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FOREWORD 
 

The 2016 Tax Handbook provides a description of each state tax and certain other revenue categories.  The 
Handbook also includes a 20-year history of the collections and distributions for each revenue category, as well as 
summaries of all statutory revisions between the 2010 and 2016 legislative sessions.  A listing of statutory changes 
prior to the 2010 legislative session is available on the Joint Legislative Budget Committee (JLBC) website located at 
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/16taxbk.pdf.  Appendix D provides the estimated dollar value of individual 
tax law changes enacted by the Legislature since FY 1989. 
 
The Tax Handbook includes tables that provide the estimated impact of tax credits and exemptions to the Sales 
Tax, Individual Income Tax, and Corporate Income Tax sections.  These tables were prepared by the Office of 
Economic Research and Analysis at the Arizona Department of Revenue. 
 
Each entry in the Tax Handbook includes the following sections (where applicable): 
 

 Description – a comprehensive narrative description of the tax or revenue source. 

 Distribution – a 20-year history of collections and a description of how the tax is distributed by fund, or shared 
with other jurisdictions such as cities and towns. 

 Who Pays – a description of who is legally responsible for the payment of the tax or fee. 

 Revenue Base and Rate – a definition of the tax base, a discussion of exemptions, if any, and a description of 
the tax rate(s). 

 Tax Refunds and/or Credits – a description of circumstances under which tax refunds are made, and/or credits 
are allowed. 

 Payment Schedule – due dates, delinquency dates, and payment schedules, as well as an explanation of how 
the tax or fee is remitted to the state. 

 Impact of Statutory Changes – includes statutory changes from 2010 through 2016.  As noted above, statutory 
changes prior to 2010 are available on the JLBC website. 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/16taxbk.pdf
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OVERVIEW OF ARIZONA TAXES 
 

The revenues from Arizona’s different taxes are deposited in a number of funds.  The largest fund is the General Fund.  In 
FY 2016, on-going General Fund revenue was $9.8 billion.  This amount excludes urban revenue sharing and one-time 
financing sources. 
 
While revenues from numerous taxes are deposited in the General Fund, 3 taxes constitute the bulk of General Fund 
collections: the sales tax, the individual income tax, and the corporate income tax.  In FY 2016, these 3 taxes represented 
90% of on-going General Fund revenue.  As noted in the chart below, the largest category is the state sales tax, which 
represented 43.7% of General Fund revenue collections in FY 2016.  Individual and corporate income tax represented 
40.2% and 5.8%, respectively, of General Fund revenue. 
 

Sources of FY 2016 General Fund Revenue

Sales Tax

43.7%

Other

10.3%

Corporate 

Income Tax

5.8%

Individual 

Income Tax

40.2%

 
 
The state levies many other taxes, fees, and assessments.  Some of the other taxes generate sizable amounts of revenue, 
but their collections are not deposited in the General Fund.  For example, the motor vehicle fuel tax generated $518 
million in FY 2016 and the unemployment insurance tax generated $484 million.  However, these collections were 
deposited in the Highway User Revenue Fund and the Unemployment Compensation Fund, respectively. 
 
This handbook provides a listing and description of the taxes levied by the State of Arizona.  Additionally, it shows the 
amount of revenue collections and tax distributions by fund.   
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TRANSACTION PRIVILEGE TAX 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The transaction privilege tax (TPT) is a gross receipts tax levied by the State of Arizona on certain persons for the 
privilege of conducting business in the state.  Although TPT is commonly referred to as Arizona’s sales tax, it differs 
from the “true” sales tax imposed by many other states as it is imposed upon the seller rather than the buyer of 
the taxable item.  Although the seller may pass the burden of the tax onto the buyer, the seller is the party that 
remains ultimately liable to the state for the tax.  
 
TPT is currently imposed under 15 separate business classifications: retail, transporting, utilities, 
telecommunications, publication, job printing, pipeline, private car line, commercial lease, transient lodging, 
personal property rental, mining, amusement, restaurant, and prime contracting.  As of June 1, 2016, the state tax 
rates for the various classifications are as follows:  5.5% for the transient lodging (hotel/motel) classification, 
3.125% for the mining classification, 0% for the commercial lease (rental of real property for commercial use) 
classification, and 5.6% for all other TPT classifications.  (Note that Laws 1993, 2

nd
 Special Session, Chapter 9 

reduced the state TPT rate on commercial leases to 0%, beginning in FY 1998.)   
 
TPT is imposed on the total gross receipts of taxable businesses, with the exception of prime contractors, who are 
taxed at 65% of their gross receipts.  As of January 1, 2015, prime contractors are not subject to tax on the gross 
receipts from contracts for the maintenance, repair, replacement or alteration (MRRA) of real property if such 
contracts do not include modification activity.   
 
All gross receipts are subject to tax (under one of the 15 TPT classifications) unless specifically exempted or 
excluded by statute.  Exemptions and deductions under one TPT classification may not be used under another 
classification unless specifically provided by law.   
 
Chart 1 illustrates the relative importance of the major TPT categories.  Retail is the largest TPT category and 
comprised 55.5% of total state sales tax collections in FY 2016.  Other large categories are restaurants and bars, 
prime contracting, and utilities. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
TPT is the state’s single largest revenue source, representing 43.7% of ongoing General Fund revenues in FY 2016.  
A significant portion of state sales tax revenues is shared with the counties and cities.  This revenue sharing occurs 
through the distribution base, described in further detail in the Distribution section below. 
 

Components of Sales Tax Revenues
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56%
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15%
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9%
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Utilities
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Chart 1
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From June 2001 through June 2021, the state is levying an additional 0.6% tax exclusively dedicated to education. 
The 0.6% education tax, which was approved by voters in November 2000 and commonly referred to as 
Proposition 301, is not subject to the regular TPT distribution.  Proposition 301 raised the general state TPT rate 
from 5.0% to 5.6%, beginning in June 2001.  The 0.6% education tax generated $643.8 million in FY 2016.   
 
From June 2010 through May 2013, the state levied an additional 1.0% tax exclusively for public primary and 
secondary education, health and human services, and public safety.  The 3-year 1.0% tax, which was approved by 
voters in May 2010 and commonly known as Proposition 100, was not subject to the regular TPT distribution.  
Proposition 100 increased the state TPT rate from 5.6% to 6.6% from June 2010 through May 2013.  In June 2013, 
the state TPT rate returned to 5.6%.  The temporary 1.0% tax generated $864 million in FY 2011, $916 million in FY 
2012, and $962 million in FY 2013. 
 
Of the state’s 15 counties, all but 1 (Maricopa) are authorized by statute to impose a general excise tax.  All sales 
subject to state TPT are also subject to the applicable county general excise tax.  By statute, the county general 
excise tax cannot exceed 10% of the regular state TPT rate.  Subject to voter approval, any county may levy a 
transportation or road tax.  Other county excise tax options are:  jail tax, capital projects tax, and tax on county 
judgment bonds.       
 
Unlike the county general excise tax, the imposition of Arizona city transaction privilege taxes is separate and 
distinct from the imposition of state TPT.  Instead, cities in Arizona use the Model City Tax Code (MCTC) as the 
basis for imposing their privilege taxes.  MCTC is a uniform sales and use tax act that has been adopted by most 
cities in Arizona.  Although MCTC is intended to facilitate tax base uniformity among cities, the code authorizes 
cities to exempt or tax certain items that are not part of the standard or “model” language of the code.  
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
TPT revenues are shared with Arizona’s counties and cities through a complex system of formulas established in 
statute.  See Table 1 for amounts distributed.  Legislative changes to the state sales tax usually have local 
government impacts, unless otherwise specified through hold harmless provisions (provisions designed not to 
harm local governments). 
 
Distribution.  The Department of Revenue (DOR) transmits all sales tax revenues to the State Treasurer, separately 
accounting for payments of estimated taxes, the transient lodging tax, transaction privilege and severance taxes on 
mining and timber collected from businesses located on Indian reservations, and education sales taxes.  The 
aforementioned tax collections have dedicated uses.  All other sales tax revenues are credited to a clearing 
account.  A portion of transaction privilege, severance, and jet fuel excise taxes referred to as the distribution base 
is designated for distribution to counties, cities, and other purposes pursuant to A.R.S. § 42-5029D4.  (The 
allocation of distribution base monies to special purposes is described on the following pages.)  After the required 
distributions to counties, cities, and other special purposes, remaining distribution base monies are credited to the 
General Fund (see Table 1 and Table 4).  The portion of sales tax revenues (non-shared) not designated to the 
distribution base is directly credited to the General Fund.  
 
As previously mentioned, revenues collected from the 1.0% tax under Proposition 100 were not distributed to 
counties and municipalities, nor other government entities.  Two-thirds of the additional revenue from the 1.0% 
tax was appropriated to public primary and secondary education and the remaining one-third was appropriated to 
both health and human services and public safety.   

Revenues collected from the 0.6% Proposition 301 tax go directly toward education programs.  For a more 
extensive discussion of the specific uses of education tax revenues, please refer to the Department of Education – 
Basic State Aid Formula Summary section of the FY 2017 Appropriations Report.   
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Monies in the distribution base are allocated on a monthly basis in the following way: 

 

– 25% is paid to the cities in proportion to their population based on the last U.S. decennial census [A.R.S. § 42-
5029(I)], special census [A.R.S. § 42-5033], or the most recent annual population estimates by the U.S. Census 
Bureau [A.R.S. § 42-5033.01]. 

 
– 40.51% is paid to the counties according to the formula described below. 
 
– The remaining 34.49% is retained by the state and used to make various allocations and appropriations 

specified by statute.  (General Fund retains the distribution base monies that remain after the required 
allocations and appropriations.)  

 
In total, the counties receive 40.51% of distribution base revenues.  The amount that each county receives is 
determined by the following calculations: 
 
1. 38.08% of the total TPT distribution base is calculated. 
 
2. 2.43% of the total TPT distribution base is calculated. 
 
3. Each county's share of the 38.08% portion of the TPT distribution base is calculated using an average of 

percent of total point-of-sale and percent of total net assessed valuation for secondary property taxes. 
 
4. Each county's share of the 38.08% portion of the TPT distribution base is calculated using an average of 

percent of total point-of-sale and percent of total population based on the last U.S. decennial census [A.R.S. § 
42-5029(I)], special census [A.R.S. § 42-5033], or an approved mid-decade population estimate [A.R.S. § 42-
5033.01].  (For more details, see Laws 2016, Chapter 258.)   

 

5. The shares that each county would receive under the 2 previous steps are compared, with the larger of the 2 
amounts selected for each county.  The "new" amounts are added for all 15 counties to determine the 
difference between this total and the sum of the 38.08% proportions.  This difference is subtracted from the 
sum of the 2.43% proportions calculated in Step 2. 

 
6. Any monies remaining from the 2.43% portion are distributed among all 15 counties based on Step 4's 

combined percentage.  Add the amount for each county from this step to the total for each county from Step 
5 to get the total amount to be distributed to each county for the month. 

 
The remaining 34.49% of distribution base revenue is allocated to various purposes as provided by A.R.S. § 42-
5029D4, including expansion of the Phoenix Convention Center, school capital finance, multipurpose facilities, 
construction of a bridge and improvement of a highway at Phoenix International Raceway, the Tourism and Sports 
Authority (TSA) and certain public infrastructure improvements.  The TSA’s share of distribution base monies is 
equal to the amount of sales taxes collected at the University of Phoenix Stadium.  In addition, some monies are 
transferred to the Water Quality Assurance Revolving Fund, as required by A.R.S. § 49-282.  After these 
distributions have been made, the remainder is credited to the General Fund.  From this amount, the following 
distributions are subject to appropriation: 
 
1) Department of Revenue (DOR) receives monies sufficient to cover administrative expenses. 
2) Department of Economic Security (DES) receives monies for the purposes stated in Title 46, Chapter 1 (public 

welfare, out-of-wedlock pregnancy prevention, and aging). 
3) The Firearm Safety and Ranges Fund receives $50,000 derived from retail sales taxes collected during the 

current fiscal year. 
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Multipurpose Facility Districts 
Laws 1997, Chapter 297 expanded existing legislation that authorized county stadium districts to include 
multipurpose facilities, defined as facilities located in the district to accommodate sporting, entertainment, 
cultural, civic, and convention events and meetings.  The legislation also expanded the ability to form a district to 2 
or more municipalities located within a county and authorized these districts to generate TPT revenue.  If a district 
were to construct a facility, the state would divert one-half of the state TPT revenues generated at the facility from 
the General Fund to the district. 
 
Laws 1999, Chapter 162 required the state to pay a county multipurpose facility district one-half of all the TPT 
revenue received each month from all persons doing business at a multipurpose facility or generated from the 
construction of a multipurpose facility.  In no case are the monthly payments to exceed the net new revenues 
generated in a given month compared to the TPT revenues generated in the same month during the year prior to 
the vote authorizing the creation of the district.  Payments were to begin when the district board of directors 
delivered to the State Treasurer a resolution requesting payment and would continue for 10 years after either the 
commencement or completion of the primary component of the facility, at the option of the district.  Chapter 162 
required that the publicly-owned components of the district cost at least $200 million to construct.  The definition 
of a multipurpose facility was broadened to include secondary components such as parking lots and garages, on-
site infrastructure, artistic components, public parks, plazas, and some commercial facilities.  Chapter 162 was 
effective retroactively from July 1, 1998. 
 
Rio Nuevo 
In 1999, Tucson voters approved Proposition 400 authorizing the creation of a development area called the Rio 
Nuevo Multipurpose Facility District.  This district, which receives a diversion of state TPT to finance the 
development of a multipurpose facility and supporting projects, stretches east from Downtown Tucson along the 
retail-intensive Broadway Corridor. 
 
 
 

Table 1 
COLLECTIONS AND DISTRIBUTION (20-year history)* 

 
Fiscal Year 

 
General Fund 

 
Cities 

 
Counties 

 
Proposition 301 

 
Proposition 100 

 
Total  

 2016 $4,313,942,592 $476,773,305 $772,563,464 $645,012,218 $198,681 $6,208,490,260 
 2015 $4,189,263,497 $459,176,964 $744,050,353 $626,400,822 $1,760,338 $6,020,651,974 
 2014 $3,985,881,580 $437,628,967 $709,133,978 $601,853,602 $8,422,920 $5,742,921,047 
 2013 $3,778,863,746 $411,117,897 $666,175,440 $567,824,410 $962,171,977 $6,386,153,470 
 2012 $3,652,165,656 $392,475,912 $635,967,967 $542,394,529 $915,835,541 $6,138,839,605 
 2011 $3,448,016,988 $373,259,250 $604,829,288 $514,345,951 $864,501,708 $5,804,953,185 
 2010 $3,422,528,509 $356,997,763 $578,479,176 $513,589,704  $4,871,595,152 
 2009 $3,756,407,238 $387,050,618 $627,176,822 $558,899,709  $5,329,534,387 
 2008 $4,353,564,848 $447,060,657 $724,417,089 $645,827,821  $6,170,870,415 
 2007 $4,457,494,716 $462,037,141 $748,684,984 $666,184,022  $6,334,800,863 
 2006 $4,273,358,451 $439,120,139 $711,550,274 $628,471,192  $6,052,500,056 
 2005 $3,661,168,623 $376,212,970 $609,615,497 $538,346,435  $5,185,343,525 
 2004 $3,294,788,319 $340,535,844 $551,804,282 $487,214,807  $4,674,343,252 
 2003 $3,033,877,715 $316,406,294 $512,704,759 $447,841,034  $4,310,829,802 
 2002 $3,000,431,898 $311,693,101 $505,067,501 $439,004,543  $4,256,197,043 
 2001 $2,983,552,245 $312,676,402 $506,661,075   $3,802,889,722  
 2000 $2,829,307,415 $299,386,513 $485,126,158   $3,613,820,086  
 1999 $2,577,768,324 $272,402,244 $441,400,596   $3,291,571,164  
 1998 $2,367,883,017 $253,826,710 $411,300,801   $3,033,010,528  
 1997 $2,211,158,987 $240,264,373 $389,324,389   $2,840,747,749  

 
* The figures displayed in this table include revenues collected from the sales tax and its affiliated taxes – the use tax, mining and timber severance 

taxes, jet fuel taxes, and the rental occupancy tax.  The table excludes funds distributed to multipurpose facility districts and other special 
distributions. 
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Background 
Several pieces of legislation paved the way for the creation of the Rio Nuevo District.  Laws 1990, Chapter 390 
introduced the concept of a county stadium district, permitting Maricopa County to impose a 0.25% TPT for 3 
years upon the award of a Major League Baseball franchise.  These tax revenues could then be used to finance the 
construction of a stadium, either directly or by securing district bond obligations. 
 
Laws 1997, Chapter 297, expanded the county stadium district concept to include multipurpose facilities located in 
the district such as those used for sporting, entertainment, cultural, civic, meeting or convention events.  Laws 
1999, Chapter 162 then increased the revenue payments to these districts by allowing them to retain the state’s 
share of TPT from sales of secondary businesses that are deemed “necessary or beneficial” to the development of 
the primary component multipurpose facility.  This law also limited TPT payments to the lesser of:  (1) 50% of 
collections or (2) revenues net of those received prior to the year of the election authorizing the district.  This 
method of permitting a local area to use the state’s tax collections to finance local development projects with the 
expectation that future tax collections will increase as a result is known as tax increment financing.  Lastly, Laws 
1999, Chapter 172 required the facility’s municipality to spend a matching amount on projects by the district’s 
expiration date in order to receive state TPT revenues. 
 
Creation of the Rio Nuevo Multipurpose Facility District 
Tucson voters approved Proposition 400 in November 1999, establishing the Rio Nuevo Multipurpose Facilities 
District from 1999 to 2009.  The ballot information for Proposition 400 described Rio Nuevo as a development 
project of cultural and recreational amenities and improvements, historical recreations, and mixed-use 
developments.  The District’s limits begin west in downtown where the primary component multipurpose facility, 
the Tucson Convention Center, is located.  From downtown, Rio Nuevo then stretches east along the Broadway 
Corridor encompassing the District’s secondary component businesses.  Management responsibilities were given 
to a District Board made up of 4 Directors appointed by the Tucson City Council.  Through FY 2016, Rio Nuevo has 
received a total of $138.4 million in TPT distributions from the state (See Table 2).  Laws 2006, Chapter 376 
extended the period Rio Nuevo could receive these payments from 10 years to 25 years (to July 1, 2025).   

 
Reconstituted Rio Nuevo District 
Laws 2009, Chapter 3 reconstituted the District board by replacing the 4-Director body appointed by the city 
council with one made up of 9 Directors appointed by the Governor and the Legislature.  In addition, Rio Nuevo 
will receive state TPT diversions only through 2025 or the time of last debt service payment, whichever comes first.  
State TPT payments to the Rio Nuevo District are shown in the table below:  
 

Table 2    

Fiscal Year Distributions 
 2016 $13,088,813 
 2015 $6,958,022 
 2014 $9,486,100 
 2013 $9,755,752 
 2012 $11,957,943 
 2011 $14,099,949 
 2010 $8,727,318 
 2009 $10,399,336 
 2008 $15,456,187  
 2007 $14,974,923  
 2006 $10,968,178  
 2005 $7,469,632  
 2004    $5,081,197  
 Total $138,423,350 
    

Source:  DOR, Annual Reports 

 
Phoenix Convention Center Expansion 
In November 2001, Phoenix voters approved a ballot measure that would provide $300 million to expand the 
Phoenix Convention Center from the city fund that was established to pay for construction and expansion of the 
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Civic Plaza’s first phase in the 1960s.  Laws 2003, Chapter 266 authorized the expansion of eligible convention 
centers with matching state funds.   
 
Chapter 266 established the Arizona Convention Center Development Fund (ACCDF) for the purpose of enabling 
qualifying cities to develop and expand major convention facilities.  The Phoenix Convention Center expansion 
project is the only project that qualified under Chapter 266. 
 
The state’s obligation for the Phoenix Convention Center project is to pay the debt service and related costs on 
$300 million of construction bonds.  Pursuant to Laws 2003, Chapter 266, the state’s obligation was to begin in the 
first fiscal year after the Certificate of Completion for the project was filed with the State Treasurer, which 
occurred on March 25, 2009.  Under A.R.S. § 9-602D, as added by Chapter 266, the State Treasurer was required to 
transfer $5 million in debt payments from the ACCDF to the City of Phoenix in the first year (FY 2010), $10 million 
in the second year (FY 2011), $15 million in the third year (FY 2012), and $20 million in the fourth year (FY 2013).  
Beginning in the fifth year (FY 2014), the debt payments would increase by $500,000 annually up to a maximum of 
$30 million per year until debt service and related costs would be retired.    
 
Laws 2011, Chapter 28 suspended the State Treasurer’s debt payment from the ACCDF in FY 2012 and changed the 
distribution schedule under A.R.S. § 9-602D for subsequent years.  However, Chapter 28 did not provide the same 
change to the DOR’s distribution schedule under A.R.S. § 42-5030, which requires the department to transfer state 
TPT monies from the distribution base to the ACCDF.  Laws 2015, Chapter 10 conformed DOR’s transfer schedule 
of state TPT monies under A.R.S. § 42-5030 to the State Treasurer’s debt service payment schedule under A.R.S. § 
9-602D.         
 
Public Infrastructure Improvements 
Laws 2012, Chapter 328 authorizes the State Treasurer to pay state prime contracting tax revenues generated 
from qualifying projects to a municipality or county in order to fund up to 80% of the costs of public infrastructure 
improvements (roads, water and wastewater facilities) needed to support the activities of a manufacturing facility.  
The total amount of state tax dollars paid to cities and counties statewide under Chapter 328 is capped at $50 
million over 10 years.  Chapter 328 is effective from October 1, 2013 through September 30, 2023.  In order for a 
city or county to receive state prime contracting tax monies, the manufacturing plant must make certain minimum 
capital investments depending on its location ($500 million in Maricopa and Pima and $50 million in all other 
counties).  The State Treasurer was not allowed to make any payments to a city or county before July 1, 2014.  The 
total amount of statewide distributions to cities and counties was limited to $5 million in FY 2015.  Monies for 
public infrastructure improvements are distributed from the state and local share of prime contracting taxes 
generated from qualifying projects. Chapter 328 requires DOR to account separately for prime contracting tax 
revenues generated from qualifying public infrastructure improvements.  Although DOR is authorized to disclose 
information to cities and counties regarding the distribution of monies associated with public infrastructure 
improvements, Chapter 328 prohibits DOR and the relevant local government entities from disclosing such 
information to the public.  While information on specific projects may not be available, DOR would likely report on 
aggregate amounts in its annual report.       
 
WHO PAYS 
 
Individuals and Businesses 
Persons or companies engaging in business in the state are legally responsible for payment of the tax.  However, in 
practice TPT is passed on to consumers [A.R.S. § 42-5001]. 
 
Internet Taxation.  A current topic in tax policy discussions is the extent to which transactions conducted on the 
Internet are subject to the sales tax.  While the legal landscape is still evolving, we attempt to describe current 
Arizona policy with respect to 3 different Internet sales scenarios. 
 
1. A consumer purchases an item on the Internet from a company headquartered out of state that also has a 

store in Arizona.  This can be either a sales tax or a use tax situation, depending on whether the retailer has 
created a semi-separate Internet version of itself.  If the product is shipped from the retailer’s “Internet 
company” located in another state, it is a use tax situation.  If the product is shipped from the local retail 
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branch, it is a sales tax situation.  Regardless, the vendor is required to collect the tax because it has a physical 
presence (nexus) in this state. 

 
2. A consumer makes an Internet purchase from an out-of-state company that has no physical presence in 

Arizona but whose products are sold in Arizona retail stores.  For example, consider a situation in which 
vitamins are bought on the Internet from an out-of-state company; this company’s vitamins are also sold in 
Arizona grocery stores.  In this case, the vendor is not responsible for collecting a tax for the state because it 
has no nexus in Arizona.  The purchaser is legally responsible for paying the use tax.   

 
3. A consumer buys something on the Internet from an out-of-state company that has no presence whatsoever 

in Arizona.  Since the vendor has no nexus in Arizona, the purchaser is required to pay the use tax. 
 
Tribal Members and Businesses 
Indian tribal members or companies engaged in business activities on the reservation are not subject to the sales 
tax.  This exclusion applies to affiliated Indian members who have been adopted into the tribe and who have 
attained full and unrestricted membership privileges in that tribe. 
 
Non-Indian or non-affiliated Indian retailers engaged in business activities located on the reservation are not 
subject to the sales tax if the activity is performed for an Indian tribal member of the reservation.  The activity is 
subject to the sales tax, however, if it is performed for a non-Indian or non-affiliated Indian. 
 
For business activities performed for Indian tribal members by retailers located off the reservation, those activities 
are subject to the sales tax.  Sales of tangible personal property to an Indian tribal member, however, are not 
subject to the sales tax if the solicitation, delivery and payment of the goods take place on the reservation.  In 
addition, the sale of a motor vehicle to an Indian tribal member who resides on the reservation is exempt from the 
sales tax [A.R.S. § 42-5061]. 
 
Other than motor vehicles sales, there are no specific statutory references related to the imposition of Arizona 
state sales tax on tribal members.  Thus, to facilitate the administration of state sales tax on Indian reservations, 
DOR has adopted sales tax rulings based on the decisions in several court cases.  The most recent ruling, which is 
reflected in the description above, was issued in April 1995 and is referred to as TPR 95-11. 
 
REVENUE BASE AND RATE 
 
In general, the tax base is the gross proceeds of sales or gross income derived by a person from a taxable business.  
However, there are variations between the tax bases of the different classifications of the TPT, as specified in 
A.R.S. § 42-5061 - A.R.S. § 42-5075.  Notably, the contracting tax has a unique tax base.  The tax base for 
contractors is 65% of the value of a contract, based on the assumption that labor costs represent 35% of the value 
of a contract [A.R.S. § 42-5075].  Note, however, Laws 2014, Chapter 263 provides that prime contractors are not 
subject to tax from the gross sale proceeds or gross income resulting from contracts for the maintenance, repair, 
replacement or alteration (MRRA) of real property, if such contracts do not include modification activity.  
 
Exemptions.  There are numerous (over 100) TPT and use tax exemptions provided in statute, such as exemptions 
for food and medicine.  The effect of these exemptions is to reduce the size of the tax base.  See Table 4 for 
specific tax exemption statutes for each sales tax classification.  Attached at the end of this section is the 
Transaction Privilege and Use Tax Expenditures section of DOR’s publication, The Revenue Impact of Arizona’s Tax 
Expenditures, FY 2014/15.  This document provides a complete listing of the sales tax exemptions, and includes the 
estimated FY 2015 dollar impact of each exemption (where available).  Table 3 below lists exemptions with an 
estimated revenue impact of at least $400 million in FY 2015.  The complete list of tax expenditures is shown in 
Attachment B at the end of Transaction Privilege Tax section. 
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Table 3 

 
THE FY 2015 DOLLAR VALUE OF MAJOR SALES TAX EXEMPTIONS 

 
 
Exemptions 

Collections at a  
5% Rate 

Wholesale Trade $4,117,679,300 
Health Care Services 1,991,927,400 
Professional, Scientific and Technical Services 1,015,264,800 
Financial Services 946,692,100 
Administrative and Business Support Services 705,612,900 
Prescription Drugs and Medical Oxygen 440,006,300 
Commercial Lease 427,353,300 
Food for Home Consumption 414,177,000 
Other    2,153,570,000 

 Total $12,212,283,100 
  Source:  DOR, The Revenue Impact of Arizona’s Tax Expenditures Fiscal Year 
2014/2015      

Tax Rates.  Once the net tax base is computed, it is multiplied by the applicable tax rate to derive the total tax due.  
The tax rates vary according to the business classification of the taxable activity.  Most categories, however, are 
taxed at the rate of 5.6%.  Table 4 lists the tax rates for each classification.  In addition, a complete list of sales tax 
rates by all Arizona cities, including the tax rates levied by state, county, and city governments, is provided in 
Attachment A at the end of this section [A.R.S. § 42-5010]. 
 
TAX REFUNDS AND/OR TAX CREDITS 
 

Telecommunications Service Assistance Program.  Local exchange telephone companies may claim a tax credit for 
rate reductions given to elderly low-income persons [A.R.S. § 42-5016]. 
 

Accounting Allowance.  A taxpayer may claim a tax credit of 1% of the amount of tax due, not to exceed $10,000 in 
any calendar year.  This credit is designed to reimburse taxpayers for expenses incurred in accounting and 
reporting sales tax payments [A.R.S. § 42-5017]. 
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
Due Dates.  TPT is due to DOR every month on or before the 20th day of the month after the month in which the 
tax accrues.  For example, for taxable sales made in January, a tax payment is due to DOR by February 20 [A.R.S. § 
42-5014]. 
 
Delinquency Dates.  Tax payments are delinquent if not postmarked on or before the 25th day of the month or 
received by DOR on or before the next-to-last business day of the month. 
 
Alternative Payment Schedules.  DOR may authorize different payment schedules depending on the taxpayer’s 
estimated tax liability or transient nature of the business. 
 

 Taxpayers with an estimated annual tax liability of $2,000 or less may pay on an annual basis.  

 Taxpayers with an estimated annual tax liability of between $2,000 and $8,000 may pay on a quarterly basis.   

 Taxpayers whose business is of a “transient character” may be required to pay on a daily, weekly, or 
transaction-by-transaction basis. 

 
Estimated Tax Payments.  Taxpayers who pay income taxes and whose business had an annual sales tax liability in 
the preceding calendar year of $1,000,000 or more must make a single estimated advance payment in June of each 
year.  Normally, the full June tax bill would be due on July 20.  This estimated payment is in addition to the regular 
June sales tax liability (which represents May sales).  Laws 2010, 7

th
 Special Session, Chapter 12 lowered the 

threshold for estimated TPT payments from $1,000,000 in annual TPT tax liability to $100,000 for FY 2010 through 
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FY 2012.  Prior to FY 2007, the threshold for estimated payments was $100,000.  Laws 2006, Chapter 351 increased 
the threshold to $1,000,000.  
 

 
Pursuant to A.R.S. § 42-5014, the estimated tax payment should equal either 1) one-half of the actual tax liability 
for May of the current calendar year, or 2) the actual tax liability for the first 15 days of June of the current 
calendar year.  Estimated payments are due by June 20.  In July of each year, those taxpayers that made estimated 
payments in the preceding month may subtract the amount of June’s estimated payment from their July tax bill.  
 
When the Estimated Payments program was first enacted in 1989, the estimated payments provided a one-time 
increase of state revenues by advancing a portion of the next fiscal year’s revenues into the current fiscal year.  If 
the program were ever eliminated, as is periodically proposed, it would result in a one-time loss of state revenues.  
This is because every July taxpayers make a “claim” for the preceding month’s estimated payment, and every June 
taxpayers make a counterbalancing estimated payment.  Eliminating the June payment leaves the July claim 
without a counterbalance – and the state with a one-time revenue loss. 
 
Collections.  DOR was originally required (pursuant to Laws 2013, Chapter 255) to become the single point for 
licensing, filing tax return, and paying state, county, and municipal TPT, beginning January 1, 2015.  However, due 
to the complexity of incorporating the cities’ requirements into DOR’s information technology system, the 
department reported in the fall of 2014 that it would not be able to implement the requirement by January 1, 
2015.  For this reason, taxpayers were instructed to continue filing TPT returns and payments separately to the 
state and “non-program cities” (cities that have not entered into agreement with DOR to collect municipal TPT) 
through calendar year 2015.  DOR’s goal was to become the single point of administration and collection of state, 
county, and municipal TPT by January 1, 2016.  However, due to ongoing technical issues, implementation by this 
target date did not occur.  It is not currently known when this requirement under Laws 2013, Chapter 255 will be 
fully implemented.      
 
IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2010.   
 

Table 4 

TRANSACTION PRIVILEGE TAX CLASSIFICATIONS 

 
 
Classification 

A.R.S. 
Exemption 

Statute 

 
 

Tax Rate 

 
 

Distribution Base
 1/

 

 
 

Non-Shared Base 
2/

 

 
 

Education 
3/

 
Retail 42-5061 5.6% 40% of first 5.0% 60% of first 5.0% 0.6% Increment 
Transporting 42-5062 5.6% 20% of first 5.0% 80% of first 5.0% 0.6% Increment 
Utilities 42-5063 5.6% 20% of first 5.0% 80% of first 5.0% 0.6% Increment 
Telecommunications 42-5064 5.6% 20% of first 5.0% 80% of first 5.0% 0.6% Increment 
Publication 42-5065 5.6% 20% of first 5.0% 80% of first 5.0% 0.6% Increment 
Job Printing 42-5066 5.6% 20% of first 5.0% 80% of first 5.0% 0.6% Increment 
Pipeline 42-5067 5.6% 20% of first 5.0% 80% of first 5.0% 0.6% Increment 
Private Car Line 42-5068 5.6% 20% of first 5.0% 80% of first 5.0% 0.6% Increment 
Commercial Lease 42-5069 0.0% 0% 0% None 
Transient Lodging 42-5070 5.5% 50% 50% None 
Personal Property Rental 42-5071 5.6% 40% of first 5.0% 60% of first 5.0% 0.6% Increment 
Mining  42-5072 3.125% 32%  68%  None 
Amusement 42-5073 5.6% 40% of first 5.0% 60% of first 5.0% 0.6% Increment 
Restaurant and Bar 42-5074 5.6% 40% of first 5.0% 60% of first 5.0% 0.6% Increment 
Prime Contracting 42-5075 5.6% 20% of first 5.0% 80% of first 5.0% 0.6% Increment 
____________ 
1/ Represents the portion of revenues that is designated for the distribution base. 
2/ Represents the portion of revenues that is designated for the non-shared base. 
3/ Represents the portion of revenues that is designated for education. 
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2016 LAWS 
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 35 authorizes the State Treasurer to withhold state-shared revenues from an offending local 
jurisdiction.  Chapter 35 directs the Attorney General to certify to the State Treasurer that the violation is resolved, 
at which time distribution of state-shared revenue resumes.  (Effective August 6, 2016) 
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 148 increases the initial and renewal terms for Indian tribe compacts to receive state TPT for 
community colleges owned, operated or charted by a qualifying Indian tribe from 10 years to 20 years.  (Effective 
August 6, 2016) 
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 171 expands the TPT exemption for transportation network companies provided by Laws 
2015, Chapter 235 to include vehicle for hire companies (taxis, livery vehicles, and limousines).  The exemption 
applies to both state and municipal TPT.  The impact on state TPT is expected to be small.  (Effective September 1, 
2016) 
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 181 exempts aircraft built for agricultural use for the aerial application of pesticides or 
fertilizer or for aerial seeding from state TPT and use tax.  Chapter 181 is estimated to reduce General Fund 
revenue by $(18,600) annually, beginning in FY 2017.  (Effective August 6, 2016) 
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 208 establishes the Online Lodging Marketplace classification under state TPT.  The tax base 
for the Online Lodging Marketplace classification is the gross proceeds of sales from the business measured by the 
total amount charged for an online transient lodging transaction by the online lodging operator.  The tax rate 
under the Online Lodging Marketplace classification is 5.5%.  (Effective January 1, 2017) 
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 223 exempts the leasing or renting of billboards from the personal property rental 
classification of state TPT.  Chapter 223 is estimated to reduce General Fund revenue by $(10,000) annually, 
beginning in FY 2017.  (Effective August 6, 2016) 
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 258 is an emergency measure that amends current statutes with respect to the method by 
which state-shared revenues are apportioned among counties and municipalities, as described below.   
 
Counties 
Under current law, state-shared revenue is distributed to a county based on its population count as of the last 
federal decennial census [A.R.S. § 42-5029(I)].  During the fifth year following the decennial census, a county may 
contract with the U.S. Census Bureau to conduct a special census of the population of that county.  Beginning on 
July 1 in the sixth year following the decennial census, the result of the special census must be used as the basis for 
apportioning state-shared revenue to that county until the next federal decennial census [A.R.S. § 42-5033]. 
 
If a special census is not conducted, Laws 2016, Chapter 258 provides a county the following 3 options, all of which 
must be exercised before May 1 of the sixth year following a federal decennial census: 
 
1. County submits its own population estimate as of the fifth year following the last decennial census, as 

approved by the Office of Employment and Population Statistics. 
2. County contracts with the U.S. Census Bureau to conduct a sample survey in order to produce a mid-decade 

county population estimate. 
3. County requests to continue to use the population count from the most recent U.S. decennial census. 
 
If a county elects to use one of the options above, that population figure must be used (for purposes of 
apportioning state-state shared revenue) in the sixth year following the decennial census through June 30 of the 
year following the next decennial census.  
 
Municipalities 
Under current law, state-shared revenue is distributed to an incorporated city or town based on its population 
count as of the last federal decennial census [A.R.S. § 42-5029(I)].  During the fifth year following the decennial 
census, a city/town may contract with the U.S. Census Bureau to conduct a special census of the population of that 
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municipality.  Beginning July 1 in the sixth year following the decennial census, the special census must be used as 
the basis for apportioning state-shared revenue to that municipality until the next federal decennial census [A.R.S. 
§ 42-5033].       
 
For purposes of apportioning state-shared revenue, Laws 2016, Chapter 258 provides a city/town the option to use 
either the population count from the special census or the most recent population estimate from the U.S. Census 
Bureau.  However, Chapter 258 provides that the population count from the special census be used for only 1 year.  
Beginning on July 1 in the second year following the special census, a city/town must use the most recent 
population estimate from the U.S. Census Bureau.  If a special census is not conducted, Chapter 258 requires a 
city/town to use the most recent population estimate from the U.S. Census Bureau beginning on July 1 in the 
second year following the decennial census through June 30 of the year following the next decennial census.     
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 357 exempts natural gas transportation services sold to businesses that are principally 
engaged in manufacturing or smelting operations from state TPT and use tax.  Chapter 357 is estimated to reduce 
General Fund revenue by $(870,000) annually, beginning in FY 2017.  (Effective August 6, 2016) 
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 359 exempts liquefied petroleum gas (more commonly referred to as propane) sold to 
businesses that are principally engaged in manufacturing or smelting operations from state TPT and use tax.  
Chapter 359 is estimated to reduce General Fund revenue by $(91,000) annually, beginning in FY 2017.  (Effective 
September 1, 2016) 
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 361 exempts the sale of animal feed to a person who boards livestock non-commercially from 
state TPT and use tax.  Chapter 361 is estimated to reduce General Fund revenue by $(1.0) million annually, 
beginning in FY 2017.  (Effective August 6, 2016) 
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 367 exempts the sale of aircraft and aircraft equipment to charter airlines under certain 
conditions from state TPT and use tax.  The exemption is estimated to reduce General Fund revenue by $(2.3) 
million annually, beginning in FY 2018.  (Effective July 1, 2017) 
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 368 exempts the sale of fine art at an auction or gallery to a nonresident, for use outside the 
state, from state TPT.  The exemption is estimated to reduce General Fund revenue by $(1.3) million annually, 
beginning in FY 2017.  (Effective September 1, 2016) 
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 369 provides numerous changes to the data center equipment exemption authorized by Laws 
2013, 1

st
 Special Session, Chapter 9.  Notably, Chapter 369 adds improvements to the expenses that qualify 

towards the required minimum investment.  In addition, Chapter 369 allows new data centers to obtain 
certification as a sustainable redevelopment project.  (Effective retroactively from September 13, 2013) 
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 373 exempts the gross proceeds from entry fees paid to participate in noncompetitive races 
sponsored by nonprofit organizations from state and municipal TPT.  Chapter 373 is not expected to have any fiscal 
impact.  (Effective August 6, 2016) 
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 374 modifies the requirements to qualify for the existing state TPT and use tax exemption for 
electricity and natural gas purchased by manufacturers and smelters.  To qualify for the exemption under current 
law (Laws 2014, Chapter 7), a business must use at least 51% of the electricity or natural gas purchased in 
manufacturing or smelting operations.  In addition, at least 51% of the business must be devoted to (“principally 
engaged in”) a manufacturing or smelting operation.  Laws 2016, Chapter 374 changes the current eligibility 
requirements to one of the following:  (1) at least 51% of the manufactured or smelted products are exported out 
of state, (2) at least 51% of gross income is derived from sale of manufactured or smelted products, (3) at least 
51% of a business’ square footage in Arizona is used for manufacturing or smelting, (4) at least 51% of a business’ 
workforce in Arizona is employed in manufacturing or smelting operations, or (5) at least 51% of the value of a 
business’ assets in Arizona is used for manufacturing or smelting.  Chapter 374 is estimated to reduce General 
Fund revenue by $(7.0) million in FY 2017, followed by an additional reduction of $(7.0) million, beginning in FY 
2018.  (Effective January 1, 2017)   
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2015 LAWS 
 
Laws 2015, Chapter 4 clarifies and simplifies the implementation of the TPT tax reform measures (commonly 
referred to as “TPT Simplification”) enacted by Laws 2013, Chapter 255 and further amended by Laws 2014, 
Chapter 263.  (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2015) 
 
Laws 2015, Chapter 6 exempts the gross proceeds from sales of electricity and natural gas to the owner or 
operator of a business certified by the Arizona Commerce Authority as an “International Opertions Center.”  The 
exemption is estimated to reduce General Fund revenue by $(1.3) million, beginning in FY 2017.  (Effective August 
1, 2015) 
 
Laws 2015, Chapter 10 permits DOR to authorize contracted collectors to collect TPT accounts receivable in FY 
2016 and FY 2017.  DOR may use up to $2.0 million of the revenues collected by the contracted collectors to pay 
for for their services.  The additional TPT collectors are expected increase General Fund revenue by $32.6 million in 
FY 2016 and $13.0 million in FY 2017.  Moreover, Chapter 10 requires DOR to establish a tax amnesty program 
from September 1, 2015 through October 31, 2015. The program, which is estimated to generate a total of $15.0 
million (of which $3.3 million is expected to come from TPT) for the General Fund in FY 2016, waives civil penalties 
and interest on unpaid tax liabilities for any period before January 1, 2014 for annual filers and February 1, 2015 
for all other filers.   
 
Laws 2015, Chapter 16 extends the deadline by which an Indian tribe must enter into a compact with the state to 
receive TPT revenues for tribal community colleges from September 1, 2012 to September 1, 2017.  (Effective July 
3, 2015) 
 
Laws 2015, Chapter 72 exempts the leasing or renting of space to make attachments to utility poles from state and 
municipal TPT.  Fiscal impact is unknown.  (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2015) 
 
Laws 2015, Chapter 235 exempts Transportation Network Companies (TNC) with a permit and TNC drivers from 
the transporting classification of TPT.  (Effective July 3, 2015)     
 
2014 LAWS 
 
Laws 2014, Chapter 7 exempts gross proceeds from sales of electricity and natural gas to businesses that are 
principally engaged in manufacturing and smelting operations from the state TPT and use tax.  The exemption is 
estimated to reduce General Fund revenue collections by $(14.6) million in FY 2015 and $(18.2) million in FY 2016.  
(Effective August 1, 2014) 
 
Laws 2014, Chapter 54 exempts the transfer of coal, back and forth, between a coal refinery and a power plant 
from the state and municipal TPT and use tax if certain conditions are met.  The act is not expected to have any 
fiscal impact.  (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2014) 
 
Laws 2014, Chapter 121 specifies that any changes that cities make in their Model City Tax Code (MCTC) are void if 
those changes are not shown in DOR’s official copy of the MCTC.  (Effective retroactively from July 1, 1988, which is 
the original effective date of the MCTC.) 
 
Laws 2014, Chapter 141 requires DOR to allow TPT taxpayers with annual liabilities of less than $2,000 to pay taxes 
annually and taxpayers with annual liabilities between $2,000 and $8,000 to pay quarterly. (Effective January 1, 
2015) 
 
Laws 2014, Chapter 228 exempts the gross proceeds from building a mixed waste processing facility from the 
prime contracting tax.  To qualify for the TPT exemption, the facility must be located on a municipal landfill and 
constructed for the purpose of recycling solid waste or producing renewable energy from landfill waste.  The act is 
estimated to reduce General Fund revenue by $(183,600) in FY 2015, $(56,500) in FY 2016, and $(183,600) in FY 
2017. (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2013) 
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Laws 2014, Chapter 263 exempts from the state and municipal TPT the sales of restaurant meals to the elderly, 
disabled, or homeless by restaurants that contract with the Department of Economic Security (DES) and are 
approved under the federal Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP).  To qualify for the exemption, the 
meals must be paid with the benefits issued to SNAP recipients.  The General Fund impact of this provision is 
expected to be less than $(10,000) annually. (Effective January 1, 2015) 
 
Laws 2014, Chapter 276 exempts personal property that is sold to a qualified health sciences educational 
institution from state and municipal retail, publication, and job printing TPT and use tax.  The act is estimated to 
reduce General Fund revenue by $(196,400) in FY 2015 and $(471,400) in FY 2016.  (Effective January 1, 2015) 
 
2013 LAWS 
 
Laws 2013, Chapter 27 provides a municipal TPT exemption for the leasing of real property between affiliated 
companies, businesses, persons, and reciprocal insurers.  (Effective September 13, 2013) 
 
Laws 2013, Chapter 120 exempts orthodontic devices that are dispensed by a licensed dental professional to a 
patient from state and municipal TPT.  This act has no state General Fund impact.  (Effective retroactively from 
October 1, 2007) 
 
Laws 2013, Chapter 153 specifies that machinery and equipment that is exempt from taxation under the retail 
classification and that has independent functional utility is not considered taxable under the prime contracting 
classification.  Fiscal impact is unknown.  (Effective retroactively from July 1, 1997) 
 
Laws 2013, Chapter 233 exempts the sale of cash equivalents, such as gift cards and gift certificates, from taxation 
under the retail classification.  Any claim of TPT refund must be submitted to DOR on or before December 31, 
2013.  Total statewide refunds are limited to $10,000. (Effective retroactively from September 1, 1999) 
 
Laws 2013, Chapter 236 exempts the leasing and renting of certified interlock devices from state and municipal 
TPT.  This provision is estimated to result in a General Fund revenue reduction of $(0.6) million, beginning in FY 
2014. (Effective retroactively from September 1, 2004.)  In addition, Chapter 236 exempts, retroactive to January 
1, 2002, qualified destination management companies from state TPT.  Chapter 236 also exempts energy drinks 
from state TPT (Effective September 13, 2013).  For a list of all tax provisions in Chapter 236, see Table 13 in the 
Individual Income Tax section.  
 
Laws 2013, Chapter 255 makes numerous statutory changes intended to simplify the administration of TPT.  
Among the requirements of Chapter 255 is that DOR modifies its online portal on or before January 1, 2015.  The 
online portal is required to serve as a single point for licensing, filing a single tax return, and paying all state, 
county, and municipal TPT.  Chapter 255 also requires the Director of DOR and the cities and towns that levy TPT to 
enter into agreements with each other to provide for unified and coordinated licensing, collection, and auditing 
programs.  In addition, the act exempts service contractors who work directly for the property owners and whose 
work is limited to the maintenance, repair, or replacement of existing property from TPT under the prime 
contracting classification.  Instead, materials purchased as part of such service contract are subject to taxation 
under the retail classification.  The fiscal impact of Chapter 255 is uncertain and depends in large measures on the 
underlying assumptions with respect to factors such as taxpayer non-compliance, materials as a percent of service 
contracts, and the share of total contracting activity attributable to trade/service contracting and minor remodels.  
Depending on these assumptions, Chapter 255 is estimated to result in a General Fund revenue gain of either $1.3 
million or $36.6 million in FY 2016, the first full year of the act’s implementation.  Additionally, JLBC is required to 
prepare a report by September 30, 2016 on the estimated revenue impact of Chapter 255 on the state, counties, 
cities and towns.  (Effective January 1, 2015) 
 
Laws 2013, 1

st
 Special Session, Chapter 9 establishes a TPT and use tax exemption for equipment purchased by 

owners, operators, or co-location tenants of computer data centers certified by the Arizona Commerce Authority.  
To qualify for the exemption, newly constructed data centers located in Maricopa and Pima Counties must make a 
minimum investment of $50 million over 5 years.  The corresponding minimum investment requirement in other 
counties is $25 million.  Existing data centers, which made an investment of at least $250 million during the 6 years 
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immediately preceding the act’s effective date, are eligible for the same exemption with respect to future  
equipment purchases.  Chapter 9 is expected to reduce General Fund revenues by $(4.2) million in FY 2014, $(6.0) 
million in FY 2015, and $(7.9) million in FY 2016. (Effective September 1, 2013) 
 
2012 LAWS 
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 3 was the annual correction bill that made technical, conforming, and clarification changes to 
the Arizona Revised Statutes.  (Contained various effective dates) 
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 170 conformed Arizona Revised Statutes to the provisions of Laws 2011, 2

nd
 Special Session, 

Chapter 1, which created the Arizona Commerce Authority.  (Effective August 2, 2012) 
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 198 establishes the prepaid wireless telecommunications 911 excise tax.  The tax is equal to 
0.8% of the gross income derived from the retail sale of prepaid wireless telecommunications services.  The 
revenue generated from the tax will be deposited in the Emergency Telecommunications Services Revolving Fund.  
(Effective January 1, 2014) 
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 232 provides a TPT and use tax exemption for the portion of sales proceeds attributable to the 
transfer of solar photovoltaic electricity from a retail electric customer to an electric utility distribution system.  
Arizona’s major electric utility companies offer buyback programs to individuals who own solar photovoltaic 
energy generating systems (such as solar panels).  Under this type of buyback program, the electric ulitity company 
redistributes excess electricity generated by an individual’s solar energy system, and then credits the value of the 
redistributed electricity against the individual’s future energy consumption.  Prior to Chapter 232, this type of 
transaction was subject to TPT or use tax.  The fiscal impact of Chapter 232 is unknown.  (Effective retroactively 
from January 1, 2007) 
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 328 authorizes the State Treasurer to pay state prime contracting tax revenues generated 
from qualifying projects to a city or county in order to fund up to 80% of the costs of public infrastructure 
improvements (roads, water and wastewater facilities) needed to support the activities of a manufacturing facility 
located in that city or county.  The total amount of state tax dollars paid to cities and counties statewide under 
Chapter 328 is capped at $50 million over 10 years.  In order for a city or county to receive state prime contracting 
tax monies, the manufacturing plant must make certain minimum capital investments depending on its location 
($500 million in Maricopa and Pima and $50 million in all other counties).  The State Treasurer is not allowed to 
make any payments to a city or county before July 1, 2014.  The total amount of statewide distributions to cities 
and counties is limited to $5 million in FY 2015.  Monies for public infrastructure improvements are distributed 
from the state and local share of prime contracting taxes generated from qualifying projects.  (Effective from 
October 1, 2013 through September 30, 2023) 
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 331 extends existing tax incentives under the Healthy Forest program from 2014 through 
2024.  Additionally, Chapter 331 also eases program qualification requirements and establishes new tax incentives 
for certified Healthy Forest Enterprises (HFE).  Among the new incentives are TPT and use tax exemptions for 
motor vehicle fuel and equipment replacement parts sold to qualified HFE’s.  The fiscal impact of the TPT and use 
tax incentives is currently unknown.  (Effective August 2, 2012) 
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 332 allows taxpayers who are required to pay municipal TPT and affiliated use taxes to “non-
program cities” (municipalities that are not under contract with DOR for tax collection services) to submit their 
payments through an online portal  (Effective August 2, 2012) 
 
2011 LAWS 
 
Laws 2011, Chapter 40 prevents a city or town from imposing or increasing sales tax on residential renters unless 
approved by municipal voters.  (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2011). 
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Laws 2011, Chapter 66 prohibits a city or town from contracting with or employing auditors on a contingent fee 
basis for the purpose of auditing any TPT or affiliated taxes levied by the city or town.  (Effective retroactively from 
January 1, 2011). 
 
Laws 2011, Chapter 129 requires the Department of Revenue to maintain an official and up-to-date copy of the 
Model City Tax Code (MCTC), which is to be posted on its website, beginning July 1, 2012. 
 
Laws 2011, Chapter 144 prevents cities or towns from levying TPT, use tax, or any similar tax, on the gross 
proceeds of sales or gross income derived from a commercial lease, if at least 80% of the voting shares of each 
corporation are owned by the same shareholders.  (Effective July 20, 2011). 
 
Laws 2011, Chapter 249 provides that provisional community college districts are included in the distribution of 
Proposition 301 Workforce Development monies.  (Effective October 1, 2011). 
 
2010 LAWS 
 
Laws 2010, 6th Special Session, SCR 1001 referred to the voters in a May 2010 Special Election a 3-year increase in 
the TPT, including the use tax from 5.6% to 6.6%.  The extra 1.0% would be dedicated exclusively to public primary 
and secondary education, health and human services, and public safety.  Proposition 100 was approved by the 
voters and the new rate began on June 1, 2010.  The 1% is not subject to the regular TPT/use tax distribution, and 
is estimated to generate TPT and use tax revenues of $918 million in FY 2011, $968 million in FY 2012, and $1.06 
billion in FY 2013. (Effective June 1, 2010) 
 
Laws 2010, 7

th
 Special Session, Chapter 12 lowered the threshold for estimated TPT payments from $1,000,000 in 

TPT tax liability to $100,000 for FY 2010 through FY 2012.  It is estimated that this would generate one-time 
revenues of $48,000,000 in FY 2010.  Beginning in FY 2013, the threshold reverts back to $1,000,000. 
 
Laws 2010, 7

th
 Special Session, Chapter 12 eliminated the Tourism funding formula, which had previously allowed 

the Tourism Fund to collect 3.5% of last year’s gross transient lodging tax revenues, 3.0% of last year’s gross 
amusement tax revenues, and 2.0% of last year’s gross restaurant and bar tax revenues.  This legislation was 
estimated to increase ongoing General Fund revenues by $10,655,200.  Laws 2010, Chapter 128 reinserted the 
Tourism funding formula in statute but left the formula inactive pending future legislative authorization. 
 
Laws 2010, Chapter 225 extended the TPT and use tax exemptions for the Environmental Technology Assistance 
Program for 5 additional taxable years.   
 
Laws 2010, Chapter 294 delayed the termination of the prime contracting TPT exemption for the installation of 
solar energy devices for commercial or industrial use by 6 taxable years.   
 
A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2010 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at 
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/16taxbk.pdf. 
 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/tpt.pdf
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Attachment A 
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Attachment B 
 

The following preliminary information on sales tax exemptions and credits for FY 2015 is provided by courtesy of DOR. 
 

SUMMARY OF TRANSACTION PRIVILEGE AND USE TAX EXPENDITURES 

FISCAL YEAR 2014/15 
 
PREFERENTIAL TAX RATES: 

Nonmetalliferous Mining; Oil and Gas Production $2,096,402 

Commercial lease 427,353,286 

TOTAL VALUE OF PREFERENTIAL TAX RATES $429,449,688 

 
CREDITS: 

Accounting credit $19,695,998 

 
TRANSACTION PRIVILEGE AND USE TAX EXEMPTIONS – SAMPLE OF SERVICES: 
PROFESSIONAL, SCIENTIFIC AND TECHNICAL SERVICES: 

Legal $176,626,020 

Accounting, Tax Preparation, Bookkeeping and Payroll Services 78,303,422 

Architectural and Engineering 196,423,100 

Specialized Design Services 12,294,026 

Computer System Design and Related Services 271,715,258 

Management Consulting Services 102,236,678 

Environmental Consulting Services 9,264,372 

Other Scientific and Technical Consulting Services 16,588,170 

Scientific Research and Development 44,763,879 

Advertising, Public Relations and Technical Services 39,394,303 

Other Professional, Scientific and Technical Services 67,655,583 

TOTAL VALUE OF PROFESSIONAL, SCIENTIFIC AND TECHNICAL SERVICES $1,015,264,811 

HEALTH CARE SERVICES: 

Physicians $424,784,185 

Dentists 114,092,449 

Chiropractors 12,781,091 

Optometrists 10,608,972 

Mental Health Practitioners 6,496,899 

Physical, Occupational and Speech Therapists 22,517,033 

All Other Health Practitioners 13,938,968 

Outpatient Care Centers 114,385,573 

Medical and Diagnostic Labs 54,688,947 

Home Health Services 50,882,524 

Other Ambulatory Health Services 88,563,809 

General Medical and Surgical Hospitals 757,995,588 

Nursing Care Facilities 58,831,660 

Residential Intellectual and Developmental Disability, Mental Health, and Substance 
Abuse Facilities 

31,728,007 

Continuing Care Retirement Facilities and Assisted Living Facilities 53,942,079 

Other Residential Care Facilities 6,175,339 

Individual and Family Services 70,232,922 

Community Food and Housing, and Emergency and Other Relief Services 31,428,594 

Child Day Care Services 20,692,223 

TOTAL VALUE OF HEALTH CARE SERVICES $1,991,927,411 
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ADMINISTRATIVE AND BUSINESS SUPPORT SERVICES: 

Office Administrative  $45,065,286 

Facilities Support 31,955,397 

Employment Services 216,417,785 

Business Support 80,513,340 

Travel Arrangement and Reservation 67,094,232 

Investigation and Security 51,712,970 

Services to Building and Dwellings 119,145,093 

Other Support Services 32,593,351 

Waste Collection 37,404,975 

Waste Treatment and Disposal 9,016,270 

Remediation and other waste management services 14,694,231 

TOTAL VALUE OF ADMINISTRATIVE AND BUSINESS SUPPORT SERVICES $705,612,929 

PERSONAL CARE SERVICES: 

Barber $527,938 

Beauty Salons 17,682,686 

Nail Salons 3,024,703 

Diet and Weight Reducing Centers 2,220,625 

Other Personal Care 5,111,851 

Death Care Services 8,791,580 

Personal and Laundry Services 21,799,960 

Pet Care (not Veterinary) 3,312,775 

Photofinishing 801,226 

Parking lot/Garages 10,432,840 

Other Personal Services 3,824,873 

TOTAL VALUE OF PERSONAL SERVICES $77,531,057 

EDUCATIONAL SERVICES: 

Business School/Computer/Management Training $9,288,926 

Technical and Trade Schools 31,471,447 

Other Schools and Instruction 14,612,378 

Education Support Services 9,358,025 

TOTAL VALUE OF EDUCATIONAL SERVICES $64,730,776 

FINANCIAL SERVICES: 

Credit Unions $40,384,876 

Sales Financing 87,710,643 

Mortgage and Nonmortgage Loan Brokers 9,105,733 

Financial Transaction Processing and Clearing 60,636,997 

Other Activities Related to Credit Intermediation 13,101,920 

Securities Brokerage 108,161,183 

Portfolio Management 43,883,984 

Investment Advice 32,930,923 

Other Financial Investment Activities 82,315,441 

TOTAL VALUE OF FINANCIAL SERVICES $946,692,134 

OTHER SERVICES: 

Automotive Repair and Maintenance $99,573,893 

Electronic and Precision Repair and Maintenance 12,841,166 

Commercial, Industrial Machinery Repair and Maintenance 26,104,566 

Personal and Household Goods Repair and Maintenance 5,328,697 

Religious, Grantmaking, Civic, Professional and similar Organizations 107,647,035 

TOTAL VALUE OF OTHER SERVICES $251,495,358 
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TRANSACTION PRIVILEGE AND USE TAX EXEMPTIONS – ALL OTHER: 

Wholesale trade (503) $4,117,679,312 

Cash discounts (708) 3,701,894 

Trade-ins (711) 10,818,370 

Services provided by a retailer (549) 208,896,265 

Business activity on a Reservation for a Enrolled Native American or Tribal entity (570) 2,851,602 

Sale of postage stamps at face value (716) NIA1 

Sales to Foreign diplomats (777) NIA 

Sale of warranty or service contracts (542) $15,666,892 

Sale of tangible personal property by a nonprofit organization (725) 75,546 

Sale of an aircraft sold to a carrier, government or nonresident (507) 111,745 

Sale of stocks and bonds (no deduction code) NIA 

Prescription drugs and medical oxygen (536) 440,006,344 

Prosthetic appliances (559) 12,682,884 

Insulin, insulin syringe and glucose test strips (533) 2,566,330 

Prescription eyeglasses and contact lenses (590) 155,098 

Hearing aids (594) 246,303 

Durable medical equipment (526) 18,604,074 

Sales to nonresidents for use outside Arizona if the property is shipped or delivered 
outside the state (541) 49,442,5722 

Food for home consumption (506 and 513) 414,176,955 

Textbooks that are required by any state university or community college (505) 502,622 

Meals provided to Employee of restaurants (568) NIA 

Food used in school lunches (569) 546,131 

Sale of Arizona lottery tickets (521) 37,498,717 

Precious metal bullion and monetized bullion (567 and 601) 376,571 

Sales of vehicle fuel and aviation fuel (515) 220,414,286 

Tangible personal property sold to Personal property leasing business to lease (571) 219,122 

Tangible personal property sold in interstate or foreign commerce (504) 230,832,127 

Tangible personal property sold to a qualifying hospital or a qualifying health care 
organization or sold to or purchased by qualifying community health centers and health 
care organizations (545, 546, 572, 574) 50,793,682 

Tangible personal property sold to a nonprofit organization which regularly serves meals 
to the needy and indigent (544) 1,801,329 

Tangible personal property sold to a nonprofit organization which provides housing for 
low-income persons over 62 years of age (573) NIA 

Tangible personal property sold to Qualifying Health Sciences Educational Institution 
(699) NIA 

Magazines or other periodicals or publications to encourage tourist travel (602) NIA 

Sale of articles to a contractor for incorporation or fabrication under a contract or for 
environmental response or remediation (552 and 589) 6,437,907 

Tangible personal property sold to a Subcontractor for incorporation into a Prime 
Contracting project (584) $54,844 

Exempt motor vehicle sales  for certain nonresidents (580) 57,339 

Exempt motor vehicle sales  for Native Americans (530) 1,778,165 

Tangible personal property purchased by a nonprofit charitable organization that uses 
such property for training, etc., for mentally or physically handicapped persons (575) NIA3 

                                                           
1 No information Available. 
2 This deduction changed mid-year to include fewer transactions. The value of the deductions in fiscal 2014/15 
includes deductions taken for transactions that are no longer exempt. 
3 No Information Available. 
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Tangible personal property sold by a nonprofit organization associated with a major 
league baseball team or a national touring professional golf association (762) NIA 

Tangible personal property sold by a nonprofit organization associated with a rodeo 
featuring primarily farm and ranch animals (763) NIA 

Sales of commodities under futures contracts consigned to a warehouse for resale (583) 145,575 

Seeds, seedlings, etc., to commercially produce agricultural, horticultural, viticultural or 
floricultural crops in Arizona (537) 1,080,128 

Machinery, equipment and certain supplies used to assist the physically or 
developmentally disabled or those persons with head injuries  (525) 2,385,866 

Sales of natural gas or liquefied petroleum gas used to propel a vehicle (509) 5,254,300 

Paper machine clothing used or consumed in paper manufacturing (586) NIA 

Machinery, equipment, utility product, materials and other tangible personal property 
used to construct a qualified environmental technology facility   (607) NIA 

Sales of coal, petroleum, coke, natural gas, virgin fuel oil and electricity to an 
environmental technology facility (511) 229,768 

Sales of liquid, solid or gaseous chemicals used in manufacturing, processing, fabricating, 
mining, refining, metallurgical operations or research or development (510) 3,144,455 

Sales of food or drink consumed on the premises of a jail or prison (514) 1,732,048 

Motor vehicles and any tangible personal property or repair that becomes a part of the 
motor vehicles sold to a licensed motor operator that lease or rent the property (528) 4,216,238 

Livestock, poultry feed, salts, vitamins for livestock or poultry consumption (520) 10,524,117 

Sale or purchase of implants used as growth promotants and injectable medicine (516) 65,117 

Sales of motor vehicles at auction to nonresidents of Arizona for use outside Arizona 
(529) 798,288 

Personal hygiene products which are furnished to and to be consumed by hotel 
occupants (534 and 566) NIA 

Sales or purchases of alternative fuel to a used oil fuel burner (587) NIA4 

Printed, photographic, electronic or digital media materials for use in publicly funded 
libraries (519) $238,488 

Tangible personal property consisting of food, beverages and condiments sold to or 
purchase by a commercial airline (512) 80,644 

Sale of new alternative fuel vehicles and conversion equipment (592) NIA 

Sale of spirituous, vinous or malt liquor by a liquor wholesaler (588) NIA 

Tangible personal property by a nonprofit that produces, organizes or promotes cultural 
or civic related festivals (764) NIA 

Application services designed to assess or test student learning (596) NIA 

Sale of motor vehicle fuel and use fuel to a Healthy Forest business (598) NIA 

Sale of repair parts in equipment used by a Healthy Forest business (603) NIA 

Sales or transfer of renewable energy credits (604) NIA 

Sales of computer data equipment for use in a certified computer data center (565) 87,367 

Sales of orthodontic devices dispensed by a dental professional (582) NIA 

Property sold to a Contractor for a MRRA project on an Indian Reservation (712) NIA 

Machinery or equipment used directly in manufacturing, processing, fabricating, job 
printing, refining or metallurgical operations (522) 44,650,700 

Sale of machinery or equipment used in mining and in drilling for or extracting oil or gas 
from the earth (523 and 579) 33,686,647 

Certain equipment used in the telecommunications industry (539) 583,179 

Machinery, equipment or transmission lines used directly in producing or transmitting 
electrical power (524) 10,406,525 

Neat animals, horses, asses, sheep, swine or goats used or to be used as breeding or 
production stock (605) 40,438 

                                                           
4 No Information Available. 
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Pipes or valves 4” in diameter used to transport oil, natural gas, artificial gas, water or 
coal slurry (535) 1,531,393 

Certain aircraft, navigational and communication instruments (508) 2,861,989 

Machinery, tools, equipment used in repairing, remodeling or maintaining aircraft, 
aircraft engines or aircraft component parts (532) 188,202 

Railroad rolling stock, rails, ties and signal control equipment used to transport persons 
or property for hire (576) 273,468 

Buses or other urban mass transit vehicles used to transport persons for hire or pursuant 
to a governmentally adopted and controlled urban mass transportation program (606) NIA 

Certain groundwater measuring devices and their installation (581) NIA 

New machinery and equipment used for commercial production of agricultural, 
horticultural, viticultural and floricultural crops (585) 438,843 

Machinery or equipment used in research and development (553) 2,171,224 

Tangible personal property used by an direct broadcast satellite television or data 
transmission service or facility (591) NIA5 

Clean rooms used for manufacturing, processing, fabrication or research and 
development (595) $36,164 

Machinery or equipment for poultry and egg production (577) 

NIA 

Machinery and equipment used by agriculture to prevent, monitor, control or reduce 
pollution (597) NIA 

Machinery and equipment to prevent pollution for farming and ranching (599) NIA 

Digital television machinery and equipment purchases for compliance with the 
Telecommunications Act of 1996 (578) NIA 

Machinery and equipment sold or rented to a healthy forest certified business (554) 98,637 

Federal luxury excise tax on heaving trucks and trailers (609) NIA 

Sales made to the U S Government by a manufacturer, modifier, assembler or repairer 
(547) 28,539,013 

Sales of component parts made to a manufacturer, modifier, assembler or repairer for 
sale to the U S Government (543) 8,559,843 

Sales of overhead materials used in a contract between the U S Government and a 
manufacturer, modifier, assembler or repairer (611) NIA 

50% of retail sales made to U S Government; 100% of Use Tax (548) 3,944,244 

Gross income from motor vehicle manufacturer’s cash rebates if assigned to the retailer 
(501) 16,914,503 

Gross income derived from the waste tire disposal fee (613) NIA 

Sales of solar energy devices (538) 18,699,987 

Sales of wireless telecommunication equipment as an inducement to enter into or 
continue a contract for telecommunication services or sales commissions received (614) 46,123 

Sales of motor vehicle to a nonresident from a state with a lower tax rate (531) 5,656,668 

Transportation by vehicles subject to fees paid to MVD (715) 81,305 

Transportation of persons by air if taxation is prohibited by Federal Law (615) 1,613,304 

Ambulances or ambulance services (no deduction code) NIA 

Public transportation services for dial-a-ride programs and special needs transportation 
services (no deduction code) NIA 

Gross proceeds for transporting freight or property by an exclusively Arizona railroad for 
portions of single shipments involving other railroads (616) 28,045 

Gross proceeds for arranging transportation as a convenience or service to a customer if 
the business is not engaged in the transportation business (no deduction code) NIA6 

                                                           

5 No Information Available. 
6 No Information Available. 
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Gross proceeds of sales or gross income derived from transporting for hire persons, 
freight or property by a railroad pursuant to a contract with another railroad (620) NIA 

Sales taxed under another business code (640) $26,007 

Sales of transportation or amusement activities arranged by another business that is 
exempt (612) 95,771 

Sales of transportation or amusement activities arranged and taxed by another (702) 118,043 

Gross proceeds of sales or gross income derived from transporting fertilizer by a railroad 
from a point in Arizona to another point in Arizona (625) NIA 

Sales of electric services to a retail electric customer who is located outside Arizona for 
Delivery and use outside Arizona (617) 27,678 

Rental of space on utility poles (759) NIA 

Sales from transfer of electricity by a retail electric customer to an electric distribution 
system (618) NIA 

Development fees charged by a municipally owned utility (621) 408,263 

Revenue received by any person owning a utility system  in the form of reimbursement 
or compensation for property and equipment installed to provide utility access to, on or 
across land of any actual utility consumer (626) NIA 

Interstate sales of electricity, natural gas and water NIA 

Interstate telecommunications services (643) NIA 

Sales of intrastate telecommunications services by a cable television system or by a 
microwave television transmission system (no deduction code) NIA 

Sales of internet access services (517) NIA 

Sales of intrastate telecommunications services to a direct broadcast satellite television 
or data transmission service (619) NIA 

End-user common line charges and carrier access charges established by federal 
communications regulations (641 and 627) 73,646 

Sales of direct broadcast satellite television services (633) NIA 

Telecommunications services purchased with a prepaid calling card (649) NIA 

Manufacturing or publishing books (no deduction code) NIA 

Gross income of publications derived from advertising (628) Included in services 

Sales to a person distributing printing, engraving, embossing or copying without 
consideration in connection with the publication of a newspaper or magazine (630) NIA7 

Sales of job printing, engraving, embossing and copying for use outside Arizona if the 
materials are shipped or delivered out of the state (637) $149,693 

Sales of postage and freight (561) 456,726 

Leasing a mobile home for more than 29 days (629) 550,824 

Leasing or renting 4 or fewer rooms of an owner-occupied residence bed and breakfast 
with less than 50% average annual occupancy (636) NIA 

Transient lodging sales or activities that are exempt (704) 405,745 

Transient lodging sales or activities that are exempt under the Amusement or 
Transporting classifications (701) 41,768 

Commissions paid in the Transient Lodging classification (648) NIA 

Transient lodging sales for lodging for more than thirty days (718) 36,612 

Leasing films, tapes or slides used by theaters or movies or used by television stations or 
radio stations (784) NIA 

Amusement activities sponsored by the  Arizona exposition and state fair board (785) NIA 

Lease of tangible personal property by a parent to a subsidiary or by a subsidiary to 
another subsidiary (631) 24,687 

Operating coin-operated washing, drying and dry cleaning machines or car washing 
machines (786) NIA 

Leasing or renting aircraft or training equipment by a nonprofit school offering aviation NIA 

                                                           
7 No Information Available. 
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and aerospace degrees (787) 

Leasing or renting photographs, transparencies, etc. used by Arizona on the internet, in 
magazines or other publications encouraging tourism (651) NIA 

Leasing or renting certified ignition interlock devices (no deduction code) NIA 

Vehicle registration fee reimbursements (656) 37,233 

Leasing or renting a motor vehicle if the motor carrier fee has been paid (660) 536,572 

Amounts received by a motor vehicle dealer for the 1
st

 month of a lease payment if the 
lease is transferred to a third party (556) 368,749 

Car rental surcharge charges (680) NIA 

Freight charges relating to nonmetalliferous mineral products (652) NIA 

Process cost on nonmetalliferous mineral products shipped out of state (658) 30,322 

Private or group instructional activities (657) 147,167 

Monthly membership fees (527) 3,469,497 

Musical, dramatic or dance groups or a botanical garden, museum or zoo that qualifies as 
a nonprofit charitable organization (no deduction code) NIA 

Sales of admissions to intercollegiate football contests (no deduction code) NIA8 

Fees and assessments received by a homeowners organization (no deduction code) NIA 

Arranging an amusement activity as a service to a person’s customers (no deduction 
code) NIA 

Pari-mutuel and purse monies (661) $325,306 

Transient Lodging recreational establishment membership fees (666) 114,380 

Sale to transient lodging business for resale (670) 48,986 

Gratuities distributed to servers or service employees (724) NIA 

Sales by Congressionally-chartered veterans organization of food or drink (744) NIA 

Sales by churches, fraternal benefit societies and other nonprofit organizations which 
don’t regularly engage or continue in the restaurant business for the purpose of fund 
raising (no deduction code) NIA 

Restaurant sales to a school district (662) NIA 

Prime Contracting income from out of state projects (681) 4,359,950 

Sale of used manufactured buildings (562) 636,951 

Sale for resale to another manufactured building dealer (668) NIA 

35% Deduction from Prime Contracting Base (502) 192,564,561 

Purchase by a Prime Contractor of machinery, equipment or other tangible personal 
property by a that is exempt under another classification (608, 622, 623, 624, 632, 635, 
639, 644, 645, 646, 653, 654, 665, 672, 674, 675, 676, 677, 678, 679, 685, 691, 697, 706, 
799) 2,444,755 

Land Deduction (518) 7,282,632 

Furniture and Appliances not incorporated into a Manufactured building (663) NIA 

Contracting in a military reuse zone for a manufacturer, assembler or fabricator of 
aviation or aerospace products (667) NIA 

Gross proceeds of sales from a contract to install, assemble, repair or maintain 
machinery that does not become permanently attached (600) 1,955,898 

Income from contracts for construction of facilities for raising egg producing poultry or 
the production and packaging of eggs (683) NIA 

Income from contracts for construction of a launch site (698) NIA 

Income from contracts for construction of a domestic violence shelter (673) NIA 

Gross proceeds from contracts to perform post-construction treatment of real property 
for termite and general pest control (686) 150,428 

Gross proceeds from contracts to certain state university research infrastructure projects 
(696) NIA 

Gross proceeds from construction contracts for healthy forest business (555) $497,711 

                                                           
8 No Information Available. 
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Gross proceeds from development or impact fees (560) 618,873 

Gross proceeds from construction of a mixed waste processing facility located on a 
municipal solid waste landfill (719) NIA9 

Subcontracting income (550) 357,163,445 

Lawn maintenance services (689) 257,241 

Cost of architectural or engineering service (557) 3,467,980 

Manufactured building delivered out of state (694) NIA 

Construction Design phase or professional services (690) 98,201 

Maintenance, repair, replace or alteration contract with a property owner (500) 70,797,400 

Credit for tax paid to an equivalent jurisdiction (684) 65,343 

Component parts for a manufactured product for resale (687) 1,045,137 

Tangible personal property not exceeding $200 purchased by an individual at retail 
outside the continental U.S. – USE TAX ONLY (693) NIA 

Advertising Supplements (688) NIA 

Tangible personal property purchased by a nonprofit charitable organization from the 
parent or affiliate organization located out of state – USE TAX ONLY (695) 35,164 

Motor vehicles removed from inventory and provided to charitable or educational 
institutions or state universities or their affiliated organization – USE TAX ONLY (703) 113,257 

Tangible personal property which directly enters into or becomes an ingredient or part of 
cards used as prescription plan identification cards – USE TAX ONLY (705) NIA 

Liquefied natural gas used to fuel compressor equipment – USE TAX ONLY (563) 90,675 

Tangible personal property exempt under the Utility classification (707) 221,737 

Purchase price of electricity bought by a retail electric customer from a utility when tax is 
paid under utility classification (709) NIA 

Purchase price of electricity or natural gas by a manufacturer or smelting operations 
(710) 1,196,633 

Purchase price of electricity or natural gas by a business that operates an international 
operations center that is certified by the Arizona Commerce Authority (783) NIA 

Sales to Direct Pay permit holder (692) 24,296 

3% of tax collected for 911 tax on prepaid wireless products (564) 240,870 

TOTAL VALUE OF ALL OTHER TRANSACTION PRIVILEGE AND USE TAX EXEMPTIONS $11,763,137,390 

 

TOTAL QUANTIFIABLE TRANSACTION PRIVILEGE AND USE TAX EXPENDITURES10 $12,212,283,076 
Value of exemptions from the Proposition 301 – Education Tax $1,465,473,969 

 

                                                           
9 No Information Available. 
10 This amount represents foregone revenue to the state general fund, counties and incorporated cities and towns. 
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USE TAX 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The use tax is assessed on items purchased in other states and brought into Arizona for storage, use, or 
consumption, and for which no tax (or tax at a lesser rate) has been paid in another state.  The use tax serves to 
protect Arizona retailers from out-of-state competition by attempting to ensure that in-state and out-of-state 
purchases are taxed at an equal rate. 
 
In June 2010, the use tax rose from 5.6% to 6.6%, with the additional 1.0% dedicated exclusively to public primary 
and secondary education, health and human services, and public safety.  The tax increase, which lasted through 
May 2013, was not subject to the regular use tax distribution.  This rate increase was approved by voters on May 
18, 2010 and is commonly known as Proposition 100 [please see the Transaction Privilege Tax (TPT) section of this 
book for additional information]. 
 
In June 2001, the use tax rate had previously risen from 5.0% to 5.6%, with the extra 0.6% being dedicated to 
education.  This tax increase was also approved by voters and is commonly known as Proposition 301. 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Almost all use tax revenues are deposited in the General Fund.  Twenty percent of the revenue collected from the 
use tax on electricity purchased from electricity suppliers is designated as distribution base.  The remaining 80% is 
deposited in General Fund [A.R.S. § 42-5164].  The use tax collected from utilities makes up less than 0.2% of total 
use tax collections. 
 
Table 1 

COLLECTIONS 
 

Fiscal Year State General Fund Fiscal Year State General Fund 
 2016 $283,352,073  2006    $303,198,808 
 2015 $281,143,731  2005    $259,615,656 
 2014 $235,984,933  2004    $232,216,222 
 2013 $257,899,313  2003    $189,684,520 
 2012 $263,724,399  2002 $162,022,998 
 2011 $229,250,912  2001 $196,147,647 
 2010 $271,763,845  2000 $175,730,649 
 2009 $292,698,574  1999 $147,642,017 
 2008 $340,535,252  1998 $136,473,801 
 2007 $303,010,863  1997 $119,600,758 

 
SOURCE:  Department of Revenue (DOR), Annual Reports.   

 
WHO PAYS 
 
Individuals and Businesses 
The tax is paid by persons who make retail purchases of tangible personal property outside this state and store, 
use, or consume the item in Arizona.  If a sales tax has already been paid on the item in another state, the Arizona 
use tax does not apply.  The use tax is due, for example, when an Arizona resident purchases goods over the 
Internet from an out-of-state retailer and has the item delivered to this state (see the Internet Taxation section in 
the TPT section of this book).  In practice, the use tax is primarily paid by businesses.  Individuals are also liable for 
the use tax but rarely pay it, because individuals are often unaware of the tax or are unwilling to “voluntarily” 
report a taxable transaction [A.R.S. § 42-5155]. 
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Tribal Members and Businesses 
Purchases made on the reservation by Indian tribal members are not subject to the use tax.  This exclusion applies 
to affiliated Indian members who have been adopted into the tribe and who have attained full and unrestricted 
membership privileges in that tribe. 
 
Purchases made on the reservation by non-Indian or non-affiliated Indians are subject to the use tax if the 
property will be stored, used, or consumed in Arizona. 
 
Purchases made by Indian tribal members off the reservation are subject to the use tax.  Sales of tangible personal 
property to an Indian tribal member, however, are not subject to the use tax if the solicitation, delivery and 
payment of the goods take place on the reservation. 
 
There are no specific statutory references related to the imposition of Arizona state use tax on tribal members.  
Thus, to facilitate the administration of state use tax on Indian reservations, DOR has adopted use tax rulings based 
on the decisions in several court cases.  The most recent ruling, which is reflected in the description above, was 
issued in April 1995 and is referred to as TPR 95-11. 
 
REVENUE BASE AND RATE 
 
The revenue base is the sales price of tangible personal property purchased at retail in another state and brought 
to Arizona for storage, use, or consumption.  Statute mentions a few special cases in which the use tax is also 
applicable, including tangible personal property provided under the conditions of a warranty or service contract, 
motor vehicles removed from inventory, and motor vehicles used by motor vehicle manufacturers [A.R.S. § 42-
5155 – 5158]. 
 
As with the retail sales tax, the law provides a number of exemptions from the use tax.  The effect of these 
exemptions is to reduce the size of the use tax base [A.R.S. § 42-5155]. 
 
The current use tax rate is 5.6%, the same as the TPT rate for retail sales.  However, if the item has already been 
taxed in another state at a rate less than 5.6%, the use tax rate is reduced by the amount of the tax already 
imposed by the other state [A.R.S. § 42-5155 and § 42-5159]. 
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
Use taxes are due to DOR on the 20th day of the month after the month in which the tax accrues.  For example, for 
taxable sales made in January, the tax payment is due to DOR by February 20 [A.R.S. § 42-5162]. 
 
Tax payments are delinquent if not postmarked on or before the 25th day of the month or received by DOR on or 
before the next-to-last business day of the month [A.R.S. § 42-5162]. 
 
DOR may allow taxpayers whose estimated annual use tax liability is between $500 and $1,250 to make quarterly 
tax payments.  Also, DOR may permit taxpayers with an estimated annual tax liability of less than $500 to make an 
annual payment.  If good cause is shown, DOR can allow a 2-month extension for filing the tax return [A.R.S. § 42-
5162]. 
 
IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2010.   
 
There were no changes enacted to this tax in 2010 and from 2013 through 2016. 
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2012 LAWS 
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 323 repealed the use tax declaration requirement on the individual income tax return enacted 
by Laws 2011, Chapter 128.  Chapter 323 did not repeal, however, the individual’s requirement to pay use tax on 
out-of-state purchases.  The act is estimated to reduce use tax revenues by $(1.8) million in FY 2013.  (Effective 
retroactively from January 1, 2012) 
 
2011 LAWS 
 
Laws 2011, Chapter 128 required the state individual income tax return to include a specific statement of the 
taxpayer’s use tax liability.  Any person who stores, uses, or consumes tangible personal property subject to the 
use tax for non-business purposes is required to declare the annual amount of the use tax due, if not collected by a 
retailer, on his individual income tax form.  Chapter 128 was estimated to increase use tax collections by $1.8 
million in FY 2012.  (Effective July 20, 2011)   
 
A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2010 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at 
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/16taxbk.pdf. 
 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/usetax.pdf
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SEVERANCE TAX ON METALLIFEROUS MINERALS 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The severance tax on metalliferous minerals (copper or other metals) is levied on the production or extraction 
from the earth of minerals.  The tax rate is 2.5%, and it is applied to 50% of the difference between the gross value 
of production and the production costs. 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Eighty percent of metalliferous minerals tax revenue is designated as distribution base, and is distributed as 
described in the Transaction Privilege Tax (TPT) section of this book.  The remaining 20% is designated for the 
General Fund.  Of the distribution base monies, 34.49% is allocated to the General Fund, 40.51% is designated to 
the counties, and 25% goes to the cities [A.R.S. § 42-5205]. 
 
Table 1 

COLLECTIONS AND DISTRIBUTION 
 

Fiscal Year General Fund Cities Counties Total 
 2016 $7,232,083 $3,039,201 $4,924,722 $15,196,006 
 2015 $11,832,303 $4,972,391 $8,057,263 $24,861,957 
 2014 $12,464,109 $5,237,901 $8,487,495 $26,189,505 
 2013 $14,196,409 $5,965,880 $9,667,113 $29,829,402 
 2012 $19,311,779 $8,115,557 $13,150,448 $40,577,783 
 2011  $19,149,246 $8,047,254 $13,039,770 $40,236,270 
 2010  $13,848,584 $5,819,711 $9,430,259 $29,098,554 
 2009 $8,666,537 $3,642,014 $5,901,520 $18,210,071 
 2008 $20,822,267 $8,750,323 $14,179,023 $43,751,613 
 2007 $20,725,843 $8,709,801 $14,113,362 $43,549,006 
 2006 $14,486,992 $6,087,995 $9,864,986 $30,439,973 
 2005 $7,804,650 $3,279,819 $5,314,617 $16,399,086 
 2004 $3,112,796 $1,308,118 $2,119,674 $6,540,588 
 2003 $539,399 $224,889 $361,945 $1,126,233 
 2002 $ (49,954) $(21,400) $(35,237) $(106,591) 
 2001 

1/
 $56 $1,609,331 $2,607,994 $4,217,380 

 2000 $3,554,565 $3,237,959 $5,247,042 $12,039,566 
 1999 $8,914,656 $3,746,283 $6,070,478 $18,731,417 
 1998 $12,884,325 $5,414,492 $8,773,643 $27,072,460 
 1997 $12,875,213 $5,410,663 $8,767,438 $27,053,314 

____________ 
1/  Note Laws 1999, 1

st
 Special Session, Chapter 5. 

 
SOURCE:  Department of Revenue, Annual Reports.   
 

 
WHO PAYS 
 
The tax is paid by “severers,” or persons engaged in the business of mining metalliferous minerals from the earth 
[A.R.S. § 42-5202 and § 42-5201].  
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REVENUE BASE AND RATE 
 
The severance tax on metalliferous minerals is levied at the rate of 2.5% on a tax base that is 50% of the difference 
between the gross value of production and the production costs [A.R.S. § 42-5202 and § 42-5204]. 
 
Metalliferous minerals are defined as copper, gold, silver, or other metals or ores that are mined in this state 
[A.R.S. § 42-5201]. 
 
The tax does not apply to metalliferous products sold at retail [A.R.S. § 42-5203].  These items are taxed under TPT. 
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
Payments for this tax are due on the same schedule as TPT [A.R.S. § 42-5205]. 
 
IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2010.   
 
There were no changes enacted to this tax from 2010 through 2016. 
 
A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2010 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at 
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/16taxbk.pdf. 
 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/severtax.pdf
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JET FUEL EXCISE AND USE TAX 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The jet fuel excise tax is a tax levied on the retail sale of jet fuel.  The jet fuel use tax is a tax levied on the storage, 
use, or consumption in the state of jet fuel purchased from a retailer [A.R.S. § 42-5352]. 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Forty percent of the excise tax revenue collected is designated as distribution base, and is distributed as described 
in the Transaction Privilege Tax (TPT) section of this book.  Sixty percent of the excise tax revenue, and 100% of the 
use tax revenue, is credited directly to the state General Fund [A.R.S. § 42-5353].  Tables 1 and 2 below provide a 
history of jet fuel excise tax and use tax distributions over the last 20 years. 
 

Table 1 

DISTRIBUTION OF JET FUEL EXCISE TAX 
 

Fiscal Year General Fund Cities Counties Total 
 2016 $3,166,950 $429,149 $695,394 $4,291,492 
 2015 $2,913,538 $394,810 $639,750 $3,948,098 
 2014 $2,181,056 $301,707 $534,309 $3,017,072 
 2013 $2,637,640 $362,379 $623,767 $3,623,786 
 2012 $2,811,537 $380,987 $617,353 $3,809,877 
 2011 $3,819,798 $517,616 $838,745 $5,176,159 
 2010 $3,291,706 $446,054 $722,789 $4,460,549 
 2009 $2,982,561 $404,163 $654,906 $4,041,630 
 2008 $3,421,347 $462,874 $752,020 $4,636,291 
 2007 $3,584,305 $485,704 $787,036 $4,857,045 
 2006 $4,471,848 $605,974 $981,921 $6,059,743 
 2005 $3,941,095 $534,053 $865,378 $5,340,526 
 2004 $3,833,833 $519,518 $841,826 $5,195,177 
 2003 $4,308,588 $583,851 $946,073 $5,838,512 
 2002 $4,167,728 $564,764 $915,143 $5,647,635 
 2001 $4,333,585 $587,239 $951,561 $5,872,385 
 2000 $3,838,375 $519,727 $842,165 $5,200,267 
 1999 $3,645,555 $494,004 $800,485 $4,940,044 
 1998 $3,767,232 $510,493 $827,203 $5,104,928 
 1997 $3,411,961 $462,351 $749,193 $4,623,505 
 
SOURCE: Department of Revenue (DOR), Annual Reports.   
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Table 2 

DISTRIBUTION OF JET FUEL USE TAX 
    

Fiscal Year General Fund Fiscal Year General Fund 
 2016 $805,035  2006 $724,106 
 2015 $671,606  2005 $890,252 
 2014 $555,401  2004 $724,543 
 2013 $701,492  2003 $501,537 
 2012 $731,896  2002 $728,989 
 2011 $320,137  2001 $740,281 
 2010 $828,265  2000 $835,615 
 2009 $679,816  1999 $458,118 
 2008 $1,045,498  1998 $394,789 
 2007 $906,377  1997 $532,451 

    

SOURCE:  DOR, Annual Reports.   

 
WHO PAYS 
 
The excise tax is paid by every person engaging or continuing in the retail sale of jet fuel.  The use tax is levied on 
the storage, use, or consumption in Arizona of jet fuel purchased from a retailer in any case in which the excise tax 
has not been paid to the state [A.R.S. § 42-5352]. 
 
REVENUE BASE AND RATE 
 
The tax rate is 3.05¢ per gallon on the first 10 million gallons of jet fuel per filer.  The tax on amounts over 10 
million gallons was reduced from 3.05¢ per gallon to 2.05¢ per gallon in FY 1993, to 1.05¢ per gallon in FY 1994, 
and is not subject to tax in FY 1995 and thereafter [A.R.S. § 42-5352]. 
 
The jet fuel excise tax does not apply to jet fuel that is sold in Arizona to commercial airlines and used on flights 
that originate in the state and whose first outbound destination is outside of the United States [A.R.S. § 42-5354].  
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
Taxes are collected and due in the same manner as for TPT [A.R.S. § 42-5353]. 
 
IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2010. 
 
There were no changes enacted to this tax in the period from 2010 through 2016. 
 
A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2010 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at 
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/16taxbk.pdf. 
 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/jetfuel.pdf
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INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The individual income tax is levied on the personal income of full-time residents and pro-rated for part-time 
residents of Arizona.  Taxation of income by local entities is preempted by the state as long as the Urban Revenue 
Sharing Fund is maintained.  The starting point for Arizona individual income tax is the federal adjusted gross 
income.  Arizona uses a graduated rate structure, which currently ranges between 2.59% and 4.54% of Arizona 
taxable income depending on the taxpayer’s income level. 
 
The individual income tax is an important revenue source for the state, representing 40.2% of total General Fund 
revenue collections in FY 2016.  A portion of individual income tax collections (along with corporate income tax 
collections) is shared with incorporated cities and towns within the state. 
 
The individual income tax is comprised of 4 components:  (1) withholding, (2) estimated tax payments, (3) final 
payments, and (4) refunds.  Generally, withholding payments are from tax on wage and salary based income, and 
estimated payments from non-wage earnings.  Final payments and refunds represent the underpayment and 
overpayment of tax, respectively, settled between taxpayers and the state after tax returns have been filed.  
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Table 1 below provides historical individual income tax collections for the last 20 years.  Individual income tax 
receipts are deposited into the General Fund, after sufficient amounts have been deposited into the tax refund 
account to meet the requirements for tax refunds [A.R.S. § 42-1116]. 
 

Table 1 
 

COLLECTIONS 
    

Fiscal Year General Fund Fiscal Year General Fund 
2016 $3,967,919,501 2006 $3,689,373,375 
2015 $3,761,343,995 2005 $2,973,716,271 
2014 $3,462,381,996 2004 $2,306,175,168 
2013 $3,397,545,131 2003 $2,097,754,868 
2012 $3,086,137,360 2002 $2,086,648,727 
2011 $2,863,657,980 2001 $2,300,751,988 
2010 $2,416,296,308 2000 $2,289,328,921 
2009 $2,567,963,783 1999 $2,097,629,461 
2008 $3,406,450,738 1998 $1,862,514,798 
2007 $3,747,386,937 1997 $1,668,414,355 

    
SOURCE:  Department of Revenue annual reports – amounts are net of refunds and charge-offs.  A portion of 
individual income tax collections is shared with incorporated cities and towns - see Table 2 and Table 3 below. 

 
Urban Revenue Sharing 
The Urban Revenue Sharing Fund (URS), which was established based on a ballot initiative approved by voters in 
1972, provides that a percentage of income tax revenues (including both individual and corporate income tax) be 
shared with incorporated cities and towns within the state.  Table 2 below shows estimates of the FY 2017 URS 
distributions by city.  Currently, 15% of net income tax revenue from 2 years prior is distributed to cities and 
towns.  This distribution is based on the most recent population estimates of each city and town made annually by 
the U.S. Census Bureau [A.R.S. § 42-5033.01].  Cities and towns have the option of using special census population 
counts for purposes of calculating distributions, but only during the 6

th
 year following a decennial census.  In the 

2
nd

 year following the special census, a city/town must use the most recent estimate from the U.S. Census Bureau 
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Table 2 
FY 2017 URBAN REVENUE SHARING DISTRIBUTION BY CITY (ESTIMATE) 

  
Cities by County Amount Percent of Total  Cities by County Amount Percent of Total 

         
APACHE    Queen Creek $4,237,916 0.64% 
Eagar $596,129 0.09%  Scottsdale  $28,997,047  4.37% 
St. Johns  $426,436  0.06%  Surprise $15,723,165  2.37% 
Springerville $239,235  0.04%  Tempe  $21,527,007  3.24% 
     Tolleson $858,015  0.13% 
COCHISE    Wickenburg $833,283  0.13% 
Benson $598,455  0.09%  Youngtown $809,653  0.12% 
Bisbee $637,634  0.10%     
Douglas  $2,031,418  0.31%  MOHAVE    
Huachuca City  $214,871  0.03%  Bullhead City  $4,829,393 0.73% 
Sierra Vista  $5,308,108  0.80%  Colorado City  $591,599  0.09% 
Tombstone  $183,843  0.03%  Kingman $3,539,800  0.53% 
Willcox $434,884  0.07%  Lake Havasu City  $6,556,686  0.99% 
        
COCONINO    NAVAJO    
Flagstaff  $8,609,529  1.30%  Holbrook $614,494  0.09% 
Fredonia $183,843  0.03%  Pinetop-Lakeside $531,974  0.08% 
Page $917,028  0.14%  Show Low $1,329,629  0.20% 
Tusayan $183,843  0.03%  Snowflake $693,709  0.10% 
Williams $382,238  0.06%  Taylor  $508,222  0.08% 
    Winslow $1,175,362  0.18% 
GILA       
Globe $905,519 0.14%  PIMA    
Hayden $183,843  0.03%  Marana $5,058,343 0.76% 
Miami  $218,299  0.03%  Oro Valley  $5,333,819  0.80% 
Payson $1,878,743  0.28%  Sahuarita $3,147,400  0.47% 
Star Valley  $278,781  0.04%  South Tucson  $699,708  0.11% 
Winkelman $183,843  0.03%  Tucson  $65,090,711  9.81% 
        
GRAHAM    PINAL    
Pima $309,022 0.05%  Apache Junction $4,661,536 0.70% 
Safford $1,185,524  0.18%  Casa Grande $6,300,432  0.95% 
Thatcher $611,188  0.09%  Coolidge $1,505,566  0.23% 
     Eloy $2,088,594  0.31% 
GREENLEE    Florence  $3,808,909  0.58% 
Clifton  $451,168 0.07%  Kearny  $249,520  0.04% 
Duncan  $183,843  0.03%  Mammoth $183,843  0.03% 
     Maricopa $5,950,517 0.90% 
LA PAZ     Superior  $360,322  0.05% 
Parker $372,933  0.06%     
Quartzsite $443,944  0.07%  SANTA CRUZ     
     Nogales  $2,479,525 0.37% 
MARICOPA    Patagonia  $183,843  0.03% 
Avondale $9,878,431 1.49%     
Buckeye $7,662,138  1.15%  YAVAPAI    
Carefree $441,985  0.07%  Camp Verde  $1,365,747  0.21% 
Cave Creek $653,918  0.10%  Chino Valley  $1,363,543  0.21% 
Chandler  $31,934,106 4.81%  Clarkdale $519,118  0.08% 
El Mirage $4,154,784  0.63%  Cottonwood  $1,446,920  0.22% 
Fountain Hills $2,926,040  0.44%  Dewey-Humboldt $488,265  0.07% 
Gila Bend $247,928  0.04%  Jerome $183,843  0.03% 
Gilbert $30,307,453  4.57%  Prescott  $5,129,845  0.77% 
Glendale $29,399,486  4.43%  Prescott Valley  $5,166,330  0.78% 
Goodyear $9,672,620  1.46%  Sedona $1,271,840  0.19% 
Guadalupe $756,272  0.11%     
Litchfield Park  $677,425  0.10%  YUMA     
Mesa  $57,767,224  8.70%  San Luis $3,859,106 0.58% 
Paradise Valley  $1,704,520  0.26%  Somerton $1,842,381  0.28% 
Peoria  $20,965,159  3.16%  Wellton $359,465  0.05% 
Phoenix  $191,366,747  28.84%  Yuma $11,525,775  1.74% 
       
    TOTAL $663,652,100 100.00% 
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[A.R.S. § 42-5033].  Prior to Laws 2016, Chapter 258, distributions were based on population counts from the last 
U.S. decennial census or special census.  The estimates in Table 2 are based on FY 2015 net income tax collections 
and 2015 population as estimated by the U.S. Census Bureau or as counted in a special census [A.R.S. § 43-206].    
 
Table 3 below shows the URS distribution percentages in effect since the establishment of this revenue sharing 
program. 

Table 3 
   

URBAN REVENUE SHARING PERCENTAGE 
   

Distribution Year 
Fiscal Year 

Collection Year 
Fiscal Year 

 
Percentage 

1974 – 1992 1972 – 1990 15.0% 
1993 1991 12.8% 
1994 1992 12.8% 
1995 1993 12.8% 
1996 1994 12.8% 
1997 1995 13.6% 
1998 1996 15.0% 
1999 1997 15.0% 
2000 1998 15.8% 
2001 1999 15.0% 
2002 2000 15.0% 
2003 2001 14.8% 
2004 2002 14.8% 

2005-2017 2003-2015 15.0% 
   

SOURCE:  Department of Revenue. 

 

Table 4 below provides historical urban revenue sharing distributions. 
 
Table 4 

DISTRIBUTION OF INDIVIDUAL AND CORPORATE INCOME TAX 
 

 
Fiscal Year 

  
Total Collections

 1/
 

 
State General Fund 

 
Urban Revenue Sharing 

Voluntary 
Contribution Funds 

2/
 

2016 $4,539,395,984 $3,932,832,872 605,634,326 928,786 
2015 $4,424,347,014 $3,814,991,474 $608,935,700 $419,840 
2014 $4,038,451,798 $3,476,561,022 $561,001,195 $889,581 
2013 $4,060,928,176 $3,545,987,484 $513,584,045 $1,356,647  
2012 $3,736,966,176 $3,305,485,765 $424,423,442 $7,056,969 
2011 $3,430,873,524 $2,949,887,110 $474,006,520 $6,979,894 
2010 $2,836,495,645 $2,200,844,986 $628,644,630 $7,006,029 
2009 $3,167,705,050 $2,432,366,069 $727,677,400 

3/ 
$7,661,581 

2008 $4,198,991,106 $3,506,425,271 $684,538,927 $8,026,908 
    2007 

4/
 $4,648,252,998 $4,089,906,556 $551,230,661 $7,115,781 

    2006 
4/

 $4,520,688,826 $4,089,641,855 $425,228,927 $5,818,044 
    2005 

4/
 $3,549,619,113 $3,170,987,163 $373,072,578 $5,559,372 

2004 $2,839,690,345 $2,469,794,357 $365,065,158 $4,830,830 
2003 $2,491,768,256 $2,056,591,466 $430,559,053 $4,617,737 
2002 $2,436,926,281 $2,011,052,550 $421,876,573 $3,997,158 
2001 $2,845,061,464 $2,445,472,944 $396,452,640 $3,135,880 
2000 $2,815,064,125 $2,434,799,495 $377,710,988 $2,553,642 
1999 $2,643,737,477 $2,302,706,944 $340,310,656 $719,877 
1998 $2,390,575,871 $2,098,733,397 $291,243,578 $598,896 
1997 $2,269,304,787 $2,010,937,159 $257,800,548 $567,080 

____________ 

1/ Includes corporate income tax. 
2/ Represents taxpayer contributions of their refunds to various entities through the tax “check-off” boxes. 
3/ Laws 2006, Ch. 351 appropriated a total of $727.6 million for FY 2009 (see 2009 Tax Handbook, page 33 for more details). 
4/ Includes Ladewig refunds and attorney payments of 131.5 million in FY 2005, $48.7 million in FY 2006, and $80.7 million in 

FY 2007. 
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Voluntary Contribution Funds 
Laws 1984, Chapter 76 provided for taxpayers to designate an amount of their income tax refund as a voluntary 
contribution to the Arizona Game, Non-Game, Fish and Endangered Species Fund.  Laws 1985, Chapter 59 
established a permanent check-off provision on the individual income tax return, which was also expanded to 
include contributions to the Child Abuse Prevention Fund.   
 
Arizona statutes were amended in subsequent years to also include contributions to the Arizona Assistance for 
Education Fund, Domestic Violence Services Fund, Neighbors Helping Neighbors Fund, Special Olympics Fund, and 
National Guard Relief Fund.  The list of voluntary contribution funds was further expanded to include the Veterans’ 
Donation Fund (Laws 2006, Chapter 102), the I Didn’t Pay Enough Fund (Laws 2010, Chapter 115) and the 
Sustainable State Parks and Road Fund (Laws 2014, Chapter 120).  Laws 2015, Chapter 208 repealed the National 
Guard Relief Fund.  In addition to voluntary contribution funds, taxpayers were also given the option to give all or 
part of their refund to a political party.  Table 4 above shows the total amount of refunds designated annually to 
voluntary contribution funds and political parties since the program started in 1984 [A.R.S. § 43-611 to 622].  
 
WHO PAYS 
 
Individuals 
Residents or part-year residents of the state and non-residents who derived income from sources within the state 
must pay individual income tax [A.R.S. § 43-102].  Any individual whose permanent home is in the state is 
considered a resident.  Every person who spends more than 9 months of the taxable year in Arizona is presumed a 
resident unless competent evidence can show the individual is in the state for a temporary or transitory purpose.  
Any resident who moved into or out of Arizona with the intent to establish or relinquish residency is considered to 
be a part-year resident [A.R.S. § 43-104]. 
  
Businesses 
Businesses other than regular corporations must also pay the individual income tax [A.R.S. § 43-102A].  A business 
that is subject to the individual income tax is often referred to as a “pass-through entity” since its income passes or 
flows through the business to the individual owners or members of that business.  In other words, the business 
itself is not a tax-paying entity.  Instead, the individual owners or members of that business include their pro rata 
share of the business net income (or loss) on their personal tax return. 
 
In Arizona, a pass-through entity is either operating as a sole proprietorship, partnership, limited liability company 
(LLC), or a Subchapter S Corporation.  A brief overview of the different business structures is shown in Table 5 
below. 
 

Table 5 

 
COMPARISON OF BUSINESS STRUCTURES 

 

 Sole Proprietorship Partnership 
Limited Liability 
Company (LLC) S Corporation 

          Control  Owner  General Partners  Members  Shareholders 
     
Owner Restrictions  Only one owner is 

permitted. 
 Partners own the 

partnership. 
 Members own LLC.   
 Minimum of 1 

member required. 

 Shareholders are 
owners.   

 Ownership limited 
to a maximum of 
75 U.S. residents. 

     
Filing Requirements   Fictitious Name 

Certificate 
 Trade Name  
 Business License 

 Consent of 
Statutory Agent   

 Articles of 
Organization  

 Consent of 
Statutory Agent  

 Articles of 
Incorporation  

 Certificate of 
Disclosure  

 Consent of 
Statutory Agent  

 Annual Report 
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 Sole Proprietorship Partnership 
Limited Liability 
Company (LLC) S Corporation 

Liability  Owner is 
personally liable. 

 General Partners 
are liable.   

 Limited partners 
are liable to the 
extent of their 
investments. 

 All members are 
protected. 

 All shareholders 
are protected. 

     
Officers  No  No  No, unless 

designated by 
management. 

 Yes 

     
Controlling Documents  Business Plan  Partnership 

Agreement 
 Operating 

Agreement 
 Articles of 

Incorporation 
     
Income Tax Treatment  Owner subject to 

individual income 
tax.   

 Tax items reported 
on Schedule C. 

 Partners subject to 
individual income 
tax.   

 Partners taxed for 
their share of 
profits. 

 Members subject 
to individual 
income tax.  

 Members taxed 
for their share of 
profits.  

 However, LLC may 
choose to be taxed 
at entity level. 

 Shareholders 
subject to 
individual income 
tax. 

 Shareholders 
taxed for their 
share of profits. 

 
SOURCE:  Arizona Corporation Commission. 

 
Estates and Trusts 
Fiduciaries of estates and trusts are also subject to the individual income tax [A.R.S. § 43-102A].  Generally, a trust 
is a separate legal and taxable entity consisting of property that is held and administered by a fiduciary trustee for 
the benefit of another.  An estate, for the purpose of tax law, is the collective real and personal property that a 
person possesses at the time of death and that is transferred to the heirs subject to payment of debts and claims.  
An estate is a temporary entity administered by a fiduciary executor and dissolved upon the completion of the 
probate process.  For more details, see Title 43, Chapter 13 of Arizona Revised Statutes.   
 
Government 
The United States, the state, counties, cities, towns, school districts, or other political subdivisions of the state or 
federal government are excluded from the definition of a taxpayer [A.R.S. § 43-104]. 
 
Tribal Members 
The income of an Indian tribal member is not subject to Arizona state income tax if he or she is:  (1) living and 
working on the reservation, and (2) deriving income from reservation sources only.  This exclusion applies to 
affiliated Indian members who have been adopted into the tribe and who have attained full and unrestricted 
membership privileges in that tribe. 
 
Income of a non-affiliated tribal member or a non-Indian derived from reservation or non-reservation sources is 
subject to income tax in the same manner as all other Arizona residents.   
 
There are no specific statutory references related to the imposition of Arizona state income tax on tribal members.  
Thus, to facilitate the administration of state income tax on Indian reservations, the Department of Revenue (DOR) 
has adopted income tax rulings based on the decisions in several court cases.  The most recent ruling, which is 
reflected in the description above, was issued in May 1996 and is referred to as ITR 96-4.   
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REVENUE BASE 
 
The tax is levied, paid, and collected each taxable year based on taxable income [A.R.S. § 43-1011].  The tax base 
starts with Arizona gross income, which is equivalent to the taxpayer's federal adjusted gross income, and is then 
modified by a list of additions and subtractions to income as listed under A.R.S. § 43-1021 and A.R.S. § 43-1022, 
respectively.  This is further reduced by exemptions and standard or itemized deductions to arrive at Arizona 
taxable income [A.R.S. § 43-1041 to 1043]. 
 
Capital Gains 
Prior to TY 2013, capital gains from the sale of capital assets, such as stocks, bonds, and real estate, were not taxed 
separately under the state’s income tax statutes.  Thus, income from net capital gains was subject to the same 
marginal tax rates as other income included under the definition of Arizona taxable income.   
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 343 reduced the individual income tax rate paid on long-term capital gains accrued from assets 
acquired after 2011.  (Long-term capital gains are realized on assets held longer than 1 year.)  The reduction in the 
regular rate under Chapter 343 is 10% in TY 2013, 20% in TY 2014, and 25% in TY 2015 and thereafter. Capital gains 
realized on assets purchased before 2012 are not affected by Chapter 343.  Additionally, beginning in TY 2014, 
Laws 2011, 2

nd
 Special Session, Chapter 1 eliminates individual income tax on capital gains derived from 

investment in small businesses with assets up to $10 million.   The historical amounts of net capital gains subject to 
income tax, as reported by Arizona taxpayers to the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), are shown in Table 6 below. 
 

Table 6 

 
NET CAPITAL GAINS REPORTED BY ARIZONA TAXPAYERS TO THE IRS 

(Millions of Dollars) 
1/

 
    

Tax Year Net Capital Gains 
1/

 Tax Year Net Capital Gains 
1/

 
2014                    $8,639.5 2004 $8,732.1 
2013 $6,280.1 2003 $4,580.4 
2012 $7,167.7 2002 $3,603.7 
2011 $4,706.6 2001 $4,420.8 
2010 $4,276.2 2000 $8,412.9 
2009 $3,242.3 1999 $8,163.1 
2008 $6,606.2 1998 $7,045.1 
2007 $14,853.7 1997 $5,409.1 
2006 $15,214.8 1996 $4,051.2 
2005 $14,784.3 1995 $2,461.2 

____________ 

1/ Note that amounts in this table refer to net capital gains subject to income tax as opposed to income tax collections 
attributable to net capital gains.   

      

 SOURCE:  IRS, Statistics of Income (SOI).   

 
EXEMPTIONS 
 
Organizations that are exempt from federal income tax under Section 501 of the Internal Revenue Code are also 
exempt from state income tax.  In addition, the following organizations are exempt from state income tax [A.R.S. § 
43-1201]: 
 
(1) Labor, agricultural, and horticultural organizations except for cooperative organizations. 
(2) Fraternal beneficiary societies, orders, or organizations that both:  (a) operate under the lodge system or for 

the exclusive benefit of the members of a fraternity, and (b) provide for the payment of life, sick, accident, or 
other benefits to their members or their dependents. 

(3) Cemetery companies that are owned and operated exclusively for the benefit of their members or are not 
operated for profit. 
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(4) Corporations that are organized and operated exclusively for religious, charitable, scientific, literary, or 
educational purposes, or for the prevention of cruelty to children and animals. 

(5) Business leagues, chambers of commerce, real estate boards, and boards of trade that are not organized for 
profit.  

(6) Civic leagues or organizations that are not organized for profit. 
(7) Clubs that are organized and operated exclusively for pleasure, recreation, and other non-profitable 

purposes. 
(8) Corporations that are organized for the exclusive purpose of holding title to property, collecting income from 

such property, and turning over the entire net income to an organization which itself is exempt from income 
tax. 

(9) Voluntary employees' beneficiary organizations that provide for the payment of life, sick, accident or other 
benefits to their members or their dependents, if both of the following apply:  (a) no part of their net 
earnings inures to the benefit of any private shareholder or individual, and (b) 85% or more of the income 
consists of monies collected from members and contributions by the employer of the members. 

(10) Teachers' or public employees' retirement fund organizations that are of a purely local character, if both of 
the following apply:  (a) no part of their net earnings inures to the benefit of any private shareholder or 
individual, and (b) the income consists solely of monies received from public taxation, assessments on the 
salaries of members, and income from investments.  

(11) Religious or apostolic organizations or corporations, if such organizations or corporations have a common 
treasury or community treasury. 

(12) Voluntary employees' beneficiary organizations that provide for the payment of life, sick, accident or other 
benefits to their members, their dependents or designated beneficiaries, if both of the following apply:  
(a) admission to membership is limited to individuals who are officers or employees of the United States 
Government, and (b) no part of the net earnings inures to the benefit of any private shareholder or 
individual. 

(13) Corporations classified as diversified management companies under Section 5 of the federal Investment 
Company Act of 1940. 

(14) Insurance companies that are subject to the insurance premium tax. 
(15) Mutual ditch, irrigation or water companies or similar nonprofit organizations if 85% or more of their income 

consists of amounts collected from members for the sole purpose of meeting losses and expenses. 
(16) Workers’ compensation pools established pursuant to A.R.S. § 23-961.01. 
 
RATE 
 
Rates and Brackets.  The TY 2016 rate structure, based on DOR’s inflation-adjusted brackets of Arizona taxable 
income, is as follows [A.R.S. § 43-1011]: 
 
 
Table 7 

TY 2016 TAX RATE SCHEDULE 
1/

 
    

Single 
2/

  Married 
4/

  
Arizona Taxable Income        Rate       

 3/
 Arizona Taxable Income        Rate       

 3/
 

$0 - $10,179 2.59% $0 - $20,357 2.59% 
$10,180 - 25,445 $264 plus 2.88% $20,358 - $50,890 $527 plus 2.88% 
$25,446 - 50,890 $703 plus 3.36% $50,891 - $101,779 $1,407 plus 3.36% 
$50,891 - 152,668 $1,558 plus 4.24% $101,780 - $305,336 $3,116 plus 4.24% 

       $152,669 and over $5,873 plus 4.54%         $305,337 and over $11,747 plus 4.54% 
____________ 
1/   Pursuant to A.R.S. § 43-1011, DOR increased the TY 2016 rates above TY 2015 rates using a 0.15% inflation adjustment. 
2/   Or married filing separately. 
3/   The marginal rates apply to income within the taxable income bracket.  Taxable income attributable to qualifying long-

term capital gains is reduced by (25)%.  
4/   Or unmarried head of household. 
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Beginning in TY 2015, individual income tax brackets are adjusted annually for inflation as measured by the 
Metropolitan Phoenix Consumer Price Index.  Tax brackets are not reduced for annual decreases in the index.  
[A.R.S. § 43-1011].   
 
Optional Tax Table.  The Department of Revenue developed an optional tax table prescribing tax liability amounts, 
based on filing status, in $50 increments of Arizona taxable income.  The table can be used if (1) an individual has 
been a resident for the entire taxable year, and (2) the Arizona taxable income for the year is less than $50,000 
regardless of filing status [A.R.S. § 43-1012]. 
 

 
TAX CREDITS 
 
A tax credit is a dollar-for-dollar reduction of a taxpayer’s individual income tax liability.  A credit is different from a 
subtraction, exemption, or deduction, which reduces the amount of income that will be taxed.  For more details, 
see the Tax Computation section. 
 
A tax credit is either refundable or non-refundable. Unlike refundable credits, non-refundable credits can never 
exceed a taxpayer’s tax liability.  However, many of the non-refundable tax credits allow the unused amounts to be 
carried forward to future years.  As shown in Table 9 below, only the following credits are refundable under current 
statutes:  
 

Table 9 
 

REFUNDABLE INCOME TAX CREDITS 
 
Name of Credit Type of Credit 
  Property Tax Credit Individual 
Low-Income Credit for Increased Excised Taxes Paid Individual 
Research and Development (R&D) Credit 

1/
 Individual and Corporate 

Renewable Energy Investment Credit 
2/

 Individual and Corporate 
Qualified Facility Credit 

3/
 Individual and Corporate 

 
Notes: 
1/ Credit is only available to businesses that employ less than 150 full-time employees.  Refundable 

portion of R&D credit is subject to an aggregate cap of $5 million annually.  
2/  Credit is subject to an aggregate cap of $70 million annually, which it shares with the qualified facility 

credit.  Laws 2014, Chapter 8 limits a taxpayer from claiming both this credit and the qualified facility 
credit for the same facilities (see Appendix A for details). 

3/  Credit is subject to an aggregate cap of $70 million annually, which it shares with the renewable 
energy investment credit. 

 
The value of tax credits used and carried forward through calendar year 2014 is summarized by the DOR summary 
report attached at the end of this section. 

Table 8 
HISTORICAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX RATES 

1/
 

          
Taxable Income 

2/3/
 TY 1990 TY 1994 TY 1995 TY 1997 TY 1998 TY 1999 TY 2006 TY 2007 

           $0 -$ 10,000  3.80% 3.25% 3.00% 2.90% 2.88% 2.87% 2.73% 2.59% 
  $10,001 -   25,000 4.40% 4.00% 3.50% 3.30% 3.24% 3.20% 3.04% 2.88% 
  $25,001 -   50,000 5.25% 5.05% 4.20% 3.90% 3.82% 3.74% 3.55% 3.36% 
  $50,001 - 150,000 6.50% 6.40% 5.20% 4.90% 4.74% 4.72% 4.48% 4.24% 
  $150,001 & over 7.00% 6.90% 5.60% 5.17% 5.10% 5.04% 4.79% 4.54% 

____________ 
1/ For marginal rates prior to 1990, see page 90 of the 1990 Tax Handbook. 
2/ These brackets applied to single or married filing separately filers.  For married joint filers or head of households, the bracket amounts 

are doubled.  In 1990, the brackets were altered into the present form (see Laws 1990, 3rd Special Session, Chapter 3).   
3/ Brackets displayed in Table 8 represent amounts that were effective from TY 1990 through TY 2014.  Beginning in TY 2015, tax 

brackets are indexed to inflation (Laws 2014, Chapter 2010 and Laws 2015, Chapter 91).  See Table 7 for TY 2016 bracket amounts.    



Individual Income Tax 

- 41 - 

Laws 2002, Chapter 238 established the Arizona Joint Legislative Income Tax Credit Review Committee.  The 
Committee is required to determine the purpose of income tax credits, develop performance standards for 
evaluating the credits, and evaluate the benefits to the state.  The Committee reviews each tax credit every 5 years 
according to a rotating schedule [A.R.S. § 43-221].   
 
Title 43, Chapter 10, Article 5 of the Arizona Revised Statutes lists all the individual income tax credits currently 
available to Arizona taxpayers.  A brief description of each tax credit currently in statute is provided below.  
Appendix C in the Tax Handbook includes a list of all individual and corporate tax credits with statutory ending 
dates.  Appendix B provides a complete list and detailed description of the various school tax credits currently 
available to individual and corporate taxpayers, as well as insurance companies.   
 
Agricultural Pollution Control Equipment.  A taxpayer involved in the commercial production of livestock or 
agricultural crops may claim a tax credit for expenses incurred to purchase tangible personal property used in the 
business in order to control or prevent pollution.  The credit is 25% of the cost of the property up to a maximum of 
$25,000.  This non-refundable credit is allowed to be carried forward no more than 5 consecutive years [A.R.S. § 
43-1081.01]. 
 
Agricultural Water Conservation System.  A tax credit can be claimed for 75% of the qualifying expenses in 
purchasing and installing an agricultural water conservation system.  This credit is in lieu of itemized deductions for 
such expenses, in which case, the taxpayer must add the credit back to Arizona gross income when computing 
taxable income.  This non-refundable tax credit is allowed to be carried forward for no more than 5 years [A.R.S. § 
43-1084]. 
 
Arizona National Guard Employees.  A tax credit of $1,000 per employee is allowed for businesses that employ 
Arizona National Guard members who are called to active duty.  This non-refundable tax credit, which is effective 
from January 1, 2006, is allowed to be carried forward for no more than 5 years [A.R.S. § 43-1079.01]. 
 
Charitable Organizations and Contributions.  A credit can be claimed for cash contributions to qualified charitable 
organizations (QCO) that provide assistance to low-income residents and children that are chronically ill or 
physically disabled.  A separate credit may be claimed for cash contributions to qualified foster care charitable 
organizations (QFCO) that provide foster care to children or services to under-21-year-old former foster youth in 
independent living programs.  Qualifying organizations may not provide, pay for, promote, or financially support 
abortions or any entity that provides abortions.   
 
QCO contributions earn a maximum credit of $400 for taxpayers filing as single or head of household and $800 for 
those filing as married couples.  Contributions to QFCOs earn a separate maximum credit of $500 for taxpayers 
filing as single or head of household and $1,000 for those filing as married couples.   
 
Prior to Laws 2016, Chapter 109, the QCO and QFCO credits shared a combined maximum amount of $400 for 
taxpayers filing as single or head of household and $800 for those filing as married couples.  Laws 2016, Chapter 
109 also permits a donation made between the close of the tax year and the individual income tax filing deadline 
to be applied to either the current or preceding tax year for the purpose of claiming the individual income tax 
credit.  This non-refundable tax credit is allowed to be carried forward for no more than 5 consecutive years [A.R.S. 
§ 43-1088].  
 
Enterprise Zones.  Businesses located in an enterprise zone were able to claim a credit for net increases in 
employment of persons who qualify as economically disadvantaged under the Job Training Partnership Act.  (See 
Laws 1989, Chapter 194 for changes in the amount of credit allowed.)  To qualify, at least 35% of the full-time 
equivalent employees claimed must reside in an enterprise zone.  The maximum amount of the credit per qualified 
employment position is $500 in the first year, $1,000 in the second year, and $1,500 in the third year of continuous 
employment. The non-refundable credit may not be claimed for more than 200 employees.  Laws 2013, Chapter 
236 provides that businesses that were certified by ACA and then claimed first year credits under the now repealed 
credit program, be exempt from the requirement to file for certification in order to claim second or third year 
credits. Though new credits may not be earned after tax year 2011, previously earned credits may be carried 
forward up to 5 years and used no later than for tax year 2016. 
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Environmental Technology Facility Construction Costs.  A taxpayer may claim a credit for expenses incurred in 
constructing a qualified environmental technology facility as described in A.R.S. § 41-1514.02.  The credit is equal 
to 10% of construction costs including land acquisition, improvements, building improvements, machinery and 
equipment.  The credit may not exceed 75% of the tax liability for the taxable year.  This credit is in lieu of the 
credit given for the same recycling equipment.  Certain recapture provisions apply to this credit.  This non-
refundable tax credit is allowed to be carried forward for no more than 15 years [A.R.S. § 43-1080]. 
 
Facility Credit.  A business that expands or locates a qualified facility in the state may claim a credit for qualifying 
investment and employment. The credit is 10% of the lesser of:  (1) the total capital investment in the qualified 
facility by the taxpayer or third-party lessor of the property or (2) $200,000 for each net new employee at the 
qualified facility.  To be eligible for the credit, a business is required to devote at least 80% of its property and 
payroll at the facility to manufacturing, research, or a national or regional headquarter.  The credit is dependent 
upon the taxpayer paying at least 51% of new full-time employees a wage exceeding 125% of the state median 
wage in urban areas and 100% in rural areas and paying 65% or more of the premium for all full-time employees’ 
health insurance [A.R.S. § 41-1512].  Prior to Laws 2016, Chapter 372, investments by a third-party lessor could not 
qualify for the credit and taxpayers in urban and rural areas were required to pay at least 80% of employee health 
insurance premiums and at least 125% of the state median wage. 
 
The credit is refundable but no single taxpayer can claim more than $30 million in credits per calendar year.  The 
credit must be taken in equal installments over 5 taxable years.  The qualified facility credit program is subject to 
an aggregate annual cap of $70 million, which it shares with the renewable energy investment credit (A.R.S. § 43-
1083.01) enacted in 2009.  The credit is available through TY 2022 [A.R.S. § 43-1083.03]. 
 
Family Income Credit.  Residents are allowed a $40 non-refundable tax credit for each personal or dependent 
exemption claimed, subject to certain income limitations. This credit cannot be carried forward to offset future 
years’ income tax liability [A.R.S. § 43-1073]. 
 
Health Insurance Plans.  From tax year 2012 through tax year 2014, an income tax credit was available to 
businesses that provided qualifying health insurance plans to each enrolled employee.  The credit is equal to $360 
for every employee that enrolled in a health insurance plan offered by the business.  To qualify, the business was 
required to offer High Deductible Health Insurance Plans with catastrophic coverage under a Health Savings 
Account.  To receive the credit, businesses were required to have between 2 and 50 employees, have provided 
health insurance within 90 days of offering the plan, and offered the plan to every employee for at least 1 year.  
Although new credits may not be earned after tax year 2014, previously earned credits may be carried forward up 
to 3 years and used no later than tax year 2017. 
 
Healthy Forest Enterprise.  A qualified business that is certified by the Arizona Commerce Authority (ACA) as a 
healthy forest enterprise is allowed to claim a tax credit for net increases in qualified employment positions. To 
qualify for the credit, a business enterprise must meet several conditions with respect to the amount of employees 
hired, and the residency status, job duties, wages, and fringe benefits of those employees.  The maximum amount 
of the credit per qualified employment position is $500 in the first year, $1,000 in the second year, and $1,500 in 
the third year of continuous employment.  The net increase in the number of qualified employment positions is 
not allowed to exceed 200 per taxpayer each year.  The tax credit is available from January 1, 2005 to December 
31, 2024.  (Laws 2012, Chapter 331 extended the credit by 10 years, from 2014 to 2024.)  The credit is non-
refundable and is allowed to be carried forward for no more than 5 years [A.R.S. § 43-1076]. 
 
Healthy Forest - Ecological Restoration Workforce Training.  A business certified by the ACA as a Healthy Forest 
Enterprise may claim a credit for expenses incurred in training new employees in ecological restoration.  The credit 
amount is the net cost of training and certifying new employees in qualified employment positions.  The credit is 
limited to $3,000 per employee in each of the first 3 years of qualified employment.  The net increase in the 
number of qualified employment positions is not allowed to exceed 200 per taxpayer each year.  The credit is 
effective from January 1, 2012 to December 31, 2024.  The credit is non-refundable and is allowed to be carried 
forward for no more than 5 years [A.R.S. § 43-1076.01]. 
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Low-Income Credit for Proposition 301 Taxes.  For taxpayers filing as married couple or as head of household and 
whose federal adjusted gross income is $25,000 or less, a credit of $25 is granted per person or $100 per 
household.  For taxpayers filing as single or as married person filing separately, the income requirement is $12,500 
or less.  This refundable credit is considered a mitigation of the 0.6% sales tax increase resulting from Proposition 
301 passed in November 2000.  This law became effective January 1, 2001 [A.R.S. § 43-1072.01]. 
 
Military Family Relief Fund Tax Credit.  A credit may be claimed for cash contributions to the Military Family Relief 
Fund established by Laws 2007, Chapter 258.  The maximum credit is $200 for taxpayers filing as single or head of 
household and $400 for those filing as married couples.  The credit is not allowed to exceed the taxpayer’s tax 
liability.  The total dollar value of the credit, which is available for tax years 2008 through 2018, is capped at $1 
million per taxable year [A.R.S. § 41-608.04 and A.R.S. § 43-1086].  Laws 2012, Chapter 281 extended the 
expiration of the credit from 2012 to 2018.  
 
Military Reuse Zones.  A non-refundable credit is allowed for net employment increases in a military re-use zone.  
The employees must be engaged in aviation or aerospace manufacturing or services.  Credits also are allowed for 
dislocated civilian military base employees.  A credit of $500 to $3,000 is allowed for each newly created position, 
depending on whether or not the employee is a dislocated military base employee, and the number of years of 
employment (1-5 years).  The credits can be carried forward for 5 years [A.R.S. § 43-1079].  
 
Motion Picture Productions and Infrastructure Projects.  These credits, effective between taxable years 2006 and 
2010, were available to businesses that produced motion pictures in Arizona.  Motion picture productions with 
qualified expenses of $250,000 to $1 million in a 12-month period were eligible for a tax credit equal to 20% of 
production costs, while productions with qualified expenses exceeding $1 million were credited for 30% of 
production costs.  The total amount of income tax credits approved for all qualifying productions and investments 
could not exceed $30 million in 2006, $40 million in 2007, $50 million in 2008, $60 million in 2009, and $70 million 
in 2010.  The income tax credits were claimed for expenses incurred in the production of commercial 
advertisements, and music videos, with 5% of the income tax credit set aside for these productions.  In addition, 
income tax credits could be claimed for expenses incurred for the construction of soundstages and associated 
support and augmentation facilities.  Tax credits for soundstage investments were capped at $5 million per year in 
2008, 2009, and 2010.  Tax credits for associated support and augmentation facilities were capped at $7 million in 
2009 (if at least one soundstage project was certified in 2008) and $9 million in 2010 (if one or more soundstage 
projects were certified in 2008 or 2009).  The tax credits could be sold or transferred, in whole or in part, to other 
taxpayers.  The law required taxpayers claiming the credits to meet various reporting requirements and for film 
companies to recruit Arizona residents to hold 25% of full-time positions in 2006, 35% in 2007, and 50% in 2008 
and after.  Though new credits may not be earned after tax year 2010, previously earned credits may be carried 
forward up to 5 years and used no later than for tax year 2015.  
 
New Employment Tax Credit.  A $3,000 annual tax credit may be claimed for each net new qualifying job added by 
an employer in the state. To qualify for the credit, new employment positions must be full-time, pay at least the 
median wage, and offer health insurance paid by the employer (at least 65% of the premium).  Credits associated 
with 1 net new job can be claimed for 3 years.  A company may claim 1

st
 year credits for separate new jobs for up 

to 3 consecutive years.  Since 2
nd

 and 3
rd

 year credits may be claimed against each of the new positions, the 
taxpayer may claim credits for up to a total of 5 consecutive years.  A business cannot claim the new credit unless 
it adds at least 25 net new jobs in a year in an urban area (5 in a rural area) and makes a capital investment of at 
least $5 million ($1 million in a rural area) [A.R.S. § 43-1074].  The ACA is authorized to issue 1

st
 year credits for up 

to 10,000 new employees ($30 million) in each year.  Statute does not permit the ACA to authorize new credits 
after June 30, 2017 (A.R.S. § 41-1525).  Given the maximum 5-year schedule outlined above, businesses may claim 
credits through TY 2021.   
 
In TY 2013 and later years, Laws 2012, Chapter 343 eliminates the requirement (provided by Laws 2011, 2

nd
 Special 

Session, Chapter 1) that no employer can claim more than 400 new jobs in the first year of credit use, 800 jobs in 
the second year, and 1,200 jobs in the third year.  The cap applied to credits claimed against insurance premium, 
individual income, and corporate income taxes.  The credit cannot be claimed against employees that are also 
claimed under the Military Reuse Zone Tax Credit (A.R.S. § 41-1525).  Laws 2014, Chapter 168 changes the 
requirement for the New Employment Tax Credit program by providing that second and third year credits can be 
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claimed irrespective of whether the same employee remains employed as long as the employer replaces the 
vacant position with another qualified employee within 90 days. 
 
Pollution Control Equipment.  A taxpayer may claim a tax credit for 10% of the cost to purchase real or personal 
property used to control or prevent pollution.  Amounts that qualify for this credit must be included in the 
taxpayer’s adjusted basis for the property.  This credit is in lieu of the recycling equipment credit.  The maximum 
credit is $500,000.  This non-refundable tax credit is allowed to be carried forward for no more than 5 years [A.R.S. 
§ 43-1081]. 
 
Public School Extracurricular Activity Fees.  A credit may be claimed for contributions for extracurricular activities, 
character education programs, standardized tests for college credit and readiness, career and technical 
assessments, testing preparation courses and cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) training at public schools.  The 
maximum credit is $200 for taxpayers filing as single or head of household and $400 for those filing as married 
couples.  (Prior to Laws 2005, Chapter 334, the maximum credit for married couples was $250.)  This credit is in 
lieu of any federal or state deduction for such contributions.  A 5-year carry forward of the credit is allowed [A.R.S. 
§ 43-1089.01].  
 
Property Taxes.  A full-year resident can claim a refundable credit for property taxes or rent paid on property if all 
of the following apply [A.R.S. § 43-1072]:   
 

 65 years or older or receiving SSI Title 16 monies from the Social Security Administration. 

 Paid either property taxes or rent during the taxable year. 

 If the person lived alone, his income from all sources was below $3,751, or if he lived with others, the 
combined household income was below $5,501. 

 
The amount of the credit allowed under this provision is prescribed in A.R.S. § 43-1072B.   
 
Recycling Equipment.  Taxpayers were able to claim a credit for placing recycling equipment in service after 
December 31, 1992.  This credit was in lieu of any deductions taken for depreciation.  The credit was equal to 10% 
of the installation cost, but not to exceed the lesser of 25% of the tax liability for that year or $5,000.  Certain 
recapture provisions applied when the recycling equipment ceased operation or was transferred.  Though new 
credits may not be earned after tax year 2002, previously earned credits may be carried forward up to 15 years 
and used no later than tax year 2017. 
 
Renewable Energy Investment.  A credit is allowed on new renewable energy capital investments in manufacturing 
or company headquarters for up to 10% of the taxpayer’s total capital investment.  The credit is refundable, with 
the combined total of individual and corporate income tax credits capped at $70 million annually.  Recipients must 
receive their credit in 5 equal portions over 5 consecutive tax years.  The renewable energy investment credit 
shares its annual aggregate cap of $70 million with the qualified facility credit program (A.R.S. § 43-1083.03) 
enacted by Laws 2012, Chapter 343. 
 
To be eligible to receive the credit, a company must create new jobs and make new capital investment as follows: 
 

 Renewable energy manufacturing operations must create at least 1.5 full-time employment positions for each 
$500,000 increment of capital investment. 

 Renewable energy headquarter operations must create at least 1 full-time employment position for each 
$200,000 increment of capital investment.  

 
The credit is dependent upon the taxpayer paying 51% of new full-time employees a rate exceeding 125% of the 
median annual wage in the state and paying 80% or more of the premium for all full-time employees’ health 
insurance. The taxpayer must also stay in operation within the state for 5 years after receiving post-approval for 
the credit or face recapture of any credits received. The tax credit is available for tax years 2010 through 2019 
[A.R.S. § 43-1083.01 and A.R.S. § 41-1511].  Laws 2012, Chapter 343 extended the credit from 2014 to 2019.  For 
additional information on renewable energy incentives, see Appendix A.  
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Renewable Energy Manufacturing Facility.  A credit is allowed for companies that make substantial investments in 
new facilities that produce renewable energy to be used in a company’s manufacturing processes or for a 
company’s certified “International Operations Center” (IOC).  A company may earn up to $5 million in credits per 
year for up to 5 years for each qualifying renewable energy facility.  Prior to Laws 2015, Chapter 6, only 
manufacturing facilities could qualify for a credit of $1 million per year for each facility, up to 5 years.   
 
The credit program includes different criteria to qualify as a manufacturer than as a certified IOC.  To qualify for 
credits, a manufacturing company must invest a minimum of $300 million within 3 years of applying for the credit 
or by December 31, 2017, whichever is earlier.  Each of a manufacturer’s renewable energy facilities requires at 
least a $30 million investment, production of at least 40,000 megawatt hours of energy annually, and use of at 
least 90% of the energy produced at the facility for self-consumption in the state and for manufacturing.  To qualify 
for the credit, an IOC must invest at least $100 million in renewable energy facilities within 3 years of applying for 
the credit or by December 31, 2018, whichever is earlier.  At least 51% of energy produced by an IOC renewable 
energy facility must be used for self-consumption by the fifth year of operation.  A company’s facility must meet 
additional investment requirements to be certified by the ACA as an International Operations Center [A.R.S. § 41-
1520 and A.R.S. § 43-1083.04].  
 
The credit is not refundable, has an aggregate individual income and corporate income tax cap of $10 million a 
year, and may be carried-forward up to 5 years.  The lifetime limit on tax credits that an IOC may claim is capped at 
$25 million.  This credit cannot be claimed against the same facilities that are used to claim the Renewable Energy 
Production Credit [A.R.S. § 43-1083.02].  For additional information on renewable energy incentives, see Appendix 
A. 
 
Renewable Energy Production.  A credit is allowed on the production of electricity using renewable energy.  To be 
eligible for the credit, a taxpayer must hold title to a qualified energy generator that first produces electricity 
between January 1, 2011 and December 31, 2020.  The new credit allows a qualified producer of renewable energy 
to receive an individual or corporate income tax credit of up to $2 million per year on the electricity they produce 
for 10 years.  Given that a taxpayer may begin earning credits as late as TY 2020, the latest year a credit may be 
earned under a 10-year schedule is TY 2030.  The renewable energy credit has an annual cap of $20 million for 
total individual and corporate income tax credits.  A 5-year carry forward of the credit is allowed [A.R.S. § 43-
1083.02]. This credit cannot be claimed against the same facilities that are used to claim the Renewable 
Manufacturing Facility credit [A.R.S. § 43-1083.04].  For additional information on renewable energy incentives, 
see Appendix A. 
 
Research and Development (R&D).  A taxpayer may take a credit of 20% of qualified research expenses over a 
"base amount" (defined in the Internal Revenue Code) for expenses up to $2.5 million ($500,000 credit), plus 11% 
of expenses over $2.5 million.  Laws 2008, Chapter 290 expands the tax credit in tax years 2010 through 2017 by 
allowing for a larger percentage of qualified R&D expenses to be used to offset an individual’s tax liability.  Laws 
2010, Chapter 312 changes the credit from being nonrefundable to refundable for those companies that employ 
less than 150 full-time employees.  Specifically, the act provides that such taxpayers receive a refund equal to 75% 
of the amount by which the credit exceeds their liability.  The refundable aspect of the credit has an annual cap of 
$5 million cumulatively for the individual and corporate income tax and is effective retroactively from January 1, 
2010.  If in any year less than $5 million of credits are filed collectively by all taxpayers, any unused amount rolls 
over to the next year (for more details, refer to the 2010 tax law changes under Impact of Statutory Changes). 
Laws 2011, 2

nd
 Special Session, Chapter 1 expands the tax credit, beginning in FY 2013, by increasing the credit 

calculation by 10% for university-related research. The credit is subject to an aggregate cap of $10 million per year 
between individual and corporate income taxpayer. A 15-year carry forward of the credit is allowed [A.R.S. § 43-
1074.01]. 
 
School Site Donation Credit.  A credit is allowed in the amount of 30% of the value of real property and 
improvements donated by a taxpayer to a school district or a charter school.  This credit became available January 
1, 2001.  This non-refundable tax credit is allowed to be carried forward for no more than 5 consecutive years 
[A.R.S. § 43-1089.02]. 
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School Tuition S Corporation Credit.  Owners of an S corporation may claim a credit for cash contributions made to 
a school tuition organization (STO) that provides scholarships to “low income” or “displaced or disabled” students.  
Prior to Laws 2015, Chapter 301, only businesses classified as C corporations were allowed to receive income tax 
credits for such contributions, pursuant to A.R.S. § 43-1183 and A.R.S. § 43-1184.  In order to be used for tax 
purposes, an S corporation’s credits must be pro-rated, passed through to the business owners and applied to the 
owners’ individual income tax liability [A.R.S. § 43-1089.04].   
 

The full amount of the low-income tax credit approved by DOR for individual income, corporate income, and 
insurance premium tax credits is capped at $10 million per year, with the cap increasing by 20% per year beginning 
in FY 2008 [A.R.S. § 43-1183].  The credit cap is $61.9 million in FY 2017, $74.3 million in FY 2018, and $89.2 million 
in FY 2019.  There is no cap on the amount of contributions made by individual businesses.  The full amount of the 
displaced or disabled tax credit approved by DOR is capped at $5 million per year [A.R.S. § 43-1184].  A taxpayer 
may carry forward the unused portion of either tax credit for 5 years.  See Appendix B in the Tax Handbook for a 
comparison of private school tax credits. 
 
School Tuition Organizations (STO-1).  A credit may be claimed for donations to a non-governmental primary or 
secondary school tuition organization (STO) that allocates at least 90% of its annual revenue to educational 
scholarships or tuition grants.  Laws 2010, Chapter 293 provides that the maximum amount of the credit be 
adjusted for inflation each year and prohibits taxpayers from swapping donations with others for the benefit of 
their dependents. The maximum credit was $535 for taxpayers filing as single or head of household and $1,070 for 
married couples during TY 2015.  Laws 2010, Chapter 188 allows a donation made between the close of the tax 
year and the individual income tax filing deadline to be applied to either the current or preceding tax year for the 
purpose of claiming the individual income tax credit. A 5-year carry forward of the credit is allowed [A.R.S. § 43-
1089].  See Appendix B in the Tax Handbook for a comparison of private school tax credits. 
 
School Tuition Organizations (STO-2).  Laws 2012, Chapter 4 created a new tax credit for cash contributions to 
school tuition organizations (STO).  The new credit, which is effective retroactively from January 1, 2012, is only 
available if the tax-filer has already claimed the maximum amount under the existing STO tax credit program for 
individuals (see STO-1 above).  The Department of Revenue is required to adjust the maximum credit amount for 
inflation each year.  The maximum credit was $532 for taxpayers filing as single or head of household and $1,1,064 
for married couples during TY 2015.  Scholarship monies generated by the new credit are available only to students 
who either:  (1) attended public school full-time for at least 90 days in the prior year and transferred to private 
school, (2) are the dependent of a member of the armed forces, (3) are entering Kindergarten, or (4) received a 
STO scholarship in the prior year under 1 of the first 3 criteria [A.R.S. § 43-1089.03].  See Appendix B in the Tax 
Handbook for a comparison of private school tax credits. 
 
Small Business (“Angel”) Investment Credit.  This credit is provided to investors that make investments in targeted 
small businesses certified by the ACA.  A qualified (“angel”) investor must be either an individual, or a limited 
liability company, sub-chapter S corporation, or partnership.  C corporations are not eligible for the credit.  The 
credit is equal to 30% of the qualified investment unless the investment is made in a rural or bioscience company, 
in which case the credit is 35%.  The credit must be claimed in installments over 3 years.  Credit is nonrefundable 
and unused amounts can be carried forward up to 3 years. 
 
The angel investment credit is limited to a total of $20 million over the life of the program, from July 1, 2006 
through June 30, 2021.  Taxpayers are allowed to claim authorized credits on their tax returns through TY 2024.  
The Arizona Commerce Authority reports completed certifying the full $20 million of the existing cap in June 2015.  
For an individual investor, the credit is applied to investment amounts of up to $500,000 per calendar year in one 
or more qualified small businesses.  Investment amounts in excess of $500,000 do not generate tax credits.  To 
receive qualified angel investments, a business is neither allowed to engage in activities involving human cloning or 
embryonic stem cell research, nor have assets exceeding $10 million.  Once a qualified business has received a 
total of $2 million in qualified investments, it is no longer allowed to receive credit-eligible angel investments 
[A.R.S. § 43-1074.02]. 
 
Solar Energy Devices for Commercial and Industrial Purposes.  A taxpayer can claim a credit equal to 10% of the 
installed cost of a solar energy device used in their trade or business.  The credit cannot exceed $25,000 for the 
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same building in the same year or $50,000 in total in any year.  The credit is available between tax years 2006 and 
2018.  This income tax credit may be claimed by a taxpayer purchasing a solar energy device, or a taxpayer that 
finances the purchase of a qualifying device.  The credit also may be transferred to a third party that manufactures 
or installs a qualifying device.  This non-refundable tax credit is allowed to be carried forward for no more than 5 
consecutive years [A.R.S. § 43-1085].  For additional information on renewable energy incentives, see Appendix A. 
Solar Energy Devices for Residential Purposes.  A taxpayer may claim 25% of the purchase price for a qualified solar 
energy device installed in the taxpayer’s residence located in Arizona.  The maximum credit is $1,000 per year and 
$1,000 in aggregate for the same residence.  This non-refundable tax credit is allowed to be carried forward for no 
more than 5 consecutive years [A.R.S. § 43-1083].  For additional information on renewable energy incentives, see 
Appendix A. 
 
Solar Hot Water Heater Stub-Outs and Electric Vehicle Recharge Outlets.  A taxpayer may take a credit up to $75 
for installing solar hot water plumbing stub-outs or electric vehicle recharge outlets in home dwellings built by the 
taxpayer.  This non-refundable tax credit is allowed to be carried forward for no more than 5 consecutive years 
[A.R.S. § 43-1090].  For additional information on renewable energy incentives, see Appendix A. 
  
Solar Liquid Fuel.  A taxpayer may take a tax credit for research and development, production, and delivery system 
costs associated with solar liquid fuel for tax years 2011 through 2026.  Between tax years 2011 and 2021, a 
taxpayer may take a credit for increased research and development related to solar liquid fuel of 40% of qualified 
research expenses within the state over a "base amount" (defined in the Internal Revenue Code).  Between tax 
years 2016 through 2026, a taxpayer may take a credit for production of solar liquid fuel equal to:  1) $0.11 per 
100,000 British thermal units (BTUs) of fuel produced in the state during the tax year for the production of solar 
liquid fuel in commercial quantities; and 2) 30% of the cost of converting or modifying an existing motor vehicle 
fuel service station for the retail sale of solar liquid fuel to customers.  The latter portion of the credit is limited to 
$20,000 per taxable year per service station [A.R.S. § 43-1085.01].  Taxpayers who use the research and 
development tax credit are prohibited from also taking a tax credit against the same research and development if 
it is associated with solar liquid fuel.  For additional information on renewable energy incentives, see Appendix A. 
 
TANF Employment.  A credit that is allowed for net increases in qualified employment of recipients of temporary 
assistance for needy families (TANF) residing in Arizona.  The credit is in lieu of any wage expense deduction taken 
for tax purposes.  This non-refundable tax credit is allowed to be carried forward for no more than 5 consecutive 
years [A.R.S. § 43-1087]. 
 
Taxes Paid to Other States.  Subject to certain conditions, residents are allowed a credit for income taxes paid to 
another state or country [A.R.S. § 43-1071].   
 
Water Conservation Systems.  The credit was for the installation of water conservation systems to encourage the 
re-use of “graywater,” or waste water for irrigation purposes. The credit was equal to 25% of the cost of the water 
conservation system up to a maximum of $1,000. The maximum aggregate amount that could be claimed in a 
taxable year was $250,000.  This non-refundable tax credit was effective for tax years 2007 through 2011.  Though 
new credits may not be earned after tax year 2011, previously earned credits may be carried forward up to 5 years 
and used no later than tax year 2016. 
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TAX COMPUTATION 
 
The amount of individual income tax due (or owed) for individuals, partnerships, and fiduciaries are computed as 
follows: 
 
Individuals: 
 

Arizona Gross Income  Equivalent to taxpayer's federal adjusted gross income.  Includes a taxpayer’s 

capital gain or loss. 
 Plus 
 

Additions to Income  See A.R.S. § 43-1021 for amounts not taxed under federal income tax laws, 

 Minus  but subject to Arizona income tax. 
 

Subtractions from Income  See A.R.S. § 43-1022 for amounts taxed under federal income tax laws, but 

 Minus  not subject to Arizona income tax. 
 

Exemptions  See A.R.S. § 43-1023 for exemptions:  (1) $1,500 for blind taxpayer and/or  

 Equals  spouse (2) $2,300 for taxpayer and/or spouse who is age 65 or over, (3)  
   $2,300 for each dependent, (4) $2,300 for stillborn child, and (5) $10,000 for 
   qualifying parents and ancestors of parents. 
 

Arizona Adjusted Gross Income  

 Minus  
  

Standard or Itemized Deductions See A.R.S. § 43-1041 and 43-1042: Standard deduction is $5,091 for single or 

 Minus married filing separately and $10,173 for married filing jointly or unmarried 
head of household.  Itemized deductions are the same as on the federal 
income tax return.  Beginning in tax year 2005, the standard deduction is 
adjusted for inflation each year. 

 

Personal Exemptions See A.R.S. § 43-1043: (1) single or married filing separately - $2,100 (2)  

 Equals married filing jointly - $4,200 (3) unmarried head of household - $4,200 (4) a  
  married couple filing a joint return and claiming at least one dependent -  
  $6,300.   

Taxable Income 

 Multiply By 
 

Tax Rates  See Tax Rate Section. 

 Equals 
 

Tax Liability 

 Minus 
 

Tax Credits  See Tax Credits Section. 

 Minus 
 

Tax Payments Withholding, estimated, and extension payments made to the Department of  

 Equals Revenue. 
 

Tax Due This can also be an overpayment; in which case, taxpayer will be entitled to  

  tax refund. 
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Partnerships: 
 

Arizona Gross Income Equivalent to federal ordinary business and rental income for the year,  

 Add excluding (1) items requiring a separate computation under A.R.S. § 43-1412, 
paragraph 1 through 17 and (2) the federal provisions relating to interest on 
investment indebtedness. 

 

Addition to Income See A.R.S. § 43-1021 for amounts not taxed under federal income tax laws,  

 Minus but subject to Arizona income tax. 
 

Subtractions from Income See A.R.S. § 43-1022 for amounts taxed under federal income tax laws, but  

 Equals not subject to Arizona income tax. 
 

Arizona Taxable Income This is mainly for filing and reporting purposes.  The taxable income of a  

 Calculate partnership is passed through to individuals in the partnership who are then  
  taxed through the individual income tax on their distributed portion of the 

income. 
 

Apportionment Ratio Only for multi-state partnerships to determine Arizona's share of income and 

deductions.  Uses a 3-part apportionment formula of property, payroll and 
sales.  See A.R.S. § 43-1131 through A.R.S. § 43-1150. 

   
Fiduciaries: 
 

Arizona Gross Income Equivalent to federal taxable income of estates or trusts. Income is taxable 

Add based on the residence of the decedent for an estate and the residence 
   of the fiduciary or the beneficiary for a trust.  See A.R.S. § 43-1301. 
   

Additions to Income See A.R.S. § 43-1331 for a list of additions which also include those items  

 Minus listed for individuals under A.R.S. § 43-1021. 
 

Subtractions from Income See A.R.S. § 43-1332 for a list of subtractions which also include those items  

 Equals listed for individuals under A.R.S. § 43-1022. 
 

Arizona Taxable Income 

 Multiply By 
 

Individual Tax Rates  See Tax Rate Section. 

 Equals 
 

Tax Liability 

 Minus 
 

Individual Tax Credits  See Tax Credits Section. 

 Minus 
 

Tax Payments 

 Equals 
 

Tax Due 
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PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
Withholding.  To simplify payment of the individual income tax, a portion of the tax is paid through a system of 
withholding.  Under Arizona law, a percentage of taxable wages is deducted and withheld by the employer for 
state income tax purposes at the time wages are paid [A.R.S. § 43-401].  
 
Withholding of state income tax is determined based on withholding tables established by the Department of 
Revenue.  Under this withholding table, an employee’s state withholding is calculated as a percentage of their 
gross taxable wages.  The withholding percentages effective since January 1, 2011 are as follows: 0.8%, 1.3%, 1.8%, 
2.7%, 3.6%, 4.2%, or 5.1% of gross taxable wages. Additionally, employees can also choose to have their employer 
withhold an extra amount from each paycheck. 
 
Employers have the option to not withhold income tax during the month of December.  If an employer elects to 
not withhold tax in December, he is required to notify the Department of Revenue and his employees of this 
decision.   
 
An individual income taxpayer may authorize his employer to reduce his withholding amount in order to make 
contributions to a school tuition organization, charitable organization or public school. 
 
Exclusions.  Certain types of employment are exempt from the withholding requirements (see A.R.S. § 43-403 for a 
complete list).  
 
Disposition.  Employers who deduct withholding from their employees' wages are required to transfer the 
withholding collections to DOR.  If an employer's withholding collections exceeded an average of $1,500 per 
quarter over the 4 preceding calendar quarters, the employer must forward withholding collections to the state in 
accordance with the federal payment schedule.  For employers whose withholding collections did not exceed an 
average of $1,500 per quarter over the 4 preceding calendar quarters, the withholding collections for the previous 
calendar quarter must be transferred to DOR on or before April 30, July 31, October 31, and January 31. 
 
Estimated Tax Payments.  A taxpayer whose Arizona gross income was greater than $75,000 (or $150,000 if the 
taxpayer filed a joint return) in the preceding taxable year or can reasonably expect to exceed $75,000 (or 
$150,000 if the taxpayer files a joint return) in the current year, must make estimated payments, if estimated 
withholding for the tax year does not equal 90% of the tax liability for the current year or 100% of the liability for 
the preceding year [A.R.S. § 43-581].   
 
The estimated amount shall be paid in 4 installments on or before the due dates established for federal filing and 
reasonably reflect the taxpayer's Arizona income tax liability.  The total of annual estimated tax payments and 
withholding tax must be at least 90% of the tax liability for the current year or 100% of tax liability for the 
preceding year. 
 
If a taxpayer does not pay the required estimated tax payments, DOR will assess a penalty not exceeding 10% of 
the unpaid tax plus interest on the unpaid balance. 
 
Voluntary Payments.  All other taxpayers may voluntarily make estimated tax payments during the tax year. 
 
Payment of Balance.  The taxpayer is required to pay the balance of the tax due on April 15 after the close of the 
calendar year or, if return is based on a fiscal year, on the 15th day of the fourth month following the close of the 
fiscal year.  An income tax return is required to be filed with DOR along with the tax payment [A.R.S. § 43-501]. 
 
Extensions.  If requested, the department will grant a taxpayer an automatic 6-month filing extension [A.R.S. § 42-
1107].  Note, however, that a filing extension does not extend the taxpayer’s time to pay his income tax.  The 
taxpayer is still required to pay at least 90% of his tax liability by the original due date of the return.  The 
department charges interest from the original due date to the date of payment.  The department also imposes 
penalties as explained below.  
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Extension Underpayment Penalty.  When applying for an extension, at least 90% of the tax liability must be paid by 
the original due date or the taxpayer is subject to a penalty of 0.5% of the unpaid balance for each 30 days or 
fraction thereof.  This penalty cannot exceed 25% of the unpaid tax [A.R.S. § 42-1125]. 
 
Late Filing Penalty.  This penalty is 4.5% of the tax required to be shown on the return for each month or fraction 
thereof the return is late.  The penalty cannot exceed 25% of the unpaid tax [A.R.S. § 42-1125].    
 
Late Payment Penalty.  This penalty is 0.5% of the amount shown as tax for each month or fraction thereof for 
which the failure to pay tax continues.  This penalty cannot exceed a total of 10% of the tax [A.R.S. § 42-1125]. 
 

TAX EXPENDITURES 
 

DOR is required by law to prepare an annual report to the Governor and the Legislature detailing the estimated 
cost in lost revenues from the provision of tax expenditures [A.R.S. §42-1005].  Tax expenditures are provisions 
within the law, such as subtractions, exemptions, deductions and credits that are designed to encourage certain 
kinds of activity or to aid taxpayers in certain categories.  Tax expenditures result in a loss of tax revenues for both 
state and local governments. 
 

Based on the most recent report, the state collected about $3.1 billion in resident individual income taxes in tax 
year 2012.  However, according to DOR, the state allows subtractions, exemptions, deductions, and credits worth 
as much as $2.13 billion during a tax year.  Table 11 lists individual income tax subtractions, exemptions and 
deductions for tax year 2012, as shown in DOR’s report The Revenue Impact of Arizona’s Tax Expenditures FY 
2013/14.  Laws 2015, Chapter 8 and Laws 2016, Chapter 125 requires DOR to report by September 30 each year on 
the amounts of individual income tax credits claimed in the preceding fiscal year.  Table 12 lists credits reported by 
DOR for FY 2015.  The total annual tax expenditure estimate of $2.13 billion, which was derived from DOR’s 
Individual Income Tax Simulation Model and FY 2015 tax credit report, represents foregone revenues to the state 
General Fund and to the Urban Revenue Sharing Fund.   
 
In addition to tax expenditure provisions, the state permits individual and corporate income tax filers to accelerate 
depreciation of certain qualified asset purchases, for purposes of calculating state income tax liability.  The 
Accelerated Depreciation section within this Individual Income Tax section includes more details on these 
allowances. 
 
ACCELERATED DEPRECIATION ALLOWANCES 
 
The Internal Revenue Code (IRC) allows individual and corporate income tax filers to accelerate depreciation of 
qualified asset purchases under multiple programs for purposes of calculating federal taxable income.  Though 
historically authorized on an annual basis, these accelerations have recently been made permanent or extended 
several years.  For purposes of calculating state taxable income, the state’s individual and corporate income tax 
statutes have varied with regard to conforming to the federal business expensing allowance and the federal bonus 
depreciation allowance.  Based on the amount of federal allowance available in a given tax year, tax filers are able 
to use these provisions, potentially together, to reduce their federal and state taxable income in the tax year that 
the qualified investment is made.  Allowances adjust the timing, not the total amount, of depreciation that can be 
taken over the life of an asset. 
 
Business Expensing 
Section 179 of the IRC is a federal business expensing provision that allows individual and corporate tax filers to 
deduct 100% of their qualified property (up to a stipulated amount) in the year of purchase rather than in smaller 
installments over several years according to a federal depreciation schedule.  The maximum business expensing 
deduction cannot exceed a filer’s federal taxable income and is reduced, dollar for dollar, for investment exceeding 
a certain threshold. Qualified property generally includes purchase of new or used commercial machinery, 
equipment, and certain types of software. 
 
Congress gradually increased the business expensing allowance on a temporary basis, from an amount of $24,000 
in TY 2002 to $500,000 in TY 2010 through TY 2014.  The $500,000 allowance available from TY 2010 through TY 
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2014 is reduced dollar for dollar, for investment exceeding $2 million.  Prior to TY 2013, Arizona capped the 
allowance at $25,000 (Laws 2004, Chapter 196) for purposes of calculating Arizona income tax liability for 
individuals and corporations.  Laws 2013, Chapter 256 first conformed the state’s tax statutes to the IRC’s 
$500,000 business expensing federal deduction limit that was in place at the time of passage.  Therefore, Chapter 
256 effectively removed the $25,000 cap.  Laws 2015, Chapter 227 conformed Arizona tax statutes to the 
temporary federal allowance of $500,000 in TY 2014, which reduced annual revenues by an estimated $(30.8) 
million in FY 2015 and later years (see 2015 Tax Handbook, page 49 for detail about past conformity estimates). 
 
The federal Consolidated Appropriations Act of 2016 made permanent the $500,000 business expensing 
allowance, beginning retroactively to TY 2015.  Laws 2016, Chapter 155 conformed the state’s tax statutes to the 
IRC’s permanent expensing limit.  There is no added revenue loss from conforming to the permanent limit, as the 
previous estimated impact of $(30.8) million a year assumed the continuation of the $500,000 limit in future years. 
 
Bonus Depreciation 
Federal bonus depreciation provides individual and corporate tax filers an added first-year depreciation allowance 
for purchases of qualified new property.  Therefore, after deducting any bonus depreciation in the first year of an 
investment, the remaining value of the asset may be depreciated according to the percentages in federal 
depreciation schedules.   
 
Congress established a temporary 30% bonus depreciation allowance in TY 2002 and eventually increased the limit 
to 50% in TY 2013 and TY 2014.  Prior to TY 2013, Arizona tax statutes did not conform to the federal allowance for 
purposes of calculating state income tax liability (Laws 2002, Chapter 344 and Laws 2004, Chapter 196).  Beginning 
in TY 2014, Laws 2012, Chapter 343 permitted individual income taxpayers to reduce their state taxable income by 
an amount equal to 10% of the federal allowance, if any.  Arizona taxpayers were first able to take the partial 
allowance in TY 2014 on property placed in service in TY 2013 (10% of the 50% federal allowance in TY 2013).  
Conforming to 10% of the temporary allowance of 50% in TY 2014 (Laws 2015, Chapter 227) was estimated to 
reduce annual revenues by $(1.8) million in FY 2015 and later years. 
 
The federal Consolidated Appropriations Act of 2016 extended federal bonus depreciation, providing allowances of 
50% in TY 2015 through TY 2017, 40% in TY 2018, and 30% in TY 2019.  Laws 2016, Chapter 118 conformed the 
state’s deduction to 55% of the federal allowance in TY 2016 and 100% in TY 2017 and subsequent years.  
Therefore, under Chapter 118, the state individual income tax deduction is 27.5% (55% of 50% federal allowance) 
of the qualified investment amount in TY 2016, 50% (100% of 50% federal allowance) in TY 2017, 40% (100% of 
40% federal allowance) in TY 2018, and 30% (100% of 30% federal allowance) in TY 2019. The 2-year phase-in of 
full state conformity of federal bonus depreciation is estimated to reduce individual income tax by $(8.0) million in 
FY 2017, followed by an additional reduction of $(8.0) million in FY 2018.   
 
The primary differences between bonus depreciation and business expensing are that bonus depreciation: (1) is 
only available for new property investments; (2) does not include an investment limitation for determining the 
deduction amount; (3) can be used to create a net operating loss that can be carried forward to future years; and 
(4) for purposes of calculating Arizona income tax liability, may only be used by individual taxpayers. 
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Table 11 

 DOLLAR VALUE OF FY 2013 INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX  
SUBTRACTIONS, EXEMPTIONS AND DEDUCTIONS 

  
FEDERAL SUBTRACTIONS FROM INCOME: Tax Year 2012 
Certain business expenses of reservists, performing artists, etc. 89,000 
Health savings account deduction 3,077,000 
Moving expenses  1,283,000 
One-half of self-employment tax 13,676,000 
Self-employed SEP and SIMPLE deduction 14,599,000 
Self-employed health insurance deduction 13,924,000 
Penalty on early withdrawal of savings 11,000 
Alimony paid 4,566,000 
Individual Retirement Account for Qualifying Individuals 4,693,000 
Student Loan Interest Deduction 3,154,000 
Tuition and fees deduction 1,431,000 
Domestic Production Activities 5,338,000 
Educator Expenses    421,000 
Total Value of Federal Subtractions from Income $66,626,000 
 
EXEMPTIONS: 

 

Personal Exemptions $235,592,000 
Preferential Personal Exemption for Unmarried Head of Household 15,036,000 
Preferential Personal Exemption for Married Filers with One or More Dependents 30,442,000 
Age 65 or over Exemptions 24,800,000 
Dependent Exemptions 106,399,000 
Blind Exemptions 96,000 
Qualifying Parent or Ancestor Exemption     2,850,000 
Total Value of Exemptions $386,766,000 
  
SUBTRACTIONS FROM INCOME:  

Interest on U.S. Obligations $3,451,000 
Exclusion for Federal, State, and Local Pensions 10,297,000 
Exempt State Lottery Winnings 204,000 
Social Security or Railroad Retirement Benefits Included on Federal Form 1040 131,175,000 
Bonus Depreciation Adjustment 53,075,000 
Certain Wages of Native Americans 10,500,000 
Income Tax Refunds from Other States 578,000 
Deposits and Employee Contributions into Medical Savings Accounts 1,000 
Adjustment for IRC Section 179 Not Allowed 10,242,000 
Active Duty Military Pay 19,732,000 
Net Operating Loss Adjustment 753,000 
Other Subtractions   9,694,000 
Total Value of Subtractions $251,948,000 
  
DEDUCTIONS:  
Standard Deduction $272,740,000 
Preferential Standard Deduction for Unmarried Head of Household 26,804,000 
Itemized Deductions:  
Medical and Dental Expenses 135,332,000 
Additional Medical Allowed on Arizona Return 87,582,000 
Taxes Paid:  
State and Local Income Taxes 129,673,000 
Real Estate Taxes 64,204,000 
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Personal Property and Other Taxes 11,059,000 
Total Value of Taxes Paid Deduction $203,500,000 
Interest Expense:  
Home Mortgage Interest and Points 227,375,000 
Mortgage Interest not on Form 1098 3,422,000 
Points not on Form 1098 1,912,000 
Qualified Mortgage Insurance Premiums 3,401,000 
Deductible Investment Interest 9,270,000 
Total Value of Interest Expense $244,048,000 
  
Charitable Contributions:  
Cash Contributions 87,724,000 
Contributions Other Than Cash 21,453,000 
Carryover From Prior Year 3,695,000 
Total Value of Charitable Contributions $113,400,000 
  
Casualty or Theft Losses 25,000 
Job Expenses and most Other Miscellaneous Deductions 51,788,000 
Nonlimited Miscellaneous Deductions    19,985,000 
Total Value of Itemized Deductions $583,318,000 
  
Total Value of Standard and Itemized Deductions $1,104,219,000 
  
Total Value of Subtractions, Exemptions and Deductions $1,809,559,000 
  
____________ 

 

SOURCE:  Department of Revenue Report – The Revenue Impact of Arizona’s Tax Expenditures FY 2013/14. 
 

 
 
Table 12 

   FY 2015 INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX CREDITS 
 

    CREDITS:   Effective Tax Years Annual Cost 
1/2/

 
Agricultural Pollution Control Equipment   1999 - $0 
Agricultural Water Conservation System  1994 - 1,103,900 
Commercial and Industrial Solar  2006 - 2018 194,800 
Contributions to Qualifying Charitable Organizations  1998 -  29,553,100 
Donations to the Military Family Relief Fund  2009 - 2018 857,100 
Employing National Guard  2006 - 0 
Employment of TANF Recipients  1998 - 0 
Enterprise Zone 

3/
  1990 - 2011 119,400 

Environmental Technology  1993 - 0 
Facility Credit  2013 - 2022 0 
Family Tax  1996 - 4,615,400 
Health Insurance Plans  2012 - 2014 29,000 
Healthy Forest Enterprise  2005 - 2024 0 
Investment in Qualified Small Businesses  2007 - 2024 844,900 
Low-Income Credit for Proposition 301 Taxes 

4/
  2001 - 32,415,700 

Military Reuse Zone  1993 - 0 
Motion Picture Production and Infrastructure 

5/
  2006 - 2010 0 

New Employment 
6/

  2011 - 2021 0 
Pollution Control Device  1995 - 0 
Property Tax  1975 - 7,382,300 
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Public School Extra Curricular Activity Fee  1998 - 40,061,100 
Recycling Equipment 

7/
  1993 - 2002 0 

Renewable Energy Investment 
8/

  2010 - 2019 0 
Renewable Energy Manufacturing Facility 

9/
  2014 - 2025 0 

Renewable Energy Production 
9/

  2011 - 2030 0 
Research and Development - Nonrefundable 

10/
  2001 -  5,474,900 

Research and Development - Refundable   2010 -  220,000 
Research and Development – University Research 

11/
  2012 - 0 

School Site Donation  2001 -  50,300 
School Tuition S Corporation  2015- N/A 
School Tuition Organizations (Original)   1998 - 57,129,400 
School Tuition Organizations (Switcher)   2012 - 25,789,900 
Solar Energy Device  1995 -  4,049,600 
Solar Liquid Fuel  2011 - 2021                0 
Solar Water Heater Plumbing Stub Outs and Electric    
       Vehicle Recharge Outlets 

 1998 -  13,500 

Taxes Paid to Other States or Countries 
12/

  1935 -  113,948,500 
Water Conservation Systems 

13/
  2007 - 2011           ____0 

Total Value of Credits   $323,852,700 
    
TOTAL VALUE OF INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX EXPENDITURES 

14/
 $2,133,411,700 

    
____________ 
1/ Amounts represent credits claimed in FY 2015. 
2/ “N/A” denotes that credit data is not yet available from DOR. 
3/ Credit was effective through TY 2011, but earned credits have a 5-year carry forward. 
4/ Credit is subject to the 1998 Voter Protection Act (Proposition 105). 
5/ Credit was effective through TY 2010, but earned credits have a 5-year carry forward. 
6/ Statute does not permit the Arizona Commerce Authority to authorize new credits after June 30, 2017.  

Given a maximum 5-year schedule, the credit may not be claimed after TY 2021.  
7/ Credit was effective through TY 2002, but earned credits have a 15-year carry forward. 
8/ Credit is capped at $70 million annually between corporate and individual income taxpayers. 
9/ Credit is capped at $10 million annually between corporate and individual income taxpayers. 
10/ Credit is capped at $5 million annually between corporate and individual income taxpayers. 
11/ Credit is capped at $10 million annually between corporate and individual income taxpayers. 
12/ Credit prevents double-taxation of income. 
13/ Credit was effective through TY 2011, but earned credits have a 5-year carry forward. 
14/ Amount represents the sum of total tax expenditures from subtractions, exemptions, and deductions in 

Table 11 and credits in Table 12. 
 
SOURCES:  Department of Revenue report to the Legislature on the amount of individual income tax credits 
claimed in FY 2015. 

 
 
IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2010. 
 
2016 LAWS 
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 35 requires the state to withhold distributions of Urban Revenue Sharing Fund (URS) monies 
from cities or towns that the Attorney General finds are violating the Arizona Constitution or state laws.  Cities and 
towns receive annual distributions from the URS that total 15% of individual and corporate income tax collections 
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from 2 years prior.  Under Chapter 35, the URS share of any offending locality will be redistributed to the 
remaining recipients.  The state would continue to withhold URS distributions until the Attorney General certifies 
that the city or town is no longer in violation of the Arizona Constitution and state laws.  The shared revenue 
would not be withheld, though, if doing so would leave the city or town with insufficient funding to service their 
long-term debt obligations.  (Effective from August 6, 2016) 
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 109 increases the maximum amount that an individual income taxpayer is allowed to claim for 
cash contributions to qualifying charitable organizations (QCO) and qualifying foster care charitable organizations 
(QFCO).  Chapter 109 increases the maximum QCO credit from $400 to $800 for married couples filing joint returns 
and from $200 to $400 for all other filers.  The maximum amount for the QFCO credit is increased from $800 to 
$1,000 for married couples filing joint returns and from $400 to $500 for all other filers.  Additionally, Chapter 109 
allows a taxpayer to receive separate credits for cash contributions to a QCO and a QFCO.  Prior to Chapter 109, 
the maximum amount for both credits combined was $800 for married couples filing joint returns and $400 for all 
other filers.  This provision is estimated to reduce General Fund revenue by $(11.0) million annually, beginning in 
FY 2017. (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2016) 
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 118 conforms the state’s individual income tax bonus depreciation deduction to 55% of the 
federal allowance in TY 2016 and 100% in TY 2017 and subsequent years.  Laws 2012, Chapter 343 provided an 
individual income tax deduction equal to 10% of the bonus depreciation allowance claimed on federal returns for 
qualified property purchased and placed in service in 2013 and later. Current federal law provides a bonus 
depreciation allowance of 50% through TY 2017, 40% in TY 2018, and 30% in TY 2019.  Therefore, under Chapter 
118, the state individual income tax deduction is 27.5% (55% of 50% federal allowance) of the qualified investment 
amount in TY 2016, 50% (100% of 50% federal allowance) in TY 2017, 40% (100% of 40% federal allowance) in TY 
2018, and 30% (100% of 30% federal allowance) in TY 2019.  The 2-year phase-in of full state conformity to federal 
bonus depreciation is estimated to reduce individual income tax by $(8.0) million in FY 2017, followed by an 
additional reduction of $(8.0) million in FY 2018.  (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2016) 
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 155 was the annual conformity bill that updated the definition of the Internal Revenue Code 
(IRC) to include all IRC provisions that were in effect as of January 1, 2016.  The federal Consolidated 
Appropriations Act of 2016 authorized a permanent business expensing limit of $500,000, retroactively to TY 2015.  
A primary implication of Chapter 155 was conformity of the state’s tax statutes to the permanent business 
expensing limit of $500,000.  There is no added revenue loss from conforming to the permanent limit, as the 
previous estimated impact of $(30.8) million a year assumed the continuation of the $500,000 limit in future years.  
The Accelerated Depreciation Allowances section includes more details on the business expensing allowance.  
(Effective retroactive from January 1, 2016) 
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 156 was a correction bill that made technical and clarification changes to the Arizona Revised 
Statutes.  (Effective from August 6, 2016) 
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 214 requires the state to implement tax-exempt Achieving a Better Life Experience (ABLE) 
savings accounts that can be used to fund qualified expenses of disabled beneficiaries.  Qualified expenses may 
include costs of the disabled individual’s housing, transportation, employment training, and other needs.  Under 
Section 529 of the federal IRC, earnings generated from contributions to the accounts are allowed to grow tax-
free. The same tax advantage applies to state income tax since federal adjusted gross income is the starting point 
for determining Arizona income tax liability.  Chapter 214 also permits taxpayers a subtraction of account earnings 
if the individual did not already exclude the income when calculating federal adjusted gross income.  Individuals 
have the option of opening an account outside of their state of residence.  (Effective retroactively from January 1, 
2016) 
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 216 allows fees and contributions that fund cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) training for 
public high school students to qualify for the existing public school extracurricular activity fee income tax credit.  
The legislation also requires public schools to provide at least 1 training to each high school student from January 
1, 2016 to July 1, 2019.  The maximum credit remains $200 for taxpayers filing as single or head of household and 
$400 for those filing as married couples.  (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2016) 
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Laws 2016, Chapter 258 is an emergency measure that amends current statutes with respect to the method by 
which state-shared revenues are apportioned among counties and municipalities, as described below.   
 
Under current law, state-shared revenue is distributed to an incorporated city or town based on its population 
count as of the last federal decennial census [A.R.S. § 42-5029(I)].  During the fifth year following the decennial 
census, a city/town may contract with the U.S. Census Bureau to conduct a special census of the population of that 
municipality.  Beginning July 1 in the sixth year following the decennial census, the special census must be used as 
the basis for apportioning state-shared revenue to that municipality until the next federal decennial census [A.R.S. 
§ 42-5033].       
 
For purposes of apportioning state-shared revenue, Laws 2016, Chapter 258 provides a city/town the option to use 
either the population count from the special census or the most recent population estimate from the U.S. Census 
Bureau.  However, Chapter 258 provides that the population count from the special census be used for only 1 year.  
Beginning on July 1 in the second year following the special census, a city/town must use the most recent 
population estimate from the U.S. Census Bureau.  If a special census is not conducted, Chapter 258 requires a 
city/town to use the most recent population estimate from the U.S. Census Bureau beginning on July 1 in the 
second year following the decennial census through June 30 of the year following the next decennial census. 
(Effective by emergency measure, from May 17, 2016) 
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 309 provides that cash contributions to charitable organizations made on or before April 15

th
 

for purposes of claiming the charitable tax credit can be applied to either the current or preceding taxable year.  
This provision is estimated to reduce General Fund revenue by $(1.7) million annually, beginning in FY 2017. 
(Effective retroactively from January 1, 2016) 
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 372 expands the facility tax credit by reducing investment and employee compensation 
requirements that taxpayers must meet.  The credit is 10% of the lesser of:  (1) the taxpayer’s total capital 
investment in a qualified facility or (2) $200,000 for each net new employee at the qualified facility.  Chapter 372 
expands the definition of an investment to include development costs of build-to-suit facilities that are leased to 
the taxpayer.  The legislation additionally reduces the portion of employee health insurance that employers must 
pay (from 80% to 65% of premiums) and lowers the minimum wage that rural businesses must pay a majority of 
their employees (from 125% to 100% of the median state wage).  The bill extends the final year the credit may be 
approved from TY 2019 to TY 2022.  (Effective from August 6, 2016) 
 
2015 LAWS 
 
Laws 2015, Chapter 6 expands the renewable energy manufacturing facility credit to investments in facilities 
certified by the ACA as an “International Operations Center” (IOC) and increases the annual credit amount.  Laws 
2014, Chapter 8 provides an individual and corporate income tax credit for investments in new renewable energy 
facilities that produce energy that is used for self-consumption if the power is used primarily in manufacturing 
operations.  Under Laws 2015, Chapter 6, the requirements to qualify for the credit are lower for an IOC than a 
manufacturer.  Chapter 6 increases the credit amount from $1 million to $5 million per year (for 5 years) for each 
qualifying renewable energy facility.  For additional information on the renewable energy manufacturing facility 
credit, see Appendix A in the Tax Handbook. (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2015) 
 
Laws 2015, Chapter 12 reduces the annual amount of withholding tax collections that are deposited to the job 
creation withholding clearing account, from $31.5 million in FY 2015 to $26.5 million in FY 2016 and $21.5 million 
in subsequent years.  Money in the job creation clearing account is ultimately used to fund operating costs of the 
ACA and for grants to attract, expand or retain business.  (Effective from July 3, 2015) 
 
Laws 2015, Chapter 47 expands the public school extracurricular activity fee credit to contributions for 
standardized tests for college credit and readiness, testing preparation courses and career and technical 
assessments at public schools.  Prior to this legislation, a credit could only be claimed for contributions to 
extracurricular activities and character education programs at public schools.  The maximum credit is $200 for 
taxpayers filing as single or head of household and $400 for those filing as married couples.  The legislation does 
not have an estimated fiscal impact.  (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2015) 
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Laws 2015, Chapter 91 makes inflation indexing of the tax brackets permanent, beginning in TY 2016.  Tax year 
brackets will be adjusted for inflation in the prior calendar year, as measured by the Metropolitan Phoenix 
Consumer Price Index.  Laws 2014, Chapter 10 had provided a one-time inflation adjustment for TY 2015, which 
was estimated to result in a one-time revenue loss of $(6.1) million in FY 2016.  The revenue reduction under 
Chapter 91 is estimated to be an additional $(9.3) million in FY 2017, followed by another $(9.3) million reduction 
in FY 2018.  (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2015) 
 
Laws 2015, Chapter 208 repeals the National Guard Relief Fund and the option for a taxpayer to designate an 
amount of their income tax refund as a voluntary contribution to the fund.  The legislation transfers the remaining 
balance in the fund to the Department of Veterans’ Services to be and used in providing financial assistance to 
Arizona National Guard members and their families.  (Effective from July 3, 2015) 
 
Laws 2015, Chapter 217 allows public school extracurricular activity fee credits that are earned for qualifying 
contributions made by the fifteenth day of the fourth month of a tax year to be applied to either the current or 
preceding tax year.  (Effective from July 3, 2015) 
 
Laws 2015, Chapter 227 conforms Arizona tax statutes to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1, 2015, 
including federal provisions that became effective in 2014, but excluding any change to the IRC after January 1, 
2015. In December 2014, the federal Tax Increase Prevention Act of 2014 was signed into law, which retroactively 
extended a number of expiring federal tax provisions for one more year, through TY 2014.  One provision under 
the act allows individual and corporate taxpayers to take a tax deduction of up to $500,000 for qualifying business 
investments purchased and placed in service in 2014.  Absent the federal tax extension, the business expensing 
limit would have reverted to $25,000 for TY 2014.  By conforming to the $500,000 federal business expensing 
allowance, Chapter 227 is estimated to result in a $(30.8) million reduction in General Fund revenue, beginning in 
FY 2015.  For more information on conformity to federal business expensing and bonus depreciation allowances 
under Laws 2015, Chapter 227, see page 49 of the 2015 Tax Handbook.  
 
Laws 2015, Chapter 250 expands the foster care charitable contributions tax credit to include donations made to 
qualifying charitable organizations that provide services to under-21-year-old former foster youth in the 
transitional independent living program. The foster care tax credit allows individuals to claim up to $400 annually, 
or $800 for a joint return, for donations to qualifying charities dollar-for-dollar against the state individual income 
tax.  The bill is estimated to reduce revenue annually by $(40,000), beginning in FY 2016.  (Effective from July 3, 
2015) 
 
Laws 2015, Chapter 301 allows an S corporation to receive an income tax credit for cash contributions made to a 
STO that provides scholarships to “low income” or “displaced or disabled” students.  Prior to Chapter 301, only 
businesses classified as C corporations were allowed to receive credits for such contributions.  For tax purposes, 
credits earned by an S corporation must be pro-rated, passed through to the business owners and applied to each 
owner’s individual income tax liability.  Chapter 301 is not expected to have any additional revenue impact since 
existing caps on tax credit-eligible contributions for scholarships to low-income or displaced/disabled students are 
already fully utilized.  For additional information on school tuition tax credits, see Appendix B in the Tax Handbook.    
(Effective retroactively from January 1, 2015) 
 
2014 LAWS 
 
Laws 2014, Chapter 8 creates a new individual and corporate income tax credit for any company that makes an 
investment of at least $300 million in a new renewable energy facility that produces energy that is primarily used 
in Arizona for the company’s own manufacturing processes. The credit has an aggregate individual and corporate 
income tax cap of $10 million a year.  While the credit can be taken in FY 2015, it is anticipated that the credit will 
not be used until FY 2016.  The credit is estimated to reduce General Fund revenues by $(10) million, beginning in 
FY 2016.  (Effective from July 24, 2014) 
 
Laws 2014, Chapter 10 requires DOR to adjust Arizona’s taxable individual income brackets one time in TY 2015 for 
prior year price increases measured by the Phoenix Consumer Price Index (CPI).  This adjustment would prevent 
inflation-based increases in income from being taxed at the higher marginal rate of a successive bracket. Brackets 
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will not be decreased if the CPI decreases. The act requires DOR to reduce brackets in TY 2016 to remove the TY 
2015 inflation adjustment.  
 
Laws 2014, Chapter 43 permits non-resident taxpayers to exclude, from their non-resident individual income tax 
liability, any wages earned while participating in disaster recovery efforts in Arizona.  (Effective from January 1, 
2015) 
 
Laws 2014, Chapter 68 requires individual taxpayers to provide the Department of Revenue a valid social security 
number (SSN) to claim the Proposition 301 Sales Tax Credit, otherwise known as the Increased Excise Taxes Paid 
Credit (IETC). An individual income tax filer can claim a $25 credit to offset the 0.6% sales tax increase resulting 
from Proposition 301 passed in November 2000. For taxpayers filing as single or as married person filing 
separately, the income requirement for claiming the credit is $12,500 or less. Individual taxpayers had previously 
been able to also claim this credit using a federally-issued individual taxpayer identification number. The SSN 
requirement is effective January 1, 2015 and is projected to reduce the use of the credit, thereby increasing 
individual income tax collections by $1.5 million annually, beginning in FY 2016.  (Effective from January 1, 2015) 
 
Laws 2014, Chapter 168 includes several income tax (individual and corporate) provisions.  The act’s individual 
income tax provisions are summarized below.   
 
Change to 2

nd
 and 3

rd
 Year Requirement of New Employment Tax Credit 

Chapter 168 changes a requirement for the New Employment Tax Credit by providing that 2nd and third year 
credits can be claimed irrespective of whether the same employee remains employed as long as the employer 
replaces the vacant position with another qualified employee within 90 days. The provision, which is effective 
retroactively from January 1, 2014, is estimated to reduce income tax collections by $(882,000) in FY 2015, 
followed by an additional $(405,000) in FY 2016, and $(381,000) in FY 2017.  (Effective retroactively from January 
1, 2014) 
 
Revisions to Small Business Investment Tax Credit 
Chapter 168 extends the final year that Small Business Investment Tax Credits may be authorized, from 2016 to 
2021, and extends the final year that credits may be used to reduce tax liability, from 2019 to 2024.  The law also 
increases the maximum amount of investment that is eligible for the credit, from $250,000 to $500,000 per 
calendar year.  Chapter 168 does not change the program’s $20 million lifetime cap.  (Effective retroactively from 
January 1, 2014) 
 
Requirements for Research and Development Tax Credit 
The act requires that basic research payments used in determining a tax payer’s credit must first be certified by the 
ACA.  Chapter 168 also includes various other new requirements for research and development credit applicants to 
meet.  (Effective from January 1, 2015) 
 
Laws 2014, Chapter 223 was the annual conformity bill that updated the definition of the Internal Revenue Code 
(IRC) to include all IRC provisions that were in effect as of January 1, 2014.  
 
Laws 2014, Chapter 245 was the annual correction bill that made technical, conforming, and clarification changes 
to the Arizona Revised Statutes.  The bill removed statutory references for previously expired individual income tax 
credits including Water Conservation Systems, Agricultural Preservation Districts and Construction Materials 
credits.  The Water Conservation Systems credit may still be carried forward up to 5 years and used no later than 
TY 2016.  (Effective from January 1, 2015) 
 
2013 LAWS 
 
Laws 2013, Chapter 65 conforms Arizona tax statutes to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 3, 2013 and 
establishes a tax credit for Tax Year 2013 in lieu of conforming to the retroactive provision of the Federal Aviation 
Administration (FAA) Modernization and Reform Act relating to rollover of amounts received in airline carrier 
bankruptcy. Chapter 65 is estimated to result in an income tax revenue gain of $4.6 million in FY 2013, $13.7 
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million in FY 2014, $17.6 million in FY 2015, and $15.6 million in FY 2016.  (Effective retroactively from January 1, 
2013) 
 
Laws 2013, Chapter 114 was a correction bill that made technical and clarification changes to the Arizona Revised 
Statutes.  (Contained various effective dates) 
 
Laws 2013, Chapter 236 includes several income tax (individual and corporate), TPT and property tax provisions.  
The act’s individual income tax provisions are summarized below while Table 13 shows the fiscal impact by tax 
provision and year.   
 
Expands Charitable Contributions Credit to Non-Itemizers 
Chapter 236 removes the requirement that an individual income tax filer itemizes deductions in order to claim the 
charitable contributions tax credit. This provision is estimated to reduce individual income tax collections by 
$(18.0) million annually, beginning in FY 2014.  (Effective from September 13, 2013) 
 
Increased 529 College Savings Plan Deductions 
Chapter 236 increases the 529 college savings plan contributions that are deductible from state income tax from 
$1,500 to $4,000 for married couples filing joint returns and from $750 to $2,000 for all other filers. This provision, 
which is retroactive to January 1, 2013, is expected to result in an annual individual income tax reduction of $(4.0) 
million, beginning in FY 2014.  (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2013) 
 
Exempts Enterprise Zone Credit Certification Requirement 
Chapter 236 provides that businesses, which were certified by the ACA and then claimed first year credits under 
the now repealed Enterprise Zone Credit program, be exempt from the requirement to file for certification in order 
to claim second or third year credits. This provision, which is retroactive to July 1, 2011, is estimated to reduce 
income tax revenue by $(500,000) in FY 2014 and $(300,000) in FY 2015.  (Effective retroactively from July 1, 2011) 
 
Laws 2013, Chapter 256 removes the $25,000 cap on deductions from state income tax for qualified business 
equipment purchases under Section 179 of the Internal Revenue Code (IRC), beginning in tax years starting after 
December 31, 2012. Section 179 allows individual and corporate taxpayers to deduct, for income tax purposes, 
100% of their qualified business expenses (up to a stipulated amount) in the year that the equipment was 
purchased rather than in smaller installments over several years according to a federal depreciation schedule.  At 
the time, the act was estimated to result in a one-time income tax revenue loss of $(24.8) million in FY 2014.  The 
Accelerated Depreciation Allowances section includes more details on the Section 179 allowance and subsequent 
estimated impacts.  (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2013) 
 
Laws 2013, 1st Special Session, Chapter 9 expands the existing charitable contributions credit to include qualifying 
foster care charitable organizations. The maximum credit for cash contributions to qualifying foster care 
organizations is $400 for individuals filing as single or head of household and $800 for married couples filing joint 
returns. A qualifying foster care organization must spend at least 50% of its budget providing services to at least 
200 foster children in this state.  The foster care credit is estimated to result in an annual individual income tax 
reduction of $(850,000), beginning in FY 2014.  (Effective retroactively to January 1, 2013) 
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2012 LAWS 
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 3 was the annual correction bill that made technical, conforming, and clarification changes to 
the Arizona Revised Statutes.  (Contained various effective dates) 
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 4 created a new individual income tax credit of up to $500 for single persons and $1,000 for 
married couples for contributions to a School Tuition Organization (STO).  The credit is only available if the filer has 
already claimed the maximum credit allowed under the existing STO tax credit program for individuals (A.R.S. § 43-
1089).  The Department of Revenue is required to adjust the maximum credit amount for inflation each year.  
Scholarship monies generated by the new credit are available only to students who either:  (1) attended public 
school full-time for at least 90 days in the prior year and transferred to private school, (2) are the dependent of a 
member of the armed forces, (3) are entering Kindergarten, or (4) received a STO scholarship in the prior year 
under 1 of the first 3 criteria.  The act is estimated to result in an individual income tax revenue loss of $(4.0) 
million, beginning in FY 2013.  (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2012) 
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 35 removed the statutory requirement that a space be provided for voluntary tax donations 
(check-off boxes) on the first page of the individual income tax return form.  (Effective from January 1, 2012) 
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 38 was the annual conformity bill that updated the definition of the IRC to include all 
provisions that were in effect as of January 1, 2012. 
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 71 increased the threshold at which tax exempt organizations are required to file a state 
income tax return, from $25,000 in gross income to $50,000 in gross receipts.  The fiscal impact of the act is 
unknown.  (Effective August 2, 2012) 
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 77 provided that taxpayers can voluntarily contribute any amount of their individual income 
tax refund (as opposed to the full amount only required under prior law) for state aid to public schools.  (Effective 
August 2, 2012) 
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 143 removed the expiration date of December 31, 2012 for the program allowing Arizona 
residents to subtract contributions to college savings plans under Section 529 of the Internal Revenue Code from 
Arizona taxable income.  (Effective August 2, 2012) 
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 170 conformed Arizona Revised Statutes to the provisions of Laws 2011, 2

nd
 Special Session, 

Chapter 1, which created the Arizona Commerce Authority.  (Effective August 2, 2012) 
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 178 removed certain criteria for income tax subtractions taken for crop donations and 
increased the cap on the subtraction amount to the wholesale market price or the most recent sale price, 
whichever is greater.  The fiscal impact of the act is unknown.  (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2012)  
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 257 eliminated the Clean Elections Fund Tax Reduction (A.R.S. § 16-954A) and Clean Elections 
Fund Tax Credit (A.R.S. § 16-954B) approved by voters in 1998 under Proposition 200.  The eliminated provisions 
previously allowed individual income tax filers to:  (1) mark an optional check-off box that would reduce the 
taxpayer’s liability by $5, and transfer $5 of the taxes paid to the Clean Elections Fund (for a total net General Fund 
impact of $10) and (2) make a voluntary donation to the Clean Elections Fund and receive a credit not to exceed 
20% of liability or $670 per individual, whichever was greater.  The elimination of the Clean Elections check-off box 
and tax credit is estimated to increase General Fund revenues by $12.8 million in FY 2013.   (Effective August 2, 
2012) 
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 271 removed the requirement that charitable organizations declare if they promote or provide 
referrals for abortion for purposes of the Charitable Contributions Tax Credit (A.R.S. § 43-1088).  (Effective August 
2, 2012)   
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 281 extended the expiration of the credit for donations to the Military Family Relief Fund from 
December 31, 2012 to December 31, 2018.  (Effective August 2, 2012) 
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Laws 2012, Chapter 323 repealed the use tax declaration requirement on the individual income tax return enacted 
by Laws 2011, Chapter 128.  Chapter 323 did not repeal, however, the individual’s requirement to pay use tax on  
out-of-state purchases.  The act is estimated to reduce General Fund revenues by $(1.8) million in FY 2013.   
(Effective retroactively from January 1, 2012) 
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 331 extended existing tax incentives under the Healthy Forest program from 2014 through 
2024.  Additionally, Chapter 331 also eased program qualification requirements and established new tax incentives 
for certified Healthy Forest Enterprises.  Among the new incentives is an individual and corporate income tax credit 
for ecological restoration workforce training.  The new credit is estimated to reduce General Fund revenues by 
$(110,000) in FY 2013.  The fiscal impact of other incentives included in the act is unknown.  (Effective retroactively 
from January 1, 2012)  
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 343 reduces individual income taxes paid on long-term capital gains derived from assets 
purchased after 2011.  The act includes several other income (both individual and corporate) and property tax 
reductions as well.  The fiscal impact of Chapter 343 is phased in over several years, beginning in FY 2014.  Table 14 
below, shows the fiscal impact by tax provision and year.  The act’s individual income tax provisions are 
summarized below. 
 
Reduction of Long-Term Capital Gains   
Chapter 343 reduces the individual income tax rate on long-term capital gains accrued from assets acquired after 
2011.  Long-term capital gains are realized on assets held longer than 1 year.  The reduction in the regular rate is 
10% in TY 2013, 20% in TY 2014, and 25% in TY 2015 and subsequent years.  Capital gains realized on assets 
purchased before 2012 will not be reduced. 
 
The provision is estimated to reduce individual income taxes by $(17.5) million in FY 2014, $(40.5) million in FY 
2015, $(56.5) million in FY 2016, $(61.4) million in FY 2017, $(65.6) million in FY 2018, and $(69.3) million in FY 
2019.  The revenue loss is expected to increase in the ensuing years as increasingly more assets acquired after 
2011 are sold.  (Effective from January 1, 2013)     
 
Deduction of Federal Bonus Depreciation 
Under federal law, businesses that place qualified property in service in 2012 or 2013 are eligible for 50% bonus 
depreciation.  Under prior state law, bonus depreciation was not allowed for state income tax purposes since 
Arizona did not conform to this provision of federal law.  Chapter 343 amends current statute by allowing a state 
income tax deduction equal to 10% of the bonus depreciation claimed on federal returns for assets placed in 
service in 2012 or 2013.  The act is expected to result in a one-time individual income tax reduction of $(4.2) 
million in FY 2014.  The fiscal impact of this provision after FY 2014 will depend on whether the federal 
government extends bonus depreciation.  The 50% bonus depreciation currently provided to businesses will expire 
at the end of 2013.  The Accelerated Depreciation Allowances section includes more details on bonus depreciation 
allowances.  (Effective from January 1, 2013) 
 
Qualified Facility Income Tax Credit 
Beginning in TY 2013, the act establishes a new individual and corporate income tax credit for businesses that 
expand or locate qualified facilities in the state.  The credit is 10% of the lesser of:  (1) the capital investment in the 
facility or (2) $200,000 for each net new employee at the facility.  To be eligible for the credit, a business is 
required to devote at least 80% of its property and payroll at the facility to manufacturing, research, or a national 
or regional headquarters.  There are also certain minimum requirements with respect to wage and health 
insurance coverage for new employees at the facilities.   
 
The credit is refundable but no single taxpayer can claim more than $30 million in credits per calendar year.  The 
credit must be taken in equal installments over 5 taxable years.  The qualified facility credit program is subject to 
an aggregate annual cap of $70 million, which it shares with the renewable energy investment credit enacted in 
2009.  The qualified facility income tax credit is estimated to reduce income tax revenues by $(4.0) million in FY 
2014, $(8.0) million in FY 2015, $(12.0) million in FY 2016, $(16.0) million in FY 2017, and $(20.0) million in FY 2018.  
(Effective retroactively from July 1, 2012) 
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Elimination of the Individual Employer Cap for the $3,000 New Job Tax Credit 
Laws 2011, 2

nd
 Special Session, Chapter 1 established a 3-year $3,000 annual tax credit for each net new qualifying 

job added by an employer in the state.  The act provided an aggregate credit cap of 10,000 net new jobs per year.  
However, no employer could claim more than 400 net new employees per year.  Chapter 343 eliminates the 
individual company credit cap of 400 new employees, beginning in TY 2013.  The General Fund revenue loss is 
estimated to be $(1.8) million in FY 2014, $(3.6) million in FY 2015, and $(5.4) million in FY 2016.  (Effective from 
January 1, 2013) 
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 351 provided a deduction from taxable income for long-term care insurance premiums paid by 
individuals who do not itemize their deductions.  (Filers who itemize their deductions can already claim this 
expense as a deduction.)  This provision is estimated to reduce General Fund revenues by $(4.1) million in FY 2013.  
Additionally, the act also allows tax filers to deduct from their taxable income an amount equal to their annual 
deposits into long-term health care savings accounts, a provision estimated to reduce General Fund revenues by 
an additional $(52,000) in FY 2014.  (Contains various effective dates) 
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2011 LAWS 
 
Laws 2011, Chapter 4 modified the definition of the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) for tax year 2011 to the federal 
IRC in effect on January 1, 2011.  This includes changes adopted by Congress in the Temporary Extension Act of 
2010; Hiring Incentives to Restore Employment Act; Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act; Healthcare and 
Education Reconciliation Act of 2010; Preservation of Access to Care for Medicare Beneficiaries and Pension Relief 
Act of 2010; The Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act; Small Business Jobs Act of 2010; 
Claims Resolution Act of 2010; The Tax Relief, Unemployment Insurance Reauthorization, and Job Creation Act of 
2010; and The Regulated Investment Company Modernization Act of 2010.  The conformity provision of Chapter 4 
is estimated to increase General Fund revenues from the individual income tax by $3.1 million in FY 2012.  
(Effective retroactive from January 1, 2011) 
 
Laws 2011, Chapter 55 modifies the Charitable Contributions Tax Credit by excluding charities that provide, pay 
for, promote, or financially support abortions or any entity that provides abortions.  (Effective from January 1, 
2012) 
 
Laws 2011, Chapter 128 requires the state individual income tax return to include a specific statement of the 
taxpayer’s use tax liability.  Any person who stores, uses, or consumes tangible personal property subject to the 
use tax for non-business purposes is required to declare the annual amount of the use tax due, if not collected by a 
retailer, on his individual income tax form.  (Effective from July 20, 2011) 
 
Laws 2011, Chapter 287 creates a Health Savings Account Tax Credit available from tax year 2012 through tax year 
2014.  The income tax credit is available to businesses that provide qualifying health insurance plans to each 
enrolled employee.  The credit is equal to $360 for every employee that enrolls in a health insurance plan offered 
by the business.  To qualify, the business must offer High Deductible Health Insurance Plans with catastrophic 
coverage under a Health Savings Account.  In order to receive the credit, businesses must have between 2 and 50 
employees, must not have provided health insurance within 90 days of offering the plan, and must offer the plan 
to each employee for at least 1 year.  Unused credits can be carried forward 3 years.  (Effective from January 1, 
2012) 
 
Laws 2011, 2

nd
 Special Session, Chapter 1 eliminates individual income tax on capital gains accruing from small 

business investment, expands eligibility for the Small Business Investment Credit, establishes a New Employment 
Tax Credit, and increases the R&D Tax Credit. 
 
Beginning in TY 2014, capital gains on income derived from investment in small businesses with assets up to $10 
million will not be taxed.  The cost of this provision is estimated to be $(11.6) million in FY 2015.   
 
Expansion of the Small Business Investment Credit increases eligibility by extending the life of the credit to FY 2016 
and expanding the definition of eligible businesses to include companies with assets up to $10 million, as opposed 
to the previous asset cap of $2 million.  The estimated cost is $(4.0) million per year from FY 2012 – FY 2014 and 
$(4.5) million in FY 2015.  (Effective from July 1, 2011) 
 
The bill also creates the New Employment Tax Credit, which provides a $3,000 annual tax credit for each net new 
qualifying job added by an employer in the state.  To qualify for the credit new employment positions must be full-
time, pay at least the median wage, and offer health insurance paid by the employer (at least 65% of the 
premium).  Credits can be claimed for 3 years.  A business cannot claim the new credit unless it adds at least 25 net 
new jobs in a year in an urban area (5 in a rural area) and makes capital investments of at least $5 million ($1 
million in a rural area).  No employer can claim more than 400 jobs in the first year of credit use, 800 jobs in the 
second year, and 1,200 jobs in the third year.  The bill provides a statewide aggregate credit cap of 10,000 jobs in 
FY 2013 ($30 million) and grows by an additional 10,000 jobs in both FY 2014 ($60 million) and FY 2015 ($90 
million).  The cap applies to credits claimed against insurance premium, individual income, and corporate income 
taxes.  JLBC estimates the cost of the bill to be $(6.7) million in FY 2012, increasing to $(47.7) million by FY 2015.  
(Effective from July 1, 2011) 
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Furthermore, the bill increases the R&D Tax Credit by 10% for university-related investment beginning in FY 2013 
(effective from January 1, 2012).  The cost of the legislation was partially offset by the expiration of the Enterprise 
Zone Tax Credit, which sunsets at the end of FY 2011. The bill also diverts a portion of General Fund individual 
income tax to the ACA’s Arizona Competes Fund and operating fund.  Between the 2 funds, $31.5 million would be 
diverted from the General Fund in FY 2012. 
 
A summary of all the Chapter 1 fiscal impact provisions is displayed in the Corporate Income Tax section of the Tax 
Handbook (2011 Tax Laws). 
 
2010 LAWS 
 
Laws 2010, 6

th
 Special Session, Chapter 3 requires that nonresident individual income taxpayers prorate their 

standard deduction based on the ratio of their Arizona Gross Income to their Federal Adjusted Gross Income.  The 
act is estimated to increase General Fund revenues by $22.0 million in FY 2011.  (Effective retroactively from 
January 1, 2010) 
 
Laws 2010, Chapter 176 conforms Arizona Revised Statutes to the federal Internal Revenue Code in effect as of 
January 1, 2010 (as well as provisions enacted retroactively for previous tax years) with the exception for the 
following federal provisions: 
 

 Suspension of Tax on Unemployment Compensation – excludes up to $2,400 of unemployment compensation 
from federal gross income in tax year 2009. 

 New Car Deduction – provides an income tax deduction for sales taxes paid in 2009 on the purchase of a new 
vehicle. 

 Net Operating Loss Carryback for Small Business – provides a 5-year carryback of 2008 net operating losses for 
businesses with $15 million or less in gross receipts. 

 Net Operating Loss Carryback for All Businesses – provides a 5-year carryback of 2008 or 2009 net operating 
losses for all businesses. 

 Delay of Tax on Cancellation of Debt Income – allows businesses with cancellation of debt income in 2009 and 
2010 to defer payment of tax for 5 years. 

 2010 Contributions Related to Haiti Earthquake – allows cash contributions made in the first 2 months of 
calendar year 2010 for the relief of Haiti earthquake victims to be treated as if they were made in 2009 for 
income tax purposes. 
 

According to estimates provided by DOR, full conformity would have resulted in a General Fund revenue loss of 
$(138.5) million in FY 2010 and $(30.3) million in FY 2011.  With these exclusions, the bill’s estimated impact is 
expected to be minimal.  (Contains various effective dates) 
 
Laws 2010, Chapter 188 allows a donation made to a school tuition organization between the close of the tax year 
and the individual income tax filing deadline to be applied to either the current or preceding tax year for the 
purpose of claiming the individual income tax credit.  This act is estimated to result in a General Fund revenue 
decrease of $(2.5) million in FY 2011.  (Effective from July 29, 2010) 
 
Laws 2010, Chapter 289 establishes a new individual and corporate income tax credit for research and 
development (R&D), production, and delivery system costs associated with solar liquid fuel for TY 2011 through TY 
2026.  Between TY 2011 and TY 2021, a taxpayer may take a credit for increased research and development related 
to solar liquid fuel of 40% of qualified research expenses within the state over a "base amount" (defined in the 
Internal Revenue Code).  Between TY 2016 through TY 2026, a taxpayer may take a credit for production of solar 
liquid fuel equal to:  1) $0.11 per 100,000 british thermal units (BTUs) of fuel produced in the state during the tax 
year for the production of solar liquid fuel in commercial quantities; and 2) 30% of the cost of converting or 
modifying an existing motor vehicle fuel service station for the retail sale of solar liquid fuel to customers.  The 
latter portion of the credit is limited to $20,000 per taxable year per service station.  Taxpayers who use the 
research and development tax credit are prohibited from also taking a tax credit against the same research and 
development if it is associated with solar liquid fuel.  (Contains various effective dates) 
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Laws 2010, Chapter 293 provides that the maximum amount of the individual income tax credit for donations to 
school tuition organizations be adjusted for inflation each year.  The act, which also prohibits taxpayers from 
swapping donations with others for the benefit of their dependents, is estimated to reduce General Fund revenues 
by $(0.6) million in FY 2011.  (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2011) 
 
Laws 2010, Chapter 294 extends the expiration of the tax credit that applies to solar energy devices used for 
commercial and industrial purposes from December 31, 2012 to December 31, 2018. 
 
Laws 2010, Chapter 303 amends the individual and corporate income tax credit for renewable energy investment 
by capping the amount of the credit to the post-approval amount determined by the Arizona Department of 
Commerce and requires that the agency must also give pre-approval and post-approval to all credits.  The act also 
eliminates the distribution of the credit on a first-come, first-serve basis and limits the total of the credits allowed 
to all owners of a business to an amount that would have been allowed for a sole owner of the business.  Finally, 
the act allows any excess refund to be treated as a tax deficiency and allows recapture of the tax refund if it is 
determined that the taxpayer has committed fraud or relocated outside the state within 5 years of first receiving 
the credit.  (Effective retroactively from October 1, 2009) 
 
Laws 2010, Chapter 312 changes the individual and corporate income tax credit for Research and Development 
(R&D) from being nonrefundable to refundable for those companies that employ less than 150 full-time 
employees.  Specifically, the act provides that such taxpayers receive a refund equal to 75% of the amount by 
which the credit exceeds their liability.  The credit has an annual cap of $5 million cumulatively for the individual 
and corporate income tax.  If in any year less than $5 million of credits are filed collectively by all taxpayers, any 
unused amount rolls over to the next year.  The refundable credit is expected to reduce General Fund revenues 
generated by the individual and corporate income tax by $(5.0) million in FY 2011.  (Effective retroactively from 
January 1, 2010) 
 
In addition to the modified R&D credit that is effective retroactively from tax year 2010, Chapter 312 also 
establishes a new renewable energy production tax credit that will become effective in tax year 2012.  The new 
credit allows a qualified producer of renewable energy to receive an individual and corporate income tax credit of 
up to $2 million per year on the electricity they produce for up to 10 years, beginning January 1, 2011.  The 
renewable energy credit has an annual cap of $20 million for total individual and corporate income tax credits.  
The credit is expected to reduce General Fund revenues generated by the individual and corporate income tax by 
$(20.0) million in FY 2012.  (Effective from January 1, 2012) 
 
Laws 2010, Chapter 332 changes the Public School Extra Curricular Activity Fees tax credit to define “Public 
School” as a school that is part of a school district, a joint technical education district, or a charter school.   
(Effective from July 29, 2010) 
 
A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2010 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at 
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/16taxbk.pdf

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/iit.pdf
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CORPORATE INCOME TAX 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The corporate income tax is levied on corporations that engage in business within Arizona.  The tax rate is 5.5% of 
taxable income in TY 2016.  A multi-state company must allocate a portion of its income to Arizona based on its 
Arizona property, payroll, and sales. 
 
The corporate income tax is an important revenue source for the state, representing 5.8% of total General Fund 
revenue collections in FY 2016.  However, Laws 2011, 2

nd
 Special Session, Chapter 1 reduces the tax rate over a 

period of 4 years beginning in TY 2014.  A portion of corporate income tax collections (along with individual income 
tax collections) is shared with incorporated cities and towns within the state. 
 
COLLECTIONS 
 
Table 1 below provides historical corporate income tax collections for the last 20 years.  Corporate income tax 
receipts are deposited into the General Fund, after sufficient amounts have been deposited into the tax refund 
account to meet the requirements for tax refunds [A.R.S. § 42-1116]. 
 
Table 1 

COLLECTIONS 
 

Fiscal Year State General Fund Fiscal Year State General Fund 
 2016 $570,547,697 2006 $874,219,473 

 2015 $663,003,020  2005 $701,859,285 

 2014 $575,180,221  2004 $494,044,869 
 2013 $662,026,399  2003 $389,406,300 
 2012 $643,771,845  2002 $346,280,400 
 2011 $560,235,683  2001 $541,173,600 
 2010 $413,193,307  2000 $523,180,000 
 2009 $592,157,255  1999 $545,389,000 
 2008 $784,510,885  1998 $535,295,300 
 2007 $986,169,564  1997 $600,890,500 

  
SOURCE:  Department of Revenue annual reports - amounts are net of refunds and charge-offs.  A portion of 
corporate income tax collections is shared with incorporated cities and towns – see Table 2 in Individual Income 
Tax section. 

 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Based on an initiative measure approved by the voters in 1972, an Urban Revenue Sharing Fund was established.  
The initiative provided that a percentage of income tax revenues (including both individual and corporate income 
tax) be shared with incorporated cities and towns within the state.  Currently, 15% of net income tax revenue from 
2 years prior is distributed to cities and towns.  This distribution is based on the most recent population estimates 
of each city and town made annually by the U.S. Census Bureau [A.R.S. § 42-5033.01].  Cities and towns have the 
option of using special census population counts for purposes of calculating distributions, but only during the 6

th
 

year following a decennial census.  In the 2
nd

 year following the special census, a city/town must use the most 
recent estimate from the U.S. Census Bureau [A.R.S. § 42-5033].  Prior to Laws 2016, Chapter 258, distributions 
were based on population estimates from the last U.S. decennial census or special census.   Table 4 (Distribution of 
Individual and Corporate Income Tax) in the Individual Income Tax section provides historical urban revenue 
sharing distributions [A.R.S. § 43-206].  
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WHO PAYS 
 
Any corporation, excluding exempt organizations, having Arizona taxable income is subject to the corporate 
income tax [A.R.S. § 43-1111]. 
 
Exempt organizations include those exempt from federal income tax under section 501 of the Internal Revenue 
Code (generally "non-profit" organizations), as well as a specific list of exempt organizations included in state 
statute [A.R.S. § 43-1201]. 
 
The income of a corporation owned by an Indian tribe or tribal member is not subject to Arizona’s corporate 
income tax if its income is derived from businesses located on the reservation.  Income from a corporation not 
owned by a tribe or tribal member, regardless of whether it is located on a reservation, is subject to the state 
corporate income tax.  Corporations owned by tribes or tribal members that derive their income from non-
reservation sources are subject to the income tax in the same manner as all other corporations with income in 
Arizona. 
 
There are no specific statutory references related to the imposition of Arizona state income tax on tribal members 
or corporations.  Thus, to facilitate the administration of state income tax on Indian reservations, the Department 
of Revenue (DOR) has adopted income tax rulings based on the decisions in several court cases. 
 
Small business corporations that make a "subchapter S" election for a taxable year under the Internal Revenue 
Code are not subject to the corporate income tax.  The income of these corporations is generally passed through 
to each shareholder, who is then taxed under the state's individual income tax [A.R.S. § 43-1126]. 
 
The United States, the state, counties, towns, school districts, or other political subdivisions of the state or federal 
government are excluded from the definition of a taxpayer, and are exempt from the corporate income tax [A.R.S. 
§ 43-104]. 
 
EXEMPTIONS 
 
Organizations that are exempt from federal income tax under Section 501 of the Internal Revenue Code are also 
exempt from state income tax.  In addition, the following organizations are exempt from state income tax [A.R.S. § 
43-1201]: 
 
(1) Labor, agricultural, and horticultural organizations except for cooperative organizations. 
(2) Fraternal beneficiary societies, orders, or organizations that both: (a) operate under the lodge system or for 

the exclusive benefit of the members of a fraternity, and (b) provide for the payment of life, sick, accident, or 
other benefits to their members or their dependents. 

(3) Cemetery companies that are owned and operated exclusively for the benefit of their members or are not 
operated for profit. 

(4) Corporations that are organized and operated exclusively for religious, charitable, scientific, literary, or 
educational purposes, or for the prevention of cruelty to children and animals. 

(5) Business leagues, chambers of commerce, real estate boards, and boards of trade that are not organized for 
profit.  

(6) Civic leagues or organizations that are not organized for profit. 
(7) Clubs that are organized and operated exclusively for pleasure, recreation, and other non-profitable 

purposes. 
(8) Corporations that are organized for the exclusive purpose of holding title to property, collecting income from 

such property, and turning over the entire net income to an organization which itself is exempt from income 
tax. 

(9) Voluntary employees' beneficiary organizations that provide for the payment of life, sick, accident or other 
benefits to their members or their dependents, if both of the following apply: (a) no part of their net earnings 
inures to the benefit of any private shareholder or individual, and (b) 85% or more of the income consists of 
monies collected from members and contributions by the employer of the members. 
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(10) Teachers' or public employees' retirement fund organizations that are of a purely local character, if both of 
the following apply: (a) no part of their net earnings inures to the benefit of any private shareholder or 
individual, and (b) the income consists solely of monies received from public taxation, assessments on the 
salaries of members, and income from investments. 

(11) Religious or apostolic organizations or corporations, if such organizations or corporations have a common 
treasury or community treasury. 

(12) Voluntary employees' beneficiary organizations that provide for the payment of life, sick, accident or other 
benefits to their members, their dependents or designated beneficiaries, if both of the following apply: (a) 
admission to membership is limited to individuals who are officers or employees of the United States 
Government, and (b) no part of the net earnings inures to the benefit of any private shareholder or 
individual. 

(13) Corporations classified as diversified management companies under Section 5 of the federal Investment 
Company Act of 1940. 

(14) Insurance companies that are subject to the insurance premium tax. 
(15) Mutual ditch, irrigation or water companies or similar nonprofit organizations if 85% or more of their income 

consists of amounts collected from members for the sole purpose of meeting losses and expenses. 
(16) Workers’ compensation pools established pursuant to A.R.S. § 23-961.01 
 

REVENUE BASE AND RATE 
 

The tax base for the corporate income tax is defined as "Arizona taxable income", which is further defined as the 
"Arizona gross income" (equal to a corporation's federal taxable income), adjusted by a series of additions and 
subtractions as specified in Title 43, Article 3 of the Arizona Revised Statutes (A.R.S. § 43-1121 - A.R.S. § 43-
1130.01) [A.R.S. § 43-1101]. 
 

The current tax rate for corporate income tax is 5.5% of a corporation's net Arizona taxable income or $50, 
whichever is greater [A.R.S. § 43-1111].  Laws 2011, 2

nd
 Special Session, Chapter 1 reduces the corporate tax rate 

from 6.968% to 4.9% over 4 years, beginning in TY 2014.  Prior to Chapter 1, a 6.968% flat tax was in effect from 
January 1, 2001 through December 31, 2013 (Table 2 below displays historical corporate income tax rates).  The 
$50 minimum tax was effective beginning January 1, 1988.  
 

Table 2 
HISTORICAL CORPORATE INCOME TAX RATES 

1/2/ 
          

Taxable Income TY 1965 TY 1967 TY 1974 
2/

 TY 1990 TY 1994 TY 1998  TY 2000 TY 2001 
$         0   -   1,000  1.30% 2.00% 2.50% 9.30% 9.00% 8.00% 7.968% 6.968% 
$  1,001   -   2,000 2.60% 3.00% 4.00% 9.30% 9.00% 8.00% 7.968% 6.968% 
$  2,001   -   3,000 3.30% 4.00% 5.00% 9.30% 9.00% 8.00% 7.968% 6.968% 
$  3,001   -   4,000 4.00% 5.00% 6.50% 9.30% 9.00% 8.00% 7.968% 6.968% 
$  4,001   -   5,000 4.60% 6.00% 8.00% 9.30% 9.00% 8.00% 7.968% 6.968% 
$  5,001   -   6,000 5.90% 7.00% 9.00% 9.30% 9.00% 8.00% 7.968% 6.968% 
$  6,001  &  over 6.60% 8.00% 10.50% 9.30% 9.00% 8.00% 7.968% 6.968% 
         

____________ 
1/ For tax rates prior to 1965, see page 119 of the 1990 Tax Handbook. 
2/ From January 1, 1986 through December 31, 1987, corporate net capital gains were taxed at a 6.4% flat rate.   

 

Table 3 below displays corporate tax rates for TY 2014 through TY 2017 pursuant to Laws 2011, 2
nd

 Special Session, 
Chapter 1.  
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Table 3 

FUTURE CORPORATE  
       INCOME TAX RATES 

1/ 2/ 

 

 

  Tax Year  
2014 6.5% 
2015 6.0% 
2016 5.5% 
2017 4.9% 

  _______________ 

1/ As enacted by Laws 2011, 2
nd

    
Special Session, Chapter 1.   

2/ Years represent a flat rate for all 
income levels.   

 
Any corporation that has income from business activity that is taxable both within the state and outside of the 
state (hereafter referred to as “multistate corporation”) is required to allocate a portion of the income to Arizona 
for purposes of computing its Arizona taxable income [A.R.S. § 43-1132].  The method of allocation depends on 
whether the income is classified as “business income” or “nonbusiness income,” as described below.  
 
Allocation of Business Income 
Business income arises from transactions and activity in the course of the corporation’s regular trade or business 
operations [A.R.S. § 43-1131].  Any multistate corporation (other than a commercial airline) can elect to allocate its 
business income based on what is commonly referred to as either the “Standard Apportionment Formula” or the 
“Enhanced Apportionment Formula.”  Commercial airlines are required to use a separate allocation method for 
business income commonly referred to as the “Air Carrier Apportionment Formula” [A.R.S. § 43-1139]. 
 
Both the Standard and Enhanced Apportionment Formulas allocate a corporation’s business income based on the 
proportion of its property, payroll, and sales in Arizona relative to other states.  These proportions are referred to 
as respectively the “property factor,” “payroll factor,” and “sales factor.”  The apportionment ratio used for the 
allocation of business income to Arizona is determined by calculating the weighted average of the 3 factors.  Under 
the Standard Apportionment Formula, the sales factor is assigned a weight of 50% whereas the property factor 
and payroll factor is each given a weight of 25%.   
 
The Enhanced Apportionment Formula, which was established by Laws 2005, Chapter 289, increased the weight of 
the sales factor to 60% in TY 2007, 70% in TY 2008, and 80% in TY 2009 and subsequent years.  This formula was 
further modified by Laws 2011, 2

nd
 Special Session, Chapter 1, which increases the weight of the sales factor to 

85% in TY 2014, 90% in TY 2015, 95% in TY 2016, and 100% in TY 2017 and subsequent years.  The phase-in of the 
increased weight of the sales factor enacted in 2005 and 2011 was simultaneously offset by a commensurate 
reduction of the weights for the property and payroll factors [A.R.S. § 43-1139 - A.R.S. § 43-1145].        
 
For the 2016 taxable year, a multistate corporation may choose (for purposes of allocating its business income to 
Arizona) either the 50% sales factor under the Standard Apportionment Formula or the 95% sales factor under the 
Enhanced Apportionment Formula.  The corporation is likely to choose the formula that reduces its Arizona tax 
liability the most.  For example, a business with 10% of its total sales and 20% of its total property and payroll in 
Arizona would benefit from the 95% sales factor.  In calculating the proportion of the corporation’s business 
income allocated to Arizona, the 10% sales factor would receive a weight of 95% whereas the 20% property and 
payroll factors would each receive a weight of 2.5%.  After applying the weights under the Enhanced 
Apportionment Formula, 10.5% of the total multistate business income would be allocated to Arizona.  Under the 
Standard Apportionment Formula, the corporation would have to allocate 15% of its total business income to 
Arizona.   
 
The proportion of sales allocated to Arizona (for purposes of calculating the sales factor) is determined differently 
for sales of tangible personal property (“goods”) than for sales other than tangible personal property (“services”) 
as described below:  
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 Sale of tangible personal property is allocated to Arizona if the property is delivered or shipped to a purchaser 
within the state [A.R.S. § 43-1146]. 

 Sale of other than tangible personal property is allocated to Arizona if either of the following applies:  (1) the 
income producing activity is performed solely in the state, or (2) the income producing activity is performed 
both in and outside the state, but a greater proportion of the activity is performed in Arizona than in any other 
state.  Beginning in TY 2014, Laws 2012, Chapter 2 provides multistate service providers the option to treat 
sales from services as being in this state based on a combination of income producing activity sales and 
market sales.  For the 2014 taxable year, Chapter 2 provided an option for corporations that sold more than 
85% of their services to consumers outside of Arizona to use the location of the buyer in calculating the sales 
factor.  Chapter 2 increases this figure to 90% in TY 2015, 95% in TY 2016, and 100% in TY 2017 and 
subsequent years.  Thus, beginning in TY 2017, the location of sales will account for 100% of the sales factor 
for multistate service providers [A.R.S. § 43-1147].  Laws 2013, Chapter 236 expanded eligibility of this 
provision by broadening the definition of a multistate service provider to include regionally accredited 
institutions of higher education with at least one university campus in Arizona on which at least 2,000 
students reside.  
 

Allocation of Nonbusiness Income 
Nonbusiness income refers to all income other than business income and typically includes rents and royalties 
from real property or tangible personal property, capital gains, interest and dividends, and patent and copyright 
royalties.  Nonbusiness income is generally allocated to Arizona to the extent that the property is utilized or 
located in the state, or if the taxpayer's commercial location is in the state [A.R.S. § 43-1134 - A.R.S. § 43-1138]. 
 

If the allocation and apportionment provisions do not fairly represent the extent of the taxpayer's business activity 
in the state, the taxpayer may petition for, or DOR may require, an alternative method of allocation [A.R.S. § 43-
1148]. 
 
Net Operating Loss.  A net operating loss (NOL) is incurred when a corporation’s allowable deductions exceed its 
taxable income within the same taxable year.  Under current law, a corporation is allowed to apply prior years’ net 
operating losses against it current year’s Arizona income.  Pursuant to Laws 2012, Chapter 343, the net operating 
loss incurred in one taxable year can be carried forward to offset taxable income in each of the next 20 taxable 
years, beginning in TY 2012.  Prior to Chapter 343, a corporation’s net operating loss was only allowed to be 
carried forward to the next 5 taxable years. 
 

TAX REFUNDS AND/OR TAX CREDITS 
 

Tax credits are either refundable or non-refundable.  Unlike refundable credits, non-refundable credits can never 
exceed a taxpayer’s tax liability.  However, many of the non-refundable tax credits allow the unused amounts to be 
carried forward to future years.  As shown in Table 4 below, only the following credits are refundable under current 
statutes:   
 

Table 4 
 

REFUNDABLE INCOME TAX CREDITS 
 

Name of Credit Type of Credit 
  Research and Development (R&D) Credit 

1/
 Individual and Corporate 

Renewable Energy Investment Credit 
2/

 Individual and Corporate 
Qualified Facility Credit 

3/
 

 
Individual and Corporate 
 

Notes: 
1/ Credit is only available to businesses that employ less than 150 full-time employees.  Refundable 

portion of R&D credit is subject to an aggregate cap of $5 million annually.  
2/  Credit is subject to an aggregate cap of $70 million annually, which it shares with the qualified facility 

credit.  Laws 2014, Chapter 8 limits a taxpayer from claiming both this credit and the Renewable 
Manufacturing Facility Credit for the same facilities (see Appendix A for details). 

3/  Credit is subject to an aggregate cap of $70 million annually, which it shares with the renewable 
energy investment credit.  
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Laws 2002, Chapter 238 established the Arizona Joint Legislative Income Tax Credit Review Committee.  The 
Committee is required to determine the purpose of income tax credits, develop performance standards for 
evaluating the credits, and evaluate the benefits to the state.  The Committee reviews each tax credit every 5 years 
according to a rotating schedule [A.R.S. § 43-221].   
 
Income tax credits available to corporate taxpayers are described below.  Laws 2016, Chapter 125 requires DOR to 
report by September 30 each year on the amounts of corporate income tax credits claiming in the preceding fiscal 
year.  Due to timing of the report, Table 5 instead lists credits in the most recent tax year reported by DOR.   
 
Title 43, Chapter 11, Article 6 of the Arizona Revised Statutes lists all the corporate income tax credits currently 
available to Arizona taxpayers.  A brief description of each tax credit currently in statutes is provided below.  
Appendix C in the Tax Handbook lists all individual and corporate income tax credits with statutory ending dates.  
Appendix B provides a complete list and detailed description of the various school tax credits currently available to 
individual and corporate taxpayers, as well as insurance companies.  In addition to tax credit provisions, the state 
permits individual and corporate income tax filers to accelerate depreciation of certain qualified asset purchases, 
for purposes of calculating state income tax liability.  The Accelerated Depreciation sub-section to the Individual 
Income Tax section of the Tax Handbook includes more details.  
 
Agricultural Pollution Control Equipment.  A tax credit is allowed for taxpayers engaged in agriculture to reclaim 
25% of the cost of real property or equipment, not to exceed $25,000 in a taxable year, that is used to control, 
prevent, monitor or reduce air, water or land pollution.  The credit can be carried forward for 5 years [A.R.S. § 43-
1170.01]. 
 
Arizona National Guard Employees.  A tax credit of $1,000 per employee is allowed for businesses that employ 
Arizona National Guard members who are called to active duty.  The credit can be carried forward for 5 years 
[A.R.S § 43-1167.01]. 
 
Coal Consumed in Generating Electric Power.  The credit is for 30% of the amount paid by the seller or purchaser as 
transaction privilege tax or use tax on coal sold to the taxpayer to be consumed in generating electrical power 
within the state.  The credit can be carried forward for 5 years [A.R.S. § 43-1178]. 
 
Enterprise Zones.  Businesses located in an enterprise zone were able to claim a credit for net increases in 
employment of persons who qualify as economically disadvantaged under the Job Training Partnership Act.  (See 
Laws 1989, Chapter 194 for changes in the amount of credit allowed.)  To qualify, at least 35% of the full-time 
equivalent employees claimed must reside in an enterprise zone.  The maximum amount of the credit per qualified 
employment position is $500 in the first year, $1,000 in the second year, and $1,500 in the third year of continuous 
employment. The non-refundable credit may not be claimed for more than 200 employees.    Laws 2013, Chapter 
236 provides that businesses that were certified by ACA and then claimed first year credits under the now repealed 
credit program, be exempt from the requirement to file for certification in order to claim second or third year 
credits. Though new credits may not be earned after tax year 2011, previously earned credits may be carried 
forward up to 5 years and used no later than tax year 2016. 
 
Environmental Technology Facility Construction Costs.  A non-refundable credit is allowed for expenses incurred in 
constructing a qualifying facility involved in recycled materials or renewable energy.  The credit is equal to 10% of 
the amount spent to construct the facility, including land acquisition, improvements, building improvements, 
machinery and equipment, but not to exceed 75% of the tax liability for the taxable year.  Certain recapture 
provisions apply to this credit.  The credits can be carried forward for 15 years [A.R.S. § 43-1169]. 
 
Facility Credit.  A business that expands or locates a qualified facility in the state may claim a credit for qualifying 
investment and employment. The credit is 10% of the lesser of:  (1) the total capital investment in the qualified 
facility by the taxpayer or third-party lessor of the property or (2) $200,000 for each net new employee at the 
qualified facility.  To be eligible for the credit, a business is required to devote at least 80% of its property and 
payroll at the facility to manufacturing, research, or a national or regional headquarter.  The credit is dependent 
upon the taxpayer paying at least 51% of new full-time employees a wage exceeding 125% of the state median 
wage in urban areas and 100% in rural areas and paying 65% or more of the premium for all full-time employees’ 
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health insurance [A.R.S. § 41-1512].  Prior to Laws 2016, Chapter 372, investments by a third-party lessor could not 
qualify for the credit and taxpayers in urban and rural areas were required to pay at least 80% of employee health 
insurance premiums and at least 125% of the state median wage. 
 
The credit is refundable but no single taxpayer can claim more than $30 million in credits per calendar year.  The 
credit must be taken in equal installments over 5 taxable years.  The qualified facility credit program is subject to 
an aggregate annual cap of $70 million, which it shares with the renewable energy investment credit (A.R.S. § 43-
1164.01) enacted in 2009.  The credit is available through TY 2022 [A.R.S. § 43-1164.04]. 
 
Health Insurance Plans.  From tax year 2012 through tax year 2014, an income tax credit was available to 
businesses that provided qualifying health insurance plans to each enrolled employee.  The credit is equal to $360 
for every employee that enrolled in a health insurance plan offered by the business.  To qualify, the business was 
required to offer High Deductible Health Insurance Plans with catastrophic coverage under a Health Savings 
Account.  To receive the credit, businesses were required to have between 2 and 50 employees, have provided 
health insurance within 90 days of offering the plan, and offered the plan to every employee for at least 1 year.  
Although new credits may not be earned after tax year 2014, previously earned credits may be carried forward up 
to 3 years and used no later than tax year 2017. 
 
Healthy Forests.  A qualified business that is certified by the Arizona Commerce Authority (ACA) as a healthy forest 
enterprise is allowed to claim a tax credit for net increases in qualified employment positions. To qualify for the 
credit, a business enterprise must meet several conditions with respect to the amount of employees hired, and the 
residency status, job duties, wages, and fringe benefits of those employees.  The maximum amount of the credit 
per qualified employment position is $500 in the first year, $1,000 in the second year, and $1,500 in the third year 
of continuous employment.  The net increase in the number of qualified employment positions is not allowed to 
exceed 200 per taxpayer each year.  The tax credit is available from January 1, 2005 to December 31, 2024.  (Laws 
2012, Chapter 331 extended the credit by 10 years, from 2014 to 2024.) The credit is non-refundable and is 
allowed to be carried forward for no more than 5 years [A.R.S. § 43-1162]. 
 
Healthy Forest - Ecological Restoration Workforce Training.  A business certified by the ACA as a Healthy Forest 
Enterprise may claim a credit for expenses incurred in training new employees in ecological restoration.  The credit 
amount is the net cost of training and certifying new employees in qualified employment positions.  The credit is 
limited to $3,000 per employee in each of the first 3 years of qualified employment.  The net increase in the 
number of qualified employment positions is not allowed to exceed 200 per taxpayer each year.  The credit is 
effective from January 1, 2012 to December 31, 2024.  The credit is non-refundable and is allowed to be carried 
forward for no more than 5 years [A.R.S. § 43-1162.01]. 
 
Military Reuse Zones.  A non-refundable credit is allowed for net employment increases in a military re-use zone.  
The employees must be engaged in aviation or aerospace manufacturing or services.  Credits also are allowed for 
dislocated civilian military base employees.  A credit of $500 to $3,000 is allowed for each newly created position, 
depending on whether or not the employee is a dislocated military base employee, and the number of years of 
employment (1-5 years).  The credits can be carried forward for 5 years [A.R.S. § 43-1167]. 
 
Motion Picture Productions and Infrastructure Projects.  These credits, effective between taxable years 2006 and 
2010, were available to businesses that produced motion pictures in Arizona.  Motion picture productions with 
qualified expenses of $250,000 to $1 million in a 12-month period were eligible for a tax credit equal to 20% of 
production costs, while productions with qualified expenses exceeding $1 million were credited for 30% of 
production costs.  The total amount of income tax credits approved for all qualifying productions and investments 
could not exceed $30 million in 2006, $40 million in 2007, $50 million in 2008, $60 million in 2009, and $70 million 
in 2010.  The income tax credits were claimed for expenses incurred in the production of commercial 
advertisements, and music videos, with 5% of the income tax credit set aside for these productions.  In addition, 
income tax credits could be claimed for expenses incurred for the construction of soundstages and associated 
support and augmentation facilities.  Tax credits for soundstage investments were capped at $5 million per year in 
2008, 2009, and 2010.  Tax credits for associated support and augmentation facilities were capped at $7 million in 
2009 (if at least one soundstage project was certified in 2008) and $9 million in 2010 (if one or more soundstage 
projects were certified in 2008 or 2009).  The tax credits could be sold or transferred, in whole or in part, to other 
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Table 5     

CORPORATE INCOME TAX CREDITS 

  
  

Credit Effective Annual Cost
 1/2/

 

Agricultural Pollution Control Equipment 1999 -                         $0  

Commercial and Industrial Solar Energy Devices 2006 - 2018 130,500  

Employing National Guard Members 2006 -                  9,100  

Employing TANF Recipients 1998 -                90,800  

Environmental Technology  1993 -             1,108,300  

Enterprise Zone 
3/

 1990 - 2011 1,799,000 

Facility Credit 2013 - 2022 0 

Health Insurance Plans 2012 - 2014 N/R 

Healthy Forest Enterprise 2005 - 2024                       0  

Military Reuse Zone 1993 -  100  

Motion Picture Production and Infrastructure 
4/

 2006 - 2010 831,500 

New Employment 
5/

 2011 - 2022  4,723,400  

Pollution Control Device 1995 -               1,703,100 

Recycling Equipment 
6/

 1993 - 1999 0 

Renewable Energy Investment 
7/

 2010 - 2019                        0  

Renewable Energy Production 
8/

 2011 - 2030          8,649,200  

Research & Development - Nonrefundable 2001 -             87,415,700  

Research & Development - Refundable 
9/

 2010 -                3,731,100  

Additional Research & Development - University Research 
10/

 2012 -  N/R  

Private School Tuition Organizations - Low-Income Students 
11/

 2006 -             42,998,200  

Private School Tuition Organizations - Disabled/Displaced Students 
12/

 2009 -             5,000,000  

School Site Donation 2001 -  N/R  

Solar Hot Water Stub Outs 1998 -                               0  

Coal Consumed in Electric Power Generation 1998 -               2,182,200  

Solar Liquid Fuel 2011 - 2021                     0  

Water Conservation System 
13/

 2007 - 2011                     0  

TOTAL VALUE OF CORPORATE INCOME TAX CREDITS        $160,372,200  

___________ 

 
  

1/ Amounts represent the annual credit use during the last reported year, which is primarily in tax years 2011-2013. 
2/ “N/R” indicates that the information is not releasable due to Arizona confidentiality laws.   
3/ Credit was effective through June 30, 2011, but earned credits have a 5-year carry forward. 
4/ Credit was effective through TY 2010, but earned credits have a 5-year carry forward. 
5/ Statute does not permit the Arizona Commerce Authority to authorize new credits after June 30, 2017.  Given a 

maximum 5-year schedule, the credit may not be claimed after TY 2021.   
6/ Credit was effective through TY 1999, has a 15-year carry forward for credits earned, but is limited to use through TY 

2005. 
7/ Credit is capped at $70 million annually between corporate and individual income taxpayers. 
8/ Credit is capped at $20 million annually between corporate and individual income taxpayers. 
9/ Credit is capped at $5 million annually between corporate and individual income taxpayers. 
10/ Credit is capped at $10 million annually between corporate and individual income taxpayers. 
11/ Estimate is based on the total amount of donations by corporations and insurers for FY 2015, as reported by DOR. 

Credit is capped at $43.0 million in FY 2015 between corporate income and insurance premium taxpayers, and 
increases by 20% annually.  

12/ Estimate is based on the total amount of donations by corporations and insurers for FY 2015, as reported by DOR. 
Credit is capped at $5 million annually between corporate income and insurance premium taxpayers. 

13/ Credit was effective through TY 2011, but earned credits have a 5-year carry forward. 

 

 SOURCE:  Department of Revenue Report – Arizona Corporate Income Tax Credits (October 2015) and Private  
                  School Tuition Organization Income Tax Credits in Arizona, Summary of Activity: FY 2014/2015. 
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taxpayers.  The law required taxpayers claiming the credits to meet various reporting requirements and for film 
companies to recruit Arizona residents to hold 25% of full-time positions in 2006, 35% in 2007, and 50% in 2008 
and after.  Though new credits may not be earned after tax year 2010, previously earned credits may be carried 
forward up to 5 years and used no later than tax year 2015. 
 
New Employment Tax Credit.  A $3,000 annual tax credit may be claimed for each net new qualifying job added by 
an employer in the state. To qualify for the credit, new employment positions must be full-time, pay at least the 
median wage, and offer health insurance paid by the employer (at least 65% of the premium).  Credits associated 
with 1 net new job can be claimed for 3 years.  A company may claim 1

st
 year credits for separate new jobs for up 

to 3 consecutive years.  Since 2
nd

 and 3
rd

 year credits may be claimed against each of the new positions, the 
taxpayer may claim credits for up to a total of 5 consecutive years.  A business cannot claim the new credit unless 
it adds at least 25 net new jobs in a year in an urban area (5 in a rural area) and makes a capital investment of at 
least $5 million ($1 million in a rural area) [A.R.S. § 43-1161].  The Arizona Commerce Authority (ACA) is authorized 
to issue 1

st
 year credits for up to 10,000 new employees ($30 million) in each year.  Statute does not permit the 

ACA to authorize new credits after June 30, 2017 (A.R.S. § 41-1525).  Given the maximum 5-year schedule outlined 
above, businesses may claim credits through TY 2021.   
 
In TY 2013 and later years, Laws 2012, Chapter 343 eliminates the requirement (provided by Laws 2011, 2

nd
 Special 

Session, Chapter 1) that no employer can claim more than 400 jobs in the first year of credit use, 800 jobs in the 
second year, and 1,200 jobs in the third year.  The cap applied to credits claimed against insurance premium, 
individual income, and corporate income taxes.  The credit cannot be claimed against employees that are also 
claimed under the Military Reuse Zone Tax Credit (A.R.S. § 41-1525).  Laws 2014, Chapter 168 changes the 
requirement for the New Employment Tax Credit program by providing that second and third year credits can be 
claimed irrespective of whether the same employee remains employed as long as the employer replaces the 
vacant position with another qualified employee within 90 days. 
 
Pollution Control Equipment.  The credit is allowed for purchases of real or personal property used to control or 
prevent pollution.  The qualifying facilities must be built or purchased to comply with U.S. Environmental 
Protection Agency or Arizona Department of Environmental quality regulations.  The credit amount is equal to the 
lesser of 10% of the purchase price or $500,000 in a taxable year.  This non-refundable tax credit is allowed to be 
carried forward for no more than 5 years [A.R.S. § 43-1170]. 
 
Recycling Equipment.  Taxpayers were able to claim a credit for placing recycling equipment in service after 
December 31, 1992.  This credit was in lieu of any deductions taken for depreciation.  The credit was equal to 10% 
of the installation cost, but not to exceed the lesser of 25% of the tax liability for that year or $5,000.  Certain 
recapture provisions applied when the recycling equipment ceased operation or was transferred.  Though new 
credits may not be earned after tax year 2002, previously earned credits may be carried forward up to 15 years 
and used no later than tax year 2017. 
 
Renewable Energy Investment.  A credit is allowed on new renewable energy capital investments in manufacturing 
or company headquarters for up to 10% of the taxpayer’s total capital investment. The credit is refundable, with 
the combined total of individual and corporate income tax credits capped at $70 million annually.  Recipients must 
receive their credit in 5 equal portions over 5 consecutive tax years.  The renewable energy investment credit 
shares its annual aggregate cap of $70 million with the qualified facility credit program (A.R.S. § 43-1164.04) 
enacted by Laws 2012, Chapter 343. 
 
To be eligible to receive the credit, a company must create new jobs and make new capital investment as follows: 
 

 Renewable energy manufacturing operations must create at least 1.5 full-time employment positions for each 
$500,000 increment of capital investment. 

 Renewable energy headquarter operations must create at least 1 full-time employment position for each 
$200,000 increment of capital investment.  
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The credit is dependent upon the taxpayer paying 51% of new full-time employees a rate exceeding 125% of the 
median annual wage in the state and paying 80% or more of the premium for all full-time employees’ health 
insurance. The taxpayer must also stay in operation within the state for 5 years after receiving post-approval for 
the credit or face recapture of any credits received. The tax credit is available for tax years 2010 to 2019 [A.R.S. § 
43-1164.01].  Laws 2012, Chapter 343 extended the credit from 2014 to 2019.  For additional information on 
renewable energy incentives, see Appendix A. 
 
Renewable Energy Manufacturing Facility.  A credit is allowed for companies that make substantial investments in 
new facilities that produce renewable energy to be used in a company’s manufacturing processes or for a 
company’s certified “International Operations Center” (IOC).  A company may earn up to $5 million in credits per 
year, for up to 5 years for each qualifying renewable energy facility.  Prior to Laws 2015, Chapter 6, only 
manufacturing facilities could qualify for a credit of $1 million per year for each facility, for up to 5 years.   
 
The credit program includes different criteria to qualify as a manufacturer than as a certified IOC.  To qualify for 
credits, a manufacturing company must invest a minimum of $300 million within 3 years of applying for the credit, 
or by December 31, 2017, whichever is earlier.  Each of a manufacturer’s renewable energy facilities requires at 
least a $30 million investment, production of at least 40,000 megawatt hours of energy annually, and use of at 
least 90% of the energy produced at the facility for self-consumption in the state and for manufacturing.  To qualify 
for the credit, an IOC must invest at least $100 million in renewable energy facilities within 3 years of applying for 
the credit, or by December 31, 2018, whichever is earlier.  At least 51% of energy produced by an IOC renewable 
energy facility must be used for self-consumption by the fifth year of operation.  A company’s facility must meet 
additional investment requirements to be certified by the ACA as an International Operations Center [A.R.S. § 41-
1520 and A.R.S. § 43-1164.05].  
 
The credit is not refundable, has an aggregate individual income and corporate income tax cap of $10 million a 
year, and may be carried-forward up to 5 years.  The lifetime limit on tax credits that an IOC may claim is capped at 
$25 million.  This credit cannot be claimed against the same facilities that are used to claim the Renewable Energy 
Production Credit [A.R.S. § 43-1164.03].  For additional information on renewable energy incentives, see Appendix 
A. 
 
Renewable Energy Production.  A credit is allowed on the production of electricity using renewable energy.  To be 
eligible for the credit, a taxpayer must hold title to a qualified energy generator that first produces electricity 
between January 1, 2011 and December 31, 2020.  The new credit allows a qualified producer of renewable energy 
to receive an individual or corporate income tax credit of up to $2 million per year on the electricity they produce 
for up to 10 years.  Given that a taxpayer may begin earning credits as late as TY 2020, the latest year a credit may 
be earned under a 10 year schedule is TY 2030.  The renewable energy credit has an annual cap of $20 million for 
total individual and corporate income tax credits.  A 5-year carry forward of the credit is allowed [A.R.S. § 43-
1164.03].  This credit cannot be claimed against the same facilities that are also claimed under the Renewable 
Manufacturing Facility Credit [A.R.S. § 43-1164.05].  For additional information on renewable energy incentives, 
see Appendix A. 
 
Research and Development (R&D).  A taxpayer may take a credit of 20% of qualified research expenses over a 
"base amount" (defined in the Internal Revenue Code) for expenses up to $2.5 million ($500,000 credit), plus 11% 
of expenses over $2.5 million.  Laws 2008, Chapter 290 expands the tax credit in tax years 2010 through 2017 by 
allowing for a larger percentage of qualified R&D expenses to be used to offset an individual’s tax liability (for more 
details, refer to the 2008 statutory changes under Impact of Statutory Changes).  Laws 2010, Chapter 312 changes 
the credit from being nonrefundable to refundable for those companies that employ less than 150 full-time 
employees.  Specifically, the act provides that such taxpayers receive a refund equal to 75% of the amount by 
which the credit exceeds their liability.  The refundable aspect of the credit has an annual cap of $5 million 
cumulatively for the individual and corporate income tax and is effective retroactively from January 1, 2010.  If in 
any year less than $5 million of credits are filed collectively by all taxpayers, any unused amount rolls over to the 
next year (for more details, refer to the 2010 statutory changes under Impact of Statutory Changes).  Laws 2010, 
2

nd
 Special Session, Chapter 1 expands the tax credit, beginning in FY 2013, by increasing the credit calculation by 

10% for university-related research.  The credit is subject to an aggregate cap of $10 million per year between 
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individual and corporate income taxpayers. A 15-year carry forward of the credit is allowed. Laws [A.R.S. § 43-
1168]. 
 
School Site Donation.  The credit is allowed for donations of real property and improvements to a school district or 
charter school as a school construction site.  The credit is for 30% of the value of real property and improvements 
donated and can be carried forward for 5 years [A.R.S. § 43-1181]. 
 
School Tuition.  A corporation (and an insurer) may claim a tax credit, up to the full amount of the donation, for 
contributions made to a school tuition organization (STO) that provides education scholarships and tuition grants 
either to students of low-income families pursuant to A.R.S. § 43-1183 (and A.R.S. § 20-224.06) or to disabled 
students or students in foster care (“displaced students”) pursuant to A.R.S. § 43-1184 (and A.R.S. § 20-224.07).  
Laws 2015, Chapter 301 expands the “low-income” and “disabled/displaced” STO credits to include businesses 
organized as S corporations pursuant to Section 1361 of the Internal Revenue Code, beginning in TY 2015.  Since 
tax credits earned by an S corporation are pro-rated and passed through to the owners, such credits are claimed 
against the individual income tax rather than the corporate income tax (see the Individual Income Tax section for 
more details on Laws 2015, Chapter 301). 
 
The total amount of the low-income tax credit approved by DOR pursuant to A.R.S. § 43-1183 for both corporate 
income tax credits and insurance premium tax credits is capped at $10 million per year, with the cap increasing by 
20% per year beginning in FY 2008.  The credit cap is $61.9 million in FY 2017 and increases to $74.3 million in FY 
2018, and $89.2 million in FY 2019.  Due to the aggregate credit cap, all corporations and insurers must be pre-
approved for the credit.  There is no cap on the amount of contributions made by individual corporations and 
insurers.   
 
The full amount of the disabled/displaced student tax credit approved by DOR pursuant to A.R.S. § 43-1184 is 
capped at $5 million per year.  A taxpayer may carry forward the unused portion of either tax credit for 5 years.  A 
taxpayer shall not claim a tax credit under both A.R.S. § 43-1183 and A.R.S. § 43-1184 for the same contribution 
[A.R.S. § 43-1183 and A.R.S. § 43-1184].  See Appendix B in the Tax Handbook for a comparison of private school 
tax credits. 
 
Solar Energy Devices for Commercial and Industrial Purposes.  A taxpayer can claim a credit equal to 10% of the 
installed cost of a solar energy device used in their trade or business.  The credit cannot exceed $25,000 for the 
same building in the same year or $50,000 in total in any year.  The credit is available between tax years 2006 and 
2018.  This income tax credit may be claimed by a taxpayer purchasing a solar energy device, or a taxpayer that 
finances the purchase of a qualifying device.  The credit also may be transferred to a third party that manufactures 
or installs a qualifying device.  This non-refundable tax credit is allowed to be carried forward for no more than 5 
consecutive years [A.R.S. § 43-1164].  For additional information on renewable energy incentives, see Appendix A. 
 
Solar Hot Water Heater Plumbing Stub Outs and Electric Vehicle Recharge Outlets Installed in Houses Constructed 
by Taxpayer.  An income tax credit of up to $75 is available for each installation of a qualifying device for each 
separate house or dwelling unit.  The credit may be transferred to the purchaser of the house or dwelling [A.R.S. § 
43-1176].  For additional information on renewable energy incentives, see Appendix A. 
 
Solar Liquid Fuel.  A taxpayer may take a tax credit for research and development, production, and delivery system 
costs associated with solar liquid fuel for TY 2011 through TY 2026.  Between TY 2011 and TY 2021, a taxpayer may 
take a credit for increased research and development related to solar liquid fuel of 40% of qualified research 
expenses within the state over a "base amount" (defined in the Internal Revenue Code).  From TY 2016 through TY 
2026, a taxpayer may take a credit for production of solar liquid fuel equal to:  1) $0.11 per 100,000 British thermal 
units (BTUs) of fuel produced in the state during the tax year for the production of solar liquid fuel in commercial 
quantities; and 2) 30% of the cost of converting or modifying an existing motor vehicle fuel service station for the 
retail sale of solar liquid fuel to customers.  The latter portion of the credit is limited to $20,000 per taxable year 
per service station [A.R.S. § 43-1164.02].  Taxpayers that use the research and development tax credit are 
prohibited from also taking a tax credit against the same research and development if it is associated with solar 
liquid fuel.  For additional information on renewable energy incentives, see Appendix A. 
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Temporary Assistance for Needy Families Employment.  For net increases in employment, a credit for each newly 
created position of 25% of the taxable wages paid in the first year of employment, 33% in the second year of 
continuous employment, and 50% in the third year, not to exceed $500, $1,000, and $1,500 respectively [A.R.S. § 
43-1175]. 
 
Water Conservation Systems.  This non-refundable credit, which was effective for tax years 2007 through 2011, 
was for the installation of water conservation systems to encourage the re-use of “graywater,” or wastewater for 
irrigation purposes.  The credit was equal to 25% of the cost of the water conservation system up to a maximum of 
$1,000.  The maximum aggregate amount that could be claimed in a taxable year was $250,000.  Though new 
credits may not be earned after tax year 2011, previously earned credits may be carried forward up to 5 years and 
used no later than tax year 2016. 
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
Period Covered by the Taxable Year 
Every taxpayer (individual, business entity, etc.) must figure its taxable income based on an annual accounting 
period called a tax year.  For individual income taxpayers the calendar year is also their tax year.  Other taxpayers, 
such as corporations or partnerships may use a fiscal year as their tax year. 
 
A calendar year is 12 consecutive months beginning on January 1 and ending on December 31.  Taxpayers that 
adopt the calendar year as their tax year must maintain their books and records and report their income and 
expenses from January 1 through December 31 of each year. 
 
A fiscal year is 12 consecutive months ending on the last day of any month except December 31.  Taxpayers that 
adopt a fiscal year must consistently maintain their books and records and report their income and expenses using 
the period (fiscal year) adopted. 
 
The federal and state filing due date for C and S corporations and partnerships is the 15

th
 day of the 4

th
 month 

following the close of the tax year [A.R.S. § 43-501].  For example, a corporation whose tax year is the same as the 
calendar year has a federal and state filing due date of April 15.  Prior to passage of the federal Surface 
Transportation and Veterans Health Care Choice Improvement Act of 2015, C and S corporations had a federal 
filing due date of the 15

th
 day of the 3

rd
 month following a tax year. 

 
A filing extension may be granted if 90% of the corporation’s tax liability is paid by the original due date and the 
extension request is received by the original due date.  No extension may be granted beyond 6 months from the 
original due date [A.R.S. § 42-1107]. 
 
The Table 6 below provides 3 examples of when a corporation’s 2016 tax return is due.  The due date depends on 
the corporation’s elected tax year (calendar year or fiscal year) as well as whether the corporation files for a 6-
month extension or not. 
 

Table 6     
     FILING DUE DATE FOR CORPORATE INCOME TAX RETURN 
     

 
Accounting 

Period 

 
Corporation’s 
Taxable Year 

 
Filing  

Due Date 

 
Extension  
Due Date 

 
Income Tax 
Return Year 

     
1/1/2016 – 
12/31/2016 

CY 2016 4/15/2017 10/15/2017 2016 

     
7/1/2016 – 
6/30/2017 

FY 2017 10/15/2017 4/15/2018 2016 

     
12/1/2016 – 
11/30/2017 

FY 2017 3/15/2018 9/15/2018 2016 
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As indicated in the table above, a corporation’s 2016 state tax return could be filed as early as April 15, 2017 and 
as late as September 15, 2018 depending on:  (1) the corporation’s elected tax year (calendar year or fiscal year) 
and (2) whether the corporation requests a 6-month extension or not.  According to DOR, large corporations 
typically file for the 6-month extension. 
 
Estimated Tax Payments 
Corporations that expect an Arizona income tax liability for the taxable year of $1,000 or more must make Arizona 
estimated tax payments during the year.  Corporations whose Arizona income tax liability for the preceding taxable 
year was $20,000 or more must make their estimated payments via electronic fund transfer (“EFT”).  Any 
corporation that fails to make the required estimated tax payments is subject to a penalty on any payment that is 
late or underpaid [A.R.S. § 43-582].  The required annual payment of the estimated tax is the smaller of: 
 

 90% of the corporation’s Arizona tax liability for the current taxable year, or 

 100% of the corporation’s Arizona tax liability for the prior taxable year. 
  
Large corporations (defined as having a federal tax liability of $1 million or more for any 1 of the preceding 3 
taxable years) are required to make total estimated payments of 90% of the current year’s tax liability.   
 
Calendar year and fiscal year basis taxpayers are required to make their Arizona corporate estimated tax payments 
by the 15

th
 day of the 4

th
, 6

th
, 9

th
, and 12

th
 months of the taxable year.  If the installment due date falls on a 

weekend or legal holiday, the payment is considered timely if made on the next business day. 
 
IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2010. 
 

2016 LAWS 
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 35 requires the state to withhold distributions of Urban Revenue Sharing Fund (URS) monies 
from cities or towns that the Attorney General finds are violating the Arizona Constitution or state laws.  Cities and 
towns receive annual distributions from the URS that total 15% of individual and corporate income tax collections 
from 2 years prior.  Under Chapter 35, the URS share of any offending locality will be redistributed to the 
remaining cities and towns.  The state would continue to withhold URS distributions until the Attorney General 
certifies that the city or town is no longer in violation of the Arizona Constitution and state laws.  The shared 
revenue would not be withheld, though, if doing so would leave the city or town with insufficient funding to 
service their long-term debt obligations.  (Effective from August 6, 2016) 
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 155 was the annual conformity bill that updated the definition of the Internal Revenue Code 
(IRC) to include all IRC provisions that were in effect as of January 1, 2016.  The federal Consolidated 
Appropriations Act of 2016 authorized a permanent business expensing limit of $500,000, retroactively to TY 2015.  
A primary implication of Chapter 155 was conformity of the state’s tax statutes to the permanent business 
expensing limit of $500,000.  There is no added revenue loss from conforming to the permanent limit, as the 
previous estimated impact of $(30.8) million a year assumed the continuation of the $500,000 limit in future years.  
The Accelerated Depreciation Allowances subsection of the Individual Income Tax section includes more details on 
the business expensing allowance.  (Effective retroactive from January 1, 2016) 
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 156 was a correction bill that made technical and clarification changes to the Arizona Revised 
Statutes.  (Effective from August 6, 2016) 
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 258 is an emergency measure that amends current statutes with respect to the method by 
which state-shared revenues are apportioned among counties and municipalities, as described below.   
 
Under current law, state-shared revenue is distributed to an incorporated city or town based on its population 
count as of the last federal decennial census [A.R.S. § 42-5029(I)].  During the fifth year following the decennial 
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census, a city/town may contract with the U.S. Census Bureau to conduct a special census of the population of that 
municipality.  Beginning July 1 in the sixth year following the decennial census, the special census must be used as 
the basis for apportioning state-shared revenue to that municipality until the next federal decennial census [A.R.S. 
§ 42-5033].    
 
For purposes of apportioning state-shared revenue, Laws 2016, Chapter 258 provides a city/town the option to use 
either the population count from the special census or the most recent population estimate from the U.S. Census 
Bureau.  However, Chapter 258 provides that the population count from the special census be used for only 1 year.  
Beginning on July 1 in the second year following the special census, a city/town must use the most recent 
population estimate from the U.S. Census Bureau.  If a special census is not conducted, Chapter 258 requires a 
city/town to use the most recent population estimate from the U.S. Census Bureau beginning on July 1 in the 
second year following the decennial census through June 30 of the year following the next decennial census. 
(Effective by emergency measure, from May 17, 2016) 
 

Laws 2016, Chapter 372 expands the facility tax credit by reducing investment and employee compensation 
requirements that taxpayers must meet.  The credit is 10% of the lesser of:  (1) the taxpayer’s total capital 
investment in a qualified facility or (2) $200,000 for each net new employee at the qualified facility.  Chapter 372 
expands the definition of an investment to include development costs of build-to-suit facilities that are leased to 
the taxpayer.  The legislation additionally reduces the portion of employee health insurance that employers must 
pay (from 80% to 65% of premiums) and lowers the minimum wage that rural businesses must pay a majority of 
their employees (from 125% to 100% of the median state wage).  The bill extends the final year the credit may be 
approved from TY 2019 to TY 2022.  (Effective from August 6, 2016) 
 
2015 LAWS 
 
Laws 2015, Chapter 6 expands the renewable energy manufacturing facility credit to investments in facilities 
certified by the ACA as an “International Operations Center” (IOC) and increases the annual credit amount.  Laws 
2014, Chapter 8 provides an individual and corporate income tax credit for investments in new renewable energy 
facilities that produce energy that is used for self-consumption if the power is used primarily in manufacturing 
operations.  Under Laws 2015, Chapter 6, the requirements to qualify for the credit are lower for an IOC than a 
manufacturer.  Chapter 6 increases the credit amount from $1 million to $5 million per year (for 5 years) for each 
qualifying renewable energy facility.  For additional information on the renewable energy manufacturing facility 
credit, see Appendix A in the Tax Handbook.  (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2015) 
 
Laws 2015, Chapter 301 allows an S corporation to receive an income tax credit for cash contributions made to a 
STO that provides scholarships to “low-income” or “displaced or disabled” students.  Prior to Chapter 301, only 
businesses classified as C corporations were allowed to receive credits for such contributions.  For tax purposes, 
credits earned by an S corporation must be pro-rated, passed through to the co-owners and applied against each 
owner’s individual income tax liability.  Chapter 301 is not expected to have any additional revenue impact since 
existing caps on tax credit-eligible contributions for scholarships to low-income or displaced/disabled students are 
already fully utilized.  For additional information on school tuition tax credits, see Appendix B in the Tax Handbook.  
(Effective retroactively from January 1, 2015) 
 
2014 LAWS 
 
Laws 2014, Chapter 8 creates a new individual and corporate income tax credit for any company that makes an 
investment of at least $300 million in a new renewable energy facility that produces energy that is primarily used 
in Arizona for the company’s own manufacturing processes. The credit has an aggregate individual and corporate 
income tax cap of $10 million a year.  While the credit can be taken in FY 2015, it is anticipated that the credit will 
not be used until FY 2016.  The credit is estimated to reduce General Fund revenues by $(10) million, beginning in 
FY 2016 [A.R.S. § 43-1164.05]. (Effective from July 24, 2014) 
 
Laws 2014, Chapter 168 changes a requirement for the New Employment Tax Credit by providing that second and 
third year credits can be claimed irrespective of whether the same employee remains employed as long as the 
employer replaces the vacant position with another qualified employee within 90 days. The provision is estimated 
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to reduce income tax collections by $(882,000) in FY 2015, followed by an additional $(405,000) in FY 2016, and 
$(381,000) in FY 2017 [A.R.S. § 43-1164.05].  (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2014) 
 
Laws 2014, Chapter 223 was the annual conformity bill that updated the definition of the Internal Revenue Code 
(IRC) to include all IRC provisions that were in effect as of January 1, 2014. 
 
Laws 2014, Chapter 245 was the annual correction bill that made technical, conforming, and clarification changes 
to the Arizona Revised Statutes.  The bill removed statutory references for previously expired individual income tax 
credits including Water Conservation Systems, Agricultural Preservation Districts and Construction Materials 
credits.  The Water Conservation Systems credit may still be carried forward up to 5 years and used no later than 
TY 2016.  (Effective from January 1, 2015) 
 
2013 LAWS 
 
Laws 2013, Chapter 65 conforms Arizona tax statutes to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 3, 2013 and 
establishes a tax credit for Tax Year 2013 in lieu of conforming to the retroactive provision of the Federal Aviation 
Administration (FAA) Modernization and Reform Act relating to rollover of amounts received in airline carrier 
bankruptcy. Chapter 65 is estimated to result in an income tax revenue gain of $4.6 million in FY 2013, $13.7 
million in FY 2014, $17.6 million in FY 2015, and $15.6 million in FY 2016. (Effective retroactively from January 1, 
2013) 
 
Laws 2013, Chapter 114 was a correction bill that made technical and clarification changes to the Arizona Revised 
Statutes.  (Contained various effective dates) 
 
Laws 2013, Chapter 236 includes several income tax (individual and corporate), TPT and property tax provisions.  
The act’s corporate income tax provisions are summarized below. The Individual Income Tax section of the Tax 
Handbook (2013 Laws) shows the fiscal impact by tax provision and year.   
 
Allows Institutions of Higher Education to Use an Alternative Sales Factor 
Chapter 236 allows a regionally accredited institution of higher education to elect to treat sales of educational 
services as being in Arizona based on a combination of income-producing activity sales and market sales.  As a 
result, academic institutions with at least 1 campus on which 2,000 or more students reside will be able to reduce 
their Arizona corporate income tax liability by using an alternative sales factor calculation for educational services.  
This provision, which is effective January 1, 2014, has an unknown revenue impact.  (Effective from January 1, 
2014) 
 
Exempts Enterprise Zone Credit Certification Requirement 
Chapter 236 provides that businesses, which were certified by ACA and then claimed first year credits under the 
now repealed Enterprise Zone (EZ) Credit program, be exempt from the requirement to file for certification in 
order to claim second or third year credits. This provision is estimated to reduce income tax revenue by $(500,000) 
in FY 2014 and $(300,000) in FY 2015.  (Effective retroactively from July 1, 2011) 
 
Laws 2013, Chapter 256 removes the $25,000 cap on deductions from state income tax for qualified business 
equipment purchases under Section 179 of the Internal Revenue Code (IRC), beginning in tax years starting after 
December 31, 2012. Section 179 allows individual and corporate taxpayers to deduct, for income tax purposes, 
100% of their qualified business expenses (up to a stipulated amount) in the year that the equipment was 
purchased rather than in smaller installments over several years according to a federal depreciation schedule.  At 
the time, the act was estimated to result in a one-time income tax revenue loss of $(24.8) million in FY 2014.  The 
Accelerated Depreciation Allowances subsection of the Individual Income Tax section includes more details on the 
Section 179 allowance and subsequent estimated impacts.  (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2013) 
 
2012 LAWS 
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 2 allows multi-state service-providing companies to reduce their Arizona corporate income tax 
liability through a change in the calculation of the sales factor.  Services sales are determined to be in-state if more 
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of the costs of producing the services occur within Arizona than in any other state.  If any other state has a higher 
share of production costs, all sales were considered out-of-state.  Thus, for services, the sales factor would be 
either 100% of sales or 0%.  
 
The law provides an option for corporations that sell more than 85% of their services to consumers outside of 
Arizona to use the location of the buyer in calculating the sales factor, which is how the sales factor for goods is 
calculated. This would mean that only sales to buyers in Arizona would be included in the calculation of taxable 
income.  
 
The change in the calculation of the sales factor is phased in between TY 2014 and TY 2017.  The General Fund 
revenue reduction is estimated to be $(3.0) million in FY 2014, $(3.5) million in FY 2015, $(3.9) million in FY 2016, 
and $(4.4) million in FY 2017. (Effective from January 1, 2014) 
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 3 was the annual correction bill that made technical, conforming, and clarification changes to 
the Arizona Revised Statutes.  (Contained various effective dates) 
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 170 conformed Arizona Revised Statutes to the provisions of Laws 2011, 2

nd
 Special Session, 

Chapter 1, which created the Arizona Commerce Authority.  (Effective August 2, 2012) 
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 331 extended existing tax incentives under the Healthy Forest program from 2014 through 
2024.  Additionally, Chapter 331 also eased program qualification requirements and established new tax incentives 
for certified Healthy Forest Enterprises.  Among the new incentives is an individual and corporate income tax credit 
for ecological restoration workforce training.  The new credit is estimated to reduce General Fund revenues by 
$(110,000) in FY 2013.  The fiscal impact of other incentives included in the act is unknown.  (Effective retroactively 
from January 1, 2012) 
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 343 reduces individual income taxes paid on long-term capital gains derived from assets 
purchased after 2011.  The act includes several other income (both individual and corporate) and property tax 
reductions as well.  The fiscal impact of Chapter 343 is phased in over several years, beginning in FY 2014.  The 
Individual Income Tax section of the Tax Handbook (2012 Law Changes) shows the fiscal impact by tax provision 
and year.  The act’s corporate income tax provisions are summarized below. 
 
Extension of Net Operating Loss Carry Forward 
Chapter 343 increases the net operating loss (NOL) carry forward period for corporations operating in Arizona from 
5 years to 20 years, beginning in TY 2012.  DOR estimates that the provision will reduce corporate income taxes by 
$(5.6) million to $(18.9) million annually, beginning in FY 2019.  The revenue loss is assumed to be the mid-point of 
that range, or $(12.2) million, beginning in FY 2019.  (Effective retroactively to January 1, 2012) 
 
Deduction of Federal Bonus Depreciation 
Under federal law, businesses that place qualified property in service in 2012 or 2013 are eligible for 50% bonus 
depreciation.  Under prior state law, bonus depreciation was not allowed for state income tax purposes since 
Arizona did not conform to this provision of federal law.  Chapter 343 amends current statute by allowing a state 
income tax deduction equal to 10% of the bonus depreciation claimed on federal returns for assets placed in 
service in 2012 and 2013.  The act is expected to result in a one-time individual and corporate income tax 
reduction of $(4.2) million in FY 2014.  The fiscal impact of this provision after FY 2014 will depend on whether the 
federal government extends bonus depreciation.  The 50% bonus depreciation currently provided to businesses 
will expire at the end of 2013.  The Accelerated Depreciation sub-section to the Individual Income Tax section of 
the Tax Handbook includes more details on bonus depreciation allowances.  (Effective from January 1, 2013) 
 
Qualified Facility Income Tax Credit 
Beginning in TY 2013, the act establishes a new individual and corporate income tax credit for businesses that 
expand or locate qualified facilities in the state.  The credit is 10% of the lesser of:  (1) the capital investment in the 
facility or (2) $200,000 for each net new employee at the facility.  To be eligible for the credit, a business is 
required to devote at least 80% of its property and payroll at the facility to manufacturing, research, or a national 
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or regional headquarter.  There are also certain minimum requirements with respect to wage and health insurance 
coverage for new employees at the facilities.   
 
The credit is refundable but no single taxpayer can claim more than $30 million in credits per calendar year.  The 
credit must be taken in equal installments over 5 taxable years.  The qualified facility credit program is subject to 
an aggregate annual cap of $70 million, which it shares with the renewable energy investment credit enacted in 
2009.  The qualified facility income tax credit is estimated to reduce income tax revenues by $(4.0) million in FY 
2014, $(8.0) million in FY 2015, $(12.0) million in FY 2016, $(16.0) million in FY 2017, and $(20.0) million in FY 2018.  
(Effective retroactively from July 1, 2012) 
 
Elimination of the Individual Employer Cap for the $3,000 New Job Tax Credit 
Laws 2011, 2

nd
 Special Session, Chapter 1 established a 3-year $3,000 annual tax credit for each net new qualifying 

job added by an employer in the state.  The act provided an aggregate credit cap of 10,000 net new jobs per year.  
However, no employer could claim more than 400 net new employees per year.  Chapter 343 eliminates the 
individual company credit cap of 400 new employees, beginning in TY 2013.  The General Fund revenue loss is 
estimated to be $(1.8) million in FY 2014, $(3.6) million in FY 2015, and $(5.4) million in FY 2016.  (Effective from 
January 1, 2013) 
 
2011 LAWS 
 
Laws 2011, Chapter 4 modified the definition of the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) for tax year 2011 to the federal 
IRC in effect on January 1, 2011.  This includes changes adopted by Congress in the Temporary Extension Act of 
2010; Hiring Incentives to Restore Employment Act; Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act; Healthcare and 
Education Reconciliation Act of 2010; Preservation of Access to Care for Medicare Beneficiaries and Pension Relief 
Act of 2010; The Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act; Small Business Jobs Act of 2010; 
Claims Resolution Act of 2010; The Tax Relief, Unemployment Insurance Reauthorization, and Job Creation Act of 
2010; and The Regulated Investment Company Modernization Act of 2010.  The conformity provisions of Chapter 4 
were estimated to increase General Fund revenues from the corporate income tax by $6.1 million in FY 2012.  
(Effective retroactive from January 1, 2011) 
 
Laws 2011, Chapter 287 creates a Health Savings Account Tax Credit available from tax year 2012 to tax year 2014.  
The income tax credit is available to businesses that provide qualifying health insurance plans to each enrolled 
employee.  The credit is equal to $360 for every employee that enrolls in a health insurance plan offered by the 
business.  To qualify, the business must offer High Deductible Health Insurance Plans with catastrophic coverage 
under a Health Savings Account.  In order to receive the credit, businesses must have between 2 and 50 
employees, must not have provided health insurance within 90 days of offering the plan, and must offer the plan 
to each employee for at least 1 year.  Unused credits can be carried forward 3 years.  (Effective from January 1, 
2012) 
 
Laws 2011, 2

nd
 Special Session, Chapter 1 phases down the corporate income tax rate from 6.968% to 4.9% over 4 

years and increases the optional corporate sales factor from 80% to 100% over 4 years, both beginning in TY 2014.  
The bill also increases the R&D Tax Credit, and establishes a New Employment Tax Credit. 
 
The phase-down of the corporate income tax rate, from 6.968% to 4.9% over 4 years beginning in TY 2014, is 
estimated to result in a revenue loss of $(53.8) million in FY 2015 and grow to $(269.6) million in FY 2018, when 
the rate reduction is fully implemented.  (Effective from January 1, 2014) 
 
The phase-in of the optional 100% sales factor, beginning in TY 2014, is expected to reduce corporate income tax 
collections by $(24.6) million in FY 2015 and $(84.0) million in FY 2018, when the provision is fully implemented, 
including the cost of the phase-down of the corporate tax rate beginning in TY 2014, which was discussed in the 
paragraph above.  Without the tax rate provision, the phase-in of the single sales factor would reduce revenues by 
$(26.3) million in FY 2015 and grow to $(119.5) million in FY 2018.  (Effective from January 1, 2014) 
 
The New Employment Tax Credit provides a $3,000 annual tax credit for each net new qualifying job added by an 
employer in the state.  To qualify for the credit new employment positions must be full-time, pay at least the 
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median wage, and offer health insurance paid by the employer (at least 65% of the premium).  Credits can be 
claimed for 3 years.  A business cannot claim the new credit unless it adds at least 25 net new jobs in a year in an 
urban area (5 in a rural area) and makes capital investment of at least $5 million ($1 million in a rural area).  No 
employer can claim more than 400 jobs in the first year of credit use, 800 jobs in the second year, and 1,200 jobs in 
the third year.  The bill provides a statewide aggregate credit cap of 10,000 jobs in FY 2013 ($30 million) and grows 
by an additional 10,000 jobs in both FY 2014 ($60 million) and FY 2015 ($90 million).  The cost of the bill was 
estimated to be $(6.7) million in FY 2012, increasing to $(47.7) million by FY 2015.  The cap applies to credits 
claimed against insurance premium, individual income, and corporate income taxes.  The credit cannot be claimed 
against employees that are also claimed under the Military Reuse Zone Tax Credit. (Effective from July 1, 2011) 
 
Furthermore, the bill increases the R&D Tax Credit by 10% for university-related investment beginning in FY 2013 
(effective from January 1, 2012).  The cost of the legislation was partially offset by the expiration of the Enterprise 
Zone Tax Credit, which sunsets at the end of FY 2011.  A summary of all the Chapter 1 fiscal impact provisions is 
displayed on the next page. 
 
 



 

 

 Table 7  
   
 General Fund Impact of Tax Provisions in Laws 2011, 2

nd
 Special Session, Chapter 1 (“Jobs Bill”)  1/2/  

 ($ in Millions)  
            

 Description of Provision   Tax FY 12 FY 13 FY 14 FY 15 FY 16 FY 17 FY 18   

              
 Phases down Class 1 (commercial) property assessment ratio from 20% to 18% over 

4 years, beginning in TY 2013 
 Property 3/   (3.4) (7.2) (11.6) (16.5) (17.4)   

    
              

 Reduces Class 2 (agricultural) property assessment ratio from 16% to 15% in TY 
2016 

 Property 3/      (2.4) (2.7)   
    
              

 Reduce Homeowner Rebate costs by limiting to primary residence & requiring 
affidavits 

 Property 3/  39.0  39.0  39.0  39.0  39.0  39.0    

    
              

 Increases Homeowner Rebate % to offset Class 3 tax shift due to Class 1 & 2 
assessment ratio reductions, beginning in FY 2014 

 Property 3/   (15.6) (34.1) (55.7) (93.0) (100.5)   
    
              

 Reimburses County Assessor' Costs for Implementation of Homeowner Rebate 
changes, beginning in FY 2013 

 Other 4/  (2.0) (2.0) (2.0) (2.0) (2.0) (2.0)   
    
              

 Changes personal property exemption inflation factor to cost employment index  Property 3/  - - - - - -   
                  

 Increases small businesses eligibility for 30% "Angel" investment credit from $2m to 
$10m in assets  

 Individual Income (4.0) (4.0) (4.0) (4.5) - - -   
    
              

 Eliminates capital gains on income derived from small businesses, beginning in TY 
2014 

 Individual Income - - - (11.6) (12.3) (12.9) (13.6)   
    

 
             

 Phases down corporate tax rate from 6.968% to 4.9% over 4 years, beginning in TY 
2014 

 Corporate Income - - -  (53.8)  (116.0)  (183.5)    (269.6)   
    

 
        

 Phases in corporate sales factor from 80% to 100% over 4 years, beginning in TY 
2014 

 Corporate Income - - -  (24.6)  (47.3)  (67.8)     (84.0)   
    

 
           

 Increases university-related R&D credit by 10%, beginning in TY 2012  Corporate & Individual Income - (4.0) (4.0) (4.0) (4.0) (4.0) (4.0)   
    

 
             

 Creates annual $3,000 3-year new job credit with conditions  Corporate / Individual Income & 
Insurance Premium  

(6.7) (13.4) (29.8) (47.7) 
 

(52.7) (53.7) (50.9) 
 

  

    

 
             

 Eliminates Enterprise Zone Program  Corporate / Individual Income & 
Property 

4.0  4.0  4.0  4.0  4.0  4.0  4.0    

    

             SUBTOTAL   ($6.7) $14.8 ($20.6) ($151.3) ($263.4) ($397.6) ($506.5)  

              
 Diverts withholding tax to Arizona Commerce Authority, beginning in FY 2012  Individual Income  5/6/ (31.5) (31.5) (31.5) (31.5) (31.5) (31.5) (31.5)   
                            Total General Fund Impact     ($38.2) ($16.7) ($52.1) ($182.8) ($294.9) ($429.1) ($538.0)   

            
 Notes:           
 1/   Cost to General Fund appears as a negative and savings appears as a positive.         
 2/   Property tax changes are estimated after truth-in-taxation adjustments.         
 3/   Impact will be displayed as a change in state expenditures due to change in funding requirements for K-12 Basic State Aid and Additional State Aid.  
 4/   This is a non-tax provision that requires the Legislature to reimburse counties for their costs of administering the new Homeowner’s Rebate affidavit process.  
 5/   Plus $3.5 million of lottery proceeds previously designated for Department of Commerce.  
 6/   Displayed as expenditure in Appropriations Report Tables.        
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2010 LAWS 
 
Laws 2010, Chapter 176 conforms Arizona Revised Statutes to the federal Internal Revenue Code in effect as of 
January 1, 2010 (as well as provisions enacted retroactively for previous tax years) with the exception for the 
following federal provisions: 
 

 Suspension of Tax on Unemployment Compensation – excludes up to $2,400 of unemployment compensation 
from federal gross income in tax year 2009. 

 New Car Deduction – provides an income tax deduction for sales taxes paid in 2009 on the purchase of a new 
vehicle. 

 Net Operating Loss Carryback for Small Business – provides a 5-year carryback of 2008 net operating losses for 
businesses with $15 million or less in gross receipts. 

 Net Operating Loss Carryback for All Businesses – provides a 5-year carryback of 2008 or 2009 net operating 
losses for all businesses. 

 Delay of Tax on Cancellation of Debt Income – allows businesses with cancellation of debt income in 2009 and 
2010 to defer payment of tax for 5 years. 

 2010 Contributions Related to Haiti Earthquake – allows cash contributions made in the first 2 months of 
calendar year 2010 for the relief of Haiti earthquake victims to be treated as if they were made in 2009 for 
income tax purposes. 

 
According to estimates provided by DOR, full conformity would have resulted in a General Fund revenue loss of 
$(138.5) million in FY 2010 and $(30.3) million in FY 2011.  With these exclusions, the bill’s estimated impact is 
expected to be minimal.  (Contains various effective dates) 
 
Laws 2010, Chapter 289 establishes a new individual and corporate income tax credit for R&D, production, and 
delivery system costs associated with solar liquid fuel for TY 2011 through TY 2026.  Between TY 2011 and TY 2021, 
a taxpayer may take a credit for increased R&D related to solar liquid fuel of 40% of qualified research expenses 
within the state over a "base amount" (defined in the Internal Revenue Code).  Between TY 2016 through TY 2026, 
a taxpayer may take a credit for production of solar liquid fuel equal to:  1) $0.11 per 100,000 british thermal units 
(BTUs) of fuel produced in the state during the tax year for the production of solar liquid fuel in commercial 
quantities; and 2) 30% of the cost of converting or modifying an existing motor vehicle fuel service station for the 
retail sale of solar liquid fuel to customers.  The latter portion of the credit is limited to $20,000 per taxable year 
per service station.  Taxpayers who use the R&D tax credit are prohibited from also taking a tax credit against the 
same R&D if it is associated with solar liquid fuel.  (Contains various effective dates) 
 
Laws 2010, Chapter 292 reorganizes current statutory provisions and adds additional provisions for regulating 
school tuition organizations (STOs) that receive corporate donations.  (Effective retroactively from July 1, 2010) 
 
Laws 2010, Chapter 294 extends the expiration of the tax credit that applies to solar energy devices used for 
commercial and industrial purposes from December 31, 2012 to December 31, 2018. 
 
Laws 2010, Chapter 303 amends the individual and corporate income tax credit for renewable energy investment 
by capping the amount of the credit to the post-approval amount determined by the Arizona Department of 
Commerce and requires that the agency also give pre-approval and post-approval to all credits.  The act also 
eliminates the distribution of the credit on a first-come, first-serve basis and limits the total of the credits allowed 
to all owners of a business to an amount that would have been allowed for a sole owner of the business.  Finally, 
the act allows any excess refund to be treated as a tax deficiency and allows recapture of the tax refund if it is 
determined that the taxpayer has committed fraud or relocated outside the state within 5 years of first receiving 
the credit.  (Effective retroactively from October 1, 2009) 
 
Laws 2010, Chapter 312 changes the individual and corporate income tax credit for Research and Development 
(R&D) from being nonrefundable to refundable for those companies that employ less than 150 full-time 
employees.  Specifically, the act provides that such taxpayers receive a refund equal to 75% of the amount by 
which the credit exceeds their liability.  The credit has an annual cap of $5 million cumulatively for the individual 
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and corporate income tax and is effective retroactively from January 1, 2010.  If in any year less than $5 million of 
credits are filed collectively by all taxpayers, any unused amount rolls over to the next year.  The refundable credit 
is expected to reduce General Fund revenues generated by the individual and corporate income tax by $(5.0) 
million in FY 2011.  (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2010) 
 
In addition to the modified R&D credit, Chapter 312 also establishes a new renewable energy production tax credit 
that will become effective in tax year 2012.  The new credit allows a qualified producer of renewable energy to 
receive an individual and corporate income tax credit of up to $2 million per year on the electricity they produce 
for up to 10 years, beginning January 1, 2011.  The renewable energy credit has an annual cap of $20 million for 
total individual and corporate income tax credits.  The credit is expected to reduce General Fund revenues 
generated by the individual and corporate income tax by $(20.0) million in FY 2012.  (Effective from January 1, 
2012) 
 
A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2010 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at  
www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/16taxbk.pdf 
 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/corptax.pdf
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/16taxbk.pdf
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Appendix A 
 

RENEWABLE ENERGY TAX INCENTIVES 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The state has numerous Individual and Corporate Income tax credits for renewable energy investment, production, 
and installation.  The state also allows for property tax incentives and sales or use tax exemptions for the purchase 
of certain renewable energy equipment or facilities. 
 
INDIVIDUAL AND CORPORATE TAX CREDITS 
 
A tax credit is a dollar-for-dollar reduction of a taxpayer’s income tax liability.  A credit is different from a 
subtraction, exemption, or deduction, which reduces the amount of income that will be taxed.   
 
A tax credit is either refundable or non-refundable.  Unlike refundable credits, non-refundable credits can never 
exceed a taxpayer’s tax liability.  However, many of the non-refundable tax credits allow the unused amounts to be 
carried forward to future years.   
 
Current statutes include the following tax credits which are sorted by whether they relate to the investment in, or 
production of, renewable energy, or whether they pertain to the installation of a renewable energy device: 
 
Investment and Production: 
Renewable Energy Investment.  An individual and corporate credit is allowed on new renewable energy capital 
investments in manufacturing or company headquarters, for up to 10% of the taxpayer’s total capital investment.  
The credit is refundable, with the combined total of individual and corporate income tax credits capped at $70.0 
million annually.  Recipients must receive their credit in 5 equal portions over 5 consecutive tax years.  The annual 
cap of $70.0 million is shared with the Qualified Facility Income Tax Credit.  The Arizona Department of Revenue 
(DOR) has not been able to release complete credit use data due to confidentiality restrictions.  The Arizona 
Commerce Authority (ACA) reports that it gave final approval for a total of $2.0 million credits through 2015.  This 
amount must be taken in equal installments over 5 years, or approximately $400,000 a year.   
 
To be eligible to receive the credit, a company must meet at least 1 of the following requirements for investments 
and job creation: 
 

 Renewable energy manufacturing operations must create at least 1.5 full-time employment positions for each 
$500,000 increment of capital investment. 

 Renewable energy headquarter operations must create at least 1 full-time employment position for each 
$200,000 increment of capital investment. 

 
The credit is dependent upon the taxpayer paying 51% of new full-time employees at a rate exceeding 125% of the 
median annual wage in the state and paying 80% or more of the premium for all full-time employees’ health 
insurance.  The taxpayer must also stay in operation within the state for 5 years after receiving post-approval for 
the credit or face recapture of any credits received.  The tax credit is available from tax years 2010 through 2019 
[Laws 2012, Chapter 343; Laws 2010, Chapter 303; Laws 2009; Chapter 96; A.R.S. § 41-1511; A.R.S. § 43-1083.01, 
and A.R.S. § 43-1164.01]. 
 
Renewable Energy Manufacturing Facility.  A credit is allowed for companies that make substantial investments in 
new facilities that produce renewable energy to be used in a company’s manufacturing processes or for a 
company’s certified “International Operations Center” (IOC).  A company may earn up to $5.0 million in credits per 
year for up to 5 years for each qualifying renewable energy facility.  Prior to Laws 2015, Chapter 6, only 
manufacturing facilities could qualify for a credit of $1.0 million per year for up to 5 facilities, up to 5 years.   
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The credit program includes different criteria to qualify as a manufacturer than as a certified IOC.  The different 
criteria for each can be found in Table 1 and listed below. 
 
Manufacturer 

 Total investments of at least $300.0 million made within 3 years of applying for the credit or by December 31, 
2017, whichever is earlier.  

 Investment of at least $30.0 million in each renewable energy facility.  

 Production of at least 40,000 megawatt hours of energy annually at each renewable energy facility.  

 Use of at least 90% of the energy produced at a facility for self-consumption in the state and for 
manufacturing [A.R.S. § 43-1083.04 and A.R.S. § 43-1164.03]. 

International Operations Center 

 Total investments of at least $1.25 billion made on or before the 10th year after receiving IOC certification. 

 Minimum annual investment of $100.0 million in each of 10 consecutive taxable years.  

 Investment of at least $100.0 million in renewable energy facilities within 3 years of applying for the credit or 
by December 31, 2018, whichever is earlier. 

 Use of at least 51% of energy produced at an IOC’s renewable energy facility for self-consumption by the fifth 
year of operation [A.R.S. § 41-1520; A.R.S. § 43-1083.04, and A.R.S. § 43-1164.03]. 

 

The credit is not refundable, has an aggregate individual income and corporate income tax cap of $10.0 million a 
year, is available for tax year 2014 through 2025, and may be carried forward up to 5 years.  The lifetime limit on 
tax credits that an IOC may claim is capped at $25.0 million.  This credit cannot be claimed against the same 
facilities that are used to claim the Renewable Energy Production Credit [A.R.S. § 43-1083.02 and A.R.S. § 43-
1164.03].  DOR reports that no applications for the credit had been received as of October 2015. 
 
Renewable Energy Production.  An individual and corporate credit is allowed on the production of electricity using 
renewable energy, including solar light, solar heat, wind or biomass. To be eligible for the credit, a taxpayer must 
hold title to a qualified energy generator that first produces electricity between January 1, 2011 and December 31, 
2020.  The new credit allows a qualified producer of renewable energy to receive a tax credit of up to $2.0 million 
per year on the electricity they produce for up to 10 years.  Given that a taxpayer may begin earning credits as late 
as tax year 2020, the latest year a credit may be earned under the 10-year schedule is tax year 2030.  The credit is 
equal to $0.01 per kilowatt hour for the first 200,000 megawatt hours of biomass or wind energy produced and 
$0.01 - $0.04 for every kilowatt hour of solar energy. 
 
Approval from DOR is required to take the credit.  DOR is authorized to approve up to $20.0 million in total 
individual and corporate income tax credits each year.  DOR approved $1.3 million in credits in calendar year (CY) 
2011, $9.7 million in CY 2012, $18.4 million in CY 2013, and $20.0 million in CY 2014.  Approvals, however, do not 
automatically translate into a credit.  The production credit was originally forecast to be $10.0 million in FY 2012 
and grow to $20.0 million annually by FY 2013.  DOR reports that $8.6 million in credits were used to offset tax 
liability in TY 2013.  A 5-year carry-forward of the credit is allowed.  This credit cannot be claimed against the same 
facility investments that are used to claim the Renewable Energy Manufacturing Facility Credit [Laws 2010, 
Chapter 312; A.R.S. § 43-1083.02, and A.R.S. § 43-1164.03]. 
 

Solar Liquid Fuel.  An individual and corporate credit is allowed for research and development, production, and 
delivery system costs associated with solar liquid fuel for tax years 2011 through 2026.  Between tax years 2011 
and 2021, a taxpayer may take a credit for increased research and development related to solar liquid fuel of 40% 
of qualified research expenses within the state over a “base amount” (defined in the Internal Revenue Code).  
Between tax years 2016 and 2026, a taxpayer may take a credit for production of solar liquid fuel equal to:  1) 
$0.11 per 100,000 British Thermal Units (BTUs) of fuel produced in the state during the tax year for the production 
of solar liquid fuel in commercial quantities; and 2) 30% of the cost of converting or modifying an existing motor 
vehicle fuel service station for the retail sale of solar liquid fuel to customers.  The latter portion of the credit is 
limited to $20,000 per taxable year per service station.  Taxpayers who use the research and development tax 
credit are prohibited from also taking a tax credit against the same research and development if it is associated 
with solar liquid fuel [Laws 2010, Chapter 289; A.R.S. § 43-1085.01, and A.R.S. § 43-1164.02].  DOR’s most recently 
reported credit data indicates that the credit has not been used since established. 
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Installation: 
Commercial and Industrial Solar Energy Devices.  Taxpayers can claim individual and corporate credits equal to 10% 
of the installed cost of a solar energy device used in their trade or business.  The credit cannot exceed $25,000 for 
the same building in the same year, or $50,000 in total in any year.  The credit is available between tax years 2006 
and 2018.  This income tax credit may be claimed by a taxpayer purchasing a solar energy device, or a taxpayer 
that finances the purchase of a qualifying device.  The credit also may be transferred to a third party that 
manufactures or installs a qualifying device.  This non-refundable tax credit is allowed to be carried forward for no 
more than 5 consecutive years [Laws 2010, Chapter 294; Laws 2007, Chapter 180; Laws 2006, Chapter 333; A.R.S. § 
41-1510.01; A.R.S. § 43-1085, and A.R.S. § 43-1164].   
 

Residential Solar Energy Devices.  An individual income taxpayer may claim 25% of the purchase price for a 
qualified solar energy device installed in the taxpayer’s residence located in Arizona.  The maximum credit is 
$1,000 per year and $1,000 in aggregate for the same residence.  This non-refundable tax credit is allowed to be 
carried forward for no more than 5 consecutive years [Laws 1998, Chapter 1; Laws 1997, Chapter 218; Laws 1994, 
Chapter 117, and A.R.S. § 43-1083].   
 

Solar Hot Water Heater Stub-Outs and Electric Vehicle Recharge Outlets.  A taxpayer may take an individual or 
corporate income tax credit up to $75 for installing solar hot water plumbing stub-outs or electric vehicle recharge 
outlets in home dwellings built by the taxpayer.  This non-refundable tax credit is allowed to be carried forward for 
no more than 5 consecutive years.  This law became effective January 1, 1998 [Laws 1997, Chapter 218; A.R.S. § 
43-1090, and A.R.S. § 43-1176]. 
 

Table 1 on the following page provides a summary of the main provisions of the above-mentioned tax credits. 
 

PROPERTY, SALES, AND USE TAX EXEMPTIONS 
 

Installation of Solar Devices by Registered Contractors.  Solar devices that are installed by a registered contractor 
are exempt from Income and Transaction Privilege Taxes from January 1, 1997 through December 31, 2016 [Laws 
2011, Chapter 294; Laws 2000, Chapter 214; A.R.S. § 42-5075]. 
 

Electricity and Natural Gas Exemption for International Operations Centers.  Gross proceeds from sales of 
electricity and natural gas to an International Operations Center (IOC) are exempt from the Transaction Privilege 
Tax.  To be certified by the ACA as an IOC, an owner or operator must make minimum capital investments of at 
least $100.0 million per year for 10 years, make a total capital investment of at least $1.25 billion over 10 years, 
and use at least 51% of self-generated renewable energy for self-consumption by the fifth year of the operation 
(See the Renewable Energy Manufacturing Facility credit for information on renewable energy facility 
requirements) [A.R.S. § 41-1520; A.R.S. § 42-5063; A.R.S. § 43-1083.04, and A.R.S. § 43-1164.05]. 
 

Mixed Waste Processing Facility.  Gross proceeds from building a mixed waste processing facility are exempt from 
the prime contracting tax.  To qualify for this Transaction Privilege Tax exemption, a facility must be located on a 
municipal landfill and constructed for the purposes of recycling solid waste or producing renewable energy from 
landfill waste.  The exemption is effective retroactively from January 1, 2013 [Laws 2014, Chapter 228; A.R.S. § 42-
5075]. 
 

Renewable Energy Investment.  Qualifying renewable energy companies that build headquarters or manufacturing 
facilities in the state will receive a class 6 property designation, which reduces the assessment ratio to 5% instead 
of the current class 1 assessment ratio of 18%.  Laws 2011, 2

nd
 Special Session, Chapter 1 phases down the class 1 

assessment ratio from 20% to 18% over 4 years, beginning in tax year 2013.  The class 6 property designation 
remains in effect for 10 or 15 years, depending upon the level of wages paid to employees of the facility in relation 
to the median wage of the state [Laws 2009, Chapter 96; A.R.S. § 42-12006].  
 
Solar Energy Devices for Commercial and Industrial Purposes.  Solar energy systems that are utilized for commercial 
purposes are prohibited from being added to a property’s value for the purposes of property tax assessments or 
from being counted as part of the Transaction Privilege Tax or Use Tax base [Laws 2011, Chapter 294; Laws 2008, 
Chapter 60; Laws 2006, Chapter 333; A.R.S. § 42-5061; A.R.S. § 42-5075; A.R.S. § 42-5159, and A.R.S. § 42-11054]. 
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Table 1         

SUMMARY OF MAIN TAX CREDIT PROVISIONS 

Tax Credit Value of Credit 

Annual 
Aggregate  
Credit Cap 

Annual 
Revenue 
Impact Qualifications 

     

Renewable Energy 
Investment 

10% of Total Capital 
Investment 

$70.0 million $(5.0) million 
1/

 $500,000 in capital investment 
per 1.5 full-time positions for 
manufacturing and $200,000 in 
capital investment per 1 new 
full-time position 

     

Renewable Energy 
Manufacturing 
Facility 

$5.0 million per qualifying 
facility 

$10.0 million $(10.0) million 
2/

 Manufacturer:  $300.0 million 
investment in new renewable 
energy facilities that produce 
energy used in a company's 
own manufacturing.  Individual 
facilities must produce at least 
40,000 megawatt hours of 
energy, annually.  Investment 
must be made by December 
31, 2017.    
IOC:  $100.0 million 
investment in renewable 
energy facilities within 3 years 
of applying for the credit and 
no later than December 31, 
2018.  At least 51% of 
renewable energy produced 
must be used for self-
consumption by the fifth year 
of operation.   

     

Renewable Energy 
Production 

1¢ per kilowatt hour for the 
first 200,000 megawatt hours 
of biomass or wind energy and 
1¢ - 4¢ for every kilowatt hour 
of solar energy 

$20.0 million  $(8.6) million 
3/4/

 Energy must be produced from 
a qualified generator that did 
not first produce energy 
before January 1, 2011 or after 
December 31, 2020 

     

Solar Liquid Fuel 11¢ per 100,000 BTUs of fuel 
produced; 30% of the cost of 
converting or modifying an 
existing motor vehicle fuel 
station for retail sale; 40% of 
qualified research expenses 

None None 
3/

 Fuel and research must be 
solar liquid fuel related 

     

Commercial and 
Industrial Solar 
Energy Devices 

10% of the installed cost of a 
solar device used in the 
business 

None $(0.7) million 
3/

 Qualified solar device that is 
utilized for business purposes 

     

Residential Solar 
Energy Devices 

25% of the purchase price for 
a solar energy device 

None $(4.0) million 
3/

 Qualified solar device for 
residential use 

___________ 
1/ Based solely on the budgeted estimate. ACA reports $2.0 million in credits have received final approval since the program began.  DOR has not been 

able to release credit use data due to confidentiality restrictions. 
2/ Based solely on the budgeted estimate.  DOR reports that no applications for the credit were received as of October 2015.  No update is available 

on the number of applications received for the credit. 
3/ Reflects the latest tax credit use reported by DOR.   
4/ DOR reports that a total of $49.4 million in credits were approved in calendar years 2011 through 2014.  Due to confidentiality restrictions, DOR has 

not reported how much of the approved credits have been used to offset tax liability.  
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Table 2 below shows the estimated dollar impact of renewable energy tax credits and exemptions and provides 
the year of the estimate.  
 

Table 2 

 
ESTIMATED IMPACT OF TAX CREDITS AND EXEMPTIONS 

   
Description Year of Estimate Revenue Impact 

Credits   
Renewable Energy Investment CY 2009 $  (5,000,000) 

1/
 

Renewable Energy Manufacturing Facility CY 2014 (10,000,000) 
2/

 
Renewable Energy Production CY 2013 (8,649,000) 

3/4/
 

Solar Energy Devices of Commercial  
 and Industrial Purposes 

CY 2012 
 

   (735,000) 
3/

 
                 

Solar Energy Devices of Residential 
 Purposes 

CY 2013     (3,959,000) 
3/

 
         

 Subtotal  $(28,343,000) 
   
Exemptions   
Electricity and Natural Gas Sold to    
 International Operations Centers  

CY 2015 $   (1,300,000) 
5/

 

Installation of Solar Energy Devices by  
 Registered Contractors 

CY 2000      (102,000) 
5/

 

Solar Energy Devices for Commercial and  
 Industrial Purposes (TPT Exemption) 

CY 2014   (18,700,000) 
3/

 

 Subtotal  $(20,102,000) 

___________ 
1/ Based solely on the budgeted estimate.  ACA reports $2.0 million in credits have received final approval 

since the program began.  DOR has not been able to release credit use data due to confidentiality 
restrictions. 

2/ Based solely on the budgeted estimate.  DOR reports that no applications for the credit have been 
received as of October 2015.  No update is available on the number of applications received for the credit.  

3/ Reflects the latest credit or exemption use reported by DOR. 
4/ DOR reports that a total of $49.4 million in credits were approved in calendar years 2011 through 2014.  

Due to confidentiality restrictions, DOR has not reported how much of the approved credits have been 
used to offset tax liability. 

5/ Based solely on the budgeted estimate.  No actual data is available. 
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COMPARISON OF PUBLIC AND PRIVATE SCHOOL TAX CREDITS 
 

Table A:  Statutes, Caps & Data 
 

 

Type 
 

Category 
Statute  

Cap 
# of STOs 

1/
 

(that received 
donations) 

Donations 
1/

 Scholarships 
1/

 

 

STO 
 

Tax Credit 
$ 

2/
 # Average # Average 

Individual 

Public School 
Extracurricular 

NA A.R.S. § 43-
1089.01 

$200 single/ 
$400 married 
filing jointly 

-- $48.1 M 263,178 $183 -- -- 

Private School      
Original 

A.R.S. § 43-1601 
through 43-1605 

A.R.S. § 43-1089 $545 single/ 
$1,090 married 
filing jointly 

3/
 

52 $61.7 M 80,930 $763 30,049 $1,846 

Private School 
“Switcher” 

4/
 

A.R.S. § 43-1601 
through 43-1605 

A.R.S. § 43-
1089.03 

$542 single/ 
$1,083 married 
filing jointly 

3/
 

52 $30.8 M 37,676 $816 16,493 $1,496 

Corporate & 
Insurance 
Premium 

Private School            
Low-Income Student 

A.R.S. § 43-1501 
through 1507 
(except 1505) 

A.R.S. § 43-1183 & 
20-224.06 

$61.9 M 
5/

 36 $61.9 M 445 $139,100 Not yet 
available 

Not yet 
available 

Private School 
Displaced/Disabled  

Student 

A.R.S. § 43-1501 
through 1507 
(except 1504) 

A.R.S. § 43-1184 & 
20-224.07 

$5.0 M 11 $5.0 M 37 $135,100 Not yet 
available 

Not yet 
available 

____________ 

1/  Public school tax credit data are for calendar year 2015; private school data are for fiscal year 2015 (individual income tax) and fiscal year 2017 (corporate income tax; preliminary data).   

2/  Total donations in the table are $207.5 million for the mix of years represented (see footnote 1).  Donations for a given year may not equal tax credits for that year depending on donors’ 
tax liabilities and because corporations and insurers may carry forward tax credits for up to 5 years before using them.  Similarly, donations for a given year may not equal total scholarship 
disbursements for that year because STOs may reserve a portion of current year donations for future year scholarships and may use up to 10% of donations for administration.    

3/  Adjusted annually for inflation.  Figures shown are for Tax Year 2016.  

4/  Referred to as the “Switcher” credit in Department of Revenue publications, since it is limited mostly to students switching from public to private schools (A.R.S. § 43-1603E) 

5/  For FY 2017 (increases 20% annually pursuant to A.R.S. § 43-1183.C1). 
 

Note:  "Empowerment Scholarship Accounts" (ESA's) authorized by A.R.S. § 15-2402 are not included in this analysis, as they are funded with appropriated state monies rather than contributions that qualify an 
individual or corporation for a state tax credit.  Student must meet criteria specified in A.R.S. §15-2401 in order to qualify for an ESA.  ESA's are funded with “… an amount that is equivalent to 90% of the sum of the 
base support level and additional assistance prescribed in A.R.S. § 15-185 and 15-943 for that particular pupil if that student were attending charter school” (A.R.S. §15-2402C).  ADE may retain up to 5% of program 
funding for administration, but is required to transfer one-fifth of that amount to the State Treasurer to cover related Treasurer costs.  (The State Treasurer establishes and maintains a separate ESA for each program 
participant using monies transferred from ADE.)  In FY 2016, approximately 2,175 students received $27.1 million in total ESA funding. 

 



Table B:  Program Restrictions 
 

Type Category Donors Recipients Use of Funds 1/ Earmarking Other 

Individual 

Public School 
Extracurricular 

Individual 
income tax 
filers 

Public 
schools 

Extracurricular 
activities, character 
education, and 
college or industry 
testing fees  

Can designate a 
specific student, 
school club, or use  

Funds can only be used for activities or programs of public schools specified in statute, such as 
standardized testing for college credit, standardized testing preparation, industry certification exams, 
CPR training, character education programs and extracurricular activities.  Extracurricular activities 
include band uniforms, equipment or uniforms for varsity athletics, scientific laboratory equipment 
or materials, or in-state or out-of-state trips that are solely for competitive events. Extracurricular 
activities do not include any senior trips or events that are recreational, amusement or tourist 
activities.   

Original 

Individual 
income tax 
filers 

Private 
school 
students 

Private school 
scholarships 

Taxpayer may 
recommend 
recipient; may not 
recommend funds for 
own dependent or 
another's dependent 
in a donation swap 

The tax credit is not allowed if the taxpayer designates the taxpayer's contribution to the school 
tuition organization for the direct benefit of any dependent of the taxpayer or if the taxpayer 
designates a student beneficiary as a condition of the taxpayer's contribution to the school tuition 
organization. A taxpayer may not claim a tax credit if the taxpayer agrees to swap donations with 
another taxpayer to benefit either taxpayer's own dependent. A STO cannot award, restrict or 
reserve scholarships solely on the basis of a donor's recommendation. If a STO scholarship exceeds a 
school's total cost of educating the recipient, the school must return the excess portion to the STO. 

“Switcher”  

Individual 
income tax 
filers 

Private 
school 
students 

Private school 
scholarships 

Taxpayer may 
recommend 
recipient; may not 
recommend funds for 
own dependent or 
another's dependent 
in a donation swap 

The tax credit is allowed only after the taxpayer has used the maximum tax credit available under the 
“Original” program.  All restrictions for "Original" also apply to "Switcher."  In addition, "Switcher" 
scholarships may only be awarded to public school transfers, kindergartners, preschool disabled 
students, military dependents, or pupils who received a corporate STO or "Switcher" scholarship in 
the prior year.  A STO shall give priority to students and siblings of students on a waiting list for 
scholarships if the STO maintains a waiting list.  If a STO scholarship exceeds a school's total cost of 
educating the recipient, the school must return the excess to the STO. 

Corporate 
and 

Insurance 
Premium 

Low-Income           
Student  

Corporations, 
Insurers & S 
Corporations 

Private 
school 
students 
from "low 
income" 
households 

Private school 
scholarships 

Not allowed 1. Family income cannot exceed 185% of the income limit required to qualify a child for reduced 
price lunches under the national school lunch and child nutrition acts (maximum annual income 
of $83,200 for a family of four for FY 2017). 

2.  The student receiving the scholarship must meet one of the following: 
a. Attended a public primary or secondary school as a full-time student or attended a public 
 program for preschool disabled pupils for at least ninety days or one full semester of the 

               prior fiscal year. 
 b. Enroll in a private school kindergarten or preschool disabled program. 

c. Be a military dependent. 
d. Received an individual or corporate STO scholarship in the prior year and continues to attend 
 a qualified private school. 

3.  The total scholarship amount per pupil from each STO increases each year by $100.  In FY 2017, a 
STO can not issue a scholarship in an amount that exceeds: 
a. $5,200 for students in kindergarten through grade 8 
b. $6,500 for students in grades 9 through 12. 

Displaced/  
Disabled 
Student 

Corporations, 
Insurers & S 
Corporations 

Private 
school 
students 
with 
disabilities 
or foster 
care history 

Private school 
scholarships 

Not allowed 1. The student must have been either placed in foster care at any time before graduating from high 
school or obtaining GED, or have been indentified at any time as having a disability under federal 
or state law. 

2. The amount of the scholarship shall not exceed the lesser of the cost of tuition or 90% of the 
amount of state aid that would have been computed for the student to attend public school. 

____________ 
1/ All STOs must allocate at least 90% of their tax credit-related revenues for scholarships or grants, so STOs can spend a maximum of 10% of those revenues on program administration. 
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Appendix C 
 

LIST OF TAX CREDITS WITH STATUTORY ENDING DATES 
 
 

   
   

INCOME TAX CREDITS WITH STATUTORY ENDING DATES 
   
Name of Credit Type of Credit Ending Date 
   Facility Credit Individual/Corporate December 31, 2022 
   Healthy Forest Enterprise & Healthy 
 Forest Restoration Workforce Training 

 
Individual/Corporate 

 
December 31, 2024 

   Military Family Relief Fund Individual December 31, 2018 
   New Employment Individual/Corporate June 30, 2017                 

1/
 

Renewable Energy Investment Individual/Corporate December 31, 2019 
   Renewable Energy Manufacturing Facility Individual/Corporate December 31, 2025 

2/
 

   

Renewable Energy Production Individual/Corporate December 31, 2020 
3/

 
   Small Business (“Angel”) Investment Individual December 31, 2024 

4/
 

   Solar Energy Devices for Commercial and 
 Industrial Purposes 

 
Individual/Corporate 

 
December 31, 2018 

   Solar Liquid Fuel Individual/Corporate December 31, 2021 
      

____________ 
1/  Statute prevents the Arizona Commerce Authority from authorizing new credits after June 30, 2017.  

Credits associated with 1 net new job can be claimed for 3 years.  A company may claim 1st year credits for 
separate new jobs for up to 3 consecutive years.  Since 2nd and 3rd year credits may be claimed against 
each of the new positions, the taxpayer may claim credits for up to a total of 5 consecutive years.  Credits 
therefore, may be claimed through TY 2021. 

 

2/  Credit authorization is only allowed through December 31, 2025.  Thus, no new credits can be generated 
after this date.   

 

3/ Statute provides that credits can be claimed for 10 consecutive years beginning with the calendar year in 
which the taxpayer holds title to a qualified energy generator that first produces electricity between 
January 1, 2011 and December 31, 2020.  Given that a taxpayer may begin earning credits as late as TY 
2020, the latest year a credit may be earned under the 10 year schedule is TY 2030.   

   
4/  Credit authorization is only allowed through June 30, 2021.  Thus, no new credits can be generated after 

this date.   

 



PROPERTY TAXES 



- 109 - 

PROPERTY TAX 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
Arizona has 2 distinct types of property taxes: primary and secondary.  Primary property taxes are levied to pay for 
the maintenance and operation of a taxing jurisdiction.  Secondary property taxes are levied to pay for bond 
indebtedness, voter-approved budget overrides, and special districts such as fire or sanitary districts.  Although the 
state property tax was repealed in 1996, primary property tax collections in certain districts are still deposited in 
the state General Fund.  The monies deposited into the state General Fund are from taxes levied on property not 
located within any school district, so-called unorganized districts [A.R.S. § 15-991.01], and on property in certain 
school districts ineligible for state aid, sometimes referred to as minimum qualifying tax rate (MQTR) districts 
[A.R.S. § 15-992].  (For more details, see Tax Rate section.) 
 
Property is listed in 2 categories:  real property and personal property.  Real property includes land, buildings, and 
improvements to land.  Personal property includes property used for commercial, industrial, and agricultural 
purposes, such as office furniture, business equipment, and tools. In addition, most mobile homes in Arizona are 
taxed as personal property.   
 
Assessment duties are divided between the Department of Revenue (DOR) and the 15 county assessors.  
Generally, geographically dispersed and complex properties, such as mines, utilities, airlines, and railroads, 
commonly referred to as “centrally valued property,” are valued by DOR.  All other properties are valued by the 
county assessors and are, therefore, referred to as “locally assessed property.”  (For more details, see Tax Base 
section.) 
 
Property in Arizona is classified for assessment purposes into 9 legal classes, with sub-classifications in many of 
those classes.  The classification is based on the current use of the property by its owner, such as commercial, 
agricultural, or residential.  Each legal class has an assessment ratio, which is specified by statute.  The assessment 
ratio, which currently ranges from 1% to 18%, is used to calculate the assessed value of a property.  (For more 
details, see Tax Rate section.) 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
As mentioned previously, revenues from unorganized and MQTR districts are deposited in the state General Fund.  
Otherwise, every taxing jurisdiction simply collects what it levies.  (Please see Tax Rate section for more 
discussion.)  Property tax collected and deposited in the General Fund is shown in Table 1 below. 
 

Table 1 
 

STATE GENERAL FUND COLLECTIONS 
 
Fiscal Year General Fund Fiscal Year General Fund 

 2016 $38,540,536  2006 $24,998,760 
 2015 $36,515,876  2005 $25,245,622 
 2014 $25,611,186  2004 $33,266,987 
 2013 $13,202,508  2003 $19,433,856 
 2012 $15,887,896  2002 $29,153,274 
 2011 $20,333,501  2001 $32,942,815 
 2010 $20,269,632  2000 $34,682,874 
 2009 $18,244,500  1999 $36,121,502 
 2008 $20,041,338  1998 $38,136,020 
 2007 $24,486,025  1997 $51,211,398 

    
SOURCE:  DOR and State Treasurer’s Office. 
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Property tax in Arizona is primarily a local revenue source as the state General Fund currently receives less than 
0.5% of all taxes levied in the state.  Table 2 below shows the distribution of property taxes among local taxing 
jurisdictions. 
 

Table 2 
 

PRIMARY AND SECONDARY COMBINED PROPERTY TAX LEVIES 
 

Jurisdiction        FY 2016        FY 2015        FY 2014        FY 2013        FY 2012 
State 1/ $321,563,137 $313,103,318 $288,408,092 $279,280,130 $278,394,257 
Counties $1,344,606,835 $1,278,247,459 $1,190,471,779 $1,237,298,343 $1,327,378,045 
Cities & Towns $572,084,282 $562,115,941 $531,909,899 $536,665,393 $566,020,186 
School Districts $3,442,285,660 $3,451,988,449 $3,342,423,307 $3,373,308,055 $3,370,964,408 
Special Districts $485,030,182 $438,199,544 $419,212,129 $400,393,757 $412,750,679 
Community Colleges $836,759,615 $813,216,510 $783,369,756 $752,556,343 $739,199,445 
    TOTAL $7,002,329,711 $6,856,871,221 $6,555,794,962 $6,579,502,021 $6,694,707,020 
 
____________ 
1/ Although the state equalization assistance property tax is technically a school district tax (see A.R.S. § 15-994), ATRA lists it as 

a state tax for reporting purposes since the tax levy reduces Basic State Aid to schools by an equal amount.  Pursuant to Laws 
2006, Chapter 354, the state equalization tax was not levied in FY 2007, FY 2008 and FY 2009.   

 
SOURCE:  Arizona Tax Research Association (ATRA). 

 
WHO PAYS 
 
The owner of record, or the person who is the purchaser under a deed of trust or an agreement of sale, is liable for 
the payment of the tax [A.R.S. § 42-15101].   
 
Tribal Members 
The Arizona Constitution provides that a property owned by an Indian tribal member is exempted from taxation if 
such property is located within an Indian reservation, or has been acquired under an act of Congress [Article 20, 
Section 5].  Laws 2005, Chapter 276 provides that property outside an Indian reservation that is owned by an 
Indian tribe or tribally designated housing authority, is exempted from taxation if such property provides low 
income rental housing for Indian tribal members [A.R.S. § 42-11131].  
 
REVENUE BASE  
 
Since 1980, the state has used 2 distinct valuation bases for levying property taxes and for this reason each 
property is assigned 2 values:  limited property value and full cash value.  The former is also referred to as primary 
value and the latter as secondary value.  
 
Full Cash Value (FCV)  
A property’s full cash value is the value determined as prescribed by statute.  If no statutory method is prescribed, 
full cash value is synonymous with market value, as determined by standard appraisal methods.  There are no 
restrictions or limitations on full cash value growth [A.R.S. § 42-11001]. 
 
Although property values in Arizona are based on market value as represented by sales price, Arizona statutes set 
sales ratio standards at 81% of nominal sales price for commercial and industrial properties, and 82% for 
residential and other properties.  These standards allow for the exclusion of personal property items included in 
sales, financing incentives, time on the market, and reasonable mass appraisal errors [A.R.S. § 42-11054E]. 
 
The Legislature has also mandated that specific types of property be appraised on a basis other than market value.  
These property types are agricultural, shopping centers, certain golf courses, and most centrally valued properties, 
such as electric and gas utilities [A.R.S. §§ 42-13101 through 42-13206]. 
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Limited Property Value (LPV) 
A property’s limited value is the value determined as provided by Article 9, Section 18 of the Arizona Constitution, 
and further defined by Section 42-13301, 42-13302, and 42-13304 of Arizona Revised Statutes.  The limited value 
can equal but not exceed the full cash value of a property.  Limited property valuations are derived on an 
individual parcel basis by using one of the following methods: 
 

 Through TY 2014:  For a parcel in existence in the previous year that did not undergo any modification through 
construction, destruction, split, assemblage or change in use, the parcel’s limited value is established at its 
previous year’s LPV increased by up to the greater of either 10% or 25% of the difference between its current 
year’s FCV and its previous year’s LPV.  The property’s LPV can never exceed its FCV [A.R.S. § 42-13301].  

 

 Beginning in TY 2015:  For a parcel in existence in the prior year that did not undergo any modification through 
construction, destruction, split, assemblage or change in use, the parcel’s limited value is established at its 
previous year’s LPV increased by up to 5%.  The property’s LPV can never exceed its FCV [A.R.S. § 42-13301]. 

 

 For a parcel that was subject to modification through construction, destruction, or change in use, and for a 
new parcel (including one that resulted from a split or assemblage), the parcel’s limited value is established at 
a level or percentage that is commensurate to the relationship of LPV to FCV of other properties of the same 
or similar use or legal classification [A.R.S. § 42-13302].  

 
The limit on increases in property values, as described above, does not apply to:  (1) personal property other than 
mobile homes and (2) centrally valued property [A.R.S. § 42-13304].  The limited and full cash values of personal 
property (except mobile homes) and most centrally valued property are the same. 
 
Proposition 117 
On November 6, 2012, voters approved Proposition 117, which provides 2 significant changes to the Arizona 
Constitution, beginning in TY 2015.  First, Proposition 117 reduces the maximum year-over-year increase of limited 
property value from 10% (or an amount equal to 25% of the difference between the current year’s full cash value 
and the previous year’s limited value, whichever is greater) to 5%, as noted above.  Second, Proposition 117 
provides that limited property value be the basis for levying all property (i.e., both primary and secondary) taxes.  
Through TY 2014, limited property value was the basis for levying primary taxes whereas full cash value was the 
basis for levying secondary taxes.    
 
Laws 2013, Chapter 66 conformed Arizona Revised Statutes to the voter-approved constitutional amendments 
under Proposition 117.  Among the conforming changes included in Chapter 66 was the removal of any statutory 
reference to the terms “primary net assessed valuation” and “secondary net assessed valuation.”  To reflect the 
use of a single tax base, these terms were replaced by the generic term “net assessed valuation.”  Note, however, 
that Chapter 66 retained the statutory terms “primary property taxes” and “secondary property taxes.” 
Additionally, Chapter 66 clarified that limited value is the basis for levying both primary and secondary taxes on all 
property except locally assessed personal property (other than mobile homes) and centrally valued property.  
Instead, full cash value is the basis for levying primary and secondary taxes on such property [A.R.S. § 42-13304]. 
 
Net Assessed Value (NAV) 
A property’s assessed value is derived by multiplying the property’s full cash value and limited value by the 
applicable assessment ratio, which depends on the legal classification of the property as shown in Table 3.  NAV is 
obtained by subtracting any applicable exemption from the property’s assessed value.     
 
A property’s tax liability is determined by multiplying the applicable tax rate with the NAV of the property divided 
by 100.  (Pursuant to A.R.S. § 42-17151, the tax rate is determined per $100 NAV.)  This means that the property 
tax liability depends on 3 factors: (1) the limited property value as determined by the county assessor or DOR, (2) 
the assessment ratio based on the use of the property, and (3) the tax rate as set by the taxing jurisdiction (see Tax 
Rate section). 
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Table 3 
 

PROPERTY TAX CLASSES AND TAX YEAR 2014 ASSESSMENT RATIOS 
   
 

Class 
Assessment 

Ratio 
 

Property Usage 
1 18% Properties of mining, utility, and telecommunication companies, standing timber, airport 

fuel delivery, producing oil and gas property, pipeline property, shopping centers, golf 
courses, manufacturers, and most other commercial property.  [A.R.S. § 42-12001].  Note 
that Laws 2011, 2

nd
 Special Session Chapter 1 reduces the assessment ratio to 19.5% in 

TY 2013, 19.0% in TY 2014, 18.5% in TY 2015, and 18.0% in TY 2016, when fully 
implemented.     

2 15% Agricultural property, properties of nonprofit organizations, and vacant land.  [A.R.S. § 
42-12002].  Note that Laws 2011, 2

nd
 Special Session Chapter 1 reduces the assessment 

ratio to 15% in TY 2016. 
3 10% Primary residential property.  [A.R.S. § 42-12003]. 
4 10% Non-primary residential property as well as leased or rented residential property.  [A.R.S. 

§ 42-12004]. 
5 14% Airlines, railroad, and private car company property.  [A.R.S. § 42-12005]. 
6 5% Noncommercial historic property, property located in a foreign trade, military reuse, or 

enterprise zone, property of a qualified environmental technology manufacturing facility.  
[A.R.S. § 42-12006]. 

7 18% or 1% Property that meets the criteria for Class 1 property and also the criteria for commercial 
historic property.  [A.R.S. § 42-12007].  

8 10% or 1% Property that meets the criteria for Class 4 property and also the criteria for commercial 
historic property.  [A.R.S. § 42-12008].  

9 1% Improvements on federal, state, county, and municipal property.  [A.R.S. § 42-12009]. 

 
Table 4 
 

STATEWIDE PRIMARY AND SECONDARY NET ASSESSED VALUATION (NAV) 
   

Tax Year Primary NAV Secondary NAV 
2016 $56,564,116,707 $67,262,138,649 

   2015 
1/

 $54,838,548,829 $62,635,586,917 

2014 $53,541,003,785 $55,352,051,074 

2013 $52,136,742,880 $52,594,377,492 

2012 $55,855,088,365 $56,271,814,583 

____________ 

1/ Beginning in TY 2015, primary NAV is the tax base for both primary and secondary property taxes. 

 
SOURCE:  ATRA and DOR. 

 
Real Property versus Personal Property.  Real property is generally synonymous with real estate and includes land, 
buildings, and improvements to land.  Personal property is property other than real estate and includes items such 
as manufactured housing, office furniture, business equipment, and tools.  Personal property is usually movable 
and not permanently attached to real estate.   
 
Centrally Valued Property.  As noted previously, certain property is subject to valuation by DOR.  Such property, 
commonly referred to as “centrally valued property,” is listed below. 
 

 Mines, mills, and smelters [A.R.S. § 42-14051]. 

 Oil, gas, and geothermal properties [A.R.S. § 42-14101]. 

 Gas, water, electric, and sewer and wastewater utilities [A.R.S. § 42-14151]. 

 Pipelines [A.R.S. § 42-14201]. 
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 Airline companies [A.R.S. § 42-14251]. 

 Private car companies [A.R.S. § 42-14301]. 

 Railroad companies [A.R.S. § 42-14351]. 

 Telecommunications companies [A.R.S. § 42-14401]. 

 Airport fuel delivery companies [A.R.S. § 42-14501].    
 

Equalization of Valuations.  DOR is authorized by statute to examine property valuations for inequities between or 
within counties and classifications and to issue equalization orders to ensure that all property in the state is 
appropriately valued [A.R.S. § 42-13251].  To this end, DOR conducts sales ratio studies to determine whether 
properties are valued fairly or not [A.R.S. § 42-13005].  County assessors affected by an equalization order may 
appeal to the State Board of Tax Appeals [A.R.S. § 42-16159]. 
 
EXEMPTIONS  
 
All property in Arizona is subject to taxation unless exempted by law.  The exemptions are provided in Article 9, 
Sections 2, 2.1, and 2.2 of the Arizona Constitution, and are summarized in Table 5 below.  Arizona Revised 
Statutes further define the property tax exemptions provided by the Arizona Constitution.  As a general rule, under 
Arizona law, property classification is based on the use of the property by the owner, whereas property exemption 
is provided based on the ownership of the property.  All exemptions currently listed in statutes are displayed in 
Table 6 below. 
 

Table 5  
  

PROPERTY TAX EXEMPTIONS AUTHORIZED BY THE ARIZONA CONSTITUTION 
   
Article Section Exemption 

9 2 Federal, state, county, and municipal properties 
 2 Property owned by non-profit educational, charitable, and religious organizations  
 2 Public debts (i.e., bonds of Arizona, its counties, municipalities, or other subdivisions) 
 2 Household goods owned by the user and used solely for non-commercial purposes 
 2 Inventory of materials, parts, and products owned by a retailer or wholesaler for resale 

purposes 
 2 The first $50,000 of full cash value for business and agricultural personal property 

1/
 

 2 Property of cemeteries 
 2 Property of widows 
 2.1 Property of widowers 
 2.2 Property of disabled persons 

____________ 
1/ Pursuant to A.R.S. § 42-11127(B), the maximum amount of the exemption is increased each year to account for inflation.  For 

TY 2016, the maximum amount of the exemption is $152,926.  Laws 2012, Chapter 343 changed the calculation of the 
maximum exemption amount, beginning in TY 2013.  Under Chapter 343, the maximum exemption is calculated based on 
the percentage increase in the Employment Cost Index in the 2 most recent years rather than only the most recent year.  
Additionally, this amount is calculated as if Chapter 343 had been continuously in effect since 1997.  As a result of Chapter 
343, the maximum exemption increased from $68,079 in TY 2012 to $133,868 in TY 2013. 
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Table 6  
  

PROPERTY TAX EXEMPTIONS FURTHER DEFINED BY ARIZONA REVISED STATUTES 
   
Title Section Exemption 
42 11102 Government property 

 11103 Government bonded indebtedness 
 11104 Education and library property 
 11105 Health care property 
 11106 Apartments for elderly or handicapped residents 
 11107 Institutions for relief of indigent or afflicted 
 11108 Grounds and buildings owned by agricultural societies 
 11109 Religious property 
 11110 Cemeteries 
 11111 Property of widows, widowers, and disabled persons 
 11112 Observatories 
 11113 Land and buildings owned by animal control and humane societies 
 11114 Property held for conveyance as parkland 
 11115 Property held to preserve or protect scientific resources 
 11116 Property of arts and science organizations 
 11117 Property of volunteer fire departments 
 11118 Social welfare and quasi-governmental service property 
 11119 Property of volunteer roadway cleanup and beautification organizations 
 11120 Property of veterans’ organizations 
 11121 Property of charitable community service organizations 
 11122 Trading commodities 
 11123 Animal and poultry feed 
 11124 Possessory interests for educational or charitable activities 
 11125 Inventory, materials, and products 
 11126 Production livestock and animals 
 11127 Personal property 
 11128 Personal property in transit 
 11129 Property of fraternal societies 
 11130 Property of public library organizations 
 11131 Property providing low income rental housing for Indians 
 11132 Property of religious or charitable associations or institutions leased to an educational 

institution 
 11133 Low income housing projects. 

 
As noted earlier, Article 20, Section 5 of the Arizona Constitution provides that property owned by Indians, when 
such property is located within an Indian reservation or has been acquired under an act of Congress, is exempted 
from taxation. 
 
RATE 
 
The tax rates for primary and secondary property taxes are determined by each individual taxing jurisdiction in the 
state.  The rates vary considerably among the state’s taxing authorities, as reflected in the total average tax rate by 
county shown in Table 7 below.  (Note that a taxing authority is required by statute to determine the tax rate, 
rounded to 4 decimal places, on each $100 of NAV [A.R.S. § 42-17151]). 
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Table 7 

 

TOTAL COMBINED PRIMARY AND SECONDARY AVERAGE TAX RATE PER $100 NAV 
         
County TY 2015 TY 2014 TY 2013 TY 2012 TY 2011 TY 2010 TY 2009 TY 2008 

Apache $6.06 $5.87 $5.47 $5.37 $6.01 $6.51 $6.94 $7.05 
Cochise $13.11 $12.72 $11.37 $11.06 $10.40 $10.48 $10.89 $10.93 
Coconino $9.51 $9.23 $9.14 $8.36 $8.20 $7.54 $6.68 $7.29 
Gila $13.10 $13.95 $13.50 $12.50 $12.38 $11.03 $10.41 $11.08 
Graham $11.46 $12.10 $12.04 $10.67 $7.20 $7.88 $9.19 $9.11 
Greenlee $3.94 $3.94 $4.31 $3.84 $4.60 $4.06 $2.86 $2.74 
Maricopa $12.48 $12.41 $12.46 $11.71 $10.68 $9.19 $8.68 $8.64 
Mohave $11.03 $11.26 $10.87 $10.27 $9.83 $8.57 $8.54 $7.98 
Navajo $10.31 $10.20 $9.96 $9.16 $8.60 $8.21 $8.71 $8.31 
Pima $15.91 $15.79 $14.91 $14.05 $13.59 $12.86 $12.54 $12.87 
Pinal $16.05 $15.69 $15.72 $14.31 $14.29 $13.11 $11.97 $12.55 
Santa Cruz $12.99 $13.11 $12.85 $11.74 $11.53 $11.31 $11.80 $11.66 
Yavapai $11.21 $11.20 $11.09 $10.15 $9.19 $7.98 $7.61 $7.49 
Yuma $13.19 $12.33 $12.47 $11.56 $11.55 $9.84 $10.13 $11.00 
La Paz $11.03 $10.77 $9.96 $9.44 $9.25 $8.50 $8.83 $8.64 
         
State of Arizona $12.77 $12.67 $12.54 $11.75 $10.94 $9.67 $9.20 $9.23 
         
SOURCE:  DOR 

 
Unlike local government entities, the state does not levy property taxes due to the repeal of the state property tax 
in 1996 [Laws 1996, 7

th
 Special Session, Chapter 2].  However, statute requires that the counties levy and collect 

certain primary property taxes, which are transmitted to the state in order to aid in school financial assistance.  
First, each county is required (pursuant to A.R.S. § 15-991.01) to levy a primary tax on property not located in a 
school district (“unorganized district”) at a rate equal to 50% of the qualifying tax rate (QTR) used to calculate state 
equalization assistance for unified school districts.  Second, each county is also required (pursuant to A.R.S. § 15-
992) to levy an additional primary tax in school districts that are ineligible for state equalization assistance (“zero-
aid districts”).  This additional tax rate, referred to as the minimum qualifying tax rate (MQTR), is determined 
based on the difference between the levy that would be produced by 50% of the zero-aid district’s applicable QTR 
and its “equalization base.”  (Under the statutory K-12 funding formula, each school district is provided a certain 
amount of funding based on its student count and other factors.  This funding amount is referred to as the 
district’s equalization base.)  If the levy produced by 50% of the district’s applicable QTR is equal to or less than its 
equalization base, the MQTR will not be levied in such zero-aid district.  Otherwise, the MQTR will be levied at a 
rate such that the additional tax generates an amount equal to the difference between 50% of the zero-aid 
district’s QTR and its equalization base.  Although the additional taxes levied in unorganized districts and certain 
zero-aid school districts are collected by the counties, these monies are later transmitted to the state for deposit 
into the General Fund. 
 
In addition to the additional primary tax levied on property in unorganized districts and some zero-aid school 
districts, each county is also required to levy and collect the “state equalization assistance property tax” on all 
property within the county [A.R.S. § 15-994].  The monies collected from this state-mandated tax are apportioned 
to each school district within the county.  The state equalization tax along with qualifying tax comprises the “local 
share” of the statutory K-12 funding formula.  The K-12 tax rates used in the statutory school funding (“Basic State 
Aid”) formula are shown in Table 8 below. 
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Table 8 
 

K-12 TAX RATES PER $100 NAV 
 

 Qualifying Tax Rate (QTR)  State Equalization Rate 
     Fiscal Year Unified School Districts Non-Unified School Districts  All School Districts 

1/
 

2017 $4.1586 $2.0793  $0.5010 
2016 $4.1954 $2.0977  $0.5054 
2015 $4.2246 $2.1123  $0.5089 
2014 $4.2530 $2.1265  $0.5123 
2013 $3.9170 $1.9585  $0.4717 
2012 $3.5364 $1.7682  $0.4259 
2011 $2.9594 $1.4797  $0.3564 
2010 $2.7452 $1.3726  $0.3306 
2009 $2.9244 $1.4622  $0.0000  
2008 $3.2040 $1.6020  $0.0000  

     ____________ 
1/

 
Laws 2006, Chapter 354 set the state equalization rate at $0.0000 for FY 2007, FY 2008, and FY 2009 and renamed the 
“County Equalization Assistance for Education Property Tax” as the “State Equalization Assistance Property Tax.”   

 
A.R.S. § 15-971.  Equalization Assistance (“Basic State Aid”).  The purpose of the basic state aid formula is to 
establish a comparable funding amount per pupil in each school district.  The funding formula consists of a local 
share and a state share.  The local share represents the amount of budgeted expenditures financed by the district’s 
own property tax.  The state share is simply the amount of spending not covered by the district’s property tax.  
This means that anything that causes the local share to decrease, such as a reduction in NAV or the QTR and/or 
State Equalization rate, will cause the state share (i.e., basic state aid) to increase by the same amount. 
 
A.R.S. § 15-972.  Additional State Aid (“Homeowner’s Property Tax Rebate”).  In return for reducing the FY 2016 
school district primary tax levy for primary residential properties (Class 3) by 45.003%, the state appropriates an 
amount equal to the tax rebate to the same districts.  This aid, which is in addition to basic state aid, is limited to 
$600 per parcel.   
 
Beginning in FY 2012, Laws 2010, 7

th
 Special Session, Chapter 8 limits the Homeowner’s Rebate to the lesser of the 

QTR or the school district’s primary property tax rate.  The tax rate levied by districts for primary property taxes is 
further reduced on individual parcels of residential property if the combined primary property tax levy exceeds 1% 
of the parcel’s limited property value (see Tax Limitations section).   
 
Laws 2011, 2

nd
 Special Session, Chapter 1 increases the Homeowner’s Rebate percentage for FY 2014 through FY 

2017 by an amount to be determined by DOR.  The purpose of the rebate increase is to offset the property tax 
shift to homeowners that would otherwise occur as a result of the reduced assessment ratios for commercial 
(Class 1) and agricultural (Class 2) property under Chapter 1.  As a result of this act, the Homeowner’s Rebate 
percentage is increased from 43.559% in FY 2015 to 45.003% in FY 2016.  
 
A.R.S. § 41-1276.  Truth in Taxation for Equalization Assistance.  Absent any tax rate changes, a property owner’s 
tax liability changes whenever the valuation of his property changes.  The purpose of truth in taxation (TNT) is to 
prevent such a change in property tax liability by adjusting the tax rate commensurately.  Prior to the enactment of 
TNT (Laws 1998, Chapter 153), the state received monies from a primary property tax rate of $2.20 per $100 NAV 
levied in unorganized districts, and up to $2.20 per $100 NAV in MQTR districts.  The equalization tax rate was 
$0.53 per $100 NAV.  However, starting in FY 2000, these tax rates have been adjusted each year to offset the 
statewide appreciation or depreciation of property, as reflected in Table 8 above.  Note that since these tax rates 
are used both for collecting property taxes and for disbursing basic state aid, the annual TNT rate adjustments 
affect both General Fund revenues and General Fund expenditures. 
 
In addition to the K-12 property tax rates shown in Table 8, which help fund the Basic State Aid formula, school 
districts may establish property tax rates to fund “overrides,” bonds, and certain other miscellaneous costs:   
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K-12 Budget Overrides 
Voter-approved K-12 budget overrides allow school districts to spend more than would be permitted under 
statutory budget limits, such as the “Revenue Control Limit” (RCL) defined in A.R.S. § 15-947.  The 3 types of K-12 
budget overrides are (1) Maintenance and Operation (M&O) overrides, (2) “special program” overrides, and (3) 
capital overrides.  M&O and “special program” overrides combined cannot exceed 15% of a school district’s RCL 
and capital overrides are separately capped at 10% of a district’s RCL.  Revenues from M&O overrides may be 
spent on any M&O expenditure, whereas revenues from “special program” overrides and capital overrides must be 
spent only on “special programs” or capital improvements, respectively.  All 3 types of overrides may be approved 
for a maximum of 7 years and are funded with secondary property tax revenues. 
 
K-12 Bonding 
A.R.S. § 15-1021 authorizes school districts to issue voter-approved bonds for long-term capital needs, such as 
school construction and renovation.  Article 9, Section 8.1 of the State Constitution caps a unified school district’s 
bonded indebtedness at 30% of its NAV for secondary tax purposes, but A.R.S. § 15-1021D further caps its “Class 
B” bonds (bonds issued after December 31, 1999) at 10% of its NAV.  The corresponding constitutional (Article 9, 
Section 8) and statutory (A.R.S. § 15-1021B) caps for non-unified school districts are 15% and 5% of NAV, 
respectively.  Laws 2013, 1

st
 Special Session, Chapter 3 increases the Class B bonding capacity cap for unified school 

districts from 10% to 20% of NAV.  The Class B bonding capacity cap for non-unified school districts is increased 
from 5% to 10% of NAV.  The proceeds from K-12 bonds may only be used for expenditures listed in A.R.S. § 15-
491A3&4.  Bond debt service is funded with secondary property tax revenues. 
 
K-12 Miscellaneous Costs 
School districts may also establish property tax rates to fund desegregation programs and other miscellaneous 
costs authorized in A.R.S. § 15-910.  These rates do not require voter approval and are funded with primary, rather 
than secondary, property taxes. 
 
TAX LIMITATIONS 
 
The following constitutional provisions limit property taxation in Arizona: 
 

 Arizona Constitution, Article 9, Section 8.  “Local Debt Limits.”  The amount of General Obligation (GO) debt 
issued by a county, city, town, school district, or other municipal corporation is limited to 6% of the 
jurisdiction’s NAV.  The voters of a county, elementary or high school district may authorize additional debt for 
up to 15% of NAV.  (Pursuant Article 9, Section 8.1, unified school districts are allowed additional debt for up 
to 30% of NAV.)  The voters of a city or town may approve additional debt for up to 20% of NAV for providing 
services such as water, artificial lights, sewers, and for the acquisition and development of land for open space 
preserves, parks, playgrounds, and recreational facilities.  Proposition 104, which was approved by voters in 
November 2006, added the following list of items to be included within a city’s or town’s 20% debt limit:  
public safety, law enforcement, fire and emergency service facilities, and street and transportation facilities.  

 Arizona Constitution, Article 9, Section 18.  “The 1% Cap.”  The total amount of taxes collected on residential 
property (Class 3) for primary tax purposes is not allowed to exceed 1% of the parcel’s limited property value.  
Through FY 2015, the combined primary property taxes on a parcel of residential property that exceeded this 
limit was reduced through a commensurate increase in additional state aid to schools [A.R.S. § 15-972].  
Beginning in FY 2016, Laws 2015, Chapter 15 caps the state’s cost of the 1% Cap program to $1 million per 
county.  Additionally, Chapter 15 requires the Property Tax Oversight Commission to allocate the loss of state 
1% Cap funding among local taxing jurisdictions based on its determination of their pro rata shares of the 
overall 1% Cap exceedance.  The 2015 law was subsequently ruled unconstitutional by the Maricopa County 
Superior Court in May 2016.    

 Arizona Constitution, Article 9, Section 18.  “Limited Property Valuation.”  This constitutional provision 
imposes a limitation on increases in the value of real property and mobile homes, as described in the Revenue 
Base section. 

 Arizona Constitution, Article 9, Section 18.  “The Senior Property Valuation Freeze.”  Arizona residents who 
meet the following requirements are eligible for a property valuation freeze on their home:  (1) is 65 years of 
age or older, (2) the home is their primary residence, (3) has lived in their home for at least 2 years, and (4) 
their gross income does not exceed 400% of the supplemental security income benefit rate.  If the 
homeowners meet these requirements, they can apply for a “property valuation protection option” from their 
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county assessor.  The county assessor then fixes the value of the home at the full cash value in effect during 
the year the application was filed.  The value of the home will remain frozen for as long as the owner remains 
eligible for the protection option.  To be eligible for the senior valuation protection option in 2016, the income 
cannot exceed $35,184 for single owners and $43,980 for 2 or more owners.   

 Arizona Constitution, Article 9, Section 19.  “The 2% Levy Limit.”  A city, town, county or community college 
district is not allowed to levy primary property taxes on existing property in excess of a 2% increase from the 
maximum allowable amount in the preceding tax year unless approved in an override election, as prescribed 
by A.R.S. § 42-17201 through 42-17203.  Proposition 101, which was approved by voters in November 2006, 
changed the base year used to calculate the levy limits of cities, towns, counties, and community colleges from 
1980 to 2005.  By resetting the base year to 2005, Proposition 101 eliminated any unused taxing capacity of 
such taxing jurisdictions as of TY 2005.  Any unused taxing capacity accumulated after TY 2005 is carried 
forward to subsequent years.  (Note that the 2% levy limit does not apply to school districts.) 

 
The following statutory provisions limit property taxation in Arizona: 
 

 Truth in Taxation Levy for Equalization Assistance to Schools.  The QTR and the state equalization tax rate, the 
2 statutory K-12 tax rates used to determine basic state aid for school districts, are required to be adjusted 
each year to offset the statewide valuation increase or decrease of existing property.  The statutory K-12 tax 
rates cannot exceed the TNT rates provided under this statute unless the Legislature overrides them by a two-
thirds vote [A.R.S. § 41-1276].   

 Truth in Taxation Base Limit for School Expenditures outside the Budget Limit.  Each school district is required 
to determine a TNT base limit for expenditures (desegregation, dropout prevention, excess utilities, vocational 
education, and small school adjustments) not paid for by the statutory K-12 tax rates.  Any school district that 
budgets an amount that exceeds its TNT base limit (or levies any amount for adjacent ways or liabilities in 
excess) is required to issue a special TNT notice that includes information on the resulting property tax 
increase [A.R.S. § 15-905.01]. 

 Truth in Taxation Levy for Counties, Cities, and Towns.  Any county, city, or town that proposes a primary 
property tax levy, excluding amounts attributable to new construction, which exceeds the preceding year’s 
levy, is required to issue a special TNT notice that includes information on the resulting property tax increase.  
The levy equals net assessed valuation of existing property for primary tax purposes divided by $100 and 
multiplied by the primary tax rate.  If such taxing jurisdiction fails to comply with the requirements under this 
statute, it is not allowed to levy an amount that exceeds the preceding year’s levy, except for amounts 
attributable to new construction [A.R.S. § 42-17107]. 

 Truth in Taxation Levy for Community Colleges.  Any community college district that proposes a primary 
property tax levy, excluding amounts attributable to new construction, which exceeds the preceding year’s 
levy, is required to issue a special TNT notice that includes information on the resulting property tax increase.  
If a district fails to comply with the requirements under this statute, it is not allowed to levy an amount that 
exceeds the preceding year’s levy, except for amounts attributable to new construction [A.R.S. § 15-1461.01]. 

 
Note that while a county, city, town, or community college district may exceed its TNT levy, it can never exceed its 
constitutional levy limit.   
 
Elderly Assistance Fund 
The Board of Supervisors in a county with a population of more than 2 million is authorized by statute to establish 
a fund to reduce the property tax of qualified elderly taxpayers [A.R.S. § 42-17107].  In February 2007, the 
Maricopa County Board of Supervisors established the Elderly Assistance Fund (EAF), which has since been 
administered by the Maricopa County Treasurer’s Office.  Qualified applicants of the tax relief program are those 
who have limited income, live within an organized school district, and have enrolled in the Seniors Valuation 
Protection Program.   
 
Through FY 2015, the EAF received its funding from some of the proceeds resulting from the Arizona tax lien sales 
held in February of each year by the Maricopa County Treasurer’s Office.  Beginning in FY 2016, Laws 2015, 
Chapter 324 disallows this funding mechanism but permits existing monies in EAF to be used to fund the Elderly 
Assistance Program.   
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Laws 2016, Chapter 125 specifies that the Maricopa County Board of Supervisors must spend the remaining 
monies in EAF after December 31, 2015 solely on the Elderly Assistance Program.  In addition, Chapter 125 
requires that any subsequent appropriations made to EAF must be spent solely on the Program. 
 
TAX ADMINISTRATION 
 

Valuation Year versus Tax Year.  Under Arizona law, the valuation year for locally assessed real property and 
centrally valued property is the calendar year preceding the year in which the taxes are levied.  In other words, the 
tax year lags the valuation year by 1 year.  By contrast, for locally assessed personal property, the valuation year is 
the calendar year in which the taxes are levied [A.R.S. § 42-11001].  However, because of the payment schedule in 
Arizona (see Payment Schedule section below), real and personal property taxes are always collected in the fiscal 
year immediately following the tax year.  For real property, this means that the valuation year precedes the tax 
year by 1 year and the fiscal year by 2 years.  The relationship of the valuation year and tax year to FY 2017 is 
summarized in Table 9 below. 
 
 

Table 9 

 

PROPERTY VALUATION AND TAXATION CALENDAR 
 

Type of Property 
Valuation Year 2015 & 2016 

(When Tax Base Is Determined) 
Tax Year 2016 

(When Tax Rate Is Determined) 
Fiscal Year 2017 

(When Tax Is Due and Payable) 

Locally Assessed Real Property 
(Old Construction) January 1, 2015 August 15, 2016 

October 1, 2016 and 
March 1, 2017 

    
Locally Assessed Real Property 

(New Construction) 
October 1, 2014 through 

September 30, 2015 August 15, 2016 
October 1, 2016 and 

March 1, 2017 
    
Locally Assessed Personal 

Property January 1, 2016 August 15, 2016 
October 1, 2016 and 

March 1, 2017 
    

Centrally Valued Property January 1, 2015 August 15, 2016 
October 1, 2016 and 

March 1, 2017 
 

 
As shown in the table above, the valuation date for existing property is always January 1 of the valuation year 
[A.R.S. § 42-11001].  This means that for real property, the period between when the parcel’s initial value is 
determined (January 1) and its tax is due and payable (March 1) is more than 2 years.  For new construction, the 
valuation date is between October 1 in the year preceding the valuation year and September 30 of the valuation 
year [A.R.S. § 42-15105].  The property tax rates are always set on or before the third Monday in August of the tax 
year. 
 
DOR values all centrally valued properties such as utilities, mines, airlines, and railroads [A.R.S. § 42-14002].  DOR 
must notify the property owners by June 15 of the initial full cash value established.  The property owner then has 
until July 15 to file an application to appear before DOR and be heard concerning the full cash value determined.  If 
the property owner is not satisfied with DOR’s valuation, he can appeal to either the State Board of Equalization 
[A.R.S. § 42-16158] by October 1 or directly to the Superior Court [A.R.S. § 42-16204] by December 15.   
 
The county assessors are responsible for the valuation of all properties not valued by the state.  The assessor must 
notify the real property owners through a “Notice of Value” form by March 1 of the initial values of existing 
properties for the following tax year [A.R.S. § 42-15101].  The taxpayer then has 60 days to appeal to the assessor 
[A.R.S. § 42-16051].  The assessor must rule on these appeals by August 15 [A.R.S. § 42-16055].  The property 
owner then has 25 days to appeal to the State Board of Equalization for property located in Maricopa or Pima 
County or the County Board of Supervisors for property located in other counties [A.R.S. § 42-16105].  The county 
or state board must rule on these appeals by October 15 [A.R.S. § 42-16108].  If the taxpayers are still unsatisfied 
with the result, they may directly appeal to the state tax court within 60 days after the mailing of the decision, or 
by December 15, whichever is later [A.R.S. § 42-16202]. 
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For new construction, additions to, deletions from, or splits or consolidations of assessment parcels, or changes to 
the use of real property resulting in a change of legal classification, the county assessor is required to notify the 
property owners of the initial values through a “Notice of Change” form by September 30 of the valuation year.  
The Notice of Change applies to property changes that occurred after September 30 of the year preceding the 
valuation year and before October 1 of the valuation year.  As with the Notice of Value, the valuation year for the 
Notice of Change is defined as the calendar year preceding the year in which taxes are levied [A.R.S. § 42-15105].  
Within 25 days after the date of the assessor’s Notice of Change, the owner may file an appeal to the County Board 
of Equalization or the State Board of Equalization, whichever is applicable.  The Board of Equalization must issue a 
ruling on or before the third Friday in November.  The taxpayer then has 60 days to appeal to the state tax court 
[A.R.S. § 42-16205]. 
 
On or before February 10, each county assessor is required to provide the staff of JLBC and the Governor’s Office 
of Strategic Planning and Budgeting (OSPB) the property values used to compute the TNT Rates for Equalization 
Assistance to School Districts [A.R.S. § 42-17052C].   
 
On or before February 10, the governing board of each fire district is required to transmit to the Property Tax 
Oversight Commission the total assessed value of all property annexed by the district in the preceding calendar 
year [A.R.S. § 42-17052D]. 
 

Collections.  The lieu taxes on private car companies and airline flight property are collected by DOR [A.R.S. § 42-
14308 and § 42-14255].  All other property taxes are collected by the county treasurers [A.R.S. § 42-18001].  
Property taxes collected by the county treasurers must be apportioned to the taxing districts at the end of each 
month.  Any property taxes apportioned to the state must be remitted to the State Treasurer by the 15

th
 day of the 

following month [A.R.S. § 35-145]. 
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
Normally, one-half of the tax on real and personal property is due and payable on October 1 of the tax year, unless 
the total amount of the tax due is $100 or less, in which case the full amount of the tax is due and delinquent after 
November 1.  The remaining one-half of the tax is due on March 1 of the year following the tax year and 
delinquent after May 1 [A.R.S. § 42-18052].  Both of these payments fall in the same fiscal year. 
 
IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2010.  As noted previously, due to the repeal of the state property tax in 1996 (Laws 1996, 7

th
 Special Session, 

Chapter 2), the state no longer levies a property tax.  For this reason, property tax legislation primarily affects the 
state General Fund through its impact on Arizona Department of Education (ADE) expenditures.  Under the K-12 
funding formula, the state must offset any loss of local property tax revenue by a commensurate increase in ADE 
state aid to schools.  
 
2016 LAWS 
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 125 requires the Maricopa County Board of Supervisors to spend the remaining monies in the 
Elderly Assistance Fund (EAF) after December 31, 2015 solely on the Elderly Assistance Program.  In addition, 
Chapter 125 requires that any subsequent appropriations made to EAF must be spent solely on the Program.   
(Effective retroactively from January 1, 2016) 
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 168 establishes a third subclass under Class 2 referred to as Class 2(C).  The new Class 2(C) 
consists of real property, and improvement to real property, that is currently under a conservation easement.  In 
addition, Chapter 168 requires county assessors to establish and maintain a public digital registry of each parcel of 
property classified as Class 2(C).  (Effective January 1, 2017) 
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 173 requires a proposed property tax levy by a community college district, county or 
municipality, which increased by 15% or more over the preceding year’s levy, excluding increases attributable to 
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new construction, to be approved by a unanimous roll call vote by the jurisdiction’s governing board.  (Effective 
August 6, 2016) 
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 208 provides that property that is occupied as the primary residency of the owner who also 
uses the property for lease or rent to lodgers be classified as Class 3.  Property that is leased or rented to lodgers 
for residential purposes, and is not the primary residency of the owner or used for commercial purposes, is 
classified under Class 4.   (Effective January 1, 2017) 
 
2015 LAWS 
 
Laws 2015, Chapter 49 exempts property leased to a religious institution by an educational, religious, or charitable 
organization and used primarily for religious worship from taxation.  Additionally, Chapter 49 provides that 
property leased by any other entity to a religious institution and used primarily for religious worship be assessed as 
Class 9 property, which uses a 1% assessment ratio.  Chapter 49 is expected to increase ADE expenditures by an 
estimated $300,000, beginning in FY 2017.  (Effective July 3, 2015) 
 
Laws 2015, Chapter 98 alters various dates regarding notice of the establishment or change in taxing boundaries. 
(Effective July 3, 2015) 
 
Laws 2015, Chapter 221 requires the Property Tax Oversight Commission to review secondary property tax levies 
for each county, city, town, and community college district.  (Effective January 1, 2016) 
 
Laws 2015, Chapter 324 removes a provision that requires county treasurers in counties with an established 
Elderly Assistance Fund (EAF) to deposit a portion of the monies received from the proceeds of tax lien sales into 
the EAF.  Although Chapter 324 effectively removes the funding mechanism for EAF, it includes an intent clause 
that allows existing monies in the fund to be used to fund the Elderly Assistance program.  (Effective July 3, 2015) 
 
2014 LAWS 
 
Laws 2014, Chapter 209 requires each county school superintendent to certify in writing to the Property Tax 
Oversight Commission on or before July 25 of each year the amount of the minimum qualifying tax levied for each 
school district in the upcoming fiscal year.  The Property Tax Oversight Commission is required to review the 
accuracy of the minimum qualifying tax rate and levy calculated by the county school superintendent.  (Effective 
July 24, 2014) 
 
Laws 2014, Chapter 264 modifies the calculation of depreciated cost for the purpose of determining the value of 
renewable energy equipment.  Additionally, Chapter 264 also limits the assessed value of land with abandoned 
renewable energy equipment.  The reduction in property values resulting from the legislation is estimated to 
increase General Fund expenditures for the ADE by $300,000, beginning in FY 2016.  (Effective July 24, 2014) 
 
2013 LAWS 
 
Laws 2013, Chapter 66 conforms Arizona Revised Statutes to the amendments to Article 9, Section 18 of the 
Arizona Constitution approved by voters in November 2012 under Proposition 117.  (Effective January 1, 2015) 
 
Laws 2013, Chapter 226 prescribes a method that DOR is required to use when determining the valuation of the 
distribution and transmission property of an electric distribution cooperative.  Distribution cooperatives are 
member-owned nonprofit entities providing electrical distribution services in predominantly rural areas.  (Effective 
January 1, 2014) 
 
Laws 2013, Chapter 236 expands Class 6 to include property that is used to manufacture motor vehicle biofuel and 
its by-products.  (Effective September 13, 2013) 
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2012 LAWS 
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 124 authorizes DOR to audit county assessors’ valuation of new construction.  Additionally, 
the act directs the governing body of each county, city, town, community college district, and school district to fix 
and determine property tax rates based on property valuations determined on or before February 10 of each year.  
(Effective August 2, 2012) 
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 126 provides new requirements for the posting of an adopted budget by a county, city, town, 
community college district, or fire district, beginning in FY 2014.  The act requires that the proposed budget of a 
district includes the total estimated amount of personnel compensation.  Additionally, all unencumbered cash, 
both restricted and unrestricted, must be included in the proposed budget of the district.  (Effective August 2, 
2012) 
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 130 clarifies that no interest can be collected on property taxes paid in full by December 31, 
regardless of whether the statutory timeframe for doing so has elapsed.  (Effective August 2, 2012) 
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 182 reduces the number of years that land must be in active production to qualify as 
agricultural property from 7 of the last 10 years to 3 of the last 5 years.  In addition, the act requires the owner to 
file an affidavit of agricultural use to meet the classification requirement that a reasonable expectation of profit 
exits.  The fiscal impact of Chapter 182 is unknown.  (Effective August 2, 2012) 
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 197 expands the eligibility of property owners to use the Tax Court’s small claims procedures 
and modifies the decision-making authority of the State Board of Equalization as it relates to property valuation 
and classification appeals.  (Effective August 2, 2012) 
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 216 extends the timeframe to appeal the valuation or classification of personal property to 
the county assessor from 20 days to 30 days.  (Effective August 2, 2012) 
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 220 expands the definition of agricultural real property to include land of at least 5 acres and 
improvements devoted to algaculture (controlled propagation, growth, and harvest of algae).  The fiscal impact of 
Chapter 220 is unknown.  (Effective August 2, 2012) 
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 324 requires that personal computers used in trade or business, including the operating 
system software necessary to operate the computers, be valued as personal property.  Any other software (not 
designated as operating system software) is not to be valued as personal property.  The fiscal impact of Chapter 
324 is unknown.  (Effective August 2, 2012) 
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 331 extends the Class 6 property classification for healthy forest enterprises to December 31, 
2024.  (Effective August 2, 2012) 
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 343 provides several changes to income and property taxes, beginning in FY 2014.  In regards 
to property taxation, Chapter 343 changes the calculation of the business personal property exemption so that 
beginning in FY 2014, the amount will be based on the percentage increase in the Employment Cost Index in the 2 
most recent years rather than only the most recent year.  Additionally, the exemption amount will be recalculated 
as if this provision had been continuously in effect since 1997.  This change is expected to initially raise the 
exemption amount from $68,079 to an estimated $125,700.  The property tax provision in Chapter 343 is 
estimated to increase General Fund expenditures by $0.9 million, beginning in FY 2014.  A summary of all 
provisions in Chapter 343 and their related fiscal impacts is shown in the Individual Income Tax section of the Tax 
Handbook (see 2012 Tax Laws).    
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 350 eliminates the affidavit requirement to qualify for Homeowner’s Rebate provided by Laws 
2011, 2

nd
 Special Session, Chapter 1 (for more detail, see 2011 Tax Laws below).  In addition, Chapter 350 reduces 

the civil penalty assessed against owners whose property is reclassified from Class 3 to Class 4 from 200% to 100% 
of the amount of the rebate received.  The fiscal impact of Chapter 350 is unknown.  (Effective August 2, 2012) 
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2011 LAWS 
 
Laws 2011, Chapter 8 provides that all land and improvements devoted to commercial breeding, raising, boarding, 
or training of equine be valued as agricultural property and assessed under Class 2.  Additionally, the act expands 
the definition of agricultural property to include equine rescue facilities registered with the Arizona Department of 
Agriculture.  Chapter 8 could have a potential General Fund cost of $126,000, beginning in FY 2014.  (Effective July 
20, 2011) 
 
Laws 2011, Chapter 233 exempts provisional community college districts from the statutory requirements 
governing the establishment of a levy limit for counties, cities, towns, and community college districts that did not 
levy primary property taxes in the preceding year.  The act requires the Property Tax Oversight Commission to set 
the levy limit for a provisional community college districts that did not levy a primary property tax in the prior year.  
Currently, there are only 2 provisional community college districts in the state:  Gila County Community College 
District and Santa Cruz County Community College District.  (Effective retroactively from May 16, 2010) 
 
Laws 2011, Chapter 342 allows the governing body of city or town with a population of between 25,000 and 
40,000 to hold an election to authorize a budget override.  The election must be held on or before November 6, 
2012.  If the secondary property tax levy is approved by voters, the levy must be in effect for at least 2 years, but 
not more than 7 years. 
 
Laws 2011, Chapter 344 increases Class B bonding capacity for school construction and other long-term capital 
needs from 10% to 20% of NAV for unified school districts and from 5% to 10% for other school districts for bonds 
approved by voters before April 15, 2011.  Additionally, Chapter 344 allows school districts to seek voter approval 
to change spending plans for bonds already approved and extend from 6 to 10 years the time period to issue Class 
B Bonds authorized in 2009 and earlier.  
 
Laws 2011, 2

nd
 Special Session, Chapter 1 creates the Arizona Commerce Authority and provides several changes 

to income and property taxes, beginning in FY 2012.  Below is a summary of the provisions that affect property 
taxes. 
 
Elimination of Enterprise Zone Program 
The Enterprise Zone program provides income tax credits and reduced property tax assessment ratios for 
employers located in certain designated areas within the state with high poverty and/or unemployment rates.  
Under Chapter 1, this program was allowed to sunset at the end of FY 2011, as scheduled under prior law.  The 
repeal of the business property tax incentive is expected to save the General Fund an estimated $0.5 million each 
year, beginning in FY 2012.   
 
Reduction of Homeowner’s Rebate Eligibility 
Currently, the state subsidizes 40% of primary school district property taxes paid by homeowners, up to a 
maximum amount of $600.  Beginning in FY 2013, this provision reduces the General Fund cost of the rebate 
program by:  (1) limiting the rebate to in-state residents and (2) requiring homeowners to submit an affidavit to 
their county assessor indicating that the home is their primary residence.  Failure to submit the affidavit in a timely 
manner will result in the parcel being reclassified as rented or leased residential property, which does qualify for 
the property tax rebate.  This provision is expected to save the General Fund an estimated $39.0 million annually, 
beginning in FY 2013.  
 
Phase-Down of Class 1 (Commercial) Property Assessment Ratio 
This provision of the act phases down the assessment ratio for Class 1 (commercial/industrial) property from 20% 
to 18% over 4 years, beginning in TY 2013, as shown in the table below.  The statewide NAV loss resulting from the 
Class 1 assessment reduction is expected to increase General Fund expenditures by $3.4 million, beginning in FY 
2014.  When the assessment ratio reduction is fully implemented in FY 2017, the cost is estimated to be $16.5 
million.  
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Tax Year 

Class 1 
Assessment Ratio  

Under Current Law 

Class 1 
Assessment Ratio 

Under Previous Law 
   2013 19.5% 20.0% 

2014 19.0% 20.0% 
2015 18.5% 20.0% 
2016 18.0% 20.0% 

 
Reduction of Class 2 (Agricultural) Property Assessment Ratio 
This provision reduces the assessment ratio for Class 2 (agricultural/vacant land) property from 16% to 15% in 
FY 2017.  The statewide NAV loss resulting from the Class 2 assessment reduction is expected to increase General 
Fund expenditures by $2.4 million, beginning in FY 2017.   
 
Increase of Homeowner’s Rebate Percentage 
The Class 1 and Class 2 assessment ratio reductions under the act will result in a tax shift to Class 3 (owner-
occupied residential) property owners.  To hold homeowners harmless, the act increases the homeowner’s rebate 
percentage from 40% to a higher percentage, as determined by DOR in each year between FY 2014 and FY 2017.  
The higher rebate percentages are estimated to increase state costs for the rebate program by $15.6 million in FY 
2014, and grow to $93.0 million (when fully implemented) in FY 2017.  
 
Increase of Business Personal Property Depreciation    
Arizona law provides that business and agricultural personal property receive an additional allowance over and 
above the regular depreciation allowance.  Beginning in FY 2013, Chapter 1 increases the amount of additional 
depreciation relative to prior law.  The statewide NAV loss resulting from increased allowance of additional 
property depreciation is estimated to increase General Fund expenditures by $4.8 million annually, beginning in 
FY 2013. 
 
Change of Business Personal Property Exemption Inflation Factor   
The Arizona Constitution provides that personal property that is used for agricultural purposes, or in trade or 
business, be exempt from property taxation up to a maximum amount of $50,000 in full cash value per taxpayer.  
This amount, however, is automatically adjusted for inflation each year, as measured by the Gross Domestic 
Product (GDP) Implicit Price Deflator.  Beginning in FY 2013, this act replaces the GDP Implicit Price Deflator with 
the Employment Cost Index for purposes of calculating the inflation-adjusted exemption amount each year.  This 
provision is expected to have a negligible impact on the General Fund over the next few years. 
 
A summary of all the Chapter 1 fiscal impact provisions is displayed in the Corporate Income Tax section of the Tax 
Handbook (see 2011 Laws). 
 
2010 LAWS 
 
Laws 2010, Chapter 158 exempts trap and skeet shooting clubs that provide training and hold competitions from 
taxation provided that the property is used for educational purposes and not used or held for profit.  (Effective July 
29, 2010) 
 
Laws 2010, Chapter 317 clarifies that an accommodation school governing board cannot levy primary and 
secondary property taxes, and that the Property Tax Oversight Commission shall consider any amount of property 
tax levied by a county to support an accommodation school as part of the county’s primary property tax levy.  
Additionally, the act also requires the Property Tax Oversight Commission to increase Pinal County’s TY 2009 
maximum allowable levy limit by $3,626,600.  (Effective retroactively from July 1, 2010)  
 
A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2010 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at 
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/16taxbk.pdf.   

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/proptax.pdf
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IN LIEU TAX ON PRIVATE RAILROAD CAR COMPANIES 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
This tax is imposed in lieu of all other taxes on the property and business of private railroad car companies in the 
state, except for the annual license tax and registration fee [A.R.S. § 42-14308].  Private railroad car companies 
operate, furnish, or lease cars that transport people or freight over railroad lines located wholly or partially in the 
state, and that are not owned, leased, or operated by them [A.R.S. § 42-14301]. 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Table 1 below provides historical private railroad car company tax collections for the past 20 years.  The 
Department of Revenue remits tax payments from private railroad car companies to the State Treasurer for 
deposit in the state General Fund [A.R.S. § 42-14308]. 
 

Table 1 
 

COLLECTIONS 
 

Fiscal Year General Fund Fiscal Year General Fund 
 2016 

1/
 $(189,264)  2006 $1,426,435 

 2015 
2/

 $3,484,442  2005 $1,312,163 
 2014 

3/
 $(1,061,682)  2004 $1,335,056 

 2013 
4/

 $3,698,193  2003 $1,485,996 
 2012 $1,065,773  2002 $1,506,625 
 2011 $1,283,026  2001 $1,349,685 
 2010 $1,335,091  2000 $1,476,728 
 2009 $1,435,069  1999 $1,441,440 
 2008 $1,615,246  1998 $1,494,821 
 2007 $1,709,362  1997 $1,525,854 

 
________________ 

1/  Absent a refund of $(1,819,028) to correct for an error from FY 2015, collections would have 
been $1,629,764 in FY 2016. 

2/  This figure includes $1,819,028 that should have been deposited to Flight Property Tax. 
3/  Absent a refund of $(2,473,651) to correct for an error from FY 2013, collections would have 

been $1,411,969 in FY 2014. 
4/  This figure includes $2,473,651 that should have been deposited to Flight Property Tax. 
 

SOURCE:  Department of Revenue, Annual Reports.  

 
WHO PAYS 
 
The tax is paid by private railroad car companies in Arizona. 
 
REVENUE BASE AND RATE 
 
The tax base is the full cash value, as determined by the Department of Revenue, on or before June 15 each year 
[A.R.S. § 42-14305].  The assessed value of private railroad car property is derived by multiplying its full cash value 
by the Class 5 assessment ratio [A.R.S. § 42-12005].  The assessment ratio for Class 5 property is re-calculated each 
year based on a statutory formula [A.R.S. § 42-15005].  The TY 2016 assessment ratio for this type of property is 
14%. 
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The tax rate for properties operated by private railroad car companies is equal to the sum of the average rates for 
primary and secondary property taxes in the taxing jurisdictions in this state for the current year [A.R.S. § 42-
14308].  The statewide average tax rate for TY 2015 was $12.77 per $100 of assessed value. 
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
This tax is due and payable on October 1 and delinquent after November 1.  (Delinquent taxes bear interest at the 
rate determined pursuant to A.R.S. § 42-1123 for each subsequent month in which the tax remains unpaid.)  The 
tax is levied and collected by the Department of Revenue for deposit in the state General Fund [A.R.S. § 42-14308].  
 
IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2010. 
 
There were no changes enacted to this tax in 2010 to 2016. 
 
A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2010 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at 
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/16taxbk.pdf.  
 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/carcompanies.pdf
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VOLUNTARY CONTRIBUTIONS BY DISTRICTS 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
Certain districts in Arizona are authorized to make voluntary contributions to the state, county, city, town, school 
district, or other political subdivision instead of paying property taxes.  The Legislature provided this incentive to 
encourage such districts to operate as multi-purpose reclamation projects to provide funds for water conservation 
and maintenance and development of their water distribution systems. 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
The County Treasurer is required to remit to the county, school districts, cities, towns, or other political 
subdivisions, and the State of Arizona, all monies received as net voluntary contributions (see definition under Tax 
Base and Rate below) from districts in the same manner as property taxes are distributed.  
 
The monies deposited in the state General Fund are from voluntary contributions for properties not located within 
any school district, so-called unorganized districts [A.R.S. § 15-991.01], and for properties in certain school districts 
ineligible for state aid, sometimes referred to as minimum qualifying tax rate (MQTR) districts [A.R.S. § 15-992].   
 
The amount of voluntary contributions by districts deposited in the General Fund is shown in Table 1 below. 
 

Table 1 
 

COLLECTIONS 
 

Fiscal Year General Fund Fiscal Year General Fund 
 2016 $1,620,904  2006 $2,490,685 
 2015 $1,445,224  2005 $2,653,117 
 2014 $1,490,121  2004 $1,769,124 
 2013 $243,985  2003 $2,030,685 
 2012 $767,569  2002 $3,431,652 
 2011 $422,596  2001 $4,606,361 
 2010 $84,855  2000 $5,315,929 
 2009 $708,972  1999 $5,919,047 
 2008 $1,053,210  1998 $5,983,913 
 2007 $2,037,640  1997 $6,086,339 
    

SOURCE:   Arizona Department of Administration’s Finance Division, Revenue Codes, the 
State Treasurer’s Office, and the Salt River Project. 

 
WHO PAYS 
 
Any irrigation district, power district, electrical district, or agricultural improvement district organized under 
Arizona law that is directly engaged in the sale of electrical power or energy other than for irrigation purposes 
[A.R.S. § 48-241].  Effectively, this law applies mainly to properties included within the Salt River Project (SRP).  
 
REVENUE BASE AND RATE 
 
The revenue base is the statewide total gross voluntary contribution.  This is the base from which to determine the 
statewide net voluntary contribution, which is the total amount of voluntary contributions paid to all taxing 
jurisdictions by the Salt River Project. 
 



Voluntary Contributions by Districts 

 

- 128 - 

In determining the net voluntary contributions paid by the Salt River Project in lieu of property taxes, the following 
calculations are made [A.R.S. § 48-241 and § 48-242]: 
 
(1) Calculate for all taxing districts combined the total property tax for which the Salt River Project would be liable 

if assessed by the same property tax procedures as other similar properties for the current tax year. 
 (a) The method used would be the full cash value as determined by the Department of Revenue multiplied by 

the assessment ratio for Class 1 property. 
 (b) The primary and secondary property tax rates for each taxing jurisdiction are then applied against the 

product calculated in (a) above to obtain the statewide total gross voluntary contribution.  
 
(2) To obtain the statewide net voluntary contribution, subtract the following deductions from the total gross 

voluntary contribution determined above: 
 (a) The tax on properties devoted to production of electricity for pumping groundwater.  This amount is 

estimated by multiplying the total net property tax liability to which Salt River Project is subject by the 
percent that represents the portion of electricity produced by Salt River Project during the preceding 5-
year period used specifically for pumping groundwater.  (The maximum percent of electricity that may be 
claimed for pumping groundwater is 10%, unless the percent of kilowatt hours devoted to pumping 
groundwater exceeds 70% within a district.) 

 (b) The annual average of total water costs incurred by Salt River Project in producing and distributing water 
for municipal use, as estimated by: 

  (i) Summing for the previous 3-year period, the operating expenses (less depreciation) attributable to: 
(1) protection of watersheds, water production, development, storage, distribution and conservation, 
and (2) any repayment of U.S. government debt obligations incurred by Salt River Project for water 
department construction and expenses related to the development of future water projects. 

  (ii) Dividing this sum by 3 to arrive at the annual average of total water costs. 
  (iii) Multiplying this total by the percent of total water produced by Salt River Project devoted to 

municipal use during the latest 3 calendar years.  (The percentage of water devoted to municipal use 
is the ratio of total water for municipal uses for the past 3 calendar years to total water delivered for 
all uses during the same time period.) 

 (c) Any taxes or assessments paid to the State of Arizona or its political subdivisions during the preceding 
calendar year other than transaction privilege taxes, highway taxes, unemployment taxes, equipment 
weight fees, improvement district assessments, and any other taxes paid by the district prior to effective 
date of this law. 

 
The district is required to report to the county assessors and the Department of Revenue by May 1 of each year 
the factor used to compute each county’s proportion of the total deductions taken by the district.  The district is 
also required to submit to the Board of Supervisors at the same time as the submission of the assessment roll, an 
estimate of the net contributions for the following fiscal year. 
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
One-half of the voluntary contribution is paid to the County Treasurer of the county in which the property is 
located on the first Monday in November of each year.  The other half is due on the first Monday in May of the 
succeeding calendar year [A.R.S. § 48-242E].  Each County Treasurer is required to remit to the State Treasurer the 
state’s portion of the net voluntary contribution. 
 
IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2010. 
 
There were no changes enacted to this revenue category from 2010 through 2016. 
 
A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2010 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at 
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/16taxbk.pdf.  

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/voldistricts.pdf
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LUXURY TAX ON CIGARETTES AND TOBACCO 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The luxury tax on cigarettes and tobacco is imposed on cigarettes, cigars, cavendish, and chewing tobacco, but not 
on electronic cigarettes and vapor products.  A luxury tax is a tax levied on items that are normally considered a 
luxury rather than a necessity.  The tax rate varies by product, with the rate for the largest revenue producer, 
cigarettes, set at $2.00 per pack of 20.  The majority of revenues from this tax are dedicated to health care 
programs. 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Revenues from the luxury tax on cigarettes and tobacco are distributed as follows: 
 
Tax on Cigarettes 
 
Of the $2.00 tax, 18¢ is distributed as part of the general tax rate for the following purposes: 
 

 Corrections Fund.  2¢ of the 18¢ general tax rate per pack of 20 cigarettes is deposited in the Corrections Fund 
[A.R.S. § 42-3104]. 

 General Fund.  The remaining 16¢ of the 18¢ general tax rate per pack of 20 cigarettes is deposited in the 
General Fund [A.R.S. § 42-3102].   

 State School Aid.  19.44% of general cigarette tax collections is allocated to state school aid.  The 16¢ General 
Fund distribution described above is presumed to contribute to the existing General Fund appropriation for 
state school aid [A.R.S. § 42-3103]. 

 
In addition, $1.00 of the $2.00 cigarette tax is dedicated to health care and distributed to the following funds and 
their subaccounts: 
 

 Tobacco Tax and Health Care Fund.  40¢ is distributed to the following accounts of the Tobacco Tax and Health 
Care Fund [A.R.S. § 36-771, § 42-3251, § 42-3252, § 42-3302].  While the 40¢ tax was originally created by 
Proposition 200 in 1994, it was re-enacted by Proposition 200 in 2000.  While the 40¢ tax was re-enacted, 
Proposition 200 in 2000 did not recreate the accounts.  As a result, the distributions are governed by the 1994 
ballot proposition and are as follows: 

 
a. Medically Needy Account – 70% of revenues, to provide health care or behavioral health care services for 

those who cannot afford these services [A.R.S. § 36-774].  Created by Proposition 200 in 1994. 
b. Health Education Account – 23% of revenues, for the prevention and reduction of tobacco use [A.R.S. § 

36-772].  Created by Proposition 200 in 1994. 
c. Health Research Account – 5% of revenues, for research on preventing and treating tobacco-related 

disease and addiction [A.R.S. § 36-773].  Created by Proposition 200 in 1994. 
d. Corrections Fund Adjustment Account – 2% of revenues, to compensate the Corrections Fund for 

decreases in general cigarette tax revenues resulting from the levy of the cigarette tax dedicated to health 
care [A.R.S. § 36-775].  The distribution, when combined with existing tobacco tax revenues to the 
Corrections Fund, cannot exceed the FY 1994 tobacco tax revenues to the Corrections Fund.  Any 
revenues in excess of this amount are deposited into the General Fund.  Created by Proposition 200 in 
1994. 

 

 Tobacco Products Tax Fund.  Under the provisions of Proposition 303 in 2002, 60¢ is distributed to the 
following accounts of the Tobacco Products Tax Fund [A.R.S. § 36-770, § 42-3251.01, § 42-3302]: 

 
a. Proposition 204 Protection Account – 42% of revenues, to implement and fund the programs established 

by Proposition 204 in the 2000 General Election [A.R.S. § 36-778].  Created by Proposition 303 in 2002. 
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b. Medically Needy Account – 27% of revenues, to provide health care services for those who cannot afford 
these services [A.R.S. § 36-774]. 

c. Emergency Health Services Account – 20% of revenues, to provide reimbursement of uncompensated 
care, primary care services, and trauma center readiness costs [A.R.S. § 36-776].  Created by Proposition 
303 in 2002.  

d. Health Research Fund – 5% of revenues, for health research [A.R.S. § 36-275]. 
e. Health Care Adjustment Account – 4% of revenues, to compensate the subaccounts of the Tobacco Tax 

and Health Care Fund for decreases in cigarette tax revenues resulting from the levy of this portion of the 
cigarette tax [A.R.S. § 36-777].  Created by Proposition 303 in 2002. 

f. Health Education Account – 2% of revenues, for the prevention and early detection of the 4 leading 
causes of death in Arizona [A.R.S. § 36-772].  Created by Proposition 303 in 2002. 

 
Of the $2.00 cigarette tax, Proposition 203 in 2006 dedicated 80¢ to childhood development and health, which is 
deposited into the following fund and its subaccounts:  
 

 Early Childhood Development and Health Fund.  Monies are distributed to the following accounts of the Early 
Childhood Development and Health Fund [A.R.S. § 42-3371, A.R.S. § 8-1181]: 

 
a. Program Account – 90% of revenues, to improve the quality and availability of health and education 

programs for pre-kindergarten children and their families who otherwise have limited access to such 
services [A.R.S. § 8-1181, A.R.S. § 8-1171].  Created by Propositions 203 in 2006. 

b. Administrative Costs Account – 10% of revenues, to cover the administrative costs of the Arizona Early 
Childhood Development and Health Board [A.R.S. § 8-1181].  Created by Proposition 203 in 2006. 

 
The remaining 2¢ of the $2.00 tax is distributed under the provisions of Proposition 201 in 2006 for the following 
purpose:  
 

 Smoke-Free Arizona Fund.  Revenues are used to enforce the provisions of the Smoke-Free Arizona Act with 
any unexpended monies being deposited in the Tobacco Products Tax Fund to be used for education programs 
to reduce and eliminate tobacco use [A.R.S. § 42-3251.02, A.R.S. § 36-601.01]. 

 
Tax on Tobacco, Cavendish, and Cigars 
 
Apart from the $2.00 cigarette tax, tobacco, cavendish, and cigars are taxed at different rates (see Table 3).   
 
All of the general tax rate collections are distributed as follows:  
 

 Corrections Fund.  50% of all general tax rate collections from the tax on tobacco products is deposited in the 
Corrections Fund [A.R.S. § 42-3104]. 

 General Fund.  The remaining general tax rate collections from the tax on tobacco products is deposited in the 
General Fund [A.R.S. § 42-3102]. 

 
All monies collected from the 1994 Tobacco Tax and Health Care Tax, the 2002 Tobacco Product Tax, and the 2006 
Early Childhood Development and Health Tax are distributed into their relevant funds at the same percentage as 
cigarettes, described previously.  However, the 2006 Smoke Free Arizona Tax only applies to cigarettes. 
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Table 1 
 

COLLECTIONS AND DISTRIBUTION 
 

Fiscal 
 Year 

General 
Fund 

Corrections 
Fund 

 
TTHCF 

1/
 

 
TPTF 

2/
 

 
ECDHF 

3/
 

 
SFAF 

4/
 

 
Total 

 2016 $24,550,412 $5,143,144 $66,415,766 $92,031,875 $126,206,733 $2,941,563 $317,289,493 
 2015 $23,645,756 $5,230,839 $67,071,278 $93,055,529 $122,239,828 $2,848,986 $314,092,216 
2014 $25,810,507 $5,100,324 $61,694,151 $91,923,081 $124,371,662 $2,918,213 $311,817,939 
 2013 $24,530,414 $5,041,634 $65,750,954 $91,044,441 $125,771,470 $2,956,134 $315,095,047 
 2012 $24,931,105 $5,142,535 $65,665,913 $90,953,118 $129,391,158 $3,043,448 $319,127,277 
 2011 $25,066,894 $5,230,772 $68,781,910 $95,586,289 $130,083,235 $3,058,479 $327,807,579 
 2010 $25,810,438 $5,307,048 $69,089,344 $96,335,427 $133,118,902 $3,888,483 $333,549,642 
 2009 $29,080,647 $5,129,852 $76,972,057 $108,934,079 $151,363,815 $2,868,990 $374,349,440 
 2008 $32,467,344 $6,206,674 $83,868,465 $116,127,254 $164,805,113 $3,946,308 $407,421,158 
 2007 $37,558,776 $6,206,673 $100,500,062 $137,624,178 $74,445,246 $1,778,847 $358,121,881 
 2006 $39,578,709 $6,206,674 $106,821,045 $145,399,774   $298,006,202 
 2005 $38,360,552 $6,206,608 $102,310,127 $138,521,611   $285,398,898 
 2004 $36,757,081 $6,206,674 $98,163,310 $133,563,168   $275,104,562 
 2003 $41,174,667 $6,206,674 $105,027,137 $59,938,321   $212,346,799 
 2002 $43,206,460 $6,206,674 $108,177,154    $157,590,288 
 2001 $43,124,883 $6,206,674 $108,709,176    $158,040,733 
 2000 $43,446,233 $6,196,674 $109,786,025    $159,428,932 
 1999 $43,895,551 $6,206,674 $112,735,957    $162,838,182 
 1998 $44,443,108 $6,206,674 $114,104,507    $164,754,289 
 1997 $43,676,616 $6,206,675 $115,961,006    $165,844,297 

____________ 
1/ Tobacco Tax and Health Care Fund (Proposition 200 in 1994.  The distribution was altered in Laws 2007, Chapter 150). 
2/ Tobacco Products Tax Fund (Proposition 303 in 2002). 
3/ Early Childhood Development and Health Fund (Proposition 302 in 2006). 
4/ Smoke-Free Arizona Fund (Proposition 201 in 2006). 

 
SOURCE:  Department of Revenue, Luxury Tax Section. 

 
WHO PAYS  
 
Licensed distributors of cigars and other tobacco products besides cigarettes submit tax payments together with a 
monthly return [A.R.S. § 42-3501].  Licensed distributors of cigarettes pay the tax through the purchase of tax 
stamps from the Department of Revenue.   
 
Every pack of cigarettes sold in Arizona must bear a stamp as a method of providing proof that a retailer or 
distributor is in compliance with Arizona’s luxury tax laws [A.R.S. § 42-3401 and § 42-3452].  There are 4 categories 
of stamps that are sold by the Department of Revenue to distributors, each with a different tax rate:  
 

 Blue stamps have a face value of $2.00 and include all cigarette taxes;  

 Red stamps have a face value of $1.00 and include only the 40¢ and 60¢ health care taxes; and  

 Green and Yellow stamps have a face value of $0.00.   
 
Green, Yellow, and Red Stamps are used only on tribal nations.  
 

The 40¢ tax (per package of 20 cigarettes) and the 60¢ tax per package are direct taxes on the consumer and are to 
be collected and paid to the Department of Revenue by the distributors [A.R.S. § 42-3303].  The 18¢ general tax 
rate per package, the 80¢ Early Childhood Development and Health Tax, and the 2¢ Smoke-Free Arizona tax are 
considered to be a tax on the seller.       
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The type of stamp sold on tribal nations varies depending on 4 factors:  1) whether the consumer is an enrolled 
member of the Indian Tribe or the consumer is a member of the general public; 2) whether the seller is a tribal 
member of the nation in which it is conducting business or the seller is a non-tribal member licensed by the federal 
government to sell goods and services on the nation; 3) whether or not the Indian Tribe levies its own tribal tax; 
and 4) whether the Indian Tribe exempts its members from the tribal tax. 
 
Cigarette sales on tribal nations to non-members require either a $2.00 Blue or $1.00 Red stamp, depending on the 
seller.  Federally-licensed, non-tribal member sellers are required to purchase Blue stamps, meaning all $2.00 in 
state taxes are applied to packs of cigarettes sold by these vendors.  Tribal member sellers are required to 
purchase Red stamps, meaning only $1.00 in state health care related cigarette taxes are included.  If the tribe has 
elected to impose its own tobacco tax, the amount of the tax collected (up to $1.00) is retained by the tribe and 
not deposited into the state health care accounts.  Tribal member sellers are exempt from paying the 18¢ general, 
the 80¢ Early Childhood Development, and 2¢ Smoke-Free Arizona tax rates when selling to non-tribal members.  A 
December 2006 Attorney General Legal Opinion determined that the Early Childhood Development and Smoke-
Free Arizona taxes could be levied on tribal nation cigarettes sold only by federally-licensed, non-tribal member 
sellers, in addition to the general cigarette tax rate.  These taxes make up the $1.00 value of Red stamps.   
 
Cigarette purchases by tribal members on their own nations are exempt from state taxes, regardless of seller 
classification.  These sales require a Green or Yellow stamp.  Statute gives Indian tribes the ability to levy their own 
tax on tobacco sales.  Green stamps are used if the Tribe does not levy a tax, or if the Tribe has levied a tax, but 
exempts members of the Tribe.  A Yellow stamp is used when the Tribe levies a tax and does not exempt members 
of the tribe.  This provision allows the tribe to retain the funding collected from the optional tax and does not 
specify how the tribe should spend the revenues collected.  Table 2 displays the stamp assignments by customer 
and seller classifications.   
 

Table 2 
 

CIGARETTE STAMP ASSIGNMENTS PER PACK 
 

 
 
Seller 

Indian Tribe 
Member  

(No tribal tax) 

 
Exempt Indian  
Tribe Member 

 
Non-Exempt Indian 

Tribe Member 

 
All Other 

Consumers 
All Vendors not on a tribal nation $2 Blue Stamp $2 Blue Stamp $2 Blue Stamp $2 Blue Stamp 
Tribal Member Retailer  $0 Green Stamp

 
$0 Green Stamp

 
$0 Yellow Stamp $1 Red Stamp

1/
 

Federally-Licensed Non-Tribal Seller $0 Green Stamp $0 Green Stamp $0 Yellow Stamp $2 Blue Stamp 
____________ 
1/ If the tribe has elected to impose its own tobacco tax, the amount of the tax collected (up to $1.00) is retained by the tribe and not deposited into 

the state health care accounts. 

 
If the tribe imposes its own tax on cigarettes, the taxes collected by the state for cigarette sales on nations will be 
levied at a rate that is the difference between the rate the state would otherwise levy and what the tribe imposes 
[A.R.S. § 42-3302].  The offset applies only to the $1.00 in taxes collected for each pack sold that are dedicated to 
the Tobacco Tax and Health Care Fund (40¢) and to the Tobacco Products Tax Fund (60¢) [A.R.S. § 42-3302].  For 
example, if a tribe imposes a $0.75 tribal tax rate, the state tax rate would be $0.25.  To date, 5 nations have not 
enacted a tribal tax on cigarettes and 16 nations have enacted taxes that offset all or a part of the $1.00 per pack 
of state cigarettes taxes dedicated to health care.    
 
The tax treatment of other tobacco products is similar to the treatment of cigarettes described above, with the tax 
rates detailed below in Table 3.   
 

REVENUE BASE AND RATE 
 

The revenue base consists of the following products [A.R.S. § 42-3052]: 
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 Cigarettes. 

 Tobacco.  Includes smoking tobacco, snuff, fine cut chewing tobacco, cut and granulated tobacco, shorts and 
refuse of fine cut chewing tobacco, and refuse, scraps, clippings, cuttings, and sweepings of tobacco. 

 Cavendish.  Includes plug or twist tobacco. 

 Small cigars.  Not weighing more than 3 pounds per 1,000. 

 Large cigars 5¢ or less.  Weighing more than 3 pounds per 1,000 and retailing at 5¢ or less. 

 Large cigars more than 5¢.  Weighing more than 3 pounds per 1,000 and retailing at more than 5¢ each. 
 
The tax rates are as follows [A.R.S. § 42-3052, § 42-3251, § 42-3251.01, § 42-3251.02, and § 42-3371]: 
 
 

Table 3 

 
TOBACCO PRODUCT TAX RATES 

 
      

  
 
Item 

General 
Tax  

Rate 

 
1994 

TTHCF 
1/ 

 
2002 

TPTF 
1/ 

 
2006 

ECDHF 

 
2006 
SFAF 

Total 
Tax  

Rate 
       Cigarettes (per pack of 20)  18¢  40¢  60¢ 80¢ 2¢ $2.00 
Tobacco per ounce  2¢ 4.5¢  6.75¢ 9¢ -- 22.25¢ 
Cavendish per ounce  0.5¢ 1.1¢  1.65¢ 2.2¢ -- 5.45¢ 
Small Cigars per 20  4¢ 8.9¢  13.35¢ 17.8¢ -- 44.05¢ 
Large cigars 5¢ or less (per 3)  2¢ 4.4¢  6.6¢ 8.8¢ -- 21.8¢ 
Large cigars more than 5¢  2¢ 4.4¢  6.6¢ 8.8¢ -- 21.8¢ 
____________ 
1/ Tax Rates Dedicated to Health Care. 

 
Tobacco powder or tobacco products used exclusively for agricultural or horticultural purposes and unfit for 
human consumption are exempt from this tax [A.R.S. § 42-3052].  Additionally, electronic cigarettes and vapor 
products are not subject to this tax, based on a July 30, 2014 Attorney General legal opinion. 
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
Licensed distributors of cigarettes pay the luxury tax on cigarettes when they purchase a stamp from the 
Department of Revenue [A.R.S. § 42-3452].   
 
Until September 30, 2016, statute allows distributors to purchase Blue stamps for 96% of the face value of the 
stamps, or $1.92 per pack.  This discount allows distributors to recoup the administrative cost of affixing stamps to 
cigarette packages [A.R.S. § 42-3458].   
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 125 amended statute to grant an administrative allowance for all types of stamps.  Beginning 
October 1, 2016, the law allows distributors that purchase cigarette stamps to receive a discount of 3.52% of the 
purchase of the stamps.  Blue and Red stamps will be purchased from the Department of Revenue for 96.48% of 
the face value of the stamps, or $1.9296 for Blue stamps and $0.9652 for Red stamps.  Distributors of Green and 
Yellow stamps will receive the discount via a 3.52 cent administrative allowance for each Green and Yellow stamp 
purchased, which will be realized when distributors file their monthly reports with DOR.  Table 4 displays the 
amount of the administrative discount as well as the amount of the tax collected by DOR for each stamp category.   
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Table 4 
 

CIGARETTE STAMP DISCOUNTS AND COLLECTED TAX 
 

 
Stamp Category 

 
Discount per Stamp 

1/
 

DOR  
Tax Collected per Pack 

Blue Stamps $0.0704 $1.9296 
Red Stamps $0.0352

 
$0.9648

2/
 

Green Stamps $0.0352 $0
3/

 
Yellow Stamps $0.0352 $0

3/
 

____________ 
1/ Retained by distributor 
2/ If Red stamps are sold to tribal member retailers on a tribal nation that has instituted its own tobacco 

tax, the distributor who purchased the stamps may file for a rebate with DOR for the full face value of 
the stamps. 

3/ Green and Yellow stamps are differentiated by the end consumer.  Green stamps are to be sold to 
members of the tribal nation where the tribe has not imposed a tribal tax or the tribe exempts its 
members from its own tribal tax.  Yellow stamps are to be sold to tribal members where the tribe does 
not exempt its members from the tax imposed by the tribe. 

 
If distributors sell Red stamps to Tribal Member Retailers where the Tribe has levied its own tribal tax, the 
distributors may file for a rebate of the cost of Red stamps with the Department of Revenue.  This rebate is 
granted for the full face value of the purchased stamps, creating a 3.52 cent administrative allowance because the 
stamps were purchased at 96.48% of face value.  Prior to Laws 2016, Chapter 125 rebates of Red stamps were 
granted at the same price that stamps were purchased. 
 
Licensed distributors of cigars or tobacco products other than cigarettes must pay the tax to the Department of 
Revenue monthly on or before the 20

th
 day of the next month succeeding the month in which the tax accrues.  

Failure to pay the tax within 10 days of the due date will result in penalty and interest charges from the time the 
tax was due until paid [A.R.S. § 42-3501]. 
 
IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES 
 

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2010. 
 
There were no changes enacted to this tax in 2010 and 2012. 
 
2016 LAWS 
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 122 allows monies in the Medically Needy Account to be used for behavioral health care 
services. 
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 125 changes the cigarette stamp discount from 96.0% of face value to 96.48% of face value, 
and grants an administrative allowance of 3.52 cents for all Green and Yellow stamps, as well as Red stamps where 
the tax is not pre-collected and the distributor purchases the stamps on credit. 
 
2015 LAWS 
 
Laws 2015, Chapter 85 reorders various state tobacco statutes, separating other tobacco products from cigarettes 
and roll-your-own tobacco products. 
 
2014 LAWS 
 
Laws 2014, Chapter 160 made changes to the luxury tax and tobacco Master Settlement Agreement (MSA) Escrow 
Account statutes to bolster Escrow Account enforcement and better comply with the MSA.   
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2013 LAWS 
 
Laws 2013, Chapter 222 prohibits the use of tobacco vending machines for commercial purposes and assesses a 
new fine.  Additionally, the law makes changes to the escrow account that manufacturers that were not part of a 
federal settlement are required to deposit monies into for the purpose of settling lawsuits.   
 
2011 LAWS 
 
Laws 2011, Chapter 255 allows for the creation of a Tobacco Revenue Use and Spending Commission on or before 
January 1, 2012 to evaluate if tobacco monies are being spent in accordance with statute.   
 
A listing of tax law changes prior to the 2010 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at 
www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/16taxbk.pdf.  

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/luxtaxcig.pdf
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LUXURY TAX ON LIQUOR 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The luxury tax on liquor is levied on wholesalers of spirituous, vinous, and malt liquors. 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Revenues from this tax are distributed among several funds, including: 
 
State School Aid.  1.17% of spirituous liquor tax collections and 14% of tax collections from vinous liquor with a 
high alcohol content (over 24%) are allocated for state school aid.  In practice, these monies are deposited in the 
General Fund, which in turn funds state school aid.  [A.R.S. § 42-3103] 
 
Corrections Fund.  20% of the monies collected from spirituous liquor and 50% of the monies collected from vinous 
and malt liquors are deposited in the Corrections Fund [A.R.S. § 42-3104]. 
 
Drug Treatment and Education Fund.  7% of the monies collected from spirituous liquor and 18% of the monies 
collected from vinous and malt liquors are deposited in the Drug Treatment and Education Fund of the Arizona 
Judiciary [A.R.S. § 42-3106A]. 
 
Corrections Revolving Fund.  3% of the monies collected from spirituous liquor and 7% of the monies collected 
from vinous and malt liquors are deposited in a revolving fund of the Department of Corrections [A.R.S. § 42-
3106B]. 
 
General Fund.  All remaining tax monies are deposited in the General Fund [A.R.S. § 42-3102]. 
 
WHO PAYS 
 
The luxury tax on liquor is added to the sales price of liquor items and is paid by: 
 

 Wholesalers who purchase malt liquors for resale within Arizona [A.R.S. § 42-3353A]. 

 Wholesalers who sell spirituous liquors within Arizona [A.R.S. § 42-3354A]. 

 Every farm winery, microbrewery, craft distiller, or winery holding a direct shipment license that sells vinous or 
malt liquor at retail or to certain licensees.  [A.R.S. § 42-3355]. 

 Wholesalers who purchase vinous liquors for resale within Arizona before January 1, 2007, and wholesalers 
who sell vinous liquors within Arizona beginning January 1, 2007 [A.R.S. § 42-3353B and § 42-3354B]. 

 
REVENUE BASE AND RATE 
 
The following is the revenue base and rate for each liquor type [A.R.S. § 42-3052].  A proportionate rate is applied 
to each liquor type for greater or lesser quantities: 
 

 Spirituous liquor.  $3 per gallon.  Examples of spirituous liquor include whiskey and vodka. 

 Vinous Liquor with High Alcohol Content.  $0.25 on each container of 8 ounces or less of vinous liquor having 
an alcohol content of greater than 24%.  Containers exceeding 8 ounces are taxed at a rate of $0.25 per 8 
ounces.  An example of vinous liquor at this alcohol content level is brandy.  According to the Department of 
Revenue, no revenue has been collected from this tax in recent years. 

 Vinous Liquor with Low Alcohol Content.  $0.84 per gallon on each container of vinous liquor with an alcohol 
content of 24% or less, except cider.  An example of vinous liquor at this alcohol content level is white wine. 

 Malt Liquor.  $0.16 on each gallon of malt liquor or cider.  Examples of malt liquor are beer and cider made 
from apples, pears and other pome fruit that does not exceed an alcohol content of 7%.   
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Table 1 

COLLECTIONS AND DISTRIBUTION 

 
 

 
Fiscal Year 

 
 

General 
    Fund 

1/    
 

 
 

Corrections 
Fund 

 
Wine 

Promotional 
    Fund 

2/    
 

 
Corrections 
Revolving 

Fund 

Drug 
Treatment & 

Education 
Fund 

 
 

Total 
Collections 

2016 $33,618,388 $25,774,829 $0 $3,677,579 $9,209,833 $72,280,629 
2015 $33,101,191 $25,446,032 $0 $3,630,371 $9,092,642 $71,270,235 
2014 $32,901,156 $25,496,628 $0 $3,636,704 $9,111,608 $71,146,096 
2013 $31,654,182 $24,686,455 $0 $3,520,472 $8,822,750 $68,683,859 
2012 $31,425,990 $24,635,454 $0 $3,512,658 $8,805,069 $68,379,171 
2011 $28,532,514 $23,221,811 $0 $3,307,459 $8,303,445 $63,365,229 
2010 $29,541,822 $23,918,010 $0 $3,407,130 $8,551,873 $65,418,835 
2009 $28,797,539 $23,587,644 $0 $3,358,868 $8,434,654 $64,178,705 
2008 $28,562,812 $23,976,492 $29,003 $3,411,936 $8,576,309 $64,556,552 
2007 $28,277,919 $23,273,991 $35,965 $3,313,708 $8,323,288 $63,188,906 
2006 $27,192,240 $22,636,747 $38,481 $3,221,929 $8,096,444 $61,147,360 
2005 $26,085,548 $22,068,568 $34,667 $3,139,770 $7,894,513 $59,223,067 
2004 $24,543,937 $20,938,588 $27,995 $2,978,318 $7,490,976 $55,979,814 
2003 $23,412,284 $20,419,376 $25,497 $2,902,721 $7,306,966 $54,066,844 
2002 $22,863,127 $19,836,567 $23,391 $2,820,269 $7,098,014 $52,641,368 
2001 $22,443,910 $19,294,778 $21,278 $2,743,924 $6,903,464 $51,407,354 
2000 $21,989,911 $19,274,703 $21,197 $2,739,633 $6,897,717 $50,923,161 
1999 $20,874,947 $18,176,293 $14,595 $2,583,453 $6,502,823 $48,152,111 
1998 $19,986,517 $17,435,389 $9,306 $2,477,227 $6,235,814 $46,144,253 
1997 $23,663,919 $17,051,956 $9,542 $1,242,158 $3,124,761 $45,092,336 
       

____________ 
1/ Includes funds to be used for state school aid. 
2/ Monies collected for this fund were transferred quarterly by the General Accounting Office to the Department of Commerce to pay back an 

outstanding loan the now defunct Wine Commission had taken from the Commerce Economic Development Fund.  The statute establishing the 
Wine Promotion Fund was repealed by Laws 2005, Chapter 11. 

 

SOURCE:  Department of Revenue, Annual Reports.    

 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
Wholesalers, domestic farm wineries, and domestic microbreweries must submit a return and pay the luxury tax 
on liquor to the Department of Revenue monthly on or before the 20

th
 day of the month following the month in 

which the tax accrues.  The tax must be paid within 10 days of the due date to avoid penalty and interest charges 
[A.R.S. § 42-3353 and § 42-3354]. 
 
IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2010. 
 
There were no changes enacted to this tax in 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013 and 2015. 
 
2016 LAWS 
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 76 allows all wineries to obtain a direct shipment license to sell and ship wine directly to 
consumers.  Prior to Chapter 76, a direct shipment license required producers to ship any out-of-state alcohol to a 
wholesaler, and then to a retailer unless the consumer was physically present at a winery at the time of the 
purchase, which would allow the winery to ship directly to the consumer’s residence or business.  The direct 
shipment license holder is required to pay all applicable luxury taxes.  (Effective August 6, 2016) 
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Laws 2016, Chapter 125 permanently extends the luxury tax revenue allocation to the Corrections Fund by 
eliminating the June 30, 2015 repeal date. 
 
2014 LAWS 
 
Laws 2014, Chapter 110 defines cider to include vinous liquor made from pears and other pome fruits along with 
apples.  Previously, only cider made from apples was taxed at the same rate as malt liquor - $0.16 per gallon - 
whereas cider made from other fruit was taxed at the rate of vinous liquor - $0.84 per gallon. 
 
Laws 2014, Chapter 253 creates new license classifications for craft distillery, craft distillery festival, and craft 
distillery fair.  The bill further renames the domestic microbrewery license and domestic farm winery license to 
microbrewery license and farm winery license, respectively.    
 
A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2010 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at 
www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/16taxbk.pdf.  

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/luxtaxliq.pdf
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ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE LICENSE FEES 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
Alcoholic beverage license fees are charged to sellers and producers of these beverages.  Fees are charged for 
original licenses, license renewals, and transfers of licenses.  The number of original licenses granted per county is 
restricted according to county population.  Fee amounts vary by type of fee and type of seller or producer (e.g., 
restaurant, hotel, microbrewery, etc.).  The revenues from the license fees are distributed among several 
recipients. 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Club Licenses and Applications.  The revenues derived from club licensing and applications are dedicated to the 
Department of Economic Security's Economic Security Capital Investments Fund [A.R.S. § 4-116]. 
 
Special Event Licenses.  Collections are dedicated to the Department of Health Services for use in the evaluation 
and treatment of alcoholics [A.R.S. § 4-203.02A]. 
 
All Other Licenses.  Except for the above club, special event, and some restaurant license fees, two-thirds of license 
fees are deposited in the Liquor Licenses Fund.  Any revenues of this two-thirds of license fees in excess of the 
amount appropriated to the Liquor Licenses Fund are deposited into the state General Fund.  One-third of the 
license fees collected in counties with a population of 500,000 or less are to be paid monthly by the Director of 
Liquor Licenses and Control to the treasurer of those counties.  For each county with a population of over 500,000, 
the director is to pay the county treasurer from the remaining one-third of license fees the amount of $3,000 for 
each new license issued for premises in unincorporated areas of that county, up to a maximum of $150,000.  The 
remainder of the one-third of license fees collected in counties with a population of over 500,000 is deposited in 
the state General Fund [A.R.S. § 4-115]. 
 
WHO PAYS 
 
The tax is paid by manufacturers, wholesalers, out-of-state producers, exporters, importers or rectifiers, retailers 
of alcoholic beverages, businesses authorized by local governments to sell liquor, and farm wineries or 
microbreweries.  All sellers of alcoholic beverages, including Indian tribal members on reservations, are required to 
pay the license fees [A.R.S. § 4-209]. 
 
REVENUE BASE AND RATE 
 
License and Permits.  A flat fee is charged for an original license, annual and biannual license renewals, transfers of 
licenses, assignments of agents, and interim permits.  Licenses can expire annually or biannually depending on the 
type of license renewal and whether the holder received any compliance penalties in the year prior to renewal.  In 
addition, for each additional original license issued there will be levied a separate issuance fee equal to the 
license's fair market value which will be deposited in the state General Fund [A.R.S. § 4-209, A.R.S. § 4-203.01, .02, 
and .03, and A.R.S. § 42-206.01]. 
 
Surcharges.  Certain licenses are assessed various surcharges as part of the annual license renewal fee.  The 
revenues from these surcharges are dedicated to costs associated with audit and support staff activities, and costs 
associated with an enforcement program to investigate licensees who have been the subject of multiple 
complaints to the department [A.R.S. § 4-209J&K]. 
 
Maximum Additional Licenses Per County.  With the exception of bar, beer and wine bar, liquor store and some 
restaurant licenses issued pursuant to A.R.S. § 4-213E, there is no maximum number of licenses that can be issued.  
Restaurant licenses that do not meet the definition of a restaurant and receive permission from the Department of 
Liquor Licenses and Control to continue to operate as a restaurant are limited to a maximum of 15 restaurant 
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licenses in any fiscal year.  In FY 2013 and beyond, no additional licensees will be granted permission to continue to 
operate under A.R.S. § 4-213E. 
 
Beginning in FY 2010, the Department of Liquor Licenses and Control shall annually issue 1 bar, 1 beer and wine 
bar, and 1 liquor store license in each county for each 10,000 person increase over the population in that county as 
of July 1, 2010.  However, the director may opt to waive the issuance of any new, or reissuance of any revoked or 
reverted licenses in any county for 1 year if there has been no request made to the department for the issuance of 
a license of that series  (A.R.S. § 4-206.01B).  
 

Exemptions: 
 

 Drug stores selling spirituous liquors only upon prescription. 
 Any confectionery candy with less than 5% by weight of alcohol. 
 Manufacturers, wholesalers and retailers of ethyl alcohol used for scientific, chemical, mechanical, industrial, 

medicinal or other nonbeverage purposes. 
 Individuals and establishments authorized by Congress to procure spirituous liquor or ethyl alcohol tax-free. 
 Manufacturers of denatured alcohol produced under provisions established by acts of Congress [A.R.S. § 4-

226].  
 

Table 1 
 

COLLECTIONS AND DISTRIBUTION 
 

 
 

Fiscal 
Year 

 
 
 

Total 

 
 

General 
Fund 

Department  
of  

Economic  
Security 

Department  
of  

Health  
Services 

 
 
 

Counties 

 
 

Audit  
Surcharge 

 
 

Enforcement  
Surcharge 

 
 

Liquor 
Department 

1/
 

 
Liquor 

Licenses 
Fund 

 2016 $8,532,918 $3,713,973 $47,225 $71,200 $382,115 $173,190 $789,915  $0 $3,355,300 
 2015 $7,651,662 $3,187,414 $47,775 $66,725 $440,228 $169,080 $777,940   $0 $2,962,500 
 2014 $6,379,186 $1,932,468 $54,550 $64,725 $442,258 $170,680 $782,305  $0 $2,932,200 
 2013 $6,476,642 $2,064,997 $59,025 $57,800 $448,900 $166,800 $767,820  $0 $2,911,300 
 2012 $5,989,607 $1,716,990 $45,550 $57,850 $427,877 $164,220 $761,520  $0 $2,815,600 
 2011 $8,760,692 $4,660,056 $55,650 $54,675 $404,971 $165,030 $761,610  $0 $2,658,700 
 2010 $6,110,927 $2,913,632 $46,200 $45,275 $385,795 $144,300 $662,025  $0 $1,913,700 
 2009 $6,559,069 $5,040,087 $56,400 $49,175 $530,252 $158,730 $724,425  $0  
 2008 $6,333,680 $4,871,121 $49,600 $45,775 $483,938 $162,186 $721,060  $0  
 2007 $6,042,559 $4,661,571 $47,750 $45,975 $448,928 $155,040 $683,295  $0  
 2006 $5,903,308 $4,431,909 $49,275 $51,250 $446,672 $152,580 $673,290 $98,332  
 2005 $5,581,198 $4,206,281 $48,850 $47,775 $458,487 $151,650 $668,155   
 2004 $5,473,828 $4,219,995 $49,100 $44,500 $369,358 $147,180 $643,695   
 2003 $5,018,445 $3,826,968 $53,800 $42,350 $327,837 $143,480 $624,010   
 2002 $4,746,146 $3,776,390 $54,850 $40,100 $333,901 $97,380 $443,525   
 2001 $4,933,818 $3,876,428 $44,175 $47,950 $346,375 $93,840 $525,050   
 2000 $4,278,445 $3,323,418 $50,975 $41,050 $347,272 $93,080 $422,650   
 1999 $4,293,893 $3,365,016 $53,075 $39,550 $349,182 $83,520 $403,550   
 1998 $4,453,507 $3,698,779 $53,050 $38,500 $358,598 $88,880 $215,700   
 1997 $4,398,612 $3,634,188 $59,200 $40,150 $369,524 $86,600 $208,950   

____________ 
1/ See Laws 2005, Chapter 284 – the Department of Liquor Licenses and Control may retain costs associated with the random selection of additional licensees. 
Note: 5% of the revenues generated from licensees that are permitted to continue operation as a restaurant pursuant to A.R.S. § 4-213E will be deposited into 

the Driving Under the Influence Abatement Fund beginning in FY 2009.   
 

SOURCE:  Department of Liquor Licenses and Control. 

 
Application Fees: 
 
 Original license: $100 
 Transfer of license: $100 [A.R.S. § 4-209A] 
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Issuance fees for original licenses [A.R.S. § 4-209B]: 
 

Table 2 

 
1. In-state producers of spirituous liquors $1,500 
2. Out-of-state producer’s, exporter’s, importer’s, or rectifier’s license, except an out-of-state 

winery selling 50 or fewer cases of wine in a calendar year 
200 

3. Microbrewery license 300 
4. Wholesalers of spirituous liquors 1,500 
5. State, and local government, community colleges, or National Guard licenses 100 
6. On-sale retailers on all spirituous liquors and bar license 1,500 
7. On-sale retailers beer and wine bar license 1,500 
8. Railroads, airlines or boats, conveyance licenses 1,500 
9. Off-sale retailers on all spirituous liquors, liquor store license 1,500 
10. Off-sale retailers beer and wine store license 1,500 
11. Hotels and motels 1,500 
12. Restaurants 1,500 
13. Farm winery 100 
14. Clubs 1,000 
15. 
16. 

Out-of-state winery selling 240 or fewer cases of wine in a calendar year 
Craft distiller  

25 
300 

 

Annual License Fees [A.R.S. § 4-209D]: 
 

Table 3 

 
1. In-state producers of spirituous liquors $350 
2. Out-of-state producer’s, exporter’s, importer’s, or rectifier’s license, except an out-of-state 

winery selling 50 or fewer cases of wine in a calendar year 
50 

3. Microbrewery license 300 
4. Wholesalers of spirituous liquors 250 
5. Local government, community colleges, or National Guard licenses 100 
6. On-sale retailers on all spirituous liquors and bar license 150 
7. On-sale retailers beer and wine bar license 75 
8. Railroads, airlines or boats, conveyance licenses 225 
9. Off-sale retailers on all spirituous liquors, liquor store license 50 
10. Off-sale retailers beer and wine store license 50 
11. Hotels and motels 500 
12. Restaurants 500 

1/
 

13. Farm winery 100 
14. Clubs 150 
15. 
16. 

Out-of-state winery selling 240 or fewer cases of wine in a calendar year 
Craft distiller 

25 
300 

 
____________ 
1/ If the restaurant is continuing to operate under A.R.S. § 4-213E, an additional fee, to be determined by the Department of Liquor Licenses 

and Control will be levied.  In FY 2013 and beyond, no additional licensees will be granted permission to continue to operate under A.R.S. 
4-213E.  (Please see Laws 2006, Chapter 383 and Laws 2008, Chapter 256  for additional information) 

 

Note: The Department of Liquor Licenses and Control may issue such licenses with staggered renewal dates.  A license issued less than 6 
months before the scheduled renewal date shall be charged only one-half of the annual license fee [A.R.S. § 4-209C]. 

Note: Establishments operating on a seasonal basis not exceeding 6 months in any year are subject to license fees equal to half the annual 
rate [A.R.S. § 4-209E]. 

Note: Any licenses that receive nonuse status are excluded from paying any municipal fee or tax attributed to the time that the license was 
held in nonuse status [A.R.S. § 4-203.05]. 
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Transfer Fees for Spirituous Liquor Licenses: 
 
(1) From Person to Person $300 
(2) From Location to Location $100 
 
[A.R.S. § 4-209F-G] 
 
Assignment Fees.  A $100 fee is charged for a change of agent.  For a holder of multiple licenses, the fee is $100 for 
the first license and all remaining licenses transferred to the same agent are $50 each, with a maximum fee of 
$1,000 [A.R.S. § 4-209H]. 
 
NOTE: License transfers are not permitted for restaurants, hotels, motels, clubs or farm wineries or 

microbreweries, except that clubs may transfer a license from location to location. 
 
Interim Permit Fees.  For original license pending or license transfer pending, the fee is $100 [A.R.S. § 4-203.01]. 
 
Other Licenses.  In addition, special event licenses are issued on a daily basis at a fee of $25 per day.  The wine 
festival license fee is $15 per day [A.R.S. § 4-203.02 and § 4-203.03]. 
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
Original license fees, interim permit fees, and transfer fees are due upon application.  Payments for annual license 
renewal are due in advance.  A system of staggered renewal dates may be implemented by the department.  
Licenses that are not renewed on the due date are subject to a penalty of $150 [A.R.S. § 4-209A]. 
 
The Department of Liquor Licenses and Control collects the tax [A.R.S. § 4-112]. 
 
IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2010. 
 
2016 LAWS 
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 76 allows all wineries to obtain a direct shipment license to sell and ship wine directly to 
consumers.  Prior to Chapter 76, a direct shipment license required producers to ship any out-of-state alcohol to a 
wholesaler, and then to a retailer unless the consumer was physically present at a winery at the time of the 
purchase, which would allow the winery to ship directly to the consumer’s residence or business.  (Effective August 
6, 2016) 
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 161 includes the following provisions: 
 

 Requires a Notice of Change Agent be filed with the director of the Department of Liquor Licenses and Control 
within 30 days of the agent change.  An agent is the natural person who is designated by the applicant or 
licensee to receive communications from the Department of Liquor Licenses and Control and to file and sign 
documents on behalf of the applicant or licensee. 

 Allows a restaurant license to receive a permit from the Department of Liquor Licenses and Control to sell 
beer for off-premise consumption. 

 Increases the amount of beer a person can be served while on a boat at one time from 32 ounces to 50 
ounces. 

 Requires a supplying farm winery in a custom crush arrangement to have a basic permit from the United 
States Alcohol Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau for the gallonage to be allocated to the supplying winery.  A 
custom crush arrangement is a contractual agreement where a person or winery provides grapes to a separate 
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winery to be used for the production of wine.  The wine is then marketed and sold by the person or winery 
supplying the grapes. 

 Allows the Department of Liquor Licenses and Control to use monies from the sale of seized liquor for 
investigation purposes. 

 If an establishment holds multiple licenses at one location with both on-sale and off-sale privileges (on-sale 
versus off-sale privileges are also referred to as channels), the bill requires liquor be sold under the channel of 
the primary use of the establishment.  This affects the price at which a wholesaler can sell alcohol to a retailer.  
Current statute allows wholesalers to sell alcohol to retailers with on-sale privileges at a different price than it 
sell to retailers with off-sale privileges.  This is referred to as channel pricing. 

 Changes the reporting requirement for producers and wholesalers to provide sampling from not less than 10 
days to not less than 5 days before the event. 

 Exempts a passenger in a transportation network company vehicle from laws prohibiting consumption of 
alcohol as a passenger in a vehicle. 

 Adds a refillable container up to 1 gallon, also known as a growler, to the definition of open containers. 
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 184 requires the Director of the Department of Liquor Licensing and Control to report the use 
of Enforcement Surcharge monies to the Arizona State Liquor Board. 
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 345 allows beer and wine store licenses with fewer than 5,000 square feet of store space to 
obtain sampling privileges if the store dedicates at least 75% of shelf space to the sale of liquor.   
 
2015 LAWS 
 
Laws 2015, Chapter 131 includes the following provisions: 
 

 Increases the maximum amount of beer that can be produced by a microbrewery from 1,240,000 gallons per 
location to a total of 6,200,000 gallons from all microbreweries under the control of any one person. 

 Allows microbreweries to sell beer from other microbreweries if the amount of beer sold from other 
microbreweries is not more than 20% of all beer sold at the premises.   

 Microbreweries that sell beer from other microbreweries must purchase the beer through a wholesaler if the 
other microbrewery has a distribution relationship with a wholesaler.   

 Allows a microbrewery to hold a combined total of up to 7 on premise or remote retail licenses for bars, beer 
and wine bars, and restaurants, except that a microbrewery that produces more than 1,240,000 gallons of 
beer annually may not hold a remote retail license. 

 Prohibits a microbrewery that produces more than 1,240,000 gallons of beer annually from selling or 
delivering beer to a retailer, except if that retailer is owned by the microbrewery and on the premises. 

 Prohibits a microbrewery that is otherwise engaged as a distiller, vintner, brewer, rectifier, blender or other 
producer from holding a remote retail license. 

 
2014 LAWS 
 
Laws 2014, Chapter 253 includes the following provisions: 
 

 Eliminates the requirement for county or city or town approval for a special event license held fully within the 
licensed premises. 

 Prohibits no more than 12 special event licenses per calendar year at 1 physical location, unless owned, 
operated, leased, managed or controlled by the U.S., Arizona, or a city, town or county of Arizona. 

 Allows the Director of the Department of Liquor Licenses and Control to issue a special event license 
concurrently with a wine festival license and a craft distillery festival license. 

 Allows a nonprofit organization to receive spirituous liquor donation from a farm winery, microbrewery or 
producer. 

 Increases the number of wine festival licenses from 25 to 50 and the number of days from 75 to 150. 

 Changes the farm winery festival and farm winery fair fees to per day fees of $15. 
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 Requires common carriers of spirituous liquor to keep records and make them available to the department for 
review, excluding railroads. 

 Adds state agency, state board and state commission to the governing bodies permitted to receive a 
government license. 

 Requires a farm winery to hold a winery permit from the U.S. Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB) 
or has a custom crush contract on fruit grown on at least 5 producing acres for at least 3 consecutive years. 

 Allows the Director to approve applications for grouping 2 or more farm winery licenses at 1 location under a 
plan of alternating proprietorship. 

 Allows for custom crush arrangements. 

 Allows the Director to authorize a farm winery license holder to operate up to 2 remote tasting locations. 

 Permits a farm winery license holder to hold a craft distillery license if the spirituous liquor production is less 
than 1,000 gallons per year. 

 Creates a new craft distiller license classification which allows the production of up to 20,000 gallons of 
spirituous liquor per year. 

 Creates a new craft distillery festival license classification and permits the Director to issue up to 25 craft 
distillery licenses per year. 

 Specifies that 2 appraisals are necessary to determine fair market value of a license. 

 Exempts an unfenced golf course from the 300 foot rule, which prohibits a retail liquor license from being 
issued to a location that is within 300 feet of a church, school, or fenced recreational area adjacent to a school 
at the time of the original application. 

 Exempts a beer and wine license at a nonprofit performing arts theatre with a seating capacity of at least 250. 

 Allows the Director to suspend, revoke or refuse to renew a license if a serious act of violence occurs on the 
licensed premises. 

 Allows the Director to suspend, revoke or refuse to renew a license if the licensee fails to report a serious act 
of violence.  

 Requires a wholesaler to sell to a qualified retail cooperative at prices established by quantity, and specifies 
qualified retail cooperative to mean a retail cooperative of 2 retail licensees. 

 Allows and defines channel pricing, which allows a wholesaler to sell to on-sale license holders at a different 
price than off-sale license holders as long as sale is based on the volume of the product delivered in a 24-hour 
period, and as long as the discount is made available to each retailer in that retailer’s channel.  

 Stipulates all forms of identification must be unexpired. 

 Adds licenses issued by Washington, D.C. and any U.S. territory, and a valid resident alien card as valid 
identification. 

 Stipulates that identification issued to a person under 21 years of age is no longer valid 30 days after the 
person turns 21. 

 Stipulates a border crossing card and a Mexican voter identification card are not valid forms of identification. 

 Allows up to 72 ounces of beer and 2 ounces of distilled spirits per person per day for sampling. 

 Permits credit transactions between wholesalers and producers. 

 Exempts beer produced for personal consumption from state alcohol regulations. 

 Stipulates that medicinal purposes do not include ethyl alcohol or spirituous liquor that contains marijuana. 

 Stipulates that it is an unlawful act to allow patrons to use any item for the consumption of vaporized 
spirituous liquor. 

 Removes the requirement for a person to hold a concealed carry permit to carry a concealed handgun on the 
premises of a license holder. 

 
2013 LAWS 
 
Laws 2013, Chapter 47 allows the Director of the Department of Liquor Licenses and Control to issue a license for a 
domestic microbrewery on the same parcel of land as a domestic farm winery.  The bill further requires that the 
licenses be held by different persons and be in different buildings; allows the brewery and winery to share a 
common tasting room and other premises for consumption of their products; and prohibits the licensees from 
holding any other liquor license.  
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2012 LAWS 
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 336 includes the following provisions: 
 

 Allows the Liquor Board to eliminate its hearing if no recommendation is made by the appropriate governing 
body regarding the issuance of the license. 

 Requires the Board to cancel a hearing if the reason for a filed argument is clearly removed or deemed 
satisfied by the Director of the Department of Liquor Licenses and Control. 

 Increases, from 32 to 40 ounces, the permissible amount of beer to be served by an on-sale retailer or 
employee. 

 Permits an on-sale retailer to sell or deliver an opened, original container of distilled spirits as outlined.  
Requires the department to review the effects of this provision and provide a report to the Governor, 
Legislature, and the Secretary of State by July 1, 2015. 

 Allows a peace officer, while undercover on assignment, to consume small amounts of spirituous liquor while 
still possessing a firearm. 

 Specifies that a bar, beer and wine bar, liquor store, beer and wine store, and domestic microbrewery licensee 
may dispense beer only in clean glass containers with a maximum capacity of 1 gallon for off-premises 
consumption, if the licensee fills the container at the tap at the time of sale and seals the container.  This 
cannot be provided through a drive-through or walk-up service window. 

 Allows the Director to implement a 2-year license. 

 Simplifies and describes the process for obtaining an interim permit. 

 Authorizes the Director to waive for 1 year, the requirement to issue a series of new licenses if no request has 
been made to the department to issue new licenses. 

 Limits wine sampling to 1.5 ounces rather than 1 ounce. 

 Adds community colleges and the National Guard to the list of government licenses that require a $100 fee. 

 Permits biannual license renewal if the location was not issued any penalties during the year before renewal.  
Allows the Director to adopt reasonable rules. 

 Increases from 90 to 120 days the time a licensee can be delinquent in the payment of taxes, penalties, or 
interest in an amount greater than $250 before the Director can suspend, revoke, or refuse to renew their 
license.  

 Prohibits a city or town from increasing fees for hospitality businesses in any year by an amount greater than 
the increase in the average of the last 5 years’ consumer price index. 

 
2011 LAWS 
 
Laws 2011, Chapter 165: 
 

 Allows the Department of Liquor Licenses and Control to utilize fingerprint scanning equipment for licenses 
and charge a fee for such services until January 1, 2015. 

 Requires licensees to keep a copy of their license on their premises for 2 years. 

 Clarifies and makes changes to the process for filing written arguments and determining approval of a 
proposed license. 

 Clarifies when the public convenience must be served by transferring and re-issuing licenses. 

 Allows spirituous liquor licenses to be transferred to a qualified person if the transfer is pursuant to the sale of 
the license. 

 Increases the number of days that a person has to notify the department after acquiring or transferring a 
license from 15 to 30 days. 

 Allows a licensed wholesaler for a special event to donate spirituous liquor at a net zero.  The wholesaler is 
also given 5 business days after the event to make necessary billing adjustments. 

 Allows a key to a minibar at a hotel or motel to be furnished to a guest at any time and stipulates that the 
minibar cannot be restocked between the hours of 2:00 a.m. and 6:00 a.m. 

 Prohibits a bar license or a beer and wine bar license from being issued or used if the associated off-sale use 
(sale of alcohol for consumption off-site), by total retail spirituous liquor sales exceeds 30% of the sales price 
of on-sale (sale of alcohol for consumption on-site) spirituous liquor by the licensee. 
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 Requires that premises with dual licenses, including a spirituous liquor, beer and wine bar, and bar licenses 
have the burden of establishing that public convenience and the best interests of the community will be 
served by the issuance of the license. 

 Allows the beer and wine license and bar license to be issued simultaneously. 

 Mandates that for the purpose of reporting liquor purchases for dual licensees, all off-sale beer and wine 
purchases are presumed to be purchased under the beer and wine license. 

 Makes provisions relating to the bar, beer and wine bar or liquor store licenses to be retroactive to January 1, 
2011. 

 Allows the applicant for a beer and wine store license to apply for sampling privileges, stipulates allowable 
standards for sampling, and allows for a fee to be assessed to the applicant. 

 Allows the department to assess a fee to review floor plans and diagrams submitted by a licensee until January 
1, 2015 in order to determine the applicant’s proximity to churches, schools, and recreational areas adjacent 
to schools. 

 Specifies that the department can conduct a client settlement conference with a licensee to resolve a 
complaint and may provide restrictions in the payments of fines. 

 Changes identification requirements for licensees. 

 Allows military personnel to import up to 1 liter of liquor duty free. 

 Prohibits a local government from limiting any right granted by a license or discriminating against the 
hospitality industry in the collection of fees. 

 Allows a town or city to enforce the zoning requirements and to collect any fee associated with the original 
placement license. 

 Permits a fee to be collected by the Department of Liquor Licenses and Control for inspections before issuing a 
restaurant license until January 1, 2015. 

 Permits the Department of Liquor Licenses and Control to issue a fee for the inspection of unlicensed premises 
of pending applicants until January 1, 2015. 

 Requires licensees to post additional signs for the prohibition of weapon possession on the premises and to 
make their liquor license readily accessible for inspection. 

 Extends the timeframe in which a bar license may be exchanged for a liquor store license from January 1, 2011 
to January 1, 2012. 

 Stipulates that the department shall identify the licenses with sampling privileges in their records without 
further application or approval and that the sampling rights may not be transferred. 

 Appropriates all monies from the newly-created fees to the Department of Liquor Licenses and Control.  The 
department plans to deposit these fees into the Liquor Licenses Fund. 

 Exempts the department from rulemaking through January 1, 2015 for the purposes of establishing the new 
fees and requires the department to give at least 30 days notice for public comment before implementing a 
fee. 

 
2010 LAWS 
 
Laws 2010, Chapter 85 requires that after January 1, 2011 bar, beer, and wine bar licenses are to be issued for on-
sale (establishments where alcohol is consumed on-site) purposes only.  The off-sale (establishments where 
alcohol is consumed off-site) privileges of these licenses are limited to 10% of the sales price of on-sale spirituous 
liquors at the licensed location.  This law also allows a license for beer and wine to be issued simultaneously and in 
the same location as a store, liquor store, or restaurant license.  A liquor store licensee may also apply for sampling 
privileges to allow a sponsoring distiller, vintner, brewer, wholesaler, or retail licensee to provide 3 ounces of beer 
and/or 1 ounce of wine or distilled spirits per person, per brand, per day.  The law excludes a license in nonuse 
status from any municipal fee or tax attributed to the time the license was held in nonuse status.  Lastly, the 
licensees must display the license in a conspicuous public area of the licensed premises for easy inspection by the 
public. 
 
Laws 2010, Chapter 85 also allows, in session law, bar liquor and beer and wine license holders for off-sale 
purposes to trade-in their licenses, before January 1, 2011, for a liquor store or beer and wine store license, 
respectively.  A session law provision also stipulates that newly-issued licenses allow sampling privileges without 
further approval. 
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Laws 2010, Chapter 224 extends the hours that hotel minibars can be restocked and on/off-sale retailers can sell 
spirituous liquor to the hours of 6-10 a.m. on Sunday mornings.  Also allows a person to consume or possess 
spirituous liquors on the premises of an on-sale retailer during the hours of 6-10 a.m. Sunday morning.  This law 
modifies statute so that spirituous liquors cannot be restocked in hotel minibars from 1-6 a.m., sold by on-sale 
retailers from 2-6 a.m., or consumed on the premises of an on-sale retailer from 2:30-6 a.m.  The law also extends 
the sunset date for the Department of Liquor Licenses and Control to July 1, 2015. 
 
A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2010 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at 
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/16taxbk.pdf.  
 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/alcohol.pdf
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INSURANCE PREMIUM TAX 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
This tax is imposed on net insurance premiums received by insurance companies for risks that exist within the 
state.  Included are premiums for life insurance, accident and health insurance, AHCCCS contracted coverage, fire 
insurance, vehicle insurance, prepaid dental and legal insurance, and other property and casualty premiums such 
as homeowners and commercial insurance, medical malpractice, and fidelity and surety insurance. 
 
The tax applies to insurance companies formed under the laws of this state (“domestic” insurance carriers) and 
insurance companies formed under the laws of another state within the United States or another country (“out-of-
state” insurance carriers). 
 
Insurance premium tax also includes “retaliatory” taxes, which are taxes owed by out-of-state insurers to the 
extent that the sum of taxes an insurer pays in Arizona is less than what the sum of taxes would be if the same 
insurance business were transacted in the insurer’s “home” state (state of domicile). 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Except for a portion of the tax on fire insurance premiums and an additional tax paid on vehicle insurance 
premiums, these tax revenues are deposited in the state’s General Fund [A.R.S. § 20-227]. 
 
Eighty-five percent of the fire insurance premium tax is transferred to cities and towns and legally organized fire 
districts which procure the services of private fire companies and to cities and towns which have their own fire 
department or legally organized fire district.  The proceeds are to be used to assist in funding pension plans for fire 
fighting personnel.  The other 15% is deposited into the state’s General Fund [A.R.S. § 20-224, A.R.S. § 9-951, and 
A.R.S. § 9-952]. 
 
An additional tax of 0.4312% paid on insurance carried on vehicles is separately accounted for and transferred to 
the Public Safety Personnel Retirement System for deposit in the Highway Patrol Account to assist in funding the 
pension plan for highway patrol personnel [A.R.S. § 20-224.01]. 
 
Table 1 on the following page provides the historical distribution of insurance premium tax.  It should be noted 
that the “total” column in the following table reflects net collections for the fiscal year, and in some cases, does 
not equal the amounts distributed to the General Fund, the Public Safety Personnel Retirement System, and to 
cities and fire districts.  In these cases, some collections were carried forward into the next fiscal year and were 
distributed then. 
 
WHO PAYS 
 
All authorized insurers and formerly authorized insurers (insurers not currently authorized, but continuing 
collection of premiums and servicing of existing policies in the state) are subject to the insurance premium tax.  In 
addition, health care service organizations, prepaid dental plan organizations, and prepaid legal insurance 
corporations are subject to the tax [A.R.S. § 20-206, A.R.S. § 20-224, A.R.S. § 20-401.05, A.R.S. § 20-416, A.R.S. § 
20-837, A.R.S. § 20-1010, A.R.S. § 20-1060, A.R.S. § 20-1097.07]. 
 
Out-of-state insurers pay the greater of the Arizona insurance premium tax or the tax imposed by their home state 
on Arizona insurers.  For example, if an out-of-state insurer operating in Arizona pays a 2% insurance premium tax 
to the Department of Insurance (DOI), but an Arizona insurer operating in the out-of-state insurer’s home state 
pays a 3% premium tax, the out-of-state insurer must also pay DOI a 1% retaliatory tax that equals the difference 
in rates charged in the 2 states. Arizona provides an exemption from retaliatory tax, if the out-of-state insurer’s 
home state does not charge retaliatory taxes on Arizona insurers.  Retaliation applies to taxes, fees, assessments or 
other charges levied in the insurance company’s home state [A.R.S. § 20-230]. 
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Table 1 
 

  INSURANCE PREMIUM COLLECTIONS AND DISTRIBUTION 
 

 
 
 

Fiscal Year 

 
 
 

General Fund 

Transfer to Public 
Safety 

Retirement 
System 

 
 

Transfer to Cities 
and Fire Districts 

 
 
 

Total 
2016 $494,089,236 $19,312,244 

 
$16,777,097 $530,178,577 

2015 $449,546,754 $18,212,445 
 

$13,343,767 $481,102,966 
2014 $411,760,685 $16,942,842 

 
$14,481,050 $443,184,577 

2013 $386,776,104 $16,185,326 
 

$13,141,283 $416,102,713 
2012 $393,990,499 $15,720,974 

 
$12,606,341 $422,317,814 

2011 $413,765,850 $15,978,058 
 

$12,514,392 $442,258,300 
2010 $405,612,042 $16,696,764 

 
$13,492,671 $435,801,477 

2009 $411,370,853 $17,507,607 
 

$12,480,006 $441,358,466 
2008 $407,035,082 $17,569,437 

 
$13,361,461 $437,965,980 

2007 $399,850,367 $17,861,557 
 

$12,652,891 $430,364,815 
2006 $373,703,789 $17,057,414 

 
$11,842,931 $402,604,134 

2005 $358,752,402 $16,234,673  $12,459,164 $387,446,239 
2004 $308,967,921 $15,441,384  $11,677,878 $336,087,183 
2003 $226,648,800 $14,009,100  $10,588,600 $251,246,500 
2002 $195,036,900 $12,633,600  $8,148,700 $215,819,200 
2001 $183,394,700 $11,419,500  $7,187,100 $202,001,300 
2000 $160,723,567 $10,953,470  $5,670,876 $177,344,423 
1999 $150,697,201 $10,735,299  $5,178,291 $166,614,522 
1998 $124,603,122 $10,208,838  $5,090,836 $139,960,268 
1997 $120,518,800 $9,761,100  $5,418,300 $135,697,400 
      

SOURCE:  Department of Insurance. 

 
REVENUE BASE AND RATE 
 
The tax applies to premiums paid for insurance covering liabilities that exist within the state.  The tax is levied on 
the net premium income, which is defined as the total amount received from premiums after deducting 
cancellations, returned premiums, policy dividends, refund reductions, savings coupons, and similar amounts paid 
or credited to policyholders within the state, and not reapplied as premiums for new, additional, or extended 
insurance [A.R.S. § 20-224]. 
 
The insurance premium tax rate on life, vehicle, and other property and casualty lines of insurance is 1.95% in 
calendar year (CY) 2016.  Laws 2016, Chapter 358 gradually decreases the tax rate from 2.0% in CY 2015 to 1.7% by 
CY 2021 (See Table 2).  This schedule of rate reductions replaced the schedule enacted under Laws 2015, Chapter 
220, in which the rate was decreased gradually from 2.0% in CY 2015 to 1.70% in CY 2026.  Except for fire 
insurance and surplus line insurance (types of insurance that are not sufficiently offered by authorized insurers and 
therefore may be procured from unauthorized out-of-state insurers), the tax rate for most other types of insurance 
is 2.0% of net premium income [A.R.S. § 20-224]. 
 
The tax rate for fire insurance is 0.66% for insurance on properties located in an incorporated city or town which 
procures the services of a private fire company.  The rate on all other fire insurance is 2.2% [A.R.S. § 20-224]. 
 
The tax rate on premiums paid to brokers selling surplus line insurance and industrial insurance contracts procured 
from unauthorized insurers is 3% of the net premium income [A.R.S. § 20-401.07 and A.R.S. § 20-416]. 
 
Certain types of insurers, employee benefit trusts, and voluntary employees’ beneficiary associations are 
exempted from the insurance premium tax, including some hospital and medical service corporations, some 
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fraternal benefit societies, non-profit military mutual aid associations, and extended warranty insurers [A.R.S. § 20-
108]. 
 
Title insurance premiums are also exempted from the insurance premium tax and are instead subject to the state 
income tax [A.R.S. § 20-224 and A.R.S. § 20-1566]. 
 
Premiums paid by government entities to non-profit hospitals and medical, dental, and optometric service 
corporations are exempt from the insurance premium tax [A.R.S. § 20-837]. 
 

Table 2 
 

INSURANCE PREMIUM  
TAX RATES 

1/2/
 

 

Calendar Year          Rate 
2015 2.00% 
2016 1.95 
2017 1.90 
2018 1.85 
2019 1.80 
2020 1.75 
2021 1.70 

________________  

1/  As enacted by Laws 2016, Chapter 358. 
2/ Rates apply to life, vehicle, and other 

property and casualty lines of insurance.  
   

 
TAX REFUNDS AND/OR TAX CREDITS 
 
Enterprise/Military Reuse Zones Tax Credit.  A tax credit against insurance premium tax liability is allowed for net 
increases in employment positions of residents of the state by an insurer that is located in an enterprise zone or a 
military reuse zone.  A credit may not be claimed under both an enterprise zone and a military reuse zone for the 
same employee [A.R.S. § 20-224.04]. 
 
The tax credit for insurers in an enterprise zone equals one-fourth of taxable wages (not to exceed $500) paid to an 
employee in a qualified employment position in the first year of employment, one-third of taxable wages (not to 
exceed $1,000) in the second year, and one-half of taxable wages (not to exceed $1,500) in the third year.  Laws 
2011, 2

nd
 Special Session, Chapter 1 allowed this credit to sunset at the end of FY 2011, as scheduled.  Although 

new credits may not be earned after tax year (TY) 2011, previously earned credits may be carried forward up to 5 
years and used no later than for TY 2016.  This credit was replaced by the New Employment Tax Credit, which is 
described below.   
 
The tax credit for insurers in a military reuse zone equals $1,000 per year in the first year of employment, 
increasing by $500 per year up to $3,000 per year in the fifth year of employment for each dislocated military base 
employee, and $500 per year in the first year of employment, increasing by $500 per year up to $2,500 per year in 
the fifth year of employment for each employee other than a dislocated military base employee. 
 
Health Insurance Premium Tax Credit.  A premium tax credit is allowed for health care insurers that provide health 
insurance to qualified individuals and small businesses that are certified by the Arizona Department of Revenue 
(DOR).  An application must be submitted to DOR for the tax credit, which includes a written declaration subject to 
the penalties of perjury [A.R.S. § 20-224.05 and A.R.S. § 43-210].   
 
An individual or small business must obtain health insurance to receive the credit.  In order for the insurer to claim 
a credit on an individual, that individual must be a United States citizen or legally residing resident.  The individual 
must also: 1) earn less than 250% of the federal poverty level, be a resident of Arizona, not have had health 
insurance for at least the past 6 consecutive months, and not be enrolled by any other state or federal government 
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health insurance program; or 2) work for a small business that has been in existence for at least 1 calendar year 
and that has not provided health insurance to its employees for at least 6 months.  A small business is defined as 
between 2 and 25 employees during the most recent calendar year.     
 
The amount of the tax credit for individuals is the lesser of the following: a) $1,000 for single coverage, $500 for 
coverage of a child, or $3,000 for family coverage; or b) 50% of the health insurance premium.  The amount of the 
tax credit for small businesses is the lesser of the following: $1,000 for single coverage or $3,000 for family 
coverage; or 50% of the health insurance premium.   
 
Health insurers are required to deduct the amount of the tax credit from the premium paid by the individual or 
small business for health insurance.  In this way, the state effectively subsidizes the cost of the individual or small 
business’s health insurance in the amount of the premium tax credit.  The maximum amount of tax credits allowed 
in a calendar year is capped at $5 million.  DOR reports that a total of $4.2 million in credits were claimed in CY 
2012 and $3.9 million in CY 2013.  The tax credits are administered by DOR. 
 
New Employment Tax Credit.  A $3,000 annual tax credit may be claimed for each net new qualifying job added by 
an employer in the state. To qualify for the credit, new employment positions must be full-time, pay at least the 
median wage, and offer health insurance paid by the employer (at least 65% of the premium).  Credits associated 
with 1 net new job can be claimed for 3 years.  A company may claim first year credits for separate new jobs for up 
to 3 consecutive years.  Since second and third year credits may be claimed against each of the new positions, the 
taxpayer may claim credits for up to a total of 5 consecutive years.  A business cannot claim the new credit unless 
it adds at least 25 net new jobs in a year in an urban area (5 in a rural area) and makes a capital investment of at 
least $5 million ($1 million in a rural area) [A.R.S. § 41-1525].  The Arizona Commerce Authority (ACA) is authorized 
to issue first year credits for up to 10,000 new employees ($30 million) in each year.  Statute does not permit the 
ACA to authorize new credits after June 30, 2017 (A.R.S. § 41-1525).  Given the maximum 5-year schedule outlined 
above, businesses may claim credits through TY 2021.  
 
In TY 2013 and later years, Laws 2012, Chapter 343 eliminates the requirement (provided by Laws 2011, 2

nd
 Special 

Session, Chapter 1) that no employer can claim more than 400 new jobs in the first year of credit use, 800 jobs in 
the second year, and 1,200 jobs in the third year.  The cap applied to credits claimed against insurance premium, 
individual income, and corporate income taxes.  The credit cannot be claimed against employees that are also 
claimed under the Military Reuse Zone Tax Credit (A.R.S. § 20-224.04 and A.R.S. § 41-1531).  Laws 2014, Chapter 
168 changes the requirement for the New Employment Tax Credit program by providing that second and third year 
credits can be claimed irrespective of whether the same employee remains employed as long as the employer 
replaces the vacant position with another qualified employee within 90 days. 
 
School Tuition Organization Tax Credit.  A taxpayer may claim an insurance premium tax credit, up to the full 
amount of the donation, for contributions made to a school tuition organization that provides education 
scholarships and tuition grants either to children of low-income families (A.R.S. § 20-224.06) or to disabled children 
or children in foster care (A.R.S. § 20-224.07).  The full amount of tax credit approved by DOR pursuant to A.R.S. § 
43-1183 (low-income credit) for both corporate income tax credits and insurance premium tax credits combined is 
capped at $10 million per year, with the cap increasing by 20% per year beginning in FY 2008.  The credit cap is 
$61.9 million in FY 2017, $74.3 million in FY 2018, and $89.2 million in FY 2019.  The full amount of tax credit 
approved by DOR pursuant to A.R.S. § 43-1184 (displaced and disabled credit) is capped at $5 million per year.  A 
taxpayer may carry forward the unused portion of either tax credit for 5 years.  A taxpayer claiming the credit shall 
not be required to pay any retaliatory taxes required by A.R.S. § 20-230.  [A.R.S. § 20-224.06 and A.R.S. § 20-
224.07]. 
 
The actual dollar impact of these tax credits is included in Table 3: 
 
 
 
 



Insurance Premium Tax 

- 153 - 

Table 3 

   FY 2016 INSURANCE PREMIUM TAX CREDIT USE 
 

     
CREDITS:  

 Effective 
Calendar Years 

 
Annual Cost 

Health Insurance Premium 
1/

  2007 - $  3,606,200 
Military Reuse Zone  1993 - 0 
New Employment 

2/
  2011 - 2021 4,126,000 

Private School Tuition Organization – Low Income Students 
3/

  2006 - 22,786,400 
Private School Tuition Organization – Disabled/Displaced Students 

4/
  2009 -   2,950,900 

    

Total Value of Credits   $33,469,500 
____________ 
1/ Credit is capped at $5 million annually. 
2/ Credits claimed by individuals and corporations are separately reported under individual and corporate income tax 

credits.  The ACA is authorized to issue up to $30 million of 1
st

 year credits in each year between individual and 
corporate income and insurance premium taxpayers.  

3/ Credits claimed by corporations are separately reported under corporate income tax credits.  The credit was capped 
at $51.6 million in FY 2016 between corporate income and insurance premium taxpayers, and will increase by 20% 
annually. 

4/ Credits claimed by corporations are separately reported under corporate income tax credits.  The credit is capped at 
$5 million annually between corporate income and insurance premium taxpayers. 

 

SOURCE:  Department of Insurance, Report of Insurance Premium Tax Credits.  

 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
Payment of the preceding calendar year’s insurance premium tax liability is due on or before March 1 of each year.   
[A.R.S. § 20-224]. 
 
Any insurer that paid or is required to pay a tax of $2,000 or more for the preceding calendar year is required to 
pay an “installment” payment of 15% of that amount on or before the 15

th
 day of each month from March through 

August.  These installment payments are then credited against the insurance premium tax due on March 1 of the 
following year [A.R.S. § 20-224].  Table 4 lists the dates and descriptions of insurance premium tax payments due 
in FY 2017.  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
AHCCCS health contractors make separate quarterly estimated payments for taxes on Medicaid premiums.  
Estimated payments are due on March 15, June 15, September 15 and December 15 of each year.  DOI bills 
(refunds) the insurer for any balance of liability (overpayment) that remains on April 1 of the following year.  
[A.R.S. § 36-2944.01]. 

Table 4   

FY 2017 Insurance Premium Tax Payment Schedule 
    

Due Date Payment Description 
    

July 15, 2016 CY 2016 Installment Payment (15% of CY 2015 Liability) 

August 15, 2016 CY 2016 Installment Payment (15% of CY 2015 Liability) 

March 1, 2017 Final Payment (Refund) of CY 2016 Liability 

  Retaliatory Tax Payment for CY 2016 

March 15, 2017 CY 2017 Installment Payment (15% of CY 2016 Liability) 

April 15, 2017 CY 2017 Installment Payment (15% of CY 2016 Liability) 

May 15, 2017 CY 2017 Installment Payment (15% of CY 2016 Liability) 

June 15, 2017 CY 2017 Installment Payment (15% of CY 2016 Liability) 
    



Insurance Premium Tax 

- 154 - 

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2010. 
 

2016 LAWS 
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 38 permits domestic insurers to sell surplus line insurance for risks that exist within the state.  
DOI designates types of insurance coverage that is not sufficiently offered by Arizona authorized insurers as 
surplus insurance lines.  Prior to Chapter 38, statute only permitted unauthorized out-of-state insurers to sell 
surplus lines of insurance in Arizona.  The legislation also requires that Arizona authorized insurers pay the same 
3.0% insurance premium tax on surplus line insurance as paid by unauthorized out-of-state insurers.  (Effective 
from August 6, 2016) 
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 358 gradually reduces insurance premium tax rates for life, vehicle, and other property and 
casualty lines of insurance from 2.0% in CY 2015 to 1.7% in CY 2021 and every subsequent year (see Table 2).  The 
legislation replaces the schedule enacted under Laws 2015, Chapter 220, which gradually lowered rates from 2.0% 
in CY 2015 to 1.7% in CY 2026 and every subsequent year.  Relative to Laws 2015, Chapter 220, the legislation is 
estimated to reduce insurance premium tax collections to the General Fund by $(3.0) million in FY 2017, followed 
by further decreases of $(4.1) million in FY 2018 and $(4.3) million in FY 2019.  Relative to a 2.0% tax rate, the 
reduced 1.7% rate is estimated to decrease revenues by $(27.2) million in FY 2022, once the 6-year phase-in under 
Laws 2016, Chapter 358 is completed.  (Effective from August 6, 2016) 
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 360 eliminates a December 31, 2019 deadline for claiming New Employment Tax Credits 
against insurance premium taxes.  The ACA may authorize new credits through June 30, 2017.  Given a maximum 
5-year schedule for claiming credits (see New Employment Tax Credit for more information), Laws 2016, Chapter 
360 effectively extends the last year the credit can be claimed against insurance premium taxes from TY 2019 to TY 
2021. The change conforms the insurance premium tax to the individual and corporate income tax treatment of 
the credit.  (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2016) 
 
2015 LAWS 
 
Laws 2015, Chapter 8 requires DOI to report to the Directors of JLBC and the Governor’s Office of Strategic 
Planning and Budgeting (OSPB) the amount of insurance premium tax credits that were used during a given fiscal 
year, within 3 months of the end of a fiscal year.  (Effective from July 3, 2015) 
 
Laws 2015, Chapter 184 provides an exemption from Arizona’s insurance premium retaliatory tax to out-of-state 
insurers doing business in Arizona, if the insurer’s home state does not charge retaliatory taxes on Arizona 
insurers.  Retaliatory taxes are owed by out-of-state insurers to the extent that the sum of insurance premium tax 
an insurer pays in Arizona is less than what the sum of taxes would be if the same insurance business were 
transacted in the insurer’s home state.  The exemption is estimated to reduce General Fund revenue by $(1.5) 
million annually, beginning in FY 2016.  (Effective from January 1, 2016) 
 
Laws 2015, Chapter 220 gradually reduces the insurance premium tax rate from 2.0% in CY 2015 to 1.7% in CY 
2026 and subsequent years. The rate reduction applies to life, vehicle, and other property and casualty lines of 
insurance. The law is estimated to reduce insurance premium tax collections to the General Fund by $(1.3) million 
in FY 2017 and an additional $(0.2) million in FY 2018.  The revenue loss is estimated to grow to $(35.2) million in 
FY 2027, once the rate is reduced to 1.7% in CY 2026.  (Effective from July 3, 2015) 
 
2014 LAWS 
 
Laws 2014, Chapter 168 changes a requirement for the New Employment Tax Credit program by providing that 
second and third year credits may be claimed irrespective of whether the same employee remains employed as 
long as the employer replaces the vacant position with another qualified employee within 90 days.  (Effective 
retroactively from January 1, 2014) 
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2013 LAWS 
 
Laws 2013, Chapter 181 exempts non-profit military mutual aid associations from statutes regulating insurers, 
including insurance premium tax statutes.  (Effective from September 13, 2013) 
 
Laws 2013, 1

st
 Special Session, Chapter 10 expands Medicaid coverage for adults up to 133% of the federal 

poverty level, beginning January 1, 2014.  Premiums paid to insure additional enrollees are estimated to increase 
insurance premium revenues to the General Fund by $7.3 million in FY 2014, $34.2 million in FY 2015, and $36.4 
million in FY 2016.  (Effective from September 12, 2013) 
 
2012 LAWS 
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 3 made conforming changes and deletes obsolete language for the New Employment Tax 
Credit.  (Contained various effective dates) 
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 343 provided several modifications to the New Employment Tax Credit.  The bill removes the 
cap of 400 new workers per year per company for the credit and adds equipment to the acceptable definitions for 
capital investment.  An ending date of December 31, 2019 was also added to the credit.  Additionally, the bill 
requires an interested business to obtain preapproval from the ACA so that all 3 years of credits are covered.  Also, 
the bill requires that all capital investment be incurred and new qualified employment positions be filled within 12 
months after the start of the required capital investment.  No credits are allowed to be claimed until both 
requirements are met.  If the requirements are met, the business is allowed to claim first year credits for 3 years 
beginning in the taxable year in which the capital and employment requirements are met.  Lastly, the bill provided 
some clarifying language regarding the definition of new employees.  (Effective from January 1, 2013) 
 
2011 LAWS 
 
Laws 2011, Chapter 136 makes changes to the statutes relating to surplus line insurance (insurance that is offered 
by an out-of-state insurer since no in-state insurer provides the given coverage) and interstate insurance 
compacts.  Additionally, Chapter 136 allows DOI to enter into a multistate agreement to provide for the collection, 
payment, and reporting of taxes imposed on unauthorized surplus lines insurance covering multistate risks (a 
policy that covers an individual across borders) in accordance with the Nonadmitted and Reinsurance Reform Act 
of 2010.  (Effective from July 20, 2011) 
 
Laws 2011, 2

nd
 Special Session, Chapter 1 creates the New Employment Tax Credit, which provides a $3,000 

annual tax credit for each net new qualifying job added by an employer in the state. To qualify for the credit new 
employment positions must be full-time, pay at least the median wage, and offer health insurance paid by the 
employer (at least 65% of the premium).  Credits can be claimed for 3 years.  A business cannot claim the new 
credit unless it adds at least 25 net new jobs in a year in an urban area (5 in a rural area) and makes capital 
investment of at least $5 million ($1 million in a rural area).  No employer can claim more than 400 jobs in the first 
year of credit use, 800 jobs in the second year, and 1,200 jobs in the third year.  The bill provides a statewide 
aggregate credit cap of 10,000 jobs in FY 2013 ($30 million) and grows by an additional 10,000 jobs in both FY 2014 
($60 million) and FY 2015 ($90 million).  The cap applies to credits claimed against insurance premium, individual 
income, and corporate income taxes. 
 
A summary of all the Chapter 1 fiscal impact provisions is displayed in the Corporate Income Tax section of the Tax 
Handbook.  (Effective from July 1, 2011) 
 
2010 LAWS 
 
Laws 2010, Chapter 118 requires fire districts and municipalities to provide to the Public Safety Personnel 
Retirement System any and all information needed to calculate and split fire insurance tax premium revenues 
between the fire districts and municipalities.  (Effective from July 29, 2010) 
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Laws 2010, Chapter 292 prohibits insurance premium tax donations to charter schools as part of the School Tuition 
Organization (STO) Tax Credit program.  (Effective retroactively from July 1, 2010) 
 
A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2010 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at 
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/16taxbook.pdf. 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/inspremiumtax.pdf
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BINGO LICENSE AND LIEU TAX 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The bingo license and lieu tax consists of a license fee charged to qualified operators of bingo games and a bingo 
tax assessed on the receipts from bingo games.  There are 3 license classifications for bingo operators based on the 
amount of gross receipts.  The license fee and tax rate vary by classification, with a maximum tax rate of 2% of 
gross receipts.  All bingo games in Arizona must be conducted by a licensed person.  The Department of Revenue 
serves as the licensing authority in the state.  The tax is in lieu of the transaction privilege tax. 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
All bingo tax revenue, administrative receipts, license fees, penalties and interest collections are deposited in the 
state General Fund [A.R.S. § 5-407H]. 
 

Table 1 

COLLECTIONS 
    

Fiscal Year General Fund Fiscal Year General Fund 
2016 $476,079 2006 $623,480 
2015 $507,211 2005 $610,055 
2014 $521,583 2004 $624,501 
2013 $519,998 2003 $626,770 
2012 $508,145 2002 $629,680 
2011 $504,905 2001 $634,384 
2010 $520,655 2000 $677,036 
2009 $531,588 1999 $717,830 
2008 $558,330 1998 $750,970 
2007 $619,387 1997 $774,129 

 
SOURCE:  Department of Revenue, Annual Report. 

 
WHO PAYS 
 
The license fee and lieu tax is paid by persons and organizations that have been licensed by the Department of 
Revenue to conduct the game of bingo [A.R.S. § 5-403 and 5-407H]. 
 
REVENUE BASE  
 
Licenses.  A flat fee and a percentage of adjusted gross receipts or gross receipts are charged for bingo licenses, 
license renewals and games, depending on the license classification.  Class A licenses are taxed on adjusted gross 
receipts, while Class B and Class C licenses are taxed on gross receipts.  Adjusted gross receipts means gross 
receipts minus prize money paid [A.R.S. § 5-414]. 
 
License Classifications.  There are 3 license classes based on the bingo game's gross receipts per year [A.R.S. § 5-
413]: 
 

 Class A License.  Bingo games for which the gross receipts do not exceed $15,600 per year.  This license cannot 
be issued to persons holding a liquor license unless it is a club license.  The reporting period is 1 year 
coinciding with the license's term. 

 Class B License.  Bingo games for which gross receipts do not exceed $300,000 per year.  There are 4 reporting 
periods coinciding with the quarters of the license's term. 
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 Class C License.  Bingo games for which gross receipts exceed $300,000 per year.  There are 12 reporting 
periods coinciding with each month of the license's term.  
 

RATE 
 
The following fees and tax are assessed for the different license classes [A.R.S. § 5-414]: 
 

 
License Class 

Local Governing 
Body Fee 

 
License Fee 

 
Bingo Tax 

A $5 $10 2.5% of Adjusted Gross Receipts 
B $25 $50 1.5% of Gross Receipts 
C $50 $200 2.0% of Gross Receipts 

 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
License Fee Due Date.  The license fee, which is non-refundable, is due and paid at the time of application.  
Licenses expire 1 year from the issue date and must be renewed annually [A.R.S. § 5-403]. 
 
Bingo Tax.  The tax is due at the time of each financial report submitted by the licensee according to the above-
described schedule for the corresponding license class [A.R.S. § 5-407I]. 
 
License Fee Collection.  The initial application for license is submitted to the local governing body along with the 
one-time local governing body fee and the license fee.  The license fee and an original or certified copy of the 
application must be received by the Department of Revenue before a license is issued. Subsequent renewal fees, 
which are the same amount as the license fee, are paid to the Department of Revenue.  A 30-day grace period 
from the expiration date is given for renewal with a penalty equal to the license fee; otherwise after such period a 
licensee must reapply for a new license [A.R.S. § 5-403]. 
 
The Department of Revenue collects the tax [A.R.S. § 5-407H]. 
 
IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2010. 
 
There were no changes enacted to this tax from 2010 to 2016. 
 
A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2010 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at 
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/16taxbk.pdf.  
 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/bingotax.pdf
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BOULDER CANYON PROJECTS - IN LIEU PAYMENTS 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
These are payments made by the United States or its agencies or instrumentalities to the State of Arizona in lieu of 
taxes from the proceeds of any hydroelectric power development (“Boulder Canyon Projects”) on the Colorado 
River [A.R.S. § 45-1331A].  
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Two-thirds of payments received are dedicated to the state General Fund.  The remaining one-third of payments 
received are placed in a special fund of the county in which the hydroelectric power development is located and 
are used for recreational facilities, access roads, and public works [A.R.S. § 45-1331]. 
 

Table 1 

COLLECTIONS 
    

Fiscal Year General Fund Fiscal Year General Fund 
2016 $200,000 2006 $200,000 
2015 $200,000 2005 $200,000 
2014 $200,000 2004 $200,000 
2013 $200,000 2003 $200,000 
2012 $200,000 2002 $200,000 
2011 $200,000 2001 $200,000 
2010 $200,000 2000 $200,000 
2009 $200,000 1999 $200,000 
2008 $200,000 1998 $400,000 
2007 $200,000 1997 - 
    

SOURCE:  State Treasurer’s Office.  Total collections from Boulder Canyon Projects are 
derived by summing the payments to the state General Fund and to Mohave County.  

 
WHO PAYS 
 
Department of the Interior - Bureau of Reclamation. 
 
REVENUE BASE AND RATE 
 
These are lump sum payments received from the Federal Government in lieu of taxes on the proceeds from the 
Boulder Canyon Projects. 
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
Federal payments are normally made in June of each year.   
 
IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2010. 
 
There were no changes enacted to this tax in the period from 2010 to 2016. 
 
A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2010 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at 
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/16taxbk.pdf.  
 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/boulder.pdf
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COMMERCIAL NUCLEAR GENERATING STATION ASSESSMENT 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The commercial nuclear generating station assessment is levied on each consortium of public service corporations 
engaged in operating a commercial nuclear generating station.  In effect, only the Palo Verde nuclear generating 
station is assessed by this law.  Collection amounts are used by the state to develop emergency response 
capabilities for accidents caused at a commercial nuclear generating station.  The assessment is equal to the 
amount appropriated by the Legislature to the Nuclear Emergency Management Fund for nuclear emergency 
response. 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Monies collected from the commercial nuclear generating station assessment are deposited in the General Fund 
[A.R.S. § 26-306.01D].   
 

Table 1 
 

 
COLLECTIONS 

Fiscal Year General Fund Fiscal Year General Fund 
2016 $2,412,474 2006 $1,198,087 
2015 $2,404,010 2005 $1,168,550 
2014 $2,269,086 2004 $1,036,085 
2013 $2,153,517 2003 $1,012,992 
2012 $1,782,028 2002 $940,611 
2011 $1,812,420 2001 $924,778 
2010 $1,569,091 2000 $945,935 
2009 $1,523,108 1999 $926,814 
2008 $1,440,492 1998 $880,824 
2007 $1,367,248 1997 $878,374 

    

SOURCE:  Department of Revenue, Annual Reports. 

 
 
WHO PAYS 
 
The assessment is paid by each consortium of public service corporations and municipal corporations engaged in 
constructing or operating a commercial nuclear generating station [A.R.S. § 26-306.01D].  In practice, the 
assessment is only paid by the Palo Verde nuclear plant. 
 
REVENUE BASE AND RATE 
 
The amount of the assessment is equal to the biennial legislative appropriation from the state General Fund to the 
Nuclear Emergency Management Fund, plus an additional 10% per year for interest [A.R.S. § 26-306.01D].  
However, any unexpended monies in the Nuclear Emergency Management Fund at the end of each fiscal year are 
used to offset the assessment in future years [A.R.S. § 26-306.02B].  The assessments are used to develop, 
maintain, and support the state plan for responding to accidents at a commercial nuclear generating station [A.R.S. 
§ 26-306.01A]. 
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PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
The assessment is due to the Department of Revenue each year on the date that the appropriation to the Nuclear 
Emergency Management Fund becomes available for expenditure.  If the assessment is not paid on this date, 
interest is charged at the rate of 10% per year until payment is received.  If a consortium fails to pay the 
assessment within 1 year, the Legislature may require the Director of Emergency Management to notify the United 
States Nuclear Regulatory Commission [A.R.S. § 26-306.01D&E]. 
 

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES 
 

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2010.  
 

There were no changes enacted to the commercial nuclear generating station assessment in 2010, 2012, 2014, and 
2016. 
 

The following statutory changes levied biennial assessments against each consortium of public service corporations 
and municipal corporations engaged in constructing or operating a commercial nuclear generating station.  The 
assessment amounts were then appropriated from the state General Fund to the Nuclear Emergency Management 
Fund to develop and maintain the state response plan for an accident at a commercial nuclear generating station.  
The monies were allocated to various entities, including the Department of Emergency and Military Affairs, the 
Radiation Regulatory Agency, Maricopa County, and the Town of Buckeye. 
 
2015 LAWS 
 
Laws 2015, Chapter 132 levies an assessment of $2,404,010 in FY 2016 and $2,412,474 in FY 2017.  (Effective April 
1, 2015) 
 

2013 LAWS 
 
Laws 2013, Chapter 13 levies an assessment of $2,153,517 in FY 2014 and $2,269,086 in FY 2015.  (Effective March 
28, 2013) 
 
2011 LAWS 
 
Laws 2011, Chapter 132 levied an assessment of $1,812,420 in FY 2012 and $1,782,028 in FY 2013.  (Effective April 
15, 2011)  
 
A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2010 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at 
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/16taxbk.pdf.  

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/nuclear.pdf
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UNCLAIMED PROPERTY COLLECTIONS 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
Unclaimed property includes intangible personal property such as traveler’s checks, money orders, stocks or other 
equity interest, principal on debt, demand or savings deposits, customer credits, insurance settlements, property 
received or held by a court, wages, retirement accounts, and other miscellaneous types of property that are 
presumed abandoned according to the schedule set out in statute (A.R.S. § 44-302).  Unclaimed property also 
includes tangible property held in a safe deposit box which remains unclaimed after the expiration of the lease on 
the box (A.R.S. § 44-303).  Property is presumed abandoned and therefore unclaimed after it is held for an 
extended period of time with no owner contact and a “good faith” effort has been made to locate the owner.  
Abandoned property is transferred to the Department of Revenue (DOR) from many holders, including banks, 
credit unions, corporations, utilities, insurance companies, governmental entities, and retailers.  DOR also 
establishes and maintains records of escheated estates.  An escheated estate is created when a person dies 
without leaving a will and has no known heirs; the property reverts to the state after 5 years. 
 
DOR acts as custodian of the property and administers a program to locate the owners.  Once reported to DOR, 
unclaimed property is available for refund to the owners or their heirs indefinitely.  Statute requires businesses 
and other organizations to review their records each year to determine whether they hold any funds, securities, or 
other property that are unclaimed for the statutory abandonment period.  Holders file an annual report and 
transfer the property to the state.  The holding period before property is considered unclaimed varies by type of 
property.  If the properties received by DOR remain unclaimed within a specified time period, the properties are 
sold by DOR with the proceeds distributed to a number of state funds. 
 
Although the collection and sale of unclaimed property held by the DOR does not constitute a tax, monies derived 
from this activity represent a significant state revenue source.  
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Monies from the sale of unclaimed property are deposited in the non-appropriated Estate and Unclaimed Property 
Fund administered by DOR.  DOR retains not less than $100,000 to pay allowed claims while the state attempts to 
locate abandoned property owners.  Revenues from the sale of escheated estates are deposited in the Escheated 
Estates Fund.  
 
Monies received by DOR from the collection and sale of unclaimed properties and escheated estates are 
distributed as follows: 
 

 Monies derived from unclaimed victim restitution payments are deposited in the Victim Compensation and 
Assistance Fund (VCAF) [A.R.S. § 44-313C and A.R.S. § 41-2407A]. 

 Monies from unclaimed shares and dividends of any corporation incorporated under the laws of Arizona, 
escheated estates, and unclaimed property in a self-storage unit are deposited in the Permanent State School 
Fund (PSSF) [A.R.S. § 44-313B, § 37-521A, § 12-885B, § 33-1704G]. 

 
The remaining monies are distributed as follows: 
 

 The first $2.0 million in unclaimed property collections are deposited into the Seriously Mentally Ill Housing 
Trust Fund. 

 The next $2.5 million are deposited into the Housing Trust Fund. 

 The next $24.5 million are deposited into the DOR Administrative Fund to cover DOR’s administrative costs, 
including unclaimed property contract auditors and the handling, publicizing, and selling of abandoned 
property. 

 All remaining monies are redirected to the General Fund. 
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Prior to FY 2012, the first $10.5 million in unclaimed property collections were deposited into the Housing Trust 
Fund.  The next $24.5 million in collections were deposited into the DOR Administrative Fund and the remaining 
monies were deposited into General Fund.  
 
Prior to FY 2010, 55% of all remaining monies were transferred to the Housing Trust Fund, 25% to the General 
Fund, and the remaining 20% was distributed among 8 funds administered by the Department of Racing.   
 
 

Table 1 
 

Unclaimed Property Distributions 
 

 
Fiscal 
Year 

 
General 

Fund 

Housing 
Trust 
Fund 

DOR 
Admin. 

Fund 

 
Racing 
Funds 

 
 

VCAF 1/ 

 
 

UAF 2/ 

 
 

PSF 3/ 

 
AHCCCS 

SMIHTF 4/ 

 
 

Total 
2016 $65,996,200 $2,500,000 $24,500,000 $0 $716,800 $0 $273,600 $2,000,000 $95,986,600 
2015 $54,052,200 $2,509,300 $24,500,000 $0 $683,200 $0 $737,100 $2,000,000 $84,481,800 
2014 $49,186,400 $2,511,100 $24,500,000 $0 $864,600 $0 $234,600 $2,000,000 $79,296,700 
2013 $60,899,600 $2,500,000 $25,014,700 5/ $0 $612,500 $0 $356,900 $2,000,000 $91,383,700 
2012 6/ $45,840,400 $2,500,000 $24,500,000 $0 $100,500 $0 $140,400 $2,000,000 $75,081,300 
2011 $49,120,900 $10,500,000 $24,500,000 $0 $1,143,800 $0 $59,100 0 $85,323,800 
2010 7/8/ $101,669,100 $10,500,000 $24,500,000 $0 $739,400 $0 $20,600 0 $137,429,100 
2009 $9,526,600 $28,554,100  $10,383,300 $144,600 $0 $9,100 0 $48,617,700 
2008 9/10 $58,020,600 $33,684,300  $12,248,800 $173,100 $26,300 $11,200 0 $104,164,300 
2007 11/ $12,346,200 $40,972,900  $14,899,200 $1,250,300 $2,550,700 $408,600 0 $72,427,900 
2006 11/ $22,825,000 $26,004,600  $9,456,200 $128,300 $855,500 $408,700 0 $59,678,300 
2005 11/ $30,715,200 $23,942,700  $8,706,400 $299,600 $1,664,500 $426,100 0 $65,754,500 
2004 $8,044,000 $20,708,300  $7,530,300 $547,300 $1,308,000 $397,200 0 $38,535,200 
2003 $6,745,700 $17,950,700  $6,527,500 $2,128,000 $1,119,000 $214,100 0 $34,685,000 
2002 $7,656,000 $19,761,600  $7,186,000 $0 $868,400  $0 0 $35,472,000 
2001 $4,309,800 $11,733,800  $4,266,900 $17,000 $905,000 $77,800 0 $21,310,300 
2000 $4,208,700 $11,421,700  $4,153,300 $0 $639,100 $13,000 0 $20,435,800 
1999 $2,084,500 $6,791,800  $2,465,200 $0 $818,400 $217,300 0 $12,594,500 
1998 $2,402,500 $7,380,800  $2,681,200 $0 $712,000 $55,200 0 $13,231,700 
1997 $4,566,100 $3,655,100  $0 $0 $604,900 $342,700 0 $13,734,900 

____________ 
1/ Victim Compensation and Assistance Fund distributions became effective January 1, 2001, with the implementation of Laws 2001, Chapter 146. 
2/ Utility Assistance Fund. 
3/ Permanent School Fund. 
4/      Arizona Health Care Cost Containment System Seriously Mentally Ill Housing Trust Fund. 
5/    Includes one-time revenues of $514,700 from General Fund Unclaimed Property collections to cover retention payments and rent expenses.  
6/     In FY 2012 the first $2 million in unclaimed property collections were deposited into the Department of Health Services Seriously Mentally Ill Housing 

Trust Fund, the next $2.5 million were deposited into the Housing Trust Fund, the next $24.5 million into the Department of Revenue Administration 
Fund, and all the remaining monies were deposited in the General Fund.  Transfers to the VCAF, UAF, and PSF continue to be distributed as under 
current law. 

7/ In FY 2010 and FY 2011, the first $10.5 million in unclaimed property collections were deposited in the Housing Trust Fund, the next $24.5 million 
were deposited in the DOR Administrative Fund, and all remaining monies were deposited in the General Fund.  Transfers to VCAF, UAF and PSF were 
made in accordance with statute. 

8/ Laws 2009, 4th Special Session, Chapter 3 as permanent law, accelerated by 2 years the holding periods for all property types to be presumed 
abandoned and therefore unclaimed.  Chapter 3 also revised the holding period for traveler’s checks from 15 to 3 years as well as the holding period 
for money orders from 7 to 3 years.  This was estimated to generate one-time additional revenue of $39.4 million to the General Fund in FY 2010.  
Actual FY 2010 collections totaled $83.7 million, or $44.3 million more than anticipated.  Laws 2010, Chapters 102 and 119 restored the holding 
period for traveler’s checks to 15 years as well as the holding periods for stocks, principal and interest on debt, and any dividend, profit distribution, 
redemption, payment on principals or other sum held by a business association for its shareholders to 3 years. 

9/ Laws 2007, Chapter 260 as session law, allowed DOR to sell unclaimed securities upon their receipt with the requirement that all proceeds from the 
sales of these securities in FY 2008 be deposited into the General Fund, instead of the statutory split among the General Fund, Department of 
Housing, and Department of Racing.  This was estimated to generate increased revenue of $45 million to the General Fund in FY 2008; the actual 
amount was $47.2 million. 

10/  Laws 2007, Chapter 218 eliminated the Utility Assistance Fund and required a utility to transmit all abandoned utility deposits to a qualified fuel fund 
entity for the purpose of assisting low-income residents in making utility deposits or owner repairs or replacement of utility-related appliances or 
systems. 

11/ FY 2005 – FY 2007 General Fund distributions include unclaimed monies arising from the cases of Ladewig v. State of Arizona and Kerr v. State of 
Arizona. 

 
SOURCE:  DOR, Annual Reports.  Figures are net of refunds and agency administrative expenses. 
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REVENUE BASE 
 
Property is presumed abandoned and, therefore, unclaimed after it has been held for an extended period of time 
with no owner contact and a “good faith” effort has been made to locate the owner.  The length of time for 
property to be presumed abandoned varies depending on the classification of property.  The property 
classifications and presumption of abandonment timeframes are as follows [A.R.S. § 44-302, A.R.S. § 38-722, A.R.S. 
§ 12-881]: 
 
1 Year 

 Life or endowment insurance policy or an annuity that is payable on proof of death - 1 year after the insured 
has attained, or would have attained, the limiting age on the mortality table on which the reserve is based. 

 Life or endowment insurance policy or an annuity not matured by actual proof of death is deemed matured - 1 
year after the insured has attained, or would have attained, the limiting age on the mortality table on which 
the reserve is based. 

 Property that is distributable by a business association or financial organization in a course of dissolution – 1 
year after the property becomes distributable 

 Property that is received by a court as proceeds of a class action suit and that is not distributed pursuant to 
the judgment - 1 year after the date the court distributed the proceeds. 

 Wages or other labor compensation - 1 year from payment date. 
 

2 Years 

 Property that is held by a court or governmental entity - 2 years after the property becomes distributable. 

 Property in any individual retirement account or defined benefit - 2 years after date of the required 
distribution. 

 Excess proceeds from a trustee sale deposited with the county treasurer pursuant to A.R.S. § 33-812 - 2 years 
from the date of deposit. 

 

3 Years 

 Money Order - 3 years after issuance. 

 Any stock or other equity interest in a business association or financial organization, including security 
entitlements - 3 years after the most recent unclaimed dividend, stock split, or other distribution.  

 The principal and interest on corporate bonds - 3 years after the maturity and after the last interest payment 
date. 

 Demand, savings, or time deposit and any interest or dividends accrued by the accounts - 3 years after 
maturity. 

 Credits owed to a retail customer - 3 years after the obligation accrued. 

 Life or endowment insurance policy or an annuity that has matured or terminated - 3 years after the 
obligation to pay arose. 

 Check, or similar instrument, to include cashier's and certified checks - 3 years after the check or instrument 
was payable.  

 Dividend, profit, distribution, interest, redemption, payment on principal or other sum held or owed by a 
business to shareholders, bondholders, or other security holders who have not claimed it - 3 years after the 
date prescribed for payment or delivery. 

 All other property not otherwise specified - 3 years after the owner's rights to demand the property or after 
the obligation to pay or distribute the property arises, whichever occurs first. 

 Tangible property held in safe deposit box - 3 years after expiration of safe deposit box lease or rental period. 

 Monies deposited into the Arizona State Retirement System (ASRS) Trust Fund established by A.R.S. § 38-712 
and the Long-Term Disability (LTD) Trust Fund established by A.R.S. § 38-797.02 - Monies in both the ASRS and 
LTD Trust Funds are presumed abandoned if the apparent owner has not communicated in writing with ASRS 
and has not otherwise indicated an interest in the monies for the 3-year period following the required 
beginning date of distributions. 

 Certificates of Deposit and resultant interest – 3 years after maturity. 
 

5 Years 

 Escheated estate - 5 years without having identified an heir. 
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15 Years 

 Traveler’s Check - 15 years after issuance. 
 
Property that is not covered under the Arizona Unclaimed Property Act includes gift certificates, electronic gift 
cards, nonrefundable tickets, prepaid phone cards, frequent flyer miles, stored value cards, merchandise points 
and business accounts of less than $50 [A.R.S. § 44-301]. 
 
A.R.S. § 44-304 provides further guidance on how to determine whether property is abandoned. 
 
HOW REVENUES ARE COLLECTED 
 
Holders of unclaimed property include banks, credit unions, corporations, utilities, insurance companies, 
governmental entities, and retailers.  Each institution is required, except for state agencies, to annually report to 
DOR unclaimed property in its possession.  Life insurance companies are required to file the report for each 
reporting year before May 1 of the succeeding year; all other holders of property presumed abandoned file the 
report before November 1 and the report covers the last 12 months before July 1 of that year.  For the prior fiscal 
year, county treasurers must file the report on or before November 1.  State agencies that hold monies for the 
payment of voided warrants report no later than the 10

th
 day of each month [A.R.S. § 44-307].  In FY 2010 only, 

Laws 2009, 4
th

 Special Session, Chapter 3 required holders of property presumed abandoned to file the report 
before June 1, 2010 for the period that covered the last 12 months before July 1, 2009. 
 
Upon filing the report with DOR, the holder of unclaimed property shall pay or deliver it to DOR.  On payment or 
delivery of property to DOR, the State of Arizona assumes custody and responsibility for the property.  A holder 
who pays or delivers property to the department in good faith is relieved of all liability with respect to the property 
that arises after the payment or delivery [A.R.S. § 44-310].    
 
Statute requires DOR to publish a notice at least semiannually of abandoned property that has been paid or 
delivered to the department.  DOR’s website must contain information about abandoned property no later than 
November 30 of the year after the year in which abandoned property was paid or delivered to the department 
[A.R.S. § 44-309].     
 
Unclaimed securities may be sold upon receipt (for more detail, refer to Laws 2007, Chapter 260).  Within 3 years 
after receiving abandoned property other than securities, the department must sell the unclaimed properties to 
the highest bidder at a public sale.  Before conducting a sale, the department publishes a notice at least 3 weeks 
before the sale in the county in which the sale will occur.  A purchaser of property at a sale conducted by the 
department takes the property free of all claims of the owner or previous holder and of all persons claiming 
through or under the owner or previous holder. [A.R.S. § 44-312]. 
 
Securities that are listed on an established stock exchange are sold at prices prevailing on the exchange at the time 
of the sale. DOR may sell all other securities in the over-the-counter market at prices prevailing at the time of the 
sale.  Except in a case of intentional misconduct or malfeasance by the department, a person claiming their 
property is not entitled to receive any appreciation in property value that occurred after the delivery to DOR 
[A.R.S. § 44-312]. 
 
Any person who claims property that was paid or delivered to DOR may file a claim to recover the property or its 
monetary value at the time the property was sold.  Within 90 days after a claim is filed the department is required 
to allow or deny the claim.  If the claim is denied, the department informs the claimant of the reasons for the 
denial and specifies what additional evidence is required before the claim will be allowed.  Within 30 days after a 
claim is allowed the department must deliver the property or pay the net proceeds of a sale of the property to the 
claimant [A.R.S. § 44-317].  Table 2 displays refunds of unclaimed properties to its owners. 
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Table 2 
 

Unclaimed Property Refunds 

Fiscal Year Refund Fiscal Year Refund 
2016 $54,884,200 2006 $17,693,700 
2015 $42,673,900 2005 $16,241,200 
2014 $34,059,200 2004 $10,093,800 
2013 $40,013,500 2003 $10,333,100 
2012 $40,049,500 2002 $11,903,200 
2011 $34,677,600 2001 $15,764,200 
2010 $24,207,900 2000 $9,881,800 
2009 $22,267,200 1999 $8,135,400 
2008 $27,859,500 1998 $6,609,800 
2007 $22,541,000 1997 $9,103,400 

 

SOURCE:  DOR, Annual Reports.   

 
IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES 
 

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2010.  There were no changes enacted in 2013, 2014 and 2015.   
 
2016 LAWS 
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 239 requires DOR to establish procedures and metrics to monitor and evaluate contracted 
unclaimed property auditors who operate on a contingency fee basis.  The bill also requires DOR to provide holders 
of unclaimed property with a notice of rights, which must state that DOR makes a final decision regarding 
recommendations made by the contracted auditors, as well as information on appeals and complaint procedures 
and department contact information.  Additionally, the bill requires DOR to issue a Request for Information by 
January 1, 2017 to explore the feasibility of contracting for unclaimed property audits on a non-contingency basis. 
 
DOR currently contracts with private sector auditors to identify unclaimed property that has not been reported by 
businesses.  The majority of these audits involve life insurance companies, whose files are checked against the 
Social Security Administration’s Master Death File to identify potential unclaimed life insurance benefits.  These 
auditors currently operate under contingency contracts, retaining between 10.25% and 12.5% of the value of 
property that they recover. 
 
2012 LAWS 
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 217 allows certificates of deposit and the resultant interest to be declared abandoned 3 years 
after maturity. 
 
2011 LAWS 
 

Laws 2011, Chapter 28 reduces the annual deposit of unclaimed property revenues to the Housing Trust Fund 
from $10.5 million to $2.5 million beginning in FY 2012.  Additionally, the bill establishes the Seriously Mentally Ill 
Housing Trust Fund with the first $2 million in unclaimed property revenue collected annually.  These monies are 
to be used to fund housing for the seriously mentally ill and the fund is to be administered by the Department of 
Health Services.  Also, the bill removes the non-lapsing provision from the unclaimed monies deposited into the 
Department of Revenue Administration Fund.   
 

Laws 2011, Chapter 315 provides clarifications and modifications of current unclaimed property holder rights, and 
establishes the difference between a private holder ruling and a holder information ruling.  Additionally, Chapter 
315 provides holders with the right to withdraw a request for a ruling on unclaimed property provisions if DOR 
disagrees with the holder’s request for confidentiality.  The act requires DOR to notify a holder when a holder 
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information ruling is modified or revoked and mandates that the decision of DOR to publish a ruling is not an 
appealable decision.  
 

2010 LAWS 
 

Laws 2010, Chapter 102 restores the holding periods for stocks, principal and interest on debt, and any dividend, 
profit, distribution, redemption, payment on principal or other sum held by a business association for its 
shareholder from 2 to 3 years.  The impact to the General Fund has not been determined. 
 

Laws 2010, Chapter 119 restores the holding periods for traveler’s checks from 3 to 15 years.  The impact to the 
General Fund is estimated to be $(2.4) million in FY 2011. 
 
A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2010 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at 
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/16taxbk.pdf.  
 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/unclaimedproperty.pdf


PAYMENTS IN LIEU OF 
PROPERTY TAXES 



- 169 - 
 

AIRCRAFT LICENSE TAX 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
Aircraft license tax is a tax imposed on aircraft based and registered in the state [A.R.S. § 28-8335]. 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Monies received from the aircraft license tax are deposited in the State Aviation Fund [A.R.S. § 28-8345]. 
 

Table 1 
 

COLLECTIONS 
 

Fiscal Year Aviation Fund Fiscal Year Aviation Fund 
 2016 $7,937,596   2006 $5,980,022 
 2015 $6,986,349 

1/
  2005 $5,577,258 

 2014 $7,326,085  2004 $5,748,210 
 2013 $7,374,472  2003 $4,360,187 
 2012 $8,802,691  2002 $3,543,819 
 2011 $7,733,417  2001 $3,176,180 
 2010 $7,582,645  2000 $3,094,727 
 2009 $6,900,648  1999 $2,365,498 
 2008 $7,413,608  1998 $2,043,058 
 2007 $7,748,524  1997 $1,825,858 

____________ 
1/ Does not include a 13

th
 month fiscal year adjustment.  

SOURCE:  Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT), Office of Financial Planning. 

 
WHO PAYS 
 
The tax is paid by owners of aircraft registered in the state, unless an exemption is provided [A.R.S. § 28-8324]. 
 
REVENUE BASE AND RATE 
 
The revenue base is aircraft based in the state and registered with the Arizona Department of Transportation 
(ADOT).  ADOT is responsible for determining the fair market value of such aircraft each year as established by the 
dealer price guides or other recognized reliable source of information [A.R.S. § 28-8342]. 
 
The following are exempt from the aircraft license tax: 
 
(1) Regularly scheduled aircraft operated by an airline company for hire [A.R.S. § 28-8322]. 
(2) Nonresident owned aircraft not used for intrastate commercial activities and not based in Arizona for more 

than 90 days per year [A.R.S. § 28-8322].  
(3) Aircraft operated exclusively in the public service by the United States Government, the state, a political 

subdivision, or the Civil Air Patrol [A.R.S. § 28-8323]. 
 
The tax rate is 0.5% of the average fair market value of the aircraft, except that in no case shall the tax be less than 
$20 per year unless an exemption has been established [A.R.S. § 28-8335].  A nonresident who bases an aircraft in 
Arizona for more than 90 days but less than 210 days in any calendar year and is not engaged in intrastate 
commercial activity is subject to a tax rate equal to 0.1% of the average fair market value [A.R.S. § 28-8336].   
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The license tax for aircraft in storage or under repair is $20 per aircraft [A.R.S. § 28-8337].  The license tax for 
salvaged aircraft that is in storage or being restored is $5 per aircraft [A.R.S. § 28-8338].  The license tax for 
antique, classic, warbird, glider, experimental, homebuilt, or balloon aircraft is $20 per aircraft [A.R.S. § 28-8339].  
The license tax for manufacturer’s aircraft is $20 per aircraft [A.R.S. § 28-8340].  The license tax for maintenance 
aircraft owned by a nonresident is $20 per aircraft [A.R.S. § 28-8341]. 
 
The license tax for aircraft that was registered for the first time after the beginning of a calendar year is prorated 
[A.R.S. § 28-8324].  
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
All aircraft based in the state, except those for which exemptions were provided, must be registered with ADOT 
within 60 days after the aircraft was brought into the state.  The aircraft registration must be renewed each year 
on or before the last day of February [A.R.S. § 28-8322].   
 
The registration fee is $5 per year [A.R.S. § 28-8325].  If the registration requirement is not met, then a penalty of 
$25 for the first month and $5 for each succeeding month of delinquency will be assessed [A.R.S. § 28-8329]. 
 
The aircraft license tax is payable to ADOT upon initial registration and annually by the last day of February [A.R.S. 
§ 28-8335]. 
 
Owners of aircraft in storage or salvaged aircraft must notify ADOT within 10 days of the date the aircraft is 
returned to use and then pay the appropriate license tax, if any, on a pro rata basis [A.R.S. § 28-8337 and § 28-
8338]. 
 
IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2010. 
 
There were no changes enacted to this tax in the period from 2010 through 2016. 
 
A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2010 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at 
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/16taxbk.pdf.  
 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/airlicensetax.pdf
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FLIGHT PROPERTY TAX 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The flight property tax is assessed on the value of airline company aircraft operating in Arizona.  The tax is in lieu of 
ad valorem property taxes on this type of property [A.R.S. § 42-14255]. 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Laws 1986, Chapter 369 shifted flight property tax revenues from the General Fund to the Aviation Fund over a 
phase-in period of 3 years.  Beginning on January 1, 1987, 33% of total tax receipts were deposited in the Aviation 
Fund.  On the same date the following 2 years, the distribution level to the Aviation Fund increased to 66% and 
100%, respectively. 
 
Laws 1997, 1

st
 Special Session, Chapter 3 changed the distribution of flight property tax revenues so that, starting 

in FY 1998, 50% of total proceeds were deposited in the General Fund and the other 50% in the Aviation Fund. 
 
Laws 2003, Chapter 263 provided that, beginning in FY 2005, 100% of flight property tax revenues are deposited in 
the Aviation Fund [A.R.S. § 42-14255]. 
 

Table 1 
 

COLLECTIONS AND DISTRIBUTION 
 

Fiscal Year General Fund Aviation Fund Total 
 2016 $0 $11,114,322 $11,114,322 
 2015 $0 $9,727,092 $9,727,092 
 2014 $0 $12,939,012 $12,939,012 
 2013 $0 $8,084,374 $8,084,374 
 2012 $0 $10,585,261 $10,585,261 
 2011 $0 $9,709,712 $9,709,712 
 2010 $0 $9,451,430 $9,451,430 
 2009 $0 $11,712,920 $11,712,920 
 2008 $0 $13,821,790 $13,821,790 
 2007 $0 $15,300,127 $15,300,127 
 2006 $0 $13,685,936 $13,685,936 
 2005 $0 $13,180,039 $13,180,039 
 2004 $6,320,722 $6,320,723 $12,641,445 
 2003 $6,715,536 $6,026,213 $12,741,749 
 2002 $6,528,347 $6,528,347 $13,056,694 
 2001 $6,693,589 $6,693,590 $13,387,179 
 2000 $6,709,386 $6,709,385 $13,418,771 
 1999 $7,367,078 $7,489,832 $14,856,910 
 1998 $7,582,939 $7,582,939 $15,165,878 
 1997 $0 $17,679,764 $17,679,764 
    

SOURCE:  Department of Transportation, Office of Financial Planning. 

 
WHO PAYS 
 
The tax is paid by airline companies operating within the state [A.R.S. § 42-14255]. 
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REVENUE BASE AND RATE 
 
The Department of Revenue (DOR) determines the full cash value of flight property by August 31 each year.  The 
full cash value is the value determined as of the prior January 1 of the valuation year [A.R.S. § 42-14254A].  DOR 
establishes the full cash value as follows [A.R.S. § 42-14254B]:  
 
(1) determines the valuation of flight property by fleet type,  
(2) determines the valuation of each fleet type by the original cost less depreciation,  
(3) computes depreciation using 15-year straight-line depreciation to salvage value, and  
(4) allows additional obsolescence if supported by market evidence. 
 
Small flight property that is operated in the state in air commerce is valued at 30% of its original cost less 
depreciation [A.R.S. § 42-14254C].  (Small flight property is airline company aircraft with a maximum passenger 
capacity of less than 56 seats and a maximum payload capacity of less than 18,000 pounds [A.R.S. § 42-14251].) 
 
Arizona’s share of the total full cash value of flight property is determined by an apportionment formula, which 
depends on the number of minutes that flight property is on the ground and on the flight mileage scheduled within 
and outside Arizona [A.R.S. § 42-14254D]. 
 
Flight property is assessed as Class 5 property [A.R.S. § 42-12005].  The assessment ratio for Class 5 property is 
equal to the ratio that the total net assessed valuation of all taxable property for primary and secondary tax 
purposes in Class 1 (commercial/industrial) and Class 6, paragraph 3 (military reuse zones), and personal property 
in Class 2 (agricultural/non-profit/golf courses) bears to the total limited valuation of such property [A.R.S. § 42-
15005]. 
 
As the formulas above suggest, the assessment ratio for Class 5 property may change from one year to the next.  In 
the period from 1991 to 2016, the assessment ratio has varied between 14% and 26%.  The TY 2016 assessment 
ratio for this type of property is 14%.  
 
The tax rate equals the sum of the average rates for primary and secondary property taxes in all taxing jurisdictions 
of the state in the current year [A.R.S. § 42-14255].  The historical flight property tax rates are shown in Table 2 on 
the following page. 
 
The property tax liability is calculated in the same manner as other property (see Property Tax section), i.e., by 
multiplying the tax rate by the assessed valuation of the flight property and then dividing the product by 100.   
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
The flight property tax is due and payable at the same time as real and personal property [A.R.S. § 42-14255].  This 
means that one-half of the tax is due and payable on October 1 of the tax year, unless the total amount of the tax 
due is $100 or less, in which case the full amount of the tax is due and delinquent after November 1.  The 
remaining one-half of the tax is due on March 1 of the year following the tax year and becomes delinquent after 
May 1 [A.R.S. § 42-18052].  Both of these payments fall in the same fiscal year. 
 
IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2010.  There were no changes enacted to this tax from 2010 through 2016. 
 
A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2010 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at 
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/16taxbk.pdf. 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/flighttax.pdf
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Table 2 
 

HISTORICAL AVERAGE PROPERTY TAX RATES PER $100 OF ASSESSED VALUATION 
 

Tax Year Sum of Average State Tax Rates Primary Tax Rate  Secondary Tax Rate 
2015 $12.77 $8.74 $4.03 
2014 $12.67 $8.75 $3.92 
2013 $12.54 $8.52 $4.02 
2012 $11.75 $7.89 $3.87 
2011 $10.94 $7.28 $3.67 
2010 $9.67 $6.32 $3.35 
2009 $9.20 $6.13 $3.07 
2008 $9.23 $6.24 $2.99 
2007 $10.04 $6.75 $3.29 
2006 $10.99 $7.24 $3.75 
2005 $11.56 $7.81 $3.75 
2004 $11.81 $8.09 $3.72 
2003 $12.18 $8.36 $3.82 
2002 $12.49 $8.56 $3.93 
2001 $12.55 $8.54 $4.01 
2000 $12.68 $8.56 $4.12 
1999 $12.80 $8.67 $4.13 
1998 $12.79 $8.58 $4.21 
1997 $12.70 $8.57 $4.13 
1996 $12.52 $8.54 $3.98 

 
SOURCE:  Arizona Property Tax Rates and Assessed Valuations, published by the Arizona Tax Research 
Association (ATRA). 
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VOLUNTARY CONTRIBUTIONS BY THE  
GAME AND FISH COMMISSION 

 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The Game and Fish Commission may elect to make voluntary contributions to the state, county, municipality, 
school district, community college district, or other special taxing district in lieu of property taxes when purchasing 
real property within the district [A.R.S. § 17-272A]. 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
The County Treasurer distributes the monies received to the various taxing jurisdictions in which the property is 
located in the same manner as property taxes are distributed (see Distribution under Property Taxes) [A.R.S. § 17-
272E]. 
 

Table 1 

COLLECTIONS 
  

Fiscal Year Net Collections 
1/

 
2016 $22,736 
2015 $18,127 
2014 
2013 

$16,286 
$35,242 

2012 $10,776 
2011 $11,141 
2010 $11,482 
2009 $10,799 
2008 $10,369 
2007 $12,630 
2006 $12,382 
2005 $12,009 
2004 $12,229 
2003 $12,485 
2002 $12,485 
2001 $12,363 
2000 $11,910 
1999 $11,438 
1998 $12,000 
1997 $165,500 
  

____________ 
1/ Laws 1996, 7th Special Session, Chapter 2 repealed the state property tax.  

Beginning in FY 1998, amounts represent contributions which were collected 
for local jurisdictions.  Amounts were distributed back to local jurisdictions and 
not retained by the state. 

 

SOURCE:  Arizona Game and Fish Department, Habitat Branch. 

 
WHO PAYS 
 
The Game and Fish Commission may make voluntary contributions instead of paying property taxes if the 
commission purchases the following types of real property [A.R.S. § 17-272A]: 
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(1) The property was subject to taxation, or 
(2) The property was exempt from taxation at the time of purchase due to one of the following reasons: 

 

 Held by a charitable organization as parkland and no rent or value was received by the charitable 
organization, or 

 Held by a charitable organization to preserve and protect scientific, biological, geological, paleontological, 
natural, or archaeological resources. 

 
The Game and Fish Commission is not required to make contributions with respect to lands acquired for fish 
hatcheries, game farms, firing ranges, reservoir sites, administrative sites, or rights-of-way to fishing waters [A.R.S. 
§ 17-272F]. 
 
REVENUE BASE AND RATE 
 
The Game and Fish Commission is required to consult with the assessor of the county in which the property is 
located and determine the assessed valuation as Class 2 agricultural property.  The assessed valuation of the 
property cannot be increased from one year to the next by more than 2% [A.R.S. § 17-272B]. 
 
The tax rates are the same as those set for real and personal property for agricultural purposes or Class 2 property.  
The amount of the contribution is determined by applying the current aggregate property tax rate to the 
determined valuation [A.R.S. § 17-272C]. 
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
The County Treasurer collects the voluntary contributions from the Game and Fish Commission at the same time 
and in the same manner as ad valorem property taxes (see Payment Schedule under Property Taxes) [A.R.S. § 17-
272D].   
 
The voluntary contributions may be made by the Game and Fish Commission from the Game, Nongame, Fish and 
Endangered Species Fund, the Conservation Development Fund, the Arizona Game and Fish Commission Heritage 
Fund, or any other source of monies available to and budgeted by the commission [A.R.S. § 17-272A].  
 
IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2010. 
 
There were no changes enacted to this revenue category in the period from 2010 to 2012 or 2014 to 2016. 
 
2013 LAWS 
 
Laws 2013, Chapter 197 removed the Waterfowl Conservation Fund from the list of funds from which the 
voluntary contributions may be made.  (Effective May 7, 2013) 
 
A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2010 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at 
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/16taxbk.pdf.  
 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/volgamefish.pdf
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WATERCRAFT REGISTRATION FEE 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The Arizona Constitution, Article 9, Section 15 exempts all watercraft registered for operation in the state, except 
those owned and operated for commercial purposes, from property taxes.  Instead, watercraft is subject to the 
watercraft registration fee, which is a fee levied based on the length of a watercraft [A.R.S. § 5-321].  The 
watercraft registration fee replaced the former watercraft license tax in FY 2006 (Laws 2005, Chapter 318). 
 
(Statute defines "watercraft" as any boat designed to be propelled by machinery, oars, paddles or wind for 
navigation on the water [A.R.S. § 5-301].) 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Each month, watercraft license fee revenues are deposited as follows: 
 

 65% of revenues are transferred to the Watercraft Licensing Fund.  Such monies are subject to legislative 
appropriation.  Monies deposited in this fund are used for administration and enforcement of watercraft laws 
[A.R.S. § 5-323B]. 

 The remaining 35% of revenues are deposited by Arizona Game and Fish Department as follows:  (1) 15% to 
the State Lake Improvement Fund and (2) 85% to the Law Enforcement and Boating Safety Fund [A.R.S. § 5-
323C]. 

 
Total net collections from the watercraft license fee are shown in the table below. 
 

Table 1 

COLLECTIONS 
    

Fiscal Year Net Collections Fiscal Year Net Collections 
2016 $4,217,386 2006 $4,338,741 
2015 $4,348,579 2005 $2,317,368 
2014 
2013 

$4,432,379 
$4,146,344 

2004 
2003 

$1,061,931 
$2,327,090 

2012 $4,301,047 2002 $2,259,952 
2011 $4,450,746 2001 $2,074,784 
2010 $5,120,398 2000 $2,028,111 
2009 $5,468,067 1999 $1,735,862 
2008 $4,955,124 1998 $1,683,698 
2007 $5,398,134 1997 $1,634,369 

    
SOURCE:  Game and Fish Department 

 
WHO PAYS 
 
The fee is paid by the owner of each watercraft that requires numbering by the state [A.R.S. § 5-321].  Numbering 
is required for all undocumented watercraft underway, moored, or anchored on the waters of this state [A.R.S. § 
5-322].   
 
REVENUE BASE AND RATE 
 
The watercraft registration fee is levied on watercraft based on 7 different watercraft length ranges [A.R.S. § 5-321 
and A.R.S. § 5-327].  
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The fees for watercraft are as follows: Registration    NBSIF 
 

Twelve feet and less    $20  $80 
Twelve feet one inch through sixteen feet    $22  $88 
Sixteen feet one inch through twenty feet    $30  $192 
Twenty feet one inch through twenty-six feet    $35  $224 
Twenty-six feet one inch through thirty-nine feet    $39  $253 
Thirty-nine feet one inch through sixty-four feet    $44  $286 
Sixty-four feet one inch and over    $66  $429 

 
Pursuant to Laws 2013, Chapter 197, the Arizona Game and Fish Commission is authorized to establish by rule new 
registration fees for watercraft owned by residents and non-residents of Arizona.  The commission ruled that 
residents and non-residents shall now be charged the same watercraft registration fee; however, non-residents 
are still required to pay an additional boating safety infrastructure fee (NBSIF). 
 
The commission held public meetings on the proposed new watercraft registration fees, which became effective 
January 1, 2014.   
 
Chapter 197 stipulated that the total amount of watercraft registration fees collected in any fiscal year does not 
exceed 50% more than the amount appropriated from the Watercraft Licensing Fund in FY 2013 (which was 
$4,504,200).   
 
In addition, owners of motorized watercraft may be charged a fee for the Lower Colorado River Multispecies 
Conservation Program (MSCP).   
 
The main exemptions from the watercraft registration fee are [A.R.S. § 5-322A]: 
 
(1) Foreign water watercraft temporarily using the waters of the state. 
(2) Military or public vessels of the United States, except recreational type of public vessels. 
(3) Watercraft used solely as lifeboats. 
(4) Undocumented watercraft operating under a valid temporary certificate. 
(5) Documented watercraft numbered in accordance with the regulations of the United States Coast Guard. 
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
Watercraft registration fees are due at the time of application for watercraft registration with the Arizona Game 
and Fish Department [A.R.S. § 5-321A]. 
 
Laws 1982, Chapter 255 authorized the Arizona Game and Fish Commission to establish rules for registering 
watercraft on a staggered monthly basis.  All registrations expire according to schedules established by the 
commission [A.R.S. § 5-321.01]. 
 
IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2010. 
 
There were no changes enacted to this fee in the period from 2010 to 2012 or 2014 to 2016.  
 
2013 LAWS 
 
Laws 2013, Chapter 197 provides that the Arizona Game and Fish Commission shall establish license, permit, tag, 
and stamp fees by rule and repealed statutory language relating to fees for licenses, permits, tags, and stamps.  
This provision includes the watercraft registration fee.  (Effective May 7, 2013) 
 
A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2010 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at 
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/16taxbk.pdf.  

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/watercrafttax.pdf
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GOVERNMENT PROPERTY LEASE EXCISE TAX 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The Government Property Lease Excise Tax (GPLET) was enacted in 1996 (Laws 1996, Chapter 349) to replace the 
tax on possessory interests that was repealed in 1995 (for a more detailed discussion, see Possessory Interest 
section).  GPLET is a local excise tax that is based on the square footage of a building rather than its property value.  
GPLET is levied on entities that lease the property of a city, town, county, or county stadium district for commercial 
or industrial purposes for at least 30 days [A.R.S. § 42-6201]. 
 
Grandfather Provisions 
Laws 2010, Chapter 321 provided new requirements for all leases subject to GPLET that were entered into on or 
after June 1, 2010.  The act provided new tax rates, as well as new abatement and reporting requirements.  
Additionally, the act grandfathered all leases that were entered into before June 1, 2010, or that resulted from a 
development agreement, ordinance, or resolution approved before this date and entered into within 10 years of 
such approval.  A grandfathered lease that is subsequently amended continues to be subject to the provisions in 
effect prior to Laws 2010, Chapter 321, if all of the following conditions are met:  (1) the amendment furthers the 
purpose of the original lease, (2) any land added under the amendment is contiguous to the land under the original 
lease and does not increase the land area by more than 50%, and (3) any government property improvement 
added under the amendment does not increase the area of gross building space by more than 100%.    
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
The county treasurer is required to distribute the excise tax within 30 days of receipt as follows [A.R.S. § 42-6205]:  
 

 13% to the county general fund 

 7% to the city, if applicable 

 7% to the community college district, if applicable 

 73% to the school district not within a high school district (or 36.5% each to the high school and elementary 
district), if applicable. 

 
If inapplicable, proceeds are split proportionally among the other entities. 
 

Table 1 
 

COLLECTIONS 
1/ 2/

 
 

Calendar Year Net Collections  Calendar Year Net Collections 
2015  $8,780,769 2005 $2,696,092 
2014  $6,643,785 2004 $2,898,944 
2013  $6,042,658 2003 $3,013,352 
2012  $5,812,888 2002 $2,721,824 
2011  $6,038,494 2001 $2,230,063 
2010 $5,672,312 2000 $2,379,198 
2009 $3,091,291 1999 $1,935,671 
2008 $3,204,870 1998 $988,269 
2007 $3,108,195 1997 $977,226 
2006 $2,921,164 1996  $0 

___________ 

1/ The tax became effective December 1, 1996.   
2/ The state does not collect any monies from the tax. 
 
SOURCE:  League of Arizona Cities and Towns, 1996 – 2010 
                  County Treasurers, 2011 – 2015 



Government Property Lease Excise Tax 

- 179 - 

WHO PAYS 
 
County treasurers collect the tax annually on prime lessees who use or occupy the government property [A.R.S. § 
42-6202]. 
 
The following are exempt from GPLET [A.R.S. § 42-6208]: 
 
1. Property used for government activity. 
2. Property used for public housing. 
3. Easements and rights-of-way of railroads and gas, electric, pipeline, and telephone utilities. 
4. Interests in a facility that is owned by the government lessor and used primarily for athletic, recreational, 

entertainment, artistic, cultural, or convention activities. 
5. Property that is used for aviation-related purposes, including hangars, tie-downs, aircraft maintenance, 

commercial aircraft terminal franchises, rental car operations, parking facilities, restaurants, stores, and other 
services located in a terminal. 

6. The use by a commercial airline of the runways and terminal facilities of a state, city, town, or county airport. 
7. Leases of property or interests in a transportation facility that is constructed or operated pursuant to Title 28, 

Chapter 22. 
8. Interest in state trust lands. 
9. Interest in property held in trust for an Indian tribe by the United States government. 
10. Interest in “contractor-acquired property” or “government-furnished property” that is owned by the 

government and used to perform a government contract. 
11. Property of a corporation that is organized or directed by a county, city, or town to be used for public 

purposes.  
12. Interest in property used by a chamber of commerce. 
13. Interest in property used by tax-exempt organizations under 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code. 
14. Interest in parking garages or decks owned and operated by the government lessor, or operated on behalf of 

the government lessor by an entity other than the prime lessee.  
15. Residential rentals occupied by the prime lessee. 
 
Tax Abatement 
As noted in Table 2, a city or town is allowed to fully abate the tax on a government property improvement in the 
first 8 years after the certificate of occupancy is issued if the following requirements are met [A.R.S. § 42-6209]:   
 
1. The improvement is located in a single central business district in the city or town and is subject to a lease or 

development agreement entered into on or after April 1, 1985. 
2. The government property improvement resulted or will result in an increase in property value of at least 

100%. 
 
The tax abatement is restricted to government property improvements within a single central business district that 
is located entirely within a “slum and blighted area” established pursuant to Title 36, Chapter 12, Article 3.  The 
central business district must be geographically compact and no larger than the greater of:  (1) 5% of the total land 
area within the exterior boundaries of the city or town or (2) 640 acres.   
 
Laws 2010, Chapter 321 prohibits a city or town from designating more than 1 central business district within its 
corporate boundaries and approving a new lease or development agreement within 1 year of such designation.  
Unless the grandfather provisions are met, the act prohibits a city or town from approving a new lease or 
development agreement on or after June 1, 2010 unless the government lessor:  (1) approves the lease or 
development agreement by simple majority vote without the use of consent calendar, (2) notifies the governing 
bodies of affected taxing jurisdictions where the government property is located at least 60 days prior to approval, 
and (3) determines that the economic and fiscal benefits to the state and county, city, or town where the 
government property is located will exceed the benefits received by the prime lessee, as determined by an 
independent third party. 
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Park Property Lease Excise Tax 
Each county is required to levy and collect an annual Park Property Lease Excise Tax on each prime lessee of a 
lease with the National Park Service of a property improvement located in that county [A.R.S. § 42-6210].  The tax 
is assessed, collected, and distributed in the same manner GPLET, except that: 
 
1. Each lease or development agreement is neither required to include a notice of tax liability nor a provision 

that failure to pay could result in divesting the prime lessee of any interest in the right of occupancy of the 
property. 

2. The tax rate cannot be less than 20% of GPLET (see the Tax Base and Rate section below). 
 
REVENUE BASE AND RATE 
 
Grandfathered Leases 
The tax rates applied to a government property improvement subject to a pre-June 2010 grandfathered lease are 
as follows [A.R.S. § 42-6203]: 
 

 $1.00 per square foot for 1-story office buildings 

 $1.25 per square foot for office buildings with 2 to 7 stories  

 $1.75 per square foot for office buildings with 8 or more stories 

 $1.50 per square foot for retail buildings 

 $1.50 per square foot for hotel/motel buildings 

 $0.75 per square foot for warehouse or industrial buildings 

 $0.50 per square foot for residential rental buildings 

 $1.00 per square foot for any other building 

 $100 per parking space for parking garages 
 
Lessees pay a percentage of the “base” rates listed above depending on where the property is located, the start 
date of the lease, and when the original certificate of occupancy for the government property improvement was 
issued, as summarized in Table 2 below. 
 
The tax rate on a government property improvement subject to a lease or development agreement entered into 
after June 30, 1996 and that is located outside a “slum and blighted area” is 150% of the applicable rate listed 
above.  The tax rate on a government property improvement subject to a pre-April 1, 1985 lease or development 
agreement, or on an improvement at a rural (county population under 400,000 prior to 1988) county or city airport 
is 20% of the applicable rate listed above. 
 
As noted above, tax abatement is restricted to government property improvements within a single central business 
district within the “slum and blighted area.”  Other improvements outside the single central business district but 
still within the “slum and blighted area” will pay 80% of the tax.   
 
New Leases 
The 2016 tax rates applied to a government property improvement subject to a new lease entered into on or after 
June 1, 2010 are as follows [A.R.S. § 42-6203]: 
 

 $2.25 per square foot for 1-story office buildings 

 $2.59 per square foot for office buildings with 2 to 7 stories  

 $3.49 per square foot for office buildings with 8 or more stories 

 $2.83 per square foot for retail buildings 

 $2.25 per square foot for hotel/motel buildings 

 $1.52 per square foot for warehouse or industrial buildings 

 $0.86 per square foot for residential rental buildings 

 $2.25 per square foot for any other building 

 $225.11 per parking space for parking garages 
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The GPLET rates above apply to Tax Year 2016.  Laws 2010, Chapter 321 requires the Department of Revenue 
(DOR) to adjust the tax rates for inflation each year.  The act also provides that the tax rates for government 
property improvements subject to a lease entered into on or after June 1, 2011 be reduced by 10% if the aggregate 
of all property tax rates of all taxing jurisdictions in which the government property improvement is located is less 
than 90% of the county-wide average combined property tax rates in the tax year in which the lease is entered 
into.  For example, if the average combined property tax rate is $10.00 for all properties in a county but $9.00 or 
less for the those properties located in the same taxing jurisdictions as the GPLET property, then the tax rates 
would be reduced by 10%. 
 
Laws 2010, Chapter 321 requires that all new leases entered into on or after June 1, 2010 begin within 10 years 
after the approval of the development agreement.  The act limits the term of such lease to 25 years, including any 
abatement period regardless of whether the lease is transferred or conveyed to subsequent prime lessees during 
that period.  Moreover, the act requires the government lessor to convey the title to the government property 
improvement and underlying land to the prime lessee as soon as practicable but no later than 12 months after the 
expiration of the lease.  Additionally, such property is prohibited from subsequently being designated to Class 6 or 
any other discounted assessment.  
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
The excise tax is due and payable to the county treasurer annually on or before December 1 [A.R.S. § 42-6204]. 
 
POSSESSORY INTEREST 
 
In 1985, the Arizona Legislature enacted legislation that provided a method for the taxation of possessory 
interests.  A possessory interest is created when a private party is granted the exclusive use of real property owned 
by a non-taxable entity.  Typically, possessory interests are created when private individuals, companies, or 
corporations lease, rent, or use federal, state, county, or municipal government-owned facilities and land for their 
own benefit. 
 
The tax on possessory interest was enacted in response to the extensive use of the property tax exemption for 
government owned property as an economic development tool.  (Article 9 of the Arizona Constitution provides 
that federal, state, county, and municipal government property be exempt from taxation.)  The new law 
specifically provided that possessory interests in federal, state, county, and municipal government property would 
become subject to taxation.  Additionally, the law established possessory interest tax exemptions and provided 
special valuation rules for possessory interests that were created prior to April 1, 1985. 
 
Over time, the possessory interest tax was challenged in court in a number of cases.   As a result, the court held 
that limiting the special valuation to possessory interests created before April 1, 1985 was in violation of the 
uniformity clause under the Arizona Constitution.  The court also held that the possessory interest exemptions 
went beyond the constitutional tax exemptions and were therefore ruled invalid.  The effect of these court rulings 
was that all possessory interests became taxed in the same manner as other properties. 
 
In 1995, the Legislature repealed the possessory interest tax (effective retroactively from January 1, 1995).  The 
intent statement expressed the Legislature’s desire that possessory interests not be subject to ad valorem taxation 
until a new taxing mechanism was enacted.  Laws 1996, Chapter 349 created such a taxing mechanism in the form 
of GPLET, which was to serve as the successor to the possessory interest tax. 
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Table 2     

TAX RATES FOR GRANDFATHERED PRE-JUNE 2010 LEASES 
     
 
 
Location of Property 

  
 
Start Date of Lease 

Years Since Date of Issuance of 
Original Certificate of 

Occupancy (COO) 
 

Percentage of “Base” 
Excise Tax Rate 
(by age of COO) 

Inside of a Redevelopment 
Area 

 On or after 4/1/1985   0 – 10 
10 – 20 
20 – 30 
30 – 40 
40 – 50 

     50 or more 

100% 
 80% 
 60% 
 40% 
 20% 
   0% 

     
Outside of a 
Redevelopment Area 

 On or after 4/1/1985 but 
before 6/30/1996 

  0 – 10 
10 – 20 
20 – 30 
30 – 40 
40 – 50 

     50 or more 

100% 
 80% 
 60% 
 40% 
 20% 
   0% 

     
Inside of a “Slum” or 
“Blighted” Area  

 Before 6/1/2010   0 – 10 
10 – 20 
20 – 30 
30 – 40 
40 – 50 

     50 or more 

 80% 
 80% 
 60% 
 40% 
 20% 
   0% 

     
Outside of a “Slum” or 
“Blighted” Area  

 On or after 6/30/1996   0 – 10 
10 – 20 
20 – 30 
30 – 40 
40 – 50 

     50 or more 

150% 
120% 
 90% 
 60% 
 30% 
   0% 

     
Inside of a “Central 
Business District” 

 On or after 4/1/1985  0 –  8 
 8 – 10 
10 – 20 
20 – 30 
30 – 40 
30 – 40 

     50 or more 

   0% 
 80% 
 80% 
 60% 
 40% 
  20% 
   0% 

     
At an Airport Owned by a 
County (or a City within a 
County) with a Population 
of 400,000 or Less 

 Before 6/1/2010   0 – 10 
10 – 20 
20 – 30 
30 – 40 
40 – 50 

     50 or more 

 20% 
 16% 
 60% 
 40% 
 20% 
   0% 

     
Location is Not Specified  Before 4/1/1985   0 – 10 

10 – 20 
20 – 30 
30 – 40 
40 – 50 

     50 or more 

 20% 
 16% 
 60% 
 40% 
 20% 
   0% 

     
National Park Service 
Property 

 Before 6/1/2010   0 – 10 
10 – 20 
20 – 30 
30 – 40 

     40 or more 

100% 
 80% 
 60% 
 40% 
 20% 

     



Government Property Lease Excise Tax 

- 183 - 

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2010. 
 
There were no changes enacted to this tax in 2011, 2013, 2014, and 2016. 
 
2015 LAWS  
 
Laws 2015, Chapter 10 requires county treasurers to report to JLBC by February 15 of each year the amount of 
GPLET collected in the preceding calendar year.  Current statutes require the county treasurers to report the same 
exact information to the Department of Revenue and each government lessor.  Chapter 10 amends Laws 2010, 
Chapter 321 by removing the provision that requires JLBC to determine the average aggregate ad valorem 
property tax levy per square foot by property type (for more detail, see description under Laws 2010, Chapter 321).  
Moreover, Chapter 10 limits the required JLBC analysis under Laws 2010, Chapter 321 to a representative sample 
of properties rather than all properties subject to the new GPLET rates.      
 
2012 LAWS  
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 3 makes a technical correction related to the application of Government Property Lease Excise 
Tax, as modified by Laws 2010, Chapter 321. 
 
2010 LAWS  
 
Laws 2010, Chapter 321 provides new requirements for all leases subject to GPLET entered into on or after June 1, 
2010.  The act provides new tax rates, as well as new abatement and reporting requirements.  Additionally, the act 
grandfathers all leases that were entered into before June 1, 2010, or that resulted from a development 
agreement, ordinance, or resolution approved before this date and entered into within 10 years after such 
approval.  A grandfathered lease that is subsequently amended continues to be subject to the provisions under the 
old law if all of the following conditions are met:  (1) the amendment furthers the purpose of the original lease, as 
determined by the government lessor, (2) any land added under the amendment is contiguous to the land under 
the original lease and does not increase the land area by more than 50%, and (3) any government property 
improvement added under the amendment does not increase the area of gross building space by more than 100%.  
 
Chapter 321 requires JLBC to conduct an analysis of the effectiveness of the new excise tax rates by December 15, 
2016.  The analysis is required to include information regarding:  (1) the amount of tax revenue that would be 
produced by the properties to counties, cities, community college districts, and school districts if the properties 
were taxed under the ad valorem property tax, (2) the actual amount of GPLET collected and distributed to 
counties, cities, community college districts, and school districts, (3) the amount of tax revenue previously received 
from vacant or underutilized property that is being redeveloped, and (4) the estimated average aggregate ad 
valorem property tax levy per square foot for various property types for purposes of comparing these figures to 
the comparable new GPLET rates under Chapter 321.          
 
A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2010 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at 
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/16taxbk.pdf.  

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/gplet.pdf
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HIGHWAY USER REVENUE FUND OVERVIEW 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The State of Arizona taxes motor fuels and imposes various other fees related to the registration and operation of 
motor vehicles.  Included are motor vehicle fuel taxes, use fuel taxes, vehicle license taxes, motor carrier fees, 
vehicle registration fees, and various other miscellaneous fees.  Depending on the category, all, or a portion of 
these taxes and fees are distributed to the Arizona Highway User Revenue Fund (HURF).  This 2016 Tax Handbook 
contains individual sections on the major tax components of HURF, including Motor Vehicle Fuel Tax, Use Fuel Tax, 
Vehicle License Tax (VLT), and the Motor Carrier Fee (which replaced the Motor Carrier Tax in FY 1998).  Vehicle 
registration fees and various other fees that are part of HURF are not included in the handbook. 
 
HURF revenues are a major source of funding to the state for highway construction, highway maintenance and 
improvements, and other highway-related expenditures.  A portion of HURF revenue is also distributed to Arizona 
cities, towns, and counties for highway-related purposes. 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
HURF collections totaled approximately $1.4 billion in FY 2016.  This was an increase of 5.1% from FY 2015 
collections.  The bulk of HURF revenue comes from motor fuel, or gas taxes.  The next biggest category is VLT, 
followed by Use Fuel Tax, then the registration and other fees.  As noted above, more detailed discussion of the 
tax categories is provided in subsequent sections of the handbook. 
 
The following chart provides a graphic representation of the relative importance of each of the HURF revenue 
categories for FY 2016: 
 

 
 
Table 1 summarizes HURF collections by major category over the last 10 years. 
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Table 1 
 

HURF COLLECTIONS 
($ in Thousands) 

 
 

Fiscal 
Year 

Motor 
Vehicle 
Fuel Tax 

 
Use Fuel 

Tax 

Vehicle 
License 
Tax 1/ 

Motor 
Carrier 

Fee 

 
Registration 

Fees 

 
Other 
Fees 

 
 

Total 
2016 $494,814 $193,291 $395,952 $41,058 $173,693 $57,943 $1,356,752 
2015 $470,903 $184,500 $369,719 $40,227 $168,589 $56,502 $1,290,439 
2014 $457,415 $176,368 $348,509 $38,842 $163,715 $56,484 $1,241,332 
2013 $453,851 $177,240 $326,541 $37,310 $157,801 $57,280 $1,210,024 
2012 $454,769 $180,242 $320,979 $37,350 $158,124 $59,122 $1,210,586 
2011 $456,299 $178,684 $322,017 $36,300 $156,148 $55,626 $1,205,073 
2010 $455,436 $171,308 $329,915 $35,808 $152,236 $49,714 $1,194,417 
2009 $456,812 $173,931 $357,498 $40,483 $167,565 $52,294 $1,248,583 
2008 $492,536 $207,859 $385,186 $40,177 $162,765 $55,953 $1,344,477 
2007 $497,702 $210,282 $393,497 $45,226 $177,788 $57,979 $1,382,474 

____________ 
1/ The amounts indicated reflect only the portion of VLT that is distributed to HURF. 
 
SOURCE:  Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT), Office of Financial Planning. 

 
HURF may be expended for the following purposes (see Arizona Constitution, Article 9, Section 14): 
 
(1) The cost of administering taxes that are deposited in the fund. 
(2) Refunds and adjustments provided for by law. 
(3) Payment of highway obligations. 
(4) The cost of construction, reconstruction, maintenance and repair of public highways and bridges and county, 

city and town roads and streets. 
(5) The cost of state enforcement of traffic laws. 
(6) The cost of publication and distribution of Arizona Highways Magazine. 
(7) Distribution to counties, incorporated cities and towns according to law. 
 
HURF is distributed each fiscal year in the following manner [A.R.S. § 28-6533]: 
 
(1) $1.0 million is allocated to the Economic Strength Project Fund [A.R.S. § 28-6534]. 
(2) A portion of the monies in HURF is distributed to the Department of Public Safety (DPS) for funding a portion 

of highway patrol costs.  The distribution is to be made in 8 installments in each of the first 8 months of the 
fiscal year, and is not to exceed $10.0 million [A.R.S. § 28-6537] beginning in FY 2000.  However, beginning in 
FY 2000, the Legislature has “notwithstood” the provisions of this statute, and has provided for the transfer of 
HURF monies to DPS as noted in Table 2 below. 

(3) As noted in Table 3 below, the balance of collections after making the above distributions are allocated as 
follows [A.R.S. § 28-6538] : 
• 50.5% State Highway Fund (SHF). 
 Of the monies distributed to SHF, 15.2% (12.6% by statute and 2.6% by the State Transportation Board) 

are distributed as follows [A.R.S. § 28-6538B]: 
− 75% to counties with a population of 1.5 million or more for design, right-of-way purchase, or 

construction of controlled access highways to be included as state routes or state highways in regional 
transportation plans and the state highway system. 

– 25% to counties with a population of more than 800,000 but less than 1.5 million for design, right-of-
way purchase, or construction of controlled access highways to be included as state routes or state 
highways in regional transportation plans and the state highway system. 

• 19% Counties - Each county receives 72% of its HURF distribution based on 2 criteria:  the portion of 
gasoline distributed by fuel suppliers to gasoline stations in the county and an estimation of diesel 
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consumed in the county.  The other 28% of the county distribution is based on unincorporated 
population.   

 27.5% Incorporated cities and towns - Cities and towns receive half of their HURF distribution based on 
their share of statewide incorporated population.  The other half is based on the portion of gasoline 
supplied at the county level.  Once a county’s pro-rata share of gasoline supplies is determined, those 
monies are distributed based on a city’s or town’s total population in relation to the county’s 
incorporated population. 

 3% Incorporated cities with population greater than 300,000 persons - This distribution to Phoenix, 
Tucson, and Mesa is based on population. 

 

Table 2 
HURF DISTRIBUTION 

($ in Thousands) 
 

 
Fiscal 
Year 

State 
Highway 

Fund 

County 
Controlled 

Access 

Cities  
and 

Towns 

 
 

Counties 

 
 

DPS 

Economic 
Strength 
Project 

 
 

Other 

 
 

Total 
2016 $518,948 $97,047 $391,173 $243,682 $98,008 $1,000          $6,895 

1/
 $1,356,752 

2015 $496,230 $92,975 $374,413 $233,241 $86,445 $1,000 $6,136 
2/

 $1,290,439 
2014 $474,132 $84,985 $342,230 $213,192 $120,208 $1,000 $5,585 

3/
 $1,241,332 

2013 $460,839 $82,603 $332,234 $206,965 $122,320 $1,000 $4,063 
4/

 $1,210,024 
2012 $328,879 $58,949 $304,092 $193,524 $125,607 $1,000 $198,535 

5/
 $1,210,586 

2011 $441,554 $79,147 $342,892 $213,605 $81,615 $1,000 $45,260 
6/

 $1,205,073 
2010 $437,848 $78,482 $339,823 $211,693 $81,118 $1,000 $44,453 

7/
 $1,194,417 

2009 $442,020 $79,229 $356,458 $222,056 $86,912 $1,000 $60,908 
8/

 $1,248,583 
2008 $565,381 $101,341 $404,434 $251,942 $12,913 $1,000 $7,465 $1,344,477 
2007 $584,531 $104,775 $418,114 $260,465 $12,983 $1,000 $607 $1,382,474 

____________ 
1/ A.R.S. § 28-5808E transfers the SHF share of HURF VLT that was generated from the difference between the 2-year registration and the 5-year registration to 

the General Fund.  The transfer totaled $1.5 million in FY 2016.  A.R.S. § 28-5808D provides that an amount equal to 90% of the fees collected under A.R.S. § 
28-4802A and 60% of the fees collected under A.R.S. § 28-4802B concerning abandoned vehicles shall be transferred from the SHF share of HURF VLT to the 
General Fund.  The transfer totaled $4.8 million in FY 2016.  Other distributions included $652,700 for the Registration Compliance program.           

2/ A.R.S. § 28-5808E transfers the SHF share of HURF VLT that was generated from the difference between the 2-year registration and the 5-year registration to 
the General Fund.  The transfer totaled $1.2 million in FY 2015.  A.R.S. § 28-5808D provides that an amount equal to 90% of the fees collected under A.R.S. § 
28-4802A and 60% of the fees collected under A.R.S. § 28-4802B concerning abandoned vehicles shall be transferred from the SHF share of HURF VLT to the 
General Fund.  The transfer totaled $4.3 million in FY 2015.  Other distributions included $651,800 for the Registration Compliance program.           

3/ A.R.S. § 28-5808E transfers the SHF share of HURF VLT that was generated from the difference between the 2-year registration and the 5-year registration to 
the General Fund.  The transfer totaled $1.2 million in FY 2014.  A.R.S. § 28-5808D provides that an amount equal to 90% of the fees collected under A.R.S. § 
28-4802A and 60% of the fees collected under A.R.S. § 28-4802B concerning abandoned vehicles shall be transferred from the SHF share of HURF VLT to the 
General Fund.  The transfer totaled $3.7 million in FY 2014.  Other distributions included $671,500 for the Registration Compliance program and $4,500 for 
the Automation Projects Fund.           

4/ A.R.S. § 28-5808E transfers the SHF share of HURF VLT that was generated from the difference between the 2-year registration and the 5-year registration to 
the General Fund.  The transfer totaled $1.0 million in FY 2013.  A.R.S. § 28-5808D provides that an amount equal to 90% of the fees collected under A.R.S. § 
28-4802A and 60% of the fees collected under A.R.S. § 28-4802B concerning abandoned vehicles shall be transferred from the SHF share of HURF VLT to the 
General Fund.  The transfer totaled $3.2 million in FY 2013.  Other distributions included $624,800 for the Registration Compliance program and $(765,200) 
for reversions.           

5/ Laws 2011, Chapter 24 transferred $105.8 million from the SHF share of HURF VLT to the General Fund in FY 2012.  This amount includes a Fund Reduction 
and Transfer from SHF of $28.0 million, a Highway Patrol Vehicle Replacement HURF transfer to DPS of $6.8 million, a VLT transfer of $8.4 million, a Safety 
Enforcement and Transportation Infrastructure Fund (SETIF) transfer of $0.4 million (which is done via the VLT), DPS funding shift savings of $23.6 million, 
and Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) funding shift savings of $38.6 million.  A.R.S. § 28-5808E transfers the SHF share of HURF VLT that was generated from the 
difference between the 2-year registration and the 5-year registration to the General Fund in FY 2012.  The transfer totaled $1.2 million.  A.R.S. § 28-5808D 
provides that an amount equal to 90% of the fees collected under A.R.S. § 28-4802A and 60% of the fees collected under A.R.S. § 28-4802B concerning 
abandoned vehicles shall be transferred from the SHF share of HURF VLT to the General Fund.  The transfer totaled $2.1 million in FY 2012.            

6/ Laws 2010, 7th Special Session, Chapter 1 transferred $43.6 million from the SHF share of HURF VLT to the General Fund in FY 2011.  This amount includes a 
Fund Reduction and Transfer from SHF of $28.0 million, a Highway Patrol Vehicle Replacement HURF transfer to DPS of $6.8 million, a VLT transfer of $8.4 
million, and a SETIF transfer of $0.4 million, which is done via the VLT.  A.R.S. § 28-5808E transfers the SHF share of HURF VLT that was generated from the 
difference between the 2-year registration and the 5-year registration to the General Fund in FY 2011.  The transfer totaled $0.94 million.  A.R.S. § 28-5808D 
provides that an amount equal to 90% of the fees collected under A.R.S. § 28-4802A and 60% of the fees collected under A.R.S. § 28-4802B concerning 
abandoned vehicles shall be transferred from the SHF share of HURF VLT to the General Fund.  The transfer totaled about $80,000.            

7/ Laws 2009, 3rd Special Session, Chapter 11 transferred $43.2 million from the SHF share of HURF VLT to the General Fund in FY 2010.  This amount includes a 
Fund Reduction and Transfer from SHF of $28.0 million, a Highway Patrol Vehicle Replacement HURF transfer to DPS of $6.8 million, and a VLT transfer of 
$8.4 million.  Laws 2009, 5th Special Session, Chapter 1 transferred $0.6 million from SETIF to the General Fund in FY 2010, which is done via the VLT.  

8/ Laws 2008, Chapter 285 and Laws 2009, 1st Special Session, Chapters 1 and 2 transferred $8.4 million and $58.6 million, respectively from the SHF share of 
HURF VLT to the General Fund in FY 2009.  Laws 2009, 1st Special Session, Chapter 2 also reverted $6.7 million from SHF to HURF for 2 MVD facilities and 1 
ADOT facility, based on Laws 2007, Chapter 257.   

 

SOURCE:  ADOT, Office of Financial Planning. 
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Table 2 above summarizes HURF distributions by major category.  Please refer to the table in the Summary of 
Highway Construction section of the Capital Outlay section in the FY 2017 Appropriations Report for a more 
detailed explanation of the distribution of HURF revenues.  It should be noted that the FY 2016 amounts in Table 2 
vary slightly from those presented in the Appropriations Report.  The numbers in Table 2 reflect actual collections, 
while the numbers in the FY 2017 Appropriations Report were based on estimated collections. 
 
Table 3 below summarizes HURF actual distribution percentages for FY 2016 after the DPS, Economic Strength 
Project, and other distributions noted above. 
  
 

Table 3 
 

PERCENTAGE DISTRIBUTION 
OF HURF MONIES 

 

Cities 31.8% 
Counties 19.8% 
Controlled Access 7.4% 
State Highway Fund    41.0% 

    Total 100.0% 

 
The tax base and tax rates, payment schedules, and the impact of tax law changes for the Motor Vehicle Fuel Tax, 
Use Fuel Tax, VLT, and Motor Carrier Fee are provided in the individual write-ups for each of the HURF revenue 
categories in the following section of the handbook. 
 
IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2010. 
 
There were no changes enacted to HURF in 2010.   
 
2016 LAWS 
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 125 continues the special HURF distribution authorized in Laws 2015, Chapter 10 for another 
year through FY 2018, effective August 6, 2016.  (See section 8.)  This continues the distribution begun in Laws 
2014, Chapter 9 as modified by Laws 2015, Chapter 10.  In addition to the special HURF distribution, the legislation 
allocates $30.0 million from the General Fund for highway construction directly to counties and cities and towns in 
percentages reflecting current non-state distribution of HURF revenues.  (See section 9.) 
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 258 is an emergency measure that amends current statutes with respect to the method by 
which state-shared revenues are apportioned among counties and municipalities, as described below.   
 
Counties 
Under current law, state-shared revenue is distributed to a county based on its population count as of the last 
federal decennial census [A.R.S. § 42-5029(I)].  During the fifth year following the decennial census, a county may 
contract with the U.S. Census Bureau to conduct a special census of the population of that county.  Beginning on 
July 1 in the sixth year following the decennial census, the result of the special census must be used as the basis for 
apportioning state-shared revenue to that county until the next federal decennial census [A.R.S. § 42-5033]. 
 
If a special census is not conducted, Laws 2016, Chapter 258 provides a county the following 3 options, all of which 
must be exercised before May 1 of the sixth year following a federal decennial census: 
 
1. County submits its own population estimate as of the fifth year following the last decennial census, as 

approved by the Office of Employment and Population Statistics. 
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2. County contracts with the U.S. Census Bureau to conduct a sample survey in order to produce a mid-decade 
county population estimate. 

3. County requests to continue to use the population count from the most recent U.S. decennial census. 
 
If a county elects to use one of the options above, that population figure must be used (for purposes of 
apportioning state-state shared revenue) in the sixth year following the decennial census through June 30 of the 
year following the next decennial census.  
 
Municipalities 
Under current law, state-shared revenue is distributed to an incorporated city or town based on its population 
count as of the last federal decennial census [A.R.S. § 42-5029(I)].  During the fifth year following the decennial 
census, a city/town may contract with the U.S. Census Bureau to conduct a special census of the population of that 
municipality.  Beginning July 1 in the sixth year following the decennial census, the special census must be used as 
the basis for apportioning state-shared revenue to that municipality until the next federal decennial census [A.R.S. 
§ 42-5033].       
 
For purposes of apportioning state-shared revenue, Laws 2016, Chapter 258 provides a city/town the option to use 
either the population count from the special census or the most recent population estimate from the U.S. Census 
Bureau.  However, Chapter 258 provides that the population count from the special census be used for only 1 year.  
Beginning on July 1 in the second year following the special census, a city/town must use the most recent 
population estimate from the U.S. Census Bureau.  If a special census is not conducted, Chapter 258 requires a 
city/town to use the most recent population estimate from the U.S. Census Bureau beginning on July 1 in the 
second year following the decennial census through June 30 of the year following the next decennial census. 
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 277 replaces the motor vehicle dealer licensing application and renewal fees collected by the 
Department of Financial Institutions with dealer fees collected by ADOT.  Under the legislation, if the dealer has a 
contractual relationship with a third-party lender, the dealer is subject to 1) a $400 annual license filing fee, of 
which $300 is deposited in the General Fund and $100 in HURF, and 2) a $250 annual dealer renewal fee, of which 
$150 is deposited into the General Fund and $100 is deposited into HURF.  These fees are equivalent to the fees 
collected prior to the legislation.  The legislation became effective August 6, 2016. 
 
2015 LAWS 
 
Laws 2015, Chapter 10 requires, as session law, $30.0 million of HURF revenues in FY 2015, FY 2016 and FY 2017 to 
be allocated directly to counties, cities and towns in percentages reflecting the current non-state distribution of 
HURF revenues.  The legislation repeals the requirement for a $60.0 million allocation in FY 2017 as required by 
Laws 2014, Chapter 9.  The language specifies that these HURF revenues may only be spent on direct 
construction/repair and right-of-way expenditures.   
 
Laws 2015, Chapter 17 suspends, as session law, the statutory cap of $10.0 million established by A.R.S. § 28-6537 
governing HURF revenues available to fund DPS’ Highway Patrol costs. 
 
2014 LAWS 
 
Laws 2014, Chapter 9 requires, as session law, $30.0 million of HURF revenues in both FY 2015 and FY 2016 and 
$60.0 million of HURF revenues in FY 2017 to be allocated directly to counties, cities and towns in percentages 
reflecting the current non-state distribution of HURF revenues.  The language specifies that these HURF revenues 
may only be spent on direct construction/repair and right-of-way expenditures.  These additional HURF monies are 
due to a reduction of an equal amount of HURF in the DPS budget; the General Fund replaced the reduced HURF 
funding in the DPS budget.   
 
Laws 2014, Chapter 12 suspends, as session law, the statutory cap of $10.0 million established by A.R.S. § 28-6537 
governing HURF revenues available to fund DPS’ Highway Patrol costs.  This same suspension has been enacted in 
other session laws in prior years, but the suspension had also applied to SHF. 
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2013 LAWS 
 
Laws 2013, 1

st
 Special Session, Chapter 5 suspends, as session law, the statutory cap of $10.0 million established 

by A.R.S. § 28-6537 and related to A.R.S. § 28-6993 governing HURF and SHF revenues available to fund DPS’costs.  
This same suspension has been enacted in other session laws in prior years. 
 
2012 LAWS 
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 302 suspends, as session law, the statutory cap of $10.0 million established by A.R.S. § 28-
6537 and related to A.R.S. § 28-6993 governing HURF and SHF revenues available to fund DPS’ Highway Patrol 
costs.  This same suspension has been enacted in other session laws in prior years. 
 
2011 LAWS 
 
Laws 2011, Chapter 28 suspends, as session law, the HURF distribution formula as required in A.R.S. § 28-6538.  
This law requires ADOT to transfer $4,090,000 from SHF in FY 2012 to the 10 least populated counties to hold them 
harmless from the MVD funding shift.  
 
Laws 2011, Chapter 33 suspends, as session law, the statutory cap of $10.0 million established by A.R.S. § 28-6537 
and related to A.R.S. § 28-6993 governing HURF and SHF revenues available to fund DPS’ Highway Patrol costs.  
This same suspension has been enacted in other session laws in prior years.   
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MOTOR VEHICLE FUEL TAX 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The motor vehicle fuel tax is levied on each gallon of motor vehicle fuel, commonly known as gasoline, produced or 
imported into the state by a distributor.  The tax rate is 18¢ per gallon, and the large majority of revenues are 
deposited in the Highway User Revenue Fund (HURF) to pay for highway construction and maintenance.  The rate 
was last adjusted in 1990.  In addition to the 18¢ per gallon motor vehicle fuel tax, there is also a 1¢ per gallon tax 
on gasoline and other petroleum products placed in underground storage tanks (see the Underground Storage 
Tank Tax section for more information.)  
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Table 1 shows a 20-year revenue history for this tax.  Almost all of the tax on motor vehicle fuel consumed in 
vehicles operated on Arizona roads and highways is deposited in HURF [A.R.S. § 28-6533]. 
 
Tax collections are distributed on the following basis (see Table 2 on following page): 
 

 Watercraft.  1.6% of the motor vehicle fuel tax collections is from watercraft.  One percent of such collections 
is retained by the Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT) to defray administrative expenses.  The 
remaining collections are deposited in the State Lake Improvement Fund [A.R.S. § 28-5926]. 

 Off-Highway Vehicles.  0.55% of the tax collections on motor vehicle fuel is transferred to the Off-Highway 
Vehicle Recreation Fund on a monthly basis [A.R.S. § 28-5927]. 

 Aircraft.  Taxes collected from sales of motor vehicle fuel consumed in aircraft are deposited in the State 
Aviation Fund.  However, if a refund is claimed, 5¢ on each gallon of tax collected remains in the State Aviation 
Fund and the balance is refunded to the taxpayer [A.R.S. § 28-5611]. 

 Remainder.  The net collections remaining after refunds and the above distributions are deposited in HURF 
[A.R.S. § 28-5925].  (See HURF Overview at the beginning of this section for distribution of HURF monies.) 

 
Table 1 
 

COLLECTIONS 
 

Fiscal Year Net Collections Fiscal Year Net Collections 
 2016 $518,458,963  2006 $503,210,580 
 2015 $492,554,392  2005 $496,340,649 
 2014 $476,475,676  2004 $478,829,323 
 2013 $470,658,374  2003 $463,864,197 
 2012 $471,264,772  2002 $452,550,965 
 2011 $471,346,375  2001 $436,073,531 
 2010 $471,232,029  2000 $424,486,824 
 2009 $474,008,922  1999 $410,037,087 
 2008 $512,094,400  1998 $376,348,116 
 2007 $516,208,893  1997 $375,136,487 

 
SOURCE:  ADOT, Office of Financial Planning. 

 
WHO PAYS 
 
The motor vehicle fuel tax is presumed to be a direct tax on the consumer but is still collected and remitted to 
ADOT by suppliers for the purpose of convenience.  In other words, the tax is collected and paid to ADOT by a 
supplier, who then adds the tax to the price of motor vehicle fuel in order to recover it from the consumer [A.R.S. § 
28-5606]. 
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Table 2    
  

DISTRIBUTION OF COLLECTIONS 
  

 
 
 

Fiscal 
Year 

 
 
 

Highway User  
Revenue Fund 

1/
 

 
 

State  
Aviation  

Fund 

 
 

State Lake 
Improvement 

Fund 

 
Watercraft Fuel 

Tax 
Administration 

Fund 

Off-
Highway 
Vehicle 

Recreation 
Fund 

 
 
 

Refunds to 
Taxpayers 

Net 
Collections 

 2016 $494,814,369 $325,479 $8,010,076 $80,910 $2,781,276 $12,446,852 $518,458,963 

 2015 $470,902,624 $329,326 $7,622,992 $77,000 $2,646,872 $10,975,578 $492,554,392 

 2014 $457,415,366 $313,075 $6,950,066 $70,203 $2,568,523 $9,158,443 $476,475,676 

 2013 $453,851,444 $358,677 $4,612,282 $46,589 $2,535,753 $9,253,630 $470,658,374 

 2012 $454,769,542 $312,914 $4,621,612 $46,683 $2,540,883 $8,973,138 $471,264,772 

 2011 $456,298,591 $383,655 $4,637,151 $46,840 $2,549,426 $7,430,712 $471,346,375 

 2010 $455,435,953 $339,980 $5,968,615 $60,289 $2,552,093 $6,875,099 $471,232,029 

 2009 $456,811,694 $380,429 $7,939,017 $80,192 $2,570,709 $6,226,881 $474,008,922 

 2008 $492,536,307 $420,915 $8,559,882 $86,463 $2,771,749 $7,719,084 $512,094,400 

 2007 $497,702,087 $460,470 $8,649,659 $87,370 $2,800,820 $6,508,486 $516,208,893 

 2006 $489,080,644 $462,598 $7,171,053 $72,435 $2,744,880 $3,678,970 $503,210,580 

 2005 $481,284,019 $499,136 $7,056,736 $71,280 $2,701,122 $4,728,355 $496,340,649 

 2004 $463,530,904 $572,686 $6,796,435 $68,651 $2,601,486 $5,259,161 $478,829,323 

 2003 $446,890,929 $646,314 $9,231,999 $93,253 $2,523,066 $4,478,637 $463,864,197 

 2002 $434,817,721 $510,378 $8,982,587 $90,733 $2,454,903 $5,694,643 $452,550,965 

 2001 $418,399,657 $456,476 $8,643,418 $87,307 $2,362,209 $6,124,464 $436,073,531 

 2000 $409,137,312 $481,594 $6,352,370 $64,165 $2,298,186 $6,153,196 $424,486,824 

 1999 $397,463,146 $671,799 $6,171,114 $62,335 $2,232,611 $3,436,082 $410,037,087 

 1998 $366,376,609 $485,333 $5,692,654 $57,502 $2,059,511 $1,676,507 $376,348,116 

 1997 $363,953,159 $514,687 $7,390,313 $74,650 $2,054,097 $1,149,581 $375,136,487 

____________ 
1/ Use Fuel Tax collections excluded. 

 

 

 

REVENUE BASE AND RATE 
 
The revenue base is motor vehicle fuel, which includes all products that are commonly or commercially known or 
sold as gasoline.  This definition includes casinghead gasoline (unprocessed natural gas containing natural gasoline 
and other liquid hydrocarbon vapors produced from an oil well), natural gasoline and all flammable liquids 
composed of a mixture of selected hydrocarbons manufactured or blended for use in internal combustion engines.  
Motor vehicle fuel does not include transmix, jet or aviation fuel, or any fuels covered under the use fuel tax 
[A.R.S. § 28-101]. 
 
The following are exempted from the motor vehicle fuel tax [A.R.S. § 28-5610]: 
 
 Motor vehicle fuel for which proof of export is available in the form of a terminal issued destination state 

shipping paper, and is either exported by a supplier that is licensed in the destination state, or sold by a 
supplier to a distributor for immediate export. 

 Motor vehicle fuel that was acquired by a distributor on which the tax has previously been paid and was 
subsequently exported across the state border. 

 Motor vehicle fuel sold on an Indian reservation to a tribal member.  
 Motor vehicle fuel sold off an Indian reservation for purposes of operating a motor vehicle for the benefit of 

an Indian tribe. 
 Motor vehicle fuel that is moving in interstate or foreign commerce and that is not destined or diverted to a 

point in this state. 
 Motor vehicle fuel that is sold to the United States or its agencies or instrumentalities. 
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The tax rate is 18¢ per gallon [A.R.S. § 28-5606] 
 
TAX REFUNDS AND/OR TAX CREDITS 
 
A person who buys and uses motor vehicle fuel is entitled to a refund if he or she pays the tax on the fuel and 
either [A.R.S. § 28-5611]: 
 

 uses the fuel for purposes other than operating a motor vehicle on a highway, a motor vehicle on a 
transportation facility or toll road (public-private partnerships), or a watercraft on a waterway in Arizona, 

 buys aviation fuel for use in aircraft applying seeds, fertilizer, or pesticides, or 

 loses the fuel by fire, theft or other accident. 
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
The motor fuel tax that is accrued in any calendar month shall be paid on or before the 27

th
 day of the succeeding 

calendar month to ADOT [A.R.S. § 28-5925]. 
 
IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2010. 
 
There were no changes enacted to this tax in 2010, 2011, 2014, 2015, and 2016. 
 
2013 LAWS 
 
Laws 2013, Chapter 90, eliminates the requirement that a survey be conducted to determine the amount of motor 
vehicle fuel used to propel a watercraft.  The language instead permanently sets the portion of the motor vehicle 
fuel tax derived from watercraft at 1.6% and deposits it in the State Lake Improvement Fund.   
 
2012 LAWS 
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 210, in addition to other provisions, removes the requirement that the state grants a refund 
or credit for the motor vehicle fuel tax paid while operating a motor vehicle on a public-private partnership 
roadway project. 
 
A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2010 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at 
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/16taxbk.pdf.  
 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/mvfueltax.pdf
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USE FUEL TAX 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The use fuel tax applies to diesel and other fuels, but not to gasoline and alternative fuels.  For vehicles weighing 
less than 26,000 pounds, the tax rate is 18¢ per gallon.  For vehicles weighing more than 26,000 pounds, the tax 
rate is 26¢ per gallon.  Revenues from the tax are deposited in the Highway User Revenue Fund (HURF). 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
The use fuel tax is deposited in HURF [A.R.S. § 28-5730].  (See HURF Overview at the beginning of this section for 
distribution of HURF monies.) 
 

Table 1 
 

COLLECTIONS 
 

Fiscal Year Net Collections Fiscal Year Net Collections 
 2016 $193,290,854   2006 $213,460,036 
 2015 $184,499,917  2005 $194,368,181 
 2014 $176,367,953  2004 $179,002,025 
 2013 $177,240,384  2003 $166,744,147 
 2012 $180,242,229  2002 $161,507,309 
 2011 $178,684,336  2001 $155,859,243 
 2010 $171,308,245  2000 $156,598,568 
 2009 $173,930,895  1999 $160,311,953 
 2008 $207,859,050  1998 $142,166,607 
 2007 $210,281,755  1997 $124,748,225 

 

SOURCE:  Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT), Office of Financial Planning. 

 
WHO PAYS 
 
The use fuel tax is presumed to be a direct tax on the consumer but is still collected and remitted to the Arizona 
Department of Transportation (ADOT) by suppliers for the purpose of convenience.  In other words, the tax is 
collected and paid to ADOT by a supplier, who then adds the tax to the price of use fuel in order to recover it from 
the consumer [A.R.S. § 28-5606]. 
 
REVENUE BASE AND RATE 
 
The revenue base is use fuel, which includes all gases and liquids used to propel motor vehicles that are not subject 
to the motor vehicle fuel tax [A.R.S. § 28-5601]. 
 
An interstate user of use fuel on which the use fuel tax has not been paid is required to remit an amount that is 
computed by multiplying the number of gallons of use fuel used by the tax rate per gallon.  The taxable gallonage is 
computed on the basis of miles traveled in Arizona as compared to total miles traveled in and outside the state.  
The actual method of computation is decided by ADOT [A.R.S. § 28-5720].  
 
The following are exempted from the use fuel tax [A.R.S. § 28-5610]: 
 

 Use fuel for which proof of export is available in the form of a terminal-issued destination state shipping 
paper, and is either exported by a supplier that is licensed in the destination state, or sold by a supplier to a 
distributor for immediate export. 
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 Use fuel that was acquired by a distributor on which the tax has previously been paid and was subsequently 
exported across the state border. 

 Use fuel sold on an Indian reservation to a tribal member. 

 Use fuel sold off an Indian reservation for purposes of operating a motor vehicle for the benefit of an Indian 
tribe. 

 Use fuel that is moving in interstate or foreign commerce and that is not destined or diverted to a point in this 
state. 

 Use fuel that has been accidentally contaminated by dye and hence rendered unsalable as highway fuel. 

 Dyed diesel fuel. 
 
NOTE: There is no use fuel tax on alternative fuels [A.R.S. § 28-5606]. 
 
The tax rate is 18¢ per gallon for vehicles weighing less than 26,000 pounds.  The tax rate is 26¢ per gallon for 
vehicles weighing more than 26,000 pounds [A.R.S. § 28-5606].  There is an exception to both of these rates for 
healthy forest enterprises, which pay 9¢ per gallon.   
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
Tax that is accrued in any calendar month shall be paid on or before the 27

th
 day of the succeeding calendar month 

to ADOT [A.R.S. § 28-5925]. 
 
IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2010. 
 
There were no changes enacted to this tax in 2010, 2011, 2013, 2014, 2015, and 2016. 
 
2012 LAWS 
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 210, in addition to other provisions, removes the requirement that the state grants a refund 
or credit for the use fuel tax paid while operating a motor vehicle on a public-private partnership roadway project. 
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 331 allows for a reduced use fuel tax of 9¢ per gallon to be assessed on fuel used in the 
propulsion of a motor vehicle transporting forest products for a healthy forest enterprise.  This discounted rate will 
continue until the end of calendar year 2024.  Previously, between 2005 and 2010, this reduced rate had been 13¢ 
per gallon.   
 
A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2010 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at 
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/16taxbk.pdf.  
 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/usefueltax.pdf
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VEHICLE LICENSE TAX 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The Vehicle License Tax (VLT) is an ad valorem tax levied on registered vehicles in the state.  The tax is levied per 
$100 of a vehicle’s assessed value.  For the first 12 months of the vehicle’s life, the assessed value is 60% of the 
manufacturer’s base retail price.  For each subsequent year, the assessed value is 16.25% less than the previous 
year.  The rate per $100 of assessed value is $2.80 for new vehicles and $2.89 for renewals. 
 

Table 1 

 
COLLECTIONS 

 
Fiscal Year Net Collections Fiscal Year Net Collections 
 2016 $881,841,424  2006 $831,950,743 
 2015 $823,916,863  2005 $747,013,406 
 2014 $776,650,468  2004 $695,325,929 
 2013 $728,290,689  2003 $633,788,189 
 2012 $716,086,941  2002 $601,666,653 
 2011 $719,280,662  2001 $570,769,364 
 2010 $735,972,889  2000 $583,199,118 
 2009 $796,683,787  1999 $594,224,410 
 2008 $858,975,998  1998 $586,835,092 
 2007 $875,746,210  1997 $552,348,715 

 
SOURCE:  ADOT, Office of Financial Planning. 

 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Monies received by the Director of the Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT) from this tax are distributed 
as follows [A.R.S. § 28-5808]: 
 
For monies collected from most vehicles: 
 

 45% to the Highway User Revenue Fund (HURF) 

 24.6% to county general funds 

 5.7% to counties for transportation-related purposes 

 24.6% to incorporated cities and towns 
 
Once the 45% of HURF is distributed, the VLT distribution appears as follows: 
 
Counties - 38.7% 

 24.6% to county general funds 

 14.1% to county highway and transportation purposes 
Cities and Towns - 38.0% 

 24.6% to incorporated city and town general funds 

 13.4% to incorporated city and town highway and transportation purposes 
State - 23.3% 

 19.0% to the State Highway Fund 

 3.1% to Motor Vehicle Department (MVD) third parties 

 0.9% to the state General Fund 

 0.3% to the Department of Public Safety Parity Compensation (DPS) Fund  
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Table 2 
 

DISTRIBUTION 

 
 
Fiscal Year 

 
State General 

Fund 

 
State Highway 

Fund 

 
MVD 

Third Parties 
1/

 

 
Local 

Governments 
2/

 

 
DPS Parity 
Comp Fund Net Collections 

 2016 
3/

 $7,447,186 $167,311,596 $27,010,326 $677,099,368 $2,972,948 $881,841,424 
 2015 

4/
 $6,956,810 $158,315,406 $23,469,044 $632,404,919 $2,770,684 $823,916,863 

 2014 
5/

 $6,401,486 $149,551,575 $21,821,576 $596,259,670 $2,616,160 $776,650,468 
 2013 

6/
 $6,091,579 $141,182,351 $19,696,323 $558,873,217 $2,447,220 $728,290,689 

 2012 
7/

 $111,110,374 $86,559,610 $18,666,754 $497,354,125 $2,396,078 $716,086,941 
 2011 

8/
 $47,278,118 $121,085,125 $17,436,109 $531,081,982 $2,399,328 $719,280,662 

 2010 
9/

 $45,955,022 $126,415,528 $16,046,738 $545,063,803 $2,491,798 $735,972,889 
 2009 

10/
 $68,637,851 $129,031,249 $16,060,465 $580,992,141 $1,962,081 $796,683,787 

 2008 
11/

 $2,269,219 $175,782,821 $16,304,558 $661,705,985 $2,913,415 $858,975,998 
 2007 $684,102 $180,569,892 $15,524,579 $675,984,843 $2,982,792 $875,746,210 
 2006 $585,136 $172,515,319 $13,901,699 $642,162,540 $2,693,307 $831,950,743 
 2005 

12/
 $135,073,829 $36,758,445 $11,329,742 $563,851,390  $747,013,406 

 2004 $800,278 $148,436,587 $9,667,114 $536,421,948  $695,325,929 
 2003 

13/
 $6,556,895 $134,596,889 $8,154,054 $484,480,321  $633,788,159 

 2002 $70,213 $130,128,937 $6,571,119 $464,896,384  $601,666,653 
 2001 $475,007 $130,047,925 $4,389,182 $435,857,252  $570,769,364 
 2000 $24,265,823 $140,307,371 $3,899,329 $414,726,595  $583,199,118 
____________ 
1/ A.R.S. § 28-5101 provides for the reimbursement of authorized MVD third parties for their services performed.  The majority of reimbursement monies 

come from the State Highway Fund.  
2/ Includes the following VLT distributions equaling 76.6% of all VLT:  24.5% for incorporated city and town general funds, 24.5% for county general funds, 

14.2% for county highway and transportation purposes and 13.4% for incorporated city and town highway purposes.   
3/ In FY 2016, there was a distribution in the amount of $6.2 million of the State Highway Fund share of the HURF portion of the VLT monies to the 

General Fund.  Additionally, there were allocations to the General Fund of $930,600 for school financial assistance and $274,000 from the MVD 
Registration Compliance program. 

4/ In FY 2015, there was a distribution in the amount of $5.5 million of the State Highway Fund share of the HURF portion of the VLT monies to the 
General Fund.  Additionally, there were allocations to the General Fund of $1.2 million for school financial assistance and $305,400 from the MVD 
Registration Compliance program. 

5/ In FY 2014, there was a distribution in the amount of $4.9 million of the State Highway Fund share of the HURF portion of the VLT monies to the 
General Fund.  Additionally, there were allocations to the General Fund of $892,100 for school financial assistance and $600,700 from the MVD 
Registration Compliance program.   

6/ In FY 2013, there was a distribution in the amount of $4.2 million of the State Highway Fund share of the HURF portion of the VLT monies to the 
General Fund.  Additionally, there were allocations to the General Fund of approximately $1 million for school financial assistance and about $855,900 
from the MVD Registration Compliance program per Laws 2002, Chapter 328, which required ADOT to deposit 50% of any increase in VLT collections 
due to vehicle registration enforcement in the General Fund.   

7/ In FY 2012, there was a one-time distribution in the amount of $109.1 million of the State Highway Fund share of the HURF portion of the VLT monies 
to the General Fund.  Additionally, there were allocations to the General Fund of approximately $1.3 million for school financial assistance and about 
$700,000 from the MVD Registration Compliance program per Laws 2002, Chapter 328, which required ADOT to deposit 50% of any increase in VLT 
collections due to vehicle registration enforcement in the General Fund. 

8/ In FY 2011, there was a one-time distribution in the amount of $44.6 million of the State Highway Fund share of the HURF portion of the VLT monies to 
the General Fund. Additionally, there were allocations to the General Fund of approximately $1.6 million for school financial assistance and about $1.1 
million from the MVD Registration Compliance program. 

9/ In FY 2010, there was a one-time distribution in the amount of $43.8 million of the State Highway Fund share of the HURF portion of the VLT monies to 
the General Fund.  Additionally, there were allocations to the General Fund of approximately $1 million for school financial assistance and about $1.2 
million from the MVD Registration Compliance program. 

10/ In FY 2009, there was a one-time distribution in the amount of $67 million of the State Highway Fund share of the HURF portion of the VLT monies to 
the General Fund.  Additionally, there were allocations to the General Fund of approximately $600,000 for school financial assistance and about $1 
million from the MVD Registration Compliance program.  

11/ This amount includes allocations to the General Fund of approximately $900,000 for school financial assistance and about $1.4 million from the MVD 
Registration Compliance program.  

12/ In FY 2005, there was a one-time distribution in the amount of $118 million of the State Highway Fund share of the HURF portion of the VLT monies to 
the General Fund.  Additionally, there were allocations to the General Fund of approximately $700,000 for school financial assistance and about $16.4 
million from the MVD Registration Compliance program. 

13/ This amount includes allocations to the General Fund of approximately $1 million for school financial assistance and about $5.6 million from the MVD 
Registration Compliance program. 

  

SOURCE:  ADOT, Office of Financial Planning.  
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For monies collected from alternative fuel vehicles, car rental surcharges, and private ambulances, fire fighting 
vehicles, and school buses: 
 

 37.61% to HURF 

 20.45% to county general funds 

 4.91% to counties for transportation-related purposes 

 20.45% to incorporated cities and towns 

 5.73% to the State Highway Fund 

 10.85% to the General Fund for school financial assistance 
 

In addition to these statutory distributions, session law may distribute VLT for other purposes, as shown in the 
footnotes of Table 2.   
 

(See HURF Overview at the beginning of this section for distribution of HURF monies.)  
 
Of the VLT distributed to the State Highway Fund, 1.51% is dedicated to the Parity Compensation Fund. 
 
WHO PAYS 
 
Owners of vehicles that are registered for operation on the highways of Arizona [Arizona Constitution, Article 9, 
Section 11] 
 
REVENUE BASE 
 
The VLT is levied on the assessed value of each vehicle.  Effectively, the tax is levied on 10 classes of vehicles [A.R.S. 
§ 28-5801]:   
 
(1) Passenger vehicles 
(2) Commercial vehicles 
(3) Non-commercial one-half ton pick-ups and similar vehicles 
(4) Buses 
(5) Taxis 
(6) Travel trailers 
(7) Trailers 
(8) Motorcycles and scooters 
(9) Privately-owned motor vehicles used exclusively as a school bus 
(10) Motor vehicles powered by alternative fuels 
 
The taxable value of vehicles in these classes is determined as follows: 
 
Classes 1 through 8 
During the first 12 months of the life of the vehicle (as determined by its initial registration) the assessed value of 
the vehicle is 60% of the manufacturer's base retail price.  During each succeeding 12-month period, the assessed 
value of the vehicle is 16.25% less than the assessed value for the preceding 12-month period.  
 
Class 9 and Class 10  
During the first 12 months of the life of the vehicle (as determined by its initial registration) the assessed value of 
the vehicle is 1% of the manufacturer's base retail price.  During each succeeding 12-month period, the assessed 
value of the vehicle is 15% less than the assessed value for the preceding period [A.R.S. § 28-5804, 28-5805]. 
 
If a Class 9 vehicle is temporarily used for purposes other than as a school bus, the taxable value is determined in 
the same manner as Class 1 through 8 vehicles.  The tax is then assessed and collected monthly in an amount equal 
to one-tenth of the calculated annual VLT for each full month the vehicle is operated for other purposes [A.R.S. § 
28-5804]. 
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RATE 
 
For Classes 1 through 8, the VLT rate is $2.80 per $100 of assessed value for the first 12 months of the vehicle’s 
life, and $2.89 per $100 of value thereafter.  Exception:  for noncommercial trailers that are not travel trailers and 
have a gross vehicle weight of less than 10,000 pounds, the VLT is a one-time tax of $105 on initial registration and 
is a one-time tax of $70 on renewal of registration [A.R.S. § 28-5801]. 
 
For Classes 9 and 10, the VLT rate is $4 per $100 of assessed value [A.R.S. § 28-5804, 28-5805]. 
 
For trailers and semitrailers that are not travel trailers over 10,000 pounds gross vehicle weight, the VLT is a one-
time fee of $555 for trailers which have not previously been registered, $355 for trailers less than 6 years old which 
have been previously registered in another state, and $100 for trailers 6 or more years old which have been 
previously registered in another state. 
 
Minimum Tax.  For Classes 1 through 8, the minimum amount of the VLT is $10 per year for each vehicle subject to 
the tax [A.R.S. § 28-5801].  For Class 9 and Class 10 vehicles, the minimum VLT is $5 per year [A.R.S. § 28-5804, 28-
5805].  
 
EXEMPTIONS 
 
A veteran who is a resident of Arizona and whose vehicle, or replacement of such vehicle, is acquired by financial 
aid from the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs is exempt from this license tax [A.R.S. § 28-5802]. 
 
No license tax or registration fee shall be collected for a vehicle that is personally owned by a veteran, a veteran 
and another party, or the surviving spouse of a veteran, if such veteran is certified by the U.S. Department of 
Veterans Affairs as 100% disabled and drawing compensation.  Only 1 vehicle or its replacement may claim this 
exemption during each 12-month period. 
 
A vehicle owned by a resident who receives disability payments under Title 16 of the Social Security Act is exempt 
from the VLT.  Such resident must show satisfactory proof of such assistance [A.R.S. § 28-5803].  Only 1 vehicle 
may be claimed by a resident with a disability. 
 
An Arizona resident who is a member of the U.S. Armed Forces, including a member of a National Guard or 
Reserve unit, who is deployed in support of a worldwide contingency operation of the U.S. Armed Forces may 
register or renew the registration of a motor vehicle for 1 year without payment of registration fees and VLT.  No 
more than 2 motor vehicles owned or leased by the member of the U.S. Armed Forces may be claimed.  This 
exemption may only be taken 1 time by the member of the U.S. Armed Forces, the member’s spouse or the 
member’s legally-designated representative [A.R.S. § 28-5811].   
 
A spouse or dependent of a first responder or U.S. military member killed in the line of duty is exempted from VLT 
and the registration fee.  The exemption ends when the spouse remarries or dies, or when the dependent turns 18 
(or 23 if a full-time student), and is limited to 1 vehicle per claimant [A.R.S. § 28-5803.01]. 
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
The VLT is due and collected annually at the time of vehicle registration [A.R.S.  § 28-5801].  Exception:  depending 
on eligibility, owners of vehicles may participate in a 2-year or 5-year vehicle registration program and prepay the 
VLT for the subsequent year or years [A.R.S.  § 28-2159].   
 
ADOT collects tax payments and fees. 
 
IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2010: 
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There were no changes enacted to this tax in 2012, 2013 and 2014. 
 
2016 LAWS 
 

Laws 2016, Chapter 12 further modifies Laws 2015, Chapter 186 by replacing the phrase “law enforcement officer, 
firefighter or emergency responder” with “first responder.”  The bill also defines “first responder” as the same 
meaning prescribed in A.R.S. § 36-661 (i.e., law enforcement officer, a firefighter or an ambulance attendant) and 
includes a person who is a volunteer first responder and who is operating in an official capacity on behalf of a 
governmental entity that is involved in an emergency of law enforcement response.  These changes are effective 
on March 14, 2016. 
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 213 establishes a VLT and registration exemption for a spouse or dependent of a U.S. military 
member who died as the result of injuries suffered in the line of duty.  The exemption applies to military members 
who were killed before and after the bill’s effective date of August 6, 2016. 
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 258 is an emergency measure that amends current statutes with respect to the method by 
which state-shared revenues are apportioned among counties and municipalities, as described below.   
 
Counties 
Under current law, state-shared revenue is distributed to a county based on its population count as of the last 
federal decennial census [A.R.S. § 42-5029(I)].  During the fifth year following the decennial census, a county may 
contract with the U.S. Census Bureau to conduct a special census of the population of that county.  Beginning on 
July 1 in the sixth year following the decennial census, the result of the special census must be used as the basis for 
apportioning state-shared revenue to that county until the next federal decennial census [A.R.S. § 42-5033]. 
 
If a special census is not conducted, Laws 2016, Chapter 258 provides a county the following 3 options, all of which 
must be exercised before May 1 of the sixth year following a federal decennial census: 
 
1. County submits its own population estimate as of the fifth year following the last decennial census, as 

approved by the Office of Employment and Population Statistics. 
2. County contracts with the U.S. Census Bureau to conduct a sample survey in order to produce a mid-decade 

county population estimate. 
3. County requests to continue to use the population count from the most recent U.S. decennial census. 
 
If a county elects to use one of the options above, that population figure must be used (for purposes of 
apportioning state-state shared revenue) in the sixth year following the decennial census through June 30 of the 
year following the next decennial census.  
 
Municipalities 
Under current law, state-shared revenue is distributed to an incorporated city or town based on its population 
count as of the last federal decennial census [A.R.S. § 42-5029(I)].  During the fifth year following the decennial 
census, a city/town may contract with the U.S. Census Bureau to conduct a special census of the population of that 
municipality.  Beginning July 1 in the sixth year following the decennial census, the special census must be used as 
the basis for apportioning state-shared revenue to that municipality until the next federal decennial census [A.R.S. 
§ 42-5033].       
 
For purposes of apportioning state-shared revenue, Laws 2016, Chapter 258 provides a city/town the option to use 
either the population count from the special census or the most recent population estimate from the U.S. Census 
Bureau.  However, Chapter 258 provides that the population count from the special census be used for only 1 year.  
Beginning on July 1 in the second year following the special census, a city/town must use the most recent 
population estimate from the U.S. Census Bureau.  If a special census is not conducted, Chapter 258 requires a 
city/town to use the most recent population estimate from the U.S. Census Bureau beginning on July 1 in the 
second year following the decennial census through June 30 of the year following the next decennial census. 
 
 



Vehicle License Tax 

- 201 - 

2015 LAWS 
 
Laws 2015, Chapter 186 allows a VLT and registration exemption for a spouse or dependent of emergency 
personnel killed in the line of duty since April 5, 1933.  The exemption ends when the spouse remarries or dies, or 
when the dependent turns 18 (or 23 if a full-time student), and is limited to 1 vehicle per claimant. 
 

2011 LAWS 
 
Laws 2011, Chapter 28 continues, as permanent law, to require that the amount of VLT collected from the 5-year 
registration option, which is over and above what would have been collected had the vehicles been registered for 
2 years, be deposited into the General Fund.  This provision was previously in session law.   
 

2010 LAWS 
 
Laws 2010, 7

th
 Special Session, Chapter 12 continues to require that the amount of VLT collected from the 5-year 

registration option, which is over and above what would have been collected had the vehicles been registered for 
2 years, be deposited into the General Fund in FY 2011.  Chapter 12 also allows ADOT to set the Abandoned 
Vehicle Fees and directs the additional revenue to the General Fund.  Chapter 12 includes an intent clause that 
limits the additional revenue to be generated by this fee to $12,061,200.  Previously, the Abandoned Vehicle Fee 
was set at $200 for vehicles abandoned on federal land and $50 for vehicles abandoned on non-federal land.  
These base fees, however, will continue to be deposited in the Abandoned Vehicle Administration Fund, which is a 
subaccount of the State Highway Fund.  In FY 2011, the Abandoned Vehicle Fee generated $76,500 for the General 
Fund.   
 
A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2010 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at 
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/16taxbk.pdf.  

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/vlt.pdf
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MOTOR CARRIER FEE 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The motor carrier fee replaced the motor carrier tax with the enactment of Laws 1997, Chapter 8.  The fee is 
annually imposed on vehicles with a weight in excess of 12,000 pounds for the use of public highways.  The 
amount of the fee varies according to vehicle weight, with a maximum fee of $800 for vehicles that weigh up to 
80,000 pounds.  Collections from the motor carrier fee are dedicated to the Highway User Revenue Fund (HURF). 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Table 1 shows a 20-year revenue history for this fee. 
 

Table 1 
 

COLLECTIONS 
 

Fiscal Year Net Collections Fiscal Year Net Collections 
 2016 $41,058,142  2006 $40,504,406 
 2015 $40,226,982  2005 $37,980,023 
 2014 $38,841,688  2004 $34,617,452 
 2013 $37,310,404  2003 $32,856,325 
 2012 $37,349,582  2002 $29,346,709 
 2011 $36,299,755  2001 $32,677,923 
 2010 $35,807,490  2000 $36,562,768 
 2009 $40,483,421  1999 $34,139,960 
 2008 $40,177,453  1998 $63,845,891 
 2007 $45,226,185  1997 $90,186,000 
    

SOURCE:  Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT), Office of Financial Planning. 

 
All collections from the motor carrier fee are deposited in HURF.  (See HURF Overview at the beginning of this 
section for distribution of HURF.) 
 
WHO PAYS 
 
A person who operates or causes to be operated a motor vehicle on a public highway [A.R.S. § 28-5851].  
 
REVENUE BASE 
 
Motor vehicle means a motor driven vehicle that has a declared gross vehicle weight of more than 12,000 pounds 
(typically, a delivery type van, a large 1-ton pickup truck, or some recreational vehicles), and is subject to vehicle 
registration, excluding a vehicle that is exempt from gross weight fees [A.R.S. § 28-5851]. 
 
RATE 
 
Motor carriers pay a flat fee that varies with the weight class of the motor vehicle, as shown in Table 2 [A.R.S. § 28-
5854]. 
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Table 2 
 

FEE SCHEDULE 
 

Vehicle Weight Fee Vehicle Weight Fee 
12,001 - 14,000 lbs. $64 32,001 - 36,000 lbs. $155 

14,001 - 16,000 lbs. $73 36,001 - 40,000 lbs. $173 

16,001 - 18,000 lbs. $82 40,001 - 45,000 lbs. $336 

18,001 - 20,000 lbs. $91 45,001 - 50,000 lbs. $374 

20,001 - 22,000 lbs. $101 50,001 - 55,000 lbs. $412 

22,001 - 24,000 lbs. $110 55,001 - 60,000 lbs. $450 

24,001 - 26,000 lbs. $119 60,001 - 65,000 lbs. $627 

26,001 - 28,000 lbs. $128 65,001 - 70,000 lbs. $693 

28,001 - 30,000 lbs. $137 70,001 - 75,000 lbs. $750 

30,001 - 32,000 lbs. $146 75,001 - 80,000 lbs. $800 

 
The following vehicles are exempt from this fee [A.R.S. § 28-5853]: 
 

 School buses 

 Motor vehicles used in the production of 
- motion pictures 
- industrial, training, and educational films 
- television commercials 
- video discs and video tapes 

 
The Director of ADOT shall compute a reduced fee that is seven-tenths of the original fee if the motor carrier pre-
qualifies for a reduced fee prior to registration and if other specific circumstances regarding vehicle load status are 
met [A.R.S. § 28-5855; A.R.S. § 28-5856; A.R.S. § 28-5857]. 
 
The fee for a vehicle that weighs more than 26,000 pounds and is driven less than 2,000 miles each year is $80.  
The fee for a vehicle that weighs more than 26,000 pounds and is driven between 2,000 and 4,000 miles a year is 
$160 [A.R.S. § 28-5867]. 
 
In addition to a commercial registration fee of $4 and a gross weight fee, each light motor vehicle pays an annual 
fee of $64.  A light motor vehicle is a self-propelled motor driven vehicle that has a declared gross weight of 12,000 
or fewer pounds and used to transport for hire persons, freight or property.  The light motor vehicle fee exempts 
the vehicle from transaction privilege tax or similar taxes related to transporting for hire [A.R.S. § 28-5492].  
Vehicle for hire companies (i.e., taxis, livery vehicles or limousines) and transportation network companies (such as 
Uber and Lyft) are exempt from the light motor vehicle fee [A.R.S. § 42-5062].   
 
Non-resident motor carriers, or non-resident persons, who operate a motor vehicle in this state may purchase a 
Single-Trip Motor Carrier Fee Permit instead of paying the regular motor carrier fee.  A single-trip permit is only 
effective during the specific trip for which it is issued.  The motor carrier fee on a single-trip permit is $12 for 50 
miles or less or $48 for more than 50 miles traveled on the highways of this state [A.R.S. § 28-5863]. 
 
ADOT may also issue a Special 30-Day Motor Carrier Fee Permit for vehicles not in the commercial transportation 
business, only in the state for a limited period of time and will make limited use of Arizona's highways.  The motor 
carrier fee for a special 30-day permit is $96 [A.R.S. § 28-5864]. 
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TAX REFUNDS AND/OR TAX CREDITS 
 
In the event the director determines that a motor carrier overpaid the fee, penalty, or interest, the director shall 
credit that amount on any current amount due or refund the excess amount [A.R.S. § 28-5859]. 
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
Fee is payable at the time the motor vehicle is registered with the state [A.R.S. § 28-5854B]. 
 
The collecting agency is ADOT [A.R.S. § 28-5854B]. 
 
IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2010.  
 
There were no changes enacted to this fee in 2010, 2011, 2013, and 2015. 
 
2016 LAWS 
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 171 revises the annual license fee for taxis and eliminates the $64 annual light motor vehicle 
fee for vehicle for hire companies (i.e., taxis, livery vehicles or limousines).  These changes are effective on 
September 1, 2016. 
 
2014 LAWS 
 
Laws 2014, Chapter 60 revises the definitions of special permit conditions for a tractor-semitrailer, including the 
special permit tractor-semitrailer weight and length, the number of trailers a special permit tractor-semitrailer may 
haul, and the routes a special permit tractor-semitrailer may travel.  The legislation specifies a fee of $75 for a 
single trip or 30-day special permit, $360 for an annual special permit if the overweight load is no more than 
123,500 pounds, and $600 for an annual special permit if the overweight load is more than 123,500 pounds but no 
more than 129,000 pounds. The bill also allows the ADOT director to issue an envelope permit to any 2 axel 
vehicles if they are less than 34,000 pounds.   
 
2012 LAWS 
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 210, in addition to other provisions, removes the requirement that the state grants a refund 
or credit for the motor carrier fee paid while operating a motor vehicle on a public-private partnership roadway 
project. 
 
A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2010 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at 
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/16taxbk.pdf.  
 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/motorfee.pdf


OTHER FUND REVENUE SOURCES 



- 205 - 

AVIATION FUEL TAX 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The aviation fuel tax is levied on each gallon of aviation fuel produced or imported into Arizona.  Aviation fuel is 
defined as fuel that is expressly manufactured for use in an internal combustion engine of an aircraft.  The tax rate 
is 5¢ per gallon, and revenues are deposited in the State Aviation Fund. 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
The tax on aviation fuel is deposited in the State Aviation Fund [A.R.S. § 28-8345].  The monies in the fund are 
dedicated to the construction, development, and improvement of airports in the state. 
 

Table 1 
 

COLLECTIONS 
 

Fiscal Year Net Collections Fiscal Year Net Collections 
 2016 $325,479  2006 $462,598 
 2015 $329,326  2005 $499,136 
 2014 $313,075  2004 $572,686 
 2013 $358,677  2003 $646,314 
 2012 $312,914  2002 $510,378 
 2011 $383,655  2001 $456,476 
 2010 $339,980  2000 $481,594 
 2009 $380,429  1999 $671,799 
 2008 $420,915  1998 $485,333 
 2007 $460,470  1997 $514,687 
    

SOURCE:  Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT), Office of Financial Planning. 

 
WHO PAYS 
 
The aviation fuel tax is presumed to be a direct tax on the consumer but is still collected and remitted to the 
Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT) by suppliers for the purpose of convenience.  In other words, the 
tax is collected and paid to ADOT by a supplier, who then adds the tax to the price of aviation fuel in order to 
recover it from the consumer [A.R.S. § 28-5606]. 
 
REVENUE BASE AND RATE 
 
The revenue base is aviation fuel, which means all flammable liquids composed of a mixture of selected 
hydrocarbons manufactured and blended for the purpose of operating an internal combustion engine in an 
aircraft.  Aviation fuel does not include fuel used in jet or turbine powered aircraft [A.R.S. § 28-101].  
 
The following are exempted from the aviation fuel tax [A.R.S. § 28-5610]: 
 

 Aviation fuel for which proof of export is available in the form of a terminal issued destination state shipping 
paper, and is either exported by a supplier that is licensed in the destination state, or sold by a supplier to a 
distributor for immediate export. 

 Aviation fuel that was acquired by a distributor on which the tax has previously been paid and that was 
subsequently exported across the state border. 

 Aviation fuel that is moving in interstate or foreign commerce and that is not destined or diverted to a point in 
this state. 
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 Aviation fuel that is sold to the United States or its agencies or instrumentalities. 
 
The tax rate is 5¢ per gallon [A.R.S. § 28-8344]. 
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
The tax that is accrued in any calendar month is to be paid on or before the 27

th
 day of the next succeeding 

calendar month to ADOT [A.R.S. § 28-5925]. 
 
IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2010. 
 
There were no changes enacted to this tax in the period from 2010 through 2016. 
 
A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2010 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at 
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/16taxbk.pdf.  
 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/aviationtax.pdf
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HOSPITAL ASSESSMENT 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The Arizona Health Care Cost Containment System (AHCCCS) is required to establish, administer and collect a 
hospital assessment for state costs that are not otherwise covered by voter-approved tobacco revenues and other 
state funds for the Proposition 204 and Adult Expansion populations, on and after January 1, 2014. [A.R.S. § 36-
2901.08] 
 
Proposition 204, also known as the “Healthy Arizona Initiative,” was a voter-approved ballot initiative in year 2000 
that expanded AHCCCS eligibility for childless adults, parents, and other Proposition 204 populations (i.e., aged, 
blind and disabled individuals) with incomes that exceed the limits for the Traditional population, but are not 
above 100% of the federal poverty level (FPL).  However in July 2011, enrollment for Proposition 204 childless 
adults was suspended to address the FY 2012 budgetary shortfall.  Other Proposition 204 populations retained 
coverage and their enrollment continued unaffected. 
 
Beginning January 1, 2014, the federal Affordable Care Act (ACA) required mandatory expansion of Medicaid 
eligibility to children up to 133% FPL, while making expansion of adult eligibility up to 133% FPL an option of the 
state.  Arizona opted to restore its prior Proposition 204 childless adult coverage along with expanding 
participation to all adults with incomes up to 133% FPL. (See the JLBC Staff’s January 1, 2014 Expansion of Medicaid 
Eligibility and the Affordable Care Act Program Summary for more information.)  [A.R.S. § 36-2901.01, A.R.S. § 36-
2901.07]  
 
A hospital assessment was enacted to pay for the state’s share of acute care costs of Proposition 204 Childless 
Adult Restoration (0-100% FPL), other Proposition 204 populations and Adult Expansion (100-133% FPL).  Hospital 
assessment monies are matched with increased Federal Medical Assistance Percentages (FMAP) to cover AHCCCS 
costs incurred by the Proposition 204 Childless Adult Restoration and the Adult Expansion populations.  Hospital 
assessment monies that fund state costs of other Proposition 204 populations in AHCCCS receive the regular 2 to 1 
federal match rate.  
 
COLLECTIONS 
 
In FY 2016, the hospital assessment generated an estimated $250.4 million in collections.  Table 1 below provides 
historical assessment collections since the assessment’s initial implementation in FY 2014.  
 

 

Table 1  
 

COLLECTIONS 
 

Fiscal Year          Amount 
  2016* $250,435,512 

2015 $270,538,669 
2014 $75,193,195 

  

 

* AHCCCS’ preliminary assessment estimate. 
 

SOURCE: Arizona Health Care Cost Containment System, 
Hospital Assessment Reports.  
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DISTRIBUTION 
 
Hospital assessment collections may be used to fund acute care costs of Proposition 204 Childless Adult 
Restoration (0-100% FPL), other Proposition 204 populations and Adult Expansion (100-133% FPL).  These costs are 
included within the AHCCCS budget.   
 
Under the ACA, the federal government provides an increased federal match rate for Proposition 204 childless 
adults.  The increased match rate started at 83.6% in FY 2014, increased to 89.05% by FY 2016, and increases to 
90.28% in FY 2017.  Hospital assessment funding for other Proposition 204 populations receives a regular 2 to 1 
match rate.  
 
The federal government pays 100% of the cost of the Adult Expansion (including parents and childless adults 
whose incomes are between 100-133% FPL) through January 1, 2017.  As a result, the assessment will begin 
covering state match amount for this population in FY 2017. The increased federal match rate the state receives 
for the Adult Expansion population is scheduled to decrease from 100% in 2016, to 95% in 2017 and 94% in 2018. 
Assessment funds distributed to AHCCCS are not remitted to the General Fund, do not lapse and are continuously 
appropriated. [A.R.S. § 36-2901.09]   
 
WHO PAYS 
 
A.R.S. § 36-2901.08A allows AHCCCS the option to levy the assessment on a participating hospital’s revenues, 
discharges or bed days to fund the state share of AHCCCS costs that are incurred for the Proposition 204 and Adult 
Expansion populations after December 31, 2013. [A.R.S. § 36-2901.01, A.R.S. § 36-2901.07]  Statute also permits 
AHCCCS to establish the amount, method, modifications or exemptions to the assessment, such as the size of the 
hospital, the specialty services available to patients and the geographic location of the hospital. [A.R.S. § 36-
2901.08C]  Federal regulations require that assessments be broad based and uniformly applied to all providers 
within a specified class of providers.   

 
Table 2 lists the hospital providers (by peer hospital classification) that contributed to the FY 2016 assessment and 
the respective percentage amounts to the total funds AHCCCS collected in FY 2016.  

 

Table 2             
  

     
  

Hospital Provider Peer Group (# of hospitals) 
1/

 
 

FY 2016 Subtotals 
 

% of total 

Urban Acute Providers (28) 
 

$152,683,870  
 61.0% 

Critical Access Hospital (CAH) Providers (11) 
 

  3,393,728 
 

1.4% 
Non-CAH Rural Acute Providers (13) 

 
  29,819,712 

 
11.9% 

Long-Term Care Provider (8) 
 

  337,792 
 

0.1% 
Large Psychiatric Provider (4) 

 
  1,693,952 

 
0.7% 

Pediatric-Intensive General Acute Hospitals (2) 
 

  18,968,413 
 

7.6% 
Medium Pediatric Intensive General Acute Hospitals (6)   43,538,045 

 
17.4% 

     Total $250,435,512  
 

100.0% 

____________ 
*AHCCCCS' preliminary assessment estimate 
1/     In FY 2016, 72 hospitals participated in the hospital assessment. 

 
 
REVENUE BASE AND RATE 
 
AHCCCS determines the amount of the assessment to collect based on the estimated state funding needed to 
cover the Proposition 204 and Adult Expansion populations.  Each hospital’s share of the FY 2017 assessment is 
calculated by multiplying discharges reported on the hospital’s 2012 Medicare Cost Report by the FY 2017 
hospital’s per-inpatient discharge rate.  Although rates differ among hospital peer groups, each hospital must 
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agree to the discharge rate before it can be imposed.  Table 3 on the following page outlines each peer hospital 
group’s discharge rate on a per-inpatient basis for FY 2016 and FY 2017. 
 
Since its January 1, 2014 implementation, the total hospital assessment liability has been split among hospitals 
according to their number of reported discharges and the per-inpatient discharge rate.  Although there is no 
statutory requirement to use the same assessment methodology developed in the prior fiscal year, each 
assessment request requires the federal Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) approval before the 
assessment can be imposed.  Each hospital’s inpatient discharge rate is verified to comply with federal regulations 
for permissible health care-related taxes outlined in federal regulations 42 CFR 433.68. 
 

Table 3 

 
 
 
Hospital Provider Peer Group (# of hospitals) 

 

 
FY 2016 

Discharge 
Rate  

 
FY 2017 

Discharge 
Rate 

Urban Acute Providers (26)     $416.00 $440.00 
Critical Access Hospitals (CAH) (10)       416.00   440.00 
Non-CAH Rural Acute Providers (14)       416.00   440.00 
Long-Term Care Provider (8)         104.00   110.00 
Large Psychiatric Provider (4) 

1/
         104.00   110.00 

Pediatric-Intensive General Acute Hospitals (2)        332.75   352.00 
Medium Pediatric Intensive General Acute Hospitals (6)       374.50   396.00 

WEIGHTED AVERAGE     $339.58 $358.01 
____________   
1/ For discharges from a psychiatric sub-provider within an acute care hospital, the assessment rate is equal to 

the rate paid by Large Psychiatric Providers, or $110.00 in FY 2017. 

 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
Payments are made on a quarterly basis and are collected by AHCCCS.  The funds are then held within the Hospital 
Assessment Fund before Federal Funds are drawn into the state for deposit at the time of payment.  Total 
payments are based on the state matching monies and various federal match rates before the total fund amount is 
distributed to managed care organizations and service providers. 
 
IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of all statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature.  The 
first legislation was in 2013.  There were no statutory changes to the Hospital Assessment in 2014 through 2016. 
 
2013 LAWS 
 

Laws 2013, 1
st

 Special Session, Chapter 10 requires AHCCCS to establish an assessment on hospital revenue, 
discharges, or bed days for the purpose of funding the state match portion of the Medicaid expansion (adults from 
100%-133% of FPL) and the entire Proposition 204 population beginning January 1, 2014.  In addition, Chapter 10 
allows AHCCCS to establish modifications or exemptions to the assessment, such as the size of the hospital, the 
specialty services available to patients and the geographic location of the hospital.  The AHCCCS Director is 
required to present the methodology to the JLBC before the implementation of the assessment and thereafter, if 
the methodology is modified.  
 
The legislation additionally repeals the hospital assessment if: 1) the federal matching rate for adults from 100%-
133% FPL or childless adults is less than 80%; 2) the federal ACA is repealed; or 3) the maximum amount that can 
be assessed and still retain a federal match, along with any other appropriated monies, is insufficient to pay for the 
Childless Adult Restoration to 100% of FPL and the Adult Expansion between 100% and 133% of FPL.  (Effective 
September 12, 2013) 
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INSURANCE GUARANTY FUND ASSESSMENTS 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The Department of Insurance manages 2 Guaranty Funds - the Arizona Property and Casualty Insurance Guaranty 
Fund, and the Life and Disability Insurance Guaranty Fund [A.R.S. § 20-662 and § 20-683].  These 2 funds serve as a 
safeguard in the event that a certified insurance provider becomes insolvent or is placed under a court order of 
rehabilitation.  The Property and Casualty Insurance Guaranty Fund covers policies on property insurance, casualty 
insurance and workers’ compensation insurance.  The Life and Disability Insurance Guaranty Fund covers policies 
on life insurance, disability insurance and annuities.  Each Guaranty Fund is administered by a separate Board of 
Directors with members appointed by the Governor [A.R.S. § 20-662, A.R.S. § 20-664, A.R.S. § 20-684, and A.R.S. § 
20-685].   
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Each Guaranty Fund is broken into 3 accounts 
 
Arizona Property and Casualty Insurance Guaranty Fund [A.R.S. § 20-662] 
 

 Automobile insurance account 

 Workers’ compensation insurance account 

 Account for all other insurance covered by the fund 
 
The Board of Directors levies assessments for each account and spends money only for the purposes of that 
account.  The Board of Directors can levy an additional assessment for administrative costs [A.R.S. § 20-664 and 
A.R.S. § 20-666F].   
 
Life and Disability Insurance Guaranty Fund [A.R.S. § 20-683] 
 

 Life insurance account 

 Disability insurance account 

 Annuity account 
 
The obligations of the fund are not allowed to exceed the amount to which the impaired or insolvent member 
insurer is contractually liable.  However, there are caps on the amount of obligations that the fund can pay, even if 
the insolvent or impaired insurer is contractually liable for an amount above the cap.  The cap on obligations is 
$300,000 for life insurance death benefits, or $100,000 for net cash withdrawal or net cash surrender for life 
insurance.  The cap on obligations is $300,000 for disability income and long term care insurance; $500,000 for 
surgery, basic medical, and major medical insurance; and $100,000 for coverages not defined as disability income, 
long term care, basic medical, surgery, or major medical insurance.  The cap on obligations to the annuity account 
is $250,000 in present value annuity benefits.  [A.R.S. § 20-682E] 
 
If an individual, firm or corporation owns multiple policies, the fund’s obligation cannot exceed $5 million.  [A.R.S. 
§ 20-682F] 
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Table 1 
 

COLLECTIONS – ARIZONA PROPERTY AND CASUALTY  
INSURANCE GUARANTY FUND 

1/
 

 

Fiscal 
Year 

Automobile 
Account 

Worker’s Compensation 
Account

 2/
 

Other  
Account 

Total Net 
Collections 

1998 $3,949,018 $0 $1,446,788 $5,395,806 
____________ 
1/ Since FY 1996, assessments were only levied in FY 1998. 
2/ Laws 2014, Chapter 186 moved the workers’ compensation account from the Industrial Commission Special Fund to the 

Arizona Property and Casualty Insurance Guaranty Fund. 

 
SOURCE: Department of Insurance 

 
Table 2 

 

COLLECTIONS – LIFE AND DISABILITY INSURANCE GUARANTY FUND 
1/

 
 

Fiscal 
Year 

Life  
Account 

Disability 
Account 

Annuity 
Account 

Total Net 
Collections 

1997 $13,542,000 $0 $10,089,000 $23,631,000 
____________ 
1/  No assessment has been levied since FY 1997 

 
SOURCE:  Department of Insurance 

 
WHO PAYS 
 
Arizona Property and Casualty Insurance Guaranty Fund:  Member insurers pay the assessment.  A member insurer 
under the Arizona Property and Casualty Insurance Guaranty Fund is a person who is licensed to write any kind of 
insurance, unless that person only writes life, title, surety, disability, credit, mortgage guaranty or ocean-marine 
insurance [A.R.S. § 20-661 and A.R.S. § 20-666A].   
 
Life and Disability Insurance Guaranty Fund:  Member insurers pay the assessment.  A member insurer is any 
insurer that holds a certificate of authority and transacts life, disability or annuity insurance in the state and may 
include member insurers who may have had the certificate of authority suspended, revoked, not renewed or 
voluntarily withdrawn [A.R.S. § 20-681 and A.R.S. § 20-686A].   
 
As shown in Table 1 and Table 2, the guaranty fund assessments have not been levied since 1998. 
 
REVENUE BASE 
 
The assessments for each Guaranty Fund are determined by each fund’s respective Board of Directors.  The 
amount owed by member insurers is based on the proportion of premiums written by a member insurer to total 
premiums written for all member insurers by insurance type for each subaccount.  For example, if a member 
insurer receives 25% of all life insurance premiums in the state, then that member insurer will be responsible for 
25% of the life insurance account assessment under the Life and Disability Insurance Guaranty Fund [A.R.S. § 20-
666 and A.R.S. § 20-686].   
 
The Arizona Property and Casualty Insurance Guaranty Fund assessment cannot exceed 1% of a member insurer’s 
net direct premiums from the preceding calendar year on the type of insurance in the subaccount.  In addition to 
the assessments for each subaccount, the board of directors may levy an additional assessment on each member 
insurer for operating expenses not to exceed $200 annually [A.R.S. § 20-666B and A.R.S. § 20-666F].   
 
The Life and Disability Insurance Guaranty Fund is made up of 2 types of assessments, Class A and Class B.  Class A 
assessments are set at a level by fund administrators to pay for administration expenses.  Class B assessments are 
divided into the 3 accounts.  The amount of a Class B assessment that goes to a particular account is proportional 
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to the share of an insolvent or impaired insurer’s total premiums that are covered under that particular account.  
For example, if 10% of an impaired insurer’s premiums are covered by the disability insurance account, then 10% 
of the assessment levied to member insurers as a result of the impaired insurer will go to the disability insurance 
account under the Life and Disability Insurance Guaranty Fund.  The total from both classes of assessments 
imposed on a member insurer in 1 calendar year cannot exceed 2% of the average of total premiums collected 
during the 3 years before the offending member insurer became insolvent [A.R.S. § 20-686].   
 
PREMIUM TAX OFFSET 
 
Under both guaranty funds, member insurers who pay the assessment offset their premium tax liability by 20% of 
the assessment in the year of the assessment and by 20% in each of the succeeding 4 years.  However, the total 
amount of the premium tax offset cannot exceed 100% of the assessment [A.R.S. § 20-674 and A.R.S. § 20-692].   
 
IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2010.  There were no changes enacted to these assessments in the period from 2010 to 2012, 2015, or in 2016.   
 
2014 LAWS 
 
Laws 2014, Chapter 186 establishes the Workers’ Compensation Insurance Account as part of the Arizona Property 
and Casualty Insurance Guaranty Fund (Guaranty Fund) within the Department of Insurance.  The law transfers the 
rights and obligations related to payment of workers’ compensation claims on insolvent insurers from the Special 
Fund, administered by the Industrial Commission, to the Department of Insurance’s Guaranty Fund effective July 1, 
2015.  The law requires the Industrial Commission to transfer $222,848,153 in assets from the Special Fund to the 
Guaranty Fund for deposit in the Workers’ Compensation Insurance Account no less than 30 days before July 1, 
2015. 
 
The Workers’ Compensation Insurance Account is to be used to continue workers’ compensation benefits for 
claimants of insolvent carriers and bankrupt self-insured employers. 
 
In the event of an insolvency or bankruptcy, the Department of Insurance may cover the cost of claims on that 
insurer or employer by levying an assessment of up to 1% on the other solvent workers’ compensation insurers’ 
premiums from all policies issued during the preceding calendar year.  The assessment revenue is deposited into 
the Workers’ Compensation Insurance Account for payment of those claims. 
 
2013 LAWS 
 
Laws 2013, Chapter 214 includes the following provisions in regards to the Life and Disability Insurance Guaranty 
Fund: 
 

 Distinguishes between impaired insurer and insolvent insurer by creating a separate definition for insolvent 
insurer. 

 Amends the definition of member insurer to include insurers with a certificate of authority that has been 
suspended, revoked, not renewed, or voluntarily withdrawn. 

 Stipulates when the fund does and does not provide coverage. 

 Increases the maximum coverage amounts to $300,000 for life insurance, $500,000 for disability insurance, 
and $250,000 for annuity benefits. 

 Stipulates that assessments must be paid within 30 days of notice by the fund. 

 Stipulates that combined assessments on all 3 accounts cannot exceed 2% of the insurer’s average total 
premiums collected during the 3 years before the offending member insurer became insolvent. 
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JOB TRAINING EMPLOYER TAX 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
In 1993, the state established a job training program which is currently administered by the Arizona Commerce 
Authority.  In order to receive state funding, employers had to provide at least 25% of the total program training 
costs.   
 
As of January 1, 2001, the state began levying a new job training employer tax to provide job training for both new 
and existing employees.  Laws 2015, Chapter 10 repealed the tax effective January 1, 2016.  The tax was imposed 
on each employer in the state at 0.1% of the first $7,000 in taxable wages.  The tax was collected by the 
Department of Economic Security and deposited in the Arizona Job Training Fund.  To receive monies from the 
fund, employers were required to contribute a portion of the training costs, up to 50% of the total, depending on 
the type of worker receiving the training.  The 0.1% job training tax was accompanied by a corresponding decrease 
in the unemployment tax rate in order to hold employers harmless to the new tax. 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
The job training employer tax was deposited in the Arizona Job Training Fund [A.R.S. § 23-769].   
 

Table 1 
 

COLLECTIONS 
 

Fiscal Year Net Collections Fiscal Year Net Collections 
  2016 $3,891,520   2008 $16,226,493 
  2015  $14,248,827   2007 $15,973,538 
  2014 $12,637,422   2006 $14,653,279 
  2013 $13,600,391   2005 $13,317,153 
  2012 $15,990,851   2004 $12,350,720 
  2011 $11,784,372   2003 $12,549,532 
  2010 $12,041,812   2002 $13,371,382 
  2009 $14,878,923   2001 $6,478,539 
    

SOURCE: Department of Commerce and Arizona Commerce Authority.  

 
The fund provides grants to train new and existing employees for new and expanding companies and companies 
undergoing economic conversion with the following conditions [A.R.S. § 41-1541 and A.R.S. § 41-1544]: 
 

 Employers pay 50% of the costs associated with training existing workers and 25% of the cost to train new 
employees.    

 A minimum of 25% of the monies in the fund must be used to provide training to businesses employing less 
than 100 people. 

 A minimum of 25% must be used to train workers in rural areas of the state. 

 No more than 50% of the monies in the fund can be used for incumbent worker training. 

 Single grants do not make up more than 10% of the fund total. 
 
Training is provided by state community colleges, private post-secondary educational institutions, community 
colleges operated by a tribal government or another qualified training provider.  Laws 2015, Chapter 10 repeals 
the Job Training program and Job Training Fund effective January 1, 2017 and transfers remaining unencumbered 
job training tax monies in the fund to the Unemployment Insurance Benefits Fund administered by the 
Department of Economic Security. 
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WHO PAYS 
 
The job training employer tax was levied on one-tenth of 1% of the first $7,000 in taxable wages paid to an 
employee each year [A.R.S. § 23-622 and A.R.S. § 23-769]. 
 
The following employers were not subject to the job training employer tax pursuant to A.R.S. § 23-769: 
 
(1) Employers who elected to become liable for payment in lieu of contributions pursuant to A.R.S. § 23-750.  

These are generally non-profit agencies or governmental entities. 
(2) Until the excise tax imposed pursuant to 26 United States Code section 3301 (Federal Unemployment Tax) is 

reduced to 6% or less, companies: 
 

(a) With a positive reserve ratio of at least 13% pursuant to A.R.S. § 23-730.  
(b) With a positive reserve ratio of at least 12% but less than 13%. 
(c) That are assigned the contribution rate of 2% pursuant to A.R.S. § 23-729 or 2.7% pursuant to A.R.S. § 23-

730.  Contribution rates are determined each year.  Companies that paid 2.7% or above of an employee’s 
salary towards Unemployment Insurance were exempt from contributing towards the job training tax. 

(d) With a negative reserve ratio pursuant to A.R.S. § 23-730. 
(3) Employers that deposit a quarterly amount of less than $10. 
 
The Federal Unemployment Tax declined to 6% on July 1, 2011, thus the employers in section (2) above were 
subject to the job training employer tax prior to January 1, 2016. 
 
REVENUE BASE AND RATE 
 
The revenue base was the wages from employment.  The tax rate was 0.1% of the first $7,000 in taxable wages 
paid to an employee each year. 
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
The tax was collected quarterly by the Department of Economic Security with monies deposited to the Arizona 
Commerce Authority’s Arizona Job Training Fund [A.R.S. § 23-769].  All monies deposited in the fund were 
expended for costs related to training, except for the Arizona Commerce Authority reimbursing the Department of 
Economic Security for the development costs of establishing the system to collect the job training employer tax 
and ongoing collection costs [A.R.S. § 41-1544].  Ongoing tax collection costs averaged $775,000 per year. 
 
IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2010. 
 
There were no changes enacted to this tax in 2010, 2012, 2013, 2014, and 2016. 
 
2015 LAWS 
 
Laws 2015, Chapter 10 repealed the job training employer tax effective January 1, 2016.  Previously, the tax was 
scheduled to sunset on January 1, 2017.  The bill reaffirms the previous sunset date of January 1, 2017 for the Job 
Training Program and includes a provision that any remaining, unencumbered job training tax revenues in the Job 
Training Fund are to be transferred to the Unemployment Insurance Benefits Fund.  Non-job training tax monies in 
the fund are to be transferred to the General Fund.   
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2011 LAWS 
 
Laws 2011, 2

nd
 Special Session, Chapter 1 shifted the administration of the Job Training Program from the 

Department of Commerce to the newly-created Arizona Commerce Authority.  Also, the sunset of the job training 
employer tax was extended from January 1, 2012 to January 1, 2017.  The bill also removed a provision that 
allowed monies to be appropriated, prior to them being dispersed to recipients, for the Department of Economic 
Security’s Job Program that provides job training to welfare clients. 
 
A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2010 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at 
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/16taxbk.pdf. 
 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/jobtraining.pdf
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PARI-MUTUEL TAX 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The pari-mutuel tax is assessed on the amount of money wagered at horse and dog racing facilities and simulcasts 
in the state.  The tax structure is separated according to the type of racing – horse or dog – and the population size 
of the county in which the facility is located.  Beginning January 2017, live dog racing will be prohibited in Arizona.  
 
In July 2015, the Department of Racing was consolidated into the Department of Gaming under the title of the 
Division of Racing [A.R.S. § 5-101.01A]. The Division of Racing collects fees for licenses issued to facilities and 
personnel involved in the racing industry and regulatory assessments.  The distribution has varied in the past 
several years. (See distribution discussion below.) 
 
The pari-mutuel tax does not include Indian gaming because the Indian tribes do not conduct pari-mutuel races.  
Also, the payments that the tribes make to the state pursuant to Proposition 202 are not taxes.  The state cannot 
tax the tribes—these contributions are “voluntary” payments made in exchange for substantial exclusivity in their 
gaming activities. 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Table 1 below provides pari-mutuel tax and license fee collections for the past 20 years.  Prior to FY 2010, pari-
mutuel taxes, license fees, and unclaimed property monies collected by the Department of Revenue (DOR) were 
distributed among several different racing funds.  In FY 2010 and FY 2011 these proceeds were all distributed to 
the General Fund.  In FY 2012, licenses and assessments were deposited into the Racing Regulation Fund, while the 
pari-mutuel taxes continued to be deposited into the General Fund.  Since FY 2013, all proceeds are distributed to 
the Racing Regulation Fund.   
 

Table 1 
 

COLLECTIONS 

 
Fiscal Year Pari-Mutuel Taxes Licenses Total Collections 

 2016 $160,215 $197,698 $357,913 
 2015 $184,917 $331,330 $516,247 
 2014 
 2013 

$215,500 
$234,600 

$372,400 
$350,500 

$587,900 
$585,100 

 2012 $254,801 $182,088 $436,889 
 2011 $284,817 $130,200 $415,017 
 2010 $314,021 $73,600 $387,621 
 2009 $326,590 $80,356 $406,946 
 2008 $429,600 $168,600 $598,200 
 2007 $431,400 $53,500 $484,900 
 2006 $527,860 $61,426 $589,286 
 2005  $483,901 $194,954 $655,914 
 2004 $565,204 $130,900 $696,104 
 2003 $628,564 $111,750 $740,314 
 2002 $750,354 $158,988 $909,342 
 2001 $1,802,280 $91,558 $1,893,838 
 2000 $2,549,046 $59,506 $2,608,552 
 1999 $2,945,419 $166,829 $3,112,248 
 1998 $2,943,787 $88,530 $3,032,317 
 1997 $2,606,325 $58,126 $2,664,451 

    
SOURCE:  Arizona Department of Racing. 
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WHO PAYS  
 
The taxpayer is the person, firm, partnership, corporation, or association that holds a pari-mutuel permit.  No 
single permittee may simultaneously own more than 4 racetracks within the state.  No permittee that holds a 
permit in a county of over 700,000 persons may simultaneously hold a permit for the same kind of racing in 
another county having a population of over 700,000 [A.R.S. § 5-108.03]. 
 
REVENUE BASE AND RATE 
 
The revenue base is the “handle,” which is defined as the total amount of money contributed to pari-mutuel pools 
by bettors [A.R.S. § 5-101 and A.R.S. § 5-111]. 
 
For dog racing, the state receives 5.5% of the total handle [A.R.S. § 5-111B]. Laws 2016, Chapter 246 prohibits live 
dog racing in Arizona as of January 1, 2017.  
 
For horse racing, the state receives 2% of the first $1,000,000 of the daily pari-mutuel pool, and 5% of the amount 
exceeding $1,000,000 of the daily pari-mutuel pool [A.R.S. § 5-111D]. 
 
Exemptions to the pari-mutuel tax include [A.R.S. § 5-111]: 
 

 The portion of the handle for wagering on simulcasts of out-of-state races. 

 Racing meetings conducted by county fair associations with the permission of the Racing Commission.  This 
exemption is limited to one racing meeting each year. 

 Monies received from races held on charity days.  Charity days are defined as days on which the net proceeds 
of the pari-mutuel pool are donated to non-profit organizations and corporations that benefit the general 
public. 

 
Licenses and assessments.  The Division of Racing issues annual licenses and assessments to facilities and personnel 
involved in the racing industry.  The Division of Racing establishes and collects fees for the licenses it issues [A.R.S. 
§ 5-104].  
 
The licenses and assessments include: 
 

 Racing licenses. 

 A regulatory assessment from the purse accounts to pay for racing animal medication testing, and animal 
safety and welfare. 

 A regulatory assessment from each permittee for each day of dark day simulcasting conducted in excess of the 
number of live racing days conducted by the permittee. 

 A regulatory assessment from each commercial racing permittee payable from amounts deducted from pari-
mutuel pools by the permittee, in addition to the amounts the permittee is authorized to deduct from 
amounts wagered on live and simulcast races from in-state and out-of-state wagering handled by the 
permittee. 

 
Note that these fees and assessments shall not be reduced for hardship tax credits or capital improvements. 
 
Persons, firms, partnerships, corporations, or associations applying for a pari-mutuel permit are not charged a 
permit fee.  Instead, the Division of Racing charges an annual licensing fee of $150 to the following individuals 
representing permit applicants, where appropriate:  racetrack owners with a stake of 10% or greater, corporate 
officers, and racetrack general managers.  However, prior to the issuance of a permit, each applicant must post a 
bond document of up to $100,000 for dog racing (through December 31, 2016) and up to $300,000 for horse 
racing payable to the Division of Racing and the state [A.R.S. § 5-107D].  Each pari-mutuel permit holder must also 
make a refundable $5,000 deposit with the Division of Racing 10 days prior to a racing meeting to insure payment 
of the amount of pari-mutuel tax due to the state [A.R.S. § 5-107C]. 
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TAX REFUNDS AND/OR TAX CREDITS 
 
Hardship Credit.  On August 1 of each year, a permittee is eligible for a hardship tax credit determined as follows 
[A.R.S. § 5-111I]:  
 

 Determine the percentage decrease in pari-mutuel wagering in the previous fiscal year compared to the base 
year.  The base year is defined as the highest total pari-mutuel wagering at the racetrack and all additional 
wagering facilities owned by the permittee for FY 1990 through FY 1994. 

 Multiply the total pari-mutuel tax liability for the current year by the percentage decrease determined above, 
and multiply the result by 3. 

 Reduce the permittee’s pari-mutuel tax due for the current period, and all future periods, by the result.  The 
hardship tax credit can be used in addition to any other tax exemptions, rebates, and credits. 

 
Note that the credits do not apply to licenses and assessments. 
 
The revenue projections developed by the Division of Racing and included in Table 2 on the following page are 
based on historical levels and industry trends and assume the continued operation of each of Arizona’s commercial 
race tracks.  These tables indicate state pari-mutuel taxes from dollars wagered during FY 2015.  The tables also 
provide actual and estimated amounts for the Hardship Tax Credit during FY 2016.  Yavapai Downs was not in 
operation in FY 2016 and is not expected to reopen in FY 2017.  Apache Greyhound Park currently takes wagers on 
simulcast races, but does not conduct any live racing.  
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 247 eliminates the Hardship Credit effective May 13, 2016. Hardship credits earned prior to 
May 13, 2016 may still be used to offset pari-mutuel tax owed after this date.  
 
Capital Improvements.  The permittee’s pari-mutuel annual tax liability may be reduced in order to fund capital 
improvements to racetracks.  The reduction can be up to 1% of the total handle in counties having a population of 
500,000 or more, and up to 2% in all other counties.  The annual reduction continues until sufficient funds have 
been obtained for the completion of the capital improvement project.  The projects must be approved by the 
Racing Commission.  [A.R.S. § 5-111.02 and A.R.S. § 5-111.03]. 
 
The capital improvements provision expired on June 30, 1992 for counties with populations of 500,000 or more, 
and on June 30, 1999 for all other counties.  Projects approved prior to these dates may continue with the tax 
reduction until sufficient funds have been obtained for completion of the capital improvement. 
 
The capital improvement reduction does not apply to licenses and assessments. 
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 

Pari-mutuel taxes are paid daily during the racing season.  The tax is collected by the Division of Racing. 



 

Determination of the FY 2016 Hardship Tax Credit Based on the FY 2015 Dollars Wagered 1/ 

 
__________ 
1/ Laws 2016, Chapter 247 eliminated the hardship credit effective May 13, 2016. Hardship credits earned prior to May 13, 2016 may still be used by racing tracks to offset pari-mutuel tax 

owed after this date.   
2/ For horse racing, the state receives 2% of the first $1,000,000 of the daily pari-mutuel pool, and 5% of the amount exceeding $1,000,000 of the daily pari-mutuel pool [A.R.S. § 5-111D]. 
3/ Apache Greyhound track conducts only simulcast races; no live races are held at the Apache racetrack.  Wagering on simulcasts of out-of-state races is not subject to pari-mutuel tax 

[A.R.S. § 5-111]. 
4/ Charity days are defined as days on which the net proceeds of the pari-mutuel pool are donated to non-profit organizations and corporations that benefit the public.  Monies received 

from races held on charity days are exempt from pari-mutuel tax [A.R.S. § 5-111]. 
5/ The Turf racetrack does not follow the standard formula for calculating Allowable Hardship Credits because the track did not have a negative percentage change (see footnote 7); 

therefore the allowable hardship credit for the Turf track will remain as the carryover from the previous year until the Turf track has a negative percentage change.  
6/ If the resulting amount in column (h) is negative, the track does not pay the pari-mutuel tax but rather that amount is subtracted from the Allowable Hardship Credit in column (g). 
7/ A hardship tax credit is determined based on the percentage decrease in pari-mutuel wagering [A.R.S. § 5-111I].  Since the Turf track did not experience a decrease in pari-mutuel  
 racing for FY 2015 (see column (j)), the Turf track is ineligible to use its hardship credit; therefore column (k) has been zeroed out for the Turf track. 
   
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Table 2 (a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) (h) (i) (j) (k) (l) (m) 

Track 
Base 
Year 

Base Year 
Amount 

Tax Rate 
FY 15 Actual 

Amount 
Wagered  

FY 15 Amount 
Wagered 
Subject to 

Pari-Mutuel 
Tax 

FY 15 Pari-
Mutuel Tax 

owed 
before 

Hardship 
Credit 

FY 15 
Amount 
Wagered 

on 
Charity 

Days 

FY 15 
Allowable 
Hardship 
Credits 

FY 15 
Pari-

Mutuel 
Tax paid 

after 
Hardship 

Credit 

Carryover 
from FY 15 
Hardship 

Credit 

FY 15 
Percent 
Change 

FY 16 Tax 
due 

based on 
Percent 

Decrease 

FY 16 
Hardship 

Credit 
based on 

Prior 
Year Tax 

Rate 

FY 16 Tax 
Credit with 

FY 15 
Carryover 

      =b*d     =e-f-g =g-e =(c-a)/a =e*|j| =3*k =i+l 

Turf FY 1994 $101,467,993 2.0%
2/

 $112,123,692 $9,344,730  $186,895
2/

   $6,427
4/

              $0
5/

 $180,468   $14,564
5/

  10.50%            $0
7/

 $0  $14,564
5/

 

Rillito FY 1990  $3,887,981 2.0%
2/

  $1,197,642 $921,402    $18,428
2/

            $0  $286,405 0
6/

   $267,977  -69.20%  $12,752  $38,257  $306,234 

Apache FY 1990  $12,262,396 5.5%  $13,739,061                    $0
3/

  $0          $0   $360,850 0
6/

  $360,850  12.04% NA $0  $360,850 

Tucson FY 1990  $38,110,346 5.5%  $11,891,703 $4,550,487  $250,277           $0  $4,534,176 0
6/

  $4,283,899  -68.80% $172,190  $516,571 $4,800,470 
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IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES 
 

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2010.  There were no changes enacted to this tax in 2010 and 2013.  
 
2016 LAWS 
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 246 prohibits live dog racing in Arizona effective January 1, 2017.  A qualified live dog racing 
permit holder may still conduct advance deposit wagering and wagering at additional wagering facilities owned or 
leased by the permit holder without having live dog racing.  
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 247 eliminates the hardship tax credit effective May 13, 2016. Hardship credits earned prior to 
May 13, 2016 may still be used by racing tracks to offset pari-mutuel tax owed after this date.  
 
2015 LAWS 
 
Laws 2015, Chapter 15 merges the Arizona Department of Racing into the Arizona Department of Gaming, 
establishing a Division of Racing effective July 1, 2015. The bill transfers all administrative matters, contract, and 
judicial action to the Division of Racing, within the Department of Gaming. The Division of Racing will continue to 
collect fees for licenses and regulatory assessments relating to the racing industry.  
 
2014 LAWS 
 
Laws 2014, Chapter 277 provides various changes to the state’s racings laws.  The bill authorizes Advanced Deposit 
Wagering (ADW), which permits wagering on live and simulcast horse and dog racing either by telephone or over 
the internet.  The bill would have transferred $1.2 million to each of the Arizona Breeders’ Award Fund and to the 
County Fair Racing Fund from the Estate and Unclaimed Property Fund resulting in a $(2.4) million fiscal impact to 
the state General Fund in FY 2015.  These transfers, however, were line item vetoed by the Governor, thereby 
eliminating the $2.4 million in transfers.  That amount will continue to be deposited into the General Fund.  
 
2012 LAWS 
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 297 required that pari-mutuel taxes collected on wagering at horse and dog racing facilities be 
deposited to the Racing Regulation Fund to fund the Department of Racing’s operating budget.  Previously, these 
collections ($321,600 in FY 2011) were deposited to the General Fund.  (Effective Tax Year 2013) 
 
2011 LAWS 
 
Laws 2011, Chapter 35 repealed specific statutory racing and boxing license fees which had been deposited to the 
General Fund. The law required that the Racing Department and Boxing Commission establish and collect 
increased or new license fees and regulatory assessments for deposit in the newly-established Racing Regulation 
Fund.  The fund is subject to appropriation.  Laws 2011, Chapter 333 provided it was legislative intent that the new 
fees not exceed $1,442,000 in FY 2012 and $2,562,000 in FY 2013.  This repeal reduced General Fund revenues by 
$(1,042,000) in FY 2012 and another $(1,020,000) in FY 2013.  The FY 2012 budget also reduced the department’s 
General Fund appropriation by these same amounts so there was no net impact on the General Fund. 
 
Chapter 35 required that the Racing Department establish racing license fees, a regulatory assessment from the 
purse accounts to pay for racing animal medication testing, animal safety and welfare, a regulatory assessment 
from each permittee for each day of dark day simulcasting conducted in excess of the number of live racing days 
conducted by the permittee, and a regulatory assessment from each commercial racing permittee payable from 
amounts deducted from pari-mutuel pools by the permittee.  Hardship and capital improvement tax credits do not 
apply to these fees and assessments.  The law eliminated specific Boxing Commission fees and replaced them with 
authority for the Commission to determine fees.  (Effective Tax Year 2012) 
 
A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2010 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at 
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/16taxbk.pdf. 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/parimutueltax.pdf
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TELECOMMUNICATIONS SERVICES EXCISE TAX 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 

The state is levying 3 separate taxes on telecommunications services.  The Emergency Telecommunication Services 
Tax and the Prepaid Wireless Telecommunications E911 Excise Tax are levied for the purpose of financing 911 
emergency telephone services for political subdivisions of the state and are both deposited in the Emergency 
Telecommunication Services Revolving Fund.  The Telecommunications Provider Proceeds Tax is levied to finance 
telecommunication devices for deaf, severely hearing impaired, and severely speech impaired residents of the 
state and is deposited in the Telecommunication Fund for the Deaf.   
 

DISTRIBUTION 
 

Table 1 below provides a 20-year history of the distribution of the taxes levied on telecommunications services.  As 
noted above, the current taxes levied on telecommunications services are deposited in either the Emergency 
Telecommunication Services Revolving Fund or the Telecommunication Fund for the Deaf.  Prior to Laws 2006, 
Chapter 351, collections from the Telecommunications Provider Proceeds Tax were shared with the Poison Control 
System within the Department of Health Services (DHS), the Arizona State Schools for the Deaf and the Blind 
(ASDB), and the Teratogen Information Program administered by the University of Arizona Health Sciences Center.  
 

Table 1 
 

COLLECTIONS AND DISTRIBUTION 
 

Fiscal Year 

Emergency 
Telecomm. Svcs. 
Revolving Fund 

Telecomm. Fund 
for the Deaf 

Poison  
Control Fund 

1/
 

AZ State  
Schools for the 

Deaf & the Blind 
1/

 

Teratogen 
Information 
Program 

1/
 

 2016 $17,695,124 $4,641,805 - - - 
 2015 $17,850,677 $4,852,778 - - - 
 2014 $17,109,403 $4,865,666 - - - 
 2013 $16,425,768 $4,587,729 - - - 
 2012 $16,481,762 $4,857,379 - - - 
 2011 $16,606,135 $6,452,762 - - - 
 2010 $16,453,500 $6,086,692 - - - 
 2009 $17,774,128 $6,274,404 - - - 
 2008 $17,332,349 $6,581,940 - - - 
 2007 $23,074,167 $6,744,231 - - - 
 2006 $28,736,951 $3,860,508 $1,128,620 $ 867,140 $48,678 
 2005 $27,245,559 $4,035,765 $1,066,833 $1,363,179 $53,771 
 2004  $25,691,865 $5,091,661 $1,437,566 $1,362,312 - 
 2003 $23,510,706  $6,338,095 $2,340,528 - - 
 2002 $21,927,338  $6,395,057 $2,365,295 - - 
 2001  $11,337,064  $5,514,542 $2,039,625 - - 
 2000 $9,353,630  $4,960,224 $1,834,603 - - 
 1999 $9,266,210  $5,158,289 $1,907,860 - - 
 1998 $8,375,062  $4,908,914 $1,815,626 - - 
 1997 $6,668,099 $4,284,353 $1,584,624 - - 
____________ 
1/ Prior to Laws 2006, Chapter 351, 1.1% of the public service corporations’ gross proceeds of sales or gross income 

from wired telephone lines (i.e., Telecommunications Provider Proceeds Tax) were distributed as follows:  0.68% 
to the Telecommunication Fund for the Deaf, 0.25% to the Poison Control Fund, 0.16% to the Arizona State 
Schools for the Deaf and the Blind Telecommunications Fund, and 0.01% to the Teratogen Information Program 
Fund.    

 

SOURCE:  Department of Revenue, Annual Reports 
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WHO PAYS 
 

The Emergency Telecommunication Services Tax and Telecommunications Provider Proceeds Tax are both levied on 
the “provider.”  A “provider” is either of the following:  (1) a public service corporation that provides exchange 
access services to a local telecommunications network, (2) a supplier of wireless services, or (3) a supplier of any 
combination of wire and wireless services [A.R.S. § 42-5251].   
 

The Prepaid Wireless Telecommunications E911 Excise Tax is levied on the “seller.”  A “seller” is any business or 
person that sells prepaid wireless telecommunications service to a consumer.  Prepaid wireless telecommunications 
service is a commercial mobile radio service that is paid in advance and sold in a predetermined amount, and 
which allows the caller to dial 911 to access the emergency system [A.R.S. § 42-5401].     
 

REVENUE BASE AND RATE 
 

BASE 
 

The Emergency Telecommunication Services Tax is imposed on each activated wire and wireless service account, 
including Voice Over Internet Protocol (VoIP) [A.R.S. § 42-5252A].  
 

The Telecommunications Provider Proceeds Tax is imposed on the public service corporations’ gross proceeds of 
sales or gross income from the business of providing exchange access services [A.R.S. § 42-5252B].  Exchange 
services are essentially wired telephone or telecommunication exchange lines that provide access from the 
customer to the local telecommunications network.  This tax does not apply to wireless and VoIP.  
 

The Prepaid Wireless Telecommunications E911 Excise Tax is imposed on the seller’s gross proceeds of sales or 
gross income derived from the retail sale of prepaid wireless telecommunications services [A.R.S. § 42-5402A].   
 

RATE 
 

Emergency Telecommunication Services.  Beginning in FY 2008, the monthly rate is 20¢ per activated wire and 
wireless service account.  The corresponding rate was 28¢ in FY 2007, and 37¢ in the period from FY 2001 through 
FY 2006 [A.R.S. § 42-5252A]. 
 

Telecommunications Provider Proceeds.  An amount equal to 1.1% of the public service corporations’ monthly 
gross proceeds of sales or gross income from wired telephone lines [A.R.S. § 42-5252B].   
 

Prepaid Wireless Telecommunications E911.  Beginning January 1, 2014, an amount of 0.8% of the monthly gross 
proceeds of sales or gross income derived from the retail sale of prepaid wireless telecommunications services 
[A.R.S. § 42-5402A]. 
 

PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 

Each provider remits the tax monthly to the Department of Revenue in the same manner and time as the 
Transaction Privilege Tax (TPT).  The seller of prepaid wireless telecommunications services is allowed to retain 3% 
of the amount of tax collected before remitting the tax to the department [A.R.S. § 42-5402B].  
 

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES 
 

The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2010.  There were no changes enacted to this revenue category in 2010, 2011, and 2013 through 2016.  
 

2012 LAWS 
 

Laws 2012, Chapter 198 established the prepaid wireless telecommunications 911 excise tax.  The tax is equal to 
0.8% of the gross income derived from the retail sale of prepaid wireless telecommunications services.  The 
revenue generated from the tax will be deposited in the Emergency Telecommunications Services Revolving Fund.   
 

A listing of tax law changes prior to the 2010 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at 
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/16taxbk.pdf.  

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/telecom.pdf
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UNDERGROUND STORAGE TANK TAX 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The tax applies to gasoline, diesel fuel, and aviation fuel.  The tax finances the Underground Storage Tank (UST) 
Revolving Fund to provide partial coverage for corrective action costs incurred by the Department of 
Environmental Quality (DEQ), owners, operators, or political subdivisions.  This 1¢ excise tax on petroleum 
products and hazardous substances became effective July 1, 1990.  The tax is deposited in the UST Revolving Fund, 
which finances leak prevention programs and corrective action costs related to leaking underground storage tanks 
incurred by the department, owners, operators, or political subdivisions.   
 
Laws 2015, Chapter 247 established a newly-revised corrective action program and extended the 1¢ excise tax to 
January 1, 2024, on which date the tax will be repealed.  The bill repealed the following:  the State Assurance 
Account (SAF), the Regulated Substances Fund (RSF), the Grant Account, the UST Policy Commission, and the UST 
Technical Appeals Panel.  UST Revolving Fund’s allowable uses were redefined, and all unexpended and 
unencumbered monies from these accounts were transferred to the reorganized UST Revolving Fund.  
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
The Director of the Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT) acts as the collecting agent for the Director of 
DEQ and is required, by the 20

th
 day of each month, to distribute the UST Tax monies, net of administrative costs 

received during the preceding calendar month, to the Director of DEQ [A.R.S. § 28-6001].  The tax monies are then 
credited into the UST Revolving Fund [A.R.S. § 49-1036].  (This statute related to the remission and disposition of 
revenues was modified by Laws 2015, Chapter 247.)  
 
Laws 2004, Chapter 273 repealed the UST Program and the associated 1¢ excise tax no later than December 31, 
2013, and created the Regulated Substance Fund (RSF) as a funding source for corrective action.  Laws 2013, 
Chapter 244 extended the UST tax to December 31, 2015.  The monies from the underground storage tank account 
were transferred into the RSF.  The law established that, after the transfer of $60.0 million to the RSF, any amounts 
in excess of $60.0 million were to be deposited in the State Highway Fund (SHF).  During FY 2014, the RSF reached 
$60.0 million in deposits.  Monies deposited to the RSF in excess of $60.0 million were transferred to the State 
Highway Fund (SHF).  Laws 2014, Chapter 14 eliminated the transfer of monies to the SHF effective January 1, 
2015.  A total of $27.7 million was transferred to the SHF before the transfer was eliminated.  Laws 2015, Chapter 
247 extended the 1¢ excise tax to January 1, 2024.   
 
Regulated Substance Fund.  Tax monies in this account were transferred to the UST Revolving Fund at the 
beginning of FY 2016 in accordance with Laws 2015, Chapter 247.  
 
Assurance Account.  Tax monies in this account were transferred to the UST Revolving Fund at the beginning of FY 
2016 in accordance with Laws 2015, Chapter 247.  
 
UST Revolving Fund.  Tax monies in this account can be used in the following manner [A.R.S. § 49-1015]:   
 

 Reimbursement for corrective action costs incurred by a political subdivision or an owner or an operator of an 
underground storage tank which is subject to the tax [A.R.S. § 49-1053].   

 Provide grant monies. [A.R.S. § 49-1071].   

 Reimburse DEQ for costs in taking corrective actions [A.R.S. § 49-1017].   

 Reimburse DEQ for "reasonable" administration costs [A.R.S. § 49-1015].   
 
(For more information, please see the Impact of Statutory Changes section under Laws 2015, Chapter 247.) 
 
Reimbursable Costs.  The UST Revolving Fund may be used to reimburse costs of corrective actions incurred in soil 
and groundwater remediation.  Corrective action cost reimbursements are limited to releases reported prior to 
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January 1, 2023.  Applications for preapproval must be submitted no later than December 31, 2029 and 
reimbursement of eligible costs must be submitted no later than December 31, 2030.   
 

Table 1 

COLLECTIONS 
    

Fiscal Year Net Collections Fiscal Year Net Collections 
2016 $31,796,946 2006 $36,174,100 
2015 $29,853,233 2005 $30,759,200 
2014 $28,579,676 2004 $28,090,000 
2013       $29,023,072     2003 $27,769,100 
2012 $28,233,058 2002 $27,819,100 
2011 $28,644,426 2001 $30,025,500 
2010 $28,703,900 2000 $28,963,800 
2009 $28,652,200 1999 $27,761,100 
2008 $31,581,700 1998 $26,829,600 
2007 $32,092,000 1997 $23,056,300 

 
SOURCE:  Department of Environmental Quality 

 
WHO PAYS  
 
The operator and owner of an underground storage tank, which serves as the final dispenser of motor vehicle fuel, 
aviation fuel, and diesel, is responsible for payment of this tax.  Underground storage tank means tank(s) used to 
contain vehicle fuel, aviation fuel, and diesel with at least 10% of its volume underground [A.R.S. § 49-1001 and 49-
1031B].  (A.R.S. 49-1031B related to the imposition of the UST tax is extended to January 1, 2024 by Laws 2015, 
Chapter 247.) 
 
Excluded are: 
 
1) non-commercial types of tanks  
2) certain regulated pipeline facilities  
3) tanks owned and operated by Indian tribes 
4) septic tanks or wastewater collection systems 
5) surface water impoundment pit 
6) tanks situated on the floor of an underground area such as a basement. 
 
A separate license is not required for payment of this tax [A.R.S. § 28-6003B]. 
 
REVENUE BASE AND RATE 
 
The tax rate is 1¢ per gallon of regulated substance placed in a tank in any calendar year [A.R.S. § 49-1031] through 
January 1, 2024.   
 
“Regulated substance” means petroleum or a substance defined in the Comprehensive Environmental Response 
Compensation and Liability Act (CERCLA) of 1980, not including a substance regulated as hazardous waste under 
the Solid Waste Disposal Act of 1984 [A.R.S. § 49-1001]. 
 
The tax does not apply to (1) underground storage tanks operated by the Federal or State Government or (2) USTs 
used for jet fuel [A.R.S. § 49-1031C].  Indian tribes are also exempt but through an intergovernmental agreement 
may participate in the new programs by paying the UST Tax [A.R.S. § 49-1057].   
 
Additional Fees.  Owners and operators subject to the UST Tax shall pay an annual registration fee of $100 for each 
tank [A.R.S. § 49-1020]. 
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PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
The tax is due and payable annually by March 31 for the proceeding calendar year and is delinquent if not 
postmarked or delivered in person by that same date.  A return is required to be filed at this time [A.R.S. § 49-
1032]. 
 
But most taxpayers make periodic payments to ADOT at the same time and manner as the Motor Vehicle Fuel Tax.  
This refers to those distributions of products that ADOT normally collects for, such as gasoline, aviation fuel, and 
diesel oxygenated fuel.  The Director of DEQ may extend the filing time for "good cause" provided that at least 90% 
of the tax liability is paid upon the extension request [A.R.S. § 49-1033].   
 
IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2010.  
 
2016 LAWS 
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 120 clarifies that the Underground Storage Tank Revolving Fund shall continue to retain its 
interest earnings rather than deposit them into the General Fund.  This provision had been inadvertently changed 
in Laws 2015, Chapter 247. 
 

2015 LAWS 
 
Laws 2015, Chapter 247 suspends the administrative cap established in A.R.S. § 49-1051 for FY 2016 and 
authorizes DEQ to transfer up to $6,531,000 from the UST Revolving Fund for administrative costs. 
 
Laws 2015, Chapter 247 includes the following provisions: 
 

 Amends Laws 2013, Chapter 244 to extend the UST tax to January 1, 2024. 

 Amends Laws 2014, Chapter 14 to establish a newly-revised corrective action program. 

 Repeals the State Assurance Account (SAF), the Regulated Substances Fund (RSF), the Grant Account, the UST 
Policy Commission, and the UST Technical Appeals Panel.   

 Reorganizes the UST Revolving Fund, redefines its allowable uses, and transfers all the unencumbered, 
unexpended monies from abolished funds and accounts to the reorganized UST Revolving Fund. 

 Establishes a 7-year baseline period beginning January 1, 2016 and requires DEQ to establish standards for 
conducting a baseline assessment.  

 Allows UST owners and operators to request grants of up to $100,000 per facility for the cost of a baseline 
assessment and other non-corrective actions specified in Laws 2015, Chapter 247. 

 Establishes a new preapproval process, which will allow DEQ to reimburse certain owners and operators that 
implement preapproved corrective action with monies from the UST Revolving Fund.  

 Limits preapproved corrective action cost reimbursements to releases reported prior to January 1, 2023. 

 Establishes reimbursement mechanisms for previously time-barred claims for releases reported by certain 
dates. 

 Limits reimbursement for previously time-barred claims to $500,000 per facility for applicants using a financial 
responsibility (FR) mechanism other than insurance and $1.0 million per faculty for applicants using insurance 
as an FR mechanism.  

 Provides eligibility for preapproved corrective action reimbursement for certain owners and operators 
through a cost sharing obligation payment of the first $50,000 per facility for work conducted beginning 
January 1, 2016.  

 Removes the requirement for the Director of DEQ to submit an annual recommendation to the Legislature 
regarding any revision to the tax rate necessary to maintain the fund and, instead, requires DEQ to compile 
and submit a report on the status of the UST program by December 31, 2017 and every 3 years thereafter.  

 Transfers statutes related to intergovernmental agreements with Indian tribes. 
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 Makes technical and conforming changes to statute. 
 
2014 LAWS 
 
Laws 2014, 1

st
 Special Session, Chapter 13 suspends the administrative cap established in A.R.S. § 49-1051B2 and 

B3 for FY 2015 and authorizes DEQ to transfer a combined $6,531,000 from the Assurance Account of the UST 
Revolving Fund and the RSF for administrative costs.   
 
Laws 2014, Chapter 14 includes the following provisions: 
 

 Amends Laws 2013, Chapter 244 and eliminates the transfer of monies to the State Highway Fund effective 
January 1, 2015.  After that date, any deposits will remain in the UST Assurance Account. (This provision was 
later amended by Laws 2015, Chapter 247, which abolished the UST Assurance Account and transferred all 
monies to the UST Revolving Fund.) 

 Repeals the previous Laws 2013, Chapter 244 provision extending eligibility for corrective action coverage 
from the UST Assurance Account for releases that could not have been reasonably reported prior to July 1, 
2006.  (This provision was later amended by Laws 2015, Chapter 247 extending corrective action coverage.) 

 Changes the provision from Laws 2013, Chapter 244 that the department is not required to take any action 
until after the committee report to when a new revised UST corrective action program is effective. 

 Extends “stop order” authority on delivery of regulated substance to an underground storage tank if owner 
has not submitted a statement of financial responsibility. 

 Offered a legislative intent statement that the UST account monies be used to fund a new and revised 
corrective action program and the existing UST Leak Prevention Program.   

     
Laws 2014, Chapter 247 amended Laws 2014, Chapter 14 which offered legislative intent statement about the UST 
account monies being used to fund a new and revised corrective action program to include provisions stating that 
DEQ must allow an owner or operator an opportunity to demonstrate to DEQ that state and federal responsibility 
requirements are already being met as an alternative to possible mechanisms proposed in the legislative intent 
statement. 
 
2013 LAWS 
 
Laws 2013, 1

st
 Special Session, Chapter 4 suspends the administrative cap established in A.R.S. § 49-1051B2 and 

B3 for FY 2014 and authorizes DEQ to transfer a combined $6,531,000 from the Assurance Account of the UST 
Revolving Fund and the RSF for administrative costs.   
 
Laws 2013, Chapter 244 includes the following provisions:   
 

 Extended the UST tax to December 31, 2015 from December 31, 2013.  (This provision was later amended by 
Laws 2015, Chapter 247 to extend the UST tax to January 1, 2024.) 

 Reinstated the eligibility for corrective action for those releases that could not have been reasonably reported 
before July 1, 2006.  (This provision was later amended by Laws 2015, Chapter 247 to also include releases 
reported on or after July 1, 2006 through January 1, 2016.) 

 Established an UST Study Committee to consider and make recommendations in a report related to funding 
the UST program.  The committee is required to report by December 31, 2013, and the legislation repeals the 
committee on February 28, 2014. 

 Extended eligibility for assistance with corrective action for releases that could not have been reasonably 
reported before July 1, 2006, and an owner or operator can apply for preapproval of corrective action costs 
until December 31, 2014 or reimbursement for corrective action until December 31, 2015.  (This provision was 
subsequently repealed by Laws 2014, Chapter 14 as amended by Laws 2015, Chapter 247.) 

 Allows an owner or operator of an UST to apply for preapproval of corrective action costs until December 31, 
2014, and extends reimbursement for corrective action until December 31, 2015.  (This provision was later 
modified by Laws 2015, Chapter 247 by extending the application deadline for preapproval to December 31, 
2019 and extending reimbursement for corrective action until December 31, 2030.) 
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 DEQ is not required to take action on any application of coverage until the committee releases its findings.  
Reimbursement is contingent upon available funding.  (This provision was later amended by Laws 2014, 
Chapter 14 to state that the department is not required to take action until a new revised UST corrective 
action program is in effect.) 

 If the UST Assurance Account does not have sufficient monies to pay for coverage of releases reported after 
July 1, 2006, priority will be given to those releases reported before July 1, 2006.  (This provision was 
subsequently repealed by Laws 2014, Chapter 14.) 

 After payment of claims, the legislation requires the department to transfer any monies remaining in the 
Assurance Account to the RSF up to a maximum of $60.0 million, and any amounts in excess of $60.0 million 
will be deposited to the State Highway Fund.  (The transfer to the SHF ended on January 1, 2015 as described 
in the distribution section.  Laws 2015, Chapter 247 abolishes the RSF and transfers the monies in the fund to 
the UST Revolving Fund.) 

 
2012 LAWS 
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 303 suspended the administrative cap established in A.R.S. § 49-1051B2 and B3 for FY 2013 
and DEQ may transfer a combined $6,531,000 from the Assurance Account of the UST Revolving Fund and the RSF 
for administrative costs of the UST Leak Prevention Program and funding for the Used Oil Program. 
 
2011 LAWS 
 
Laws 2011, Chapter 36 suspended the administrative cap established in A.R.S. § 49-1051B2 and B3 for FY 2012 and 
DEQ may transfer $6,531,000 from the Assurance Account of the UST Revolving Fund for administrative costs of 
the UST Leak Prevention Program and funding for the Used Oil Program. 
 
2010 LAWS 
 
Laws 2010, 7

th
 Special Session, Chapter 7 suspended the administrative cap established in A.R.S. § 49-1051B2 and 

B3 for FY 2011 and DEQ may transfer $6,531,000 from the Assurance Account of the UST Revolving Fund for 
administrative costs of the UST Leak Prevention Program and funding for the Used Oil Program. 
 
A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2010 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at 
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/16taxbk.pdf. 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/understoragetk.pdf
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UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE TAX  
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
Employers are required to pay both federal and state unemployment insurance taxes.  Each employer is required 
to make contributions based on wages paid for employment, the employer’s history of benefit charges, and the 
solvency of the statewide unemployment insurance system.  These contributions are used to pay benefits to 
unemployed persons. 
 
In summary, an employer is paying the following taxes and assessment on the first $7,000 of an employee’s wages 
each for CY 2016: 

 a base state unemployment tax of between 0.02% and 5.4% (with an average of 2.4%). 

 a net FUTA rate of 0.6% 
 
The base state unemployment insurance rate is between 0.02% and 5.4% of the first $7,000 of each employee’s 
wages each calendar year (CY), depending on the solvency of an employer’s unemployment insurance account.  
These rates may be further adjusted depending on the solvency of the state’s overall unemployment insurance 
system.  The average state unemployment insurance rate is 2.4% in CY 2016. 
 
The state unemployment insurance taxes fund 26 weeks of benefits at a maximum of $240 per week.  During 
periods of high unemployment the state tax may not generate sufficient revenue to fund all 26 weeks of benefits.  
The state can then borrow funds from the federal government to cover its cost, as Arizona did in 2010.   
 
The Federal Emergency Unemployment Compensation (EUC) Program ended on December 28, 2013.  The program 
had provided 100% federal funding for emergency benefits for an additional 37 weeks, as long as the state’s 3-
month average unemployment rate was at least 7%.   
 
In addition, an employer pays a net unemployment tax of 0.6% of the first $7,000 of each employee’s wages in CY 
2016.  Arizona employers who pay their state taxes on time receive a tax credit equal to 5.4% on the standard 
federal unemployment tax (FUTA) rate of 6.0% for a net rate of 0.6%.  In CY 2011, the FUTA rate was 6.2% on the 
first $7,000 of wages, but was offset by a 5.4% credit for a net tax rate of 0.8% in states with programs that 
conform to federal standards.  Beginning July 1, 2011, the FUTA rate returned to the prior rate of 6.0% for a net tax 
rate of 0.6%.  The state, however, was unable to repay all outstanding federal loans by November 10, 2012, 
resulting in a 0.3% FUTA tax increase for CY 2012, or an additional UI tax against employers of $21 per employee.  
Laws 2013, Chapter 204 allowed the Department of Economic Security (DES) to issue up to $200 million in tax 
anticipation notes to repay its federal loan.  By doing so, the state avoided (a) the continuation of the 0.3% FUTA 
rate increase from CY 2012 and (b) an additional 0.3% FUTA rate increase in CY 2014, resulting in a combined 
(0.6)% FUTA rate savings of $42 per employee in CY 2014.  As of May 2015, the state had repaid all federal 
borrowing for the payment of unemployment insurance benefits.   
 
FUTA funds are deposited into 3 federal accounts.  The first, the Employment Security Administration Account 
(ESAA), supports state program administration for the Unemployment Insurance program and the Employment 
Service program.  The second, the Extended Unemployment Compensation Account (EUCA), provides the funds for 
the 50% share of the Extended Benefits program; the other 50% share is from the state’s Unemployment 
Compensation Fund.  The third, the Federal Unemployment Account (FUA), provides a loan fund for state 
unemployment programs in distress to ensure a continued flow of benefits. 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Contributions are deposited in the Unemployment Compensation Fund and are used for the benefit of persons 
unemployed through no fault of their own [A.R.S. § 23-701]. 
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WHO PAYS 
 

The unemployment insurance tax is paid by Arizona employers [A.R.S. § 23-726].   
 

The following employing units are excluded from the definition of employer and are, therefore, not subject to the 
unemployment insurance tax (for definition of employer and employing unit, see A.R.S. § 23-613): 
 

(1) Any employing unit that has not employed at least 1 individual for some portion of a day in each of 20 
different calendar weeks during the current or preceding calendar year, and has not paid $1,500 or more in 
wages in any calendar quarter of the current or preceding calendar year.  This exclusion does not apply to an 
employer of the following services: 
(a) Services performed in the employ of this state or any of its instrumentalities, any political subdivisions of 

this state and their instrumentalities, or any combination of these employing units with each other or with 

Table 1 
 

COLLECTIONS 
 

 
 

Fiscal Year 

Average State 
Contribution 

Rate 
1/

 

 
Total  

Collections 

Unemployment 
Tax 

Contributions 

Reimbursement  
Payments in  
Lieu of Tax 

2/
 

 
Federal  

Reimbursements 
 

 2016 2.40% $483,885,156 
3/

 $463,819,390 $15,826,137 $4,239,629 
3/

 
 2015 2.40% $711,205,617 $440,950,664 $18,962,246 $251,292,706 
 2014 2.40% $918,177,420 $431,452,278 $22,607,013 $464,118,129 
 2013 2.40% $1,101,706,097 

5/
 $415,808,516 $26,457,982 $659,439,599 

7/
 

 2012 2.90% 
4/

 $1,485,462,876 
5/

 $391,350,470 $37,569,725 $1,056,542,680 
7/

 
 2011 2.64% 

4/
 $2,257,212,580 

6/
 $354,688,388 $50,022,678 $1,852,501,515 

8/
 

 2010 2.08% $1,755,552,142 
6/

 $277,863,738 $52,537,283 $1,425,151,121 
8/

 
 2009 1.36% $587,359,403 $246,091,332 $21,889,172 $319,378,899 

8/
 

 2008 1.39% $301,561,384 $282,038,804 $14,111,465 $5,411,115 
 2007 1.52% $324,836,608 $304,835,124 $13,736,790 $6,264,694 
 2006 1.48% $311,615,055 $288,389,906 $16,099,858 $7,125,290 
 2005 1.43% $254,702,773 $228,222,848 $18,269,674 $8,210,251 
 2004 1.01% $239,618,898 $162,309,395 $20,411,672 $56,897,831 
 2003 0.80% $228,540,796 $135,055,266 $16,718,797 $76,766,733 
 2002 0.80% $185,776,445 $137,021,529 $11,142,567 $37,612,349 
 2001 0.82% $173,555,672 $161,067,162 $6,967,171 $5,521,339 
 2000 1.02% $164,634,552 $153,057,470 $6,880,773 $4,696,309 
 1999 1.05% $187,458,343 $175,626,310 $7,138,106 $4,693,927 
 1998 1.27% $212,383,380 $199,086,932 $8,009,523 $5,286,925 
 1997 1.50% $221,693,418 $206,596,749 $8,137,939 $6,958,730 

__________      
1/    Contribution rates are based on calendar years.  Represents effective average contribution rate after accounting for all adjustments. 
2/ Certain non-profit organizations, the state government and its political subdivisions may elect to make payments in lieu of contributions equal 

to the regular benefits and one-half of the extended benefits paid [A.R.S. § 23-750]. 
3/ The Unemployment Insurance Title XII Loan was paid off on 05/01/2015.  
4/ Rate includes a special assessment of 0.4% in CY 2011 and 0.5% in CY 2012 according to Laws 2011, Chapter 218 to pay down the state’s 

federal loan balance. 
5/ Includes funds received from the federal government for borrowing and emergency unemployment. 
6/ Includes funds received from the federal government for borrowing, emergency unemployment, extended benefits, and the Reed Act. 
7/ In FY 2012 - FY 2013, Federal Reimbursements include extensions of benefits authorized by the Emergency Unemployment Compensation 

program enacted in the federal Supplemental Appropriations Act of 2008, as well as additional extensions authorized by the Unemployment 
Compensation Extension Act of 2008, by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (ARRA), and most recently by the American 
Taxpayer Relief Act of 2012.  All of these benefit extensions and increases are federally funded.  In addition, these funds include monies 
received from the federal loan.   

8/ In FY 2009 - FY 2011, the Federal Reimbursements include extensions of benefits authorized by the Emergency Unemployment Compensation 
program enacted in the federal Supplemental Appropriations Act of 2008, as well as additional extensions authorized by both the 
Unemployment Compensation Extension Act of 2008 and the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (ARRA) and a benefit increase 
also authorized by ARRA.  All of these benefits extensions and increases are federally funded.  In addition, these funds include monies 
received from the federal loan and the Reed Act. 

 

SOURCE:  Department of Economic Security 
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similar employing units in other states. 
(b) Services performed for an employing unit that volunteer for coverage. 
(c) Services that are subject to the Federal Unemployment Tax, when a credit may be taken against the 

federal tax for amounts paid into the State Unemployment Compensation Fund. 
(d) Services performed for an employing unit that acquires the business of a covered employer. 

(2) Any employing unit that has not employed at least 10 individuals in each of 20 calendar weeks during the 
current or preceding calendar year and has not paid $20,000 or more in wages in any calendar quarter of the 
current or preceding calendar year for agriculture employment. 

(3) An employing unit that has not paid $1,000 or more in wages in any calendar quarter of the current or 
preceding calendar year for domestic service in a private home, local college club, or local chapter of a college 
fraternity or sorority. 

(4) An employer that has a combined Unemployment Compensation Fund contribution, Unemployment Special 
Assessment Fund contribution, and Arizona Job Training Fund contribution amount of less than $10 due in a 
quarter. 

 

NOTE:  Employers, once covered by unemployment insurance, are not permitted to terminate coverage simply 
by virtue of this exemption [A.R.S. § 23-725]. 

 
REVENUE BASE 
 
The revenue base is the wages from employment.  The unemployment insurance tax is levied on the first $7,000 of 
wages paid by an employer to each employee during a calendar year.  Wages mean remunerations for services 
from whatever source including commissions, bonuses, fringe benefits, and the cash value of remuneration in any 
medium other than cash [A.R.S. § 23-622].  (Exclusions from the statutory definition of wages are provided in 
A.R.S. § 23-622B.) 
 

A.R.S. § 23-615 and § 23-617 list the services not included in the definition of employment. 
 
RATE 
 
State Base Rate 
The maximum base rate of contribution is 5.40% of the wages paid by the employer during each calendar year 
[A.R.S. § 23-728].   
 

An employer, whose account has not been chargeable with benefits during the 12 consecutive calendar month 
period ending June 30 of the preceding calendar year, pays a contribution rate of 2.0% [A.R.S. § 23-729]. 
 

If the employer's account has been subject to charges for benefits, the maximum rate is adjusted downward 
depending on the employer's reserve, which is the contributions received from the employer minus benefits 
charged [A.R.S. § 23-730]: 
 

(1) If the employer's total contributions paid on or before July 31 of the preceding calendar year equals or 
exceeds the total benefits chargeable to the employer's account prior to July 1 of the preceding calendar year, 
the contribution rate for the ensuing calendar year is determined by the employer's Positive Reserve Ratio.  
An employer's reserve ratio is the percentage that results from dividing the employer’s reserve surplus (the 
excess of contributions paid to the Unemployment Fund over benefits charged to the employer's account) by 
the employer's average annual payroll.  The new contribution rate is determined from the Positive Reserve 
Ratio as shown in Table 2 on the next page: 
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Table 2 
 

EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION RATES  
POSITIVE RESERVE RATIO  

   

Positive Reserve Ratio Base Statutory Rate 2016 Adjusted Rate 
1/

 
less than 3% 

2/
 2.60% 4.29% 

3% to 4% 2.40% 3.96% 
4% to 5% 2.15% 3.55% 
5% to 6% 1.90% 3.14% 
6% to 7% 1.65% 2.72% 
7% to 8% 1.40% 2.31% 
8% to 9% 1.15% 1.90% 

9% to 10% 0.90% 1.49% 
10% to 11% 0.65% 1.07% 
11% to 12% 0.40% 0.66% 
12% to 13% 0.15% 0.25% 

13% or more 0.02% 0.03% 
__________ 

  

1/   Base rate adjusted to account for overall system solvency. 
2/   At 0%, the Base Statutory Rate is 0%.  

 
(2) If an employer's reserve equals zero, the adjusted contribution rate for the ensuing calendar year shall be 

4.46%.  If an employer has a negative reserve ratio, the contribution rate is displayed in Table 3. 
 

Table 3 
 

EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION RATES  
NEGATIVE RESERVE RATIO  

 

Negative Reserve Ratio Base Statutory Rate 2016 Adjusted Rate 
1/

 
less than 3% 2.85% 4.70% 

3% to 4% 3.05% 5.03% 
4% to 5% 3.30% 5.45% 
5% to 6% 3.55% 5.86% 
6% to 7% 3.80% 6.27% 
7% to 8% 4.05% 6.68% 
8% to 9% 4.30% 7.10% 

9% to 10% 4.55% 7.51% 
10% to 11% 4.80% 7.92% 
11% to 12% 5.05% 8.33% 
12% to 13% 5.30% 8.75% 

13% or more 5.40% 8.91% 

__________   

1/   Base rate adjusted to account for overall system solvency. 

 
State Adjusted Rate 
Employer contribution rates may be further adjusted depending on the level of overall assets in the 
Unemployment Compensation Fund [A.R.S. § 23-730].  The ratio of total assets of such fund on July 31 to the total 
taxable payrolls for the preceding year is designated as the Fund Ratio and is used to determine the systemwide 
Required Income Rate in accordance with Table 4.  The required income rate will be used in a calculation to 
determine whether the employer contribution rates need to be adjusted.   
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Table 4  
  

Fund Ratio Required Income Rate 
12.0% or more 0.40% 
10.0% to 12.0% 0.50% 
9.5% to 10.0% 0.60% 
9.0% to 9.5% 0.70% 
8.5% to 9.0% 0.80% 
8.0% to 8.5% 0.90% 
7.5% to 8.0% 1.00% 
7.0% to 7.5% 1.10% 
6.5% to 7.0% 1.20% 
6.0% to 6.5% 1.30% 
5.5% to 6.0% 1.40% 
5.0% to 5.5% 1.50% 
4.5% to 5.0% 1.70% 
4.0% to 4.5% 1.80% 
3.5% to 4.0% 2.00% 
3.0% to 3.5% 2.20% 

less than 3.0% 2.40% 

 
At the beginning of each year the department computes the Estimated Required Tax Yield from employers.  This is 
the product of the total taxable payrolls for the preceding year multiplied by the Required Income Rate as 
determined from the Fund Ratio.  The contribution rates are adjusted proportionately if the Estimated Required 
Tax Yield differs from the amount that would be collected using the contribution rates determined from the 
employer's Reserve Ratio.  An employer's final rate of contribution is never less than 0.02% [A.R.S. § 23-730]. 
 
In addition, A.R.S. § 23-730.02 reduces the Required Income Rate for the Unemployment Insurance Compensation 
Fund, which is a component in determining employers’ tax rates as shown in Table 4.  Effective January 1, 2001 
through June 30, 2012, the rate was reduced by 0.1% if the FUTA rate was greater than 6.0%.  Beginning July 1, 
2011, the FUTA rate declined from 6.2% to 6.0%.  As a result, the 0.1% reduction to the Required Income Rate was 
eliminated beginning July 1, 2011.  However, effective August 2, 2012, Laws 2012, Chapter 162 amended A.R.S. § 
23-730.02 to change the 0.1% Required Income Rate reduction elimination trigger to a FUTA rate that is less than 
6.0%.  Because contributions are paid by employers on a quarterly basis, the 0.1% reduction to the Required 
Income Rate was restored administratively as of the beginning of the third quarter of 2012 (July 1, 2012). 
 
Sample State Rate Calculation 
An employer who has benefit charges in the past year with total contributions in excess of total benefits charged 
and a positive reserve ratio of less than 3% would have a base statutory rate of 2.6% as identified in Positive 
Reserve Ratio in Table 2.  This rate is then adjusted further based upon a series of calculations beginning with the 
determination of the fund ratio.  Assuming a hypothetical Unemployment Compensation Fund balance of $1.2 
million and state taxable payroll of $16 billion, the fund ratio would be 0.0075%.  In accordance with Table 4, the 
Required Income Rate would be 2.4%.  The rate is further reduced by 0.1% as a result of Laws 2012, Chapter 162.  
(This 0.1% reduction will be eliminated if the FUTA rate becomes less than 6.0%.)  As a result, this rate is 2.3%.  
When applied against the state taxable payroll, the estimated required tax yield would be $368 million, which is 
then adjusted down by any interest.  Assuming $800,000 of interest, the adjusted required tax yield would be 
$367.2 million.   
 
The next calculation determines whether the actual tax rates will generate the required tax yield (of $367.2 
million).  If not, then the base rate needs to be adjusted.  As part of the calculation, the aggregate taxable payroll 
within each ratio group is multiplied by its unadjusted tax rate to arrive at the unadjusted yield for each ratio 
group; then all the unadjusted yields for each ratio group are added together to arrive at the total unadjusted 
yield.  Assuming a $339 million unadjusted yield and $17 million of non-adjustable yield, the net adjusted yield 
would be $322 million ($339 million - $17 million), and the net adjusted required tax yield would be $350.2 million 
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($367.2 million - $17 million).  The $350.2 million is divided by the $322 million to derive a hypothetical adjustment 
factor of 1.0875.   
 
The contribution rate within each reserve ratio group is multiplied by the adjustment factor to arrive at the 
adjusted contribution rate for the year.  In this example, the final adjusted contribution rate for the year would be 
2.8% (2.6% X 1.0875) for employers within that reserve ratio group as shown in Table 2.  However, this rate may be 
further adjusted if the state has an outstanding loan balance and the legislature has authorized an additional 
assessment.   
 
Special Assessment  
The weak labor market has increased the amount of claims against Arizona’s Unemployment Compensation Fund.  
Arizona is one of 33 states that borrowed from the U.S. Department of Labor to fund unemployment benefits.  To 
pay off the federal loan and moderate the loss of the FUTA credit, the state established a special assessment for CY 
2011 and CY 2012 only.  The maximum allowable assessment was 0.8% (see Laws 2011, Chapter 218). The 
assessment was set at 0.5% in CY 2012, which was the final year of the assessment.   
 
Statewide Effective Rate 
After adjusting for all of these factors, the average effective state rate is approximately 2.4% in CY 2016 
 
Federal Rate 
In FY 2011, FUTA was 6.2% on the first $7,000 of wages, but was offset by a 5.4% credit for a net tax rate of 0.8% in 
states with programs that conform to federal standards.  Beginning July 1, 2011, the FUTA rate declined to 6.0% for 
a net tax rate of 0.6%.  FUTA funds are deposited into 3 federal accounts which support state program 
administration, the Extended Benefits program, and the loan fund for state unemployment programs in distress. 
 
Arizona had to borrow money to pay its share of the 26 weeks of benefits.  The state was unable to repay its loan 
and had a negative federal account balance in January 2011 and January 2012.  Under federal law, it was required 
to repay the federal loan by no later than November 10, 2012 or have its FUTA credit reduced.  Since the state was 
unable to repay the federal UI loan before November 10, 2012, the FUTA tax rate credit was reduced by 0.3% in CY 
2012 and CY 2013.  This reduction effectively increased employers’ net federal tax rate from 0.6% to 0.9%.  The 
state did not have a federal UI loan balance on January 1, 2014 so the net federal tax rate returned to 0.6% in CY 
2014.    
 
Relationship with Job Training Employer Tax 
Pursuant to Laws 2000, Chapter 383, the state began levying a new tax referred to as the Job Training Employer 
Tax as of January 1, 2001.  This tax is imposed on each employer in the state at 0.1% of taxable wages.  However, 
through a variety of exemptions, several categories of employers are excluded. Four of these exemptions are tied 
to the level of FUTA taxes. Effective January 1, 2001 through June 30, 2012, if the FUTA rate declined to 6.0% or 
less, as occurred on July 1, 2011 when the FUTA rate declined to 6.0%, the law provided for these exemptions to 
be eliminated and the exempted employers would have to start paying the tax.  However, effective August 2, 2012, 
Laws 2012, Chapter 162 amended A.R.S. § 23-730.02 to change the exemptions elimination trigger to a FUTA rate 
that is less than 6.0%.  Because contributions are paid by employers on a quarterly basis, the exemptions were 
restored administratively as of the beginning of the third quarter of 2012 (July 1, 2012).  The tax is collected by DES 
and deposited in the Arizona Job Training Fund (for more information, see separate description under the Job 
Training Employer Tax section). 
 
Laws 2015, Chapter 10 repealed the Job Training Employer Tax effective January 1, 2016. 
 
Combined State and Federal Rate 
The average combined state and federal rate is 3.0%, consisting of an average base state unemployment tax of 
2.4%, and a net FUTA rate of 0.6%. 
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PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 

Contributions are paid by employers on a quarterly basis with due dates determined by DES [A.R.S. § 23-723].  The 
department serves as the collecting agency for state unemployment taxes and special assessments [A.R.S. § 23-
726A]. 
 

IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2010. 
 
There were no changes enacted to this tax in 2014.  
 
2016 LAWS 
 
Laws 2016, Chapter 185 repeals A.R.S. § 23-765, which increased the contribution rates for employers who 
participate in the Shared Work Program.  It also restored the exemption for unemployment insurance 
contributions if the quarterly amount owed is less than $10.  
 
2015 LAWS 
 
Laws 2015, Chapter 211 requires DES to notify an unemployment insurance benefit claimant’s most recent 
employing unit or employer when an initial claim for benefits has been filed, and also specifies that a notice be 
sent to all base-period employers when a claimant files a payable continued claim.   
 
2013 LAWS 
 
Laws 2013, Chapter 17 requires an individual filing an UI benefit claim to provide sufficient documentation of the 
individual’s eligibility for benefits to DES.  If an employer provides documentation that an individual either 
voluntarily resigned from employment or abandoned the individual’s employment, the burden of providing 
documentation to determine an individual’s eligibility for benefits shifts to the individual.     
 
In the event of UI fraud, an individual is prohibited from receiving UI benefits until all overpayments are fully 
repaid to DES.  This language adds the requirement that penalties and interest from fraud also be paid prior to 
receiving UI benefits.   
 
Laws 2013, Chapter 18 excludes certain sports officials from the definition of employee for UI tax purposes. 
 
Laws 2013, Chapter 204 allows the director of DES to issue UI tax anticipation notes, up to $200 million.  These 
notes will repay the federal UI loan, pay UI benefits during FY 2014, and pay note-related expenses.  The language 
also transfers all remaining monies from the UI Special Assessment to the UI Special Assessment Proceeds Fund, 
with the purpose of paying interest incurred on the loan and retiring the loan principal.  When the director issues 
UI tax anticipation notes, monies in the UI Special Assessment Proceeds Fund may be transferred to the Debt 
Service Fund for the purposes of paying interest, expenses, and principal on the UI tax anticipation notes.  After 
the UI tax anticipation notes are repaid in CY 2014, all monies in the UI Special Assessment Proceeds Fund and the 
Debt Service Fund will be transferred to the UI Compensation Fund.  
 
DES is required to report to JLBC and OSPB after the issuance of the UI tax anticipation notes on the finalized debt 
issuance, including the principal amount, the interest rate, the debt service schedule, the length of term, the 
interest to be paid over the life of the loan, and the status of the bonds as taxable or non-taxable.  DES is also 
required to submit a quarterly report to these entities on the status of the UI system in FY 2014.   
 
In addition to other administrative changes, this legislation imposes a penalty of 15% of the amount received on 
claimants who fraudulently receive UI benefits.  The penalty will be deposited in the UI Compensation Fund.   
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Laws 2013, Chapter 218, in addition to other technical changes, excludes from the definition of employment, 
persons working for a church educational or child care service provider or other religious organization that 
includes religious instruction.   
 
2012 LAWS 
 

Laws 2012, Chapter 115 alters the definition of “employee” by codifying the indications of control of a worker by 
the employing unit that were already used to determine unemployment insurance benefit eligibility.  For an 
individual to qualify for unemployment insurance benefits, in addition to existing statute, an employing unit must 
control an individual’s hours of work, location of work, right to perform services for others, tools, equipment, 
materials, expenses, and use of other workers and other indicia of employment. 
 
Laws 2012, Chapter 162 changes the 0.1% Required Income Rate reduction (Job Training Employer Tax exemptions 
elimination trigger) to a FUTA rate that is less than 6.0%.  Previously, the trigger was a FUTA rate that is less than 
6.2%.  When the FUTA rate declined to 6.0% beginning July 1, 2011, the 0.1% Required Income Rate reduction and 
Job Training Employer Tax exemptions were eliminated.  Because contributions are paid by employers on a 
quarterly basis, the 0.1% Required Income Rate reduction and Job Training Employer Tax exemptions are restored 
administratively as of the beginning of the third quarter of 2012 (July 1, 2012). 
 

2011 LAWS 
 

Laws 2011, Chapter 218 established a special assessment in 2011 and 2012.  The rate is determined by DES, which 
set the rate at 0.4% in CY 2011 and 0.5% in CY 2012.  Monies collected will be deposited in the Unemployment 
Special Assessment Fund, which is to be used to pay down the state’s federal loan for unemployment insurance.  
Fund monies must first pay interest on the loan and then are to be used to pay down the federal loan by 
November 10, 2012. 
 
2010 LAWS 
 
Laws 2010, Chapter 197 established that benefits paid as a result of unemployment due to an individual’s 
employer being called to active duty are not used as a factor in determining the contribution rate of affected 
employers.  Additionally, the contribution rate is not affected by individuals who receive benefits as a result of 
being unemployed due to a former employee returning from active duty.  
 
A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2010 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at  
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/16taxbk.pdf.  

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/unemployins.pdf
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UTILITY CORPORATION ASSESSMENTS 
 
 

DESCRIPTION 
 

Two separate assessments are imposed on public service corporations to support the statutory duties of the 
Corporation Commission's Utilities Division and the Residential Utility Consumer Office (RUCO). 
 

Public service corporations essentially refer to electric, gas, sewer, water, and telephone utilities not operated by 
municipalities. (Arizona Constitution, Article 15, Section 2) 
 

DISTRIBUTION 
 

Utilities Division.  Proceeds from the Utilities Division assessment are dedicated to the Utility Regulation Revolving 
Fund (URRF) to pay representing attorneys and the expenses of the Utilities Division of the Corporation 
Commission, including related expenses of the Corporation Commission’s Legal, Administration, and Hearing 
Divisions [A.R.S. § 40-408B-C]. 
 

Residential Utility Consumer Office.  Proceeds from the RUCO assessment are dedicated to the RUCO Revolving 
Fund for the operation of RUCO [A.R.S. § 40-409B-C]. 
 

Disposition.  Both funds are subject to legislative appropriation.  Monies remaining in the funds at the end of the 
fiscal year do not revert to the state General Fund, but are used to calculate the annual assessments [A.R.S. § 40-
408D-F and § 40-409D-F]. 
 
Table 1 on the following page provides tax collections for the past 20 years.  As noted above, the Utilities Division 
assessment is distributed to URRF, and the RUCO assessment is distributed to the RUCO Revolving Fund. 
 
WHO PAYS 
 
Public service corporations with gross operating revenues exceeding $500,000 from intrastate operations during 
the preceding calendar year must pay the tax [A.R.S. § 40-401 and § 40-401.01].  (Prior to Laws 2005, Chapter 79, 
the qualifying level of revenues was $250,000.) 
 
Exceptions.  Corporations that are not required to hold certificates of convenience and necessity are exempted 
from this assessment [A.R.S. § 40-401A and § 40-401.01A].  In effect, this exception applies mainly to railroads 
[A.R.S. § 40-281A].  The RUCO assessment also does not apply to member-owned nonprofit cooperative 
corporations [A.R.S. § 40-461]. 
 
REVENUE BASE  
 
Utilities Division.  The assessment for the Corporation Commission's Utilities Division is levied on the gross 
operating revenue from each corporation's intrastate operations during the preceding calendar year [A.R.S. § 40-
401 B]. 
 
Residential Utility Consumer Office.  The assessment for RUCO is levied on the gross operating revenue during the 
preceding calendar year from each corporation's intrastate operations that served residential consumers [A.R.S. § 
40-401.01B]. 
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Table 1 
 

COLLECTIONS AND DISTRIBUTION 
 

Fiscal Year 
Utilities Division 
Net Collections 

RUCO Net 
Collections 

Total 
Collections 

2016 $10,268,400 $1,158,400 $11,426,800 
2015 $15,280,100 $1,161,100 $16,441,200 
2014

1/
 

2013 
$22,886,000 
$12,997,700 

$1,132,100 
$1,375,100 

$24,018,100 
$14,372,800 

2012 $13,655,900 $1,319,200 $14,975,100 
2011 $13,226,800 $1,325,200 $14,552,000 
2010 $17,548,800 $1,308,700 $18,857,500 
2009 $14,702,300 $1,313,100 $16,015,400 
2008 $14,702,300 $1,313,100 $16,015,400 
2007 $13,787,200 $1,313,300 $15,100,500 
2006 $12,225,000 $1,184,000 $13,409,000 
2005 $11,100,900 $1,110,200 $12,211,100 
2004 $11,158,000 $1,131,700 $12,289,700 
2003 $8,418,500 $1,095,200 $9,513,700 
2002 $10,622,575 $1,045,200 $11,667,775 
2001 $8,882,000 $1,017,000 $9,899,000 
2000 $7,511,900 $1,068,700 $8,580,600 
1999 $7,237,090 $573,784 $7,810,874 
1998 $6,649,080 $938,274 $7,587,354 
1997 $6,021,300 $1,021,500 $7,042,800 

   
____________ 

1/  The assessment is levied on June 15 of each year for the upcoming fiscal year.  Generally, most assessment 
payments are received after June 30.  However, in 2014, a higher than usual percentage of the assessment 
collections were received prior to July 1, which resulted in higher collections in 2014. 
 
SOURCE:  Corporation Commission, Annual Reports. 

 

RATE 
 
Utilities Division.  The assessment for the Utilities Division is set at a rate determined by the Corporation 
Commission that will raise monies equal to the amount determined as follows [A.R.S. § 40-401B]: 
 
(1) Determine the amount appropriated by the Legislature to operate the Utilities Division, including related 

appropriations for the Corporation Commission’s Legal, Administration, and Hearing Divisions, for the 
following fiscal year. 

(2) Multiply the amount determined in (1) by 1.2. 
(3) Subtract the monies estimated to remain unexpended in URRF at the end of the current fiscal year.  The 

difference computed is the amount to be raised by the assessment. 
 
The assessment is allocated to each public service corporation with gross operating revenues exceeding $500,000 
from intrastate operations during the preceding calendar year proportionate to each public service corporation’s 
share of the total amount of gross operating revenues earned by all such public service corporations. 
 
Residential Utility Consumer Office.  The assessment for RUCO is set at a rate that will raise monies equal to the 
amount determined as follows [A.R.S. § 40-401.01B]: 
 
(1) Determine the amount appropriated by the Legislature for operating RUCO for the following fiscal year. 
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(2) Subtract the monies estimated to remain in the RUCO Revolving Fund at the end of the current fiscal year.  
The difference computed is the amount to be raised by the assessment. 

 
The assessment is allocated to each public service corporation with gross operating revenues exceeding $500,000 
from intrastate operations during the preceding calendar year proportionate to each public service corporation’s 
share of the total amount of gross operating revenues derived from serving residential consumers earned by all 
such public service corporations. 
 
Maximum Combined Rate.  Notwithstanding the assessment formulas, the combined assessment rates may not 
exceed 0.25% of any corporation's gross operating revenues from intrastate operations during the preceding 
calendar year [A.R.S. § 40-401C and § 40-401.01C].  (Prior to Laws 2005, Chapter 79, the combined assessment 
rates could not exceed 0.20%.) 
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
Due Date.  The Corporation Commission must levy both assessments no later than June 15 of each year.  Notice is 
then sent to each corporation by certified mail.  The assessments are due within 15 days after such mailing [A.R.S. 
§ 40-401D and § 40-401.01D]. 
 
Collecting Agencies.  The Corporation Commission [A.R.S. § 40-408B and § 40-409B].  In the event a corporation 
fails or refuses to pay the amount assessed within 15 days without filing objections to the assessment statement 
with the Corporation Commission, the Corporation Commission shall transmit a certified copy of the statement of 
the assessment to the Department of Public Safety (DPS).  Within 10 days after receipt of the copy of the 
statement, DPS shall proceed to collect the amount stated due, with legal interest, by seizure and sale of any 
goods or property in the state belonging to the public service corporation [A.R.S. § 40-407]. 
 
Filing Dates.  Public service corporations with gross operating revenues exceeding $500,000 must file an estimate 
of their gross operating revenues from intrastate operations during the previous calendar year on or before 
January 10.  All public service corporations must file a statement showing the amount of such revenues received 
during the prior calendar year by May 1, as well as a statement showing the gross operating revenues derived from 
intrastate operations during the preceding calendar year that were received from residential consumers. [A.R.S. § 
40-401E-F, and § 40-401.01E].  (Prior to Laws 2005, Chapter 79, the threshold for the January 10 filing was 
$250,000.) 
 
IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2010. 
 
There were no changes enacted to the assessments in the period from 2010 through 2016. 
 
A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2010 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at 
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/16taxbk.pdf. 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/utilitycorp.pdf
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WATER USE TAX 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The tax is applied on water use by a municipal water delivery system.  The tax, together with various registration or 
license fees, provides a dedicated funding source for the Water Quality Assurance Revolving Fund (WQARF).  
Through the WQARF Program, the Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) identifies, assesses, and cleans up 
soil and groundwater that is contaminated with hazardous substances.    
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Table 1 below provides historical water use tax collections since FY 1997.  Net tax collections (gross collections less 
collection fees) are deposited in WQARF by the State Treasurer.  [A.R.S. § 42-5304].  Allowable uses of WQARF-
monies are detailed in A.R.S. § 49-282E.  
 

Table 1 
 

COLLECTIONS 
 

Fiscal Year WQARF Fiscal Year WQARF 
2016 $2,197,353 2006 $2,403,644 
2015 $2,455,869 2005 $2,156,683 
2014 $2,428,062 2004 $2,195,590 
2013 $2,427,127 2003 $2,150,995 
2012 $2,545,748 2002 $2,213,435 
2011 $2,377,136 2001 $2,120,483 
2010 $2,392,765 2000 $2,081,879 
2009 $2,375,423 1999 $1,957,725 
2008 $2,550,646 1998 $1,891,072 
2007 $2,449,270 1997 $1,909,981 

 
SOURCE:  Department of Revenue, Annual Report. 
 

 
WHO PAYS  
 
The tax is paid by the owners or operators of municipal water delivery systems [A.R.S. § 42-5302B]. 
 
A "municipal water delivery system" is an entity that distributes or sells potable water mainly through a pipeline 
system owned by either:  [A.R.S. § 42-5301] 
 

 An incorporated city or town. 

 A private entity regulated as a public service corporation by the Arizona Corporation Commission. 

 A special taxing district under Title 48, Chapter 6 of the Arizona Revised Statutes. 

 An entity regulated as a water supply system by DEQ. 
 
REVENUE BASE AND RATE 
 
The revenue base is gallons of water delivered to customers of a municipal water delivery system.  Water delivered 
to a customer for resale is exempt from this tax.  The tax rate is 0.65¢ per 1,000 gallons of water delivered to 
customers [A.R.S. § 42-5302A].  
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PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
Payment of the water use tax, if the municipal water delivery system is also subject to the transaction privilege tax, 
is reported and paid monthly to the Department of Revenue with the transaction privilege tax.  Otherwise, the due 
and delinquent date is the same as the transaction privilege tax [A.R.S. § 42-5302B and A.R.S. § 42-5014].  
 
IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2010. 
 
There were no changes enacted to this tax in the period from 2010 to 2016. 
 
A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2010 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at  
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/16taxbk.pdf. 
 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/waterusetax.pdf
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WORKERS’ COMPENSATION INSURANCE PREMIUM TAX 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
Both a tax and an assessment is levied on workers’ compensation insurance premium.  These levies are in lieu of all 
other taxes on workers' compensation insurance [A.R.S. § 23-961].  
 
The state requires most employers to obtain such insurance so that employees and their families are provided 
financial protection from industrial injuries or death.  The tax rate may be a maximum of 3% of net premiums, and 
revenues are used for the administrative expenses of the Industrial Commission of Arizona [A.R.S. § 23-961]. 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Administrative Fund.  Tax collections for the Administrative Fund are used for all administrative expenses of the 
Industrial Commission.  Expenditures from the Administrative Fund are subject to budgetary review and legislative 
appropriation.  Tax collections to this fund are to be no more than necessary to cover actual expenses, and unless 
the Special Fund [see description below] is not on an actuarially sound basis, any surplus or deficit in revenue 
above or below the expenses shall be included in the calculation of the rate to be fixed the following year [A.R.S. § 
23-1081]. 
 
Special Fund.  Collections for the Special Fund provide additional compensation payments or awards to promote 
the rehabilitation of disabled workers.  Since July 25, 1981, monies in the Special Fund may be allocated to acquire 
real property or construct and furnish or procure a new office building for the Industrial Commission.  Since April 
19, 1983, the Special Fund may also provide loans to the Administrative Fund [A.R.S. § 23-1065]. 
 
Net collections by fund are provided in Table 1 on the following page. 
 
WHO PAYS 
 
The levy on workers’ compensation insurance premiums is paid by insurance carriers issuing workers' 
compensation insurance, and employers providing workers' compensation insurance through the self-insurance 
method [A.R.S. § 23-961]. 
 
REVENUE BASE  
 
The levy on workers’ compensation insurance premiums is based on total direct premiums paid or contracted for 
during the preceding calendar year minus deductions for cancellations, returned premiums, policy dividends, 
refunds and similar amounts paid or credited to policyholders within this state and not reapplied as premiums for 
new, additional or extended insurance [A.R.S. § 23-961].  The above applies to premiums paid to insurers.  For self-
insured employers, the levy is based on the premiums that would have been paid by the employer if fully insured 
under a plan available from an insurance carrier issuing workers' compensation insurance, during the preceding 
calendar year.  Employers of domestic servants are not subject to the "workmen's compensation" statutes [A.R.S. § 
23-902]. 
 
RATE 
 
There are 2 separate rates: 
 
(1) Tax Rate for Administrative Fund.  3% of net premiums, but for self-insured employers, not less than $250 

annually [A.R.S. § 23-961]. 
 
(2) Special Fund Assessment.  Effective July 1, 2015, the Special Fund assessment rate is not to exceed 1% and is 

to be set at a rate no more than necessary to keep the Special Fund actuarially sound, but for self-insured 
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employers, the minimum annual payment is $250 [A.R.S. § 23-1065].  Up to an additional 0.5% may be levied 
to cover Special Fund liabilities in excess of $6 million [A.R.S. § 23-1065F].  The Industrial Commission set a 
Special Fund total rate of 0.00% in CY 2016. 

 
Table 1 

 

COLLECTIONS 
 

Calendar 
Year 

Net Collections 
Administrative Fund 

1/
 

Net Collections 
Special Fund 

2/
 

Special Fund  
Rate 

2/
 

Total Net  
Collections 

2016 NA $0 0% NA 
2015 $16,917,480 $8,459,235 0.75% $25,376,715 
2014 $19,752,400 $19,753,500 1.75% $39,506,000 
2013 $29,080,400 $23,783,100 2.25% $52,863,500 
2012 $27,721,800 $23,103,100 2.5% $50,824,900 
2011 $24,166,300 $20,140,000 2.5% $44,306,300 
2010 $20,486,000 $19,328,000 2.5% $39,814,000 
2009 $25,950,000 $12,975,000 1.5% $38,925,000 
2008 $30,558,100 $15,279,100 1.5% $45,837,200 
2007 $31,786,900 $26,490,900 2.5% $58,277,800 
2006 $28,382,700 $23,653,400 2.5% $52,036,100 
2005 $24,647,200 $20,540,600 2.5% $45,187,800 
2004 $21,758,100 $10,888,700 1.5% $32,646,800 
2003 $20,117,300 $0 0% $20,117,300 
2002 $15,716,000 $0 0% $15,716,000 
2001 $16,257,700 $0 0% $16,257,700 
2000 $13,894,800 $0 0% $13,894,800 
1999 $14,792,900 $0 0% $14,792,900 
1998 $15,600,000 $0 0% $15,600,000 
1997 $9,600,000 $0 0% $9,600,000 

____________ 
1/ Laws 1993, 2nd Special Session, Chapter 9, provides that collections for the Administrative Fund will be no 

more than necessary to cover actual expenses. 
2/ Effective July 1, 2015, the Special Fund assessment is not to exceed 1% and is set at a rate no more than 

necessary to keep it actuarially sound.  Up to an additional 0.5% may be levied to cover Special Fund 
liabilities in excess of $6 million. 

        NA = Not Available 
 
SOURCE:  Industrial Commission. 

 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
The revenue is due annually, on or before March 31 for self-insured employers, and on or before March 1 for all 
other covered insurance carriers [A.R.S. § 23-961]. 
 
Since the 1983 tax year, insurance carriers are required to make quarterly payments on the Administrative Fund 
tax and Special Fund assessment if their tax liability for the preceding calendar year was $2,000 or more.  Quarterly 
payments are submitted to the state on or before the last day of the month following the close of each quarter.  All 
quarterly payments are deducted from the levy that is payable on the regular March due date [A.R.S. § 23-961].  
The quarterly payments are to equal one of the following methods, applied to all 4 quarters in a tax year: 
 
(1) The levy due on net premiums collected or contracted for during the preceding calendar quarter, or 
(2) 25% of the levy paid or required to be paid for the preceding calendar year. 
 
Any overpayment of levies resulting from the quarterly payments may be refunded by the Industrial Commission 
without interest [A.R.S. § 23-961]. 
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The revenue for the Administrative and Special Fund is paid to the State Treasurer through the Industrial 
Commission [A.R.S. § 23-961]. 
 
IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of statutory changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2010. 
 
There were no changes enacted to this revenue category in 2010, 2012, 2013, 2015 and 2016. 
 
2014 LAWS 
 
Laws 2014, Chapter 186 establishes the Workers’ Compensation Insurance Account as part of the Arizona Property 
and Casualty Insurance Guaranty Fund (Guaranty Fund) within the Department of Insurance.  The law transfers the 
rights and obligations related to payment of workers’ compensation claims on insolvent insurers from the Special 
Fund, administered by the Industrial Commission, to the Department of Insurance’s Workers’ Compensation 
Insurance Account of the Arizona Property and Casualty Insurance Guaranty Fund effective July 1, 2015.  The law 
requires the Industrial Commission to transfer $222,848,153 in assets from the Special Fund to the Guaranty Fund 
for deposit in the Workers’ Compensation Insurance Account no less than 30 days before July 1, 2015. 
 
The Workers’ Compensation Insurance Account is to be used to continue workers’ compensation benefits for 
claimants of insolvent carriers and bankrupt self-insured employers. 
 
In the event of an insolvency or bankruptcy, the Department of Insurance may cover the cost of claims on that 
insurer or employer by levying an assessment of up to 1% on the other solvent workers’ compensation insurers’ 
premiums from all policies issued during the preceding calendar year.  The assessment revenue is deposited into 
the Workers’ Compensation Insurance Account for payment of those claims. 
 
Also effective July 1, 2015, the Industrial Commission’s Special Fund assessment rate is not to exceed 1% and is to 
be set at a rate no more than necessary to keep the Special Fund actuarially sound.  Up to an additional 0.5% may 
be levied to cover Special Fund liabilities in excess of $6 million. 
 
2011 LAWS 
 
Laws 2011, Chapter 157 transfers the assignment of unprocessed and unpaid claims from the State Compensation 
Fund to the Special Fund.  (Effective January 1, 2013) 
 
A listing of statutory changes prior to the 2010 legislative session is available on the JLBC website located at 
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/16taxbk.pdf. 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/workcomp.pdf
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FISCAL IMPACT OF STATUTORY CHANGES 
 
 
This report details the estimated dollar value of individual historical tax law changes enacted by the Legislature since 
FY 1989.  The report is limited to statutory changes with a General Fund revenue impact. 
 
The report includes a one-page summary of the estimated impact of statutory changes for each fiscal year, which 
provides the estimated marginal dollar value of statutory changes relative to the prior year.  Please see the Tax 
Handbook for individual tables for calendar years 1988 through 2016.  The tables provide a listing of statutory 
changes for each calendar year, and the estimated dollar revenue impact of these changes for ensuing fiscal years.  
The dollar change reflects the estimated impact at the time of enactment.  The actual dollar value of statutory 
changes, once implemented, is difficult to determine.  Therefore, since the actual revenue impact cannot be verified 
with any degree of certainty, it is included for information purposes only.   
 
Since the repeal of the state property tax in 1996, the General Fund revenue impact of property tax legislation is 
often negligible.  Instead, property tax law changes typically affect the General Fund by increasing Arizona 
Department of Education (ADE) expenditures.  Generally, any legislation that reduces the local property tax base 
results in higher General Fund expenditures.  Under the statutory K-12 funding formula, the state share of education 
funding increases whenever local property values decrease.  This higher level of K-12 spending is not reflected in the 
following tables. 
 
There are several caveats related to the estimated dollar impact of tax law changes included in this report.  The 
impact of the 0.6% sales tax authorized by Proposition 301 in 2000 has not been included in the following tables.  In 
addition, the tobacco tax increases authorized by Proposition 303 in 2002 and Propositions 201 and 203 in 2006 
have not been included.  The revenues generated by these tax law changes were deposited into dedicated funds; 
therefore, they did not have a General Fund impact. 
 
Additionally, no inflation factors have been applied to the “out year” estimates, which may understate their impact.  
Also, the estimates do not include a “dynamic” component.  The potential behavioral impact on taxpayers of tax 
cuts or tax increases has not been incorporated in the numbers.  It is very difficult to estimate how inflationary 
changes, as well as changes in taxpayer behavior over a period of time, would have impacted the estimated dollar 
value of statutory changes enacted in prior years.  As a result, cumulative totals for the marginal annual values of 
the statutory changes are not provided. 
 
The estimated incremental value of statutory changes for FY 2017 is a $(146.4) million General Fund revenue 
decrease.  This amount includes $(110.8) million of statutory changes enacted in prior years (primarily, the corporate 
tax rate reduction and single sales factor phase-in enacted in 2011).  The remaining $(35.6) million impact reflects 
changes to the sales tax, individual income tax, and insurance premium tax enacted in calendar year 2016. 
 
JLBC Staff 
September 2016 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Revised 12/29/16 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/16taxbk.pdf
http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/16taxbook/16taxbk.pdf


Total 3/

Fiscal Sales Individual Corporate Property Other Annual
Year Tax Income Tax Income Tax Tax Taxes Changes

1989 23,100.0        35,400.0        29,000.0        28,200.0        6,000.0          121,700.0      
1990 7,000.0          63,900.0        -                 22,600.0        15,800.0        109,300.0      
1991 (4,404.0)         118,680.0      30,900.0        49,640.0        13,560.0        208,376.0      
1992 (377.5)            9,200.0          400.0             -                 485.0 9,707.5          
1993 (7,972.1)         (13,500.0)       -                 (1,343.0) 3,472.0          (19,343.1)       
1994 (12,243.5)       (10,776.0)       -                 (1,200.0) (1,233.0)         (25,452.5)       
1995 (21,217.0)       (102,826.0)     4,200.0          (850.0)            -                 (120,693.0) 
1996 (46,151.9)       (202,260.5)     (18,000.0)       (18,256.0)       -                 (284,668.4) 
1997 (23,449.3)       (950.0)            (60.0)              (150,095.3)     -                 (174,554.6)     
1998 (59,907.9)       (114,969.0)     2,601.9          17.3 (105.0)            (172,362.7)     
1999 (3,684.2)         (51,091.5)       (7,015.2)         - (80,000.0) (141,790.9)     
2000 (8,402.3)         (27,177.9)       (13,982.3)       (51.6) (55,000.0) (104,614.1)     
2001 (3,392.0)         (82,895.0)       (46,486.1)       (30.0) (25,000.0) (157,803.1)     
2002 (2.1) 9,825.3          (40,759.6)       (2,234.9)         - (33,171.3) 
2003 (2.2) 11,384.5        21,567.0        (1,738.3)         (18,830.0) 12,381.0 
2004 - - - 7,000.0          50,418.1        57,418.1 
2005 - (1,834.0) - (7,000.0) 3,892.0          (4,942.0)         
2006 (600.0)            (14,200.0) (3,250.0)         - - (18,050.0)       
2007 (1,678.6)         (176,090.0)     (10,990.0)       -                 (5,000.0) (193,758.6)     
2008 (100.0)            (185,510.0)     (31,900.0)       - - (217,510.0)     
2009 -                 1,310.0 (30,080.0)       - - (28,770.0)       
2010 -                 (9,000.0)         (33,410.0)       - - (42,410.0)       
2011 918,000.0      13,000.0        (10,700.0)       - - 920,300.0      
2012 -                 (900.0)            (16,600.0)       - - (17,500.0)       
2013 -                 4,590.0 (16,100.0)       - - (11,510.0)       
2014 (922,800.0)     (56,850.0) (21,900.0)       - - (1,001,550.0)  
2015 (16,780.0)       (44,900.0) (102,282.0)     - - (163,962.0)     
2016 (4,200.0)         (12,000.0)       (108,500.0)     -                 (983.4)            (125,683.4)     
2017 (13,170.0)       (35,500.0)       (93,400.0)       -                 (4,300.0)         (146,370.0)     

____________
1/   The estimates exclude one-time increases or decreases in revenue collections.  The tax changes also 

2/   The estimates also reflect the projected fiscal impact at the time of enactment and have not been adjusted
      for the actual dollar value of a tax change, if known.  Once implemented, however, the actual dollar value of
      a tax change is often difficult to determine.  Since the actual revenue impact of a tax change cannot be

3/   Each yearly amount represents the incremental dollar value of tax law changes relative to the prior year.  

Estimated Incremental Dollar Value of General Fund Tax Changes 1/ 2/

($ in Thousands)

      exclude General Fund distribution formula changes and additional K-12 expenditures that were the direct 

      verified with any degree of certainty, it is included for information purposes only.

      result of property tax legislation.   

      For example, the total net tax reduction in FY 2008 relative to FY 2007 was $(217.5) million.

Revised 12/29/16



FY 1988 FY 1989
INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Elimination of Gasoline Deduction 10,000.0
Ch. 271

Federal Income Tax Windfall Cap 25,400.0
Ch. 271

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME 35,400.0

CORPORATE INCOME
Elimin. of Lower Cap. Gains Rate 14,000.0
Ch. 271

Controlled Corp. Dividends Conformed 13,000.0
Ch. 271

Depletion Deduction Conformed 1,000.0
Ch. 271

Elimination of Gasoline Deduction 1,000.0
Ch. 271

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME 29,000.0

SALES AND USE
Accounting Allowance Cap. - $500 3,000.0
Ch. 271

No Exemption for Semi-conductors 1,700.0
Ch. 271

Taxation of Casual Commercial Rents 3,300.0
Ch. 271

Hotel/Motel Tax Increase to 5.5% 4,200.0
Ch. 271

Rental Real Property Increase to 5% 10,900.0
Ch. 271

TOTAL SALES AND USE 23,100.0

PROPERTY
Assessment Ratio Freeze to 1987 1,600.0
Ch. 271

QTR for Homeowners Capped 9,300.0
Ch. 271

State Education Rate Set at $0.09 17,300.0
Ch. 271

TOTAL PROPERTY 28,200.0

OTHER
Increase Ins. Prem. Tax to 2.0% 6,000.0
Ch. 4

TOTAL OTHER 6,000.0

    TOTAL 121,700.0

Notes:  
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the
  incremental amount.

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 1988
($ in Thousands)
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FY 1989 FY 1990
INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Federal Conformity 1,900.0
Ch. 211

Eliminate Deduction of Fed. Excise Tax 4,000.0
Ch. 211

Federal Windfall Retention 16,800.0
Ch. 312

Reduce Consumer Interest Deduction to 50% 39,000.0
Ch. 312

Taxation of Previous Exempt Pensions 2,200.0

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME 63,900.0

CORPORATE INCOME
None

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME

SALES AND USE
Taxation of Catalog Sales 7,000.0
Ch. 312

TOTAL SALES AND USE 7,000.0

PROPERTY
Minimum QTR School District Tax 26,000.0
Ch. 312

Tax Reduction for Unorg. Districts (3,400.0)
Ch. 312

TOTAL PROPERTY 22,600.0

OTHER
Minimum VLT to $30 15,800.0
Ch. 4

TOTAL OTHER 15,800.0

    TOTAL 109,300.0

Notes:  
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the
  incremental amount.

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 1989
($ in Thousands)
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FY 1990 FY 1991
INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Federal Conformity 4,880.0
Ch. 63
Tax Simplification - Widened Tax Base, Increased 
Tax Rates 110,000.0
Ch. 3

Limitation of Renters Credit 3,800.0
Ch. 3

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME 118,680.0

CORPORATE INCOME
Federal Conformity 5,300.0
Ch. 63
Tax Simplification - Widened Tax Base 25,600.0
Ch. 3

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME 30,900.0

SALES AND USE
Elimination of Account Allowance 8,000.0
Ch. 3

Tax Reduction - Rental Real Property (1,800.0)
Ch. 3

County Property Tax Relief (10,000.0)
Ch. 3

Rodeo Sales Exemption (47.0)
Ch. 239

Tax Suspension - Federal Bldgs. (94.0)
Ch. 251

Bed Tax to Tourism (463.0)
Ch. 391

TOTAL SALES AND USE 4,404.0

PROPERTY
Minimum QTR School Dist. Tax 40,700.0
Ch. 3

Assessment Ratio Changes 8,940.0
Ch. 3

TOTAL PROPERTY 49,640.0

OTHER
Minimum QTR School Dist. Tax = Salt River 7,000.0
Ch. 3

Assessment Ratio Changes = Salt River 660.0
Ch. 3

Minimum VLT Reduction (3,600.0)
Ch. 3

Cigarette Tax Increase 9,500.0
Ch. 3

TOTAL OTHER 13,560.0

    TOTAL 208,376.0

Notes:  
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the
  incremental amount.

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 1990
($ in Thousands)
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FY 1991 FY 1992 FY 1993 FY 1994

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Federal Conformity 7,600.0 7,600.0 7,600.0
Ch. 146

Eliminate Ret. Contrib. Subtraction 1,600.0 1,600.0 1,600.0
Ch. 155

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME 9,200.0 9,200.0 9,200.0

CORPORATE INCOME
Federal Conformity 400.0 400.0 400.0
Ch. 146

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME 400.0 400.0 400.0

SALES AND USE
Membership Camping Tax 122.5 122.5 122.5
Ch. 31

Medical Equipment Exemption (500.0) (500.0) (500.0)
Ch. 200

TOTAL SALES AND USE (377.5) (377.5) (377.5)

PROPERTY
Rental property; Assess. Reduction (1,200.0) (2,400.0)
Ch. 134

TOTAL PROPERTY (1,200.0) (2,400.0)

OTHER
Drano Tax Repeal 320.0 320.0 320.0
Ch. 184

Groundwater Fees 165.0 165.0 165.0
Ch. 211

TOTAL OTHER 485.0 485.0 485.0

    TOTAL 9,707.5 8,507.5 7,307.5

Notes:  
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 1991
($ in Thousands)
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FY 1992 FY 1993
INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Increased Exemptions Phase-in (12,000.0)
Ch. 290

Withhold Penalty Forgiveness (1,500.0)
Ch. 220

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (13,500.0)

CORPORATE INCOME
None

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME

SALES AND USE
Church Leases Exemption (50.0)
Ch. 29

Restaurant Food:  Use Tax Exemp. (100.0)
Ch. 32

Motion Picture Sales Tax Refund (67.1)
Ch. 96

Semi-Trailers, Bowl Games Exemption (600.0)
Ch. 135

Feed and Seed Exemption (1,600.0)
Ch. 162

Lessor Utility Exemptions (1,921.0)
Ch. 215

Manufactured Bldgs. Exemptions (100.0)
Ch. 217

Aircraft Sales Tax Exemptions (300.0)
Ch. 222

Microwave Systems Exemptions (84.0)
Ch. 237

R & D Equipment Exemptions (250.0)
Ch. 238

Repeal Aircraft Exemptions (2,900.0)
Ch. 290

TOTAL SALES AND USE (7,972.1)

PROPERTY
Widow/Widower Exemption (50.0)
Ch. 5

Local Telecom. Property (70.0)
Ch. 41

Pipeline Valuations (50.0)
Ch. 51

Sewer/Wastewater Prop. Cent. Valued 27.0
Ch. 347

TOTAL PROPERTY (143.0)

OTHER
VLT: Rental Car Surcharge 600.0
Ch. 219

Cigarette Luxury Stamps (100.0)
Ch. 55

Jet Fuel Reduction (1,028.0)
Ch. 221

Insurance Premium Tax Offset 4,000.0
Ch. 290

TOTAL OTHER 3,472.0

    TOTAL (18,143.1)

Notes:  
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the
  incremental amount.

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 1992
($ in Thousands)
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FY 1993 FY 1994 FY 1995 FY 1996 FY 1997 FY 1998
INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Increased Dependent Exemption (5,600.0) (5,600.0) (5,600.0) (5,600.0) (5,600.0)
Ch. 9

Increased Exemption - Elderly (2,700.0) (2,700.0) (2,700.0) (2,700.0) (2,700.0)
Ch. 9

Accelerate Medical Deductions (2,300.0) (2,300.0) (2,300.0) (2,300.0) (2,300.0)
Ch. 9

Alternative Fuel Vehicles Credit (176.0) (176.0) (176.0) (176.0) (176.0)
Ch. 160

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (10,776.0) (10,776.0) (10,776.0) (10,776.0) (10,776.0)

CORPORATE INCOME
None

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME

SALES AND USE
Phase-out of Commercial Lease Tax (8,100.0) (26,300.0) (47,300.0) (70,600.0) (96,300.0)
Ch. 9

Feed Lots Exemption (331.8) (331.8) (331.8) (331.8) (331.8)
Ch. 64
Residential Care Homes - Use Exemp. (1,300.0) (1,300.0) (1,300.0) (1,300.0) (1,300.0)
Ch. 103

Motion Picture Tax Refund (20.4) (20.4) (20.4) (20.4) (20.4)
Ch. 104

Retail Classifications Changes (138.3) (138.3) (138.3) (138.3) (138.3)
Ch. 132

Health Care Centers - Exemptions (227.0) (227.0) (227.0) (227.0) (227.0)
Ch. 199

Alternative Use Fuel - Exemption (50.0) (50.0) (50.0) (50.0) (50.0)
Ch. 206

Nursing Care Leases (976.0) (976.0) (976.0) (976.0) (976.0)
Ch. 212

Sales Deductions - Telecomm. Charges (1,100.0) (1,100.0) (1,100.0) (1,100.0) (1,100.0)
Ch. 240

TOTAL SALES AND USE (12,243.5) (30,443.5) (51,443.5) (74,743.5) (100,443.5)

PROPERTY
None

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
Wine Commission Fees (33.0) (33.0) (33.0) (33.0) (33.0)
Ch. 40

Liquor License Fees (1,200.0) (1,200.0) (1,200.0) (1,200.0) (1,200.0)
Ch. 133

TOTAL OTHER (1,233.0) (1,233.0) (1,233.0) (1,233.0) (1,233.0)

    TOTAL (24,252.5) (42,452.5) (63,452.5) (86,752.5) (112,452.5)

Notes:  
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 1993
($ in Thousands)
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FY 1994 FY 1995 FY 1996
INDIVIDUAL INCOME
IRS Conformity 6,200.0 6,200.0
Ch. 41

Personal Income Tax Cut (106,900.0) (106,900.0)
Ch. 41

Medical Savings Account (175.0)
Ch. 45

Water Conservation Inc. Tax Credit (1,626.0) (1,874.0)
Ch. 90

Income Tax Benefit Rule (500.0) (500.0)
Ch. 354

Pollution Control Credits (1,500.0)
Ch. 117

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (102,826.0) (104,749.0)

CORPORATE INCOME
IRS Conformity 10,000.0 10,000.0
Ch. 41

Lower Corporate Rate (5,800.0) (5,800.0)
Ch. 41

Consolidated Returns 1/ (13,400.0)
Ch. 41

Pollution Control Credits (1,000.0)
Ch. 117

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME 4,200.0 (10,200.0)

SALES AND USE
MITRA; Chemicals (4,000.0)
Ch. 41

Super Bowl Exemption (481.9)
Ch. 145

Personal Property Liquidators (1,000.0) (1,000.0)
Ch. 174

Prison Food TPT Exemption (80.0) (80.0)
Ch. 240

University Cars Exemption (57.0) (57.0)
Ch. 305

Feed Exemption (655.0) (655.0)
Ch. 307

Amusement/Instruc. Exemption (825.0) (825.0)
Ch. 312

Tax Accounting (11,870.0)
Ch. 346

Omnibus Alternative Fuels (400.0) (400.0)
Ch. 353

Government Contract Overhead (8,000.0)
Ch. 377

TOTAL SALES AND USE (3,017.0) (27,368.9)

PROPERTY
MITRA; 1% Personal Prop./Phasedown (16,496.0)
Ch. 41

Livestock (660.0)
Ch. 102

Homeowners' Rebate Freeze 0.0 0.0
Ch. 41 Not Included-Tax Cut as Spending Increase

Telecommunications Cos. Valuations (850.0) (850.0)
Ch. 271

TOTAL PROPERTY (850.0) (18,006.0)

OTHER
None

TOTAL OTHER

    TOTAL (102,493.0) (160,323.9)

Notes:  
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental
  amount.

1/ Chapter 41 provided a tax credit totalling $115 million for certain consolidated returns, which was
    to be spread over 10 years.  In the 11th year, DOR is required to refund any unused credit (refer
    to Calendar Year 2006 tax law changes page at the end of this section).

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 1994
($ in Thousands)
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FY 1995 FY 1996 FY 1997
INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Income Tax Reduction (200,000.0) (200,000.0)
Ch. 9

Summer Schools and Jobs (337.5) (337.5)
Ch. 236

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (200,337.5) (200,337.5)

CORPORATE INCOME
Consolidated Tax Returns (400.0) (400.0)
Ch. 31

Lower Corporate Rate (2,200.0) (2,200.0)
Ch. 41

Pollution Control Credits (1,000.0) (1,000.0)
Ch. 117

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME (3,600.0) (3,600.0)

SALES AND USE
Motion Picture Tax Refund (100.0) (100.0)
Ch. 98

Sales Tax Amenities (700.0) (700.0)
Ch. 267

TOTAL SALES AND USE (800.0) (800.0)

PROPERTY
Personal Property Tax Reductions (17.3)
Ch. 9

Property Tax Reduc. Min. Value (78.0)
Ch. 137

Possessory Interest; Repeal (1,100.0) (1,100.0)
Ch. 294

TOTAL PROPERTY (1,100.0) (1,178.0)

OTHER
None

TOTAL OTHER

    TOTAL (205,837.5) (205,915.5)

Notes:  
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 1995
($ in Thousands)
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FY 1996 FY 1997 FY 1998
INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Income Tax Definitions (860.0) (860.0)
Ch. 49

Neighborhood Protection Deductions (90.0) (90.0)
Ch. 309

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (950.0) (950.0)

CORPORATE INCOME
Neighborhood Protection Act (60.0) (60.0)
Ch. 309

Enterprise Zones: Tax Credits (1,575.1)
Ch. 344

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME (60.0) (1,635.1)

SALES AND USE
Arts Fund; Partnership (1,475.9)
Ch. 186

Prime Contracting Sales Tax (30,000.0)
Ch. 319

Movie Studios Incentives (49.3) (49.3)
Ch. 322

Homeowners Organizations (100.0) (100.0)
Ch. 326

TOTAL SALES AND USE (194.3) (31,625.2)

PROPERTY
Property Tax Reductions (150,000.0) (150,000.0)
Ch. 2 - Does not include $50M in spending

TOTAL PROPERTY (150,000.0) (150,000.0)

OTHER

TOTAL OTHER

    TOTAL (151,159.3) (184,210.3)

Notes:  
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental
  amount.

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 1996
($ in Thousands)
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FY 1997 FY 1998 FY 1999
INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Tax Credit; School Tuition Organizations (8,443.2)
Ch. 48

Welfare Reform; Arizona Works (8,030.8)
Ch. 300

IRS Conformity (3,330.0) (3,330.0)
Ch. 63

Energy Conservation Incentives (34.1)
Ch. 137

Income Adjustments (749.0) (749.0)
Ch. 238

Air Quality Omnibus (250.0) (250.0)
Ch. 274

Savings Account; Postsecondary Ed. (20.4)
Ch. 171

Tax Relief Act of 1997 - Rates Reductions (110,800.0) (110,800.0)
Ch. 8

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (115,129.0) (131,657.5)

CORPORATE INCOME
IRS Conformity 4,177.0 4,177.0
Ch. 62

Welfare Reform; Arizona Works (585.2)
Ch. 300

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME 4,177.0 3,591.8

SALES AND USE
Light Vehicle Fees (2,000.0) (2,000.0)
Ch. 110

Used Oil Amendments (92.2) (92.2)
Ch. 178

Use Tax Exemptions - Libraries (36.9) (36.9)
Ch. 227

Sales Tax; Nursing Homes (2,000.0)
Ch. 245

Omnibus Tax Changes (542.9) (542.9)
Ch. 274

TOTAL SALES AND USE (2,672.0) (4,672.0)

PROPERTY
None

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
Agriculture Omnibus (90.0) (90.0)
Ch. 228

Health Care Omnibus (15.0) (15.0)
Ch. 268

TOTAL OTHER (105.0) (105.0)

    TOTAL (113,729.0) (132,842.7)

Notes:  
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 1997
($ in Thousands)
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FY 1998 FY 1999 FY 2000 FY 2001
INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Prop. 200 - Campaign Finance (1,279.1) (1,279.1)

Alternative Fuels (923.0) (2,854.8) 0.0
Ch. 221

Omnibus Taxation of 1998 160.0 (3,240.0) (6,410.0) (6,410.0)
Ch. 283

Tax Relief Act of 1998 - Rates Reductions (30,000.0) (50,000.0) (50,000.0)
Ch. 3

Wheels to Work (1,140.0) (1,140.0)
Ch. 208

Tax Exemptions; Exempts; Credits (1,347.0) (1,347.0)
Ch. 286

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME 160.0 (34,163.0) (63,030.9) (60,176.1)

CORPORATE INCOME
Income Tax Credits; Coal Taxes (1,600.0) (1,600.0) (1,600.0)
Ch. 137
Tax Relief Act of 1998 - Rates Reductions and 
Deduction Elimination (10,000.0) (20,000.0) (20,000.0)
Ch. 3

Wheels to Work (1,140.0) (1,140.0)
Ch. 208

Tax Exemptions, Deductions (577.3) (577.3)
Ch. 286

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME (11,600.0) (23,317.3) (23,317.3)

SALES AND USE
Sales and Use; Printing (100.0) (200.0) (200.0)
Ch. 132

Flight Property Exemptions (110.0) (30.0) (30.0)
Ch. 177

Alternative Fuels (577.0) (1,434.6) (1,434.6)
Ch. 221

Tax Exemptions, Deductions (60.0) (857.2) (296.5) (296.5)
Ch. 286

TOTAL SALES AND USE (60.0) (1,644.2) (1,961.1) (1,961.1)

PROPERTY
Telecommunications (19.3) (19.3)
Ch. 220

Widow, Widowers Exemption (32.3) (32.3)
Ch. 261

TOTAL PROPERTY (51.6) (51.6)

OTHER
Tax Relief Act of 1998 - VLT Rate Reduction (80,000.0) (100,000.0) (100,000.0)
Ch. 3

TOTAL OTHER (80,000.0) (100,000.0) (100,000.0)

    TOTAL 100.0 (127,407.2) (188,360.9) (185,506.1)

Notes:  
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 1998
($ in Thousands)
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FY 1999 FY 2000 FY 2001 FY 2002
INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Public Retirement Benefits (1,766.7) (1,766.7)
Ch. 50

Alternative Fuel Vehicles (427.1)
Ch. 168 

Taxpayer Bill of Rights (200.0) (600.0) (400.0)
Ch. 250

IRS Conformity (240.0) 2,330.0 690.0 (3,190.0)
Ch. 317

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (240.0) 2,130.0 (2,103.8) (5,356.7)

CORPORATE INCOME
Tax Relief and Fiscal Control (Trigger) Rate 
Reduced from 8.0% to 7.0%; R&D Cap. 
Removed (37,000.0) (74,000.0)
Ch. 5

Income Allocation (Airline Bill) (700.0) (1,400.0)
Ch. 190

Alternative Fuel Vehicles (1,052.1)
Ch. 168

IRS Conformity 5,170.0 2,920.0 2,920.0 890.0
Ch. 317

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME 5,170.0 2,920.0 (35,832.1) (74,510.0)

SALES AND USE
Sales Tax Exemption; Expendables (100.0) (3,500.0) (3,500.0) (3,500.0)
Ch. 153

Tax Relief and Fiscal Control (Trigger) Mining 
Severance Tax Reduction (4,667.0) (8,000.0) (8,000.0)
Ch. 5

TOTAL SALES AND USE (100.0) (8,167.0) (11,500.0) (11,500.0)

PROPERTY
Omni. Reconciliation - Personal Property 
(Expend.) (30.0) (30.0)
Ch. 5 Does not include $21.4M spending

TOTAL PROPERTY (30.0) (30.0)

OTHER
Omni. Reconciliation - VLT Cut (35,000.0) (60,000.0) (60,000.0)
Ch. 5

TOTAL OTHER (35,000.0) (60,000.0) (60,000.0)

    TOTAL 4,830.0 (38,117.0) (109,465.9) (151,396.7)

Notes:  
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.
  

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 1999
($ in Thousands)
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FY 2000 FY 2001 FY 2002 FY 2003
INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Renewable Energy Incentives (57.0)
Ch. 214

Technology Training Credit (300.0) (300.0)
Ch. 239

IRS Conformity (680.0) (2,796.0) (3,260.0) (636.0)
Ch. 252

Agricultural Preservation District (100.0) (100.0)
Ch. 267

Character Instruction Tax Credit (75.0) (75.0)
Ch. 313

Handicapped Preschoolers Tax Credit (100.0) (100.0)
Ch. 394

Clean Air Act (15,750.0)
Ch. 405 (neighborhood electric vehicle credit)

Clean Air Act 1/ (59,100.0) (26,700.0) (3,100.0)
Ch. 405 (alt fuel vehicle credit)

Alternative Fuels Program Changes (4,427.0)
Ch. 1 (7th Special Session)

Low-income Tax Credit (20,100.0) (20,100.0)
Ch. 1 (5th Special Session)

Tuition Tax Credit (3,750.0) (3,847.5)
Ch. 1 (5th Special Session)

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (680.0) (82,073.0) (54,385.0) (28,315.5)

CORPORATE INCOME
Technology Training Credit (2,500.0) (2,500.0)
Ch. 239

IRS Conformity (15.0) 21.0 175.0 149.0
Ch. 252

Clean Air Act 192.3 192.3
Ch. 405

Clean Air Act 1/ (7,300.0) (6,600.0) (1,600.0)
Ch. 405 (alt fuel vehicle credit)

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME (15.0) (7,279.0) (8,732.7) (3,758.7)

SALES AND USE
Renewable Energy Incentives (40.7) (42.8) (45.0)
Ch. 214

Spaceport Launch Site Exemption (18.4) (36.7) (36.7) (36.7)
Ch. 359

TOTAL SALES AND USE (18.4) (77.4) (79.5) (81.7)

PROPERTY
Renewable Energy Incentives (8.8)
Ch. 214

Cemeteries; Property Tax Exemption
Ch. 258 (7.3)

Electrical Generation Facilities (2,234.9) (3,957.1)
Ch. 384

TOTAL PROPERTY (2,234.9) (3,973.2)

OTHER
None

TOTAL OTHER

    TOTAL (713.4) (89,429.4) (65,432.1) (36,129.1)

Notes:  
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.
  

1/  Amounts for FY 2001, FY 2002, and FY 2003 represent actual impact rather than initial estimated impact.  Totals do not
      include approximately $(12.7) million paid out for consumer loss recovery, for a total alternative fuel impact of
      approximately $(117) million.

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2000
($ in Thousands)
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FY 2001 FY 2002 FY 2003
INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Conditional Appropriations;  Taxation          
(reduce standard deduction) (15,000.0) (15,000.0)
Ch. 235

Department of Revenue;  Confidentiality 1,400.0 1,300.0
Ch. 261

IRS Conformity (123.0) (280.0) (385.0)
Ch. 296

Retirement Benefits;  Defined Contribution (300.0) (300.0)
Ch. 380

Equity Tax Act;  Archaic Laws (552.8) (552.8)
Ch. 382

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (123.0) (14,732.8) (14,937.8)

CORPORATE INCOME
IRS Conformity (470.0) (1,098.0) (1,315.0)
Ch. 296

Enterprise Zone Program;  Extension
Ch. 370 (impact can not be determined)

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME (470.0) (1,098.0) (1,315.0)

SALES AND USE
None

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY
None

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
None

TOTAL OTHER

    TOTAL (593.0) (15,830.8) (16,252.8)

Notes:  
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental 
  amount.

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2001
($ in Thousands)
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FY 2002 FY 2003 FY 2004 FY 2005
INDIVIDUAL INCOME
IRS Conformity (14,480.0) (14,480.0) (14,480.0)
Ch. 344

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (14,480.0) (14,480.0) (14,480.0)

CORPORATE INCOME
Repeal Dividends Income Tax Subtraction 11,200.0 11,200.0 11,200.0
Ch. 50

IRS Conformity 5,610.0 5,610.0 5,610.0
Ch. 344

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME 16,810.0 16,810.0 16,810.0

SALES AND USE
None

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY
None

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
IRS Conformity - Estate Tax (18,830.0) (38,140.0) (57,740.0)
Ch. 344

TOTAL OTHER (18,830.0) (38,140.0) (57,740.0)

    TOTAL (16,500.0) (35,810.0) (55,410.0)

Notes:  
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.
  

* Includes 45th Legislature, 2nd Special Session (December 2001), 3rd Special Session (March 2002), and
   2nd Regular Session.

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2002 *
($ in Thousands)
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FY 2003 FY 2004 FY 2005
INDIVIDUAL INCOME
None

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME

CORPORATE INCOME
None

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME 

SALES AND USE
None

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY
Flight Property Tax 7,000.0 0.0
Ch. 263

TOTAL PROPERTY 7,000.0 0.0

OTHER
Remove Medicaid Exemption/Ins. Premium Tax 69,728.1 92,970.1
Ch. 136

TOTAL OTHER 69,728.1 92,970.1

    TOTAL 76,728.1 92,970.1

Notes:  
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

* Includes 45th Legislature, 6th Special Session (November 2002), and 46th Legislature, 1st Special Session
    (March 2003), and 1st Regular Session.

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2003 *
($ in Thousands)
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FY 2004 FY 2005
INDIVIDUAL INCOME
IRS Conformity (1,800.0)
Ch. 196

Stillborn Children Exemption (34.0)
Ch. 214

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (1,834.0)

CORPORATE INCOME
None

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME 

SALES AND USE
None

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY
None

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
Liquor Fees 250.0
Ch. 275

TOTAL OTHER 250.0

    TOTAL (1,584.0)

Notes:  
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the
  incremental amount.

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2004
($ in Thousands)
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FY 2005 FY 2006 FY 2007 FY 2008
INDIVIDUAL INCOME
IRS Conformity (5,400.0) (5,090.0) (7,950.0)
Ch. 334

Elimination of "Marriage Penalty" (6,400.0) (12,800.0) (12,800.0)
Ch. 334

Index Standard Deduction to CPI (2,400.0) (4,800.0) (7,200.0)
Ch. 334

Active Duty Military Pay Exemption (10,300.0) 1/

Ch. 303

Graywater Tax Credit 2/ (250.0)
Ch. 292

Small Business Investment Credit 3/

Ch. 316

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (14,200.0) (32,990.0) (28,200.0)

CORPORATE INCOME
IRS Conformity (3,000.0) 5,210.0 9,410.0
Ch. 196

AZ National Guard Employment Credit (250.0) (250.0) (250.0)
Ch. 264

Motion Picture Tax Incentives (8,000.0) (9,200.0)
Ch. 317

Graywater Tax Credit 2/ (500.0)
Ch. 292

Corporate Sales Factor 4/ (32,000.0)
Ch. 289

Corporate Consolidated Credit 5/

Laws 1994 Ch. 41

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME (3,250.0) (3,040.0) (32,540.0)

SALES AND USE
Motion Picture Tax Incentives (600.0) (1,200.0) (1,300.0)
Ch. 317

TOTAL SALES AND USE (600.0) (1,200.0) (1,300.0)

PROPERTY
Business Property Tax Reduction 6/

Ch. 302

Increased Widows Property Tax Exemption 7/

Ch. 309

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
None

TOTAL OTHER

    TOTAL (18,050.0) (37,230.0) (62,040.0)

Notes:  
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.
  

1/ Chapter 303 established a one-time active duty pay exemption.  Laws 2006, Chapter 342 (see following page) made the exemption
    permanent, as well as expanding the exemption to National Guard or Reserves..
2/ Individual and corporate credit combined capped at $750,000 per year for 5 years beginning in FY 2008.
3/ Credit capped at $20 million for tax years 2007 through 2014.  No estimates of impact by year.
4/ Estimated impact of $(32) million in FY 2008, $(62) million in FY 2009, $(91) million when fully implemented  in FY 2011.
5/ Legislation enacted in 1994 provided a tax credit totalling $115 million for certain consolidated returns which was to be spread 
    over 10 years.  In the 11th year, DOR is required to refund any unused credit.  This legislation is estimated to have a one-time
    impact of $(4) million in FY 2007, and $(55.5) million in FY 2008.
6/ Impact will occur as increased Arizona Department of Education expenditures.  The cost is expected to be $12.3 million in FY 2007,
    $26.6 million in FY 2008, $42.8 million in FY 2009, $61.5 million in FY 2010, $82.7 million in FY 2011, $102.8 million in FY 2012,
    $114.2 million in FY 2013, and $126.5 million in FY 2015.  Full implementation in FY 2016 is expected to cost $140 million.
7/ Impact will occur as increased Arizona Department of Education expenditures.  The cost is expected to be $500,000 in FY 2007
    and $512,000 in FY 2008. 

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2005
($ in Thousands)
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FY 2006 FY 2007 FY 2008
INDIVIDUAL INCOME
IRS Conformity (700.0) 400.0
Ch. 357

Individual Income Tax Rate Reduction (156,100.0) (334,000.0)
Ch. 354

Solar Energy Device Credit (500.0) (500.0)
Ch. 333

Active Duty Military Pay Exemption 1/ (12,200.0)
Ch. 342

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (157,300.0) (346,300.0)

CORPORATE INCOME
IRS Conformity (700.0) (800.0)
Ch. 357

Solar Energy Device Credit (500.0) (500.0)
Ch. 333

School Tuition Tax Credit 2/ (10,000.0) (12,000.0)
Chs. 14 & 325

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME (11,200.0) (13,300.0)

SALES AND USE
Solar Energy Device Credit (500.0) (500.0)
Ch. 333

Exemption for Purchase of Liquid Natural Gas (378.6) (378.6)
Ch. 371

Tax Simplification-Eliminate 3 Categories (200.0) (200.0)
Ch. 354

TOTAL SALES AND USE (1,078.6) (1,078.6)

PROPERTY
State Equalization Rate Suspension 3/

Ch. 354

Nonprofit Hospital Property Tax Exemption 4/

Ch. 327

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
Health Insurance Premium Tax Credit (5,000.0) (5,000.0)
Ch. 378

TOTAL OTHER (5,000.0) (5,000.0)

    TOTAL (174,578.6) (365,678.6)

Notes:  
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.
  

1/ Chapter 342 made the one-time active duty pay exemption enacted by Laws 2005, Chapter 303 permanent.
    In addition, the act expands the exemption to include active National Guard or Reserves.
2/ Credit capped at $10 million for FY 2007.  The cap will increase 20% annually beginning in FY 2008.
3/ Impact will occur as increased Arizona Department of Education expenditures.  The cost is expected to be
    $215.2 million in FY 2007, $226.0 million in FY 2008, and $239.6 million in FY 2009.
4/ Impact will occur as increased Arizona Department of Education expenditures.  The cost is expected to be
    $60,000 per year beginning in FY 2007.

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2006
($ in Thousands)
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FY 2007 FY 2008 FY 2009
INDIVIDUAL INCOME
IRS Conformity
Ch. 1 (1,300.0) (980.0)

College Savings Plan
Ch. 258 (2,500.0)

Military Relief Fund
Ch. 258 (1,000.0)

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (1,300.0) (4,480.0)

CORPORATE INCOME
IRS Conformity
Ch. 1 (300.0) 60.0

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME (300.0) 60.0

SALES AND USE
None

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY
Business Property Tax Reduction 1/

Ch. 258

Business Personal Property Accelerated Depreciation 2/

Ch. 258

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
None

TOTAL OTHER

    TOTAL (1,600.0) (4,420.0)

Notes:  
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.
  

1/ Laws 2005, Chapter 302 phased down the assessment ratio for business personal property over 10 years.
    Chapter 258 accelerates the phase down from the remaining 8 years to 4 years.  Impact will occur as
    increased Arizona Department of Education expenditures.  The incremental cost of the accelerated phase
    down is expected to be an additional $3.1 million in FY 2009.
2/ Impact will occur as increased Arizona Department of Education expenditures.  The cost is expected to be
    $4.0 million per year beginning in FY 2009.

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2007
($ in Thousands)
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FY 2008 FY 2009 FY 2010 FY 2011
INDIVIDUAL INCOME
IRS Conformity
Ch. 94 (970.0)

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (970.0)

CORPORATE INCOME
IRS Conformity
Ch. 94 (80.0)

Research and Development Credit
Ch. 290 (5,700.0)

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME (80.0) (5,700.0)

SALES AND USE
None

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY
None

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
None

TOTAL OTHER

    TOTAL (1,050.0) (5,700.0)

Notes:  
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.
  

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2008
($ in Thousands)
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FY 2009 FY 2010 FY 2011 FY 2012
INDIVIDUAL INCOME
IRS Conformity
Ch. 2 (4,000.0) (880.0) (880.0)

Contributions to Charitable Organizations
Ch. 80 (5,000.0) (5,900.0) (5,900.0)

Renewable Energy Investment 1/

Ch. 96

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (9,000.0) (6,780.0) (6,780.0)

CORPORATE INCOME
IRS Conformity
Ch. 2 (4,410.0) (100.0) (100.0)

Renewable Energy Investment 1/

Ch. 96 (5,000.0) (5,000.0)

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME (4,410.0) (5,100.0) (5,100.0)

SALES AND USE
None

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY

Renewable Energy Investment 1/

Ch. 96

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
None

TOTAL OTHER

    TOTAL (13,410.0) (11,880.0) (11,880.0)

Notes:  
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.
  

    display purposes.

    2010 to 2014.  The income tax credits are refundable, and are capped at $70 million annually.  The $(5) million impact is a
    revised estimate for CY 2010.  The cumulative $(5) million reduction is shown as a corporate income tax reduction for

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2009
($ in Thousands)

1/ Chapter 96 provides income and property tax incentives for qualifying renewable energy companies that invest in
    headquarter or manufacturing facilities in the state, including land, buildings, machinery and equipment,  from tax year
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FY 2010 FY 2011 FY 2012 FY 2013 FY 2014
INDIVIDUAL INCOME
IRS Conformity 1/

Ch. 176

STO Contribution Deadline Extension
Ch. 188 (2,500.0) (2,500.0) (2,500.0) (2,500.0)

STO Maximum Credit Inflation Adjustment
Ch. 293 (600.0) (600.0) (600.0) (600.0)

Research and Development Refundable Credit 2/

Ch. 312 (5,000.0) (5,000.0) (5,000.0) (5,000.0)

Renewable Energy Production Credit 3/

Ch. 312

Out-of-State Filers Proportionality
6th SS, Ch. 3 22,000.0 22,000.0 22,000.0 22,000.0

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME 0.0 13,900.0 13,900.0 13,900.0 13,900.0

CORPORATE INCOME
IRS Conformity 1/

Ch. 176

Research and Development Refundable Credit 2/

Ch. 312

Renewable Energy Production Credit 3/ (10,000.0) (20,000.0) (20,000.0)
Ch. 312

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME 0.0 0.0 (10,000.0) (20,000.0) (20,000.0)

SALES AND USE
TPT Increase - May Election
6th SS, SCR 1001 (May 2010 Election, Prop 100) 4/ 918,000.0 918,000.0 918,000.0 0.0

Estimated Payment Threshold
7th SS, Ch. 12 5/

TOTAL SALES AND USE 0.0 918,000.0 918,000.0 918,000.0 0.0

PROPERTY
None

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
None

TOTAL OTHER

    TOTAL 0.0 931,900.0 921,900.0 911,900.0 (6,100.0)

Notes:  

2/ The refundable credit provisions of Chapter 312 impact both individual and corporate income tax.  The cumulative $(5) million reduction
1/ These adjustments may have a minimal revenue impact not reflected in this chart.

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2010
($ in Thousands)

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

5/ The threshold for the June estimated TPT payment was lowered from $1.0 million in TPT tax liability to $100,000 for FY 2010 through FY 2012.
     This change was estimated to generate $48 million in FY 2010, and reduce revenues by $(52) million in FY 2013.  These changes do not impact
     a taxpayer's tax liability, but do impact the timing of payments.  The impacts are considered one-time, and are not included in the above chart.

     is shown as an individual income tax  reduction for display purposes.

     reduction is shown as a corporate income tax reduction for display purposes.
4/ The original ballot proposition estimated collections of $918 million, $968 million, and $1.06 billion respectively for the three years of collection.

3/ The renewable energy production provisions of Chapter 312 impact both individual and corporate income tax.  The cumulative $(10) million
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FY 2011 FY 2012 FY 2013 FY 2014 FY 2015 FY 2016 FY 2017 FY 2018
INDIVIDUAL INCOME 1/

IRS Conformity
Ch. 4 3,100.0 3,100.0 3,100.0 3,100.0 3,100.0 3,100.0 3,100.0

"Angel" Investment Credit Increase 2/ 

2nd SS, Ch. 1 (4,000.0) (4,000.0) (4,000.0) (4,500.0) 0.0 0.0 0.0

Eliminate Small Business-Generated Cap. Gains
2nd SS, Ch. 1 (11,600.0) (12,300.0) (12,900.0) (13,600.0)

New Employment Credit
2nd SS, Ch. 1

University R&D Credit Increase
2nd SS, Ch. 1 3/ 

Eliminate Enterprise Zones
2nd SS, Ch. 1 4/ 

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME 0.0 (900.0) (900.0) (900.0) (13,000.0) (9,200.0) (9,800.0) (10,500.0)

CORPORATE INCOME 1/

IRS Conformity
Ch. 4 6,100.0 6,100.0 6,100.0 6,100.0 6,100.0 6,100.0 6,100.0

Corporate Rate Reduction
2nd SS, Ch. 1 5/ (53,800.0) (116,000.0) (183,500.0) (269,600.0)

100% Sales Factor 
2nd SS, Ch. 1 6/ (24,600.0) (47,300.0) (67,800.0) (84,000.0)

New Employment Credit
2nd SS, Ch. 1 (6,700.0) (13,400.0) (29,800.0) (47,700.0) (52,700.0) (53,700.0) (50,900.0)

University R&D Credit Increase
2nd SS, Ch. 1 3/ (4,000.0) (4,000.0) (4,000.0) (4,000.0) (4,000.0) (4,000.0)

Eliminate Enterprise Zones
2nd SS, Ch. 1 4/ 4,000.0 4,000.0 4,000.0 4,000.0 4,000.0 4,000.0 4,000.0

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME 0.0 3,400.0 (7,300.0) (23,700.0) (120,000.0) (209,900.0) (298,900.0) (398,400.0)

SALES AND USE
None

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY
None

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
None

TOTAL OTHER

    TOTAL 0.0 2,500.0 (8,200.0) (24,600.0) (133,000.0) (219,100.0) (308,700.0) (408,900.0)

Notes:  

6/ The impact of the 100% sales factor phase-in is estimated at $(47.3) million in FY 2016, $(67.8) million in FY 2017, and $(84.0) million in 
     FY 2018.  These reflect estimates at the time of enactment and have changed since that time.

1/ The Chapter 1 "Jobs Bill" provisions are fully phased in by 2018.  See the Corporate Income Tax section for additional information.

3/ The university R&D credit impacts both individual and corporate income tax.  The cumulative reduction is shown as a corporate income tax reduction
     for display purposes.

2/ Revised since 2013 Tax Handbook to correct an error.

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2011
($ in Thousands)

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year,  not the incremental amount.

4/ The elimination of enterprise zones impacts both individual and corporate income tax.  The cumulative reduction is shown as a corporate income tax 
     reduction for display purposes.
5/ The impact of the corporate income tax rate reduction is estimated at $(116.0) million in FY 2016, $(183.5) million in FY 2017, and $(269.6) million in 
     FY 2018.  These reflect estimates at the time of enactment and have changed since that time.
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FY 2012 FY 2013 FY 2014 FY 2015 FY 2016 FY 2017 FY 2018 FY 2019
INDIVIDUAL INCOME
STO Tax Credit
Ch. 4 0.0 (4,000.0) (4,000.0) (4,000.0) (4,000.0) (4,000.0) (4,000.0) (4,000.0)

Eliminate Clean Election Tax Credit
Ch. 257 0.0 12,800.0 12,800.0 12,800.0 12,800.0 12,800.0 12,800.0 12,800.0

Healthy Forest Restoration
Ch. 331 0.0 (110.0) (110.0) (110.0) (110.0) (110.0) (110.0) (110.0)

Long-Term Capital Gains Reduction
Ch. 343 0.0 0.0 (17,500.0) (40,500.0) (56,500.0) (61,400.0) (65,600.0) (69,300.0)

Federal Bonus Depreciation Deduction 1/

Ch. 343 0.0 0.0 0.0 (4,200.0) 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0

Eliminate Cap-New Employment 2/

Ch. 343 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0

Qualified Facility Credit 3/

Ch. 343 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0

Long Term Care Premium Subtraction
Ch. 351 0.0 (4,100.0) (4,100.0) (4,100.0) (4,100.0) (4,100.0) (4,100.0) (4,100.0)

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME 0.0 4,590.0 (12,910.0) (40,110.0) (51,910.0) (56,810.0) (61,010.0) (64,710.0)

CORPORATE INCOME
Service Provider Corporate Sales Factor 1/ 

Ch. 2 0.0 0.0 0.0 (3,000.0) (3,500.0) (3,900.0) (4,400.0) (4,400.0)

Eliminate Cap-New Employment 2/

Ch. 343 0.0 0.0 (1,800.0) (3,600.0) (5,400.0) (5,400.0) (5,400.0) (5,400.0)

Qualified Facility Credit 3/

Ch. 343 0.0 0.0 (4,000.0) (8,000.0) (12,000.0) (16,000.0) (20,000.0) (20,000.0)

Extend Net Operating Loss Carry Forward
Ch. 343 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 (12,200.0)

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME 0.0 0.0 (5,800.0) (14,600.0) (20,900.0) (25,300.0) (29,800.0) (42,000.0)

SALES AND USE
None

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY
None

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
None

TOTAL OTHER

    TOTAL 0.0 4,590.0 (18,710.0) (54,710.0) (72,810.0) (82,110.0) (90,810.0) (106,710.0)

Notes:  

    each year through FY 2016.  The impact of the credit is shown in the Corporate Income Tax section for display purposes.
3/ Impact is estimated at $(4.0) million between corporate and individual income taxpayers, beginning in FY 2014.  Impact grows by another $(4.0) million
    each year through FY 2018.  The impact of the credit is shown in the Corporate Income Tax section for display purposes.

2/ Impact is estimated at $(1.8) million between corporate and individual income taxpayers beginning in FY 2014.  Impact grows by another $(1.8) million
1/ Revised since 2013 Tax Handbook to correct an error.

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2012
($ in Thousands)

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.
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FY 2013 FY 2014 FY 2015 FY 2016
INDIVIDUAL INCOME
IRS Conformity
Ch. 65 0.0 8,300.0 8,700.0 9,300.0

Working Poor Credit/Itemized Deduction
Ch. 236 0.0 (18,000.0) (18,000.0) (18,000.0)

529 College Savings Plan Subtraction
Ch. 236 0.0 (4,000.0) (4,000.0) (4,000.0)

Business Expensing Conformity 1/

Ch. 256 0.0 (24,800.0) 0.0 0.0

Foster Care Credit
1st SS Ch. 9 0.0 (850.0) (850.0) (850.0)

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME 0.0 (39,350.0) (14,150.0) (13,550.0)

CORPORATE INCOME
IRS Conformity
Ch. 65 4,600.0 5,400.0 8,900.0 6,300.0

ACA Certification/Enterprise Zone Credit
Ch. 236 0.0 (500.0) (300.0) 0.0

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME 4,600.0 4,900.0 8,600.0 6,300.0

SALES AND USE
Certified Interlock Device Rental
Ch. 236 0.0 (600.0) (600.0) (600.0)

TPT Simplification
Ch. 255 0.0 0.0 0.0 1,300.0

Data Center Exemption
1st SS Ch. 9 0.0 (4,200.0) (6,000.0) (7,900.0)

TOTAL SALES AND USE 0.0 (4,800.0) (6,600.0) (7,200.0)

PROPERTY
None

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
None

TOTAL OTHER

    TOTAL 4,600.0 (39,250.0) (12,150.0) (14,450.0)

Notes:  

     Chapter 256 was expected to have a one-time revenue impact of $(24.8) million in FY 2014.  While Chapter 256

     reduction for display purposes.  Laws 2015, Chapter 227 extends this provision.

1/ Removed the state's $25,000 business expensing cap, beginning in TY 2013.  As a result, the state effectively 
     conformed its business expensing level to the amounts permitted by federal law.  At the time of enactment, 

     reduces both individual and corporate income tax, the entire impact  is shown as an individual income tax

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2013
($ in Thousands)

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.
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FY 2014 FY 2015 FY 2016 FY 2017
INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Tax Bracket Inflation Adjustment 
Ch. 10 0.0 0.0 (6,100.0) 1/

Social Security Number Requirement
Ch. 68 0.0 0.0 1,500.0 1,500.0

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME 0.0 0.0 (4,600.0) 1,500.0

CORPORATE INCOME
Renewable Energy Facility Credit
Ch. 8 0.0 0.0 (10,000.0) (10,000.0)

Job Tax Credit 
Ch. 168 0.0 (882.0) (882.0) (882.0)

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME 0.0 (882.0) (10,882.0) (10,882.0)

SALES AND USE
Electricity/Natural Gas Exemption
Ch. 7 0.0 (14,600.0) (18,200.0) (18,200.0)

Mixed Waste Processing Facility
Ch. 228 0.0 (183.6) (183.6) (183.6)

Health Science Institution
Ch. 276 0.0 (196.4) (196.4) (196.4)

TOTAL SALES AND USE 0.0 (14,980.0) (18,580.0) (18,580.0)

PROPERTY
None

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
None

TOTAL OTHER

    TOTAL 0.0 (15,862.0) (34,062.0) (27,962.0)

Notes:  

- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

1/ Chapter 10 provided a one-time inflation adjustment of the income tax rate brackets for TY 2015.  Laws 2015, 
     Chapter 91 (see following page) made the inflation adjustment of the tax brackets permanent, beginning in
     TY 2016.

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2014
($ in Thousands)
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FY 2015 FY 2016 FY 2017 FY 2018
INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Tax Bracket Inflation Adjustment 1/

Ch. 91 (15,400.0) (24,700.0)

Internal Revenue Code Conformity
Ch. 227 (30,800.0) (30,800.0) (30,800.0) (30,800.0)

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (30,800.0) (30,800.0) (46,200.0) (55,500.0)

CORPORATE INCOME
Renewable Energy Facility Credit  2/

Ch. 6 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0

SALES AND USE
Electricity/Natural Gas Exemption 3/

Ch. 6 0.0 0.0 (1,300.0) (1,300.0)

TOTAL SALES AND USE 0.0 0.0 (1,300.0) (1,300.0)

PROPERTY
Religious Institution Exemption 4/

Ch. 49

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
Insurance Fraud Assessment 0.0 516.6 516.6 516.6
Ch. 10

Retaliatory Insurance Premium Tax Exemption 0.0 (1,500.0) (1,500.0) (1,500.0)
Ch. 184

Insurance Premium Tax Rate Reduction 5/ 0.0 0.0 (1,300.0) (1,500.0)
Ch. 220

TOTAL OTHER 0.0 (983.4) (2,283.4) (2,483.4)

    TOTAL (30,800.0) (31,783.4) (49,783.4) (59,283.4)

Notes:  

- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

1/ Chapter 91 made the one-time tax bracket inflation adjustment enacted by Laws 2014, Chapter 10 permanent,
     beginning in TY 2016.

    program to include "International Operations Centers" (IOC).  Since the program's credit cap of $10 million
    is already "priced in" for manufacturers, there would be no additional revenue loss for IOCs under Chapter 6.

     Laws 2015, Chapter 6 expanded the exemption to include "International Operations Centers" (IOC).
     The numbers as displayed reflect the marginal impact of Laws 2015, Chapter 6.

    $300,000 per year, beginning in FY 2017.

5/ The numbers as displayed reflect the scheduled insurance premium tax rate reduction provided by Laws 2015,
     Chapter 220.  See Laws 2016, Chapter 358 for further changes.

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2015
($ in Thousands)

4/ Impact will occur as increased Arizona Department of Education expenditures.  The cost is expected to be   

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.

2/ Laws 2014, Chapter 8 created a credit for investments in new renewable energy facilities that produce 
    energy for self-consumption used in manufacturing operations.  Laws 2015, Chapter 6 expanded the credit 

3/ Laws 2014, Chapter 7 established an electricity and natural gas sales tax exemption for manufacturers. 
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FY 2016 FY 2017 FY 2018 FY 2019
INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Charitable Tax Credit Cap Increase 1/

Ch. 109 (11,000.0) (11,000.0) (11,000.0)

Federal Bonus Depreciation Deduction 2/

Ch. 118 (8,000.0) (16,000.0) (16,000.0)

Extended Due Date for Charitable Tax Credit
Ch. 309 (1,700.0) (1,700.0) (1,700.0)

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME 0.0 (20,700.0) (28,700.0) (28,700.0)

CORPORATE INCOME
None

SALES AND USE
Natural Gas Transportation Exemption
Ch. 357 0.0 (870.0) (870.0) (870.0)

Agricultural Feed Exemption
Ch. 361 0.0 (1,000.0) (1,000.0) (1,000.0)

Charter Airline Exemption
Ch. 367 0.0 0.0 (2,300.0) (2,300.0)

Fine Art Exemption
Ch. 368 0.0 (1,300.0) (1,300.0) (1,300.0)

Electricity/Natural Gas Exemption 3/ 4/

Ch. 374 0.0 (8,700.0) (20,900.0) (20,900.0)

TOTAL SALES AND USE 0.0 (11,870.0) (26,370.0) (26,370.0)

PROPERTY
None

OTHER
Insurance Premium Tax Rate Reduction 5/ 0.0 (3,000.0) (7,100.0) (11,400.0)
Ch. 358

TOTAL OTHER 0.0 (3,000.0) (7,100.0) (11,400.0)

    TOTAL 0.0 (35,570.0) (62,170.0) (66,470.0)

Notes:  

- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year, not the incremental amount.

1/ Chapter 109 increases the maximum amount that an individual income taxpayer is allowed to claim for cash
     contributions to charitable organizations and foster care charitable organizations, beginning in TY 2016.
     Based on JLBC Staff's original estimate, the May 2016 budget agreement assumed an annual impact of
     $(2.6) million, beginning in FY 2017.  The current numbers reflect JLBC Staff's revised estimates based on
     additional research. 

     to 55% of federal bonus depreciation in TY 2016 and 100% in TY 2017 and subsequent years.

     while Laws 2015, Chapter 6 expanded the exemption to "International Operation Centers" (IOC).   Laws 2016,
     Chapter 374 further modified the requirements to qualify for the exemption.  The numbers as displayed reflect 
     the marginal impact of Laws 2016, Chapter 374.

     Based on Department of Revenue's original estimate, the May 2016 budget agreement assumed a revenue
     impact of $(7.0) million in FY 2017 and $(14.0) million, beginning in FY 2018.  The current number reflects
     JLBC Staff's revised estimate based on additional research. 

5/ The scheduled insurance premium tax rate reduction provided by Laws 2015, Chapter 220 was accelerated by
     Laws 2016, Chapter 358.  The numbers as displayed reflect the marginal impact of Laws 2016, Chapter 358.

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2016
($ in Thousands)

4/ Chapter 374 modifies requirements to qualify for the electricity sales tax exemption, beginning in CY 2017.  

- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.

2/ Laws 2012, Chapter 343 provided an individual income tax deduction equal to 10% of the federal bonus 
    depreciation allowance.  The current numbers reflect Laws 2016, Chapter 118, which increases the deduction

3/ Laws 2014, Chapter 7 established an electricity and natural gas sales tax exemption for manufacturers 
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