk.pdf.
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INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX

DESCRIPTION

The individual income tax is levied on the personal income of full-time residents and pro-rated for part-time
residents of Arizona. Taxation of income by local entities is preempted by the state as long as the Urban Revenue
Sharing Fund is maintained. The starting point for Arizona individual income tax is the federal adjusted gross
income. Arizona uses a graduated rate structure, which currently ranges between 2.59% and 4.54% of Arizona
taxable income depending on the taxpayer’s income level.

The individual income tax is an important revenue source for the state, representing 42.4% of total General Fund
revenue collections in FY 2018. A portion of individual income tax collections (along with corporate income tax
collections) is shared with incorporated cities and towns within the state.

The individual income tax is comprised of 4 components: (1) withholding, (2) estimated tax payments, (3) final
payments, and (4) refunds. Generally, withholding payments are from tax on wage and salary based income, and
estimated payments from non-wage earnings. Final payments and refunds represent the underpayment and
overpayment of tax, respectively, settled between taxpayers and the state after tax returns have been filed.

DISTRIBUTION
Table 1 below provides historical individual income tax collections for the last 20 years. Individual income tax

receipts are deposited into the General Fund, after sufficient amounts have been deposited into the tax refund
account to meet the requirements for tax refunds [A.R.S. § 42-1116].

Table 1
COLLECTIONS
Fiscal Year General Fund Fiscal Year General Fund
2018 $4,543,998,164 2008 $3,406,453,313
2017 $4,130,898,724 2007 $3,747,386,937
2016 $3,967,919,501 2006 $3,689,373,375
2015 $3,761,343,995 2005 $2,973,716,271
2014 $3,462,381,996 2004 $2,306,175,168
2013 $3,397,545,131 2003 $2,097,754,867
2012 $3,086,137,363 2002 $2,086,648,727
2011 $2,863,657,980 2001 $2,300,751,989
2010 $2,416,296,308 2000 $2,289,328,919
2009 $2,567,963,783 1999 $2,097,629,461

SOURCE: Department of Revenue annual reports — amounts are net of refunds and charge-offs. A portion of
individual income tax collections is shared with incorporated cities and towns - see Table 2 and Table 3 below.

Urban Revenue Sharing

The Urban Revenue Sharing Fund (URS), which was established based on a ballot initiative approved by voters in
1972, provides that a percentage of income tax revenues (including both individual and corporate income tax) be
shared with incorporated cities and towns within the state. Table 2 below shows estimates of the FY 2019 URS
distributions by city. Currently, 15% of net income tax revenue from 2 years prior is distributed to cities and
towns. This distribution is based on the most recent population estimates of each city and town made annually by
the U.S. Census Bureau [A.R.S. § 42-5033.01]. Cities and towns have the option of using special census population
counts for purposes of calculating distributions, but only during the 6! year following a decennial census. In the
2" year following the special census, a city/town must use the most recent estimate from the U.S. Census Bureau
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Table 2

Cities by County

APACHE
Eagar

St. Johns
Springerville

COCHISE
Benson
Bisbee
Douglas
Huachuca City
Sierra Vista
Tombstone
Willcox

COCONINO
Flagstaff
Fredonia
Page
Tusayan
Williams

GILA

Globe
Hayden
Miami
Payson
Star Valley
Winkelman

GRAHAM
Pima
Safford
Thatcher

GREENLEE
Clifton
Duncan

LA PAZ
Parker
Quartzsite

MARICOPA
Avondale
Buckeye
Carefree
Cave Creek
Chandler

El Mirage
Fountain Hills
Gila Bend
Gilbert
Glendale
Goodyear
Guadalupe
Litchfield Park
Mesa
Paradise Valley
Peoria
Phoenix

FY 2019 URBAN REVENUE SHARING DISTRIBUTION BY CITY

Amount Percent of Total Cities by County
Queen Creek
$591,088 0.09% Scottsdale
$424,818 0.06% Surprise
$236,871 0.04% Tempe
Tolleson
Wickenburg
$585,760 0.09% Youngtown
$628,751 0.09%
$1,957,579 0.29% MOHAVE
$209,382 0.03% Bullhead City
$5,196,638 0.77% Colorado City
$181,650 0.03% Kingman
$423,971 0.06% Lake Havasu City
NAVAJO
$8,716,163 1.29% Holbrook
$181,650 0.03% Pinetop-Lakeside
$914,667 0.14% Show Low
$181,650 0.03% Snowflake
$382,433 0.06% Taylor
Winslow
$890,811 0.13% PIMA
$181,650 0.03% Marana
$214,468 0.03% Oro Valley
$1,879,470 0.28% Sahuarita
$276,955 0.04% South Tucson
$181,650 0.03% Tucson
PINAL
$304,324 0.05% Apache Junction
$1,167,524 0.17% Casa Grande
$608,042 0.09% Coolidge
Eloy
Florence
$445,648 0.07% Kearny
$181,650 0.03% Mammoth
0.00% Maricopa
Superior
$370,445 0.05%
$447,343 0.07% SANTA CRUZ
Nogales
Patagonia
$10,175,417 1.51%
$8,289,650 1.23% YAVAPAI
$458,121 0.07% Camp Verde
$680,824 0.10% Chino Valley
$30,693,731 4.55% Clarkdale
$4,264,653 0.63% Cottonwood
$2,976,998 0.44% Dewey-Humboldt
$250,556 0.04% Jerome
$29,349,038 4.35% Prescott
$29,876,428 4.43% Prescott Valley
$9,670,794 1.43% Sedona
$790,177 0.12%
$727,689 0.11% YUMA
$60,114,098 8.91% San Luis
$1,730,881 0.26% Somerton
$20,366,698 3.02% Wellton
$196,917,837 29.18% Yuma
TOTAL

Amount

$4,745,177
$30,268,913
$16,237,676
$22,408,078
$872,525
$897,229
$818,635

$4,874,512

$585,760
$3,569,055
$6,589,165

$611,433
$528,117
$1,343,966
$696,688
$506,803
$1,138,581

$5,424,305
$5,370,779
$3,550,406
$683,367
$64,870,416

$4,909,147
$6,718,258
$1,537,726
$2,321,242
$3,157,558
$253,704
$172,672
$5,813,641
$371,534

$2,431,201
$181,650

$1,356,440
$1,417,474
$524,362
$1,455,984
$492,150
$181,650
$5,174,719
$5,384,827
$1,251,688

$3,929,206
$1,952,130
$361,968
$11,565,280

$674,804,400

Percent of Total

0.70%
4.49%
2.41%
3.32%
0.13%
0.13%
0.12%

0.72%
0.09%
0.53%
0.98%

0.09%
0.08%
0.20%
0.10%
0.08%
0.17%

0.80%
0.80%
0.53%
0.10%
9.61%

0.73%
1.00%
0.23%
0.34%
0.47%
0.04%
0.03%
0.86%
0.06%

0.36%
0.03%

0.20%
0.21%
0.08%
0.22%
0.07%
0.03%
0.77%
0.80%
0.19%

0.58%
0.29%
0.05%
1.71%

100.00%
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[A.R.S. § 42-5033]. Prior to Laws 2016, Chapter 258, distributions were based on population counts from the last
U.S. decennial census or special census. The figures in Table 2 are provided by the Department of Revenue.

Table 3 below shows the URS distribution percentages in effect since the establishment of this revenue sharing
program.

Table 3
URBAN REVENUE SHARING PERCENTAGE
Distribution Year Collection Year
Fiscal Year Fiscal Year Percentage
1974 - 1992 1972 -1990 15.0%
1993 1991 12.8%
1994 1992 12.8%
1995 1993 12.8%
1996 1994 12.8%
1997 1995 13.6%
1998 1996 15.0%
1999 1997 15.0%
2000 1998 15.8%
2001 1999 15.0%
2002 2000 15.0%
2003 2001 14.8%
2004 2002 14.8%
2005-2019 2003-2017 15.0%
SOURCE: Department of Revenue.

Table 4 below provides historical urban revenue sharing distributions.

Table 4
DISTRIBUTION OF INDIVIDUAL AND CORPORATE INCOME TAX
Voluntary
Fiscal Year Total Collections ¥ State General Fund Urban Revenue Sharing Contribution Funds

2018 $4,917,074,548 $4,235,060,332 $680,770,080 $1,244,136
2017 $4,499,035,169 $3,834,421,857 $663,582,168 $1,031,144
2016 $4,538,467,198 $3,931,904,086 $605,634,326 $928,786
2015 $4,424,347,015 $3,814,991,475 $608,935,700 $419,840
2014 $4,037,562,217 $3,475,671,441 $561,001,195 $889,581
2013 $4,059,571,528 $3,544,630,836 $513,584,045 $1,356,647
2012 $3,729,909,208 $3,298,428,797 $424,423,442 $7,056,969
2011 $3,423,893,632 $2,942,907,218 $474,006,520 $6,979,894
2010 $2,830,062,980 $2,194,412,321 $628,644,630 $7,006,029
2009 $3,160,121,036 $2,424,782,055 $727,677,400 ¥ $7,661,581
2008 $4,190,964,093 $3,498,398,258 $684,538,927 $8,026,908
2007 ¥ $4,648,252,998 $4,089,906,556 $551,230,661 $7,115,781
2006 ¥ $4,520,688,826 $4,089,641,855 $425,228,927 $5,818,044
2005 ¥ $3,549,619,113 $3,170,987,163 $373,072,578 $5,559,372
2004 $2,800,220,037 $2,430,324,049 $365,065,158 $4,830,830
2003 $2,487,161,213 $2,051,984,423 $430,559,053 $4,617,737
2002 $2,432,929,123 $2,007,055,392 $421,876,573 $3,997,158
2001 $2,841,925,583 $2,442,337,063 $396,452,640 $3,135,880
2000 $2,812,510,482 $2,432,245,852 $377,710,988 $2,553,642
1999 $2,643,017,599 $2,301,987,066 $340,310,656 $719,877

1/ Includes corporate income tax.

2/ Represents taxpayer contributions of their refunds to various entities through the tax “check-off” boxes.

3/ Laws 2006, Ch. 351 appropriated a total of $727.6 million for FY 2009 (see 2009 Tax Handbook, page 33 for more details).

4/ Includes Ladewig refunds and attorney payments of $131.5 million in FY 2005, $48.7 million in FY 2006, and $80.7 million in

FY 2007.
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Voluntary Contribution Funds

Laws 1984, Chapter 76 provided for taxpayers to designate an amount of their income tax refund as a voluntary
contribution to the Arizona Game, Non-Game, Fish and Endangered Species Fund. Laws 1985, Chapter 59
established a permanent check-off provision on the individual income tax return, which was also expanded to
include contributions to the Child Abuse Prevention Fund.

Arizona statutes were amended in subsequent years to also include contributions to the Arizona Assistance for
Education Fund, Domestic Violence Services Fund, Neighbors Helping Neighbors Fund, Special Olympics Fund, and
National Guard Relief Fund. The list of voluntary contribution funds was further expanded to include the Veterans’
Donation Fund (Laws 2006, Chapter 102), the | Didn’t Pay Enough Fund (Laws 2010, Chapter 115), the Sustainable
State Parks and Road Fund (Laws 2014, Chapter 120), and the Spaying and Neutering of Animals Fund (Laws 2017,
Chapter 172). Laws 2015, Chapter 208 repealed the National Guard Relief Fund. In addition to voluntary
contribution funds, taxpayers were also given the option to give all or part of their refund to a political party.
Table 4 above shows the total amount of refunds designated annually to voluntary contribution funds and political
parties since the program started in 1984 [A.R.S. § 43-611 to 622].

WHO PAYS

Individuals

Residents or part-year residents of the state and non-residents who derived income from sources within the state
must pay individual income tax [A.R.S. § 43-102]. Any individual whose permanent home is in the state is
considered a resident. Every person who spends more than 9 months of the taxable year in Arizona is presumed a
resident unless competent evidence can show the individual is in the state for a temporary or transitory purpose.
Any resident who moved into or out of Arizona with the intent to establish or relinquish residency is considered to
be a part-year resident [A.R.S. § 43-104].

Businesses

Businesses other than regular corporations must also pay the individual income tax [A.R.S. § 43-102A]. A business
that is subject to the individual income tax is often referred to as a “pass-through entity” since its income passes or
flows through the business to the individual owners or members of that business. In other words, the business
itself is not a tax-paying entity. Instead, the individual owners or members of that business include their pro rata
share of the business net income (or loss) on their personal tax return.

In Arizona, a pass-through entity operates as a sole proprietorship, partnership, limited liability company (LLC), or a
Subchapter S Corporation. A brief overview of the different business structures is shown in Table 5 below.

Estates and Trusts

Fiduciaries of estates and trusts are also subject to the individual income tax [A.R.S. § 43-102A]. Generally, a trust
is a separate legal and taxable entity consisting of property that is held and administered by a fiduciary trustee for
the benefit of another. An estate, for the purpose of tax law, is the collective real and personal property that a
person possesses at the time of death and that is transferred to the heirs subject to payment of debts and claims.
An estate is a temporary entity administered by a fiduciary executor and dissolved upon the completion of the
probate process. For more details, see Title 43, Chapter 13 of Arizona Revised Statutes.

Government
The United States, the state, counties, cities, towns, school districts, or other political subdivisions of the state or
federal government are excluded from the definition of a taxpayer [A.R.S. § 43-104].

Tribal Members

The income of an Indian tribal member is not subject to Arizona state income tax if he or she is: (1) living and
working on the reservation, and (2) deriving income from reservation sources only. This exclusion applies to
affiliated Indian members who have been adopted into the tribe and who have attained full and unrestricted
membership privileges in that tribe.

Income of a non-affiliated tribal member or a non-Indian derived from reservation or non-reservation sources is
subject to income tax in the same manner as all other Arizona residents.
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There are no specific statutory references related to the imposition of Arizona state income tax on tribal members.
Thus, to facilitate the administration of state income tax on Indian reservations, the Department of Revenue (DOR)
has adopted income tax rulings based on the decisions in several court cases. The most recent ruling, which is
reflected in the description above, was issued in May 1996 and is referred to as ITR 96-4.

Table 5

Control

Owner Restrictions

Filing Requirements

Liability

Officers

Controlling Documents

Income Tax Treatment

COMPARISON OF BUSINESS STRUCTURES

Sole Proprietorship

e Owner

e Only one owner is
permitted.

o Fictitious Name
Certificate

e Trade Name

e Business License

e Owner is
personally liable.

e No

e Business Plan

e Owner subject to
individual income
tax.

e Tax items reported
on Schedule C.

SOURCE: Arizona Corporation Commission.

Partnership
e General Partners

e Partners own the
partnership.

e Consent of
Statutory Agent

e General Partners
are liable.

e Limited partners
are liable to the
extent of their
investments.

e No

e Partnership
Agreement

e Partners subject to
individual income
tax.

e Partners taxed for
their share of
profits.

Limited Liability

Company (LLC)
e Members

e Members own LLC.
e Minimum of 1
member required.

e Articles of
Organization

e Consent of
Statutory Agent

e All members are
protected.

e No, unless
designated by
management.

e Operating
Agreement

e Members subject
to individual
income tax.

e Members taxed
for their share of
profits.

e However, LLC may
choose to be taxed
at entity level.

S Corporation
e Shareholders

e Shareholders are
owners.

e Ownership limited
to a maximum of
75 U.S. residents.

e Articles of
Incorporation

o Certificate of
Disclosure

e Consent of
Statutory Agent

e Annual Report

e All shareholders
are protected.

e Yes

o Articles of
Incorporation

e Shareholders
subject to
individual income
tax.

e Shareholders
taxed for their
share of profits.
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REVENUE BASE

The tax is levied, paid, and collected each taxable year based on taxable income [A.R.S. § 43-1011]. The tax base
starts with Arizona gross income, which is equivalent to the taxpayer's federal adjusted gross income, and is then
modified by a list of additions and subtractions to income as listed under A.R.S. § 43-1021 and A.R.S. § 43-1022,
respectively. This is further reduced by exemptions and standard or itemized deductions to arrive at Arizona
taxable income [A.R.S. § 43-1041 to 1043].

Capital Gains
Prior to TY 2013, capital gains from the sale of capital assets, such as stocks, bonds, and real estate, were not taxed

separately under the state’s income tax statutes. Thus, income from net capital gains was subject to the same
marginal tax rates as other income included under the definition of Arizona taxable income.

Laws 2012, Chapter 343 reduced the individual income tax rate paid on long-term capital gains accrued from assets
acquired after 2011. (Long-term capital gains are realized on assets held longer than 1 year.) The reduction in the
regular rate under Chapter 343 is 10% in TY 2013, 20% in TY 2014, and 25% in TY 2015 and thereafter. Capital gains
realized on assets purchased before 2012 are not affected by Chapter 343. Additionally, beginning in TY 2014,
Laws 2011, 2" Special Session, Chapter 1 eliminates individual income tax on capital gains derived from
investment in small businesses with assets up to $10.0 million. The historical amounts of net capital gains subject
to income tax, as reported by Arizona taxpayers to the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), are shown in Table 6 below.

Table 6

NET CAPITAL GAINS REPORTED BY ARIZONA TAXPAYERS TO THE IRS
(Millions of Dollars) ¥

Tax Year Net Capital Gains Tax Year Net Capital Gains
2016 $8,716.9 2006 $15,214.8
2015 $9,287.6 2005 $14,784.3
2014 $8,639.5 2004 $8,732.1
2013 $6,280.1 2003 $4,580.4
2012 $7,167.7 2002 $3,603.7
2011 $4,706.6 2001 $4,420.8
2010 $4,276.2 2000 $8,412.9
2009 $3,242.3 1999 $8,163.1
2008 $6,606.2 1998 $7,045.1
2007 $14,853.7 1997 $5,409.1

1/ Note that amounts in this table refer to net capital gains subject to income tax as opposed to income tax collections
attributable to net capital gains.

SOURCE: IRS, Statistics of Income (SOI).

EXEMPTIONS

Organizations that are exempt from federal income tax under Section 501 of the Internal Revenue Code are also
exempt from state income tax. In addition, the following organizations are exempt from state income tax [A.R.S. §
43-1201]:

(1) Labor, agricultural, and horticultural organizations except for cooperative organizations.

(2) Fraternal beneficiary societies, orders, or organizations that both: (a) operate under the lodge system or for
the exclusive benefit of the members of a fraternity, and (b) provide for the payment of life, sick, accident, or
other benefits to their members or their dependents.
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(3)
(4)
(5)

(6)
(7)

(8)

(9)

(10)

(11)

(12)

(13)

(14)
(15)

(16)

Cemetery companies that are owned and operated exclusively for the benefit of their members or are not
operated for profit.

Corporations that are organized and operated exclusively for religious, charitable, scientific, literary, or
educational purposes, or for the prevention of cruelty to children and animals.

Business leagues, chambers of commerce, real estate boards, and boards of trade that are not organized for
profit.

Civic leagues or organizations that are not organized for profit.

Clubs that are organized and operated exclusively for pleasure, recreation, and other non-profitable
purposes.

Corporations that are organized for the exclusive purpose of holding title to property, collecting income from
such property, and turning over the entire net income to an organization which itself is exempt from income
tax.

Voluntary employees' beneficiary organizations that provide for the payment of life, sick, accident or other
benefits to their members or their dependents, if both of the following apply: (a) no part of their net
earnings inures to the benefit of any private shareholder or individual, and (b) 85% or more of the income
consists of monies collected from members and contributions by the employer of the members.

Teachers' or public employees' retirement fund organizations that are of a purely local character, if both of
the following apply: (a) no part of their net earnings inures to the benefit of any private shareholder or
individual, and (b) the income consists solely of monies received from public taxation, assessments on the
salaries of members, and income from investments.

Religious or apostolic organizations or corporations, if such organizations or corporations have a common
treasury or community treasury.

Voluntary employees' beneficiary organizations that provide for the payment of life, sick, accident or other
benefits to their members, their dependents or designated beneficiaries, if both of the following apply:
(a) admission to membership is limited to individuals who are officers or employees of the United States
Government, and (b) no part of the net earnings inures to the benefit of any private shareholder or
individual.

Corporations classified as diversified management companies under Section 5 of the federal Investment
Company Act of 1940.

Insurance companies that are subject to the insurance premium tax.

Mutual ditch, irrigation or water companies or similar nonprofit organizations if 85% or more of their income
consists of amounts collected from members for the sole purpose of meeting losses and expenses.

Workers’ compensation pools established pursuant to A.R.S. § 23-961.01.

RATE

Rates and Brackets. The TY 2018 rate structure, based on DOR’s inflation-adjusted brackets of Arizona taxable
income, is as follows [A.R.S. § 43-1011]:

Table 7
TY 2018 TAX RATE SCHEDULE ¥
Single 2/ Married ¥
Arizona Taxable Income Rate 3y Arizona Taxable Income Rate 3/
SO - $10,602 2.59% S0 - $21,202 2.59%
$10,603 - 26,501 $275 plus 2.88% $21,203 - $53,000 $549 plus 2.88%
$26,502 - 53,000 $732 plus 3.36% $53,001 - $105,998 $1,465 plus 3.36%
$53,001 - 158,996 $1,623 plus 4.24% $105,999 - $317,990 $3,246 plus 4.24%
$158,997 and over $6,117 plus 4.54% $317,991 and over $12,234 plus 4.54%
1/ Pursuant to A.R.S. § 43-1011, DOR plans to increase the TY 2018 rates above TY 2017 rates using a 2.47% inflation

SN

adjustment. TY 2018 brackets are preliminary prior to release of TY 2018 tax forms.

Or married filing separately.

The marginal rates apply to income within the taxable income bracket. Taxable income attributable to qualifying long-
term capital gains is reduced by (25)%.

Or unmarried head of household.
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Beginning in TY 2015, individual income tax brackets are adjusted annually for inflation as measured by the
Metropolitan Phoenix Consumer Price Index. Tax brackets are not reduced for annual decreases in the index.

[A.R.S. § 43-1011].

Optional Tax Table. The Department of Revenue developed an optional tax table prescribing tax liability amounts,
based on filing status, in $50 increments of Arizona taxable income. The table can be used if (1) an individual has
been a resident for the entire taxable year, and (2) the Arizona taxable income for the year is less than $50,000
regardless of filing status [A.R.S. § 43-1012].

Table 8
HISTORICAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX RATES ¥/
Taxable Income 2/3/ TY 1990 TY 1994 TY 1995 TY 1997 TY 1998 TY 1999 TY 2006 TY 2007
S0 -$ 10,000 3.80% 3.25% 3.00% 2.90% 2.88% 2.87% 2.73% 2.59%

$10,001 - 25,000 4.40% 4.00% 3.50% 3.30% 3.24% 3.20% 3.04% 2.88%
$25,001 - 50,000 5.25% 5.05% 4.20% 3.90% 3.82% 3.74% 3.55% 3.36%
$50,001 - 150,000 6.50% 6.40% 5.20% 4.90% 4.74% 4.72% 4.48% 4.24%
$150,001 & over 7.00% 6.90% 5.60% 5.17% 5.10% 5.04% 4.79% 4.54%

1/ For marginal rates prior to 1990, see page 90 of the 1990 Tax Handbook.

2/ These brackets applied to single or married filing separately filers. For married joint filers or head of households, the bracket amounts

are doubled. In 1990, the brackets were altered into the present form (see Laws 1990, 3rd Special Session, Chapter 3).
Brackets displayed in Table 8 represent amounts that were effective from TY 1990 through TY 2014. Beginning in TY 2015, tax
brackets are indexed to inflation (Laws 2014, Chapter 2010 and Laws 2015, Chapter 91). See Table 7 for TY 2017 bracket amounts.

@

TAX CREDITS

A tax credit is a dollar-for-dollar reduction of a taxpayer’s individual income tax liability. A credit is different from a
subtraction, exemption, or deduction, which reduces the amount of income that will be taxed. For more details,

see the Tax Computation section.

A tax credit is either refundable or non-refundable. Unlike refundable credits, non-refundable credits can never
exceed a taxpayer’s tax liability. However, many of the non-refundable tax credits allow the unused amounts to be
carried forward to future years. As shown in Table 9 below, only the following credits are refundable under current

statutes:
Table 9
REFUNDABLE INCOME TAX CREDITS
Name of Credit Type of Credit
Property Tax Credit Individual
Low-Income Credit for Increased Excised Taxes Paid Individual
Research and Development (R&D) Credit / Individual and Corporate
Renewable Energy Investment Credit 2/3/ Individual and Corporate
Qualified Facility Credit ¢/ Individual and Corporate
Notes:

1/ Credit is only available to businesses that employ less than 150 full-time employees. Refundable
portion of R&D credit is subject to an aggregate cap of $5.0 million annually.

2/ Credit is subject to an aggregate cap of $70.0 million annually, which it shares with the qualified
facility credit. Laws 2014, Chapter 8 limits a taxpayer from claiming both this credit and the qualified
facility credit for the same facilities (see Appendix A for details).

3/ Laws 2017, Chapter 299 repeals this credit after December 31, 2017.

4/ Credit is subject to an aggregate cap of $70.0 million annually, which it shares with the renewable
energy investment credit.
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The value of tax credits used and carried forward through calendar year 2015 is summarized by the DOR summary
report attached at the end of this section.

Laws 2002, Chapter 238 established the Arizona Joint Legislative Income Tax Credit Review Committee. The
Committee is required to determine the purpose of income tax credits, develop performance standards for
evaluating the credits, and evaluate the benefits to the state. The Committee reviews each tax credit every 5 years
according to a rotating schedule [A.R.S. § 43-221].

Title 43, Chapter 10, Article 5 of the Arizona Revised Statutes lists all the individual income tax credits currently
available to Arizona taxpayers. A brief description of each tax credit currently in statute is provided below.
Appendix C in the Tax Handbook includes a list of all individual and corporate tax credits with statutory ending
dates. Appendix B provides a complete list and detailed description of the various school tax credits currently
available to individual and corporate taxpayers, as well as insurance companies.

Agricultural Pollution Control Equipment. A taxpayer involved in the commercial production of livestock or
agricultural crops may claim a tax credit for expenses incurred to purchase tangible personal property used in the
business in order to control, prevent, monitor or reduce air, water or land pollution. The credit is 25% of the cost
of the property up to a maximum of $25,000. This non-refundable credit is allowed to be carried forward no more
than 5 consecutive years [A.R.S. § 43-1081.01].

Agricultural Water Conservation System. A tax credit can be claimed for 75% of the qualifying expenses in
purchasing and installing an agricultural water conservation system. This credit is in lieu of itemized deductions for
such expenses, in which case, the taxpayer must add the credit back to Arizona gross income when computing
taxable income. This non-refundable tax credit is allowed to be carried forward for no more than 5 years [A.R.S. §
43-1084].

Arizona National Guard Employees. A tax credit of $1,000 per employee is allowed for businesses that employ
Arizona National Guard members who are called to active duty. This non-refundable tax credit, which is effective
from January 1, 2006, is allowed to be carried forward for no more than 5 years [A.R.S. § 43-1079.01].

Charitable Organizations and Contributions. A credit can be claimed for cash contributions to qualified charitable
organizations (QCO) that provide assistance to low-income residents and children that are chronically ill or
physically disabled. A separate credit may be claimed for cash contributions to qualified foster care charitable
organizations (QFCO) that provide foster care to children or services to under-21-year-old former foster youth in
independent living programs. Qualifying organizations may not provide, pay for, promote, or financially support
abortions or any entity that provides abortions.

QCO contributions earn a maximum credit of $400 for taxpayers filing as single or head of household and $800 for
those filing as married couples. Contributions to QFCOs earn a separate maximum credit of $500 for taxpayers
filing as single or head of household and $1,000 for those filing as married couples.

Prior to Laws 2016, Chapter 109, the QCO and QFCO credits shared a combined maximum amount of $400 for
taxpayers filing as single or head of household and $800 for those filing as married couples. Laws 2016, Chapter
109 also permits a donation made between the close of the tax year and the individual income tax filing deadline
to be applied to either the current or preceding tax year for the purpose of claiming the individual income tax
credit. This non-refundable tax credit is allowed to be carried forward for no more than 5 consecutive years [A.R.S.
§ 43-1088].

Enterprise Zones. Businesses located in an enterprise zone were able to claim a credit for net increases in
employment of persons who qualify as economically disadvantaged under the Job Training Partnership Act. (See
Laws 1989, Chapter 194 for changes in the amount of credit allowed.) To qualify, at least 35% of the full-time
equivalent employees claimed must reside in an enterprise zone. The maximum amount of the credit per qualified
employment position is $500 in the first year, $1,000 in the second year, and $1,500 in the third year of continuous
employment. The non-refundable credit may not be claimed for more than 200 employees. Laws 2013, Chapter
236 provides that businesses that were certified by ACA and then claimed first year credits under the now repealed
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credit program, be exempt from the requirement to file for certification in order to claim second or third year
credits. Though new credits may not be earned after tax year 2011, previously earned credits may be carried
forward up to 5 years and used no later than for tax year 2016.

Environmental Technology Facility Construction Costs. A taxpayer may claim a credit for expenses incurred in
constructing a qualified environmental technology facility as described in A.R.S. § 41-1514.02. The credit is equal
to 10% of construction costs including land acquisition, improvements, building improvements, machinery and
equipment. The credit may not exceed 75% of the tax liability for the taxable year. This credit is in lieu of the
credit given for the same recycling equipment. Certain recapture provisions apply to this credit. This non-
refundable tax credit is allowed to be carried forward for no more than 15 years [A.R.S. § 43-1080].

Facility Credit. A business that expands or locates a qualified facility in the state may claim a credit for qualifying
investment and employment. The credit is 10% of the lesser of: (1) the total capital investment in the qualified
facility by the taxpayer or third-party lessor of the property or (2) $200,000 for each net new employee at the
qualified facility. To be eligible for the credit, a business is required to devote at least 80% of its property and
payroll at the facility to manufacturing, research, or a national or regional headquarter. The credit is dependent
upon the taxpayer paying at least 51% of new full-time employees a wage exceeding 125% of the state median
wage in urban areas and 100% in rural areas and paying 65% or more of the premium for all full-time employees’
health insurance [A.R.S. § 41-1512]. Prior to Laws 2016, Chapter 372, investments by a third-party lessor could not
qualify for the credit and taxpayers in urban and rural areas were required to pay at least 80% of employee health
insurance premiums and at least 125% of the state median wage.

The credit is refundable but no single taxpayer can claim more than $30.0 million in credits per calendar year. The
credit must be taken in equal installments over 5 taxable years. The qualified facility credit program is subject to
an aggregate annual cap of $70.0 million, which it shares with the renewable energy investment credit (A.R.S. § 43-
1083.01). Laws 2017, Chapter 299 repeals the renewable energy investment credit after December 31, 2017. The
facility credit is available through TY 2022, but may be claimed through TY 2026 under the 5-year installment
schedule [A.R.S. § 43-1083.03].

Family Income Credit. Residents are allowed a $40 non-refundable tax credit for each personal or dependent
exemption claimed, subject to certain income limitations. This credit cannot be carried forward to offset future
years’ income tax liability [A.R.S. § 43-1073].

Health Insurance Plans. From tax year 2012 through tax year 2014, an income tax credit was available to
businesses that provided qualifying health insurance plans to each enrolled employee. The credit is equal to $360
for every employee that enrolled in a health insurance plan offered by the business. To qualify, the business was
required to offer High Deductible Health Insurance Plans with catastrophic coverage under a Health Savings
Account. To receive the credit, businesses were required to have between 2 and 50 employees, have provided
health insurance within 90 days of offering the plan, and offered the plan to every employee for at least 1 year.
Although new credits may not be earned after tax year 2014, previously earned credits may be carried forward up
to 3 years and used no later than tax year 2017.

Healthy Forest Enterprises. A qualified business that is certified by the Arizona Commerce Authority (ACA) as a
healthy forest enterprise is allowed to claim a tax credit for net increases in qualified employment positions. To
qualify for the credit, a business enterprise must meet several conditions with respect to the amount of employees
hired, and the residency status, job duties, wages, and fringe benefits of those employees. The maximum amount
of the credit per qualified employment position is $500 in the first year, $1,000 in the second year, and $1,500 in
the third year of continuous employment. The net increase in the number of qualified employment positions is
not allowed to exceed 200 per taxpayer each year. The tax credit is available from January 1, 2005 to December
31, 2024. (Laws 2012, Chapter 331 extended the credit by 10 years, from 2014 to 2024.) The credit is non-
refundable and is allowed to be carried forward for no more than 5 years [A.R.S. § 43-1076].

Healthy Forest - Ecological Restoration Workforce Training. Laws 2017, Chapter 299 repeals this credit after
December 31, 2017. Prior to repeal, a business certified by the ACA as a Healthy Forest Enterprise may earn a
credit for expenses incurred in training new employees in ecological restoration. The credit amount is the net cost
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of training and certifying new employees in qualified employment positions. The credit is limited to $3,000 per
employee in each of the first 3 years of qualified employment. The net increase in the number of qualified
employment positions is not allowed to exceed 200 per taxpayer each year. The credit is effective from January 1,
2012 to December 31, 2017. Prior to Laws 2017, Chapter 299, the credit was effective through December 31,
2024. The credit is non-refundable and is allowed to be carried forward for no more than 5 years [A.R.S. § 43-
1076.01].

Low-Income Credit for Proposition 301 Taxes. For taxpayers filing as married couple or as head of household and
whose federal adjusted gross income is $25,000 or less, a credit of $25 is granted per person or $100 per
household. For taxpayers filing as single or as married person filing separately, the income requirement is $12,500
or less. This refundable credit is considered a mitigation of the 0.6% sales tax increase resulting from Proposition
301 passed in November 2000. This law became effective January 1, 2001 [A.R.S. § 43-1072.01].

Military Family Relief Fund Tax Credit. A credit may be claimed for cash contributions to the Military Family Relief
Fund established by Laws 2007, Chapter 258. The maximum credit is $200 for taxpayers filing as single or head of
household and $400 for those filing as married couples. The credit is not allowed to exceed the taxpayer’s tax
liability. The total dollar value of the credit, which is available for tax years 2008 through 2018, is capped at $1
million per taxable year [A.R.S. § 41-608.04 and A.R.S. § 43-1086]. Laws 2012, Chapter 281 extended the
expiration of the credit from 2012 to 2018.

Military Reuse Zones. Laws 2017, Chapter 299 repeals this credit after December 31, 2017. Prior to repeal, a non-
refundable credit is allowed for net employment increases in a military re-use zone. The employees must be either
dislocated civilian military base employees or engaged in aviation or aerospace manufacturing or services. The tax
credit equals $1,000 per year in the first year of employment, increasing by $500 per year up to $3,000 per year in
the fifth year of employment for each dislocated military base employee, and $500 per year in the first year of
employment, increasing by $500 per year up to $2,500 per year in the fifth year of employment for each employee
other than a dislocated military base employee. Although new credits may not be earned after TY 2017, previously
earned credits may be carried forward up to 5 years and used no later than TY 2022. [A.R.S. § 43-1079].

Motion Picture Productions and Infrastructure Projects. These credits, effective between taxable years 2006 and
2010, were available to businesses that produced motion pictures in Arizona. Motion picture productions with
qualified expenses of $250,000 to $1.0 million in a 12-month period were eligible for a tax credit equal to 20% of
production costs, while productions with qualified expenses exceeding $1.0 million were credited for 30% of
production costs. The total amount of income tax credits approved for all qualifying productions and investments
could not exceed $30.0 million in 2006, $40.0 million in 2007, $50.0 million in 2008, $60.0 million in 2009, and
$70.0 million in 2010. The income tax credits were claimed for expenses incurred in the production of commercial
advertisements, and music videos, with 5% of the income tax credit set aside for these productions. In addition,
income tax credits could be claimed for expenses incurred for the construction of soundstages and associated
support and augmentation facilities. Tax credits for soundstage investments were capped at $5.0 million per year
in 2008, 2009, and 2010. Tax credits for associated support and augmentation facilities were capped at $7.0
million in 2009 (if at least one soundstage project was certified in 2008) and $9.0 million in 2010 (if one or more
soundstage projects were certified in 2008 or 2009). The tax credits could be sold or transferred, in whole or in
part, to other taxpayers. The law required taxpayers claiming the credits to meet various reporting requirements
and for film companies to recruit Arizona residents to hold 25% of full-time positions in 2006, 35% in 2007, and
50% in 2008 and after. Though new credits may not be earned after tax year 2010, previously earned credits may
be carried forward up to 5 years and used no later than for tax year 2015.

New Employment Tax Credit. A $3,000 annual tax credit may be claimed for each net new qualifying job added by
an employer in the state. To qualify for the credit, new employment positions must be full-time, meet wage
requirements, and offer health insurance paid by the employer (at least 65% of the premium). Credits associated
with 1 net new job can be claimed for 3 years. A company may claim first year credits for separate new jobs for up
to 3 consecutive years. Since second and third year credits may be claimed against each of the new positions, the
taxpayer may claim credits for up to a total of 5 consecutive years. ACA is authorized to issue first year credits for
up to 10,000 new employees ($30.0 million) in each year.
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Prior to Laws 2017, Chapter 340, a business could not | Table 10

claim the new credit unless it added at least 25 net new New Employment Tax Credit

jobs in a year in an urban area (5 in a rural a'rea), paid Investment and Median Wage Requirements
employees at least 100% of the county median wage,

and made a capital investment of at least $5.0 million Urban Location

($1.9 _m|II|_on in a rural area) [A.RS. § 43—1074_1]. Minimum Wages as Percent
Beg}nnlng in TY 20.18, Laws 2017, Chapter 340 permlts Capital Investment of County Median
_busmesses to qualify under a.Iternatlve_ levels of capital $5,000,000 100%
investment and wages as displayed in Table 10 and $2,500,000 125%
permits ACA to authorize credits through June 30, 2025. $1,000,000 150%

A business can now invest less than $5.0 million if they $500,000 200%

pay wages that exceed 100% of the county median

level. The required number of net new jobs remains Rural Location

unchanged. Given the maximum 5-year schedule .

. . . . Minimum Wages as Percent
outlined above, businesses may claim credits through TY . ]
2029. [AR.S. § 41-1525] Capital Investment of County Median

R $1,000,000 100%

0,

In TY 2013 and later years, Laws 2012, Chapter 343 zigg’ggg gg;’
eliminates the requirement (provided by Laws 2011, 2" ! ?

Special Session, Chapter 1) that no employer can claim
more than 400 new jobs in the first year of credit use, 800 jobs in the second year, and 1,200 jobs in the third year.
The cap applied to credits claimed against insurance premium, individual income, and corporate income taxes.
The credit cannot be claimed against employees that are also claimed under the Military Reuse Zone Tax Credit
(A.R.S. § 41-1525; Laws 2017, Chapter 299 repeals credit after December 31, 2017). Laws 2014, Chapter 168
changes the requirement for the New Employment Tax Credit program by providing that second and third year
credits can be claimed irrespective of whether the same employee remains employed as long as the employer
replaces the vacant position with another qualified employee within 90 days.

Pollution Control Equipment. The credit is allowed for purchases of real or personal property used to control or
prevent pollution. The qualifying facilities must be built or purchased to comply with U.S. Environmental
Protection Agency or Arizona Department of Environmental quality regulations. The credit amount is equal to the
lesser of 10% of the purchase price or $500,000 in a taxable year. This non-refundable tax credit is allowed to be
carried forward for no more than 5 years [A.R.S. § 43-1081].

Public School Extracurricular Activity Fees. A credit may be claimed for contributions for extracurricular activities,
character education programs, standardized tests for college credit and readiness, career and technical
assessments, testing preparation courses and cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) training at public schools. The
maximum credit is $200 for taxpayers filing as single or head of household and $400 for those filing as married
couples. (Prior to Laws 2005, Chapter 334, the maximum credit for married couples was $250.) This credit is in
lieu of any federal or state deduction for such contributions. A 5-year carry forward of the credit is allowed [A.R.S.
§ 43-1089.01].

Property Taxes. A full-year resident can claim a refundable credit for property taxes or rent paid on property if all
of the following apply [A.R.S. § 43-1072]:

e 65 years or older or receiving SSI Title 16 monies from the Social Security Administration.
e Paid either property taxes or rent during the taxable year.
e If the person lived alone, his income from all sources was below $3,751, or if he lived with others, the

combined household income was below $5,501.

The amount of the credit allowed under this provision is prescribed in A.R.S. § 43-1072B.
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Renewable Energy Investment. Laws 2017, Chapter 299 repeals this credit after December 31, 2017. Prior to
repeal, a credit is allowed on new renewable energy capital investments in manufacturing or company
headquarters for up to 10% of the taxpayer’s total capital investment. The credit is refundable, with the combined
total of individual and corporate income tax credits capped at $70.0 million annually. Recipients must receive their
credit in 5 equal portions over 5 consecutive tax years. The renewable energy investment credit shares its annual
aggregate cap of $70.0 million with the qualified facility credit program (A.R.S. § 43-1083.03) enacted by Laws
2012, Chapter 343.

To be eligible to receive the credit, a company must create new jobs and make new capital investment as follows:

e Renewable energy manufacturing operations must create at least 1.5 full-time employment positions for each
$500,000 increment of capital investment.

e Renewable energy headquarter operations must create at least 1 full-time employment position for each
$200,000 increment of capital investment.

The credit is dependent upon the taxpayer paying 51% of new full-time employees a rate exceeding 125% of the
median annual wage in the state and paying 80% or more of the premium for all full-time employees’ health
insurance. The taxpayer must also stay in operation within the state for 5 years after receiving post-approval for
the credit or face recapture of any credits received. The tax credit is available for tax years 2010 through 2017
[A.R.S. § 43-1083.01 and A.R.S. § 41-1511]. While Laws 2012, Chapter 343 extended the credit from 2014 to 2019,
Laws 2017, Chapter 340 subsequently repeals the credit after 2017. For additional information on renewable
energy incentives, see Appendix A.

Renewable Energy Manufacturing Facility. A credit is allowed for companies that make substantial investments in
new facilities that produce renewable energy to be used in a company’s manufacturing processes or for a
company’s certified “International Operations Center” (I0C). A company may earn up to $5.0 million in credits per
year for up to 5 years for each qualifying renewable energy facility. Prior to Laws 2015, Chapter 6, only
manufacturing facilities could qualify for a credit of $1.0 million per year for each facility, up to 5 years. Laws 2017,
Chapter 299 repeals the portion of the credit for manufacturers after December 31, 2017.

The credit program includes different criteria to qualify as a certified 10C than as a manufacturer. To qualify for
the credit, an I0C must invest at least $100.0 million in renewable energy facilities within 3 years of applying for
the credit or by December 31, 2018, whichever is earlier. At least 51% of energy produced by an IOC renewable
energy facility must be used for self-consumption by the fifth year of operation. A company’s facility must meet
additional investment requirements to be certified by the ACA as an International Operations Center. To qualify
for credits, a manufacturing company must invest a minimum of $300.0 million within 3 years of applying for the
credit or by December 31, 2017, whichever is earlier. Each of a manufacturer’s renewable energy facilities requires
at least a $30.0 million investment, production of at least 40,000 megawatt hours of energy annually, and use of at
least 90% of the energy produced at the facility for self-consumption in the state and for manufacturing [A.R.S. §
41-1520 and A.R.S. § 43-1083.04].

The credit is not refundable, has an aggregate individual income and corporate income tax cap of $10.0 million a
year, and may be carried-forward up to 5 years. The lifetime limit on tax credits that an IOC may claim is capped at
$25.0 million in tax year 2014 through 2025. This credit cannot be claimed against the same facilities that are used
to claim the Renewable Energy Production Credit [A.R.S. § 43-1083.02]. For additional information on renewable
energy incentives, see Appendix A.

Renewable Energy Production. A credit is allowed on the production of electricity using renewable energy. To be
eligible for the credit, a taxpayer must hold title to a qualified energy generator that first produces electricity
between January 1, 2011 and December 31, 2020. The new credit allows a qualified producer of renewable energy
to receive an individual or corporate income tax credit of up to $2.0 million per year on the electricity they
produce for 10 years. Given that a taxpayer may begin earning credits as late as TY 2020, the latest year a credit
may be earned under a 10-year schedule is TY 2030. The renewable energy credit has an annual cap of $20.0
million for total individual and corporate income tax credits. A 5-year carry forward of the credit is allowed [A.R.S.
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§ 43-1083.02]. This credit cannot be claimed against the same facilities that are used to claim the Renewable
Manufacturing Facility credit (Laws 2017, Chapter 299 repeals the manufacturer portion of the Renewable
Manufacturing Facility credit after December 31, 2017) [A.R.S. § 43-1083.04]. For additional information on
renewable energy incentives, see Appendix A.

Research and Development (R&D). The credit is calculated based on the amount of qualified research expenses
exceeding a certain "base amount" (defined in the Internal Revenue Code). Prior to TY 2010, the credit was
calculated as 20% of up to $2.5 million in qualified expenses and 11% of qualified expenses above $2.5 million.
Laws 2008, Chapter 290 expanded the credit in TY 2010 to TY 2017, to 24% of up to $2.5 million in qualified
expenses and 15% of qualified expenses above $2.5 million. Laws 2017, Chapter 340 extends availability of the
enhanced credit rates from tax year 2017 to tax year 2021. Laws 2010, Chapter 312 changes the credit from being
nonrefundable to refundable for those companies that employ less than 150 full-time employees. Specifically, the
act provides that such taxpayers receive a refund equal to 75% of the amount by which the credit exceeds their
liability. The refundable aspect of the credit has an annual cap of $5.0 million cumulatively for the individual and
corporate income tax and is effective retroactively from January 1, 2010. If in any year less than $5.0 million of
credits are filed collectively by all taxpayers, any unused amount rolls over to the next year. Laws 2011, 2"¢ Special
Session, Chapter 1 expands the tax credit, beginning in FY 2013, by increasing the credit calculation by 10% for
university-related research. The credit is subject to an aggregate cap of $10.0 million per year between individual
and corporate income taxpayers. A 15-year carry forward of the credit is allowed [A.R.S. § 43-1074.01].

School Site Donation Credit. A credit is allowed in the amount of 30% of the value of real property and
improvements donated by a taxpayer to a school district or a charter school. This credit became available January
1, 2001. This non-refundable tax credit is allowed to be carried forward for no more than 5 consecutive years
[A.R.S. § 43-1089.02].

School Tuition S Corporation Credit. Owners of an S corporation may claim a credit for cash contributions made to
a school tuition organization (STO) that provides scholarships to “low income” or “displaced or disabled” students.
Prior to Laws 2015, Chapter 301, only businesses classified as C corporations were allowed to receive income tax
credits for such contributions, pursuant to A.R.S. § 43-1183 and A.R.S. § 43-1184. In order to be used for tax
purposes, an S corporation’s credits must be pro-rated, passed through to the business owners and applied to the
owners’ individual income tax liability [A.R.S. § 43-1089.04].

The full amount of the low-income tax credit approved by DOR for individual income, corporate income, and
insurance premium tax credits is capped at $10.0 million per year, with the cap increasing by 20% per year
beginning in FY 2008 [A.R.S. § 43-1183]. The credit cap is $74.3 million in FY 2018, $89.2 million in FY 2019, and
$107.0 in FY 2020. There is no cap on the amount of contributions made by individual businesses. The full amount
of the displaced or disabled tax credit approved by DOR is capped at $5.0 million per year [A.R.S. § 43-1184]. A
taxpayer may carry forward the unused portion of either tax credit for 5 years. See Appendix B in the Tax
Handbook for a comparison of private school tax credits.

School Tuition Organizations (STO-1). A credit may be claimed for donations to a non-governmental primary or
secondary school tuition organization (STO) that allocates at least 90% of its annual revenue to educational
scholarships or tuition grants. Laws 2010, Chapter 293 provides that the maximum amount of the credit be
adjusted for inflation each year and prohibits taxpayers from swapping donations with others for the benefit of
their dependents. The maximum credit is $555 for taxpayers filing as single or head of household and $1,110 for
married couples during TY 2018. Laws 2010, Chapter 188 allows a donation made between the close of the tax
year and the individual income tax filing deadline to be applied to either the current or preceding tax year for the
purpose of claiming the individual income tax credit. A 5-year carry forward of the credit is allowed [A.R.S. § 43-
1089]. See Appendix B in the Tax Handbook for a comparison of private school tax credits.

School Tuition Organizations (STO-2). Laws 2012, Chapter 4 created a new tax credit for cash contributions to

school tuition organizations (STO). The new credit, which is effective retroactively from January 1, 2012, is only

available if the tax-filer has already claimed the maximum amount under the existing STO tax credit program for

individuals (see STO-1 above). The Department of Revenue is required to adjust the maximum credit amount for

inflation each year. The maximum credit is $552 for taxpayers filing as single or head of household and $1,103 for
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married couples during TY 2018. Scholarship monies generated by the new credit are available only to students
who either: (1) attended public school full-time for at least 90 days in the prior year and transferred to private
school, (2) are the dependent of a member of the armed forces, (3) are entering Kindergarten, or (4) received a
STO scholarship in the prior year under 1 of the first 3 criteria [A.R.S. § 43-1089.03]. See Appendix B in the Tax
Handbook for a comparison of private school tax credits.

Small Business (“Angel”) Investment Credit. This credit is provided to investors that make investments in targeted
small businesses certified by the Arizona Commerce Authority (ACA). A qualified (“angel”) investor must be either
an individual, or a limited liability company, sub-chapter S corporation, or partnership. C corporations are not
eligible for the credit. The credit is equal to 30% of the qualified investment unless the investment is made in a
rural or bioscience company, in which case the credit is 35%. The credit must be claimed in installments over 3
years. Credit is nonrefundable and unused amounts can be carried forward up to 3 years.

Prior to Laws 2017, Chapter 319, the angel investment credit was limited to a total of $20.0 million over the life of
the program, from July 1, 2006 through June 30, 2021. ACA reports completing approval of the full $20.0 million
cap by June 2015. Laws 2017, Chapter 319 permitted ACA to authorize an additional $10.0 million in credits from
July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2021. Of the $10.0 million in additional credits, ACA may approve up to $2.5 million for
each year. Any unused portion of the $2.5 million annual cap may be authorized in the following years of the
program. Taxpayers are allowed to claim authorized credits on their tax returns through TY 2024. For an
individual investor, the credit is applied to investment amounts of up to $500,000 per calendar year in one or more
qualified small businesses. Investment amounts in excess of $500,000 do not generate tax credits. To receive
qualified angel investments, a business must employee at least 2 Arizona residents and must not have assets
exceeding $10.0 million or be engaged in activities involving human cloning or embryonic stem cell research. Once
a qualified business has received a total of $2.0 million in qualified investments, it is no longer allowed to receive
credit-eligible angel investments [A.R.S. § 43-1074.02].

Solar Energy Devices for Commercial and Industrial Purposes. A taxpayer can claim a credit equal to 10% of the
installed cost of a solar energy device used in their trade or business. The credit cannot exceed $25,000 for the
same building in the same year or $50,000 in total in any year.  This income tax credit may be claimed by a
taxpayer purchasing a solar energy device, or a taxpayer that finances the purchase of a qualifying device. The
credit also may be transferred to a third party that manufactures or installs a qualifying device. The credit is
available between tax years 2006 and 2018. This non-refundable tax credit is allowed to be carried forward for no
more than 5 consecutive years [A.R.S. § 43-1085]. For additional information on renewable energy incentives, see
Appendix A.

Solar Energy Devices for Residential Purposes. A taxpayer may claim 25% of the purchase price for a qualified solar
energy device installed in the taxpayer’s residence located in Arizona. The maximum credit is $1,000 per year and
$1,000 in aggregate for the same residence. This non-refundable tax credit is allowed to be carried forward for no
more than 5 consecutive years [A.R.S. § 43-1083]. For additional information on renewable energy incentives, see
Appendix A.

Solar Hot Water Heater Stub-Outs and Electric Vehicle Recharge Outlets. Laws 2017, Chapter 299 repeals this
credit after December 31, 2017. Prior to repeal, a taxpayer may earn a credit up to $75 for installing solar hot
water plumbing stub-outs or electric vehicle recharge outlets in home dwellings built by the taxpayer. This non-
refundable tax credit is allowed to be carried forward for no more than 5 consecutive years [A.R.S. § 43-1090]. For
additional information on renewable energy incentives, see Appendix A.

Solar Liquid Fuel. Laws 2017, Chapter 299 repeals this credit after December 31, 2017. Prior to repeal, a taxpayer
may earn a tax credit for research and development, production, and delivery system costs associated with solar
liquid fuel for tax years 2011 through 2017. Prior to Laws 2017, Chapter 299, the credit was available through tax
year 2026. A taxpayer may take a credit for increased research and development related to solar liquid fuel of 40%
of qualified research expenses within the state over a "base amount" (defined in the Internal Revenue Code). In
tax years 2016 through 2017, a taxpayer may take a credit for production of solar liquid fuel equal to: 1) 11¢ per
100,000 British thermal units (BTUs) of fuel produced in the state during the tax year for the production of solar
liquid fuel in commercial quantities; and 2) 30% of the cost of converting or modifying an existing motor vehicle
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fuel service station for the retail sale of solar liquid fuel to customers. The latter portion of the credit is limited to
$20,000 per taxable year per service station [A.R.S. § 43-1085.01]. Taxpayers who use the research and
development tax credit are prohibited from also taking a tax credit against the same research and development if
it is associated with solar liquid fuel. For additional information on renewable energy incentives, see Appendix A.

TANF Employment. A credit that is allowed for net increases in qualified employment of recipients of temporary
assistance for needy families (TANF) residing in Arizona. The credit is in lieu of any wage expense deduction taken
for tax purposes. This non-refundable tax credit is allowed to be carried forward for no more than 5 consecutive
years [A.R.S. § 43-1087].

Taxes Paid to Other States. Subject to certain conditions, residents are allowed a credit for income taxes paid to
another state or country [A.R.S. § 43-1071].

Water Conservation Systems. This non-refundable credit, which was effective for tax years 2007 through 2011,
was for the installation of water conservation systems to encourage the re-use of “graywater,” or wastewater for
irrigation purposes. The credit was equal to 25% of the cost of the water conservation system up to a maximum of
$1,000. The maximum aggregate amount that could be claimed in a taxable year was $250,000. Though new
credits may not be earned after tax year 2011, previously earned credits may be carried forward up to 5 years and
used no later than tax year 2016.
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TAX COMPUTATION

The amount of individual income tax due (or owed) for individuals, partnerships, and fiduciaries are computed as

follows:

Individuals:

|Arizona Gross Income|

Plus

|Additions to Income|
Minus

|Subtractions from Income|
Minus

I

xemptions|
Equals

|Arizona Adjusted Gross Income|
Minus

|Standard or Itemized Deductions|
Minus

Personal Exemptions
Equals

axable Income
Multiply By

ax Rates
Equals

ax Liability]

Minus

ax Credits
Minus

ax Payments|
Equals

ax Due|

Equivalent to taxpayer's federal adjusted gross income. Includes a taxpayer’s
capital gain or loss.

See A.R.S. § 43-1021 for amounts not taxed under federal income tax laws,
but subject to Arizona income tax.

See A.R.S. § 43-1022 for amounts taxed under federal income tax laws, but
not subject to Arizona income tax.

See A.R.S. § 43-1023 for exemptions: (1) $1,500 for blind taxpayer and/or
spouse (2) $2,300 for taxpayer and/or spouse who is age 65 or over, (3)
$2,300 for each dependent, (4) $2,300 for stillborn child, and (5) $10,000 for
qualifying parents and ancestors of parents.

See A.R.S. § 43-1041 and 43-1042: Standard deduction is $5,312 for single or
married filing separately and $10,613 for married filing jointly or unmarried
head of household. Beginning in tax year 2005, the standard deduction is
adjusted for inflation each year. Prior to TY 2018, Itemized deductions were
the same as on the federal income tax return. Following the federal 2017
Tax Cuts and Jobs Act, Arizona no longer conforms to some federal itemized
deduction provisions.

See A.R.S. § 43-1043: (1) single or married filing separately - $2,150 in tax
year (TY) 2017 and $2,200 in TY 2018; (2) married filing jointly and

(3) unmarried head of household - $4,300 in TY 2017 and $4,400 in TY 2018
(4) a married couple filing a joint return and claiming at least one dependent
- $6,450 in TY 2017 and $6,600 in TY 2018. Beginning in TY 2019, personal
exemption amounts are adjusted for inflation each year.

See Tax Rate Section.

See Tax Credits Section.

Withholding, estimated, and extension payments made to the Department of
Revenue.

This can also be an overpayment; in which case, taxpayer will be entitled to
tax refund.
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Partnerships:

|Arizona Gross Income)
Add

|Addition to Income|
Minus

|Subtractions from Income|
Equals

|Arizona Taxable Income|
Calculate

Apportionment Ratio|

Fiduciaries:

|Arizona Gross Income)
Add

|Additions to Income|
Minus

|Subtractions from Income|
Equals

|Arizona Taxable Income|
Multiply By

|Individua| Tax Rates|
Equals

Minus

|Individua| Tax Credits|
Minus

Equals

Equivalent to federal ordinary business and rental income for the year,
excluding (1) items requiring a separate computation under A.R.S. § 43-1412,
paragraph 1 through 17 and (2) the federal provisions relating to interest on
investment indebtedness.

See A.R.S. § 43-1021 for amounts not taxed under federal income tax laws,
but subject to Arizona income tax.

See A.R.S. § 43-1022 for amounts taxed under federal income tax laws, but
not subject to Arizona income tax.

This is mainly for filing and reporting purposes. The taxable income of a
partnership is passed through to individuals in the partnership who are then
taxed through the individual income tax on their distributed portion of the
income.

Only for multi-state partnerships to determine Arizona's share of income and

deductions. Uses a 3-part apportionment formula of property, payroll and
sales. See A.R.S. § 43-1131 through A.R.S. § 43-1150.

Equivalent to federal taxable income of estates or trusts. Income is taxable
based on the residence of the decedent for an estate and the residence
of the fiduciary or the beneficiary for a trust. See A.R.S. § 43-1301.

See A.R.S. § 43-1331 for a list of additions which also include those items
listed for individuals under A.R.S. § 43-1021.

See A.R.S. § 43-1332 for a list of subtractions which also include those items

listed for individuals under A.R.S. § 43-1022.

See Tax Rate Section.

See Tax Credits Section.
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Table 11 below compares select differences in Arizona and Federal computations of individual income tax.

Table 11

Number of Tax Brackets ¥

Marginal Tax Rates
Ordinary Income
Long-Term Capital Gains 2/

Exemptions

Standard Deduction ¥/

Single

Married Filing Jointly

Head of Household

Added Deduction if Age 65 years +
Added Deduction if Blind

Personal Exemptions &

Select Differences in Taxation
Social Security Income

Medical Expenses

Child and Dependent
Care Expenses

E

State and Federal Individual Income Tax Systems

Tax Year 2018

Arizona Individual Income Tax

5 brackets

2.59% to 4.54%
Ordinary rates reduced (25)%

(1) $1,500 if blind

(2) $2,300 if age 65 years or over

(3) $2,300 for each dependent

(4) $2,300 for stillborn child

(5) $10,000 for qualifying parents and
ancestors of parents

$5,312

$10,631

$10,631

See exemptions above
See exemptions above

(1) $2,150 if filing single

(2) $4,300 if married filing jointly

(3) $4,300 if unmarried head of household

(4) $6,450 if married filing jointly with at
least 1 dependent.

Social Security Income is not taxable.
Taxpayers may take a state subtraction of any
income that is taxed at the federal level.

Taxpayers that itemize deductions may take a
deduction of all unreimbursed medical
expenses.

No deduction is offered. See exemption
above for qualifying parents and ancestors of
parents that reside with the taxpayer.

Arizona and federal individual income tax brackets are adjusted annually for inflation.
Long-term capital gains are realized on assets held longer than 1 year.
Arizona and federal standard deduction amounts are adjusted annually for inflation.
For married couples filing jointly, the added deduction is $1,250 for each taxpayer that qualifies, up to $2,500 per couple. For those filing

single or as head of household, the added deduction is $1,550.

2

Federal Personal Income Tax

7 brackets

10.0% to 37.0%
0.0% to 20.0%

See standard deduction and personal
exemptions below.

$12,000
$24,000
$18,000
$1,300 - $2,600 %/
$1,300 - $2,600 ¥/

None. Z/

No amount is taxable if the sum of 50% of
Social Security Income plus 100% of other
income is less than specified income limits.
Up to 85% of Social Security Income is
taxable for taxpayers with income above
the limits.

Taxpayers that itemize deductions may
take a deduction of the amount of
unreimbursed medical expenses that
exceed 10% of federal adjusted gross
income.

Working taxpayers may claim a credit of up
to $2,100 for costs incurred for child or
dependent care. The credit is calculated as
20% to 35% of qualifying costs.

Taxpayers that meet income requirements and are either disabled or 65 years of age or older may take a credit of up to $7,500 a year.
Under Laws 2017, Chapter 299, Arizona personal exemption amounts are increased in TY 2018 to $2,200 for those filing single, $4,400 for

married couples filing jointly or unmarried heads of household, and to $6,600 for married couples filing jointly with at least 1 dependent.
Beginning in TY 2019, personal exemption amounts are adjusted annually for inflation, as measured by the Phoenix Consumer Price Index.

N

refundable credit of up to $2,000 for each dependent child.

Personal exemption eliminated by the 2017 Tax Cuts and Jobs Act. Taxpayers that meet certain income requirements may also take a partially
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PAYMENT SCHEDULE

Withholding. To simplify payment of the individual income tax, a portion of the tax is paid through a system of
withholding. Under Arizona law, a percentage of taxable wages is deducted and withheld by the employer for
state income tax purposes at the time wages are paid [A.R.S. § 43-401].

Withholding of state income tax is determined based on withholding tables established by the Department of
Revenue. Under this withholding table, an employee’s state withholding is calculated as a percentage of their
gross taxable wages. The withholding percentages effective since January 1, 2011 are as follows: 0.8%, 1.3%, 1.8%,
2.7%, 3.6%, 4.2%, or 5.1% of gross taxable wages. Additionally, employees can also choose to have their employer
withhold an extra amount from each paycheck.

Employers have the option to not withhold income tax during the month of December. If an employer elects to
not withhold tax in December, he is required to notify the Department of Revenue and his employees of this
decision.

An individual income taxpayer may authorize his employer to reduce his withholding amount in order to make
contributions to a school tuition organization, charitable organization or public school.

Exclusions. Certain types of employment are exempt from the withholding requirements (see A.R.S. § 43-403 for a
complete list).

Disposition. Employers who deduct withholding from their employees' wages are required to transfer the
withholding collections to DOR. If an employer's withholding collections exceeded an average of $1,500 per
quarter over the 4 preceding calendar quarters, the employer must forward withholding collections to the state in
accordance with the federal payment schedule. For employers whose withholding collections did not exceed an
average of $1,500 per quarter over the 4 preceding calendar quarters, the withholding collections for the previous
calendar quarter must be transferred to DOR on or before April 30, July 31, October 31, and January 31.

Estimated Tax Payments. A taxpayer whose Arizona gross income was greater than $75,000 (or $150,000 if the
taxpayer filed a joint return) in the preceding taxable year or can reasonably expect to exceed $75,000 (or
$150,000 if the taxpayer files a joint return) in the current year, must make estimated payments, if estimated
withholding for the tax year does not equal 90% of the tax liability for the current year or 100% of the liability for
the preceding year [A.R.S. § 43-581].

The estimated amount shall be paid in 4 installments on or before the due dates established for federal filing and
reasonably reflect the taxpayer's Arizona income tax liability. The total of annual estimated tax payments and
withholding tax must be at least 90% of the tax liability for the current year or 100% of tax liability for the
preceding year.

If a taxpayer does not pay the required estimated tax payments, DOR will assess a penalty not exceeding 10% of
the unpaid tax plus interest on the unpaid balance.

Voluntary Payments. All other taxpayers may voluntarily make estimated tax payments during the tax year.

Payment of Balance. The taxpayer is required to pay the balance of the tax due on April 15 after the close of the
calendar year or, if return is based on a fiscal year, on the 15th day of the fourth month following the close of the
fiscal year. Anincome tax return is required to be filed with DOR along with the tax payment [A.R.S. § 43-501].

Electronic Fund Transfer and Tax Filing Requirements. Employers that had withholding tax liability of at least
$20,000 in the preceding taxable year are required to remit tax payments to DOR by electronic fund transfer (EFT).
Laws 2017, Chapter 60 lowers the liability threshold for EFT payments to $10,000 for TY 2019, $5,000 for TY 2020,
and $500 for TY 2021 and later years.
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Beginning in TY 2018, Chapter 60 additionally requires tax professionals that prepare 11 or more state individual
income tax returns a year to electronically file all prepared returns with DOR [A.R.S. § 42-1129 and A.R.S. § 43-
323].

Extensions. If requested, the department will grant a taxpayer an automatic 6-month filing extension [A.R.S. § 42-
1107]. Note, however, that a filing extension does not extend the taxpayer’s time to pay his income tax. The
taxpayer is still required to pay at least 90% of his tax liability by the original due date of the return. The
department charges interest from the original due date to the date of payment. The department also imposes
penalties as explained below.

Extension Underpayment Penalty. When applying for an extension, at least 90% of the tax liability must be paid by
the original due date or the taxpayer is subject to a penalty of 0.5% of the unpaid balance for each 30 days or
fraction thereof. This penalty cannot exceed 25% of the unpaid tax [A.R.S. § 42-1125].

Late Filing Penalty. This penalty is 4.5% of the tax required to be shown on the return for each month or fraction
thereof the return is late. The penalty cannot exceed 25% of the unpaid tax [A.R.S. § 42-1125].

Late Payment Penalty. This penalty is 0.5% of the amount shown as tax for each month or fraction thereof for
which the failure to pay tax continues. This penalty cannot exceed a total of 10% of the tax [A.R.S. § 42-1125].

TAX EXPENDITURES

DOR is required by law to prepare an annual report to the Governor and the Legislature detailing the estimated
cost in lost revenues from the provision of tax expenditures [A.R.S. §42-1005]. Tax expenditures are provisions
within the law, such as subtractions, exemptions, deductions and credits that are designed to encourage certain
kinds of activity or to aid taxpayers in certain categories. Tax expenditures result in a loss of tax revenues for both
state and local governments.

Based on the most recent report, the state collected about $3.1 billion in resident individual income taxes in tax
year 2012. However, according to DOR, the state allows subtractions, exemptions, deductions, and credits worth
as much as $2.13 billion during a tax year. Table 12 lists individual income tax subtractions, exemptions and
deductions for tax year 2012, as shown in DOR’s report The Revenue Impact of Arizona’s Tax Expenditures FY
2013/14. Laws 2015, Chapter 8 and Laws 2016, Chapter 125 requires DOR to report by September 30 each year on
the amounts of individual income tax credits claimed in the preceding fiscal year. Table 13 lists credits reported by
DOR for FY 2017. The total annual tax expenditure estimate of $2.13 billion, which was derived from DOR’s
Individual Income Tax Simulation Model and FY 2016 tax credit report, represents foregone revenues to the state
General Fund and to the Urban Revenue Sharing Fund.

In addition to tax expenditure provisions, the state permits individual and corporate income tax filers to accelerate
depreciation of certain qualified asset purchases, for purposes of calculating state income tax liability. The
Accelerated Depreciation section within this Individual Income Tax section includes more details on these
allowances.

ACCELERATED DEPRECIATION ALLOWANCES

The Internal Revenue Code (IRC) allows individual and corporate income tax filers to accelerate depreciation of
qualified asset purchases under multiple programs for purposes of calculating federal taxable income. Though
historically authorized on an annual basis, these accelerations have recently been made permanent or extended
several years. For purposes of calculating state taxable income, the state’s individual and corporate income tax
statutes have varied with regard to conforming to the federal business expensing allowance and the federal bonus
depreciation allowance. Based on the amount of federal allowance available in a given tax year, tax filers are able
to use these provisions, potentially together, to reduce their federal and state taxable income in the tax year that
the qualified investment is made. Allowances adjust the timing, not the total amount, of depreciation that can be
taken over the life of an asset.
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Business Expensing

Section 179 of the IRC is a federal business expensing provision that allows individual and corporate tax filers to
deduct 100% of their qualified property (up to a stipulated amount) in the year of purchase rather than in smaller
installments over several years according to a federal depreciation schedule. The maximum business expensing
deduction cannot exceed a filer’s federal taxable income and is reduced, dollar for dollar, for investment exceeding
a certain threshold. Qualified property generally includes purchase of new or used commercial machinery,
equipment, and certain types of software.

Congress gradually increased the business expensing allowance on a temporary basis, from an amount of $24,000
in TY 2002 to $500,000 in TY 2010 through TY 2014. The $500,000 allowance available from TY 2010 through TY
2014 is reduced dollar for dollar, for investment exceeding $2.0 million.

Prior to TY 2013, Arizona capped the allowance at $25,000 (Laws 2004, Chapter 196) for purposes of calculating
Arizona income tax liability for individuals and corporations. Laws 2013, Chapter 256 first conformed the state’s
tax statutes to the IRC’s $500,000 business expensing federal deduction limit that was in place at the time of
passage. Therefore, Chapter 256 effectively removed the $25,000 cap. Laws 2015, Chapter 227 conformed
Arizona tax statutes to the temporary federal allowance of $500,000 in TY 2014, which reduced annual revenues
by an estimated $(30.8) million in FY 2015 and later years (see 2015 Tax Handbook, page 49 for detail about past
conformity estimates).

The federal Consolidated Appropriations Act of 2016 made permanent the $500,000 business expensing
allowance, beginning retroactively to TY 2015. Laws 2016, Chapter 155 conformed the state’s tax statutes to the
IRC’s permanent expensing limit. There is no added revenue loss from conforming to the permanent limit, as the
previous estimated impact of $(30.8) million a year assumed the continuation of the $500,000 limit in future years.

The 2017 federal Tax Cuts and Jobs Act increased the maximum deduction from $500,000 to $1.0 million, and also
increased the phase-out threshold from $2.0 million to $2.5 million and indexes those amounts to inflation. To
date, Arizona has not conformed to these federal tax law changes.

Bonus Depreciation

Federal bonus depreciation provides individual and corporate tax filers an added first-year depreciation allowance
for purchases of qualified new property. Therefore, after deducting any bonus depreciation in the first year of an
investment, the remaining value of the asset may be depreciated according to the percentages in federal
depreciation schedules.

Congress established a temporary 30% bonus depreciation allowance in TY 2002 and eventually increased the limit
to 50% in TY 2013 and TY 2014. Prior to TY 2013, Arizona tax statutes did not conform to the federal allowance for
purposes of calculating state income tax liability (Laws 2002, Chapter 344 and Laws 2004, Chapter 196). Beginning
in TY 2014, Laws 2012, Chapter 343 permitted individual income taxpayers to reduce their state taxable income by
an amount equal to 10% of the federal allowance, if any. Arizona taxpayers were first able to take the partial
allowance in TY 2014 on property placed in service in TY 2013 (10% of the 50% federal allowance in TY 2013).
Conforming to 10% of the temporary allowance of 50% in TY 2014 (Laws 2015, Chapter 227) was estimated to
reduce annual revenues by $(1.8) million in FY 2015 and later years.

The federal Consolidated Appropriations Act of 2016 extended federal bonus depreciation, providing allowances of
50% in TY 2015 through TY 2017, 40% in TY 2018, and 30% in TY 2019. Laws 2016, Chapter 118 conformed the
state’s deduction to 55% of the federal allowance in TY 2016 and 100% in TY 2017 and subsequent years. The 2-
year phase-in of full state conformity of federal bonus depreciation is estimated to reduce individual income tax by
$(8.0) million in FY 2017, followed by an additional reduction of $(8.0) million in FY 2018. Under the 2017 Internal
Revenue Code (IRC) conformity bill (Laws 2017, Chapter 2), Chapter 118 is estimated to reduce individual income
tax revenue by $(8.0) million in FY 2018. This estimate was based on the 50% federal bonus depreciation allowance
in effect for TY 2017 when the 2017 IRCS conformity bill was enacted.

The federal Tax Cuts and Jobs Act (TCJA) enacted in December 2017 increases the federal bonus depreciation
allowance from 50% to 100% for qualified equipment placed in service between September 28, 2017 and
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December 31, 2022. The 2018 Internal Revenue Code (IRC) conformity bill (Laws 2018, Chapter 142), which was
signed into law on April 5, 2018, only conforms state statutes to the TCJA provisions that were effective
retroactively for TY 2017. Therefore, the state income deduction for TY 2018 is currently based on the pre-TCJIA
bonus depreciation allowance of 50%. Chapter 142 is estimated to result in a one-time individual income tax
revenue loss of $(5.0) million in FY 2019.

The primary differences between bonus depreciation and business expensing are that bonus depreciation: (1) is
only available for new property investments; (2) does not include an investment limitation for determining the
deduction amount; (3) can be used to create a net operating loss that can be carried forward to future years; and
(4) for purposes of calculating Arizona income tax liability, may only be used by individual taxpayers.

Table 12

DOLLAR VALUE OF TY 2012 INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX

SUBTRACTIONS, EXEMPTIONS AND DEDUCTIONS

FEDERAL SUBTRACTIONS FROM INCOME: Tax Year 2012
Certain business expenses of reservists, performing artists, etc. 89,000
Health savings account deduction 3,077,000
Moving expenses 1,283,000
One-half of self-employment tax 13,676,000
Self-employed SEP and SIMPLE deduction 14,599,000
Self-employed health insurance deduction 13,924,000
Penalty on early withdrawal of savings 11,000
Alimony paid 4,566,000
Individual Retirement Account for Qualifying Individuals 4,693,000
Student Loan Interest Deduction 3,154,000
Tuition and fees deduction 1,431,000
Domestic Production Activities 5,338,000
Educator Expenses 421,000
Total Value of Federal Subtractions from Income $66,626,000
EXEMPTIONS:
Personal Exemptions $235,592,000
Preferential Personal Exemption for Unmarried Head of Household 15,036,000
Preferential Personal Exemption for Married Filers with One or More Dependents 30,442,000
Age 65 or over Exemptions 24,800,000
Dependent Exemptions 106,399,000
Blind Exemptions 96,000
Qualifying Parent or Ancestor Exemption 2,850,000
Total Value of Exemptions $386,766,000
SUBTRACTIONS FROM INCOME:
Interest on U.S. Obligations $3,451,000
Exclusion for Federal, State, and Local Pensions 10,297,000
Exempt State Lottery Winnings 204,000
Social Security or Railroad Retirement Benefits Included on Federal Form 1040 131,175,000
Bonus Depreciation Adjustment 53,075,000
Certain Wages of Native Americans 10,500,000
Income Tax Refunds from Other States 578,000
Deposits and Employee Contributions into Medical Savings Accounts 1,000
Adjustment for IRC Section 179 Not Allowed 10,242,000
Active Duty Military Pay 19,732,000
Net Operating Loss Adjustment 753,000
Other Subtractions 9,694,000
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Total Value of Taxes Paid Deduction
Interest Expense:

Total Value of Interest Expense

Charitable Contributions:

Total Value of Charitable Contributions

Total Value of Subtractions $251,948,000
DEDUCTIONS:

Standard Deduction $272,740,000
Preferential Standard Deduction for Unmarried Head of Household 26,804,000
Itemized Deductions:

Medical and Dental Expenses 135,332,000
Additional Medical Allowed on Arizona Return 87,582,000
Taxes Paid:

State and Local Income Taxes 129,673,000
Real Estate Taxes 64,204,000
Personal Property and Other Taxes 11,059,000

Home Mortgage Interest and Points 227,375,000
Mortgage Interest not on Form 1098 3,422,000
Points not on Form 1098 1,912,000
Qualified Mortgage Insurance Premiums 3,401,000
Deductible Investment Interest 9,270,000

Cash Contributions 87,724,000
Contributions Other Than Cash 21,453,000
Carryover From Prior Year 3,695,000

$203,500,000

$244,048,000

$113,400,000

Casualty or Theft Losses 25,000
Job Expenses and most Other Miscellaneous Deductions 51,788,000
Nonlimited Miscellaneous Deductions 19,985,000
Total Value of Itemized Deductions $583,318,000
Total Value of Standard and Itemized Deductions $1,104,219,000
Total Value of Subtractions, Exemptions and Deductions $1,809,559,000

SOURCE: Department of Revenue Report — The Revenue Impact of Arizona’s Tax Expenditures FY 2013/14.

Table 13
FY 2018 INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX CREDITS

CREDITS: Effective Tax Years Annual Cost Y%
Agricultural Pollution Control Equipment 1999 - S0
Agricultural Water Conservation System 1994 - 3,040,183
Commercial and Industrial Solar 2006 - 2018 324,882
Contributions to Qualifying Charitable Organizations 1998 - 68,262,178
Contributions to Qualifying Foster Charitable Organizations 2016 - 20,654,368
Donations to the Military Family Relief Fund 2009 - 2018 993,186
Employing National Guard 2006 - 0
Employment of TANF Recipients 1998 - S0
Enterprise Zone 3 1990 - 2011 5,514
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Environmental Technology 1993 - 0
Facility Credit 2013 - 2022 26,000
Family Tax 1996 - 3,846,271
Health Insurance Plans 2012 - 2014 10,844
Healthy Forest Enterprise 2005 - 2024 N/R
Healthy Forecast Restoration Workforce Training 2012 - 2017 0
Investment in Qualified Small Businesses 2007 - 2024 944,389
Low-Income Credit for Proposition 301 Taxes ¥ 2001 - 28,402,015
Military Reuse Zone 1993 - 2017 0
Motion Picture Production and Infrastructure ¥ 2006 - 2010 0
New Employment ¢ 2011 - 2029 679,113
Pollution Control Device 1995 - N/R
Property Tax 1975 - 7,730,007
Public School Extra Curricular Activity Fee 1998 - 46,345,735
Recycling Equipment ¥ 1993 - 2002 0
Renewable Energy Investment & 2010-2017 0
Renewable Energy Manufacturing Facility ¥1¢ 2014 - 2025 0
Renewable Energy Production ¥ 2011 -2030 267,925
Research and Development - Nonrefundable 1/ 2001 - 12,910,083
Research and Development - Refundable 2010 - 206,665
Research and Development — University Research 1/ 2012 - 0
School Site Donation 2001 - 22,651
School Tuition S Corporation 2015- 1,014,200
School Tuition Organizations (Original) 1998 - 66,851,200
School Tuition Organizations (Switcher) 2012 - 38,341,200
Solar Energy Device 1995 - 7,182,855
Solar Liquid Fuel 2011 -2017 0
Solar Water Heater Plumbing Stub Outs and Electric 1998 - 2017 17,250
Vehicle Recharge Outlets
Taxes Paid to Other States or Countries ¥/ 1935 - 158,258,647
Water Conservation Systems 14/ 2007 - 2011 0
Total Value of Credits 1/ $473,277,469
TOTAL VALUE OF INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX EXPENDITURES ¢ $2,282,836,469
1/ Amounts represent credits claimed in FY 2018.
2/ “N/R” indicates that information is not releasable due to Arizona confidentiality laws.
3/  Credit was effective through TY 2011, but earned credits have a 5-year carry forward.
4/  Creditis subject to the 1998 Voter Protection Act (Proposition 105).
5/  Credit was effective through TY 2010, but earned credits have a 5-year carry forward.
6/  Statute does not permit the Arizona Commerce Authority to authorize new credits after June 30, 2025. Given a

maximum 5-year schedule, the credit may not be claimed after TY 2029.
Credit was effective through TY 2002, but earned credits have a 15-year carry forward.

N
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8/  Creditis capped at $70.0 million annually between corporate and individual income taxpayers.

9/  Creditis capped at $10.0 million annually between corporate and individual income taxpayers.

10/ Laws 2017, Chapter 299 repeals the portion of the credit available to manufacturing companies after December
31, 2017.

11/ Credit is capped at $5.0 million annually between corporate and individual income taxpayers.

12/ Credit is capped at $10.0 million annually between corporate and individual income taxpayers.

13/ Credit prevents double-taxation of income.

14/ Credit was effective through TY 2011, but earned credits have a 5-year carry forward.

15/ Totals include amounts that were not releasable by credit. As a result, credit amounts may not add to total.

16/ Amount represents the sum of total tax expenditures from subtractions, exemptions, and deductions in Table

11 and credits in Table 12.

SOURCE: Department of Revenue report to the Legislature on the amount of individual income tax credits
claimed in FY 2018.

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2012.

2018 LAWS

Laws 2018, Chapter 74 extends the low-income credit for Proposition 301 taxes to December 31, 2041. This credit
was previously set to expire along with the 0.6% sales tax enacted by Proposition 301 in TY 2021. Chapter 74
extends both the temporary 0.6% sales tax and the tax credit through TY 2041.

Laws 2018, Chapter 104 was a correction bill that made technical and clarification changes to the Arizona Revised
Statutes. (Effective from August 3, 2018)

Laws 2018, Chapter 142 was the annual conformity bill that updated the definition of the Internal Revenue Code
(IRC) to include all IRC provisions that were in effect as of January 1, 2017. This included provisions of the federal
Tax Cuts and Jobs Act (TCJA) that were made retroactively effective for tax year 2017. The TCJA increased the
allowable rate of the bonus depreciation allowance from 50% to 100% of qualified business investment made after
September 27, 2017. Chapter 142 conforms to the full bonus depreciation deduction for individual income tax
payers for the final 3 months of TY 2017. Most TCJA provisions were effective January 1, 2018. Chapter 142 does
not address those provisions.

Laws 2018, Chapter 199 extends the military family relief credit from December 31, 2018 to December 31, 2026.

Laws 2018, Chapter 283 increased the income tax deduction for military pensions from $2,500 to $3,500 in TY
2019 and beyond.

2017 LAWS

Laws 2017, Chapter 2 was the annual conformity bill that updated the definition of the Internal Revenue Code
(IRC) to include all IRC provisions that were in effect as of January 1, 2017.

Laws 2017, Chapter 60 includes several provisions for electronic filing and payment of taxes to the Department of
Revenue (DOR). The act's individual income tax provisions are listed below.

e Reduces the tax liability threshold above which employers must pay withholding tax using electronic funds
transfer. The threshold is reduced from $20,000 for TY 2018, to $10,000 for TY 2019, $5,000 for TY 2020, and
$500 for TY 2021 and later years. (Effective from January 1, 2019)
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e Requires tax professionals that prepare 11 or more state individual income tax returns a year to file all
prepared returns electronically. (Effective from January 1, 2018)

e Requires individuals that receive taxable income as fiduciaries of estates or owners of a business partnership
to electronically file their state returns. The requirement begins in tax year (TY) 2020, or in the tax year DOR
begins accepting electronic returns from fiduciaries and partners, whichever is later. (Effective from January
1, 2020 or later)

e  Prohibits DOR from distributing paper tax return forms, except upon request from the taxpayer. (Effective
from August 9, 2017)

Laws 2017, Chapter 127 designates a business' conversion from one type of legal structure to another as a
nontaxable event for purposes of calculating state income taxes, if the conversion does not include changes to a
business' ownership interests or assets. Prior to the bill, owners of a C or S corporation that converted to a
partnership or limited liability company could realize capital gains income that was subject to the state's individual
income tax. (Effective from August 9, 2017)

Laws 2017, Chapter 172 allows a taxpayer to voluntarily designate an amount to donate from their refund to the
Spaying and Neutering of Animals Fund. Money in the fund is allocated to qualifying organizations that aim to
reduce pet overpopulation in the state through sterilization of dogs and cats. (Effective retroactively to January 1,
2017)

Laws 2017, Chapter 178 was a tax correction bill that made technical and clarifying changes to the Arizona Revised
Statutes. (Most provisions are effective from August 9, 2017 while others are effective from December 31, 2017).

Laws 2017, Chapter 278 permits a business to subtract for income tax purposes the entire amount of business
access expenditures incurred in a tax year to retrofit property in order to comply with the federal Americans with
Disabilities Act of 1990. The bill has the effect of accelerating depreciation of such property to 1 year rather than
depreciating it over several years. The income tax subtraction applies to property that was originally placed in
service 10 years prior to retrofitting. Investments must be made in TY 2018 or later years to qualify for the
subtraction. The full impact of this provision is included in the Corporate Income Tax section. (Effective from
January 1, 2018)

Laws 2017, Chapter 299 includes several tax (individual income, corporate income, and insurance premium)
provisions. The act’s individual income tax provisions are summarized below.

Increases to Personal Exemption

In TY 2017, Chapter 299 increases the personal exemption amount allowed by individual income taxpayers from
$2,100 to $2,150 for single filers, from $4,200 to $4,300 for head of household filers and married couples filing
jointly with no dependents, and from $6,300 to $6,450 for married couples filing jointly with at least 1 dependent.

In TY 2018, the act further increases personal exemption amounts to $2,200 for single filers, $4,400 for head of
household filers and married couples filing jointly with no dependents, and $6,600 for married couples filing jointly
with at least 1 dependent.

Beginning in TY 2019, the personal exemption amounts will be adjusted for inflation in the prior calendar year, as
measured by the Metropolitan Phoenix Consumer Price Index. The act's personal exemption provisions are
estimated to reduce individual income tax collections by $(6.8) million in FY 2018, followed by additional
reductions of $(6.7) million in FY 2019, and $(2.9) million in FY 2020. (Effective retroactively to January 1, 2017)

TY 2018 Repeal of Credits
The act repeals the credits listed below, beginning in TY 2018. See the individual credits in the Tax Credits section
for information about each.

e Healthy Forest - Ecological Restoration Workforce Training
e Military Reuse Zone
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e Renewable Energy Investment
e Solar Hot Water Heater Stub Outs and Electric Vehicle Recharge Outlets
e Solar Liquid Fuel

The credits above have either not been claimed or claimed in a negligible amount in recent years. As a result, their
repeal is not expected to have a significant revenue impact. (Effective from January 1, 2018)

Repeal of Unused Credits

Beginning in TY 2018, the act requires the Department of Revenue (DOR) to end servicing of tax credits that have
not been claimed during the 4 most recent consecutive fiscal years. Credits that are authorized by the Arizona
Commerce Authority (ACA) may not be repealed if the agency approved any credits during the prior 4 fiscal years,
regardless of whether the credits were claimed against tax liability. DOR will include language to repeal unused
credits in draft tax correction legislation proposed to the Legislature annually. If legislation to repeal the credit
from statute is not enacted in the following Legislative session, DOR will restore servicing of the tax credits.
Provisions for the repeal of unused credits are not expected to have a revenue impact. (Effective from January 1,
2018)

Laws 2017, Chapter 316 provides individual and corporate income taxpayers a subtraction of net capital gains
income earned on the exchange of U.S. coins or currency in TY 2018 and later years. (Effective from January 1,
2018)

Laws 2017, Chapter 319 authorizes the ACA to issue an additional $10.0 million in angel investment tax credits
from July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2021. Of the $10.0 million in additional credits, ACA may approve up to $2.5 million
for each year. Any unused portion of the $2.5 million annual cap may be authorized in the following years of the
program. Prior to Laws 2017, Chapter 319, the credit was limited to a total of $20.0 million over the life of the
program, from July 1, 2006 through June 30, 2021. ACA reported completing approval of the initial $20.0 million
cap by June 2015. The act is expected to reduce individual income tax collections by $(833,300) in FY 2018,
followed by further reductions of $(833,300) in FY 2019, and $(833,300) in FY 2020. (Effective from January 1,
2018)

Laws 2017, Chapter 340 includes several tax (individual income, corporate income, sales, insurance premium, and
property) provisions. The act’s individual income tax provisions are summarized below.

Extend and Expand the New Employment Tax Credit

Chapter 340 extends the date by which New Employment Tax Credits may be authorized and expands access to the
credit. The bill extends the last date that ACA is permitted to authorize new credits from June 30, 2017 to June 30,
2025. Given a maximum 5-year schedule for claiming the credit (see New Employment Tax Credit section for
information), businesses may claim credits through TY 2029. Prior to Laws 2017, Chapter 340, a business could not
claim the new credit unless it added at least 25 net new jobs in a year in an urban area (5 in a rural area), paid
employees at least 100% of the county median wage, and made a capital investment of at least $5.0 million ($1.0
million in a rural area). Beginning in TY 2018, Laws 2017, Chapter 340 permits businesses to qualify under
alternative levels of capital investment and wages as displayed in Table 10. A business can now invest less than
$5.0 million if they pay wages that exceed 100% of the county median level. The required number of net new jobs
remains unchanged. The impact of this provision is included within the Corporate Income Tax section.

Extend Rate Increase for Research and Development Tax Credit

The act extends a rate increase for calculating Research and Development (R&D) credits through TY 2021. The
state's R&D credit is calculated based on the amount of qualified research expenses exceeding a certain base
amount (which is defined in the Internal Revenue Code). Prior to TY 2010, the credit was calculated as 20% of up to
$2.5 million in qualified expenses and 11% of qualified expenses above $2.5 million. Laws 2008, Chapter 290
temporarily increased the credit in TY 2010 to TY 2017, to 24% of up to $2.5 million in qualified expenses and 15%
of qualified expenses above $2.5 million. Chapter 340 extends the rate increase under Laws 2009, Chapter 290
through TY 2021. As the provision continues an existing credit at the same rate as that reflected in the revenue
base, it is not expected to have a revenue impact.
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Clarification for Claiming Qualified Facility Tax Credits

Chapter 340 clarifies that Qualified Facility credits that are pre-approved prior to the expiration of the program on
December 31, 2022 can be claimed in 5 annual installments notwithstanding any intervening repeal or termination
of the credit. This clarification of prior law has no impact on revenue collections.

2016 LAWS

Laws 2016, Chapter 35 requires the state to withhold distributions of Urban Revenue Sharing Fund (URS) monies
from cities or towns that the Attorney General finds are violating the Arizona Constitution or state laws. Cities and
towns receive annual distributions from the URS that total 15% of individual and corporate income tax collections
from 2 years prior. Under Chapter 35, the URS share of any offending locality will be redistributed to the
remaining recipients. The state would continue to withhold URS distributions until the Attorney General certifies
that the city or town is no longer in violation of the Arizona Constitution and state laws. The shared revenue
would not be withheld, though, if doing so would leave the city or town with insufficient funding to service their
long-term debt obligations. (Effective from August 6, 2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 109 increases the maximum amount that an individual income taxpayer is allowed to claim for
cash contributions to qualifying charitable organizations (QCO) and qualifying foster care charitable organizations
(QFCO). Chapter 109 increases the maximum QCO credit from $400 to $800 for married couples filing joint returns
and from $200 to $400 for all other filers. The maximum amount for the QFCO credit is increased from $800 to
$1,000 for married couples filing joint returns and from $400 to $500 for all other filers. Additionally, Chapter 109
allows a taxpayer to receive separate credits for cash contributions to a QCO and a QFCO. Prior to Chapter 109,
the maximum amount for both credits combined was $800 for married couples filing joint returns and $400 for all
other filers. This provision is estimated to reduce General Fund revenue by $(11.0) million annually, beginning in
FY 2017. (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 118 conforms the state’s individual income tax bonus depreciation deduction to 55% of the
federal allowance in TY 2016 and 100% in TY 2017 and subsequent years. Laws 2012, Chapter 343 provided an
individual income tax deduction equal to 10% of the bonus depreciation allowance claimed on federal returns for
qualified property purchased and placed in service in 2013 and later. Current federal law provides a bonus
depreciation allowance of 50% through TY 2017, 40% in TY 2018, and 30% in TY 2019. Therefore, under Chapter
118, the state individual income tax deduction is 27.5% (55% of 50% federal allowance) of the qualified investment
amount in TY 2016, 50% (100% of 50% federal allowance) in TY 2017, 40% (100% of 40% federal allowance) in TY
2018, and 30% (100% of 30% federal allowance) in TY 2019. The 2-year phase-in of full state conformity to federal
bonus depreciation is estimated to reduce individual income tax by $(8.0) million in FY 2017, followed by an
additional reduction of $(8.0) million in FY 2018. (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 155 was the annual conformity bill that updated the definition of the Internal Revenue Code
(IRC) to include all IRC provisions that were in effect as of January 1, 2016. The federal Consolidated
Appropriations Act of 2016 authorized a permanent business expensing limit of $500,000, retroactively to TY 2015.
A primary implication of Chapter 155 was conformity of the state’s tax statutes to the permanent business
expensing limit of $500,000. There is no added revenue loss from conforming to the permanent limit, as the
previous estimated impact of $(30.8) million a year assumed the continuation of the $500,000 limit in future years.
The Accelerated Depreciation Allowances section includes more details on the business expensing allowance.
(Effective retroactive from January 1, 2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 156 was a correction bill that made technical and clarification changes to the Arizona Revised
Statutes. (Effective from August 6, 2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 214 requires the state to implement tax-exempt Achieving a Better Life Experience (ABLE)
savings accounts that can be used to fund qualified expenses of disabled beneficiaries. Qualified expenses may
include costs of the disabled individual’s housing, transportation, employment training, and other needs. Under
Section 529 of the federal IRC, earnings generated from contributions to the accounts are allowed to grow tax-
free. The same tax advantage applies to state income tax since federal adjusted gross income is the starting point
for determining Arizona income tax liability. Chapter 214 also permits taxpayers a subtraction of account earnings
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if the individual did not already exclude the income when calculating federal adjusted gross income. Individuals
have the option of opening an account outside of their state of residence. (Effective retroactively from January 1,
2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 216 allows fees and contributions that fund cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) training for
public high school students to qualify for the existing public school extracurricular activity fee income tax credit.
The legislation also requires public schools to provide at least 1 training to each high school student from January
1, 2016 to July 1, 2019. The maximum credit remains $200 for taxpayers filing as single or head of household and
$400 for those filing as married couples. (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 258 is an emergency measure that amends current statutes with respect to the method by
which state-shared revenues are apportioned among counties and municipalities, as described below.

Under current law, state-shared revenue is distributed to an incorporated city or town based on its population
count as of the last federal decennial census [A.R.S. § 42-5029(I)]. During the fifth year following the decennial
census, a city/town may contract with the U.S. Census Bureau to conduct a special census of the population of that
municipality. Beginning July 1 in the sixth year following the decennial census, the special census must be used as
the basis for apportioning state-shared revenue to that municipality until the next federal decennial census [A.R.S.
§ 42-5033].

For purposes of apportioning state-shared revenue, Laws 2016, Chapter 258 provides a city/town the option to use
either the population count from the special census or the most recent population estimate from the U.S. Census
Bureau. However, Chapter 258 provides that the population count from the special census be used for only 1 year.
Beginning on July 1 in the second year following the special census, a city/town must use the most recent
population estimate from the U.S. Census Bureau. If a special census is not conducted, Chapter 258 requires a
city/town to use the most recent population estimate from the U.S. Census Bureau beginning on July 1 in the
second year following the decennial census through June 30 of the year following the next decennial census.
(Effective by emergency measure, from May 17, 2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 309 provides that cash contributions to charitable organizations made on or before April 15t
for purposes of claiming the charitable tax credit can be applied to either the current or preceding taxable year.
This provision is estimated to reduce General Fund revenue by $(1.7) million annually, beginning in FY 2017.
(Effective retroactively from January 1, 2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 372 expands the facility tax credit by reducing investment and employee compensation
requirements that taxpayers must meet. The credit is 10% of the lesser of: (1) the taxpayer’s total capital
investment in a qualified facility or (2) $200,000 for each net new employee at the qualified facility. Chapter 372
expands the definition of an investment to include development costs of build-to-suit facilities that are leased to
the taxpayer. The legislation additionally reduces the portion of employee health insurance that employers must
pay (from 80% to 65% of premiums) and lowers the minimum wage that rural businesses must pay a majority of
their employees (from 125% to 100% of the median state wage). The bill extends the final year the credit may be
approved from TY 2019 to TY 2022. (Effective from August 6, 2016)

2015 LAWS

Laws 2015, Chapter 6 expands the renewable energy manufacturing facility credit to investments in facilities
certified by the ACA as an “International Operations Center” (I0C) and increases the annual credit amount. Laws
2014, Chapter 8 provides an individual and corporate income tax credit for investments in new renewable energy
facilities that produce energy that is used for self-consumption if the power is used primarily in manufacturing
operations. Under Laws 2015, Chapter 6, the requirements to qualify for the credit are lower for an 10C than a
manufacturer. Chapter 6 increases the credit amount from $1.0 million to $5.0 million per year (for 5 years) for
each qualifying renewable energy facility. For additional information on the renewable energy manufacturing
facility credit, see Appendix A in the Tax Handbook. (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2015)

Laws 2015, Chapter 12 reduces the annual amount of withholding tax collections that are deposited to the job
creation withholding clearing account, from $31.5 million in FY 2015 to $26.5 million in FY 2016 and $21.5 million
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in subsequent years. Money in the job creation clearing account is ultimately used to fund operating costs of the
ACA and for grants to attract, expand or retain business. (Effective from July 3, 2015)

Laws 2015, Chapter 47 expands the public school extracurricular activity fee credit to contributions for
standardized tests for college credit and readiness, testing preparation courses and career and technical
assessments at public schools. Prior to this legislation, a credit could only be claimed for contributions to
extracurricular activities and character education programs at public schools. The maximum credit is $200 for
taxpayers filing as single or head of household and $400 for those filing as married couples. The legislation does
not have an estimated fiscal impact. (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2015)

Laws 2015, Chapter 91 makes inflation indexing of the tax brackets permanent, beginning in TY 2016. Tax year
brackets will be adjusted for inflation in the prior calendar year, as measured by the Metropolitan Phoenix
Consumer Price Index. Laws 2014, Chapter 10 had provided a one-time inflation adjustment for TY 2015, which
was estimated to result in a one-time revenue loss of $(6.1) million in FY 2016. The revenue reduction under
Chapter 91 is estimated to be an additional $(9.3) million in FY 2017, followed by another $(9.3) million reduction
in FY 2018. (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2015)

Laws 2015, Chapter 208 repeals the National Guard Relief Fund and the option for a taxpayer to designate an
amount of their income tax refund as a voluntary contribution to the fund. The legislation transfers the remaining
balance in the fund to the Department of Veterans’ Services to be and used in providing financial assistance to
Arizona National Guard members and their families. (Effective from July 3, 2015)

Laws 2015, Chapter 217 allows public school extracurricular activity fee credits that are earned for qualifying
contributions made by the fifteenth day of the fourth month of a tax year to be applied to either the current or
preceding tax year. (Effective from July 3, 2015)

Laws 2015, Chapter 227 conforms Arizona tax statutes to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1, 2015,
including federal provisions that became effective in 2014, but excluding any change to the IRC after January 1,
2015. In December 2014, the federal Tax Increase Prevention Act of 2014 was signed into law, which retroactively
extended a number of expiring federal tax provisions for one more year, through TY 2014. One provision under
the act allows individual and corporate taxpayers to take a tax deduction of up to $500,000 for qualifying business
investments purchased and placed in service in 2014. Absent the federal tax extension, the business expensing
limit would have reverted to $25,000 for TY 2014. By conforming to the $500,000 federal business expensing
allowance, Chapter 227 is estimated to result in a $(30.8) million reduction in General Fund revenue, beginning in
FY 2015. For more information on conformity to federal business expensing and bonus depreciation allowances
under Laws 2015, Chapter 227, see page 49 of the 2015 Tax Handbook.

Laws 2015, Chapter 250 expands the foster care charitable contributions tax credit to include donations made to
qualifying charitable organizations that provide services to under-21-year-old former foster youth in the
transitional independent living program. The foster care tax credit allows individuals to claim up to $400 annually,
or $800 for a joint return, for donations to qualifying charities dollar-for-dollar against the state individual income
tax. The bill is estimated to reduce revenue annually by $(40,000), beginning in FY 2016. (Effective from July 3,
2015)

Laws 2015, Chapter 301 allows an S corporation to receive an income tax credit for cash contributions made to a
STO that provides scholarships to “low income” or “displaced or disabled” students. Prior to Chapter 301, only
businesses classified as C corporations were allowed to receive credits for such contributions. For tax purposes,
credits earned by an S corporation must be pro-rated, passed through to the business owners and applied to each
owner’s individual income tax liability. Chapter 301 is not expected to have any additional revenue impact since
existing caps on tax credit-eligible contributions for scholarships to low-income or displaced/disabled students are
already fully utilized. For additional information on school tuition tax credits, see Appendix B in the Tax Handbook.
(Effective retroactively from January 1, 2015)

2014 LAWS

Laws 2014, Chapter 8 creates a new individual and corporate income tax credit for any company that makes an
investment of at least $300.0 million in a new renewable energy facility that produces energy that is primarily used
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in Arizona for the company’s own manufacturing processes. The credit has an aggregate individual and corporate
income tax cap of $10.0 million a year. While the credit can be taken in FY 2015, it is anticipated that the credit
will not be used until FY 2016. The credit is estimated to reduce General Fund revenues by $(10.0) million,
beginning in FY 2016. (Effective from July 24, 2014)

Laws 2014, Chapter 10 requires DOR to adjust Arizona’s taxable individual income brackets one time in TY 2015 for
prior year price increases measured by the Phoenix Consumer Price Index (CPI). This adjustment would prevent
inflation-based increases in income from being taxed at the higher marginal rate of a successive bracket. Brackets
will not be decreased if the CPI decreases. The act requires DOR to reduce brackets in TY 2016 to remove the TY
2015 inflation adjustment.

Laws 2014, Chapter 43 permits non-resident taxpayers to exclude, from their non-resident individual income tax
liability, any wages earned while participating in disaster recovery efforts in Arizona. (Effective from January 1,
2015)

Laws 2014, Chapter 68 requires individual taxpayers to provide the Department of Revenue a valid social security
number (SSN) to claim the Proposition 301 Sales Tax Credit, otherwise known as the Increased Excise Taxes Paid
Credit (IETC). An individual income tax filer can claim a $25 credit to offset the 0.6% sales tax increase resulting
from Proposition 301 passed in November 2000. For taxpayers filing as single or as married person filing
separately, the income requirement for claiming the credit is $12,500 or less. Individual taxpayers had previously
been able to also claim this credit using a federally-issued individual taxpayer identification number. The SSN
requirement is effective January 1, 2015 and is projected to reduce the use of the credit, thereby increasing
individual income tax collections by $1.5 million annually, beginning in FY 2016. (Effective from January 1, 2015)

Laws 2014, Chapter 168 includes several income tax (individual and corporate) provisions. The act’s individual
income tax provisions are summarized below.

Change to 2" and 3" Year Requirement of New Employment Tax Credit

Chapter 168 changes a requirement for the New Employment Tax Credit by providing that 2nd and third year
credits can be claimed irrespective of whether the same employee remains employed as long as the employer
replaces the vacant position with another qualified employee within 90 days. The provision, which is effective
retroactively from January 1, 2014, is estimated to reduce income tax collections by $(882,000) in FY 2015,
followed by an additional $(405,000) in FY 2016, and $(381,000) in FY 2017. (Effective retroactively from January
1, 2014)

Revisions to Small Business Investment Tax Credit

Chapter 168 extends the final year that Small Business Investment Tax Credits may be authorized, from 2016 to
2021, and extends the final year that credits may be used to reduce tax liability, from 2019 to 2024. The law also
increases the maximum amount of investment that is eligible for the credit, from $250,000 to $500,000 per
calendar year. Chapter 168 does not change the program’s $20.0 million lifetime cap. (Effective retroactively from
January 1, 2014)

Requirements for Research and Development Tax Credit

The act requires that basic research payments used in determining a tax payer’s credit must first be certified by the
ACA. Chapter 168 also includes various other new requirements for research and development credit applicants to
meet. (Effective from January 1, 2015)

Laws 2014, Chapter 223 was the annual conformity bill that updated the definition of the Internal Revenue Code
(IRC) to include all IRC provisions that were in effect as of January 1, 2014.

Laws 2014, Chapter 245 was the annual correction bill that made technical, conforming, and clarification changes
to the Arizona Revised Statutes. The bill removed statutory references for previously expired individual income tax
credits including Water Conservation Systems, Agricultural Preservation Districts and Construction Materials
credits. The Water Conservation Systems credit may still be carried forward up to 5 years and used no later than
TY 2016. (Effective from January 1, 2015)
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2013 LAWS

Laws 2013, Chapter 65 conforms Arizona tax statutes to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 3, 2013 and
establishes a tax credit for Tax Year 2013 in lieu of conforming to the retroactive provision of the Federal Aviation
Administration (FAA) Modernization and Reform Act relating to rollover of amounts received in airline carrier
bankruptcy. Chapter 65 is estimated to result in an income tax revenue gain of $4.6 million in FY 2013, $13.7
million in FY 2014, $17.6 million in FY 2015, and $15.6 million in FY 2016. (Effective retroactively from January 1,
2013)

Laws 2013, Chapter 114 was a correction bill that made technical and clarification changes to the Arizona Revised
Statutes. (Contained various effective dates)

Laws 2013, Chapter 236 includes several income tax (individual and corporate), TPT and property tax provisions.
The act’s individual income tax provisions are summarized below while Table 14 shows the fiscal impact by tax
provision and year.

Expands Charitable Contributions Credit to Non-ltemizers

Chapter 236 removes the requirement that an individual income tax filer itemizes deductions in order to claim the
charitable contributions tax credit. This provision is estimated to reduce individual income tax collections by
$(18.0) million annually, beginning in FY 2014. (Effective from September 13, 2013)

Increased 529 College Savings Plan Deductions

Chapter 236 increases the 529 college savings plan contributions that are deductible from state income tax from
$1,500 to $4,000 for married couples filing joint returns and from $750 to $2,000 for all other filers. This provision,
which is retroactive to January 1, 2013, is expected to result in an annual individual income tax reduction of $(4.0)
million, beginning in FY 2014. (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2013)

Exempts Enterprise Zone Credit Certification Requirement

Chapter 236 provides that businesses, which were certified by the ACA and then claimed first year credits under
the now repealed Enterprise Zone Credit program, be exempt from the requirement to file for certification in order
to claim second or third year credits. This provision, which is retroactive to July 1, 2011, is estimated to reduce
income tax revenue by $(500,000) in FY 2014 and $(300,000) in FY 2015. (Effective retroactively from July 1, 2011)

Laws 2013, Chapter 256 removes the $25,000 cap on deductions from state income tax for qualified business
equipment purchases under Section 179 of the Internal Revenue Code (IRC), beginning in tax years starting after
December 31, 2012. Section 179 allows individual and corporate taxpayers to deduct, for income tax purposes,
100% of their qualified business expenses (up to a stipulated amount) in the year that the equipment was
purchased rather than in smaller installments over several years according to a federal depreciation schedule. At
the time, the act was estimated to result in a one-time income tax revenue loss of $(24.8) million in FY 2014. The
Accelerated Depreciation Allowances section includes more details on the Section 179 allowance and subsequent
estimated impacts. (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2013)

Laws 2013, 1st Special Session, Chapter 9 expands the existing charitable contributions credit to include qualifying
foster care charitable organizations. The maximum credit for cash contributions to qualifying foster care
organizations is $400 for individuals filing as single or head of household and $800 for married couples filing joint
returns. A qualifying foster care organization must spend at least 50% of its budget providing services to at least
200 foster children in this state. The foster care credit is estimated to result in an annual individual income tax
reduction of $(850,000), beginning in FY 2014. (Effective retroactively to January 1, 2013)
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2012 LAWS

Laws 2012, Chapter 3 was the annual correction bill that made technical, conforming, and clarification changes to
the Arizona Revised Statutes. (Contained various effective dates)

Laws 2012, Chapter 4 created a new individual income tax credit of up to $500 for single persons and $1,000 for
married couples for contributions to a School Tuition Organization (STO). The credit is only available if the filer has
already claimed the maximum credit allowed under the existing STO tax credit program for individuals (A.R.S. § 43-
1089). The Department of Revenue is required to adjust the maximum credit amount for inflation each year.
Scholarship monies generated by the new credit are available only to students who either: (1) attended public
school full-time for at least 90 days in the prior year and transferred to private school, (2) are the dependent of a
member of the armed forces, (3) are entering Kindergarten, or (4) received a STO scholarship in the prior year
under 1 of the first 3 criteria. The act is estimated to result in an individual income tax revenue loss of $(4.0)
million, beginning in FY 2013. (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2012)

Laws 2012, Chapter 35 removed the statutory requirement that a space be provided for voluntary tax donations
(check-off boxes) on the first page of the individual income tax return form. (Effective from January 1, 2012)

Laws 2012, Chapter 38 was the annual conformity bill that updated the definition of the IRC to include all
provisions that were in effect as of January 1, 2012.

Laws 2012, Chapter 71 increased the threshold at which tax exempt organizations are required to file a state
income tax return, from $25,000 in gross income to $50,000 in gross receipts. The fiscal impact of the act is
unknown. (Effective August 2, 2012)

Laws 2012, Chapter 77 provided that taxpayers can voluntarily contribute any amount of their individual income
tax refund (as opposed to the full amount only required under prior law) for state aid to public schools. (Effective
August 2, 2012)

Laws 2012, Chapter 143 removed the expiration date of December 31, 2012 for the program allowing Arizona
residents to subtract contributions to college savings plans under Section 529 of the Internal Revenue Code from
Arizona taxable income. (Effective August 2, 2012)

Laws 2012, Chapter 170 conformed Arizona Revised Statutes to the provisions of Laws 2011, 2" Special Session,
Chapter 1, which created the Arizona Commerce Authority. (Effective August 2, 2012)

Laws 2012, Chapter 178 removed certain criteria for income tax subtractions taken for crop donations and
increased the cap on the subtraction amount to the wholesale market price or the most recent sale price,
whichever is greater. The fiscal impact of the act is unknown. (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2012)

Laws 2012, Chapter 257 eliminated the Clean Elections Fund Tax Reduction (A.R.S. § 16-954A) and Clean Elections
Fund Tax Credit (A.R.S. § 16-954B) approved by voters in 1998 under Proposition 200. The eliminated provisions
previously allowed individual income tax filers to: (1) mark an optional check-off box that would reduce the
taxpayer’s liability by S5, and transfer S5 of the taxes paid to the Clean Elections Fund (for a total net General Fund
impact of $10) and (2) make a voluntary donation to the Clean Elections Fund and receive a credit not to exceed
20% of liability or $670 per individual, whichever was greater. The elimination of the Clean Elections check-off box
and tax credit is estimated to increase General Fund revenues by $12.8 million in FY 2013. (Effective August 2,
2012)

Laws 2012, Chapter 271 removed the requirement that charitable organizations declare if they promote or provide
referrals for abortion for purposes of the Charitable Contributions Tax Credit (A.R.S. § 43-1088). (Effective August
2,2012)

Laws 2012, Chapter 281 extended the expiration of the credit for donations to the Military Family Relief Fund from
December 31, 2012 to December 31, 2018. (Effective August 2, 2012)
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Laws 2012, Chapter 323 repealed the use tax declaration requirement on the individual income tax return enacted
by Laws 2011, Chapter 128. Chapter 323 did not repeal, however, the individual’s requirement to pay use tax on
out-of-state purchases. The act is estimated to reduce General Fund revenues by $(1.8) million in FY 2013.
(Effective retroactively from January 1, 2012)

Laws 2012, Chapter 331 extended existing tax incentives under the Healthy Forest program from 2014 through
2024. Additionally, Chapter 331 also eased program qualification requirements and established new tax incentives
for certified Healthy Forest Enterprises. Among the new incentives is an individual and corporate income tax credit
for ecological restoration workforce training. The new credit is estimated to reduce General Fund revenues by
$(110,000) in FY 2013. The fiscal impact of other incentives included in the act is unknown. (Effective retroactively
from January 1, 2012)

Laws 2012, Chapter 343 reduces individual income taxes paid on long-term capital gains derived from assets
purchased after 2011. The act includes several other income (both individual and corporate) and property tax
reductions as well. The fiscal impact of Chapter 343 is phased in over several years, beginning in FY 2014. Table 15
below, shows the fiscal impact by tax provision and year. The act’s individual income tax provisions are
summarized below.

Reduction of Long-Term Capital Gains

Chapter 343 reduces the individual income tax rate on long-term capital gains accrued from assets acquired after
2011. Long-term capital gains are realized on assets held longer than 1 year. The reduction in the regular rate is
10% in TY 2013, 20% in TY 2014, and 25% in TY 2015 and subsequent years. Capital gains realized on assets
purchased before 2012 will not be reduced.

The provision is estimated to reduce individual income taxes by $(17.5) million in FY 2014, $(40.5) million in FY
2015, $(56.5) million in FY 2016, $(61.4) million in FY 2017, $(65.6) million in FY 2018, and $(69.3) million in FY
2019. The revenue loss is expected to increase in the ensuing years as increasingly more assets acquired after
2011 are sold. (Effective from January 1, 2013)

Deduction of Federal Bonus Depreciation

Under federal law, businesses that place qualified property in service in 2012 or 2013 are eligible for 50% bonus
depreciation. Under prior state law, bonus depreciation was not allowed for state income tax purposes since
Arizona did not conform to this provision of federal law. Chapter 343 amends current statute by allowing a state
income tax deduction equal to 10% of the bonus depreciation claimed on federal returns for assets placed in
service in 2012 or 2013. The act is expected to result in a one-time individual income tax reduction of $(4.2)
million in FY 2014. The fiscal impact of this provision after FY 2014 will depend on whether the federal
government extends bonus depreciation. The 50% bonus depreciation currently provided to businesses will expire
at the end of 2013. The Accelerated Depreciation Allowances section includes more details on bonus depreciation
allowances. (Effective from January 1, 2013)

Qualified Facility Income Tax Credit

Beginning in TY 2013, the act establishes a new individual and corporate income tax credit for businesses that
expand or locate qualified facilities in the state. The credit is 10% of the lesser of: (1) the capital investment in the
facility or (2) $200,000 for each net new employee at the facility. To be eligible for the credit, a business is
required to devote at least 80% of its property and payroll at the facility to manufacturing, research, or a national
or regional headquarters. There are also certain minimum requirements with respect to wage and health
insurance coverage for new employees at the facilities.

The credit is refundable but no single taxpayer can claim more than $30.0 million in credits per calendar year. The
credit must be taken in equal installments over 5 taxable years. The qualified facility credit program is subject to
an aggregate annual cap of $70.0 million, which it shares with the renewable energy investment credit enacted in
2009. The qualified facility income tax credit is estimated to reduce income tax revenues by $(4.0) million in FY
2014, $(8.0) million in FY 2015, $(12.0) million in FY 2016, $(16.0) million in FY 2017, and $(20.0) million in FY 2018.
(Effective retroactively from July 1, 2012)
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Elimination of the Individual Employer Cap for the $3,000 New Job Tax Credit

Laws 2011, 2" Special Session, Chapter 1 established a 3-year $3,000 annual tax credit for each net new qualifying
job added by an employer in the state. The act provided an aggregate credit cap of 10,000 net new jobs per year.
However, no employer could claim more than 400 net new employees per year. Chapter 343 eliminates the
individual company credit cap of 400 new employees, beginning in TY 2013. The General Fund revenue loss is
estimated to be $(1.8) million in FY 2014, $(3.6) million in FY 2015, and $(5.4) million in FY 2016. (Effective from
January 1, 2013)

Laws 2012, Chapter 351 provided a deduction from taxable income for long-term care insurance premiums paid by
individuals who do not itemize their deductions. (Filers who itemize their deductions can already claim this
expense as a deduction.) This provision is estimated to reduce General Fund revenues by $(4.1) million in FY 2013,
Additionally, the act also allows tax filers to deduct from their taxable income an amount equal to their annual
deposits into long-term health care savings accounts, a provision estimated to reduce General Fund revenues by
an additional $(52,000) in FY 2014. (Contains various effective dates)
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A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2012 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/18taxbook/18taxbk.pdf
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CORPORATE INCOME TAX

DESCRIPTION

The corporate income tax is levied on corporations that engage in business within Arizona. The tax rate is 4.9% of
taxable income in TY 2018. A multi-state company must allocate a portion of its income to Arizona based on its
Arizona property, payroll, and sales.

The corporate income tax is an important revenue source for the state, representing 3.7% of total General Fund
revenue collections in FY 2018. However, Laws 2011, 2" Special Session, Chapter 1 reduced the tax rate over a
period of 4 years, beginning in TY 2014. A portion of corporate income tax collections (along with individual
income tax collections) is shared with incorporated cities and towns within the state.

COLLECTIONS
Table 1 below provides historical corporate income tax collections for the last 20 years. Corporate income tax

receipts are deposited into the General Fund, after sufficient amounts have been deposited into the tax refund
account to meet the requirements for tax refunds [A.R.S. § 42-1116].

Table 1
COLLECTIONS
Fiscal Year State General Fund Fiscal Year State General Fund
2018 $373,076,384 2008 $784,510,885
2017 $368,136,444 2007 $986,169,564
2016 $570,547,697 2006 $874,219,473
2015 $663,003,020 2005 $701,859,285
2014 $575,180,221 2004 $494,044,869
2013 $662,026,399 2003 $389,406,300
2012 $643,771,845 2002 $346,280,400
2011 $560,235,683 2001 $541,173,600
2010 $413,193,307 2000 $523,180,000
2009 $592,157,255 1999 $545,389,000

SOURCE: Department of Revenue annual reports - amounts are net of refunds and charge-offs. A portion of
corporate income tax collections is shared with incorporated cities and towns — see Table 2 in Individual Income
Tax section.

DISTRIBUTION

Based on an initiative measure approved by the voters in 1972, an Urban Revenue Sharing Fund was established.
The initiative provided that a percentage of income tax revenues (including both individual and corporate income
tax) be shared with incorporated cities and towns within the state. Currently, 15% of net income tax revenue from
2 years prior is distributed to cities and towns. This distribution is based on the most recent population estimates
of each city and town made annually by the U.S. Census Bureau [A.R.S. § 42-5033.01]. Cities and towns have the
option of using special census population counts for purposes of calculating distributions, but only during the 6%
year following a decennial census. In the 2" year following the special census, a city/town must use the most
recent estimate from the U.S. Census Bureau [A.R.S. § 42-5033]. Prior to Laws 2016, Chapter 258, distributions
were based on population estimates from the last U.S. decennial census or special census. Table 4 (Distribution of
Individual and Corporate Income Tax) in the Individual Income Tax section provides historical urban revenue
sharing distributions [A.R.S. § 43-206].
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WHO PAYS

Any corporation, excluding exempt organizations, having Arizona taxable income is subject to the corporate
income tax [A.R.S. § 43-1111].

Exempt organizations include those exempt from federal income tax under section 501 of the Internal Revenue
Code (generally "non-profit" organizations), as well as a specific list of exempt organizations included in state
statute [A.R.S. § 43-1201].

The income of a corporation owned by an Indian tribe or tribal member is not subject to Arizona’s corporate
income tax if its income is derived from businesses located on the reservation. Income from a corporation not
owned by a tribe or tribal member, regardless of whether it is located on a reservation, is subject to the state
corporate income tax. Corporations owned by tribes or tribal members that derive their income from non-
reservation sources are subject to the income tax in the same manner as all other corporations with income in
Arizona.

There are no specific statutory references related to the imposition of Arizona state income tax on tribal members
or corporations. Thus, to facilitate the administration of state income tax on Indian reservations, the Department
of Revenue (DOR) has adopted income tax rulings based on the decisions in several court cases.

Small business corporations that make a "subchapter S" election for a taxable year under the Internal Revenue
Code are not subject to the corporate income tax. The income of these corporations is generally passed through
to each shareholder, who is then taxed under the state's individual income tax [A.R.S. § 43-1126].

The United States, the state, counties, towns, school districts, or other political subdivisions of the state or federal
government are excluded from the definition of a taxpayer, and are exempt from the corporate income tax [A.R.S.
§ 43-104].

EXEMPTIONS

Organizations that are exempt from federal income tax under Section 501 of the Internal Revenue Code are also
exempt from state income tax. In addition, the following organizations are exempt from state income tax [A.R.S. §
43-1201]:

(1) Labor, agricultural, and horticultural organizations except for cooperative organizations.

(2) Fraternal beneficiary societies, orders, or organizations that both: (a) operate under the lodge system or for
the exclusive benefit of the members of a fraternity, and (b) provide for the payment of life, sick, accident, or
other benefits to their members or their dependents.

(3) Cemetery companies that are owned and operated exclusively for the benefit of their members or are not
operated for profit.

(4) Corporations that are organized and operated exclusively for religious, charitable, scientific, literary, or
educational purposes, or for the prevention of cruelty to children and animals.

(5) Business leagues, chambers of commerce, real estate boards, and boards of trade that are not organized for
profit.

(6) Civic leagues or organizations that are not organized for profit.

(7) Clubs that are organized and operated exclusively for pleasure, recreation, and other non-profitable
purposes.

(8) Corporations that are organized for the exclusive purpose of holding title to property, collecting income from
such property, and turning over the entire net income to an organization which itself is exempt from income
tax.

(9) Voluntary employees' beneficiary organizations that provide for the payment of life, sick, accident or other
benefits to their members or their dependents, if both of the following apply: (a) no part of their net earnings
inures to the benefit of any private shareholder or individual, and (b) 85% or more of the income consists of
monies collected from members and contributions by the employer of the members.
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(10) Teachers' or public employees' retirement fund organizations that are of a purely local character, if both of
the following apply: (a) no part of their net earnings inures to the benefit of any private shareholder or
individual, and (b) the income consists solely of monies received from public taxation, assessments on the
salaries of members, and income from investments.

(11) Religious or apostolic organizations or corporations, if such organizations or corporations have a common
treasury or community treasury.

(12) Voluntary employees' beneficiary organizations that provide for the payment of life, sick, accident or other
benefits to their members, their dependents or designated beneficiaries, if both of the following apply: (a)
admission to membership is limited to individuals who are officers or employees of the United States
Government, and (b) no part of the net earnings inures to the benefit of any private shareholder or
individual.

(13) Corporations classified as diversified management companies under Section 5 of the federal Investment
Company Act of 1940.

(14) Insurance companies that are subject to the insurance premium tax.

(15) Mutual ditch, irrigation or water companies or similar nonprofit organizations if 85% or more of their income
consists of amounts collected from members for the sole purpose of meeting losses and expenses.

(16) Workers’ compensation pools established pursuant to A.R.S. § 23-961.01

REVENUE BASE AND RATE

The tax base for the corporate income tax is defined as "Arizona taxable income", which is further defined as the
"Arizona gross income" (equal to a corporation's federal taxable income), adjusted by a series of additions and
subtractions as specified in Title 43, Article 3 of the Arizona Revised Statutes (A.R.S. § 43-1121 - A.R.S. § 43-
1130.01) [A.R.S. § 43-1101].

The current tax rate for corporate income tax is 4.9% of a corporation's net Arizona taxable income or S50,
whichever is greater [A.R.S. § 43-1111]. Laws 2011, 2" Special Session, Chapter 1 reduced the corporate tax rate
from 6.968% to 4.9% over 4 years, beginning in TY 2014. Prior to Chapter 1, a 6.968% tax was in effect from
January 1, 2001 through December 31, 2013. Prior to 1990, Arizona used graduated brackets for the corporate
income tax. (Table 2 below displays historical corporate income tax rates since 1990). The $50 minimum tax was
effective beginning January 1, 1988.

Table 2
Historical Corporate Income Tax Rates /2

Tax Year Rate
1990 9.300%
1994 9.000%
1998 8.000%
2000 7.968%
2001 6.968%
2014 6.500%
2015 6.000%
2016 5.500%
2017 4.900%

1/ For tax rates prior to 1990, see page 144 of the 1995 Tax
Handbook
2/ Years represent a flat rate for all income levels.

Any corporation that has income from business activity that is taxable both within the state and outside of the
state (hereafter referred to as “multistate corporation”) is required to allocate a portion of the income to Arizona
for purposes of computing its Arizona taxable income [A.R.S. § 43-1132]. The method of allocation depends on
whether the income is classified as “business income” or “nonbusiness income,” as described below.
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Allocation of Business Income

Business income arises from transactions and activity in the course of the corporation’s regular trade or business
operations [A.R.S. § 43-1131]. Any multistate corporation (other than a commercial airline) can elect to allocate its
business income based on what is commonly referred to as either the “Standard Apportionment Formula” or the
“Enhanced Apportionment Formula.” Commercial airlines are required to use a separate allocation method for
business income commonly referred to as the “Air Carrier Apportionment Formula” [A.R.S. § 43-1139].

Both the Standard and Enhanced Apportionment Formulas allocate a corporation’s business income based on the
proportion of its property, payroll, and sales in Arizona relative to other states. These proportions are referred to
as respectively the “property factor,” “payroll factor,” and “sales factor.” The apportionment ratio used for the
allocation of business income to Arizona is determined by calculating the weighted average of the 3 factors. Under
the Standard Apportionment Formula, the sales factor is assigned a weight of 50% whereas the property factor
and payroll factor is each given a weight of 25%.

The Enhanced Apportionment Formula, which was established by Laws 2005, Chapter 289, increased the weight of
the sales factor to 60% in TY 2007, 70% in TY 2008, and 80% in TY 2009 and subsequent years. This formula was
further modified by Laws 2011, 2" Special Session, Chapter 1, which increased the weight of the sales factor to
85% in TY 2014, 90% in TY 2015, 95% in TY 2016, and 100% in TY 2017 and subsequent years. The phase-in of the
increased weight of the sales factor enacted in 2005 and 2011 was simultaneously offset by a commensurate
reduction of the weights for the property and payroll factors [A.R.S. § 43-1139 - A.R.S. § 43-1145].

Beginning in TY 2017, a multistate corporation may choose (for purposes of allocating its business income to
Arizona) either the 50% sales factor under the Standard Apportionment Formula or the 100% sales factor under
the Enhanced Apportionment Formula. The corporation is likely to choose the formula that reduces its Arizona tax
liability the most. For example, a business with 10% of its total sales and 20% of its total property and payroll in
Arizona would benefit from the 100% sales factor. In calculating the proportion of the corporation’s business
income allocated to Arizona, the 10% sales factor would receive a weight of 100% whereas the 20% property and
payroll factors would each receive a weight of 0.0%. After applying the weights under the Enhanced
Apportionment Formula, 10% of the total multistate business income would be allocated to Arizona. Under the
Standard Apportionment Formula, the corporation would have to allocate 15% of its total business income to
Arizona.

The proportion of sales allocated to Arizona (for purposes of calculating the sales factor) is determined differently
for sales of tangible personal property (“goods”) than for sales other than tangible personal property (“services”
as described below:

e Sale of tangible personal property is allocated to Arizona if the property is delivered or shipped to a purchaser
within the state [A.R.S. § 43-1146].

e Sale of other than tangible personal property is allocated to Arizona if either of the following applies: (1) the
income producing activity is performed solely in the state, or (2) the income producing activity is performed
both in and outside the state, but a greater proportion of the activity is performed in Arizona than in any other
state. Beginning in TY 2014, Laws 2012, Chapter 2 provides multistate service providers the option to treat
sales from services as being in this state based on a combination of income producing activity sales and
market sales. For the 2014 taxable year, Chapter 2 provided an option for corporations that sold more than
85% of their services to consumers outside of Arizona to use the location of the buyer in calculating the sales
factor. Chapter 2 increased this figure to 90% in TY 2015, 95% in TY 2016, and 100% in TY 2017 and
subsequent years. Thus, beginning in TY 2017, the location of sales accounts for 100% of the sales factor for
multistate service providers [A.R.S. § 43-1147]. Laws 2013, Chapter 236 expanded eligibility of this provision
by broadening the definition of a multistate service provider to include regionally accredited institutions of
higher education with at least one university campus in Arizona on which at least 2,000 students reside.

Allocation of Nonbusiness Income
Nonbusiness income refers to all income other than business income and typically includes rents and royalties
from real property or tangible personal property, capital gains, interest and dividends, and patent and copyright
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royalties. Nonbusiness income is generally allocated to Arizona to the extent that the property is utilized or
located in the state, or if the taxpayer's commercial location is in the state [A.R.S. § 43-1134 - A.R.S. § 43-1138].

If the allocation and apportionment provisions do not fairly represent the extent of the taxpayer's business activity
in the state, the taxpayer may petition for, or DOR may require, an alternative method of allocation [A.R.S. § 43-
1148].

Net Operating Loss. A net operating loss (NOL) is incurred when a corporation’s allowable deductions exceed its
taxable income within the same taxable year. Under current law, a corporation is allowed to apply prior years’ net
operating losses against it current year’s Arizona income. Pursuant to Laws 2012, Chapter 343, the net operating
loss incurred in one taxable year can be carried forward to offset taxable income in each of the next 20 taxable
years, beginning in TY 2012. Prior to Chapter 343, a corporation’s net operating loss was only allowed to be
carried forward to the next 5 taxable years.

TAX REFUNDS AND/OR TAX CREDITS

Tax credits are either refundable or non-refundable. Unlike refundable credits, non-refundable credits can never
exceed a taxpayer’s tax liability. However, many of the non-refundable tax credits allow the unused amounts to be
carried forward to future years. As shown in Table 3 below, only the following credits are refundable under current
statutes:

Table 3

REFUNDABLE INCOME TAX CREDITS
Name of Credit Type of Credit
Research and Development (R&D) Credit / Individual and Corporate
Renewable Energy Investment Credit 2/3/ Individual and Corporate
Qualified Facility Credit ¢ Individual and Corporate
Notes:

1/ Credit is only available to businesses that employ less than 150 full-time employees. Refundable
portion of R&D credit is subject to an aggregate cap of $5.0 million annually.

2/ Credit is subject to an aggregate cap of $70.0 million annually, which it shares with the qualified
facility credit. Laws 2014, Chapter 8 limits a taxpayer from claiming both this credit and the
Renewable Manufacturing Facility Credit for the same facilities (see Appendix A for details).

3/ Laws 2017, Chapter 299 repealed this credit as of December 31, 2017.

4/ Credit is subject to an aggregate cap of $70.0 million annually, which it shares with the renewable
energy investment credit.

Laws 2002, Chapter 238 established the Arizona Joint Legislative Income Tax Credit Review Committee. The
Committee is required to determine the purpose of income tax credits, develop performance standards for
evaluating the credits, and evaluate the benefits to the state. The Committee reviews each tax credit every 5 years
according to a rotating schedule [A.R.S. § 43-221].

Income tax credits available to corporate taxpayers are described below. Laws 2016, Chapter 125 requires DOR to
report by September 30 each year on the amounts of corporate income tax credits claimed in the preceding fiscal
year. Table 4 lists the cost of these credits on a fiscal year basis.

Title 43, Chapter 11, Article 6 of the Arizona Revised Statutes lists all the corporate income tax credits currently
available to Arizona taxpayers. A brief description of each tax credit currently in statutes is provided below.
Appendix C in the Tax Handbook lists all individual income, corporate income, and insurance premium tax credits
with statutory ending dates. Appendix B provides a complete list and detailed description of the various school tax
credits currently available to individual and corporate taxpayers, as well as insurance companies. In addition to tax
credit provisions, the state permits individual and corporate income tax filers to accelerate depreciation of certain
qualified asset purchases, for purposes of calculating state income tax liability. The Accelerated Depreciation sub-
section to the Individual Income Tax section of the Tax Handbook includes more details.
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Agricultural Pollution Control Equipment. A taxpayer involved in the commercial production of livestock or
agricultural crops may claim a tax credit for expenses incurred to purchase tangible personal property used in the
business in order to control, prevent, monitor or reduce air, water or land pollution. The credit is 25% of the cost
of the property up to a maximum of $25,000. This non-refundable credit is allowed to be carried forward no more
than 5 consecutive years [A.R.S. § 43-1170.01].

Arizona National Guard Employees. A tax credit of $1,000 per employee is allowed for businesses that employ
Arizona National Guard members who are called to active duty. This non-refundable tax credit, which is effective
from January 1, 2006, is allowed to be carried forward for no more than 5 years [A.R.S § 43-1167.01].

Coal Consumed in Generating Electric Power. The credit is for 30% of the amount paid by the seller or purchaser as
transaction privilege tax or use tax on coal sold to the taxpayer to be consumed in generating electrical power
within the state. The credit can be carried forward for 5 years [A.R.S. § 43-1178].

Enterprise Zones. Businesses located in an enterprise zone were able to claim a credit for net increases in
employment of persons who qualify as economically disadvantaged under the Job Training Partnership Act. (See
Laws 1989, Chapter 194 for changes in the amount of credit allowed.) To qualify, at least 35% of the full-time
equivalent employees claimed must reside in an enterprise zone. The maximum amount of the credit per qualified
employment position is $500 in the first year, $1,000 in the second year, and $1,500 in the third year of continuous
employment. The non-refundable credit may not be claimed for more than 200 employees. Laws 2013, Chapter
236 provides that businesses that were certified by ACA and then claimed first year credits under the now repealed
credit program, be exempt from the requirement to file for certification in order to claim second or third year
credits. Though new credits may not be earned after tax year 2011, previously earned credits may be carried
forward up to 5 years and used no later than tax year 2016.

Environmental Technology Facility Construction Costs. A non-refundable credit is allowed for expenses incurred in
constructing a qualifying facility involved in recycled materials or renewable energy as described in A.R.S. § 41-
1514.02. The credit is equal to 10% of the amount spent to construct the facility, including land acquisition,
improvements, building improvements, machinery and equipment, but not to exceed 75% of the tax liability for
the taxable year. Certain recapture provisions apply to this credit. The credits can be carried forward for 15 years
[A.R.S. § 43-1169].

Facility Credit. A business that expands or locates a qualified facility in the state may claim a credit for qualifying
investment and employment. The credit is 10% of the lesser of: (1) the total capital investment in the qualified
facility by the taxpayer or third-party lessor of the property or (2) $200,000 for each net new employee at the
qualified facility. To be eligible for the credit, a business is required to devote at least 80% of its property and
payroll at the facility to manufacturing, research, or a national or regional headquarter. The credit is dependent
upon the taxpayer paying at least 51% of new full-time employees a wage exceeding 125% of the state median
wage in urban areas and 100% in rural areas and paying 65% or more of the premium for all full-time employees’
health insurance [A.R.S. § 41-1512]. Prior to Laws 2016, Chapter 372, investments by a third-party lessor could not
qualify for the credit and taxpayers in urban and rural areas were required to pay at least 80% of employee health
insurance premiums and at least 125% of the state median wage.

The credit is refundable but no single taxpayer can claim more than $30.0 million in credits per calendar year. The
credit must be taken in equal installments over 5 taxable years. The qualified facility credit program is subject to
an aggregate annual cap of $70.0 million, which it shares with the renewable energy investment credit (A.R.S. § 43-
1164.01). Laws 2017, Chapter 299 repeals the renewable energy investment credit after December 31, 2017. The
facility credit is available through TY 2022, but may be claimed through TY 2026 under the 5-year installment
schedule [A.R.S. § 43-1164.04].

Health Insurance Plans. From tax year 2012 through tax year 2014, an income tax credit was available to
businesses that provided qualifying health insurance plans to each enrolled employee. The credit is equal to $360
for every employee that enrolled in a health insurance plan offered by the business. To qualify, the business was
required to offer High Deductible Health Insurance Plans with catastrophic coverage under a Health Savings
Account. To receive the credit, businesses were required to have between 2 and 50 employees, have provided
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health insurance within 90 days of offering the plan, and offered the plan to every employee for at least 1 year.
Although new credits may not be earned after tax year 2014, previously earned credits may be carried forward up
to 3 years and used no later than tax year 2017.

Healthy Forest Enterprises. A qualified business that is certified by the Arizona Commerce Authority (ACA) as a
healthy forest enterprise is allowed to claim a tax credit for net increases in qualified employment positions. To
qualify for the credit, a business enterprise must meet several conditions with respect to the amount of employees
hired, and the residency status, job duties, wages, and fringe benefits of those employees. The maximum amount
of the credit per qualified employment position is $500 in the first year, $1,000 in the second year, and $1,500 in
the third year of continuous employment. The net increase in the number of qualified employment positions is
not allowed to exceed 200 per taxpayer each year. The tax credit is available from January 1, 2005 to December
31, 2024. (Laws 2012, Chapter 331 extended the credit by 10 years, from 2014 to 2024.) The credit is non-
refundable and is allowed to be carried forward for no more than 5 years [A.R.S. § 43-1162].

Healthy Forest - Ecological Restoration Workforce Training. Laws 2017, Chapter 299 repeals this credit after
December 31, 2017. Prior to repeal, a business certified by the ACA as a Healthy Forest Enterprise may claim a
credit for expenses incurred in training new employees in ecological restoration. The credit amount is the net cost
of training and certifying new employees in qualified employment positions. The credit is limited to $3,000 per
employee in each of the first 3 years of qualified employment. The net increase in the number of qualified
employment positions is not allowed to exceed 200 per taxpayer each year. The credit is effective from January 1,
2012 to December 31, 2017. Prior to Laws 2017, Chapter 299, the credit was effective through December 31,
2024. The credit is non-refundable and is allowed to be carried forward for no more than 5 years [A.R.S. § 43-
1162.01].

Military Reuse Zones. Laws 2017, Chapter 299 repeals this credit after December 31, 2017. Prior to repeal, a non-
refundable credit is allowed for net employment increases in a military re-use zone The employees must be either
dislocated civilian military base employees or engaged in aviation or aerospace manufacturing or services. The tax
credit equals $1,000 per year in the first year of employment, increasing by $500 per year up to $3,000 per year in
the fifth year of employment for each dislocated military base employee, and $500 per year in the first year of
employment, increasing by $500 per year up to $2,500 per year in the fifth year of employment for each employee
other than a dislocated military base employee. Although new credits may not be earned after TY 2017, previously
earned credits may be carried forward up to 5 years and used no later than TY 2022 [A.R.S. § 43-1167].

Motion Picture Productions and Infrastructure Projects. These credits, effective between taxable years 2006 and
2010, were available to businesses that produced motion pictures in Arizona. Motion picture productions with
qualified expenses of $250,000 to $1.0 million in a 12-month period were eligible for a tax credit equal to 20% of
production costs, while productions with qualified expenses exceeding $1.0 million were credited for 30% of
production costs. The total amount of income tax credits approved for all qualifying productions and investments
could not exceed $30.0 million in 2006, $40.0 million in 2007, $50.0 million in 2008, $60.0 million in 2009, and
$70.0 million in 2010. The income tax credits were claimed for expenses incurred in the production of commercial
advertisements, and music videos, with 5% of the income tax credit set aside for these productions. In addition,
income tax credits could be claimed for expenses incurred for the construction of soundstages and associated
support and augmentation facilities. Tax credits for soundstage investments were capped at $5.0 million per year
in 2008, 2009, and 2010. Tax credits for associated support and augmentation facilities were capped at $7.0
million in 2009 (if at least one soundstage project was certified in 2008) and $9.0 million in 2010 (if one or more
soundstage projects were certified in 2008 or 2009). The tax credits could be sold or transferred, in whole or in
part, to other taxpayers. The law required taxpayers claiming the credits to meet various reporting requirements
and for film companies to recruit Arizona residents to hold 25% of full-time positions in 2006, 35% in 2007, and
50% in 2008 and after. Though new credits may not be earned after tax year 2010, previously earned credits may
be carried forward up to 5 years and used no later than tax year 2015.
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Table 4
CORPORATE INCOME TAX CREDITS
Credit Effective Annual Cost 2/2/
Agricultural Pollution Control Equipment 1999 - S0
Coal Consumed in Electric Power Generation 1998 - 1,415,191
Commercial and Industrial Solar 2006 - 2018 156,814
Employing National Guard Members 2006 - N/R
Employing TANF Recipients 1998 - N/R
Environmental Technology 1993 - N/R
Enterprise Zone ¥ 1990 - 2011 132,053
Facility Credit 2013 - 2022 N/R
Health Insurance Plans 2012 - 2014 0
Healthy Forest Enterprise 2005 - 2024 0
Healthy Forecast Restoration Workforce Training 2012 - 2017 0
Military Reuse Zone 1993 - 2017 0
Motion Picture Production and Infrastructure ¥ 2006 - 2010 0
New Employment & 2011 - 2029 7,931,188
Pollution Control Device 1995 - 2,532,330
Recycling Equipment ¢ 1993 - 2002 0
Renewable Energy Investment Z 2010- 2017 N/R
Renewable Energy Manufacturing Facility ¥ 2014 - 2025 0
Renewable Energy Production 1 2011 - 2030 N/R
Research & Development - Nonrefundable 2001 - 66,040,289
Research & Development - Refundable 1/ 2010 - 4,515,804
Additional Research & Development - University Research 12/ 2012 - N/R
Private School Tuition Organizations - Low-Income Students 2006 - 32,977,938
Private School Tuition Organizations - Disabled/Displaced Students 2009 - 1,182,651
School Site Donation 2001 - 0
Solar Hot Water Stub Outs 1998 - 2017 0
Solar Liquid Fuel 2011-2017 0
Water Conservation System 13/ 2007 - 2011 0
TOTAL VALUE OF CORPORATE INCOME TAX CREDITS 1/ $128,434,252
1/ Amounts represent credits claimed in FY 2018.
2/ “N/R” indicates that the information is not releasable due to Arizona confidentiality laws.
3/ Credit was effective through June 30, 2011, but earned credits have a 5-year carry forward.
4/ Credit was effective through TY 2010, but earned credits have a 5-year carry forward.
5/ Statute does not permit the Arizona Commerce Authority to authorize new credits after June 30, 2025. Given a
maximum 5-year schedule, the credit may not be claimed after TY 2029.
6/ Credit was effective through TY 2002, but earned credits have a 15-year carry forward.
7/ Credit is capped at $70.0 million annually between corporate and individual income taxpayers.
8/ Credit is capped at $10.0 million annually between corporate and individual income taxpayers.
9/ Laws 2017, Chapter 299 repeals the portion of the credit for manufacturing companies after December 31, 2017.
10/ Creditis capped at $20.0 million annually between corporate and individual income taxpayers.
11/ Creditis capped at $5.0 million annually between corporate and individual income taxpayers.
12/ Credit is capped at $10.0 million annually between corporate and individual income taxpayers.
13/  Credit was effective through TY 2011, but earned credits have a 5-year carry forward.
14/ Totals include amounts that were not releasable by credit. As a result, credit amounts may not add to total.
SOURCE: Department of Revenue report to the Legislature on the amount of corporate income tax
credits claimed in FY 2018.
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New Employment Tax Credit.

A $3,000 annual tax credit may be claimed for each net new qualifying job added by an employer in the state. To
qualify for the credit, new employment positions must be full-time, meet wage requirements, and offer health
insurance paid by the employer (at least 65% of the premium). Credits associated with 1 net new job can be
claimed for 3 years. A company may claim first year credits for separate new jobs for up to 3 consecutive years.
Since second and third year credits may be claimed against each of the new positions, the taxpayer may claim
credits for up to a total of 5 consecutive years. ACA is authorized to issue first year credits for up to 10,000 new
employees ($30.0 million) in each year.

Prior to Laws 2017, Chapter 340, a business could not [Taples
claim the new credit unless it added at least 25 net new
jobs in a year in an urban area (5 in a rural area), paid
employees at least 100% of the county median wage,
and made a capital investment of at least $5.0 million
(1.0 million in a rural area) [A.R.S. § 43-1161]. .
Beginning in TY 2018, Laws 2017, Chapter 340 permits Minimum Wages as Percent

New Employment Tax Credit
Investment and Median Wage Requirements

Urban Location

businesses to qualify under alternative levels of capital Capital Investment of County Median

investment and wages as displayed in Table 5 and 55,000,000 100%

permits ACA to authorize credits through June 30, 2025. 52,500,000 125%

A business can now invest less than $5.0 million if they $1,000,000 150%
$500,000 200%

pay wages that exceed 100% of the county median
level. The required number of net new jobs remains

Rural Location
unchanged. Given the maximum 5-year schedule

outlined above, businesses may claim credits through TY Minimum Wages as Percent

2029. [A.R.S. § 41-1525] Capital Investment of County Median
$1,000,000 100%

In TY 2013 and later years, Laws 2012, Chapter 343 $500,000 125%

eliminates the requirement (provided by Laws 2011, 2™ $100,000 150%

Special Session, Chapter 1) that no employer can claim

more than 400 new jobs in the first year of credit use,

800 jobs in the second year, and 1,200 jobs in the third year. The cap applied to credits claimed against insurance
premium, individual income, and corporate income taxes. The credit cannot be claimed against employees that
are also claimed under the Military Reuse Zone Tax Credit (A.R.S. § 41-1525; Laws 2017, Chapter 299 repeals credit
after December 31, 2017). Laws 2014, Chapter 168 changes the requirement for the New Employment Tax Credit
program by providing that second and third year credits can be claimed irrespective of whether the same
employee remains employed as long as the employer replaces the vacant position with another qualified
employee within 90 days.

Pollution Control Equipment. The credit is allowed for purchases of real or personal property used to control or
prevent pollution. The qualifying facilities must be built or purchased to comply with U.S. Environmental
Protection Agency or Arizona Department of Environmental quality regulations. The credit amount is equal to the
lesser of 10% of the purchase price or $500,000 in a taxable year. This non-refundable tax credit is allowed to be
carried forward for no more than 5 years [A.R.S. § 43-1170].

Recycling Equipment. Taxpayers were able to claim a credit for placing recycling equipment in service after
December 31, 1992. This credit was in lieu of any deductions taken for depreciation. The credit was equal to 10%
of the installation cost, but not to exceed the lesser of 25% of the tax liability for that year or $5,000. Certain
recapture provisions applied when the recycling equipment ceased operation or was transferred. Though new
credits may not be earned after tax year 2002, previously earned credits may be carried forward up to 15 years
and used no later than tax year 2017.

Renewable Energy Investment. Laws 2017, Chapter 299 repeals this credit after December 31, 2017. Prior to

repeal, a credit is allowed on new renewable energy capital investments in manufacturing or company

headquarters for up to 10% of the taxpayer’s total capital investment. The credit is refundable, with the combined

total of individual and corporate income tax credits capped at $70.0 million annually. Recipients must receive their
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credit in 5 equal portions over 5 consecutive tax years. The renewable energy investment credit shares its annual
aggregate cap of $70.0 million with the qualified facility credit program (A.R.S. § 43-1164.04) enacted by Laws
2012, Chapter 343.

To be eligible to receive the credit, a company must create new jobs and make new capital investment as follows:

e Renewable energy manufacturing operations must create at least 1.5 full-time employment positions for each
$500,000 increment of capital investment.

e Renewable energy headquarter operations must create at least 1 full-time employment position for each
$200,000 increment of capital investment.

The credit is dependent upon the taxpayer paying 51% of new full-time employees a rate exceeding 125% of the
median annual wage in the state and paying 80% or more of the premium for all full-time employees’ health
insurance. The taxpayer must also stay in operation within the state for 5 years after receiving post-approval for
the credit or face recapture of any credits received. The tax credit is available for tax years 2010 through 2017
[A.R.S. § 43-1164.01 and A.R.S. § 41-1511]. While Laws 2012, Chapter 343 extended the credit from 2014 to 2019,
Laws 2017, Chapter 340 subsequently repeals the credit after 2017. For additional information on renewable
energy incentives, see Appendix A.

Renewable Energy Manufacturing Facility. A credit is allowed for companies that make substantial investments in
new facilities that produce renewable energy to be used in a company’s manufacturing processes or for a
company’s certified “International Operations Center” (I0C). A company may earn up to $5.0 million in credits per
year, for up to 5 years for each qualifying renewable energy facility. Prior to Laws 2015, Chapter 6, only
manufacturing facilities could qualify for a credit of $1.0 million per year for each facility, for up to 5 years. Laws
2017, Chapter 299 repeals the portion of the credit for manufacturers after December 31, 2017.

The credit program includes different criteria to qualify as a certified 10C than as a manufacturer. To qualify for
the credit, an 10C must invest at least $100.0 million in renewable energy facilities within 3 years of applying for
the credit or by December 31, 2018, whichever is earlier. At least 51% of energy produced by an IOC renewable
energy facility must be used for self-consumption by the fifth year of operation. A company’s facility must meet
additional investment requirements to be certified by the ACA as an International Operations Center. To qualify
for credits, a manufacturing company must invest a minimum of $300.0 million within 3 years of applying for the
credit or by December 31, 2017, whichever is earlier. Each of a manufacturer’s renewable energy facilities requires
at least a $30.0 million investment, production of at least 40,000 megawatt hours of energy annually, and use of at
least 90% of the energy produced at the facility for self-consumption in the state and for manufacturing [A.R.S. §
41-1520 and A.R.S. § 43-1164.05].

The credit is not refundable, has an aggregate individual income and corporate income tax cap of $10.0 million a
year, and may be carried-forward up to 5 years. The lifetime limit on tax credits that an IOC may claim is capped at
$25.0 million in tax year 2014 through 2025. This credit cannot be claimed against the same facilities that are used
to claim the Renewable Energy Production Credit [A.R.S. § 43-1164.03]. For additional information on renewable
energy incentives, see Appendix A.

Renewable Energy Production. A credit is allowed on the production of electricity using renewable energy. To be
eligible for the credit, a taxpayer must hold title to a qualified energy generator that first produces electricity
between January 1, 2011 and December 31, 2020. The credit allows a qualified producer of renewable energy to
receive an individual or corporate income tax credit of up to $2.0 million per year on the electricity that they
produce for up to 10 years. Given that a taxpayer may begin earning credits as late as TY 2020, the latest year a
credit may be earned under a 10-year schedule is TY 2030. The renewable energy credit has an annual cap of
$20.0 million for total individual and corporate income tax credits. A 5-year carry forward of the credit is allowed
[A.R.S. § 43-1164.03]. This credit cannot be claimed against the same facilities that are also claimed under the
Renewable Manufacturing Facility Credit (Laws 2017, Chapter 299 repeals the manufacturer portion of the
Renewable Manufacturing Facility credit after December 31, 2017). [A.R.S. § 43-1164.05]. For additional
information on renewable energy incentives, see Appendix A.
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Research and Development (R&D). The credit is calculated based on the amount of qualified research expenses
exceeding a certain "base amount" (defined in the Internal Revenue Code). Prior to TY 2010, the credit was
calculated as 20% of up to $2.5 million in qualified expenses and 11% of qualified expenses above $2.5 million.
Laws 2008, Chapter 290 expanded the credit in TY 2010 to TY 2017, to 24% of up to $2.5 million in qualified
expenses and 15% of qualified expenses above $2.5 million. Laws 2017, Chapter 340 extends availability of the
enhanced credit rates from tax year 2017 to tax year 2021. Laws 2010, Chapter 312 changes the credit from being
nonrefundable to refundable for those companies that employ less than 150 full-time employees. Specifically, the
act provides that such taxpayers receive a refund equal to 75% of the amount by which the credit exceeds their
liability. The refundable aspect of the credit has an annual cap of $5.0 million cumulatively for the individual and
corporate income tax and is effective retroactively from January 1, 2010. If in any year less than $5.0 million of
credits are filed collectively by all taxpayers, any unused amount rolls over to the next year. Laws 2011, 2" Special
Session, Chapter 1 expands the tax credit, beginning in FY 2013, by increasing the credit calculation by 10% for
university-related research. The credit is subject to an aggregate cap of $10.0 million per year between individual
and corporate income taxpayers. A 15-year carry forward of the credit is allowed [A.R.S. § 43-1168].

School Site Donation. A credit is allowed in the amount of 30% of the value of real property and improvements
donated by a taxpayer to a school district or a charter school. This credit became available January 1, 2001. This
non-refundable tax credit is allowed to be carried forward for no more than 5 consecutive years [A.R.S. § 43-1181].

School Tuition. A corporation (and an insurer) may claim a tax credit, up to the full amount of the donation, for
contributions made to a school tuition organization (STO) that provides education scholarships and tuition grants
either to students of low-income families pursuant to A.R.S. § 43-1183 (and A.R.S. § 20-224.06) or to disabled
students or students in foster care (“displaced students”) pursuant to A.R.S. § 43-1184 (and A.R.S. § 20-224.07).
Laws 2015, Chapter 301 expands the “low-income” and “disabled/displaced” STO credits to include businesses
organized as S corporations pursuant to Section 1361 of the Internal Revenue Code, beginning in TY 2015. Since
tax credits earned by an S corporation are pro-rated and passed through to the owners, such credits are claimed
against the individual income tax rather than the corporate income tax (see the Individual Income Tax section for
more details on Laws 2015, Chapter 301).

The total amount of the low-income tax credit approved by DOR pursuant to A.R.S. § 43-1183 for both corporate
income tax credits and insurance premium tax credits is capped at $10.0 million per year, with the cap increasing
by 20% per year beginning in FY 2008. The credit cap is $74.3 million in FY 2018, and increases to $89.2 million in
FY 2019, and $107.0 million in FY 2020. Due to the aggregate credit cap, all corporations and insurers must be pre-
approved for the credit. There is no cap on the amount of contributions made by individual corporations and
insurers.

The full amount of the disabled/displaced student tax credit approved by DOR pursuant to A.R.S. § 43-1184 is
capped at $5.0 million per year. A taxpayer may carry forward the unused portion of either tax credit for 5 years.
A taxpayer shall not claim a tax credit under both A.R.S. § 43-1183 and A.R.S. § 43-1184 for the same contribution
[A.R.S. § 43-1183 and A.R.S. § 43-1184]. See Appendix B in the Tax Handbook for a comparison of private school
tax credits.

Solar Energy Devices for Commercial and Industrial Purposes. A taxpayer can claim a credit equal to 10% of the
installed cost of a solar energy device used in their trade or business. The credit cannot exceed $25,000 for the
same building in the same year or $50,000 in total in any year.  This income tax credit may be claimed by a
taxpayer purchasing a solar energy device, or a taxpayer that finances the purchase of a qualifying device. The
credit also may be transferred to a third party that manufactures or installs a qualifying device. The credit is
available between tax years 2006 and 2018. This non-refundable tax credit is allowed to be carried forward for no
more than 5 consecutive years [A.R.S. § 43-1164]. For additional information on renewable energy incentives, see
Appendix A.

Solar Hot Water Heater Plumbing Stub Outs and Electric Vehicle Recharge Outlets. Laws 2017, Chapter 299 repeals
this credit after December 31, 2017. Prior to repeal, a taxpayer may earn a credit up to $75 for installing solar hot

water plumbing stub-outs or electric vehicle recharge outlets in home dwellings built by the taxpayer. This non-
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refundable tax credit is allowed to be carried forward for no more than 5 consecutive years [A.R.S. § 43-1176]. For
additional information on renewable energy incentives, see Appendix A.

Solar Liquid Fuel. Laws 2017, Chapter 299 repeals this credit after December 31, 2017. Prior to repeal, a taxpayer
may earn a tax credit for research and development, production, and delivery system costs associated with solar
liquid fuel for tax years 2011 through 2017. Prior to Laws 2017, Chapter 299, the credit was available through tax
year 2026. A taxpayer may take a credit for increased research and development related to solar liquid fuel of 40%
of qualified research expenses within the state over a "base amount" (defined in the Internal Revenue Code). In
tax years 2016 and 2017, a taxpayer may take a credit for production of solar liquid fuel equal to: 1) 11¢ per
100,000 British thermal units (BTUs) of fuel produced in the state during the tax year for the production of solar
liquid fuel in commercial quantities; and 2) 30% of the cost of converting or modifying an existing motor vehicle
fuel service station for the retail sale of solar liquid fuel to customers. The latter portion of the credit is limited to
$20,000 per taxable year per service station [A.R.S. § 43-1164.02]. Taxpayers that use the research and
development tax credit are prohibited from also taking a tax credit against the same research and development if
it is associated with solar liquid fuel. For additional information on renewable energy incentives, see Appendix A.

Temporary Assistance for Needy Families Employment. For net increases in employment, a credit for each newly
created position of 25% of the taxable wages paid in the first year of employment, 33% in the second year of
continuous employment, and 50% in the third year, not to exceed $500, $1,000, and $1,500 respectively [A.R.S. §
43-1175].

Water Conservation Systems. This non-refundable credit, which was effective for tax years 2007 through 2011,
was for the installation of water conservation systems to encourage the re-use of “graywater,” or wastewater for
irrigation purposes. The credit was equal to 25% of the cost of the water conservation system up to a maximum of
$1,000. The maximum aggregate amount that could be claimed in a taxable year was $250,000. Though new
credits may not be earned after tax year 2011, previously earned credits may be carried forward up to 5 years and
used no later than tax year 2016.

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

Period Covered by the Taxable Year

Every taxpayer (individual, business entity, etc.) must figure its taxable income based on an annual accounting
period called a tax year. For individual income taxpayers the calendar year is also their tax year. Other taxpayers,
such as corporations or partnerships may use a fiscal year as their tax year.

A calendar year is 12 consecutive months beginning on January 1 and ending on December 31. Taxpayers that
adopt the calendar year as their tax year must maintain their books and records and report their income and
expenses from January 1 through December 31 of each year.

A fiscal year is 12 consecutive months ending on the last day of any month except December 31. Taxpayers that
adopt a fiscal year must consistently maintain their books and records and report their income and expenses using
the period (fiscal year) adopted.

The federal and state filing due date for C and S corporations and partnerships is the 15™ day of the 4" month
following the close of the tax year [A.R.S. § 43-501]. For example, a corporation whose tax year is the same as the
calendar year has a federal and state filing due date of April 15. Prior to passage of the federal Surface
Transportation and Veterans Health Care Choice Improvement Act of 2015, C and S corporations had a federal
filing due date of the 15 day of the 3™ month following a tax year.

A filing extension may be granted if 90% of the corporation’s tax liability is paid by the original due date and the

extension request is received by the original due date. No extension may be granted beyond 6 months from the
original due date [A.R.S. § 42-1107].
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The Table 6 below provides 3 examples of when a corporation’s 2018 tax return is due. The due date depends on
the corporation’s elected tax year (calendar year or fiscal year) as well as whether the corporation files for a 6-
month extension or not.

Table 6
FILING DUE DATE FOR CORPORATE INCOME TAX RETURN

Accounting Corporation’s Filing Extension Income Tax

Period Taxable Year Due Date Due Date Return Year
1/1/2018 — CY 2018 4/15/2019 10/15/2019 2018
12/31/2018
7/1/2018 — FY 2019 10/15/2019 4/15/2020 2018
6/30/2019
12/1/2018 - FY 2019 3/15/2020 9/15/2020 2018
11/30/2019

As indicated in the table above, a corporation’s 2018 state tax return could be filed as early as April 15, 2019 and
as late as September 15, 2020 depending on: (1) the corporation’s elected tax year (calendar year or fiscal year)
and (2) whether the corporation requests a 6-month extension or not. According to DOR, large corporations
typically file for the 6-month extension.

Estimated Tax Payments

Corporations that expect an Arizona income tax liability for the taxable year of $1,000 or more must make Arizona
estimated tax payments during the year. Corporations whose Arizona income tax liability for the preceding taxable
year was $20,000 or more must make their estimated payments via electronic fund transfer (“EFT”). Any
corporation that fails to make the required estimated tax payments is subject to a penalty on any payment that is
late or underpaid [A.R.S. § 43-582]. The required annual payment of the estimated tax is the smaller of:

e 90% of the corporation’s Arizona tax liability for the current taxable year, or
e  100% of the corporation’s Arizona tax liability for the prior taxable year.

Large corporations (defined as having a federal tax liability of $1.0 million or more for any 1 of the preceding 3
taxable years) are required to make total estimated payments of 90% of the current year’s tax liability.

Calendar year and fiscal year basis taxpayers are required to make their Arizona corporate estimated tax payments
by the 15%™ day of the 4%, 6™, 9% and 12™ months of the taxable year. If the installment due date falls on a
weekend or legal holiday, the payment is considered timely if made on the next business day.

Electronic Fund Transfer and Tax Filing Requirements

Businesses with corporate income tax liability of at least $20,000 in the preceding taxable year are required to
remit estimated tax payments to DOR by electronic fund transfer (EFT). Laws 2017, Chapter 60 lowers the tax
liability threshold for EFT payments to $10,000 for TY 2019, $5,000 for TY 2020, and $500 for TY 2021 and later
years [A.R.S. § 42-1129].

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2012.
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2018 LAWS

Laws 2018, Chapter 104 was a correction bill that made technical and clarification changes to the Arizona Revised
Statutes. (Effective from August 6, 2018)

Laws 2018, Chapter 106 expands the definition of a multistate-service-provider to include taxpayers that derive
more than 85% of its sales from services or other intangibles provided to out-of-state purchasers. The prior
definition had been limited to just sales of services. See Laws 2012, Chapter 2 (below) for more information.

Laws 2018, Chapter 142 was the annual conformity bill that updated the definition of the Internal Revenue Code
(IRC) to include all IRC provisions that were in effect as of January 1, 2017. This included provisions of the federal
Tax Cuts and Jobs Act (TCJA) that were made retroactively effective for tax year 2017. The TCJA increased the
allowable rate of the bonus depreciation allowance from 50% to 100% of qualified business investment made after
September 27, 2017. However, Arizona does not conform to federal bonus depreciation amounts for the
corporate income tax. Most TCJA provisions were effective January 1, 2018. Chapter 142 does not address those
provisions.

2017 LAWS

Laws 2017, Chapter 2 was the annual conformity bill that updated the definition of the Internal Revenue Code
(IRC) to include all IRC provisions that were in effect as of January 1, 2017.

Laws 2017, Chapter 60 includes several provisions for electronic filing and payment of taxes to the Department of
Revenue (DOR). The act's corporate income tax provisions are listed below.

e Requires C corporations to electronically file their state returns, beginning in TY 2020 or in the tax year when
DOR begins accepting electronic returns from C corporations, whichever is later. (Effective from January 1,
2020 or later)

e Requires C corporations to make all tax payments to DOR electronically, if the taxpayer's annual liability is
greater than $10,000 in TY 2019, $5,000 in TY 2020, and $500 in TY 2021 and later years. Prior to Chapter 60,
taxpayers with annual liability greater than $20,000 were required to make payments electronically.

e Prohibits DOR from distributing paper tax return forms, except upon request from the taxpayer. (Effective
from August 9, 2017)

Laws 2017, Chapter 127 designates a business' conversion from one type of legal structure to another as a
nontaxable event for purposes of calculating state income taxes, if the conversion does not include changes to a
business' ownership interests or assets. Prior to the bill, owners of a C or S corporation that converted to a
partnership or limited liability company could realize capital gains income that was subject to the state's individual
income tax. (Effective from August 9, 2017)

Laws 2017, Chapter 178 was a tax correction bill that made technical and clarifying changes to the Arizona Revised
Statutes. (Most provisions are effective from August 9, 2017 while others are effective from December 31, 2017).

Laws 2017, Chapter 278 permits a business to subtract for income tax purposes the entire amount of business
access expenditures incurred in a tax year to retrofit property in order to comply with the federal Americans with
Disabilities Act of 1990. The bill has the effect of accelerating depreciation of such property to 1 year rather than
depreciating it over several years. The income tax subtraction applies to property that was originally placed in
service 10 years prior to retrofitting. The act is estimated to reduce corporate income tax collections by $(1.3)
million annually, beginning in FY 2019. (Effective from January 1, 2018)

Laws 2017, Chapter 299 includes several tax (individual income, corporate income, and insurance premium)
provisions. The act’s corporate income tax provisions are summarized below.
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TY 2018 Repeal of Credits
The act repeals the credits listed below, beginning in TY 2018. See the individual credits in the Tax Credits section
for information about each.

e Healthy Forest - Ecological Restoration Workforce Training

e Military Reuse Zone

e Renewable Energy Investment

e Solar Hot Water Heater Stub Outs and Electric Vehicle Recharge Outlets
e Solar Liquid Fuel

The credits above have either not been claimed or claimed in a negligible amount in recent years. As a result, their
repeal is not expected to have a significant revenue impact. (Effective from January 1, 2018)

Repeal of Unused Credits

Beginning in TY 2018, the act requires the Department of Revenue (DOR) to end servicing of tax credits that have
not been claimed during the 4 most recent consecutive fiscal years. Credits that are authorized by the Arizona
Commerce Authority (ACA) may not be repealed if the agency approved any credits during the prior 4 fiscal years,
regardless of whether the credits were claimed against tax liability. DOR will include language to repeal unused
credits in draft tax correction legislation proposed to the Legislature annually. If legislation to repeal the credit
from statute is not enacted in the following Legislative session, DOR will restore servicing of the tax credits.
Provisions for the repeal of unused credits are not expected to have a revenue impact. (Effective from January 1,
2018)

Laws 2017, Chapter 316 provides individual and corporate income taxpayers a subtraction of net capital gains
income earned on the exchange of U.S. coins or currency in TY 2018 and later years. (Effective from January 1,
2018)

Laws 2017, Chapter 340 includes several tax (individual income, corporate income, sales, insurance premium, and
property) provisions. The act’s corporate income tax provisions are summarized below.

Extend and Expand the New Employment Tax Credit

Chapter 340 extends the date by which New Employment Tax Credits may be authorized and expands access to the
credit. The bill extends the last date that ACA is permitted to authorize new credits from June 30, 2017 to June 30,
2025. Given a maximum 5-year schedule for claiming the credit (see New Employment Tax Credit section for
information), businesses may claim credits through TY 2029. Prior to Laws 2017, Chapter 340, a business could not
claim the new credit unless it added at least 25 net new jobs in a year in an urban area (5 in a rural area), paid
employees at least 100% of the county median wage, and made a capital investment of at least $5.0 million ($1.0
million in a rural area). Beginning in TY 2018, Laws 2017, Chapter 340 permits businesses to qualify under
alternative levels of capital investment and wages as displayed in Table 5. A business can now invest less than $5.0
million if they pay wages that exceed 100% of the county median level. The required number of net new jobs
remains unchanged. The provision is estimated to reduce corporate income tax collections by $(800,000) in FY
2019, followed by a further reduction of $(900,000) in FY 2020.

Extend Rate Increase for Research and Development Tax Credit

The act extends a rate increase for calculating Research and Development (R&D) credits through TY 2021. The
state's R&D credit is calculated based on the amount of qualified research expenses exceeding a certain base
amount (which is defined in the Internal Revenue Code). Prior to TY 2010, the credit was calculated as 20% of up to
$2.5 million in qualified expenses and 11% of qualified expenses above $2.5 million. Laws 2008, Chapter 290
temporarily increased the credit in TY 2010 to TY 2017, to 24% of up to $2.5 million in qualified expenses and 15%
of qualified expenses above $2.5 million. Chapter 340 extends the rate increase under Laws 2009, Chapter 290
through TY 2021. As the provision continues an existing credit at the same rate as that reflected in the revenue
base, it is not expected to have a revenue impact.
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Clarification for Claiming Qualified Facility Tax Credits

Chapter 340 clarifies that Qualified Facility credits that are pre-approved prior to the expiration of the program on
December 31, 2022 can be claimed in 5 annual installments notwithstanding any intervening repeal or termination
of the credit. This clarification of prior law has no impact on revenue collections.

2016 LAWS

Laws 2016, Chapter 35 requires the state to withhold distributions of Urban Revenue Sharing Fund (URS) monies
from cities or towns that the Attorney General finds are violating the Arizona Constitution or state laws. Cities and
towns receive annual distributions from the URS that total 15% of individual and corporate income tax collections
from 2 years prior. Under Chapter 35, the URS share of any offending locality will be redistributed to the
remaining cities and towns. The state would continue to withhold URS distributions until the Attorney General
certifies that the city or town is no longer in violation of the Arizona Constitution and state laws. The shared
revenue would not be withheld, though, if doing so would leave the city or town with insufficient funding to
service their long-term debt obligations. (Effective from August 6, 2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 155 was the annual conformity bill that updated the definition of the Internal Revenue Code
(IRC) to include all IRC provisions that were in effect as of January 1, 2016. The federal Consolidated
Appropriations Act of 2016 authorized a permanent business expensing limit of $500,000, retroactively to TY 2015.
A primary implication of Chapter 155 was conformity of the state’s tax statutes to the permanent business
expensing limit of $500,000. There is no added revenue loss from conforming to the permanent limit, as the
previous estimated impact of $(30.8) million a year assumed the continuation of the $500,000 limit in future years.
The Accelerated Depreciation Allowances subsection of the Individual Income Tax section includes more details on
the business expensing allowance. (Effective retroactive from January 1, 2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 156 was a correction bill that made technical and clarification changes to the Arizona Revised
Statutes. (Effective from August 6, 2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 258 is an emergency measure that amends current statutes with respect to the method by
which state-shared revenues are apportioned among counties and municipalities, as described below.

Under current law, state-shared revenue is distributed to an incorporated city or town based on its population
count as of the last federal decennial census [A.R.S. § 42-5029(I)]. During the fifth year following the decennial
census, a city/town may contract with the U.S. Census Bureau to conduct a special census of the population of that
municipality. Beginning July 1 in the sixth year following the decennial census, the special census must be used as
the basis for apportioning state-shared revenue to that municipality until the next federal decennial census [A.R.S.
§ 42-5033].

For purposes of apportioning state-shared revenue, Laws 2016, Chapter 258 provides a city/town the option to use
either the population count from the special census or the most recent population estimate from the U.S. Census
Bureau. However, Chapter 258 provides that the population count from the special census be used for only 1 year.
Beginning on July 1 in the second year following the special census, a city/town must use the most recent
population estimate from the U.S. Census Bureau. If a special census is not conducted, Chapter 258 requires a
city/town to use the most recent population estimate from the U.S. Census Bureau beginning on July 1 in the
second year following the decennial census through June 30 of the year following the next decennial census.
(Effective by emergency measure, from May 17, 2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 372 expands the facility tax credit by reducing investment and employee compensation
requirements that taxpayers must meet. The credit is 10% of the lesser of: (1) the taxpayer’s total capital
investment in a qualified facility or (2) $200,000 for each net new employee at the qualified facility. Chapter 372
expands the definition of an investment to include development costs of build-to-suit facilities that are leased to
the taxpayer. The legislation additionally reduces the portion of employee health insurance that employers must
pay (from 80% to 65% of premiums) and lowers the minimum wage that rural businesses must pay a majority of
their employees (from 125% to 100% of the median state wage). The bill extends the final year the credit may be
approved from TY 2019 to TY 2022. (Effective from August 6, 2016)
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2015 LAWS

Laws 2015, Chapter 6 expands the renewable energy manufacturing facility credit to investments in facilities
certified by the ACA as an “International Operations Center” (IOC) and increases the annual credit amount. Laws
2014, Chapter 8 provides an individual and corporate income tax credit for investments in new renewable energy
facilities that produce energy that is used for self-consumption if the power is used primarily in manufacturing
operations. Under Laws 2015, Chapter 6, the requirements to qualify for the credit are lower for an 10C than a
manufacturer. Chapter 6 increases the credit amount from $1.0 million to $5.0 million per year (for 5 years) for
each qualifying renewable energy facility. For additional information on the renewable energy manufacturing
facility credit, see Appendix A in the Tax Handbook. (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2015)

Laws 2015, Chapter 301 allows an S corporation to receive an income tax credit for cash contributions made to a
STO that provides scholarships to “low-income” or “displaced or disabled” students. Prior to Chapter 301, only
businesses classified as C corporations were allowed to receive credits for such contributions. For tax purposes,
credits earned by an S corporation must be pro-rated, passed through to the co-owners and applied against each
owner’s individual income tax liability. Chapter 301 is not expected to have any additional revenue impact since
existing caps on tax credit-eligible contributions for scholarships to low-income or displaced/disabled students are
already fully utilized. For additional information on school tuition tax credits, see Appendix B in the Tax Handbook.
(Effective retroactively from January 1, 2015)

2014 LAWS

Laws 2014, Chapter 8 creates a new individual and corporate income tax credit for any company that makes an
investment of at least $300.0 million in a new renewable energy facility that produces energy that is primarily used
in Arizona for the company’s own manufacturing processes. The credit has an aggregate individual and corporate
income tax cap of $10.0 million a year. While the credit can be taken in FY 2015, it is anticipated that the credit
will not be used until FY 2016. The credit is estimated to reduce General Fund revenues by $(10.0) million,
beginning in FY 2016 [A.R.S. § 43-1164.05]. (Effective from July 24, 2014)

Laws 2014, Chapter 168 changes a requirement for the New Employment Tax Credit by providing that second and
third year credits can be claimed irrespective of whether the same employee remains employed as long as the
employer replaces the vacant position with another qualified employee within 90 days. The provision is estimated
to reduce income tax collections by $(882,000) in FY 2015, followed by an additional $(405,000) in FY 2016, and
$(381,000) in FY 2017 [A.R.S. § 43-1164.05]. (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2014)

Laws 2014, Chapter 223 was the annual conformity bill that updated the definition of the Internal Revenue Code
(IRC) to include all IRC provisions that were in effect as of January 1, 2014.

Laws 2014, Chapter 245 was the annual correction bill that made technical, conforming, and clarification changes
to the Arizona Revised Statutes. The bill removed statutory references for previously expired individual income tax
credits including Water Conservation Systems, Agricultural Preservation Districts and Construction Materials
credits. The Water Conservation Systems credit may still be carried forward up to 5 years and used no later than
TY 2016. (Effective from January 1, 2015)

2013 LAWS

Laws 2013, Chapter 65 conforms Arizona tax statutes to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 3, 2013 and
establishes a tax credit for Tax Year 2013 in lieu of conforming to the retroactive provision of the Federal Aviation
Administration (FAA) Modernization and Reform Act relating to rollover of amounts received in airline carrier
bankruptcy. Chapter 65 is estimated to result in an income tax revenue gain of $4.6 million in FY 2013, $13.7
million in FY 2014, $17.6 million in FY 2015, and $15.6 million in FY 2016. (Effective retroactively from January 1,
2013)

Laws 2013, Chapter 114 was a correction bill that made technical and clarification changes to the Arizona Revised
Statutes. (Contained various effective dates)
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Laws 2013, Chapter 236 includes several income tax (individual and corporate), TPT and property tax provisions.
The act’s corporate income tax provisions are summarized below. The Individual Income Tax section of the Tax
Handbook (2013 Laws) shows the fiscal impact by tax provision and year.

Allows Institutions of Higher Education to Use an Alternative Sales Factor

Chapter 236 allows a regionally accredited institution of higher education to elect to treat sales of educational
services as being in Arizona based on a combination of income-producing activity sales and market sales. As a
result, academic institutions with at least 1 campus on which 2,000 or more students reside will be able to reduce
their Arizona corporate income tax liability by using an alternative sales factor calculation for educational services.
This provision, which is effective January 1, 2014, has an unknown revenue impact. (Effective from January 1,
2014)

Exempts Enterprise Zone Credit Certification Requirement

Chapter 236 provides that businesses, which were certified by ACA and then claimed first year credits under the
now repealed Enterprise Zone (EZ) Credit program, be exempt from the requirement to file for certification in
order to claim second or third year credits. This provision is estimated to reduce income tax revenue by $(500,000)
in FY 2014 and $(300,000) in FY 2015. (Effective retroactively from July 1, 2011)

Laws 2013, Chapter 256 removes the $25,000 cap on deductions from state income tax for qualified business
equipment purchases under Section 179 of the Internal Revenue Code (IRC), beginning in tax years starting after
December 31, 2012. Section 179 allows individual and corporate taxpayers to deduct, for income tax purposes,
100% of their qualified business expenses (up to a stipulated amount) in the year that the equipment was
purchased rather than in smaller installments over several years according to a federal depreciation schedule. At
the time, the act was estimated to result in a one-time income tax revenue loss of $(24.8) million in FY 2014. The
Accelerated Depreciation Allowances subsection of the Individual Income Tax section includes more details on the
Section 179 allowance and subsequent estimated impacts. (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2013)

2012 LAWS

Laws 2012, Chapter 2 allows multi-state service-providing companies to reduce their Arizona corporate income tax
liability through a change in the calculation of the sales factor. Services sales are determined to be in-state if more
of the costs of producing the services occur within Arizona than in any other state. If any other state has a higher
share of production costs, all sales were considered out-of-state. Thus, for services, the sales factor would be
either 100% of sales or 0%.

The law provides an option for corporations that sell more than 85% of their services to consumers outside of
Arizona to use the location of the buyer in calculating the sales factor, which is how the sales factor for goods is
calculated. This would mean that only sales to buyers in Arizona would be included in the calculation of taxable
income.

The change in the calculation of the sales factor is phased in between TY 2014 and TY 2017. The General Fund
revenue reduction is estimated to be $(3.0) million in FY 2014, $(3.5) million in FY 2015, $(3.9) million in FY 2016,
and $(4.4) million in FY 2017. (Effective from January 1, 2014)

Laws 2012, Chapter 3 was the annual correction bill that made technical, conforming, and clarification changes to
the Arizona Revised Statutes. (Contained various effective dates)

Laws 2012, Chapter 170 conformed Arizona Revised Statutes to the provisions of Laws 2011, 2" Special Session,
Chapter 1, which created the Arizona Commerce Authority. (Effective August 2, 2012)

Laws 2012, Chapter 331 extended existing tax incentives under the Healthy Forest program from 2014 through
2024. Additionally, Chapter 331 also eased program qualification requirements and established new tax incentives
for certified Healthy Forest Enterprises. Among the new incentives is an individual and corporate income tax credit
for ecological restoration workforce training. The new credit is estimated to reduce General Fund revenues by
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$(110,000) in FY 2013. The fiscal impact of other incentives included in the act is unknown. (Effective retroactively
from January 1, 2012)

Laws 2012, Chapter 343 reduces individual income taxes paid on long-term capital gains derived from assets
purchased after 2011. The act includes several other income (both individual and corporate) and property tax
reductions as well. The fiscal impact of Chapter 343 is phased in over several years, beginning in FY 2014. The
Individual Income Tax section of the Tax Handbook (2012 Tax Law Changes) shows the fiscal impact by tax
provision and year. The act’s corporate income tax provisions are summarized below.

Extension of Net Operating Loss Carry Forward

Chapter 343 increases the net operating loss (NOL) carry forward period for corporations operating in Arizona from
5 years to 20 years, beginning in TY 2012. DOR estimates that the provision will reduce corporate income taxes by
$(5.6) million to $(18.9) million annually, beginning in FY 2019. The revenue loss is assumed to be the mid-point of
that range, or $(12.2) million, beginning in FY 2019. (Effective retroactively to January 1, 2012)

Deduction of Federal Bonus Depreciation

Under federal law, businesses that place qualified property in service in 2012 or 2013 are eligible for 50% bonus
depreciation. Under prior state law, bonus depreciation was not allowed for state income tax purposes since
Arizona did not conform to this provision of federal law. Chapter 343 amends current statute by allowing a state
income tax deduction equal to 10% of the bonus depreciation claimed on federal returns for assets placed in
service in 2012 and 2013. The act is expected to result in a one-time individual and corporate income tax
reduction of $(4.2) million in FY 2014. The fiscal impact of this provision after FY 2014 will depend on whether the
federal government extends bonus depreciation. The 50% bonus depreciation currently provided to businesses
will expire at the end of 2013. The Accelerated Depreciation sub-section to the Individual Income Tax section of
the Tax Handbook includes more details on bonus depreciation allowances. (Effective from January 1, 2013)

Qualified Facility Income Tax Credit

Beginning in TY 2013, the act establishes a new individual and corporate income tax credit for businesses that
expand or locate qualified facilities in the state. The credit is 10% of the lesser of: (1) the capital investment in the
facility or (2) $200,000 for each net new employee at the facility. To be eligible for the credit, a business is
required to devote at least 80% of its property and payroll at the facility to manufacturing, research, or a national
or regional headquarter. There are also certain minimum requirements with respect to wage and health insurance
coverage for new employees at the facilities.

The credit is refundable but no single taxpayer can claim more than $30.0 million in credits per calendar year. The
credit must be taken in equal installments over 5 taxable years. The qualified facility credit program is subject to
an aggregate annual cap of $70.0 million, which it shares with the renewable energy investment credit enacted in
2009. The qualified facility income tax credit is estimated to reduce income tax revenues by $(4.0) million in FY
2014, $(8.0) million in FY 2015, $(12.0) million in FY 2016, $(16.0) million in FY 2017, and $(20.0) million in FY 2018.
(Effective retroactively from July 1, 2012)

Elimination of the Individual Employer Cap for the $3,000 New Job Tax Credit

Laws 2011, 2™ Special Session, Chapter 1 established a 3-year $3,000 annual tax credit for each net new qualifying
job added by an employer in the state. The act provided an aggregate credit cap of 10,000 net new jobs per year.
However, no employer could claim more than 400 net new employees per year. Chapter 343 eliminates the
individual company credit cap of 400 new employees, beginning in TY 2013. The General Fund revenue loss is
estimated to be $(1.8) million in FY 2014, $(3.6) million in FY 2015, and $(5.4) million in FY 2016. (Effective from
January 1, 2013)

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2012 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
www.azleg.gov/jlbc/18taxbook/18taxbk.pdf.
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Appendix A

RENEWABLE ENERGY TAX INCENTIVES

DESCRIPTION

The state has numerous Individual and Corporate Income tax credits for renewable energy investment, production,
and installation. The state also allows for property tax incentives and sales or use tax exemptions for the purchase
of certain renewable energy equipment or facilities.

INDIVIDUAL AND CORPORATE TAX CREDITS

A tax credit is a dollar-for-dollar reduction of a taxpayer’s income tax liability. A credit is different from a
subtraction, exemption, or deduction, which reduces the amount of income that will be taxed.

A tax credit is either refundable or non-refundable. Unlike refundable credits, non-refundable credits can never
exceed a taxpayer’s tax liability. However, many of the non-refundable tax credits allow the unused amounts to be
carried forward to future years.

Current statutes include the following tax credits which are sorted by whether they relate to the investment in, or
production of, renewable energy, or whether they pertain to the installation of a renewable energy device:

Investment and Production:

Renewable Energy Investment. Laws 2017, Chapter 299 repealed this credit after December 31, 2017. Prior to
repeal, an individual and corporate credit was allowed on new renewable energy capital investments in
manufacturing or company headquarters, for up to 10% of the taxpayer’s total capital investment. The credit was
refundable, with the combined total of individual and corporate income tax credits capped at $70.0 million
annually. Recipients received their credit in 5 equal portions over 5 consecutive tax years. The annual cap of $70.0
million is shared with the Qualified Facility Income Tax Credit. The Arizona Department of Revenue (DOR) has not
been able to release complete credit use data due to confidentiality restrictions. The Arizona Commerce Authority
(ACA) reports that it gave final approval for a total of $1.6 million credits through 2017. No program activity
occurred during calendar year 2017. This amount must be taken in equal installments over 5 years, or
approximately $320,000 a year.

To have been eligible to receive the credit, a company must have met at least 1 of the following requirements for
investments and job creation:

e Renewable energy manufacturing operations must create at least 1.5 full-time employment positions for each
$500,000 increment of capital investment.

e Renewable energy headquarter operations must create at least 1 full-time employment position for each
$200,000 increment of capital investment.

The credit was dependent upon the taxpayer paying at least 51% of new full-time employees at a rate exceeding
125% of the median annual wage in the state and paying 80% or more of the premium for all full-time employees’
health insurance. The taxpayer must have also stayed in operation within the state for 5 years after receiving post-
approval for the credit or face recapture of any credits received. The tax credit was available from tax years 2010
through 2017. Prior to Laws 2017, Chapter 299, the credit was available through tax year 2019 [Laws 2012,
Chapter 343; Laws 2010, Chapter 303; Laws 2009, Chapter 96; A.R.S. § 41-1511; A.R.S. § 43-1083.01, and A.R.S. §
43-1164.01].

Renewable Energy Manufacturing Facility. A credit is allowed for companies that make substantial investments in
new facilities that produce renewable energy to be used for a company’s certified “International Operations
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Center” (10C) or in a company’s manufacturing processes. A company may earn up to $5.0 million in credits per
Renewable Energy Tax Incentives year for up to 5 years for each qualifying renewable energy facility. Prior to Laws
2015, Chapter 6, only manufacturing facilities could qualify for a credit of $1.0 million per year for up to 5 facilities,
up to 5 years. Laws 2017, Chapter 299 repealed the portion of the credit that applied to manufacturing facilities.

The credit program includes different criteria to qualify as a certified I0C than as a manufacturer. The different
criteria for each can be found in Table 1 and listed below.

International Operations Center

e Total investments of at least $1.25 billion made on or before the 10% year after receiving 10C certification.

e Minimum annual investment of $100.0 million in each of 10 consecutive taxable years.

e Investment of at least $100.0 million in renewable energy facilities within 3 years of applying for the credit or
by December 31, 2018, whichever is earlier.

e Use of at least 51% of energy produced at an I0C’s renewable energy facility for self-consumption by the fifth
year of operation [A.R.S. § 41-1520; A.R.S. § 43-1083.04, and A.R.S. § 43-1164.05].

Manufacturer

e Total investments of at least $300.0 million made within 3 years of applying for the credit or by December 31,
2017, whichever is earlier.

e Investment of at least $30.0 million in each renewable energy facility.

e  Production of at least 40,000 megawatt hours of energy annually at each renewable energy facility.

e Use of at least 90% of the energy produced at a facility for self-consumption in the state and for
manufacturing [A.R.S. § 43-1083.04 and A.R.S. § 43-1164.05].

The credit is not refundable, has an aggregate individual income and corporate income tax cap of $10.0 million a
year, and may be carried forward up to 5 years. An IOC may claim up to an aggregate $25.0 million in tax credits in
tax years 2014 through 2025. Laws 2017, Chapter 299 repealed the portion of the credit for manufacturers after
tax year 2017. This credit cannot be claimed against the same facilities that are used to claim the Renewable
Energy Production Credit [A.R.S. § 43-1083.02 and A.R.S. § 43-1164.03]. DOR reports that 1 company has been
approved for the credit, but had not claimed the credit against its tax liability as of May 2018.

Renewable Energy Production. An individual and corporate credit is allowed on the production of electricity using
renewable energy, including solar light, solar heat, wind or biomass. To be eligible for the credit, a taxpayer must
hold title to a qualified energy generator that first produces electricity between January 1, 2011 and December 31,
2020. The new credit allows a qualified producer of renewable energy to receive a tax credit of up to $2.0 million
per year on the electricity they produce for up to 10 years. Given that a taxpayer may begin earning credits as late
as tax year 2020, the latest year a credit may be earned under the 10-year schedule is tax year 2030. The credit is
equal to 1¢ per kilowatt hour for the first 200,000 megawatt hours of biomass or wind energy produced and 1¢ -
4¢ for every kilowatt hour of solar energy.

Approval from DOR is required to take the credit. DOR is authorized to approve up to $20.0 million in total
individual and corporate income tax credits each year. DOR approved $1.3 million in credits in calendar year (CY)
2011, $9.7 million in CY 2012, $18.4 million in CY 2013, and $20.0 million a year in CY 2014 through CY 2016.
Approvals, however, do not automatically translate into a credit. The production credit was originally forecast to
be $10.0 million in FY 2012 and grow to $20.0 million annually by FY 2013. DOR reports that $9.5 million in credits
were used to offset tax liability in FY 2017. A 5-year carry-forward of the credit is allowed. This credit cannot be
claimed against the same facility investments that are used to claim the Renewable Energy Manufacturing Facility
Credit (Laws 2017, Chapter 299 repealed the manufacturer portion of the Renewable Manufacturing Facility credit
after December 31, 2017) [Laws 2010, Chapter 312; A.R.S. § 43-1083.02, and A.R.S. § 43-1164.03].

Solar Liquid Fuel. Laws 2017, Chapter 299 repealed this credit after December 31, 2017. Prior to repeal, an
individual and corporate credit is allowed for research and development, production, and delivery system costs
associated with solar liquid fuel for tax years 2011 through 2017. A taxpayer could take a credit for increased
research and development related to solar liquid fuel of 40% of qualified research expenses within the state over a
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“base amount” (defined in the Internal Revenue Code). In tax years 2016 and 2017, a taxpayer could take a credit
for production of solar liquid fuel equal to: 1) 11¢ per 100,000 British Thermal Units (BTUs) of fuel produced in the
state for the production of solar liquid fuel in commercial quantities; and 2) 30% of the cost of converting or
modifying an existing motor vehicle fuel service station for the retail sale of solar liquid fuel to customers. The
latter portion of the credit was limited to $20,000 per taxable year per service station. Prior to Laws 2017, Chapter
299, the credit was available through tax year 2026. Taxpayers who use the research and development tax credit
are prohibited from also taking a tax credit against the same research and development if it is associated with solar
liquid fuel [Laws 2010, Chapter 289; A.R.S. § 43-1085.01, and A.R.S. § 43-1164.02]. DOR’s most recently reported
credit data indicates that the credit has not been used since established.

Installation:

Commercial and Industrial Solar Energy Devices. Taxpayers can claim individual and corporate credits equal to 10%
of the installed cost of a solar energy device used in their trade or business. The credit cannot exceed $25,000 for
the same building in the same year, or $50,000 for the same taxpayer in total in any year. This income tax credit
may be claimed by a taxpayer purchasing a solar energy device, or a taxpayer that finances the purchase of a
qualifying device. The credit also may be transferred to a third party that manufactures or installs a qualifying
device. This tax credit may be carried forward for no more than 5 consecutive years. The credit is available
between tax years 2006 and 2018 [Laws 2010, Chapter 294; Laws 2007, Chapter 180; Laws 2006, Chapter 333;
A.R.S. §41-1510.01; A.R.S. § 43-1085, and A.R.S. § 43-1164].

Residential Solar Energy Devices. An individual income taxpayer may claim 25% of the purchase price for a
qualified solar energy device installed in the taxpayer’s residence located in Arizona. The maximum credit is
$1,000 per year and $1,000 in aggregate for the same residence. This non-refundable tax credit is allowed to be
carried forward for no more than 5 consecutive years [Laws 1998, Chapter 1; Laws 1997, Chapter 218; Laws 1994,
Chapter 117, and A.R.S. § 43-1083].

Solar Hot Water Heater Stub-Outs and Electric Vehicle Recharge Outlets. Laws 2017, Chapter 299 repealed this
credit after December 31, 2017. Prior to repeal, a taxpayer could take an individual or corporate income tax credit
up to $75 for installing solar hot water plumbing stub-outs or electric vehicle recharge outlets in home dwellings
built by the taxpayer. This non-refundable tax credit is allowed to be carried forward for no more than 5
consecutive years. This credit became available in 1998 and is repealed after 2017 [Laws 2017, Chapter 299; Laws
1997, Chapter 218; A.R.S. § 43-1090, and A.R.S. § 43-1176]. DOR reports that $13,000 in credits were used to
offset tax liability in FY 2017

Table 1 on the following page provides a summary of the main provisions of the above-mentioned tax credits.
PROPERTY, SALES, AND USE TAX EXEMPTIONS

Installation of Solar Devices by Registered Contractors. Solar devices installed by a registered contractor were
exempt from Income and Transaction Privilege Taxes from January 1, 1997 through December 31, 2016 [Laws
2010, Chapter 294; Laws 2000, Chapter 214; A.R.S. § 42-5075].

Electricity and Natural Gas Exemption for International Operations Centers. Gross proceeds from sales of
electricity and natural gas to an International Operations Center (I0C) are exempt from the Transaction Privilege
Tax. To be certified by ACA as an I0C, an owner or operator must make minimum capital investments of at least
$100.0 million per year for 10 years, make a total capital investment of at least $1.25 billion over 10 years, and use
at least 51% of self-generated renewable energy for self-consumption by the fifth year of the operation (See the
Renewable Energy Manufacturing Facility credit for information on renewable energy facility requirements) [A.R.S.
§41-1520; A.R.S. § 42-5063; A.R.S. § 43-1083.04, and A.R.S. § 43-1164.05].

Mixed Waste Processing Facility. Gross proceeds from building a mixed waste processing facility are exempt from
the prime contracting tax. To qualify for this Transaction Privilege Tax exemption, a facility must be located on a
municipal landfill and constructed for the purposes of recycling solid waste or producing renewable energy from
landfill waste. The exemption is effective retroactively from January 1, 2013 [Laws 2014, Chapter 228; A.R.S. § 42-
5075].

-103 -



Renewable Energy Tax Incentives

Renewable Energy Investment. Qualifying renewable energy companies that build headquarters or manufacturing
facilities in the state will receive a class 6 property designation, which reduces the assessment ratio to 5% instead
of the current class 1 assessment ratio of 18%. The class 6 property designation remains in effect for 10 or 15
years, depending upon the level of wages paid to employees of the facility in relation to the median wage of the
state [Laws 2009, Chapter 96; A.R.S. § 42-12006]. No new properties may be classified pursuant to this paragraph
from and after December 31, 2014

Solar Energy Devices for Commercial and Industrial Purposes. Solar energy systems that are utilized for the
production of solar energy primarily for on-site consumption are prohibited from being added to a property’s value
for the purposes of property tax assessments or from being counted as part of the Transaction Privilege Tax or Use
Tax base [Laws 2010, Chapter 294; Laws 2008, Chapter 60; Laws 2006, Chapter 333; A.R.S. § 41-1511; A.R.S. § 42-
5061; A.R.S. § 42-5075; A.R.S. § 42-5159, and A.R.S. § 42-11054].
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Table 1

Tax Credit

Renewable Energy
Investment

Renewable Energy
Manufacturing
Facility

Renewable Energy
Production

Solar Liquid Fuel

Commercial and
Industrial Solar
Energy Devices

Residential Solar
Energy Devices

SUMMARY OF MAIN TAX CREDIT PROVISIONS

Annual
Aggregate
Value of Credit Credit Cap
10% of Total Capital $70.0 million
Investment
$5.0 million per qualifying $10.0 million
facility
1¢ per kilowatt hour for the $20.0 million
first 200,000 megawatt hours
of biomass or wind energy and
1¢ - 4¢ for every kilowatt hour
of solar energy
11¢ per 100,000 BTUs of fuel None
produced; 30% of the cost of
converting or modifying an
existing motor vehicle fuel
station for retail sale; 40% of
qualified research expenses
10% of the installed cost of a None
solar device used in the
business
25% of the purchase price for  None

a solar energy device

Annual
Revenue

Impact
$(320,000) ¥

$(10.0) million ¢

$(9.5) million ¥

None ¥

$(664,300) ¥

$(4.7) million ¥

$500,000 in capital investment
per 1.5 full-time positions for
manufacturing and $200,000 in
capital investment per 1 new
full-time position. Repealed
after December 31, 2017.

10C: $100.0 million
investment in renewable
energy facilities within 3 years
of applying for the credit and
no later than December 31,
2018. At least 51% of
renewable energy must be
used for self-consumption by
fifth year of operation.
Manufacturer: $300.0 million
investment in new renewable
energy facilities producing
energy used in a company's
manufacturing. Each facility
must produce at least 40,000
megawatt hours of energy,
annually. Manufacturer
portion repealed after
December 31, 2017.

Energy must be produced from
a qualified generator that did
not first produce energy
before January 1, 2011 or after
December 31, 2020

Fuel and research must be
solar liquid fuel related.
Repealed after December 31,
2017.

Qualified solar device that is
utilized for business purposes

Qualified solar device for
residential use

1/ DOR has not been able to release credit use data due to confidentiality restrictions. ACA reports $1.6 million in credits have received final approval
since the program began. This amount must be taken in equal installments over 5 years, or approximately $320,000 a year.

2/ Based solely on the budgeted estimate. DOR reports that 1 company has been approved for the credit as of May 2017.

3/ Reflects the latest tax credit use reported by DOR.
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Table 2 below shows the estimated dollar impact of renewable energy tax credits and exemptions and provides
the year of the estimate.

Table 2
ESTIMATED IMPACT OF TAX CREDITS AND EXEMPTIONS
Description Year of Estimate Revenue Impact

Credits

Renewable Energy Investment CY 2018 $ (320,000) ¥

Renewable Energy Manufacturing Facility CY 2014 (10,000,000) ¥

Renewable Energy Production FY 2017 (9,482,200) ¥

Solar Energy Devices of Commercial FY 2017 (644,300) ¥

and Industrial Purposes

Solar Energy Devices of Residential FY 2017 (4,705,700) ¥

Purposes
Subtotal $(25,025,000)
Exemptions
Electricity and Natural Gas Sold to CY 2015 $ (1,300,000) %
International Operations Centers
Mixed Waste Processing Facility CY 2014 (184,000) ¢
Installation of Solar Energy Devices by CY 2000 (102,000) ¥
Registered Contractors
Solar Energy Devices for Commercial and CY 2015 (26,026,000) ¥
Industrial Purposes (TPT Exemption)
Subtotal $(27,612,000)

1/ DOR has not been able to release credit use data due to confidentiality restrictions. ACA reports $1.6 million in credits
have received final approval since the program began. This amount must be taken in equal installments over 5 years, or
approximately $320,000 a year.

2/ Based solely on the budgeted estimate. DOR reports that 1 company has been approved for the credit as of May 2017.

3/ Reflects the latest credit or exemption use reported by DOR.

4/  Based solely on the budgeted estimate. No actual data is available.
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Appendix B

COMPARISON OF PUBLIC AND PRIVATE SCHOOL TAX CREDITS

Table A: Statutes, Caps & Data
Statute # of STOs Donations ¥ Scholarships ¥
Type Category Cap (that received
: Y
sTO Tax Credit donations) S # Average # Average
Public School NA AR.S. § 43- $200 single/ - $57.0M | 336,791 $169 - -
Extracurricular 1089.01 $400 married
filing jointly
Private School A.R.S.§43-1601 A.R.S. § 43-1089 $555 single/ 54 S68.6 M | 88,316 $777 32,585 $1,780
Individual Original through 43-1605 $1,110 married
filing jointly ¥
Private School AR.S. § 43-1601 ARS. §43- $552 single/ 53 $39.4M | 46,583 $845 22,348 $1,476
“Switcher” ¢ through 43-1605 1089.03 $1,103 married
filing jointly ¥
Private School A.RS.§43-1501 | A.RS.§43-1183 & $89.2 M ¥ 49 $89.2 M 858 $103,917 | Notyet | Notyet
Low-Income through 1507 20-224.06 available | available
Corporate & Student (except 1505)
Insurance
Premium Private School A.R.S.§43-1501 | AR.S.§43-1184 & $5.0M 16 S5.0M 56 $89,300 | Notyet | Not yet
Displaced/Disabled through 1507 20-224.07 available | available
Student (except 1504)

R

3/ Adjusted annually for inflation. Figures shown are for Tax Year 2018.
4/ Referred to as the “Switcher” credit in Department of Revenue publications, since it is limited mostly to students switching from public to private schools (A.R.S. § 43-1603E)
5/ For FY 2019 (increases 20% annually pursuant to A.R.S. § 43-1183.C1).

Public school tax credit data are for calendar year 2017; private school data are for fiscal year 2017 (individual income tax) and fiscal year 2019 (corporate income tax; preliminary data).

Total donations in the table are $259.2 million for the mix of years represented (see footnote 1). Donations for a given year may not equal tax credits for that year depending on
donors’ tax liabilities and because corporations and insurers may carry forward tax credits for up to 5 years before using them. Similarly, donations for a given year may not equal total
scholarship disbursements for that year because STOs may reserve a portion of current year donations for future year scholarships and may use up to 10% of donations for
administration.

Note: "Empowerment Scholarship Accounts" (ESA's) authorized by A.R.S. § 15-2402 are not included in this analysis, as they are funded with appropriated state monies rather than contributions that qualify an
individual or corporation for a state tax credit. Student must meet criteria specified in A.R.S. §15-2401 in order to qualify for an ESA. ESAs are funded under formulas prescribed in A.R.S. §15-2402C&D. ADE may
retain up to 5% of program funding for administration, but is required to transfer one-fifth of that amount to the State Treasurer to fund the Treasurer's ESA administrative costs. (The State Treasurer establishes and
maintains a separate ESA for each program participant using monies transferred from ADE.) In FY 2018, approximately 4,500 students received $59.6 million in total ESA funding.




Table B: Program Restrictions

Type Category Donors Recipients Use of Funds ¥ Earmarking Other
Individual Public Extracurricular Can designate a Funds can only be used for activities or programs of public schools specified in statute, such as
income tax schools activities, character | specific student, standardized testing for college credit, standardized testing preparation, industry certification exams,
public School filers education,.and school club, or use FPR training, ch:j\racter eduFation progra.ms and extract.JrricuIar éctivitﬁes. .E.xtracurricular acFivities
Extracurricular college or industry include band uniforms, equipment or uniforms for varsity athletics, scientific laboratory equipment
testing fees or materials, or in-state or out-of-state trips that are solely for competitive events. Extracurricular
activities do not include any senior trips or events that are recreational, amusement or tourist
activities.
Individual Private Private school Taxpayer may The tax credit is not allowed if the taxpayer designates the taxpayer's contribution to the school
income tax school scholarships recommend tuition organization for the direct benefit of any dependent of the taxpayer or if the taxpayer
filers students recipient; may not designates a student beneficiary as a condition of the taxpayer's contribution to the school tuition
Individual Original recommend funds for | organization. A taxpayer may not claim a tax credit if the taxpayer agrees to swap donations with
own dependent or another taxpayer to benefit either taxpayer's own dependent. A STO cannot award, restrict or
another's dependent reserve scholarships solely on the basis of a donor's recommendation. If a STO scholarship exceeds a
in a donation swap school's total cost of educating the recipient, the school must return the excess portion to the STO.
Individual Private Private school Taxpayer may The tax credit is allowed only after the taxpayer has used the maximum tax credit available under the
income tax school scholarships recommend “Original” program. All restrictions for "Original" also apply to "Switcher." In addition, "Switcher"
filers students recipient; may not scholarships may only be awarded to public school transfers, kindergartners, preschool disabled
“Switcher” recommend funds for | students, military dependents, or pupils who received a corporate STO or "Switcher" scholarship in
own dependent or the prior year. A STO shall give priority to students and siblings of students on a waiting list for
another's dependent scholarships if the STO maintains a waiting list. If a STO scholarship exceeds a school's total cost of
in a donation swap educating the recipient, the school must return the excess to the STO.
Corporations, Private Private school Not allowed 1. Family income cannot exceed 185% of the income limit required to qualify a child for reduced
Insurers & S school scholarships price lunches under the national school lunch and child nutrition acts (maximum annual income
Corporations students of $85,905 for a family of four for FY 2019).
from "low 2. The student receiving the scholarship must meet one of the following:
income" a. Attended a public primary or secondary school as a full-time student or attended a public
households program for preschool disabled pupils for at least ninety days or one full semester of the
Low-Income prior fiscal year.
Student b. Enrollin a private school kindergarten or preschool disabled program.
c. Be amilitary dependent.
Corporate d. Received an individual or corporate STO scholarship in the prior year and continues to attend
and a qualified private school.
Insurance 3. The total scholarship amount per pupil from each STO increases each year by $100. In FY 2019, a
Premium STO cannot issue a scholarship in an amount that exceeds:
a. $5,400 for students in kindergarten through grade 8
b. $6,700 for students in grades 9 through 12.
Corporations, Private Private school Not allowed 1. The student must have been either placed in foster care at any time before graduating from high
Insurers & S school scholarships school or obtaining GED, or have been identified at any time as having a disability under federal
Displaced/ Corporations students or state law.
Disabled with 2. The amount of the scholarship shall not exceed the lesser of the cost of tuition or 90% of the
Student disabilities amount of state aid that would have been computed for the student to attend public school.
or foster
care history

1/ Al STOs must allocate at least 90% of their tax credit-related revenues for scholarships or grants, so STOs can spend a maximum of 10% of those revenues on program administration.
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Appendix C

LIST OF TAX CREDITS WITH STATUTORY ENDING DATES

Name of Credit

Family Income Tax Credit

Facility Credit

Healthy Forest Enterprise

Healthy Forest Restoration Workforce Training
Military Family Relief Fund

Military Reuse Zone

New Employment

INCOME TAX CREDITS WITH STATUTORY ENDING DATES

Ending Date

December 31, 2041 Y
December 31, 2022 %
December 31, 2024

December 31, 2017 ¥
December 31, 2026 ¢
December 31, 2017 ¥
June 30, 2025 5/

Type of Credit

Individual

Individual/Corporate
Individual/Corporate
Individual/Corporate

Individual
Individual/Corporate/Insurance
Individual/Corporate/Insurance

Renewable Energy Investment
Renewable Energy Manufacturing Facility
Renewable Energy Production
Small Business (“Angel”) Investment
Solar Energy Devices for Commercial

and Industrial Purposes

Solar Hot Water Heater Stub-Outs and
and Electric Vehicle Recharge Outlets

Individual/Corporate
Individual/Corporate
Individual/Corporate
Individual

Individual/Corporate

Individual/Corporate

December 31,2017 ¥
December 31, 2025 ¢
December 31, 2020 7
December 31, 2024 ¥
December 31, 2018

December 31,2017 ¥

Solar Liquid Fuel

R

S

S

Individual/Corporate December 31,2017 ¥

Laws 2018, Chapter 74 extended the ending date of this credit from December 31, 2020 to December 31, 2041.

Statute provides that credits can be claimed in 5 annual installments. Given that a taxpayer may begin earning credits as
late as TY 2022, the latest year a credit may be earned under the 5-year schedule is TY 2026.

Laws 2017, Chapter 299 repealed the credit from and after December 31, 2017.

Laws 2018, Chapter 199 extended the ending date of the credit from December 31, 2018 to December 31, 2026.

Statute prevents the Arizona Commerce Authority from authorizing new credits after June 30, 2025. Credits associated
with 1 net new job can be claimed for 3 years. A company may claim first year credits for separate new jobs for up to 3
consecutive years. Since second and third year credits may be claimed against each of the new positions, the taxpayer
may claim credits for up to a total of 5 consecutive years. Credits therefore, may be claimed through TY 2029.

Credit authorization for a certified International Operation Center (10C) is allowed through December 31, 2025. Thus, an
I0C may not generate new credits after this date. Laws 2017, Chapter 299 repeals the portion of the credit available to
manufacturing companies after December 31, 2017.

Statute provides that credits can be claimed for 10 consecutive years beginning with the calendar year in which the
taxpayer holds title to a qualified energy generator that first produces electricity between January 1, 2011 and December
31, 2020. Given that a taxpayer may begin earning credits as late as TY 2020, the latest year a credit may be earned under
the 10-year schedule is TY 2030.

Credit authorization is only allowed through June 30, 2021. Thus, no new credits can be generated after this date.
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PROPERTY TAX

DESCRIPTION

Arizona has 2 distinct types of property taxes: primary and secondary. Primary property taxes are levied to pay for
the maintenance and operation of a taxing jurisdiction. Secondary property taxes are levied to pay for bond
indebtedness, voter-approved budget overrides, and special districts such as fire or sanitary districts. Although the
state property tax was repealed in 1996, primary property tax collections in certain districts are still deposited in
the state General Fund. The monies deposited into the state General Fund are from taxes levied on property not
located within any school district, so-called unorganized districts [A.R.S. § 15-991.01], and on property in certain
school districts ineligible for state aid, sometimes referred to as minimum qualifying tax rate (MQTR) districts
[A.R.S. § 15-992]. (For more details, see Tax Rate section.)

Property is listed in 2 categories: real property and personal property. Real property includes land, buildings, and
improvements to land. Personal property includes property used for commercial, industrial, and agricultural
purposes, such as office furniture, business equipment, and tools. In addition, most mobile homes in Arizona are
taxed as personal property.

Assessment duties are divided between the Department of Revenue (DOR) and the 15 county assessors.
Generally, geographically dispersed and complex properties, such as mines, utilities, airlines, and railroads,
commonly referred to as “centrally valued property,” are valued by DOR. All other properties are valued by the
county assessors and are, therefore, referred to as “locally assessed property.” (For more details, see Tax Base
section.)

Property in Arizona is classified for assessment purposes into 9 legal classes, with sub-classifications in many of
those classes. The classification is based on the current use of the property by its owner, such as commercial,
agricultural, or residential. Each legal class has an assessment ratio, which is specified by statute. The assessment
ratio, which currently ranges from 1% to 18%, is used to calculate the assessed value of a property. (For more
details, see Tax Rate section.)

DISTRIBUTION
As mentioned previously, revenues from unorganized and MQTR districts are deposited in the state General Fund.

Otherwise, every taxing jurisdiction simply collects what it levies. (Please see Tax Rate section for more
discussion.) Property tax collected and deposited in the General Fund is shown in Table 1 below.

Table 1
STATE GENERAL FUND COLLECTIONS
Fiscal Year General Fund Fiscal Year General Fund
2018 $38,719,634 2008 $20,041,338
2017 $32,538,497 2007 $24,486,025
2016 $38,483,335 2006 $24,998,760
2015 $36,515,876 2005 $25,245,622
2014 $25,611,186 2004 $33,266,987
2013 $13,202,508 2003 $19,433,856
2012 $15,887,896 2002 $29,153,274
2011 $20,333,501 2001 $32,942,815
2010 $20,269,632 2000 $34,682,874
2009 $18,244,500 1999 $36,121,502

SOURCE: DOR and State Treasurer’s Office.
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Property tax in Arizona is primarily a local revenue source as the state General Fund currently receives less than
0.5% of all taxes levied in the state. Table 2 below shows the distribution of property taxes among local taxing

jurisdictions.

Table 2

Jurisdiction
State ¥
Counties

Cities & Towns
School Districts
Special Districts

Community Colleges

TOTAL

PRIMARY AND SECONDARY COMBINED PROPERTY TAX LEVIES

FY 2018
$330,887,686
$1,471,069,472
$652,664,972
$3,711,122,953

FY 2017
$323,278,892
$1,396,414,883
$632,382,470
$3,614,915,972

$531,248,566 $504,795,963
$875,445,399 $856,480,862
$7,572,439,048  $7,328,269,042

FY 2016
$321,563,137
$1,344,606,835
$572,084,282
$3,442,285,660
$485,030,182
$836,759,615

FY 2015
$313,103,318
$1,278,247,459
$562,115,941
$3,451,988,449
$438,199,544
$813,216,510

FY 2014
$288,408,092
$1,190,471,779
$531,909,899
$3,342,423,307
$419,212,129
$783,369,756

$7,002,329,711

$6,856,871,221

$6,555,794,962

1/ Although the state equalization assistance property tax is technically a school district tax (see A.R.S. § 15-994), ATRA lists it as a
state tax for reporting purposes since the tax levy reduces Basic State Aid to schools by an equal amount. Pursuant to Laws
2006, Chapter 354, the state equalization tax was not levied in FY 2007, FY 2008 and FY 2009.

SOURCE: Arizona Tax Research Association (ATRA).

WHO PAYS

The owner of record, or the person who is the purchaser under a deed of trust or an agreement of sale, is liable for
the payment of the tax [A.R.S. § 42-15101].

Tribal Members

The Arizona Constitution provides that a property owned by an Indian tribal member is exempted from taxation if
such property is located within an Indian reservation, or has been acquired under an act of Congress [Article 20,
Section 5]. Laws 2005, Chapter 276 provides that property outside an Indian reservation that is owned by an
Indian tribe or tribally designated housing authority, is exempted from taxation if such property provides low
income rental housing for Indian tribal members [A.R.S. § 42-11131].

REVENUE BASE

Since 1980, the state has used 2 distinct valuation bases for levying property taxes and for this reason each
property is assigned 2 values: limited property value and full cash value. The former is also referred to as primary
value and the latter as secondary value.

Full Cash Value (FCV)

A property’s full cash value is the value determined as prescribed by statute. If no statutory method is prescribed,
full cash value is synonymous with market value, as determined by standard appraisal methods. There are no
restrictions or limitations on full cash value growth [A.R.S. § 42-11001].

Although property values in Arizona are based on market value as represented by sales price, Arizona statutes set
sales ratio standards at 81% of nominal sales price for commercial and industrial properties, and 82% for
residential and other properties. These standards allow for the exclusion of personal property items included in
sales, financing incentives, time on the market, and reasonable mass appraisal errors [A.R.S. § 42-11054E].

The Legislature has also mandated that specific types of property be appraised on a basis other than market value.

These property types are agricultural, shopping centers, certain golf courses, and most centrally valued properties,
such as electric and gas utilities [A.R.S. § 42-13101 through 42-13206].
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Limited Property Value (LPV)

A property’s limited value is the value determined as provided by Article 9, Section 18 of the Arizona Constitution,
and further defined by Section 42-13301, 42-13302, and 42-13304 of Arizona Revised Statutes. The limited value
can equal but not exceed the full cash value of a property. Limited property valuations are derived on an
individual parcel basis by using one of the following methods:

e Through TY 2014: For a parcel in existence in the previous year that did not undergo any modification through
construction, destruction, split, assemblage or change in use, the parcel’s limited value is established at its
previous year’s LPV increased by up to the greater of either 10% or 25% of the difference between its current
year’s FCV and its previous year’s LPV. The property’s LPV can never exceed its FCV [A.R.S. § 42-13301].

e Beginning in TY 2015: For a parcel in existence in the prior year that did not undergo any modification through
construction, destruction, split, assemblage or change in use, the parcel’s limited value is established at its
previous year’s LPV increased by up to 5%. The property’s LPV can never exceed its FCV [A.R.S. § 42-13301].

e For a parcel that was subject to modification through construction, destruction, or change in use, and for a
new parcel (including one that resulted from a split or assemblage), the parcel’s limited value is established at
a level or percentage that is commensurate to the relationship of LPV to FCV of other properties of the same
or similar use or legal classification [A.R.S. § 42-13302].

The limit on increases in property values, as described above, does not apply to: (1) personal property other than
mobile homes and (2) centrally valued property [A.R.S. § 42-13304]. The limited and full cash values of personal
property (except mobile homes) and most centrally valued property are the same.

Proposition 117
On November 6, 2012, voters approved Proposition 117, which provides 2 significant changes to the Arizona

Constitution, beginning in TY 2015. First, Proposition 117 reduces the maximum year-over-year increase of limited
property value from 10% (or an amount equal to 25% of the difference between the current year’s full cash value
and the previous year’s limited value, whichever is greater) to 5%, as noted above. Second, Proposition 117
provides that limited property value be the basis for levying all property (i.e., both primary and secondary) taxes.
Through TY 2014, limited property value was the basis for levying primary taxes whereas full cash value was the
basis for levying secondary taxes.

Laws 2013, Chapter 66 conformed Arizona Revised Statutes to the voter-approved constitutional amendments
under Proposition 117. Among the conforming changes included in Chapter 66 was the removal of any statutory
reference to the terms “primary net assessed valuation” and “secondary net assessed valuation.” To reflect the
use of a single tax base, these terms were replaced by the generic term “net assessed valuation.” Note, however,
that Chapter 66 retained the statutory terms “primary property taxes” and “secondary property taxes.”
Additionally, Chapter 66 clarified that limited value is the basis for levying both primary and secondary taxes on all
property except locally assessed personal property (other than mobile homes) and centrally valued property.
Instead, full cash value is the basis for levying primary and secondary taxes on such property [A.R.S. § 42-13304].

Net Assessed Value (NAV)

A property’s assessed value is derived by multiplying the property’s full cash value and limited value by the
applicable assessment ratio, which depends on the legal classification of the property as shown in Table 3. NAV is
obtained by subtracting any applicable exemption from the property’s assessed value.

A property’s tax liability is determined by multiplying the applicable tax rate with the NAV of the property divided
by 100. (Pursuant to A.R.S. § 42-17151, the tax rate is determined per $100 NAV.) This means that the property
tax liability depends on 3 factors: (1) the limited property value as determined by the county assessor or DOR, (2)
the assessment ratio based on the use of the property, and (3) the tax rate as set by the taxing jurisdiction (see Tax
Rate section).
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Table 3
PROPERTY TAX CLASSES AND TAX YEAR 2018 ASSESSMENT RATIOS
Assessment
Class Ratio Property Usage
1 18% Properties of mining, utility, and telecommunication companies, standing timber, airport

fuel delivery, producing oil and gas property, pipeline property, shopping centers, golf
courses, manufacturers, and most other commercial property. [A.R.S. § 42-12001]. Note
that Laws 2011, 2" Special Session Chapter 1 reduces the assessment ratio to 19.5% in
TY 2013, 19.0% in TY 2014, 18.5% in TY 2015, and 18.0% in TY 2016, when fully
implemented.

2 15% Agricultural property, properties of nonprofit organizations, and vacant land. [A.R.S. §
42-12002]. Note that Laws 2011, 2" Special Session Chapter 1 reduces the assessment
ratio to 15% in TY 2016.

3 10% Primary residential property. [A.R.S. § 42-12003].

4 10% Non-primary residential property as well as leased or rented residential property. [A.R.S.
§ 42-12004].

5 14% Airlines, railroad, and private car company property. [A.R.S. § 42-12005].

6 5% Noncommercial historic property, property located in a foreign trade, military reuse, or

enterprise zone, property of a qualified environmental technology manufacturing facility.
[A.R.S. § 42-12006].

7 18% or 1% Property that meets the criteria for Class 1 property and also the criteria for commercial
historic property. [A.R.S. § 42-12007].
8 10% or 1% Property that meets the criteria for Class 4 property and also the criteria for commercial
historic property. [A.R.S. § 42-12008].
9 1% Improvements on federal, state, county, and municipal property. [A.R.S. § 42-12009].
Table 4
STATEWIDE PRIMARY AND SECONDARY NET ASSESSED VALUATION (NAV)
Tax Year Primary NAV Secondary NAV
2018 $62,338,357,186 $76,437,036,352
2017 $59,406,279,473 $71,673,967,461
2016 $56,589,592,481 $67,262,138,649
2015 Y $54,838,548,829 $62,635,586,917
2014 $53,541,003,785 $55,352,051,074

1/ Beginning in TY 2015, primary NAV is the tax base for both primary and secondary property taxes.

SOURCE: ATRA and DOR.

Real Property versus Personal Property. Real property is generally synonymous with real estate and includes land,
buildings, and improvements to land. Personal property is property other than real estate and includes items such
as manufactured housing, office furniture, business equipment, and tools. Personal property is usually movable
and not permanently attached to real estate.

Centrally Valued Property. As noted previously, certain property is subject to valuation by DOR. Such property,
commonly referred to as “centrally valued property,” is listed below.

e  Mines, mills, and smelters [A.R.S. § 42-14051].

e Qil, gas, and geothermal properties [A.R.S. § 42-14101].

e  Gas, water, electric, and sewer and wastewater utilities [A.R.S. § 42-14151].
e  Pipelines [A.R.S. § 42-14201].
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e Airline companies [A.R.S. § 42-14251].

e  Private car companies [A.R.S. § 42-14301].

e Railroad companies [A.R.S. § 42-14351].

e Telecommunications companies [A.R.S. § 42-14401].
e Airport fuel delivery companies [A.R.S. § 42-14501].

Equalization of Valuations. DOR is authorized by statute to examine property valuations for inequities between or
within counties and classifications and to issue equalization orders to ensure that all property in the state is
appropriately valued [A.R.S. § 42-13251]. To this end, DOR conducts sales ratio studies to determine whether
properties are valued fairly or not [A.R.S. § 42-13005]. County assessors affected by an equalization order may
appeal to the State Board of Tax Appeals [A.R.S. § 42-16159].

EXEMPTIONS

All property in Arizona is subject to taxation unless exempted by law. The exemptions are provided in Article 9,
Sections 2, 2.1, and 2.2 of the Arizona Constitution, and are summarized in Table 5 below. Arizona Revised
Statutes further define the property tax exemptions provided by the Arizona Constitution. As a general rule, under
Arizona law, property classification is based on the use of the property by the owner, whereas property exemption
is provided based on the ownership of the property. All exemptions currently listed in statutes are displayed in
Table 6 below.

Table 5
PROPERTY TAX EXEMPTIONS AUTHORIZED BY THE ARIZONA CONSTITUTION

Article Section Exemption
9 2 Federal, state, county, and municipal properties

2 Property owned by non-profit educational, charitable, and religious organizations
2 Public debts (i.e., bonds of Arizona, its counties, municipalities, or other subdivisions)
2 Household goods owned by the user and used solely for non-commercial purposes
2 Inventory of materials, parts, and products owned by a retailer or wholesaler for resale
purposes
2 The first $50,000 of full cash value for business and agricultural personal property ¥
2 Property of cemeteries
2 Property of widows
2.1 Property of widowers

2.2 Property of disabled persons

1/ Pursuant to A.R.S. § 42-11127(B), the maximum amount of the exemption is increased each year to account for inflation. For
TY 2018, the maximum amount of the exemption is $167,130. Laws 2012, Chapter 343 changed the calculation of the
maximum exemption amount, beginning in TY 2013. Under Chapter 343, the maximum exemption is calculated based on
the percentage increase in the Employment Cost Index in the 2 most recent years rather than only the most recent year.
Additionally, this amount is calculated as if Chapter 343 had been continuously in effect since 1997. As a result of Chapter
343, the maximum exemption increased from $68,079 in TY 2012 to $133,868 in TY 2013.
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Table 6
PROPERTY TAX EXEMPTIONS FURTHER DEFINED BY ARIZONA REVISED STATUTES

Title Section = Exemption
42 11102 Government property
11103 Government bonded indebtedness
11104 Education and library property
11105 Health care property
11106 Apartments for elderly or handicapped residents
11107 Institutions for relief of indigent or afflicted
11108 Grounds and buildings owned by agricultural societies
11109 Religious property
11110 Cemeteries
11111 Property of widows, widowers, and disabled persons
11112 Observatories
11113 Land and buildings owned by animal control and humane societies
11114 Property held for conveyance as parkland
11115 Property held to preserve or protect scientific resources
11116 Property of arts and science organizations
11117 Property of volunteer fire departments
11118 Social welfare and quasi-governmental service property
11119 Property of volunteer roadway cleanup and beautification organizations
11120 Property of veterans’ organizations
11121 Property of charitable community service organizations
11122 Trading commodities
11123 Animal and poultry feed
11124 Possessory interests for educational or charitable activities
11125 Inventory, materials, and products
11126 Production livestock and animals
11127 Personal property
11128 Personal property in transit
11129 Property of fraternal societies
11130 Property of public library organizations
11131 Property providing low income rental housing for Indians
11132 Property leased to an educational institution
11132.01 Property leased to a church, religious assembly or religious institution
11133 Low income housing projects.

As noted earlier, Article 20, Section 5 of the Arizona Constitution provides that property owned by Indians, when
such property is located within an Indian reservation or has been acquired under an act of Congress, is exempted
from taxation.

RATE
The tax rates for primary and secondary property taxes are determined by each individual taxing jurisdiction in the
state. The rates vary considerably among the state’s taxing authorities, as reflected in the total average tax rate by

county shown in Table 7 below. (Note that a taxing authority is required by statute to determine the tax rate,
rounded to 4 decimal places, on each $100 of NAV [A.R.S. § 42-17151]).
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Table 7
TOTAL COMBINED PRIMARY AND SECONDARY AVERAGE TAX RATE PER $100 NAV

County TY 2017 TY 2016 TY 2015 TY 2014 TY 2013 TY 2012 TY 2011 TY 2010
Apache $6.75 $6.17 $6.03 $5.87 $5.47 $5.37 $6.01 $6.51
Cochise $13.27 $12.78 $13.11 $12.72 $11.37 $11.06 $10.40 $10.48
Coconino $9.30 $9.54 $9.51 $9.23 $9.14 $8.36 $8.20 $7.54
Gila $13.59 $13.38 $13.10 $13.95 $13.50 $12.50 $12.38 $11.03
Graham $12.08 $11.96 S11.46 $12.10 $12.04 $10.67 $7.20 $7.88
Greenlee $4.00 $4.10 $3.94 $3.94 $4.31 $3.84 $4.60 $4.06
Maricopa $12.43 $12.74 $12.48 $12.41 $12.46 $11.71 $10.68 $9.19
Mohave $11.19 $10.74 $11.03 $11.26 $10.87 $10.27 $9.83 $8.57
Navajo $10.96 $10.81 $10.31 $10.20 $9.96 $9.16 $8.60 $8.21
Pima $16.01 $15.91 $15.91 $15.79 $14.91 $14.05 $13.59 $12.86
Pinal $15.46 $15.53 $16.05 $15.69 $15.72 $14.31 $14.29 $13.11
Santa Cruz $13.06 $13.10 $12.99 $13.11 $12.85 $11.74 $11.53 $11.31
Yavapai $10.85 $11.13 $11.21 $11.20 $11.09 $10.15 $9.19 $7.98
Yuma $13.34 $14.01 $13.19 $12.33 $12.47 $11.56 $11.55 $9.84
La Paz $11.07 $10.81 $11.03 $10.77 $9.96 $9.44 $9.25 $8.50
State of Arizona $12.75 $12.95 $12.77 $12.67 $12.54 $11.75 $10.94 $9.67
SOURCE: DOR

Unlike local government entities, the state does not levy property taxes due to the repeal of the state property tax
in 1996 [Laws 1996, 7t Special Session, Chapter 2]. However, statute requires that the counties levy and collect
certain primary property taxes, which are transmitted to the state in order to aid in school financial assistance.
First, each county is required (pursuant to A.R.S. § 15-991.01) to levy a primary tax on property not located in a
school district (“unorganized district”) at a rate equal to 50% of the qualifying tax rate (QTR) used to calculate state
equalization assistance for unified school districts. Second, each county is also required (pursuant to A.R.S. § 15-
992) to levy an additional primary tax in school districts that are ineligible for state equalization assistance (“zero-
aid districts”). This additional tax rate, referred to as the minimum qualifying tax rate (MQTR), is determined
based on the difference between the levy that would be produced by 50% of the zero-aid district’s applicable QTR
and its “equalization base.” (Under the statutory K-12 funding formula, each school district is provided a certain
amount of funding based on its student count and other factors. This funding amount is referred to as the
district’s equalization base.) If the levy produced by 50% of the district’s applicable QTR is equal to or less than its
equalization base, the MQTR will not be levied in such zero-aid district. Otherwise, the MQTR will be levied at a
rate such that the additional tax generates an amount equal to the difference between 50% of the zero-aid
district’s QTR and its equalization base. Although the additional taxes levied in unorganized districts and certain
zero-aid school districts are collected by the counties, these monies are later transmitted to the state for deposit
into the General Fund.

In addition to the additional primary tax levied on property in unorganized districts and some zero-aid school
districts, each county is also required to levy and collect the “state equalization assistance property tax” on all
property within the county [A.R.S. § 15-994]. The monies collected from this state-mandated tax are apportioned
to each school district within the county. The state equalization tax along with qualifying tax comprises the “local
share” of the statutory K-12 funding formula. The K-12 tax rates used in the statutory school funding (“Basic State
Aid”) formula are shown in Table 8 below.
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Table 8
K-12 TAX RATES PER $100 NAV
Qualifying Tax Rate (QTR) State Equalization Rate
Fiscal Year Unified School Districts Non-Unified School Districts All School Districts
2019 $3.9358 $1.9679 $0.4741
2018 $4.0468 $2.0234 $0.4875
2017 $4.1586 $2.0793 $0.5010
2016 $4.1954 $2.0977 $0.5054
2015 $4.2246 $2.1123 $0.5089
2014 $4.2530 $2.1265 $0.5123
2013 $3.9170 $1.9585 $0.4717
2012 $3.5364 $1.7682 $0.4259
2011 $2.9594 $1.4797 $0.3564
2010 $2.7452 $1.3726 $0.3306

A.R.S. § 15-971. Equalization Assistance (“Basic State Aid”). The purpose of the basic state aid formula is to
establish a comparable funding amount per pupil in each school district. The funding formula consists of a local
share and a state share. The local share represents the amount of budgeted expenditures financed by the district’s
own property tax. The state share is simply the amount of spending not covered by the district’s property tax.
This means that anything that causes the local share to decrease, such as a reduction in NAV or the QTR and/or
State Equalization rate, will cause the state share (i.e., basic state aid) to increase by the same amount.

A.R.S. § 15-972. Additional State Aid (“Homeowner’s Property Tax Rebate”). In return for reducing the FY 2017
school district primary tax levy for primary residential properties (Class 3) by 47.19%, the state appropriates an
amount equal to the tax rebate to the same districts. This aid, which is in addition to basic state aid, is limited to
$600 per parcel.

Beginning in FY 2012, Laws 2010, 7t Special Session, Chapter 8 limits the Homeowner’s Rebate to the lesser of the
QTR or the school district’s primary property tax rate. The tax rate levied by districts for primary property taxes is
further reduced on individual parcels of residential property if the combined primary property tax levy exceeds 1%
of the parcel’s limited property value (see Tax Limitations section).

Laws 2011, 2" Special Session, Chapter 1 increased the Homeowner’s Rebate percentage for FY 2014 through FY
2017 by an amount determined by DOR. The purpose of the rebate increase was to offset the property tax shift to
homeowners that would otherwise occur as a result of the reduced assessment ratios for commercial (Class 1) and
agricultural (Class 2) property under Chapter 1. As a result of this act, the Homeowner’s Rebate percentage is
increased from 45.003% in FY 2016 to 47.19% in FY 2017.

A.R.S. § 41-1276. Truth in Taxation for Equalization Assistance. Absent any tax rate changes, a property owner’s
tax liability changes whenever the valuation of his property changes. The purpose of truth in taxation (TNT) is to
prevent such a change in property tax liability by adjusting the tax rate commensurately. Prior to the enactment of
TNT (Laws 1998, Chapter 153), the state received monies from a primary property tax rate of $2.20 per $100 NAV
levied in unorganized districts, and up to $2.20 per $100 NAV in MQTR districts. The equalization tax rate was
$0.53 per $100 NAV. However, starting in FY 2000, these tax rates have been adjusted each year to offset the
statewide appreciation or depreciation of property, as reflected in Table 8 above. Note that since these tax rates
are used both for collecting property taxes and for disbursing basic state aid, the annual TNT rate adjustments
affect both General Fund revenues and General Fund expenditures.

In addition to the K-12 property tax rates shown in Table 8, which help fund the Basic State Aid formula, school
districts may establish property tax rates to fund “overrides,” bonds, and certain other miscellaneous costs:

K-12 Budget Overrides

Voter-approved K-12 budget overrides allow school districts to spend more than would be permitted under

statutory budget limits, such as the “Revenue Control Limit” (RCL) defined in A.R.S. § 15-947. The 3 types of K-12
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budget overrides are (1) Maintenance and Operation (M&O) overrides, (2) “special program” overrides, and (3)
capital overrides. M&O and “special program” overrides combined cannot exceed 15% of a school district’s RCL
and capital overrides are separately capped at 10% of a district’'s RCL. Revenues from M&O overrides may be
spent on any M&O expenditure, whereas revenues from “special program” overrides and capital overrides must be
spent only on “special programs” or capital improvements, respectively. All 3 types of overrides may be approved
for a maximum of 7 years and are funded with secondary property tax revenues.

K-12 Bonding
A.R.S. § 15-1021 authorizes school districts to issue voter-approved bonds for long-term capital needs, such as

school construction and renovation. Article 9, Section 8.1 of the State Constitution caps a unified school district’s
bonded indebtedness at 30% of its NAV for secondary tax purposes, but A.R.S. § 15-1021D further caps its “Class
B” bonds (bonds issued after December 31, 1999) at 10% of its NAV. The corresponding constitutional (Article 9,
Section 8) and statutory (A.R.S. § 15-1021B) caps for non-unified school districts are 15% and 5% of NAV,
respectively. Laws 2013, 15t Special Session, Chapter 3 increases the Class B bonding capacity cap for unified school
districts from 10% to 20% of NAV. The Class B bonding capacity cap for non-unified school districts is increased
from 5% to 10% of NAV. The proceeds from K-12 bonds may only be used for expenditures listed in A.R.S. § 15-
491A3&4. Bond debt service is funded with secondary property tax revenues.

K-12 Miscellaneous Costs

School districts may also establish property tax rates to fund desegregation programs and other miscellaneous
costs authorized in A.R.S. § 15-910. These rates do not require voter approval and are funded with primary, rather
than secondary, property taxes.

TAX LIMITATIONS
The following constitutional provisions limit property taxation in Arizona:

e Arizona Constitution, Article 9, Section 8. “Local Debt Limits.” The amount of General Obligation (GO) debt
issued by a county, city, town, school district, or other municipal corporation is limited to 6% of the
jurisdiction’s NAV. The voters of a county, elementary or high school district may authorize additional debt for
up to 15% of NAV. (Pursuant Article 9, Section 8.1, unified school districts are allowed additional debt for up
to 30% of NAV.) The voters of a city or town may approve additional debt for up to 20% of NAV for providing
services such as water, artificial lights, sewers, and for the acquisition and development of land for open space
preserves, parks, playgrounds, and recreational facilities. Proposition 104, which was approved by voters in
November 2006, added the following list of items to be included within a city’s or town’s 20% debt limit:
public safety, law enforcement, fire and emergency service facilities, and street and transportation facilities.

e Arizona Constitution, Article 9, Section 18. “The 1% Cap.” The total amount of taxes collected on residential
property (Class 3) for primary tax purposes is not allowed to exceed 1% of the parcel’s limited property value.
Through FY 2015, the combined primary property taxes on a parcel of residential property that exceeded this
limit was reduced through a commensurate increase in additional state aid to schools [A.R.S. § 15-972].
Beginning in FY 2016, Laws 2015, Chapter 15 caps the state’s cost of the 1% Cap program to $1.0 million per
county. Additionally, Chapter 15 requires the Property Tax Oversight Commission to allocate the loss of state
1% Cap funding among local taxing jurisdictions based on its determination of their pro rata shares of the
overall 1% Cap exceedance. The 2015 law was subsequently ruled unconstitutional by the Maricopa County
Superior Court in May 2016.

e Arizona Constitution, Article 9, Section 18. “Limited Property Valuation.” This constitutional provision
imposes a limitation on increases in the value of real property and mobile homes, as described in the Revenue
Base section.

e Arizona Constitution, Article 9, Section 18. “The Senior Property Valuation Freeze.” Arizona residents who
meet the following requirements are eligible for a property valuation freeze on their home: (1) is 65 years of
age or older, (2) the home is their primary residence, (3) has lived in their home for at least 2 years, and (4)
their gross income does not exceed 400% of the supplemental security income benefit rate. If the
homeowners meet these requirements, they can apply for a “property valuation protection option” from their
county assessor. The county assessor then fixes the value of the home at the full cash value in effect during
the year the application was filed. The value of the home will remain frozen for as long as the owner remains
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eligible for the protection option. To be eligible for the senior valuation protection option in 2018, the income
cannot exceed $36,000 for single owners and $45,000 for 2 or more owners.

e Arizona Constitution, Article 9, Section 19. “The 2% Levy Limit.” A city, town, county or community college
district is not allowed to levy primary property taxes on existing property in excess of a 2% increase from the
maximum allowable amount in the preceding tax year unless approved in an override election, as prescribed
by A.R.S. § 42-17201 through 42-17203. Proposition 101, which was approved by voters in November 2006,
changed the base year used to calculate the levy limits of cities, towns, counties, and community colleges from
1980 to 2005. By resetting the base year to 2005, Proposition 101 eliminated any unused taxing capacity of
such taxing jurisdictions as of TY 2005. Any unused taxing capacity accumulated after TY 2005 is carried
forward to subsequent years. (Note that the 2% levy limit does not apply to school districts.)

The following statutory provisions limit property taxation in Arizona:

e Truth in Taxation Levy for Equalization Assistance to Schools. The QTR and the state equalization tax rate, the
2 statutory K-12 tax rates used to determine basic state aid for school districts, are required to be adjusted
each year to offset the statewide valuation increase or decrease of existing property. The statutory K-12 tax
rates cannot exceed the TNT rates provided under this statute unless the Legislature overrides them by a two-
thirds vote [A.R.S. § 41-1276].

e Truth in Taxation Base Limit for School Expenditures outside the Budget Limit. Each school district is required
to determine a TNT base limit for expenditures (desegregation, dropout prevention, excess utilities, vocational
education, and small school adjustments) not paid for by the statutory K-12 tax rates. Any school district that
budgets an amount that exceeds its TNT base limit (or levies any amount for adjacent ways or liabilities in
excess) is required to issue a special TNT notice that includes information on the resulting property tax
increase [A.R.S. § 15-905.01].

e Truth in Taxation Levy for Counties, Cities, and Towns. Any county, city, or town that proposes a primary
property tax levy, excluding amounts attributable to new construction, which exceeds the preceding year’s
levy, is required to issue a special TNT notice that includes information on the property prior to and after the
increase. The levy equals net assessed valuation of existing property for primary tax purposes divided by $100
and multiplied by the primary tax rate. If such taxing jurisdiction fails to comply with the requirements under
this statute, it is not allowed to levy an amount that exceeds the preceding year’s levy, except for amounts
attributable to new construction [A.R.S. § 42-17107].

e Truth in Taxation Levy for Community Colleges. Any community college district that proposes a primary
property tax levy, excluding amounts attributable to new construction, which exceeds the preceding year’s
levy, is required to issue a special TNT notice that includes information on the resulting property tax increase.
If a district fails to comply with the requirements under this statute, it is not allowed to levy an amount that
exceeds the preceding year’s levy, except for amounts attributable to new construction [A.R.S. § 15-1461.01].

Note that while a county, city, town, or community college district may exceed its TNT levy, it can never exceed its
constitutional levy limit.

Elderly Assistance Fund

The Board of Supervisors in a county with a population of more than 2 million is authorized by statute to establish
a fund to reduce the property tax of qualified elderly taxpayers [A.R.S. § 42-17401]. In February 2007, the
Maricopa County Board of Supervisors established the Elderly Assistance Fund (EAF), which has since been
administered by the Maricopa County Treasurer’s Office. Qualified applicants of the tax relief program are those
who have limited income, live within an organized school district, and have enrolled in the Seniors Valuation
Protection Program.

Through FY 2015, the EAF received its funding from some of the proceeds resulting from the Arizona tax lien sales
held in February of each year by the Maricopa County Treasurer’s Office. Beginning in FY 2016, Laws 2015,
Chapter 324 disallows this funding mechanism but permits existing monies in EAF to be used to fund the Elderly
Assistance Program.
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Laws 2016, Chapter 125 specifies that the Maricopa County Board of Supervisors must spend the remaining
monies in EAF after December 31, 2015 solely on the Elderly Assistance Program. In addition, Chapter 125
requires that any subsequent appropriations made to EAF must be spent solely on the Program.

TAX ADMINISTRATION

Valuation Year versus Tax Year. Under Arizona law, the valuation year for locally assessed real property and
centrally valued property is the calendar year preceding the year in which the taxes are levied. In other words, the
tax year lags the valuation year by 1 year. By contrast, for locally assessed personal property, the valuation year is
the calendar year in which the taxes are levied [A.R.S. § 42-11001]. However, because of the payment schedule in
Arizona (see Payment Schedule section below), real and personal property taxes are always collected in the fiscal
year immediately following the tax year. For real property, this means that the valuation year precedes the tax
year by 1 year and the fiscal year by 2 years. The relationship of the valuation year and tax year to FY 2019 is
summarized in Table 9 below.

Table 9

PROPERTY VALUATION AND TAXATION CALENDAR

Tvpe of Propert Valuation Year 2017 & 2018 Tax Year 2018 Fiscal Year 2019
yp perty - ST T
(When Tax Base Is Determined) (When Tax Rate Is Determined) (When Tax Is Due and Payable)

Locally Assessed Real Property October 1, 2018 and
(Old Construction) January 1, 2017 August 20, 2018 March 1, 2019

Locally Assessed Real Property October 1, 2016 through October 1, 2018 and
(New Construction) September 30, 2017 August 20, 2018 March 1, 2019

Locally Assessed Personal October 1, 2018 and
Property January 1, 2018 August 20, 2018 March 1, 2019

October 1, 2018 and
Centrally Valued Property January 1, 2017 August 20, 2018 March 1, 2019

As shown in the table above, the valuation date for existing property is always January 1 of the valuation year
[A.R.S. § 42-11001]. This means that for real property, the period between when the parcel’s initial value is
determined (January 1) and its tax is due and payable (March 1) is more than 2 years. For new construction, the
valuation date is between October 1 in the year preceding the valuation year and September 30 of the valuation
year [A.R.S. § 42-15105]. The property tax rates are always set on or before the third Monday in August of the tax
year.

DOR values all centrally valued properties such as utilities, mines, airlines, and railroads [A.R.S. § 42-14002]. DOR
must notify the property owners by June 15 of the initial full cash value established. The property owner then has
until July 15 to file an application to appear before DOR and be heard concerning the full cash value determined. If
the property owner is not satisfied with DOR’s valuation, he can appeal to either the State Board of Equalization
[A.R.S. § 42-16158] by October 1 or directly to the Superior Court [A.R.S. § 42-16204] by December 15.

The county assessors are responsible for the valuation of all properties not valued by the state. The assessor must
notify the real property owners through a “Notice of Value” form by March 1 of the initial values of existing
properties for the following tax year [A.R.S. § 42-15101]. The taxpayer then has 60 days to appeal to the assessor
[A.R.S. § 42-16051]. The assessor must rule on these appeals by August 15 [A.R.S. § 42-16055]. The property
owner then has 25 days to appeal to the State Board of Equalization for property located in Maricopa or Pima
County or the County Board of Supervisors for property located in other counties [A.R.S. § 42-16105]. The county
or state board must rule on these appeals by October 15 [A.R.S. § 42-16108]. If the taxpayers are still unsatisfied
with the result, they may directly appeal to the state tax court within 60 days after the mailing of the decision, or
by December 15, whichever is later [A.R.S. § 42-16202].
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For new construction, additions to, deletions from, or splits or consolidations of assessment parcels, or changes to
the use of real property resulting in a change of legal classification, the county assessor is required to notify the
property owners of the initial values through a “Notice of Change” form by September 30 of the valuation year.
The Notice of Change applies to property changes that occurred after September 30 of the year preceding the
valuation year and before October 1 of the valuation year. As with the Notice of Value, the valuation year for the
Notice of Change is defined as the calendar year preceding the year in which taxes are levied [A.R.S. § 42-15105].
Within 25 days after the date of the assessor’s Notice of Change, the owner may file an appeal to the County Board
of Equalization or the State Board of Equalization, whichever is applicable. The Board of Equalization must issue a
ruling on or before the third Friday in November. The taxpayer then has 60 days to appeal to the state tax court
[A.R.S. § 42-16205].

On or before February 10, each county assessor is required to provide the staff of JLBC and the Governor’s Office
of Strategic Planning and Budgeting (OSPB) the property values used to compute the TNT Rates for Equalization
Assistance to School Districts [A.R.S. § 42-17052C].

On or before February 10, the governing board of each fire district is required to transmit to the Property Tax
Oversight Commission the total assessed value of all property annexed by the district in the preceding calendar
year [A.R.S. § 42-17052D].

Collections. The lieu taxes on private car companies and airline flight property are collected by DOR [A.R.S. § 42-
14308 and § 42-14255]. All other property taxes are collected by the county treasurers [A.R.S. § 42-18001].
Property taxes collected by the county treasurers must be apportioned to the taxing districts at the end of each
month. Any property taxes apportioned to the state must be remitted to the State Treasurer by the 15" day of the
following month [A.R.S. § 35-145].

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

Normally, one-half of the tax on real and personal property is due and payable on October 1 of the tax year, unless
the total amount of the tax due is $100 or less, in which case the full amount of the tax is due and delinquent after
November 1. The remaining one-half of the tax is due on March 1 of the year following the tax year and
delinquent after May 1 [A.R.S. § 42-18052]. Both of these payments fall in the same fiscal year.

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2012. As noted previously, due to the repeal of the state property tax in 1996 (Laws 1996, 7t Special Session,
Chapter 2), the state no longer levies a property tax. For this reason, property tax legislation primarily affects the
state General Fund through its impact on Arizona Department of Education (ADE) expenditures. Under the K-12
funding formula, the state must offset any loss of local property tax revenue by a commensurate increase in ADE
state aid to schools.

2018 LAWS

Laws 2018, Chapter 73 prohibits the court from setting the full cash value of real property in a property tax appeal
to be greater than the amount appealed by the taxpayer to the Board of Equalization. This was an emergency
measure signed by the Governor on March 23, 2018. (Chapter 73 applies retroactively to property tax appeals
filed after December 31, 2016)

Laws 2018, Chapter 281 permits a community college district to resubmit a proposed primary tax levy amount to
the voters between 20 and 35 years after the initial tax levy amount was approved. The proposed levy must be
less than or equal to 2 times the otherwise authorized levy amount for the same year. Chapter 281 stipulates that
if the proposal is approved by voters in an election, the difference between the prior and new levy amounts must
be phased in over 3 tax years. Moreover, Chapter 281 prohibits a community college district whose proposal was
rejected by voters in an election from resubmitting a proposed primary tax levy until at least 2 years after the
election. (Effective from August 3, 2018)

-122 -



Property Tax

Laws 2018, Chapter 319 makes several changes to the redemption and removal of real property tax liens, including
allowing a real property tax lien to be redeemed by any person who wants to pay on behalf of the owner by
making a charitable gift. (Effective from August 3, 2018)

2017 LAWS

Laws 2017, Chapter 178 was a tax correction bill that made technical and clarifying changes to the Arizona Revised
Statutes. (Effective from August 9, 2017)

Laws 2017, Chapter 198 requires truth and taxation notices of property tax increases to specify the increased tax
amount and what the tax would otherwise be without the increase. Chapter 198 additionally adds secondary
property tax review responsibilities and requirements for the Property Tax Oversight Commission. (Effective from
August 9, 2017)

Laws 2017, Chapter 220 expands accelerated depreciation provisions to include qualifying broadband
infrastructure property, such as cables, telecommunications equipment, and other property used in electronic
transmission of data. The act's accelerated depreciation provisions are expected to reduce statewide net assessed
valuation, beginning in TY 2019. The valuation reduction is estimated to increase General Fund spending on state
aid to school districts by $2.7 million, beginning in FY 2020. (Effective from January 1, 2018)

Laws 2017, Chapter 340 expands accelerated depreciation provisions to include Class 6 personal property located
within a foreign trade zone or military reuse zone. The reduction to statewide net assessed valuation under
Chapter 340 is estimated to increase General Fund spending on state aid to school districts by $600,000 a year,
beginning in FY 2019. (Effective from January 1, 2018)

2016 LAWS

Laws 2016, Chapter 125 requires the Maricopa County Board of Supervisors to spend the remaining monies in the
Elderly Assistance Fund (EAF) after December 31, 2015 solely on the Elderly Assistance Program. In addition,
Chapter 125 requires that any subsequent appropriations made to EAF must be spent solely on the Program.
(Effective retroactively from January 1, 2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 168 establishes a third subclass under Class 2 referred to as Class 2(C). The new Class 2(C)
consists of real property, and improvement to real property, that is currently under a conservation easement. In
addition, Chapter 168 requires county assessors to establish and maintain a public digital registry of each parcel of
property classified as Class 2(C). (Effective January 1, 2017)

Laws 2016, Chapter 173 requires a proposed property tax levy by a community college district, county or
municipality, which increased by 15% or more over the preceding year’s levy, excluding increases attributable to
new construction, to be approved by a unanimous roll call vote by the jurisdiction’s governing board. (Effective
August 6, 2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 208 provides that property that is occupied as the primary residency of the owner who also
uses the property for lease or rent to lodgers be classified as Class 3. Property that is leased or rented to lodgers
for residential purposes, and is not the primary residency of the owner or used for commercial purposes, is
classified under Class 4. (Effective January 1, 2017)

2015 LAWS

Laws 2015, Chapter 49 exempts property leased to a religious institution by an educational, religious, or charitable
organization and used primarily for religious worship from taxation. Additionally, Chapter 49 provides that
property leased by any other entity to a religious institution and used primarily for religious worship be assessed as
Class 9 property, which uses a 1% assessment ratio. Chapter 49 is expected to increase ADE expenditures by an
estimated $300,000, beginning in FY 2017. (Effective July 3, 2015)
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Laws 2015, Chapter 98 alters various dates regarding notice of the establishment or change in taxing boundaries.
(Effective July 3, 2015)

Laws 2015, Chapter 221 requires the Property Tax Oversight Commission to review secondary property tax levies
for each county, city, town, and community college district. (Effective January 1, 2016)

Laws 2015, Chapter 324 removes a provision that requires county treasurers in counties with an established
Elderly Assistance Fund (EAF) to deposit a portion of the monies received from the proceeds of tax lien sales into
the EAF. Although Chapter 324 effectively removes the funding mechanism for EAF, it includes an intent clause
that allows existing monies in the fund to be used to fund the Elderly Assistance program. (Effective July 3, 2015)

2014 LAWS

Laws 2014, Chapter 209 requires each county school superintendent to certify in writing to the Property Tax
Oversight Commission on or before July 25 of each year the amount of the minimum qualifying tax levied for each
school district in the upcoming fiscal year. The Property Tax Oversight Commission is required to review the
accuracy of the minimum qualifying tax rate and levy calculated by the county school superintendent. (Effective
July 24, 2014)

Laws 2014, Chapter 264 modifies the calculation of depreciated cost for the purpose of determining the value of
renewable energy equipment. Additionally, Chapter 264 also limits the assessed value of land with abandoned
renewable energy equipment. The reduction in property values resulting from the legislation is estimated to
increase General Fund expenditures for the ADE by $300,000, beginning in FY 2016. (Effective July 24, 2014)

2013 LAWS

Laws 2013, Chapter 66 conforms Arizona Revised Statutes to the amendments to Article 9, Section 18 of the
Arizona Constitution approved by voters in November 2012 under Proposition 117. (Effective January 1, 2015)

Laws 2013, Chapter 226 prescribes a method that DOR is required to use when determining the valuation of the
distribution and transmission property of an electric distribution cooperative. Distribution cooperatives are
member-owned nonprofit entities providing electrical distribution services in predominantly rural areas. (Effective
January 1, 2014)

Laws 2013, Chapter 236 expands Class 6 to include property that is used to manufacture motor vehicle biofuel and
its by-products. (Effective September 13, 2013)

2012 LAWS

Laws 2012, Chapter 124 authorizes DOR to audit county assessors’ valuation of new construction. Additionally,
the act directs the governing body of each county, city, town, community college district, and school district to fix
and determine property tax rates based on property valuations determined on or before February 10 of each year.
(Effective August 2, 2012)

Laws 2012, Chapter 126 provides new requirements for the posting of an adopted budget by a county, city, town,
community college district, or fire district, beginning in FY 2014. The act requires that the proposed budget of a
district includes the total estimated amount of personnel compensation. Additionally, all unencumbered cash,
both restricted and unrestricted, must be included in the proposed budget of the district. (Effective August 2,
2012)

Laws 2012, Chapter 130 clarifies that no interest can be collected on property taxes paid in full by December 31,
regardless of whether the statutory timeframe for doing so has elapsed. (Effective August 2, 2012)

Laws 2012, Chapter 182 reduces the number of years that land must be in active production to qualify as
agricultural property from 7 of the last 10 years to 3 of the last 5 years. In addition, the act requires the owner to
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file an affidavit of agricultural use to meet the classification requirement that a reasonable expectation of profit
exits. The fiscal impact of Chapter 182 is unknown. (Effective August 2, 2012)

Laws 2012, Chapter 197 expands the eligibility of property owners to use the Tax Court’s small claims procedures
and modifies the decision-making authority of the State Board of Equalization as it relates to property valuation
and classification appeals. (Effective August 2, 2012)

Laws 2012, Chapter 216 extends the timeframe to appeal the valuation or classification of personal property to
the county assessor from 20 days to 30 days. (Effective August 2, 2012)

Laws 2012, Chapter 220 expands the definition of agricultural real property to include land of at least 5 acres and
improvements devoted to algaculture (controlled propagation, growth, and harvest of algae). The fiscal impact of
Chapter 220 is unknown. (Effective August 2, 2012)

Laws 2012, Chapter 324 requires that personal computers used in trade or business, including the operating
system software necessary to operate the computers, be valued as personal property. Any other software (not
designated as operating system software) is not to be valued as personal property. The fiscal impact of Chapter
324 is unknown. (Effective August 2,2012)

Laws 2012, Chapter 331 extends the Class 6 property classification for healthy forest enterprises to December 31,
2024. (Effective August 2, 2012)

Laws 2012, Chapter 343 provides several changes to income and property taxes, beginning in FY 2014. In regards
to property taxation, Chapter 343 changes the calculation of the business personal property exemption so that
beginning in FY 2014, the amount will be based on the percentage increase in the Employment Cost Index in the 2
most recent years rather than only the most recent year. Additionally, the exemption amount will be recalculated
as if this provision had been continuously in effect since 1997. This change is expected to initially raise the
exemption amount from $68,079 to an estimated $125,700. The property tax provision in Chapter 343 is
estimated to increase General Fund expenditures by $900,000, beginning in FY 2014. A summary of all provisions
in Chapter 343 and their related fiscal impacts is shown in the Individual Income Tax section of the Tax Handbook
(see 2012 Tax Laws).

Laws 2012, Chapter 350 eliminates the affidavit requirement to qualify for Homeowner’s Rebate provided by Laws
2011, 2" Special Session, Chapter 1 (for more detail, see 2011 Tax Laws below). In addition, Chapter 350 reduces
the civil penalty assessed against owners whose property is reclassified from Class 3 to Class 4 from 200% to 100%
of the amount of the rebate received. The fiscal impact of Chapter 350 is unknown. (Effective August 2, 2012)

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2012 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/18taxbook/18taxbk.pdf.
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IN LIEU TAX ON PRIVATE RAILROAD CAR COMPANIES

DESCRIPTION

This tax is imposed in lieu of all other taxes on the property and business of private railroad car companies in the
state, except for the annual license tax and registration fee [A.R.S. § 42-14308]. Private railroad car companies
operate, furnish, or lease cars that transport people or freight over railroad lines located wholly or partially in the
state, and that are not owned, leased, or operated by them [A.R.S. § 42-14301].

DISTRIBUTION
Table 1 below provides historical private railroad car company tax collections for the past 20 years. The

Department of Revenue remits tax payments from private railroad car companies to the State Treasurer for
deposit in the state General Fund [A.R.S. § 42-14308].

Table 1
COLLECTIONS
Fiscal Year General Fund Fiscal Year General Fund
2018 $2,038,908 2008 $1,615,246
2017 $1,726,458 2007 $1,709,362
2016 ¥ $(189,264) 2006 $1,426,435
2015 % $3,484,442 2005 $1,312,163
2014 ¥ $(1,061,682) 2004 $1,335,056
2013 ¥ $3,698,193 2003 $1,485,996
2012 $1,065,773 2002 $1,506,625
2011 $1,283,026 2001 $1,349,685
2010 $1,335,091 2000 $1,476,728
2009 $1,435,069 1999 $1,441,440
1/ Absent a refund of $(1,819,028) to correct for an error from FY 2015, collections would have
been $1,629,764 in FY 2016.
2/ This figure includes $1,819,028 that should have been deposited to Flight Property Tax.
3/ Absent a refund of $(2,473,651) to correct for an error from FY 2013, collections would have
been $1,411,969 in FY 2014.
4/ This figure includes $2,473,651 that should have been deposited to Flight Property Tax.
SOURCE: Department of Revenue, Annual Reports.

WHO PAYS

The tax is paid by private railroad car companies in Arizona.

REVENUE BASE AND RATE

The tax base is the full cash value, as determined by the Department of Revenue, on or before June 15 each year
[A.R.S. § 42-14305]. The assessed value of private railroad car property is derived by multiplying its full cash value
by the Class 5 assessment ratio [A.R.S. § 42-12005]. The assessment ratio for Class 5 property is re-calculated each

year based on a statutory formula [A.R.S. § 42-15005]. The TY 2018 assessment ratio for this type of property is
14%.
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The tax rate for properties operated by private railroad car companies is equal to the sum of the average rates for
primary and secondary property taxes in the taxing jurisdictions in this state for the current year [A.R.S. § 42-
14308]. The statewide average tax rate for TY 2017 was $12.75 per $100 of assessed value.

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

This tax is due and payable on October 1 and delinquent after November 1. (Delinquent taxes bear interest at the
rate determined pursuant to A.R.S. § 42-1123 for each subsequent month in which the tax remains unpaid.) The
tax is levied and collected by the Department of Revenue for deposit in the state General Fund [A.R.S. § 42-14308].
IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2012.

There were no changes enacted to this tax from 2012 through 2018.

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2012 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/18taxbook/18taxbk.pdf.
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VOLUNTARY CONTRIBUTIONS BY DISTRICTS

DESCRIPTION

Certain districts in Arizona are authorized to make voluntary contributions to the state, county, city, town, school
district, or other political subdivision instead of paying property taxes. The Legislature provided this incentive to
encourage such districts to operate as multi-purpose reclamation projects to provide funds for water conservation
and maintenance and development of their water distribution systems.

DISTRIBUTION

The County Treasurer is required to remit to the county, school districts, cities, towns, or other political
subdivisions, and the State of Arizona, all monies received as net voluntary contributions (see definition under
Revenue Base and Rate below) from districts in the same manner as property taxes are distributed.

The monies deposited in the state General Fund are from voluntary contributions for properties not located within
any school district, so-called unorganized districts [A.R.S. § 15-991.01], and for properties in certain school districts

ineligible for state aid, sometimes referred to as minimum qualifying tax rate (MQTR) districts [A.R.S. § 15-992].

The amount of voluntary contributions by districts deposited in the General Fund is shown in Table 1 below.

Table 1
COLLECTIONS
Fiscal Year General Fund Fiscal Year General Fund
2018 $2,242,974 2008 $1,053,210
2017 $1,427,491 2007 $2,037,640
2016 $1,620,904 2006 $2,490,685
2015 $1,445,224 2005 $2,653,117
2014 $1,490,121 2004 $1,769,124
2013 $243,985 2003 $2,030,685
2012 $767,569 2002 $3,431,652
2011 $422,596 2001 $4,606,361
2010 $84,855 2000 $5,315,929
2009 $708,972 1999 $5,919,047
SOURCE: Arizona Department of Administration’s Finance Division, Revenue Codes, the
State Treasurer’s Office, and the Salt River Project.

WHO PAYS

Any irrigation district, power district, electrical district, or agricultural improvement district organized under
Arizona law that is directly engaged in the sale of electrical power or energy other than for irrigation purposes
[A.R.S. § 48-241]. Effectively, this law applies mainly to properties included within the Salt River Project (SRP).
REVENUE BASE AND RATE

The revenue base is the statewide total gross voluntary contribution. This is the base from which to determine the

statewide net voluntary contribution, which is the total amount of voluntary contributions paid to all taxing
jurisdictions by the Salt River Project.

-129-



Voluntary Contributions by Districts

In determining the net voluntary contributions paid by the Salt River Project in lieu of property taxes, the following
calculations are made [A.R.S. § 48-241 and § 48-242]:

(1) Calculate for all taxing districts combined the total property tax for which the Salt River Project would be liable
if assessed by the same property tax procedures as other similar properties for the current tax year.
(a) The method used would be the full cash value as determined by the Department of Revenue multiplied by
the assessment ratio for Class 1 property.
(b) The primary and secondary property tax rates for each taxing jurisdiction are then applied against the
product calculated in (a) above to obtain the statewide total gross voluntary contribution.

(2) To obtain the statewide net voluntary contribution, subtract the following deductions from the total gross
voluntary contribution determined above:

(a) The tax on properties devoted to production of electricity for pumping groundwater. This amount is
estimated by multiplying the total net property tax liability to which Salt River Project is subject by the
percent that represents the portion of electricity produced by Salt River Project during the preceding 5-
year period used specifically for pumping groundwater. (The maximum percent of electricity that may be
claimed for pumping groundwater is 10%, unless the percent of kilowatt hours devoted to pumping
groundwater exceeds 70% within a district.)

(b) The annual average of total water costs incurred by Salt River Project in producing and distributing water
for municipal use, as estimated by:

(i) Summing for the previous 3-year period, the operating expenses (less depreciation) attributable to:
(1) protection of watersheds, water production, development, storage, distribution and conservation,
and (2) any repayment of U.S. government debt obligations incurred by Salt River Project for water
department construction and expenses related to the development of future water projects.

(i) Dividing this sum by 3 to arrive at the annual average of total water costs.

(iii) Multiplying this total by the percent of total water produced by Salt River Project devoted to
municipal use during the latest 3 calendar years. (The percentage of water devoted to municipal use
is the ratio of total water for municipal uses for the past 3 calendar years to total water delivered for
all uses during the same time period.)

(c) Any taxes or assessments paid to the State of Arizona or its political subdivisions during the preceding
calendar year other than transaction privilege taxes, highway taxes, unemployment taxes, equipment
weight fees, improvement district assessments, and any other taxes paid by the district prior to effective
date of this law.

The district is required to report to the county assessors and the Department of Revenue by May 1 of each year
the factor used to compute each county’s proportion of the total deductions taken by the district. The district is
also required to submit to the Board of Supervisors at the same time as the submission of the assessment roll, an
estimate of the net contributions for the following fiscal year.

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

One-half of the voluntary contribution is paid to the County Treasurer of the county in which the property is
located on the first Monday in November of each year. The other half is due on the first Monday in May of the
succeeding calendar year [A.R.S. § 48-242E]. Each County Treasurer is required to remit to the State Treasurer the
state’s portion of the net voluntary contribution.

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2012.

There were no changes enacted to this revenue category from 2012 through 2018.

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2012 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/18taxbook/18taxbk.pdf.
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LUXURY TAX ON CIGARETTES AND TOBACCO

DESCRIPTION

The luxury tax on cigarettes and tobacco is imposed on cigarettes, cigars, cavendish, and chewing tobacco, but not
on electronic cigarettes and vapor products. A luxury tax is a tax levied on items that are normally considered a
luxury rather than a necessity. The tax rate varies by product, with the rate for the largest revenue producer,
cigarettes, set at $2.00 per pack of 20. The majority of revenues from this tax are dedicated to health care
programs.

DISTRIBUTION

Revenues from the luxury tax on cigarettes and tobacco are distributed as follows:

Tax on Cigarettes

Of the $2.00 tax, 18¢ is distributed as part of the general tax rate for the following purposes:

e Corrections Fund. 2¢ of the 18¢ general tax rate per pack of 20 cigarettes is deposited in the Corrections Fund
[A.R.S. § 42-3104].

e General Fund. The remaining 16¢ of the 18¢ general tax rate per pack of 20 cigarettes is deposited in the
General Fund [A.R.S. § 42-3102].

e State School Aid. 19.44% of general cigarette tax collections is allocated to state school aid. The 16¢ General
Fund distribution described above is presumed to contribute to the existing General Fund appropriation for
state school aid [A.R.S. § 42-3103].

In addition, $1.00 of the $2.00 cigarette tax is dedicated to health care and distributed to the following funds and
their subaccounts:

e Tobacco Tax and Health Care Fund. 40¢ is distributed to the following accounts of the Tobacco Tax and Health
Care Fund [A.R.S. § 36-771, § 42-3251, § 42-3252, § 42-3302]. While the 40¢ tax was originally created by
Proposition 200 in 1994, it was re-enacted by Proposition 200 in 2000. While the 40¢ tax was re-enacted,
Proposition 200 in 2000 did not recreate the accounts. As a result, the distributions are governed by the 1994
ballot proposition and are as follows:

a. Medically Needy Account — 70% of revenues, to provide health care or behavioral health care services for
those who cannot afford these services [A.R.S. § 36-774]. Created by Proposition 200 in 1994.

b. Health Education Account — 23% of revenues, for the prevention and reduction of tobacco use [A.R.S. §
36-772]. Created by Proposition 200 in 1994.

c. Health Research Account — 5% of revenues, for research on preventing and treating tobacco-related
disease and addiction [A.R.S. § 36-773]. Created by Proposition 200 in 1994.

d. Corrections Fund Adjustment Account — 2% of revenues, to compensate the Corrections Fund for
decreases in general cigarette tax revenues resulting from the levy of the cigarette tax dedicated to health
care [A.R.S. § 36-775]. The distribution, when combined with existing tobacco tax revenues to the
Corrections Fund, cannot exceed the FY 1994 tobacco tax revenues to the Corrections Fund. Any
revenues in excess of this amount are deposited into the General Fund. Created by Proposition 200 in
1994.

e Tobacco Products Tax Fund. Under the provisions of Proposition 303 in 2002, 60¢ is distributed to the
following accounts of the Tobacco Products Tax Fund [A.R.S. § 36-770, § 42-3251.01, § 42-3302]:

a. Proposition 204 Protection Account — 42% of revenues, to implement and fund the programs established
by Proposition 204 in the 2000 General Election [A.R.S. § 36-778]. Created by Proposition 303 in 2002.
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b. Medically Needy Account — 27% of revenues, to provide health care services for those who cannot afford
these services [A.R.S. § 36-774].

c. Emergency Health Services Account — 20% of revenues, to provide reimbursement of uncompensated
care, primary care services, and trauma center readiness costs [A.R.S. § 36-776]. Created by Proposition
303 in 2002.

d. Health Research Fund — 5% of revenues, for health research [A.R.S. § 36-275].

e. Health Care Adjustment Account — 4% of revenues, to compensate the subaccounts of the Tobacco Tax
and Health Care Fund for decreases in cigarette tax revenues resulting from the levy of this portion of the
cigarette tax [A.R.S. § 36-777]. Created by Proposition 303 in 2002.

f.  Health Education Account — 2% of revenues, for the prevention and early detection of the 4 leading
causes of death in Arizona [A.R.S. § 36-772]. Created by Proposition 303 in 2002.

Of the $2.00 cigarette tax, Proposition 203 in 2006 dedicated 80¢ to childhood development and health, which is
deposited into the following fund and its subaccounts:

e Early Childhood Development and Health Fund. Monies are distributed to the following accounts of the Early
Childhood Development and Health Fund [A.R.S. § 42-3371, A.R.S. § 8-1181]:

a. Program Account — 90% of revenues, to improve the quality and availability of health and education
programs for pre-kindergarten children and their families who otherwise have limited access to such
services [A.R.S. § 8-1181, A.R.S. § 8-1171]. Created by Propositions 203 in 2006.

b. Administrative Costs Account — 10% of revenues, to cover the administrative costs of the Arizona Early
Childhood Development and Health Board [A.R.S. § 8-1181]. Created by Proposition 203 in 2006.

The remaining 2¢ of the $2.00 tax is distributed under the provisions of Proposition 201 in 2006 for the following
purpose:

e Smoke-Free Arizona Fund. Revenues are used to enforce the provisions of the Smoke-Free Arizona Act with
any unexpended monies being deposited in the Tobacco Products Tax Fund to be used for education programs

to reduce and eliminate tobacco use [A.R.S. § 42-3251.02, A.R.S. § 36-601.01].

Tax on Tobacco, Cavendish, and Cigars

Apart from the $2.00 cigarette tax, tobacco, cavendish, and cigars are taxed at different rates (see Table 3).
All of the general tax rate collections are distributed as follows:

e  Corrections Fund. 50% of all general tax rate collections from the tax on tobacco products is deposited in the
Corrections Fund [A.R.S. § 42-3104].

e General Fund. The remaining general tax rate collections from the tax on tobacco products is deposited in the
General Fund [A.R.S. § 42-3102].

All monies collected from the 1994 Tobacco Tax and Health Care Tax, the 2002 Tobacco Product Tax, and the 2006

Early Childhood Development and Health Tax are distributed into their relevant funds at the same percentage as
cigarettes, described previously. However, the 2006 Smoke Free Arizona Tax only applies to cigarettes.
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Table 1
COLLECTIONS AND DISTRIBUTION

Fiscal General Corrections

Year Fund Fund TTHCF Y TPTF Y ECDHF ¥ SFAF ¢/ Total
2018 $21,984,160  $5,074,109 $61,665,004 $84,606,892 $121,554,785 $2,784,370 $297,669,320
2017 $22,923,141  $5,150,372 $64,973,753 $90,112,386 $124,515,638 $2,879,410 $310,554,700
2016 $24,550,412  $5,143,144 $66,415,766 $92,031,875 $126,206,733 $2,941,563 $317,289,493
2015 $23,645,756  $5,230,839 $67,071,278  $93,055,529 $122,239,828 $2,848,986 $314,092,216
2014 $25,810,507 $5,100,324 $61,694,151 $91,923,081 $124,371,662 $2,918,213 $311,817,939
2013 $24,530,414  $5,041,634 $65,750,954 $91,044,441 $125,771,470 S$2,956,134 $315,095,047
2012 $24,931,105  $5,142,535 $65,665,913 $90,953,118 $129,391,158 $3,043,448 $319,127,277
2011 $25,066,894  $5,230,772 $68,781,910 $95,586,289 $130,083,235 $3,058,479 $327,807,579
2010 $25,810,438  $5,307,048 $69,089,344 $96,335,427 $133,118,902 $3,888,483 $333,549,642
2009 $29,080,647  $5,129,852 $76,972,057 $108,934,079 $151,363,815 $2,868,990 $374,349,440
2008 $32,467,344  $6,206,674 $83,868,465 $116,127,254 $164,805,113 $3,946,308 $407,421,158
2007 $37,558,776  $6,206,673 $100,500,062 $137,624,178 $74,445,246 $1,778,847 $358,121,881
2006 $39,578,709  $6,206,674 $106,821,045 $145,399,774 $298,006,202
2005 $38,360,552  $6,206,608 $102,310,127 $138,521,611 $285,398,898
2004 $36,757,081  $6,206,674 $98,163,310 $133,563,168 $275,104,562
2003 $41,174,667  $6,206,674 $105,027,137 $59,938,321 $212,346,799
2002 $43,206,460  $6,206,674 $108,177,154 $157,590,288
2001 $43,124,883  $6,206,674 $108,709,176 $158,040,733
2000 $43,446,233  $6,196,674 $109,786,025 $159,428,932
1999 $43,895,551  $6,206,674 $112,735,957 $162,838,182

1/ Tobacco Tax and Health Care Fund (Proposition 200 in 1994. The distribution was altered in Laws 2007, Chapter 150).
2/ Tobacco Products Tax Fund (Proposition 303 in 2002).
3/ Early Childhood Development and Health Fund (Proposition 203 in 2006).
4/ Smoke-Free Arizona Fund (Proposition 201 in 2006).

SOURCE: Department of Revenue, Luxury Tax Section.

WHO PAYS

Licensed distributors of cigars and other tobacco products besides cigarettes submit tax payments together with a
monthly return [A.R.S. § 42-3501]. Licensed distributors of cigarettes pay the tax through the purchase of tax
stamps from the Department of Revenue.

Every pack of cigarettes sold in Arizona must bear a stamp as a method of providing proof that a retailer or
distributor is in compliance with Arizona’s luxury tax laws [A.R.S. § 42-3401 and § 42-3452]. There are 4 categories
of stamps that are sold by the Department of Revenue to distributors, each with a different tax rate:

e Blue stamps have a face value of $2.00 and include all cigarette taxes;
e Red stamps have a face value of $1.00 and include only the 40¢ and 60¢ health care taxes; and
e Green and Yellow stamps have a face value of $0.00.

Green, Yellow, and Red Stamps are used only on tribal nations.
The 40¢ tax (per package of 20 cigarettes) and the 60¢ tax per package are direct taxes on the consumer and are to
be collected and paid to the Department of Revenue by the distributors [A.R.S. § 42-3303]. The 18¢ general tax

rate per package, the 80¢ Early Childhood Development and Health Tax, and the 2¢ Smoke-Free Arizona tax are
considered to be a tax on the seller.
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The type of stamp sold on tribal nations varies depending on 4 factors: 1) whether the consumer is an enrolled
member of the Indian Tribe or the consumer is a member of the general public; 2) whether the seller is a tribal
member of the nation in which it is conducting business or the seller is a non-tribal member licensed by the federal
government to sell goods and services on the nation; 3) whether or not the Indian Tribe levies its own tribal tax;
and 4) whether the Indian Tribe exempts its members from the tribal tax.

Cigarette sales on tribal nations to non-members require either a $2.00 Blue or $1.00 Red stamp, depending on the
seller. Federally-licensed, non-tribal member sellers are required to purchase Blue stamps, meaning all $2.00 in
state taxes are applied to packs of cigarettes sold by these vendors. Tribal member sellers are required to
purchase Red stamps, meaning only $1.00 in state health care related cigarette taxes are included. If the tribe has
elected to impose its own tobacco tax, the amount of the tax collected (up to $1.00) is retained by the tribe and
not deposited into the state health care accounts. Tribal member sellers are exempt from paying the 18¢ general,
the 80¢ Early Childhood Development, and 2¢ Smoke-Free Arizona tax rates when selling to non-tribal members. A
December 2006 Attorney General Legal Opinion determined that the Early Childhood Development and Smoke-
Free Arizona taxes could be levied on tribal nation cigarettes sold only by federally-licensed, non-tribal member
sellers, in addition to the general cigarette tax rate. These taxes make up the $1.00 value of Red stamps.

Cigarette purchases by tribal members on their own nations are exempt from state taxes, regardless of seller
classification. These sales require a Green or Yellow stamp. Statute gives Indian tribes the ability to levy their own
tax on tobacco sales. Green stamps are used if the Tribe does not levy a tax, or if the Tribe has levied a tax, but
exempts members of the Tribe. A Yellow stamp is used when the Tribe levies a tax and does not exempt members
of the tribe. This provision allows the tribe to retain the funding collected from the optional tax and does not
specify how the tribe should spend the revenues collected. Table 2 displays the stamp assignments by customer
and seller classifications.

Table 2
CIGARETTE STAMP ASSIGNMENTS PER PACK
Indian Tribe
Member Exempt Indian Non-Exempt Indian All Other
Seller (No tribal tax) Tribe Member Tribe Member Consumers
All Vendors not on a tribal nation $2 Blue Stamp $2 Blue Stamp S2 Blue Stamp S2 Blue Stamp
Tribal Member Retailer S0 Green Stamp $0 Green Stamp S0 Yellow Stamp $1 Red Stamp¥

Federally-Licensed Non-Tribal Seller S0 Green Stamp S0 Green Stamp S0 Yellow Stamp $2 Blue Stamp

1/ If the tribe has elected to impose its own tobacco tax, the amount of the tax collected (up to $1.00) is retained by the tribe and not deposited into
the state health care accounts.

If the tribe imposes its own tax on cigarettes, the taxes collected by the state for cigarette sales on nations will be
levied at a rate that is the difference between the rate the state would otherwise levy and what the tribe imposes
[A.R.S. § 42-3302]. The offset applies only to the $1.00 in taxes collected for each pack sold that are dedicated to
the Tobacco Tax and Health Care Fund (40¢) and to the Tobacco Products Tax Fund (60¢) [A.R.S. § 42-3302]. For
example, if a tribe imposes a $0.75 tribal tax rate, the state tax rate would be $0.25. To date, 5 nations have not
enacted a tribal tax on cigarettes and 16 nations have enacted taxes that offset all or a part of the $1.00 per pack
of state cigarettes taxes dedicated to health care.

The tax treatment of other tobacco products is similar to the treatment of cigarettes described above, with the tax
rates detailed below in Table 3.

REVENUE BASE AND RATE

The revenue base consists of the following products [A.R.S. § 42-3052]:
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e C(Cigarettes.

e Tobacco. Includes smoking tobacco, snuff, fine cut chewing tobacco, cut and granulated tobacco, shorts and
refuse of fine cut chewing tobacco, and refuse, scraps, clippings, cuttings, and sweepings of tobacco.

e Cavendish. Includes plug or twist tobacco.

e Small cigars. Not weighing more than 3 pounds per 1,000.

e large cigars 5¢ or less. Weighing more than 3 pounds per 1,000 and retailing at 5¢ or less.

e large cigars more than 5¢. Weighing more than 3 pounds per 1,000 and retailing at more than 5¢ each.

The tax rates are as follows [A.R.S. § 42-3052, § 42-3251, § 42-3251.01, § 42-3251.02, and § 42-3371]:

Table 3
TOBACCO PRODUCT TAX RATES
General Total
Tax 1994 2002 2006 2006 Tax
Item Rate TTHCF Y TPTF Y ECDHF SFAF Rate
Cigarettes (per pack of 20) 18¢ 40¢ 60¢ 80¢ 2¢ $2.00
Tobacco per ounce 2¢ 4.5¢ 6.75¢ 9¢ - 22.25¢
Cavendish per ounce 0.5¢ 1.1¢ 1.65¢ 2.2¢ -- 5.45¢
Small Cigars per 20 4¢ 8.9¢ 13.35¢ 17.8¢ -- 44.05¢
Large cigars 5¢ or less (per 3) 2¢ 4.4¢ 6.6¢ 8.8¢ -- 21.8¢
Large cigars more than 5¢ 2¢ 4.4¢ 6.6¢ 8.8¢ -- 21.8¢

1/ Tax Rates Dedicated to Health Care.

Tobacco powder or tobacco products used exclusively for agricultural or horticultural purposes and unfit for
human consumption are exempt from this tax [A.R.S. § 42-3052]. Additionally, electronic cigarettes and vapor
products are not subject to this tax, based on a July 30, 2014 Attorney General legal opinion.

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

Licensed distributors of cigarettes pay the luxury tax on cigarettes when they purchase a stamp from the
Department of Revenue [A.R.S. § 42-3452].

Statute allows distributors to purchase stamps at a cost less than the face value of the stamps. This discount
allows distributors to recoup the administrative cost of affixing stamps to cigarette packages. Beginning October 1,
2016, statute allows distributors that purchase cigarette stamps to receive a discount of 3.52% of the purchase of
the stamps. Blue and Red stamps will be purchased from the Department of Revenue for 96.48% of the face value
of the stamps, or $1.9296 for Blue stamps and $0.9652 for Red stamps. Distributors of Green and Yellow stamps
will receive the discount via a 3.52 cent administrative allowance for each Green and Yellow stamp purchased,
which will be realized when distributors file their monthly reports with DOR. Table 4 displays the amount of the
administrative discount as well as the amount of the tax collected by DOR for each stamp category [A.R.S. & 42-
3458].

Electronic Funds Transfer and Tax Filing Requirements

All licensed tobacco distributors are required to submit payments for cigarette stamp and other tobacco products
to DOR via Electronic Fund Transfer (EFT) [A.R.S. 42-3053]. A distributor who fails to make payments in a timely
manner via EFT is subject to civil penalties.

Additionally, licensed tobacco distributors are required to submit monthly tax returns and reports as well as refund
and rebate requests electronically to DOR.
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Table 4
CIGARETTE STAMP DISCOUNTS AND COLLECTED TAX
DOR
Stamp Category Discount per Stamp ¥ Tax Collected per Pack
Blue Stamps $0.0704 $1.9296
Red Stamps $0.0352 $0.9648%
Green Stamps $0.0352 s0¥/
Yellow Stamps $0.0352 s0¥/

1/ Retained by distributor

2/ If Red stamps are sold to tribal member retailers on a tribal nation that has instituted its own tobacco
tax, the distributor who purchased the stamps may file for a rebate with DOR for the full face value of
the stamps.

3/ Green and Yellow stamps are differentiated by the end consumer. Green stamps are to be sold to
members of the tribal nation where the tribe has not imposed a tribal tax or the tribe exempts its
members from its own tribal tax. Yellow stamps are to be sold to tribal members where the tribe does
not exempt its members from the tax imposed by the tribe.

If distributors sell Red stamps to Tribal Member Retailers where the Tribe has levied its own tribal tax, the
distributors may file for a rebate of the cost of Red stamps with the Department of Revenue. This rebate is
granted for the full face value of the purchased stamps, creating a 3.52 cent administrative allowance because the
stamps were purchased at 96.48% of face value. Prior to Laws 2016, Chapter 125 rebates of Red stamps were
granted at the same price that stamps were purchased.

Licensed distributors of cigars or tobacco products other than cigarettes must pay the tax to the Department of
Revenue monthly on or before the 20 day of the next month succeeding the month in which the tax accrues.
Failure to pay the tax within 10 days of the due date will result in penalty and interest charges from the time the
tax was due until paid [A.R.S. § 42-3501].

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2012.

There were no changes enacted to this tax in 2012 and 2018.

2017 LAWS

Laws 2017, Chapter 60 requires payments and tax filings to be made electronically.
2016 LAWS

Laws 2016, Chapter 122 allows monies in the Medically Needy Account to be used for behavioral health care
services.

Laws 2016, Chapter 125 changes the cigarette stamp discount from 96.0% of face value to 96.48% of face value,
and grants an administrative allowance of 3.52 cents for all Green and Yellow stamps, as well as Red stamps where
the tax is not pre-collected and the distributor purchases the stamps on credit.

2015 LAWS

Laws 2015, Chapter 85 reorders various state tobacco statutes, separating other tobacco products from cigarettes
and roll-your-own tobacco products.
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2014 LAWS

Laws 2014, Chapter 160 made changes to the luxury tax and tobacco Master Settlement Agreement (MSA) Escrow
Account statutes to bolster Escrow Account enforcement and better comply with the MSA.

2013 LAWS
Laws 2013, Chapter 222 prohibits the use of tobacco vending machines for commercial purposes and assesses a
new fine. Additionally, the law makes changes to the escrow account that manufacturers that were not part of a

federal settlement are required to deposit monies into for the purpose of settling lawsuits.

A listing of tax law changes prior to the 2012 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
www.azleg.gov/jlbc/18taxbook/18taxbk.pdf.
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LUXURY TAX ON LIQUOR

DESCRIPTION

The luxury tax on liquor is levied on wholesalers of spirituous, vinous, and malt liquors.
DISTRIBUTION

Revenues from this tax are distributed among several funds, including:

State School Aid. 1.17% of spirituous liquor tax collections and 14% of tax collections from vinous liquor with a
high alcohol content (over 24%) are allocated for state school aid. In practice, these monies are deposited in the
General Fund, which in turn funds state school aid. [A.R.S. § 42-3103]

Corrections Fund. 20% of the monies collected from spirituous liquor and 50% of the monies collected from vinous
and malt liquors are deposited in the Corrections Fund [A.R.S. § 42-3104].

Drug Treatment and Education Fund. 7% of the monies collected from spirituous liquor and 18% of the monies
collected from vinous and malt liquors are deposited in the Drug Treatment and Education Fund of the Arizona
Judiciary [A.R.S. § 42-3106A].

Corrections Revolving Fund. 3% of the monies collected from spirituous liquor and 7% of the monies collected
from vinous and malt liquors are deposited in a revolving fund of the Department of Corrections [A.R.S. § 42-
31068B].

General Fund. All remaining tax monies are deposited in the General Fund [A.R.S. § 42-3102].
WHO PAYS
The luxury tax on liquor is added to the sales price of liquor items and is paid by:

e Wholesalers who purchase malt liquors for resale within Arizona [A.R.S. § 42-3353A)].

e  Wholesalers who sell spirituous liquors within Arizona [A.R.S. § 42-3354A].

e Every farm winery, microbrewery, craft distiller, or winery holding a direct shipment license that sells vinous or
malt liquor at retail or to certain licensees. [A.R.S. § 42-3355].

e Wholesalers who purchase vinous liquors for resale within Arizona before January 1, 2007, and wholesalers
who sell vinous liquors within Arizona beginning January 1, 2007 [A.R.S. § 42-3353B and § 42-3354B].

REVENUE BASE AND RATE

The following is the revenue base and rate for each liquor type [A.R.S. § 42-3052]. A proportionate rate is applied
to each liquor type for greater or lesser quantities:

e Spirituous liquor. $3 per gallon. Examples of spirituous liquor include whiskey and vodka.

e Vinous Liquor with High Alcohol Content. $0.25 on each container of 8 ounces or less of vinous liquor having
an alcohol content of greater than 24%. Containers exceeding 8 ounces are taxed at a rate of $0.25 per 8
ounces. An example of vinous liquor at this alcohol content level is brandy. According to the Department of
Revenue, no revenue has been collected from this tax in recent years.

e Vinous Liquor with Low Alcohol Content. $0.84 per gallon on each container of vinous liquor with an alcohol
content of 24% or less, except cider. An example of vinous liquor at this alcohol content level is white wine.

e  Malt Liquor. $0.16 on each gallon of malt liquor or cider. Examples of malt liquor are beer and cider made
from apples, pears and other pome fruit that does not exceed an alcohol content of 7%.
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Table 1
COLLECTIONS AND DISTRIBUTION
Drug
Wine Corrections Treatment &
General Corrections Promotional Revolving Education Total
Fiscal Year Fund ¥ Fund Fund Fund Fund Collections
2018 $36,029,582 $26,898,876 $0 $3,841,109 $9,608,327 $76,377,895
2017 $34,687,070 $26,292,469 $0 $3,752,748 $9,393,483 $74,125,770
2016 $33,618,388 $25,774,829 S0 $3,677,579 $9,209,833 $72,280,629
2015 $33,101,191 $25,446,032 S0 $3,630,371 $9,092,642 $71,270,235
2014 $32,901,156 $25,496,628 SO $3,636,704 $9,111,608 $71,146,096
2013 $31,654,182 $24,686,455 S0 $3,520,472 $8,822,750 $68,683,859
2012 $31,425,990 $24,635,454 S0 $3,512,658 $8,805,069 $68,379,171
2011 $28,532,514 $23,221,811 S0 $3,307,459 $8,303,445 $63,365,229
2010 $29,541,822 $23,918,010 $0 $3,407,130 $8,551,873 $65,418,835
2009 $28,797,539 $23,587,644 S0 $3,358,868 $8,434,654 $64,178,705
2008 $28,562,812 $23,976,492 $29,003 $3,411,936 $8,576,309 $64,556,552
2007 $28,277,919 $23,273,991 $35,965 $3,313,708 $8,323,288 $63,188,906
2006 $27,192,240 $22,636,747 $38,481 $3,221,929 $8,096,444 $61,147,360
2005 $26,085,548 $22,068,568 $34,667 $3,139,770 $7,894,513 $59,223,067
2004 $24,543,937 $20,938,588 $27,995 $2,978,318 $7,490,976 $55,979,814
2003 $23,412,284 $20,419,376 $25,497 $2,902,721 $7,306,966 $54,066,844
2002 $22,863,127 $19,836,567 $23,391 $2,820,269 $7,098,014 $52,641,368
2001 $22,443,910 $19,294,778 $21,278 $2,743,924 $6,903,464 $51,407,354
2000 $21,989,911 $19,274,703 $21,197 $2,739,633 $6,897,717 $50,923,161
1999 $20,874,947 $18,176,293 $14,595 $2,583,453 $6,502,823 $48,152,111
1/ Includes funds to be used for state school aid.
2/ Monies collected for this fund were transferred quarterly by the General Accounting Office to the Department of Commerce to pay back an

outstanding loan the now defunct Wine Commission had taken from the Commerce Economic Development Fund. The statute establishing the
Wine Promotion Fund was repealed by Laws 2005, Chapter 11.

SOURCE: Department of Revenue, Annual Reports.

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

Wholesalers, domestic farm wineries, and domestic microbreweries must submit a return and pay the luxury tax
on liquor to the Department of Revenue monthly on or before the 20t day of the month following the month in
which the tax accrues. The tax must be paid within 10 days of the due date to avoid penalty and interest charges
[A.R.S. § 42-3353 and § 42-3354].

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2012.

There were no changes enacted to this tax in 2012, 2013, 2015 and 2018.
2017 LAWS

Laws 2017, Chapter 60 requires payments and tax filings to be made electronically beginning January 1, 2020 or
whenever the Department of Revenue has established an electronic filing program, whichever is later.
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2016 LAWS

Laws 2016, Chapter 76 allows all wineries to obtain a direct shipment license to sell and ship wine directly to
consumers. Prior to Chapter 76, a direct shipment license required producers to ship any out-of-state alcohol to a
wholesaler, and then to a retailer unless the consumer was physically present at a winery at the time of the
purchase, which would allow the winery to ship directly to the consumer’s residence or business. The direct
shipment license holder is required to pay all applicable luxury taxes. (Effective August 6, 2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 125 permanently extends the luxury tax revenue allocation to the Corrections Fund by
eliminating the June 30, 2015 repeal date.

2014 LAWS

Laws 2014, Chapter 110 defines cider to include vinous liquor made from pears and other pome fruits along with
apples. Previously, only cider made from apples was taxed at the same rate as malt liquor - $0.16 per gallon -
whereas cider made from other fruit was taxed at the rate of vinous liquor - $0.84 per gallon.

Laws 2014, Chapter 253 creates new license classifications for craft distillery, craft distillery festival, and craft
distillery fair. The bill further renames the domestic microbrewery license and domestic farm winery license to
microbrewery license and farm winery license, respectively.

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2012 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
www.azleg.gov/jlbc/18taxbook/18taxbk.pdf.
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ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE LICENSE FEES

DESCRIPTION

Alcoholic beverage license fees are charged to sellers and producers of these beverages. Fees are charged for
original licenses, license renewals, and transfers of licenses. The number of original licenses granted per county is
restricted according to county population. Fee amounts vary by type of fee and type of seller or producer (e.g.,
restaurant, hotel, microbrewery, etc.). The revenues from the license fees are distributed among several
recipients.

DISTRIBUTION

Club Licenses and Applications. The revenues derived from club licensing and applications are dedicated to the
Department of Economic Security's Economic Security Capital Investments Fund [A.R.S. § 4-116].

Special Event Licenses. Collections are dedicated to the Department of Health Services for use in the evaluation
and treatment of alcoholics [A.R.S. § 4-203.02A].

Sampling and Growler Permits. Collections from sampling and growler permit applications are deposited in the
Liquor Licenses Fund and continuously appropriated to the Department of Liquor Licenses and Control in addition
to the department's legislative appropriation [A.R.S. § 4-116.01].

All Other Licenses. Except for the above club, special event, and some restaurant license fees, two-thirds of license
fees are deposited in the Liquor Licenses Fund. Any revenues of this two-thirds of license fees in excess of the
amount appropriated to the Liquor Licenses Fund are deposited into the state General Fund. One-third of the
license fees collected in counties with a population of 500,000 or less are to be paid monthly by the Director of
Liquor Licenses and Control to the treasurer of those counties. For each county with a population of over 500,000,
the director is to pay the county treasurer from the remaining one-third of license fees the amount of $3,000 for
each new license issued for premises in unincorporated areas of that county, up to a maximum of $150,000. The
remainder of the one-third of license fees collected in counties with a population of over 500,000 is deposited in
the state General Fund [A.R.S. § 4-115].

WHO PAYS

The tax is paid by manufacturers, wholesalers, out-of-state producers, exporters, importers or rectifiers, retailers
of alcoholic beverages, businesses authorized by local governments to sell liquor, and farm wineries or
microbreweries. All sellers of alcoholic beverages, including Indian tribal members on reservations, are required to
pay the license fees [A.R.S. § 4-209].

REVENUE BASE AND RATE

License and Permits. A flat fee is charged for an original license, annual and biannual license renewals, transfers of
licenses, assignments of agents, and interim permits. Licenses can expire annually or biannually depending on the
type of license renewal and whether the holder received any compliance penalties in the year prior to renewal. In
addition, for each additional original license issued there will be levied a separate issuance fee equal to the
license's fair market value which will be deposited in the state General Fund [A.R.S. § 4-209, A.R.S. § 4-203.01, .02,
and .03, and A.R.S. § 42-206.01].

Surcharges. Certain licenses are assessed various surcharges as part of the annual license renewal fee. The
revenues from these surcharges are dedicated to costs associated with audit and support staff activities, and costs
associated with an enforcement program to investigate licensees who have been the subject of multiple
complaints to the department [A.R.S. § 4-209J&K].
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Maximum Additional Licenses Per County. With the exception of bar, beer and wine bar, liquor store and some
restaurant licenses issued pursuant to A.R.S. § 4-213E, there is no maximum number of licenses that can be issued.
Restaurant licenses that do not meet the definition of a restaurant and receive permission from the Department of
Liquor Licenses and Control to continue to operate as a restaurant are limited to a maximum of 15 restaurant
licenses in any fiscal year. In FY 2013 and beyond, no additional licensees will be granted permission to continue to
operate under A.R.S. § 4-213E.

The Department of Liquor Licenses and Control shall annually issue 1 bar and 1 liguor store license in each county
for each 10,000 person increase over the population in that county as estimated by the Office of Economic
Opportunity as of July 1, 2010 minus the number of licenses distributed since 2010. The director may also issue
new bar and liquor store licenses not to exceed 20% of the total number of revoked or reverted licenses of the
same license type and in the same county. The department shall annually issue 1 beer and wine bar license in each
county for each 5,000 person increase over the population in that county as of July 1, 2010 minus the number of
licenses distributed since 2010 until January 1, 2022, and issue 1 new license for each 10,000 person increase
thereafter. However, the director may opt to waive the issuance of any new, or reissuance of any revoked or
reverted licenses in any county for 1 year if there has been no request made to the department for the issuance of
a license of that series (A.R.S. § 4-206.01B).

Table 1
COLLECTIONS AND DISTRIBUTION
Department Department
of of Liquor
Fiscal General Economic Health Audit Enforcement Liquor Licenses
Year Total Fund Security Services Counties  Surcharge Surcharge  Department /% Fund
2018 $9,741,176  $5,032,422  $41,700 $72,500  $396,657 $182,550  $785,625 $128,000 $3,047,500
2017 $9,994,536 $5,349,139  $48,825 $70,925  $390,872 $179,230  $807,145 $141,000 $3,007,400
2016 $8,532,918 $3,713,973 $47,225 $71,200 $382,115 $173,190  $789,915 SO $3,355,300
2015 $7,651,662 $3,187,414 $47,775 $66,725 $440,228 $169,080 $777,940 SO $2,962,500
2014 $6,379,186 $1,932,468  $54,550 $64,725  $442,258 $170,680  $782,305 SO $2,932,200
2013 $6,476,642 $2,064,997  $59,025 $57,800  $448,900 $166,800  $767,820 S0 $2,911,300
2012 $5,989,607 $1,716,990 $45,550 $57,850 $427,877 $164,220  $761,520 SO $2,815,600
2011 $8,760,692 $4,660,056 $55,650 $54,675 $404,971 $165,030  $761,610 SO $2,658,700
2010 $6,110,927 $2,913,632 $46,200 $45,275 $385,795 $144,300  $662,025 SO $1,913,700
2009 $6,559,069 $5,040,087  $56,400 $49,175  $530,252 $158,730  $724,425 S0
2008 $6,333,680 $4,871,121  $49,600 $45,775  $483,938 $162,186  $721,060 S0
2007 $6,042,559 $4,661,571 $47,750 $45,975 $448,928 $155,040  $683,295 SO
2006 $5,903,308 $4,431,909 $49,275 $51,250 $446,672 $152,580  $673,290 $98,332
2005 $5,581,198 $4,206,281 $48,850 $47,775 $458,487 $151,650  $668,155
2004 $5,473,828 $4,219,995  $49,100 $44,500  $369,358 $147,180  $643,695
2003 $5,018,445 $3,826,968 $53,800 $42,350 $327,837 $143,480  $624,010
2002 $4,746,146  $3,776,390 $54,850 $40,100 $333,901 $97,380  $443,525
2001 $4,933,818 53,876,428 $44,175 $47,950 $346,375 $93,840  $525,050
2000 $4,278,445 $3,323,418  $50,975 $41,050  $347,272 $93,080  $422,650
1999 $4,293,893 $3,365,016  $53,075 $39,550  $349,182 $83,520  $403,550

1/ See Laws 2005, Chapter 284 — the Department of Liquor Licenses and Control may retain costs associated with the random selection of additional licensees.
2/ See Laws 2016, Chapter 76 — the director may charge an administrative fee for Wine Direct Shipment licenses for costs associated with administering the
direct shipment license.
Note: 5% of the revenues generated from licensees that are permitted to continue operation as a restaurant pursuant to A.R.S. § 4-213E will be deposited into the
Driving Under the Influence Abatement Fund beginning in FY 2009.

SOURCE: Department of Liquor Licenses and Control.

Exemptions:

e  Drug stores selling spirituous liquors only upon prescription.
e Any confectionery candy with less than 5% by weight of alcohol.
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e Manufacturers, wholesalers and retailers of ethyl alcohol used for scientific, chemical, mechanical, industrial,
medicinal or other nonbeverage purposes.
Individuals and establishments authorized by Congress to procure spirituous liquor or ethyl alcohol tax-free.
Manufacturers of denatured alcohol produced under provisions established by acts of Congress [A.R.S. § 4-
226].

Application Fees:

e  Original license: $100
e Transfer of license: $100 [A.R.S. § 4-209A]

Issuance fees for original licenses [A.R.S. § 4-209B]:

Table 2

1. In-state producers of spirituous liquors $1,500
2. Out-of-state producer’s, exporter’s, importer’s, or rectifier’s license, except an out-of-state 300

winery selling 50 or fewer cases of wine in a calendar year

3 Microbrewery license 300
4 Wholesalers of spirituous liquors 1,500
5 State, and local government, community colleges, or National Guard licenses 100
6. On-sale retailers on all spirituous liquors and bar license 1,500
7 On-sale retailers beer and wine bar license 1,500
8 Railroads, airlines or boats, conveyance licenses 1,500
9. Off-sale retailers on all spirituous liquors, liquor store license 1,500
10.  Off-sale retailers beer and wine store license 1,500
11. Hotels and motels 1,500
12. Restaurants 1,500
13.  Farm winery 100
14.  Clubs 1,000
15 Out-of-state winery selling 240 or fewer cases of wine in a calendar year 125
16.  Craft distiller 300
17. Direct Shipment Wine 50
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Annual License Fees [A.R.S. § 4-209D]:

Table 3

1. In-state producers of spirituous liquors $350
2. Out-of-state producer’s, exporter’s, importer’s, or rectifier’s license, except an out-of-state 50

winery selling 50 or fewer cases of wine in a calendar year

3 Microbrewery license 300
4 Wholesalers of spirituous liquors 250
5. Local government, community colleges, or National Guard licenses 100
6. On-sale retailers on all spirituous liquors and bar license 150
7 On-sale retailers beer and wine bar license 75
8 Railroads, airlines or boats, conveyance licenses 225
9. Off-sale retailers on all spirituous liquors, liquor store license 50
10.  Off-sale retailers beer and wine store license 50
11.  Hotels and motels 500
12.  Restaurants 500 Y
13. Farm winery 100
14.  Clubs 150
15.  Out-of-state winery selling 240 or fewer cases of wine in a calendar year 25
16.  Craft distiller 300
17. Direct Shipment Wine 175

1/  If the restaurant is continuing to operate under A.R.S. § 4-213E, an additional fee, to be determined by the Department of Liquor Licenses
and Control will be levied. In FY 2013 and beyond, no additional licensees will be granted permission to continue to operate under A.R.S.
4-213E. (Please see Laws 2006, Chapter 383 and Laws 2008, Chapter 256 for additional information)

Note:  The Department of Liquor Licenses and Control may issue such licenses with staggered renewal dates. A license issued less than 6
months before the scheduled renewal date shall be charged only one-half of the annual license fee [A.R.S. § 4-209C].

Note:  Establishments operating on a seasonal basis not exceeding 6 months in any year are subject to license fees equal to half the annual
rate [A.R.S. § 4-209E].

Note:  Any licenses that receive nonuse status are excluded from paying any municipal fee or tax attributed to the time that the license was
held in nonuse status [A.R.S. § 4-203.05].

Transfer Fees for Spirituous Liquor Licenses:

(1) From Person to Person $300
(2)  From Location to Location $100

[A.R.S. § 4-209F-G]

Assignment Fees. A $100 fee is charged to transfer control of a license or to change the license agent responsible
for receiving communication from and filing documents with the department. For a holder of multiple licenses,
the fee is $100 for the first license and all remaining licenses transferred to the same agent are $50 each, with a

maximum fee of $1,000 [A.R.S. § 4-209H].

NOTE: License transfers are not permitted for restaurants, hotels, motels, clubs or farm wineries or
microbreweries, except that clubs may transfer a license from location to location.

Interim Permit Fees. For original license pending or license transfer pending, the fee is $100 [A.R.S. § 4-203.01].
Other Licenses. In addition, special event licenses are issued on a daily basis at a fee of $25 per day, the wine

festival license fee and the farm winery fair license fee are both statutorily set by the director, and are currently
set at $15 per day [A.R.S. § 4-203.02 and § 4-203.03].
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PAYMENT SCHEDULE

Original license fees, interim permit fees, and transfer fees are due upon application. Payments for annual license
renewal are due in advance. A system of staggered renewal dates may be implemented by the department.
Licenses that are not renewed on the due date are subject to a penalty of $150 [A.R.S. § 4-209A].

The Department of Liquor Licenses and Control collects the tax [A.R.S. § 4-112].
IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2012.

2018 LAWS
Laws 2018, Chapter 240 includes the following provisions:

e Allows a special event license to be issues to a government entity.

e Allows the director to determine the amount of farm winery festival and farm winery fair licenses, which were
previously statutorily set at $15 per day.

e Allows a farm winery license that operates primarily as a remote tasting room to convert to a remote tasting
room license without any additional fee if done by December 31, 2018.

e Allows a county, city or town to deny a craft distillery festival license within 60 days of receiving the
application.

e Allows the director to issue a new bar or liquor store license for each revoked or reverted license in a county
that has not been reverted, but not to exceed 20% of the total number of revoked or reverted licensees in that
county.

e Adjusts the definition of fair market value of bar, beer and wine bar, or liquor store licenses to include market
trends during the previous 12 months, and requires a appraisal to determine the fair market value.

e  Designates all revenue collected from sampling and growler permits as continuously appropriated within the
Liquor Licenses Fund without regard for the legislative appropriation from the fund.

2017 LAWS
Laws 2017, Chapter 168 includes the following provisions:

e Allows the Department of Liquor Licenses and Control to issue 1 new beer and wine bar licenses for every
5,000 person increase over the population in that county as estimated by the Office of Economic Opportunity
as of July 1, 2010 minus the number of licenses distributed since 2010 until January 1, 2022. This standard
changes to 1 new license for every 10,000 person increase after January 1, 2022. Previously, new beer and
wine bar licenses were issued for every 10,000 person increase over the population of the county as of July 1,
2010 minus the number of licenses distributed since 2010, which is the current standard for bar licenses and
liquor store licenses.

e Increases the maximum number of board members that can serve on the board from a single county from 2 to
3 board members.

e Limits a local governing body to charge only 1 fee to a licensee for an application of acquisition of control
regardless of the number of licenses held by the licensee.

e Requires a licensee to submit a written request for more time before a nonuse license reverts to the state.

e Increases the amount of time a license can be in nonuse status before it must requalify for a license from 2
years to 3 years.

e Changes the limit on special licenses in one calendar year from 12 event licenses to 30 days of special event
licenses.
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e Allows a special event contractor to assist in the selling of spirituous liquor for a special event licensee. Special
event contractors can be a holder of a bar license, beer and wine bar license, hotel and motel license, or a
restaurant license.

e The department may prohibit a special event licensee or special event contractor from obtaining a special
event license for 1 year for violations of state liquor statutes.

e Allows a licensed producer to donate spirituous liquor to a special event license holder.

e Requires a special event licensee to return unbroken bottles of spirituous liquor to the appropriate licensee or
wholesaler.

e Limits the number of events hosted by club licensees where the attendance is not based on membership of
the club to 12 events per calendar year.

e Increases the amount of tasting rooms a craft distiller licensee may operate from 1 to 2.

e Changes the provisions of a craft distillery festival license allowing 1 or more licenses for up to 150 calendar
days. Previous provisions allowed 25 licenses for up to 75 calendar days.

e Allows the director to issue two remote tasting room licenses to the same location if each license is issued to a
different person.

e Adds acquisitions of control and restructurings to the list of assignment fees.

e  Prohibits the department from auditing a restaurant during its first 3 months of operation.

e Allows the director to notify the Department of Revenue, the regulatory body of another state, and other
industry associates if an out-of-state licensee knowingly violates a cease and desist order from the director.

2016 LAWS

Laws 2016, Chapter 76 allows all wineries to obtain a direct shipment license to sell and ship wine directly to
consumers. Prior to Chapter 76, a direct shipment license required producers to ship any out-of-state alcohol to a
wholesaler, and then to a retailer unless the consumer was physically present at a winery at the time of the
purchase, which would allow the winery to ship directly to the consumer’s residence or business. (Effective August
6,2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 161 includes the following provisions:

e Requires a Notice of Change Agent be filed with the director of the Department of Liquor Licenses and Control
within 30 days of the agent change. An agent is the natural person who is designated by the applicant or
licensee to receive communications from the Department of Liquor Licenses and Control and to file and sign
documents on behalf of the applicant or licensee.

e Allows a restaurant license to receive a permit from the Department of Liquor Licenses and Control to sell
beer for off-premise consumption.

e Increases the amount of beer a person can be served while on a boat at one time from 32 ounces to 50
ounces.

e Requires a supplying farm winery in a custom crush arrangement to have a basic permit from the United
States Alcohol Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau for the gallonage to be allocated to the supplying winery. A
custom crush arrangement is a contractual agreement where a person or winery provides grapes to a separate
winery to be used for the production of wine. The wine is then marketed and sold by the person or winery
supplying the grapes.

e Allows the Department of Liquor Licenses and Control to use monies from the sale of seized liquor for
investigation purposes.

e If an establishment holds multiple licenses at one location with both on-sale and off-sale privileges (on-sale
versus off-sale privileges are also referred to as channels), the bill requires liquor be sold under the channel of
the primary use of the establishment. This affects the price at which a wholesaler can sell alcohol to a retailer.
Current statute allows wholesalers to sell alcohol to retailers with on-sale privileges at a different price than it
sell to retailers with off-sale privileges. This is referred to as channel pricing.

e Changes the reporting requirement for producers and wholesalers to provide sampling from not less than 10
days to not less than 5 days before the event.

e Exempts a passenger in a transportation network company vehicle from laws prohibiting consumption of
alcohol as a passenger in a vehicle.
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Adds a refillable container up to 1 gallon, also known as a growler, to the definition of open containers.

Laws 2016, Chapter 184 requires the Director of the Department of Liquor Licensing and Control to report the use
of Enforcement Surcharge monies to the Arizona State Liquor Board.

Laws 2016, Chapter 345 allows beer and wine store licenses with fewer than 5,000 square feet of store space to
obtain sampling privileges if the store dedicates at least 75% of shelf space to the sale of liquor.

2015 LAWS

Laws 2015, Chapter 131 includes the following provisions:

Increases the maximum amount of beer that can be produced by a microbrewery from 1,240,000 gallons per
location to a total of 6,200,000 gallons from all microbreweries under the control of any one person.

Allows microbreweries to sell beer from other microbreweries if the amount of beer sold from other
microbreweries is not more than 20% of all beer sold at the premises.

Microbreweries that sell beer from other microbreweries must purchase the beer through a wholesaler if the
other microbrewery has a distribution relationship with a wholesaler.

Allows a microbrewery to hold a combined total of up to 7 on premise or remote retail licenses for bars, beer
and wine bars, and restaurants, except that a microbrewery that produces more than 1,240,000 gallons of
beer annually may not hold a remote retail license.

Prohibits a microbrewery that produces more than 1,240,000 gallons of beer annually from selling or
delivering beer to a retailer, except if that retailer is owned by the microbrewery and on the premises.
Prohibits a microbrewery that is otherwise engaged as a distiller, vintner, brewer, rectifier, blender or other
producer from holding a remote retail license.

2014 LAWS

Laws 2014, Chapter 253 includes the following provisions:

Eliminates the requirement for county or city or town approval for a special event license held fully within the
licensed premises.

Prohibits no more than 12 special event licenses per calendar year at 1 physical location, unless owned,
operated, leased, managed or controlled by the U.S., Arizona, or a city, town or county of Arizona.

Allows the Director of the Department of Liquor Licenses and Control to issue a special event license
concurrently with a wine festival license and a craft distillery festival license.

Allows a nonprofit organization to receive spirituous liquor donation from a farm winery, microbrewery or
producer.

Increases the number of wine festival licenses from 25 to 50 and the number of days from 75 to 150.

Changes the farm winery festival and farm winery fair fees to per day fees of $15.

Requires common carriers of spirituous liquor to keep records and make them available to the department for
review, excluding railroads.

Adds state agency, state board and state commission to the governing bodies permitted to receive a
government license.

Requires a farm winery to hold a winery permit from the U.S. Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB)
or has a custom crush contract on fruit grown on at least 5 producing acres for at least 3 consecutive years.
Allows the Director to approve applications for grouping 2 or more farm winery licenses at 1 location under a
plan of alternating proprietorship.

Allows for custom crush arrangements.

Allows the Director to authorize a farm winery license holder to operate up to 2 remote tasting locations.
Permits a farm winery license holder to hold a craft distillery license if the spirituous liquor production is less
than 1,000 gallons per year.

Creates a new craft distiller license classification which allows the production of up to 20,000 gallons of
spirituous liquor per year.
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e Creates a new craft distillery festival license classification and permits the Director to issue up to 25 craft
distillery licenses per year.

e Specifies that 2 appraisals are necessary to determine fair market value of a license.

e Exempts an unfenced golf course from the 300 foot rule, which prohibits a retail liquor license from being
issued to a location that is within 300 feet of a church, school, or fenced recreational area adjacent to a school
at the time of the original application.

e Exempts a beer and wine license at a nonprofit performing arts theatre with a seating capacity of at least 250.

e Allows the Director to suspend, revoke or refuse to renew a license if a serious act of violence occurs on the
licensed premises.

e Allows the Director to suspend, revoke or refuse to renew a license if the licensee fails to report a serious act
of violence.

e Requires a wholesaler to sell to a qualified retail cooperative at prices established by quantity, and specifies
qualified retail cooperative to mean a retail cooperative of 2 retail licensees.

e Allows and defines channel pricing, which allows a wholesaler to sell to on-sale license holders at a different
price than off-sale license holders as long as sale is based on the volume of the product delivered in a 24-hour
period, and as long as the discount is made available to each retailer in that retailer’s channel.

e Stipulates all forms of identification must be unexpired.

e Adds licenses issued by Washington, D.C. and any U.S. territory, and a valid resident alien card as valid
identification.

e Stipulates that identification issued to a person under 21 years of age is no longer valid 30 days after the
person turns 21.

e  Stipulates a border crossing card and a Mexican voter identification card are not valid forms of identification.

e Allows up to 72 ounces of beer and 2 ounces of distilled spirits per person per day for sampling.

e Permits credit transactions between wholesalers and producers.

e  Exempts beer produced for personal consumption from state alcohol regulations.

e Stipulates that medicinal purposes do not include ethyl alcohol or spirituous liquor that contains marijuana.

e Stipulates that it is an unlawful act to allow patrons to use any item for the consumption of vaporized
spirituous liquor.

e Removes the requirement for a person to hold a concealed carry permit to carry a concealed handgun on the
premises of a license holder.

2013 LAWS

Laws 2013, Chapter 47 allows the Director of the Department of Liquor Licenses and Control to issue a license for a
domestic microbrewery on the same parcel of land as a domestic farm winery. The bill further requires that the
licenses be held by different persons and be in different buildings; allows the brewery and winery to share a
common tasting room and other premises for consumption of their products; and prohibits the licensees from
holding any other liquor license.

2012 LAWS
Laws 2012, Chapter 336 includes the following provisions:

e Allows the Liquor Board to eliminate its hearing if no recommendation is made by the appropriate governing
body regarding the issuance of the license.

e Requires the Board to cancel a hearing if the reason for a filed argument is clearly removed or deemed
satisfied by the Director of the Department of Liquor Licenses and Control.

e Increases, from 32 to 40 ounces, the permissible amount of beer to be served by an on-sale retailer or
employee.

e Permits an on-sale retailer to sell or deliver an opened, original container of distilled spirits as outlined.
Requires the department to review the effects of this provision and provide a report to the Governor,
Legislature, and the Secretary of State by July 1, 2015.

e Allows a peace officer, while undercover on assignment, to consume small amounts of spirituous liquor while
still possessing a firearm.

-148 -



Alcoholic Beverage License Fees

e Specifies that a bar, beer and wine bar, liquor store, beer and wine store, and domestic microbrewery licensee
may dispense beer only in clean glass containers with a maximum capacity of 1 gallon for off-premises
consumption, if the licensee fills the container at the tap at the time of sale and seals the container. This
cannot be provided through a drive-through or walk-up service window.

e Allows the Director to implement a 2-year license.

e Simplifies and describes the process for obtaining an interim permit.

e Authorizes the Director to waive for 1 year, the requirement to issue a series of new licenses if no request has
been made to the department to issue new licenses.

e Limits wine sampling to 1.5 ounces rather than 1 ounce.

e Adds community colleges and the National Guard to the list of government licenses that require a $100 fee.

e  Permits biannual license renewal if the location was not issued any penalties during the year before renewal.
Allows the Director to adopt reasonable rules.

e Increases from 90 to 120 days the time a licensee can be delinquent in the payment of taxes, penalties, or
interest in an amount greater than $250 before the Director can suspend, revoke, or refuse to renew their
license.

e Prohibits a city or town from increasing fees for hospitality businesses in any year by an amount greater than
the increase in the average of the last 5 years’ consumer price index.

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2012 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/18taxbook/18taxbk.pdf.
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INSURANCE PREMIUM TAX

DESCRIPTION

This tax is imposed on net insurance premiums received by insurance companies for risks that exist within the
state. Included are premiums for life insurance, accident and health insurance, AHCCCS contracted coverage, fire
insurance, vehicle insurance, prepaid dental and legal insurance, and other property and casualty premiums such
as homeowners and commercial insurance, medical malpractice, and fidelity and surety insurance.

The tax applies to insurance companies formed under the laws of this state (“domestic” insurance carriers) and
insurance companies formed under the laws of another state within the United States or another country (“out-of-
state” insurance carriers).

Insurance premium tax also includes “retaliatory” taxes, which are taxes owed by out-of-state insurers to the
extent that the sum of taxes an insurer pays in Arizona is less than what the sum of taxes would be if the same
insurance business were transacted in the insurer’s “home” state (state of domicile).

DISTRIBUTION

Except for a portion of the tax on fire insurance premiums and an additional tax paid on vehicle insurance
premiums, these tax revenues are deposited in the state’s General Fund [A.R.S. § 20-227].

Eighty-five percent of the fire insurance premium tax is transferred to cities and towns and legally organized fire
districts which procure the services of private fire companies and to cities and towns which have their own fire
department or legally organized fire district. The proceeds are to be used to assist in funding pension plans for fire
fighting personnel. The other 15% is deposited into the state’s General Fund [A.R.S. § 20-224, A.R.S. § 9-951, and
A.R.S. § 9-952].

An additional tax of 0.4312% paid on insurance carried on vehicles is separately accounted for and transferred to
the Public Safety Personnel Retirement System for deposit in the Highway Patrol Account to assist in funding the
pension plan for highway patrol personnel [A.R.S. § 20-224.01].

Table 1 on the following page provides the historical distribution of insurance premium tax. It should be noted
that the “total” column in the following table reflects net collections for the fiscal year, and in some cases, does
not equal the amounts distributed to the General Fund, the Public Safety Personnel Retirement System, and to
cities and fire districts. In these cases, some collections were carried forward into the next fiscal year and were
distributed then.

WHO PAYS

All authorized insurers and formerly authorized insurers (insurers not currently authorized, but continuing
collection of premiums and servicing of existing policies in the state) are subject to the insurance premium tax. In
addition, health care service organizations, prepaid dental plan organizations, and prepaid legal insurance
corporations are subject to the tax [A.R.S. § 20-206, A.R.S. § 20-224, A.R.S. § 20-401.05, A.R.S. § 20-416, A.R.S. §
20-837, A.R.S. § 20-1010, A.R.S. § 20-1060, A.R.S. § 20-1097.071].

Out-of-state insurers pay the greater of the Arizona insurance premium tax or the tax imposed by their home state
on Arizona insurers. For example, if an out-of-state insurer operating in Arizona pays a 2% insurance premium tax
to the Department of Insurance (DOI), but an Arizona insurer operating in the out-of-state insurer’s home state
pays a 3% premium tax, the out-of-state insurer must also pay DOl a 1% retaliatory tax that equals the difference
in rates charged in the 2 states. Arizona provides an exemption from retaliatory tax, if the out-of-state insurer’s
home state does not charge retaliatory taxes on Arizona insurers. Retaliation applies to taxes, fees, assessments or
other charges levied in the insurance company’s home state [A.R.S. § 20-230].
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Table 1
INSURANCE PREMIUM COLLECTIONS AND DISTRIBUTION
Transfer to Public
Safety
Retirement Transfer to Cities
Fiscal Year General Fund System and Fire Districts Total
2018 $509,276,002 $17,165,571 $23,233,981 $549,675,554
2017 $504,339,292 $21,009,348 $16,419,859 $541,768,499
2016 $490,576,281 $19,312,244 $16,777,097 $530,178,577
2015 $449,546,754 $18,212,445 $13,343,767 $481,102,966
2014 $411,760,685 $16,942,842 $14,481,050 $443,184,577
2013 $386,776,104 $16,185,326 $13,141,283 $416,102,713
2012 $393,990,499 $15,720,974 $12,606,341 $422,317,814
2011 $413,765,850 $15,978,058 $12,514,392 $442,258,300
2010 $405,612,042 $16,696,764 $13,492,671 $435,801,477
2009 $411,370,853 $17,507,607 $12,480,006 $441,358,466
2008 $407,035,082 $17,569,437 $13,361,461 $437,965,980
2007 $399,850,367 $17,861,557 $12,652,891 $430,364,815
2006 $373,703,789 $17,057,414 $11,842,931 $402,604,134
2005 $358,752,402 $16,234,673 $12,459,164 $387,446,239
2004 $308,967,921 $15,441,384 $11,677,878 $336,087,183
2003 $226,648,800 $14,009,100 $10,588,600 $251,246,500
2002 $195,036,900 $12,633,600 $8,148,700 $215,819,200
2001 $183,394,700 $11,419,500 $7,187,100 $202,001,300
2000 $160,723,567 $10,953,470 $5,670,876 $177,344,423
1999 $150,697,201 $10,735,299 $5,178,291 $166,614,522
SOURCE: Department of Insurance.

REVENUE BASE AND RATE

The tax applies to premiums paid for insurance covering liabilities that exist within the state. The tax is levied on
the net premium income, which is defined as the total amount received from premiums after deducting
cancellations, returned premiums, policy dividends, refund reductions, savings coupons, and similar amounts paid
or credited to policyholders within the state, and not reapplied as premiums for new, additional, or extended
insurance [A.R.S. § 20-224].

The insurance premium tax rate on life, vehicle, and other property and casualty lines of insurance is 1.85% in
calendar year (CY) 2018. Laws 2016, Chapter 358 gradually decreases the tax rate from 2.0% in CY 2015 to 1.7% by
CY 2021 (See Table 2). This schedule of rate reductions replaced the schedule enacted under Laws 2015, Chapter
220, in which the rate was decreased gradually from 2.0% in CY 2015 to 1.7% in CY 2026. Except for fire insurance
and surplus line insurance (types of insurance that are not sufficiently offered by authorized insurers and therefore
may be procured from unauthorized out-of-state insurers), the tax rate for most other types of insurance is 2.0% of
net premium income [A.R.S. § 20-224].

The tax rate for fire insurance is 0.66% for insurance on properties located in an incorporated city or town which
procures the services of a private fire company. The rate on all other fire insurance is 2.2% [A.R.S. § 20-224].

The tax rate on premiums paid to brokers selling surplus line insurance and industrial insurance contracts procured
from unauthorized insurers is 3% of the net premium income [A.R.S. § 20-401.07 and A.R.S. § 20-416].

Certain types of insurers, employee benefit trusts, and voluntary employees’ beneficiary associations are
exempted from the insurance premium tax, including some hospital and medical service corporations, some
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fraternal benefit societies, non-profit military mutual aid associations, and extended warranty insurers [A.R.S. § 20-
108].

Title insurance premiums are also exempted from the insurance premium tax and are instead subject to the state
income tax [A.R.S. § 20-224 and A.R.S. § 20-1566].

Premiums paid by government entities to non-profit hospitals and medical, dental, and optometric service
corporations are exempt from the insurance premium tax [A.R.S. § 20-837].

Table 2
INSURANCE PREMIUM
TAX RATES V%
Calendar Year Rate
2015 2.00%
2016 1.95
2017 1.90
2018 1.85
2019 1.80
2020 1.75
2021 1.70
1/ Asenacted by Laws 2016, Chapter 358.
2/ Rates apply to life, vehicle, and other
property and casualty lines of insurance.

TAX REFUNDS AND/OR TAX CREDITS

Enterprise/Military Reuse Zones Tax Credit. A tax credit against insurance premium tax liability was allowed for net
increases in employment positions of residents of the state by an insurer that is located in an enterprise zone or a
military reuse zone. As noted below, while both credits have been repealed, unused amounts are allowed to be
carried forward for a limited time.

The tax credit for insurers in an enterprise zone equals one-fourth of taxable wages (not to exceed $500) paid to an
employee in a qualified employment position in the first year of employment, one-third of taxable wages (not to
exceed $1,000) in the second year, and one-half of taxable wages (not to exceed $1,500) in the third year. Laws
2011, 2" Special Session, Chapter 1 allowed this credit to sunset at the end of FY 2011, as scheduled. Although
new credits may not be earned after tax year (TY) 2011, previously earned credits may be carried forward up to 5
years and used no later than for TY 2016. This credit was replaced by the New Employment Tax Credit, which is
described below.

The tax credit for insurers in a military reuse zone equals $1,000 per year in the first year of employment,
increasing by $500 per year up to $3,000 per year in the fifth year of employment for each dislocated military base
employee, and $500 per year in the first year of employment, increasing by $500 per year up to $2,500 per year in
the fifth year of employment for each employee other than a dislocated military base employee. Laws 2017,
Chapter 299 repeals the credit after TY 2017. Although new credits may not be earned after TY 2017, previously
earned credits may be carried forward up to 5 years and used no later than for TY 2022.

Health Insurance Premium Tax Credit. A premium tax credit is allowed for health care insurers that provide health
insurance to qualified individuals and small businesses that are certified by the Arizona Department of Revenue
(DOR). An application must be submitted to DOR for the tax credit, which includes a written declaration subject to
the penalties of perjury [A.R.S. § 20-224.05 and A.R.S. § 43-210].

An individual or small business must obtain health insurance to receive the credit. In order for the insurer to claim
a credit on an individual, that individual must be a United States citizen or legally residing resident. The individual
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must also: 1) earn less than 250% of the federal poverty level, be a resident of Arizona, not have had health
insurance for at least the past 6 consecutive months, and not be enrolled by any other state or federal government
health insurance program; or 2) work for a small business that has been in existence for at least 1 calendar year
and that has not provided health insurance to its employees for at least 6 months. A small business is defined as
between 2 and 25 employees during the most recent calendar year.

The amount of the tax credit for individuals is the lesser of the following: a) $1,000 for single coverage, $500 for
coverage of a child, or $3,000 for family coverage; or b) 50% of the health insurance premium. The amount of the
tax credit for small businesses is the lesser of the following: $1,000 for single coverage or $3,000 for family
coverage; or 50% of the health insurance premium.

Health insurers are required to deduct the amount of the tax credit from the premium paid by the individual or
small business for health insurance. In this way, the state effectively subsidizes the cost of the individual or small
business’s health insurance in the amount of the premium tax credit. The maximum amount of tax credits allowed
in a calendar year is capped at $5.0 million. The tax credits are administered by DOR.

New Employment Tax Credit. A $3,000 annual tax credit may be claimed for each net new qualifying job added by
an employer in the state. To qualify for the credit, new employment positions must be full-time, meet wage
requirements, and offer health insurance paid by the employer (at least 65% of the premium). Credits associated
with 1 net new job can be claimed for 3 years. A company may claim first year credits for separate new jobs for up
to 3 consecutive years. Since second and third year credits may be claimed against each of the new positions, the
taxpayer may claim credits for up to a total of 5 consecutive years. The Arizona Commerce Authority (ACA) is
authorized to issue first year credits for up to 10,000 new employees ($30.0 million) in each year.

Prior to Laws 2017, Chapter 340, a business could not claim the new credit unless it added at least 25 net new jobs
in a year in an urban area (5 in a rural area), paid employees at least 100% of the county median wage, and made a
capital investment of at least $5.0 million ($1.0 million in a rural area). Beginning in TY 2018, Laws 2017, Chapter
340 permits businesses to qualify under the alternative levels of capital investment and wages shown in Table 3
and permits ACA to authorize credits through June 30, 2025. A business can now invest less than $5.0 million if
they pay wages that exceed 100% of the county median level. The required number of net new jobs remains
unchanged. Given the maximum 5-year schedule outlined above, businesses may claim credits through TY 2029.
[A.R.S. § 41-1525]

Table 3

Investment and Median Wage Requirements

Urban Location

Minimum Wages as Percent
Capital Investment of County Median
$5,000,000 100%
$2,500,000 125%
$1,000,000 150%
$500,000 200%

Rural Location

Minimum Wages as Percent
Capital Investment of County Median
$1,000,000 100%
$500,000 125%
$100,000 150%

In TY 2013 and later years, Laws 2012, Chapter 343 eliminates the requirement (provided by Laws 2011, 2" Special
Session, Chapter 1) that no employer can claim more than 400 new jobs in the first year of credit use, 800 jobs in
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the second year, and 1,200 jobs in the third year. The cap applied to credits claimed against insurance premium,
individual income, and corporate income taxes. The credit cannot be claimed against employees that are also
claimed under the Military Reuse Zone Tax Credit (A.R.S. § 20-224.04 and A.R.S. § 41-1531). Laws 2014, Chapter
168 changes the requirement for the New Employment Tax Credit program by providing that second and third year
credits can be claimed irrespective of whether the same employee remains employed as long as the employer
replaces the vacant position with another qualified employee within 90 days.

School Tuition Organization Tax Credit. A taxpayer may claim an insurance premium tax credit, up to the full
amount of the donation, for contributions made to a school tuition organization that provides education
scholarships and tuition grants either to children of low-income families (A.R.S. § 20-224.06) or to disabled children
or children in foster care (A.R.S. § 20-224.07). The full amount of tax credits approved by DOR pursuant to A.R.S. §
43-1183 (low-income credit) for both corporate income tax credits and insurance premium tax credits combined is
capped at $10.0 million per year, with the cap increasing by 20% per year beginning in FY 2008. The credit cap is
$89.2 million in FY 2019, $107.0 million in FY 2020, and $128.4 million in FY 2021. The full amount of tax credits
approved by DOR pursuant to A.R.S. § 43-1184 (displaced and disabled credit) is capped at $5.0 million per year. A
taxpayer may carry forward the unused portion of either tax credit for 5 years. A taxpayer claiming the credit shall
not be required to pay any retaliatory taxes required by A.R.S. § 20-230. [A.R.S. § 20-224.06 and A.R.S. § 20-
224.07].

Insurance Guaranty Fund Assessment Credit. A taxpayer may claim an insurance premium tax credit on 20% of any
assessment paid to the Arizona Life and Disability Insurance Guaranty Fund (ALDIGF). Taxpayers may take an
additional credit of 20% of the assessment in each of the 4 subsequent years following the assessment, thus
allowing taxpayers to offset 100% of the cost over a 5-year period.

The ALDIGF was created as a safeguard to meet the obligations of a licensed insurance company in the event that
the insurer becomes insolvent. Monies in the fund come from an assessment levied on all other licensed insurers.
The maximum assessment amount that can be levied on a single insurer in any one year is capped at 2% of the
insurer's average total premiums of similar insurance lines covered by the ALDIGF in the previous 3 years. This
assessment was levied in FY 2018 due to the failure of 2 national insurance companies with business in Arizona.
Prior to FY 2018, the assessment was last levied in FY 1997. (For more information on Insurance Guarantee Fund
Assessments, see Insurance Guarantee Fund Assessments section of the Tax Handbook.)

The actual dollar impact of these tax credits is included in Table 4:

Table 4
FY 2018 INSURANCE PREMIUM TAX CREDIT USE
Effective

CREDITS: Calendar Years Annual Cost
Health Insurance Premium ¥ 2007 - S 3,723,310
Insurance Guaranty Fund Assessment 1991 - 876,605
Military Reuse Zone 1993 - 2017 0
New Employment 2/ 2011 - 2029 3,888,000
Private School Tuition Organization — Low Income Students ¥ 2006 - 30,785,353
Private School Tuition Organization — Disabled/Displaced Students ¥ 2009 - 2,762,873
Total Value of Credits $42,036,141
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Credit is capped at $5 million annually.

Credits claimed by individuals and corporations are separately reported under individual and corporate income tax

credits. The ACA is authorized to issue up to $30 million of 15t year credits in each year between individual and

corporate income and insurance premium taxpayers.

3/ Credits claimed by corporations are separately reported under corporate income tax credits. The credit was capped
at $74.3 million in FY 2018 between corporate income and insurance premium taxpayers, and will increase by 20%
annually.

4/ Credits claimed by corporations are separately reported under corporate income tax credits. The credit is capped at

$5 million annually between corporate income and insurance premium taxpayers.

NS

SOURCE: Department of Insurance, Report of Insurance Premium Tax Credits.

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

Payment of the preceding calendar year’s insurance premium tax liability is due on or before March 1 of each year.
[A.R.S. § 20-224].

Prior to calendar year 2018, any insurer that paid or is required to pay a tax of $2,000 or more for the preceding
calendar year is required to pay an “installment” payment of 15% of that amount on or before the 15" day of each
month from March through August. Laws 2017, Chapter 153 increases the threshold of tax liability above which an
insurer is required to make installment payments, from $2,000 to $50,000 in the preceding calendar year,
beginning in calendar year 2018. Installment payments are credited against the insurance premium tax due on
March 1 of the following year [A.R.S. § 20-224]. Table 5 lists the dates and descriptions of insurance premium tax
payments due in FY 2019.

Table 5

FY 2019 Insurance Premium Tax Payment Schedule ¥/
Due Date Payment Description
July 15, 2018 CY 2018 Installment Payment (15% of CY 2017 Liability)
August 15, 2018 CY 2018 Installment Payment (15% of CY 2017 Liability)
March 1, 2019 Final Payment (Refund) of CY 2018 Liability

Retaliatory Tax Payment for CY 2018
March 15, 2019 CY 2019 Installment Payment (15% of CY 2018 Liability)

April 15, 2019 CY 2019 Installment Payment (15% of CY 2018 Liability)
May 15, 2019 CY 2019 Installment Payment (15% of CY 2018 Liability)
June 15, 2019 CY 2019 Installment Payment (15% of CY 2018 Liability)

1/ If tax liability is at least $50,000 annually.

AHCCCS health contractors make separate quarterly estimated payments for taxes on Medicaid premiums.
Estimated payments are due on March 15, June 15, September 15 and December 15 of each year. DOI bills
(refunds) the insurer for any balance of liability (overpayment) that remains on April 1 of the following year.
[A.R.S. § 36-2944.01].

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2012.
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2018 LAWS

Laws 2018, Chapter 104 repeals the requirement that taxpayers that claim the Military Reuse Zone Insurance
Premium tax credit may not claim the New Employment tax credit with respect to the same employment positions.
The Military Reuse Zones Tax Credit was repealed by Laws 2017, Chapter 299.

2017 LAWS

Laws 2017, Chapter 153 modifies requirements for submitting insurance premium taxes. Beginning in CY 2018,
DOI may choose to require electronic payment and filing of all insurance premium taxes. The bill also increases the
threshold of tax liability above which an insurer is required to make installment payments, from $2,000 to $50,000
in the preceding calendar year, beginning in CY 2018.

Laws 2017, Chapter 299 repeals the Military Reuse Zones Tax Credit in TY 2018. Although new credits may not be
earned after TY 2017, previously earned credits may be carried forward up to 5 years and used no later than for TY
2022. Based on historical use, repeal of the tax credit is not estimated to have a revenue impact.

Laws 2017, Chapter 340 extends the date by which New Employment Tax Credits may be authorized and expands
access to the credit. The bill extends the last date that ACA can authorize new credits from June 30, 2017 to June
30, 2025. Given a maximum 5-year schedule for claiming the credit (see New Employment Tax Credit section for
information), businesses may claim credits through TY 2029. Prior to Laws 2017, Chapter 340, a business could not
claim the new credit unless it added at least 25 net new jobs in a year in an urban area (5 in a rural area), paid
employees at least 100% of the county median wage, and made a capital investment of at least $5.0 million ($1.0
million in a rural area). Beginning in TY 2018, Laws 2017, Chapter 340 permits businesses to qualify under the
alternative levels of capital investment and wages shown in Table 3. The required number of net new jobs remains
unchanged. The bill's impact on revenue collections is included within the Corporate Income Tax section.

2016 LAWS

Laws 2016, Chapter 38 permits domestic insurers to sell surplus line insurance for risks that exist within the state.
DOI designates types of insurance coverage that is not sufficiently offered by Arizona authorized insurers as
surplus insurance lines. Prior to Chapter 38, statute only permitted unauthorized out-of-state insurers to sell
surplus lines of insurance in Arizona. The legislation also requires that Arizona authorized insurers pay the same
3.0% insurance premium tax on surplus line insurance as paid by unauthorized out-of-state insurers. (Effective
from August 6, 2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 358 gradually reduces insurance premium tax rates for life, vehicle, and other property and
casualty lines of insurance from 2.0% in CY 2015 to 1.7% in CY 2021 and every subsequent year (see Table 2). The
legislation replaces the schedule enacted under Laws 2015, Chapter 220, which gradually lowered rates from 2.0%
in CY 2015 to 1.7% in CY 2026 and every subsequent year. Relative to Laws 2015, Chapter 220, the legislation is
estimated to reduce insurance premium tax collections to the General Fund by $(3.0) million in FY 2017, followed
by further decreases of $(4.1) million in FY 2018 and $(4.3) million in FY 2019. Relative to a 2.0% tax rate, the
reduced 1.7% rate is estimated to decrease revenues by $(27.2) million in FY 2022, once the 6-year phase-in under
Laws 2016, Chapter 358 is completed. (Effective from August 6, 2016)

Laws 2016, Chapter 360 eliminates a December 31, 2019 deadline for claiming New Employment Tax Credits
against insurance premium taxes. The ACA may authorize new credits through June 30, 2017. Given a maximum
5-year schedule for claiming credits (see New Employment Tax Credit for more information), Laws 2016, Chapter
360 effectively extends the last year the credit can be claimed against insurance premium taxes from TY 2019 to TY
2021. The change conforms the insurance premium tax to the individual and corporate income tax treatment of
the credit. (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2016)

2015 LAWS
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Laws 2015, Chapter 8 requires DOI to report to the Directors of JLBC and the Governor’s Office of Strategic
Planning and Budgeting (OSPB) the amount of insurance premium tax credits that were used during a given fiscal
year, within 3 months of the end of a fiscal year. (Effective from July 3, 2015)

Laws 2015, Chapter 184 provides an exemption from Arizona’s insurance premium retaliatory tax to out-of-state
insurers doing business in Arizona, if the insurer’s home state does not charge retaliatory taxes on Arizona
insurers. Retaliatory taxes are owed by out-of-state insurers to the extent that the sum of insurance premium tax
an insurer pays in Arizona is less than what the sum of taxes would be if the same insurance business were
transacted in the insurer’s home state. The exemption is estimated to reduce General Fund revenue by $(1.5)
million annually, beginning in FY 2016. (Effective from January 1, 2016)

Laws 2015, Chapter 220 gradually reduces the insurance premium tax rate from 2.0% in CY 2015 to 1.7% in CY
2026 and subsequent years. The rate reduction applies to life, vehicle, and other property and casualty lines of
insurance. The law is estimated to reduce insurance premium tax collections to the General Fund by $(1.3) million
in FY 2017 and an additional $(0.2) million in FY 2018. The revenue loss is estimated to grow to $(35.2) million in
FY 2027, once the rate is reduced to 1.7% in CY 2026. (Effective from July 3, 2015)

2014 LAWS

Laws 2014, Chapter 168 changes a requirement for the New Employment Tax Credit program by providing that
second and third year credits may be claimed irrespective of whether the same employee remains employed as
long as the employer replaces the vacant position with another qualified employee within 90 days. (Effective
retroactively from January 1, 2014)

2013 LAWS

Laws 2013, Chapter 181 exempts non-profit military mutual aid associations from statutes regulating insurers,
including insurance premium tax statutes. (Effective from September 13, 2013)

Laws 2013, 1%t Special Session, Chapter 10 expands Medicaid coverage for adults up to 133% of the federal
poverty level, beginning January 1, 2014. Premiums paid to insure additional enrollees are estimated to increase
insurance premium revenues to the General Fund by $7.3 million in FY 2014, $34.2 million in FY 2015, and $36.4
million in FY 2016. (Effective from September 12, 2013)

2012 LAWS

Laws 2012, Chapter 3 made conforming changes and deletes obsolete language for the New Employment Tax
Credit. (Contained various effective dates)

Laws 2012, Chapter 343 provided several modifications to the New Employment Tax Credit. The bill removes the
cap of 400 new workers per year per company for the credit and adds equipment to the acceptable definitions for
capital investment. An ending date of December 31, 2019 was also added to the credit. Additionally, the bill
requires an interested business to obtain preapproval from the ACA so that all 3 years of credits are covered. Also,
the bill requires that all capital investment be incurred and new qualified employment positions be filled within 12
months after the start of the required capital investment. No credits are allowed to be claimed until both
requirements are met. If the requirements are met, the business is allowed to claim first year credits for 3 years
beginning in the taxable year in which the capital and employment requirements are met. Lastly, the bill provided
some clarifying language regarding the definition of new employees. (Effective from January 1, 2013)

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2012 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/18taxbook/18taxbook.pdf.

-158 -


http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/18taxbook/inspremiumtax.pdf

OTHER GENERAL FUND REVENUE SOURCES



BINGO LICENSE AND LIEU TAX

DESCRIPTION

The bingo license and lieu tax consists of a license fee charged to qualified operators of bingo games and a bingo
tax assessed on the receipts from bingo games. There are 3 license classifications for bingo operators based on the
amount of gross receipts. The license fee and tax rate vary by classification, with a maximum tax rate of 2% of
gross receipts. All bingo games in Arizona must be conducted by a licensed person. The Department of Revenue
serves as the licensing authority in the state. The tax is in lieu of the transaction privilege tax.

DISTRIBUTION

All bingo tax revenue, administrative receipts, license fees, penalties and interest collections are deposited in the
state General Fund [A.R.S. § 5-407H].

Table 1
COLLECTIONS

Fiscal Year General Fund Fiscal Year General Fund
2018 $473,625 2008 $558,330
2017 $486,660 2007 $619,387
2016 $476,079 2006 $623,480
2015 $507,211 2005 $610,055
2014 $521,583 2004 $624,501
2013 $519,998 2003 $626,770
2012 $508,145 2002 $629,680
2011 $504,905 2001 $634,384
2010 $520,655 2000 $677,036
2009 $531,588 1999 $717,830

SOURCE: Department of Revenue, Annual Report.

WHO PAYS

The license fee and lieu tax is paid by persons and organizations that have been licensed by the Department of
Revenue to conduct the game of bingo [A.R.S. § 5-403 and 5-407H].

REVENUE BASE

Licenses. A flat fee and a percentage of adjusted gross receipts or gross receipts are charged for bingo licenses,
license renewals and games, depending on the license classification. Class A licenses are taxed on adjusted gross
receipts, while Class B and Class C licenses are taxed on gross receipts. Adjusted gross receipts means gross
receipts minus prize money paid [A.R.S. § 5-414].

License Classifications. There are 3 license classes based on the bingo game's gross receipts per year [A.R.S. § 5-
413]:

e (lass A License. Bingo games for which the gross receipts do not exceed $15,600 per year. This license cannot
be issued to persons holding a liquor license unless it is a club license. The reporting period is 1 year
coinciding with the license's term.

e C(lass B License. Bingo games for which gross receipts do not exceed $300,000 per year. There are 4 reporting
periods coinciding with the quarters of the license's term.
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e C(lass C License. Bingo games for which gross receipts exceed $300,000 per year. There are 12 reporting
periods coinciding with each month of the license's term.

RATE

The following fees and tax are assessed for the different license classes [A.R.S. § 5-414]:

Local Governing
License Class Body Fee License Fee  Bingo Tax
A S5 S10 2.5% of Adjusted Gross Receipts
B $25 S50 1.5% of Gross Receipts
C $50 $200 2.0% of Gross Receipts
PAYMENT SCHEDULE

License Fee Due Date. The license fee, which is non-refundable, is due and paid at the time of application.
Licenses expire 1 year from the issue date and must be renewed annually [A.R.S. § 5-403].

Bingo Tax. The tax is due at the time of each financial report submitted by the licensee according to the above-
described schedule for the corresponding license class [A.R.S. § 5-4071].

License Fee Collection. The initial application for license is submitted to the local governing body along with the
one-time local governing body fee and the license fee. The license fee and an original or certified copy of the
application must be received by the Department of Revenue before a license is issued. Subsequent renewal fees,
which are the same amount as the license fee, are paid to the Department of Revenue. A 30-day grace period
from the expiration date is given for renewal with a penalty equal to the license fee; otherwise after such period a
licensee must reapply for a new license [A.R.S. § 5-403].

The Department of Revenue collects the tax [A.R.S. § 5-407H].
IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2012.

There were no changes enacted to this tax from 2012 to 2016 and 2018.

2017 LAWS

Laws 2017, Chapter 60 requires bingo licensees to file tax revenue reports electronically with the Department of
Revenue beginning January 1, 2020, or when the Department of Revenue has established an electronic filing

program, whichever is later.

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2012 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/18taxbook/18taxbk.pdf.
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BOULDER CANYON PROJECTS - IN LIEU PAYMENTS

DESCRIPTION

These are payments made by the United States or its agencies or instrumentalities to the State of Arizona in lieu of
taxes from the proceeds of any hydroelectric power development (“Boulder Canyon Projects”) on the Colorado
River [A.R.S. § 45-1331A].

DISTRIBUTION
Two-thirds of payments received are dedicated to the state General Fund. The remaining one-third of payments

received are placed in a special fund of the county in which the hydroelectric power development is located and
are used for recreational facilities, access roads, and public works [A.R.S. § 45-1331].

Table 1
COLLECTIONS

Fiscal Year General Fund Fiscal Year General Fund
2018 $200,000 2008 $200,000
2017 $200,000 2007 $200,000
2016 $200,000 2006 $200,000
2015 $200,000 2005 $200,000
2014 $200,000 2004 $200,000
2013 $200,000 2003 $200,000
2012 $200,000 2002 $200,000
2011 $200,000 2001 $200,000
2010 $200,000 2000 $200,000
2009 $200,000 1999 $200,000

SOURCE: State Treasurer’s Office. Total collections from Boulder Canyon Projects are

derived by summing the payments to the state General Fund and to Mohave County.

WHO PAYS
Department of the Interior - Bureau of Reclamation.
REVENUE BASE AND RATE

These are lump sum payments received from the Federal Government in lieu of taxes on the proceeds from the
Boulder Canyon Projects.

PAYMENT SCHEDULE
Federal payments are normally made in June of each year.
IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2012.

There were no changes enacted to this tax in the period from 2012 to 2018.

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2012 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/18taxbook/18taxbk.pdf.
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COMMERCIAL NUCLEAR GENERATING STATION ASSESSMENT

DESCRIPTION

The commercial nuclear generating station assessment is levied on each consortium of public service corporations
engaged in operating a commercial nuclear generating station. In effect, only the Palo Verde nuclear generating
station is assessed by this law. Collection amounts are used by the state to develop emergency response

capabilities for accidents caused at a commercial nuclear generating station.

The assessment is equal to the

amount appropriated by the Legislature from the Nuclear Emergency Management Fund for nuclear emergency

response.

DISTRIBUTION

Through 2017, monies collected from the commercial nuclear generating station assessment were deposited in the
General Fund. Laws 2017, Chapter 43 redirects these monies to be deposited directly into the Nuclear Emergency

Management Fund (NEMF) [A.R.S. § 26-306.01D] beginning in FY 2018.

Table 1
COLLECTIONS
Fiscal Year General Fund
2018 S0
2017 $2,503,140
2016 $2,412,474
2015 $2,404,010
2014 $2,269,086
2013 $2,153,517
2012 $1,782,028
2011 $1,812,420
2010 $1,569,091
2009 $1,523,108
2008 $1,440,492
2007 $1,367,248
2006 $1,198,087
2005 $1,168,550
2004 $1,036,085
2003 $1,012,992
2002 $940,611
2001 $924,778
2000 $945,935
1999 $926,814
SOURCE: Department of Revenue, Annual Reports

NEMF
$2,526,277
$0
$0
$0
SO
SO
$0
$0
$0
$0
$0
$0
SO
S0
$0
$0
$0
$0
$0
SO

WHO PAYS

The assessment is paid by each consortium of public service corporations and municipal corporations engaged in

constructing or operating a commercial nuclear generating station [A.R.S. § 26-306.01D].

assessment is only paid by the Palo Verde nuclear plant.
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Commercial Nuclear Generating Station Assessment

REVENUE BASE AND RATE

Pursuant to Laws 2017, Chapter 43, the amount of the assessment is equal to the biennial legislative appropriation
from the Nuclear Emergency Management Fund, plus an additional 10% per year for interest [A.R.S. § 26-306.01D].
However, any unexpended monies in the Nuclear Emergency Management Fund at the end of each fiscal year are
used to offset the assessment in future years [A.R.S. § 26-306.02B]. The assessments are used to develop,
maintain, and support the state plan for responding to accidents at a commercial nuclear generating station [A.R.S.
§ 26-306.01A].

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

The assessment is due to the Department of Revenue each year on the date that the appropriation to the Nuclear
Emergency Management Fund becomes available for expenditure. If the assessment is not paid on this date,
interest is charged at the rate of 10% per year until payment is received. If a consortium fails to pay the
assessment within 1 year, the Legislature may require the Director of Emergency Management to notify the United
States Nuclear Regulatory Commission [A.R.S. § 26-306.01D&E].

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2012.

There were no changes enacted to the assessment in 2012, 2014, 2016, and 2018.
2017 LAWS

Laws 2017, Chapter 43 directs the assessment fees to be deposited in the Nuclear Emergency Management Fund
rather than the General Fund. These monies will now be appropriated directly from the Nuclear Emergency
Management Fund. Chapter 43 also levies an assessment of $2,503,140 in FY 2018 and $2,526,277 in FY 2019.
(Effective March 22, 2017)

The following statutory changes levied biennial assessments against each consortium of public service corporations
and municipal corporations engaged in constructing or operating a commercial nuclear generating station. The
assessment amounts were then appropriated from the state General Fund to the Nuclear Emergency Management
Fund to develop and maintain the state response plan for an accident at a commercial nuclear generating station.
The monies were allocated to various entities, including the Department of Emergency and Military Affairs, the
Radiation Regulatory Agency, Maricopa County, and the Town of Buckeye.

Laws 2017, Chapter 313 transferred the responsibilities of the Arizona Radiation Regulatory Agency (ARRA) to the
Department of Health Services (DHS) effective January 1, 2018. As a result, a portion of ARRA's FY 2018 NEMF
appropriation and the entirety of ARRA's FY 2019 NEMF appropriation of $789,663 and 5.5 FTE Positions was
transferred to the DHS.

2015 LAWS

Laws 2015, Chapter 132 |evies an assessment of $2,404,010 in FY 2016 and $2,412,474 in FY 2017. (Effective April
1, 2015)

2013 LAWS

Laws 2013, Chapter 13 levies an assessment of $2,153,517 in FY 2014 and $2,269,086 in FY 2015. (Effective March
28,2013)

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2012 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/18taxbook/18taxbk.pdf.
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UNCLAIMED PROPERTY COLLECTIONS

DESCRIPTION

Unclaimed property includes intangible personal property such as traveler’s checks, money orders, stocks or other
equity interest, principal on debt, demand or savings deposits, customer credits, insurance settlements, property
received or held by a court, wages, retirement accounts, and other miscellaneous types of property that are
presumed abandoned according to the schedule set out in statute (A.R.S. § 44-302). Unclaimed property also
includes tangible property held in a safe deposit box which remains unclaimed after the expiration of the lease on
the box (A.R.S. § 44-303). Property is presumed abandoned and therefore unclaimed after it is held for an
extended period of time with no owner contact and a “good faith” effort has been made to locate the owner.
Abandoned property is transferred to the Department of Revenue (DOR) from many holders, including banks,
credit unions, corporations, utilities, insurance companies, governmental entities, and retailers. DOR also
establishes and maintains records of escheated estates. An escheated estate is created when a person dies
without leaving a will and has no known heirs; the property reverts to the state after 5 years.

DOR acts as custodian of the property and administers a program to locate the owners. Once reported to DOR,
unclaimed property is available for refund for 35 years after the last day of the fiscal year in which DOR receives
the unclaimed property. Statute requires businesses and other organizations to review their records each year to
determine whether they hold any funds, securities, or other property that are unclaimed for the statutory
abandonment period. Holders file an annual report and transfer the property to the state. The holding period
before property is considered unclaimed varies by type of property. If the properties received by DOR remain
unclaimed within a specified time period, the properties are sold by DOR with the proceeds distributed to a
number of state funds.

Although the collection and sale of unclaimed property held by the DOR does not constitute a tax, monies derived
from this activity represent a significant state revenue source.

DISTRIBUTION

Monies from the collection and sale of unclaimed property are deposited in the non-appropriated Estate and
Unclaimed Property Fund administered by DOR. DOR retains not less than $100,000 to pay allowed claims while
the state attempts to locate abandoned property owners. Revenues from the sale of escheated estates are
deposited in the Escheated Estates Fund.

Monies received by DOR from the collection and sale of unclaimed properties and escheated estates are
distributed as follows:

e Monies derived from unclaimed victim restitution payments are deposited in the Victim Compensation and
Assistance Fund (VCAF) [A.R.S. § 44-313C and A.R.S. § 41-2407A].

e Monies from unclaimed shares and dividends of any corporation incorporated under the laws of Arizona,
escheated estates, and unclaimed property in a self-storage unit are deposited in the Permanent State School
Fund (PSSF) [A.R.S. § 44-313B, § 37-521A, § 12-885B, § 33-1704G].

The remaining monies are distributed as follows:

e The first $2.0 million in unclaimed property collections are deposited into the Seriously Mentally Ill Housing
Trust Fund.

e The next $2.5 million are deposited into the Housing Trust Fund.

e The next $24.5 million are deposited into the DOR Administrative Fund to cover DOR’s administrative costs,
including unclaimed property contract auditors and the handling, publicizing, and selling of abandoned
property.

e All remaining monies are redirected to the General Fund.
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Table 1
Unclaimed Property Distributions
Housing DOR

Fiscal General Trust Admin. Racing AHCCCS

Year Fund Fund Fund Funds VCAF v UAF ¥ PSF ¥ SMIHTF ¢ Total
2018 $81,318,200  $2,500,000 $24,500,000 $0 $643,600 $0 $233,800  $2,000,000 $111,195,600
2017 $48,834,800  $2,500,000 $24,500,000 $0 $631,200 $0 $650,800  $2,000,000 $79,116,800
2016 $65,996,200 $2,500,000 $24,500,000 S0 $716,800 S0 $273,600  $2,000,000 $95,986,600
2015 $54,052,200 $2,509,300 $24,500,000 S0 $683,200 S0 $737,100  $2,000,000 $84,481,800
2014 $49,186,400 $2,511,100 $24,500,000 S0 $864,600 S0 $234,600  $2,000,000 $79,296,700
2013 $60,899,600 $2,500,000 $25,014,700 ¥ S0 $612,500 S0 $356,900  $2,000,000 $91,383,700
20129 $45,840,400  $2,500,000 $24,500,000 $0 $100,500 $0 $140,400  $2,000,000 $75,081,300
2011 $49,120,900  $10,500,000 $24,500,000 $0 $1,143,800 $0 $59,100 0 $85,323,800
20107  $101,669,100 $10,500,000 $24,500,000 S0 $739,400 S0 $20,600 0 $137,429,100
2009 $9,526,600 $28,554,100 $10,383,300 $144,600 S0 $9,100 0 $48,617,700
2008 v $58,020,600  $33,684,300 $12,248,800 $173,100 $26,300 $11,200 0 $104,164,300
2007 w $12,346,200  $40,972,900 $14,899,200 $1,250,300  $2,550,700 $408,600 0 $72,427,900
2006 w $22,825,000 $26,004,600 $9,456,200 $128,300 $855,500 $408,700 0 $59,678,300
2005 w $30,715,200  $23,942,700 $8,706,400 $299,600 $1,664,500 $426,100 0 $65,754,500
2004 $8,044,000 $20,708,300 $7,530,300 $547,300  $1,308,000 $397,200 0 $38,535,200
2003 $6,745,700  $17,950,700 $6,527,500 $2,128,000 $1,119,000 $214,100 0 $34,685,000
2002 $7,656,000 $19,761,600 $7,186,000 S0 $868,400 S0 0 $35,472,000
2001 $4,309,800 $11,733,800 $4,266,900 $17,000 $905,000 $77,800 0 $21,310,300
2000 $4,208,700 $11,421,700 $4,153,300 S0 $639,100 $13,000 0 $20,435,800
1999 $2,084,500 $6,791,800 $2,465,200 S0 $818,400 $217,300 0 $12,594,500

1/  Victim Compensation and Assistance Fund distributions became effective January 1, 2001, with the implementation of Laws 2001, Chapter 146.

2/ Utility Assistance Fund.

3/ Permanent School Fund.

4/  Arizona Health Care Cost Containment System Seriously Mentally Ill Housing Trust Fund.

5/ Includes one-time revenues of $514,700 from General Fund Unclaimed Property collections to cover retention payments and rent expenses.

6/ In FY 2012 the first $2 million in unclaimed property collections were deposited into the Department of Health Services Seriously Mentally Ill Housing

Trust Fund, the next $2.5 million were deposited into the Housing Trust Fund, the next $24.5 million into the Department of Revenue Administration
Fund, and all the remaining monies were deposited in the General Fund. Transfers to the VCAF, UAF, and PSF continue to be distributed as under
current law.

In FY 2010 and FY 2011, the first $10.5 million in unclaimed property collections were deposited in the Housing Trust Fund, the next $24.5 million

were deposited in the DOR Administrative Fund, and all remaining monies were deposited in the General Fund. Transfers to VCAF, UAF and PSF were

made in accordance with statute.

8/ Laws 2009, 4™ Special Session, Chapter 3 as permanent law, accelerated by 2 years the holding periods for all property types to be presumed
abandoned and therefore unclaimed. Chapter 3 also revised the holding period for traveler’s checks from 15 to 3 years as well as the holding period
for money orders from 7 to 3 years. This was estimated to generate one-time additional revenue of $39.4 million to the General Fund in FY 2010.
Actual FY 2010 collections totaled $83.7 million, or $44.3 million more than anticipated. Laws 2010, Chapters 102 and 119 restored the holding
period for traveler’s checks to 15 years as well as the holding periods for stocks, principal and interest on debt, and any dividend, profit distribution,
redemption, payment on principals or other sum held by a business association for its shareholders to 3 years.

9/ Laws 2007, Chapter 260 as session law, allowed DOR to sell unclaimed securities upon their receipt with the requirement that all proceeds from the
sales of these securities in FY 2008 be deposited into the General Fund, instead of the statutory split among the General Fund, Department of
Housing, and Department of Racing. This was estimated to generate increased revenue of $45 million to the General Fund in FY 2008; the actual
amount was $47.2 million.

10/ Laws 2007, Chapter 218 eliminated the Utility Assistance Fund and required a utility to transmit all abandoned utility deposits to a qualified fuel fund
entity for the purpose of assisting low-income residents in making utility deposits or owner repairs or replacement of utility-related appliances or

S

systems.
11/ FY 2005 - FY 2007 General Fund distributions include unclaimed monies arising from the cases of Ladewig v. State of Arizona and Kerr v. State of
Arizona.

SOURCE: DOR, Annual Reports. Figures are net of refunds and agency administrative expenses.

Prior to FY 2012, the first $10.5 million in unclaimed property collections were deposited into the Housing Trust
Fund. The next $24.5 million in collections were deposited into the DOR Administrative Fund and the remaining
monies were deposited into General Fund.

Prior to FY 2010, 55% of all remaining monies were transferred to the Housing Trust Fund, 25% to the General
Fund, and the remaining 20% was distributed among 8 funds administered by the Department of Racing.
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REVENUE BASE

Property is presumed abandoned and, therefore, unclaimed after it has been held for an extended period of time
with no owner contact and a “good faith” effort has been made to locate the owner. The length of time for
property to be presumed abandoned varies depending on the classification of property. The property
classifications and presumption of abandonment timeframes are as follows [A.R.S. § 44-302, A.R.S. § 38-722, A.R.S.
§ 12-881]:

1 Year

Life or endowment insurance policy or an annuity that is payable on proof of death - 1 year after the insured
has attained, or would have attained, the limiting age on the mortality table on which the reserve is based.

Life or endowment insurance policy or an annuity not matured by actual proof of death is deemed matured - 1
year after the insured has attained, or would have attained, the limiting age on the mortality table on which
the reserve is based.

Property that is distributable by a business association or financial organization in a course of dissolution — 1
year after the property becomes distributable.

Property that is received by a court as proceeds of a class action suit and that is not distributed pursuant to
the judgment - 1 year after the date the court distributed the proceeds.

Wages or other labor compensation - 1 year from payment date.

2 Years

Property that is held by a court or governmental entity - 2 years after the property becomes distributable.
Property in any individual retirement account or defined benefit - 2 years after date of the required
distribution.

Excess proceeds from a trustee sale deposited with the county treasurer pursuant to A.R.S. § 33-812 - 2 years
from the date of deposit.

3 Years

Money Order - 3 years after issuance.

Any stock or other equity interest in a business association or financial organization, including security
entitlements - 3 years after the most recent unclaimed dividend, stock split, or other distribution.

The principal and interest on corporate bonds - 3 years after the maturity and after the last interest payment
date.

Demand, savings, or time deposit and any interest or dividends accrued by the accounts - 3 years after
maturity.

Credits owed to a retail customer - 3 years after the obligation accrued.

Life or endowment insurance policy or an annuity that has matured or terminated - 3 years after the
obligation to pay arose.

Check, or similar instrument, to include cashier's and certified checks - 3 years after the check or instrument
was payable.

Dividend, profit, distribution, interest, redemption, payment on principal or other sum held or owed by a
business to shareholders, bondholders, or other security holders who have not claimed it - 3 years after the
date prescribed for payment or delivery.

All other property not otherwise specified - 3 years after the owner's rights to demand the property or after
the obligation to pay or distribute the property arises, whichever occurs first.

Tangible property held in safe deposit box - 3 years after expiration of safe deposit box lease or rental period.
Monies deposited into the Arizona State Retirement System (ASRS) Trust Fund established by A.R.S. § 38-712
and the Long-Term Disability (LTD) Trust Fund established by A.R.S. § 38-797.02 - Monies in both the ASRS and
LTD Trust Funds are presumed abandoned if the apparent owner has not communicated in writing with ASRS
and has not otherwise indicated an interest in the monies for the 3-year period following the required
beginning date of distributions.

Certificates of Deposit and resultant interest — 3 years after maturity.

5 Years

Escheated estate - 5 years without having identified an heir.
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15 Years
e Traveler’s Check - 15 years after issuance.

Property that is not covered under the Arizona Unclaimed Property Act includes gift certificates, electronic gift
cards, nonrefundable tickets, prepaid phone cards, frequent flyer miles, stored value cards, merchandise points
and business accounts of less than $50 [A.R.S. § 44-301].

A.R.S. § 44-304 provides further guidance on how to determine whether property is abandoned.
HOW REVENUES ARE COLLECTED

Holders of unclaimed property include banks, credit unions, corporations, utilities, insurance companies,
governmental entities, and retailers. Each institution is required, except for state agencies, to annually report to
DOR unclaimed property in its possession. Life insurance companies are required to file the report for each
reporting year before May 1 of the succeeding year; all other holders of property presumed abandoned file the
report before November 1 and the report covers the last 12 months before July 1 of that year. For the prior fiscal
year, county treasurers must file the report on or before November 1. State agencies that hold monies for the
payment of voided warrants report no later than the 10" day of each month [A.R.S. § 44-307]. In FY 2010 only,
Laws 2009, 4t Special Session, Chapter 3 required holders of property presumed abandoned to file the report
before June 1, 2010 for the period that covered the last 12 months before July 1, 2009.

Upon filing the report with DOR, the holder of unclaimed property shall pay or deliver it to DOR. On payment or
delivery of property to DOR, the State of Arizona assumes custody and responsibility for the property. A holder
who pays or delivers property to the department in good faith is relieved of all liability with respect to the property
that arises after the payment or delivery [A.R.S. § 44-310].

Statute requires DOR to publish a notice at least semiannually of abandoned property that has been paid or
delivered to the department. The notice must be published in a newspaper circulated in each county and also
published via social media, the radio or another means determined by DOR. DOR’s website must contain
information about abandoned property no later than November 30 of the year following the year in which
abandoned property was paid or delivered to the department [A.R.S. § 44-309].

Unclaimed securities may be sold upon receipt (for more detail, refer to Laws 2007, Chapter 260). Within 3 years
after receiving abandoned property other than securities, the department must sell the unclaimed properties to
the highest bidder at a public sale. Before conducting a sale, the department publishes a notice at least 3 weeks
before the sale in the county in which the sale will occur. A purchaser of property at a sale conducted by the
department takes the property free of all claims of the owner or previous holder and of all persons claiming
through or under the owner or previous holder. [A.R.S. § 44-312].

Securities that are listed on an established stock exchange are sold at prices prevailing on the exchange at the time
of the sale. DOR may sell all other securities in the over-the-counter market at prices prevailing at the time of the
sale. Except in a case of intentional misconduct or malfeasance by the department, a person claiming their
property is not entitled to receive any appreciation in property value that occurred after the delivery to DOR
[A.R.S. § 44-312].

Any person who claims property that was paid or delivered to DOR may file a claim to recover the property or its
monetary value at the time the property was sold. Within 90 days after a claim is filed the department is required
to allow or deny the claim. If the claim is denied, the department informs the claimant of the reasons for the
denial and specifies what additional evidence is required before the claim will be allowed. Within 30 days after a
claim is allowed the department must deliver the property or pay the net proceeds of a sale of the property to the
claimant [A.R.S. § 44-317]. Table 2 displays refunds of unclaimed properties to its owners.
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Table 2
Unclaimed Property Refunds
Fiscal Year Refund Fiscal Year Refund

2018 $64,385,400 2008 $27,859,500
2017 $57,030,300 2007 $22,541,000
2016 $54,884,200 2006 $17,693,700
2015 $42,673,900 2005 $16,241,200
2014 $34,059,200 2004 $10,093,800
2013 $40,013,500 2003 $10,333,100
2012 $40,049,500 2002 $11,903,200
2011 $34,677,600 2001 $15,764,200
2010 $24,207,900 2000 $9,881,800
2009 $22,267,200 1999 $8,135,400

SOURCE: DOR, Annual Reports.

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2012. There were no changes enacted in 2013, 2014 and 2015.

2018 LAWS

Laws 2018, Chapter 50 limits the time window in which a person can receive a refund for unclaimed property from
DOR to 35 years after the final day of the fiscal year in which DOR receives the unclaimed property. Prior to
Chapter 50, unclaimed property was available for refund to the owners or their heirs indefinitely. Chapter 50 also
requires DOR to publish a notice with the unclaimed property website via social media, radio or another means
determined by DOR. (These changes take effect retroactively to December 31, 2017.)

Laws 2018, Chapter 59 exempts patronage capital credits and fees issued by electric cooperatives from state
unclaimed property statutes, and allows the cooperative to use the abandoned property as specified by the
cooperative's bylaws.

2017 LAWS

Laws 2017, Chapter 229 requires county treasurers to distribute unclaimed victim restitution payments to the
Victim Compensation and Assistance Fund (VCAF). Statute requires abandoned monies held by a Justice of the
Peace be transferred to the county treasurer if unclaimed after 2 years. After 1 year without claim, the country
treasurer deposits victim restitution payments in the VCAF and all other unclaimed monies in the county general
fund. Previously, all monies, including victim restitution payments, were transferred to county general funds.

2016 LAWS

Laws 2016, Chapter 239 requires DOR to establish procedures and metrics to monitor and evaluate contracted
unclaimed property auditors who operate on a contingency fee basis. The bill also requires DOR to provide holders
of unclaimed property with a notice of rights, which must state that DOR makes a final decision regarding
recommendations made by the contracted auditors, as well as information on appeals and complaint procedures
and department contact information. Additionally, the bill requires DOR to issue a Request for Information by
January 1, 2017 to explore the feasibility of contracting for unclaimed property audits on a non-contingency basis.

DOR currently contracts with private sector auditors to identify unclaimed property that has not been reported by

businesses. The majority of these audits involve life insurance companies, whose files are checked against the
Social Security Administration’s Master Death File to identify potential unclaimed life insurance benefits. These
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auditors currently operate under contingency contracts, retaining between 10.25% and 12.5% of the value of
property that they recover.

2012 LAWS

Laws 2012, Chapter 217 allows certificates of deposit and the resultant interest to be declared abandoned 3 years
after maturity.

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2012 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/18taxbook/18taxbk.pdf.
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AIRCRAFT LICENSE TAX

DESCRIPTION

The aircraft license tax is a tax imposed on aircraft based and registered in the state [A.R.S. § 28-8335].

DISTRIBUTION

Effective August 9, 2017, Laws 2017, Chapter 312 provides that monies received from the aircraft license tax be

deposited as follows [A.R.S. § 28-8345]:

e  50% to the state General Fund.

e 35% to the State Aviation Fund for use in the construction, development and improvement of airports.

e 9.5% to counties based on proportion of total state population.
e 5.5% to incorporated cities and towns based on proportion of total state population.

Table 1
COLLECTIONS UNDER LAWS 2017, CHAPTER 312
Fiscal Year General Fund  Aviation Fund Counties Cities and Towns Total
2018 ¥ $3,443,111 $2,410,178 $654,191 $378,742 $6,886,222

1/ Includes collections from August 9, 2017 to June 30, 2018.
SOURCE: Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT), Office of Financial Planning.

Prior to Chapter 312, all monies received from the aircraft license tax were deposited in the State Aviation Fund, as

reflected in Table 2.

Table 2
COLLECTIONS PRIOR TO LAWS 2017, CHAPTER 312
Fiscal Year Aviation Fund Fiscal Year Aviation Fund
2018 Y $146,117 2008 $7,413,608
2017 $7,590,999 2007 $7,748,524
2016 $7,937,596 2006 $5,980,022
2015 $6,986,349 ¥ 2005 $5,577,258
2014 $7,326,085 2004 $5,748,210
2013 $7,374,472 2003 $4,360,187
2012 $8,802,691 2002 $3,543,819
2011 $7,733,417 2001 $3,176,180
2010 $7,582,645 2000 $3,094,727
2009 $6,900,648 1999 $2,365,498

1/ Includes collections from July 1, 2017 to August 9, 2017.
2/ Does not include a 13" month fiscal year adjustment.
SOURCE: Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT), Office of Financial Planning.

WHO PAYS

The tax is paid by owners of aircraft registered in the state, unless an exemption is provided [A.R.S. § 28-8324].
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REVENUE BASE AND RATE

The revenue base is aircraft based in the state and registered with the Arizona Department of Transportation
(ADOT). ADOT is responsible for determining the fair market value of such aircraft each year as established by the
dealer price guides or other recognized reliable source of information [A.R.S. § 28-8342].

The following are exempt from the aircraft license tax:

(1) Regularly scheduled aircraft operated by an airline company for hire [A.R.S. § 28-8322].

(2) Nonresident-owned aircraft not used for intrastate commercial activities and not based in Arizona for more
than 90 days per year [A.R.S. § 28-8322].

(3) Aircraft operated exclusively in the public service by the United States Government, the state, a political
subdivision, or the Civil Air Patrol [A.R.S. § 28-8323].

The tax rate is 0.5% of the average fair market value of the aircraft, except that in no case shall the tax be less than
$20 per year unless an exemption has been established [A.R.S. § 28-8335]. A nonresident who bases an aircraft in
Arizona for more than 90 days but less than 210 days in any calendar year and is not engaged in intrastate
commercial activity is subject to a tax rate equal to 0.1% of the average fair market value [A.R.S. § 28-8336].

The license tax for aircraft in storage or under repair is $20 per aircraft [A.R.S. § 28-8337]. The license tax for
salvaged aircraft that is in storage or being restored is S5 per aircraft [A.R.S. § 28-8338]. The license tax for
antique, classic, warbird, glider, experimental, homebuilt, or balloon aircraft is $20 per aircraft [A.R.S. § 28-8339].
The license tax for manufacturer’s aircraft is $20 per aircraft [A.R.S. § 28-8340]. The license tax for maintenance
aircraft owned by a nonresident is $20 per aircraft [A.R.S. § 28-8341].

The license tax for aircraft that was registered for the first time after the beginning of a calendar year is prorated
[A.R.S. § 28-8324].

PAYMENT SCHEDULE
All aircraft based in the state, except those for which exemptions were provided, must be registered with ADOT
within 60 days after the aircraft was brought into the state. The aircraft registration must be renewed each year

on or before the last day of February [A.R.S. § 28-8322].

The registration fee is $5 per year [A.R.S. § 28-8325]. If the registration requirement is not met, then a penalty of
$25 for the first month and $5 for each succeeding month of delinquency will be assessed [A.R.S. § 28-8329].

The aircraft license tax is payable to ADOT upon initial registration and annually by the last day of February [A.R.S.
§ 28-8335].

Owners of aircraft in storage or salvaged aircraft must notify ADOT within 10 days of the date the aircraft is
returned to use and then pay the appropriate license tax, if any, on a pro rata basis [A.R.S. § 28-8337 and § 28-
8338].

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2012.

There were no changes enacted to this tax in the period from 2012 through 2016 and 2018.
2017 LAWS
Laws 2017, Chapter 312 modifies aircraft license tax distribution to account for a change in jet fuel tax distribution.

A December 2014 federal policy change requires aviation fuel taxes to be used only for airport-related purposes.
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Prior law distributed 40% of jet fuel excise tax revenue to the Transaction Privilege Tax (TPT) distribution base and
60% to the state General Fund, and 100% of jet fuel use tax collections to the state General Fund. (For more
details on the jet fuel taxes, see the Jet Fuel Excise and Use Tax section.) In order to meet compliance with the
federal policy change, Chapter 312 distributes jet fuel tax collections entirely to the State Aviation Fund. To make
this change revenue neutral, Chapter 312 modifies the aircraft license tax distribution to backfill the losses to the
state General Fund and recipients of TPT distribution base funds. (Effective August 9, 2017)

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2012 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/18taxbook/18taxbk.pdf.

-173 -


http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/18taxbook/airlicensetax.pdf

FLIGHT PROPERTY TAX

DESCRIPTION

The flight property tax is assessed on the value of airline company aircraft operating in Arizona. The tax is in lieu of
ad valorem property taxes on this type of property [A.R.S. § 42-14255].

DISTRIBUTION

Laws 1986, Chapter 369 shifted flight property tax revenues from the General Fund to the Aviation Fund over a
phase-in period of 3 years. Beginning on January 1, 1987, 33% of total tax receipts were deposited in the Aviation
Fund. On the same date the following 2 years, the distribution level to the Aviation Fund increased to 66% and
100%, respectively.

Laws 1997, 1%t Special Session, Chapter 3 changed the distribution of flight property tax revenues so that, starting
in FY 1998, 50% of total proceeds were deposited in the General Fund and the other 50% in the Aviation Fund.

Laws 2003, Chapter 263 provided that, beginning in FY 2005, 100% of flight property tax revenues are deposited in
the Aviation Fund [A.R.S. § 42-14255].

Table 1
COLLECTIONS AND DISTRIBUTION
Fiscal Year General Fund Aviation Fund Total
2018 S0 $13,000,735 $13,000,735
2017 S0 $10,364,980 $10,364,980
2016 S0 $11,114,322 $11,114,322
2015 S0 $9,727,092 $9,727,092
2014 S0 $12,939,012 $12,939,012
2013 S0 $8,084,374 $8,084,374
2012 S0 $10,585,261 $10,585,261
2011 SO $9,709,712 $9,709,712
2010 S0 $9,451,430 $9,451,430
2009 S0 $11,712,920 $11,712,920
2008 S0 $13,821,790 $13,821,790
2007 S0 $15,300,127 $15,300,127
2006 S0 $13,685,936 $13,685,936
2005 S0 $13,180,039 $13,180,039
2004 $6,320,722 $6,320,723 $12,641,445
2003 $6,715,536 $6,026,213 $12,741,749
2002 $6,528,347 $6,528,347 $13,056,694
2001 $6,693,589 $6,693,590 $13,387,179
2000 $6,709,386 $6,709,385 $13,418,771
1999 $7,367,078 $7,489,832 $14,856,910
SOURCE: Department of Transportation, Office of Financial Planning.

WHO PAYS

The tax is paid by airline companies operating within the state [A.R.S. § 42-14255].
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REVENUE BASE AND RATE

The Department of Revenue (DOR) determines the full cash value of flight property by August 31 each year. The
full cash value is the value determined as of the prior January 1 of the valuation year [A.R.S. § 42-14254A]. DOR
establishes the full cash value as follows [A.R.S. § 42-14254B]:

(1) determines the valuation of flight property by fleet type,

(2) determines the valuation of each fleet type by the original cost less depreciation,

(3) computes depreciation using 15-year straight-line depreciation to salvage value, and
(4) allows additional obsolescence if supported by market evidence.

Small flight property that is operated in the state in air commerce is valued at 30% of its original cost less
depreciation [A.R.S. § 42-14254C]. (Small flight property is airline company aircraft with a maximum passenger
capacity of less than 56 seats and a maximum payload capacity of less than 18,000 pounds [A.R.S. § 42-14251].)

Arizona’s share of the total full cash value of flight property is determined by an apportionment formula, which
depends on the number of minutes that flight property is on the ground and on the flight mileage scheduled within
and outside Arizona [A.R.S. § 42-14254D].

Flight property is assessed as Class 5 property [A.R.S. § 42-12005]. The assessment ratio for Class 5 property is
equal to the ratio that the total net assessed valuation of all taxable property for primary and secondary tax
purposes in Class 1 (commercial/industrial) and Class 6, paragraph 3 (military reuse zones), and personal property
in Class 2 (agricultural/non-profit/golf courses) bears to the total limited valuation of such property [A.R.S. § 42-
15005].

As the formulas above suggest, the assessment ratio for Class 5 property may change from one year to the next. In
the period from 1991 to 2018, the assessment ratio has varied between 14% and 26%. The TY 2018 assessment
ratio for this type of property is 14%.

The tax rate equals the sum of the average rates for primary and secondary property taxes in all taxing jurisdictions
of the state in the current year [A.R.S. § 42-14255]. The historical flight property tax rates are shown in Table 2 on
the following page.

The property tax liability is calculated in the same manner as other property (see Property Tax section), i.e., by
multiplying the tax rate by the assessed valuation of the flight property and then dividing the product by 100.

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

The flight property tax is due and payable at the same time as real and personal property [A.R.S. § 42-14255]. This
means that one-half of the tax is due and payable on October 1 of the tax year, unless the total amount of the tax
due is $100 or less, in which case the full amount of the tax is due and delinquent after November 1. The
remaining one-half of the tax is due on March 1 of the year following the tax year and becomes delinquent after
May 1 [A.R.S. § 42-18052]. Both of these payments fall in the same fiscal year.

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2012. There were no changes enacted to this tax from 2012 through 2018.

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2012 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/18taxbook/18taxbk.pdf.
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Table 2
HISTORICAL AVERAGE PROPERTY TAX RATES PER $100 OF ASSESSED VALUATION
Tax Year Sum of Average State Tax Rates Primary Tax Rate Secondary Tax Rate

2017 $12.75 $8.54 $4.21
2016 $12.95 $8.73 $4.22
2015 $12.77 $8.74 $4.03
2014 $12.67 $8.75 $3.92
2013 $12.54 $8.52 $4.02
2012 $11.75 $7.89 $3.87
2011 $10.94 $7.28 $3.67
2010 $9.67 $6.32 $3.35
2009 $9.20 $6.13 $3.07
2008 $9.23 $6.24 $2.99
2007 $10.04 $6.75 $3.29
2006 $10.99 $7.24 $3.75
2005 $11.56 $7.81 $3.75
2004 $11.81 $8.09 $3.72
2003 $12.18 $8.36 $3.82
2002 $12.49 $8.56 $3.93
2001 $12.55 $8.54 $4.01
2000 $12.68 $8.56 $4.12
1999 $12.80 $8.67 $4.13
1998 $12.79 $8.58 $4.21

SOURCE: Arizona Property Tax Rates and Assessed Valuations, published by the Arizona Tax Research

Association (ATRA).
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GAME AND FISH COMMISSION

DESCRIPTION

The Game and Fish Commission may elect to make voluntary contributions to the state, county, municipality,
school district, community college district, or other special taxing district in lieu of property taxes when purchasing
real property within the district [A.R.S. § 17-272A].

DISTRIBUTION
The County Treasurer distributes the monies received to the various taxing jurisdictions in which the property is

located in the same manner as property taxes are distributed (see Distribution under Property Taxes) [A.R.S. § 17-
272E].

Table 1
COLLECTIONS
Fiscal Year Net Collections ¥
2018 $34,867
2017 $22,140
2016 $22,736
2015 $18,127
2014 $16,286
2013 $35,242
2012 $10,776
2011 $11,141
2010 $11,482
2009 $10,799
2008 $10,369
2007 $12,630
2006 $12,382
2005 $12,009
2004 $12,229
2003 $12,485
2002 $12,485
2001 $12,363
2000 $11,910
1999 $11,438
1/ Laws 1996, 7" Special Session, Chapter 2 repealed the state property tax.
Beginning in FY 1998, amounts represent contributions that were collected for
local jurisdictions. Amounts were distributed to local jurisdictions and not
retained by the state.
SOURCE: Arizona Game and Fish Department, Habitat Branch.

WHO PAYS

The Game and Fish Commission may make voluntary contributions instead of paying property taxes if the
commission purchases the following types of real property [A.R.S. § 17-272A]:
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(1)  The property was subject to taxation, or
(2)  The property was exempt from taxation at the time of purchase due to one of the following reasons:

e Held by a charitable organization as parkland and no rent or value was received by the charitable
organization, or

e Held by a charitable organization to preserve and protect scientific, biological, geological, paleontological,
natural, or archaeological resources.

The Game and Fish Commission is not required to make contributions with respect to lands acquired for fish
hatcheries, game farms, firing ranges, reservoir sites, administrative sites, or rights-of-way to fishing waters [A.R.S.
§ 17-272F].

REVENUE BASE AND RATE

The Game and Fish Commission is required to consult with the assessor of the county in which the property is
located and determine the assessed valuation as Class 2 agricultural property. The assessed valuation of the
property cannot be increased from one year to the next by more than 2% [A.R.S. § 17-272B].

The tax rates are the same as those set for real and personal property for agricultural purposes or Class 2 property.
The amount of the contribution is determined by applying the current aggregate property tax rate to the
determined valuation [A.R.S. § 17-272C].

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

The County Treasurer collects the voluntary contributions from the Game and Fish Commission at the same time
and in the same manner as ad valorem property taxes (see Payment Schedule under Property Taxes) [A.R.S. § 17-
272D].

The voluntary contributions may be made by the Game and Fish Commission from the Game, Nongame, Fish and
Endangered Species Fund, the Conservation Development Fund, the Arizona Game and Fish Commission Heritage
Fund, or any other source of monies available to and budgeted by the commission [A.R.S. § 17-272A].

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2012.

There were no changes enacted to this revenue category in 2012 or in the period from 2014 to 2018.
2013 LAWS

Laws 2013, Chapter 197 removed the Waterfowl Conservation Fund from the list of funds from which the
voluntary contributions may be made. (Effective May 7, 2013)

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2012 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/18taxbook/18taxbk.pdf.
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WATERCRAFT REGISTRATION FEE

DESCRIPTION

The Arizona Constitution, Article 9, Section 16 exempts all watercraft registered for operation in the state, except
those owned and operated for commercial purposes, from property taxes. Instead, watercraft is subject to the
watercraft registration fee, which is a fee levied based on the length of a watercraft [A.R.S. § 5-321]. The
watercraft registration fee replaced the former watercraft license tax in FY 2006 (Laws 2005, Chapter 318).

(Statute defines "watercraft" as any boat designed to be propelled by machinery, oars, paddles or wind for
navigation on the water [A.R.S. § 5-301].)

DISTRIBUTION

Each month, watercraft license fee revenues are deposited as follows [A.R.S. § 5-323]:

e 65% of revenues are transferred to the Watercraft Licensing Fund. Such monies are subject to legislative
appropriation. Monies deposited in this fund are used for administration and enforcement of watercraft laws.

e The remaining 35% of revenues are deposited by Arizona Game and Fish Department as follows: (1) 15% to

the State Lake Improvement Fund and (2) 85% to the Law Enforcement and Boating Safety Fund.

Total net collections from the watercraft license fee are shown in the table below.

Table 1
COLLECTIONS
Fiscal Year Net Collections Fiscal Year Net Collections

2018 $4,233,043 2008 $4,955,124
2017 $4,245,613 2007 $5,398,134
2016 $4,217,386 2006 $4,338,741
2015 $4,348,579 2005 $2,317,368
2014 $4,432,379 2004 $1,061,931
2013 $4,146,344 2003 $2,327,090
2012 $4,301,047 2002 $2,259,952
2011 $4,450,746 2001 $2,074,784
2010 $5,120,398 2000 $2,028,111
2009 $5,468,067 1999 $1,735,862

SOURCE: Game and Fish Department

WHO PAYS

The fee is paid by the owner of each watercraft that requires numbering by the state [A.R.S. § 5-321]. Numbering
is required for all undocumented watercraft underway, moored, or anchored on the waters of this state [A.R.S. §
5-322].

REVENUE BASE AND RATE

The watercraft registration fee is levied on watercraft based on 7 different watercraft length ranges [A.R.S. § 5-321
and A.R.S. § 5-327].
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The fees for watercraft are as follows: Registration NBSIF
Twelve feet and less $20 $80
Twelve feet one inch through sixteen feet S22 $88
Sixteen feet one inch through twenty feet S30 $192
Twenty feet one inch through twenty-six feet $35 $224
Twenty-six feet one inch through thirty-nine feet $39 $253
Thirty-nine feet one inch through sixty-four feet S44 $286
Sixty-four feet one inch and over S66 $429

Pursuant to Laws 2012, Chapter 237, residents and nonresidents pay the same boating registration fee. The prior
system of a different fee for residents compared to nonresidents was out of compliance with federal law; however,
Chapter 237 additionally requires nonresidents to pay a boating safety infrastructure fee (NBSIF).

Pursuant to Laws 2013, Chapter 197, the Arizona Game and Fish Commission is authorized to establish by rule new
registration and boating safety infrastructure fees for watercraft owned by residents and non-residents of Arizona.

The commission held public meetings on the proposed new watercraft registration fees, which became effective
January 1, 2014.

Chapter 197 stipulated that the total amount of watercraft registration fees collected in any fiscal year does not
exceed 50% more than the amount appropriated from the Watercraft Licensing Fund in FY 2013 (which was

$4,504,200). Laws 2018, Chapter 103 later repealed that provision.

In addition, owners of motorized watercraft may be charged a fee for the Lower Colorado River Multispecies
Conservation Program (MSCP) [A.R.S. § 5-323].

The main exemptions from the watercraft registration fee are [A.R.S. § 5-322A]:

(1) Foreign watercraft temporarily using the waters of the state.

(2) Military or public vessels of the United States, except recreational type of public vessels.

(3) Watercraft used solely as lifeboats.

(4) Undocumented watercraft operating under a valid temporary certificate.

(5) Documented watercraft numbered in accordance with the regulations of the United States Coast Guard.

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

Watercraft registration fees are due at the time of application for watercraft registration with the Arizona Game
and Fish Department [A.R.S. § 5-321A].

Laws 1982, Chapter 255 authorized the Arizona Game and Fish Commission to establish rules for registering
watercraft on a staggered monthly basis. All registrations expire according to schedules established by the
commission [A.R.S. § 5-321.01].

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2012.

There were no changes enacted to this fee in the period from 2014 through 2017.

2018 LAWS

Laws 2018, Chapter 103 repeals the limitation on watercraft license fees, which capped fee collections at 150% of
the department's FY 2013 appropriation from the Watercraft Licensing Fund.
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2013 LAWS

Laws 2013, Chapter 197 provides that the Arizona Game and Fish Commission shall establish license, permit, tag,
and stamp fees by rule and repealed statutory language relating to fees for licenses, permits, tags, and stamps.
This provision includes the watercraft registration fee and NBSIF. (Effective May 7, 2013)

2012 LAWS

Laws 2012, Chapter 237 eliminated the nonresident boating registration fee, and established the Boating Safety
Infrastructure Fee (NBSIF) to be paid by nonresidents. This change complies with federal law that residents and
nonresidents must pay an equal amount for boating registration fees.

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2012 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/18taxbook/18taxbk.pdf.
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DESCRIPTION

The Government Property Lease Excise Tax (GPLET) was enacted in 1996 (Laws 1996, Chapter 349) to allow cities,
towns, counties and county stadium districts (hereafter referred to as "government lessors") to lease property that
they own to private parties ("prime lessees") for commercial, residential rental, or industrial purposes for at least
30 days [A.R.S. § 42-6201]. GPLET replaced the tax on possessory interests that was repealed in 1995 (for a more
detailed discussion, see Possessory Interest section).

Because the Arizona Constitution exempts federal, state, county, and municipal property from taxation,
government lessors do not have to pay any property taxes. Instead, the prime lessees are required to pay a GPLET
on the building ("government property improvement") that they lease from the government lessor. Unlike the
property tax, GPLET is based on factors other than a property’s assessed value, such as a building’s square footage
and usage.

Grandfather Provisions

Laws 2010, Chapter 321 provided new requirements for all leases subject to GPLET that were entered into on or
after June 1, 2010. The act provided new and higher tax rates, as well as new abatement and reporting
requirements. Additionally, the act grandfathered all leases that were entered into before June 1, 2010, or that
resulted from a development agreement, ordinance, or resolution approved before this date and entered into
within 10 years of such approval. Laws 2017, Chapter 120 provides that for a lease to be grandfathered under the
original GPLET rates, the Department of Revenue (DOR) must determine that such lease is in compliance with the
aforementioned requirement.

A grandfathered lease that is amended after June 1, 2010 continues to be subject to the provisions in effect prior
to Laws 2010, Chapter 321, if all of the following conditions are met: (1) the amendment furthers the purpose of
the original lease, (2) any land added under the amendment is contiguous to the land under the original lease and
does not increase the land area by more than 50%, and (3) any government property improvement added under
the amendment does not increase the area of gross building space by more than 100% [A.R.S. § 42-6203].

DISTRIBUTION
The county treasurer is required to distribute the excise tax within 30 days of receipt as follows [A.R.S. § 42-6205]:

e  13% to the county general fund

e 7% to the city, if applicable

e 7% to the community college district, if applicable

e 73% to the school district not within a high school district (or 36.5% each to the high school and elementary
district), if applicable.

If inapplicable, proceeds are split proportionally among the other entities. Table 1 below shows the history of
GPLET collections, beginning in 1997.
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Table 1
COLLECTIONS ¥
Calendar Year Net Collections Calendar Year Net Collections

2017 $9,489,639 2006 $2,921,164
2016 $9,492,158 2005 $2,696,092
2015 $8,780,769 2004 $2,898,944
2014 $6,643,785 2003 $3,013,352
2013 $6,042,658 2002 $2,721,824
2012 $5,812,888 2001 $2,230,063
2011 $6,038,494 2000 $2,379,198
2010 $5,672,312 1999 $1,935,671
2009 $3,091,291 1998 $988,269
2008 $3,204,870 1997 $977,226
2007 $3,108,195

1/ The tax became effective December 1, 1996.

2/ The state does not collect any monies from the tax.

SOURCE: League of Arizona Cities and Towns, 1996 — 2010

County Treasurers, 2011 — 2017

WHO PAYS

County treasurers collect the tax annually on prime lessees who use or occupy the government property [A.R.S. §
42-6202].

The following are exempt from GPLET [A.R.S. § 42-6208]:

PwnNR

10.
11.
12.
13.
14.

15.

Property used for government activity.

Property used for public housing.

Easements and rights-of-way of railroads and gas, electric, pipeline, and telephone utilities.

Interests in a facility that is owned by the government lessor and used primarily for athletic, recreational,
entertainment, artistic, cultural, or convention activities.

Property that is used for aviation-related purposes, including hangars, tie-downs, aircraft maintenance,
commercial aircraft terminal franchises, rental car operations, parking facilities, restaurants, stores, and other
services located in a terminal.

The use by a commercial airline of the runways and terminal facilities of a state, city, town, or county airport.
Leases of property or interests in a transportation facility that is constructed or operated pursuant to Title 28,
Chapter 22.

Interest in state trust lands.

Interest in property held in trust for an Indian tribe by the United States government.

Interest in “contractor-acquired property” or “government-furnished property” that is owned by the
government and used to perform a government contract.

Property of a corporation that is organized or directed by a county, city, or town to be used for public
purposes.

Interest in property used by a chamber of commerce.

Interest in property used by tax-exempt organizations under 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code.

Interest in parking garages or decks owned and operated by the government lessor, or operated on behalf of
the government lessor by an entity other than the prime lessee.

Residential rentals occupied by the prime lessee.
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Tax Abatement
As noted in Table 2, a city or town is allowed to fully abate the tax on a government property improvement in the
first 8 years after the certificate of occupancy is issued if the following requirements are met [A.R.S. § 42-6209]:

1. The improvement is located in a single central business district in the city or town and is subject to a lease or
development agreement entered into on or after April 1, 1985.

2. The improvement is located entirely within a "slum or blighted area" established pursuant to Title 36, Chapter
12, Article 3.

3. The government property improvement resulted or will result in an increase in property value of at least
100%.

Pursuant to Laws 2018, Chapter 231, the central business district must be "geographically compact" and no larger
than the greatest of: (1) the total land area of an existing central business district as of January 1, 2018, (2) 2.5% of
the total land area within the exterior boundaries of the city or town, or (3) 960 acres. Chapter 231 defines a
"geographically compact" central business district as having a length that is no more than twice its width. Any
central business district existing prior to January 1, 2018 is deemed "geographically compact."

Laws 2010, Chapter 321 prohibits a city or town from designating more than 1 central business district within its
corporate boundaries and approving a new lease or development agreement within 1 year of such designation.
Unless the grandfather provisions are met, the act prohibits a city or town from approving a new lease or
development agreement on or after June 1, 2010 unless the government lessor: (1) approves the lease or
development agreement by simple majority vote without the use of consent calendar, (2) notifies the governing
bodies of affected taxing jurisdictions where the government property is located at least 60 days prior to approval,
and (3) determines that the economic and fiscal benefits to the state and county, city, or town where the
government property is located will exceed the benefits received by the prime lessee, as determined by an
independent third party.

Laws 2017, Chapter 120 limits the lease period for a government property improvement for which GPLET is abated
to 8 years, including the abatement period. The 8-year limit applies to leases approved by the governing body of
the government lessor after December 31, 2016. For leases approved prior to January 1, 2017, the lease period is
limited to 25 years, including the abatement period.

Park Property Lease Excise Tax

Each county is required to levy and collect an annual Park Property Lease Excise Tax on each prime lessee of a
lease with the National Park Service of a property improvement located in that county [A.R.S. § 42-6210]. The tax
is assessed, collected, and distributed in the same manner GPLET, except that:

1. Each lease or development agreement is neither required to include a notice of tax liability nor a provision
that failure to pay could result in divesting the prime lessee of any interest in the right of occupancy of the
property.

2. The tax rate cannot be less than 20% of GPLET (see the Tax Base and Rate section below).

REVENUE BASE AND RATE
Grandfathered Leases

The tax rates applied to a government property improvement subject to a pre-June 2010 grandfathered lease are
as follows [A.R.S. § 42-6203(A)]:

e $1.00 per square foot for 1-story office buildings

e $1.25 per square foot for office buildings with 2 to 7 stories

e $1.75 per square foot for office buildings with 8 or more stories
e $1.50 per square foot for retail buildings

e $1.50 per square foot for hotel/motel buildings

e $50.75 per square foot for warehouse or industrial buildings

e $0.50 per square foot for residential rental buildings
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e $1.00 per square foot for any other building
e 5100 per parking space for parking garages

Lessees pay a percentage of the “base” rates listed above depending on where the property is located, the start
date of the lease, and when the original certificate of occupancy for the government property improvement was
issued, as summarized in Table 2 below.

The tax rate on a government property improvement subject to a lease or development agreement entered into
after June 30, 1996 and that is located outside a “slum and blighted area” is 150% of the applicable rate listed
above. The tax rate on a government property improvement subject to a pre-April 1, 1985 lease or development
agreement, or on an improvement at a rural (county population under 400,000 prior to 1988) county or city airport
is 20% of the applicable rate listed above.

As noted above, tax abatement is restricted to government property improvements within a single central business
district within the “slum and blighted area.” Other improvements outside the single central business district but
still within the “slum and blighted area” will pay 80% of the tax.

New Leases
The 2018 tax rates applied to a government property improvement subject to a new lease entered into on or after
June 1, 2010 are as follows [A.R.S. § 42-6203(B)]:

e $2.18 per square foot for 1-story office buildings

e $2.51 per square foot for office buildings with 2 to 7 stories

e $3.38 per square foot for office buildings with 8 or more stories
e $2.74 per square foot for retail buildings

e $2.18 per square foot for hotel/motel buildings

e $1.47 per square foot for warehouse or industrial buildings

e 50.83 per square foot for residential rental buildings

e $2.18 per square foot for any other building

e $217.94 per parking space for parking garages

The GPLET rates above apply to Tax Year 2018. Laws 2010, Chapter 321 requires the Department of Revenue
(DOR) to adjust the tax rates for inflation each year. The act also provides that the tax rates for government
property improvements subject to a lease entered into on or after June 1, 2011 be reduced by 10% if the aggregate
of all property tax rates of all taxing jurisdictions in which the government property improvement is located is less
than 90% of the county-wide average combined property tax rates in the tax year in which the lease is entered
into. For example, if the average combined property tax rate is $10.00 for all properties in a county but $9.00 or
less for those properties located in the same taxing jurisdictions as the GPLET property, then the tax rates would
be reduced by 10%.

Laws 2010, Chapter 321 requires that all new leases entered into on or after June 1, 2010 begin within 10 years
after the approval of the development agreement. The act limits the term of such lease to 25 years, including any
abatement period regardless of whether the lease is transferred or conveyed to subsequent prime lessees during
that period. Moreover, the act requires the government lessor to convey the title to the government property
improvement and underlying land to the prime lessee as soon as practicable but no later than 12 months after the
expiration of the lease. Additionally, such property is prohibited from subsequently being designated as Class 6 or
any other discounted assessment.

For leases approved after December 31, 2016, Laws 2017, Chapter 120 reduces the maximum lease period for a
government property improvement for which GPLET is abated from 25 to 8 years, including the abatement period
regardless of whether the lease is transferred or conveyed to subsequent prime lessees during that period. As
under prior law, the government lessor is required to convey the title to the government property improvement
and underlying land to the prime lessee as soon as practicable but no later than 12 months after the expiration of
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the lease. In addition, property conveyed to a prime lessee is prohibited from subsequently being designated as
Class 6 or any other discounted assessment.

PAYMENT SCHEDULE
The excise tax is due and payable to the county treasurer annually on or before December 1 [A.R.S. § 42-6204].
POSSESSORY INTEREST

In 1985, the Arizona Legislature enacted legislation that provided a method for the taxation of possessory
interests. A possessory interest is created when a private party is granted the exclusive use of real property owned
by a non-taxable entity. Typically, possessory interests are created when private individuals, companies, or
corporations lease, rent, or use federal, state, county, or municipal government-owned facilities and land for their
own benefit.

The tax on possessory interest was enacted in response to the extensive use of the property tax exemption for
government owned property as an economic development tool. (Article 9 of the Arizona Constitution provides
that federal, state, county, and municipal government property be exempt from taxation.) The new law
specifically provided that possessory interests in federal, state, county, and municipal government property would
become subject to taxation. Additionally, the law established possessory interest tax exemptions and provided
special valuation rules for possessory interests that were created prior to April 1, 1985.

Over time, the possessory interest tax was challenged in court in a number of cases. As a result, the court held
that limiting the special valuation to possessory interests created before April 1, 1985 was in violation of the
uniformity clause under the Arizona Constitution. The court also held that the possessory interest exemptions
went beyond the constitutional tax exemptions and were therefore ruled invalid. The effect of these court rulings
was that all possessory interests became taxed in the same manner as other properties.

In 1995, the Legislature repealed the possessory interest tax (effective retroactively from January 1, 1995). The
intent statement expressed the Legislature’s desire that possessory interests not be subject to ad valorem taxation
until a new taxing mechanism was enacted. Laws 1996, Chapter 349 created such a taxing mechanism in the form
of GPLET, which was to serve as the successor to the possessory interest tax.
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Table 2

Location of Property

Inside of a Redevelopment

Area

Outside of a
Redevelopment Area

Inside of a “Slum” or
“Blighted” Area

Outside of a “Slum” or
“Blighted” Area

Inside of a “Central
Business District”

At an Airport Owned by a
County (or a City within a
County) with a Population

of 400,000 or Less

Location is Not Specified

National Park Service
Property

TAX RATES FOR GRANDFATHERED PRE-JUNE 2010 LEASES

Years Since Date of Issuance of
Original Certificate of

Start Date of Lease Occupancy (COO
On or after 4/1/1985 0-10
10-20
20-30
30-40
40-50

50 or more

On or after 4/1/1985 but 0-10
before 6/30/1996 10-20
20-30
30-40
40-50
50 or more

Before 6/1/2010 0-10
10-20
20-30
30-40
40-50
50 or more

On or after 6/30/1996 0-10
10-20
20-30
30-40
40-50
50 or more

On or after 4/1/1985 0-8
8-10
10-20
20-30
30-40
30-40
50 or more

Before 6/1/2010 0-10
10-20
20-30
30-40
40-50
50 or more

Before 4/1/1985 0-10
10-20
20-30
30-40
40-50
50 or more

Before 6/1/2010 0-10
10-20
20-30
30-40
40 or more

Percentage of “Base”
Excise Tax Rate

(by age of COO)

100%
80%
60%
40%
20%

0%

100%
80%
60%
40%
20%

0%

80%
80%
60%
40%
20%

0%

150%
120%
90%
60%
30%
0%

0%
80%
80%
60%
40%
20%

0%

20%
16%
60%
40%
20%

0%

20%
16%
60%
40%
20%

0%

100%
80%
60%
40%
20%
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IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2012.

There were no changes enacted to this tax in 2011, 2013, 2014, and 2016.
2018 LAWS

Laws 2018, Chapter 231 provides the following changes to the tax abatement program for government property
improvements located in a central business district:

e Adjusts the maximum size of a central business district to the greatest of: (1) the total land area of an existing
central business district as of January 1, 2018, (2) 2.5% of the total land area within the exterior boundaries of
the city or town, or (3) 960 acres.

e Defines a "geographically compact" central business district as having a length that is no more than twice its
width. Any central business district existing prior to January 1, 2018 is deemed "geographically compact."

e Specifies that a slum or blighted area designation made after September 30, 2018 automatically terminates
after 10 years, unless after a review by the city or town, the designation is formally renewed, modified, or
terminated in whole or in part.

e Directs each municipality, by October 1, 2020, to review each slum or blighted area in which a central business
district is located that was designated before September 30, 2018 and renew, modify, or terminate it.

2017 LAWS

Laws 2017, Chapter 120 limits the length of a lease for a property with an abated GPLET approved by the
governing body of the government lessor through a development agreement, ordinance or resolution after
December 31, 2016 to 8 years. Additionally, Chapter 120 requires the government lessor to calculate the GPLET
liability for each prime lessee. (Prior to Chapter 120, the prime lessee was required to make this calculation.)
Moreover, Chapter 120 requires the government lessor to either maintain a public database by county or
municipality, as applicable, of all leases subject to GPLET, or alternatively, post its lease agreements on a county or
municipal website where the government property improvement is located.

2015 LAWS

Laws 2015, Chapter 10 requires county treasurers to report to JLBC by February 15 of each year the amount of
GPLET collected in the preceding calendar year. Current statutes require the county treasurers to report the same
exact information to the Department of Revenue and each government lessor. Chapter 10 amends Laws 2010,
Chapter 321 by removing the provision that requires JLBC to determine the average aggregate ad valorem
property tax levy per square foot by property type (for more detail, see description under Laws 2010, Chapter 321).
Moreover, Chapter 10 limits the required JLBC analysis under Laws 2010, Chapter 321 to a representative sample
of properties rather than all properties subject to the new GPLET rates.

2012 LAWS

Laws 2012, Chapter 3 makes a technical correction related to the application of Government Property Lease Excise
Tax, as modified by Laws 2010, Chapter 321.

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2012 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/18taxbook/18taxbk.pdf.
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HIGHWAY USER REVENUE FUND OVERVIEW

DESCRIPTION

The State of Arizona taxes motor fuels and imposes various other fees related to the registration and operation of
motor vehicles. Included are motor vehicle fuel taxes, use fuel taxes, vehicle license taxes, motor carrier fees,
vehicle registration fees, and various other miscellaneous fees. Depending on the category, all, or a portion of
these taxes and fees are distributed to the Arizona Highway User Revenue Fund (HURF). This 2018 Tax Handbook
contains individual sections on the major tax components of HURF, including Motor Vehicle Fuel Tax, Use Fuel Tax,
Vehicle License Tax (VLT), and the Motor Carrier Fee (which replaced the Motor Carrier Tax in FY 1998). Vehicle
registration fees and various other fees that are part of HURF are not included in the handbook.

HURF revenues are a major source of funding to the state for highway construction, highway maintenance and
improvements, and other highway-related expenditures. A portion of HURF revenue is also distributed to Arizona
cities, towns, and counties for highway-related purposes.

DISTRIBUTION

HURF collections totaled approximately $1.5 billion in FY 2018. This was an increase of 2.8% from FY 2017
collections. The largest source of HURF revenue comes from motor fuel or gas taxes. The next biggest category is
VLT, followed by Use Fuel Tax, then the registration and other fees. As noted above, more detailed discussion of
the tax categories is provided in subsequent sections of the handbook.

The following chart provides a graphic representation of the relative importance of each of the HURF revenue
categories for FY 2018:

Highway User Revenue Fund
FY 2018 Collections by Major Category

Use Fuel
13.9%

Motor Fuel
36.2%

Motor Carrier
2.9%

Other

0,
3.9% VLT

Registration 30.6%

12.4%
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Table 1 summarizes HURF collections by major category over the last 10 years.

Table 1
HURF COLLECTIONS
(S in Thousands)
Motor Vehicle Motor
Fiscal Vehicle Use Fuel License Carrier Registration Other
Year Fuel Tax Tax Tax ¥ Fee Fees Fees Total

2018 $527,355 $202,114 $444,757 $42,823 $181,227 $57,503 $1,455,779
2017 $515,116 $201,697 $421,939 $42,091 $177,818 $57,863 $1,416,524
2016 $505,687 $193,291 $395,952 $41,058 $173,647 $57,989 $1,367,624
2015 $481,250 $184,500 $369,719 $40,227 $168,541 $56,549 $1,300,787
2014 $467,004 $176,368 $348,509 $38,842 $163,667 $56,532 $1,250,922
2013 $461,046 $177,240 $326,541 $37,310 $157,749 $57,332 $1,217,218
2012 $461,979 $180,242 $320,979 $37,350 $158,073 $59,173 $1,217,796
2011 $463,532 $178,684 $322,017 $36,300 $156,099 $55,675 $1,212,307
2010 $464,017 $171,308 $329,915 $35,808 $152,197 $49,754 $1,202,998
2009 $467,402 $173,931 $357,498 $40,483 $167,528 $52,331 $1,259,173

1/ The amounts indicated reflect only the portion of VLT that is distributed to HURF.

2/ The amounts indicated reflect a minor change in revenue categorization. In prior years, authorized third-
party retainage of revenues was recorded in Other Fees. ADOT is now recording that amount in
Registration Fees.

SOURCE: Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT), Office of Financial Planning.

HURF may be expended for the following purposes (see Arizona Constitution, Article 9, Section 14):

The cost of administering taxes that are deposited in the fund.
Refunds and adjustments provided for by law.
Payment of highway obligations.

city and town roads and streets.
(5) The cost of state enforcement of traffic laws.
(6) The cost of publication and distribution of Arizona Highways Magazine.
(7) Distribution to counties, incorporated cities and towns according to law.

HUREF is distributed each fiscal year in the following manner [A.R.S. § 28-6533]:

Direct Allocations
First, certain distributions are made before applying the statutory formula.

The cost of construction, reconstruction, maintenance and repair of public highways and bridges and county,

e According to statute, 1.6% of the motor vehicle fuel tax collections portion of HURF is deposited in the State
Lake Improvement Fund (SLIF), except that 1% of such collections is retained in the Watercraft Fuel Tax
Administration (Administration) Fund by the Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT) to defray

administrative expenses [A.R.S. § 28-5926].

e According to statute, 0.55% of the motor vehicle fuel tax collections portion of HURF is transferred to the Off-

Highway Vehicle Recreation (OHV) Fund on a monthly basis [A.R.S. § 28-5927].
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NOTE: Prior years' tax handbooks displayed statutory distributions to the State Lake Improvement Fund,
Watercraft Fuel Tax Administration Fund, and Off Highway Vehicle Recreation Fund as coming directly from
motor vehicle tax collections. In 2017, ADOT reported that, as a technical matter, those distributions instead
come from the motor vehicle fuel tax portion of the Highway User Revenue Fund and revised its reporting
accordingly. This FY 2018 Tax Handbook conforms with the revised reporting and displays those distributions
in this section rather than the Motor Vehicle Fuel Tax section.

According to statute, $1.0 million is allocated to the Economic Strength Project Fund [A.R.S. § 28-6534].

The Legislature appropriates an amount to the Department of Public Safety (DPS) for funding a portion of
highway patrol costs. The DPS distribution is to be made in 8 installments in each of the first 8 months of the
fiscal year, and is not to exceed $10.0 million [A.R.S. § 28-6537] beginning in FY 2000. However, beginning in
FY 2000, the Legislature has “notwithstood” the provisions of this statute, and has provided for the transfer of
HURF monies to DPS as noted in Table 3 below.

The Legislature appropriates an amount to ADOT for funding vehicle registration compliance operations,
included in the "Other" column in Table 3 below.

Beginning in FY 2015, the Legislature has directly allocated $30.0 million to local governments. If this amount
were not directly allocated, it would flow through the formula and be distributed to both the State Highway
Fund and to local governments. By directly allocating the $30.0 million, local governments receive that full
amount rather than splitting it with the State Highway Fund.

Statutory Formula Distribution

After making the above distributions, the balance of collections is distributed by statutory formula as follows
[A.R.S. § 28-6538]:

50.5% State Highway Fund (SHF).

Of the monies distributed to SHF, 15.2% (12.6% by statute and 2.6% per State Transportation Board policy) are

further distributed as follows [A.R.S. § 28-6538B]:

— 75% to counties with a population of 1.5 million or more for design, right-of-way purchase, or
construction of controlled access highways to be included as state routes or state highways in regional
transportation plans and the state highway system.

—  25% to counties with a population of more than 800,000 but less than 1.5 million for design, right-of-way
purchase, or construction of controlled access highways to be included as state routes or state highways
in regional transportation plans and the state highway system.

These amounts (6.4% of all HURF for the statutory portion and 1.3% for the Board policy portion) are

displayed in the "County Controlled Access" column in Table 3 and are in practice distributed to Maricopa

Association of Governments and Pima Association of Governments, respectively, which are regional planning

agencies for their respective areas.

The remaining 84.8% (or 42.8% of all HURF) is retained by the State Highway Fund, as displayed in the "State

Highway Fund" column in Table 3, which is primarily used to fund ADOT's operating budget and capital

projects.

19% Counties - Each county receives 72% of its HURF distribution based on 2 criteria: the portion of gasoline

distributed by fuel suppliers to gasoline stations in the county and an estimation of diesel consumed in the

county. The other 28% of the county distribution is based on unincorporated population.

27.5% Incorporated cities and towns - Cities and towns receive half of their HURF distribution based on their

share of statewide incorporated population. The other half is based on the portion of gasoline supplied at the

county level. Once a county’s pro-rata share of gasoline supplies is determined, those monies are distributed
based on a city’s or town’s total population in relation to the county’s incorporated population.

3% Incorporated cities with population greater than 300,000 persons - This distribution to Phoenix, Tucson,

and Mesa is based on population.

Table 2 below summarizes HURF actual distribution percentages for FY 2018 after the DPS, Economic Strength
Project, and other distributions noted above.
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Table 3 below summarizes HURF distributions by major
category. Please refer to the table in the Summary of Highway
Construction section of the Capital Outlay section in the FY
2019 Appropriations Report for a more detailed explanation of
the distribution of HURF revenues. It should be noted that the
FY 2018 amounts in Table 3 vary slightly from those presented
in the Appropriations Report. The numbers in Table 3 reflect
actual collections, while the numbers in the FY 2019
Appropriations Report were based on estimated collections.

The tax base and tax rates, payment schedules, and the impact
of tax law changes for the Motor Vehicle Fuel Tax, Use Fuel
Tax, VLT, and Motor Carrier Fee are provided in the individual
write-ups for each of the HURF revenue categories in the
following section of the handbook.
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PERCENTAGE DISTRIBUTION
OF STATUTORY FORMULA HURF MONIES

Cities 30.5%
Counties 19.0%
Controlled Access 7.7%Y
State Highway Fund 42.8%
Total 100.0%

1/ Includes 1.3% (2.6% of 50.5% SHF share) distributed
for Controlled Access per State Transportation Board
policy.
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Table 3
HURF DISTRIBUTION
(S in Thousands)
State County Cities Economic
Fiscal Highway Controlled and Strength
Year Fund Access Towns Counties DPS Project Other Total
2018 $552,829 $103,120 $416,621 $259,534 $102,623 $1,000 $20,052 ¥ $1,455,779
2017 $539,324 $100,699 $406,348 $253,135 $97,142 $1,000 $18,876 V $1,416,523
2016 $518,948 $97,047 $391,173 $243,682 $98,008 $1,000 $17,768 7 $1,367,624
2015 $496,230 $92,975 $374,413 $233,241 $86,445 $1,000 $16,483 ¥ $1,300,786
2014 $474,132 $84,985 $342,230 $213,192 $120,208 $1,000 $15,174% $1,250,921
2013 $460,839 $82,603 $332,234 $206,965 $122,320 $1,000 $11,258 ¢ $1,217,219
2012 $328,879 $58,949 $304,092 $193,524 $125,607 $1,000 $205,745 & $1,217,796
2011 $441,554 $79,147 $342,892 $213,605 $81,615 $1,000 $52,494 7 $1,212,307
2010 $437,848 $78,482 $339,823 $211,693 $81,118 $1,000 $53,034 % $1,202,998
2009 $442,020 $79,229 $356,458 $222,056 $86,912 $1,000 $71,498 ¥ $1,259,173
1/ AR.S. § 28-5808E transfers the SHF share of HURF VLT that was generated from the difference between the 2-year registration and the 5-year registration to

the General Fund. The transfer totaled $1.8 million in FY 2018. A.R.S. § 28-5808D provides that an amount equal to 90% of the fees collected under A.R.S. §
28-4802A and 60% of the fees collected under A.R.S. § 28-4802B concerning abandoned vehicles shall be transferred from the SHF share of HURF VLT to the
General Fund. The transfer totaled $6.3 million in FY 2018. Other distributions included $656,100 for the Registration Compliance program, $8.4 million for
SLIF, $84,400 for the Administration Fund, and $2.9 million for the OHV Fund.

A.R.S. § 28-5808E transfers the SHF share of HURF VLT that was generated from the difference between the 2-year registration and the 5-year registration to
the General Fund. The transfer totaled $1.7 million in FY 2017. A.R.S. § 28-5808D provides that an amount equal to 90% of the fees collected under A.R.S. §
28-4802A and 60% of the fees collected under A.R.S. § 28-4802B concerning abandoned vehicles shall be transferred from the SHF share of HURF VLT to the
General Fund. The transfer totaled $5.5 million in FY 2017. Other distributions included $649,700 for the Registration Compliance program, $8.2 million for
SLIF, $82,400 for the Administration Fund, and $2.8 million for the OHV Fund.

A.R.S. § 28-5808E transfers the SHF share of HURF VLT that was generated from the difference between the 2-year registration and the 5-year registration to
the General Fund. The transfer totaled $1.5 million in FY 2016. A.R.S. § 28-5808D provides that an amount equal to 90% of the fees collected under A.R.S. §
28-4802A and 60% of the fees collected under A.R.S. § 28-4802B concerning abandoned vehicles shall be transferred from the SHF share of HURF VLT to the
General Fund. The transfer totaled $4.8 million in FY 2016. Other distributions included $652,700 for the Registration Compliance program, $8.0 million for
SLIF, $80,900 for the Administration Fund, and $2.8 million for the OHV Fund.

A.R.S. § 28-5808E transfers the SHF share of HURF VLT that was generated from the difference between the 2-year registration and the 5-year registration to
the General Fund. The transfer totaled $1.2 million in FY 2015. A.R.S. § 28-5808D provides that an amount equal to 90% of the fees collected under A.R.S. §
28-4802A and 60% of the fees collected under A.R.S. § 28-4802B concerning abandoned vehicles shall be transferred from the SHF share of HURF VLT to the
General Fund. The transfer totaled $4.3 million in FY 2015. Other distributions included $651,800 for the Registration Compliance program, $7.6 million for
SLIF, $77,000 for the Administration Fund, and $2.7 million for the OHV Fund.

A.R.S. § 28-5808E transfers the SHF share of HURF VLT that was generated from the difference between the 2-year registration and the 5-year registration to
the General Fund. The transfer totaled $1.2 million in FY 2014. A.R.S. § 28-5808D provides that an amount equal to 90% of the fees collected under A.R.S. §
28-4802A and 60% of the fees collected under A.R.S. § 28-4802B concerning abandoned vehicles shall be transferred from the SHF share of HURF VLT to the
General Fund. The transfer totaled $3.7 million in FY 2014. Other distributions included $671,500 for the Registration Compliance program, $4,500 for the
Automation Projects Fund, $7.0 million for SLIF, $70,200 for the Administration Fund, and $2.6 million for the OHV Fund.

A.R.S. § 28-5808E transfers the SHF share of HURF VLT that was generated from the difference between the 2-year registration and the 5-year registration to
the General Fund. The transfer totaled $1.0 million in FY 2013. A.R.S. § 28-5808D provides that an amount equal to 90% of the fees collected under A.R.S. §
28-4802A and 60% of the fees collected under A.R.S. § 28-4802B concerning abandoned vehicles shall be transferred from the SHF share of HURF VLT to the
General Fund. The transfer totaled $3.2 million in FY 2013. Other distributions included $624,800 for the Registration Compliance program, $(765,200) for
reversions, $4.6 million for SLIF, $46,600 for the Administration Fund, and $2.5 million for the OHV Fund.

Laws 2011, Chapter 24 transferred $105.8 million from the SHF share of HURF VLT to the General Fund in FY 2012. This amount includes a Fund Reduction
and Transfer from SHF of $28.0 million, a Highway Patrol Vehicle Replacement HURF transfer to DPS of $6.8 million, a VLT transfer of $8.4 million, a Safety
Enforcement and Transportation Infrastructure Fund (SETIF) transfer of $0.4 million (which is done via the VLT), DPS funding shift savings of $23.6 million,
and Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) funding shift savings of $38.6 million. A.R.S. § 28-5808E transfers the SHF share of HURF VLT that was generated from the
difference between the 2-year registration and the 5-year registration to the General Fund in FY 2012. The transfer totaled $1.2 million. A.R.S. § 28-5808D
provides that an amount equal to 90% of the fees collected under A.R.S. § 28-4802A and 60% of the fees collected under A.R.S. § 28-4802B concerning
abandoned vehicles shall be transferred from the SHF share of HURF VLT to the General Fund. The transfer totaled $2.1 million in FY 2012.

Laws 2010, 7*" Special Session, Chapter 1 transferred $43.6 million from the SHF share of HURF VLT to the General Fund in FY 2011. This amount includes a
Fund Reduction and Transfer from SHF of $28.0 million, a Highway Patrol Vehicle Replacement HURF transfer to DPS of $6.8 million, a VLT transfer of $8.4
million, and a SETIF transfer of $0.4 million, which is done via the VLT. A.R.S. § 28-5808E transfers the SHF share of HURF VLT that was generated from the
difference between the 2-year registration and the 5-year registration to the General Fund in FY 2011. The transfer totaled $0.94 million. A.R.S. § 28-5808D
provides that an amount equal to 90% of the fees collected under A.R.S. § 28-4802A and 60% of the fees collected under A.R.S. § 28-4802B concerning
abandoned vehicles shall be transferred from the SHF share of HURF VLT to the General Fund. The transfer totaled about $80,000.

Laws 2009, 3" Special Session, Chapter 11 transferred $43.2 million from the SHF share of HURF VLT to the General Fund in FY 2010. This amount includes a
Fund Reduction and Transfer from SHF of $28.0 million, a Highway Patrol Vehicle Replacement HURF transfer to DPS of $6.8 million, and a VLT transfer of
$8.4 million. Laws 2009, 5t Special Session, Chapter 1 transferred $0.6 million from SETIF to the General Fund in FY 2010, which is done via the VLT.

Laws 2008, Chapter 285 and Laws 2009, 1% Special Session, Chapters 1 and 2 transferred $8.4 million and $58.6 million, respectively from the SHF share of
HURF VLT to the General Fund in FY 2009. Laws 2009, 1° Special Session, Chapter 2 also reverted $6.7 million from SHF to HURF for 2 MVD facilities and 1
ADOT facility, based on Laws 2007, Chapter 257.

SOURCE: ADOT, Office of Financial Planning.
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IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2012.

2018 LAWS

Laws 2018, Chapter 278 suspends, as session law, the statutory cap of $10.0 million established by A.R.S. § 28-
6537 governing HURF revenues available to fund DPS’ Highway Patrol costs.

Laws 2018, Chapter 283 amends Laws 2017, Chapter 312 to reduce the special HURF distribution from $60.0
million to $30.0 million in FY 2020. (See section 7.) In addition to that modification of the special HURF
distribution, the legislation eliminates the $30.0 million allocation from the Highway Expansion and Extension Loan
Program Fund in FY 2019. (See section 6.) These measures were taken due to the creation of the Highway Safety
Fee established in Laws 2018, Chapter 265. For more information, please see the Department of Public Safety
section in the FY 2019 Appropriations Report.

2017 LAWS

Laws 2017, Chapter 44 removes requirements for spending, reporting and certification regarding expenditures of
local revenues on street and highway purposes for counties with a population of more than 400,000 persons and
cities and towns with more than 30,000 persons located in such a county. The legislation also eliminates the
penalty for not meeting those requirements, which was a reduction in HURF monies distributed to the
noncompliant county, city or town.

Laws 2017, Chapter 303 suspends, as session law, the statutory cap of $10.0 million established by A.R.S. § 28-
6537 governing HURF revenues available to fund DPS’ Highway Patrol costs.

Laws 2017, Chapter 312 continues the special $30.0 million HURF distribution authorized in Laws 2015, Chapter 10
for another year through FY 2019 and increases that distribution to $60.0 million in FY 2020, effective August 9,
2017. (See section 9.) This continues the distribution that began in Laws 2014, Chapter 9 as modified by Laws
2015, Chapter 10. In addition to the special HURF distribution, the legislation allocates $30.0 million from the
Highway Expansion and Extension Loan Program Fund in each of FY 2018 and FY 2019 for highway construction
directly to counties and cities and towns in percentages reflecting current non-state distribution of HURF revenues.
(See section 8.)

2016 LAWS

Laws 2016, Chapter 119 suspends, as session law, the statutory cap of $10.0 million established by A.R.S. § 28-
6537 governing HURF revenues available to fund DPS’ Highway Patrol costs.

Laws 2016, Chapter 125 continues the special HURF distribution authorized in Laws 2015, Chapter 10 for another
year through FY 2018, effective August 6, 2016. (See section 8.) This continues the distribution begun in Laws
2014, Chapter 9 as modified by Laws 2015, Chapter 10. In addition to the special HURF distribution, the legislation
allocates $30.0 million from the General Fund for highway construction directly to counties and cities and towns in
percentages reflecting current non-state distribution of HURF revenues. (See section 9.)

Laws 2016, Chapter 163 requires counties receiving HURF revenues to publish by December 31 of each year an
annual financial report detailing the budgeted and actual expenditures from the prior fiscal year's HURF funds
received.

Laws 2016, Chapter 258 is an emergency measure that amends current statutes with respect to the method by

which state-shared revenues are apportioned among counties and municipalities, as described below.
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Counties

Under current law, state-shared revenue is distributed to a county based on its population count as of the last
federal decennial census [A.R.S. § 42-5029(I)]. During the fifth year following the decennial census, a county may
contract with the U.S. Census Bureau to conduct a special census of the population of that county. Beginning on
July 1 in the sixth year following the decennial census, the result of the special census must be used as the basis for
apportioning state-shared revenue to that county until the next federal decennial census [A.R.S. § 42-5033].

If a special census is not conducted, Laws 2016, Chapter 258 provides a county the following 3 options, all of which
must be exercised before May 1 of the sixth year following a federal decennial census:

1. County submits its own population estimate as of the fifth year following the last decennial census, as
approved by the Office of Employment and Population Statistics.

2. County contracts with the U.S. Census Bureau to conduct a sample survey in order to produce a mid-decade
county population estimate.

3. County requests to continue to use the population count from the most recent U.S. decennial census.

If a county elects to use one of the options above, that population figure must be used (for purposes of
apportioning state-state shared revenue) in the sixth year following the decennial census through June 30 of the
year following the next decennial census.

Municipalities

Under current law, state-shared revenue is distributed to an incorporated city or town based on its population
count as of the last federal decennial census [A.R.S. § 42-5029(1)]. During the fifth year following the decennial
census, a city/town may contract with the U.S. Census Bureau to conduct a special census of the population of that
municipality. Beginning July 1 in the sixth year following the decennial census, the special census must be used as
the basis for apportioning state-shared revenue to that municipality until the next federal decennial census [A.R.S.
§ 42-5033].

For purposes of apportioning state-shared revenue, Laws 2016, Chapter 258 provides a city/town the option to use
either the population count from the special census or the most recent population estimate from the U.S. Census
Bureau. However, Chapter 258 provides that the population count from the special census be used for only 1 year.
Beginning on July 1 in the second year following the special census, a city/town must use the most recent
population estimate from the U.S. Census Bureau. If a special census is not conducted, Chapter 258 requires a
city/town to use the most recent population estimate from the U.S. Census Bureau beginning on July 1 in the
second year following the decennial census through June 30 of the year following the next decennial census.

Laws 2016, Chapter 277 replaces the motor vehicle dealer licensing application and renewal fees collected by the
Department of Financial Institutions with dealer fees collected by ADOT. Under the legislation, if the dealer has a
contractual relationship with a third-party lender, the dealer is subject to 1) a $400 annual license filing fee, of
which $300 is deposited in the General Fund and $100 in HURF, and 2) a $250 annual dealer renewal fee, of which
$150 is deposited into the General Fund and $100 is deposited into HURF. These fees are equivalent to the fees
collected prior to the legislation. The legislation became effective August 6, 2016.

2015 LAWS

Laws 2015, Chapter 10 requires, as session law, $30.0 million of HURF revenues in FY 2015, FY 2016 and FY 2017 to
be allocated directly to counties, cities and towns in percentages reflecting the current non-state distribution of
HURF revenues. The legislation repeals the requirement for a $60.0 million allocation in FY 2017 as required by
Laws 2014, Chapter 9. The language specifies that these HURF revenues may only be spent on direct
construction/repair and right-of-way expenditures.

Laws 2015, Chapter 17 suspends, as session law, the statutory cap of $10.0 million established by A.R.S. § 28-6537
governing HURF revenues available to fund DPS’ Highway Patrol costs.
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2014 LAWS

Laws 2014, Chapter 9 requires, as session law, $30.0 million of HURF revenues in both FY 2015 and FY 2016 and
$60.0 million of HURF revenues in FY 2017 to be allocated directly to counties, cities and towns in percentages
reflecting the current non-state distribution of HURF revenues. The language specifies that these HURF revenues
may only be spent on direct construction/repair and right-of-way expenditures. These additional HURF monies are
due to a reduction of an equal amount of HURF in the DPS budget; the General Fund replaced the reduced HURF
funding in the DPS budget.

Laws 2014, Chapter 12 suspends, as session law, the statutory cap of $10.0 million established by A.R.S. § 28-6537
governing HURF revenues available to fund DPS’ Highway Patrol costs. This same suspension has been enacted in
other session laws in prior years, but the suspension had also applied to SHF.

2013 LAWS

Laws 2013, 1% Special Session, Chapter 5 suspends, as session law, the statutory cap of $10.0 million established
by A.R.S. § 28-6537 and related to A.R.S. § 28-6993 governing HURF and SHF revenues available to fund DPS’costs.
This same suspension has been enacted in other session laws in prior years.

2012 LAWS
Laws 2012, Chapter 302 suspends, as session law, the statutory cap of $10.0 million established by A.R.S. § 28-
6537 and related to A.R.S. § 28-6993 governing HURF and SHF revenues available to fund DPS’ Highway Patrol

costs. This same suspension has been enacted in other session laws in prior years.

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2012 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/18taxbook/18taxbk.pdf.
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MOTOR VEHICLE FUEL TAX

DESCRIPTION

The motor vehicle fuel tax is levied on each gallon of motor vehicle fuel, commonly known as gasoline, produced or
imported into the state by a distributor. The tax rate is 18¢ per gallon, and the large majority of revenues are
deposited in the Highway User Revenue Fund (HURF) to pay for highway construction and maintenance. The rate
was last adjusted in 1990. In addition to the 18¢ per gallon motor vehicle fuel tax, there is also a 1¢ per gallon tax
on gasoline and other petroleum products placed in underground storage tanks (see the Underground Storage
Tank Tax section for more information.)

DISTRIBUTION

Table 1 shows a 20-year revenue history for this tax. Almost all of the tax on motor vehicle fuel consumed in
vehicles operated on Arizona roads and highways is deposited in HURF [A.R.S. § 28-6533].

NOTE: Prior years' tax handbooks displayed statutory distributions to the State Lake Improvement Fund,
Watercraft Fuel Tax Administration Fund, and Off Highway Vehicle Recreation Fund as coming directly from motor
vehicle tax collections. In 2017, ADOT reported that, as a technical matter, those distributions instead come from
the motor vehicle fuel tax portion of the Highway User Revenue Fund and revised its reporting accordingly. The
2018 Tax Handbook conforms with the revised reporting and displays those distributions in the Highway User
Revenue Fund Overview section rather than in this section.

Tax collections are distributed on the following basis (see Table 2 on following page):
o Aijrcraft. Taxes collected from sales of motor vehicle fuel consumed in aircraft are deposited in the State
Aviation Fund. However, if a refund is claimed, 5¢ on each gallon of tax collected remains in the State Aviation

Fund and the balance is refunded to the taxpayer [A.R.S. § 28-5611].

e Remainder. The net collections remaining after refunds and the above distributions are deposited in HURF
[A.R.S. § 28-5925]. (See HURF Overview at the beginning of this section for distribution of HURF monies.)

Table 1
COLLECTIONS
Fiscal Year Net Collections Fiscal Year Net Collections
2018 $536,651,832 2008 $512,094,400
2017 $527,157,899 2007 $516,208,893
2016 $518,458,963 2006 $503,210,580
2015 $492,554,392 2005 $496,340,649
2014 $476,475,676 2004 $478,829,323
2013 $470,658,374 2003 $463,864,197
2012 $471,264,772 2002 $452,550,965
2011 $471,346,375 2001 $436,073,531
2010 $471,232,029 2000 $424,486,824
2009 $474,008,922 1999 $410,037,087
SOURCE: ADOT, Office of Financial Planning.
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WHO PAYS

The motor vehicle fuel tax is presumed to be a direct tax on the consumer but is still collected and remitted to
ADOT by suppliers for the purpose of convenience. In other words, the tax is collected and paid to ADOT by a
supplier, who then adds the tax to the price of motor vehicle fuel in order to recover it from the consumer [A.R.S. §
28-5606].

Table 2

DISTRIBUTION OF COLLECTIONS

State

Fiscal Highway User Aviation Refunds to Net
Year Revenue Fund ¥ Fund Taxpayers Collections
2018 $527,355,093 $341,400  $8,955,340 $536,651,832
2017 $515,115,783 $306,780 $11,735,335 $527,157,899
2016 $505,686,632 $325,479 $12,446,852 $518,458,963
2015 $481,249,488 $329,326  $10,975,578  $492,554,392
2014 $467,004,158 $313,075  $9,158,443 $476,475,676
2013 $461,046,068 $358,677  $9,253,630 $470,658,374
2012 $461,978,721 $312,914  $8,973,138 $471,264,772
2011 $463,532,008 $383,655  $7,430,713 $471,346,375
2010 $464,016,951 $339,980  $6,875,098 $471,232,029
2009 $467,401,612 $380,429  $6,226,880 $474,008,922
2008 $503,954,401 $420,915  $7,719,084 $512,094,400
2007 $509,239,936 $460,470  $6,508,486 $516,208,893
2006 $499,069,011 $462,598  $3,678,970 $503,210,580
2005 $491,113,158 $499,136  $4,728,355 $496,340,649
2004 $472,997,475 $572,686  $5,259,161 $478,829,323
2003 $458,739,246 $646,314  $4,478,637 $463,864,197
2002 $446,345,944 $510,378  $5,694,643 $452,550,965
2001 $429,492,592 $456,476  $6,124,464 $436,073,531
2000 $417,852,034 $481,594  $6,153,196 $424,486,824
1999 $405,929,205 $671,799  $3,436,082 $410,037,087
1/ Use Fuel Tax collections excluded.

REVENUE BASE AND RATE

The revenue base is motor vehicle fuel, which includes all products that are commonly or commercially known or
sold as gasoline. This definition includes casinghead gasoline (unprocessed natural gas containing natural gasoline
and other liquid hydrocarbon vapors produced from an oil well), natural gasoline and all flammable liquids
composed of a mixture of selected hydrocarbons manufactured or blended for use in internal combustion engines.
Motor vehicle fuel does not include transmix, jet or aviation fuel, or any fuels covered under the use fuel tax
[A.R.S. § 28-101].

The following are exempted from the motor vehicle fuel tax [A.R.S. § 28-5610]:

e  Motor vehicle fuel for which proof of export is available in the form of a terminal issued destination state
shipping paper, and is either exported by a supplier that is licensed in the destination state, or sold by a
supplier to a distributor for immediate export.

e Motor vehicle fuel that was acquired by a distributor on which the tax has previously been paid and was
subsequently exported across the state border.
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Motor vehicle fuel sold on an Indian reservation to a tribal member.
Motor vehicle fuel sold off an Indian reservation for purposes of operating a motor vehicle for the benefit of
an Indian tribe.

e Motor vehicle fuel that is moving in interstate or foreign commerce and that is not destined or diverted to a
point in this state.

e Motor vehicle fuel that is sold to the United States or its agencies or instrumentalities.

The tax rate is 18¢ per gallon [A.R.S. § 28-5606].
TAX REFUNDS AND/OR TAX CREDITS

A person who buys and uses motor vehicle fuel is entitled to a refund if he or she pays the tax on the fuel and
either [A.R.S. § 28-5611]:

e uses the fuel for purposes other than operating a motor vehicle on a highway, a motor vehicle on a
transportation facility or toll road (public-private partnerships), or a watercraft on a waterway in Arizona,

e buys aviation fuel for use in aircraft applying seeds, fertilizer, or pesticides, or

e |oses the fuel by fire, theft or other accident.

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

The motor fuel tax that is accrued in any calendar month shall be paid on or before the 27% day of the succeeding
calendar month to ADOT [A.R.S. § 28-5925].

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2012.

There were no changes enacted to this tax from 2014 through 2018.

2013 LAWS

Laws 2013, Chapter 90, eliminates the requirement that a survey be conducted to determine the amount of motor
vehicle fuel used to propel a watercraft. The language instead permanently sets the portion of the motor vehicle
fuel tax derived from watercraft at 1.6% and deposits it in the State Lake Improvement Fund.

2012 LAWS

Laws 2012, Chapter 210, in addition to other provisions, removes the requirement that the state grants a refund
or credit for the motor vehicle fuel tax paid while operating a motor vehicle on a public-private partnership

roadway project.

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2012 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/18taxbook/18taxbk.pdf.
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USE FUEL TAX

DESCRIPTION

The use fuel tax applies to diesel and other fuels, but not to gasoline and alternative fuels. For vehicles weighing
less than 26,000 pounds, the tax rate is the motor vehicle fuel tax rate, or 18¢ per gallon. For vehicles weighing
more than 26,000 pounds, the tax rate is 26¢ per gallon. Revenues from the tax are deposited in the Highway User
Revenue Fund (HURF).

DISTRIBUTION

The use fuel tax is deposited in HURF [A.R.S. § 28-5730]. (See HURF Overview at the beginning of this section for
distribution of HURF monies.)

Table 1
COLLECTIONS
Fiscal Year Net Collections Fiscal Year Net Collections
2018 $202,113,866 2008 $207,859,050
2017 $201,696,623 2007 $210,281,755
2016 $193,290,854 2006 $213,460,036
2015 $184,499,917 2005 $194,368,181
2014 $176,367,953 2004 $179,002,025
2013 $177,240,384 2003 $166,744,147
2012 $180,242,229 2002 $161,507,309
2011 $178,684,336 2001 $155,859,243
2010 $171,308,245 2000 $156,598,568
2009 $173,930,895 1999 $160,311,953
SOURCE: Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT), Office of Financial Planning.

WHO PAYS

The use fuel tax is presumed to be a direct tax on the consumer but is still collected and remitted to the Arizona
Department of Transportation (ADOT) by suppliers for the purpose of convenience. In other words, the tax is
collected and paid to ADOT by a supplier, who then adds the tax to the price of use fuel in order to recover it from
the consumer [A.R.S. § 28-5606].

REVENUE BASE AND RATE

The revenue base is use fuel, which includes all gases and liquids used to propel motor vehicles that are not subject
to the motor vehicle fuel tax [A.R.S. § 28-5601].

An interstate user of use fuel on which the use fuel tax has not been paid is required to remit an amount that is
computed by multiplying the number of gallons of use fuel used by the tax rate per gallon. The taxable gallonage is
computed on the basis of miles traveled in Arizona as compared to total miles traveled in and outside the state.

The actual method of computation is decided by ADOT [A.R.S. § 28-5720].

The following are exempted from the use fuel tax [A.R.S. § 28-5610]:
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e Use fuel for which proof of export is available in the form of a terminal-issued destination state shipping
paper, and is either exported by a supplier that is licensed in the destination state, or sold by a supplier to a
distributor for immediate export.

e Use fuel that was acquired by a distributor on which the tax has previously been paid and was subsequently
exported across the state border.

e Use fuel sold on an Indian reservation to a tribal member.

e Use fuel sold off an Indian reservation for purposes of operating a motor vehicle for the benefit of an Indian
tribe.

e Use fuel that is moving in interstate or foreign commerce and that is not destined or diverted to a point in this
state.

e Use fuel that has been accidentally contaminated by dye and hence rendered unsalable as highway fuel.

e Dyed diesel fuel.

NOTE: There is no use fuel tax on alternative fuels [A.R.S. § 28-5606].

The tax rate is 18¢ per gallon for vehicles weighing less than 26,000 pounds. The tax rate is 26¢ per gallon for
vehicles weighing more than 26,000 pounds [A.R.S. § 28-5606]. There is an exception to both of these rates for
healthy forest enterprises, which pay 9¢ per gallon.

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

Tax that is accrued in any calendar month shall be paid on or before the 27t day of the succeeding calendar month
to ADOT [A.R.S. § 28-5925].

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2012.

There were no changes enacted to this tax in the period from 2013 through 2018.
2012 LAWS

Laws 2012, Chapter 210, in addition to other provisions, removes the requirement that the state grants a refund
or credit for the use fuel tax paid while operating a motor vehicle on a public-private partnership roadway project.

Laws 2012, Chapter 331 allows for a reduced use fuel tax of 9¢ per gallon to be assessed on fuel used in the
propulsion of a motor vehicle transporting forest products for a healthy forest enterprise. This discounted rate will
continue until the end of calendar year 2024. Previously, between 2005 and 2010, this reduced rate had been 13¢
per gallon.

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2012 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/18taxbook/18taxbk.pdf.
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VEHICLE LICENSE TAX

DESCRIPTION

The Vehicle License Tax (VLT) is an ad valorem tax levied on registered vehicles in the state. The tax is levied per
$100 of a vehicle’s assessed value. For the first 12 months of the vehicle’s life, the assessed value is 60% of the
manufacturer’s base retail price. For each subsequent year, the assessed value is 16.25% less than the previous

year. The rate per $100 of assessed value is $2.80 for new vehicles and $2.89 for renewals.

Table 1
COLLECTIONS
Fiscal Year Net Collections Fiscal Year

2018 $990,139,421 2008
2017 $939,766,758 2007
2016 $881,841,424 2006
2015 $823,916,863 2005
2014 $776,650,468 2004
2013 $728,290,689 2003
2012 $716,086,941 2002
2011 $719,280,662 2001
2010 $735,972,889 2000
2009 $796,683,787 1999

SOURCE: ADOT, Office of Financial Planning.

Net Collections

$858,975,998
$875,746,210
$831,950,743
$747,013,406
$695,325,929
$633,788,189
$601,666,653
$570,769,364
$583,199,118
$594,224,410

DISTRIBUTION

Monies received by the Director of the Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT) from this tax are distributed

as follows [A.R.S. § 28-5808]:
For monies collected from most vehicles:

e 45% to the Highway User Revenue Fund (HURF)

e 24.6% to county general funds

e 5.8% to counties for transportation-related purposes
e 24.6% to incorporated cities and towns

Once the 45% of HURF is distributed, the VLT distribution appears as follows:

Counties - 38.7%

e  24.6% to county general funds

e 14.1% to county highway and transportation purposes

Cities and Towns - 38.0%

e 24.6% to incorporated city and town general funds

e 13.4% to incorporated city and town highway and transportation purposes
State - 23.3%

e 19.0% to the State Highway Fund

e 3.1% to Motor Vehicle Department (MVD) third parties

e 0.9% to the state General Fund

e 0.3% to the Department of Public Safety Parity Compensation (DPS) Fund
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Table 2
DISTRIBUTION

State General State Highway MVD Local DPS Parity
Fiscal Year Fund Fund Third Parties Y Governments ¥ Comp Fund Net Collections
2018 ¥ $9,047,112 $186,164,005 $31,547,056 $760,041,747 $3,339,501 $990,139,421
2017 ¥ $8,378,583 $177,280,870 $29,658,748 $721,286,730 $3,161,827 $939,766,758
2016 ¥ $7,447,186 $167,311,596 $27,010,326 $677,099,368 $2,972,948 $881,841,424
2015 ¥ $6,956,810 $158,315,406 $23,469,044 $632,404,919 $2,770,684 $823,916,863
20147 $6,401,486 $149,551,575 $21,821,576 $596,259,670 $2,616,160 $776,650,468
2013 ¥ $6,091,579 $141,182,351 $19,696,323 $558,873,217 $2,447,220 $728,290,689
2012 Y $111,110,374 $86,559,610 $18,666,754 $497,354,125 $2,396,078 $716,086,941
2011 $47,278,118 $121,085,125 $17,436,109 $531,081,982 $2,399,328 $719,280,662
2010 W/ $45,955,022 $126,415,528 $16,046,738 $545,063,803 $2,491,798 $735,972,889
2009 ¥/ $68,637,851 $129,031,249 $16,060,465 $580,992,141 $1,962,081 $796,683,787
2008 ¥/ $2,269,219 $175,782,821 $16,304,558 $661,705,985 $2,913,415 $858,975,998
2007 $684,102 $180,569,892 $15,524,579 $675,984,843 $2,982,792 $875,746,210
2006 $585,136 $172,515,319 $13,901,699 $642,162,540 $2,693,307 $831,950,743
2005 ¥/ $135,073,829 $36,758,445 $11,329,742 $563,851,390 $747,013,406
2004 $800,278 $148,436,587 $9,667,114 $536,421,948 $695,325,929
2003 &/ $6,556,895 $134,596,889 $8,154,054 $484,480,321 $633,788,159
2002 $70,213 $130,128,937 $6,571,119 $464,896,384 $601,666,653
1/ A.R.S. §28-5101 provides for the reimbursement of authorized MVD third parties for their services performed. The majority of reimbursement monies

come from the State Highway Fund.

2/ Includes the following VLT distributions equaling 76.7% of all VLT: 24.6% for incorporated city and town general funds, 24.6% for county general funds,
14.1% for county highway and transportation purposes and 13.4% for incorporated city and town highway purposes.

3/ In FY 2018, there was a distribution in the amount of $8.1 million of the State Highway Fund share of the HURF portion of the VLT monies to the
General Fund. Additionally, there were allocations to the General Fund of $1.0 million for school financial assistance and $9,800 from the MVD
Registration Compliance program per Laws 2002, Chapter 328, which requires ADOT to deposit 50% of any increase in VLT collections due to vehicle
registration enforcement in the General Fund.

4/ In FY 2017, there was a distribution in the amount of $7.2 million of the State Highway Fund share of the HURF portion of the VLT monies to the
General Fund. Additionally, there were allocations to the General Fund of $1.2 million for school financial assistance and $27,200 from the MVD
Registration Compliance program.

5/ In FY 2016, there was a distribution in the amount of $6.2 million of the State Highway Fund share of the HURF portion of the VLT monies to the
General Fund. Additionally, there were allocations to the General Fund of $930,600 for school financial assistance and $274,000 from the MVD
Registration Compliance program.

6/ In FY 2015, there was a distribution in the amount of $5.5 million of the State Highway Fund share of the HURF portion of the VLT monies to the
General Fund. Additionally, there were allocations to the General Fund of $1.2 million for school financial assistance and $305,400 from the MVD
Registration Compliance program.

7/ In FY 2014, there was a distribution in the amount of $4.9 million of the State Highway Fund share of the HURF portion of the VLT monies to the
General Fund. Additionally, there were allocations to the General Fund of $892,100 for school financial assistance and $600,700 from the MVD
Registration Compliance program.

8/ In FY 2013, there was a distribution in the amount of $4.2 million of the State Highway Fund share of the HURF portion of the VLT monies to the
General Fund. Additionally, there were allocations to the General Fund of approximately $1.0 million for school financial assistance and about
$855,900 from the MVD Registration Compliance program.

9/ InFY 2012, there was a one-time distribution in the amount of $109.1 million of the State Highway Fund share of the HURF portion of the VLT monies
to the General Fund. Additionally, there were allocations to the General Fund of approximately $1.3 million for school financial assistance and about
$700,000 from the MVD Registration Compliance program.

10/ InFY 2011, there was a one-time distribution in the amount of $44.6 million of the State Highway Fund share of the HURF portion of the VLT monies to
the General Fund. Additionally, there were allocations to the General Fund of $1.6 million for school financial assistance and $1.1 million from the MVD
Registration Compliance program.

11/ InFY 2010, there was a one-time distribution in the amount of $43.8 million of the State Highway Fund share of the HURF portion of the VLT monies to
the General Fund. Additionally, there were allocations to the General Fund of $1.0 million for school financial assistance and $1.2 million from the
MVD Registration Compliance program.

12/ InFY 2009, there was a one-time distribution in the amount of $67.0 million of the State Highway Fund share of the HURF portion of the VLT monies to
the General Fund. Additionally, there were allocations to the General Fund of $600,000 for school financial assistance and $1.0 million from the MVD
Registration Compliance program.

13/ This amount includes allocations to the General Fund of $900,000 for school financial assistance and $1.4 million from the MVD Registration
Compliance program.

14/ In FY 2005, there was a one-time distribution in the amount of $118.0 million of the State Highway Fund share of the HURF portion of the VLT monies
to the General Fund. Additionally, there were allocations to the General Fund of $700,000 for school financial assistance and $16.4 million from the
MVD Registration Compliance program.

15/ This amount includes allocations to the General Fund of $1.0 million for school financial assistance and $5.6 million from the MVD Registration

SOURCE: ADOT, Office of Financial Planning.

Compliance program.
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For monies collected from alternative fuel vehicles (except those purchased on or after January 1, 2020 that
exceed 10,000 pounds), car rental surcharges, and private ambulances, fire fighting vehicles, and school buses:

e 37.61% to HURF

e 20.45% to county general funds

e 4.91% to counties for transportation-related purposes

e 20.45% to incorporated cities and towns

e 5.73% to the State Highway Fund

e 10.85% to the General Fund for school financial assistance

In addition to these statutory distributions, session law may distribute VLT for other purposes, as shown in the
footnotes of Table 2.

(See HURF Overview at the beginning of this section for distribution of HURF monies.)
Of the VLT distributed to the State Highway Fund, 1.51% is dedicated to the Parity Compensation Fund.
WHO PAYS

Owners of vehicles that are registered for operation on the highways of Arizona [Arizona Constitution, Article 9,
Section 11].

REVENUE BASE

The VLT is levied on the assessed value of each vehicle. Effectively, the tax is levied on 10 classes of vehicles [A.R.S.
§ 28-5801]:

(1) Passenger vehicles

(2) Commercial vehicles

(3) Non-commercial one-half ton pick-ups and similar vehicles
(4) Buses

(5) Taxis

(6) Travel trailers

(7) Trailers

(8) Motorcycles and scooters
(9) Privately-owned motor vehicles used exclusively as a school bus
(10) Motor vehicles powered by alternative fuels

The taxable value of vehicles in these classes is determined as follows:

Classes 1 through 8

During the first 12 months of the life of the vehicle (as determined by its initial registration) the assessed value of
the vehicle is 60% of the manufacturer's base retail price. During each succeeding 12-month period, the assessed
value of the vehicle is 16.25% less than the assessed value for the preceding 12-month period.

Class 9

During the first 12 months of the life of the vehicle (as determined by its initial registration) the assessed value of
the vehicle is 1% of the manufacturer's base retail price. During each succeeding 12-month period, the assessed
value of the vehicle is 15% less than the assessed value for the preceding period [A.R.S. § 28-5804].

If a Class 9 vehicle is temporarily used for purposes other than as a school bus, the taxable value is determined in
the same manner as Class 1 through 8 vehicles. The tax is then assessed and collected monthly in an amount equal
to one-tenth of the calculated annual VLT for each full month the vehicle is operated for other purposes [A.R.S. §
28-5804].
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Alternative Fuel Vehicles (Class 10)

e During the first 12 months of the life of a vehicle (as determined by its initial registration) purchased before
January 1, 2020, the assessed value of the vehicle is a percentage set by the ADOT Director of the
manufacturer's base retail price, not to exceed 10% per legislative intent. After the first 12 months of the
vehicle's life, the assessed value of the vehicle is 15% less for each 12-month period than the manufacturer's
base retail price.

e  For vehicles purchased on or after January 1, 2020, there are 2 classifications based on weight:

o During the first 12 months of life of a vehicle that is 10,000 pounds or less, the assessed value of the
vehicle is 30% of the manufacturer's base retail price. During each succeeding 12-month period, the
assessed value of the vehicle is 15% less than the assessed value for the preceding 12-month period.

o For vehicles that exceed 10,000 pounds, the assessed value is determined in the same manner as Class 1
through 8 vehicles [A.R.S. § 28-5805].

RATE

For Classes 1 through 8, the VLT rate is $2.80 per $100 of assessed value for the first 12 months of the vehicle’s
life, and $2.89 per $100 of value thereafter. Exception: for noncommercial trailers that are not travel trailers and
have a gross vehicle weight of less than 10,000 pounds, the VLT is a one-time tax of $105 on initial registration and
is a one-time tax of $70 on renewal of registration [A.R.S. § 28-5801].

For Classes 9 and 10, the VLT rate is $4 per $100 of assessed value [A.R.S. § 28-5804, 28-5805].

For trailers and semitrailers that are not travel trailers over 10,000 pounds gross vehicle weight, the VLT is a one-
time fee of $555 for trailers which have not previously been registered, $355 for trailers less than 6 years old which
have been previously registered in another state, and $100 for trailers 6 or more years old which have been
previously registered in another state.

Minimum Tax. For Classes 1 through 8, the minimum amount of the VLT is $10 per year for each vehicle subject to
the tax [A.R.S. § 28-5801]. For Class 9 and Class 10 vehicles, the minimum VLT is S5 per year [A.R.S. § 28-5804, 28-
5805].

EXEMPTIONS

A veteran who is a resident of Arizona and whose vehicle, or replacement of such vehicle, is acquired by financial
aid from the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs is exempt from this license tax [A.R.S. § 28-5802].

No license tax or registration fee shall be collected for a vehicle that is personally owned by a veteran, a veteran
and another party, or the surviving spouse of a veteran, if such veteran is certified by the U.S. Department of
Veterans Affairs as 100% disabled and drawing compensation. Only 1 vehicle or its replacement may claim this
exemption during each 12-month period.

A vehicle owned by a resident who receives disability payments under Title 16 of the Social Security Act is exempt
from the VLT. Such resident must show satisfactory proof of such assistance [A.R.S. § 28-5803]. Only 1 vehicle
may be claimed by a resident with a disability.

An Arizona resident who is a member of the U.S. Armed Forces, including a member of a National Guard or
Reserve unit, who is deployed in support of a worldwide contingency operation of the U.S. Armed Forces may
register or renew the registration of a motor vehicle for 1 year without payment of registration fees and VLT. No
more than 2 motor vehicles owned or leased by the member of the U.S. Armed Forces may be claimed. This
exemption may only be taken 1 time by the member of the U.S. Armed Forces, the member’s spouse or the
member’s legally-designated representative [A.R.S. § 28-5811].

-205 -



Vehicle License Tax

A spouse or dependent of a first responder or U.S. military member killed in the line of duty is exempted from VLT
and the registration fee. The exemption ends when the spouse remarries or dies, or when the dependent turns 18
(or 23 if a full-time student), and is limited to 1 vehicle per claimant [A.R.S. § 28-5803.01].

An enrolled member of an Arizona tribe who resides within the boundaries of a reservation may claim an
exemption from the VLT [Arizona Constitution, Article 20, Section 5].

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

The VLT is due and collected annually at the time of vehicle registration [A.R.S. § 28-5801]. Exception: depending
on eligibility, owners of vehicles may participate in a 2-year or 5-year vehicle registration program and prepay the
VLT for the subsequent year or years [A.R.S. § 28-2159].

ADOT collects tax payments and fees.
IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2012.

There were no changes enacted to this tax in 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2017.
2018 LAWS
Laws 2018, Chapter 265 modifies the alternative fuel vehicle VLT rate as follows:

1. For alternative fuel vehicles purchased before January 1, 2020, the taxable value of the vehicle is a percentage
set by the ADOT Director of the manufacturer's base retail price, not to exceed 10%, per legislative intent. For
each successive 12-month period, the vehicle's assessed value is 15% less for each 12-month period than the
manufacturer's base retail price.

2. For alternative fuel vehicles purchased after January 1, 2020 that are 10,000 pounds or less, the value of the
vehicle is 30% of the manufacturer's base retail price. For each successive 12-month period, the vehicle's
assessed value is 15% less than the assessed value for the preceding 12-month period.

3. For alternative fuel vehicles purchased after January 1, 2020 that are over 10,000 pounds, the standard VLT
rate will apply.

Prior to Chapter 265, the assessed value for motor vehicles powered by alternative fuel was determined in the
same manner as Class 9 vehicles.

2016 LAWS

Laws 2016, Chapter 12 further modifies Laws 2015, Chapter 186 by replacing the phrase “law enforcement officer,
firefighter or emergency responder” with “first responder.” The bill also defines “first responder” as the same
meaning prescribed in A.R.S. § 36-661 (i.e., law enforcement officer, a firefighter or an ambulance attendant) and
includes a person who is a volunteer first responder and who is operating in an official capacity on behalf of a
governmental entity that is involved in an emergency of law enforcement response. These changes are effective
on March 14, 2016.

Laws 2016, Chapter 213 establishes a VLT and registration exemption for a spouse or dependent of a U.S. military
member who died as the result of injuries suffered in the line of duty. The exemption applies to military members

who were killed before and after the bill’s effective date of August 6, 2016.

Laws 2016, Chapter 258 is an emergency measure that amends current statutes with respect to the method by
which state-shared revenues are apportioned among counties and municipalities, as described below.
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Counties

Under current law, state-shared revenue is distributed to a county based on its population count as of the last
federal decennial census [A.R.S. § 42-5029(I)]. During the fifth year following the decennial census, a county may
contract with the U.S. Census Bureau to conduct a special census of the population of that county. Beginning on
July 1 in the sixth year following the decennial census, the result of the special census must be used as the basis for
apportioning state-shared revenue to that county until the next federal decennial census [A.R.S. § 42-5033].

If a special census is not conducted, Laws 2016, Chapter 258 provides a county the following 3 options, all of which
must be exercised before May 1 of the sixth year following a federal decennial census:

1. County submits its own population estimate as of the fifth year following the last decennial census, as
approved by the Office of Employment and Population Statistics.

2. County contracts with the U.S. Census Bureau to conduct a sample survey in order to produce a mid-decade
county population estimate.

3. County requests to continue to use the population count from the most recent U.S. decennial census.

If a county elects to use one of the options above, that population figure must be used (for purposes of
apportioning state-state shared revenue) in the sixth year following the decennial census through June 30 of the
year following the next decennial census.

Municipalities

Under current law, state-shared revenue is distributed to an incorporated city or town based on its population
count as of the last federal decennial census [A.R.S. § 42-5029(1)]. During the fifth year following the decennial
census, a city/town may contract with the U.S. Census Bureau to conduct a special census of the population of that
municipality. Beginning July 1 in the sixth year following the decennial census, the special census must be used as
the basis for apportioning state-shared revenue to that municipality until the next federal decennial census [A.R.S.
§ 42-5033].

For purposes of apportioning state-shared revenue, Laws 2016, Chapter 258 provides a city/town the option to use
either the population count from the special census or the most recent population estimate from the U.S. Census
Bureau. However, Chapter 258 provides that the population count from the special census be used for only 1 year.
Beginning on July 1 in the second year following the special census, a city/town must use the most recent
population estimate from the U.S. Census Bureau. If a special census is not conducted, Chapter 258 requires a
city/town to use the most recent population estimate from the U.S. Census Bureau beginning on July 1 in the
second year following the decennial census through June 30 of the year following the next decennial census.

2015 LAWS

Laws 2015, Chapter 186 allows a VLT and registration exemption for a spouse or dependent of emergency
personnel killed in the line of duty since April 5, 1933. The exemption ends when the spouse remarries or dies, or
when the dependent turns 18 (or 23 if a full-time student), and is limited to 1 vehicle per claimant.

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2012 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/18taxbook/18taxbk.pdf.
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MOTOR CARRIER FEE

DESCRIPTION

The motor carrier fee replaced the motor carrier tax with the enactment of Laws 1997, Chapter 8. The fee is
annually imposed on vehicles with a weight in excess of 12,000 pounds for the use of public highways. The
amount of the fee varies according to vehicle weight, with a maximum fee of $800 for vehicles that weigh up to
80,000 pounds. Collections from the motor carrier fee are dedicated to the Highway User Revenue Fund (HURF).

DISTRIBUTION

Table 1 shows a 20-year revenue history for this fee.

Table 1
COLLECTIONS
Fiscal Year Net Collections Fiscal Year Net Collections
2018 $42,822,555 2008 $40,177,453
2017 $42,090,754 2007 $45,226,185
2016 $41,058,142 2006 $40,504,406
2015 $40,226,982 2005 $37,980,023
2014 $38,841,688 2004 $34,617,452
2013 $37,310,404 2003 $32,856,325
2012 $37,349,582 2002 $29,346,709
2011 $36,299,755 2001 $32,677,923
2010 $35,807,490 2000 $36,562,768
2009 $40,483,421 1999 $34,139,960
SOURCE: Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT), Office of Financial Planning.

All collections from the motor carrier fee are deposited in HURF [A.R.S. § 28-6501]. (See HURF Overview at the
beginning of this section for distribution of HURF.)

WHO PAYS

A person who operates or causes to be operated a motor vehicle on a public highway [A.R.S. § 28-5851].

REVENUE BASE

Motor vehicle means a motor driven vehicle that has a declared gross vehicle weight of more than 12,000 pounds
(typically, a delivery type van, a large 1-ton pickup truck, or some recreational vehicles), and is subject to vehicle
registration, excluding a vehicle that is exempt from gross weight fees [A.R.S. § 28-5851].

RATE

Motor carriers pay a flat fee that varies with the weight class of the motor vehicle, as shown in Table 2 [A.R.S. § 28-
5854].
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Table 2
FEE SCHEDULE

Vehicle Weight Fee Vehicle Weight Fee
12,001 - 14,000 Ibs. $64 32,001 - 36,000 Ibs. $155
14,001 - 16,000 Ibs. $73 36,001 - 40,000 Ibs. $173
16,001 - 18,000 Ibs. $82 40,001 - 45,000 Ibs. $336
18,001 - 20,000 Ibs. $91 45,001 - 50,000 Ibs. $374
20,001 - 22,000 Ibs. $101 50,001 - 55,000 Ibs. $412
22,001 - 24,000 Ibs. $110 55,001 - 60,000 Ibs. $450
24,001 - 26,000 Ibs. $119 60,001 - 65,000 Ibs. $627
26,001 - 28,000 Ibs. $128 65,001 - 70,000 Ibs. $693
28,001 - 30,000 Ibs. $137 70,001 - 75,000 Ibs. $750
30,001 - 32,000 Ibs. $146 75,001 - 80,000 Ibs. $800

The following vehicles are exempt from this fee [A.R.S. § 28-5853]:

e School buses
e Motor vehicles used in the production of
- motion pictures
- industrial, training, and educational films
- television commercials
- video discs and video tapes

The Director of ADOT shall compute a reduced fee that is seven-tenths of the original fee if the motor carrier pre-
qualifies for a reduced fee prior to registration and if other specific circumstances regarding vehicle load status are
met [A.R.S. § 28-5855; A.R.S. § 28-5856; A.R.S. § 28-5857].

The fee for a vehicle that weighs more than 26,000 pounds and is driven less than 2,000 miles each year is $80.
The fee for a vehicle that weighs more than 26,000 pounds and is driven between 2,000 and 4,000 miles a year is
$160 [A.R.S. § 28-5867].

In addition to a commercial registration fee of $4 and a gross weight fee, each light motor vehicle pays an annual
fee of $64. A light motor vehicle is a self-propelled motor driven vehicle that has a declared gross weight of 12,000
or fewer pounds and used to transport for hire persons, freight or property. The light motor vehicle fee exempts
the vehicle from transaction privilege tax or similar taxes related to transporting for hire [A.R.S. § 28-5492].
Vehicle for hire companies (i.e., taxis, livery vehicles or limousines) and transportation network companies (such as
Uber and Lyft) are exempt from the light motor vehicle fee [A.R.S. § 42-5062].

Non-resident motor carriers, or non-resident persons, who operate a motor vehicle in this state may purchase a
Single-Trip Motor Carrier Fee Permit instead of paying the regular motor carrier fee. A single-trip permit is only
effective during the specific trip for which it is issued. The motor carrier fee on a single-trip permit is $12 for 50
miles or less or $48 for more than 50 miles traveled on the highways of this state [A.R.S. § 28-5863].

ADOT may also issue a Special 30-Day Motor Carrier Fee Permit for vehicles not in the commercial transportation

business, only in the state for a limited period of time and will make limited use of Arizona's highways. The motor
carrier fee for a special 30-day permit is $96 [A.R.S. § 28-5864].
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TAX REFUNDS AND/OR TAX CREDITS

In the event the director determines that a motor carrier overpaid the fee, penalty, or interest, the director shall
credit that amount on any current amount due or refund the excess amount [A.R.S. § 28-5859].

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

Fee is payable at the time the motor vehicle is registered with the state [A.R.S. § 28-5854B].
The collecting agency is ADOT [A.R.S. § 28-5854B].

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2012.

There were no changes enacted to this fee in 2013, 2015, 2017 and 2018.
2016 LAWS

Laws 2016, Chapter 171 revises the annual license fee for taxis and eliminates the $64 annual light motor vehicle
fee for vehicle for hire companies (i.e., taxis, livery vehicles or limousines). These changes are effective on
September 1, 2016.

2014 LAWS

Laws 2014, Chapter 60 revises the definitions of special permit conditions for a tractor-semitrailer, including the
special permit tractor-semitrailer weight and length, the number of trailers a special permit tractor-semitrailer may
haul, and the routes a special permit tractor-semitrailer may travel. The legislation specifies a fee of $75 for a
single trip or 30-day special permit, $360 for an annual special permit if the overweight load is no more than
123,500 pounds, and $600 for an annual special permit if the overweight load is more than 123,500 pounds but no
more than 129,000 pounds. The bill also allows the ADOT director to issue an envelope permit to any 2 axel
vehicles if they are less than 34,000 pounds.

2012 LAWS
Laws 2012, Chapter 210, in addition to other provisions, removes the requirement that the state grants a refund
or credit for the motor carrier fee paid while operating a motor vehicle on a public-private partnership roadway

project.

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2012 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/18taxbook/18taxbk.pdf.
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HIGHWAY SAFETY FEE

DESCRIPTION

Laws 2018, Chapter 265 establishes the highway safety fee which is charged on car registrations and is annually
imposed at the time of registration of a vehicle. The fee will fund highway patrol related operations under the
Department of Public Safety. Chapter 265 requires the Director of the Arizona Department of Transportation
(ADOT) to set the fee on car registrations sufficient to fund 110% of the highway patrol budget for each upcoming
fiscal year, less any unencumbered balance in the Highway Patrol Fund that exceeds 10% of the prior year deposit
[A.R.S. § 28-2007].

DISTRIBUTION

The fee is expected to generate $183 million annually starting in FY 2020. The revenue for this new fee will be
deposited starting January 1, 2019 and is therefore expected to raise approximately half of that amount in FY
2019, or $91 million.

All collections from the highway safety fee are deposited in the Arizona Highway Patrol Fund [A.R.S. § 28-2007].
WHO PAYS

A person who registers their vehicle with the state of Arizona [A.R.S. § 28-2007].

REVENUE BASE

The highway safety fee will draw revenue from owners of vehicles that register their vehicle with the state of
Arizona [A.R.S. § 28-2007].

RATE

Individuals who register their vehicle pay a flat fee that is determined by the director of ADOT annually for each
fiscal year [A.R.S. § 28-2007].

PAYMENT SCHEDULE
Fee is payable at the time the motor vehicle is registered with the state [A.R.S. § 28-2007].

The collecting agency is ADOT [A.R.S. § 28-2007].
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AVIATION FUEL TAX

DESCRIPTION

The aviation fuel tax is levied on each gallon of aviation fuel produced or imported into Arizona. Aviation fuel is
defined as fuel that is expressly manufactured for use in an internal combustion engine of an aircraft. The tax rate
is 5¢ per gallon, and revenues are deposited in the State Aviation Fund.

DISTRIBUTION

The tax on aviation fuel is deposited in the State Aviation Fund [A.R.S. § 28-8345]. The monies in the fund are
dedicated to the construction, development, and improvement of airports in the state.

Table 1
COLLECTIONS
Fiscal Year Net Collections Fiscal Year Net Collections
2018 $341,400 2008 $420,915
2017 $306,780 2007 $460,470
2016 $325,479 2006 $462,598
2015 $329,326 2005 $499,136
2014 $313,075 2004 $572,686
2013 $358,677 2003 $646,314
2012 $312,914 2002 $510,378
2011 $383,655 2001 $456,476
2010 $339,980 2000 $481,594
2009 $380,429 1999 $671,799
SOURCE: Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT), Office of Financial Planning.

WHO PAYS

The aviation fuel tax is presumed to be a direct tax on the consumer but is still collected and remitted to the
Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT) by suppliers for the purpose of convenience. In other words, the
tax is collected and paid to ADOT by a supplier, who then adds the tax to the price of aviation fuel in order to
recover it from the consumer [A.R.S. § 28-5606].

REVENUE BASE AND RATE

The revenue base is aviation fuel, which means all flammable liquids composed of a mixture of selected
hydrocarbons manufactured and blended for the purpose of operating an internal combustion engine in an
aircraft. Aviation fuel does not include fuel used in jet or turbine powered aircraft [A.R.S. § 28-101].

The following are exempted from the aviation fuel tax [A.R.S. § 28-5610]:

e  Aviation fuel for which proof of export is available in the form of a terminal issued destination state shipping
paper, and is either exported by a supplier that is licensed in the destination state, or sold by a supplier to a
distributor for immediate export.

e Aviation fuel that was acquired by a distributor on which the tax has previously been paid and that was
subsequently exported across the state border.

e Aviation fuel that is moving in interstate or foreign commerce and that is not destined or diverted to a point in
this state.
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e Aviation fuel that is sold to the United States or its agencies or instrumentalities.
The tax rate is 5¢ per gallon [A.R.S. § 28-8344].
PAYMENT SCHEDULE

The tax that is accrued in any calendar month is to be paid on or before the 27t" day of the next succeeding
calendar month to ADOT [A.R.S. § 28-5925].

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2012.

There were no changes enacted to this tax in the period from 2012 through 2018.

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2012 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/18taxbook/18taxbk.pdf.
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HOSPITAL ASSESSMENT

DESCRIPTION

The Arizona Health Care Cost Containment System (AHCCCS) is required to establish, administer and collect a
hospital assessment for state costs that are not otherwise covered by voter-approved tobacco revenues and other
state funds for the Proposition 204 and Adult Expansion populations, on and after January 1, 2014. [A.R.S. § 36-
2901.08]

Proposition 204, also known as the “Healthy Arizona Initiative,” was a voter-approved ballot initiative in year 2000
that expanded AHCCCS eligibility for childless adults, parents, and other Proposition 204 populations (i.e., aged,
blind and disabled individuals) with incomes that exceed the limits for the Traditional population, but are not
above 100% of the federal poverty level (FPL). However, in July 2011, enrollment for Proposition 204 childless
adults was suspended to address the FY 2012 budgetary shortfall. Other Proposition 204 populations retained
coverage and their enroliment continued unaffected.

Beginning January 1, 2014, the federal Affordable Care Act (ACA) required mandatory expansion of Medicaid
eligibility to children up to 133% FPL, while making expansion of adult eligibility up to 133% FPL an option of the
state. Arizona opted to restore its prior Proposition 204 childless adult coverage along with expanding
participation to all adults with incomes up to 133% FPL. (See the JLBC Staff’s January 1, 2014 Expansion of Medicaid
Eligibility and the Affordable Care Act Program Summary for more information.) [A.R.S. § 36-2901.01, A.R.S. § 36-
2901.07]

A hospital assessment was enacted to pay for the state’s share of acute care costs of Proposition 204 Childless
Adult Restoration (0-100% FPL), other Proposition 204 populations and Adult Expansion (100-133% FPL). Hospital
assessment monies are matched with increased Federal Medical Assistance Percentages (FMAP) to cover AHCCCS
costs incurred by the Proposition 204 Childless Adult Restoration and the Adult Expansion populations. Hospital
assessment monies that fund state costs of other Proposition 204 populations in AHCCCS receive the regular 2 to 1
federal match rate.

COLLECTIONS

In FY 2018, the hospital assessment generated an estimated $290.2 million in collections. Table 1 below provides
historical assessment collections since the assessment’s initial implementation in FY 2014.

Table 1
COLLECTIONS
Fiscal Year Amount
2018* $290,214,067
2017 $265,500,280
2016 $250,204,956
2015 $270,538,669
2014 $75,193,195

* AHCCCS’ preliminary assessment estimate.

SOURCE: Arizona Health Care Cost Containment System,
Hospital Assessment Reports.
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DISTRIBUTION

Hospital assessment collections may be used to fund acute care costs of Proposition 204 Childless Adult
Restoration (0-100% FPL), other Proposition 204 populations and Adult Expansion (100-133% FPL). These costs are
included within the AHCCCS budget.

Under the ACA, the federal government provides an increased federal match rate for Proposition 204 childless
adults. The match rate is 92.29% in FY 2019. Hospital assessment funding for other Proposition 204 populations
receives a regular 2 to 1 match rate.

The federal government paid 100% of the cost of the Adult Expansion (including parents and childless adults whose
incomes are between 100-133% FPL) through 2016. The Hospital assessment began covering the state match costs
of Adult Expansion in 2017 when the match rate decreased to 95%. The ACA scheduled further decreases to 94%
in 2018, 93% in 2019, and 90% in 2020 and each year thereafter.

Assessment funds distributed to AHCCCS are not remitted to the General Fund, do not lapse and are continuously
appropriated. [A.R.S. § 36-2901.09]

WHO PAYS

A.R.S. § 36-2901.08A allows AHCCCS the option to levy the assessment on a participating hospital’s revenues,
discharges or bed days to fund the state share of AHCCCS costs that are incurred for the Proposition 204 and Adult
Expansion populations after December 31, 2013. [A.R.S. § 36-2901.01, A.R.S. § 36-2901.07] Statute also permits
AHCCCS to establish the amount, method, modifications or exemptions to the assessment, such as the size of the
hospital, the specialty services available to patients and the geographic location of the hospital. [A.R.S. § 36-
2901.08C] Federal regulations require that assessments be broad based and uniformly applied to all providers
within a specified class of providers. Table 2 lists the hospital providers (by peer hospital classification) that
contributed to the FY 2018 assessment and the respective percentage amounts to the total funds AHCCCS
collected in FY 2018.

Table 2

Hospital Provider Peer Group (# of hospitals) ¥ FY 2018 Subtotals % of total

Urban Acute Providers (29) $177,420,149 61.1%

Critical Access Hospital (CAH) Providers (10) 3,795,414 1.3%

Non-CAH Rural Acute Providers (13) 34,622,406 11.9%

Long-Term Care Provider (6) 282,676 0.1%

Large Psychiatric Provider (5) 2,295,458 0.8%

Pediatric-Intensive General Acute Hospitals (2) 21,796,242 7.5%

Medium Pediatric Intensive General Acute Hospitals (6) 50,001,723 17.2%
Total ¥ $290,214,067 100.0%

*AHCCCCS' preliminary assessment estimate

1/ InFY 2018, 71 hospitals participated in the hospital assessment.

2/ Numbers do not add due to rounding.

REVENUE BASE AND RATE

AHCCCS determines the amount of the assessment to collect based on the estimated state funding needed to
cover the Proposition 204 and Adult Expansion populations. Each hospital’s share of the assessment is calculated
by multiplying discharges reported on the hospital’s Medicare Cost Report by the hospital’s per-inpatient discharge
rate. Although rates differ among hospital peer groups, each hospital must agree to the discharge rate before it
can be imposed. Table 3 outlines each peer hospital group’s discharge rate on a per-inpatient basis for FY 2018
and FY 2019.
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Since its January 1, 2014 implementation, the total hospital assessment liability has been split among hospitals
according to their number of reported discharges and the per-inpatient discharge rate. Although there is no
statutory requirement to use the same assessment methodology developed in the prior fiscal year, each
assessment request requires the federal Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) approval before the
assessment can be imposed. Each hospital’s inpatient discharge rate is verified to comply with federal regulations
for permissible health care-related taxes outlined in federal regulations 42 CFR 433.68.

Table 3
FY 2018 FY 2019
Discharge Discharge
Hospital Provider Peer Group (# of hospitals) Rate Rate ¥
Urban Acute Providers (29) $483.00 $546.00
Critical Access Hospitals (CAH) (10) 483.00 546.00
Non-CAH Rural Acute Providers (13) 483.00 546.00
Long-Term Care Provider (6) 120.75 136.50
Large Psychiatric Provider (5) ¢ 120.75 136.50
Pediatric-Intensive General Acute Hospitals (2) 386.50 436.75
Medium Pediatric Intensive General Acute Hospitals (6) 434.75 491.50
WEIGHTED AVERAGE $391.40 $429.69
1/ For FY 2019, AHCCCS used discharge data from 2016 Medicare Cost report to calculate the assessment
rate, while prior year collections were based on 2011 Medicare Cost Report data.
2/ For discharges from a psychiatric sub-provider within an acute care hospital, the assessment rate is
equal to the rate paid by Large Psychiatric Providers, or $136.50 in FY 2019.

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

Payments are made on a quarterly basis and are collected by AHCCCS. The funds are then held within the Hospital
Assessment Fund before Federal Funds are drawn into the state for deposit at the time of payment. Total
payments are based on the state matching monies and various federal match rates before the total fund amount is
distributed to managed care organizations and service providers.

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of all statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature. The
first legislation was in 2013. There were no statutory changes to the Hospital Assessment in 2014 through 2018.

2013 LAWS

Laws 2013, 1% Special Session, Chapter 10 requires AHCCCS to establish an assessment on hospital revenue,
discharges, or bed days for the purpose of funding the state match portion of the Medicaid expansion (adults from
100%-133% of FPL) and the entire Proposition 204 population beginning January 1, 2014. In addition, Chapter 10
allows AHCCCS to establish modifications or exemptions to the assessment, such as the size of the hospital, the
specialty services available to patients and the geographic location of the hospital. The AHCCCS Director is
required to present the methodology to the JLBC before the implementation of the assessment and thereafter, if
the methodology is modified.

The legislation additionally repeals the hospital assessment if: 1) the federal matching rate for adults from 100%-
133% FPL or childless adults is less than 80%; 2) the federal ACA is repealed; or 3) the maximum amount that can
be assessed and still retain a federal match, along with any other appropriated monies, is insufficient to pay for the
Childless Adult Restoration to 100% of FPL and the Adult Expansion between 100% and 133% of FPL. (Effective
September 12, 2013)
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DESCRIPTION

The Department of Insurance manages 2 Guaranty Funds - the Arizona Property and Casualty Insurance Guaranty
Fund, and the Life and Disability Insurance Guaranty Fund [A.R.S. § 20-662 and § 20-683]. These 2 funds serve as a
safeguard in the event that a certified insurance provider becomes insolvent or is placed under a court order of
rehabilitation. The Property and Casualty Insurance Guaranty Fund covers policies on property insurance, casualty
insurance and workers’ compensation insurance. The Life and Disability Insurance Guaranty Fund covers policies
on life insurance, disability insurance and annuities. Each Guaranty Fund is administered by a separate Board of
Directors with members appointed by the Governor [A.R.S. § 20-662, A.R.S. § 20-664, A.R.S. § 20-684, and A.R.S. §
20-685].

DISTRIBUTION
Each Guaranty Fund is broken into 3 accounts
Arizona Property and Casualty Insurance Guaranty Fund [A.R.S. § 20-662]

e Automobile insurance account
e  Workers’ compensation insurance account
e Account for all other insurance covered by the fund

The Board of Directors levies assessments for each account and spends money only for the purposes of that
account. The Board of Directors can levy an additional assessment for administrative costs [A.R.S. § 20-664 and
A.R.S. § 20-666F].

Life and Disability Insurance Guaranty Fund [A.R.S. § 20-683]

e Life insurance account
e Disability account
e Annuity account

The obligations of the fund are not allowed to exceed the amount to which the impaired or insolvent member
insurer is contractually liable. However, there are caps on the amount of obligations that the fund can pay, even if
the insolvent or impaired insurer is contractually liable for an amount above the cap. The cap on obligations is
$300,000 for life insurance death benefits, or $100,000 for net cash withdrawal or net cash surrender for life
insurance. The cap on obligations is $300,000 for disability income and long term care insurance; $500,000 for
health benefit plans; and $100,000 for coverages not defined as disability income, long term care, or health benefit
plans. The cap on obligations to the annuity account is $250,000 in present value annuity benefits. [A.R.S. § 20-
682E]

If an individual, firm or corporation owns multiple policies, the fund’s obligation cannot exceed S5 million. [A.R.S.
§ 20-682F]
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Table 1
COLLECTIONS — ARIZONA PROPERTY AND CASUALTY
INSURANCE GUARANTY FUND ¥
Fiscal Automobile Worker’s Compensation Other Total Net
Year Account Account? Account Collections
1998 $3,949,018 $0 $1,446,788 $5,395,806

1/ Since FY 1996, assessments were only levied in FY 1998.
2/ Laws 2014, Chapter 186 moved the workers’ compensation account from the Industrial Commission Special Fund to the
Arizona Property and Casualty Insurance Guaranty Fund.

SOURCE: Department of Insurance

Table 2

COLLECTIONS — LIFE AND DISABILITY INSURANCE GUARANTY FUND ¥
Fiscal Life Disability Annuity Total Net
Year Account Account Account Collections
1997 $13,542,000 SO $10,089,000 $23,631,000
2018 SO $6,892,800 SO $6,892,800

1/ No assessment was levied between since FY 1997 and FY 2017.
2/ The FY 2018 collections shown in the table include a $3,000,000 administrative assessment pursuant to A.R.S. §20-686A.

SOURCE: Department of Insurance

WHO PAYS

Arizona Property and Casualty Insurance Guaranty Fund: Member insurers pay the assessment. A member insurer
under the Arizona Property and Casualty Insurance Guaranty Fund is a person who is licensed to write any kind of
insurance, unless that person only writes life, title, surety, disability, credit, mortgage guaranty or ocean-marine
insurance [A.R.S. § 20-661 and A.R.S. § 20-666A].

Life and Disability Insurance Guaranty Fund: Member insurers pay the assessment. A member insurer is any
insurer or health care services organization that holds a certificate of authority and transacts life, disability or
annuity insurance in the state and may include member insurers who may have had the certificate of authority
suspended, revoked, not renewed or voluntarily withdrawn [A.R.S. § 20-681 and A.R.S. § 20-686A].

As shown in Table 1, prior to FY 2018 the guaranty fund assessments have not been levied since 1998. However,
an assessment of $7.0 million was levied for the Life and Disability Insurance Guaranty Fund (LDIGF) in FY 2018.
The assessment is the result of the failure of 2 national insurance companies that sold policies in Arizona. The
affected policies are primarily long term care policies and are covered by the disability insurance account of the
LDIGF. While the exact amount of liabilities to the fund is not yet known, estimates exceed $150 million. The
department and the board intend to levy assessments over multiple years to cover the expected liabilities to
match actual fund payouts, rather than making larger assessments up front.

REVENUE BASE

The assessments for each Guaranty Fund are determined by each fund’s respective Board of Directors. The
amount owed by member insurers is based on the proportion of premiums written by a member insurer to total
premiums written for all member insurers by insurance type for each subaccount. For example, if a member
insurer receives 25% of all life insurance premiums in the state, then that member insurer will be responsible for
25% of the life insurance account assessment under the Life and Disability Insurance Guaranty Fund [A.R.S. § 20-
666 and A.R.S. § 20-686].
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The Arizona Property and Casualty Insurance Guaranty Fund assessment cannot exceed 1% of a member insurer’s
net direct premiums from the preceding calendar year on the type of insurance in the subaccount. In addition to
the assessments for each subaccount, the board of directors may levy an additional assessment on each member
insurer for operating expenses not to exceed $200 annually [A.R.S. § 20-666B and A.R.S. § 20-666F].

The Life and Disability Insurance Guaranty Fund is made up of 2 types of assessments, Class A and Class B. Class A
assessments are set at a level by fund administrators to pay for administration expenses. Class B assessments are
divided into the 3 accounts. The amount of a Class B assessment that goes to a particular account is proportional
to the share of an insolvent or impaired insurer’s total premiums that are covered under that particular account,
except for long term care policies. For example, if 10% of an impaired insurer’s premiums are covered by the
disability insurance account, then 10% of the assessment levied to member insurers as a result of the impaired
insurer will go to the disability insurance account under the Life and Disability Insurance Guaranty Fund, except for
assessments for long term care policies which are split - 50% allocated to disability insurers and 50% allocated to
life and annuity insurers. The total from both Class A and Class B assessments imposed on a member insurer in 1
calendar year cannot exceed 2% of the average of total premiums collected during the 3 years before the
offending member insurer became insolvent [A.R.S. § 20-686].

PREMIUM TAX OFFSET

Under both guaranty funds, member insurers who pay the assessment offset their premium tax liability by 20% of
the assessment in the year of the assessment and by 20% in each of the succeeding 4 years. However, the total
amount of the premium tax offset cannot exceed 100% of the assessment [A.R.S. § 20-674 and A.R.S. § 20-692].

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2012. There were no changes enacted to these assessments in 2012, 2015, 2016, or in 2017.

2018 LAWS

Laws 2018, Chapter 64 expands the Life and Disability Insurance Guaranty Fund board from 9 to 11 members and
adds health care service organizations as assessment-paying member insurers. Chapter 64 also redefines how
Class B assessments for long term care policies are paid, allocating 50% of the assessment to disability insurers and
50% to life and annuity insurers. (Effective December 31, 2018)

2014 LAWS

Laws 2014, Chapter 186 establishes the Workers’ Compensation Insurance Account as part of the Arizona Property
and Casualty Insurance Guaranty Fund (Guaranty Fund) within the Department of Insurance. The law transfers the
rights and obligations related to payment of workers’ compensation claims on insolvent insurers from the Special
Fund, administered by the Industrial Commission, to the Department of Insurance’s Guaranty Fund effective July 1,
2015. The law requires the Industrial Commission to transfer $222,848,153 in assets from the Special Fund to the
Guaranty Fund for deposit in the Workers’ Compensation Insurance Account no less than 30 days before July 1,
2015.

The Workers’ Compensation Insurance Account is to be used to continue workers’ compensation benefits for
claimants of insolvent carriers and bankrupt self-insured employers.

In the event of an insolvency or bankruptcy, the Department of Insurance may cover the cost of claims on that
insurer or employer by levying an assessment of up to 1% on the other solvent workers’ compensation insurers’
premiums from all policies issued during the preceding calendar year. The assessment revenue is deposited into
the Workers” Compensation Insurance Account for payment of those claims.
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2013 LAWS

Laws 2013, Chapter 214 includes the following provisions in regards to the Life and Disability Insurance Guaranty
Fund:

e Distinguishes between impaired insurer and insolvent insurer by creating a separate definition for insolvent
insurer.

e Amends the definition of member insurer to include insurers with a certificate of authority that has been
suspended, revoked, not renewed, or voluntarily withdrawn.

e Stipulates when the fund does and does not provide coverage.

e Increases the maximum coverage amounts to $300,000 for life insurance, $500,000 for disability insurance,
and $250,000 for annuity benefits.

e  Stipulates that assessments must be paid within 30 days of notice by the fund.

e Stipulates that combined assessments on all 3 accounts cannot exceed 2% of the insurer’s average total
premiums collected during the 3 years before the offending member insurer became insolvent.
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JOB TRAINING EMPLOYER TAX

DESCRIPTION

In 1993, the state established a job training program which is currently administered by the Arizona Commerce
Authority. In order to receive state funding, employers had to provide at least 25% of the total program training
costs.

As of January 1, 2001, the state began levying a new job training employer tax to provide job training for both new
and existing employees. Laws 2015, Chapter 10 repealed the tax effective January 1, 2016. The tax was imposed
on each employer in the state at 0.1% of the first $7,000 in taxable wages. The tax was collected by the
Department of Economic Security and deposited in the Arizona Job Training Fund. To receive monies from the
fund, employers were required to contribute a portion of the training costs, up to 50% of the total, depending on
the type of worker receiving the training. The 0.1% job training tax was accompanied by a corresponding decrease
in the unemployment tax rate in order to hold employers harmless to the new tax.

DISTRIBUTION

The job training employer tax was deposited in the Arizona Job Training Fund [A.R.S. § 23-769]. Deposits made
after FY 2016 are the result of back tax collections.

Table 1
COLLECTIONS
Fiscal Year Net Collections Fiscal Year Net Collections
2018 $3,892 2009 $14,878,923
2017 $1,140,778 2008 $16,226,493
2016 $3,891,520 2007 $15,973,538
2015 $14,248,827 2006 $14,653,279
2014 $12,637,422 2005 $13,317,153
2013 $13,600,391 2004 $12,350,720
2012 $15,990,851 2003 $12,549,532
2011 $11,784,372 2002 $13,371,382
2010 $12,041,812 2001 $6,478,539
SOURCE: Arizona Commerce Authority.

The fund provides grants to train new and existing employees for new and expanding companies and companies
undergoing economic conversion with the following conditions [A.R.S. § 41-1541 and A.R.S. § 41-1544]:

e Employers pay 50% of the costs associated with training existing workers and 25% of the cost to train new
employees.

e A minimum of 25% of the monies in the fund must be used to provide training to businesses employing less
than 100 people.

e A minimum of 25% must be used to train workers in rural areas of the state.

e No more than 50% of the monies in the fund can be used for incumbent worker training.

e Single grants do not make up more than 10% of the fund total.

Training is provided by state community colleges, private post-secondary educational institutions, community
colleges operated by a tribal government or another qualified training provider. Laws 2015, Chapter 10 repealed
the Job Training program and Job Training Fund as of January 2017. However, Laws 2017, Chapter 307
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retroactively extended the repeal date of the fund to June 30, 2022 and requires that all encumbrances of monies
from the fund be made by December 31, 2020. Any monies remaining in the fund as of June 30, 2022 will be
transferred to the General Fund. The estimated fund balance as of May 2018 was $30.4 million.

WHO PAYS

While Chapter 307 extended the life of the program for purposes of spending down the fund balance, the job
training tax remains repealed.

The job training employer tax was levied on one-tenth of 1% of the first $7,000 in taxable wages paid to an
employee each year [A.R.S. § 23-622 and A.R.S. § 23-769].

The following employers were not subject to the job training employer tax pursuant to A.R.S. § 23-769:

(1) Employers who elected to become liable for payment in lieu of contributions pursuant to A.R.S. § 23-750.

These are generally non-profit agencies or governmental entities.

(2) Until the excise tax imposed pursuant to 26 United States Code section 3301 (Federal Unemployment Tax) is
reduced to 6% or less, companies:

(a) With a positive reserve ratio of at least 13% pursuant to A.R.S. § 23-730.

(b) With a positive reserve ratio of at least 12% but less than 13%.

(c) That are assigned the contribution rate of 2% pursuant to A.R.S. § 23-729 or 2.7% pursuant to A.R.S. § 23-
730. Contribution rates are determined each year. Companies that paid 2.7% or above of an employee’s
salary towards Unemployment Insurance were exempt from contributing towards the job training tax.

(d) With a negative reserve ratio pursuant to A.R.S. § 23-730.

(3) Employers that deposit a quarterly amount of less than $10.

The Federal Unemployment Tax declined to 6% on July 1, 2011, thus the employers in section (2) above were
subject to the job training employer tax prior to January 1, 2016.

REVENUE BASE AND RATE

The revenue base was the wages from employment. The tax rate was 0.1% of the first $7,000 in taxable wages
paid to an employee each year.

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

The tax was collected quarterly by the Department of Economic Security with monies deposited to the Arizona
Commerce Authority’s Arizona Job Training Fund [A.R.S. § 23-769]. All monies deposited in the fund were
expended for costs related to training, except for the Arizona Commerce Authority reimbursing the Department of
Economic Security for the development costs of establishing the system to collect the job training employer tax
and ongoing collection costs [A.R.S. § 41-1544]. Ongoing tax collection costs averaged $775,000 per year.

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2012.

There were no changes enacted to this tax in 2012, 2013, 2014, 2016, and 2018.

2017 LAWS

Laws 2017, Chapter 307 retroactively extended the repeal date of the Arizona Job Training Fund from January 1,
2017 to June 30, 2022. The bill also requires that all encumbrances of monies in the fund be made by December

31, 2020 and that any monies in the fund as of the repeal date be transferred to the General Fund. The estimated
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fund balance as of May 2018 was $30.4 million. Any additional revenues deposited to the fund will be the result of
interest earned on the existing balance, since the Job Training tax remains repealed.

2015 LAWS

Laws 2015, Chapter 10 repealed the job training employer tax effective January 1, 2016. Previously, the tax was
scheduled to sunset on January 1, 2017. The bill reaffirms the previous sunset date of January 1, 2017 for the Job
Training Program and includes a provision that any remaining, unencumbered job training tax revenues in the Job
Training Fund are to be transferred to the Unemployment Insurance Benefits Fund. Non-job training tax monies in
the fund are to be transferred to the General Fund.

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2012 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/18taxbook/18taxbk.pdf.
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PARI-MUTUEL TAX

DESCRIPTION

The pari-mutuel tax is assessed on the amount of money wagered at horse and dog racing facilities and simulcasts
in the state. The tax structure is separated according to the type of racing — horse or dog — and the population size
of the county in which the facility is located. Live dog racing was prohibited in Arizona as of January 2017.

In July 2015, the Department of Racing was consolidated into the Department of Gaming under the title of the
Division of Racing [A.R.S. § 5-101.01A]. The Division of Racing collects fees for licenses issued to facilities and
personnel involved in the racing industry and regulatory assessments. The distribution has varied in the past
several years. (See Distribution discussion below.)

The pari-mutuel tax does not include Indian gaming because the Indian tribes do not conduct pari-mutuel races.
Also, the payments that the tribes make to the state pursuant to Proposition 202 are not taxes. The state cannot
tax the tribes—these contributions are “voluntary” payments made in exchange for substantial exclusivity in their
gaming activities.

DISTRIBUTION

Table 1 below provides pari-mutuel tax and license fee collections for the past 20 years. Prior to FY 2010, pari-
mutuel taxes, license fees, and unclaimed property monies collected by the Department of Revenue (DOR) were
distributed among several different racing funds. In FY 2010 and FY 2011 these proceeds were all distributed to
the General Fund. In FY 2012, licenses and assessments were deposited into the Racing Regulation Fund, while the
pari-mutuel taxes continued to be deposited into the General Fund. Since FY 2013, all proceeds are distributed to
the Racing Regulation Fund.

Table 1
COLLECTIONS
Fiscal Year Pari-Mutuel Taxes Licenses Total Collections
2018 $225,334 $152,379 $377,713
2017 $134,356 $254,905 $389,291
2016 $160,215 $197,698 $357,913
2015 $180,467 $331,330 $516,247
2014 $215,518 $372.,400 $587,900
2013 $234,621 $350,5003 $585,100
2012 $254,801 $182,088 $436,889
2011 $284,817 $130,200 $415,017
2010 $314,021 $73,600 $387,621
2009 $326,590 $80,356 $406,946
2008 $429,592 $168,600 $598,200
2007 $431,437 $53,500 $484,900
2006 $527,860 $61,426 $589,286
2005 $483,901 $194,954 $655,914
2004 $565,204 $130,900 $696,104
2003 $628,564 $111,750 $740,314
2002 $750,354 $158,988 $909,342
2001 $1,802,280 $91,558 $1,893,838
2000 $2,549,046 $59,506 $2,608,552
1999 $2,945,419 $166,829 $3,112,248
SOURCE: Arizona Department of Racing.
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WHO PAYS

The taxpayer is the person, firm, partnership, corporation, or association that holds a pari-mutuel permit. No
single permittee may simultaneously own more than 4 racetracks within the state. No permittee that holds a
permit in a county of over 700,000 persons may simultaneously hold a permit for the same kind of racing in
another county having a population of over 700,000 [A.R.S. § 5-108.03].

REVENUE BASE AND RATE

The revenue base is the “handle,” which is defined as the total amount of money contributed to pari-mutuel pools
by bettors [A.R.S. § 5-101 and A.R.S. § 5-111].

Laws 2016, Chapter 246 prohibits live dog racing in Arizona as of January 1, 2017. Prior to Chapter 246, the state
received 5.5% of the total handle for dog racing.

For horse racing, the state receives 2% of the first $1.0 million of the daily pari-mutuel pool, and 5% of the amount
exceeding $1.0 million of the daily pari-mutuel pool [A.R.S. § 5-111D].

Exemptions to the pari-mutuel tax include [A.R.S. § 5-111]:

e The portion of the handle for wagering on simulcasts of out-of-state races.

e Racing meetings conducted by county fair associations with the permission of the Racing Commission. This
exemption is limited to one racing meeting each year.

e Monies received from races held on charity days. Charity days are defined as days on which the net proceeds
of the pari-mutuel pool are donated to non-profit organizations and corporations that benefit the public.

Licenses and assessments. The Division of Racing issues annual licenses and assessments to facilities and personnel
involved in the racing industry. The Division of Racing establishes and collects fees for the licenses it issues [A.R.S.
§ 5-104].

The licenses and assessments include:

e Racing licenses.

e A regulatory assessment from the purse accounts to pay for racing animal medication testing, and animal
safety and welfare.

e Aregulatory assessment from each permittee for each day of dark day simulcasting conducted in excess of the
number of live racing days conducted by the permittee.

e A regulatory assessment from each commercial racing permittee payable from amounts deducted from pari-
mutuel pools by the permittee, in addition to the amounts the permittee is authorized to deduct from
amounts wagered on live and simulcast races from in-state and out-of-state wagering handled by the
permittee.

Note that these fees and assessments shall not be reduced for hardship tax credits or capital improvements.

Persons, firms, partnerships, corporations, or associations applying for a pari-mutuel permit are not charged a
permit fee. Instead, the Division of Racing charges an annual licensing fee of $150 to the following individuals
representing permit applicants, where appropriate: racetrack owners with a stake of 10% or greater, corporate
officers, and racetrack general managers. However, prior to the issuance of a permit, each applicant must post a
bond document of up to $300,000 for horse racing payable to the Division of Racing and the state [A.R.S. § 5-
107D]. Each pari-mutuel permit holder must also make a refundable $5,000 deposit with the Division of Racing 10
days prior to a racing meeting to ensure payment of the amount of pari-mutuel tax due to the state [A.R.S. § 5-
107C].
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TAX REFUNDS AND/OR TAX CREDITS

Hardship Credit. Under prior law, a permittee was eligible for a hardship tax credit determined as follows [A.R.S. &
5-111]:

e Determine the percentage decrease in pari-mutuel wagering in the previous fiscal year compared to the base
year. The base year is defined as the highest total pari-mutuel wagering at the racetrack and all additional
wagering facilities owned by the permittee for FY 1990 through FY 1994.

e  Multiply the total pari-mutuel tax liability for the current year by the percentage decrease determined above,
and multiply the result by 3.

e Reduce the permittee’s pari-mutuel tax due for the current period, and all future periods, by the result. The
hardship tax credit can be used in addition to any other tax exemptions, rebates, and credits.

The credits do not apply to licenses and assessments.

Laws 2016, Chapter 247 eliminated the Hardship Credit effective May 13, 2016. Hardship credits earned prior to
May 13, 2016 may still be used to offset pari-mutuel tax owed after the effective date. The formula for
determining the amount of pari-mutuel tax owed and the amount of hardship credits that can be applied to the
pari-mutuel tax is displayed in Table 2 on the following page. Prior to the elimination of the hardship credit,
determination of the amount of hardship credits awarded was based on statutorily set base levels, industry trends
and state pari-mutuel taxes from dollars wagered during the most recent fiscal year. Table 2 assumes the
continued operation of each of Arizona’s commercial race tracks. Yavapai Downs was not in operation in FY 2017.
However, J&J Equine Enterprises purchased the property in January 2018 and the track was granted a temporary
permit to conduct live racing between FY 2019 and FY 2021. The track owners anticipate that Yavapai Downs will
reopen for horse racing at the start of FY 2020. Apache Greyhound Park currently takes wagers on simulcast races,
but does not conduct any live racing.

Capital Improvements. The permittee’s pari-mutuel annual tax liability may be reduced in order to fund capital
improvements to racetracks. The reduction can be up to 1% of the total handle in counties having a population of
500,000 or more, and up to 2% in all other counties. The annual reduction continues until sufficient funds have
been obtained for the completion of the capital improvement project. The projects must be approved by the
Racing Commission. [A.R.S. § 5-111.02 and A.R.S. § 5-111.03].

The capital improvements provision expired on June 30, 1992 for counties with populations of 500,000 or more,
and on June 30, 1999 for all other counties. Projects approved prior to these dates may continue with the tax
reduction until sufficient funds have been obtained for completion of the capital improvement.

The capital improvement reduction does not apply to licenses and assessments.

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

Pari-mutuel taxes are paid daily during the racing season. The tax is collected by the Division of Racing.
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FY 2018 Hardship Tax Credit Usage Based on the FY 2017 Dollars Wagered ¥/

Table 2 (a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) (h) (i) (i) (k)
FY 17
FY 17 Pari- FY 17 FY 17 Pari-
FY 17 Actual Amount Mutuel Tax Amount Fy 17 Mutuel Tax Carryover FY 17 FY 18 Tax
Base Base Year Wagered Allowable . from FY 17 due based
Track Tax Rate Amount N owed before Wagered . paid after . Percent
Year Amount Subject to . ) Hardship ) Hardship on Percent
Wagered . Hardship on Charity . Hardship . Change
Pari-Mutuel X Credits ) Credit Decrease
Credit Days Credit
Tax
=b*d =e-f-g =g-e =(c-a)/a =e*|j|
Turf FY 1994 $101,467,993 2.0%¥ $94,554,450 $6,760,681 $135,213% $7,446% $14,564 | $113,204 so? -6.81% $9,213
Rillito FY 1990 $3,887,981 2.0%% $692,253 $561,008 $11,220% SO $306,234 s0Y $295,014 -82.20% $9,222
Apache FY 1990 $12,262,396 5.5% $13,891,345 s0¥ SO S0 $02/ s0Y $360,850%/ 13.28% S0
Tucson FY 1990 $38,110,346 5.5% $6,049,366 s0¥/ SO S0 $4,800,470 $0¢ 54,621,843 -84.13% S0

Laws 2016, Chapter 247 eliminated the hardship credit effective May 13, 2016, no additional Hardship credits will be awarded after the effective date. Hardship credits earned prior to

May 13, 2016 may still be used by racing tracks to offset pari-mutuel tax owed after this date.

For horse racing, the state receives 2% of the first $1.0 million of the daily pari-mutuel pool, and 5% of the amount exceeding $1.0 million of the daily pari-mutuel pool [A.R.S. § 5-
111D].

Laws 2016, Chapter 246 prohibited live dog racing in Arizona effective January 2017. The Apache Greyhound track and the Tucson Greyhound track conduct only simulcast races; no
live races are held at the Apache or Tucson racetrack. Wagering on simulcasts of out-of-state races is not subject to pari-mutuel tax [A.R.S. § 5-111].

Charity days are defined as days on which the net proceeds of the pari-mutuel pool are donated to non-profit organizations and corporations that benefit the public. Monies received
from races held on charity days are exempt from pari-mutuel tax [A.R.S. § 5-111].

The Apache racetrack does not follow the standard formula for calculating Allowable Hardship Credits because the track did not have a negative percentage change the previous year;
therefore, the allowable hardship credit for the Apache track will remain as the carryover from the previous year until the Apache track has a negative percentage change.

If the resulting amount in column (h) is negative, the track does not pay the pari-mutuel tax but rather that amount is subtracted from the Allowable Hardship Credit in column (g).
The Turf racetrack owed more in pari-mutuel tax (column (e)) than the track had accumulated in hardship credits (column (g)), as a result the Turf racetrack depleted its allowable
hardship credit amount and the track paid the remaining difference in pari-mutuel tax (column (h)).
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IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2012. There were no changes enacted to this tax in 2013, 2017, and 2018.

2016 LAWS

Laws 2016, Chapter 246 prohibits live dog racing in Arizona effective January 1, 2017. A qualified live dog racing
permit holder may still conduct advance deposit wagering and wagering at additional wagering facilities owned or
leased by the permit holder without having live dog racing.

Laws 2016, Chapter 247 eliminates the hardship tax credit effective May 13, 2016. Hardship credits earned prior
to May 13, 2016 may still be used by racing tracks to offset pari-mutuel tax owed after this date.

2015 LAWS

Laws 2015, Chapter 15 merges the Arizona Department of Racing into the Arizona Department of Gaming,
establishing a Division of Racing effective July 1, 2015. The bill transfers all administrative matters, contract, and
judicial action to the Division of Racing, within the Department of Gaming. The Division of Racing will continue to
collect fees for licenses and regulatory assessments relating to the racing industry.

2014 LAWS

Laws 2014, Chapter 277 provides various changes to the state’s racings laws. The bill authorizes Advanced Deposit
Wagering (ADW), which permits wagering on live and simulcast horse and dog racing either by telephone or over
the internet. The bill would have transferred $1.2 million to each of the Arizona Breeders’ Award Fund and to the
County Fair Racing Fund from the Estate and Unclaimed Property Fund resulting in a $(2.4) million fiscal impact to
the state General Fund in FY 2015. These transfers, however, were line item vetoed by the Governor, thereby
eliminating the $2.4 million in transfers. That amount will continue to be deposited into the General Fund.

2012 LAWS
Laws 2012, Chapter 297 required that pari-mutuel taxes collected on wagering at horse and dog racing facilities be
deposited to the Racing Regulation Fund to fund the Department of Racing’s operating budget. Previously, these

collections ($321,600 in FY 2011) were deposited to the General Fund. (Effective Tax Year 2013)

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2012 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/18taxbook/18taxbk.pdf.
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TELECOMMUNICATIONS SERVICES EXCISE TAX

DESCRIPTION

The state is levying 3 separate taxes on telecommunications services. The Emergency Telecommunication Services
Tax and the Prepaid Wireless Telecommunications E911 Excise Tax are levied for the purpose of financing 911
emergency telephone services for political subdivisions of the state and are both deposited into the Emergency
Telecommunication Services Revolving Fund. The Telecommunications Provider Proceeds Tax is levied to finance
telecommunication devices for deaf, severely hearing impaired, and severely speech impaired residents of the
state and is deposited into the Telecommunication Fund for the Deaf.

DISTRIBUTION

Table 1 below provides a 20-year history of the distribution of the taxes levied on telecommunications services. As
noted above, the current taxes levied on telecommunications services are deposited in either the Emergency
Telecommunication Services Revolving Fund or the Telecommunication Fund for the Deaf. Prior to Laws 2006,
Chapter 351, collections from the Telecommunications Provider Proceeds Tax were shared with the Poison Control
System within the Department of Health Services (DHS), the Arizona State Schools for the Deaf and the Blind
(ASDB), and the Teratogen Information Program administered by the University of Arizona Health Sciences Center.

Table 1
COLLECTIONS AND DISTRIBUTION
Emergency AZ State Teratogen
Telecomm. Svcs. Telecomm. Fund Poison Schools for the Information

Fiscal Year Revolving Fund for the Deaf Control FundY  Deaf & the Blind ¥/ Program ¥/
2018 $15,713,205 $4,386,029 - - -
2017 $17,810,659 $4,405,381 - - -
2016 $17,695,124 $4,641,805 - - -
2015 $17,850,677 $4,852,778 - - -
2014 $17,109,403 $4,865,666 - - -
2013 $16,425,768 $4,587,729 - - -
2012 $16,481,762 $4,857,379 - - -
2011 $16,606,135 $6,452,762 - - -
2010 $16,453,500 $6,086,692 - - -
2009 $17,774,128 $6,274,404 - - -
2008 $17,332,349 $6,581,940 - - -
2007 $23,074,167 $6,744,231 - - -
2006 $28,736,951 $3,860,508 $1,128,620 $867,140 $48,678
2005 $27,245,559 $4,035,765 $1,066,833 $1,363,179 $53,771
2004 $25,691,865 $5,091,661 $1,437,566 $1,362,312 -
2003 $23,510,706 $6,338,095 $2,340,528 - -
2002 $21,927,338 $6,395,057 $2,365,295 - -
2001 $11,337,064 $5,514,542 $2,039,625 - -
2000 $9,353,630 $4,960,224 $1,834,603 - -
1999 $9,266,210 $5,158,289 $1,907,860 - -

1/ Prior to Laws 2006, Chapter 351, 1.1% of the public service corporations’ gross proceeds of sales or gross income
from wired telephone lines (i.e., Telecommunications Provider Proceeds Tax) were distributed as follows: 0.68%
to the Telecommunication Fund for the Deaf, 0.25% to the Poison Control Fund, 0.16% to the Arizona State
Schools for the Deaf and the Blind Telecommunications Fund, and 0.01% to the Teratogen Information Program
Fund.

SOURCE: Department of Revenue, Annual Reports
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WHO PAYS

The Emergency Telecommunication Services Tax and Telecommunications Provider Proceeds Tax are both levied on
the “provider.” A “provider” is either of the following: (1) a public service corporation that provides exchange
access services to a local telecommunications network, (2) a supplier of wireless services, or (3) a supplier of any
combination of wire and wireless services [A.R.S. § 42-5251].

The Prepaid Wireless Telecommunications E911 Excise Tax is levied on the “seller.” A “seller” is any business or
person that sells prepaid wireless telecommunications service to a consumer. Prepaid wireless telecommunications
service is a commercial mobile radio service that is paid in advance and sold in a predetermined amount, and
which allows the caller to dial 911 to access the emergency system [A.R.S. § 42-5401].

REVENUE BASE AND RATE
BASE

The Emergency Telecommunication Services Tax is imposed on each activated wire and wireless service account,
including Voice Over Internet Protocol (VolP) [A.R.S. § 42-5252A].

The Telecommunications Provider Proceeds Tax is imposed on the public service corporations’ gross proceeds of
sales or gross income from the business of providing exchange access services [A.R.S. § 42-5252B]. Exchange
services are essentially wired telephone or telecommunication exchange lines that provide access from the
customer to the local telecommunications network. This tax does not apply to wireless and VolP.

The Prepaid Wireless Telecommunications E911 Excise Tax is imposed on the seller’s gross proceeds of sales or
gross income derived from the retail sale of prepaid wireless telecommunications services [A.R.S. § 42-5402A].

RATE

Emergency Telecommunication Services. Beginning in FY 2008, the monthly rate is 20¢ per activated wire and
wireless service account. The corresponding rate was 28¢ in FY 2007, and 37¢ in the period from FY 2001 through
FY 2006 [A.R.S. § 42-5252A].

Telecommunications Provider Proceeds. An amount equal to 1.1% of the public service corporations’” monthly
gross proceeds of sales or gross income from wired telephone lines [A.R.S. § 42-52528B].

Prepaid Wireless Telecommunications E911. Beginning January 1, 2014, an amount of 0.8% of the monthly gross
proceeds of sales or gross income derived from the retail sale of prepaid wireless telecommunications services
[A.R.S. § 42-5402A].

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

Each provider remits the tax monthly to the Department of Revenue in the same manner and time as the
Transaction Privilege Tax (TPT). Electronic filing and payment requirements are the same as for TPT. The seller of
prepaid wireless telecommunications services is allowed to retain 3% of the amount of tax collected before
remitting the tax to the department [A.R.S. § 42-5402B].

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2012. There were no changes enacted to this revenue category in the period from 2013 through 2018.

2012 LAWS

Laws 2012, Chapter 198 established the prepaid wireless telecommunications 911 excise tax. The tax is equal to
0.8% of the gross income derived from the retail sale of prepaid wireless telecommunications services. The
revenue generated from the tax will be deposited in the Emergency Telecommunications Services Revolving Fund.

A listing of tax law changes prior to the 2012 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/18taxbook/18taxbk.pdf.

-231-


http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/18taxbook/telecom.pdf

UNDERGROUND STORAGE TANK TAX

DESCRIPTION

The tax applies to gasoline, diesel fuel, and aviation fuel. The tax finances the Underground Storage Tank (UST)
Revolving Fund to provide partial coverage for corrective action costs incurred by the Department of
Environmental Quality (DEQ), owners, operators, or political subdivisions. This 1¢ excise tax on petroleum
products and hazardous substances became effective July 1, 1990. The tax is deposited in the UST Revolving Fund,
which finances leak prevention programs and corrective action costs related to leaking USTs incurred by the
department, owners, operators, or political subdivisions.

Laws 2015, Chapter 247 established a newly-revised corrective action program and extended the 1¢ excise tax to
January 1, 2024, on which date the tax will be repealed. The bill repealed the following: the State Assurance
Account (SAF), the Regulated Substances Fund (RSF), the Grant Account, the UST Policy Commission, and the UST
Technical Appeals Panel. UST Revolving Fund’s allowable uses were redefined, and all unexpended and
unencumbered monies from these accounts were transferred to the reorganized UST Revolving Fund.

DISTRIBUTION

The Director of the Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT) acts as the collecting agent for the Director of
DEQ and is required, by the 20™ day of each month, to distribute the UST Tax monies, net of administrative costs
received during the preceding calendar month, to the Director of DEQ [A.R.S. § 28-6001]. The tax monies are then
credited into the UST Revolving Fund [A.R.S. § 49-1036]. (This statute related to the remission and disposition of
revenues was modified by Laws 2015, Chapter 247.)

Laws 2004, Chapter 273 repealed the UST Program and the associated 1¢ excise tax no later than December 31,
2013, and created the Regulated Substance Fund (RSF) as a funding source for corrective action. Laws 2013,
Chapter 244 extended the UST tax to December 31, 2015. The monies from the UST account were transferred into
the RSF. The law established that, after the transfer of $60.0 million to the RSF, any amounts in excess of $60.0
million were to be deposited in the State Highway Fund (SHF). During FY 2014, the RSF reached $60.0 million in
deposits. Monies deposited to the RSF in excess of $60.0 million were transferred to the State Highway Fund
(SHF). Laws 2014, Chapter 14 eliminated the transfer of monies to the SHF effective January 1, 2015. A total of
$27.7 million was transferred to the SHF before the transfer was eliminated. Laws 2015, Chapter 247 extended the
1¢ excise tax to January 1, 2024.

Regulated Substance Fund. Tax monies in this account were transferred to the UST Revolving Fund at the
beginning of FY 2016 in accordance with Laws 2015, Chapter 247.

Assurance Account. Tax monies in this account were transferred to the UST Revolving Fund at the beginning of FY
2016 in accordance with Laws 2015, Chapter 247.

UST Revolving Fund. Tax monies in this account can be used in the following manner [A.R.S. § 49-1015]:

e Reimbursement for corrective action costs incurred by a political subdivision or an owner or an operator of an
UST which is subject to the tax [A.R.S. § 49-1053].

e  Provide grant monies. [A.R.S. § 49-1071].

e Reimburse DEQ for costs in taking corrective actions [A.R.S. § 49-1017].

e Reimburse DEQ for "reasonable" administration costs [A.R.S. § 49-1015].

(For more information, please see the Impact of Statutory Changes section under Laws 2015, Chapter 247.)
Reimbursable Costs. The UST Revolving Fund may be used to reimburse costs of corrective actions incurred in soil

and groundwater remediation. Corrective action cost reimbursements are limited to releases reported prior to
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January 1, 2023. Applications for preapproval must be submitted no later than December 31, 2029 and
reimbursement of eligible costs must be submitted no later than December 31, 2030.

Table 1
COLLECTIONS
Fiscal Year Net Collections Fiscal Year Net Collections
2018 $33,037,711 2008 $31,581,700
2017 $30,302,036 2007 $32,092,000
2016 $31,796,946 2006 $36,174,100
2015 $29,853,233 2005 $30,759,200
2014 $28,579,676 2004 $28,090,000
2013 $29,023,072 2003 $27,769,100
2012 $28,233,058 2002 $27,819,100
2011 $28,644,426 2001 $30,025,500
2010 $28,703,900 2000 $28,963,800
2009 $28,652,200 1999 $27,761,100
SOURCE: Department of Environmental Quality

WHO PAYS

The operator and owner of an UST, which serves as the final dispenser of motor vehicle fuel, aviation fuel, and
diesel, is responsible for payment of this tax. UST means tank(s) used to contain vehicle fuel, aviation fuel, and
diesel with at least 10% of its volume underground [A.R.S. § 49-1001 and 49-1031B]. (A.R.S. § 49-1031B related to
the imposition of the UST tax is extended to January 1, 2024 by Laws 2015, Chapter 247.)

Excluded are:

1) non-commercial types of tanks

2) certain regulated pipeline facilities

3) tanks owned and operated by Indian tribes

4) septic tanks or wastewater collection systems

5) surface water impoundment pit

6) tanks situated on the floor of an underground area such as a basement.

A separate license is not required for payment of this tax [A.R.S. § 28-6003B].
REVENUE BASE AND RATE

The tax rate is 1¢ per gallon of regulated substance placed in a tank in any calendar year [A.R.S. § 49-1031] through
January 1, 2024.

“Regulated substance” means petroleum or a substance defined in the Comprehensive Environmental Response
Compensation and Liability Act (CERCLA) of 1980, not including a substance regulated as hazardous waste under
the Solid Waste Disposal Act of 1984 [A.R.S. § 49-1001].

The tax does not apply to (1) USTs operated by the Federal or State Government or (2) USTs used for jet fuel
[A.R.S. § 49-1031C]. Indian tribes are also exempt but through an intergovernmental agreement may participate in
the new programs by paying the UST Tax [A.R.S. § 49-1057].

Additional Fees. Owners and operators subject to the UST Tax shall pay an annual registration fee of $100 for each

tank [A.R.S. § 49-1020].
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PAYMENT SCHEDULE

The tax is due and payable annually by March 31 for the proceeding calendar year and is delinquent if not
postmarked or delivered in person by that same date. A return is required to be filed at this time [A.R.S. § 49-
1032].

Most taxpayers make periodic payments to ADOT at the same time and manner as the Motor Vehicle Fuel Tax.
This refers to those distributions of products that ADOT normally collects for, such as gasoline, aviation fuel, and
diesel oxygenated fuel. The Director of DEQ may extend the filing time for "good cause" provided that at least 90%
of the tax liability is paid upon the extension request [A.R.S. § 49-1033].

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2012.

2018 LAWS

Laws 2018, Chapter 276 transfers $1.4 million from the UST Revolving Fund to the Arizona Department of
Administration for Phase 5 of the DEQ web portal, myDEQ, which will automate additional permitting and
compliance processes that are currently conducted with paper.

Laws 2018, Chapter 280 suspends the administrative cap established in A.R.S. § 49-1015 for FY 2018 and
authorizes DEQ to transfer up to $6.5 million from the UST Revolving Fund for administrative expenses and for
sewage remediation.

Laws 2018, Chapter 299 includes the following provisions:

e Amends Laws 2015, Chapter 247 to permit reimbursement up to $1.0 million per facility for corrective actions
conducted between July 1, 2010 and December 31, 2016 for releases that were properly reported and
confirmed before federal responsibility requirements went into effect in 1988. The reimbursement amount is
reduced by the amount of previously paid claims. A facility is prohibited from obtaining additional
reimbursement if previous reimbursement exceeded $1.0 million. Requests for reimbursement from the UST
Revolving Fund must be made by the owner or operator by December 31, 2018.

e Amends Laws 2015, Chapter 247 to permit an owner or operator that satisfies the federal reporting
requirements through insurance to receive additional corrective action reimbursement for work conducted on
or after January 1, 2016 without filing a timely claim against its insurance carrier if the release was reported
between July 1, 2006 and December 31, 2015. Reimbursement is limited to $500,000 per facility after
meeting a cost sharing obligation payment of $50,000. No reductions are made for payments previously made
under the corrective action program. In effect, this allows these facilities to receive up to $1.0 million in
reimbursement payments like other facilities that maintained insurance and holds them harmless for not filing
a timely release against their insurance carrier.

e Makes technical and conforming changes.

2017 LAWS
Laws 2017, Chapter 305 transfers $3.2 million from the UST Revolving Fund to the Arizona Department of
Administration for Phase 4 of the DEQ web portal, myDEQ, which will automate additional permitting and

compliance processes that are currently conducted with paper.

Laws 2017, Chapter 308 suspends the administrative cap established in A.R.S. § 49-1015 for FY 2018 and
authorizes DEQ to transfer up to $6.5 million from the UST Revolving Fund for administrative costs.
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2016 LAWS

Laws 2016, Chapter 120 clarifies that the UST Revolving Fund shall continue to retain its interest earnings rather
than deposit them into the General Fund. This provision had been inadvertently changed in Laws 2015, Chapter
247. Additionally, Chapter 120 suspends the administrative cap established in A.R.S. § 49-1015 for FY 2017 and
authorizes DEQ to transfer up to $6.5 million from the UST Revolving Fund for administrative costs.

2015 LAWS

Laws 2015, Chapter 13 suspends the administrative cap established in A.R.S. § 49-1051 for FY 2016 and authorizes
DEQ to transfer up to $6.5 million from the UST Revolving Fund for administrative costs.

Laws 2015, Chapter 247 includes the following provisions:

e Amends Laws 2013, Chapter 244 to extend the UST tax to January 1, 2024.

e Amends Laws 2014, Chapter 14 to establish a newly-revised corrective action program.

e Repeals the State Assurance Account (SAF), the Regulated Substances Fund (RSF), the Grant Account, the UST
Policy Commission, and the UST Technical Appeals Panel.

e Reorganizes the UST Revolving Fund, redefines its allowable uses, and transfers all the unencumbered,
unexpended monies from abolished funds and accounts to the reorganized UST Revolving Fund.

e Establishes a 7-year baseline period beginning January 1, 2016 and requires DEQ to establish standards for
conducting a baseline assessment.

e Allows UST owners and operators to request grants of up to $100,000 per facility for the cost of a baseline
assessment and other non-corrective actions specified in Laws 2015, Chapter 247.

e  Establishes a new preapproval process, which will allow DEQ to reimburse certain owners and operators that
implement preapproved corrective action with monies from the UST Revolving Fund.

e Limits preapproved corrective action cost reimbursements to releases reported prior to January 1, 2023.

e  Establishes reimbursement mechanisms for previously time-barred claims for releases reported by certain
dates.

e Limits reimbursement for previously time-barred claims to $500,000 per facility for applicants using a financial
responsibility (FR) mechanism other than insurance and $1.0 million per facility for applicants using insurance
as an FR mechanism. (This chapter was later amended by Laws 2018, Chapter 299 to provide full eligibility for
facilities that were inadvertently barred from receiving the full reimbursement amount).

e Provides eligibility for preapproved corrective action reimbursement for certain owners and operators
through a cost sharing obligation payment of the first $50,000 per facility for work conducted beginning
January 1, 2016.

e Removes the requirement for the Director of DEQ to submit an annual recommendation to the Legislature
regarding any revision to the tax rate necessary to maintain the fund and, instead, requires DEQ to compile
and submit a report on the status of the UST program by December 31, 2017 and every 3 years thereafter.

e Transfers statutes related to intergovernmental agreements with Indian tribes.

e  Makes technical and conforming changes to statute.

2014 LAWS

Laws 2014, 1% Special Session, Chapter 13 suspends the administrative cap established in A.R.S. § 49-1051B2 and
B3 for FY 2015 and authorizes DEQ to transfer a combined $6.5 million from the Assurance Account of the UST
Revolving Fund and the RSF for administrative costs.

Laws 2014, Chapter 14 includes the following provisions:

e Amends Laws 2013, Chapter 244 and eliminates the transfer of monies to the State Highway Fund effective
January 1, 2015. After that date, any deposits will remain in the UST Assurance Account. (This provision was
later amended by Laws 2015, Chapter 247, which abolished the UST Assurance Account and transferred all
monies to the UST Revolving Fund.)
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e Repeals the previous Laws 2013, Chapter 244 provision extending eligibility for corrective action coverage
from the UST Assurance Account for releases that could not have been reasonably reported prior to July 1,
2006. (This provision was later amended by Laws 2015, Chapter 247 extending corrective action coverage.)

e Changes the provision from Laws 2013, Chapter 244 that the department is not required to take any action
until after the UST Study Committee report to when a new revised UST corrective action program is effective.

e Extends “stop order” authority on delivery of regulated substance to an UST if owner has not submitted a
statement of financial responsibility.

e Offered a legislative intent statement that the UST account monies be used to fund a new and revised
corrective action program and the existing UST Leak Prevention Program.

Laws 2014, Chapter 247 amended Laws 2014, Chapter 14 which offered legislative intent statement about the UST
account monies being used to fund a new and revised corrective action program to include provisions stating that
DEQ must allow an owner or operator an opportunity to demonstrate to DEQ that state and federal responsibility
requirements are already being met as an alternative to possible mechanisms proposed in the legislative intent
statement.

2013 LAWS

Laws 2013, 1% Special Session, Chapter 4 suspends the administrative cap established in A.R.S. § 49-1051B2 and
B3 for FY 2014 and authorizes DEQ to transfer a combined $6.5 million from the Assurance Account of the UST
Revolving Fund and the RSF for administrative costs.

Laws 2013, Chapter 244 includes the following provisions:

e Extended the UST tax to December 31, 2015 from December 31, 2013. (This provision was later amended by
Laws 2015, Chapter 247 to extend the UST tax to January 1, 2024.)

e Reinstated the eligibility for corrective action for those releases that could not have been reasonably reported
before July 1, 2006. (This provision was later amended by Laws 2015, Chapter 247 to also include releases
reported on or after July 1, 2006 through January 1, 2016.)

e  Established an UST Study Committee to consider and make recommendations in a report related to funding
the UST program. The committee is required to report by December 31, 2013, and the legislation repeals the
committee on February 28, 2014.

e Extended eligibility for assistance with corrective action for releases that could not have been reasonably
reported before July 1, 2006, and an owner or operator can apply for preapproval of corrective action costs
until December 31, 2014 or reimbursement for corrective action until December 31, 2015. (This provision was
subsequently repealed by Laws 2014, Chapter 14 as amended by Laws 2015, Chapter 247.)

e Allows an owner or operator of an UST to apply for preapproval of corrective action costs until December 31,
2014, and extends reimbursement for corrective action until December 31, 2015. (This provision was later
modified by Laws 2015, Chapter 247 by extending the application deadline for preapproval to December 31,
2019 and extending reimbursement for corrective action until December 31, 2030.)

e DEQ is not required to take action on any application of coverage until the committee releases its findings.
Reimbursement is contingent upon available funding. (This provision was later amended by Laws 2014,
Chapter 14 to state that the department is not required to take action until a new revised UST corrective
action program is in effect.)

e If the UST Assurance Account does not have sufficient monies to pay for coverage of releases reported after
July 1, 2006, priority will be given to those releases reported before July 1, 2006. (This provision was
subsequently repealed by Laws 2014, Chapter 14.)

e After payment of claims, the legislation requires the department to transfer any monies remaining in the
Assurance Account to the RSF up to a maximum of $60.0 million, and any amounts in excess of $60.0 million
will be deposited to the State Highway Fund. (The transfer to the SHF ended on January 1, 2015 as described
in the distribution section. Laws 2015, Chapter 247 abolishes the RSF and transfers the monies in the fund to
the UST Revolving Fund.)
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2012 LAWS

Laws 2012, Chapter 303 suspended the administrative cap established in A.R.S. § 49-1051B2 and B3 for FY 2013
and DEQ may transfer a combined $6.5 million from the Assurance Account of the UST Revolving Fund and the RSF
for administrative costs of the UST Leak Prevention Program and funding for the Used QOil Program.

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2012 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/18taxbook/18taxbk.pdf.
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UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE TAX

DESCRIPTION

Employers are required to pay both federal and state unemployment insurance taxes. Each employer is required
to make contributions based on wages paid for employment, the employer’s history of benefit charges, and the
solvency of the statewide unemployment insurance system. These contributions are used to pay benefits to
unemployed persons.

In summary, an employer is paying the following taxes and assessment on the first $7,000 of an employee’s wages
each for CY 2018:

e 3 base state unemployment tax of between 0.02% and 5.4% (with an average of 2.36%).

e anet Federal Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA) rate of 0.6%

The base state unemployment insurance rate is between 0.02% and 5.4% of the first $7,000 of each employee’s
wages each calendar year (CY), depending on the solvency of an employer’s unemployment insurance account.
These rates may be further adjusted depending on the solvency of the state’s overall unemployment insurance
system. The average state unemployment insurance rate is 2.36% in CY 2018.

The state unemployment insurance taxes fund 26 weeks of benefits at a maximum of $240 per week. During
periods of high unemployment the state tax may not generate sufficient revenue to fund all 26 weeks of benefits.
The state can then borrow funds from the federal government to cover its cost, as Arizona did in 2010.

The Federal Emergency Unemployment Compensation (EUC) Program ended on December 28, 2013. The program
had provided 100% federal funding for emergency benefits for an additional 37 weeks, as long as the state’s 3-
month average unemployment rate was at least 7%.

In addition, an employer pays a net unemployment tax of 0.6% of the first $7,000 of each employee’s wages in CY
2018. Arizona employers who pay their state taxes on time receive a tax credit equal to 5.4% on the standard
federal unemployment tax (FUTA) rate of 6.0% for a net rate of 0.6%. In CY 2011, the FUTA rate was 6.2% on the
first $7,000 of wages, but was offset by a 5.4% credit for a net tax rate of 0.8% in states with programs that
conform to federal standards. Beginning July 1, 2011, the FUTA rate returned to the prior rate of 6.0% for a net tax
rate of 0.6%. The state, however, was unable to repay all outstanding federal loans by November 10, 2012,
resulting in a 0.3% FUTA tax increase for CY 2012, or an additional Ul tax against employers of $21 per employee.
Laws 2013, Chapter 204 allowed the Department of Economic Security (DES) to issue up to $200 million in tax
anticipation notes to repay its federal loan. By doing so, the state avoided (a) the continuation of the 0.3% FUTA
rate increase from CY 2012 and (b) an additional 0.3% FUTA rate increase in CY 2014, resulting in a combined
(0.6)% FUTA rate savings of $42 per employee in CY 2014. As of May 2015, the state had repaid all federal
borrowing for the payment of unemployment insurance benefits.

FUTA funds are deposited into 3 federal accounts. The first, the Employment Security Administration Account
(ESAA), supports state program administration for the Unemployment Insurance program and the Employment
Service program. The second, the Extended Unemployment Compensation Account (EUCA), provides the funds for
the 50% share of the Extended Benefits program; the other 50% share is from the state’s Unemployment
Compensation Fund. The third, the Federal Unemployment Account (FUA), provides a loan fund for state
unemployment programs in distress to ensure a continued flow of benefits.

DISTRIBUTION
Contributions are deposited in the Unemployment Compensation Fund and are used for the benefit of persons

unemployed through no fault of their own [A.R.S. § 23-701].
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Table 1
COLLECTIONS
Average State Unemployment Reimbursement
Contribution Total Tax Payments in Federal
Fiscal Year Rate ¥ Collections Contributions Lieu of Tax Reimbursements

2018 2.36% $513,382,500 $496,845,436 $13,651,773 $2,885,291
2017 2.38% $497,209,125 $479,203,084 $15,020,981 $2,985,059
2016 2.40% $483,885,156 ¥  $463,819,390 $15,826,137 $4,239,629 ¥
2015 2.40% $711,205,617 $440,950,664 $18,962,246 $251,292,706
2014 2.40% $918,177,420 $431,452,278 $22,607,013 $464,118,129
2013 2.40% $1,101,706,097 ¥  $415,808,516 $26,457,982 $659,439,599 7
2012 2.90% ¥ $1,485,462,876 ¥  $391,350,470 $37,569,725 $1,056,542,680 7
2011 2.64% Y $2,257,212,580%  $354,688,388 $50,022,678 $1,852,501,515
2010 2.08% $1,755,552,142 ¢  $277,863,738 $52,537,283 $1,425,151,121 ¥
2009 1.36% $587,359,403 $246,091,332 $21,889,172 $319,378,899 ¥
2008 1.39% $301,561,384 $282,038,804 $14,111,465 $5,411,115
2007 1.52% $324,836,608 $304,835,124 $13,736,790 $6,264,694
2006 1.48% $311,615,055 $288,389,906 $16,099,858 $7,125,290
2005 1.43% $254,702,773 $228,222,848 $18,269,674 $8,210,251
2004 1.01% $239,618,898 $162,309,395 $20,411,672 $56,897,831
2003 0.80% $228,540,796 $135,055,266 $16,718,797 $76,766,733
2002 0.80% $185,776,445 $137,021,529 $11,142,567 $37,612,349
2001 0.82% $173,555,672 $161,067,162 $6,967,171 $5,521,339
2000 1.02% $164,634,552 $153,057,470 $6,880,773 $4,696,309
1999 1.05% $187,458,343 $175,626,310 $7,138,106 $4,693,927

1/ Contribution rates are based on calendar years. Represents effective average contribution rate after accounting for all adjustments.

2/ Certain non-profit organizations, the state government and its political subdivisions may elect to make payments in lieu of contributions equal

S

INJ

to the regular benefits and one-half of the extended benefits paid [A.R.S. § 23-750].

The Unemployment Insurance Title XII Loan was paid off on 05/01/2015.

Rate includes a special assessment of 0.4% in CY 2011 and 0.5% in CY 2012 according to Laws 2011, Chapter 218 to pay down the state’s
federal loan balance.

Includes funds received from the federal government for borrowing and emergency unemployment.

Includes funds received from the federal government for borrowing, emergency unemployment, extended benefits, and the Reed Act.

In FY 2012 - FY 2013, Federal Reimbursements include extensions of benefits authorized by the Emergency Unemployment Compensation
program enacted in the federal Supplemental Appropriations Act of 2008, as well as additional extensions authorized by the Unemployment
Compensation Extension Act of 2008, by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (ARRA), and most recently by the American
Taxpayer Relief Act of 2012. All of these benefit extensions and increases are federally funded. In addition, these funds include monies
received from the federal loan.

In FY 2009 - FY 2011, the Federal Reimbursements include extensions of benefits authorized by the Emergency Unemployment Compensation
program enacted in the federal Supplemental Appropriations Act of 2008, as well as additional extensions authorized by both the
Unemployment Compensation Extension Act of 2008 and the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (ARRA) and a benefit increase
also authorized by ARRA. All of these benefits extensions and increases are federally funded. In addition, these funds include monies
received from the federal loan and the Reed Act.

SOURCE: Department of Economic Security

WHO PAYS
The unemployment insurance tax is paid by Arizona employers [A.R.S. § 23-726].

The following employing units are excluded from the definition of employer and are, therefore, not subject to the
unemployment insurance tax (for definition of employer and employing unit, see A.R.S. § 23-613):

(1) Any employing unit that has not employed at least 1 individual for some portion of a day in each of 20
different calendar weeks during the current or preceding calendar year, and has not paid $1,500 or more in
wages in any calendar quarter of the current or preceding calendar year. This exclusion does not apply to an
employer of the following services:
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(a) Services performed in the employ of this state or any of its instrumentalities, any political subdivisions of
this state and their instrumentalities, or any combination of these employing units with each other or with
similar employing units in other states.

(b) Services performed for an employing unit that volunteer for coverage.

(c) Services that are subject to the Federal Unemployment Tax, when a credit may be taken against the
federal tax for amounts paid into the State Unemployment Compensation Fund.

(d) Services performed for an employing unit that acquires the business of a covered employer.

(2) Any employing unit that has not employed at least 10 individuals in each of 20 calendar weeks during the
current or preceding calendar year and has not paid $20,000 or more in wages in any calendar quarter of the
current or preceding calendar year for agriculture employment.

(3) An employing unit that has not paid $1,000 or more in wages in any calendar quarter of the current or
preceding calendar year for domestic service in a private home, local college club, or local chapter of a college
fraternity or sorority.

(4) An employer that has a combined Unemployment Compensation Fund contribution, Unemployment Special
Assessment Fund contribution, and Arizona Job Training Fund contribution amount of less than $10 due in a
quarter.

NOTE: Employers, once covered by unemployment insurance, are not permitted to terminate coverage simply
by virtue of this exemption [A.R.S. § 23-725].

REVENUE BASE

The revenue base is the wages from employment. The unemployment insurance tax is levied on the first $7,000 of
wages paid by an employer to each employee during a calendar year. Wages mean remunerations for services
from whatever source including commissions, bonuses, fringe benefits, and the cash value of remuneration in any
medium other than cash [A.R.S. § 23-622]. (Exclusions from the statutory definition of wages are provided in
A.R.S. § 23-622B.)

A.R.S. § 23-615 and § 23-617 list the services not included in the definition of employment.
RATE

State Base Rate
The maximum base rate of contribution is 5.40% of the wages paid by the employer during each calendar year
[A.R.S. § 23-728].

An employer, whose account has not been chargeable with benefits during the 12 consecutive calendar month
period ending June 30 of the preceding calendar year, pays a contribution rate of 2.0% [A.R.S. § 23-729].

If the employer's account has been subject to charges for benefits, the maximum rate is adjusted downward
depending on the employer's reserve, which is the contributions received from the employer minus benefits
charged [A.R.S. § 23-730]:

(1) If the employer's total contributions paid on or before July 31 of the preceding calendar year equals or
exceeds the total benefits chargeable to the employer's account prior to July 1 of the preceding calendar year,
the contribution rate for the ensuing calendar year is determined by the employer's Positive Reserve Ratio.
An employer's reserve ratio is the percentage that results from dividing the employer’s reserve surplus (the
excess of contributions paid to the Unemployment Compensation Fund over benefits charged to the
employer's account) by the employer's average annual payroll. The new contribution rate is determined from
the Positive Reserve Ratio as shown in Table 2 on the next page:
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Table 2
EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION RATES
POSITIVE RESERVE RATIO
Positive Reserve Ratio Base Statutory Rate 2018 Adjusted Rate ¥
less than 3% ¢ 2.60% 6.14%
3% to 4% 2.40% 5.67%
4% to 5% 2.15% 5.08%
5% to 6% 1.90% 4.49%
6% to 7% 1.65% 3.90%
7% to 8% 1.40% 3.31%
8% to 9% 1.15% 2.72%
9% to 10% 0.90% 2.13%
10% to 11% 0.65% 1.54%
11% to 12% 0.40% 0.94%
12% to 13% 0.15% 0.35%
13% or more 0.02% 0.05%
ﬁse rate adjusted to account for overall system solvency.
2/ At 0%, the Base Statutory Rate is 0%.

(2) If an employer's reserve equals zero, the adjusted contribution rate for the ensuing calendar year shall be
6.14%. If an employer has a negative reserve ratio, the contribution rate is displayed in Table 3.

Table 3
EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION RATES
NEGATIVE RESERVE RATIO
Negative Reserve Ratio Base Statutory Rate 2018 Adjusted Rate ¥/
less than 3% 2.85% 6.73%
3% to 4% 3.05% 7.20%
4% to 5% 3.30% 7.80%
5% to 6% 3.55% 8.39%
6% to 7% 3.80% 8.98%
7% to 8% 4.05% 9.57%
8% to 9% 4.30% 10.16%
9% to 10% 4.55% 10.75%
10% to 11% 4.80% 11.34%
11% to 12% 5.05% 11.93%
12% to 13% 5.30% 12.52%
13% or more 5.40% 12.76%

1/ Base rate adjusted to account for overall system solvency.

State Adjusted Rate

Employer contribution rates may be further adjusted depending on the level of overall assets in the
Unemployment Compensation Fund [A.R.S. § 23-730]. The ratio of total assets of such fund on July 31 to the total
taxable payrolls for the preceding year is designated as the Fund Ratio and is used to determine the systemwide
Required Income Rate in accordance with Table 4. The required income rate will be used in a calculation to
determine whether the employer contribution rates need to be adjusted.
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Table 4
Fund Ratio Required Income Rate
12.0% or more 0.40%
10.0% to 12.0% 0.50%
9.5% to 10.0% 0.60%
9.0% t0 9.5% 0.70%
8.5% t0 9.0% 0.80%
8.0% to 8.5% 0.90%
7.5% to 8.0% 1.00%
7.0% to 7.5% 1.10%
6.5% to 7.0% 1.20%
6.0% to 6.5% 1.30%
5.5% to 6.0% 1.40%
5.0% to 5.5% 1.50%
4.5% to0 5.0% 1.70%
4.0% to 4.5% 1.80%
3.5% to 4.0% 2.00%
3.0% to 3.5% 2.00%
less than 3.0% 2.40%

At the beginning of each year the department computes the Estimated Required Tax Yield from employers. This is
the product of the total taxable payrolls for the preceding year multiplied by the Required Income Rate as
determined from the Fund Ratio. The contribution rates are adjusted proportionately if the Estimated Required
Tax Yield differs from the amount that would be collected using the contribution rates determined from the
employer's Reserve Ratio. An employer's final rate of contribution is never less than 0.02% [A.R.S. § 23-730].

In addition, A.R.S. § 23-730.02 reduces the Required Income Rate for the Unemployment Insurance Compensation
Fund, which is a component in determining employers’ tax rates as shown in Table 4. Effective January 1, 2001
through June 30, 2012, the rate was reduced by 0.1% if the FUTA rate was greater than 6.0%. Beginning July 1,
2011, the FUTA rate declined from 6.2% to 6.0%. As a result, the 0.1% reduction to the Required Income Rate was
eliminated beginning July 1, 2011. However, effective August 2, 2012, Laws 2012, Chapter 162 amended A.R.S. §
23-730.02 to change the 0.1% Required Income Rate reduction elimination trigger to a FUTA rate that is less than
6.0%. Because contributions are paid by employers on a quarterly basis, the 0.1% reduction to the Required
Income Rate was restored administratively as of the beginning of the third quarter of 2012 (July 1, 2012).

Sample State Rate Calculation

An employer who has benefit charges in the past year with total contributions in excess of total benefits charged
and a positive reserve ratio of less than 3% would have a base statutory rate of 2.6% as identified in Positive
Reserve Ratio in Table 2. This rate is then adjusted further based upon a series of calculations beginning with the
determination of the fund ratio. Assuming a hypothetical Unemployment Compensation Fund balance of $1.2
million and state taxable payroll of $16 billion, the fund ratio would be 0.0075%. In accordance with Table 4, the
Required Income Rate would be 2.4%. The rate is further reduced by 0.1% as a result of Laws 2012, Chapter 162.
(This 0.1% reduction will be eliminated if the FUTA rate becomes less than 6.0%.) As a result, this rate is 2.3%.
When applied against the state taxable payroll, the estimated required tax yield would be $368 million, which is
then adjusted down by any interest. Assuming $800,000 of interest, the adjusted required tax yield would be
$367.2 million.

The next calculation determines whether the actual tax rates will generate the required tax yield (of $367.2
million). If not, then the base rate needs to be adjusted. As part of the calculation, the aggregate taxable payroll
within each ratio group is multiplied by its unadjusted tax rate to arrive at the unadjusted yield for each ratio
group; then all the unadjusted yields for each ratio group are added together to arrive at the total unadjusted
yield. Assuming a $339 million unadjusted yield and $17 million of non-adjustable yield, the net adjusted yield
would be $322 million ($339 million - $17 million), and the net adjusted required tax yield would be $350.2 million
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($367.2 million - $17 million). The $350.2 million is divided by the $322 million to derive a hypothetical adjustment
factor of 1.0875.

The contribution rate within each reserve ratio group is multiplied by the adjustment factor to arrive at the
adjusted contribution rate for the year. In this example, the final adjusted contribution rate for the year would be
2.8% (2.6% X 1.0875) for employers within that reserve ratio group as shown in Table 2. However, this rate may be
further adjusted if the state has an outstanding loan balance and the legislature has authorized an additional
assessment.

Special Assessment

The weak labor market that followed the last recession increased the amount of claims against Arizona’s
Unemployment Compensation Fund. Arizona was one of 33 states that borrowed from the U.S. Department of
Labor to fund unemployment benefits. To pay off the federal loan and moderate the loss of the FUTA credit, the
state established a special assessment for CY 2011 and CY 2012 only. The maximum allowable assessment was
0.8% (see Laws 2011, Chapter 218). The assessment was set at 0.5% in CY 2012, which was the final year of the
assessment.

Statewide Effective Rate
After adjusting for all of these factors, the average effective state rate is approximately 2.36% in CY 2018.

Federal Rate

In FY 2011, FUTA was 6.2% on the first $7,000 of wages, but was offset by a 5.4% credit for a net tax rate of 0.8% in
states with programs that conform to federal standards. Beginning July 1, 2011, the FUTA rate declined to 6.0% for
a net tax rate of 0.6%. FUTA funds are deposited into 3 federal accounts which support state program
administration, the Extended Benefits program, and the loan fund for state unemployment programs in distress.

Arizona had to borrow money to pay its share of the 26 weeks of benefits. The state was unable to repay its loan
and had a negative federal account balance in January 2011 and January 2012. Under federal law, it was required
to repay the federal loan by no later than November 10, 2012 or have its FUTA credit reduced. Since the state was
unable to repay the federal Ul loan before November 10, 2012, the FUTA tax rate credit was reduced by 0.3% in CY
2012 and CY 2013. This reduction effectively increased employers’ net federal tax rate from 0.6% to 0.9%. The
state did not have a federal Ul loan balance on January 1, 2014 so the net federal tax rate returned to 0.6% in CY
2014.

Relationship with Job Training Employer Tax

Pursuant to Laws 2000, Chapter 383, the state began levying a new tax referred to as the Job Training Employer
Tax as of January 1, 2001. This tax is imposed on each employer in the state at 0.1% of taxable wages. However,
through a variety of exemptions, several categories of employers are excluded. Four of these exemptions are tied
to the level of FUTA taxes. Effective January 1, 2001 through June 30, 2012, if the FUTA rate declined to 6.0% or
less, as occurred on July 1, 2011 when the FUTA rate declined to 6.0%, the law provided for these exemptions to
be eliminated and the exempted employers would have to start paying the tax. However, effective August 2, 2012,
Laws 2012, Chapter 162 amended A.R.S. § 23-730.02 to change the exemptions elimination trigger to a FUTA rate
that is less than 6.0%. Because contributions are paid by employers on a quarterly basis, the exemptions were
restored administratively as of the beginning of the third quarter of 2012 (July 1, 2012). The tax was collected by
DES and deposited in the Arizona Job Training Fund (for more information, see separate description under the Job
Training Employer Tax section).

Laws 2015, Chapter 10 repealed the Job Training Employer Tax effective January 1, 2016. Laws 2017, Chapter 307,
however, extended the Job Training Fund until March 31, 2019 to spend down the fund balance.

Combined State and Federal Rate
The average combined state and federal rate is 2.96%, consisting of an average base state unemployment tax of
2.36%, and a net FUTA rate of 0.6%.
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PAYMENT SCHEDULE

Contributions are paid by employers on a quarterly basis with due dates determined by DES [A.R.S. § 23-723]. The
department serves as the collecting agency for state unemployment taxes and special assessments [A.R.S. § 23-
726A].

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2012.

There were no changes enacted to this tax in 2014 and 2017.
2018 LAWS

Laws 2018, Chapter 171 makes several changes to employment security law including exempting certain medical
professionals from unemployment insurance taxes and the type of evidence an independent contractor must
present to the Department of Economic Security (DES) to be exempt from unemployment tax.

Laws 2018, Chapter 340 requires the DES to establish a voluntary worker training program and defines suitable
work as any employment offer that pays 120% of the individual's weekly unemployment benefit amount. If, after
4 weeks, a beneficiary is offered a job that is defined as suitable work, they must accept the offer and if they do
not, their benefits will expire.

2016 LAWS

Laws 2016, Chapter 185 repeals A.R.S. § 23-765, which increased the contribution rates for employers who
participate in the Shared Work Program. It also restored the exemption for unemployment insurance
contributions if the quarterly amount owed is less than $10.

2015 LAWS

Laws 2015, Chapter 211 requires DES to notify an unemployment insurance benefit claimant’s most recent
employing unit or employer when an initial claim for benefits has been filed, and also specifies that a notice be
sent to all base-period employers when a claimant files a payable continued claim.

2013 LAWS

Laws 2013, Chapter 17 requires an individual filing an Ul benefit claim to provide sufficient documentation of the
individual’s eligibility for benefits to DES. If an employer provides documentation that an individual either
voluntarily resigned from employment or abandoned the individual’s employment, the burden of providing
documentation to determine an individual’s eligibility for benefits shifts to the individual.

In the event of Ul fraud, an individual is prohibited from receiving Ul benefits until all overpayments are fully
repaid to DES. This language adds the requirement that penalties and interest from fraud also be paid prior to
receiving Ul benefits.

Laws 2013, Chapter 18 excludes certain sports officials from the definition of employee for Ul tax purposes.

Laws 2013, Chapter 204 allows the director of DES to issue Ul tax anticipation notes, up to $200 million. These
notes will repay the federal Ul loan, pay Ul benefits during FY 2014, and pay note-related expenses. The language
also transfers all remaining monies from the Ul Special Assessment to the Ul Special Assessment Proceeds Fund,
with the purpose of paying interest incurred on the loan and retiring the loan principal. When the director issues
Ul tax anticipation notes, monies in the Ul Special Assessment Proceeds Fund may be transferred to the Debt
Service Fund for the purposes of paying interest, expenses, and principal on the Ul tax anticipation notes. After
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the Ul tax anticipation notes are repaid in CY 2014, all monies in the Ul Special Assessment Proceeds Fund and the
Debt Service Fund will be transferred to the Ul Compensation Fund.

DES is required to report to JLBC and OSPB after the issuance of the Ul tax anticipation notes on the finalized debt
issuance, including the principal amount, the interest rate, the debt service schedule, the length of term, the
interest to be paid over the life of the loan, and the status of the bonds as taxable or non-taxable. DES is also
required to submit a quarterly report to these entities on the status of the Ul system in FY 2014.

In addition to other administrative changes, this legislation imposes a penalty of 15% of the amount received on
claimants who fraudulently receive Ul benefits. The penalty will be deposited in the Ul Compensation Fund.

Laws 2013, Chapter 218, in addition to other technical changes, excludes from the definition of employment,
persons working for a church educational or child care service provider or other religious organization that
includes religious instruction.

2012 LAWS

Laws 2012, Chapter 115 alters the definition of “employee” by codifying the indications of control of a worker by
the employing unit that were already used to determine unemployment insurance benefit eligibility. For an
individual to qualify for unemployment insurance benefits, in addition to existing statute, an employing unit must
control an individual’s hours of work, location of work, right to perform services for others, tools, equipment,
materials, expenses, and use of other workers and other indicia of employment.

Laws 2012, Chapter 162 changes the 0.1% Required Income Rate reduction (Job Training Employer Tax exemptions
elimination trigger) to a FUTA rate that is less than 6.0%. Previously, the trigger was a FUTA rate that is less than
6.2%. When the FUTA rate declined to 6.0% beginning July 1, 2011, the 0.1% Required Income Rate reduction and
Job Training Employer Tax exemptions were eliminated. Because contributions are paid by employers on a
quarterly basis, the 0.1% Required Income Rate reduction and Job Training Employer Tax exemptions are restored
administratively as of the beginning of the third quarter of 2012 (July 1, 2012).

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2012 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/18taxbook/18taxbk.pdf.
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UTILITY CORPORATION ASSESSMENTS

DESCRIPTION

Two separate assessments are imposed on public service corporations to support the statutory duties of the
Corporation Commission's Utilities Division and the Residential Utility Consumer Office (RUCO).

Public service corporations essentially refer to electric, gas, sewer, water, and telephone utilities not operated by
municipalities. (Arizona Constitution, Article 15, Section 2)

DISTRIBUTION

Utilities Division. Proceeds from the Utilities Division assessment are dedicated to the Utility Regulation Revolving
Fund (URRF) to pay representing attorneys and the expenses of the Utilities Division of the Corporation
Commission, including related expenses of the Corporation Commission’s Legal, Administration, and Hearing
Divisions [A.R.S. § 40-408B-C].

Residential Utility Consumer Office. Proceeds from the RUCO assessment are dedicated to the RUCO Revolving
Fund for the operation of RUCO [A.R.S. § 40-409B-C].

Disposition. Both funds are subject to legislative appropriation. Monies remaining in the funds at the end of the
fiscal year do not revert to the state General Fund, but are used to calculate the annual assessments [A.R.S. § 40-
408D-F and § 40-409D-F].

Table 1 on the following page provides tax collections for the past 20 years. As noted above, the Utilities Division
assessment is distributed to URRF, and the RUCO assessment is distributed to the RUCO Revolving Fund.

WHO PAYS

Public service corporations with gross operating revenues exceeding $500,000 from intrastate operations during
the preceding calendar year must pay the tax [A.R.S. § 40-401 and § 40-401.01]. (Prior to Laws 2005, Chapter 79,
the qualifying level of revenues was $250,000.)

Exceptions. Corporations that are not required to hold certificates of convenience and necessity are exempted
from this assessment [A.R.S. § 40-401A and § 40-401.01A]. In effect, this exception applies mainly to railroads
[A.R.S. § 40-281A]. The RUCO assessment also does not apply to member-owned nonprofit cooperative
corporations [A.R.S. § 40-461].

REVENUE BASE

Utilities Division. The assessment for the Corporation Commission's Utilities Division is levied on the gross
operating revenue from each corporation's intrastate operations during the preceding calendar year [A.R.S. § 40-
401 B].

Residential Utility Consumer Office. The assessment for RUCO is levied on the gross operating revenue during the

preceding calendar year from each corporation's intrastate operations that served residential consumers [A.R.S. §
40-401.01B].
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Table 1
COLLECTIONS AND DISTRIBUTION
Utilities Division RUCO Net Total
Fiscal Year Net Collections Collections Collections
2018Y $3,621,300 $1,141,400 $4,762,700
2017 $23,936,200 $1,230,500 $25,166,700
2016 $10,268,400 $1,158,400 $11,426,800
2015 $15,280,100 $1,161,100 $16,441,200
2014% $22,886,000 $1,132,100 $24,018,100
2013 $12,997,700 $1,375,100 $14,372,800
2012 $13,655,900 $1,319,200 $14,975,100
2011 $13,226,800 $1,325,200 $14,552,000
2010 $17,548,800 $1,308,700 $18,857,500
2009 $14,702,300 $1,313,100 $16,015,400
2008 $14,702,300 $1,313,100 $16,015,400
2007 $13,787,200 $1,313,300 $15,100,500
2006 $12,225,000 $1,184,000 $13,409,000
2005 $11,100,900 $1,110,200 $12,211,100
2004 $11,158,000 $1,131,700 $12,289,700
2003 $8,418,500 $1,095,200 $9,513,700
2002 $10,622,575 $1,045,200 $11,667,775
2001 $8,882,000 $1,017,000 $9,899,000
2000 $7,511,900 $1,068,700 $8,580,600
1999 $7,237,090 $573,784 $7,810,874
1/ The assessment is levied on June 15 of each year for the upcoming fiscal year. Generally, most assessment
payments are received after June 30. However, in 2018, a timing issue caused all of the 2018 assessment
collections to occur after the close of FY 2018 after July 1.
2/ In 2014, a higher than usual percentage of the assessment collections were received prior to July 1, which
resulted in higher collections in FY 2014.
SOURCE: Corporation Commission, Annual Reports.

RATE

Utilities Division. The assessment for the Utilities Division is set at a rate determined by the Corporation
Commission that will raise monies equal to the amount determined as follows [A.R.S. § 40-401B]:

(1) Determine the amount appropriated by the Legislature to operate the Utilities Division, including related
appropriations for the Corporation Commission’s Legal, Administration, and Hearing Divisions, for the
following fiscal year.

(2) Multiply the amount determined in (1) by 1.2.

(3) Subtract the monies estimated to remain unexpended in URRF at the end of the current fiscal year. The
difference computed is the amount to be raised by the assessment.

The assessment is allocated to each public service corporation with gross operating revenues exceeding $500,000
from intrastate operations during the preceding calendar year proportionate to each public service corporation’s

share of the total amount of gross operating revenues earned by all such public service corporations.

Residential Utility Consumer Office. The assessment for RUCO is set at a rate that will raise monies equal to the
amount determined as follows [A.R.S. § 40-401.01B]:
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(1) Determine the amount appropriated by the Legislature for operating RUCO for the following fiscal year.
(2) Subtract the monies estimated to remain in the RUCO Revolving Fund at the end of the current fiscal year.
The difference computed is the amount to be raised by the assessment.

The assessment is allocated to each public service corporation with gross operating revenues exceeding $500,000
from intrastate operations during the preceding calendar year proportionate to each public service corporation’s
share of the total amount of gross operating revenues derived from serving residential consumers earned by all
such public service corporations.

Maximum Combined Rate. Notwithstanding the assessment formulas, the combined assessment rates may not
exceed 0.25% of any corporation's gross operating revenues from intrastate operations during the preceding
calendar year [A.R.S. § 40-401C and § 40-401.01C]. (Prior to Laws 2005, Chapter 79, the combined assessment
rates could not exceed 0.20%.)

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

Due Date. The Corporation Commission must levy both assessments no later than June 15 of each year. Notice is
then sent to each corporation by certified mail. The assessments are due within 15 days after such mailing [A.R.S.
§ 40-401D and & 40-401.01D].

Collecting Agencies. The Corporation Commission [A.R.S. § 40-408B and § 40-409B]. In the event a corporation
fails or refuses to pay the amount assessed within 15 days without filing objections to the assessment statement
with the Corporation Commission, the Corporation Commission shall transmit a certified copy of the statement of
the assessment to the Department of Public Safety (DPS). Within 10 days after receipt of the copy of the
statement, DPS shall proceed to collect the amount stated due, with legal interest, by seizure and sale of any
goods or property in the state belonging to the public service corporation [A.R.S. § 40-407].

Filing Dates. Public service corporations with gross operating revenues exceeding $500,000 must file an estimate
of their gross operating revenues from intrastate operations during the previous calendar year on or before
January 10. All public service corporations must file a statement showing the amount of such revenues received
during the prior calendar year by May 1, as well as a statement showing the gross operating revenues derived from
intrastate operations during the preceding calendar year that were received from residential consumers. [A.R.S. §
40-401E-F, and § 40-401.01E]. (Prior to Laws 2005, Chapter 79, the threshold for the January 10 filing was
$250,000.)

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2012.

There were no changes enacted to the assessments in the period from 2012 through 2018.

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2012 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/18taxbook/18taxbk.pdf.
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WATER USE TAX

DESCRIPTION

The tax is applied on water use by a municipal water delivery system. Beginning in FY 2018, the first $1.8 million of
this tax's annual revenues are directed to the appropriated Safe Drinking Water Program Fund to be used for the
Safe Drinking Water Program and the remaining monies are deposited into the Water Quality Assurance Revolving
Fund (WQARF). Prior to this change, all of these tax monies were deposited into WQARF.

Through the Safe Drinking Water Program, the Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) regulates over 1,500
water systems with the help of local counties. Through the WQARF Program, DEQ identifies, assesses, and cleans
up soil and groundwater that is contaminated with hazardous substances.

DISTRIBUTION

Table 1 below provides historical water use tax collections since FY 1999. Prior to FY 2018, net tax collections
(gross collections less collection fees) were deposited in WQARF by the State Treasurer [A.R.S. § 42-5304].
Allowable uses of WQARF-monies are detailed in A.R.S. § 49-282E. Beginning in FY 2018, the first $1.8 million of
this tax's annual revenues are directed to the appropriated Safe Drinking Water Program Fund to be used for the
Safe Drinking Water Program and the remaining monies are deposited into WQARF.

Table 1
COLLECTIONS
Fiscal Year Net Collections Fiscal Year Net Collections
2018 $2,689,420 2008 $2,550,646
2017 $2,446,164 2007 $2,449,270
2016 $2,197,353 2006 $2,403,644
2015 $2,455,869 2005 $2,156,683
2014 $2,428,062 2004 $2,195,590
2013 $2,427,127 2003 $2,150,995
2012 $2,545,748 2002 $2,213,435
2011 $2,377,136 2001 $2,120,483
2010 $2,392,765 2000 $2,081,879
2009 $2,375,423 1999 $1,957,725
SOURCE: Department of Revenue, Annual Report.

WHO PAYS
The tax is paid by the owners or operators of municipal water delivery systems [A.R.S. § 42-5302B].

A "municipal water delivery system" is an entity that distributes or sells potable water mainly through a pipeline
system owned by either: [A.R.S. § 42-5301]

An incorporated city or town.

A private entity regulated as a public service corporation by the Arizona Corporation Commission.
A special taxing district under Title 48, Chapter 6 of the Arizona Revised Statutes.

An entity regulated as a water supply system by DEQ.
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REVENUE BASE AND RATE

The revenue base is gallons of water delivered to customers of a municipal water delivery system. Water delivered
to a customer for resale is exempt from this tax. The tax rate is 0.65¢ per 1,000 gallons of water delivered to
customers [A.R.S. § 42-5302A].

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

Payment of the water use tax, if the municipal water delivery system is also subject to the transaction privilege tax,
is reported and paid monthly to the Department of Revenue with the transaction privilege tax. Otherwise, the due
and delinquent date is the same as the transaction privilege tax [A.R.S. § 42-5302B and A.R.S. § 42-5014].
Electronic filing and payment requirements are the same as for the transaction privilege tax.

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2012. There were no changes enacted to this tax in the period from 2012 through 2016 and 2018.

2017 LAWS

Laws 2017, Chapter 308 modifies A.R.S. § 42-5304 to redirect the first $1.8 million of net revenues collected from
the Water Use Tax to the new appropriated Safe Drinking Water Program Fund. The remaining net revenues are
deposited in the Water Quality Assurance Revolving Fund (WQARF). Prior to this change, all net revenues
collected from the Water Use Tax were deposited in WQARF. Chapter 308 directs the remaining FY 2018 tax
collections in WQARF to be used for the Water Quality Monitoring Program.

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2012 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/18taxbook/18taxbk.pdf.
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WORKERS’ COMPENSATION INSURANCE PREMIUM TAX

DESCRIPTION

Both a tax and an assessment is levied on workers’ compensation insurance premium. These levies are in lieu of all
other taxes on workers' compensation insurance [A.R.S. § 23-961].

The state requires most employers to obtain such insurance so that employees and their families are provided
financial protection from industrial injuries or death. The tax rate may be a maximum of 3% of net premiums, and
revenues are used for the administrative expenses of the Industrial Commission of Arizona [A.R.S. § 23-961].

DISTRIBUTION

Administrative Fund. Tax collections for the Administrative Fund are used for all administrative expenses of the
Industrial Commission. Expenditures from the Administrative Fund are subject to budgetary review and legislative
appropriation. Tax collections to this fund are to be no more than necessary to cover actual expenses, and unless
the Special Fund [see description below] is not on an actuarially sound basis, any surplus or deficit in revenue
above or below the expenses shall be included in the calculation of the rate to be fixed the following year [A.R.S. §
23-1081].

Special Fund. Collections for the Special Fund provide additional compensation payments or awards to promote
the rehabilitation of disabled workers. Since July 25, 1981, monies in the Special Fund may be allocated to acquire
real property or construct and furnish or procure a new office building for the Industrial Commission. Since April
19, 1983, the Special Fund may also provide loans to the Administrative Fund [A.R.S. § 23-1065].

Net collections by fund are provided in Table 1 on the following page.
WHO PAYS

The levy on workers’” compensation insurance premiums is paid by insurance carriers issuing workers'
compensation insurance, and employers providing workers' compensation insurance through the self-insurance
method [A.R.S. § 23-961].

REVENUE BASE

The levy on workers’ compensation insurance premiums is based on total direct premiums paid or contracted for
during the preceding calendar year minus deductions for cancellations, returned premiums, policy dividends,
refunds and similar amounts paid or credited to policyholders within this state and not reapplied as premiums for
new, additional or extended insurance [A.R.S. § 23-961]. The above applies to premiums paid to insurers. For self-
insured employers, the levy is based on the premiums that would have been paid by the employer if fully insured
under a plan available from an insurance carrier issuing workers' compensation insurance, during the preceding
calendar year. Employers of domestic servants are not subject to the "workmen's compensation" statutes [A.R.S. §
23-902].

RATE
There are 2 separate rates:
(1) Tax Rate for Administrative Fund. No more than 3% of net premiums, but for self-insured employers, not less

than $250 annually [A.R.S. § 23-961]. The Industrial Commission set an Administrative Fund rate of 1.75% for
CY 2018.
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(2) Special Fund Assessment. Effective July 1, 2015, the Special Fund assessment rate is not to exceed 1% and is
to be set at a rate no more than necessary to keep the Special Fund actuarially sound, but for self-insured
employers, the minimum annual payment is $250 [A.R.S. § 23-1065]. Up to an additional 0.5% may be levied
to cover Special Fund liabilities in excess of $6.0 million [A.R.S. § 23-1065F]. The Industrial Commission set a
Special Fund total rate of 0.00% in CY 2018.

COLLECTIONS

Net Collections
Special Fund

$0

$0

$0
$8,459,200
$19,753,500
$23,783,100
$23,103,100
$20,140,000
$19,328,000
$12,975,000
$15,279,100
$26,490,900
$23,653,400
$20,540,600
$10,888,700
$0

$0

$0

$0

$0

Table 1
Calendar Net Collections
Year Administrative Fund ¥
2018 NA
2017 $27,284,300
2016 $17,561,500
2015 $16,917,500
2014 $19,752,400
2013 $29,080,400
2012 $27,721,800
2011 $24,166,300
2010 $20,486,000
2009 $25,950,000
2008 $30,558,100
2007 $31,786,900
2006 $28,382,700
2005 $24,647,200
2004 $21,758,100
2003 $20,117,300
2002 $15,716,000
2001 $16,257,700
2000 $13,894,800
1999 $14,792,900
more than necessary to cover actual expenses.
liabilities in excess of $6.0 million.
NA = Not Available
SOURCE: Industrial Commission.

Special Fund
Rate ¥
0%
0%
0%
0.75%
1.75%
2.25%
2.5%
2.5%
2.5%
1.5%
1.5%
2.5%
2.5%
2.5%
1.5%
0%
0%
0%
0%
0%

Total Net
Collections
NA
$27,284,300
$17,561,500
$25,376,700
$39,506,000
$52,863,500
$50,824,900
$44,306,300
$39,814,000
$38,925,000
$45,837,200
$58,277,800
$52,036,100
$45,187,800
$32,646,800
$20,117,300
$15,716,000
$16,257,700
$13,894,800
$14,792,900

1/ Laws 1993, 2nd Special Session, Chapter 9, provides that collections for the Administrative Fund will be no

2/ Effective July 1, 2015, the Special Fund assessment is not to exceed 1% and is set at a rate no more than
necessary to keep it actuarially sound. Up to an additional 0.5% may be levied to cover Special Fund

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

The revenue is due annually, on or before March 31 for self-insured employers, and on or before March 1 for all
other covered insurance carriers [A.R.S. § 23-961].

Since the 1983 tax year, insurance carriers are required to make quarterly payments on the Administrative Fund
tax and Special Fund assessment if their tax liability for the preceding calendar year was $2,000 or more. Quarterly
payments are submitted to the state on or before the last day of the month following the close of each quarter. All
quarterly payments are deducted from the levy that is payable on the regular March due date [A.R.S. § 23-961].

The quarterly payments are to equal one of the following methods, applied to all 4 quarters in a tax year:

(1) The levy due on net premiums collected or contracted for during the preceding calendar quarter, or
(2) 25% of the levy paid or required to be paid for the preceding calendar year.
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Any overpayment of levies resulting from the quarterly payments may be refunded by the Industrial Commission
without interest [A.R.S. § 23-961].

The revenue for the Administrative and Special Fund is paid to the State Treasurer through the Industrial
Commission [A.R.S. § 23-961].

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since
2012.

There were no changes enacted to this revenue category in 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, and 2018.
2014 LAWS

Laws 2014, Chapter 186 establishes the Workers’ Compensation Insurance Account as part of the Arizona Property
and Casualty Insurance Guaranty Fund (Guaranty Fund) within the Department of Insurance. The law transfers the
rights and obligations related to payment of workers’ compensation claims on insolvent insurers from the Special
Fund, administered by the Industrial Commission, to the Department of Insurance’s Workers’ Compensation
Insurance Account of the Arizona Property and Casualty Insurance Guaranty Fund effective July 1, 2015. The law
requires the Industrial Commission to transfer $222,848,153 in assets from the Special Fund to the Guaranty Fund
for deposit in the Workers’ Compensation Insurance Account no less than 30 days before July 1, 2015.

The Workers’ Compensation Insurance Account is to be used to continue workers’ compensation benefits for
claimants of insolvent carriers and bankrupt self-insured employers.

In the event of an insolvency or bankruptcy, the Department of Insurance may cover the cost of claims on that
insurer or employer by levying an assessment of up to 1% on the other solvent workers’ compensation insurers’
premiums from all policies issued during the preceding calendar year. The assessment revenue is deposited into
the Workers’ Compensation Insurance Account for payment of those claims.

Also, effective July 1, 2015, the Industrial Commission’s Special Fund assessment rate is not to exceed 1% and is to
be set at a rate no more than necessary to keep the Special Fund actuarially sound. Up to an additional 0.5% may
be levied to cover Special Fund liabilities in excess of $6.0 million.

A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2012 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/18taxbook/18taxbk.pdf.
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APPENDIX D

FiscAL IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES

This report details the estimated dollar value of individual historical tax law changes enacted by the Legislature
since FY 1989. The report is limited to statutory changes with a General Fund revenue impact.

The report includes individual tables for calendar years 1988 through 2018. The tables provide a listing of
statutory changes for each calendar year, and the estimated dollar revenue impact of these changes for ensuing
fiscal years. The dollar change reflects the estimated impact at the time of enactment. Unless otherwise noted,
the dollar estimate has not been subsequently revised to reflect the actual result. Also included is a one-page
summary of the estimated impact of statutory changes for each fiscal year, which provides the estimated marginal
dollar value of statutory changes relative to the prior year.

Since the repeal of the state property tax in 1996, the General Fund revenue impact of property tax legislation is
often negligible. Instead, property tax law changes typically affect the General Fund by increasing Arizona
Department of Education (ADE) expenditures. Generally, any legislation that reduces the local property tax base
results in higher General Fund expenditures. Under the statutory K-12 funding formula, the state share of
education funding increases whenever local property values decrease. This higher level of K-12 spending is not
reflected in the following tables. However, property tax legislation that reduced tax levies deposited into the
General Fund was included in the tables. (Tax levied on property located in unorganized districts and certain
districts ineligible for state aid, known as minimum qualifying tax rate (MQTR) districts, are deposited in the
General Fund.)

There are several caveats related to the estimated dollar impact of tax law changes included in this report. The
impact of the 0.6% sales tax authorized by Proposition 301 in 2000 has not been included in the following tables.
In addition, the tobacco tax increases authorized by Proposition 303 in 2002 and Propositions 201 and 203 in 2006
have not been included. The revenues generated by these tax law changes were deposited into dedicated funds;
therefore, they did not have a General Fund impact.

Additionally, no inflation factors have been applied to the “out year” estimates, which may understate their
impact. Also, the estimates do not include a “dynamic” component. The potential behavioral impact on taxpayers
of tax cuts or tax increases has not been incorporated in the numbers. It is very difficult to estimate how
inflationary changes, as well as changes in taxpayer behavior over a period of time, would have impacted the
estimated dollar value of statutory changes enacted in prior years. As a result, cumulative totals for the marginal
annual values of the statutory changes are not provided.

The estimated incremental value of statutory changes for FY 2019 is a $(19.8) million General Fund net revenue
decrease. This amount includes a $(29.8) million revenue loss primarily from individual and corporate income tax
reductions enacted in prior years and a $10.0 revenue gain from changes to the sales tax enacted in calendar year
2018.

JLBC Staff
September 2018
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Estimated Incremental Dollar Value of General Fund Tax Changes v

($ in Thousands)

Total ?
Fiscal Sales Individual Corporate Property Other Annual
Year Tax Income Tax Income Tax Tax Taxes Changes
1989 23,100.0 35,400.0 29,000.0 28,200.0 6,000.0 121,700.0
1990 7,000.0 63,900.0 - 22,600.0 15,800.0 109,300.0
1991 (4,404.0) 118,680.0 30,900.0 49,640.0 13,560.0 208,376.0
1992 (377.5) 9,200.0 400.0 - 485.0 9,707.5
1993 (7,972.1) (13,500.0) - (1,343.0) 3,472.0 (19,343.1)
1994 (12,243.5) (10,776.0) - (1,200.0) (1,233.0) (25,452.5)
1995 (21,217.0) (102,826.0) 4,200.0 (850.0) - (120,693.0)
1996 (46,151.9) (202,260.5) (18,000.0) (18,256.0) - (284,668.4)
1997 (23,449.3) (950.0) (60.0) (150,095.3) - (174,554.6)
1998 (59,907.9) (114,969.0) 2,601.9 17.3 (105.0) (172,362.7)
1999 (3,684.2) (51,091.5) (7,015.2) - (80,000.0) (141,790.9)
2000 (8,402.3) (27,177.9) (13,982.3) (51.6) (55,000.0) (104,614.1)
2001 (3,392.0) (82,895.0) (46,486.1) (30.0) (25,000.0) (157,803.1)
2002 (2.1) 9,825.3 (40,759.6) (2,234.9) - (33,171.3)
2003 (2.2) 11,384.5 21,567.0 (1,738.3) (18,830.0) 12,381.0
2004 - - - - 50,418.1 50,418.1
2005 - (1,834.0) - - 3,892.0 2,058.0
2006 (600.0) (14,200.0) (3,250.0) - - (18,050.0)
2007 (1,678.6) (176,090.0) (10,990.0) - (5,000.0) (193,758.6)
2008 (100.0) (185,510.0) (31,900.0) - - (217,510.0)
2009 - 1,310.0 (30,080.0) - - (28,770.0)
2010 - (9,000.0) (33,410.0) - - (42,410.0)
2011 918,000.0 13,000.0 (10,700.0) - - 920,300.0
2012 - (900.0) (16,600.0) - - (17,500.0)
2013 - 4,590.0 (16,100.0) - - (11,510.0)
2014 (922,800.0) (56,850.0) (21,900.0) - - (1,001,550.0)
2015 (16,780.0) (44,900.0) (102,282.0) - - (163,962.0)
2016 (4,200.0) (12,000.0) (108,500.0) - (983.4) (125,683.4)
2017 (13,170.0) (35,500.0) (93,400.0) - (4,300.0) (146,370.0)
2018 (14,500.0) (29,833.3) (104,000.0) - (4,300.0) (152,633.3)
2019 10,000.0 (11,233.4) (14,300.0) - (4,300.0) (19,833.4)

1/ The estimates exclude one-time increases or decreases in revenue collections. The tax changes also
exclude General Fund distribution formula changes and additional K-12 expenditures that were the direct
result of property tax legislation. The estimates also reflect the projected fiscal impact at the time of

enactment and have not been adjusted for the actual dollar value of a tax change.

2/ Each yearly amount represents the incremental dollar value of tax law changes relative to the prior year.
For example, the total net tax reduction in FY 2008 relative to FY 2007 was $(217.5) million.




TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 1988
(S in Thousands)

FY 1988 FY 1989

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Elimination of Gasoline Deduction 10,000.0
Ch. 271
Federal Income Tax Windfall Cap 25,400.0
Ch. 271
TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME 35,400.0
CORPORATE INCOME
Elimin. of Lower Cap. Gains Rate 14,000.0
Ch. 271
Controlled Corp. Dividends Conformed 13,000.0
Ch. 271
Depletion Deduction Conformed 1,000.0
Ch. 271
Elimination of Gasoline Deduction 1,000.0
Ch. 271
TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME 29,000.0
SALES AND USE
Accounting Allowance Cap. - $500 3,000.0
Ch. 271
No Exemption for Semi-conductors 1,700.0
Ch. 271
Taxation of Casual Commercial Rents 3,300.0
Ch. 271
Hotel/Motel Tax Increase to 5.5% 4,200.0
Ch. 271
Rental Real Property Increase to 5% 10,900.0
Ch. 271
TOTAL SALES AND USE 23,100.0
PROPERTY
Assessment Ratio Freeze to 1987 1,600.0
Ch. 271
QTR for Homeowners Capped 9,300.0
Ch. 271
State Education Rate Set at $0.09 17,300.0
Ch. 271
TOTAL PROPERTY 28,200.0
OTHER
Increase Ins. Prem. Tax to 2.0% 6,000.0
Ch. 4
TOTAL OTHER 6,000.0

TOTAL "~ 121,700.0
Notes:

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the
incremental amount.
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 1989

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Federal Conformity
Ch. 211

Eliminate Deduction of Fed. Excise Tax

Ch.211

Federal Windfall Retention
Ch. 312

(S in Thousands)

Reduce Consumer Interest Deduction to 50%

Ch. 312

Taxation of Previous Exempt Pensions

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME

CORPORATE INCOME
None

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME

SALES AND USE
Taxation of Catalog Sales
Ch. 312

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY
Minimum QTR School District Tax
Ch. 312

Tax Reduction for Unorg. Districts
Ch. 312

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
Minimum VLT to $30
Ch.4

TOTAL OTHER

TOTAL

Notes:

FY 1990

1,900.0

4,000.0

16,800.0

39,000.0

2,200.0

63,900.0

7,000.0

7,000.0

26,000.0

(3,400.0)

22,6000

15,800.0

15,800.0

109,300.0

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the

incremental amount.
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 1990

(S in Thousands)

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Federal Conformity
Ch. 63

Tax Simplification - Widened Tax Base, Increased

Tax Rates
Ch. 3

Limitation of Renters Credit
Ch. 3

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME

CORPORATE INCOME
Federal Conformity
Ch. 63

Tax Simplification - Widened Tax Base
Ch.3

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME

SALES AND USE
Elimination of Account Allowance
Ch. 3

Tax Reduction - Rental Real Property
Ch.3

County Property Tax Relief
Ch.3

Rodeo Sales Exemption
Ch. 239

Tax Suspension - Federal Bldgs.
Ch. 251

Bed Tax to Tourism
Ch. 391

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY
Minimum QTR School Dist. Tax
Ch. 3

Assessment Ratio Changes
Ch.3

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
Minimum QTR School Dist. Tax = Salt River
Ch. 3

Assessment Ratio Changes = Salt River
Ch.3

Minimum VLT Reduction
Ch.3

Cigarette Tax Increase
Ch.3

TOTAL OTHER

TOTAL

Notes:

FY 1991

4,880.0

110,000.0

3,800.0

118,680.0

5,300.0

25,600.0

30,900.0

8,000.0

(1,800.0)

(10,000.0)

(47.0)

(94.0)

(463.0)

4,404.0

40,700.0

8,940.0

49,640.0

7,000.0

660.0

(3,600.0)

9,500.0

13,560.0

208,376.0

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.

- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the

incremental amount.

- 259 -



TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 1991

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Federal Conformity
Ch. 146

Eliminate Ret. Contrib. Subtraction
Ch. 155

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME

CORPORATE INCOME
Federal Conformity
Ch. 146

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME

SALES AND USE
Membership Camping Tax
Ch.31

Medical Equipment Exemption
Ch. 200

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY
Rental property; Assess. Reduction
Ch. 134

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
Drano Tax Repeal
Ch. 184

Groundwater Fees
Ch. 211

TOTAL OTHER

TOTAL

Notes:

FY 1991

(S in Thousands)

FY 1992 FY 1993 FY 1994
7,600.0 7,600.0 7,600.0
1,600.0 1,600.0 1,600.0

"~ 9,200.0 9,200.0 9,200.0
400.0 400.0 400.0

T 4000 400.0 400.0
122.5 1225 1225
(500.0) (500.0) (500.0)

T (377.5) (377.5) (377.5)
(1,200.0) (2,400.0)

(1,200.0) (2,400.0)

320.0 320.0 320.0
165.0 165.0 165.0

T 4850 485.0 485.0
"~ 9,707.5 8,507.5 7,307.5

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.

- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 1992
(S in Thousands)

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Increased Exemptions Phase-in
Ch. 290

Withhold Penalty Forgiveness
Ch. 220

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME

CORPORATE INCOME
None

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME

SALES AND USE
Church Leases Exemption
Ch. 29

Restaurant Food: Use Tax Exemp.
Ch. 32

Motion Picture Sales Tax Refund
Ch. 96

Semi-Trailers, Bowl Games Exemption
Ch. 135

Feed and Seed Exemption
Ch. 162

Lessor Utility Exemptions
Ch. 215

Manufactured Bldgs. Exemptions
Ch. 217

Aircraft Sales Tax Exemptions
Ch. 222

Microwave Systems Exemptions
Ch. 237

R & D Equipment Exemptions
Ch. 238

Repeal Aircraft Exemptions
Ch. 290

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY
Widow/Widower Exemption
Ch.5

Local Telecom. Property
Ch. 41

Pipeline Valuations
Ch. 51

Sewer/Wastewater Prop. Cent. Valued
Ch. 347

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
VLT: Rental Car Surcharge
Ch. 219

Cigarette Luxury Stamps
Ch. 55

Jet Fuel Reduction
Ch.221

Insurance Premium Tax Offset
Ch. 290

TOTAL OTHER

TOTAL

Notes:

FY 1992

FY 1993

(12,000.0)

(1,500.0)

(13,500.0)

(50.0)

(100.0)

(67.1)

(600.0)

(1,600.0)

(1,921.0)

(100.0)

(300.0)

(84.0)

(250.0)

(2,900.0)

(7,972.1)

(50.0)

(70.0)

(50.0)

27.0

(143.0)

600.0

(100.0)

(1,028.0)

4,000.0

3,472.0

(18,143.1)

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the

incremental amount.
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 1993

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Increased Dependent Exemption
Ch.9

Increased Exemption - Elderly
Ch.9

Accelerate Medical Deductions
Ch.9

Alternative Fuel Vehicles Credit
Ch. 160

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME

CORPORATE INCOME
None

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME

SALES AND USE
Phase-out of Commercial Lease Tax
Ch.9

Feed Lots Exemption
Ch. 64

Residential Care Homes - Use Exemp.
Ch.103

Motion Picture Tax Refund
Ch. 104

Retail Classifications Changes
Ch. 132

Health Care Centers - Exemptions
Ch. 199

Alternative Use Fuel - Exemption
Ch. 206

Nursing Care Leases
Ch. 212

Sales Deductions - Telecomm. Charges
Ch. 240

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY
None

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
Wine Commission Fees
Ch. 40

Liquor License Fees
Ch. 133

TOTAL OTHER

TOTAL

Notes:

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.

(S in Thousands)

FY 1993 FY 1994 FY 1995 FY 1996 FY 1997 FY 1998
(5600.0)  (5600.0)  (5600.0)  (5,600.0) (5,600.0)
(2,700.0)  (2,700.0)  (2,700.0)  (2,700.0) (2,700.0)
(2,300.0)  (2,300.0)  (2,300.0)  (2,300.0) (2,300.0)

(176.0) (176.0) (176.0) (176.0) (176.0)
(10,776.0)  (10,776.0)  (10,776.0)  (10,776.0)  (10,776.0)
(8,100.0)  (26,300.0)  (47,300.0)  (70,600.0)  (96,300.0)
(331.8) (331.8) (331.8) (331.8) (331.8)
(1,300.0)  (1,300.0)  (1,300.0)  (1,300.0) (1,300.0)
(20.4) (20.4) (20.4) (20.4) (20.4)
(138.3) (138.3) (138.3) (138.3) (138.3)
(227.0) (227.0) (227.0) (227.0) (227.0)
(50.0) (50.0) (50.0) (50.0) (50.0)
(976.0) (976.0) (976.0) (976.0) (976.0)
(1,100.0)  (1,100.0)  (1,100.0)  (1,100.0) (1,100.0)
(12,243.5)  (30,443.5)  (51,443.5)  (74,743.5)  (100,443.5)
(33.0) (33.0) (33.0) (33.0) (33.0)
(1,200.0)  (1,200.0)  (1,200.0)  (1,200.0) (1,200.0)
(1,233.00  (1,233.00  (1,233.0)  (1,233.0) (1,233.0)
(24,252.5) ~ (42,452.5)  (63,452.5)  (86,752.5) (112,452.5)

- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 1994
(S in Thousands)

FY 1994 FY 1995 FY 1996

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
IRS Conformity 6,200.0 6,200.0
Ch.41
Personal Income Tax Cut (106,900.0) (106,900.0)
Ch.41
Medical Savings Account (175.0)
Ch. 45
Water Conservation Inc. Tax Credit (1,626.0) (1,874.0)
Ch. 90
Income Tax Benefit Rule (500.0) (500.0)
Ch. 354
Pollution Control Credits (1,500.0)
Ch.117
TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (102,826.0) (104,749.0)
CORPORATE INCOME
IRS Conformity 10,000.0 10,000.0
Ch.41
Lower Corporate Rate (5,800.0) (5,800.0)
Ch. 41
Consolidated Returns (13,400.0)
Ch. 41
Pollution Control Credits (1,000.0)
Ch.117
TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME 4,200.0 (10,200.0)
SALES AND USE
MITRA; Chemicals (4,000.0)
Ch. 41
Super Bow!| Exemption (481.9)
Ch. 145
Personal Property Liquidators (1,000.0) (1,000.0)
Ch.174
Prison Food TPT Exemption (80.0) (80.0)
Ch. 240
University Cars Exemption (57.0) (57.0)
Ch. 305
Feed Exemption (655.0) (655.0)
Ch. 307
Amusement/Instruc. Exemption (825.0) (825.0)
Ch. 312
Tax Accounting (11,870.0)
Ch. 346
Omnibus Alternative Fuels (400.0) (400.0)
Ch. 353
Government Contract Overhead (8,000.0)
Ch.377
TOTAL SALES AND USE (3,017.0) (27,368.9)
PROPERTY
MITRA; 1% Personal Prop./Phasedown (16,496.0)
Ch.41
Livestock (660.0)
Ch. 102
Homeowners' Rebate Freeze 0.0 0.0
Ch. 41 Not Included-Tax Cut as Spending Increase
Telecommunications Cos. Valuations (850.0) (850.0)
Ch.271
TOTAL PROPERTY (850.0) (18,006.0)
OTHER
None
TOTAL OTHER

TOTAL (102,493.0) (160,323.9)
Notes:

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental
amount.

1/ Chapter 41 provided a tax credit totalling $115 million for certain consolidated returns, which was
to be spread over 10 years. In the 11th year, DOR is required to refund any unused credit (refer
to Calendar Year 2006 tax law changes page at the end of this section).
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 1995
(S in Thousands)

FY 1995 FY 1996 FY 1997

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Income Tax Reduction (200,000.0) (200,000.0)
Ch.9
Summer Schools and Jobs (337.5) (337.5)
Ch. 236
TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (200,337.5) (200,337.5)
CORPORATE INCOME
Consolidated Tax Returns (400.0) (400.0)
Ch.31
Lower Corporate Rate (2,200.0) (2,200.0)
Ch. 41
Pollution Control Credits (1,000.0) (1,000.0)
Ch. 117
TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME (3,600.0) (3,600.0)
SALES AND USE
Motion Picture Tax Refund (100.0) (100.0)
Ch. 98
Sales Tax Amenities (700.0) (700.0)
Ch. 267
TOTAL SALES AND USE (800.0) (800.0)
PROPERTY
Personal Property Tax Reductions (17.3)
Ch.9
Property Tax Reduc. Min. Value (78.0)
Ch. 137
Possessory Interest; Repeal (1,100.0) (1,100.0)
Ch. 294
TOTAL PROPERTY (1,100.0) (1,178.0)
OTHER
None
TOTAL OTHER

TOTAL (205,837.5) (205,915.5)
Notes:

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 1996
(S in Thousands)

FY 1996 FY 1997 FY 1998

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Income Tax Definitions (860.0) (860.0)
Ch. 49
Neighborhood Protection Deductions (90.0) (90.0)
Ch. 309
TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (950.0) (950.0)
CORPORATE INCOME
Neighborhood Protection Act (60.0) (60.0)
Ch. 309
Enterprise Zones: Tax Credits (1,575.1)
Ch. 344
TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME (60.0) (1,635.1)
SALES AND USE
Arts Fund; Partnership (1,475.9)
Ch. 186
Prime Contracting Sales Tax (30,000.0)
Ch. 319
Movie Studios Incentives (49.3) (49.3)
Ch. 322
Homeowners Organizations (100.0) (100.0)
Ch. 326
TOTAL SALES AND USE (194.3) (31,625.2)
PROPERTY
Property Tax Reductions (150,000.0) (150,000.0)
Ch. 2 - Does not include $50M in spending
TOTAL PROPERTY (150,000.0) (150,000.0)
OTHER
TOTAL OTHER

TOTAL (151,159.3) (184,210.3)
Notes:

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental
amount.
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 1997
(S in Thousands)

FY 1997 FY 1998 FY 1999

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Tax Credit; School Tuition Organizations (8,443.2)
Ch. 48
Welfare Reform; Arizona Works (8,030.8)
Ch. 300
IRS Conformity (3,330.0) (3,330.0)
Ch. 63
Energy Conservation Incentives (34.1)
Ch. 137
Income Adjustments (749.0) (749.0)
Ch. 238
Air Quality Omnibus (250.0) (250.0)
Ch. 274
Savings Account; Postsecondary Ed. (20.4)
Ch. 171
Tax Relief Act of 1997 - Rates Reductions (110,800.0) (110,800.0)
Ch.8
TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (115,129.0) (131,657.5)
CORPORATE INCOME
IRS Conformity 4,177.0 4,177.0
Ch. 62
Welfare Reform; Arizona Works (585.2)
Ch. 300
TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME 4,177.0 3,591.8
SALES AND USE
Light Vehicle Fees (2,000.0) (2,000.0)
Ch. 110
Used Oil Amendments (92.2) (92.2)
Ch. 178
Use Tax Exemptions - Libraries (36.9) (36.9)
Ch. 227
Sales Tax; Nursing Homes (2,000.0)
Ch. 245
Omnibus Tax Changes (542.9) (542.9)
Ch. 274
TOTAL SALES AND USE (2,672.0) (4,672.0)
PROPERTY
None
TOTAL PROPERTY
OTHER
Agriculture Omnibus (90.0) (90.0)
Ch. 228
Health Care Omnibus (15.0) (15.0)
Ch. 268
TOTAL OTHER (105.0) (105.0)

TOTAL (113,729.0) (132,842.7)
Notes:

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 1998
(S in Thousands)

FY 1998 FY 1999 FY 2000 FY 2001

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Prop. 200 - Campaign Finance (1,279.1) (1,279.1)
Alternative Fuels (923.0) (2,854.8) 0.0
Ch. 221
Omnibus Taxation of 1998 160.0 (3,240.0) (6,410.0) (6,410.0)
Ch. 283
Tax Relief Act of 1998 - Rates Reductions (30,000.0) (50,000.0) (50,000.0)
Ch.3
Wheels to Work (1,140.0) (1,140.0)
Ch. 208
Tax Exemptions; Exempts; Credits (1,347.0) (1,347.0)
Ch. 286
TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME 160.0 (34,163.0) (63,030.9) (60,176.1)
CORPORATE INCOME
Income Tax Credits; Coal Taxes (1,600.0) (1,600.0) (1,600.0)
Ch. 137
Tax Relief Act of 1998 - Rates Reductions and
Deduction Elimination (10,000.0) (20,000.0) (20,000.0)
Ch.3
Wheels to Work (1,140.0) (1,140.0)
Ch. 208
Tax Exemptions, Deductions (577.3) (577.3)
Ch. 286
TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME (11,600.0) (23,317.3) (23,317.3)
SALES AND USE
Sales and Use; Printing (100.0) (200.0) (200.0)
Ch. 132
Flight Property Exemptions (110.0) (30.0) (30.0)
Ch. 177
Alternative Fuels (577.0) (1,434.6) (1,434.6)
Ch. 221
Tax Exemptions, Deductions (60.0) (857.2) (296.5) (296.5)
Ch. 286
TOTAL SALES AND USE (60.0) (1,644.2) (1,961.1) (1,961.1)
PROPERTY
Telecommunications */ (19.3) (19.3)
Ch. 220
Widow, Widowers Exemption Y (32.3) (32.3)
Ch. 261
TOTAL PROPERTY (51.6) (51.6)
OTHER
Tax Relief Act of 1998 - VLT Rate Reduction (80,000.0) (100,000.0) (100,000.0)
Ch.3
TOTAL OTHER (80,000.0) (100,000.0) (100,000.0)

TOTAL 100.0 (127,407.2) (188,360.9) (185,506.1)
Notes:

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

1/ Revenue loss due to reduced levies on property located in unorganized districts and minimum qualifying

tax rate (MQTR) districts. Property tax levies in such districts are deposited in the General Fund.
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 1999
(S in Thousands)

FY 1999 FY 2000 FY 2001 FY 2002

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Public Retirement Benefits (1,766.7) (1,766.7)
Ch. 50
Alternative Fuel Vehicles (427.1)
Ch. 168
Taxpayer Bill of Rights (200.0) (600.0) (400.0)
Ch. 250
IRS Conformity (240.0) 2,330.0 690.0 (3,190.0)
Ch. 317
TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (240.0) 2,130.0 (2,103.8) (5,356.7)
CORPORATE INCOME
Tax Relief and Fiscal Control (Trigger) Rate
Reduced from 8.0% to 7.0%; R&D Cap.
Removed (37,000.0) (74,000.0)
Ch.5
Income Allocation (Airline Bill) (700.0) (1,400.0)
Ch. 190
Alternative Fuel Vehicles (1,052.1)
Ch. 168
IRS Conformity 5,170.0 2,920.0 2,920.0 890.0
Ch. 317
TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME 5,170.0 2,920.0 (35,832.1) (74,510.0)
SALES AND USE
Sales Tax Exemption; Expendables (100.0) (3,500.0) (3,500.0) (3,500.0)
Ch. 153
Tax Relief and Fiscal Control (Trigger) Mining
Severance Tax Reduction (4,667.0) (8,000.0) (8,000.0)
Ch.5
TOTAL SALES AND USE (100.0) (8,167.0) (11,500.0) (11,500.0)
PROPERTY
Reduced Min. Value of Personal Property v (30.0) (30.0)
1st SS, Ch. 5
TOTAL PROPERTY (30.0) (30.0)
OTHER
Omni. Reconciliation - VLT Cut (35,000.0) (60,000.0) (60,000.0)
Ch.5
TOTAL OTHER (35,000.0) (60,000.0) (60,000.0)

TOTAL 4,830.0 (38,117.0) (109,465.9) (151,396.7)
Notes:

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

1/ Revenue loss due to reduced levies on property located in unorganized districts and minimum qualifying
tax rate (MQTR) districts. Property tax levies in such districts are deposited in the General Fund.
Provision does not include $21.4 million in increased Arizona Department of Education expenditures.
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2000

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Renewable Energy Incentives
Ch. 214

Technology Training Credit
Ch. 239

IRS Conformity
Ch. 252

Agricultural Preservation District
Ch. 267

Character Instruction Tax Credit
Ch.313

Handicapped Preschoolers Tax Credit
Ch. 394

Clean Air Act

Ch. 405 (neighborhood electric vehicle credit)

Clean Air Act "
Ch. 405 (alt fuel vehicle credit)

Alternative Fuels Program Changes
Ch. 1 (7th Special Session)

Low-income Tax Credit
Ch. 1 (5th Special Session)

Tuition Tax Credit
Ch. 1 (5th Special Session)

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME

CORPORATE INCOME
Technology Training Credit
Ch. 239

IRS Conformity
Ch. 252

Clean Air Act
Ch. 405

Clean Air Act "
Ch. 405 (alt fuel vehicle credit)
TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME

SALES AND USE
Renewable Energy Incentives
Ch.214

Spaceport Launch Site Exemption
Ch. 359

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY

Renewable Energy Incentives 24
Ch. 214

Cemeteries; Property Tax Exemption 24
Ch. 258

Electrical Generation Facilities
Ch. 384

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
None

TOTAL OTHER

TOTAL

Notes:

($ in Thousands)

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

FY 2000 FY 2001 FY 2002 FY 2003
(57.0)
(300.0) (300.0)
(680.0) (2,796.0) (3,260.0) (636.0)
(100.0) (100.0)
(75.0) (75.0)
(100.0) (100.0)
(15,750.0)
(59,100.0) (26,700.0) (3,100.0)
(4,427.0)
(20,100.0) (20,100.0)
(3,750.0) (3,847.5)
(680.0) (82,073.0) (54,385.0) (28,315.5)
(2,500.0) (2,500.0)
(15.0) 21.0 175.0 149.0
192.3 192.3
(7,300.0) (6,600.0) (1,600.0)
(15.0) (7,279.0) (8,732.7) (3,758.7)
(40.7) (42.8) (45.0)
(18.4) (36.7) (36.7) (36.7)
(18.4) (77.4) (79.5) (81.7)
(8.8)
(7.3)
(2,234.9) (3,957.1)
(2,234.9) (3,973.2)
(713.4) (89,429.4) (65,432.1) (36,129.1)

1/ Amounts for FY 2001, FY 2002, and FY 2003 represent actual impact rather than initial estimated impact. Totals do no’

include approximately $(12.7) million paid out for consumer loss recovery, for a total alternative fuel impact of

approximately $(117) million.

2/ Revenue loss due to reduced levies on property located in unorganized districts and minimum qualifying
tax rate (MQTR) districts. Property tax levies in such districts are deposited in the General Fund.
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2001

(S in Thousands)

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Conditional Appropriations; Taxation

(reduce standard deduction)
Ch. 235

Department of Revenue; Confidentiality
Ch. 261

IRS Conformity
Ch. 296

Retirement Benefits; Defined Contribution
Ch. 380

Equity Tax Act; Archaic Laws
Ch. 382

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME

CORPORATE INCOME
IRS Conformity
Ch. 296

Enterprise Zone Program; Extension
Ch. 370 (impact can not be determined)

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME

SALES AND USE
None

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY
None

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
None

TOTAL OTHER

TOTAL

Notes:

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.

FY 2001 FY 2002
(15,000.0)

1,400.0

(123.0) (280.0)
(300.0)

(552.8)

(123.0) (14,732.8)
(470.0) (1,098.0)
(470.0) (1,098.0)
(593.0) (15,830.8)

FY 2003

(15,000.0)

1,300.0

(385.0)

(300.0)

(552.8)

(14,937.8)

(1,315.0)

(1,315.0)

(16,252.8)

- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental

amount.
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2002 *
(S in Thousands)

FY 2002 FY 2003 FY 2004

FY 2005

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
IRS Conformity (14,480.0) (14,480.0)
Ch. 344

(14,480.0)

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (14,480.0) (14,480.0)

CORPORATE INCOME
Repeal Dividends Income Tax Subtraction 11,200.0 11,200.0
Ch. 50

IRS Conformity 5,610.0 5,610.0
Ch. 344

(14,480.0)

11,200.0

5,610.0

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME 16,810.0 16,810.0

SALES AND USE
None

16,810.0

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY
None

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
IRS Conformity - Estate Tax (18,830.0) (38,140.0)
Ch. 344

(57,740.0)

TOTAL OTHER (18,830.0) (38,140.0)

(57,740.0)

TOTAL (16,500.0) (35,810.0)

Notes:
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

* Includes 45th Legislature, 2nd Special Session (December 2001), 3rd Special Session (March 2002), and
2nd Regular Session.
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2003 *
(S in Thousands)

FY 2003 FY 2004 FY 2005
INDIVIDUAL INCOME
None

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME

CORPORATE INCOME
None

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME

SALES AND USE
None

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY
None

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
Remove Medicaid Exemption/Ins. Premium Tax 69,728.1 92,970.1
Ch. 136

TOTAL OTHER 69,728.1 92,970.1

TOTAL 69,728.1 92,970.1

Notes:
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

* Includes 45th Legislature, 6th Special Session (November 2002), and 46th Legislature, 1st Special Session
(March 2003), and 1st Regular Session.
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2004

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
IRS Conformity
Ch. 196

Stillborn Children Exemption
Ch. 214

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME

CORPORATE INCOME
None

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME

SALES AND USE
None

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY
None

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
Liquor Fees
Ch. 275

TOTAL OTHER

TOTAL

Notes:

(S in Thousands)

FY 2004 FY 2005

(1,800.0)
(34.0)

© (1,834.0)

250.0

250.0

(1,584.0)

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the

incremental amount.
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2005
($ in Thousands)

FY 2005 FY 2006 FY 2007 FY 2008
INDIVIDUAL INCOME
IRS Conformity (5,400.0) (5,090.0) (7,950.0)
Cch. 334

Elimination of "Marriage Penalty" (6,400.0) (12,800.0) (12,800.0)
Ch. 334

Index Standard Deduction to CPI (2,400.0) (4,800.0) (7,200.0)
Ch. 334

Active Duty Military Pay Exemption (10,300.0) v
Ch. 303

Graywater Tax Credit Y (250.0)
Ch. 292

Small Business Investment Credit 3

Ch. 316
TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (14,200.0) (32,990.0) (28,200.0)

CORPORATE INCOME
IRS Conformity (3,000.0) 5,210.0 9,410.0
Ch. 196

AZ National Guard Employment Credit (250.0) (250.0) (250.0)
Ch. 264

Motion Picture Tax Incentives (8,000.0) (9,200.0)
Ch. 317

Graywater Tax Credit Y (500.0)
Ch. 292

Corporate Sales Factor o (32,000.0)
Ch. 289

Corporate Consolidated Credit S/
Laws 1994 Ch. 41

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME (3,250.0) (3,040.0) (32,540.0)

SALES AND USE
Motion Picture Tax Incentives (600.0) (1,200.0) (1,300.0)
Ch. 317

TOTAL SALES AND USE (600.0) (1,200.0) (1,300.0)

PROPERTY

Business Property Tax Reduction ¢/
Ch. 302

Increased Widows Property Tax Exemption 7!
Ch. 309

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
None

TOTAL OTHER

TOTAL (18,050.0) (37,230.0) (62,040.0)

Notes:
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

1/ Chapter 303 established a one-time active duty pay exemption. Laws 2006, Chapter 342 (see following page) made the exemption
permanent, as well as expanding the exemption to National Guard or Reserves..

2/ Individual and corporate credit combined capped at $750,000 per year for 5 years beginning in FY 2008.

3/ Credit capped at $20 million for tax years 2007 through 2014. No estimates of impact by year.

4/ Estimated impact of $(32) million in FY 2008, $(62) million in FY 2009, $(91) million when fully implemented in FY 2011.

5/ Legislation enacted in 1994 provided a tax credit totalling $115 million for certain consolidated returns which was to be spread
over 10 years. In the 11th year, DOR is required to refund any unused credit. This legislation is estimated to have a one-time
impact of $(4) million in FY 2007, and $(55.5) million in FY 2008.

6/ Impact will occur as increased Arizona Department of Education expenditures. The cost is expected to be $12.3 million in FY 2007,
$26.6 million in FY 2008, $42.8 million in FY 2009, $61.5 million in FY 2010, $82.7 million in FY 2011, $102.8 million in FY 2012,
$114.2 million in FY 2013, and $126.5 million in FY 2015. Full implementation in FY 2016 is expected to cost $140 million.

7/ Impact will occur as increased Arizona Department of Education expenditures. The cost is expected to be $500,000 in FY 2007
and $512,000 in FY 2008.
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2006

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
IRS Conformity
Ch. 357

Individual Income Tax Rate Reduction
Ch. 354

Solar Energy Device Credit

Ch. 333

Active Duty Military Pay Exemption Y
Ch. 342

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME

CORPORATE INCOME
IRS Conformity
Ch. 357

Solar Energy Device Credit
Ch. 333

School Tuition Tax Credit %
Chs. 14 & 325

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME

SALES AND USE
Solar Energy Device Credit
Ch. 333

Exemption for Purchase of Liquid Natural Gas
Ch. 371

Tax Simplification-Eliminate 3 Categories
Ch. 354

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY

State Equalization Rate Suspension 3
Ch. 354

/

Nonprofit Hospital Property Tax Exemption o
Ch. 327

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
Health Insurance Premium Tax Credit
Ch. 378

TOTAL OTHER

TOTAL

Notes:

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.

(S in Thousands)

FY 2006

FY 2007

(700.0)

(156,100.0)

(500.0)

(157,300.0)

(700.0)

(500.0)

(10,000.0)

(11,200.0)

(500.0)

(378.6)

(200.0)

(1,078.6)

(5,000.0)

(5,000.0)

(174,578.6)

FY 2008

400.0

(334,000.0)

(500.0)

(12,200.0)

(346,300.0)

(800.0)

(500.0)

(12,000.0)

(13,300.0)

(500.0)

(378.6)

(200.0)

(1,078.6)

(5,000.0)

(5,000.0)

(365,678.6)

- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

1/ Chapter 342 made the one-time active duty pay exemption enacted by Laws 2005, Chapter 303 permanent.

In addition, the act expands the exemption to include active National Guard or Reserves.
2/ Credit capped at $10 million for FY 2007. The cap will increase 20% annually beginning in FY 2008.

3/ Impact will occur as increased Arizona Department of Education expenditures. The cost is expected to be
$215.2 million in FY 2007, $226.0 million in FY 2008, and $239.6 million in FY 2009.
4/ Impact will occur as increased Arizona Department of Education expenditures. The cost is expected to be

$60,000 per year beginning in FY 2007.
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2007

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
IRS Conformity
Ch.1

College Savings Plan
Ch. 258

Military Relief Fund
Ch. 258

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME

CORPORATE INCOME
IRS Conformity
Ch.1

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME

SALES AND USE
None

TOTAL SALES AND USE
PROPERTY

Business Property Tax Reduction !

Ch. 258

Business Personal Property Accelerated Depreciation 2

Ch. 258
TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
None

TOTAL OTHER

TOTAL

Notes:

(S in Thousands)

FY 2007

/

FY 2008

(1,300.0)

(1,300.0)

(300.0)

(300.0)

(1,600.0)

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

FY 2009

(980.0)

(2,500.0)

(1,000.0)

(4,480.0)

60.0

60.0

(4,420.0)

1/ Laws 2005, Chapter 302 phased down the assessment ratio for business personal property over 10 years.

Chapter 258 accelerates the phase down from the remaining 8 years to 4 years. Impact will occur as

increased Arizona Department of Education expenditures. The incremental cost of the accelerated phase

down is expected to be an additional $3.1 million in FY 2009.

2/ Impact will occur as increased Arizona Department of Education expenditures. The cost is expected to be

$4.0 million per year beginning in FY 2009.
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2008

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
IRS Conformity
Ch. 94

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME

CORPORATE INCOME
IRS Conformity
Ch. 94

Research and Development Credit
Ch. 290

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME

SALES AND USE
None

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY
None

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
None

TOTAL OTHER

TOTAL

Notes:

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

(S in Thousands)

FY 2008

FY 2009

(970.0)

FY 2010

FY 2011

(970.0)

(80.0)

(80.0)

(5,700.0)

(5,700.0)

-277 -

(1,050.0)

(5,700.0)



TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2009
(S in Thousands)

FY 2009 FY 2010 FY 2011 FY 2012

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
IRS Conformity (4,000.0) (880.0) (880.0)
Ch.2

Contributions to Charitable Organizations (5,000.0) (5,900.0) (5,900.0)
Ch. 80

Renewable Energy Investment Y

Ch. 96

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (9,000.0) (6,780.0) (6,780.0)

CORPORATE INCOME
IRS Conformity (4,410.0) (100.0) (100.0)
Ch. 2

Renewable Energy Investment v (5,000.0) (5,000.0)
Ch. 96

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME (4,410.0) (5,100.0) (5,100.0)

SALES AND USE
None

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY

Renewable Energy Investment v

Ch. 96

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
None

TOTAL OTHER

TOTAL (13,410.0) (11,880.0) (11,880.0)

Notes:
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

1/ Chapter 96 provides income and property tax incentives for qualifying renewable energy companies that invest in
headquarter or manufacturing facilities in the state, including land, buildings, machinery and equipment, from tax year
2010 to 2014. The income tax credits are refundable, and are capped at $70 million annually. The $(5) million impactis a
revised estimate for CY 2010. The cumulative $(5) million reduction is shown as a corporate income tax reduction for
display purposes.

-278 -



TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2010

(S in Thousands)

FY 2010 FY 2011

INDIVIDUAL INCOME

IRS Conformity Y

Ch. 176

STO Contribution Deadline Extension (2,500.0)
Ch. 188

STO Maximum Credit Inflation Adjustment (600.0)
Ch. 293

Research and Development Refundable Credit Y (5,000.0)
Ch. 312

Renewable Energy Production Credit 3
Ch. 312

Out-of-State Filers Proportionality 22,000.0
6th SS, Ch. 3

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME 13,900.0

CORPORATE INCOME
IRS Conformity v
Ch. 176

Research and Development Refundable Credit ¥

Ch. 312

Renewable Energy Production Credit 3
Ch. 312

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME 0.0

SALES AND USE
TPT Increase - May Election 918,000.0

6th SS, SCR 1001 (May 2010 Election, Prop 100)*/
Estimated Payment Threshold
7th ss, ch. 12 ¥

TOTAL SALES AND USE 918,000.0

PROPERTY
None

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
None

TOTAL OTHER

TOTAL 931,900.0

Notes:

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.

FY 2012

(2,500.0)

(600.0)

(5,000.0)

22,000.0

13,900.0

(10,000.0)

(10,000.0)

918,000.0

918,000.0

921,900.0

- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

1/ These adjustments may have a minimal revenue impact not reflected in this chart.

2/ The refundable credit provisions of Chapter 312 impact both individual and corporate income tax. The cumulative $(5) million reduction

is shown as an individual income tax reduction for display purposes.

3/ The renewable energy production provisions of Chapter 312 impact both individual and corporate income tax. The cumulative $(10) million

reduction is shown as a corporate income tax reduction for display purposes.

FY 2013 FY 2014
(2,500.0) (2,500.0)
(600.0) (600.0)
(5,000.0) (5,000.0)
22,000.0 22,000.0
13,900.0 13,900.0
(20,000.0) (20,000.0)
(20,000.0) (20,000.0)
918,000.0 0.0
918,000.0 0.0
911,900.0 (6,100.0)

4/ The original ballot proposition estimated collections of $918 million, $968 million, and $1.06 billion respectively for the three years of collection.
5/ The threshold for the June estimated TPT payment was lowered from $1.0 million in TPT tax liability to $100,000 for FY 2010 through FY 2012.
This change was estimated to generate $48 million in FY 2010, and reduce revenues by $(52) million in FY 2013. These changes do not impact
a taxpayer's tax liability, but do impact the timing of payments. The impacts are considered one-time, and are not included in the above chart.
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2011
($ in Thousands)

FY 2011 FY 2012 FY 2013 FY 2014 FY 2015 FY 2016 FY 2017 FY 2018

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
IRS Conformity 3,100.0 3,100.0 3,100.0 3,100.0 3,100.0 3,100.0 3,100.0
Ch.4

"Angel" Investment Credit Increase & (4,000.0) (4,000.0) (4,000.0) (4,500.0) 0.0 0.0 0.0
2nd SS, Ch. 1

Eliminate Small Business-Generated Cap. Gains (11,600.0) (12,300.0) (12,900.0) (13,600.0)
2nd SS, Ch. 1

New Employment Credit
2nd SS, Ch. 1

University R&D Credit Increase
2nd'ss, ch. 1Y

Eliminate Enterprise Zones
2nd'ss, ch. 1Y

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (900.0) (900.0) (900.0)  (13,000.0) (9,200.0) (9,800.0)  (10,500.0)

CORPORATE INCOME V/
IRS Conformity 6,100.0 6,100.0 6,100.0 6,100.0 6,100.0 6,100.0 6,100.0
Ch.4

Corporate Rate Reduction (53,800.0) (116,000.0) (183,500.0) (269,600.0)
2ndss, ch. 1
100% Sales Factor (24,600.0)  (47,300.0)  (67,800.0)  (84,000.0)
2ndss, ch. 1

New Employment Credit (6,700.0)  (13,400.0)  (29,800.0)  (47,700.0)  (52,700.0)  (53,700.0)  (50,900.0)
2nd SS, Ch. 1

University R&D Credit Increase (4,000.0) (4,000.0) (4,000.0) (4,000.0) (4,000.0) (4,000.0)
2ndss, ch. 1
Eliminate Enterprise Zones 4,000.0 4,000.0 4,000.0 4,000.0 4,000.0 4,000.0 4,000.0
2ndss, ch. 1Y
TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME 3,400.0 (7,300.0)  (23,700.0) (120,000.0) (209,900.0) (298,900.0) (398,400.0)

SALES AND USE
None

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY
None

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
None

TOTAL OTHER

TOTAL 2,500.0 (8,200.0)  (24,600.0) (133,000.0) (219,100.0) (308,700.0) (408,900.0)

Notes:
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

1/ The Chapter 1 "Jobs Bill" provisions are fully phased in by 2018. See the Corporate Income Tax section for additional information.

2/ Revised since 2013 Tax Handbook to correct an error.

3/ The university R&D credit impacts both individual and corporate income tax. The cumulative reduction is shown as a corporate income tax reduction
for display purposes.

4/ The elimination of enterprise zones impacts both individual and corporate income tax. The cumulative reduction is shown as a corporate income tax

reduction for display purposes.
5/ The impact of the corporate income tax rate reduction is estimated at $(116.0) million in FY 2016, $(183.5) million in FY 2017, and $(269.6) million in

FY 2018. These reflect estimates at the time of enactment and have changed since that time.
6/ The impact of the 100% sales factor phase-in is estimated at $(47.3) million in FY 2016, $(67.8) million in FY 2017, and $(84.0) million in
FY 2018. These reflect estimates at the time of enactment and have changed since that time.
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2012
($ in Thousands)

FY 2012 FY 2013 FY 2014 FY 2015 FY 2016 FY 2017 FY 2018 FY 2019

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
STO Tax Credit (4,000.0) (4,000.0) (4,000.0) (4,000.0) (4,000.0) (4,000.0) (4,000.0)
ch.4

Eliminate Clean Election Tax Credit 12,800.0 12,800.0 12,800.0 12,800.0 12,800.0 12,800.0 12,800.0
Ch. 257

Healthy Forest Restoration (110.0) (110.0) (110.0) (110.0) (110.0) (110.0) (110.0)
Ch. 331

Long-Term Capital Gains Reduction (17,500.0)  (40,500.0)  (56,500.0)  (61,400.0)  (65,600.0) (69,300.0)
ch. 343

Federal Bonus Depreciation Deduction Yy (4,200.0) 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0
Ch. 343

Eliminate Cap-New Employment Y
Ch. 343

Qualified Facility Credit 3
Ch. 343

Long Term Care Premium Subtraction (4,100.0) (4,100.0) (4,100.0) (4,100.0) (4,100.0) (4,100.0) (4,100.0)
Ch. 351

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME 4,590.0 (12,910.0) ~ (40,110.0)  (51,910.0)  (56,810.0)  (61,010.0)  (64,710.0)

CORPORATE INCOME
Service Provider Corporate Sales Factor Yy (3,000.0) (3,500.0) (3,900.0) (4,400.0) (4,400.0)
Ch. 2

Eliminate Cap-New Employment ¥ (1,800.0) (3,600.0) (5,400.0) (5,400.0) (5,400.0) (5,400.0)
Ch. 343

Qualified Facility Credit ¥ (4,000.0) (8,000.0)  (12,000.0)  (16,000.0)  (20,000.0) (20,000.0)
ch. 343

Extend Net Operating Loss Carry Forward (12,200.0)
Ch. 343

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME 0.0 (5,800.0)  (14,600.0)  (20,900.0)  (25,300.0)  (29,800.0)  (42,000.0)

SALES AND USE

Public Infrastructure Improvements Y
Ch. 328

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY
None

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
None

TOTAL OTHER

TOTAL 4,590.0 (18,710.0)  (54,710.0)  (72,810.0)  (82,110.0)  (90,810.0)  (106,710.0)

Notes:
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

1/ Revised since 2013 Tax Handbook to correct an error.

2/ Impact is estimated at $(1.8) million between corporate and individual income taxpayers beginning in FY 2014. Impact grows by another $(1.8) million
each year through FY 2016. The impact of the credit is shown in the Corporate Income Tax section for display purposes.

3/ Impact is estimated at $(4.0) million between corporate and individual income taxpayers, beginning in FY 2014. Impact grows by another $(4.0) million
each year through FY 2018. The impact of the credit is shown in the Corporate Income Tax section for display purposes.

4/ Fiscal impact could not be determined at the time of enactment but statute caps the loss to more than $50 million over the life of the program.
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2013

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
IRS Conformity
Ch. 65

Working Poor Credit/Itemized Deduction
Ch. 236

529 College Savings Plan Subtraction
Ch. 236

Business Expensing Conformity Y
Ch. 256

Foster Care Credit
1st SSCh. 9

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME

CORPORATE INCOME
IRS Conformity
Ch. 65

ACA Certification/Enterprise Zone Credit
Ch. 236

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME

SALES AND USE
Certified Interlock Device Rental
Ch. 236

TPT Simplification
Ch. 255

Data Center Exemption
1st SSCh. 9

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY
None

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
None

TOTAL OTHER
TOTAL

Notes:

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

1/ Removed the state's $25,000 business expensing cap, beginning in TY 2013. As a result, the state effectively
conformed its business expensing level to the amounts permitted by federal law. At the time of enactment,
Chapter 256 was expected to have a one-time revenue impact of $(24.8) million in FY 2014. While Chapter 256
reduces both individual and corporate income tax, the entire impact is shown as an individual income tax
reduction for display purposes. Laws 2015, Chapter 227 extends this provision.

(S in Thousands)
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FY 2013 FY 2014 FY 2015 FY 2016
8,300.0 8,700.0 9,300.0

(18,000.0) (18,000.0) (18,000.0)

(4,000.0) (4,000.0) (4,000.0)

(24,800.0) 0.0 0.0

(850.0) (850.0) (850.0)

(39,350.0) (14,150.0) (13,550.0)

4,600.0 5,400.0 8,900.0 6,300.0
(500.0) (300.0) 0.0

"~ 4,600.0 4,900.0 8,600.0 6,300.0
(600.0) (600.0) (600.0)

1,300.0

(4,200.0) (6,000.0) (7,900.0)

(4,800.0) (6,600.0) (7,200.0)

© 4,600.0 (39,250.0) (12,150.0) (14,450.0)



TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2014

INDIVIDUAL INCOME

Tax Bracket Inflation Adjustment
Ch. 10

Social Security Number Requirement

Ch. 68
TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME

CORPORATE INCOME
Renewable Energy Facility Credit
Ch. 8

Job Tax Credit
Ch. 168

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME

SALES AND USE
Electricity/Natural Gas Exemption
Ch.7

Mixed Waste Processing Facility
Ch. 228

Health Science Institution
Ch. 276

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY
None

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
None

TOTAL OTHER

TOTAL

Notes:

(S in Thousands)

FY 2015 FY 2016 FY 2017
(6,100.0) Yy

1,500.0 1,500.0

(4,600.0) 1,500.0
(10,000.0) (10,000.0)
(882.0) (882.0) (882.0)
(882.0) (10,882.0) (10,882.0)
(14,600.0) (18,200.0) (18,200.0)
(183.6) (183.6) (183.6)
(196.4) (196.4) (196.4)
(14,980.0) (18,580.0) (18,580.0)
(15,862.0) (34,062.0) (27,962.0)

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.

- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

1/ Chapter 10 provided a one-time inflation adjustment of the income tax rate brackets for TY 2015. Laws 2015,
Chapter 91 (see following page) made the inflation adjustment of the tax brackets permanent, beginning in

TY 2016.
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2015

(S in Thousands)

FY 2015

FY 2016

FY 2017

FY 2018

INDIVIDUAL INCOME

Tax Bracket Inflation Adjustment .
Ch.91

/

Internal Revenue Code Conformity (30,800.0)
Ch. 227

(30,800.0)

(15,400.0)

(30,800.0)

(24,700.0)

(30,800.0)

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (30,800.0)

CORPORATE INCOME

Renewable Energy Facility Credit 2
Ch.6

(30,800.0)

(46,200.0)

(55,500.0)

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME 0.0

SALES AND USE

Electricity/Natural Gas Exemption 3
Ch.6

/

0.0

0.0

(1,300.0)

0.0

(1,300.0)

TOTAL SALES AND USE 0.0

PROPERTY

Religious Institution Exemption 4
Ch. 49

/

0.0

(1,300.0)

(1,300.0)

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
Insurance Fraud Assessment
Ch. 10

Retaliatory Insurance Premium Tax Exemption
Ch. 184

Insurance Premium Tax Rate Reduction */

Ch. 220

516.6

(1,500.0)

516.6

(1,500.0)

(1,300.0)

516.6

(1,500.0)

(1,500.0)

TOTAL OTHER 0.0

(983.4)

(2,283.4)

(2,483.4)

TOTAL (30,800.0)

Notes:

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

(31,783.4)

(49,783.4)

(59,283.4)

1/ Chapter 91 made the one-time tax bracket inflation adjustment enacted by Laws 2014, Chapter 10 permanent,

beginning in TY 2016.

2/ Laws 2014, Chapter 8 created a credit for investments in new renewable energy facilities that produce
energy for self-consumption used in manufacturing operations. Laws 2015, Chapter 6 expanded the credit
program to include "International Operations Centers" (I0C). Since the program's credit cap of $10 million
is already "priced in" for manufacturers, there would be no additional revenue loss for I0Cs under Chapter 6.

3/ Laws 2014, Chapter 7 established an electricity and natural gas sales tax exemption for manufacturers.

Laws 2015, Chapter 6 expanded the exemption to include "International Operations Centers" (I0C).
The numbers as displayed reflect the marginal impact of Laws 2015, Chapter 6.

4/ Impact will occur as increased Arizona Department of Education expenditures. The cost is expected to be

$300,000 per year, beginning in FY 2017.

5/ The numbers as displayed reflect the scheduled insurance premium tax rate reduction provided by Laws 2015,

Chapter 220. See Laws 2016, Chapter 358 for further changes.
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2016
(S in Thousands)

FY 2016 FY 2017 FY 2018 FY 2019 FY 2020 FY 2021

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Charitable Tax Credit Cap Increase Y (11,000.0) (11,000.0) (11,000.0) (11,000.0) (11,000.0)
Ch. 109
Federal Bonus Depreciation Deduction Y (8,000.0) (16,000.0) (16,000.0) (16,000.0) (16,000.0)
Ch. 118
Extended Due Date for Charitable Tax Credit (1,700.0) (1,700.0) (1,700.0) (1,700.0) (1,700.0)
Ch. 309
TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (20,700.0) (28,700.0) (28,700.0) (28,700.0) (28,700.0)
CORPORATE INCOME
None
SALES AND USE
Natural Gas Transportation Exemption (870.0) (870.0) (870.0) (870.0) (870.0)
Ch. 357
Agricultural Feed Exemption (1,000.0) (1,000.0) (1,000.0) (1,000.0) (1,000.0)
Ch. 361
Charter Airline Exemption 0.0 (2,300.0) (2,300.0) (2,300.0) (2,300.0)
Ch. 367
Fine Art Exemption (1,300.0) (1,300.0) (1,300.0) (1,300.0) (1,300.0)
Ch. 368
Electricity/Natural Gas Exemption 34 (8,700.0) (20,900.0) (20,900.0) (20,900.0) (20,900.0)
Ch.374
TOTAL SALES AND USE (11,870.0) (26,370.0) (26,370.0) (26,370.0) (26,370.0)
PROPERTY
None
OTHER
Insurance Premium Tax Rate Reduction * (3,000.0) (7,100.0) (11,400.0) (16,100.0) (21,100.0)
Ch. 358
TOTAL OTHER (3,000.0) (7,100.0) (11,400.0) (16,100.0) (21,100.0)

TOTAL (35,570.0) (62,170.0) (66,470.0) (71,170.0) (76,170.0)
Notes:

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

1/ Chapter 109 increases the maximum amount that an individual income taxpayer is allowed to claim for cash
contributions to charitable organizations and foster care charitable organizations, beginning in TY 2016.
Based on JLBC Staff's original estimate, the May 2016 budget agreement assumed an annual impact of
$(2.6) million, beginning in FY 2017. The current numbers reflect JLBC Staff's revised estimates based on
additional research.

2/ Laws 2012, Chapter 343 provided an individual income tax deduction equal to 10% of the federal bonus
depreciation allowance. The current numbers reflect Laws 2016, Chapter 118, which increases the deduction
to 55% of federal bonus depreciation in TY 2016 and 100% in TY 2017 and subsequent years.

3/ Laws 2014, Chapter 7 established an electricity and natural gas sales tax exemption for manufacturers
while Laws 2015, Chapter 6 expanded the exemption to "International Operation Centers" (I0C). Laws 2016,
Chapter 374 further modified the requirements to qualify for the exemption. The numbers as displayed reflect
the marginal impact of Laws 2016, Chapter 374,

4/ Chapter 374 modifies requirements to qualify for the electricity sales tax exemption, beginning in CY 2017.
Based on Department of Revenue's original estimate, the May 2016 budget agreement assumed a revenue
impact of $(7.0) million in FY 2017 and $(14.0) million, beginning in FY 2018. The current number reflects
JLBC Staff's revised estimate based on additional research.

5/ The scheduled insurance premium tax rate reduction provided by Laws 2015, Chapter 220 was accelerated by
Laws 2016, Chapter 358. The numbers as displayed reflect the marginal impact of Laws 2016, Chapter 358.
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2017

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Personal Exemption Increase
Ch. 299

"Angel" Investment Credit Increase
Ch. 319

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME

CORPORATE INCOME
Income Tax Subtraction for ADA Retrofits
Ch. 278

New Requirements for Employment Credit
Ch. 340

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME

SALES AND USE
None

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY
None

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
None

TOTAL OTHER

TOTAL

Notes:

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

(S in Thousands)

FY 2017 FY 2018 FY 2019 FY 2020
(6,800.0) (13,500.0) (16,400.0)

(833.3) (1,666.7) (2,500.0)

(7,633.3) (15,166.7) (18,900.0)

(1,300.0) (1,300.0)

(800.0) (1,700.0)

(2,100.0) (3,000.0)

(7,633.3) (17,266.7) (21,900.0)
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TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2018

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Military Pension Exemption Increase
Ch. 283

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME

CORPORATE INCOME
None

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME

SALES AND USE

Online Marketplace Lodging TPT Changes
Ch. 189

Sales Suppression Software Prohibition
Ch. 190

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY
None

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
None

TOTAL OTHER

TOTAL

Notes:

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

(S in Thousands)

FY 2018 FY 2019 FY 2020 FY 2021
(2,000.0) (2,000.0)
(2,000.0) (2,000.0)
1/ 1/ 1/
1/ 1/ 1/
10,000.0 15,000.0 15,000.0
10,000.0 13,000.0 13,000.0

1/ Under the FY 2019 enacted budget, the revenue impacts of Chapter 189 and Chapter 190 were not separately

delineated. Therefore, there are no separate estimates for Chapters 189 and 190.
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